About Twin Owls Steakhouse

800 MacGregor Avenue
Estes Park, CO 80517
View Larger Map

The Twin Owls Steakhouse is a beautiful log cabin built in the 20's. It has a warm candlelit ambiance and 3 moss rock fireplaces. We feature on our menu various steaks, seafood, game, poultry and more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Friday-Sunday 5:00 p.m.- 9:00 p.m.
Reservations recommended.

Cross Street:
Rt 34 Bypass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 586-9344

Website:
http://www.twinowls.net/

Executive Chef:
Brant Price

Private Party Facilities:
The Steakhouse has a variety of private dining rooms all with log walls and massive stone fireplaces. We can accommodate private parties from 10 to 200.

Private Party Contact:
Sandra: 9702154544x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lamb - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
  • Elk Medallions  - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
  • Ribeye Steak With Garlic Potatoes - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
  • Grilled Pork Chop with Sweet Potatoes - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
  • House Salad With Blue Cheese Dressing - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
  • Wild Norwegian Salmon - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
  • The Twin Owl Steak And Lobster Dish - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
Lamb - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
Elk Medallions  - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
Ribeye Steak With Garlic Potatoes - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
Grilled Pork Chop with Sweet Potatoes - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
House Salad With Blue Cheese Dressing - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
Wild Norwegian Salmon - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO
The Twin Owl Steak And Lobster Dish - Twin Owls Steakhouse, Estes Park, CO

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Twin Owls Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Estes Park
Best Restaurants in Estes Park ›

Special Occasion (90)
Romantic (83)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
See All
Good for a Date (69)
Scenic View (66)
Fireplace (55)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Historic (38)
Cozy (37)
Worth the Drive (34)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Authentic (31)
Notable Wine List (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Casual (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Comfort Food (20)
Live Music (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Seasonal (14)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Business Meals (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Family Style (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fun (5)
Private Room (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Organic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always, the hostesses, waitstaff and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

As always, the hostesses, waitstaff and Constantine the bartender, were amazing. Fantastic service and specials recommendations, wonderful atmosphere and duck with peppercorn cherry sauce that is out of this world! Thanks for a terrific evening out with our sons.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fireplace, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great staff and food. Beautiful venue ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great staff and food. Beautiful venue for a holiday meal.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had dinner at Twin Owls fo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at Twin Owls for our anniversary. The food was unique and very good. The service was great and it is a very fun setting.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The event: My 70th birthday. My partne ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The event: My 70th birthday. My partner, daughter, and son-in-law came up to Estes Park for the weekend and made reservations here. The restaurant had wonderful atmosphere, the waiter was very earnest, but made a few errors. Nothing that couldn't be corrected, but perhaps he was new.

The live music was a guitarist, excellent, who played old rock chestnuts in a very different, melodic and quiet version. We gave him huge tips. His talent added to the evening. All in all a good choice, and our waiter was apologetic, and tried very hard. He just forgot a few things.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We love dining here but the service that ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We love dining here but the service that might was bad. We never received bread after asking for it twice. The bartenders sour mood was evident. Our dinner came as we received our salads. And we didn't see our waitress again until she brought the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

My husband and I dined here for our anni ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My husband and I dined here for our anniversary in the late fall. The log cabin was romantic and cozy with moss fireplace blazing and live classical guitar playing. Our service and food were both fantastic. We shared the caprese appetizer which put us in the best frame of mind because the tomatoes were ripe and wonderful with all the flavors in perfect proportion. My husband got one of the specials that evening, the buffalo prime rib. It was prepared well and tasted great but with a unique flavor we attributed to the type of meat. I ordered the grilled pork chops which were rich and sweet. Both dishes paired well with the mashed potatoes side. The chocolate cake for desert was the only part of the meal that I felt was served in too large a portion but together we managed to make it through. The entire dinner was a wonderful experience!

