About Twisted CUBAN Cafe & Bar

12631 NE Woodinville Drive
Woodinville, WA 98072
View Larger Map

The Twisted Cuban Café & Bar is a full service restaurant serving authentic Cuban food. Full bar service of wine, beer & cocktails including Cuban mojitos (the house specialty). The outdoor patio is a great place to relax & unwind. Live Cuban Salsa music & dancing every other Saturday!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Cuban, Latin American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00 am-3:00 pm

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 3:00 pm-9:00 pm, Friday-Saturday: 3:00 pm-10:00 pm

Cross Street:
NE 175th St (West 202) & Woodinville Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 806-7203

Website:
http://www.twistedcubancafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live Salsa music & dancing every other Saturday night from 10pm - 2am.

Catering:
Our catering menu includes boxed lunches & buffet style dining. More details are available on our website or call us to discuss your individual needs and we'll provide you with a quote.

Parking Details:
A large parking lot is located behind the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Julio Ortiz

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Counter Seating, Dancing, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Twisted CUBAN Cafe & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (13)
great for lunch (8)
fit for foodies (7)
See All
good for groups (7)
great for outdoor dining (5)
special occasion (4)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
romantic (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
61 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wow! The food was excellent and reasona ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Wow! The food was excellent and reasonably priced. If you are looking for authentic Cuban food this place is it. The dessert Flan was so delicious that I haven't stopped craving it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very unpleasant experience from the mome ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very unpleasant experience from the moment we walked in the door. Even with a reservation (Sunday afternoon at 1:30, not necessarily a peak time) - we we told to take the worst seats in the place right across from the front door. When I asked for one of the other open tables, I was told that was the best they had. When I said no, we have a reservation - "Antonio" muttered under his breath "then go eat Mexican". He eventually cleared a table and we were seated. We then waited 10 minutes before he came back for the initial drink order. In fairness, they were clearly under staffed for the afternoon - 1 server, 1 server/bartender for approximately 6-7 parties inside and 4-5 parties outside. When he came for the lunch order, he was very curt and had a major attitude - we even tried to break the tension w/ an empathetic comment to no avail.

When the food finally arrived almost 20 minutes later, he practically threw the plates down and before we could ask for a refill of the drinks, he ran off. Clearly, Antonio's attitude was somewhat understandable due to the circumstance, but his anger should have been directed at their incompetent management and not at the people he was relying upon for tips. We will not be returning to the Twisted Cuban anytime soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

This is my second time there and like th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is my second time there and like the first time, the food was amazing. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a Cuban sandwich and was very disa ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I had a Cuban sandwich and was very disappointed. There was very little pork and 1 slice of ham. It was all bread. All the appys were fried type of food. I wouldn't return there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Really great food! My only issue was the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Really great food! My only issue was the old man who was our server - he seemed to be in a bad mood and took it out on us! But other than that, the food was outstanding!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was good on prior occaision, but no ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food was good on prior occaision, but not on holiday weekend. No one was in place and food was bland and greasy.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We ate every bite as we started planning ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We ate every bite as we started planning what to order on our next visit. My husband thought his Cubano sandwich a bit bland yet authentically so while the hominy soup delicious. My steak was grilled to perfection and the Rips Bieja delight to find a new gem in your hometown. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the food!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Love the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

My husband and I met another couple ther ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My husband and I met another couple there for a quick bite before a concert at St. Michelle Winery and we're not disappointed! We had never eaten Cuban food and our server suggested two of her favorites. They were both spot on! We would definitely go here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here multiple times and haven't had ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Been here multiple times and haven't had a bad meal. Try the Cuban Sampler as an appetizer, it has many of the appetizers on one plate. Croquetas de jamon, tostones, yuca frita & papas rellenas with garlic aioli dip & mojito sauce, all delicious.

For lunch, the Cuban sandwiches are a must. For dinner, the Lechon Asado (Roast Pork) Pork roasted in cuban mojo sauce served with moro rice & yuca is tender, flavorful and delicious. I was very surprised how good the Pasta con Chorizo Y Jamon (Chorizo sausage & ham pasta) was.

Pasta with Chorizo & ham in a Cuban criolla sauce with Parmesan Cheese and Aioli Drizzle. Never thought of getting pasta at a Cuban restaurant, but glad I did.

Don't forget to visit the humidor in the back corner of the restaurant. Many cigars you are familiar with, some you aren't and several hand-rolled by the owner himself.

