Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Tue, 5/22
Time
9:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 26 times today
Special offers available. See details

Turner's Seafood - Salem

4.6
1356 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Neighborhood Gem
Turner's operates on a requested seating list (NOT a traditional reservation). Your name is on our list for tables estimated to open about the time of your request. Please check in with the host upon arrival and we do our best to seat you within 15 min and your party is complete.

Turner's Seafood at Lyceum Hall Salem is an authentic New England fish house in a beautifully restored historical location with a turn of the century oyster bar, classic full bar, fireplaces and more! From the docks to your plate, experience the most trusted name in New England seafood.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
7 days a week

Lunch: Sunday - Saturday 11:00 - 3:30

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 3:30 - 9:00
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 3:30 - 10:00

Fresh Fish Market Open Daily 10:00 am to close

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(978) 745-7665
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Yale Woodson
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Washington
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking in the public lot is free after 6 pm every day and on Sundays and Holidays
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Salem Depot Commuter Rail Train Station is located one block North of 43 Church Street
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Two beautifully restored private function spaces with fireplaces.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Dad's love to treated special too and we love to treat Dad's special!!

Sunday, June 17, 2018

What 1356 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 2 days ago

Appetizers were excellent. Dinner was just ok. I’ve heard great things about this place so I was a little disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Our favorite restaurant in Salem. We always go there for lunch after visiting the Peabody Essex Museum.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

There were a few mistakes with our order and our check. Pretty busy and servers seemed a bit overwhelmed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We had an exceptional experience. Since it was our first time eating at Turner’s, our waitress took her time explaining everything. The owner visited our table to help give my husband instructions on the proper way to eat his lobster. We felt so welcomed & the food was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant was very nice with a nice ambiance. The Lobster Pasta was one of the specials and it was delicious!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We came for Mother’s Day (only 3 of us) so it was very busy. The service was a bit slow. It took at least 15 minutes to receive the glass of wine I ordered and our appetizer of mussels were finished without a drink to enjoy with them. My husband ordered his fish that came with potatoes and spinach but substituted a different vegetable. Then his meal came about 10 minutes or so after ours (which always sucks) and when it did it arrived with two vegetables and no potato instead of just the replacement vegetable. We were offered a free dessert (which we declined, we don’t want dessert) and they were very apologetic. I am understanding when it’s a busy occasion, but that doesn’t mean I would ever go back on Mother’s Day. I’ve never experienced bad service previously.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Appetizers and food was very very good and it’s a really cute place. Our server was everything you’d want in one...courteous, polite, acted happy to see us. The price was good. I would definitely order take out from here.

Unfortunately the noise level is off the charts. I am only 40 and we couldn’t hear anyone at the table without yelling. Which only made it louder I’m sure.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Turners is my favorite restaurant however last night they missed the mark. My daughter's and I arrived a few minutes past our reservation time. They offered us a seat at the bar to wait. I think you have to be 21 to sit at a bar, I could be wrong, but my daughter's aren't so we didn't. 10ish minutes later we were seated at an incredibly awkward high top. It wasn't horrible at first but our legs started to hurt about 40 minutes in, trying to keep ourselves propped up. This wasn't horrible but I did say on our reservation that we were celebrating mothers day and this was the first time the three of us had been out to dinner together (without my husband and son. It was girls night). We were super excited.

I was disappointed that one of my favorite menu items, brussel sprouts and bacon, was taken off the menu. We ordered our food. My daughters liked their food. I ordered the crab cakes, which is usually my favorite dish, but it was prepared differently then usual. It came with a new weird slaw that wasn't good. The crab cake was okay, until I found a hair in it. I tried to convince myself it was mine but if that's true, how was it embedded in my crabcake? So there's that. Also we were out of water through most of dinner. It was just weird and not great. Not sure what happened last night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Amazing....perfect.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Our server came back two times (after having taken our order) to ask us questions about the order that we felt we were pretty clear on “baked haddock” resulted in a follow up question of baked or fried and “lightly breaded” resulted in a follow up question about heavy breading. His timing felt very off for just about everything and the whole meal just felt a bit awkward. The way he hovered to see how our drinks were doing was also weird. I’ve been to Turner’s many, many times and have never had such awkward service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The food, particularly shellfish, was perfect. Fresh and well prepared.
Excellent service. Our whole experience was a pleasure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Our waitress was very nice and has a great personality. The food was delicious, it’s a little expensive but that’s expected for a nicer seafood place. We were celebrating a birthday and they brought us a free lava cake dessert on the house. This was a nice touch . The kung pow swordfish was absolutely amazing. And the oyster sampler as a starter was also a great call. I would definitely eat there again :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Our first time there,and for sure my husband and I will return!
We were seated in a back room (quieter)overlooking a courtyard,and almost immediately a waitress arrived to welcome us and give us menus.
We didn’t wait long before wine, bread, raw seafood, and salad appeared, with the entrees following expediently along.
The servings were large enough where we didn’t and couldn’t consider dessert, but I’d like to think that it would be just as much of a treat as the dinner was.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Food was outstanding. Every time we come into town we go there to eat. Stuffed lobsters are delicious.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Have been out of New England for many years now. Was so looking forward to food I no longer
can get.
Based on reviews I thought I had found the place.
My taste buds were so ready.
I started with Steamers which were too large & tasteless, no flavor what so ever. Entree was Linguini with white clam sauce which was dry & again lacking any significant flavor.
So disappointed in the overall experience. The only saving grace was our waitperson.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Anniversary weekend, food was excellent, a little pricey but tasted great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

