About Twisted CUBAN Cafe & Bar

The Twisted Cuban Café & Bar is a full service restaurant serving authentic Cuban food. Full bar service of wine, beer & cocktails including Cuban mojitos (the house specialty). The outdoor patio is a great place to relax & unwind. Live Cuban Salsa music & dancing every other Saturday!

12631 NE Woodinville Drive
Woodinville, WA 98072
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Cuban, Latin American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00 am-3:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 3:00 pm-9:00 pm, Friday-Saturday: 3:00 pm-10:00 pm

Cross Street:
NE 175th St (West 202) & Woodinville Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 806-7203

Website:
http://www.twistedcubancafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live Salsa music & dancing every other Saturday night from 10pm - 2am.

Catering:
Our catering menu includes boxed lunches & buffet style dining. More details are available on our website or call us to discuss your individual needs and we'll provide you with a quote.

Parking Details:
A large parking lot is located behind the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Julio Ortiz

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Twisted CUBAN Cafe & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Worth the Drive (4)
See All
Cozy (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Casual (2)
Spicy (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Fun (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
87 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food, good service.......be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

terrible ventilation, all kitchen fumes in the dining area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Twisted Cuban is a great place to try authentic Cuban food, good atmosphere, almost as good a little Havana in Miami

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We have been going to this restaurant since it was a sandwich place. The best food I have eaten since my Cuban family feasts in New York.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Went for the Seattle Restaurant Week menu. I would be ashamed to charge $18.00 for the food served. This was one of the worst meals I've had in a while. Dine at your own risk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We were in the area for a track meet and wanted to grab dinner. I saw this and wanted to give it a try and glad that we did. We have a favorite Cuban spot in Los Angeles and this helped fulfill the craving! The shrimp dish was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The servers are always very nice and efficient and the atmosphere is low key. I've only been for lunch so I'm not sure what dinner hour is like.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent menu with a variety of choices. The pork is wonderful, especially paired with a Mohito. Service was very good on a busy Saturday dinner. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Stopped at Twisted Cuban after wine tasting. Selected the cafe based on reviews and the fact that they offer several menu items that are gluten free. We ordered the appetizer sample plate and though good, it was disappointing in that the dishes were a little bland and one dimensional. I was looking for a more exciting flavor profile. A better choice in condiments could help a lot.
Service was good.
Our main dishes on the other hand were very good as was the Mojito I ordered. The aroma of dishes cooking showcased use of cumin in some of the dishes and was a very authentic environment. Don't be frightened off by some of the less favorable reviews. Skip the appetizer plate, order a Mojito (or two ) and a pork dish and visit Havana for the evening.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Authentic Cuban food. Good stuff, owners are awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Server was curt. Worst of all, when we asked for dessert, he left two dirty used glasses from a table he was clearing on our table while he went to get the dessert menus.
But the food is good, and we had a different and wonderful server in the past.

Tags: Cozy, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I have visited here twice now and have loved both times! The food and atmosphere are perfect and we will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great tasting food/drinks and excellent service. Glad we decided to try this restaurant.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food and service were pretty good. There seems to be no ventilation, so it was really hot and muggy inside. My coat now smells like fried food :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I got there towards closing time, so the ambiance was a little less energetic it would be during peak times especially when there is live music and dancing. I always look for foods from different nationalities and The twisted Cuban fit the bill I had the soup of the day, Posole which was quite different then New Mexico posole. It was meaty but light on the posole and it did not have the red chili kick of the NM posole. The Lechon asado and it came with Moro (rice and beans) and Yucca. I expected the yucca to be deep fried but is was boiled or steamed. I also had the empanadas. Everything was very tasty. I've never had Cuban food before so I did not know if seasoning and spice was spot or if was lacking. I prefer not to have to add salt and little more kick to my food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I work close to here and have eaten here several times. The food is wonderful, as well as the service. My husband and I recently invited some friends out for a couples dinner and we brought them here......they loved it! I have tried almost everything on the menu and you can't go wrong. Very tasty!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was delicious and nice portions! The empanadas are the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food especially their monster Cuban sandwich and Picadillo! Definitely goin back there!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

After having dined there before, our family and friends chose to return to dine at The Twisted Cuban - this time to celebrate my husband's birthday. The staff was EXTREMELY kind and accommodating to our ever-growing guest list. Our hostess/server/bartender, Dani, was so very organized and friendly. She made our large group feel welcome and did not miss a beat when it came to personalized service. I don't live in Woodinville, but our dining experience at The Twisted Cuban makes the drive so very worth it.
Thank you, The Twisted Cuban Owners and Staff

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Outstanding Value
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This place was incredibly good the food was fantastic the staff was very attentive. I am definately going to be eating hear again

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Casual, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The food was good, but slightly bland – easily changed by adding a little salt and pepper. I didn't care for the place when it was simply Twisted Cafe, but now that it's a new owner, new name, new menu, etc., it is significantly better. I wouldn't return to Twisted Cafe, but I WILL return to Twisted CUBAN Cafe!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I really enjoyed the food and bar menu. The Drinks were especially good and we got there before happy hour ended, so that was great. The food was both exotic and delicious. The plantines were served in a variety of ways and each tasted different, the black beans were outstanding. The pork ribs were fantastic and the chicken with lemon over rice was great.

