About Two-Fifty Market

Two-Fifty Market is a one of a kind dining experience located in the Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel inspired by local ingredients and the culinary expertise of our professional team. Two-Fifty Market provides our guests with an authentic Portsmouth dining experience in the heart of the city.

Our food is made with local ingredients, and our restaurant has really transformed into a place where families, businesses, and friends can gather and enjoy the experience. The menu offerings include Award Winning Clam Chowder, Grilled Ribeye, Statler Chicken and other seasonally inspired dishes.

250 Market Street
Portsmouth, NH 03801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 - 11am
Saturday & Sunday: 7 - 11am

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11am- 5pm
Dinner: Monday -Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

*Light Fare served untill 11pm Nightly

Cross Street:
Deer Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(603) 559-2626

Website:
http://www.250market.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking and Self Parking for our Restaurant Guests while you dine.

Public Transit:
Coast
Wildcat Transit

Private Party Facilities:
Whether for business or pleasure, the Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel provides the perfect environment in which to gather. With 16 meeting spaces, most with windows looking out onto the Piscataqua River, we are able to host meetings and conferences for up to 350 people. Our flexible meeting space includes our Grand Ballroom, and Amphitheater, as well as two executive boardrooms. Whether you're planning an elegant banquet, a traditional lobster bake, or an annual board meeting, our culinary expertise and outstanding staff will ensure a smooth and successful event.

Private Party Contact:
Dan Witham: (603) 205-9108

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Two-Fifty Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.6

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (5)
Casual (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
See All
Scenic View (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Waterfront (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Romantic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (0)
Sort By:
S
45 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day can be a challenge for any restaurant. If yesterday was any measure, this place is up to the challenge. We had a last minute change in number of guests, no problem. We were seated a little early but never felt that there was any issue. Water served immediately with assurance that we should take our time ordering. The cocktails were delicious as was the Prosecco. The vegetarian options suited some of our party while the seafood and red meat selections were welcomed by others. Desserts were made in house and the effort showed. All in all a delightful experience. If there is any downside to this place it is the view which varies from a pleasant view of the working harbor to a mountain of salt. I guess it depends on the season. Anyway, there is no reason to let that stop you from a relaxing, delightful meal.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were a party of 13 adults and 4 children...three of which were under the age of three. The waitstaff were so accommodating and friendly. Nothing flustered them. A bit chaotic at times with the little ones but staff always smiling and helpful. Food was delicious. Would definitely recommend for any event or for a great meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The only fault I could find was that the host had dirty cuffs on his shirt

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Your reservation system worked beautifully, even after I added four more to the party of eight.

The reservation system at the Two Fifty Market restaurant was a bit screwy. Once the first party arrived the reservation disappeared from paperwork at the restaurant podium so the remaining eight of us were bounced around a bit. Service was good as was the food. Since it was a fixed price meal we were every disappointed to be charged $3.00 a cup for self-serve coffee. But all in all a good time. Folks came from Bangor, Augusta, and Brunswick to meet the NH family members.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Too pricey. Ordinary or below average food, except for clam chowder which was excellent. Dry fish and chips, small breakfast parfait, view had no charm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Very pleasant location and excellent service. The food is fine but very overpriced for the simple fare offered.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Quiet place. Polite service and great food! Appropriate amount and not too much. Perfect!

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We came here somewhat last minute for New Years Eve, as our original plans had fallen through. We had been able to get tickets to a comedy show taking place at the Sheraton, and so 250 Market was a natural choice to have dinner at beforehand.

The food was good. We had an appetizer and entree, no dessert, and several drinks. The drinks were good and had some fun varied options. We got the nachos to start, which were good but didn't have a lot of pork on them, and then I had the chicken and my husband had the steak. Both were good, no complaints.

My only real 'issue' with the place was the service. We were mostly served by the host as they appeared to be short staffed. We did have a rather grim woman come over and take drink orders from us twice, as well as offer us dessert, but she never told us her name nor confirmed that she was actually our server, so we were never really sure who to look to if we needed something. It led to things like having to wait a long time to order and never getting our water refilled. Not the end of the world, but given how much money we were spending, it was annoying.

Also - although this wasn't an issue for us - the restaurant is essentially in the lobby of the Sheraton. It's kind of tucked away, but its not a private room. I didn't find it to be overly noisy and actually enjoyed the people watching, especially because everyone was dressed up for NYE, but I can see where it might have been distracting if we were expecting or wanting a quieter or more private dinner.

Bottom line - if we found ourselves attending another show at the hotel, we would not hesitate to eat at 250 Market again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very pleasantly surprised. The reviews looked good but the fact that it's
a hotel restaurant left us wondering. Well, wonder no more!!!
The food was outstanding....it's a small area combined with the bar venue.
We were there for the Christmas Day prix fix and we had really great choices
and everything was done to perfection. The service is great and everyone is friendly.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Xmas day dinner. No wine list. No bread. No offer for coffee with our dessert. No spoons once we got coffee. Disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

