About Twin Oaks Country Inn

30807 114th St
Wilmot, WI 53192
View Larger Map

Twin Oaks Country Inn is a charming, casual restaurant and Banquet facility located in Wilmot, Wisconsin in a 123 Year old Victorian House. With foodstuffs and locally grown products in addition to meats, fish and vegetables brought fresh from the markets in Chicago, the menu is an ever evolving list of decades of tried and true recipes as well as innovative new flavors. An award winning wine list and well rounded variety of spirits certainly appeals to all. Attention to detail is a priority with an emphasis on personal attention. It truly is Kenosha Counties Best Kept Secret.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday 1:00pm - 7:00pm.

Cross Street:
Fox River Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 862-9377

Website:
http://www.twinoakscountryinn.com/

Catering:
Our Banquet facility has a capacity of 200 people with a full service or custom designed menu's available.

Parking Details:
Located next to and behind the main building

Executive Chef:
Richard C. Knox

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Twin Oaks Country Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Lake Geneva
Best Food
Lake Geneva
4 More
Best Service
Lake Geneva
Best Ambiance
Lake Geneva
Best Value
Lake Geneva
Special Occasion
Lake Geneva
Best Restaurants in Wilmot ›

Special Occasion (24)
Romantic (13)
Fit for Foodies (10)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Historic (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Twin Oaks was wonderful. Food was outsta ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Twin Oaks was wonderful. Food was outstanding & our server was pleasant personable & attentive. Very charming & relaxing place

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant has been our favorite fo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This restaurant has been our favorite for the better part of 20 years. When our children were young, this is where we would go on a date night. Now, our children are adults, and they love Twin Oaks, as well! Service is, and has always been, outstanding. Portion sizes are perfect, preparation is consistent, there are always delicious new options, and they know their wines! The atmosphere is warm and relaxing, and we've never had a problem with noise levels. We have had office Christmas parties here, as well. We highly recommend Twin Oaks.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy atmosphere in the old Victorian hou ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Cozy atmosphere in the old Victorian house setting. Unique menu. You can always request a favorite meal when you make your reservation. Servers are always attentive to your needs. Our favorite place to eat and bring friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had visited Twin Oaks Country Inn pre ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We had visited Twin Oaks Country Inn previously and been very impressed. The ambience was warm, relaxed and subdued in an historic site, beautifully decorated with authentic period furnishings. Our service was wonderful, the food delicious, and we overheard some conversations at other tables alluding to their meals tasting incredible as well. We had wanted to return for some time, and had occasion to for our anniversary. It did not disappoint! I asked my server for recommendations and had her favorite, the Beef Wellington, which was stupendous. The only issue that we encountered was outside of their control. We arranged for our reservation online very easily. The trip was a distance for us and there was never a mention of the road we needed to take (which was just a few miles from them) being out for repairs. There were no clearly marked detours, and we needed to circle back around on twisting country roads (pretty trip, but could be dangerous at night). We felt it would have been helpful to have that information available at the time we made the reservation. We were told it was just closed that day. I would highly recommend calling ahead to ensure adequate directions, even if the reservation is made online. (Yes, there was a more direct route we could have taken, and staff were more than willing to guide us through it for the return trip). We would highly recommend Twin Oaks to anyone looking for great food and service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hadn't been there for years, but will ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We hadn't been there for years, but will definitely return again. Food & service were excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very delicious steaks.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very delicious steaks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The setting is nice, the food was wonder ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The setting is nice, the food was wonderful, and the service was very good. My wife and I plan to add Twin Oaks Country Inn to our regular rotation of places we go for dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was expensive but we knew that ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was expensive but we knew that when reservations were made. But when you order expensive food you expect it to be very good. The meat for two of us was very tough. I personally brought home half of my steak and fed it to the dog. My friend threw hers in the garbage when she came home. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Try the bacon wrapped pork chop with blu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Try the bacon wrapped pork chop with blue cheese and crispy leeks! Nice quiet atmosphere and wonderful homemade bread.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our second visit in three months. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was our second visit in three months. Our reservation was for 7:30 and we took our time is it was a farewell dinner with a friend. By 9 pm, we began to feel as if we were imposing on our waiter who seemed anxious to be finished with us. It spoiled what was an otherwise fine night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

