About Turner's Seafood - Salem

43 Church St
Salem, MA 01970
View Larger Map

Turner's Seafood at Lyceum Hall Salem is an authentic New England fish house in a beautifully restored historical location with a turn of the century oyster bar, classic full bar, fireplaces and more! From the docks to your plate, experience the most trusted name in New England seafood.


Turner's operates on a requested seating list, so your name is on our list for tables estimated to open about the time of your request. Please check in with the host upon arrival and we do our best to seat you within 15 min.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
7 days a week

Lunch: Sunday - Saturday 11:00 - 4:00

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 - 9:00
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 10:00

Fresh Fish Market Open Daily 10:00 am to close

Cross Street:
Washington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 745-7665

Website:
http://www.turners-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the public lot is free after 6 pm every day and on Sundays and Holidays

Public Transit:
Salem Depot Commuter Rail Train Station is located one block North of 43 Church Street

Executive Chef:
Yale Woodson

Private Party Facilities:
Decorated in a timeless New England style, our Private Event Hall fills with natural light from large windows overlooking the beauty and grandeur of historic Salem. The venue features exposed brick, rustic wood floors and vaulted wood-beam ceilings. This historic landmark is a unique, private space – perfect for functions as varied as anniversary celebrations and rehearsal dinners to medical meetings and corporate events; achieve a successful dinner or social function complemented by authentic New England hospitality. Our Loft Room can accommodate up to 40 guests while The Ballroom can seat up to 80 guests for any special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Hirschfeld: 978-745-7665x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Turner's Seafood - Salem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston / New England
Seafood
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Salem, MA ›

neighborhood gem (72)
fit for foodies (71)
special occasion (67)
See All
good for groups (56)
romantic (43)
vibrant bar scene (41)
great for lunch (39)
hot spot (32)
notable wine list (15)
great for brunch (11)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
615 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service.

Dined a day ago

Excellent food and service.

food4
ambience4
service4

The crab cake sandwich was absolutely am ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

The crab cake sandwich was absolutely amazing!!!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good food but very noisy. Couldn't have ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Good food but very noisy. Couldn't have a quiet conversation.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Very disappointed this time. We have be ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Very disappointed this time. We have been on two previous occasions which were very good all around. This night they moved us from table to table before settling on one. It was in the bar area and extremely noisy. The food was not well prepared and even a dish we had had previously was not at all as good this time. Our wait person was inattentive and not at all available. Also very abrupt when serving and taking orders. There were 6 of us and all very unhappy this evening.

food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Been here many times. We not come again ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Been here many times. We not come again on a Saturday night. Too noisy. Service not good. Food good. Week day lunch or early dinner is very nice. A bit disappointed.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Beware Saturday dinner

Dined on May 21, 2016

After having a nice lunch here last year, we decided to bring friends for dinner on Saturday evening. We arrived on-time for our reservation at 5:45 which we thought would be early enough to get ahead of the crowds. Wrong! The hostess was brusque, said there was no table available, gave me a bar ticket, and suggested we have a drink while we wait for an unspecified delay. I thought perhaps she was comping us for the lack of a table. Wrong! Half an hour later we were seated. The waiter seemed harried and suggested we immediately listen to his recitation of the specials now while he had a moment as otherwise he might not have the time later. Subsequently, a different waiter arrived with a second round of drinks without our ever having ordered same. After we did finally order, our waiter reappeared at our table telling us that he much preferred his restaurant job in Boston's North End over this place and then announcing that he was now burdened with a party of 15 and therefore could not pay any attention to us. Later, various helpers appeared at the table with dishes in hand asking who was having what (that always annoys me). No one ever returned to ask if we wanted anything else to drink. Naive me, I thought perhaps someone would apologize for the woeful service we received from when we opened the door to when I paid the check. Wrong! The seafood we ordered was good. The service was near the worst we have experienced. We will never return!

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4

Good first experience. Nice space to din ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Good first experience. Nice space to dine in. Great lobster bisque and crab cakes.

food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Made a reservation a week in advance for ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Made a reservation a week in advance for a special occasion. While we were late for our reservation (event ran late), we called 30 minutes before to notify Turners. We were seated quickly but after at least 15 minutes, I had to ask someone flying by if we even had a server to which we were told they forgot to assign the table to someone. The hostess or manager (?) took our drink order but we had to wait another 20 minutes and again get someone's attention to put in appetizers. Still no actual server has greeted us. Waited another 25 minutes (with no sign of the apps) and had to again ask to put in our food order. It seemed as though the appetizer server reluctantly took our table. There were not enough small plates on the table and the food runner took half of our silverware away. The meal is brought out by 3 different people with yet another person retrieving condiments for us. Had to ask for additional silverware. By the end of the meal, while the food was delicious and fresh, I had such a sour taste in my mouth for what was supposed to be a joyous graduation lunch with my family.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

