About Turner's Seafood - Salem

43 Church St
Salem, MA 01970
View Larger Map

Turner's Seafood at Lyceum Hall Salem is an authentic New England fish house in a beautifully restored historical location with a turn of the century oyster bar, classic full bar, fireplaces and more! From the docks to your plate, experience the most trusted name in New England seafood.


Turner's operates on a requested seating list, so your name is on our list for tables estimated to open about the time of your request. Please check in with the host upon arrival and we do our best to seat you within 15 min.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
7 days a week

Lunch: Sunday - Saturday 11:00 - 4:00

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 - 9:00
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 10:00

Fresh Fish Market Open Daily 10:00 am to close

Cross Street:
Washington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 745-7665

Website:
http://www.turners-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the public lot is free after 6 pm every day and on Sundays and Holidays

Public Transit:
Salem Depot Commuter Rail Train Station is located one block North of 43 Church Street

Executive Chef:
Yale Woodson

Private Party Facilities:
Decorated in a timeless New England style, our newly renovated second floor fills with natural light from large windows overlooking the beauty and grandeur of historic Salem. The venue features exposed brick, rustic wood floors and vaulted wood-beam ceilings. This historic landmark is a unique, private space – perfect for functions as varied as anniversary celebrations and rehearsal dinners to medical meetings and corporate events; achieve a successful dinner or social function complemented by authentic New England hospitality. Our Loft Room can accommodate up to 40 guests while The Ballroom can seat up to 80 guests for any special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Hirschfeld: 978-745-7665x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Turner's Seafood - Salem
Turner's Seafood - Salem

Turner's Seafood - Salem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Salem, MA ›

neighborhood gem (69)
fit for foodies (67)
special occasion (65)
See All
good for groups (58)
great for lunch (39)
vibrant bar scene (38)
romantic (36)
hot spot (28)
notable wine list (11)
kid-friendly (10)
late-night find (9)
great for brunch (9)
scenic view (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
641 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great seafood on the North Shore. Very l ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great seafood on the North Shore. Very large variety of choices. Will go back to try more of their menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Turners has become a new favorite. Great ...

Dined 4 days ago

Turners has become a new favorite. Great location. Easy Parking options, good menu and the food does not dissapoint. Service has always been effiicient, friendly, and on point.

food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Excellent service - however expected mor ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service - however expected more flavor and value for the price- shellfish was not cleaned well enough and nearly broke our teeth on clams and oysters

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a very nice dinner with friendly ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a very nice dinner with friendly service. I could point out a few things that were not perfect (we were sent to our table before it was set, our mains came before the starters were cleared), these issues were resolved appropriately. The quality of the food was very good. Beware that a lot of the seating is high seating (bar and high tables), which we do not prefer. We were given a different table after we made this known. I suppose one can request a normal table at reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attended for Father's Day and was very p ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Attended for Father's Day and was very pleased with the staff, beer selection, and raw bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the best wait person ever. She wa ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We had the best wait person ever. She was helpful and delightful and full of personality. She knew the menu well. The food, as always, delicious.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Have enjoyed their restaurant in Melrose ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Have enjoyed their restaurant in Melrose. Found the one in Salem to be equally as good if not better.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Positives - the service was great - muss ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Positives - the service was great - mussels & crab mac and cheese were excellent. Negatives - lobster bisque was terrible, way too creamy - halibut was overcooked.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Turners was a delightful spot in lovely ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Turners was a delightful spot in lovely downtown Salem near tourist attractions. It was fine dining with a seafood orientation and very popular with both locals and tourists. The menu was extensive with a good wine list and service was attentive despite the crowd. I vote for number 1 seafood restaurant in Salem!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

All our seafood dinners were delish! The ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

All our seafood dinners were delish! The chowder & bisque could have been hotter. Our waitress wasn't the greatest, slow to return at most times.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Must go when in Salem! Love the staff an ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Must go when in Salem! Love the staff and the food is awesome.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice place for a night out.

Dined on June 10, 2016

Good food, moderately priced. Good house wines. Pleasant service providers.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everyone's dish was delicious .

