About Turner's Seafood - Salem

43 Church St
Salem, MA 01970
View Larger Map

Turner's Seafood at Lyceum Hall Salem is an authentic New England fish house in a beautifully restored historical location with a turn of the century oyster bar, classic full bar, fireplaces and more! From the docks to your plate, experience the most trusted name in New England seafood.


Turner's operates on a requested seating list, so your name is on our list for tables estimated to open about the time of your request. Please check in with the host upon arrival and we do our best to seat you within 15 min.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
7 days a week

Lunch: Sunday - Saturday 11:00 - 4:00

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 - 9:00
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 10:00

Fresh Fish Market Open Daily 10:00 am to close

Cross Street:
Washington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 745-7665

Website:
http://www.turners-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the public lot is free after 6 pm every day and on Sundays and Holidays

Public Transit:
Salem Depot Commuter Rail Train Station is located one block North of 43 Church Street

Executive Chef:
Yale Woodson

Private Party Facilities:
Decorated in a timeless New England style, our newly renovated second floor fills with natural light from large windows overlooking the beauty and grandeur of historic Salem. The venue features exposed brick, rustic wood floors and vaulted wood-beam ceilings. This historic landmark is a unique, private space – perfect for functions as varied as anniversary celebrations and rehearsal dinners to medical meetings and corporate events; achieve a successful dinner or social function complemented by authentic New England hospitality. Our Loft Room can accommodate up to 40 guests while The Ballroom can seat up to 80 guests for any special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Hirschfeld: (978) 745-7665

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

You don't have to wait until Valentine's Day to show someone how much they mean to you!

Turner's Seafood - Salem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (66)
Casual (62)
Historic (58)
See All
Special Occasion (51)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Bar Seating (46)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Worth the Drive (41)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Authentic (35)
Good for Groups (34)
Cozy (32)
Local Ingredients (30)
Fun (28)
Comfort Food (28)
Romantic (27)
Business Meals (27)
Fireplace (26)
Hot Spot (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
People Watching (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Gluten Free Options (20)
Healthy (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Outstanding Value (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Family Style (16)
Great Beer (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Seasonal (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Private Room (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Disabled Access (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tapas (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Live Sports (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
918 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The cooking is poor and the dishes are c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The cooking is poor and the dishes are clumsy. My fish and chips batter wasn't cooked through enough for example.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was good but the hostess was terrib ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good but the hostess was terrible and set the mood for the night. Our waiter was fantastic! I can't remember his name but he spoke with an accent and was just incredible and witty. The only reason we had a bad experience was the older woman who was the hostess was extremely rude. We had a reservation for 6 at 5PM. 2 of our party were running late. We were told we could not be seated until our full party arrives. So instead we waited outside in the cold. We found out from another couple that they had also been denied their reserved table because they were missing party members but eventually they were given their table because they convinced the hostess that they would buy an appetizer if they were seated. So we grew tired of waiting out in the cold and told a different hostess that we wanted to be seated or we would just go somewhere else. They sat us and everything else was ok. But that experience definitely ruined our time at Turners and we will never ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

This was my first time dining at Turner' ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

This was my first time dining at Turner's Seafood and I was quite impressed with the food quality. Although it is a tad expensive, there was sufficient food to take home for an additional meal. I also liked the historic atmosphere and the waitstaff were knowledgeable about the origins of the building. I would definitely visit again when I am in the area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had to go deep sea fishing in my $32.0 ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

I had to go deep sea fishing in my $32.00 bowl of cioppino to find some fish...very skimpy, especially for the price...it was delicious, just could've used a little more fish and a little less peppers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Turners is one of our top five restauran ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Turners is one of our top five restaurants but I thought $45 was a little much for the lobster pie. The crumbs had too much butter and the lobster was tough. Would still go back but wouldn't reorder the lobster pie !

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

I really enjoy Turner's Seafood, and thi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I really enjoy Turner's Seafood, and this is my favorite of their locations. I think the food is top-notch, and the atmosphere isn't fussy.

Tags: Casual, Private Room, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

It was my birthday celebration!

