About Twin Oaks Country Inn

30807 114th St
Wilmot, WI 53192
View Larger Map

Twin Oaks Country Inn is a charming, casual restaurant and Banquet facility located in Wilmot, Wisconsin in a 123 Year old Victorian House. With foodstuffs and locally grown products in addition to meats, fish and vegetables brought fresh from the markets in Chicago, the menu is an ever evolving list of decades of tried and true recipes as well as innovative new flavors. An award winning wine list and well rounded variety of spirits certainly appeals to all. Attention to detail is a priority with an emphasis on personal attention. It truly is Kenosha Counties Best Kept Secret.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday 1:00pm - 7:00pm.

Cross Street:
Fox River Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 862-9377

Website:
http://www.twinoakscountryinn.com/

Catering:
Our Banquet facility has a capacity of 200 people with a full service or custom designed menu's available.

Parking Details:
Located next to and behind the main building

Executive Chef:
Richard C. Knox

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Twin Oaks Country Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Lake Geneva
Best Food
Lake Geneva
Best Service
Lake Geneva
4 More
Best Ambiance
Lake Geneva
Best Value
Lake Geneva
Special Occasion
Lake Geneva
Most Booked
Lake Geneva
Best Restaurants in Wilmot ›

special occasion (21)
romantic (14)
neighborhood gem (11)
See All
fit for foodies (6)
good for groups (2)
scenic view (1)
notable wine list (1)
great for lunch (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
117 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience1
service2
value4

It's getting run down. Could use a face ...

Dined 4 days ago

It's getting run down. Could use a facelift and some deep cleaning. Food was great!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Twin Oaks a number of ti ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

We have been to Twin Oaks a number of times and we are never disappointed. The service is wonderful with friendly wait staff. The food is always done to perfection. We recently had the salmon and the shrimp and crab meat combination. Both were outstanding. Everything from the bread basket to the coffee is excellent. We look forward to our next visit there.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

My wife and I recently dined here on a F ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

My wife and I recently dined here on a Friday night with another couple - we live near Milwaukee and they live in suburban Chicago, so this seemed like a good compromise in location. The food was inconsistent at best. One person had the NY strip/Shrimp combo and found the shrimp bland and the steak tough and tasteless. I had the Beef Wellington, which was marvelous. Someone else had a shrimp dish that was mixed with potato cubes that was simply poorly executed. As to the "ambiance" - there is a narrow line between "quaint and historic" and "old and decrepit", and the building was on the wrong side of that line. The service was adequate, but nothing special. The desserts, however, were all superb. I know a place like this shouldn't necessarily be held to the standards of a city/suburban venue, but it did not perform well enough to justify making the special trip to the boonies it requires.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wilmot's Finest Dining

Dined on May 14, 2016

The menu choices are fantastic themselves; so when you see the great nightly specials, the decisions are difficult. The service is top notch and the wine selection A-1

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always delicious, great Sau ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food is always delicious, great Sauces on each dish. The crab cake appetizer is mostly all crab, the best I have ever eaten. Kathy is a great server, both personable and knowledgeable, great knowledge of wine. I have been going to Twin Oaks for 8 yrs and never disappointed in anything.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good food and comfortable atmosphere. S ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Good food and comfortable atmosphere. Service was good and drinks were refreshing

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

solid as usual

Dined on April 30, 2016

Bar for pre dinner drink was robust, bartender polite & friendly to the 4 of us. Table ready and waiting for us at reservation time. Apps & meal were solid and enjoyed by all members & staff was most pleasant and accommodating. very nice time - again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Twin Country Inn Review

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had 6:00 reservations for 3 and were seated on time and had a nice table in the dining room. The waitress did not seem to know much about the food as when I asked how a certain item was, her reply was she had not had it and did not know. I was kind of looking for a recommendation but did not get one. I ordered the blackened tilapia and it was very good. The other people at my table had the 25th year anniversary special of ribeye and shrimp. They enjoyed their meals too. My only "complaint" is that we took home leftovers and the next day, when I went to open my tilapia, imagine my surprise when I had the ribeye of the person we had met for dinner! I can only imagine his surprise when he opened his box and had tilapia! we took the boxes the waitress gave us and unfortunately, did not look inside them before leaving. The ambience of the restaurant is wonderful and it was a nice evening out.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always have a wonderful meal at Twin Oak ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Always have a wonderful meal at Twin Oaks. We try to get Cathy as our server, but they all are personable and knowledgeable. Love this place! Sauces are to die for

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, cozy place!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Good food, but a little loud for sure. We were seated near a large group and it was very loud. Would have preferred a quieter spot.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Twin Oaks Date Night

Dined on March 12, 2016

Overall we had a nice time. Food was good, and the drinks were pretty decent too. Service was an 8 out of 10; nothing particularly wrong, but not knock your socks off. We'd come back, which I guess is the most important measure of success.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Reservations were not adhered to.