Dined on June 9, 2016

Went with a party of eight to celebrate a 60th birthday. Everyone's dish was delicious and well presented. Service was very good. Lots of available parking across the street.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lobster Lovers

Dined on June 9, 2016

LOBSTER! from the bisque to the pie a wonderful treat no matter which dish you try. I was crazy for the bisque. Loved Turners so much we came back the next night to try something different!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience! Food was fresh as can ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Great experience! Food was fresh as can be! Crab Fest is a wonderful featured menu for the whole month of June! Booked our rehearsal dinner here for next June! Andrew has been wonderful and a pleasure to work with! Look forward to many more visits before our big day!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BEAUTIFUL!!!!

Dined on June 6, 2016

The BEST restaurant we visited, and that includes Boston. Highly, highly recommended. My wife and I had a lovely evening, and it was a wonderful way to end our vacation to the east coast.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it all!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food, service & perfect round table by window for 6 of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere would tell anybody to go

Dined on June 3, 2016

I have frequented this place many times and it is such a great restaurant!! I would tell all my friends and family to go as they have wonderful food and the service is terrific!! When the waitress overheard it was my husbands birthday she gave him a crème Brule on the house. It was yummy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonerful Seafood, Great Service

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Great lunchtime venue. New England seafood favorites with great service. Loved the clam roll and the steamers. Clam chowder was also excellent. Our server was the best part since she was interesting and informative. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

best seafood on No Shore

Dined on June 1, 2016

seafood is always fresh and well prepared.... and the wait staff is the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hip bar

Dined on May 29, 2016

Dinner and cocktails were superb. Highly recommended. Great service at the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Mixed Feelings

Dined on May 29, 2016

Had mixed feelings about this place. We'd been wanting to go for some time and never had an excuse to do so, until a family member visited from out of town. The food was good, though for the same price you can get better sea food elsewhere on the North Shore. I would have rather liked the place just based on the food, but we didn't get very good service and we were charged for a drink we didn't even get. We didn't catch that last part until after paying the check, which truthfully was our mistake. Overall, I don't think I'd go back, which is a shame since I really wanted to like the place.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Excellent food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Salem Gem!

Dined on May 28, 2016

I came to Salem for a quick visit with my adult daughter, and we wanted good food at a place that wasn't "touristy". Turner's was the perfect choice. The food was outstanding, the service could not have been more welcoming, and it felt like mostly "locals". I know alot of Salem visitors like to eat down near the water, but there really isn't much to look at down there anyway, and Turner's has a beautiful atmosphere and ambiance. I only wish we could go back there again soon!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

A great find - recomended by Trip Advisor!

Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I visited Salem Mass to celebrate his retirement and I chose Turners because of the review on Trip Advisor - we were not disappointed! Service great - waiters were friendly, professional and informative; owner John was humble and helpful, the restaurant was beautiful with exposed brick and wood, and finally the food was delicious!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

The crab cake sandwich was absolutely am ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

The crab cake sandwich was absolutely amazing!!!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good food but very noisy. Couldn't have ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Good food but very noisy. Couldn't have a quiet conversation.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Very disappointed this time. We have be ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Very disappointed this time. We have been on two previous occasions which were very good all around. This night they moved us from table to table before settling on one. It was in the bar area and extremely noisy. The food was not well prepared and even a dish we had had previously was not at all as good this time. Our wait person was inattentive and not at all available. Also very abrupt when serving and taking orders. There were 6 of us and all very unhappy this evening.

food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Been here many times. We not come again ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Been here many times. We not come again on a Saturday night. Too noisy. Service not good. Food good. Week day lunch or early dinner is very nice. A bit disappointed.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Beware Saturday dinner

Dined on May 21, 2016

After having a nice lunch here last year, we decided to bring friends for dinner on Saturday evening. We arrived on-time for our reservation at 5:45 which we thought would be early enough to get ahead of the crowds. Wrong! The hostess was brusque, said there was no table available, gave me a bar ticket, and suggested we have a drink while we wait for an unspecified delay. I thought perhaps she was comping us for the lack of a table. Wrong! Half an hour later we were seated. The waiter seemed harried and suggested we immediately listen to his recitation of the specials now while he had a moment as otherwise he might not have the time later. Subsequently, a different waiter arrived with a second round of drinks without our ever having ordered same. After we did finally order, our waiter reappeared at our table telling us that he much preferred his restaurant job in Boston's North End over this place and then announcing that he was now burdened with a party of 15 and therefore could not pay any attention to us. Later, various helpers appeared at the table with dishes in hand asking who was having what (that always annoys me). No one ever returned to ask if we wanted anything else to drink. Naive me, I thought perhaps someone would apologize for the woeful service we received from when we opened the door to when I paid the check. Wrong! The seafood we ordered was good. The service was near the worst we have experienced. We will never return!

