About Tuyo

415 NE 2nd Ave. Building 9,
Miami, FL 33132
View Larger Map

Tuyo is located on the top floor of the Miami Culinary Institute, offering a spectacular view of the bay and the Miami skyline.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 6pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
North East 5 Street & North East Second Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 237-3200

Website:
http://www.tuyomiami.com/

Catering:
Available

Parking Details:
Free Parking in Lot Available as well as Valet parking for $7.00.

Public Transit:
Metrorail

Executive Chef:
Victor Santos

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tuyo is available for Special events. Please call (305) 237-3200 for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Lemon Vinaigrette Salad
Braised Shortrib 'Ropa Vieja'
House-Made Sorbet
Coconut Flan with Tropical Fruit Salsita &Crispy Meringue
My "Down Island" French Toast with Curacao Scented Foie Gras
Pork Havana
Shrimp ceviche with salsa of life
Key West Yellowtail
Mongolian Barbequed Veal
Duck Two Ways

Specials

Miami Spice South Menu

Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Miami Spice South Menu

Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Around The World IN 60 DAYS !! Come join us for Miami Spice to savor cuisine from four corners of the globe . We'll unveil a new three-course menu for $39.00 every two weeks starting with the North follow by the South,East and West side of the World. Excludes Tax and Tip. Thank you so very much for considering us. Kind Regards, The Tuyo Team. Special valid Aug 4, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 on Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Miami Culinary Institute at Miami Dade College opens the doors of our world-class facilities for your group event or corporate outing. The Food and Wine Demonstration Theater sets the perfect stage for your networking or team-building event, workshop, video conferencing, fundraiser or party.

Tuyo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Miami - Dade County
Scenic View
Miami - Dade County
Contemporary American
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Downtown Miami ›

Scenic View (42)
Romantic (35)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Notable Wine List (11)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Fireplace (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Business Meals (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
614 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful view. Great food and quality ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful view. Great food and quality shows in excellent flavor profiles with a new twist on some favorites.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend, myself and a couple who a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 7 days ago

My boyfriend, myself and a couple who are good friends enjoyed Tuyo's Miami Spice Menu. The view from the top of the building is wonderful. The wait staff was attentive and personable and professional. Our meals were delicious...the choices were varied and well-prepared. The hostess was gracious and our waiter, Max was quite good. We trusted him to select the wine pairings.

Wine is expensive one of us who order a glass of Moscato paid $18 dollars...the wine flights were $19 for two moderate size glasses. But the wines were good.

We added adventure by taking the Metrorail and the Metromover to College Station Bayside and walking about a block. I think Miami Spice make Tuyo more affordable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We visited Tuyo again on a recent Saturd ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 7 days ago

We visited Tuyo again on a recent Saturday night with another couple, long time friends. We decided to try the Miami Spice menu and were not disappointed. The food, service and atmosphere were exemplary. I have been to Tuyo many times, and always have a great meal and am never disappointed. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

From the security guard to the hostess, ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

From the security guard to the hostess, waiter, food server ( delivered & described each item), valet it was anabsolutely phenomenal dining experience. Our waiter Eric was amazing, his recommendation on wine pairing and attentiveness were

Awesome!😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is exceptional. The wait staff ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food is exceptional. The wait staff is seems to be hit or miss, with periods of great service followed by sudden lapses. The only complaint though, would be the closeness of some of the tables and the acoustics of the room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

It's not often enough that you enter a p ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

It's not often enough that you enter a public establishment, restaurant or otherwise, and feel the care and warmth that Tuyo and its staff offers. Small touches are everywhere, from the initial greeting to the car waiting when you exit, and in between, the food, service, atmosphere and view of the city and bay are all a cut above just about every other high end restaurant. It doesn't look like much when you enter on the street level, but the elevator takes you somewhere else altogether. The Miami Spice menu was excellent from start to finish, including my crispy skin bass in prosciutto pepper broth. Desserts too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Hostess was excellent. Not only she ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Hostess was excellent. Not only she greeted and sat customers but picked up tables ; a hard working employee. Not impressed with the bar service, the martinis were nothing to write home about. Wine glasses were beautiful, but the servings were samplers instead of real drinks. Was not impressed with the food at all and the dessert was not acceptable. View was spectacular. Glad we tried it though!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I went for the Miami Spice menu and it w ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I went for the Miami Spice menu and it was delicious. Both my companion and I loved their food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I enjoyed this place thoroug ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed this place thoroughly. The food was exquisite and the view was breathtaking. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet place for a date night.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good but nothing outstanding. T ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food was good but nothing outstanding. There are better option in Miami for this price range.

However the place is cosy and the scenic view is great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Always a great dining experience!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Always a great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but below expectations and ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was good but below expectations and they forgot the wine (only served after starters)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Impeccable service. Beautiful scenic vi ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Impeccable service. Beautiful scenic views of the Miami Skyline by night.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Miami Spice Menu - South version was ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The Miami Spice Menu - South version was very good. The Duck Breast was perfect... The Bacalao Sticks were a croquettes and not as good as I thought... A friend tried the Foie Gras was just DELSIH... and the view... the view it's just fantastic!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The service was spectacular from the val ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The service was spectacular from the valet to the server. Everyone had great knowledge regarding the food and beverages, which were spectacular. Definitely a place to keep coming back to!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place and professional service ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent place and professional service. Food is delicious but the portions were extremely small for what the charged for. I visited the place during Miami Spice event, and to meet the fixed event's pricing, they gave us almost testing portions, which didn't satisfy us, and we paid $ 280.00 for a party of 4. Tip was forced on the bill, which is not ethical and put us in a embarrassing situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed the overall dining experi ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Really enjoyed the overall dining experience.....service was attentive and knowledgable! We enjoyed the Miami Spice menu and were able to try just about everything on the menu. Everything we had was delicious and just the right amount. And the dessert......so good.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was Amazing! My heart melted with e ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was Amazing! My heart melted with every bite. Service and ambience was excellent! Definitely recommend .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm afraid this last visit to Tuyo is ou ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I'm afraid this last visit to Tuyo is our last. Everything has gone downhill. The food, although presented very beautifully, was lack luster. The meats were overcooked and dry. The fish was nothing special. The desserts were actually awful. The only thing that was good was the jalapeño martini. And a place that always had good service unfortunately no longer does. It appeared only one waiter was working. He never checked on our table and we felt he did not care to be there. It's unfortunate that Tuyo has lost its spark. Everything that was great about it, the food, the service, is no more. The only thing left is the ambiance which is no longer enough to bring us back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Had a wonderful dinner and will definite ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner and will definitely go back again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great experience.... Eric (our ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always a great experience....

