About Twin Owls Steakhouse

The Twin Owls Steakhouse is a beautiful log cabin built in the 20's. It has a warm candlelit ambiance and 3 moss rock fireplaces. We feature on our menu various steaks, seafood, game, poultry and more.

800 MacGregor Avenue
Estes Park, CO 80517
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Friday-Sunday 5:00 p.m.- 9:00 p.m.
Reservations recommended.

Cross Street:
Rt 34 Bypass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 586-9344

Website:
http://www.twinowls.net/

Executive Chef:
Brant Price

Private Party Facilities:
The Steakhouse has a variety of private dining rooms all with log walls and massive stone fireplaces. We can accommodate private parties from 10 to 200.

Private Party Contact:
Sandra: (970) 215-4544

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lamb - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
  • Elk Medallions  - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
  • Ribeye Steak With Garlic Potatoes - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
  • Grilled Pork Chop with Sweet Potatoes - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
  • House Salad With Blue Cheese Dressing - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
  • Wild Norwegian Salmon - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
  • The Twin Owl Steak And Lobster Dish - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO

Report a photo problem

Lamb - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
Elk Medallions  - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
Ribeye Steak With Garlic Potatoes - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
Grilled Pork Chop with Sweet Potatoes - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
House Salad With Blue Cheese Dressing - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
Wild Norwegian Salmon - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
The Twin Owl Steak And Lobster Dish - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Twin Owls Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (64)
Good for Anniversaries (61)
Fireplace (59)
See All
Good for a Date (54)
Romantic (53)
Cozy (42)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Scenic View (35)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Historic (33)
Worth the Drive (32)
Authentic (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Live Music (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Casual (13)
Seasonal (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Outstanding Value (6)
Private Room (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Healthy (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Business Meals (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Family Style (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fun (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1523 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful place with a roaring fire and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful place with a roaring fire and lodge feel. Selection of cuts was not as robust as I expected and it was a bit pricey. Our waitress was lovely and attentive but did a great job giving us space to just enjoy our date.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was absolutely fantastic! Nobo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was absolutely fantastic! Nobody came to even say good evening, though, for almost 15 minutes. I am guessing the server was overburdened. Her timing throughout the entire experience was... how shall I say... off. That said, the food alone makes this place worthwhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The meat was amazing and cooked to perfe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

The meat was amazing and cooked to perfection. The sides could use some work, the potatoes were on the dry side and veggies were hardly cooked or seasoned. Great service, our waiter was knowledgeable and fun.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I decided to try Twin owl ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I decided to try Twin owls on our recent trip to Estes Park. We we dressed casually in jeans but there were customers dressed from casual to a man in a tuxedo. Beautiful log cabin feel to the place. We were seated upstairs on the balcony where there were only two tables each for a party of two. We felt a little strange being up there by ourselves but the place quickly filled up and we had a nice view of the main dining floor. They had a live acoustic guitar players that was very nice and not to loud. We were able to carry on a conversation without raising our voices. Our waitress Okie was very nice. We felt bad that she had to keep coming up the big flight of stairs to wait on us but she was always pleasant.

Their parking lot is small and since it had snowed, it was a little slick. Parking is always tricky in Estes Park anyway.

The bring you a baskets of torn up crusty bread pieces that you can dip in their olive oil and spice blend. I could have made a meal on just the bread!

We had the appetizer for two. Bacon wrapped scallops, stuffed mushrooms, and elk meat. I had never tried elk meat before and I must say I was surprised how tender and delicious it was. I will probably order it as my main course next time we go to Twin owls.

Their drinks were mixed well and their Moscato was very good.

My husband had the fillet and his only negative comment was that there was just to much stuff smothering it. He would order it again but ask for it to be "naked" instead of having all the toppings. A good piece of steak like a fillet doesn't need anything added to it in our opinion!

I had the braised short ribs and they were tender and delicious.

It is a tad pricey but we got a lot of food and the service was great. We will definitely come here again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We absolutely enjoyed this restaurant gr ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

We absolutely enjoyed this restaurant great service romantic. Wonderful food. Worth every dollar. We enjoyed our anniversary and was treated special. Thank you

Tags: , Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were so happy to have "dis ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 9, 2017

My wife and I were so happy to have "discovered" this restaurant on our first winter trip to Estes Park. I know the Twin Owls is a steakhouse, but my wife had never had any better duck anywhere. I had a great piece of barramundi--I didn't want the meal to end. Terrific tiramisu--big enough to share. My wife's house salad was cold and crisp. My special starter of the night was a cup of salmon ginger soup. It was a bit salty, but good nonetheless.

