About Turner's Seafood - Salem

43 Church St
Salem, MA 01970
View Larger Map

Turner's Seafood at Lyceum Hall Salem is an authentic New England fish house in a beautifully restored historical location with a turn of the century oyster bar, classic full bar, fireplaces and more! From the docks to your plate, experience the most trusted name in New England seafood.


Turner's operates on a requested seating list, so your name is on our list for tables estimated to open about the time of your request. Please check in with the host upon arrival and we do our best to seat you within 15 min.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
7 days a week

Lunch: Sunday - Saturday 11:00 - 4:00

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 - 9:00
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 10:00

Fresh Fish Market Open Daily 10:00 am to close

Cross Street:
Washington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 745-7665

Website:
http://www.turners-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the public lot is free after 6 pm every day and on Sundays and Holidays

Public Transit:
Salem Depot Commuter Rail Train Station is located one block North of 43 Church Street

Executive Chef:
Yale Woodson

Private Party Facilities:
Decorated in a timeless New England style, our newly renovated second floor fills with natural light from large windows overlooking the beauty and grandeur of historic Salem. The venue features exposed brick, rustic wood floors and vaulted wood-beam ceilings. This historic landmark is a unique, private space – perfect for functions as varied as anniversary celebrations and rehearsal dinners to medical meetings and corporate events; achieve a successful dinner or social function complemented by authentic New England hospitality. Our Loft Room can accommodate up to 40 guests while The Ballroom can seat up to 80 guests for any special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Hirschfeld: 978-745-7665x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Turner's Seafood - Salem
Turner's Seafood - Salem

Turner's Seafood - Salem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Salem, MA ›

neighborhood gem (90)
fit for foodies (87)
special occasion (82)
See All
good for groups (68)
great for lunch (51)
vibrant bar scene (42)
romantic (38)
hot spot (28)
kid-friendly (16)
great for brunch (13)
notable wine list (12)
late-night find (7)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
681 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Raw bar was fantastic. Waitress was per ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Raw bar was fantastic. Waitress was personable and shucked the oysters and clams herself. Very impressive. Good was delicious and we were all very happy.

Oh must get a spicy Mary and the boys. It's a Bloody Mary with 2 nice size shrimp on the rim. Perfect!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and the food is phenom ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and the food is phenomenal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food but crazy loud on a Satur ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food but crazy loud on a Saturday nite at prime-time.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We came to the bar in the afternoon of a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

We came to the bar in the afternoon of a very hot day in Salem. We had reservations for the evening but with the heat decided to come in and cool off with a cocktail Our bartender Glen was very friendly and made a mean fresh watermelon margarita. He suggested a few local sites and we went off to do some touring. We returned at 6:00 for our 6:30 reservation and sat at the bar and ordered a bottle of wine. We barely had a sip and our table was ready. Glenn, knowing it was my birthday called to the hostess and arranged for us to have a very nice and romantic table. Our waitress was Sabrina and she was very nice and friendly from the beginning. We were asked to relocate to the next table to accomodate a larger group and we obliged.

We started with the delicious scallops wrapped in bacon and then tried out the lobster bisque. We opted for additional lobster and though the soup was delicious there was not much lobster in it for the additional $4. charged. Our entrees were linguine in clam sauce and the special halibut with spinach, peaches, and watercress. The halibut was outstanding and very fresh and the clam dish was equally delicious.

One dessert was on the house, not sure if it was because of my birthday or due to our relocation but it was appreciated. The chocolate torte was a little sweet with additional carmel sauce but we ate every bit of it and the strawberry shortcake was full of cream and strawberries.

If we lived in the area Turner's would be a regular stop for us. It was a delicious and fun experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great! The Summer Swordfish was a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Really great! The Summer Swordfish was amazing! We're already planning to go back and I plan to order it again!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Turner's was a perfect choice for a dinn ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Turner's was a perfect choice for a dinner spot to kick-off our girls weekend in Salem. Not only was the food delicious, but the staff was especially wonderful. Very helpful when my friend left her wallet at the table and we were frantically searching for it hours later! Highly recommend!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat at the raw bar- excellent service ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We sat at the raw bar- excellent service and high quality food. It is a bit pricey and the sound level can get high, but one of my favorite local restaurants overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Very disappointing! One dozen oysters, ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Very disappointing! One dozen oysters, three varieties, arrived at our table without explanation and one small lemon slice. In fact, the oysters were totally mixed up though we did manage to secure more lemon. Entrees were average, nothing special. The Bouillabaisse was watery. At $32, it might have contained $5 in ingredients. Service was mediocre; food arrived at the table without the knowledge of who ordered each dish....for three people. Reputation undeserved, there are far superior seafood restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Absolutely fabulous for all occasions. T ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Absolutely fabulous for all occasions. The food was fresh, tasty, and good portion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Turners Salem or Melrose never disappoin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Turners Salem or Melrose never disappoints

The staff is always friendly and the food is fresh

We had the baked stuffed haddock and it was flakey and the stuffing was full of crab

The oysters were sweat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great oysters. Clam pasta was excellent ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great oysters. Clam pasta was excellent. Excellent waitress.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappointed at Turner's. Always ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Never disappointed at Turner's. Always a great meal and friendly, attentive waitstaff!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Very good service and nice atmosphere bu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very good service and nice atmosphere but all the dishes apparently need to have a "fried" component to them, even sushi grade tuna. Not quite what we expected.

Ordered a bottle of nice white wine, it was warm and the wine carafe ended up overflowing on the table as the ice melt.

