About Twin Owls Steakhouse

800 MacGregor Avenue
Estes Park, CO 80517
View Larger Map

The Twin Owls Steakhouse is a beautiful log cabin built in the 20's. It has a warm candlelit ambiance and 3 moss rock fireplaces. We feature on our menu various steaks, seafood, game, poultry and more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Sunday 5:00 p.m.- 9:00 p.m.
Reservations recommended.

Cross Street:
Rt 34 Bypass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 586-9344

Website:
http://www.twinowls.net/

Executive Chef:
Brant Price

Private Party Facilities:
The Steakhouse has a variety of private dining rooms all with log walls and massive stone fireplaces. We can accommodate private parties from 10 to 200.

Private Party Contact:
Sandra: 9702154544x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Lamb
  • Elk Medallions
  • Ribeye Steak With Garlic Potatoes
  • Grilled Pork Chop with Sweet Potatoes
  • House Salad With Blue Cheese Dressing
  • Wild Norwegian Salmon
  • The Twin Owl Steak And Lobster Dish
Lamb
Elk Medallions
Ribeye Steak With Garlic Potatoes
Grilled Pork Chop with Sweet Potatoes
House Salad With Blue Cheese Dressing
Wild Norwegian Salmon
The Twin Owl Steak And Lobster Dish

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Twin Owls Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Estes Park
Best Restaurants in Estes Park ›

Special Occasion (154)
Romantic (118)
Scenic View (116)
See All
Fit for Foodies (65)
Good for Groups (52)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Notable Wine List (45)
Kid-friendly (17)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The best dinner we had in Colorado. We ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The best dinner we had in Colorado. We visited for a week and split the trip between Boulder and Estes Park. We had the elk and the venison osso bucco and both were excellent. The wine that was pared with the elk was perfect. The restaurant is in an old 1929 log cabin that was originally a family home so it has a terrific ambiance. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Estes Park.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasions, Romance
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Previously experience

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Previously experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice spot for a romantic dinner or speci ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Nice spot for a romantic dinner or special occasion. Good service. Dinner menu is a bit pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

3 of us fined for a special evening at t ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

3 of us fined for a special evening at the Twin Owls. The food was great and the atmosphere was warm and inviting. We had steak and lobster that was excellent, the rack of lamb was very good and done right. The steak was also done as ordered and all around the food, wine and ambiance made for a very satisfying and enjoyable event. The wait staff was attentive and knowledgeable. For this part of the world this is a real gem. If you are ever in Estes Park come to this place for a great meal in an intimate and quaint spot. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Unfortunately, our second time at Twin O ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Unfortunately, our second time at Twin Owls was not a terrible experience. Your hostess took us upstairs without asking. We are in our late 70's and she should have grasped that fact. On top of that, we were seated right next to the "event room" with people going up and down the steps in front of us during our entire dinner, children crying, etc. We noticed right away that there were empty tables in the main dining room. We did not have the audacity to complain. Not sure we will ever return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

I was very disappointed in our server - ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I was very disappointed in our server - Blair. She seemed very disenchanted with the whole group from the beginning. She took an order for two bottles of wine for four people at one end of the table and failed to get any other drinks from the remaining eight. Water glasses were never refilled. The food came out somewhat cold. Some of the meat was not the requested temperature. I felt like we had to ask for everything instead of her anticipating our needs. We tried to "WE CHAT" our daughter in China and the wifi never worked. Disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Kind & knowledgeable staff and wonderful ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Kind & knowledgeable staff and wonderful food. My father accidentally spilled his wine and they replaced the wine spilled. It was unnecessary, but extremely generous and very much appreciated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, ambiance, noise level and valu ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food, ambiance, noise level and value are outstanding. We have sent a private note to Twin Owl's management, with a suggestion on how to assist the excellent servers with better allocation of table assignments.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was all of very high quality, and w ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was all of very high quality, and when taking the location into account (Estes Park), pricing was quite reasonable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food at Twin Owls is always amazing. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food at Twin Owls is always amazing. I had the pork chop meal and my wife had the steak and lobster. We had Caprese for an appetizer and it was very flavorful. Our waiter was Sergei who is from Russia. We enjoyed our chat with him. Good wine, good food, good company, good service, happy evening. Well worth the drive up from Fort Collins.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of the best restaurants in E ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in Estes Park. The inside with the wood logs and beams is beautiful. The prices can be high but the overall experience well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant came recommended to us a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This restaurant came recommended to us as we had recently celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary. We had a reservation for a table for two at 6 PM. We were prompt with our arrival time and were sat almost immediately at a quaint table at the top of the stairs to the second level. The appetizers came before the wine though both were ordered at the same time. The meal was good, but not great and our bill topped $180.00 before tip. At just after 8PM we were approached by the hostess who enquired as to how much longer we would be as the table we were at had a reservation. The restaurant was less than half full and we had not quite finished our dessert and wine. NO offer was made to move us to another table so that the pending reservation could be accommodated and we could finish without being rushed. We have never been chased out of a restaurant before but we felt slighted by the treatment we received especially after the amount we had spent. We are not sure if we can recommend or return to this establishment based on this treatment.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Loved the ambiance. I had the elk medall ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Loved the ambiance. I had the elk medallions and they were delicious. My husband had the filet mignon. He ordered it without all the extra toppings, medium rare. The filet was served cold and it was dry and crumbly from being marinated too long. My suggestion would be to order it with the usual toppings in order to mask the not so great steak.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We were seated next to a table of 8-10 e ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We were seated next to a table of 8-10 extremely loud persons. Even their waiter was loud. We were unable to talk with our guests.

