About TWO urban licks

820 Ralph McGill Blvd.
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

TWO urban licks has been heating up the Atlanta restaurant scene with its “Fiery American Cooking” since opening in the fall of 2004, making it one of the city’s busiest restaurants on a nightly basis. The scene features “Fiery American Cooking” prepared in a magnificent nine-foot, wood pit rotisserie in the dining area and live blues nightly. TWO has garnered an abundance of local and national accolades including Conde Nast Traveler’s “Hot List”, Bon Appetit’s “Hot 50 Tables” and one of Rachael Ray’s “favorite restaurants” in the country as told to InStyle Magazine. Nominated year after year as Best Restaurant Scene and Best Place to Take an Out of Towner, it is no wonder that guests keep coming back for more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 12:00am Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 1:00am Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Closed Thanksgiving, Christmas Day and Super Bowl Sunday


Brunch: Sundays 11am-3pm

Cross Street:
Ralph McGill Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 522-4622

Website:
http://www.twourbanlicks.com/

Entertainment:
Live Blues, every Tuesday through Saturday starting at 7:30 and Sunday brunch starting 11:00 am

Parking Details:
Public Lot nearby.

Executive Chef:
Todd Stein

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Thank you for sharing your special occassion with us at TWO! We can provide special order cakes, with 48hr minimum notice. Outside cake or wine service with additional fee. Please let us know if you are celebrating an event when making your reservation.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Along with the live blues, edgy atmosphere & dramatic textures in the main dining room, TWO offers multiple options for your private dining needs.

TWO urban licks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Atlanta / Georgia
Most Booked
Atlanta / Georgia
Hot Spot
Atlanta
1 More
Most Booked
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Virginia Highland ›

hot spot (234)
fit for foodies (213)
special occasion (211)
See All
good for groups (190)
vibrant bar scene (161)
romantic (157)
neighborhood gem (140)
scenic view (124)
great for outdoor dining (115)
late-night find (106)
notable wine list (74)
great for brunch (62)
great for lunch (35)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
5707 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Awesome awesome place have only been twi ...

Dined 3 days ago

Awesome awesome place have only been twice but its so worth to go again and again. Only small downside is sometimes when it gets busy service lacks a little bit due to volume, but other then that everything was good and food was awesome

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Took a break from the beltline to cool d ...

Dined 5 days ago

Took a break from the beltline to cool down and have a light bite..... great atmosphere, great service.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

This place has quickly become one of my ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

This place has quickly become one of my favorite places. The outside seating is awesome. Great food.

food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Great place for a special evening

Dined 6 days ago

Applause to the team at Two! This was my first visit celebrating our anniversary. Felecia was our awesome server. She helped navigate the extensive menu and wine list, and was attentive all evening. The food is amazing! The small plate of pimento cheese hush puppies are a must! The kale salad was light, fresh and flavorful. I highly recommend the Brazino, which is a wood roasted sea bass and the pork. Thanks again for making this a truly delightful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good dinner experience at bar

Dined on May 21, 2016

Arrived for reservation, and was told slight wait. Went to bar for a drink. Ended up sampling multiple appetizers, each of which we enjoyed, and having our beverages (via Austin) at the bar. Band was nearby and enjoyable; bar location was fun people watching; food probably get delivered more quickly. Experience ended up exceeding expectations.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Bad Waiter Could Ruin Your Perfect Night!

Dined on May 21, 2016

front desk girls were not very friendly and welcoming. I was expecting higher customer service in general from a restaurant at this level. the food was great; make sure to order their salmon fish chips. Scallop was good too and my husband Steak Was Awesomeeeeeeee; I will order it next time. However, our very bad, bad waiter ruin it for us. He totally vanished on us and he was not serving other tables. he was not on the floor. So, even though the food was good, we are a little hesitant to go back.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

FIVE Urban Stars!!!

