Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Turner's Seafood - Salem

Turner's operates on a requested seating list (NOT a traditional reservation). Your name is on our list for tables estimated to open about the time of your request. Please check in with the host upon arrival and we do our best to seat you within 15 min and your party is complete.

Turner's Seafood at Lyceum Hall Salem is an authentic New England fish house in a beautifully restored historical location with a turn of the century oyster bar, classic full bar, fireplaces and more! From the docks to your plate, experience the most trusted name in New England seafood.

43 Church St
Salem, MA 01970
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
7 days a week

Lunch: Sunday - Saturday 11:00 - 4:00

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 - 9:00
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 10:00

Fresh Fish Market Open Daily 10:00 am to close

Cross Street:
Washington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 745-7665

Website:
http://www.turners-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the public lot is free after 6 pm every day and on Sundays and Holidays

Public Transit:
Salem Depot Commuter Rail Train Station is located one block North of 43 Church Street

Executive Chef:
Yale Woodson

Private Party Facilities:
Decorated in a timeless New England style, our newly renovated second floor fills with natural light from large windows overlooking the beauty and grandeur of historic Salem. The venue features exposed brick, rustic wood floors and vaulted wood-beam ceilings. This historic landmark is a unique, private space – perfect for functions as varied as anniversary celebrations and rehearsal dinners to medical meetings and corporate events; achieve a successful dinner or social function complemented by authentic New England hospitality. Our Loft Room can accommodate up to 40 guests while The Ballroom can seat up to 80 guests for any special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Hirschfeld: (978) 745-7665

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Two beautifully restored private function spaces with fireplaces.

Turner's Seafood - Salem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (51)
Special Occasion (47)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
See All
Fit for Foodies (45)
Good for a Date (45)
Bar Seating (43)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Local Ingredients (35)
Worth the Drive (32)
Authentic (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Business Meals (26)
Fun (24)
Good for Groups (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Cozy (21)
Hot Spot (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Romantic (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Seasonal (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great Beer (9)
People Watching (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Historic (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Fireplace (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1089 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

The waiter wasn't horrible but not very personable. He was slow to welcome us. The water was warm. The chowder was thicker than usual and bland. This was our second time there, the first time the service was slow as well and we were charged for a drink we didn't have. We go to Turners in Melrose a lot and although its a tad further and the ambiance not as nice, the service and food are top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Our waitress was terrible. Did not offer us water or bread. The bar staff noticed we didn't have water and had to bring some over. Could not hear our waitress very well when she was speaking. Watched my drink from the bar sit at the bar awaiting to be delivered to my table for just under 10 minutes. Again, bar staff ended up bringing it over to the table because the waitress wasn't timely. Love the food though.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great. Service was outstanding. Jack and Dee Dee are the best..

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Bar Seating, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Lobster bisque is sensational. Clam chowder is above par.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

great, traditional NE seafood. I had delicious stuffed sole, my wife had a phenomenal smoked haddie casserole. very attentive servers, affordable wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Tuner's Seafood-Salem never disappoints & this occasion was as enjoyable as always. Freshest seafood with relaxing atmosphere. The tuna nachos, halibut special, lobster bisque, & fish and chips were outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Mussels were a little sandy but otherwise good. Our waiter Jack was nice but very slow.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner! The ambience is very important to us and Turners did not disappoint. The food was very good and plentiful. It was an overall great experience

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great food good staff love the restaurant Best oysters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food was delicious- the restaurant had been pointed out to us on a walking tour as a historic location, which had previously been the site of one of the first women accused of witchcraft and hanged in Salem.
The service was prompt and friendly. Drinks were good. Loved it, would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great seafood restaurant in Salem. Good for a quick bite or a longer meal. Ingredients were fresh and tasty.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Terrific lunch! Alex, our server, was especially nice and very attentive

Tags: Organic, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

What a great place! It's no wonder I read so many positive reviews before choosing to have dinner here. Our server Caroline was attentive and friendly - we never felt rushed and she was absolutely professional. Oysters were fresh and delicious. Grilled summer salmon very well done and spectacular lobster bisque did not disappoint. (Was looking forward to that since I planned my trip to Salem!) all in all, a great place I will be sure to visit again next time I head to Salem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Our waiter, Rafael, made the evening. Just very personable, attentive and hardly seen yet he noticed every detail and responsive without having to ask/request. Welcome back and be sure to request him to attend our table.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Amazing fresh seafood. Dishes are outstanding and full of flavor. Perfect place for date night or special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I usually order the tuna burger but this time I had a vegetarian entree that may have been suitable for a vegan diet. I am not sure if butter was used in the preparation. It was a new addition to the menu that even the waiter didn't know about. I recommend it.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We were trying to find a restaurant near the Cabot Theater in Beverly and Turner's in Salem popped up. We really didn't want seafood as we had already had seafood several times in the week. I pleasantly found that Turner's ,although specializing in seafood had a fabulously varied menu.