It took awhile to get drink order. The ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

It took awhile to get drink order. The fish was a little greasy. My daughter ordered the crab cakes appetizer and only received 1 crab cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

This has been a "go-to" spot for me over ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This has been a "go-to" spot for me over a number of years. Always an enjoyable experience and well worth the drive from anywhere in SE Wisconsin or NE Illinois. I do wish lunch would return !!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great entrees. Server, Kathy, was very n ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great entrees. Server, Kathy, was very nice and attentive. I also liked the look of the whole place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent. Dinning chairs we ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service was excellent. Dinning chairs were uncomfortable and creaked when sat in.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Have been here multiple times with a gr ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Have been here multiple times with a group of 10 to just a couple. Have never been disapointed, great menue outstanding sevice, and delicious food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

With eight very different palates to pl ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

With eight very different palates to please, eight different entrees were ordered, and all were very much enjoyed. With diners from ages 12 to 80, everyone found something to fit their tastes and their mood. Traditional American steak and seafood, fantastic pork chops and great pasta dishes, as well as roast duck and a Bohemian dish I won't attempt to spell that was amazing, featuring steak in a creamy dill sauce. Samples were shared around the table of several of the dishes. It was our first visit, but it won't be our last.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beef Wellington was fantastic.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Beef Wellington was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Always have been satisfied with our food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Always have been satisfied with our food and service there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is a nice quant restaurant. But then ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

It is a nice quant restaurant. But then meal was slow and the waitress seemed overwhelmed with her duties even thoguh there were only four tables in the restaurant and another waitress. I would recommend the restaurant. The food is great but thr service could be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Consistent Quality!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Twin Oaks is consistently excellent! The food is outstanding, the service is friendly and efficient, and the portions are huge! We typically take home enough for another dinner, which means the prices are more than reasonable! This is one of our favorite restaurants!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My second time to this restaurant with an 8 year gap between. The look of the restaurant has not changed in that time. Despite being peak dining time on a Friday night the restaurant was relatively slow with no wait and many available tables. The service, while not terrible was similar to what you would expect in a very busy restaurant. Slow and not very attentive. The food was excellent which is why we will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

It's getting run down. Could use a face ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

It's getting run down. Could use a facelift and some deep cleaning. Food was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value4

We have been to Twin Oaks a number of ti ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We have been to Twin Oaks a number of times and we are never disappointed. The service is wonderful with friendly wait staff. The food is always done to perfection. We recently had the salmon and the shrimp and crab meat combination. Both were outstanding. Everything from the bread basket to the coffee is excellent. We look forward to our next visit there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I recently dined here on a F ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

My wife and I recently dined here on a Friday night with another couple - we live near Milwaukee and they live in suburban Chicago, so this seemed like a good compromise in location. The food was inconsistent at best. One person had the NY strip/Shrimp combo and found the shrimp bland and the steak tough and tasteless. I had the Beef Wellington, which was marvelous. Someone else had a shrimp dish that was mixed with potato cubes that was simply poorly executed. As to the "ambiance" - there is a narrow line between "quaint and historic" and "old and decrepit", and the building was on the wrong side of that line. The service was adequate, but nothing special. The desserts, however, were all superb. I know a place like this shouldn't necessarily be held to the standards of a city/suburban venue, but it did not perform well enough to justify making the special trip to the boonies it requires.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Wilmot's Finest Dining

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The menu choices are fantastic themselves; so when you see the great nightly specials, the decisions are difficult. The service is top notch and the wine selection A-1

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always delicious, great Sau ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The food is always delicious, great Sauces on each dish. The crab cake appetizer is mostly all crab, the best I have ever eaten. Kathy is a great server, both personable and knowledgeable, great knowledge of wine. I have been going to Twin Oaks for 8 yrs and never disappointed in anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and comfortable atmosphere. S ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Good food and comfortable atmosphere. Service was good and drinks were refreshing

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

solid as usual

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Bar for pre dinner drink was robust, bartender polite & friendly to the 4 of us. Table ready and waiting for us at reservation time.