Dined on May 19, 2016

Everyone here looks like an actor on TV, but it's not obnoxious. The place itself is something out of a reality TV show starlet's soiree routine...valet parking only, foyer before the lobby, dark mood lighting to emphasize silhouette rather than reality. But it's still not obnoxious. I loved our server, Ally (Alexandria), she was interesting to talk to and beyond knowledgeable of every item on the menu. I loved our food...swordfish was cooked to perfection (didn't care for the watercress) and the fries were just too much....order the swordfish with something other than fries that come with it if you are not trying to go HAM. Gotta bring my Girlfriends back for ladies night, suggest it to a future date as the prime spot, or just go again on my own! I enjoyed Two Urban Licks on a Thursday night, party (4), with 7:30pm reservations through the website. Average menu costs....$15-18 for appetizers/ $24-48 entrees/ $8-12 deserts Standard American Fine Dinning Cuisine with a twist

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Not a good experience

Dined on May 15, 2016

I made a reservation and still had to wait 30 minutes for a table. The hostess was rude when I asked how long before I am able to be seated. No explanation, she just told me to wait to the side until my name was called. Then while being seated, one of the hostess was confused as to where we should sit, so we stood randomly in the dinning room until she found us seating. When I made the order for my dinner...that dish was sold out. My date ordered the ribeye and he had to continuously add salt and pepper for seasoning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great reasturant for late dining and great food

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

great restaurant for late dining, great food, very friendly service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been to the restaurant several tim ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We've been to the restaurant several times, but on this particular evening the hostesses did outstanding job managing the crowd and getting us to our table

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Salmon Chips Yum. Food fabulous.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Menu & Food a crowd pleaser. Always worth the money. Vibrant crowd. It was a Saturday night. Reservation time 7:30, seated at 8:00. Bar was packed. Bartenders needed some help. It took 15 minutes to get a glass of wine. They put us up stairs for dinner. I didn't even know there was an upstairs. Too hot up there. Would not want to be seated up there again unless they got some more air-conditioning & it was a cool evening. I always love going here but expect to be seated late on a busy weekend. I would always recommend to others but be prepared to wait & must love loud places. Would not recommend bringing any children under the age of 16 on a Friday or Saturday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had our anniversary dinner here and were seated on the patio. Had excellent service and great food. Inside was way too noisy to carry on a conversation.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server was excellent and food was de ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our server was excellent and food was delicious.

food4
ambience4
service4

The food was excellent & I loved the var ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was excellent & I loved the variety of choices. The atmosphere is always amazing.

food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Extremely loud!!!! Was not romantic as l ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Extremely loud!!!! Was not romantic as listed. Bartender rushed us and was unsure of anything to recommend.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Had to wait for about an hour past our r ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Had to wait for about an hour past our reservation time to be seated. Friend had a medical issue while we were waiting and staff was unhelpful. Food was good and our waitress was very nice. But, I think this will be our last visit.

food3
ambience3
service2

Much better places in ATL for less. I ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Much better places in ATL for less. I hadn't been in years and I remember why I didn't enjoy it the first time: poor service, average food and overpriced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place. We had 2 waiters, both ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Love this place. We had 2 waiters, both of whom were spectacular. One was Okwa. The drinks are great but a little pricey. Be sure to try the salmon chips and the pimento cheese fritters. Yum.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service2

Good, but too loud for conversation and ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Good, but too loud for conversation and a little too dark too

food3
ambience2
service2

This was our second time dining there an ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

This was our second time dining there and we had a great memory from the first time (which was 2 years prior). However we were very disappointed this time. We had a reservation but when we showed up on time, were told there was no table and had to wait 30 mins. We waited at the bar and ordered white wine. It was so warm it was undrinkable. We were finally seated at the very back of the restaurant, and it was ridiculously hot. The waitress told us the AC keeps breaking... The wine we ordered at the table was also warm and we had to put ice in it. The service was ridiculously slow and sloppy, we had to send back some dishes as we ordered them rare and they came over cooked... We were very disappointed and will probably not come back.

food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Mother's Day experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Iv been here several times so my review is based on this one day ! I had a reservation for 7:30pm and had hyped the place based on past experiences but this perticular day I was not seated until 8:05 pm after I asked to speak with a manager . Once seated it took approximately 40 minutes to get a drink and bread and for the server to take our food order . The food took approximately an hour to come out and once it did my husband and I realized our 38$ lobster dish was extremely over cooked . I understand they were busy and the server and manager were very apologetic but I would recommend not going here during big events !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service2

