Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Turner's Seafood - Salem

Turner's operates on a requested seating list (NOT a traditional reservation). Your name is on our list for tables estimated to open about the time of your request. Please check in with the host upon arrival and we do our best to seat you within 15 min and your party is complete.

Turner's Seafood at Lyceum Hall Salem is an authentic New England fish house in a beautifully restored historical location with a turn of the century oyster bar, classic full bar, fireplaces and more! From the docks to your plate, experience the most trusted name in New England seafood.

43 Church St
Salem, MA 01970
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
7 days a week

Lunch: Sunday - Saturday 11:00 - 4:00

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 - 9:00
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 10:00

Fresh Fish Market Open Daily 10:00 am to close

Cross Street:
Washington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 745-7665

Website:
http://www.turners-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the public lot is free after 6 pm every day and on Sundays and Holidays

Public Transit:
Salem Depot Commuter Rail Train Station is located one block North of 43 Church Street

Executive Chef:
Yale Woodson

Private Party Facilities:
Decorated in a timeless New England style, our newly renovated second floor fills with natural light from large windows overlooking the beauty and grandeur of historic Salem. The venue features exposed brick, rustic wood floors and vaulted wood-beam ceilings. This historic landmark is a unique, private space – perfect for functions as varied as anniversary celebrations and rehearsal dinners to medical meetings and corporate events; achieve a successful dinner or social function complemented by authentic New England hospitality. Our Loft Room can accommodate up to 40 guests while The Ballroom can seat up to 80 guests for any special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Hirschfeld: (978) 745-7665

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Two beautifully restored private function spaces with fireplaces.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Treat Mom to a special seafood experience!

Turner's Seafood - Salem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (40)
Casual (38)
Special Occasion (35)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Bar Seating (32)
Fireplace (31)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Worth the Drive (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Romantic (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Historic (22)
Cozy (20)
Comfort Food (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Authentic (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Healthy (15)
Fun (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Business Meals (13)
Open Kitchen (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
People Watching (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great Beer (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Private Room (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (0)
Sort By:
S
948 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

All the seafood is outstanding! Super tasty, perfectly sized portions and very reasonable pricing. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service excellent, we are fans of the Melrose location, loved the Salem location. Definitely will return.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Business Meals, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food but for the first time ever the service wasn't good. Our waiter disappeared all night.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

This is our favorite restaurant. We go here every chance we get. They serve my favorite cocktail, the Golden Bulliet, and the lobster bisque is to die for. We are always given excellent service and we are always approached by a manager to see how our meal is and if we are having a good time. We always are. When our family comes to Boston, we always make a trip to Turners.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Food is always great but table service is always slow and a bit non-existent. Seems like the wait staff picks a table to focus their attention on if if that isn't your table, you're in trouble.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Healthy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Always good. A go to standard!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Amazing start to finish! Best place in Salem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We've had good luck on our visits here --great to combine a trip here with a visit to the Peabody Essex Museum a couple of blocks away--makes the serpentine route to Salem worth it. The salads are creative and tasty, and generously sized (if you're having anything else to eat , order a small salad). Lots of good fresh fish choices. Good drinks list as well. We'll be back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always great food at Turners. Never disappointed. This is one of our "go to": restaurants.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Definite must go for seafood. Efficient and very friendly staff and waitress.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent atmosphere for couples or groups of 4-5. Reasonably varied menu. Primarily known for excellent seafood while those that enjoy meat have many choices for chicken and/or beef. Pushing back from the table finds one pleasantly filled but not stuffed. A little pricey, but at least the meals are plentiful and very tasty. Waitstaff very friendly, quick and attentive. As usual Turner's remains on our "go to" venue.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food and great service. You must have the Clam Chowder and Lobster Bisque.
Oh yeah- it's haunted too

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Historic, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great as usual! Our waiter, Rafael was outstanding. You should definitely keep him😞

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Staff is very friendly. Food overall was pretty good. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We go to Turner's Seafood for our anniversary. The Finnan Haddy is excellent. Fresh oysters are so much fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 20, 2017

