Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Turner's Seafood - Salem

Turner's operates on a requested seating list (NOT a traditional reservation). Your name is on our list for tables estimated to open about the time of your request. Please check in with the host upon arrival and we do our best to seat you within 15 min and your party is complete.

Turner's Seafood at Lyceum Hall Salem is an authentic New England fish house in a beautifully restored historical location with a turn of the century oyster bar, classic full bar, fireplaces and more! From the docks to your plate, experience the most trusted name in New England seafood.

43 Church St
Salem, MA 01970
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
7 days a week

Lunch: Sunday - Saturday 11:00 - 3:30

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 3:30 - 9:00
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 3:30 - 10:00

Fresh Fish Market Open Daily 10:00 am to close

Cross Street:
Washington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 745-7665

Website:
http://www.turners-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the public lot is free after 6 pm every day and on Sundays and Holidays

Public Transit:
Salem Depot Commuter Rail Train Station is located one block North of 43 Church Street

Executive Chef:
Yale Woodson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Two beautifully restored private function spaces with fireplaces.

Turner's Seafood - Salem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (55)
Special Occasion (52)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Casual (41)
Good for Groups (40)
Romantic (37)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Cozy (35)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Great for Lunch (33)
Bar Seating (31)
Authentic (28)
Local Ingredients (28)
Business Meals (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Fun (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Healthy (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Seasonal (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Happy Hour (11)
People Watching (11)
Great Beer (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great for Brunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Live Sports (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
1242 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I dined at Turner's Seafood for lunch on a cold, wintry Saturday. The atmosphere inside was warm, and cozy, with a busy raw bar and lunch scene. The menu is diverse enough for a group - features lots of local seafood and the portions are generous. Everyone there was super nice. It'd been 7 years since my last visit to Salem, but I'd def go back and be sure to stop by Turner's for another great meal.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service for lunch at 1pm. My salad with grilled shrimp had only 4 shrimp. It was just ok, but nothing special that I couldn’t easily make at home. It would be great if they could make a clam or fish chowder without dairy!
Generally I find the seafood fresh here.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2018

Our server Harrison was personable and professional and made our night very special. His suggestions were spot on and he gave us amazing service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2018

We have been to Turners in Salem many times, the food was great as usual but our waitress didn't have a good night. We will try it again we all have a bad day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2018

The food here was better on previous visits. This time around, the fish seemed a bit bland and all the vegetable side dishes were terribly over-salted. May give them one more try in the future but hopefully they'll up their game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Very festive atmosphere and a delicious New Year’s dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Food is very, very good. Noise level at times is a bit rough but I mostly blame annoying patrons who think everyone in the place wants to hear your conversation. Waiter service was a bit slow.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

We had dinner with friends and ordered a number of different appetizers and meals. All the food was excellent and the fish was fresh and cooked perfectly. Ambience delightful with unique personality and history. Can't wait to go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Top notch, warm and cozy, fireplaces, historic charm, service outstanding, food to die for. One of the best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2017

What a wonderful time! Food was delicious and service was very good. We even had a seat by the lovely fireplace! We will be back next time we visit Salem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

This visit was disappointing as the food was not of the same quality compared to our experience at prior visits. Pub quality at best.
When making reservation it is advisable to specify where you want to sit: Bar or Dining area. Very noisy!

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2017

The food was ok but not great, and certainly not what I expected for the price. It wasn't hot, and the sides were very lackluster. The chowder was delicious, but I'd take a pass on the rest of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 26, 2017

If we lived in Salem it would be our favorite spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Stuffed shrimp dinner could have used a few more shrimp. On the other hand, the swordfish special was much larger than I had at another restaurant. We enjoyed the meal.
Waitstaff outstanding

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2017

I can't say enough about this family run restaurant! Food is fresh, fresh, fresh. Esthetics of building is beautiful. Service at it's finest!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2017

It’s been a long time since we had a perfect dining experience. The food was excellent and our window seat with a view of falling snow and holiday lights was the best. The atmosphere was warm and cozy and wait staff dedicated to making us happy. Thanks!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 20, 2017

Wonderful restaurant, great service! Nice variety of food on the menu served in an inviting warm ,historical building. We will return. Only downside is parking is always tough to find in Salem.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2017

We celebrated our family Christmas get together. There were 8 people & our 7:15pm reservation was pretty close to on time. There was quite a few mix-ups on our side dishes, but the wait staff quickly made the corrections & offered coffee & dessert on the House. We all enjoyed the oysters-mussels & shrimp appetizers and not a single complaint from anyone on their entree choices. We chose 3 desserts that were all great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 15, 2017

