About Turner's Seafood - Salem

43 Church St
Salem, MA 01970
View Larger Map

Turner's operates on a requested seating list, so your name is on our list for tables estimated to open about the time of your request. Please check in with the host upon arrival and we do our best to seat you within 15 min and your party is complete.

Turner's Seafood at Lyceum Hall Salem is an authentic New England fish house in a beautifully restored historical location with a turn of the century oyster bar, classic full bar, fireplaces and more! From the docks to your plate, experience the most trusted name in New England seafood.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
7 days a week

Lunch: Sunday - Saturday 11:00 - 4:00

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 - 9:00
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 10:00

Fresh Fish Market Open Daily 10:00 am to close

Cross Street:
Washington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 745-7665

Website:
http://www.turners-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the public lot is free after 6 pm every day and on Sundays and Holidays

Public Transit:
Salem Depot Commuter Rail Train Station is located one block North of 43 Church Street

Executive Chef:
Yale Woodson

Private Party Facilities:
Decorated in a timeless New England style, our newly renovated second floor fills with natural light from large windows overlooking the beauty and grandeur of historic Salem. The venue features exposed brick, rustic wood floors and vaulted wood-beam ceilings. This historic landmark is a unique, private space – perfect for functions as varied as anniversary celebrations and rehearsal dinners to medical meetings and corporate events; achieve a successful dinner or social function complemented by authentic New England hospitality. Our Loft Room can accommodate up to 40 guests while The Ballroom can seat up to 80 guests for any special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Hirschfeld: (978) 745-7665

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Turner's Seafood - Salem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (52)
Casual (47)
Special Occasion (45)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Historic (37)
Bar Seating (36)
Worth the Drive (35)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Groups (30)
Authentic (30)
Fireplace (30)
Cozy (27)
Comfort Food (26)
Romantic (24)
Fun (24)
Local Ingredients (22)
Business Meals (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Healthy (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
People Watching (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Outstanding Value (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Great Beer (13)
Family Style (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Private Room (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Seasonal (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Live Sports (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
929 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was absolutely amazing!!! We ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was absolutely amazing!!! We will definitely be coming back to Turner's!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I get that valentine's day is a rough ni ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

I get that valentine's day is a rough night to be working, but when you're told there are no more mussels, and then see 2 tables next to you (seated after your ordered) being served those piles of steamed mussels you were dreaming of... I wonder was I lied to on purpose, or was my server lost and confused.

Everything else that we ordered was delicious and flavorful though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall a good experience on Valentine's ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall a good experience on Valentine's Day. Was in for an early reservation and was very disappointed in our table setting. Other more desirable tables available when we arrived and same tables were available when we left. Especially as we have dined there 5 times in last year would have expected something a little nicer. . Food was great, tasty, hot and served quickly. Waiter very pleasant but forgot our bread service and brought later in the meal when the timing was not appropriate. Will return agai.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

First time there. Very pleasurable expe ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

First time there. Very pleasurable experience. Everyone enjoyed their meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are looking for the total dining ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

