About Twin Oaks Country Inn

30807 114th St
Wilmot, WI 53192
View Larger Map

Twin Oaks Country Inn is a charming, casual restaurant and Banquet facility located in Wilmot, Wisconsin in a 123 Year old Victorian House. With foodstuffs and locally grown products in addition to meats, fish and vegetables brought fresh from the markets in Chicago, the menu is an ever evolving list of decades of tried and true recipes as well as innovative new flavors. An award winning wine list and well rounded variety of spirits certainly appeals to all. Attention to detail is a priority with an emphasis on personal attention. It truly is Kenosha Counties Best Kept Secret.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday 1:00pm - 7:00pm.

Cross Street:
Fox River Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 862-9377

Website:
http://www.twinoakscountryinn.com/

Catering:
Our Banquet facility has a capacity of 200 people with a full service or custom designed menu's available.

Parking Details:
Located next to and behind the main building

Executive Chef:
Richard C. Knox

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Twin Oaks Country Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Wisconsin
Special Occasion
Wisconsin
Steakhouse
Wisconsin
7 More
Best Overall
Lake Geneva
Best Food
Lake Geneva
Best Service
Lake Geneva
Best Ambiance
Lake Geneva
Best Value
Lake Geneva
Special Occasion
Lake Geneva
Most Booked
Lake Geneva
Best Restaurants in Wilmot ›

Special Occasion (21)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Historic (11)
Romantic (10)
Casual (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Authentic (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
154 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent menu of gluten and lactose fre ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent menu of gluten and lactose free meals. Waitresses are also well informed about gluten and lactose in their offerings. Nice variety of meals that met our intolerant needs, such as gluten free pasta and meats.

Ready to go back.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well worth the trip from any direction t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

Well worth the trip from any direction to Wilmot. The menu selections, including the daily specials list were not overpoweringly long but had something for all tastes. Service was well timed and very friendly. The homemade multi-grain bread was all the appetizer the 3 of us needed. The home made soup of the day was almost enough by itself but the entrees were large and very well made. All 3 of us chose a seafood entree and our cousin from the coast of Virginia said the seafood was wonderful and plentiful. All 3 of us took home another meal's worth of our entree which heated up nicely. While I was too full to have desert, the other 2 shared one and loved it. To top it all off, on the way through the entry hall we were able to pick up a free loaf of the wonderful bread for at home---no extra cost!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was great. Large portions & very ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Dinner was great. Large portions & very well prepared.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and outstanding service. They ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food and outstanding service. They helped make my wife's birthday very special.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was excellent -- Our ser ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This restaurant was excellent -- Our server Roberto was one of the best servers I've ever had! Would certainly recommend to anyone!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous says it all. I've dined there ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Fabulous says it all. I've dined there many times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and service. Off the main ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very good food and service. Off the main road but not out of the way. Tasty!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Historic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very comfortable surroundings in a uniqu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very comfortable surroundings in a unique old converted two story home. Great cocktails and excellent food.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I love this place! Only one thing I was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I love this place! Only one thing I was disappointed in was the blueberry cobbler , that really was not a cobbler more like a cake.

Everything else was amazing !! Love the snapper, great service !

Thank you!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the Friday fish fry that is ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went for the Friday fish fry that is not advertised or on the menu. The homemade applesauce was delicious, it was a large portion of fish, but the perch over cooked and dry. One very small potato pancake that was good tasting but a larger pancake or even 2 would have been nice. Love the apple dumpling, it has been a standard for years and the cinnamon ice cream is the perfect compliment.

The chair my guest sat in was very wobbly, we switched it with another empty chair at the table none of the staff bothered to help or didn't even seem to notice. They might want to get the chairs repaired or replaced before one of them breaks and someone gets hurt.

I will go again, we have gone here on and off for years. Everything on their regular menu never disappoints.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our Lady that took our request for foo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Our Lady that took our request for food items on your menu was Awesome Michelle was Absolutely Awesome , busy with Party, but Never for got about us. Great! Will come back. And the FOOD is AWESOME !!!!!,, I'm a very picky eater.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We have visited the Inn many times and h ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We have visited the Inn many times and have never been disappointed. The meals start with the homemade bread- which is delicious. We have had a variety of menu items. The steaks are usually very good as are the pasta and seafood items. The ambiance is traditional country inn. Looks like something out of New England. One of our favorites. The prices are reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've dined at Twin Oaks many times and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We've dined at Twin Oaks many times and have always been pleased. The beef wellington is fabulous. You must end your meal with their bread pudding and a glass of Port!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice venue enjoyed the staff and the atm ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Nice venue enjoyed the staff and the atmosphere. Food was good we had six in our party 3 of us loved our unique dishes. 3 ordered the same fish and it was over cooked. We enjoyed overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food is chef created and has always ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The food is chef created and has always been exceptional and flavorful. The restaurant is a big, old, Victorian house that is very cozy and inviting. Salads are not included with the meals and come with an extra cost. Meals are from the upper teens to lower $30's with most meals in the $20 range. I have eaten here on and off for over 20 years and would recommend for those who don't like microwave processed meals.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant. Good food. Well ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. Good food. Well worth the visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Twin Oaks was wonderful. Food was outsta ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Twin Oaks was wonderful. Food was outstanding & our server was pleasant personable & attentive. Very charming & relaxing place

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant has been our favorite fo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 9, 2016

This restaurant has been our favorite for the better part of 20 years. When our children were young, this is where we would go on a date night. Now, our children are adults, and they love Twin Oaks, as well! Service is, and has always been, outstanding. Portion sizes are perfect, preparation is consistent, there are always delicious new options, and they know their wines! The atmosphere is warm and relaxing, and we've never had a problem with noise levels. We have had office Christmas parties here, as well. We highly recommend Twin Oaks.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy atmosphere in the old Victorian hou ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Cozy atmosphere in the old Victorian house setting. Unique menu. You can always request a favorite meal when you make your reservation. Servers are always attentive to your needs. Our favorite place to eat and bring friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had visited Twin Oaks Country Inn pre ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 25, 2016

