About Twin Owls Steakhouse

800 MacGregor Avenue
Estes Park, CO 80517
View Larger Map

The Twin Owls Steakhouse is a beautiful log cabin built in the 20's. It has a warm candlelit ambiance and 3 moss rock fireplaces. We feature on our menu various steaks, seafood, game, poultry and more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Sunday 5:00 p.m.- 9:00 p.m.
Reservations recommended.

Cross Street:
Rt 34 Bypass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 586-9344

Website:
http://www.twinowls.net/

Executive Chef:
Brant Price

Private Party Facilities:
The Steakhouse has a variety of private dining rooms all with log walls and massive stone fireplaces. We can accommodate private parties from 10 to 200.

Private Party Contact:
Sandra: 9702154544x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Lamb
  • Elk Medallions
  • Ribeye Steak With Garlic Potatoes
  • Grilled Pork Chop with Sweet Potatoes
  • House Salad With Blue Cheese Dressing
  • Wild Norwegian Salmon
  • The Twin Owl Steak And Lobster Dish
Lamb
Elk Medallions
Ribeye Steak With Garlic Potatoes
Grilled Pork Chop with Sweet Potatoes
House Salad With Blue Cheese Dressing
Wild Norwegian Salmon
The Twin Owl Steak And Lobster Dish

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Twin Owls Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Estes Park
Best Restaurants in Estes Park ›

special occasion (145)
romantic (112)
scenic view (106)
See All
fit for foodies (65)
good for groups (50)
notable wine list (43)
neighborhood gem (41)
kid-friendly (13)
hot spot (9)
great for outdoor dining (3)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This restaurant was crowded from the mom ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 7 days ago

This restaurant was crowded from the moment we walked in and still crowded when we left. Our server was as good as a server can get when you are dealing with the number of patrons that they must take care of in an evening. The food was very good for the amount of food that the kitchen has to put out but I wouldn't say that it was outstanding. We both had the salmon and while good it was over cooked. My husband had it with the jezebel sauce on the side and I opted out of that and instead asked for a side of their red curry sauce which worked very well with the salmon.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My husband and I had a date night here w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

My husband and I had a date night here while visiting Estes Park. The atmosphere was great. It was quiet and romantic. The staff was friendly and recommended some dishes. The food was superb. The elk medallions were fantastic as they were recommended by out server. We both had the udon filet which was cooked perfectly, very tender. It is pricey, but worth it for a special night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks were AMAZING!! My husband had ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The steaks were AMAZING!! My husband had the elk medallions and they were the table favorite, although All of our meals were great! We also shared the Brie appetizer which was also fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decided on this place and had never been ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Decided on this place and had never been. My wife and daughter and myself were on vacation in Estes. Reservation was timely and the service was outstanding. Thank you Glen!!

We live near San Francisco and the food was on par with our dining experiences there. Thanks Twin Owls for an excellent experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Found Twin Owls while staying at Stanley ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Found Twin Owls while staying at Stanley Hotel, on vacation. Atmosphere was fantastic and service was great. Even had a solo musician playing guitar and singing. Food was excellent. Great place for romantic date.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Able to watch deer while we ate. A trea ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Able to watch deer while we ate. A treat!

Food was excellent.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our recent dining experience at Twin Owl ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our recent dining experience at Twin Owls was quite good. The parking is easy, and the setting is beautiful. The menu had something for everyone, and the Elk Medallions were especially good. Our server was knowledgeable and friendly. The only bad part of the dinner was that the entrees came out just a few minutes after the salads, and we didn't have time to enjoy the salads, much less any more room on the table to put more plates, so it made the entire experience feel rushed and cramped. Seems like the server and the kitchen needed a bit more coordination.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent food. Elk Medallions were per ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent food. Elk Medallions were perfectly tender and cooked to exact request. Wife had beef tenderloin tips that were outstanding. One son had prime rib that was out of this world with a taste of the spices on the outside, but, absolutely perfectly pink tender meat on the inside with a wonderful au jus. Other son had the Twin Owl steak and lobster that was also excellent. Overall, a terrific meat lovers dinning experience. I would absolutely recommend for a special night out while visiting Estes Park.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, service and ambiance! We ha ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food, service and ambiance! We had a wonderful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. The elk, pork chop, and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food. The elk, pork chop, and prime rib were all great. Only disappointment was the vegetable side with every dish, just plain, flavorless steamed veggies. Very uninspired, when the meat was so well flavored and perfectly cooked.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Food was unique and well prepared. Ever ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was unique and well prepared. Everything was delicious. We had an excellent waiter. The noise level was quite high considering it seemed to be more of a "special occastion" restaurant. We were a group of four and it made conversation difficult. The parking lot was small and hard to navigate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Twin Owls is one of our favorite restaur ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Twin Owls is one of our favorite restaurants in Estes Park. The food is outstanding, the views are stunning, and the staff and owners are magnificent. We also held our wedding reception there last year and they did a phenomenal job with that. We highly recommend that you try Twin Owls if you're in Estes - whether for a special occasion or general dining, it's top notch.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a wonderful experience. Recommended by f ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

a wonderful experience. Recommended by family as a can not miss and they were right.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect! Service was top ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Everything was perfect! Service was top notch; food was delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant, really enjoyed it! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very nice restaurant, really enjoyed it!! Nice ambiance, nice view! I would say best for adults only.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were disappointed in our experience. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We were disappointed in our experience. They took us to a table up on a balcony. All the servers had to come up a long stairs so service was not good. The meals were overpriced and not that tasty. Ir was my husband's 75th birthday and they gave him a card for a free appetizer--the next time he came in!!! They did nothing special for his birthday. We both were really disappointed because we had heard so much about the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This is incredible experience! The resta ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is incredible experience! The restaurant in a historical farmhouse with fireplace and wooden beams. Large windows allow every table to see outside to the incredible rock formations. The food is amazing and done to perfection, from appetizers to dessert. Our waiter was attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable about the menu and the surrounding area. We were celebrating our 30th anniversary and came back from Vail to enjoy this beautiful restaurant. The acoustic guitar player was gifted and added the perfect background music. Thank you for a lovely evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very memorable meal !! It started with ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