Eric (our Server) is always perfect and attentive.

The food is AMAZING!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my small staff to dinner to celeb ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I took my small staff to dinner to celebrate our corporate anniversary. We showed up very early as I was also taking them to a show at the Arsht. So, we were the only ones in the restaurant when we arrived - which I actually liked. We had the whole wonderful place to ourselves and the staff handled it perfectly - leaving us to chat but always available when something was needed. It's about as good as service gets in a Miami restaurant. As this was a celebration, we all got the Tasting Menu with wine pairings. Of the five main course dishes two were very good and three were spectacular. The wines were varied and delicious. Although pricey, I don't think you can get a better meal in Miami, and it has to be one of the most elegant rooms in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is a true gem. Manned b ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This restaurant is a true gem. Manned by students at MDC Culinary Arts students, but with a professional service and kitchen staff. Wonderful view overlooking the Port and the Freedom Tower. It has become our favorite restaurant for a special meal. The chef takes great pride in his food and loves to come and talk to the patrons. A place not to miss!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice view & very romantic. Dinner was de ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Nice view & very romantic. Dinner was delicious. Service was great! Loved the experience. ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating my boyfriends birthd ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were celebrating my boyfriends birthday and the attention we received from Eric and the staff was wonderful yet discreet.

We ordered the Ropa Vieja and the swordfish, both of which were outstanding in flavor, preparation and presentation!

The view and the romantic ambience were exceptional.

What a remarkable find in my own back yard!

Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First of all we waited three weeks for a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

First of all we waited three weeks for a reservation to be available and there was not a single other soul in the restaurant when we arrived and a group of 4 arrived 1.5 hours later as we were finishing up. The place is pretentious and over-priced given the hoopla. No noise because there wasn't anyone there. If this is an educational facility it is way overpriced for that. The red snapper I had was fishy tasting and not at all as good as I've had elsewhere. The presentation, dessert, coffee, service, and appetizer were good....delicious even. They put us facing a bunch of train tracks and construction while there was a much more pleasant view on the side of the restaurant. Given that it was empty one would expect they could seat us with the best view possible. Younger staff seemed nervous...okay for a teaching environment. The sense I had was that it was creepy. Thank goodness the company and most of the food was very good. But I will not go back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Very nice spot in the middle of Miami Do ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very nice spot in the middle of Miami Downtown... Superb service. Staff is really amazing. Food is awesome... So a perfect place to relax, enjoy the view, grab a drink and eat like a god... Excellent job guys... 😃

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is fantastic. The food is ama ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This place is fantastic. The food is amazing, service is top notch and the wine list is very well priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food quality was great but menu was very ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food quality was great but menu was very heavy for late June (lamb shanks, etc)

Service was wonderful

Ambience was okay - view was spectacular but nothing much beyond that

Would come again - have told others to try it as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The best restaurant in Miami!!! We loved ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The best restaurant in Miami!!! We loved ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The kitchen of restaurante closed too ea ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The kitchen of restaurante closed too early. It is bad

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for the tasting menu which was f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We went for the tasting menu which was fantastic (although with hindsight we really didn't need the extra course). The short rib course was outstanding and the wine pairings were interesting and well chosen. On a Tuesday night off season the restaurant was very quiet- to be expected I guess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

My wife and I went to TUYO for our 30th ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

My wife and I went to TUYO for our 30th anniversary. We had an excellent experience. We found the valet service a good feature, although slow when getting our car after dinner. The restaurant has a tasteful décor with a fine view of Biscayne Boulevard and the bay. Service was very professional, discreet and warm. The menu is somewhat limited but the food was of fine quality, as well as its presentation. We truly enjoyed TUYO and recommend it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent service. Great ambiance

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Excellent service. Great ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great for a special occasion!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food is tasty and nice . Waiting staff is very attentive and courteous. Outstanding view. (It would have been even better if dining room had been built facing the bay- where the kitchen is located). Food presentation is very pleasant. A little bit on the pricey side but suitable for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There was no gas on the kitchen, and eve ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

There was no gas on the kitchen, and even though the service was very attentive, we left without having any food due to they have to close the kitchen. They asked for my phone number and email address to contact me, I guessed to have some kind of courtesy or something, however they have not yet contacted me. (Friday Jun/3)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Place is a hidden gem in Downtown Miami. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Place is a hidden gem in Downtown Miami. Beautiful view, small eloquent setting, great service and wonderful food. Definitely coming back soon, i think i found our new regular restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thats it, I have found the best spot to ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Thats it, I have found the best spot to dine in MIA. Love this spot.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Had an amazing time! Impeccable service, great food and beautiful ambiance. Looking forward to visiting Tuyo again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My mother was impressed and thrilled wit ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My mother was impressed and thrilled with the brunch offered. The brunch gave her lot to talk about with her friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.