Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Turner's Seafood - Salem

Turner's operates on a requested seating list (NOT a traditional reservation). Your name is on our list for tables estimated to open about the time of your request. Please check in with the host upon arrival and we do our best to seat you within 15 min and your party is complete.

Turner's Seafood at Lyceum Hall Salem is an authentic New England fish house in a beautifully restored historical location with a turn of the century oyster bar, classic full bar, fireplaces and more! From the docks to your plate, experience the most trusted name in New England seafood.

43 Church St
Salem, MA 01970
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
7 days a week

Lunch: Sunday - Saturday 11:00 - 4:00

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 - 9:00
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 10:00

Fresh Fish Market Open Daily 10:00 am to close

Cross Street:
Washington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 745-7665

Website:
http://www.turners-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the public lot is free after 6 pm every day and on Sundays and Holidays

Public Transit:
Salem Depot Commuter Rail Train Station is located one block North of 43 Church Street

Executive Chef:
Yale Woodson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Two beautifully restored private function spaces with fireplaces.

Turner's Seafood - Salem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (51)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Special Occasion (47)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Bar Seating (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Local Ingredients (36)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Good for Groups (30)
Fun (28)
Great for Lunch (26)
Business Meals (25)
Authentic (25)
Cozy (22)
Healthy (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Hot Spot (21)
Romantic (21)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Comfort Food (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Seasonal (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Great Beer (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
People Watching (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1161 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We came to Salem to celebrate are 15 year anniversary with are kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed our meal at Turners ! Food was outstanding and our server Jill was top notch! We went back the following night for round 2! Thanks for a great experience! We will definitely recommend this restaurant to others!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

Very good NewEngland seafood restaurant. They do not, however , have a corkage policy and will not let you bring your own wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Per usual, the food at Turner's was fantastic! Across the four of us we got the bacon wrapped scallops, buffalo chicken dip, fish & chips, crab cakes, and stuffed shrimp. Everything was made to perfection, wonderfully fresh, and way more than we could eat. The waitstaff were attentive and quick. While it's a little on the pricey side, I would not call it over priced at all!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

Turner's is centrally located in historic Salem. On our most recent visit for lunch, the kitchen was slow - our waiter kept us going with bread and beverages, but it took a while to get our meals, both of which were luncheon specials. I usually get the lobster bisque with the extra lobster, a bowl of which is enough for lunch, but this time had the clam chowder which was one of the best I've ever tasted. I dug my first clam when I was five and I'm a septegenerian now, so I know my clam chowder. My wife had salmon sandwich, while I went with ahi tuna on a bun. She likes her's well, and I like my tuna uncooked in the middle. Both done to perfection. Fries are way above average as well. More than enough to eat. For you old dudes who lost your hearing to either the war or to rock 'n roll, they have the old fashion tin ceilings, so be sure to request a table where you won't get bad acoustics.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant never disappoints. It is a bit pricey, but the quality is always excellent and service friendly and attentive.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Always love coming here. The food and service are always very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

Always outstanding! Wish you would open a restaurant on th Vineyard.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Dinner was excellent. Food and service were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Dropped into Turner's a year ago when we were in Salem and had a great third date and meal. So as we were back in Salem we decided to stop in again. A year later and the food was as good /great as it was a year ago. We tried each something different from the menu and each dish was to be enjoyed. The staff was also friendly and helpful. We'll definitely be back when we're in Salem. I may not take us another year to return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Turner's has never let us down. The service could use some work, but overall a great experience.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 15, 2017

This place has always been a favorite, but on this last visit we were very disapointed. We made reservations for 9:30Pm and found out when we arrived that they closed at 10. Another table was just being seated and it was still very crowded, so we did not feel so bad being seated so late. Everything was perfect with the meal as it usual is, until the owner started to yell. Upon arrival we got a cold look from her, though the hostess was very friendly. At about 10:45, the owner proceded to talk sternly with a waitress within earshot of ours and another table. She said something to the effect of "I will just have to clean all this up myself!" She then stormed into the bar area and yelled loud for all to hear that she is usually home by now. Are you kidding me? 1045pm on a Saturday night in October in the city of Salem?? This I would imagine is their busiest time. The waitress that she was talking to sternly earlier realized we heard her yelling and saw the expression on my face. She apologized for her behavior and said that she gets like that when she is stressed. She looked very embarrassed. We have been to Turners several times and it has always been perfect. But in the service industry, this was very poor form.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

great food and service, good beer selection, good spot for oysters, would highly recommend, all dishes were of high quality, buffalo style clam strips were different and enjoyable, multiple people from restaurant checked with us to make sure we had everything we needed and that we were enjoying our dinner, our waiter also did a outstanding job

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

There was 6 of us at the table. Some of the food was over cooked and 3 of the dishes had the wrong sides. The service was excellent and visited the table often. Atmosphere fits the location. I've been to the location a few times and every other time it was a homerun, so I consider this time just an off night, plus the place was super busy. Definitely recommend the place and intend to go back, just hope there isn't any more off nights.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Booked on open table a week before we went into Salem. Good thing, because there was an hour + wait time for dining. Hostess was polite. Bar tenders were attentive and helpful. Service was great. Food was delish and fresh.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2017

