About Tuyo

415 NE 2nd Ave. Building 9,
Miami, FL 33132
View Larger Map

Tuyo is located on the top floor of the Miami Culinary Institute, offering a spectacular view of the bay and the Miami skyline.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 6pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
North East 5 Street & North East Second Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 237-3200

Website:
http://www.tuyomiami.com/

Catering:
Available

Parking Details:
Free Parking in Lot Available as well as Valet parking for $7.00.

Public Transit:
Metrorail

Executive Chef:
Victor Santos

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tuyo is available for Special events. Please call (305) 237-3200 for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Lemon Vinaigrette Salad - Tuyo, Miami, FL
Braised Shortrib 'Ropa Vieja' - Tuyo, Miami, FL
House-Made Sorbet - Tuyo, Miami, FL
Coconut Flan with Tropical Fruit Salsita &Crispy Meringue - Tuyo, Miami, FL
My "Down Island" French Toast with Curacao Scented Foie Gras - Tuyo, Miami, FL
Pork Havana - Tuyo, Miami, FL
Shrimp ceviche with salsa of life - Tuyo, Miami, FL
Key West Yellowtail - Tuyo, Miami, FL
Mongolian Barbequed Veal - Tuyo, Miami, FL
Duck Two Ways  - Tuyo, Miami, FL

Specials

2 for $10 on Small Plates; Tues.&Wed. Dec. 2016

Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

All Full Bottles of Wine 50% off on Tues/Weds Dec.

Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

2 for $10 on Small Plates; Tues.&Wed. Dec. 2016

Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Two Small Plate orders for the price of $10. Offer Only Valid Tuesday's and Wednesday's for the month of December 2016. Excludes Tax and Tip. Thank you for considering us for your dining experience!. Special valid Dec 2, 2016 - Dec 28, 2016 on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

All Full Bottles of Wine 50% off on Tues/Weds Dec.

Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

50% Off All Full Bottles of Wine. Offer Only Valid Tuesdays and Wednesdays for the month of December 2016. Half-bottles of Wines and Champagnes are not included in this offer. Full bottles of Champagnes are also not included in this offer. Excludes Tax and Tip. Thank you so very much for considering us for your dining experience !. Special valid Dec 2, 2016 - Dec 28, 2016 on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Miami Culinary Institute at Miami Dade College opens the doors of our world-class facilities for your group event or corporate outing. The Food and Wine Demonstration Theater sets the perfect stage for your networking or team-building event, workshop, video conferencing, fundraiser or party.

Tuyo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Downtown Miami ›

Scenic View (25)
Romantic (20)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Fireplace (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Business Meals (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
631 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food, great views and service. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food, great views and service. Fresh farm to table ingredients, artistic food presentation. Highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had concert tickets for 8 downtown an ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had concert tickets for 8 downtown and Tuyo's doesn't open until 6. They accommodated us early and we had a very relaxing not rushed meal (Including their famous 6 course tasting menu) and left at 7:35 PM in time for our show. Our waiter Palton was superb and the hostess and Manager Sarah were all to be commended The food---amazing as always!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. Don't know if Norm ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful experience. Don't know if Norman Van Aiken is still there but the dishes are superb and the service is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exquisite cuisine and service. The view ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Exquisite cuisine and service. The view was phenomenal as well. Very romantic. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner here prior to a Book Fair ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We had dinner here prior to a Book Fair event. Great view, food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very delicious!!! :)

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very delicious!!! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A mixed bag. Appetizers ( samosa and bee ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 26, 2016

A mixed bag. Appetizers ( samosa and beet salad ) were good I had snapper which was excellent but my wife's scallops had a weird almost too briny, metallic taste. We were there for Adele concert and had no problem with service. After the concert the valet had our car sitting out front of the restaurant waiting for us. Definitely the way to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Worst dinning experience ever we were th ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Worst dinning experience ever we were there for over 90 minutes prior to a concert and we could not get our food we asked for the check for drinks and left. Will never return ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

The service was atrocious, our order was ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The service was atrocious, our order was taken 45 min after we sat down, the food took forever to come, in spite of letting them know we needed to be finished before 7:30 to go to a show. When the food arrived one was cold, the other overcooked and instead of meat it was all fat and gristle! we got up and left as did many others...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My wife and I were looking very much for ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 25, 2016