Also, we had requested seating several days in advance at a table by the back windows, did not happen. Food was host "oK", nothing special.

Long time customers.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Food great. Server very helpful. Wine ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food great. Server very helpful. Wine - the Pinot Grigro was flat and tasteless. Need to provide more than one brand of that wine. Recommend not buying big bottles of white wine. They do not hold well over night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Twin Owls was a great find for us on our ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Twin Owls was a great find for us on our travels through Evergreen. We stopped there on a whim and truly enjoyed our dinner there. There was an outstanding wine list and the menu is changing frequently so you always can try something new. I had the cauliflower salad and scallops. I was not disappointed. My husband had NY Strip and it was so so. The cut was nice, the potatoes were good, but the steak was lack luster. The location is ideal overlooking the lake and we would definitely go there again!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Given the prices, I expected much better ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Given the prices, I expected much better service and higher quality food. The prime rib was pretty good. The duck very tender but accompaniments (especially the sauce) mediocre. The elk medallions didn't have much flavor. Good house salads.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Entrees and appetizers that are native t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Entrees and appetizers that are native to the area (or type of cuisine) such as elk medallions, salads with local ingredients, smoked trout, were excellent. Fresh fish on the menu - barramundi on this evening -seemed a little off, as if the chef were a bit unsure how to prepare.

The fresh breads, caprese etc were also excellent, and the wine list had a great variety. We will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and wonderful service. Unfort ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great food and wonderful service. Unfortunately they are closed both Friday and Sat nights for all of August for special events - but worth booking!! Filet was terrific

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Subpar overpriced food. I got the ribey ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Subpar overpriced food. I got the ribeye steak. Steak was not seared properly and was cooked unevenly. Beet salad tasted like it was from a can. My wife's fish dish had inedible rice and a seperated sauce on the plate. The bread was good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

This restaurant was a huge disappointmen ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This restaurant was a huge disappointment. The food was only mediocre. And the service was about the same. Our waitress checked on us twice and the second time was to drop off the check! Our drinks were only refilled once. Dinner came with bread but no salad. I think for a meal that averages $40 per person, you should get more food than just your entree. Because if that's the case, this meal was way overpriced. Unfortunately Estes doesn't have many fine dining options. But if you're in the Denver area, try the Buckhorn Exchange or The Fort. Both restaurants have similar offerings at a similar price point and their food and service are exceptional.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

As always the food was great and our ser ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

As always the food was great and our server was helpful in making selections. A nice variety of choices and everything was very good!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This place was amazing. Beautiful scener ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This place was amazing. Beautiful scenery, the food was great. A wonderful place for my wife and I to celebrate our 5th anniversary. The music added to the eloquence of the dining experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second trip to Twin Owls -- ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This was our second trip to Twin Owls -- a wonderful meal as expected. We were disappointed with having to ask for water refills -- not once, but twice. Otherwise the meal was exceptional, and the live music was great too~!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

This is a beautiful spot for a restauran ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This is a beautiful spot for a restaurant, the window views are outstanding. We had dinner, dessert, and wine. The wine list was very good and waitstaff very knowledgeable. The entrees were nothing special, but the dessert menu was good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