One item listed was tenderloin. No knowing if it was beef or pork. My husband wanted beef. I sent an email to the restaurant and got a prompt response that yes, it was beef. We made an online reservation and found the location to be perfect. The noise level was pretty high which made for having a conversation rather challenging. However, our waitress was right on her game. I ordered a salad and she asked if I wanted it first. I did. However, the salad came with blueberries and it had about 6 of them! Really. The waitress waited until I finished the salad until she brought the meals. Very good service!

My husband Loved his tenderloin. He was impressed that it was cooked so well in a seafood restaurant. He was however not impressed with his rum and coke. He asked for Myersand it was not available and the substitute had very little flavor. I tasted a sip and it was not good.

I had chicken piccata. He was an ample serving and the waitress very willingly substituted potato for the pasta. The flavor lacked the zip that you usually experience with piccata. That was disappointing. The capons and lemon were lacking. I would not recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our reservation was honored immediately and we were offered a choice of seating options my guest has some foo d allergies and they were handled in a competent and courteous manner
Our waitress,Carolina, wS a delight- competent and thoughtful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Nice atmosphere, bustling. Fish soup is hearty, shrimp cocktail somewhat flavorless, swordfish main good but disappointing sides. Waiter was clearly unenthusiastic to be serving us (and other tables from what I could see) so that made the evening a bit unpleasant. Shows the importance of waitstaff, negative vibes probably affect our perception of the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Turner's staff was amazing! From the moment we walked in we felt welcome. The bartender recommended a few specialty drinks which were delicious. Our table ordered the lobster and steak and lobster mac and cheese. Both were prepared perfectly. We liked Turner's so much we ended up there for lunch the next day. The lobster bisque was one of the best I've ever tasted!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I have been to Turners several times and have never been disappointed - although it was Friday evening and very busy we were seated quickly and the staff was a blast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Fantastic meal! The seafood was fresh but uniquely prepared. Will come again for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Service and food were great ..... noise level was high

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Fantastic restaurant!!! This definitely beat all expectations!!! Great Food!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 21, 2017

This was not our first visit to Turner's and we like all of them. But the Salem location has a parking lot across the street, we get seated more quickly and the food is superb. One of the interesting things that we noted is the wait staff seems to be a little older than typical restaurants. Our waiters have both been well informed about the food and able to give us very detailed explanations and recommendations on some of their dishes and meals that are different. The management team is also very attentive to the diners there, checking our table twice while we were there to make sure everything was to our liking. We had a great meal in a great atmosphere. Our compliments to the staff for a well run store.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Same experience and quality as the Melrose location. Good food and friendly and polite staff. We will be going back again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The restaurant was great, and the food and wine selection was amazing. However, there's a small section in the back corner with low ceilings that has a tendency to get noisy. Especially if there's a large party. Regardless, overall great place to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our reservation for 4 at 7:15 was adversely impacted by how busy they were in almost every way; 40-minutes late getting seated, overwhelming noise factor, and a frazzled, marginally capable waiter. The food was fine. I will go back, but will pick my spots to avoid the crush. This is not the first time we've experienced this during peak dining times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was our first time at this restaurant and we were very pleased. Good food, reasonable prices for seafood, good bread. We were happy with Turner Seafood.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We've been going to Turner's for many years. Tonight we drove out of our way (an hour) to eat at Turner's in Salem. We had a reservation and were disappointed with our experience.

We arrived at 7pm for a 7:30 reservation. We were sent to the bar and were eventually sat after our 7:30 reservation. We were put at the back of the restaurant with a server who was slow and unattentive. It took a long time to receive our app's and children's meals. Our server never brought us water or rolls and we had to ask to order our meals. Overall not our typical experience at Turner's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food was terrific. The service was excellent. We also very much enjoyed the ambience.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great meal and service. Had two of the best guys waiting on us. Very knowledgeable about the menus and entertaining. We will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I booked the table for ten of my fellow writers' group members. We all raved about our dishes, the service was attentive but not intrusive. It was our semi-annual lunch out, and we enjoyed it all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We had an excellent meal at Turner's Seafood. Every dish was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We both had the scallops which were excellent- sweet and tender. A large portion, too. The server was very friendly and professional. The manager also checked with us to make sure our meals were good. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Much better choices in Salem
Would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Wonderful food, very friendly staff, and quick service. Would come here again in an instant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Turner's turned out to be a great choice for a crew dinner before a yacht race from Marblehead to Halifax. A meal the night preceding an offshore race must not be too heavy or rich, but hearty enough to send the sailors on their way. The seafood was well prepared and pleasing to all 7 members of the crew. We were seated in a quieter rear area behind the wine cellar, perfect for group conversations, where other areas of the restaurant would have been over the top noisewise. Thanks for a great meal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.