About Twin Owls Steakhouse

800 MacGregor Avenue
Estes Park, CO 80517
View Larger Map

The Twin Owls Steakhouse is a beautiful log cabin built in the 20's. It has a warm candlelit ambiance and 3 moss rock fireplaces. We feature on our menu various steaks, seafood, game, poultry and more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Sunday 5:00 p.m.- 9:00 p.m.
Reservations recommended.

Cross Street:
Rt 34 Bypass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 586-9344

Website:
http://www.twinowls.net/

Executive Chef:
Brant Price

Private Party Facilities:
The Steakhouse has a variety of private dining rooms all with log walls and massive stone fireplaces. We can accommodate private parties from 10 to 200.

Private Party Contact:
Sandra: 9702154544x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Lamb
  • Elk Medallions
  • Ribeye Steak With Garlic Potatoes
  • Grilled Pork Chop with Sweet Potatoes
  • House Salad With Blue Cheese Dressing
  • Wild Norwegian Salmon
  • The Twin Owl Steak And Lobster Dish
Lamb
Elk Medallions
Ribeye Steak With Garlic Potatoes
Grilled Pork Chop with Sweet Potatoes
House Salad With Blue Cheese Dressing
Wild Norwegian Salmon
The Twin Owl Steak And Lobster Dish

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Twin Owls Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Denver / Colorado
Most Booked
Estes Park
Best Restaurants in Estes Park ›

special occasion (121)
romantic (102)
scenic view (88)
See All
fit for foodies (51)
good for groups (40)
notable wine list (39)
neighborhood gem (31)
kid-friendly (12)
hot spot (6)
great for outdoor dining (3)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1251 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience. Food and servi ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great dining experience. Food and service was perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE Twin Owls Steakhouse! Food is super ...

Dined 6 days ago

LOVE Twin Owls Steakhouse! Food is superb, servers are efficient, knowledgeable about the menu and friendly, atmosphere is wonderful, It is a go-to place for any occasion and especially for a special occasion. Just love dining here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is one of the finer restaurants in ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This is one of the finer restaurants in Estes Park. Although it is focused on steaks, there is a decent selection of seafood options on the menu. We tried the elk kabob appetizer, and it was excellent. For entrees, we had the regular beef short ribs and a special for the night, buffalo short ribs. You can definitely tell the difference between the two, and both were excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife had the filet steak. Cooked perf ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

My wife had the filet steak. Cooked perfectly. I had the prime rib that was cooked as ordered medium rare, but was very tough to cut and full of sinue and very chewy. Great wine and beer offerings. Good service from all the staff. I very seldom to complain or send back what I ordered but the prime rib at $30. Came very close. Dined on 6/12/16.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

one of our favorites. we go there when w ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

one of our favorites. we go there when we are in Estes Park

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Twin Owls Steakhouse changed hands a ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

The Twin Owls Steakhouse changed hands and we booked it for our anniversary. From the moment we walked in the door, the experience was fantastic. We had a table at the window with a gorgeous view and our waitperson, Blair, was magnificent. I eat GF and she helped me navigate the menu, which had numerous options and choices. We enjoyed elk brochettes and venison osso bucco and delicious salads. A complimentary glass of very good sparkling wine was given to us as an anniversary gift. The service, the food, the ambiance - above average in every way. If you haven't eaten at The Twin Owls Steakhouse in a while, give it another chance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Made my day

Dined on June 11, 2016

Twin Owls was ideal for six hungry hardworking Wool market volunteers. The food was excellent and menu offered something for everyone. The location and ambiance was ideal for us to better get to know each other and end the day on a restful, relaxing note.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

When I lived in Estes Park from 1998-200 ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

When I lived in Estes Park from 1998-2002, I frequently dined at Twin Owls Steak House and was pleased with the excellent food and service. My experience when taking an out-of-town friend for a birthday dinner for which I had made reservations, was an embarrassment. First, the hostess directed us (two eighty-year-old women) to be taken up a dark flight of stairs, then to a tiny dark corner table in an otherwise an empty loft, when the main floor of the restaurant was nearly empty. When we protested, the young woman who had been directed by the hostess at the front desk, said their were no tables for two downstairs. When we pointed out to her that there were tables downstairs occupied by two people that could accommodate four, plus many empty tables and reminded her that I had made reservations a day or so before, she shrugged. When my friend pointed out the darkness and the low railing that separated us from a nasty fall to the level below, she went back to her boss at the front desk and we were given a tiny table downstairs. Our waiter was congenial, and the food was good, but neither of those components could erase the inhospitable beginning to my birthday treat for my friend. I would never again frequent or recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Park at your own risk

Dined on June 10, 2016

Food and service were excellent. I had the elk, my wife the scallops. Both were done to perfection and very tasty. The problem I had was with the parking. My vehicle and the one beside me were both in the middle of the designated space. I could not open my door enough to get out of the vehicle. If the space on the other side had been occupied, I would have had to leave. Keep that in mind if and when you go.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service and lovely atmosphere ..