Dined on February 21, 2016

We arrived at 7:30; waited ten minutes for a host to appear, were directed to the bar because our table was not vacant yet. 50 minutes later, we were finally seated. The host did not keep us informed on the reason for the wait; the bartender heard us grumbling and took it upon himself to comp our cocktails. He was tipped extremely well for his kind act and his ability and service were extraordinary. The host needs to review her duties.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food in a out of the way place

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I had a very nice Valentines dinner here. We eat here a couple of times a year. It's a bit of a drive from where we live but has always lived up to our expectations for food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I was served a dried out entree

Dined on February 6, 2016

Your prices are very fair for a nice restaurant, however, highly over priced when I was served a poor entree. We were there to celebrate our 45th anniversary, had I returned my meal - my wife would have gotten to eat her meal by herself, then I could have eaten mine by myself - how romantic.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

it was good

Dined on January 24, 2016

place was nice, food was good, drinks good, service was slow but all and all I would come back

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Worth the drive

Dined on January 24, 2016

This was our second visit within a month. Initially referred by a customer of ours. Our first visit we met friends from Chicagoland. They were impressed. We were too, came back for a second visit with local friends. It's close to the Illinois border and a 40 minute drive from our house but that didn't stop us. My husband had their beef wellington both times said it was the best he's had in years. They have an extensive menu but both times all of us ordered of the specials menu. The seafood margharita was the best seafood medley pasta dish I have ever had. The blackened seabass special was also worth raving about. One tiny let down was the leak, potato soup. The first time we were there it was a much creamier version and delicious. The second time, only great not exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3
value4

Great location and charming old mansion location.

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

Loved the location, but the food felt very dated. Its time for a menu update. The portions were large and the prices very very reasonable. Unfortunately, we had noted a birthday celebration in our reservation but the waiter never brought it up. We also waited for 20 minutes to get a table despite many open tables. We assume they had staff shortage on a Saturday night.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We'll be back!

Dined on January 2, 2016

A friend recommended Twin Oaks to us as having excellent food, service, and ambience. We were there with 6 people to celebrate a birthday and rate all 3 as being A+. We appreciated the traditional Christmas carols and songs in the background. The old Victorian house was like a picture postcard - both inside and out. Desserts were extra special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food

Dined on December 23, 2015

There is something for everyone here! When you're looking for something different and not a 'chain' restaurant, this place is amazing. And the portions are awesome!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service1

flavorful menu

Dined on December 10, 2015

food was fantastic, I've been here before and loved it. The fish was outstanding, had the duck before and it was wonderful. The food will always pleasure the taste buds. Unfortunately it was a slow night and our waiter wasn't to be found. Had to find him to get my mom refills for her coffee. Same with my hot water for tea and didn't rep lens with an offer of a new tea bag. Petty as these are when you spend that type of many on a plate you expect more

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding experience

Dined on December 9, 2015

One of the best servers we've ever had! I had the Beef Wellington and it absolutely outstanding. Nothing was lacking. We drove about 45 miles to meet friends from Illinois halfway and its absolutely worth the drive. We will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Birthday Celebration

Dined on November 29, 2015

Very nice restaurant, elegant yet relaxed atmosphere, our group had 6 different dishes, everyone was happy with their choice. Service was good, would have liked another offer for more drinks, but overall good service. We did find the temperature to be to cool.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Special Place

Dined on November 28, 2015

Beautiful decor and ambiance. Excellent service. Good food. (When they say it's a "Rich sauce" they mean "RICH sauce". Plan accordingly.) Great variety of menu items. It was hard to choose one entree with all the excellent choices. The bread is outstanding. We were too full to try dessert.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

DIne in a 100 year old mansion

Dined on November 8, 2015

The food is very good. I had a special...Salmon with crab meat. I nice salmon steak topped with a terrific crab cake. The hollandaise sauce was an unexpected but delicious pairing.

food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent Service & Food

Dined on October 13, 2015

Twin Oaks Country Inn has become my wife and I's most favorite place for fine dinning. The place decor is fantastic and quaint, friendly service, and wonderful food. We love it!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Who Knew?!?