GRADUATION PARTY

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

To start my family shared the mussels cooked provencal style, Turner's clam chowder, and scallops wrapped in bacon. For lunch, between all of us, we ordered the shrimp and grits, fish and chips, shrimp fra diavolo, linguine with white claim sauce, shrimp scampi, and steak sandwich. Everything was delicious and came out at the same time except for the shrimp scampi. That dish came out about 10 mins after everyone else. Although you can tell that they were on top of the delay. Very happy with the food and experience. Will definitely go back next time we're in the area.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

very accommodating

Dined on May 19, 2016

We missed our reservation for 9, they called to arrange a table for later that was ready when we arrived. Service was perfect, server was funny, food was wonderful.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are spending our second honeymoon her ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We are spending our second honeymoon here in town. We saw this restaurant and decided to give it a try. The moment we walked in we were seated. Later that evening, there was a bit of a wait. The waiter asked if there were any allergies and when I said yes, he sent the manager right away to come and talk with me. I told her I would like the Baked Seafood platter as my first choice had peppers in it. My entree was delicious. The bread was tasty. Our drinks were prepared and brought promptly. Our waiter checked on us a few times but since he asked about a special occasion and we told him it was our second honeymoon, he kept an eye on us from a distance so we could have time to talk. We could not eat dessert because most of them were on my restricted list. Our waiter suggested a nearby bakery but he did not know if it was open. It was a kind thought but it was not open. I bet the desserts would have been delicious though. I wanted the raspberry cheesecake, but it had a chocolate crust--and no chocolate for me! It was a great evening--romance and all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Outstanding menu choices and food was e ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Outstanding menu choices and food was exceptional! Out waiter was wonderful the entire meal! Service was top notch! Fabulous experience!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday Night at Turner's

Dined on May 14, 2016

Had a reservation for 6:00 PM and was seated by 6:15 PM. Very attentive wait staff. Ordered special Halibut dish that was excellent. My wife enjoyed her baked stuffed shrimp dinner. Excellent martinis and dessert. A truly enjoyable evening in historic Salem. Have already recommended Turner's to friends and relatives for exceptional seafood dining.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Turner's Seafood disappointing

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

When I looked online, most of the reviews were very good for Turner's Seafood. We were meeting friends in Salem and having dinner after going to the museum. We were all exited about the seafood. I'd say that 90% of our food wasn't good, bland and boring. We were all disappointed and one sent her food back. I don't know if this was an off-night but I wouldn't try it again.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The service was terrible. Good took fore ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The service was terrible. Good took forever to come as tables who came after got served.mbefote we did. They brought the wrong dishes twice with no apology. Food was ok, portions were large, but frankly food is better at Legals.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Seafood in Salem

Dined on May 14, 2016

In an area teeming with delicious seafood options, Turner's stands head and shoulders above the rest. Great drink selection and a diverse menu while keeping seafood classics (raw bar, fried seafood, & lobster rolls) in the mix. Will come back regularly as long as they are open.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very busy but timely service. Do make reservations

Dined on May 14, 2016

We arrived ahead of our reservation so we're offered a seat at the bar where we ordered our appys. Clams Casino - excellent! Both our meals were very good, but the Lobster Pie stole our hearts <3 Over the moon delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Very, very underwhelmed. Slow service, ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Very, very underwhelmed. Slow service, weak drinks, average food. Very disappointed in the evening as we were looking forward. Loved the Lyceum that used to be there- will not return.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great fish, not such great service

Dined on May 12, 2016

Visiting Salem, Turners was suggested as a great fish and seafood restaurant. The fish couldn't have tasted fresher or more delicious. The side sauces and vegetables were amazing. Too bad our waiter, Rob, was such a crotchety guy. He reduced what would have been an all 5 star dinner and experience to what I wrote. I would certainly go back and highly suggest it (if you are able to request another server).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We visited Turner's on vacation and ever ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We visited Turner's on vacation and everything we ordered was AMAZING!!! I HIGHLY recommend eating here if visiting Salem! Some of the BEST food I've ever had in my life!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Definitely a restaurant to try

Dined on May 11, 2016

My husband loves Finn and Haddie and he was so disappointed it wasn't on the lunch menu and I mentioned it to our waitress and she said she would be happy to check in the kitchen to see if they could make it. She came back and said "no problem". She was not only helpful but she was so sweet and had a great personality. I had the baked salmon and it was delicious, cooked to perfection. My husband loved the Finn and Haddie and also thought the waitress was great. We will definitely be back with friends and family. Judy

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Best seafood we have had in awhile. Exce ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Best seafood we have had in awhile. Excellent and attentive service from all staff. Great way to spend Mothers Day!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

We brought my mom here for the special day. We had reservations which I would recommend especially for dinner. It was crowded but organized. The food was great. Local seafood and new England favorites. The chowda is delicious as well as the cod cakes. The baked scrod was the best we've had in a very long time. My dad had the baked shrimp and he scraped his plate. All in all very enjoyable experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my mother and girlfriend here on Mother's Day. Everyone has positive reviews about Turner's, so I'm guessing it was just a bad day. Ordered a cup of clam chowder and barely anything was in it. It tasted good, but just had bits of clams and potatoes. Followed that with a clam plate. It was like eating batter, just skinny little clams. Didn't have one belly on the entire plate. My mother's cheaper clam roll had at least 5 full belly clams but my entire clam plate didn't even have one. To be fair, I'm not one to complain, so I didn't say anything. I'm sure they would have taken care of it, but overall it was a disappointing experience.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Consistently Great!!

