Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Turner's Seafood - Salem

Turner's operates on a requested seating list (NOT a traditional reservation). Your name is on our list for tables estimated to open about the time of your request. Please check in with the host upon arrival and we do our best to seat you within 15 min and your party is complete.

Turner's Seafood at Lyceum Hall Salem is an authentic New England fish house in a beautifully restored historical location with a turn of the century oyster bar, classic full bar, fireplaces and more! From the docks to your plate, experience the most trusted name in New England seafood.

43 Church St
Salem, MA 01970
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
7 days a week

Lunch: Sunday - Saturday 11:00 - 4:00

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 - 9:00
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 10:00

Fresh Fish Market Open Daily 10:00 am to close

Cross Street:
Washington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 745-7665

Website:
http://www.turners-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the public lot is free after 6 pm every day and on Sundays and Holidays

Public Transit:
Salem Depot Commuter Rail Train Station is located one block North of 43 Church Street

Executive Chef:
Yale Woodson

Private Party Facilities:
Decorated in a timeless New England style, our newly renovated second floor fills with natural light from large windows overlooking the beauty and grandeur of historic Salem. The venue features exposed brick, rustic wood floors and vaulted wood-beam ceilings. This historic landmark is a unique, private space – perfect for functions as varied as anniversary celebrations and rehearsal dinners to medical meetings and corporate events; achieve a successful dinner or social function complemented by authentic New England hospitality. Our Loft Room can accommodate up to 40 guests while The Ballroom can seat up to 80 guests for any special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Hirschfeld: (978) 745-7665

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Two beautifully restored private function spaces with fireplaces.

Turner's Seafood - Salem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (39)
Casual (36)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Bar Seating (35)
Special Occasion (34)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Historic (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Fireplace (21)
Romantic (20)
Authentic (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Fun (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Cozy (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Business Meals (13)
Healthy (13)
People Watching (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Great Beer (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Seasonal (6)
Scenic View (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Private Room (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (0)
Sort By:
S
1004 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

We had the clam chowder, clams casino, scallops wrapped in bacon, all delicious. For dinner I had king crab legs (was a special), my husband had grilled scallops, my kids had the haddock piccata and the fra diavolo. Everything was delicious and fresh tasting. Not the first time there and won't be the last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Great location and same excellent food we are used to from Turner's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

What and amazing find! This was hands down the best place we ate in Salem , and we ate everywhere. The bar menu was amazing, their Lobster Bisque was to die for. They have the best Tuna sashimi I have ever had. The raw bar, amazing. I could go on and on but really, you just have to go for yourself. Amazing staff as well, friendly and fun!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed our experience. Great food and great service. We were late due to graduation ceremonies taking longer than we thought and the staff was very understanding. Thanks!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

I had a delicious lobster roll at Turner's Seafood and it is definitely a great place in Salem to bring friends and family visiting from out-of-town. Our server took great care of the group and we had a fun time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

The wait was short. Food was great. The waitress was awesome. We will be back!!!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The lobster was amazing! Also had great cocktail list!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

I absolutely love this place! Best lobster bisque, stuffed clams, and tuna sushimi around!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Best restaurant in the area. The food is always excellent. The staff is friendly and professional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fun, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

It was poring out and when I walked in and shook of the tai. A RUDE waiter yelled at me so rudely another waitress approached me who saw the whole thing and apologized for his behavior I even apologized to the waiters table because he made me and my son feel like complete idiots and rudeness. Again - Mother's Day and i just walked in from the pouring rains

I have to say I was ready to walk out because of his rudeness . But I stayed because of that waitress and I wish I got her name . I was the. taken care of by Rick and I think the same waitress who apologized and it was a much better ending then a start.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My daughter and I came for dinner on Mother's Day. The restaurant was pretty full and noisy. Where we were seated initially, there was a large VERY noisy party right next to us. We asked to change to a quieter table and the wait staff was very accommodating and sympathetic and moved us quickly into the other room. Our wait people in both areas were nice and helpful with food recommendations. The menu selection was appealing and it was hard to decide between dishes. We enjoyed the food. We will definitely return after an afternoon visit to the Peabody-Essex Museum nearby.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was excellent, service was prompt and kind, drinks were delicious. Haven't found a thing we didn't like about the experience. Great chicken and surprisingly good burgers for a seafood restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was Mothers Day and very busy. Food was very good and our server was excellent. We had A toddler with us and they brought out food to keep her happy.Great customer service!!

