About Turner's Seafood - Salem

43 Church St
Salem, MA 01970
View Larger Map

Turner's Seafood at Lyceum Hall Salem is an authentic New England fish house in a beautifully restored historical location with a turn of the century oyster bar, classic full bar, fireplaces and more! From the docks to your plate, experience the most trusted name in New England seafood.


Turner's operates on a requested seating list, so your name is on our list for tables estimated to open about the time of your request. Please check in with the host upon arrival and we do our best to seat you within 15 min.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
7 days a week

Lunch: Sunday - Saturday 11:00 - 4:00

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 - 9:00
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 10:00

Fresh Fish Market Open Daily 10:00 am to close

Cross Street:
Washington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 745-7665

Website:
http://www.turners-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the public lot is free after 6 pm every day and on Sundays and Holidays

Public Transit:
Salem Depot Commuter Rail Train Station is located one block North of 43 Church Street

Executive Chef:
Yale Woodson

Private Party Facilities:
Decorated in a timeless New England style, our newly renovated second floor fills with natural light from large windows overlooking the beauty and grandeur of historic Salem. The venue features exposed brick, rustic wood floors and vaulted wood-beam ceilings. This historic landmark is a unique, private space – perfect for functions as varied as anniversary celebrations and rehearsal dinners to medical meetings and corporate events; achieve a successful dinner or social function complemented by authentic New England hospitality. Our Loft Room can accommodate up to 40 guests while The Ballroom can seat up to 80 guests for any special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Hirschfeld: 978-745-7665x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Turner's Seafood - Salem, Salem, MA
Turner's Seafood - Salem, Salem, MA

Turner's Seafood - Salem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Salem, Massachusetts ›

Special Occasion (64)
Good for a Date (56)
Neighborhood Gem (55)
See All
Casual (54)
Historic (53)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Bar Seating (42)
Worth the Drive (40)
Local Ingredients (40)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Authentic (38)
Good for Groups (35)
Business Meals (31)
Romantic (31)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Fun (28)
Hot Spot (27)
Cozy (26)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
People Watching (18)
Outstanding Value (18)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Family Style (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Seasonal (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Fireplace (15)
Healthy (14)
Great Beer (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Kid-friendly (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Private Room (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Live Sports (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Scenic View (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
864 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As ever a superb meal in comfortable bis ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

As ever a superb meal in comfortable bistro surroundings

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish as fresh as it can possibly be. Wai ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Fish as fresh as it can possibly be. Waitstaff who know their food. A great wine list. A perfect dirty martini. Smiles and hellos, it's a very good choice and never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made a reservation...was put at a table ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Made a reservation...was put at a table directly next to the server work station...requested to me moved to an open table that was next to the window to avoid having to sit next to the very busy and noisy work station...was told no...could not move as the women seating us said...she had to seat us where she was told to seat us due to the servers. The tablw was very awkward as servers were right on top of us and bumping in to the chair that my husband was seating in...Head hostess heard me complaining to my husband about the seating and she came over and offered us another table.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Great food and good prices. The seafood ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food and good prices. The seafood is always fresh and prepared perfectly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a post-Thanksgiving celebration ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Went for a post-Thanksgiving celebration with my family. Our server was exceptional and we are considering the restaurant for our rehearsal dinner for our wedding next September 2017.

Tags: Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you to Andrew for the wonderful ta ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Thank you to Andrew for the wonderful table and appetizer and for the great service from Sydney! Can't wait til September when we host our rehearsal dinner with you in the beautiful second floor! You have been nothing but a pleasure to work with thus far!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The seafood at Turner's is the best in B ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The seafood at Turner's is the best in Boston and the atmosphere makes it a neighborhood gem but we had a 7:15 reservation and weren't seated until 8:00 even though there were empty tables. The hostess offered a free app but the wait left us wondering.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Turner's always offers delicious seafood ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Turner's always offers delicious seafood prepared in many styles. Great raw bar atmosphere. Turner's is always, always good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took our 91 year old Dad there for his b ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Took our 91 year old Dad there for his birthday. Everything was perfect. He loves it and we will be back soon. Everyone's meal was delicious and we didn't break the bank.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Historic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome staff, managers were super frien ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Awesome staff, managers were super friendly and made sure everything was perfect. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mussels were fair with good broth though ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Mussels were fair with good broth though bread was hard, even for dipping.

My wife's crabcakes were very good. My shrimp over humus was poor as humus was tasteless, faelaf dried out and hard and shrimp very overdone and dried out.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding service--we arrived early fo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Outstanding service--we arrived early for our reservation and were seated within 5 minutes of our reservation time. Service at the bar and table were both excellent. The manager checked in with us twice to see how our food was--it was amazing. Baked seafood medley and baked scallops were superb. Even the dinner rolls were awesome. Dessert--crème brulee was delicious. Incredible bourbon cocktails to boot. The atmosphere was perfectly cozy for a cold November night--we were seated next to the fireplace, great ambience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fun, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as usual!!