My wife and I were looking very much forward to dine here prior to a concert at the Arena next door which was at 730pm. We arrived punctually at 6pm and were seated right away. Our drink orders where expedited well. Then we placed our food order, so far so good. However, after that we heard nothing! We even ordered from the 'concert menu' which we expected would be served in good time. But we kept waiting for our food. After 50 minutes we asked the manager when our food is being served? He said he would check but didn't come back. Then at 705pm with no news we had no choice but to get up and leave the restaurant in order to make the concert on time. We are normally very patient people and we understand this is part of a culinary school with students etc but this was just too much with no attention from staff to our problem. We had a deadline to make for our concert but irrespective one should not wait over one hour for even the first dish to be served. Sorry to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Nice views, good food (small portions, f ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Nice views, good food (small portions, fine with us), slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Did not enjoy my dining experience this ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Did not enjoy my dining experience this time at Tuyo. Server was not helpful, and several times seemed unavailable. The portions this time were much smaller, and with my 3 course, none of which tasted good. Understand its students, so maybe that's why its hit or miss.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

I had a good time, I a very nice place f ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I had a good time, I a very nice place for a date, it wasn't crowded.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time here, and I was ve ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It was our first time here, and I was very pleased with the entire experience overall. Great flavors, great ambiance, and great view with absolutely impeccable service. We had a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place and great view

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great place and great view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to the restaurant 5-7 times ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We have been to the restaurant 5-7 times and always enjoyed the menu, service , atmosphere and view. I made the reservation for 8:45 to celebrate my husband's birthday after a cultural event downtown. We arrived 15 mins early and had to wait 35 minutes to be seated and there is no seating or a bar. I understood with a late night reservation. The issue is once seated my husband and I decided to order the Tasting Menu with the wine pairings. An expensive , yet great choice for this restaurant knowing the food and service in the past., it's a culinary arts school! The waiter took our order without any engagement, just asked if we wanted the foie gras as it was $15.00 more, we did. After 10+ minutes are first course/salad arrived sans a wine pairing for 12 minutes. When the waiter came he said this is a Sauvignon Blanc and poured a small pour. The couple next to us ordered the Miami Spice Menu and an average price bottle of wine and the waiter gushed over them about the vineyards, the barrells and process, etc.? After our 1st course I decided to complain to the manager as I didn't want to go through this for 4 more courses. When you order a Tasting Menu with wine pairings, you expect to learn more about the food, the preparation, why the sommelier and chef determined this menu and wine pairing etc. There was absolutely no engagement with us whatsoever from our waiter. The service and engagement was improved 75% once I complained and the Foie Gras was provided complementarily vs. the upcharge and we were given a split of champagne and a birthday dessert and candle in addition to our 5 courses in the tasting menu. The food was superb. I realized our waiter was inexperienced, yet service levels improved from when we first arrived. So the night was saved. I think training is needed as the other waiters were very responsive and professional. Last, the sommelier could not answer our question about the wine and seemed surprised that we would ask him?

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Wonderful food - always a new experience ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Wonderful food - always a new experience! Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful view. Great food and quality ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful view. Great food and quality shows in excellent flavor profiles with a new twist on some favorites.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend, myself and a couple who a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My boyfriend, myself and a couple who are good friends enjoyed Tuyo's Miami Spice Menu. The view from the top of the building is wonderful. The wait staff was attentive and personable and professional. Our meals were delicious...the choices were varied and well-prepared. The hostess was gracious and our waiter, Max was quite good. We trusted him to select the wine pairings.

Wine is expensive one of us who order a glass of Moscato paid $18 dollars...the wine flights were $19 for two moderate size glasses. But the wines were good.

We added adventure by taking the Metrorail and the Metromover to College Station Bayside and walking about a block. I think Miami Spice make Tuyo more affordable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We visited Tuyo again on a recent Saturd ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We visited Tuyo again on a recent Saturday night with another couple, long time friends. We decided to try the Miami Spice menu and were not disappointed. The food, service and atmosphere were exemplary. I have been to Tuyo many times, and always have a great meal and am never disappointed. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

From the security guard to the hostess, ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 15, 2016

From the security guard to the hostess, waiter, food server ( delivered & described each item), valet it was anabsolutely phenomenal dining experience. Our waiter Eric was amazing, his recommendation on wine pairing and attentiveness were

Awesome!😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is exceptional. The wait staff ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food is exceptional. The wait staff is seems to be hit or miss, with periods of great service followed by sudden lapses. The only complaint though, would be the closeness of some of the tables and the acoustics of the room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

