Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Turner's Seafood - Salem

Turner's operates on a requested seating list (NOT a traditional reservation). Your name is on our list for tables estimated to open about the time of your request. Please check in with the host upon arrival and we do our best to seat you within 15 min and your party is complete.

Turner's Seafood at Lyceum Hall Salem is an authentic New England fish house in a beautifully restored historical location with a turn of the century oyster bar, classic full bar, fireplaces and more! From the docks to your plate, experience the most trusted name in New England seafood.

43 Church St
Salem, MA 01970
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
7 days a week

Lunch: Sunday - Saturday 11:00 - 4:00

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 - 9:00
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 10:00

Fresh Fish Market Open Daily 10:00 am to close

Cross Street:
Washington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 745-7665

Website:
http://www.turners-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the public lot is free after 6 pm every day and on Sundays and Holidays

Public Transit:
Salem Depot Commuter Rail Train Station is located one block North of 43 Church Street

Executive Chef:
Yale Woodson

Private Party Facilities:
Decorated in a timeless New England style, our newly renovated second floor fills with natural light from large windows overlooking the beauty and grandeur of historic Salem. The venue features exposed brick, rustic wood floors and vaulted wood-beam ceilings. This historic landmark is a unique, private space – perfect for functions as varied as anniversary celebrations and rehearsal dinners to medical meetings and corporate events; achieve a successful dinner or social function complemented by authentic New England hospitality. Our Loft Room can accommodate up to 40 guests while The Ballroom can seat up to 80 guests for any special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Hirschfeld: (978) 745-7665

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Two beautifully restored private function spaces with fireplaces.

Turner's Seafood - Salem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (43)
Special Occasion (43)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Casual (39)
Bar Seating (38)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Worth the Drive (30)
Local Ingredients (27)
Good for Groups (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
Historic (22)
Business Meals (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Authentic (20)
Cozy (20)
Romantic (19)
Fun (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Fireplace (14)
Healthy (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Seasonal (12)
Hot Spot (12)
People Watching (11)
Great Beer (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Quick Bite (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Private Room (4)
Scenic View (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
 (1)
Afternoon Coffee (0)
Sort By:
S
1028 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a wonderful experience with delicious food and great service! We thought the lobster roll was outstanding, and was accompanied by the vegetable of the day which was carrots with Olive oil and dill, and delicious Parmesan polenta cake! We thought it was a great value at $27!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Turners is by far my favourite seafood restaurant in the city. From checking in to bar drinks to seating at our table, the turners experience sets the bar high. The food is always excellent. Classic New England seafood done to perfection. This is compared to reference restaurants like Oceanaire and Island Creek Oyster bar. Turners is a step above.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Was on Vacation touring Salem looked up restaurants on Open Table near me and made a reservation.
Way more than I expected. Food Quality-Excellent, Service-Excellent (waitress and manager came by to check on things). If I am in Salem again I definitely will eat here again

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Busy Fathers day we were seated immediately. Drinks bread and water right we had crab steak and haddock and we shared strawberry shortcake everything was wonderful

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Attentive service and delicious food. Will come back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

My son took us for Fathers Day on Saturday night. We got seated quickly in a nice table by the window. The 4 of us had a combination of apps, entrees, wine and cocktails. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. The mussels your way were great! I loved the Dijon sauce. The menu offerings and the prices are better than Legal. We will definitely go back again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was just okay, and not worth the money. We had high hopes for this and my friends were really looking forward to the seafood. I got the steak and it was great, but my friends got stuffed shrimp and said it was lousy. They said the stuffing tasted like Stove Top. The location is great, and the restaurant is beautiful, but it can get loud.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The only thing I can say is to ask about the ingredients in your meal if that is an issue. I never would have thought jalapeño would be in pot stickers. I was more concerned about cilantro since it tastes like soap for me. The menu did not say jalapeño was in the dish either. Since it was crab that is a spice I did not expect and was overused to the point I could not taste the crab. My friend loved her dish! I will be more thorough in asking next time.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Excellent food, especially dessert. Seated right between to other couples at a shared table, and had requested booth as it was our anniversary. Fans blowing so strongly my eyes watered through entire meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I've been to Turner's restaurant several times and I am always impressed. I've been there for a quiet lunch, a family get together, a business dinner, a bereavement gathering and have been very impressed every single time. You really can't miss! This past Sunday it was very crowded but the service was impeccable. I was there with a group of 7 and everything was amazing -- oysters, salmon, surf and turf, chowder, and all the desserts. Great job and I look forward to returning soon even though I live 45 minutes away.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Daughter 's going away to college

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Love this place!!!!!!!! Tuna Shasimi on top of Caesar Salad there is one of my all time fav meals. Family service makes it fun and hospitable. Literally the owners' family busses and waits tables. Great experience over and over and over again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We have been eating at Turner's for a couple years now, and while the food has remained delicious, the service has diminished to awful. We have been badgered by some of the older male servers and given chilly receptions by waitresses. The wait staff seem particularly put out if you have a kid - even if that kid acts perfect and smiles at them. It's like folks are in a bad mood all the time there now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Look forward to a night out and trying some of the latest micro beer. Nothing. One IPA but nothing even from Notch Brewery which is located just a few blocks away. The Portuguese stew was awesome but the crab cake was bread and minced crab. We get very few opportunities for date nights and want something that has a great wine/beer list and great food. Will keep looking.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 1, 2017

