About Turner's Seafood - Salem

43 Church St
Salem, MA 01970
View Larger Map

Turner's Seafood at Lyceum Hall Salem is an authentic New England fish house in a beautifully restored historical location with a turn of the century oyster bar, classic full bar, fireplaces and more! From the docks to your plate, experience the most trusted name in New England seafood.


Turner's operates on a requested seating list, so your name is on our list for tables estimated to open about the time of your request. Please check in with the host upon arrival and we do our best to seat you within 15 min.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
7 days a week

Lunch: Sunday - Saturday 11:00 - 4:00

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 - 9:00
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 10:00

Fresh Fish Market Open Daily 10:00 am to close

Cross Street:
Washington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 745-7665

Website:
http://www.turners-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the public lot is free after 6 pm every day and on Sundays and Holidays

Public Transit:
Salem Depot Commuter Rail Train Station is located one block North of 43 Church Street

Executive Chef:
Yale Woodson

Private Party Facilities:
Decorated in a timeless New England style, our newly renovated second floor fills with natural light from large windows overlooking the beauty and grandeur of historic Salem. The venue features exposed brick, rustic wood floors and vaulted wood-beam ceilings. This historic landmark is a unique, private space – perfect for functions as varied as anniversary celebrations and rehearsal dinners to medical meetings and corporate events; achieve a successful dinner or social function complemented by authentic New England hospitality. Our Loft Room can accommodate up to 40 guests while The Ballroom can seat up to 80 guests for any special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Hirschfeld: 978-745-7665x

Additional:
Banquet, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Turner's Seafood - Salem
Turner's Seafood - Salem

Turner's Seafood - Salem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Salem, Massachusetts ›

Neighborhood Gem (91)
Fit for Foodies (85)
Special Occasion (84)
See All
Good for Groups (61)
Great for Lunch (54)
Vibrant Bar Scene (40)
Romantic (34)
Hot Spot (30)
Kid-friendly (15)
Great for Brunch (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
731 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Consistently delicious. Excellent select ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Consistently delicious. Excellent selection and the menu changes! I love new options, menus that never change are so boring.

Well done Turner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent clam chowder. The waitress was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent clam chowder.

The waitress was very professional and welcoming.

Our dinner was fantastic. Great location.Found the noise level a bit too loud.

Would certainly return again when visiting Salem!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a pleasant surprise. We live in Sa ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

What a pleasant surprise. We live in Salem and hadn't really been here to eat since it changed to Turner's. We went for my son's last night before school started. We all loved our meals and found many other things on the menu we would try. We all had a form of tuna (me the sashimi, my husband the panko crusted yellow tail, and my son the tuna burger). They were all fresh, well prepared and more than we could eat. The prices are reasoanble for seafood and the staff were helpful and friendly. They also have a good drink list. We will most definitely be back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were told the lobster bisque was not ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were told the lobster bisque was not to be missed. That was an understatement, it was outstanding. There were chunks of lobster with a sweet creamy taste & texture. One bowl is just not enough but you need to leave room for what ever fish you choose to order. I had the halibut which was moist flavorful & just delicious. The server was pleasant, & knowledgeable. We had a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were a party of four with a reservati ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were a party of four with a reservation and showed up a little early but were quickly shown to a table. Service was prompt, friendly and helpful. The food was interesting, delicious and attractively plated. The wine list had a good number of reasonably priced wines, and the bottle we chose proved to be an excellent companion with out meal. The whole experience was delightful. It's certainly a restaurant deserving of a repeat visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent fish, as usual. Appetizers ta ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent fish, as usual. Appetizers tasty, service was great, and a very enjoyable dining experience. I always enjoy dining at Turner's Seafood in Salem because I come away remarking how fresh the fish is. Definitely Five Stars.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the last meal of our vacation @ ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had the last meal of our vacation @ Turner's and it could not have been more delicious! The service was excellent and the drinks and food were spectacular. We had a lobster cocktail, lobster bisque, Finnan Haddie(smoked Haddock in pearl onion cream sauce), a halibut special, cherrystones on the half shell, and great bread. We returned later for drinks and desserts. All excellent. We needed to make a walking tour and the staff were very accommodating in getting us out in time without rushing us. We were a party of 5 young and old adults from Colorado and had a nice round table in the corner. Turners is in a wonderful historical building and that just added to the atmosphere and experience. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Seasonal, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Prices reasonabl ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food and service. Prices reasonable as well. Great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything as usual was perfect. The foo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything as usual was perfect. The food was outstanding. The service was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love it at Turners- never disappointe ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We love it at Turners- never disappointed the food is piping hot and always delicious! Servers pleasant, personable, and attentive. Cost a little higher than r dry day our to supper but large portions and delicious recipes make the cost very reasonable.