It's not often enough that you enter a p ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 9, 2016

It's not often enough that you enter a public establishment, restaurant or otherwise, and feel the care and warmth that Tuyo and its staff offers. Small touches are everywhere, from the initial greeting to the car waiting when you exit, and in between, the food, service, atmosphere and view of the city and bay are all a cut above just about every other high end restaurant. It doesn't look like much when you enter on the street level, but the elevator takes you somewhere else altogether. The Miami Spice menu was excellent from start to finish, including my crispy skin bass in prosciutto pepper broth. Desserts too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Hostess was excellent. Not only she ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Hostess was excellent. Not only she greeted and sat customers but picked up tables ; a hard working employee. Not impressed with the bar service, the martinis were nothing to write home about. Wine glasses were beautiful, but the servings were samplers instead of real drinks. Was not impressed with the food at all and the dessert was not acceptable. View was spectacular. Glad we tried it though!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I went for the Miami Spice menu and it w ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I went for the Miami Spice menu and it was delicious. Both my companion and I loved their food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I enjoyed this place thoroug ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed this place thoroughly. The food was exquisite and the view was breathtaking. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet place for a date night.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good but nothing outstanding. T ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food was good but nothing outstanding. There are better option in Miami for this price range.

However the place is cosy and the scenic view is great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Always a great dining experience!

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Always a great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but below expectations and ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was good but below expectations and they forgot the wine (only served after starters)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Impeccable service. Beautiful scenic vi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Impeccable service. Beautiful scenic views of the Miami Skyline by night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Miami Spice Menu - South version was ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The Miami Spice Menu - South version was very good. The Duck Breast was perfect... The Bacalao Sticks were a croquettes and not as good as I thought... A friend tried the Foie Gras was just DELSIH... and the view... the view it's just fantastic!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The service was spectacular from the val ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The service was spectacular from the valet to the server. Everyone had great knowledge regarding the food and beverages, which were spectacular. Definitely a place to keep coming back to!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place and professional service ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent place and professional service. Food is delicious but the portions were extremely small for what the charged for. I visited the place during Miami Spice event, and to meet the fixed event's pricing, they gave us almost testing portions, which didn't satisfy us, and we paid $ 280.00 for a party of 4. Tip was forced on the bill, which is not ethical and put us in a embarrassing situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed the overall dining experi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Really enjoyed the overall dining experience.....service was attentive and knowledgable! We enjoyed the Miami Spice menu and were able to try just about everything on the menu. Everything we had was delicious and just the right amount. And the dessert......so good.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was Amazing! My heart melted with e ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was Amazing! My heart melted with every bite. Service and ambience was excellent! Definitely recommend .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm afraid this last visit to Tuyo is ou ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I'm afraid this last visit to Tuyo is our last. Everything has gone downhill. The food, although presented very beautifully, was lack luster. The meats were overcooked and dry. The fish was nothing special. The desserts were actually awful. The only thing that was good was the jalapeño martini. And a place that always had good service unfortunately no longer does. It appeared only one waiter was working. He never checked on our table and we felt he did not care to be there. It's unfortunate that Tuyo has lost its spark. Everything that was great about it, the food, the service, is no more. The only thing left is the ambiance which is no longer enough to bring us back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Had a wonderful dinner and will definite ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner and will definitely go back again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great experience.... Eric (our ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always a great experience....

Eric (our Server) is always perfect and attentive.

The food is AMAZING!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my small staff to dinner to celeb ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 22, 2016

I took my small staff to dinner to celebrate our corporate anniversary. We showed up very early as I was also taking them to a show at the Arsht. So, we were the only ones in the restaurant when we arrived - which I actually liked. We had the whole wonderful place to ourselves and the staff handled it perfectly - leaving us to chat but always available when something was needed. It's about as good as service gets in a Miami restaurant. As this was a celebration, we all got the Tasting Menu with wine pairings. Of the five main course dishes two were very good and three were spectacular. The wines were varied and delicious. Although pricey, I don't think you can get a better meal in Miami, and it has to be one of the most elegant rooms in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is a true gem. Manned b ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 22, 2016

This restaurant is a true gem. Manned by students at MDC Culinary Arts students, but with a professional service and kitchen staff. Wonderful view overlooking the Port and the Freedom Tower. It has become our favorite restaurant for a special meal. The chef takes great pride in his food and loves to come and talk to the patrons. A place not to miss!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.