Tried this restaurant after hearing so m ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Tried this restaurant after hearing so many good things and seeing the great reviews. Overall it was disappointing. We started dinner with a roasted artichoke and hearts of romaine salad. The salad was good and had a nice dressing with a little kick to it. The artichoke was terrible. It was dry and you could barely eat it. The waiter took it off the bill but never asked us if he could get anything else. The entrees (bar steak for my partner and brisket for me) were tasty. The worst part of the dinner was the service. It was extremely slow and our waiter was disengaged and did not even look at us when he was speaking. The restaurant is cool and trendy, but don't plan on being able to hear the waiter or anything being said at your table. It is way too loud to hold a conversation. Overall it was was fair, but we won't be going back. Would much rather have a meal at the sister restaurant, One Midtown Kitchen.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent as always!

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Mother's Day brunch FAIL

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had reservations for 8 on Mother's day at 2:30, but were not seated until 3. Ordered food at 3 because the waiter said the kitchen was backed up, so we ordered right away. We didn't receive our food until 4:20. The burgers were burnt and black pieces of charred grill were on the meat. My nephew couldn't eat it. My Dad asked for bread with his egg breakfast and was told it didn't come with bread. He would have paid for some bread, but it was not offered. We asked for the manager 3 times before he came to our table. He was apologetic and told us that even though the restaurant was booked solid, he kept making them seat walk-ins. I was very disappointed as I have heard great things and was excited to try Two Urban Licks. The place is beautiful, but that doesn't make up for the food and service problems. I was embarrassed because I had chosen the place and had a horrible experience. I will not be back and would not recommend.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Mother's Day Brunch Disaster

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our visit took place with my parents and three younger siblings on Mother's Day. We had a reservation and were sat pretty quickly after arriving, so it was a relatively good start. From there, we quickly ordered drinks and an appetizer. Our doughnut appetizer arrived before our drinks, so things were still going pretty good. Then we ordered our food and it all fell apart from there. We should've known what to expect when the table behind us was threatening to leave because they'd been waiting on food for over an hour. We were willing to give the benefit of the doubt since it was Mother's Day and a wait is expected though. Time went by. We waited. We ordered another drink. Nobody said anything to us about the wait. No apology. No "it'll be out soon". Nothing. Well, an hour later we finally got three of our entrees. We though that surely the other two would be out right after. Nope. 10 minutes later the kids finally got their pancakes. PANCAKES. The simplest of the things we ordered. Then we realized (we waited on the kids to get their food to start eating - so by now our food has been sitting at our table for 10 minutes) that we were missing sides. We did get those quickly after pointing it out (Thank God). The food was pretty good, but not good enough to make up for the service. I realize that it was Mother's Day and a wait is to be expected, but the lack of transparency, lack of communication, and lack of even so much as a little "I'm sorry about the wait" was very disappointing. I don't think it's too much to ask for the server and/or manager to come over and say something or just to check in. Any other time I've had to wait like this elsewhere, I've been informed up front of the wait and/or apologized to and/or given an app or drink or something to make up for the wait. Here we received none of that. Overall totally disappointing Mother's Day experience and the only apology my Mother got was from me.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Slow service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Waiting 30 minutes for seat with reservation, 60 minutes for food for half of table, another 15 minutes for the other half of table. This was terrible for a Mother's day brunch.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my mother here for Mothers Day, as she had never been and had a great brunch. We had a reservation for 12:30, but due to the volume of people, did not get sat until almost 1. However, we knew it would be a busy day, so we were anticipating that. We got sat in the upstairs, which was a little disappointing, as we did not get to really enjoy the ambience of the restaurant and it felt very closed in. We ordered some bloody Mary's and got those a few minutes later and then some of the donuts, which came very fast. It did take awhile for the food to come, but again that was expected because of the crowd. I ordered the soft crab shell Benedict which was delicious, but a little too spicy for me to truly enjoy it. The service was great and we had a really nice time. Would probably come back on a less busy day though next time!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

kitchen operations needs help

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was awesome. Service was friendly and helpful, but the kitchen was having serious issues keeping up. Food cam out sporadically and not all in some cases. Need to prepare better for holidays and always crowded brunch .