Dined on June 8, 2016

This old lodge has maintained it's mountain ambiance through the years . Food is usually consistently good and service excellent . Book ahead and ask for window table .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a delightful western style resta ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

This is a delightful western style restaurant with great menu selections. Our first time here was so wonderful that we returned three nights later to repeat the experience! Try the elk tenderloin to get a real taste of the west...you won't be disappointed.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First visit to Twin Owls

Dined on June 7, 2016

Although we have lived in the Estes Valley for over ten years, this was the first time we visited Twin Owls Steakhouse for dinner. We always have wanted to come here but often forget about it since is sits a bit past town on MacGregor/Devil's Gulch Road. We enjoyed splitting their beet salad by two, although the larger salad was quite a large dinner salad for us, even split by two people. I think a half-order of Beet Salad split two ways would have made a nicer sized dinner salad. The salad itself was very nice. The dressing wasn't too overwhelming. My husband ordered the Elk and I had the MacGregor Filet. We were very impressed with the selection of roasted vegatables that cam with the meat. Both Elk and Beef were cooked to order, quite flavorful, and presented well. The dinner also came with a starch and a nice basket of warm bread with an olive oil for dipping. I would have preferred buttter. We split the Chocolate Mousse Cake for dessert which was a cross between a brownie and a very rich pudding cake. It was served with a dollop of whipped cream and made a nice ending.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Anniversary

Dined on June 5, 2016

It was a really nice place with great ambiance but we were put in a corner then an older family of four came in and proceeded to laugh very loudly and talking so loud that it was almost yelling and it killed the ambiance. This was unfortunate do to it was our 23 anniversary and we felt trapped in a corner. However the food was fantastic

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never fails! :)

Dined on June 5, 2016

We love this restaurant! We come to Colorado a couple times a year and always have to go here! We took our parents this time and they loved it also! Great service, beautiful ambiance, amazing food and perfect all around restaurant!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We love the ambiance and enjoyed the wai ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

We love the ambiance and enjoyed the waiter, Val. We have eaten at the Twin Owls half a dozen times in two years. This particular night, we were disappointed there was no duck on the menu, so ordered the lamb chops. We both found them dry and without much flavor. The Caesar salad was very basic and over-priced. The wine was good, the setting lovely and conversation was lively. Unfortunately, the food did not live up to our previous dinners there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Lamb chops ordered medium rare, served v ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Lamb chops ordered medium rare, served very well done!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food in a wonderful location

Dined on June 2, 2016

We love Estes Park and now we know where we want to eat when we are there. Our evening at Twin Owls Steakhouse was a fantastic way to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The steak was perfectly cooked, the veggies were fresh and the lobster was tasty. The trio dessert is a fantastic way to finish the meal. You get a little sample of three wonderful dessert and its perfect to share. We highly recommend Twin Owls if you are having a special occasion or if you just want to have a romantic evening out that includes amazing food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Terrible stay away

Dined on June 2, 2016

The ribeye had no marbling it was thin and tasted like a cheap flank steak and was way overcooked.

food4
ambience5
service3

Would recommend. Good portions for the m ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Would recommend. Good portions for the money though a little pricey. My wife had the elk medallions which she could finish, and I had the ribeye which was just ok. The potatoes that came with were the highlight of the meal. The vege's were terrible. Seemed microwaved. The tiramisu was excellent. Good ambiance and they had a guitar player playing softly in the background. You could do worse for a $100 dinner

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I've ever had

Dined on May 30, 2016

I consider myself to be quite the foodie and from start to finish this meal was divine. Absolutely a must visit when in Estes Park. Every item on the appetizer sampler was delicious, the elk medallions were exceptionally tender and the leg of lamb was perfectly cooked and seasoned. The mashed potatoes are absolutely some of the best I've ever had. My only complaint would be that the vegetables were undercooked.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