A++ rating

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was top notch. We ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food and service was top notch. We had some vey picky diners in our group and we all were more than happy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We go to Turner's often and will return. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We go to Turner's often and will return. The food is excellent and the atmosphere, while a bit noisy when busy, is pleasant and clean. The last two times we have gone, there were not enough servers. It was clear that they were understaffed, which caused some wait. Other workers, such as hosts and managers, worked hard to make sure customers were doing well despite the waits. We will definitely return, but we do hope that more servers will be hired!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoyed dinner for five celebrating o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We enjoyed dinner for five celebrating our birthday. The food and service were excellent and our only complaint was the noise level. The places was crowded and the people were energetic, but our table near the bar subjected us to it all. We'll go back again for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It's an eatery pretending to be a restau ...

vip
·Dined on August 17, 2016

It's an eatery pretending to be a restaurant. Bad cooking. Sticky tables. Slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

the food was very good. the service was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

the food was very good. the service was what really lacked. the service was slow and the waiter didn't seem to know the menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We went to this restaurant because it ap ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went to this restaurant because it appeared on a several travel lists as the best seafood restaurant in Salem and unfortunately, it did not live up to the hype. The food was adequate, but not exceptional, and considering the time of night, the service was quite slow. Drinks were expensive for what was served, and I thought the clams were sloppily shucked--I had several bits of shell in mine. The lobster was strangely bland for it being the height of lobster season--we had lobster the night before and the night after at different places, prepared in a similar manner, that were much better. The manager (?) for the evening was the highlight of our visit, however--friendly and a good storyteller. If our food experience had matched his personality, we probably would have had a better time. Maybe they had an off night, but I don't think I'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Busy Saturday night impacted service and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Busy Saturday night impacted service and noise. Really good lobster bisque. Prices are very reasonable.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was great! Lobster bisque and clam ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was great! Lobster bisque and clam chowder was amazing. I would definitely recommend the stuffed lobster!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Turners is one of of top 3 favorite plac ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Turners is one of of top 3 favorite places to eat. The freshness of the seafood, highly professional service, awesome decor and value for the dollar make it unbeatable. We had some chowder, Haddock Piccatta, Tuna Sashimi,raw oysters and cherry pepper calamari appetizers. The wine list is great although we just had cocktails on this visit. The Lyceum is a beautiful space and the Turners have done a great job of freshening it up while maintaining the old charm. Special tip: If you are on jury duty in Salem, Turner's is about 200 yds from the courthouse and the perfect place for lunch.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always great here and it's c ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food is always great here and it's convenient to our house, so we love it. However, the reason I routinely go back is the service. My dad is hard of hearing and both times that I've taken him there, the servers have noticed and made an effort to accommodate him without making it obvious. The most recent occasion we arrived later than we planned and I felt badly about bothering a server at 9pm on a Friday when she was probably nearly done with her shift. She was SO GOOD. Probably the best server I've had, and we eat at restaurants pretty frequently - kind, patient, personable, friendly, funny, prompt, made wonderful recommendations and we could not have been happier with her service. I hope management sees this review (Friday 8/12 at 9pm or so- we sat in a booth along the windows at the front of the restaurant). The bartender was so quick & accommodating while we waited for our table, and the manager also always drops by to be sure everything is good. The restaurant really seems to appreciate your business. The only notable exception is the hostess staff - they seem out to lunch (no pun intended) and it's always a bit confusing to check in, but apart from that small complaint, Turner's is one of our favorite spots. We will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great lunch. Menu is terrific w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had a great lunch. Menu is terrific with lots of good choices. Food, as usual, was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, service and environment all wonder ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food, service and environment all wonderful