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Would have given 5 stars but we waited o ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Would have given 5 stars but we waited over an hour for our food

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Great Food. Not So Great Service

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife there for Mother's Day since were just there a couple of weeks ago for her birthday. We expected our last visit to be quite busy which was OK. The hostess could not find our reservation, but eventually found it and we were seated 20 minutes later. We were seated upstairs in a quiet enclosed room which was unexpected, but fine as we liked the downstairs where we could hear the live music. Our waitress was not very friendly; I guess "curt" would be a good word. After waiting 50 minutes for our meals as mentioned that it was taking quite awhile for our meals to arrive and her response was "Yes, it is." We like the restaurant and we plan to be back, but our experience this round was disappointing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Love this place

Dined on May 8, 2016

My fiancé and I have been to this place 3 times. We always had great service, great food, great ambiance, we love it. However, our last dining experience our waitress was extremely late to wait on us initially. And took a long periods to check on us. I don't know what was going with her. But every other dining experience was great ,maybe she was having an off night. Any way i recommend this place. My fiancé loves the salmon chips and brisket. I stick with a vegetarian option and they are very keen on substituting for your dietary needs, and I love that. Hopefully we have our wedding reception here being that we're very untraditional people.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a proposal

Dined on May 7, 2016

What can I say. Our waiter Dwayne (sp?) served us exceptionally well. I'm allergic to alcohol but Dwayne gave me a great non-alcoholic substitute to toast by now fiancee with. His attention to detail was extraordinary. His care for us felt genuine. He made the proposal to my lovely fiancee even more memorable than we could have anticipated. The salad alone was superb ( how do you make salad taste so good??) The Pork I had, was phenomenal. The rice, not so much. Everything except the rice was exceptional! The view, the service, the food, the ambience. Definitely the service! Dwayne is that dood.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome time!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a great time. My wife and I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. The staff was very accommodating and dessert was a nice touch. Thanks!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing. Going back for SURE.

Dined on May 7, 2016

We loved every single bite we had. Found the atmosphere enchanting and the service outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointed with the very average experience

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

I was expecting a lot more as was my date for our first time dining experience. We noted it was our first time on the reservation and yet still got an itty-bitty table in between tables that were practically on top of each other. We split the salmon chips for the appetizer - these were very good. Then I really liked my branzino entree but my date thought the bar steak he ordered was just blah. We split the banana split sundae and it was not good, so sweet and in a milkshake glass making it hard to split and not spill all over. The service was not so great either and overall just a very pricey dinner for nothing special. This restaurant buds up to the beltline which was nice for an after dinner walk, but not much else was memorable from the experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great good!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great good!

food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Hot Spot

Dined on May 6, 2016

The ambience is incredible. Very trendy and poppin atmosphere. View when open air from dining area to outdoor dining area are just amazing. Service was good. The hostesses were a little shady however. Also note there's a 20 dollar fee for bringing in a birthday cake! Will def return when back in Atlanta.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Visiting from Chicago on business and fo ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Visiting from Chicago on business and found two licks. I eat out frequently for business and pleasure and I was Very impressed with atmosphere and surprised with the ambitions menu that was executed superbly. Highly recommend!

food1
ambience3
service4
value3

Could not have failed me at a worse time

Dined on May 4, 2016

I have been here several times, as it is one of my wife's favorite spots for a date night, and have never had a bad experience. On this occasion however....epic fail. I took my most important clients there for dinner and drinks after a long day at the GWCC where we had a huge industry trade show. They were here visiting from Mexico for the first time and I knew they would really enjoy the food, drinks, and atmosphere. Two of them ordered steaks that were undercooked and cold to the touch, one of those two is the director of operations for their global operations, embarrassed a little they didn't say anything until we left. I hate writing negative reviews of any nature but this was a big deal to me. Luckily I have a long standing relationship with them and this wont hurt that but the principle was enough for me to feel the need to write the review. I understand that things happen but a cold meal being served is not something you would expect from a place like this.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

My friends and I had Sunday brunch with ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

My friends and I had Sunday brunch with a reservation. The two hostesses were not personable and very unpleasant. The food was fantastic. The salmon chips, strawberry pancakes and banana foster toast were to die for. The waiter was attentive and helpful. All in all great experience and environment, just don't expect a warm welcome from the hostesses.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.