For the busiest time of year in Salem they were very accommodating for our party of 10! Staff was exceptional and dinner was excellent!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Have gone several times and the seafood is always fresh tasting and delicious. Also the service is fabulous. Raphael was friendly, fast and helpful.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Words cannot express my appreciation for how well everyone in the restaurant treated us especially our waiter, John. So accommodating, so friendly, wonderful host. Not to mention how wonderful the food was. Delicious. If I am ever back in Salem, I will definitely be back to this restaurant. I would recommend this place to anyone. Truly a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

My husband and I had entrees that were ok - my clam chowder was served warm (not hot) and I couldn't track down my waiter... I've had better crab cakes that were pre-prepared frozen than what my husband had. Entirely overpriced. My in-laws enjoyed their meals, though. I wouldn't go back; there are way too many other amazing restaurants with fresh, tasty foods and similar price points.

Tags: People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Food was great! We felt entree prices were very reasonable. Our waitress was also great, but I forgot her name. All four of us had something different and we all enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Consistently the best restaurant in Salem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2017

My wife and I both had the baked stuffed lobster dinners and they were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Food was good, but Brandon, our waitperson was even better! He was dead-on with his timing, sense of humor, and attention to detail. I saw the specialty drink on the board when I came in (Cider Mimosa) and asked what was in it, Brandon admitted right up front he didn't know but would go ask(he went and asked and got my partner's beer at the same time), came back promptly and told me what was in it, when I said it sounded good, and that I'd have one, he popped back around the corner and grabbed the one he had "ordered" for me haven taken a chance that I'd order one and presented it with flourish! Very thoughtful, but if I hadn't wanted it I would have felt like I had to take it - well done! He made sure that the glass of wine I ordered to go with my dinner also showed up the minute that my dinner came out. Now to the food - the lobster bisque was very good and it's very cool that you can order an additional 1 oz. of lobster for $4 to be added (there were already about 3 pieces in it at a reasonable price of $7/cup so $11 for total would not be out of line and I might do that the next time), our salads were very good - my partner's Caesar was very flavorful, there was too much blue cheese on my pear and blue salad (believe it or not) and it was good. I had the Stuffed Shrimp, which was tasty, could have had a little bit more lobster basil cream sauce (that seemed a little sparse), the butternut squash was just ok and I didn't both with the potatoes as that seemed redundant on top of the stuffing(which there was a lot of). My partner did the "design" your own pasta and made a clam scampi, which was cool in that he could order the exact number of clams he wanted in it. He said it was tasty as well. Dessert was yummy, key lime pie that was yellow (as it should be if it's the real thing!) and had a nice zing to it and I had the Espresso Panne Cotta, which was a good sized portion and very creamy and smooth - delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2017

The food was great, as always. But the service at the bar was not good. Especially at 4PM (early dinner)... it wasn't busy with three bartenders and the service was still bad. Too many other places to try once you've had a bad experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Great food and service. The sole filet with crab cake came out with the tender filet wrapped around a very large,juicy delicious crab cake. Bouillabaisse was excellent and loaded with seafood.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Very good atmosphere! Food was excellent! The waitress was really attentive and kind towards us. We would definitely return and recommend

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Turner's never disappoints in food choices and service. As a person with dietary restrictions, the gluten free selections are excellent. Children's menu is a great value, with good variety. Servers are always pleasant and efficient.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Had a great lunch with friends in the midst of all the Halloween craziness in Salem. The food was delicious and our waitress was the sweetest girl. Thanks a Turner’s!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Although we waited for our table to be serviced, the food made the wait worth it. The Lobster Bisque was the best we ever tasted. Everything we ordered and tried was amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Always a great meal at Turner’s! Never disappointed with food and drink always top notch.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Our favorite seafood restaurant of all time. Perfect for all occasions including light bite or celebration. Rafael was one of the best severs I can remember with exceptional people skills

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Tapas, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Definitely a must go when in Salem. The ambiance alone is worth the trip. Food was great and the staff is super friendly. Menu has something for everyone and the cocktails were really good also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Awesome! Cool historic building with great seafood. The oysters and mussels were fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Always a great meal along with outstanding service. Excellent wine and drinks. Swordfish is a must order as are the bacon wrapped scallops. Great ambiance on both the bar side and the main dining area. The wait staff is very attentive to your needs but not bothersome. A very enjoyable evening dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Our dinner at Turners was such a huge disappointment especially after reading the good reviews. The service was so slow. It took over an hour to get our food. We ordered the raw oysters that were so small and tasteless and the oysters Rockefeller had so much spinach you couldn't even find the oyster. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Went for early birthday dinner with my wife and daughter. Food was very good, lobster bisque was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We were in a hurry since we had tickets for Salem Cinema and were running a bit late. Our waitress was so accommodating and spoke with the kitchen staff to ensure our meal would be served in time. We ordered the clam chowder, since sadly they ran out of the lobster bisque, and it was superb. We also shared a delicious fried fish platter and an amazing salad. This was our third visit and it certainly won't be our last.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Turner's is a great option for those looking for a more nice/casual spot with great food and drinks. I have a food allergy and they are always very accomodating and cautious, which is always appreciated. We surely will be back!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 22, 2017

It was a bit loud but the waitress was excellent and the food was delicious

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

interesting restaurant, great staff and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.