Our waitress, Tasha, was attentive, but not overbearing. Great smile. I would definitely make another reservation at the Twin Owls.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for an anniversary. Great meal ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Went here for an anniversary. Great meal and the live guitar playing was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places to go in Colo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

One of our favorite places to go in Colorado for a special occasion....this visit was for our 35th anniversary! Great food and wonderful atmosphere!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food in a unique log cabin set ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very good food in a unique log cabin setting. A little skimpy on the bacon wrapped scallops (3 for $12) but they tasted very good.

All in all a very good experience. Waitress was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Great presentation of ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent service. Great presentation of food with soft guitar player in the background. Warm fire on a chilly evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meals were delicious, well-prepared, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our meals were delicious, well-prepared, and hot. Twin Owls is the best restaurant in Estes.

Tags: Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The good was excellent! Great experienc ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The good was excellent! Great experience for our family get together for New Years Eve!

Tags: Family Style, Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined at the Twin Owls Steakhouse fo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined at the Twin Owls Steakhouse for dinner on New Years Eve. The place has a special charm and the service was wonderful... The added bonus is their prices were good and they did not inflate their menu costs just because it was New Years Eve...

Tags: , Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Val was our waiter he was great. Food a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Val was our waiter he was great. Food and service wonderful as always

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Cozy, Comfort Food, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to dinner with our two kids supe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went to dinner with our two kids super excited to eat at the twin owls. We loved the atmosphere, and the service was friendly and adequate, with a decent wine list however the meal was less than exciting. The salads were uninspired and not fresh, And the french onion soup weak (chicken broth with sautéed onions.)The vegetables were all cooked together so some were cooked correctly while others were raw or over cooked. The chili mashed tasted like instant potatoes and were inedible. My wife's elk dish was cooked incorrectly and each medallion was done to a different temperature. My prime rib was bland. Kids meals were fine. We skipped dessert and we just wanted to get out of the restaurant. Meal was over 200.00 bucks.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was cooked perfectly. The fires ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was cooked perfectly. The fireside table very romantic. Our waiter was was conscientious and pleasant. Looking forward to returning!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite in Estes Park. Entree ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always a favorite in Estes Park. Entrees are around $25 to $40 so not the cheapest place in Estes.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great. Ambiance was good. Howev ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was great. Ambiance was good. However I don't think it was worth the price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great service - food was good, just a li ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great service - food was good, just a little overpriced. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There isn't a bad item on the menu howev ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

There isn't a bad item on the menu however you must read the menu carefully as they use a lot of sauces that you may not like

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed the historic, rustic atmosphe ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We enjoyed the historic, rustic atmosphere. The food was good but a bit pricey for what you got.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Christmas eve dinner with sister-in-law. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas eve dinner with sister-in-law...was perfect for the two of us being seated at a small table for two in the balcony.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Whenever we travel to Estes Park, we alw ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Whenever we travel to Estes Park, we always dine at the Twin Owls. We were celebrating our anniversary and of course called for a reservation to be seated in the balcony overlooking the main dining are. Overall it was a lovely experience from our server, Serhii to the live guitar music. The only glitch was very early attempted delivery of our entrees by an assistant woman server while we were in the middle of our salads. She was a bit miffed that we didn't want the entrée immediately. We sent the entrees back and Serhii made things right by explaining that the other server must have misunderstood his instructions about the timing of the meal. However, after we had finished our salads, we then enjoyed our entrees-buffalo fillet and elk medallions. Both were cooked to perfection as usual at the Twin Owls. For our anniversary, Serhii also brought us a complementary piece of raspberry cheesecake! Very nice touch.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice, good food, efficient. I felt in ve ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Nice, good food, efficient. I felt in very good hand and I liked it a lot!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and amazing service! Will c ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Amazing food and amazing service! Will continue to come here any time I'm I Estes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very cool old log building to have a spe ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very cool old log building to have a special meal at it. Had Val as a waiter and did a great job.

Not an inexpensive meal but I would definitely go back again sometime.

