Turtle Jack's - Richmond Hill - Yonge Street

4.1
24 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Comfort Food
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Kid-friendly
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

An award winning concept, Turtle Jack’s is an Ontario based restaurant that provides guests with a taste of the cottage lifestyle. With over 60 menu items made with fresh ingredients and house-made sauces, our commitment to food quality compares to no other dining establishment.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Comfort Food, American, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(905) 883-2964
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Towerhill
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
YRT stops directly at our doorstep at the corner of Yonge and Towerhill

One block South of Towerhill the Viva stops at Gamble
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 24 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1based on all time ratings
4.0
food
4.1
service
3.8
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on January 21, 2017

Tasty food and wonderful service, very child-friendly. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 29, 2016

we had a nice get-together in advance of New Year's. our server was friendly but wasn't always around, disappearing for a few long stretches. The restaurant was steady busy but not frantic. I do appreciate when a server stops by or takes a minute to ensure that we've received our order, etc.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 24, 2016

The music was far too loud. It was so loud as to interfere with our conversation. We asked our server to have it turned down and she did so, but over time the volume went up again. "Energetic" is not the term I would use to describe the annoying music and sound level, but I had no choice in the survey. It was "Far too loud".

The food was good, but the portions were too small. We got four different meals and only the fish and chips meal was sufficiently large.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2016

Never disappointed!
Great Service
Miss the beef barley soup!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2016

We had a wonderful time catching up with friends. The server was very patient and returned several times to check on us to see if we needed anything. Let us sit and enjoy our conversation without pressuring us to leave like some other restaurants do after some time. It was a very nive evening all the way around; Wine, Food and conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 27, 2016

Good as usual

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 25, 2016

Usually, I get the same thing – quinoa salad with salmon. That, along with a large glass of wine, good company and great service, makes for a memorable experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 29, 2016

Food wasn't the best.. ive had better... calamari was very soggy and under cooked.. steak had no flavor to it all... will not be eating there again..first time experience wasn't very good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was good. Staff was pleasant and prompt. Would go back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2016

Good waitress

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 6, 2016

Service crazy slow. When I asked for another glass of wine the server bolted off without noticing that my companion also was running out.

Extremely loud.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 9, 2015

Huge portions and great daily drink deals. Server was awesome- friendly and very nice.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 4, 2015

Love the fajitas at Turtle Jacks. My only complaint each and every time is the length of time it takes for the food to come to the table. Despite the time, the meals are always delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 1, 2015

Main courses were as described in the menu and even better.

It took longer than expected to have the meals ready for us; but still it was a good opportunity for the group to chat.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 12, 2015

We visit this location once a week. We always sit barside to enjoy the sports on TV. Servers are always friendly and check in often. The food is good and consistent . Wait times for food can vary but we never mind.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2015

Great food, I always love the food there, but the service was so slow , maybe becuase of Mother's day but I mean it was "expected" so it could have been accounted for ahead of time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2015

We had a nice evening there were four of us in our party
Our food was good however there was an error made in one of our meals the entrée did not arrive in till after the three of us have eaten and I felt that either that entrée should have been complementary or dessert could have been complementary
I felt nothing was done to make us feel that they felt badly about not entering in that person's meal at the same time the other entrees were ordered
Overall it was a nice evening

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2015

I took my nephew to Turtle Jack's for lunch. It was a great spot for the two of us. The have a nice kid's menu and the staff was very friendly. He (and I) LOVED the Skor brownie dessert. I will take him back there for sure.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2015

Since we were here for Valentines i can forgive the restaurant being absolutely packed and noisy. i was not happy with our table (turned diagonal and in the middle of the passage) and the host that led us in couldnt care less; there were other tables for 2 available but she didnt even offer. i had reservations and should be given any table for two i would prefer. That being said, our server saved the day with his approach & manners. he was very attentive without smothering and was polite and courteous. The food was okay, but well timed, overall a pleasant experience, the manager thanked us on the way out which was a polished touch. the night couldve turned out differently if the service hadnt been as nice as it was. ty.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2015

Seated too close to a large group celebrating a birthday when it was just me and my fiance, we could barely hear each other and the party was distracting, we even made a reservation. The food was great though.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 3, 2015

Simply put - my dad loved this place and its hard to please the guy.

Would recommend this place to families looking for a fun night out.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 13, 2014

We have experienced this location in the past, however this recent visit will change our decisions to come here again. I do appreciate the manager approaching our table, but by that time, the damage and impression had been done. Your meals are not cheap, so even though we were seated in the bar area (even with having reservations), we should still receive proper service, including a table that is ready, including wiped down and cutlery. Is that not basic?

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 22, 2014

After totally giving up on this particular location for about a year we decided to try it again as we heard it may be under new management. While maybe slightly a bit better its still not up to par with the other Richmond Hill location. The food came and it was luke warm not hot. We did not bother complaining because it wasn't inedible, however the table next to us of several people had already complained that their food was also not hot, there was lot of apologizing going on... Will we give them another try, remains to be decided.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 7, 2014

Excellent food, large open patio. Sadly, server seemed preoccupied - 20min to get drinks after ordering; forgot to replace a beer that had a crack in the glass; never came by to see if we were OK. Not sure I can recommend.

Report
Helpful