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was my birthday celebration!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Did a very nice job redoing the restaura ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Did a very nice job redoing the restaurant. Keeping the old brick gave the restaurant a comfortable feeling. Service was very good & the food was excellent. Will be back soon !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It is hard to find a better seafood rest ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

It is hard to find a better seafood restaurant anywhere! We have been to Turners several times and each time I am thoroughly pleased with the food & service. We have had the lobster bisque, clam chowder, crab cakes, swordfish and the Gloucester stuffed sole. All were outstanding! This is a family owned business and owner comes by and asks you about your meal . The wait staff is friendly and really tries to please you. Hats off to such a fabulous chef!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice dining experience and food is ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Very nice dining experience and food is delicious. We as downtown residents are enjoying it a lot

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect night out with friends celebrati ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Perfect night out with friends celebrating an engagement! What the real bonus of the night was getting to see their upstairs event space! That my friends, is going to be absolutely perfect for our rehearsal dinner! And to really put the icing on the cake, they got awarded best place to host rehearsal dinners on the North Shore :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always good; nice presentation. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food is always good; nice presentation. We chose to sit at bar as it was more lively and we (2 sisters) were celebrating a birthday. Our bartenders/ servers were excellent. The stuffed filet of sole was lite and simply delicious. Creme brulee was the dessert of choice. An excellent evening had by all.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Historic, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just can't say enough about how wonderfu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Just can't say enough about how wonderful our dining experience was. Great food, wine, service and ambiance. We had dinner for a special family occasion and are so happy we chose Turners to celebrate it. Can't wait to come back! BTW, best chowder and shrimp scampi ever!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very knowledgeable about ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our server was very knowledgeable about the types of oysters which led to our enjoyment of a perfect dozen. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was very impressed by our whole experi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I was very impressed by our whole experience! It was even better than expected. They are incredibly allergy friendly. The service was spectacular. The food was really delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall impression: High quality seafood ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Overall impression: High quality seafood in a casual and upscale setting.

Servers are professional and attentive and the food is terrific. Make a reservation-- it's busy.

I had shrimp and my dining companion had the lobster pie-- both were great. Plenty of parking for a small fee in the lot across the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Solid spot for food, décor, ambiance. Di ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Solid spot for food, décor, ambiance. Did not like sitting next to serving station tho.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We have never been disappointed! The se ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We have never been disappointed! The seafood is so fresh and prepared perfectly. This is our number one seafood restaurant by far. Can't wait to go back, great food, great service and relaxed atmosphere...we want to try the entire menu!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Turners was a great pick for a birthday ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Turners was a great pick for a birthday dinner for my boyfriend. I mentioned that we were celebrating a birthday when I made the reservations. They granted my request for a table near the fireplace, and even gave him a free dessert. The food and service were both excellent. They have an extensive wine list with some nice, unexpected selections. My boyfriend is more of a beer drinker; he was pleased to see that they had Gloucester's Fisherman's Ale on tap.

We started with a sampler of local oysters from the raw bar. (Our favorite were the Nautilus Island - small and sweet.) For entrees, he had the fried clams, which were perfect. (He grew up on the North Shore, and is a seafood snob. He's very fussy about his clams. These got 2 thumbs up from him.) I had the finnan haddie, which was outstanding. The perfectly-seasoned cream sauce blended so well with the smoked haddock, which was smoked juuuust right - you could still taste the fresh fish, not a campfire. It was the perfect New England comfort food for a cold January night, made even cozier by the fireplace.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fireplace, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best seafood around and great drinks. S ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best seafood around and great drinks. Service is always excellent and the daily mussel special is always outstanding. Can't ever go wrong with Turner's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A true hidden gem. they have a very big ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A true hidden gem. they have a very big gluten free menu, Best lobster bisque you'll ever have. staff is always attentive.drinks are great, prices are so reasonable. we cant wait to go back

