About Tuyo

415 NE 2nd Ave. Building 9,
Miami, FL 33132
View Larger Map

Tuyo is located on the top floor of the Miami Culinary Institute, offering a spectacular view of the bay and the Miami skyline.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 6pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
North East 5 Street & North East Second Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 237-3200

Website:
http://www.tuyomiami.com/

Catering:
Available

Parking Details:
Free Parking in Lot Available as well as Valet parking for $7.00.

Public Transit:
Metrorail

Executive Chef:
Victor Santos

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tuyo is available for Special events. Please call (305) 237-3200 for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Lemon Vinaigrette Salad
Braised Shortrib 'Ropa Vieja'
House-Made Sorbet
Duck Two Ways
Coconut Flan with Tropical Fruit Salsita &Crispy Meringue
My "Down Island" French Toast with Curacao Scented Foie Gras
Pork Havana
Key West Yellowtail
Shrimp ceviche with salsa of life
Mongolian Barbequed Veal

Promotions

Pre- Spice Menu

Tuesdays - Saturdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join us to savor some of our favorite dishes from our new Summer Menu . Special valid Jul 19, 2016 - Jul 30, 2016 on Tuesdays - Saturdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Pre- Spice Menu

Tuesdays - Saturdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join us to savor some of our favorite dishes from our new Summer Menu . Special valid Jul 19, 2016 - Jul 30, 2016 on Tuesdays - Saturdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Private Dining

The Miami Culinary Institute at Miami Dade College opens the doors of our world-class facilities for your group event or corporate outing. The Food and Wine Demonstration Theater sets the perfect stage for your networking or team-building event, workshop, video conferencing, fundraiser or party.

Tuyo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Miami / Southeast Florida
Romantic
Miami - Dade County
Scenic View
Miami - Dade County
2 More
Special Occasion
Miami - Dade County
Contemporary American
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Downtown Miami ›

special occasion (34)
scenic view (33)
romantic (31)
See All
fit for foodies (16)
notable wine list (11)
neighborhood gem (5)
great for brunch (4)
hot spot (3)
great for lunch (3)
late-night find (2)
good for groups (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
595 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a wonderful dinner and will definite ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had a wonderful dinner and will definitely go back again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great experience.... Eric (our ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great experience....

Eric (our Server) is always perfect and attentive.

The food is AMAZING!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my small staff to dinner to celeb ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

I took my small staff to dinner to celebrate our corporate anniversary. We showed up very early as I was also taking them to a show at the Arsht. So, we were the only ones in the restaurant when we arrived - which I actually liked. We had the whole wonderful place to ourselves and the staff handled it perfectly - leaving us to chat but always available when something was needed. It's about as good as service gets in a Miami restaurant. As this was a celebration, we all got the Tasting Menu with wine pairings. Of the five main course dishes two were very good and three were spectacular. The wines were varied and delicious. Although pricey, I don't think you can get a better meal in Miami, and it has to be one of the most elegant rooms in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is a true gem. Manned b ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant is a true gem. Manned by students at MDC Culinary Arts students, but with a professional service and kitchen staff. Wonderful view overlooking the Port and the Freedom Tower. It has become our favorite restaurant for a special meal. The chef takes great pride in his food and loves to come and talk to the patrons. A place not to miss!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice view & very romantic. Dinner was de ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Nice view & very romantic. Dinner was delicious. Service was great! Loved the experience. ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating my boyfriends birthd ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were celebrating my boyfriends birthday and the attention we received from Eric and the staff was wonderful yet discreet.

We ordered the Ropa Vieja and the swordfish, both of which were outstanding in flavor, preparation and presentation!

The view and the romantic ambience were exceptional.

What a remarkable find in my own back yard!

Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First of all we waited three weeks for a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

First of all we waited three weeks for a reservation to be available and there was not a single other soul in the restaurant when we arrived and a group of 4 arrived 1.5 hours later as we were finishing up. The place is pretentious and over-priced given the hoopla. No noise because there wasn't anyone there. If this is an educational facility it is way overpriced for that. The red snapper I had was fishy tasting and not at all as good as I've had elsewhere. The presentation, dessert, coffee, service, and appetizer were good....delicious even. They put us facing a bunch of train tracks and construction while there was a much more pleasant view on the side of the restaurant. Given that it was empty one would expect they could seat us with the best view possible. Younger staff seemed nervous...okay for a teaching environment. The sense I had was that it was creepy. Thank goodness the company and most of the food was very good. But I will not go back.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Very nice spot in the middle of Miami Do ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very nice spot in the middle of Miami Downtown... Superb service. Staff is really amazing. Food is awesome... So a perfect place to relax, enjoy the view, grab a drink and eat like a god... Excellent job guys... 😃

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is fantastic. The food is ama ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This place is fantastic. The food is amazing, service is top notch and the wine list is very well priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food quality was great but menu was very ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food quality was great but menu was very heavy for late June (lamb shanks, etc)

Service was wonderful

Ambience was okay - view was spectacular but nothing much beyond that

Would come again - have told others to try it as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The best restaurant in Miami!!! We loved ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The best restaurant in Miami!!! We loved ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The kitchen of restaurante closed too ea ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The kitchen of restaurante closed too early. It is bad

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for the tasting menu which was f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We went for the tasting menu which was fantastic (although with hindsight we really didn't need the extra course). The short rib course was outstanding and the wine pairings were interesting and well chosen. On a Tuesday night off season the restaurant was very quiet- to be expected I guess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

My wife and I went to TUYO for our 30th ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

My wife and I went to TUYO for our 30th anniversary. We had an excellent experience. We found the valet service a good feature, although slow when getting our car after dinner. The restaurant has a tasteful décor with a fine view of Biscayne Boulevard and the bay. Service was very professional, discreet and warm. The menu is somewhat limited but the food was of fine quality, as well as its presentation. We truly enjoyed TUYO and recommend it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent service. Great ambiance

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Excellent service. Great ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great for a special occasion!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food is tasty and nice . Waiting staff is very attentive and courteous. Outstanding view. (It would have been even better if dining room had been built facing the bay- where the kitchen is located). Food presentation is very pleasant. A little bit on the pricey side but suitable for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There was no gas on the kitchen, and eve ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

There was no gas on the kitchen, and even though the service was very attentive, we left without having any food due to they have to close the kitchen. They asked for my phone number and email address to contact me, I guessed to have some kind of courtesy or something, however they have not yet contacted me. (Friday Jun/3)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Place is a hidden gem in Downtown Miami. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Place is a hidden gem in Downtown Miami. Beautiful view, small eloquent setting, great service and wonderful food. Definitely coming back soon, i think i found our new regular restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thats it, I have found the best spot to ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Thats it, I have found the best spot to dine in MIA. Love this spot.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Had an amazing time! Impeccable service, great food and beautiful ambiance. Looking forward to visiting Tuyo again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My mother was impressed and thrilled wit ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My mother was impressed and thrilled with the brunch offered. The brunch gave her lot to talk about with her friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the tasting menu with the wine pa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had the tasting menu with the wine pairing and it was fabulous, the food was amazing and in good portions considering all the courses we had. Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Althoght the ambient is romantic the views are just to a parking place. The service was really poor and although the quality of the food was good the quantity was too small. We took the tastig menu, pairing wines and none of them was that good. Moreover, the price is exagerated for what would you get. We wont came back and I wouldnt recommend it to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

I highly recommend this Restaurant ,it i ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I highly recommend this Restaurant ,it is excellent !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a "wow" restaurant

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Read reviews good and bad and decided to give it a try. The reception was pleasant but not friendly. The view is spectacular and the décor is fresh and modern. Now for the lack of wow. The best way to describe the service was "the timing was off" We were served a nice treat from the chef ...however our menus were still on the table and our drink orders had not been taken. One of our party members ordered a cocktail and the waiter did not come back to take the order for our wine until we flagged him over. All of the food was tasty and well presented but not worth the price for what was delivered. No regrets since the company was wonderful and we had a great time in spite of the "non-wow" factors.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Priceless moment