Apps & meal were solid and enjoyed by all members & staff was most pleasant and accommodating. very nice time - again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Twin Country Inn Review

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had 6:00 reservations for 3 and were seated on time and had a nice table in the dining room. The waitress did not seem to know much about the food as when I asked how a certain item was, her reply was she had not had it and did not know. I was kind of looking for a recommendation but did not get one. I ordered the blackened tilapia and it was very good. The other people at my table had the 25th year anniversary special of ribeye and shrimp. They enjoyed their meals too. My only "complaint" is that we took home leftovers and the next day, when I went to open my tilapia, imagine my surprise when I had the ribeye of the person we had met for dinner! I can only imagine his surprise when he opened his box and had tilapia! we took the boxes the waitress gave us and unfortunately, did not look inside them before leaving. The ambience of the restaurant is wonderful and it was a nice evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always have a wonderful meal at Twin Oak ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Always have a wonderful meal at Twin Oaks. We try to get Cathy as our server, but they all are personable and knowledgeable. Love this place! Sauces are to die for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, cozy place!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Good food, but a little loud for sure. We were seated near a large group and it was very loud. Would have preferred a quieter spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Twin Oaks Date Night

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Overall we had a nice time. Food was good, and the drinks were pretty decent too. Service was an 8 out of 10; nothing particularly wrong, but not knock your socks off.

We'd come back, which I guess is the most important measure of success.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Reservations were not adhered to.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We arrived at 7:30; waited ten minutes for a host to appear, were directed to the bar because our table was not vacant yet. 50 minutes later, we were finally seated. The host did not keep us informed on the reason for the wait; the bartender heard us grumbling and took it upon himself to comp our cocktails. He was tipped extremely well for his kind act and his ability and service were extraordinary. The host needs to review her duties.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food in a out of the way place

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I had a very nice Valentines dinner here. We eat here a couple of times a year. It's a bit of a drive from where we live but has always lived up to our expectations for food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I was served a dried out entree

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Your prices are very fair for a nice restaurant, however, highly over priced when I was served a poor entree. We were there to celebrate our 45th anniversary, had I returned my meal - my wife would have gotten to eat her meal by herself, then I could have eaten mine by myself - how romantic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

it was good

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

place was nice, food was good, drinks good, service was slow but all and all I would come back

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Worth the drive

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

This was our second visit within a month. Initially referred by a customer of ours. Our first visit we met friends from Chicagoland. They were impressed. We were too, came back for a second visit with local friends. It's close to the Illinois border and a 40 minute drive from our house but that didn't stop us. My husband had their beef wellington both times said it was the best he's had in years. They have an extensive menu but both times all of us ordered of the specials menu. The seafood margharita was the best seafood medley pasta dish I have ever had. The blackened seabass special was also worth raving about. One tiny let down was the leak, potato soup. The first time we were there it was a much creamier version and delicious. The second time, only great not exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great location and charming old mansion location.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Loved the location, but the food felt very dated. Its time for a menu update. The portions were large and the prices very very reasonable. Unfortunately, we had noted a birthday celebration in our reservation but the waiter never brought it up. We also waited for 20 minutes to get a table despite many open tables. We assume they had staff shortage on a Saturday night.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value4

We'll be back!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

A friend recommended Twin Oaks to us as having excellent food, service, and ambience. We were there with 6 people to celebrate a birthday and rate all 3 as being A+. We appreciated the traditional Christmas carols and songs in the background. The old Victorian house was like a picture postcard - both inside and out. Desserts were extra special.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

There is something for everyone here! When you're looking for something different and not a 'chain' restaurant, this place is amazing. And the portions are awesome!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.