Dined on October 11, 2015

Goodness Gracious! Wow - my brother in laws (BIL) and I have been playing in a golf event for the past 4 years we always hit the steak house down the street from Twin Oaks for our post outing dinner. Someone suggested to my BIL that we should give Twin Oaks a whirl so we did. When we walked in we were immediately swept back in time to a simpler place, the ambiance of this old Victorian House turned restaurant was awesome. The high ceilings, narrow hallways and large rooms, especially the quaint bar area had this place oozing with character. Upon initial review of the specials that evening someone at our table said "I'm not even going to open the menu, for fear I'll change my mind!". I said the same thing and then about a minute later I cracked it open. Everything looked exceptional. We ordered some apps for the table, salads and our entrees. The delivery, presentation and tastes of all the items was deliciable!!! Except for the BBQ Dressing on one of the salads. While it sounded unique and different I think the flavor/texture of the dressing was a miss - this is a minor nick and should be taken with a grain of salt! TRY THIS PLACE - I can't wait to head back next time and also bring my wife for a date night and we live an hour away!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Memorable Dining Experience

Dined on October 9, 2015

A classic ambiance with outstanding food. Definitely a restaurant for a special occasion. The only recommendation would be for a few more selections priced so that those on a budget can still share the experience, from wonderful wine to delectable desert. Our second visit and not our last!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent little hidden gem. Quaint and ...

Dined on October 2, 2015

Excellent little hidden gem. Quaint and the steak was one of the best I've had on par with Sullivan's or Ruth's.

food2
ambience4
service2

Service and food not good

Dined on September 20, 2015

The ambiance is good., The food and service was below Par. The fish was dry and not tasty. Would would not go back uni til these change

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dinner with friends at Twin Oaks!

Dined on September 19, 2015

The food was terrific and the service was great! One of the few restaurants left that the noise level is low enough to actually enjoy a conversation while eating. Their wine list could be a little more robust.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Matt's Birthday

Dined on September 2, 2015

It was a perfect birthday dinner and the staff took the time to share stories of times when strange things would happen.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Just another great dinner

Dined on September 2, 2015

The staff seemed genuinely pleased to see us on arrival. Roberto, our waiter, was a delight to chat with, and while we've had many wonderful dinners over the years, my husband said his meal was the best he has ever had there - the roast duck. My dinner was fabulous - the rack of lamb with smashed potatoes and divine vegetables. The salted creme caramel was too salty for my taste, so Roberto brought me the creme brulee - no problem. While we've never come for lunch or brunch, if they're anything like the dinners, they're terrific, and we'll keep them in mind. This was my birthday, so thanks for making it special, as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

Wine list omitted the years.

Dined on August 30, 2015

The restaurant was very noisy making it difficult to talk across the table. I have had better food from the frozen section of the supermarket.

food1
ambience1
service1

This restaurant is not open for lunch. ...

vip
Dined on August 26, 2015

This restaurant is not open for lunch. Based on Open Table reservation availability and favorable reviews, I drove a considerable distance out of my way to go there. Both the restaurant and Open Table should know better than to let this happen.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite

Dined on August 23, 2015

We have been going to Twin Oak for many years and have never been disappointed with the food, service, and wine list. Chef/Owner Richard Knox has outstanding specials to choose from every time my wife and I have had dinner. We especially like to go on one of our birthdays or our anniversary. It is truly a special place for us and we have brought friends along many times and recommended Twin Oaks to our friends.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great resturant to dine at.

Dined on August 16, 2015

I had the herb encrusted salmon with shrimp. It was excellent and I would order it again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints!

Dined on August 16, 2015

If you haven't had a date night here, make a reservation now! Cozy and romantic environment. Excellent food and a great staff! I have dined here multiple times over the years and each time is always great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Bar experience.

Dined on August 14, 2015

Group of 8 wanted to enjoy a drink before going into the dining room. Inexperienced bartender did not know how to make a Manhattan. All other drinks were either too strong or too weak. Very disappointing. A fine restaurant needs a professional bartender.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a most enjoyable evening.

Dined on August 14, 2015

We had a party of 10 for my birthday dinner. Everybody loved the food and the service was great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My party had 17 people. We were celebra ...

Dined on July 23, 2015

My party had 17 people. We were celebrating the retirement of a co-worker. The service was great, we were loud, they closed the doors to our room so we could roast our dear friend. There was so much laughter. The service was great, The atmosphere was friendly. The food was delicious, I would absolutly come back again and recommend to everyone I know. The next day at work, everyone was still raving about the good time we shared and the excellent food and service.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.