About Twin Owls Steakhouse

800 MacGregor Avenue
Estes Park, CO 80517
View Larger Map

The Twin Owls Steakhouse is a beautiful log cabin built in the 20's. It has a warm candlelit ambiance and 3 moss rock fireplaces. We feature on our menu various steaks, seafood, game, poultry and more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Sunday 5:00 p.m.- 9:00 p.m.
Reservations recommended.

Cross Street:
Rt 34 Bypass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 586-9344

Website:
http://www.twinowls.net/

Executive Chef:
Brant Price

Private Party Facilities:
The Steakhouse has a variety of private dining rooms all with log walls and massive stone fireplaces. We can accommodate private parties from 10 to 200.

Private Party Contact:
Sandra: 9702154544x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Twin Owls Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Denver / Colorado
Special Occasion
Denver / Colorado
Most Booked
Estes Park
Best Restaurants in Estes Park ›

special occasion (105)
romantic (101)
scenic view (60)
See All
fit for foodies (40)
notable wine list (36)
neighborhood gem (29)
good for groups (28)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for lunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Romantic dinner.

Dined 3 days ago

This is a special place to celebrate with someone you love or want to impress!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, food and atmosphere. Wi ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great service, food and atmosphere. Will continue to dine at the restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

The filet was tender and delicious. The ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The filet was tender and delicious. The ambience is lovely with live soft acoustic music. The server was sweet and attentive. Great date night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Went there for dinner two nights in a row...love the ambiance, love the food, and love the great wine selection!!!! Service is top notch...the owner is there and you feel like you've been friends for years! Fireplace, music, scenery...all perfect!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Maybe a little too pricey for what I was expecting

Dined on May 8, 2016

We found this in an internet search for a nice dinner during our vacation. This is five minutes off the beaten path in Estes Park. The restaurant is cool, in a lodge-style building. We had reservations, and there was a short wait to get a table by the kitchen door, when there were other tables open by the windows. Service was good, if a little busy. The dining room was pretty loud, there wasn't any effort made to dampen the acoustics of the room. The food was okay, with generous portions, but the only things that really stood out were on our appetizer, with the elk kabobs and scallops being delicious. I had the leg of lamb, which while very generous, was covered by a wilted chimichurri and tasted a little old, like it had been reheated. The beef spare ribs had a thick crust, almost like pork cracklins, but the flavor was good when you could get down to the meat. Dessert was okay, the creme brulee was more like a big serving of cheater flan, not really eggy, just like someone baked a milk-based pudding. It wasn't necessarily bad, I was just expecting more, especially for the price, hype, and tight parking.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice, if pricey.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Very nice. Food variable. Steak correct temperature and tasty . Roast beef wonderful. New England clam chowder was not very "New England" and Caesar salad not very special. Had desert trio. Bread pudding probably the best I've ever had. Sergay (sp?) from Ukraine and Nadia (from Peru) provided wonderful service and helped make our evening most enjoyable. For us, a bit pricey for everyday eating, but nice for occasions. Romantic. Some 2-place seating overlooking main dining room. We live in Estes and this is one of our "date night" spots. If you are visiting Estes Park this would be an excellent place for a special evening dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

twin owls steakhouse

Dined on May 7, 2016

Steak was good, chicken was dry. Overall experience was good and would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food, nice atmosphere

Dined on May 2, 2016

My husband and I dined at Twin Owls during our honeymoon. It was a very pleasant experience. We started with the elk kabob, then my husband had the lamb chops and I enjoyed the buffalo ribeye. Everything was very good and the wine selection had something for everyone, and there were a number of local craft brews available as well. The price point was a little high, but fitting for the ambiance and dinner selections.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place for those who know fine dining.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Staff was on time and courteous, very friendly and had good knowledge of the food and pairings with wine. They were on top with keeping our table clean, glasses full of water and will see if there was anything more to make our dining experience better. Good job.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

The Service and ambience were fabulous! ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The Service and ambience were fabulous! In general the food is bland- more like a supper club from the past.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Class in the Rockies

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food, comparable prices. Very romantic and gorgeous dining room, good and pleasant service. Will definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Filet?