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The appetizer was excellent and one of o ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The appetizer was excellent and one of our dinners was very good, but entrees did not match the price point or the experience delivered by the staff. The staff were all very nice, but they didn't appear or sound like they worked in a fine restaurant. Server timing was poor and started off slow with no one addressing our wait. Water glasses were kept full, but nothing else (like beer, wine) was followed up on. Dessert must not be very special there because you can hear no answers after "anyone interested in dessert?" being asked. No sample tray, no tempting, no after dinner drink or coffee. No one seemed to care if you ever came back. An average chain restaurant has a clearer mission and the staff seem to want to be there. There was an advertised Spanish guitarist who played many things except Spanish music.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Great food and friendly service. Only ne ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food and friendly service. Only negative is the lack of parking.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food - "best pork chop ever" ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent food - "best pork chop ever" wife

My Bison prime rib - excellent

Service was good and knowledgeable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The evening was fabulous--food, service, ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The evening was fabulous--food, service, and guitar playing in the background. The place is very cozy--loved the fireplace!

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Live Music, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bison filet and elk medallions were ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The bison filet and elk medallions were both incredible. Large portions, perfectly seasoned. Excellent service. Only issue was that it's way too quiet! So everyone seemed to be whispering. Still, I could hear every conversation from across the restaurant. Louder music or sound dampening would be a major ambiance boost. Loved our dinner here. It was part of our vacation that really stood out. Thank you!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Beautiful setting in a lodge built in 19 ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Beautiful setting in a lodge built in 1920's. Food and service was good. Nice quiet atmosphere with large stone fireplace going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

First meal of our 7 day vacation in Este ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 7, 2016

First meal of our 7 day vacation in Estes Park was the best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Superior service, excellent food, in a g ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Superior service, excellent food, in a great setting. Made for a very nice date night with my wife.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expect to pay more. Cocktails were far t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Expect to pay more. Cocktails were far too expensive. Elk dish was very good. third time there, would go back

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Appetizer was not hot, the rest was very ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Appetizer was not hot, the rest was very good. Service was quick.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating our wedding annivers ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and wanted to get a nice meal. My wife's daughter was married in the lodge about 15 years ago.

Parking needs to be improved. Hard to get in and out of parking stalls and parking area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The appetizers were amazing. Some entree ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The appetizers were amazing. Some entrees were good according to my companions. I got fish which they did not debone. It was difficult to eat and not what I would expect for the price. The Caesar salad dressing was not edible and had to be sent back. My last experience was much better so it may have been an off night. This is an expensive place though so I was disappointed enough that I probably won't go back.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Brought my wife here for her birthday wh ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Brought my wife here for her birthday while staying in Estes Park. Bacon in appetizer and with Pork Chop way too fatty. Duck did not come with sauce listed on menu, and skin not at all crispy. Duck meat was high quality though, as was pork chop (though cooked very rare in middle). Mashed potatoes were delicious. Cocktail specials on tables were not actually available. Overall, way overpriced for quality of meals, but very nice atmosphere and staff.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Cheese plate was not good...cheeses were ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Cheese plate was not good...cheeses were all crumbly and no variety......

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Wife's meal was excellent, although all ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Wife's meal was excellent, although all 3 sauces on top of a filet are overkill.

Husband's prime rib was not tasty, was tough and did not appear to be the end cut he requested. His onion soup was nothing special.

The other 3 enjoyed their meals.

Became very noisy.

Cost high for full-time residents. We realize you do a fine wedding business but we just wanted to enjoy a nice meal with friends.

Waitress was top notch.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Historic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Our experience at Twin Owls was absolute ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our experience at Twin Owls was absolutely great! The ambiance was just what we were looking for after a day of hiking in the mountains... nice view, nice wine, nice meal. The only caveat is that the way they cooked the steaks definitely leaned toward well done. A few of us ordered "medium well" and got back a steak with no "pink". Otherwise, wonderful!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for our anniversary and cannot wait ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Went for our anniversary and cannot wait to go back! Serge our waiter was great and the food was amazing!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG! I just moved to Estes Park and rec ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 27, 2016

OMG! I just moved to Estes Park and recently got engaged. My daughter & son-in-law bought us a gift card to celebrate the occasion. I now have a new FAVORITE restaurant! The food was scrumptious and the service was superb!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely evening! Food and service was te ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Lovely evening! Food and service was terrific. Classical and Spanish guitarist James Davis set a terrific atmosphere -- especially when he played a very unexpected classical version of Guns 'N' Roses' "Sweet Child of Mine"!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Twin Owls has great food , great atmosph ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Twin Owls has great food , great atmosphere and our server, Okiwa, was very gracious and helpful. We dine at Twin Owls whenever we are in Estes Park.