If you are looking for the total dining experience this place is for you! The atmosphere is exquisitely casual, the service is perfect and the food will speak for itself.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious cuisine, great selection, exce ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Delicious cuisine, great selection, excellent service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always had a great meal at Turner ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I have always had a great meal at Turner's, whether it was lunch or dinner. It is a high end restaurant and the prices reflect that, but the atmosphere, service and food quality is very good and worth it for a treat.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding evening at Turner's! We wer ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Outstanding evening at Turner's! We were celebrating a birthday, and got a table in the back, where it was a bit quieter. We worried at first that we'd be forgotten back there, but no. We were welcomed and well attended to. Only complaints were: he table was not ready for our 7 p.m. reservation for four and we hads to wait; and second glasses of water and wine were a bit slow in coming—perhaps an inexperience waiter?—although food arrived very promptly. Otherwise, the service was good. The meals were all excellent, as we've come to expect from Turners. The hostess for the eve was especially wonderful, and checked in on us several tines during the meal. She could not have been nicer. Our waiter was funny and engaging and did a fair job, although passed by us several times without looking to see if waters or wines needed refilling (they both did). But the whole of the evening was great, and we'll be back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Organic, Fireplace,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food is always consistently good. Noise ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food is always consistently good. Noise level is high, so it can be difficult to hear. Service is good and not trying to get you in and out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a good dinner, good food and had ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We had a good dinner, good food and had enjoyable company. I don't like dishes being removed while others are still eating.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The cooking is poor and the dishes are c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The cooking is poor and the dishes are clumsy. My fish and chips batter wasn't cooked through enough for example.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was good but the hostess was terrib ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was good but the hostess was terrible and set the mood for the night. Our waiter was fantastic! I can't remember his name but he spoke with an accent and was just incredible and witty. The only reason we had a bad experience was the older woman who was the hostess was extremely rude. We had a reservation for 6 at 5PM. 2 of our party were running late. We were told we could not be seated until our full party arrives. So instead we waited outside in the cold. We found out from another couple that they had also been denied their reserved table because they were missing party members but eventually they were given their table because they convinced the hostess that they would buy an appetizer if they were seated. So we grew tired of waiting out in the cold and told a different hostess that we wanted to be seated or we would just go somewhere else. They sat us and everything else was ok. But that experience definitely ruined our time at Turners and we will never ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

This was my first time dining at Turner' ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was my first time dining at Turner's Seafood and I was quite impressed with the food quality. Although it is a tad expensive, there was sufficient food to take home for an additional meal. I also liked the historic atmosphere and the waitstaff were knowledgeable about the origins of the building. I would definitely visit again when I am in the area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had to go deep sea fishing in my $32.0 ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I had to go deep sea fishing in my $32.00 bowl of cioppino to find some fish...very skimpy, especially for the price...it was delicious, just could've used a little more fish and a little less peppers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Turners is one of our top five restauran ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Turners is one of our top five restaurants but I thought $45 was a little much for the lobster pie. The crumbs had too much butter and the lobster was tough. Would still go back but wouldn't reorder the lobster pie !

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

I really enjoy Turner's Seafood, and thi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I really enjoy Turner's Seafood, and this is my favorite of their locations. I think the food is top-notch, and the atmosphere isn't fussy.

Tags: Casual, Private Room, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

It was my birthday celebration!

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was my birthday celebration!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Did a very nice job redoing the restaura ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Did a very nice job redoing the restaurant. Keeping the old brick gave the restaurant a comfortable feeling. Service was very good & the food was excellent. Will be back soon !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It is hard to find a better seafood rest ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

It is hard to find a better seafood restaurant anywhere! We have been to Turners several times and each time I am thoroughly pleased with the food & service. We have had the lobster bisque, clam chowder, crab cakes, swordfish and the Gloucester stuffed sole. All were outstanding! This is a family owned business and owner comes by and asks you about your meal . The wait staff is friendly and really tries to please you. Hats off to such a fabulous chef!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice dining experience and food is ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Very nice dining experience and food is delicious. We as downtown residents are enjoying it a lot

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect night out with friends celebrati ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Perfect night out with friends celebrating an engagement! What the real bonus of the night was getting to see their upstairs event space! That my friends, is going to be absolutely perfect for our rehearsal dinner! And to really put the icing on the cake, they got awarded best place to host rehearsal dinners on the North Shore :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always good; nice presentation. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food is always good; nice presentation. We chose to sit at bar as it was more lively and we (2 sisters) were celebrating a birthday. Our bartenders/ servers were excellent. The stuffed filet of sole was lite and simply delicious. Creme brulee was the dessert of choice. An excellent evening had by all.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Historic, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just can't say enough about how wonderfu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Just can't say enough about how wonderful our dining experience was. Great food, wine, service and ambiance. We had dinner for a special family occasion and are so happy we chose Turners to celebrate it. Can't wait to come back! BTW, best chowder and shrimp scampi ever!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very knowledgeable about ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our server was very knowledgeable about the types of oysters which led to our enjoyment of a perfect dozen. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was very impressed by our whole experi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I was very impressed by our whole experience! It was even better than expected. They are incredibly allergy friendly. The service was spectacular. The food was really delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall impression: High quality seafood ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Overall impression: High quality seafood in a casual and upscale setting.