A very memorable meal !! It started with wine and excellent crusty warm bread dipped in oil and a unique blend of herbs. The elk was AMAZING and perfectly cooked! The side dishes of seasonal vegetables and smashed potatoes also perfectly cooked and seasoned. The log cabin is charming and romantic, the service excellent. I am only sad we were not in the area long enough for a repeat visit. Would very much like to try everything on the menu. Excellent choice for foodies!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ok, wonderful restaurant! waiters , girl ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

ok, wonderful restaurant! waiters , girls at the table and the reception not very friendly!!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The Server was good. The bacon-wrapped ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The Server was good. The bacon-wrapped scallop appetizer was very good! Then it went downhill from there. I ordered french onion soup, it was horrible. It was made with a vegetable broth, they added onions, placed 2 pieces of bread on top and sprinkled some cheese. It did not taste like french onion soup. It tasted like vegetable soup with soggy cheese- soaked bread. Both the ribeye steak, and filet steak came out raw. The ribeye steak was so thin about 1/4" thick, it looked like breakfast meat. The Filet was so tough and gristly I could barely cut it with a serrated knife. The prime rib was good. The 3 of us did not eat at the same time because the 2 steaks were sent back. This was a special occasion and we were very disappointed in the food. The view is fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The trio appetizer for two was great. I ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The trio appetizer for two was great. I had the filet mignon which was tender and tasty. The cottage fries and mixed veggies that went with it weren't much. My husband had the Buffalo sirloin which tasted good, but was chewy.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have eaten there several times and we ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We have eaten there several times and we ALWAYS enjoy it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After an in depth conversation with the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

After an in depth conversation with the staff and waiter about my husbands allergy issues they still brought out items he could not eat and messed up his dinner order on our anniversary. Very disappointed. They still charged us for a full accurate meal as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

We had such an awesome experience at the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had such an awesome experience at the restaurant. The setting was beautiful. The food was exquisite. The service was great.

It was a perfect dining experience. We definitely would suggest this as a "Must Do" when going through Estes Park. Thank you to all who made our evening so great!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son ordered the elk tenderloin medall ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

My son ordered the elk tenderloin medallions and had to send them back twice. They fort overlooked them and the second time they brought them out almost raw!

The food was overpriced for the quality

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

In Estes if you want a special dining ex ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

In Estes if you want a special dining experience you go to Twin Owls Steak House. That's what we tell all our friends who plan to travel to Estes Park.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place must be a local secret becaus ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This place must be a local secret because we only heard about it from a storekeeper! What a find! Gorgeous log building with a very relaxing feel. The menu was extensive and catered to all tastes. The kitchen was happy to make modifications as requested. Our server Blair was most attentive and pleasant. It will be a memorable meal and I would be proud to recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Val, is one of the best serv ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Our server, Val, is one of the best servers of all time! The Filet MacGregor was amazing, as were all the food we sampled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had many times gone to Twin Owls for ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We had many times gone to Twin Owls for a nice dinner or celebration. Our 4 friends were here from out of state so I made a reservation many days before. We were put in side room instead of pretty main dining with no view nor ambience. Definitely overpriced with food not cooked as ordered. Embarassing! Won't take friends there again. Told them was lovely place and felt we were in basement instead of beautiful lodge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

This restaurant was absolutely heavenly! ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

This restaurant was absolutely heavenly! The food was phenomenal and the view unforgettable. The service could have been a bit better, but would still recommend to a friend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an okay experience. The food is ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

It was an okay experience. The food is pricy. The elk medallions were delicious and the buffalo steak was tender and flavorful. The per glass wine list was mediocre at best. There are probably better less expensive restaurants in town.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We had dinner at Twin Owls to celebrate ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We had dinner at Twin Owls to celebrate my wife's birthday. The restaurant staff reserved a nice table for us next to a window overlooking the lawn and rock outcrops. All four meals were terrific. The waitress was excellent. Overall a really pleasant experience.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Estes for 4th of July weekend ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were in Estes for 4th of July weekend and wanted to have a nice dinner out one night. After reading reviews and looking at menus we decided Twin Owls sounded the best. It was a good choice. The ambience was great and the wait staff we super attentive. The duck and elk were phenomenal. Definitely will go back the next time we are in Estes.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff and food are great!Good wine l ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The staff and food are great!Good wine list and beer selection.Be sure to make a reservation and parking can be limited.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

we love the views and the beautiful inte ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

we love the views and the beautiful interior. One of our favorite places to eat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the very nicest places in Estes P ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

One of the very nicest places in Estes Park, CO. Also a perfect event destination for the entire family. This is a steak house that rates an Excellent five stars!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, especially the elk m ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was great, especially the elk medallions. Very nice atmosphere, warm and romantic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was great and the service was e ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food was great and the service was even better. We had a cozy table overlooking the rest of the dining room.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a very good family meal at Tw ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We enjoyed a very good family meal at Twin Owls. The food was very good and the service was excellent. The Elk medallions are highly recommended as is the trout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Easily the best meal in Estes Park. We' ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Easily the best meal in Estes Park. We've vacationed in Estes Park the past two summers and tried multiple restaurants based on various reviews. The Twin Owls is consistently great, much better than anything we've found in that area. Beautiful wooded setting (Elk outside the window), informal rustic ambience, very friendly staff, and great food. Hard to go wrong. Not inexpensive, but worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.