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome experience on Mother's Day! King Crab Legs were a nice surprise for my wife. Service top notch as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to Turners for my husband's 40th birthday party . Excellent food and service. Everyone in my group was satisfied with their food and cocktails.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent and fresh seafood. Had cherrystones on half shell were excellent. Lobster bisque with extra lobster was nice and creamy. Had them mix half fried clams and half fried oysters for entree that was very lightly battered and fresh. Plan to go again to pick other options.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our server DeeDee was fantastic, drinks were decent and food was fresh though a bit average. I had the salmon "carbonara" and the fish was slightly over cooked. We were seated in a back corner of the restaurant near an exit, so there wasn't much for ambiance. I'd give it another try, with better seats, and DeeDee, to see if maybe the kitchen was having a bit of an off night.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was inconsistent. 4 of us seated at a large round table for 6 but it was pushed up against a column so 2 seats were unusable and one person was crammed next to column. Meanwhile there were empty tables for 4 in the front room. Fish was well prepared but side Brussels sprouts with "bits of bacon" had broken slices tossed with sprouts that had been sitting on a steam table. Very tired and careless dish as well as too sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our family of 5 visited on Saturday night. We made a reservation and were seated in 10 minutes. Our server was very attentive and helpful with drink and food suggestions. The highlights were the Tequila Mockingbird, Calamari appetizer and Swordfish entree. Dinner was enjoyed by all.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Over priced . Small portion , service slow at times

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our server was attentive and helpful in recommending certain dishes. He also gave us plenty of time to order (we were a party of five). The manager also came over to make sure we were taken care of. Stellar service and all the food was astoundingly good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great experience- food was excellent and so was the service. We definitely will return

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Turner's is a busy restaurant so it does get loud however the ambience is friendly and charming. I started my meal with oysters on the half shell and they were delicious. Someone else in my party had lobster bisque which was very good. Swordfish was the special for the evening and I will say the portion was very generous but the fish seemed as it had been frozen so I was disappointed. I'm kind of a snob when it comes to fresh fish versus fish that had been frozen. I think they do a good job on making you feel welcome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Everything was wonderful! Service was warm and attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Consistently good seafood. Caters to locals, who know their seafood. Not a kitschy tourist trap in a city filled with tourists.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Salem Gem
Good food, good service and definitely a busy atmosphere.
I hadn't been to Turner's for a few years, as it was probably The Lyceum at the time. Our seafood was very good, and also the bottle of wine was delicious. On the hunt for that wine!

Tags: Bar Seating, Historic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was delicious. The service was great. Seating space was very cramped. Tables close to one another. Wait staff and customers kept bumping my chair to get around me.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We sat right down when we arrived. The server, MacKenzie was fabulous and attentive. The food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The place was packed and glad we had a reservation. Food was good but nothing to write home about. Crab cakes were bready and the salmon was average. Good service and good drinks. (Bartenders were great.) When compared to some high end restaurants in Boston, a 3+. I would go back if I was in the Salem area but I would not go out of my way.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food and service were excellent. The noise level was off the charts. So loud we could not have a conversation or hear each other at all without yelling. When seating reservations they shoukd ask if you would not mind the bar side becausr that is where we sat and left with our ears ringing like we come out of acrock concert.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We took our son their for his 21st birthday. Everyone got a different meal and they were all delicious ! Turners is also very good at accommodating food allergies. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

It was just ok. Nice atmosphere Food just ok.

Tags: Historic, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Amazing food, service and atmosphere. We love this place! We were traveling for work and used Yelp for great restaurants. We were thirilled! Will be back!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It's fantastic!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was great but our service was extremely poor. Our server had no personality, never read us the specials and just overall not very good. It happens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This is the best place I have been to for a while.....food is great.....service is great.....A tad on the pricey side but well worth the extra couple bucks.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Fabulous food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Brought my son for his birthday at his recommendation. Food was good, if not a little overpriced. I don't know if I would return, because there really wasn't anything exceptional that would inspire me to return. There was nothing above and beyond, and what we got we paid a good price for.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Our server John was the best!!! The food was amazing!! The portions are huge. Definitely had a great birthday dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Awesome mussels!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.