30th Anniversary

Dined on May 29, 2016

Service pleased me most. We made a reservation, but the restuarant was running late due what seemed to be two wedding parties. The table they sat us at was close to one group and was so loud that I couldn't hear our wait staff speak, much less hold a conversation with my husband. I approached the hostess, told her it was our anniversary and that the group next to us was really loud. She relocated us to a much better table, brought champagne for our anniversary and really rescued our dinner. Great attention to customers! I will go back. Dinner was expertly prepared as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Nice place, decent food, overpriced

Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife had prime rib, I had the ribeye. Both came with rediculously undercooked veggies. The steaks were close to our requested temps and rather tasty. My 2 biggest complaints were the hostess and busser eyeing us constantly to flip our table for the next guest. We felt rushed. Lastly the prices were high for the quality. 30dollars for a 10 Oz steak come on man...

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent Italian in Estes Park

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

I made our reservation for the wrong date, but they were able to accommodate us when we showed up without reservations. We could see why they're popular; it's old-school but good solid Italian food. Everyone was happy with their dinners; hearty delicious food, cooked the way we asked, fresh, etc. I highly recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Back again

Dined on May 28, 2016

Been here several times. Great food prepared well. Wide variety from simple to fancy. Friendly staff and outstanding views. We will definitely go back when we are in Estes Park.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a great experience we went two nigh ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Such a great experience we went two nights in a row!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Charming

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

We've been coming to Twin Owls for years. We love the setting, ambiance, food and service. We've shared so many wonderful meals with family and friends. It's a must go to in Eres Park.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent prime rib,

Dined on May 27, 2016

Split the 10 oz prime rib and very sufficient amounts. Excellent flavor.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, ambiance, and service.

Dined on May 27, 2016

Elk Medallions were tender and flavorful, not at all gamey. Large portions, too. Our server was authentically friendly and attentive. Great anniversary experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Listen to the waitstaff!

Dined on May 26, 2016

Ordered the elk on recommendation of waitress. It was amazing. All other entrees were not as well done.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit was as great as the first! ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Second visit was as great as the first! We had a great time!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over the years, the Twin Owls has been s ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Over the years, the Twin Owls has been spotty and not always top notch. In May of 2016, I visited Twin Owls and had a great dinner. Seating was slow since we dined on a week day evening, but once seated, the service was excellent. Great wine list that suited the menu. The service was excellent and our salads and entry were served at appropriate times. My tenderloin was excellent and my companion's salmon steak was excellent. Vegetables were cooked perfectly. I'd recommend the Twin Owls at this time. It is a pleasant alternative to the busy atmosphere found in downtown Estes Park.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good meal, good ambiance. Friendly ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Very good meal, good ambiance. Friendly wait staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place for a nice dinner with elk, ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great place for a nice dinner with elk, beef, and chicken dishes. Great drink menu with good choices and they give a good size glass for a cocktail. Fresh food with good portions, not even room for what looked like amazing desserts with cheesecake, chocolate, and custard.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We dine out often and the Twin Owls prep ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We dine out often and the Twin Owls prepared one of the finest meals we have had in a long time. Outstanding preparation, presentation and pairings. Bison tenderloin was absolutely delicious - amazingly tender. The filet McGregor would also be highly recommended. We have tried nearly every fine dining establishment in Estes Park over the years and Twin Owls is consistently the best there is for fine casual dining. Seems pricey but when you walk away enjoying a well crafted meal it is all worth the price.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

service was great!!! food needs to be se ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

service was great!!! food needs to be seasoned a bit more, i asked for espresso and they didn't have any, will try again, if they improve on those things.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

What a great location and experience! My ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

What a great location and experience! My only complaint is that we were the first ones to the restaurant and had 5:00 reservations. When our party of 4 was seated in the middle of the restaurant I asked if we could sit by the windows, since we were the first ones being seated and there were 3 or 4 tables by the windows. But the hostess declined my request. It didn't make much sense, but we enjoyed dinner nonetheless.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Romantic dinner.

Dined on May 21, 2016

This is a special place to celebrate with someone you love or want to impress!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, food and atmosphere. Wi ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great service, food and atmosphere. Will continue to dine at the restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

The filet was tender and delicious. The ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The filet was tender and delicious. The ambience is lovely with live soft acoustic music. The server was sweet and attentive. Great date night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Went there for dinner two nights in a row...love the ambiance, love the food, and love the great wine selection!!!! Service is top notch...the owner is there and you feel like you've been friends for years! Fireplace, music, scenery...all perfect!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.