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Omg! I don't think there's enough world's to express my satisfactions. Tuyo is just the place that you can invite anybody. Clean place, the food is amazing, and the waiters are well educated of the menu... Not to forget the price is very affordable.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FOOD IS AMAZING!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

This is my 2nd time dining at TUYO. Back to back great outings, couldn't be happier with the food & service all while being spoiled with a view. The tasting menu was an amazing journey, I highly recommend it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not as good

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I was disappointment on my new visit to Tuyo. The food was not great and staff not very friendly. Our waiter was not "nasty" but did not smile once and seemed impatient with us. There are many new restaurants in Miami were food is great and service amicable.

I think guests need to feel welcomed and appreciated if not pampered at these prices.

I doubt I will return.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I KEEP GOING BACK! EXCELLENT FOOD!!!!!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Excellent service, food and ambiance. The servers are true professionals. They know the menu well and make excellent recommendations. I keep going back. This place is a Miami jewel.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simplicity is the ultimate sophistcation!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Elegant, sexy, jazzy yet easy! The food is superb, presentation and service even better!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb food, superb service! Intimate ro ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Superb food, superb service! Intimate romantic setting. Convenient valet parking. The Staff was very attuned to the area's cultural events and times and asked us about our specific show attendance in order to pace our dinner, accordingly! Nice touch...

Highly recommended!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Loved tuyo, amazing food, great service, killer view

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite and romantic

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The view is super nice. an 8th floor that allows you to see the freedom tower and the AAA. The food is great, we had the tasting menu. Nice wine list, easy to park and great service

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Romantic

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

I went to Tuyo with My boyfriend and our newborn baby. We wanted to see the MDC culinary building because I'm a former student from this college. We didn't know what to expect from the Restaurant and we were very impressed with everything. The decoration is gorgeous, the music and the low lights make the dinning experience very romantic while enjoying the view. The food was outstanding! from the savory plates to the dessert. We are definitely going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experien!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

The description of the menu by our serves was fenomenal. I have never heard food described like that. The actual food was superb. Maybe the best I've had. Appetizer, main course (short rib Vaca frita) wow!

Well be back!]

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

tuna

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The tuna I ordered was uneatable for me to much peper essentially coasted in peppercorn

They gave another tuna without pepper and it was poor in flavor.. Oddly I had tuna coated in pepper for lunch, ( I like Tuna) and it was perfect.. so it goes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Very romantic restaurant.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Servers are very professional and non-intrusive. Beautiful place with a gas burning fireplace.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Food and service are always above and beyond our expectations. From the moment we walk in through the double doors on the ground floor, to the moment we leave, we are welcomed and made to feel as their number one guest.

The food is amazing however, was rather disappointed with the last minute change in the first course and that we were not notified prior. All in all, a great meal none the less.

Eric as always provides us with excellent service.

Thank you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our Favorites

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We really like to take our out-of-town friends here to show off downtown Miami. We also like to eat here when we are attending a downtown performance. Food and view are great. Service is best in town.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasantly surprised

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I always take reviews with the proverbial grain of salt, whether they are favorable or not. My wife and I decided to beat the Valentine's Day rush and eat here a couple of nights earlier. What a great choice! The nighttime view of the Bayside/Arena skyline was unexpected. From the parking valet to the wait staff, everyone was engaging and helpful. Our waiter, Max, is a student at the culinary institute, but you wouldn't have known it by the extent of his knowledge, his good nature, and his service oriented demeanor.

The menu was not extensive, but I see that as a good thing--more attention paid to fewer items. For starters, we had the shrimp and grits and a kale salad. My entree was a superb tuna and my wife had some pork medallions. Accompanied by a very reasonably-priced Malbec and perfectly-sized desserts. It was a great evening. And, when we exited the elevator to the street, our car was already there! Somebody knows what they are doing. We will be back, with guests.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.