The only thing I would warn people about is parking. Not much parking in front of the restaurant, but lots of parking to the rear of the restaurant, but it is a little tricky to get to. You almost have to know where it is and were the curb cut is located.

We will be going back again!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great find! We'll definitely be back. Really unusual and tasty. Casual, might get noisy when they are full. Lively neighborhood feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We were a party of 3 and we were all happy with our choices. We each ordered 3 different things and other than 2 different pork dishes, I don't recall the third choice.
I do remember the shrimp ceviche tasting very fresh. We all ordered different desserts as well and we thought they were all delicious.

I thought for it was a value for the quality, price and the amount of food given. My sister in law and I took leftovers home.

Tags: Authentic, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Fourth time eating at this restaurant. Food is great as usual, but the waiter Antonio needs to smile more and act like he cares. He always seems to be in a hurry, even when it's not busy. He acts like he can't wait for you to leave.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Wow! The food was excellent and reasonably priced. If you are looking for authentic Cuban food this place is it. The dessert Flan was so delicious that I haven't stopped craving it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very unpleasant experience from the moment we walked in the door. Even with a reservation (Sunday afternoon at 1:30, not necessarily a peak time) - we we told to take the worst seats in the place right across from the front door. When I asked for one of the other open tables, I was told that was the best they had. When I said no, we have a reservation - "Antonio" muttered under his breath "then go eat Mexican". He eventually cleared a table and we were seated. We then waited 10 minutes before he came back for the initial drink order. In fairness, they were clearly under staffed for the afternoon - 1 server, 1 server/bartender for approximately 6-7 parties inside and 4-5 parties outside. When he came for the lunch order, he was very curt and had a major attitude - we even tried to break the tension w/ an empathetic comment to no avail.
When the food finally arrived almost 20 minutes later, he practically threw the plates down and before we could ask for a refill of the drinks, he ran off. Clearly, Antonio's attitude was somewhat understandable due to the circumstance, but his anger should have been directed at their incompetent management and not at the people he was relying upon for tips. We will not be returning to the Twisted Cuban anytime soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is my second time there and like the first time, the food was amazing. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 10, 2016

I had a Cuban sandwich and was very disappointed. There was very little pork and 1 slice of ham. It was all bread. All the appys were fried type of food. I wouldn't return there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Really great food! My only issue was the old man who was our server - he seemed to be in a bad mood and took it out on us! But other than that, the food was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food was good on prior occaision, but not on holiday weekend. No one was in place and food was bland and greasy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We ate every bite as we started planning what to order on our next visit. My husband thought his Cubano sandwich a bit bland yet authentically so while the hominy soup delicious. My steak was grilled to perfection and the Rips Bieja delight to find a new gem in your hometown. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Love the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2016

My husband and I met another couple there for a quick bite before a concert at St. Michelle Winery and we're not disappointed! We had never eaten Cuban food and our server suggested two of her favorites. They were both spot on! We would definitely go here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Been here multiple times and haven't had a bad meal. Try the Cuban Sampler as an appetizer, it has many of the appetizers on one plate. Croquetas de jamon, tostones, yuca frita & papas rellenas with garlic aioli dip & mojito sauce, all delicious.

For lunch, the Cuban sandwiches are a must. For dinner, the Lechon Asado (Roast Pork) Pork roasted in cuban mojo sauce served with moro rice & yuca is tender, flavorful and delicious. I was very surprised how good the Pasta con Chorizo Y Jamon (Chorizo sausage & ham pasta) was.
Pasta with Chorizo & ham in a Cuban criolla sauce with Parmesan Cheese and Aioli Drizzle. Never thought of getting pasta at a Cuban restaurant, but glad I did.

Don't forget to visit the humidor in the back corner of the restaurant. Many cigars you are familiar with, some you aren't and several hand-rolled by the owner himself.

Glad we found this little gem in Woodinville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 29, 2016

First and foremost, I looked fantastic. Secondly, I have friends who know from delicious food, great service, good music and how to have fun. Twisted Cuban Cafe and Bar in Woodinville was the ONLY place to be last Saturday. At 1am, the music was over but everyone just kept talking instead of leaving. It was like you were at the best house party and it just kept going. Try the flan for a perfect shot of sweetness. Dinner for me was 2 eggs over yucca fries and a side of beans. Shout out to owner Mr. Julio Ortiz for bringing the hospitality. Thank you to all the staff as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 23, 2016

A neighborhood favorite with full bar and flavorful menu. The service was great and our server was very knowledgable. I love that you can make a reservation online.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 20, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner here recently. All entrees that our group ordered were good, with great Cuban flavor. The service was attentive. Good atmosphere too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Twisted Cuban Cafe, has excellent, and reasonably priced mojitos and specialty drinks. Everything on the menu was appealing, so we settled for a variety of appetizers so that we could sample as many choices as possible. The tostones were crispy and savory, but the maduros is my personal favorites. The relents were hot on the outside but cool on the inside, with almost no meat stuffing.

I'll be back again to sample their roast pork and shrimp entrées.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.