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always never had a bad experience at ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always never had a bad experience at Turners at Melrose or Salem. Great seafood and drinks.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food is consistently good. Service is fr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food is consistently good. Service is friendly. Traditional type seafood dominates the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Turner's for an early New Yea ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went to Turner's for an early New Year's Eve dinner, at 4:45pm. We made reservations on Open Table for 4 people and it was notes that when we arrived we might have to wait up to 15 min, but we got seated right away. We only had entrees (no appetizers or dessert/coffee) and a couple of glasses of wine, seltzer water, hot and iced tea. We had the sole, the crab cakes and two baked seafood platters. Everyone loved their food. Our bill came to $125. The service was attentive and quick. The restaurant is in the 1840-ties Lyceum building, with brick walls, giving it a warm cozy feel. The restaurant is in nice walking distance to CinemaSalem. There seemed to be some difficulties for people in wheel chairs and with canes to traverse the facility (tables close together, heavy bath room doors and small windy hallways and a step up at the front entrance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Wonderful NYE dinner! Great food -- grea ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful NYE dinner! Great food -- great service -- great evening! Only complaint -- change the music! It's 2017 not 1920 :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance at Turner's is great--so ma ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The ambiance at Turner's is great--so many different types of seating--booths, high-tops, bar, kitchen bar, tables, private, etc. Our server was possibly overworked or just tired, which is unusual for Turner's. Food is always good,but fish and chips were more like tempura than "lightly battered". Coconut shrimp appetizer was fantastic. Crab legs were also quite good. Other than the table almost in the middle of the floor, we had a nice dinner and will go back. They even have a reasonably-priced chardonnay ($5.50) that is quite good! THAT is unusual and very much appreciated!

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Historic, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food, although a little pricey. Hi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food, although a little pricey. Historic building added to the ambiance.

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Cozy, Casual, Historic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, wonderful seafood , lots ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great service, wonderful seafood , lots of choices in addition to seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was good but the service terrible. ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 27, 2016

food was good but the service terrible. a waiter with an attitude doesn't win points with me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Best seafood on the North Shore of Bosto ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Best seafood on the North Shore of Boston. Fun atmosphere. Great mussels special not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Thoroughly enjoyed our Flavorful Christm ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our Flavorful Christmas Eve dinner at Turners.

Delightful taste sensations with both gluten free orders.

I would happily dine there daily.

Our server that particular evening was really not interested in being a server or gracious, or attentive ... however the experience was still delightful because the food was spectacular.

After all he was justa kid there on Christmas Eve... bet he wanted to be somewhere else.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

This is my favorite local restaurant. Th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is my favorite local restaurant. The food is always great, service very friendly and the atmosphere is modern and bright. My go-to choices are fresh local oysters, fried calamari, and baked stuffed shrimp. They always offer great specials as well as a good variety of cocktails and martinis.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Christmas Eve lunch with the family. Imm ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve lunch with the family. Immediate seating with reservation. Food was immpeccable: freshly shucked, cooked, prepared, all to order. We love going here because we have never, ever been disappointed with the cuisine or service. We have always been 100% satisfied with all Turner's has to offer. This is a hands-on family establishment and it definitely shows in the high quality of the food and the warm ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch food, service and ambience. Ha ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Top notch food, service and ambience. Hands down best restaurant in Salem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love going out to dinner here! Have neve ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Love going out to dinner here! Have never had a bad experience. Staff makes you feel like family -- really care about your experience and want to see you come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Calamari appetizer was delicious, fr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The Calamari appetizer was delicious, fresh not chewy. The Fra Diavlo linguini with calamari and mussels was superb. The waiter was engaging and having been to the Melrose location before will make the trip to Salem again. The atmosphere is so much more enjoyable in Salem as compared to Melrose.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night very impressed with the food ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great night very impressed with the food along with the bartender. will be back again

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fabulous great food fresh and wel ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Always fabulous great food fresh and well prepared.Good value on wine with nice size pour.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Turners is comparable to LTK north of Bo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Turners is comparable to LTK north of Boston. The tuna burger and homemade potato chips for lunch is excellent. Seafood is always fresh and delicious. Lunch menu is a good value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My work group went for a late lunch. Foo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 14, 2016

My work group went for a late lunch. Food and drinks are just fabulous! Can't wait to go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.