the food was awesome . the staff so friendly and helpful. Dee Dee was fantastic!!! price was great for the value. highly recommend this place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We were a party of four, and everyone was happy with their meal. The service was friendly and

timely. All four of us would come again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Everything was delicious, drinks were good and our server, Maureen, was great. We always have a great meal at Turners.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Went on a Saturday night for a date. Our table was promptly ready, even though we were a few minutes late from our reservation time. Our server was knowledgeable about the menu and was honest about items that were and were not worth ordering. Everything we ordered was delicious. We found the lobster bisque to be very unique and not comparable to anywhere else.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We had a wonderful experience at Turner's Seafood. Food and service were wonderful.
It is a gem .

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Nice time over appetizers and wine. Great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We have always enjoyed our meals at Turner Seafood and this time was no different. Our waitress, Olivia was prompt , courteous and thorough. We will plan to return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

It was our first visit at Turner's. The service was great, and the food was delicious. Lots of classic seafood dishes, plenty of gluten free options, and the kid's menu made even my picky eater happy. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Just bad experience overall. Very few bright spots related to service, beginning with the hostess stand. Just unfriendly and acted like they were doing us a favor. Same with the bartenders. Our waiter was friendly, but appeared overwhelmed.
Halibut was dry, practically inedible. Dinner was brought to table without clearing salad plates.
Will not go back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Saturday evening dinner for four . Food was good, but the wait staff could either use more training or less tables to service. The waitress seemed confused when I ordered the special fish dish (Halibut). Not very attentive. Had to ask twice for bread/rolls. They finally arrived after were served our entrees. Needed refill on the water for the table (no waitress around).

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Birthday dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

We were in town overnight and wanted seafood. We made the right choice in coming to Turner’s. The atmosphere was very nice and the food was delicious . Our server was very attentive. I had the fish special which was swordfish that night and it was delicious . My only regret was we were full from dinner and didn’t have dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

The linguine and clams in white sauce was amazing. Service was a bit slow but the space was really lovely.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Had lunch at the bar, the bartender was wonderful - excellent service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

All six people in our group thoroughly enjoyed their meals and were still talking about it the next day. We all love oysters but the raw bar here was fantastic. They had clearly-marked gluten-free options and our waiter was fully versed in what GF means. The service was also great! We can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We had a delicious dinner. Ordered the lobster bisque, with extra meat and it was so good! Added a salad and it made a nice dinner. Drinks were good and so was service. We will definitely go back when our travels take us back to Salem.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great seafood and nice place. The food was superb nicely presented but still comfort food. The wait staff was friendly and competent. One of the managers stopped by each table to talk.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

I had the swordfish with onion jam, mashed cauliflower and sautéed spinach. The serving size of swordfish was generous. It was cooked perfectly and delicious. Husband ordered the scallop special with potatoes, spinach and sundried tomatoes. It was delicious with a generous number of scallops. Dessert was the apple crisp à la mode with a caramel sauce that hit the spot.

The waitstaff was very attentive and friendly. The building has so much rich history. Will definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We have always enjoyed your restaurant. We had taken out our Grandson for the evening.
We have had many family outings there and have always been happy with the meals as well
As your wonderful staff.
Maralyn Klibansky

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Turners in Salem, MA is one of our go-to restaurants. Carolina is our go-to waitress -- she is amazing at what she does.

We've never had a bad meal or bad service there, we love the food, and that's why we keep going back.

Our usuals: fried oysters, fish sandwich, risotto cakes, chowders

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Excellent food, our server was amazing and every detail was perfect. Will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

This has become our go-to restaurant after visiting the Peabody Essex Museum. The space is comfortable, the service is polished, and the food is delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

I found the restaurant in a Google search so took a chance. I had a fish/pasta dish that was outstanding, the best fish (pan fried haddock) entree that I can remember eating out. My sister ordered the shrimp scampi and she was also delighted.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The service was excellent. The food choices plentiful. One of the only places to find Finnan Haddie, which they do quite nicely. Great clam chowder. Prices are good for this quality for food. The only down side is that the noise level is overwhelmingly loud. Difficult to enjoy a nice conversation, which spoils the evening with friends.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
34

Tweets by Turner's Seafood - Salem