About Twin Owls Steakhouse

800 MacGregor Avenue
Estes Park, CO 80517
View Larger Map

The Twin Owls Steakhouse is a beautiful log cabin built in the 20's. It has a warm candlelit ambiance and 3 moss rock fireplaces. We feature on our menu various steaks, seafood, game, poultry and more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Sunday 5:00 p.m.- 9:00 p.m.
Reservations recommended.

Cross Street:
Rt 34 Bypass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 586-9344

Website:
http://www.twinowls.net/

Executive Chef:
Brant Price

Private Party Facilities:
The Steakhouse has a variety of private dining rooms all with log walls and massive stone fireplaces. We can accommodate private parties from 10 to 200.

Private Party Contact:
Sandra: 9702154544x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lamb
  • Elk Medallions
  • Ribeye Steak With Garlic Potatoes
  • Grilled Pork Chop with Sweet Potatoes
  • House Salad With Blue Cheese Dressing
  • Wild Norwegian Salmon
  • The Twin Owl Steak And Lobster Dish
Lamb
Elk Medallions
Ribeye Steak With Garlic Potatoes
Grilled Pork Chop with Sweet Potatoes
House Salad With Blue Cheese Dressing
Wild Norwegian Salmon
The Twin Owl Steak And Lobster Dish

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Twin Owls Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Estes Park
Best Restaurants in Estes Park ›

Special Occasion (158)
Romantic (119)
Scenic View (116)
See All
Fit for Foodies (67)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Good for Groups (46)
Notable Wine List (44)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for a Date (30)
Fireplace (19)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Historic (16)
Authentic (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Casual (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Cozy (12)
Comfort Food (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Live Music (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Seasonal (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Family Style (3)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1382 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

If you've experienced big city dining ex ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 2 days ago

If you've experienced big city dining experiences before (and are hoping for anything on Denver's par), you'll be disappointed. If you like a classic, run-of-the-mill steakhouses, you'll probably be happy. I will cut them some slack because they told us the head chef recently quit, but I still don't think that would change my opinion. Wrong drinks, bland food and a stale concept. :/

If you're being selective when visiting from out of town, look elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

We went for my wife's birthday, and ende ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

We went for my wife's birthday, and ended up with one of the two tables on a private balcony above the rest of the restaurant/dinning area. This was one of the most memorable dinners we have ever experienced. The food was amazing. We have dined at many restaurants over the years (across the nation). This restaurant quickly topped the list of our favorites. This was an outstanding experience. Definitely highly recommended Twin Owls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For what was supposed to be a higher end ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 3 days ago

For what was supposed to be a higher end dining establishment we found the food and service to be amazingly average.

The service did not stand out in any way. All four in our party ordered meat dishes and all were overcooked. The rib-eye, lamb chops, and elk medallions were requested medium rare and they came out either medium or medium well. Prime rib was requested rare and came as medium; it is understood that rare may not be available but if it is not even close then the customer should be asked if that is okay.

Will not eat here again or recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Went here for our 37th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

Went here for our 37th wedding anniversary.

Excellent meal and service. Reservation made on line, extremely convenient.

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Twin Owls...food was outst ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

First time at Twin Owls...food was outstanding!...baked Brie, fresh house salads, Twin Owls signature steaks and salmon...beautifully presented and expertly seasoned...very good cheese cake for dessert...craft cocktails before dinner, wine with dinner and after dinner drink with coffee...our issue was service....10-15 minutes for water service and finally our server acknowledged us...ordered cocktails that took along time to receive...ordered wine with dinner...she never asked if we would like another...just awkward pace and timing with our server...no refill on coffee...we paid our bill and left only to see our server with other servers eating dinner in the bar....it's pricey for Estes Park...service should match the dinner price and it didn't....I did enjoy our water server and busses...she was right there before water glasses were empty and plates were taken away n a timely fashion...will we go back?...I don't know...we live next door in the townhomes...it would be convenient but....I just don't know....