Servers are professional and attentive and the food is terrific. Make a reservation-- it's busy.

I had shrimp and my dining companion had the lobster pie-- both were great. Plenty of parking for a small fee in the lot across the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Solid spot for food, décor, ambiance. Di ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Solid spot for food, décor, ambiance. Did not like sitting next to serving station tho.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We have never been disappointed! The se ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We have never been disappointed! The seafood is so fresh and prepared perfectly. This is our number one seafood restaurant by far. Can't wait to go back, great food, great service and relaxed atmosphere...we want to try the entire menu!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Turners was a great pick for a birthday ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Turners was a great pick for a birthday dinner for my boyfriend. I mentioned that we were celebrating a birthday when I made the reservations. They granted my request for a table near the fireplace, and even gave him a free dessert. The food and service were both excellent. They have an extensive wine list with some nice, unexpected selections. My boyfriend is more of a beer drinker; he was pleased to see that they had Gloucester's Fisherman's Ale on tap.

We started with a sampler of local oysters from the raw bar. (Our favorite were the Nautilus Island - small and sweet.) For entrees, he had the fried clams, which were perfect. (He grew up on the North Shore, and is a seafood snob. He's very fussy about his clams. These got 2 thumbs up from him.) I had the finnan haddie, which was outstanding. The perfectly-seasoned cream sauce blended so well with the smoked haddock, which was smoked juuuust right - you could still taste the fresh fish, not a campfire. It was the perfect New England comfort food for a cold January night, made even cozier by the fireplace.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fireplace, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best seafood around and great drinks. S ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best seafood around and great drinks. Service is always excellent and the daily mussel special is always outstanding. Can't ever go wrong with Turner's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A true hidden gem. they have a very big ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A true hidden gem. they have a very big gluten free menu, Best lobster bisque you'll ever have. staff is always attentive.drinks are great, prices are so reasonable. we cant wait to go back

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always never had a bad experience at ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always never had a bad experience at Turners at Melrose or Salem. Great seafood and drinks.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food is consistently good. Service is fr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food is consistently good. Service is friendly. Traditional type seafood dominates the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Turner's for an early New Yea ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went to Turner's for an early New Year's Eve dinner, at 4:45pm. We made reservations on Open Table for 4 people and it was notes that when we arrived we might have to wait up to 15 min, but we got seated right away. We only had entrees (no appetizers or dessert/coffee) and a couple of glasses of wine, seltzer water, hot and iced tea. We had the sole, the crab cakes and two baked seafood platters. Everyone loved their food. Our bill came to $125. The service was attentive and quick. The restaurant is in the 1840-ties Lyceum building, with brick walls, giving it a warm cozy feel. The restaurant is in nice walking distance to CinemaSalem. There seemed to be some difficulties for people in wheel chairs and with canes to traverse the facility (tables close together, heavy bath room doors and small windy hallways and a step up at the front entrance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Wonderful NYE dinner! Great food -- grea ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful NYE dinner! Great food -- great service -- great evening! Only complaint -- change the music! It's 2017 not 1920 :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance at Turner's is great--so ma ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The ambiance at Turner's is great--so many different types of seating--booths, high-tops, bar, kitchen bar, tables, private, etc. Our server was possibly overworked or just tired, which is unusual for Turner's. Food is always good,but fish and chips were more like tempura than "lightly battered". Coconut shrimp appetizer was fantastic. Crab legs were also quite good. Other than the table almost in the middle of the floor, we had a nice dinner and will go back. They even have a reasonably-priced chardonnay ($5.50) that is quite good! THAT is unusual and very much appreciated!

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Historic, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food, although a little pricey. Hi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food, although a little pricey. Historic building added to the ambiance.

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Cozy, Casual, Historic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, wonderful seafood , lots ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great service, wonderful seafood , lots of choices in addition to seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was good but the service terrible. ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 27, 2016

food was good but the service terrible. a waiter with an attitude doesn't win points with me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Best seafood on the North Shore of Bosto ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Best seafood on the North Shore of Boston. Fun atmosphere. Great mussels special not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.