One of my favorite places to bring out of town and foreign guests.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Fried clam app excellent, not greasy at all, good price point

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 30, 2017

There are lots of very good seafood restaurants in the area. I wouldn't rate this one as one of the best. Drinks took about 20 minutes to arrive after ordering. Food was just average.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We stopped in for lunch on Memorial Day weekend. Staff was friendly. Service was very good. I tried their crab cake, since that's always a good quality indicator at a seafood restaurant, and really enjoyed it. My salad was fresh and tasty. My husband enjoyed his calamari very much. He rated it in his top 3 calamari places ever; which is really saying something. We will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

One of the best meals we've ever had anywhere. Can't wait to return. Our waiter, Brandon, was friendly and attentive, the manager dropped by everyone's table to say hi and ask about our food. There is something for everyone - creative and adventurous, favorite standards, seasonal, gluten free, vegetarian. Great raw bar choices, fresh seafood, chicken, beef and pasta. Highly recommend the Hake Marsala and Super Food Chopped Salad. This is a great restaurant, and we can't wait to go back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The server was great (Raphael) but the food sucked

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Good salads and seafood. Lobster cocktail was very satisfying.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had the clam chowder, clams casino, scallops wrapped in bacon, all delicious. For dinner I had king crab legs (was a special), my husband had grilled scallops, my kids had the haddock piccata and the fra diavolo. Everything was delicious and fresh tasting. Not the first time there and won't be the last.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great location and same excellent food we are used to from Turner's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

What and amazing find! This was hands down the best place we ate in Salem , and we ate everywhere. The bar menu was amazing, their Lobster Bisque was to die for. They have the best Tuna sashimi I have ever had. The raw bar, amazing. I could go on and on but really, you just have to go for yourself. Amazing staff as well, friendly and fun!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We enjoyed our experience. Great food and great service. We were late due to graduation ceremonies taking longer than we thought and the staff was very understanding. Thanks!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I had a delicious lobster roll at Turner's Seafood and it is definitely a great place in Salem to bring friends and family visiting from out-of-town. Our server took great care of the group and we had a fun time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The wait was short. Food was great. The waitress was awesome. We will be back!!!!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The lobster was amazing! Also had great cocktail list!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I absolutely love this place! Best lobster bisque, stuffed clams, and tuna sushimi around!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Best restaurant in the area. The food is always excellent. The staff is friendly and professional.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fun, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

It was poring out and when I walked in and shook of the tai. A RUDE waiter yelled at me so rudely another waitress approached me who saw the whole thing and apologized for his behavior I even apologized to the waiters table because he made me and my son feel like complete idiots and rudeness. Again - Mother's Day and i just walked in from the pouring rains

I have to say I was ready to walk out because of his rudeness . But I stayed because of that waitress and I wish I got her name . I was the. taken care of by Rick and I think the same waitress who apologized and it was a much better ending then a start.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My daughter and I came for dinner on Mother's Day. The restaurant was pretty full and noisy. Where we were seated initially, there was a large VERY noisy party right next to us. We asked to change to a quieter table and the wait staff was very accommodating and sympathetic and moved us quickly into the other room. Our wait people in both areas were nice and helpful with food recommendations. The menu selection was appealing and it was hard to decide between dishes. We enjoyed the food. We will definitely return after an afternoon visit to the Peabody-Essex Museum nearby.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was excellent, service was prompt and kind, drinks were delicious. Haven't found a thing we didn't like about the experience. Great chicken and surprisingly good burgers for a seafood restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was Mothers Day and very busy. Food was very good and our server was excellent. We had A toddler with us and they brought out food to keep her happy.Great customer service!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome experience on Mother's Day! King Crab Legs were a nice surprise for my wife. Service top notch as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to Turners for my husband's 40th birthday party . Excellent food and service. Everyone in my group was satisfied with their food and cocktails.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent and fresh seafood. Had cherrystones on half shell were excellent. Lobster bisque with extra lobster was nice and creamy. Had them mix half fried clams and half fried oysters for entree that was very lightly battered and fresh. Plan to go again to pick other options.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was fresh and delicious! We had haddock, the steak tip sandwich and salmon, all of which were yummy and cooked to perfection! The waiter was personable and informative. Great venue for a casual night out with friends or a dinner date. We will be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our server DeeDee was fantastic, drinks were decent and food was fresh though a bit average. I had the salmon "carbonara" and the fish was slightly over cooked. We were seated in a back corner of the restaurant near an exit, so there wasn't much for ambiance. I'd give it another try, with better seats, and DeeDee, to see if maybe the kitchen was having a bit of an off night.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was inconsistent. 4 of us seated at a large round table for 6 but it was pushed up against a column so 2 seats were unusable and one person was crammed next to column. Meanwhile there were empty tables for 4 in the front room. Fish was well prepared but side Brussels sprouts with "bits of bacon" had broken slices tossed with sprouts that had been sitting on a steam table. Very tired and careless dish as well as too sweet.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.