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4

Good first experience. Nice space to din ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Good first experience. Nice space to dine in. Great lobster bisque and crab cakes.

food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Made a reservation a week in advance for ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Made a reservation a week in advance for a special occasion. While we were late for our reservation (event ran late), we called 30 minutes before to notify Turners. We were seated quickly but after at least 15 minutes, I had to ask someone flying by if we even had a server to which we were told they forgot to assign the table to someone. The hostess or manager (?) took our drink order but we had to wait another 20 minutes and again get someone's attention to put in appetizers. Still no actual server has greeted us. Waited another 25 minutes (with no sign of the apps) and had to again ask to put in our food order. It seemed as though the appetizer server reluctantly took our table. There were not enough small plates on the table and the food runner took half of our silverware away. The meal is brought out by 3 different people with yet another person retrieving condiments for us. Had to ask for additional silverware. By the end of the meal, while the food was delicious and fresh, I had such a sour taste in my mouth for what was supposed to be a joyous graduation lunch with my family.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

GRADUATION PARTY

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

To start my family shared the mussels cooked provencal style, Turner's clam chowder, and scallops wrapped in bacon. For lunch, between all of us, we ordered the shrimp and grits, fish and chips, shrimp fra diavolo, linguine with white claim sauce, shrimp scampi, and steak sandwich. Everything was delicious and came out at the same time except for the shrimp scampi. That dish came out about 10 mins after everyone else. Although you can tell that they were on top of the delay. Very happy with the food and experience. Will definitely go back next time we're in the area.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

very accommodating

Dined on May 19, 2016

We missed our reservation for 9, they called to arrange a table for later that was ready when we arrived. Service was perfect, server was funny, food was wonderful.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are spending our second honeymoon her ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We are spending our second honeymoon here in town. We saw this restaurant and decided to give it a try. The moment we walked in we were seated. Later that evening, there was a bit of a wait. The waiter asked if there were any allergies and when I said yes, he sent the manager right away to come and talk with me. I told her I would like the Baked Seafood platter as my first choice had peppers in it. My entree was delicious. The bread was tasty. Our drinks were prepared and brought promptly. Our waiter checked on us a few times but since he asked about a special occasion and we told him it was our second honeymoon, he kept an eye on us from a distance so we could have time to talk. We could not eat dessert because most of them were on my restricted list. Our waiter suggested a nearby bakery but he did not know if it was open. It was a kind thought but it was not open. I bet the desserts would have been delicious though. I wanted the raspberry cheesecake, but it had a chocolate crust--and no chocolate for me! It was a great evening--romance and all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Outstanding menu choices and food was e ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Outstanding menu choices and food was exceptional! Out waiter was wonderful the entire meal! Service was top notch! Fabulous experience!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday Night at Turner's

Dined on May 14, 2016

Had a reservation for 6:00 PM and was seated by 6:15 PM. Very attentive wait staff. Ordered special Halibut dish that was excellent. My wife enjoyed her baked stuffed shrimp dinner. Excellent martinis and dessert. A truly enjoyable evening in historic Salem. Have already recommended Turner's to friends and relatives for exceptional seafood dining.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Turner's Seafood disappointing

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

When I looked online, most of the reviews were very good for Turner's Seafood. We were meeting friends in Salem and having dinner after going to the museum. We were all exited about the seafood. I'd say that 90% of our food wasn't good, bland and boring. We were all disappointed and one sent her food back. I don't know if this was an off-night but I wouldn't try it again.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The service was terrible. Good took fore ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The service was terrible. Good took forever to come as tables who came after got served.mbefote we did. They brought the wrong dishes twice with no apology. Food was ok, portions were large, but frankly food is better at Legals.

food2
ambience3
service2

Very forgettable food.

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Very forgettable food.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.