The parking lot is small and odd but that's the charm with a historic building.

you will enjoy the Owl

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We met a friend for our annual Christmas ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We met a friend for our annual Christmas dinner and he was very impressed with the food and the ambiance. We had great service by Sergei. He and we will back. The seabass, scallops, and Twin Owls 4x4 were superb as were the Appetizer for Two (they increased it to three!), French onion soup, and creme brulee and cheesecake we shared for dessert.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, very friendly server. W ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent food, very friendly server. Would recommend and will be dining here on our next visit to Estes Park.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Cozy, Live Music, Fireplace, Historic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They reserved a special spot upstairs fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 5, 2016

They reserved a special spot upstairs for our anniversary dinner which was quiet and cozy. I ordered the special of the evening which was the buffalo ribeye and it was not like any buffalo meat I had ever had before. It was stringy and chewy and not very good. I told the waitress and she took the plate and let me re-order another steak dish and I was very pleased with my meal. The waitress also brought us a special dessert for our anniversary. We had a nice experience with the Twin Owls and would recommend this restaurant to anyone celebrating a special occasion or that just want a good meal. There was also live entertainment and nice to listen to while eating dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our sever (Val) was so attentive even th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Our sever (Val) was so attentive even though during this off season it got fairly busy and with only 2 servers, he was there always asking if there was anything we needed. Our food was superb!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and a cozy interior. A li ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very good food and a cozy interior. A little bit on the expensive side but not overly so considering its location. My only real complaint would be with the parking; it's very tight and oddly laid out, especially in bad weather when snow is covering the lines.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and ambiance were outstanding! ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food and ambiance were outstanding! It was a meal to remember

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the hostesses, waitstaff and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

As always, the hostesses, waitstaff and Constantine the bartender, were amazing. Fantastic service and specials recommendations, wonderful atmosphere and duck with peppercorn cherry sauce that is out of this world! Thanks for a terrific evening out with our sons.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fireplace, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambiance was great, and so was some of ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Ambiance was great, and so was some of the food. But one of the steaks was full of fat and griozzle. We told the waiter who brushed it off by saying that's the way it was cut. No apology, no offer of another steak or reduced price. For $32, I expect a good steak in a steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Great staff and food. Beautiful venue ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great staff and food. Beautiful venue for a holiday meal.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had dinner at Twin Owls fo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at Twin Owls for our anniversary. The food was unique and very good. The service was great and it is a very fun setting.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The event: My 70th birthday. My partne ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The event: My 70th birthday. My partner, daughter, and son-in-law came up to Estes Park for the weekend and made reservations here. The restaurant had wonderful atmosphere, the waiter was very earnest, but made a few errors. Nothing that couldn't be corrected, but perhaps he was new.

The live music was a guitarist, excellent, who played old rock chestnuts in a very different, melodic and quiet version. We gave him huge tips. His talent added to the evening. All in all a good choice, and our waiter was apologetic, and tried very hard. He just forgot a few things.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We love dining here but the service that ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We love dining here but the service that might was bad. We never received bread after asking for it twice. The bartenders sour mood was evident. Our dinner came as we received our salads. And we didn't see our waitress again until she brought the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

My husband and I dined here for our anni ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My husband and I dined here for our anniversary in the late fall. The log cabin was romantic and cozy with moss fireplace blazing and live classical guitar playing. Our service and food were both fantastic. We shared the caprese appetizer which put us in the best frame of mind because the tomatoes were ripe and wonderful with all the flavors in perfect proportion. My husband got one of the specials that evening, the buffalo prime rib. It was prepared well and tasted great but with a unique flavor we attributed to the type of meat. I ordered the grilled pork chops which were rich and sweet. Both dishes paired well with the mashed potatoes side. The chocolate cake for desert was the only part of the meal that I felt was served in too large a portion but together we managed to make it through. The entire dinner was a wonderful experience!

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The appetizer was excellent and one of o ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The appetizer was excellent and one of our dinners was very good, but entrees did not match the price point or the experience delivered by the staff. The staff were all very nice, but they didn't appear or sound like they worked in a fine restaurant. Server timing was poor and started off slow with no one addressing our wait. Water glasses were kept full, but nothing else (like beer, wine) was followed up on. Dessert must not be very special there because you can hear no answers after "anyone interested in dessert?" being asked. No sample tray, no tempting, no after dinner drink or coffee. No one seemed to care if you ever came back. An average chain restaurant has a clearer mission and the staff seem to want to be there. There was an advertised Spanish guitarist who played many things except Spanish music.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.