About Tuyo

415 NE 2nd Ave. Building 9,
Miami, FL 33132
View Larger Map

Tuyo is located on the top floor of the Miami Culinary Institute, offering a spectacular view of the bay and the Miami skyline.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 6pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
North East 5 Street & North East Second Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 237-3200

Website:
http://www.tuyomiami.com/

Catering:
Available

Parking Details:
Free Parking in Lot Available as well as Valet parking for $7.00.

Public Transit:
Metrorail

Executive Chef:
Victor Santos

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tuyo is available for Special events. Please call (305) 237-3200 for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $39.00

Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

All Wines for the Month of May Tues.Wed,Thurs 50%

Tuesdays - Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Thank you so very for considering us and feel free to contact us with questions. Special valid May 3, 2016 - May 31, 2016 on Tuesdays - Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $39.00

Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $39.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. The Chef's Choice Campaign from Estrella Damm includes 1 Estrella Damm Beer. Special valid May 14, 2016 - May 28, 2016 on Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Join us to celebrate the Special Men in your life with a Father's Day meal they won't soon
forget. Our hours of operation are from 11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
All Wines for the Month of May Tues.Wed,Thurs 50%

Tuesdays - Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Thank you so very for considering us and feel free to contact us with questions. Special valid May 3, 2016 - May 31, 2016 on Tuesdays - Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
50% Off All Wines in our Wine Menu. Excludes Tax and Tip. Enjoy your Favorite bottle of Wine from our Wine Menu on Tues/Wed/ Thurs.at 50%. Special valid May 3, 2016 - May 31, 2016 on Tuesdays - Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Thank you so very for considering us and feel free to contact us with questions. Special valid May 3, 2016 - May 31, 2016 on Tuesdays - Thursdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

The Miami Culinary Institute at Miami Dade College opens the doors of our world-class facilities for your group event or corporate outing. The Food and Wine Demonstration Theater sets the perfect stage for your networking or team-building event, workshop, video conferencing, fundraiser or party.

Tuyo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Miami / Southeast Florida
Scenic View
Miami / Southeast Florida
Special Occasion
Miami / Southeast Florida
4 More
Romantic
Miami - Dade County
Scenic View
Miami - Dade County
Special Occasion
Miami - Dade County
Contemporary American
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Downtown Miami ›

special occasion (38)
scenic view (36)
romantic (36)
See All
fit for foodies (18)
notable wine list (11)
neighborhood gem (8)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (4)
good for groups (4)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for lunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
577 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thats it, I have found the best spot to ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Thats it, I have found the best spot to dine in MIA. Love this spot.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had an amazing time! Impeccable service, great food and beautiful ambiance. Looking forward to visiting Tuyo again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My mother was impressed and thrilled wit ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

My mother was impressed and thrilled with the brunch offered. The brunch gave her lot to talk about with her friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the tasting menu with the wine pa ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had the tasting menu with the wine pairing and it was fabulous, the food was amazing and in good portions considering all the courses we had. Great experience

food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Disappointing.

Dined on May 4, 2016

Althoght the ambient is romantic the views are just to a parking place. The service was really poor and although the quality of the food was good the quantity was too small. We took the tastig menu, pairing wines and none of them was that good. Moreover, the price is exagerated for what would you get. We wont came back and I wouldnt recommend it to anyone

food5
ambience5
service5

I highly recommend this Restaurant ,it i ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

I highly recommend this Restaurant ,it is excellent !!!

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Not a "wow" restaurant

Dined on April 24, 2016

Read reviews good and bad and decided to give it a try. The reception was pleasant but not friendly. The view is spectacular and the décor is fresh and modern. Now for the lack of wow. The best way to describe the service was "the timing was off" We were served a nice treat from the chef ...however our menus were still on the table and our drink orders had not been taken. One of our party members ordered a cocktail and the waiter did not come back to take the order for our wine until we flagged him over. All of the food was tasty and well presented but not worth the price for what was delivered. No regrets since the company was wonderful and we had a great time in spite of the "non-wow" factors.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Priceless moment

Dined on April 17, 2016

Omg! I don't think there's enough world's to express my satisfactions. Tuyo is just the place that you can invite anybody. Clean place, the food is amazing, and the waiters are well educated of the menu... Not to forget the price is very affordable.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FOOD IS AMAZING!

Dined on April 17, 2016

This is my 2nd time dining at TUYO. Back to back great outings, couldn't be happier with the food & service all while being spoiled with a view. The tasting menu was an amazing journey, I highly recommend it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Not as good

Dined on April 2, 2016

I was disappointment on my new visit to Tuyo. The food was not great and staff not very friendly. Our waiter was not "nasty" but did not smile once and seemed impatient with us. There are many new restaurants in Miami were food is great and service amicable. I think guests need to feel welcomed and appreciated if not pampered at these prices. I doubt I will return.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I KEEP GOING BACK! EXCELLENT FOOD!!!!!

