Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Turner's Seafood - Salem

Turner's operates on a requested seating list (NOT a traditional reservation). Your name is on our list for tables estimated to open about the time of your request. Please check in with the host upon arrival and we do our best to seat you within 15 min and your party is complete.

Turner's Seafood at Lyceum Hall Salem is an authentic New England fish house in a beautifully restored historical location with a turn of the century oyster bar, classic full bar, fireplaces and more! From the docks to your plate, experience the most trusted name in New England seafood.

43 Church St
Salem, MA 01970
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
7 days a week

Lunch: Sunday - Saturday 11:00 - 4:00

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 - 9:00
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 10:00

Fresh Fish Market Open Daily 10:00 am to close

Cross Street:
Washington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 745-7665

Website:
http://www.turners-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the public lot is free after 6 pm every day and on Sundays and Holidays

Public Transit:
Salem Depot Commuter Rail Train Station is located one block North of 43 Church Street

Executive Chef:
Yale Woodson

Private Party Facilities:
Decorated in a timeless New England style, our newly renovated second floor fills with natural light from large windows overlooking the beauty and grandeur of historic Salem. The venue features exposed brick, rustic wood floors and vaulted wood-beam ceilings. This historic landmark is a unique, private space – perfect for functions as varied as anniversary celebrations and rehearsal dinners to medical meetings and corporate events; achieve a successful dinner or social function complemented by authentic New England hospitality. Our Loft Room can accommodate up to 40 guests while The Ballroom can seat up to 80 guests for any special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Hirschfeld: (978) 745-7665

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Two beautifully restored private function spaces with fireplaces.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Treat Mom to a special seafood experience!

Turner's Seafood - Salem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (40)
Good for a Date (40)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
See All
Special Occasion (36)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Bar Seating (33)
Fireplace (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Historic (27)
Good for Groups (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Romantic (22)
Cozy (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Authentic (19)
Fun (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Business Meals (15)
Healthy (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
People Watching (11)
Great Beer (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Private Room (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
 (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (0)
Sort By:
S
967 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 13 hours ago

It's fantastic!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Brought my son for his birthday at his recommendation. Food was good, if not a little overpriced. I don't know if I would return, because there really wasn't anything exceptional that would inspire me to return. There was nothing above and beyond, and what we got we paid a good price for.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server John was the best!!! The food was amazing!! The portions are huge. Definitely had a great birthday dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Awesome mussels!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great food excellent service all you want in seafood in a cozy atmosphere! Loved it

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I have been to Turners 6-7 times now and every time I spend a meal there I am reminded why I continue to go back. We did go on a slightly busier night and our server was struggling to greet our table, so the event coordinator took over without asking any questions. He was diligent, polite and made our anniversary great by being efficient, fun and charismatic without crossing the boundaries of intrusive behavior. The food was excellent and the timing for the courses was perfectly executed (how I judge a wait staff in conjunction with their kitchen). This is our favorite restaurant since moving to MA in 2014. Having worked in fine casual dining in Annapolis MD for 9 years before moving to MA I can tell you, Turner's is an exceptional place to enjoy a meal with loved ones. #BAKEDSTUFFEDLOBSTERorGTFO

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Historic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Came on a Sunday night for mother's birthday as she loves the Turner's in Melrose but this one is closer to her home. We made a reservation for 6 but came at 530 and were seated right away in a booth looking out at the street. Really nice ambience and very comfortable climate considering it was almost 70° outside. Our waiter (I am so sorry but I forget his name) was an older gentleman who was very energetic, friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. We ordered the crab cake, 6 special oysters, and the fried spicy Judith calimari. Out waiter brought out some tasty corn bread and rolls to start off with. The appetizers were amazing; oysters were fresh and delicious, crab cake was incredible (as was the sauce and salad the came with it) and then there was the calimari... We all took one bite and went "WOW". Not chewy, melt in your mouth, perfectly spicy and saucy friend calimari. The best my mother had ever had and she has eaten a lot of calimari in her life. Our main dishes were equally fantastic, my brother could not stop raving about his baked stuffed shrimp, my fish and chips was flaky, light, and crispy, my partners tuna was light and fresh, and my mother ate her linguini and white clam sauce with a huge smile on her face. Portions were perfect as well. For dessert, we shared the Samoa (the girlscout cookie) cheesecake. Holy moly. So rich and flavorful, covered in coconut and caramel sauce. Way too much for one person after that meal but was perfect for the four of us to share as a little sweetness. After we left, my mother said that all around that was the best meal she had ever had and we all agreed that there was nothing bad to be said. Thank you Turner's for making my mother's birthday so special.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We went to Turner's for my mother-in-law's 75th birthday dinner. We were first sat at a high-top table and we asked for a regular table because my mother-in-law would've had trouble getting up into the seat. They had no problem moving us and our waitress served our table even though we were now out of her section. Her and my mother-in-law hit it off right away and our waitress wanted to serve us. She was fantastic and funny. The seafood was fresh and everyone enjoyed their meals, even my teenage nephew who doesn't like seafood. They have other choices besides seafood. Even though we were all full we still got dessert. Ironically we all ordered a creme brullee and loved every bite. The waitress didn't charge us for two of the desserts because it was my mother-in-law's birthday and for the table situation. We all can't wait to go back this summer!