First time ever that our family went out for our Thanksgiving meal. We would absolutely do it again at 250 Market. We love the scenic view too!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service was good. Food was middle of the road -- nothing that I could recommend as particularly good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We took advantage of Restaurant Week and ordered form the lunch menu. My husband and I both had the Clam chowder to start and it was excellent. My husband ordered the bratwurst burger and I had the grilled ham and dill havarti. We also had the Cranberry apple crisp for dessert. We both enjoyed our meal. Our server was very pleasant. We would return for another meal.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Good food. Very slow service. Terrible view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Wonderful in all ways. The atmosphere perfect, with water views, soft lighting and comfortable seating. The food was amazing, especially the Beet Salad with Goat cheese and Champagne Vinaigrette. The cocktails were creative and beautifully presented. Many thanks to Phoebe Smart, who we were fortunate to have as our server. She was attentive, knowledgeable and caring.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great service - friendly and accommodating. Food was excellent. Loved the atmosphere!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Disappointing. Dining area in lobby next to bar, a noisy location. The chowder was good, as advertised. But the entrees were pedestrian at best, not worth the price. Service was also uneven - wait staff needs some more training.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 10, 2016

250 market provided exceptional customer service. I was entertaining a group of 12 people, and the waitress was spot on The waitstaff showed just enough attention, while not interrupting the networking event. I look forward to having another gathering there in the future.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our server was wonderful. Unfortunately, we forgot to ask her name! It was quite romantic, although a bit loud; overall, though, for a restaurant inside a hotel, we were very satisfied. I would definitely recommend to a friend!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Love this place the view just stunning, first time in Portsmouth and I have to come back. What a gem :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Thank you to our pleasant and most accommodating server, Randy. He was great, the breakfast food was delicious and plentiful.

Being a life long native of the City of Portsmouth, frequent organizer of our local high school prom, it was a pleasure to have actually been a customer and enjoy the experience.

Thank you so much

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The choices were great and the value was superb! Service was very attentive and the ambiance was just right for the occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Ribeye was a bit more cooked than I like but it was fine. Flavor was good.

Service was very good.

Love sitting by the window.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Planned a get together for myself and 3 friends who had never been to town before and just wanted something cozy and scenic so we could enjoy some drinks and talk.
This place was perfect, the seating was comfortable our server Susan was a delight, the food was good and drinks were also good.
The view isn't as breathtaking as the hotel's website would lead you to believe, so if this is your main reason to come, you might want to check out one of the places on Bow Street, but we were able to stroll in here on a gorgeous Saturday at 4pm and have no problems.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Food was ok. Wasn't ever offered a refill on my club soda. Clam chowder was very nice, my requested "lightly dressed" salad was very well covered in dressing. The restaurant is off of a lobby area inside the hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 20, 2016

The food was not very good for the value. My lobster roll had so much mayo on it that the roll was soggy. We were hoping for more of a brunch menu rather than a lunch menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Expensive for just average food. Service was poor. We did not get anything except our initial order without flagging the waiter down.

Very loud and not separated from the hotel lobby at all. Temperature was inconsistent due to the proximity of the front door. Would not return under any circumstances. Much better choices around the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2016

The worst dinner out I have had in a very long time. I'm not going to nitpick and give all the details of why we did not enjoy the food, trust me when I say it def left something to be desired.

The real kicker was when my date and I were done with our first round of drinks (dark and stormys) we placed the glasses on the edge of the table. The waiter came back to the table, filled the empty cocktail glasses with ice water, placed them back In front of us, and then took off with out asking if we wanted another drink. Nah I'm cool bro, no longer thirsty because I have this ice water that kind of tastes like Myers rum to quench my thirst.

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2016

While planning a drive to Maine we decided Portsmouth was the best place to stop for dinner with my 2-year-old daughter. I made a reservation at 250 Market due to its proximity to I-95 and was very happy with our experience there, particularly the staff's help in wrangling a toddler with a lot of pent-up energy to burn after being strapped in the car seat for hours.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2016

We were the only guests there! It was a very cold night. There was a large table of co-workers (?) nearby, but once they left it was deserted. Our waiter was fantastic!! The food was OK.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Was a great restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 23, 2016

It was just an ok night. I didn't want to spend any time, just eat and run.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 19, 2016

This was a great meeting spot to have a quiet conversation with clients and know that you'll be very pleasantly satisfied. The service was excellent and the food certainly met our expectations. It was a slower week night so the staff wasn't overly busy. I've been here before and wouldn't hesitate to come again when in town.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Average in every way except ambiance. Very lovely location, but menu is so lack luster for the ambiance and price.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2015

My daughters and I thoroughly enjoyed our Christmas dinner at the Two Fifty Market. We each ordered the prime rib and each order was exactly as we requested. Our server was attentive, polite and professional. Portions were just the right size. We will return during a non-holiday when we can have the choice of the full menu.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 22, 2015

Cozy restaurant, very nice and quiet. Group of 7, service was very good. Appetizers were terrific - spicy clam, crabcake and vegie spring rolls. Entrees delish. Food was surprisingly interesting and delicious - very upscale - for a hotel restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2015

Restaurant is currently under renovation! Service is available only in an upstairs lounge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2015

Made reservations for the Mother's Day brunch two months in advance, and was seated in an overflow conference room. Upon asking politely if there was seating available in the main space, I was told that the room we were in was good. That's neither an answer nor an acceptable solution. One good customer lost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2015

Utterly ordinary. No atmosphere, totally uninteresting food, overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2015

We totally enjoyed our lunch. Food was excellent as was the service. The Two-Fifty is a great place to meet for lunch. Granddaughter and I were very pleased that we chose to go there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.