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Excellent service, food and ambiance. The servers are true professionals. They know the menu well and make excellent recommendations. I keep going back. This place is a Miami jewel.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simplicity is the ultimate sophistcation!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Elegant, sexy, jazzy yet easy! The food is superb, presentation and service even better!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb food, superb service! Intimate ro ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Superb food, superb service! Intimate romantic setting. Convenient valet parking. The Staff was very attuned to the area's cultural events and times and asked us about our specific show attendance in order to pace our dinner, accordingly! Nice touch... Highly recommended!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Loved tuyo, amazing food, great service, killer view

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Quite and romantic

Dined on March 5, 2016

The view is super nice. an 8th floor that allows you to see the freedom tower and the AAA. The food is great, we had the tasting menu. Nice wine list, easy to park and great service

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic

Dined on February 27, 2016

I went to Tuyo with My boyfriend and our newborn baby. We wanted to see the MDC culinary building because I'm a former student from this college. We didn't know what to expect from the Restaurant and we were very impressed with everything. The decoration is gorgeous, the music and the low lights make the dinning experience very romantic while enjoying the view. The food was outstanding! from the savory plates to the dessert. We are definitely going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great experien!

Dined on February 26, 2016

The description of the menu by our serves was fenomenal. I have never heard food described like that. The actual food was superb. Maybe the best I've had. Appetizer, main course (short rib Vaca frita) wow! Well be back!]

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

tuna

Dined on February 20, 2016

The tuna I ordered was uneatable for me to much peper essentially coasted in peppercorn They gave another tuna without pepper and it was poor in flavor.. Oddly I had tuna coated in pepper for lunch, ( I like Tuna) and it was perfect.. so it goes

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very romantic restaurant.

Dined on February 19, 2016

Servers are very professional and non-intrusive. Beautiful place with a gas burning fireplace.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

Food and service are always above and beyond our expectations. From the moment we walk in through the double doors on the ground floor, to the moment we leave, we are welcomed and made to feel as their number one guest. The food is amazing however, was rather disappointed with the last minute change in the first course and that we were not notified prior. All in all, a great meal none the less. Eric as always provides us with excellent service. Thank you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our Favorites

Dined on February 13, 2016

We really like to take our out-of-town friends here to show off downtown Miami. We also like to eat here when we are attending a downtown performance. Food and view are great. Service is best in town.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasantly surprised

Dined on February 13, 2016

I always take reviews with the proverbial grain of salt, whether they are favorable or not. My wife and I decided to beat the Valentine's Day rush and eat here a couple of nights earlier. What a great choice! The nighttime view of the Bayside/Arena skyline was unexpected. From the parking valet to the wait staff, everyone was engaging and helpful. Our waiter, Max, is a student at the culinary institute, but you wouldn't have known it by the extent of his knowledge, his good nature, and his service oriented demeanor. The menu was not extensive, but I see that as a good thing--more attention paid to fewer items. For starters, we had the shrimp and grits and a kale salad. My entree was a superb tuna and my wife had some pork medallions. Accompanied by a very reasonably-priced Malbec and perfectly-sized desserts. It was a great evening. And, when we exited the elevator to the street, our car was already there! Somebody knows what they are doing. We will be back, with guests.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Overpriced and over spiced

Dined on February 11, 2016

Tuyo has a romantic overview of the city, a nice distraction from the kitchens overuse of spices. Which results in you looking at your partner with deep regret, wondering why didn't you go to your local apple bees. The ravioli has an explosion of favor, not in a good way. It's sweetness makes candies look bitter and the accompaniment of salad does little to dull the taste. The service was great, some of the best I've seen however in my 5 years of dining in the city however, you're pretty much paying them for the good service and not the quality of the food. They have a helpful staff that gives you the run down on why your food tastes so sweet, and the quantity of food for $50, is, for lack of a better term, a rip off. I will probably not be going back to this overpriced restaurant, not because of the excellent staff, but because of the tongue numbing food and money hungry menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Beautiful view of Miami. Excellent food.

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

Beautiful view of Miami. Excellent food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional Service

Dined on February 6, 2016

I had my birthday dinner here. Amazing time. The service, food, view, staff was exceptional!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! Fine dining in downtown.