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We visited for our honeymoon, great atmo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

We visited for our honeymoon, great atmosphere for that!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Twin Owls is one of our must go to resta ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Twin Owls is one of our must go to restaurants in Estes Park. Have been going for 10+ years and it is always good and reliable. Wait staff is friendly and efficient. Food is very good and plentiful. Good selection of wines on the list. The room has a rustic charm that fits well with the mountain ambiance of Estes Park.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The main complaint is the entrees were s ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 4 days ago

The main complaint is the entrees were served before we were finished with the soup and salad. The bread was not served until we requested it after our soup and salad were finished. The food was good but a trifle on the bland side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Enjoyed every aspect of Twin Owls includ ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed every aspect of Twin Owls including great conversation with owners Thad and Sandy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service by Chrissie. Delicious ste ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great service by Chrissie. Delicious steaks and a gorgeous setting. It's like a large, luxurious log cabin, the fire was lit, the atmosphere was relaxed.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seafood came out cold. Steak was also c ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Seafood came out cold. Steak was also cold. Server could care less and blamed a large party why it came out late. Garbage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We were impressed with the great food an ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We were impressed with the great food and the service. My husband's lamb chop was a little too rare for him. No problem, they took it back and brought it to him perfectly done.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal ever! Tender elk steak. Very a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Best meal ever! Tender elk steak. Very attentive service, but not being perstered. Would highly recommend it for a nice evening out with friends.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiancé and I had a really wonderful m ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My fiancé and I had a really wonderful meal here. The food was delicious. Plus, our server was outstanding. We're from out of town but if we're ever back in Estes Park, we'll absolutely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed the ambiance. Might have ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Really enjoyed the ambiance. Might have given it five stars, but they were out of the special, and the service was not excellent.

The elk medallions were awesome. I wish my rib eye was as tender as the elk.

Would definitely go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

There are many restaurants in Estes Park ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

There are many restaurants in Estes Park around the square and on the river, but they all trade ambiance and convenience for food quality. Twin Owls is hidden away off the beaten path, but only a little bit. It is definitely worth the travel.

The staff members were great and friendly.

I highly recommend you give it a try, but please don't take all the tables, we want to go back, too. :-)

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The building is stunning in itself. The ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The building is stunning in itself. The atmosphere is charged with energy. The bacon wrapped scallops are so tender and delicious. The elk tips are cooked to perfection. The buffalo steak is tender but without flavor. The asparagus was undercooked leaving it waxy. The trout oscar is dry and truly disappointing. First time customers should ask wait staff what they would suggest. If paying this price for good food, there is no room for poor quality. I would go back now that I have an understanding of what to get that is worth the price.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Dunraven (our usual in Estes Park) was b ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Dunraven (our usual in Estes Park) was booked, so we made reservations here. We had our kids (7 and 5) with us who behaved well through dinner. I did not feel our waitress enjoyed anything about her job, we didn't feel welcome to be there at all. We arrived hungry and saw people with bread on their table. We asked our waitress for bread, which she seemingly reluctantly brought. The bread was REALLY good. Highlight of the night. I ordered the scallops and my husband ordered the ribeye. The scallops were so gritty, it was like eating sand. The orzo pasta and veggies looked beautiful, but were bland. Husband found ribeye tough and tasteless and his sides were also bland. We salted everything, which is unusual for us. We would have complained about the food but the waitress was so unwelcoming we didn't want to speak to her. The couple next to us complained about their food and the waitress had a stone cold, uncaring and annoyed reaction: flatly asking if they wanted something else, without an apology or inkling of care or concern.

We left and were out $125 for poor service and overpriced food. We will not return. I rarely write a poor review but I'm sad and disappointed we had an opportunity to have a nice evening as a family that turned out the way it did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Food was good. The server forgot our ap ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was good. The server forgot our appetizer and we reminded him of it he brought it after the entree. We had asked for another glass of wine and it was never brought to us.

We have eaten here before several times and the food and service was great. Normally would still recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

The French onion soup, beet salad and ch ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The French onion soup, beet salad and chocolate mousse cake were fabulous.

The tortellini & ravioli pasta dish was mushy.