Glad we found this little gem in Woodinville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect night with friends at Twisted

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

First and foremost, I looked fantastic. Secondly, I have friends who know from delicious food, great service, good music and how to have fun. Twisted Cuban Cafe and Bar in Woodinville was the ONLY place to be last Saturday. At 1am, the music was over but everyone just kept talking instead of leaving. It was like you were at the best house party and it just kept going. Try the flan for a perfect shot of sweetness. Dinner for me was 2 eggs over yucca fries and a side of beans. Shout out to owner Mr. Julio Ortiz for bringing the hospitality. Thank you to all the staff as well.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cute Cuban Spot

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

A neighborhood favorite with full bar and flavorful menu. The service was great and our server was very knowledgable. I love that you can make a reservation online.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food Great Service

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner here recently. All entrees that our group ordered were good, with great Cuban flavor. The service was attentive. Good atmosphere too.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Twisted Cuban Cafe, has excellent, and r ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Twisted Cuban Cafe, has excellent, and reasonably priced mojitos and specialty drinks. Everything on the menu was appealing, so we settled for a variety of appetizers so that we could sample as many choices as possible. The tostones were crispy and savory, but the maduros is my personal favorites. The relents were hot on the outside but cool on the inside, with almost no meat stuffing.

I'll be back again to sample their roast pork and shrimp entrées.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

A little taste of Havana

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

We, my friend and I, decided we needed one Cuban food. Twisted Cafe is recommended y other Cuban friends so we decided o go. Out waitress, Sara (hope I got the name right), started he evening fun! We had appetizer: croquettas de jamon (ham croquettes). We then ordered our favorite entrees I - lechon asado (roasted pork) she - masitas de Puerco Fritas (Fried Pork Chunks. To top off the delectable dinner, we ordered a dessert: flan Cubano.

We were both pleased, had fun and agreed this is a place to definitely come back and try the Cuban sandwich!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the food and atmosphere

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Really enjoyed the food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Was very nice and our server was so swee ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Was very nice and our server was so sweet and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was great to find a restaurant specia ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was great to find a restaurant specializing in Cuban food. Being from Miami originally this was a real treat to find. The preparation was a bit different from what we were used to, but the flavors were very good. The atmosphere is fun and the mojitos were refreshing. We will be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food, nice atmosphere

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

This is a very casual place where is was fun to try Cuban food for the first time. My main course was very good. Great flavor on the pork and rice. The appetizers that I tried were all fried and looked like they came frozen. Not sure. The appetizer dipping sauces were called aoli and something else but they both tasted like mayonnaise.

The bar looked extensive. Very nice server.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Fair but not Great

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My wife and I had reservations at 8:00PM. We arrived at 8:00PM on the date and were shown our table. We ordered drinks and an appetizer sampler which arrived at our table at 8:10PM. At that time we ordered our main courses. About a quarter of the way though our appetizers, here comes the main course (8:15PM, yes only five minutes after ordering!!). By 8:25 the meal was over. Not because we were fast eaters but because the food came out so quickly it would have become cold. Also, the server came across as very pushy in that every 2 minutes she would stop at our table asking if we needed anything else. We felt she was asking us to hurry up and leave.

We were able to stretch the time out a little further just by sitting at the table and talking but again, every two minutes of being asked what else we needed made us feeling unwanted. Were they busy? Not in the least. A family had wrapped up a birthday party when we were seated so no issue there with food delivery and there were only about 4 other tables with people.

Pros: The drinks we ordered were amazing! Mojito and a Cuban Libre. The best we've ever had anywhere. The appetizers had some highs and lows, overall a decent dish.

Cons: The main courses were bland and dry. The side of arroz moro was excessively dry. The Masitas de Puerco were bone dry and by itself the pork had zero flavor. Only the onions added a nice bite to the dish.

Bottom Line: Great place for drinks and perhaps appetizers. Stay away if you're looking for an actual meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Disappointing Restaurant

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

I was eager to visit this restaurant as I love Cuban food and am from Miami. I had read a number of negative reviews regarding the quality of food (rubbery steak, runny black beans, etc.), the poor service, etc. I went undeterred as there are so few opportunities to have Cuban cuisine in the area. Unfortunately, the reviews proved to be correct as I also experienced the poor check-in experience (the fellow seemed almost annoyed to sit us despite having a reservation, no hello, etc.), the steak was awful, as were the beans. The restaurant was also incredibly loud. So I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Good food with a unique taste.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Good food with a unique taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always good but...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We recommendTwisted Cuban a lot,and have brought friends. But on Friday it was clear they wanted to turn tables very quickly. it's a restaurant, I get it. But after spending $56 for two people, 1 drink each, no appy or dessert, I feel like we could have been allowed more than the 35 minutes we were there before making it clear they wanted us to get going. Not appreciated.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We came before any live music, so it was ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We came before any live music, so it was fairly quiet in the restaurant. We weren't allowed to sit in a booth because there was live music in a few hours (??) but then another party came in and sat in a booth. Oh well... The food was great, and I had enough leftover for lunch the next day. There was a delicious Cuban punch as well, definitely good for sweet lovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Soup of the day Pork Stew was very good.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