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent as usual!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special "mystery weekend away" for my hu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Special "mystery weekend away" for my husband included dinner at Turner's. I did not know this restaurant, but booked it because of the reviews. Our food was delicious, and our server was the nicest. She was attentive without hovering. We will definitely return to this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

travelers be in store for a gret dining ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

travelers be in store for a gret dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good and the service a ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was very good and the service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We have enjoyed several lunches at Turne ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We have enjoyed several lunches at Turner's Seafood after visiting the Peabody-Essex Museum. The food is always really delicious, nicely presented, generously portioned, and the waitstaff are great. Try the coconut shrimp!

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go to Melrose and Salem often. One of ou ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Go to Melrose and Salem often. One of our top three restaurants.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We used to have date night here until ea ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We used to have date night here until early 2015 when service went downhill and food quality was just terrible. Not sure if they are under new management or what but this weekend the food was excellent. Its a bit loud for my liking but service was really good. Ide definitely go back.

Tags: Live Sports, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful and romantic restaurant with g ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wonderful and romantic restaurant with great service. The most delicious lobster bisque we have ever tried! A bit overpriced but very good. I ordered the shrimp and grits and my husband had stuffed lobster, both did not disappoint! Incredible history of the building too. Would definitely return!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Private Room, Healthy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Casual, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious and perfectly coo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was delicious and perfectly cooked. The bar and wait staff were professional, friendly, attentive and all n all outstanding.

It was extremely busy when we arrived so we had a drink at the bar while we waited a few minutes for our table. I noticed it was a little loud but again it was very busy. Once seated, it seemed to quiet down a bit and although the restaurant was still pretty full, my husband and I felt like we were the only ones there.

I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious meal in warm ambience with won ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Delicious meal in warm ambience with wonderful and attentive wait staff. Have really enjoyed the Shrimp Scampi and the Grilled Salmon pasta on the 2 occasions I have been here. Excellent sea food restaurant. Highly recommended and a delight to return to.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we enjoyed our meal and our waitress was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

we enjoyed our meal and our waitress was very attentive.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Dined in the bar area overlooking a back ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Dined in the bar area overlooking a back courtyard, which was very pleasant. The waitstaff are incredibly friendly, and the food was excellent. The oysters Rockefeller and the baked sole we're delicious.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service , as usual. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent food and service , as usual. Took visiting relatives from Virginia for dinner. They thoroughly enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. Excellent wait staff who provided several suggestions for my guess.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Turners never disappoints! The food is ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Turners never disappoints! The food is outstanding especially the incredible lobster bisque and clam chowder. Fish is fresh and well prepared. Although the crab cake is offered as an appetizer, the portion was very generous and enough for a meal if you have a cup of soup.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Historic, People Watching, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great historic atmosphere, fresh quality ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great historic atmosphere, fresh quality, delicious local seafood, top shelf bar, excellent service, by our server Jack.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fun, Historic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Late-night Find, Private Room, Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Business Meals, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, fresh tasting seafood. Waitress w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great, fresh tasting seafood. Waitress was very attentive even when it was extremely busy (Halloween night). Highly recommend the oysters, steamers and shrimp scampi. We will be back on our next trip.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I were there for Hallow ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 31, 2016

My boyfriend and I were there for Halloween. The staff was dressed up and very very friendly! The food was excellent and you could tell it was very fresh! This was the highlight meal of our trip!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

What a delightful and delicious way to s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 31, 2016

What a delightful and delicious way to spend Halloween evening - costumes, appropriate dinner music, superb cuisine, and attentive but entertaining wait staff all contributed to a wonderful experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined on Halloween and what a great exp ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Dined on Halloween and what a great experience! Glad we made reservations! Food was great -- service was better! Loved their Disney theme! Not only were they all dressed as characters but the Disney music was an amazing touch! Woody and Jessie were our favorites :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food.

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Incredible food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service! Great Seafood!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great service! Great Seafood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The best seafood I have ever had! I high ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The best seafood I have ever had! I highly recommend the calamari!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants includin ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants including but not limited to its historic significance, fresh food with identified provenance,meals cooked with gourmet attention to perfection, and an overall welcoming environment with professional wait staff.

Tags: Family Style, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Authentic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly excellent fresh oysters, great bar ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Truly excellent fresh oysters, great bar, top-notch service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a dinner with family after i propose ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Had a dinner with family after i proposed to my girlfriend during the busy Halloween season. Truly Amazing Lobster Bisque!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A spectacular even of dining, fresh fish ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

A spectacular even of dining, fresh fish, great service, and lively environment every time. The family has put their heart into this. Worth a drive!

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood was fresh and delectable! Ev ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The seafood was fresh and delectable! Every course; appetizer, entree and dessert was amazing! The service was superb. I look forward to returning to Salem just so I can return to Turner's Seafood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are there on Saturday night if Hallow ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We are there on Saturday night if Halloween weekend. Salem was extremely busy. They took us right in on time. Food and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.