Dined on April 22, 2016

Worst filet I have had in a long time. No I didn't send it back. Should have. Wife's meal was fine.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

have been here before and each time has ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

have been here before and each time has been wonderful

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

Dined on April 15, 2016

Twin Owls has superb food. It is beyond delicious. We love their tender, succulent steaks. Every time we have been there, the service has been great--attentive but not intrusive. We lok forward to enjoying Twin Owls every time we are in Estes Park.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food

Dined on April 15, 2016

I ordered the Filet McGregor style. All of the flavors were perfectly blended together to make one of the best steaks I have ever had. I also ordered the Green Chili Mashed Potatoes and they were amazing! My wife and I had a great meal and evening there and we are very much looking forward to the next time we go!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have visited Twin Owls several times ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

We have visited Twin Owls several times over the years and have always enjoyed the food and experience. This was our first visit with the present management. This visit was by far the best. The food was excellent, the recommended wine was superb and the service was top notch. Quality dining is not inexpensive but we truly found the experience worth every penny. Twin Owls will now be our first choice for dining in Estes Park.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Twin Owls Never Disappoints

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

My husband and I enjoy The Twin Owls every year we go to Estes Park. This was our 3rd year in a row to enjoy this restaraunt. You can't beat the dining experience and the food is delicious. The staff aims to please and the atmosphere is geared for a variety of experiences. It is romantic and twice we have been there with a wedding party. The staff pays attention to detail and when combined with the delightful meal it makes for a wonderful evening out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak I have ever eaten!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Best steak I have ever eaten!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Really enjoyed the ambiance. The baked ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Really enjoyed the ambiance. The baked brie was excellent. Would like to go back with friends. Really enjoyed the Spanish Guitarist.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Small Group for dinner

Dined on April 8, 2016

We always have the nicest time here. Food is good, love the ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great ambience

Dined on April 3, 2016

Very enjoyable - lovely mountain setting and the food is always good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved everything but the price

Dined on April 1, 2016

The restaurant location, food and most of all the service was excellent. Truly five star. The price was just a little high to be considered for our family outing list. With a family of five we were in the $200 range for dinner without dessert. However, we did get great food and I don't mind a little higher price if the food is excellent, which it was. The most notable however was the service. By far the best I've ever had in Estes Park. We visit often as we are just a few hours away. A gift card from a Gala auction item brought us to the restaurant but the service is what will bring us back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent night out!

Dined on March 28, 2016

My husband and I went to Twin Owls for a special meal while on vacation in Estes Park. This was definitely our splurge for the trip and it was well worth it! Everything we ordered was incredible and we really enjoyed the quiet, rustic atmosphere. We were lucky enough to be seated next to the window so we got to enjoy a beautiful sunset view of the mountains throughout our meal. My husband is a veteran of the restaurant industry having worked in fine dining for 15 years as a server, bartender, sommelier, and general manager, and as a result he can be quite critical of both food and service but he found nothing to criticize at Twin Owls. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Blair, our server, was fabulous. The fo ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Blair, our server, was fabulous. The food, as usual, was stellar.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Husband's Birthday

Dined on March 26, 2016

I took my husband here for his birthday; we were staying at a cabin up the road. Our waiter Serghi was attentive and pleasant. The food was good - we had elk for the first time. I do have to admit, and complaining about food is not typical for me, but the steaks were not as ordered. We both ordered steaks medium rare and it was brought to us medium at best. The outside of the steak appeared to be more done, but as you cut into the center it was more rare. It just surprised me that it was cooked so unevenly, as it is a steakhouse. Also, our dessert was frozen - the cheesecake and chocolate cake. The cheesecake was inedible; we had to take it home and let it thaw, after that it was good. All in all, a good experience, but just had wish those few things were better as I spent quite a bit of money here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife here for our anniversary an ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Took my wife here for our anniversary and we both loved our dinner very much. She had the prime rib, I had the filet. Both were spectacular!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1

Appetizers took an hour and the waitress ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Appetizers took an hour and the waitress had an attitude. Appetizers arrived cold. The vegetables and garnishes seemed random and mostly pointless. Brussels were rock hard. Whipped cream on creme brulle was pointless. The hero of each plate was cooked well and yummy. Would not return.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely great !!!

Dined on March 12, 2016

My wife and I went on a Friday night. It was so good we canceled our reservation for Sunday at another restaurant and came back here. Every meal was great. The elk medallions, lobster, bison filet, beef fillet, chowder, warm bread, etc. The wine list was spectacular along with the desserts. Service was top-notch. My wife told the waitress she was going to go back in the kitchen and kiss the chef. The message was relayed and he came out and shook our hands. lol. Both meals with a tip averaged about $175. Well worth the money. After dinner Sunday we had a nice night cap in the bar. Chatted with the owner and he serves a great Old Fashion. If you like Pinot Noir definitely try the Carmel Road 2013. We will definitely be flying out here yearly from Chicago to have a meal or two. Great job!!! Can't wait to go back next year.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Romantic Evening - sort of

Dined on March 12, 2016

We were celebrating our 34th wedding anniversary and I had requested a romantic setting near the fireplace. Upon arrival at the restaurant, the hostess told us "our" table was still occupied and it might be a wait, but she did have another table available next to the fireplace. The other table was jammed up against the wall and literally next to the fireplace mantel - you couldn't see any part of the fireplace except for the stonework. We waited for our table - 40 minutes!!! After that the evening was superb. The food was great, the service was pretty good, and overall an enjoyable evening after we were seated. Recommend you don't overbook your tables.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful historic setting..