We had visited Twin Oaks Country Inn previously and been very impressed. The ambience was warm, relaxed and subdued in an historic site, beautifully decorated with authentic period furnishings. Our service was wonderful, the food delicious, and we overheard some conversations at other tables alluding to their meals tasting incredible as well. We had wanted to return for some time, and had occasion to for our anniversary. It did not disappoint! I asked my server for recommendations and had her favorite, the Beef Wellington, which was stupendous. The only issue that we encountered was outside of their control. We arranged for our reservation online very easily. The trip was a distance for us and there was never a mention of the road we needed to take (which was just a few miles from them) being out for repairs. There were no clearly marked detours, and we needed to circle back around on twisting country roads (pretty trip, but could be dangerous at night). We felt it would have been helpful to have that information available at the time we made the reservation. We were told it was just closed that day. I would highly recommend calling ahead to ensure adequate directions, even if the reservation is made online. (Yes, there was a more direct route we could have taken, and staff were more than willing to guide us through it for the return trip). We would highly recommend Twin Oaks to anyone looking for great food and service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hadn't been there for years, but will ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We hadn't been there for years, but will definitely return again. Food & service were excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very delicious steaks.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very delicious steaks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The setting is nice, the food was wonder ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The setting is nice, the food was wonderful, and the service was very good. My wife and I plan to add Twin Oaks Country Inn to our regular rotation of places we go for dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was expensive but we knew that ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was expensive but we knew that when reservations were made. But when you order expensive food you expect it to be very good. The meat for two of us was very tough. I personally brought home half of my steak and fed it to the dog. My friend threw hers in the garbage when she came home. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Try the bacon wrapped pork chop with blu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Try the bacon wrapped pork chop with blue cheese and crispy leeks! Nice quiet atmosphere and wonderful homemade bread.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our second visit in three months. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was our second visit in three months. Our reservation was for 7:30 and we took our time is it was a farewell dinner with a friend. By 9 pm, we began to feel as if we were imposing on our waiter who seemed anxious to be finished with us. It spoiled what was an otherwise fine night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

It took awhile to get drink order. The ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 6, 2016

It took awhile to get drink order. The fish was a little greasy. My daughter ordered the crab cakes appetizer and only received 1 crab cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

This has been a "go-to" spot for me over ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 6, 2016

This has been a "go-to" spot for me over a number of years. Always an enjoyable experience and well worth the drive from anywhere in SE Wisconsin or NE Illinois. I do wish lunch would return !!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great entrees. Server, Kathy, was very n ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great entrees. Server, Kathy, was very nice and attentive. I also liked the look of the whole place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent. Dinning chairs we ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service was excellent. Dinning chairs were uncomfortable and creaked when sat in.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Have been here multiple times with a gr ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Have been here multiple times with a group of 10 to just a couple. Have never been disapointed, great menue outstanding sevice, and delicious food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

With eight very different palates to pl ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 25, 2016

With eight very different palates to please, eight different entrees were ordered, and all were very much enjoyed. With diners from ages 12 to 80, everyone found something to fit their tastes and their mood. Traditional American steak and seafood, fantastic pork chops and great pasta dishes, as well as roast duck and a Bohemian dish I won't attempt to spell that was amazing, featuring steak in a creamy dill sauce. Samples were shared around the table of several of the dishes. It was our first visit, but it won't be our last.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beef Wellington was fantastic.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Beef Wellington was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Always have been satisfied with our food ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Always have been satisfied with our food and service there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is a nice quant restaurant. But then ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2016

It is a nice quant restaurant. But then meal was slow and the waitress seemed overwhelmed with her duties even thoguh there were only four tables in the restaurant and another waitress. I would recommend the restaurant. The food is great but thr service could be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Consistent Quality!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Twin Oaks is consistently excellent! The food is outstanding, the service is friendly and efficient, and the portions are huge! We typically take home enough for another dinner, which means the prices are more than reasonable! This is one of our favorite restaurants!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 28, 2016

My second time to this restaurant with an 8 year gap between. The look of the restaurant has not changed in that time. Despite being peak dining time on a Friday night the restaurant was relatively slow with no wait and many available tables. The service, while not terrible was similar to what you would expect in a very busy restaurant. Slow and not very attentive. The food was excellent which is why we will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

It's getting run down. Could use a face ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 27, 2016

It's getting run down. Could use a facelift and some deep cleaning. Food was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value4

We have been to Twin Oaks a number of ti ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We have been to Twin Oaks a number of times and we are never disappointed. The service is wonderful with friendly wait staff. The food is always done to perfection. We recently had the salmon and the shrimp and crab meat combination. Both were outstanding. Everything from the bread basket to the coffee is excellent. We look forward to our next visit there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I recently dined here on a F ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 20, 2016

My wife and I recently dined here on a Friday night with another couple - we live near Milwaukee and they live in suburban Chicago, so this seemed like a good compromise in location. The food was inconsistent at best. One person had the NY strip/Shrimp combo and found the shrimp bland and the steak tough and tasteless. I had the Beef Wellington, which was marvelous. Someone else had a shrimp dish that was mixed with potato cubes that was simply poorly executed. As to the "ambiance" - there is a narrow line between "quaint and historic" and "old and decrepit", and the building was on the wrong side of that line. The service was adequate, but nothing special. The desserts, however, were all superb. I know a place like this shouldn't necessarily be held to the standards of a city/suburban venue, but it did not perform well enough to justify making the special trip to the boonies it requires.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.