Looking forward to our next dinner at Turners

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This dinner was for our 19th anniversary ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This dinner was for our 19th anniversary. (We had our reception here at the former Lyceum so thought it would be nice to revisit.) Turner's didn't disappoint! Hostess seated us promptly and let us pick our own table- a nice touch! Then wished us a happy anniversary before departing. Again, above and beyond. Thank you! Server was prompt and professional. Food was incredibly fresh and just the right speed from the kitchen. Timely and not hurried and we never were out of water and our cocktails never ran dry while we relaxed and took in the atmosphere. A fun place with a mixed crowd and a happy bar scene at the other end of the restaurant. Highly recommended. Will definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome restaurant - food and atmosphere ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Awesome restaurant - food and atmosphere were very good. Our waitress DeeDee was very helpful with the menu and a terrific waitress. Definitely would go back again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was really good. Definitely not i ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Dinner was really good. Definitely not inexpensive, so maybe a place for a special occasion

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

excellent seafood! oysters were excellen ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

excellent seafood! oysters were excellent and the fish and clam chowder made a grest luch for us.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were on a day trip to Salem and revie ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were on a day trip to Salem and reviews looked quite good for this restaurant. The cup of lobster bisque was good but I've actually had better in Nebraska, believe it or not! I ordered extra lobster meat in it; I'm not sure what 'no extra' would have been since there was a paltry amount. That said, I certainly ate it all. Both of my friends had the lobster rolls. Again, paltry amount of lobster meat but they enjoyed it.

The ambience was great and our waiter was fantastic. I think this restaurant caters to tourists. Next time, we'll look for an alternative where the locals go for a nice meal with comparable ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We had a nice quiet booth. Excellent se ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a nice quiet booth. Excellent server. Nicely cooked halibut

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Some of the best personable service we'v ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Some of the best personable service we've received in a long time. Recommendations, to timing, to follow-up. Looking forward to returning when in the area next year!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For the first time in 3 years, our

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

For the first time in 3 years, our

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was goood - especially the raw bar. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was goood - especially the raw bar. Service was not the best. Our waitress struggled to give suggestions about the menu, never cleared away used plates from appetizers or bread and also did not offer us a second round of drinks even though we finished our first round before dinner came.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Turner's was an absolutely excellent res ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Turner's was an absolutely excellent restaurant. We were on vacation and found it to be the best dining experience we had. Would highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came in for our 700 pm reservation at ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We came in for our 700 pm reservation at 630 pm but was able to be given a table. Ordered their award winning lobster bisque soup .. ohhhlala....it is really award winning! Now I know why! The best !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great. The atmosphere is au ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food was great. The atmosphere is authentic to the area and we always dine here when in town. If you are looking for a quiet place to dine you may think it's too loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This is our kind of place, casual and co ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This is our kind of place, casual and comfortable, good food, good value. Our seating request was honored. Brandon, our waiter, was excellent and responsive and gave good recommendations. We would eat here often if we lived in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great seafood dishes at the right price, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

great seafood dishes at the right price,...love the haddie

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Sadly this place doesn't live up to its ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Sadly this place doesn't live up to its rep or Yelp reviews. We were seated under an air vent and they claimed to have turned it off but it made all the food cold. My mussels were small and blah. My friend got lobster cocktail thinking it'd be less than a full lobster. It was $40!!! Clam chowder was blah too! Server was abrupt older guy. Come on people! Get it together!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

A friend recommended this place and said ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

A friend recommended this place and said the food was fabulous but it can be a bit loud. She was right. Loved the food. It was a Monday night so thought it wouldn't be too loud but it still was. Couldn't hear what the waitress was saying and she apparently couldn't hear me either because when it came to dessert she brought dessert for everyone except me when I was the first to order (or so I thought). I would go back again because the food was wonderful but I would ask to sit at a different section so hopefully I wouldn't get the same waitress. Had the salmon with cream dill sauce and it was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

We had a great dinner food was excellent ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a great dinner food was excellent. The décor was very nice. The support service was very good our main server needed to be more attentive and not to sweep the floor next to our table during our meal this is to high level a restaurant and the meal was to formal for this.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent seafood dining. Reasonable pr ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent seafood dining. Reasonable prices, great variety, attentive and caring service. So good, in fact, that we ate there twice while visiting Salem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.