Jake Wenger

Colorado Springs, CO

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The BEST dinner that we had in Estes Par ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The BEST dinner that we had in Estes Park!!!! The food was cooked perfectly, outstanding selection, excellent service and at the right price!!!!We may never eat dinner at any other place in Estes Park!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really wanted to like this place more. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 25, 2016

I really wanted to like this place more. But, I just couldn't give them 5 stars. However, they were good enough to recommend. Great ambiance, and the food was mostly good. We were just disappointed with the Filet MacGregor, their house special. It was far thinner than I'm used to for a filet, and was covered with so many toppings, the flavor of the meat was lost. On the other extreme, my prime rib was a bit bland. All that said, it wasn't bad, and the wait staff are excellent and kind. It's worth trying again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I are from Fort Worth, TEXAS ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 24, 2016

My wife and I are from Fort Worth, TEXAS and were in Estes Park for our 5-year anniversary.

Twin Owls was the place recommended that we come for our anniversary dinner, and we are so glad we went!

The atmosphere, food and service were top-notch. We frequent quite a few fine dining restaurants in FW and Dallas, and Twin Owls was right up there with some of the best.

The elk medallions and filet macgregor were to die for and were complemented well by a bottle of Charles Krug Cab.

Sirge, our server was at the top of his game and made us feel very special, while maintaining refined serving skills.

I highly recommend this restaurant. If we're ever back in Estes Park we will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was delicious! We had the appet ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our meal was delicious! We had the appetizer tour for two - outstanding. I had the Filet McGregor and my wife had the Beef Ribeye. We would get both again. I'd love to try some of the other entrees on the menu. On our return to Estes Park we will surely visit Twin Owls again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fabulous! It is a very nic ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was fabulous! It is a very nice please great scenery!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

once again the whole experience was wond ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

once again the whole experience was wonderful- the food as always was wonderful-the setting is just so cozy and warm-the service as always wonderful .

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Twin Owls was recommended to us when we ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Twin Owls was recommended to us when we came to Estes Park on vacation. We loved it so much we went back a second time! Filet MacGregor and French Onion Soup were outstanding!! Looking forward to coming back to Estes Park so we can eat there again!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fireplace, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old friends from Chicago joined us for a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Old friends from Chicago joined us for a perfect evening in a perfect setting with great wine , food and service. Owner personally explained the menu selections and took our order. Hostess graciously seated us at the table we requested directly in front of the fireplace.

Be sure and wave to Leroy, the majestic 6x6 bull elk, in the neighboring yard beyond the pond.

The evening was a special treat for our Midwestern friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our 'go to place' when we want to elevat ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Our 'go to place' when we want to elevate the evening over the general state of local dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We will be back again next Fall for a ni ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We will be back again next Fall for a nice meal. Lots to choose from ...... so exciting

Will bring guests

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We brought my sister for her birthday an ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We brought my sister for her birthday and she was impressed by the ambiance and great food. It is one of our favorite places in Estes Park, especially for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was disappointed with our experience. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I was disappointed with our experience. They were short staffed so that the timing of our meal was terrible. We waited a very long time for our appetizer and then the salads came before we could finish the appetizer, then dinner came before we could finish our salads, they did not bus the table so we had stacks of dishes every where on a small table. The food was very good, the atmosphere was very nice and relaxing. We enjoyed the fireplace. I am not sure I would dine here again, it was an expensive meal and we really didn't get to enjoy it.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The scallops were small and chewy. Thefi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The scallops were small and chewy. Thefish was hard to taste with all the sauce.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The entire evening here was incredible. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The entire evening here was incredible. I had my parents visiting from the east coast and they had never been here before. It was the 32nd wedding anniversary and I really wanted them to have a view of the mountains and we were seated in the PERFECT seat possible. :) The food was incredibly amazing. Wine was delicious, mixed drinks were awesome. Apps, main course and dessert were all top notch and service was on point as well. They were able to make accommodations for my food allergies which was commendable and didn't make me feel silly for having restrictions. I will be back and will spread the word about how stellar everyone was to make their anniversary a night to remember here in Colorado!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.