This is a beautiful, upscale dining esta ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This is a beautiful, upscale dining establishment in a town that caters more to vacationers from the plains and day visitors from Denver. We enjoyed a wonderful prime rib and a ribeye steak to celebrate a multi-decade wedding anniversary and were well taken care of by the staff. Request a window table as that will get you a bit more privacy and a decent view. Service was good but seemed to be a seasonal crew, but of above average quality. Each waitperson was unique, friendly, and capable but could be a little more attentive. Water glasses were kept full, but I was not asked if I wanted a second beer. I might have responded "yes" had I simply been asked. The beer list has a dozen or two craft beers from the Front Range but only 3 on tap. The waitress did not seem like she would have been familiar with specifics, styles, or pairings, so you're on your own there. The wine list looked good but that's not my beverage. We had the cheese plate appetizer and the creme brulee for dessert. Loved the charcuterie, and the brulee was the best I've ever had. We are quite likely to return to mark another year of marriage or for a very special occasion. We'd really like to try the elk and the filet MacGregor, but ya' has ta' make your choices the first time around. We also liked our short "constitutional" walk around the grounds after dinner. It is a quiet and beautiful spot away from the city and away from the touristy downtown (which we also enjoy).

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was average, especially for the pri ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food was average, especially for the price. My med rare steak came out well done, second try was raw, and third steak was a poor cut.

Lots of kid noise as it's located at a resort.

It is in a pretty location and the waiter offered a free desert to make up for the steak issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

In my reservation I asked for a romantic ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

In my reservation I asked for a romantic table that was not out in the middle of the room. I was pleasantly surprised to be seated on a second floor balcony which had only 2 tables and overlooked the entire dining room area. The food was excellent, the wine and specialty drinks that we had were also terrific. About mid-way through our meal the manager came by to check on us and he was very friendly and gracious. I would highly recommend the Twin Owls restaurant for anyone looking for good service and excellently prepared food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent dinner with interesting choice ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Excellent dinner with interesting choices. The elk medallions were outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting and excellent food. R ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Beautiful setting and excellent food. Recommend the Elk Medallions and French Onion Soup!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This restaurant was crowded from the mom ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This restaurant was crowded from the moment we walked in and still crowded when we left. Our server was as good as a server can get when you are dealing with the number of patrons that they must take care of in an evening. The food was very good for the amount of food that the kitchen has to put out but I wouldn't say that it was outstanding. We both had the salmon and while good it was over cooked. My husband had it with the jezebel sauce on the side and I opted out of that and instead asked for a side of their red curry sauce which worked very well with the salmon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My husband and I had a date night here w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

My husband and I had a date night here while visiting Estes Park. The atmosphere was great. It was quiet and romantic. The staff was friendly and recommended some dishes. The food was superb. The elk medallions were fantastic as they were recommended by out server. We both had the udon filet which was cooked perfectly, very tender. It is pricey, but worth it for a special night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks were AMAZING!! My husband had ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The steaks were AMAZING!! My husband had the elk medallions and they were the table favorite, although All of our meals were great! We also shared the Brie appetizer which was also fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decided on this place and had never been ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Decided on this place and had never been. My wife and daughter and myself were on vacation in Estes. Reservation was timely and the service was outstanding. Thank you Glen!!

We live near San Francisco and the food was on par with our dining experiences there. Thanks Twin Owls for an excellent experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Found Twin Owls while staying at Stanley ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Found Twin Owls while staying at Stanley Hotel, on vacation. Atmosphere was fantastic and service was great. Even had a solo musician playing guitar and singing. Food was excellent. Great place for romantic date.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Able to watch deer while we ate. A trea ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Able to watch deer while we ate. A treat!

Food was excellent.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our recent dining experience at Twin Owl ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our recent dining experience at Twin Owls was quite good. The parking is easy, and the setting is beautiful. The menu had something for everyone, and the Elk Medallions were especially good. Our server was knowledgeable and friendly. The only bad part of the dinner was that the entrees came out just a few minutes after the salads, and we didn't have time to enjoy the salads, much less any more room on the table to put more plates, so it made the entire experience feel rushed and cramped. Seems like the server and the kitchen needed a bit more coordination.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent food. Elk Medallions were per ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent food. Elk Medallions were perfectly tender and cooked to exact request. Wife had beef tenderloin tips that were outstanding. One son had prime rib that was out of this world with a taste of the spices on the outside, but, absolutely perfectly pink tender meat on the inside with a wonderful au jus. Other son had the Twin Owl steak and lobster that was also excellent. Overall, a terrific meat lovers dinning experience. I would absolutely recommend for a special night out while visiting Estes Park.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, service and ambiance! We ha ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food, service and ambiance! We had a wonderful evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. The elk, pork chop, and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food. The elk, pork chop, and prime rib were all great. Only disappointment was the vegetable side with every dish, just plain, flavorless steamed veggies. Very uninspired, when the meat was so well flavored and perfectly cooked.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.