As always, perfectly cooked super fresh seafood served by a friendly, professional, attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Everything was absolutely amazing!!! We will definitely be coming back to Turner's!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food and atmosphere were both very good, within walking distance to the museums and shops, everyone had good meals and a lovely time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I get that valentine's day is a rough night to be working, but when you're told there are no more mussels, and then see 2 tables next to you (seated after your ordered) being served those piles of steamed mussels you were dreaming of... I wonder was I lied to on purpose, or was my server lost and confused.
Everything else that we ordered was delicious and flavorful though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love the place. Tuna, seafood stew, pastas always very good to excellent. One of our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Overall a good experience on Valentine's Day. Was in for an early reservation and was very disappointed in our table setting. Other more desirable tables available when we arrived and same tables were available when we left. Especially as we have dined there 5 times in last year would have expected something a little nicer. . Food was great, tasty, hot and served quickly. Waiter very pleasant but forgot our bread service and brought later in the meal when the timing was not appropriate. Will return agai.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Terrific place in Lyceum Hall in historic Salem. Fabulous food, attentive wait staff, you know where you don't notice the water has been refilled. Fireplaces, oyster bar, a real gem on the North Shore. Bewitching really!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

First time there. Very pleasurable experience. Everyone enjoyed their meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

If you are looking for the total dining experience this place is for you! The atmosphere is exquisitely casual, the service is perfect and the food will speak for itself.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Delicious cuisine, great selection, excellent service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I have always had a great meal at Turner's, whether it was lunch or dinner. It is a high end restaurant and the prices reflect that, but the atmosphere, service and food quality is very good and worth it for a treat.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Outstanding evening at Turner's! We were celebrating a birthday, and got a table in the back, where it was a bit quieter. We worried at first that we'd be forgotten back there, but no. We were welcomed and well attended to. Only complaints were: he table was not ready for our 7 p.m. reservation for four and we hads to wait; and second glasses of water and wine were a bit slow in coming—perhaps an inexperience waiter?—although food arrived very promptly. Otherwise, the service was good. The meals were all excellent, as we've come to expect from Turners. The hostess for the eve was especially wonderful, and checked in on us several tines during the meal. She could not have been nicer. Our waiter was funny and engaging and did a fair job, although passed by us several times without looking to see if waters or wines needed refilling (they both did). But the whole of the evening was great, and we'll be back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Organic, Fireplace, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food is always consistently good. Noise level is high, so it can be difficult to hear. Service is good and not trying to get you in and out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We had a good dinner, good food and had enjoyable company. I don't like dishes being removed while others are still eating.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The cooking is poor and the dishes are clumsy. My fish and chips batter wasn't cooked through enough for example.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was good but the hostess was terrible and set the mood for the night. Our waiter was fantastic! I can't remember his name but he spoke with an accent and was just incredible and witty. The only reason we had a bad experience was the older woman who was the hostess was extremely rude. We had a reservation for 6 at 5PM. 2 of our party were running late. We were told we could not be seated until our full party arrives. So instead we waited outside in the cold. We found out from another couple that they had also been denied their reserved table because they were missing party members but eventually they were given their table because they convinced the hostess that they would buy an appetizer if they were seated. So we grew tired of waiting out in the cold and told a different hostess that we wanted to be seated or we would just go somewhere else. They sat us and everything else was ok. But that experience definitely ruined our time at Turners and we will never ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was my first time dining at Turner's Seafood and I was quite impressed with the food quality. Although it is a tad expensive, there was sufficient food to take home for an additional meal. I also liked the historic atmosphere and the waitstaff were knowledgeable about the origins of the building. I would definitely visit again when I am in the area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I had to go deep sea fishing in my $32.00 bowl of cioppino to find some fish...very skimpy, especially for the price...it was delicious, just could've used a little more fish and a little less peppers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Turners is one of our top five restaurants but I thought $45 was a little much for the lobster pie. The crumbs had too much butter and the lobster was tough. Would still go back but wouldn't reorder the lobster pie !

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I really enjoy Turner's Seafood, and this is my favorite of their locations. I think the food is top-notch, and the atmosphere isn't fussy.

Tags: Casual, Private Room, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was my birthday celebration!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Did a very nice job redoing the restaurant. Keeping the old brick gave the restaurant a comfortable feeling. Service was very good & the food was excellent. Will be back soon !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

It is hard to find a better seafood restaurant anywhere! We have been to Turners several times and each time I am thoroughly pleased with the food & service. We have had the lobster bisque, clam chowder, crab cakes, swordfish and the Gloucester stuffed sole. All were outstanding! This is a family owned business and owner comes by and asks you about your meal . The wait staff is friendly and really tries to please you. Hats off to such a fabulous chef!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Very nice dining experience and food is delicious. We as downtown residents are enjoying it a lot

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Perfect night out with friends celebrating an engagement! What the real bonus of the night was getting to see their upstairs event space! That my friends, is going to be absolutely perfect for our rehearsal dinner! And to really put the icing on the cake, they got awarded best place to host rehearsal dinners on the North Shore :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.