There was no way to get away from the screaming child.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I think it only had two $, should have b ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I think it only had two $, should have been three or four. It was fairly expensive. The food was good though.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fantastic. Had filet and lobste ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Food was fantastic. Had filet and lobster tail everything was prepared wonderfully

The cream brûlée was perfection and workers saving room for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a very pleasant dinner here while ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We had a very pleasant dinner here while visiting Estes Park. The dining room was elegant, but casual, and conversation was easy. We both had the elk medallions, and they were delicious. We also had a Colorado wine that was a perfect pairing with the elk. I would definitely go back here if I visit Estes Park again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant has character. Baked brie was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Restaurant has character. Baked brie was wonderful. Trout was a disappointment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We usually dine at Twin Owls restaurant ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We usually dine at Twin Owls restaurant during our yearly trip to Estes Park. We had the pork chop, MacGregor , and the twin owls 4x4. Everyone enjoyed their entrees and each was cooked as ordered. The setting was rustic and charming. We had the dessert trio. The brownie was average but the other two were good. Our waitress was very good and another server did a good job of keeping our water refilled. We would return.

Tags: Seasonal, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The waiter was not very attentive at all ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The waiter was not very attentive at all. He came by once to check on our meals. He did not deliver them and we only saw him 2 other times before that for drinks and to take our order. Never poured our wine, etc. Not quite sure what else was going on but we never saw him. I ordered the 4 x 4 dinner. The lobster was not cooked through. The steak was pretty good. The potatoes were quite dried out. I had such high expectations from other reviews. It was a Sunday night, maybe just not on their toes because it was a slower night...?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Food was amazing for the price! Very rea ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food was amazing for the price! Very reasonable for the quality!! Can't wait to make another trip to there soon!

Tags: Fun, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice, relaxing dinner for ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had a very nice, relaxing dinner for a special date. Everything was very good. Our tab was close to $100 and we didn't have anything from the bar, so it was a little pricey for just a date.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I had ribeye and it was not a very good ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I had ribeye and it was not a very good piece of meat, lots of gristle. My wife had the pork chop was not cooked thru

Tags: Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

They could not find our reservation from ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

They could not find our reservation from open table.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We try come to RMNP every year & always ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We try come to RMNP every year & always try to come one night for dinner because we enjoy your place so much

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food with hearty portions. Pe ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Delicious food with hearty portions. Perfect location for a special dinner to celebrate my parent's 40th anniversary while vacationing in Estes Park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Memorable.....food, service decor and vi ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Memorable.....food, service decor and view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the star of our visit to Estes ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was the star of our visit to Estes Park. Restaurant is rustic, service was great and dinner was fantastic. We plan to visit the next time we are in that area.

Tags: Fireplace, Outstanding Value, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the Elk and it was amazing!!! The ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had the Elk and it was amazing!!! The restaurant was very inviting and the service as wonderful!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for one of the "must do" r ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We went there for one of the "must do" restaurants while we were on vacation in Estes Park, Colorado. The place itself is full of history, and extremely cool. As far as the food was concerned, it was good, not great, and very high priced for what they give you. We were expecting a culinary masterpiece, and got something different than hoped for. Not saying anything was bad, just more expensive for less than what we anticipated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Private Room, Seasonal, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

After finding glass in my salad the mana ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

After finding glass in my salad the manager was right there to take care of it and took the salad off the bill. Thank you. I did not get upset about it things happen but very happy they did accomandate the situation. Thank you

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Cozy, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. I had the filet mi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Food was outstanding. I had the filet mignon. It was done perfectly as I ordered it medium. My boyfriend did the filet with lobster tail -Also outstanding. They didn't have a pinot noir so slight disappointment. Also maybe a slightly slower pace between appetizers and main course. Overall a fabulous dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Steak was tasty, but thin. Not what most ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Steak was tasty, but thin. Not what most people are used to anymore. I had the lobster tail, but it was a little overdone, and had seasoning on it, which, in my opinion, is not required on lobster.

Lovely, charming restaurant though. Nice owners.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great find in Estes Paek! We had a frien ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great find in Estes Paek! We had a friendly and knowledgeable server who guided us to the perfect entrees, had elk and short ribs , both wonderfully prepared.. Great bartender too, my Manhattan was perfect. Will return when back in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.