Our group of 4 enjoyed our 1st time dinner there. We had lechon asado, ropa vieja & pescado. Husband & I plan to bring our 2 foodie teenagers next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Neighborhood Gem

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 24, 2015

We love coming here. The food is delicious and the service is always good. It can get busy on Friday and Saturday evenings, so its probably best to make a reservation. Our favorite dish is the masitas with the moro rice.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yummy for your Tummy

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

Tried Twisted for the first time to celebrate a friend's birthday. They were very accommodating to us after our group of girlfriends grew by 4 extra from our original reservation number, to which I am extremely grateful. The food was awesome with service to match. Everyone raved about their food. I for one will be back with friends and family.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food for those looking for a Cuban treat! :)

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

My wife and I found this wonderful gem when we were meeting a photographer for our wedding. This beautiful restaurant has an amazingly tasty Cuban menu at a great price. Any one looking for some fun in the sun on one of our gloomy washington days, look no further. Great eats with an amazing Savhana vibe.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful and Different

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 6, 2015

This area has lots of excellent restaurants, bars, wineries, and breweries. But many of them seem so similar to others. Twisted Cuban is truly unique, with a menu and drink list unduplicated anywhere in the Seattle area. The next closest place to find food like this is in Florida, and then Cuba.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very fun atmosphere with great food

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 25, 2015

The service was excellent, food great but could have use a little more flavor.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Disappointed

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 10, 2015

We love Cuban food, and were excited to try this restaurant after reading other reviews. The food was so-so. The ropa vieja that I ordered was very tough and chewy and the plantains were bland. Limited dessert menu, with nothing that appealed to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Authentic Cuban in Woodinville

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 13, 2014

Great place, easy access, excellent food, really nice staff, quick service, best Cuban food I've had outside Florida (never been to Cuba itself ; )

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Can't wait to go back!

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on November 23, 2014

This was my first experience with Cuban food and it was outstanding! I had the Twisted Cuban sandwich, the garbanzo salad, and the corn fritters. All three items were delicious. The restaurant has a cozy feel and the service is great.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The place smelled of smoke. The dishes w ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on November 1, 2014

The place smelled of smoke. The dishes were just OK, nothing to write about. We thought they were under seasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Cuban in Woodinville? You bet!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on October 26, 2014

This is a little gem of a restaurant just outside downtown Woodinville. Traditional and "twisted" cuban fare, done well.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous staff and great food

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on October 26, 2014

Our first time trying Cuban food and we will definitely go back. Our server was super friendly and took the time to explain the foods we weren't familiar with. She also recommended her favorite dishes and was very attentive to our needs. The food and mojitos were really great. The only very small criticism I have is that the menus don't explain what the sauces are at all and every dish had some sort of sauce. That would have been nice to see on the website before we went. Like I said, that is a really small thing.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Cuban corner

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on October 24, 2014

Twisted was a quirky cute little place. The food was uniquely Cuban, very different. The Cuban mojito was fantastic! The wine list was nowhere to be found, so the waitress brought the bottles for us to choose from, also unique. The fried plantains, however, did not live up to expectations. The chocolate cake dessert was heavenly.

I will certainly visit again. And our Cuban friends will too.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Home Cooked Cuban

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on October 21, 2014

You could taste the long simmering of the cuban pork, well seasoned and well cooked. The simple dessert of fried plaintains, vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce was delicious as well. We will be back to sample more.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Food was too salty

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on October 21, 2014

Four of us went to the Twisted Cuban for their 3 course dinners for $30. For appetizers two of us had their sampler plate and two had the ceviche. The food on the sampler plate was good, not great, but too salty. The ceviche was good. We liked the marinade.

We had three entrees, pork, pork ribs and the shrimp with chicken. The pork was good. the ribs were overcooked and dry. The chicken and shrimp were over cooked and dry, and very, very salty.

We tried three of the dessert choices, flan, guava cream cheese pie, and chocolate the cake. They were all tasty.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Great Place

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on October 18, 2014

Terrific place! We had reservations for 8 of us which soon became 10 and had a great Friday night dinner after wine tasting. Terrific Cuban food, great ambience, and so close to Woodinville wineries. Nothing's missing.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.