Dined on May 6, 2016

I received a gift card almost 2 years ago and have been back to Turners in Salem probably 15+ times. It's a favorite spot for me and my husband and we have brought many friends and family too.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrating a friend's birthday.

Dined on April 30, 2016

The restaurant was louder than I expected, but the food was good. Service was great.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Girls night out

Dined on April 25, 2016

We were a group of 6 and we all enjoyed our night. Our server was so nice and everyone enjoyed their meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Reliably good seafood

Dined on April 23, 2016

I've been to Turners with work mates and with family. Each time the seafood was very good. The portions are good. The beer and wine selections were quite good. The service is quite good. I order the smoked haddock, a traditional dish that is hard to find these days. It was very good, as as the seafood medley I got last time. All in all I think everyone I have gone with has been very happy with their dinners. The only minor drawback is the waits for table tend to be longish. I suppose they are victims of their success.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great menu--lots of variety, both standa ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Great menu--lots of variety, both standard DNC mire unusual items. Our portions were generous , the quality outstanding. We ordered Portuguese soup, Cesar salad, stuffed shrimp and bouillabaisse, all great. Wine list is adequate, reasonably priced. Can't wait to return.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and seafood

Dined on April 22, 2016

Our server (Dan) was helpful and fast. The dining room was cozy and pretty quiet for a Friday night. Our apps, steak, and seafood main course dishes were delicious. The only disappointment was a watery and bland apple crisp - hoping this was just an off-dessert and an aberration (the chocolate lava cake was awesome).

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, Great fun!

Dined on April 21, 2016

We went for a birthday dinner with 6 friends. We all ordered different dishes, and all were excellent! Our server, Daniel, was friendly, attentive and made some great suggestions. We would definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So very good

Dined on April 16, 2016

Really liked Turner's and would go back in a flash if we were in the area again. LOVED the lobster bisque and the clam chowder was good too. My linguine and white calm sauce entree was awesome. My husband had pasta with a spicy sauce that he liked too and said was quite spicy. We also enjoyed a calamari appetizer the waiter recommended. Really liked our waiter and felt that price was very reasonable for what we got.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Turner's is a wonderful restaurant! Try it!!

Dined on April 16, 2016

I would highly recommend this restaurant. The food is terrific. The atmosphere is very inviting. The staff does its best to make it a wonderful experience. I would make a reservation as this place can get very busy very quickly. Hope you have a chance to go there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, OK food

Dined on April 15, 2016

Atmosphere was great. The staff was very well trained and accommodating. The food was just OK. For example, I had the bouillabaisse. There was not much in the way of flavor in the broth, and the fish, scallop, clams, etc. were quite overcooked. The oysters Rockefeller were quite tasty, however.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our Favorite for Seafood

Dined on April 15, 2016

In a city with many outstanding seafood restaurants, Turner Seafood is our favorite, especially for lobster pie! Our family recently went on a Friday night to celebrate a birthday and enjoyed perfectly cooked scallops, swordfish and the best lobster pie on the North Shore. Our server was very attentive and helpful and quickly brought an item we requested. Our son enjoyed watching the bartender shaking his cocktails and we enjoyed drinking them!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent seafood

Dined on April 6, 2016

I had raw oysters and clams as appetizers for lunch, and more oysters for dinner. I enjoyed scrumptuous bouillabaisse for dinner. The oysters were fresh and flavorful. The lunch presentation of oysters on the half shell was superior to the dinner- better shucking at lunch, no cuts or broken shell, and the adductor muscle was cleanly cut. Not so on the evening meal, which was a bit disappointing. I am an oyster guy, so finicky about the quality of product and presentation. I would definitely go back and loved the overall quality of food, atmosphere and friendly waitstaff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Tuna Burger with crunch salad(up charge) ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Tuna Burger with crunch salad(up charge). My daughter loves the pemaquid oysters at the raw bar.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere. Quality and selection ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great atmosphere. Quality and selection of seafood was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent!

Dined on March 29, 2016

We booked reservations for our anniversary and everything was perfect from the time we walked in to when we left. It was a wonderful anniversary experience. Thank you Turners

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great lively atmosphere, server was grea ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Great lively atmosphere, server was great, but it seemed he was waitng too many tables--he did a great job, and fod was very good.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.