Doubtful that we'll ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

We loved it! Food was fantastic and amaz ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We loved it! Food was fantastic and amazingly reasonably priced! The swordfish was especially good. One member of our group had the oysters and he said they were the best he's ever had! We've already made reservations to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and great service, thank ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent food and great service, thank you John for looking after us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten here in the past. The meal ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I have eaten here in the past. The meal was always outstanding until this one. I would consider my meal to have been average at best for this type of restaurant. I will go back, because I think this was one of those things that happens occasionally and was the exception rather than the rule.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful seafood restaurant; definitely ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Wonderful seafood restaurant; definitely recommend and on the list for a return.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Marie handeled our table of 8 efficientl ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Marie handeled our table of 8 efficiently and cheerfully. She took a very good photo of the group.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent but service left a bi ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food was excellent but service left a bit to be desired. Training summer staff does not seem to be a priority - pity!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was great. Our server was frien ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was great. Our server was friendly and efficient. Loved it. The best food we had in Salem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was one of the best restaurants tha ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This was one of the best restaurants that we have had the pleasure of dining at. The seafood was excellent. If I ever come back to visit Salem , I will dine here again. My mother was from Belgium and the Belgium mussels were just the way she made them. Thank you Turners for the fine food and gracious service.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a really nice, long lunch with an o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had a really nice, long lunch with an old college friend. The service was excellent and food & drink delicious. Turner's Seafood is a lovely restaraunt and very comfortable spot to catch up with friends old and new.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Oyster bar - had Maine Oysters whi ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great Oyster bar - had Maine Oysters which were delicious. Disappointed in our waiter Jack....he never presented options on daily specials, rarely checked in with us, didn't refill water glasses, main lunch was super delayed... later seated tables were served before us. The manager stepped in and comped us for desert..... had salmon wild rice ... salmon was great.. yet the rice was fully soaked in soy sauces nobody could eat... too salty. Recommend to serve the soy sauce on the side which would have made that a good dish. Will return to the Oyster bar. Unsure about the restaurant. Mixed first lunch experience. The restaurant is historic and beautiful and in a great location.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Halibut was fresh and very tasty. Great ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Halibut was fresh and very tasty. Great wine list. Likes the whipped cauliflower.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

+Great restaurant not far from home Nic ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

+Great restaurant not far from home

Nice vibe and good food

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love this location---fantastic qualit ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We love this location---fantastic quality, wonderful selections, great ambiance, and extremely knowledgeable and professional staff. We've been many times and plan on going back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice and neat place, great ambiance and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Nice and neat place, great ambiance and good food. Everything was well appreated and tasty. A place to be on Salem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

All food items were wonderful, especiall ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

All food items were wonderful, especially the baked stuffed shrimp (fabulous, veggie-based stuffing). The lobster bisque is divine - almost like a creamy lobster foam that evaporates to an exceptional tasting sensation in your mouth. Clam chowder is also very good, just not quite on as high a pedestal as the lobster bisque. Run, don't walk, to Turner's for great seafood. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, comfortable atmosphere. Four ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Good food, comfortable atmosphere. Four different persons interrupted our dinner to ask about the meal - a bit much. Also, waiter was nice and attentive, but poorly trained (not his fault). Still, would recommend this restaurant and would return myself.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Met my girlfriend for dinner. We sat at ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Met my girlfriend for dinner. We sat at the bar. Service was great. I ordered Haddock, and it was incredibly fresh. Loved it. First time to Turners and I would definitely go back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Server recommended the ahi nachos. Good ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Server recommended the ahi nachos. Good choice. Great clam chowder and lobster bisque. Try the crunchy salad or the Caesar. Both were good. Great service. Great restaurant in a tourist town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service wasn't as good as a previous ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service wasn't as good as a previous experience. Akso, part of the dinner was lukewarm. As though it was reheated! The quality of food wasn't as good as a prior experience!

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Our food was perfect, we had a salad, ea ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our food was perfect, we had a salad, each, a fresh tuna meal and split a creme brûlée. The tuna was perfectly cooked, rare!

The service was rushed , as I had not finished my salad before the meal came. Please note that I do not eat slow and this has never happened before.

The notice level was very loud as all surfaces are hard.

BUt , in the end the food was great.

Wine lists was good or average with a nice mix.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

food was nothing special. service was te ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

food was nothing special. service was terrible. waitress did not know beer specials and had to run back to the bar everything a question was asked. menus keft on the table when the appetizers and salads were served. dirty plates left on the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Excellent soft-shelled crabs cooked as r ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent soft-shelled crabs cooked as requested. Consistent quality at a reasonable price. No better place for seafood in Salem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Carolina our waitress was wonderul! She ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Carolina our waitress was wonderul! She was friendly, attentive and timely!! She catered to all our needs and was very personal and polite!! The food was very good as well. We were very pleased with our experience. We would definitely go back and recommend Turner's to our friends !!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Best Lobster Bisque I've ever had. I ca ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Best Lobster Bisque I've ever had. I can't praise this place enough. Seafood is fresh and cooked perfectly. I would highly recommend Turners to anyone in the Salem area

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a dozen oysters which were fresh ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had a dozen oysters which were fresh and delicious. I had the halibut which was outstanding, with crabmeat topping, side of steamed vegetables. My daughter had the steamed lobster which was 1 1/2 pounds and steamed perfectly. Service was excellent. Timing of bringing out oysters, then dinner, was perfect, not rushed nor too slow. This was our third time dining at Turner's Seafood and we have always had a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food! Highly recommend the st ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Fantastic food! Highly recommend the stuffed lobster. It was fabulous! The waitstaff was very attentive and really went the extra mile to make our dining experience enjoyable. A little pricey, but you definitely get your money's worth and then some. Next time we visit Salem, we will be sure to dine at Turner's again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great seafood on the North Shore. Very l ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great seafood on the North Shore. Very large variety of choices. Will go back to try more of their menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.