For almost 20 years, we have been loyal and devoted customers. First in Melrose, now in Salem. We have never, ever had a disappointing meal. Always impeccable fish. Family overseen, with the best managers. We give this restaurant family 5+ stars, because we have never, ever been disappointed, and delighted each and every time we have dined with them. The Turner family has been consistent forever. When we want a great fish meal, we always go to Turner's. Always. No question.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Authentic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 14, 2017

Food was very good as well as presentation. Waiter very attentive and polite, but not bothersome. There were 4 in our party, we had reservations through Open Table and we did not have to wait to be seated. It was a cold night and we were given a table in front of their fireplace which was perfect! Nicely furnished, clean, and comfortable with a wonderful bar. All in my party chose different meals and all were very happy with their selection. Cannot say if there is entertainment there may be on weekends; we went on a week night. I will definitely be returning!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

Very welcoming, prefect for family gathering for a birthday

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

Beautiful night with the snowflakes coming down outside I felt like I was in Old Quebec! Always great food and attentive servers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fun, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Healthy, Seasonal, Organic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Dinner and service was very good, however we were seated in a back room that felt disconnected from the rest of the establishment, also the temperature in that room was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Turner’s is a nice spot with a great vibe. It has with two wood burning fireplaces, two bars and a community table. The seating is interesting with hightops and low tops along with booths and bars. I’ve never been much of a seafood person but I’ve gotten into it at Turner’s because it’s fresh and I haven’t had anything that tasted fishy. The guy who tends bar is great, I don’t usually put stock in the “craft cocktails” many places but they have some some cocktails that are unlike anything I’ve had. Ask about the pre-prohibition old fashioned, which isn’t on the menu. It’s great if you like Rye!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 8, 2017

This restaurant was great! Our waiter provided excellent service and was very prompt and attentive. The stuffed shrimp was amazing. The crab dip with pretzels was great and needs to be added to their regular menu! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Great food, great service! Would highly recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Loved it! Especially the stuffed lobster!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

Would not recommend for dinner. Overpriced and not worth it- no one loved their entrees. Ok for cocktails and nice atmosphere. Seated promptly. Made reservations, but were cramped-- 5 people at a very small table. Seated next to a large party and impossible to get out due to that. Would hesitate to return for dinner.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Put a reservation for 6 got there 15 mins early as requested waiting another 30 minutes to be seated .Melrose is organized better then Salem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

I had a very good experience—It was a birthday celebration and we had an excellent waiter whose name was Jason-the food was great and service was super. Rich the manager was also very kind and attentive to us—It is my favorite restaurant in Salem

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Food is always reliably good. Fish and seafood are the specialities. Never had a bad meal. Service is good and staff is friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Great convenient spot. Lots of parking right adjacent to restaurant. Great server Raphael from Quebec! You don't get service like this every day - he is exceptional. Food delicious. Had a lobster pasta dish and my sister had oysters. The salad with maple dressing is great and the key lime pie - wonderful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Excellent seafood. Only complaint is a little noisy for a normal conversation. Next time I will ask to be put not near the bar because people I'm with are hard of hearing so the background noise is difficult for them. Food choices are excellent and prepared perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

Went to Salem for the first time with my husband last week and decided to go to Turner's for a nice sit down seafood dinner. The ambiance was absolutely charming. The restaurant itself is beautiful, but all of the Christmas decor gave it a whimsical touch. We were seated by the fireplace, which was the icing on the cake. Great spot, and not too hot. We each ordered a soup, lobster entree and alcoholic beverage. For the caliber of food, I would say the pricing is accurate. We wanted a memorable dinner and we got one. My only criticism is that our servers were switched out mid meal and neither seemed particularly happy to be our server. That aside, I am in love with Salem and I am in love with Turner's.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 25, 2017

One of the best dining experiences we’ve ever had. From service to atmosphere to food. A must !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Very nice wait/support staff, good service, great wine list - my swordfish which was the special was outstanding. I always try to go to Turner’s when I’m visiting family in the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, People Watching, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 23, 2017

This is the best seafood in Boston period. If you haven't been to Turner's you need to make a reservation today.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Vegan, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 22, 2017

It is even hard to write a review, because after I do so, it comes up that SOMEHOW I have not filled in the required spaces!!! I will try once more, but you are lucky I have lost my patience with this endeavor, and probably won't be so blunt. The red potatoes served with my sole looked like red bowling balls, and we're as hard as rocks! The vegetables were not much better. The sole was presented to look like miniature dish towels. The wine was good, as usual. The service was adequate, although the server did not describe what my meal was going to look like, or how it was going tone set out. Eve the oysters were such as you could barely see two of them. Maybe when they are so small, others should be served to replace them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 22, 2017

We've frequented turners many times and this was the worst experience. Food wasn't good and service was terrible. Not going back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 21, 2017

Visiting family with my husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.