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

We loved the location and the scenic view.. the food was excellent as well.. my husband had the Buffalo Filet which was tender and delicious.. and I had a vegetarian dish which was very flavorful and complemented by a wonderful wine from the Hess Winery (very nice wine selection).. the dessert we shared (cheesecake) finished off the meal perfectly..

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was excellent!

Dined on March 6, 2016

We went to the Twin Owl Steakhouse for my birthday. The food was excellent! My husband had the Prime Rib and said it was the best he's had. I had the fish special which was very good. It was a white fish with kale. It was different and I enjoyed it but will probably go with the Elk Medallions or Prime Rib the next time we visit. The service was great... a little too great, though. They were very busy and I'm sure they were trying to get people in and out as fast as they could. We barely got our appetizer before my salad arrived. I had only taken a few bites of my salad when the entrees arrived. We didn't necessarily feel "rushed" but would have like things a little more spread out. Overall, the experience was lovely and we will definitely return.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great experiance

Dined on February 28, 2016

My wife and I dined at the Twin Owls Steakhouse during our honeymoon trip to Estes Park. We requested a spot on the upstairs balcony, which offers a more intimate setting overlooking the normal dining hall, and they were more then happy to accommodate us. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner, which was delicious, and had a memorable experience. We look forward to visiting again during the day, in order to see the wonderful view of the surrounding Black Canyon.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Not what we expected

Dined on February 28, 2016

We were told by friends that we needed to try out this restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed the appetizer - it was very delicious. The bread and dipping oil/spices was delicious as well. The side salad I had had lemon vinegrette and it was very bitter, not delicious. My husband had the Buffalo steak with fresh veggies...he ordered it cooked medium and it was rare, barely browned on the outside. The potatoes were very good, but the veggies weren't done, very crunchy. The entree I chose was the ravioli and tortellini and I didn't care for the flavor of the sauce on the ravioli. Service was good, but she never asked how the steak was prepared, was it to our specifications, etc. Overall, we thought the food just wasn't worth the price.

Tags: romantic
food2
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately, We were disappointed with ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Unfortunately, We were disappointed with our food. My husband ordered lobster and it was burned, my potatoes were burned as well. The steak I ordered was pretty good, however, not cooked to medium, like I ordered, it was well done. But the views and ambience of the place are just beautiful! The drinks were fantastic as well. I had a perfect mojito. Please don't let this review stop you from coming here! I believe in honest reviews to help improve the restaurant. It was a really busy night (Saturday), they seemed rushed. Our waiter was really sweet and helpful.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Pleasant, relaxed atmosphere, excellent service

Dined on February 28, 2016

A nice relaxed, upscale dining experience in a beautiful and comfortable atmosphere. Typical entree without appetizer including wine and tip about $50-60 per person

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Perfect Western Ambiance

Dined on February 27, 2016

We dined on a Saturday evening while a guitarist played and the fireplace crackled. The log interior and the exterior views are charming. The service was responsive and courteous. The four of us all enjoyed our food. There were no complaints. The noise level permitted a lively conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful restaurant

Dined on February 20, 2016

We went for our anniversary. The wait staff was very attentive and pleasant. The food was good a little on the pricey side, but we were prepared for this. It is a must do if your in Estes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Date night spot

Dined on February 20, 2016

Really good food and outstanding service await you in this Estes Park gem. Don't go for the peace and quiet - it's joyfully noisy. It is also a bit expensive but we go back every time we travel there.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nothing could have been better

Dined on February 15, 2016

The reservation was ready on time. The wait staff was friendly and well informed. The bar sent out our drinks in short order. The food could not have been prepared or presented any better. There was a guitar player playing softly in the corner. The wait staff was attentive, but not overly so. A great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Just average

Dined on February 15, 2016

We made our reservation weeks in advance but were seated in the back room away from the much advertised entertainment. We arrived on time but still had to wait while the hostess was busy on her computer trying to figure out where she would place us. Our server did a great job, but the food was just OK. Sorry, we won't be back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.