Dined on January 28, 2016

This is a great place with the proximity to the arena and the view of the Freedom Tower and it had a great dining ambience. As it was a special occasion we made the night of it and went to Tuyo before a concert at the arena. The food is great. They have this wonderful warm vegetable tart at the start of the meal and different kinds of bread were offered. My dining partner had the nicoise tuna salad and the squash soup. I had the winter squash ravioli and I was completely blown away. I'm still grieving over the fact that I didn't get a taste of the soup. The salad had this great potato foam and was just wonderful. The ravioli had poached pears and a pecan-feta pesto and a drizzle of a pomegranate reduction. It seems like it would be sweet but it was just delicious. We were late making our reservation because of traffic and then had to leave quickly to make the concert. But we really wanted to stay longer. It's definitely the place to go for a very special occasion and really savor what your eating. It can be a bit pricey but definitely worth it. I almost forgot, service was friendly and attentive and they were very conscious of making sure we got our meal so that we'd make the concert in time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The prices are exaggerated. The food is ...

Dined on January 26, 2016

The prices are exaggerated. The food is good and the friendly but professional service make a difference but because of the prices I won't be back for dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful find!

Dined on January 23, 2016

The service was first rate. Although not a huge menu- there's something for everyone. The kale salad was light and refreshing. The Tuna steak was delectable. It's a little pricey but that's Miami. Bon Apetite.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

TERRIBLE FOOD AND EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE

Dined on January 9, 2016

WE DINNE AT TUYO TWO YEARS AGO AND DECIDE TO DINNE FOR THE THIRD TIME BUY WHAT A SORPRISE. THERE WHERE ONLY THREE TABLES SO IT LOOKS EMPTY AND IT WAS A FRIDAY AT 9:00. THE FOOD WAS TERRIBLE AND THE BILL WAS EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE. I DONT MIND TO PAY AN EXPENSIVE BILL IF I ENJOY THE FOOD BUT DEFENITLY IT WAS NOT WORTH IT. I WILL NEVER GO BACK.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was nice

Dined on January 1, 2016

Good Food Nice View.... NYE 2015 Fixed Menu, good selection great service...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A real upscale gem

vip
Dined on November 28, 2015

I have been to Tuyo on many occasions and have never been disappointed. From the excellent rolls and amuse bouche they serve before dinner, to the multi-course complete dinners that come with dessert, everything is excellent, including the wait staff and service. Breathtaking view complements the occasion. You will not be disappointed. Prices, surprisingly, are quite reasonable for what you get.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food and atmosphere

Dined on November 20, 2015

Enjoyed the tasting menu with the wine pairing. All courses were executed very well and the wines matched the food perfectly. The views and the staff were great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service2

Is the kind of restaurant that you are p ...

Dined on October 29, 2015

Is the kind of restaurant that you are paying for the view, not impressed with the food, completely overpriced.

food4
ambience2
service5

Solid but limited menu and atmosphere lacking

vip
Dined on October 23, 2015

the place gas solid great food that is presented beautifully. The service was impeccable although with a 7:15 PM reservation, on a Friday night, we were the only people in the restaurant until 7:30 PM when another table showed. Strong but there's better!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Very pleasant dinner

Dined on October 4, 2015

The tasting menu with wine pairing was very good although a bit pricey for mostly local ingredients. One dish was overcooked, which is the reason I don't give it 5 stars for food. Very attentive service. Great atmosphere. It's not Norman, but certainly Norman inspired and worth the trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Always amazing! We went for Miami spice, ...

vip
Dined on September 29, 2015

Always amazing! We went for Miami spice, and everything was delicious! Nothing more to say.

food3
ambience5
service2

First and last visit to this restaurant, ...

vip
Dined on September 26, 2015

First and last visit to this restaurant, there is no excuse to a fair quality food and poor service even if the ambiance and view is great. I had to keep looking for our server as he was never around nor was he checking on the table. There was way too much wait time between the plates served to the table and the quality did not match the price tag.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!

Dined on September 20, 2015

Wow! What a beautiful spot. We had the Miami Spice dinner and it was outstanding. The view is incredible, the staff attentive and the food was delicious! You must try the Passion Fruit Jalapeno Martini! OMG!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Experience

Dined on September 12, 2015

Enjoying Miami Spice Bossa Nova menu with the spectacular view of window north was a memorable pleasure. However, the best point of the night was the sweet, kind and dedicated service we got from Soad. She made sure perfection was delivered from start to finish.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Tuyo's experience

Dined on September 12, 2015

It was a great experience; did not have an idea on how good the food and service was; they really took care of us, explaining in detail what we could order and why; and all the possible options we had; as a matter of fact, they had a really good Miami Spice menu, this time it was a Brazilian theme food, where their plates had unusual flavors. I would recommend this restaurant in a heart beat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.