Tags: Historic, , , Authentic, , , , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This was one of the best meals I have had around Boston! The Lobster Bisque was the best I have ever had. It did not have a strong Sherry taste at all. The raw Oysters were perfect. The fried clam and lobster rolls were great. My companions had the Hake Marsala and salmon as well and were equally impressed. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I had the sea scallops with Cole slaw. Scallops were very fresh and Cole slaw best I've ever eaten. Draft beer was perfectly cold temperature.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great, organized seating system involving fabulous bar service. Waiting Staff was also very organized and beyond friendly. Not one part of this meal was flawed, and we left feeling beyond satisfied. We are already talking about venturing back 7 hours strictly because of this experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Scenic View, Casual, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My birthday happened to fall on a Saturday while my wife and I were traveling for work. We managed to gather a few old and new friends together and had reserved a table at Turner's. I wanted seafood and some local flair and we got that and so much more. The service was excellent (thank you to Jack!), the food was incredible (best scallops in my memory) and I highly recommend this restaurant.

Definitely set up a reservation (they have phone-ahead only but it worked just like a reservation for us) as they were very busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Went on a date and this was not a first date...been together for 5+ months and we are total foodies! We were both looking forward to our past "Turners Experince" but it don't live up to expectations- here's why (surprised): although DELICIOUS
- we got the special seafood (FISH)chowder and they delivered the wrong dish(size), BTW don't eat it with the chips! The chowder itself is amazing, over-salted, but amazing! The chips take away from the umami/sense/feel of the dish
- the calamari was boring and needs some type of dip and/or CRUNCH,
-the clams casino were ok (had much better at a local upscale restaurant in Danvers) and the
- Brussel sprouts with bacon were great, but the size was so small...hmmm. I loved my experience at Turners in Melrose and ordered completely different dishes.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We were seated immediately, even though traffic had made us 20 minutes late for our reservation. Our server was pleasant and helpful, knew the menu and offered suggestions. Each dish we ordered was delicious - some of the best steamed mussels ever. Only complaint was a drink that was made incorrectly, and then fixed incorrectly ... but other than that one snag (and they fixed it, and finally got it right) it was a perfect dinner.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We had taken the train to Salem and visited the Peabody Essex Museum prior to going to Turner's. We were early for our "seating list" (not a "traditional reservation" according to the restaurant) so we went to the bar after checking with the host. While the bar was full the restaurant's tables were virtually empty. We took a table, had a cocktail and ordered our meal. We both chose the filet which was well presented and delicious served with carrots and mashed potatoes. A reliably good meal as usual.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We has a nice table by the gas fireplace and great, attentive service from a waiter with a sense of humor. Food was good, not exceptional, specializing in fish & seafood. For example, the Haddock Picatta was a nice variation on this lemony theme, but better with plain white rice than the chewy linguini. Our fav dessert was the fresh Key Lime Pie.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Had an amazing time. Service was impecable, they were accomodating to my 2 year old and very courteous throughout our experience. The value cannot be beat, quality is amazing. We had a great server. Just all around amazing. The Pear Sidecars are delicious!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Historic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Went to celebrate my son'S 29th birthday with him and his fiancé. We had a bit if everything and it was all fantastic. One of the best seafood dinners ever!

Tags: Fun, Historic, Cozy, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Romantic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is the second time I've dined at Turner Seafoods, both time the service and the food was great! I will be back!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Business Meals, Historic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 21, 2017

All the seafood is outstanding! Super tasty, perfectly sized portions and very reasonable pricing. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food and service excellent, we are fans of the Melrose location, loved the Salem location. Definitely will return.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Business Meals, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food but for the first time ever the service wasn't good. Our waiter disappeared all night.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant. We go here every chance we get. They serve my favorite cocktail, the Golden Bulliet, and the lobster bisque is to die for. We are always given excellent service and we are always approached by a manager to see how our meal is and if we are having a good time. We always are. When our family comes to Boston, we always make a trip to Turners.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food is always great but table service is always slow and a bit non-existent. Seems like the wait staff picks a table to focus their attention on if if that isn't your table, you're in trouble.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Healthy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Always good. A go to standard!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Amazing start to finish! Best place in Salem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We've had good luck on our visits here --great to combine a trip here with a visit to the Peabody Essex Museum a couple of blocks away--makes the serpentine route to Salem worth it. The salads are creative and tasty, and generously sized (if you're having anything else to eat , order a small salad). Lots of good fresh fish choices. Good drinks list as well. We'll be back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fireplace
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always great food at Turners. Never disappointed. This is one of our "go to": restaurants.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Definite must go for seafood. Efficient and very friendly staff and waitress.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent atmosphere for couples or groups of 4-5. Reasonably varied menu. Primarily known for excellent seafood while those that enjoy meat have many choices for chicken and/or beef. Pushing back from the table finds one pleasantly filled but not stuffed. A little pricey, but at least the meals are plentiful and very tasty. Waitstaff very friendly, quick and attentive. As usual Turner's remains on our "go to" venue.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food and great service. You must have the Clam Chowder and Lobster Bisque.
Oh yeah- it's haunted too

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Historic, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great as usual! Our waiter, Rafael was outstanding. You should definitely keep him😞

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Staff is very friendly. Food overall was pretty good. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We go to Turner's Seafood for our anniversary. The Finnan Haddy is excellent. Fresh oysters are so much fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 20, 2017

As always, perfectly cooked super fresh seafood served by a friendly, professional, attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Everything was absolutely amazing!!! We will definitely be coming back to Turner's!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food and atmosphere were both very good, within walking distance to the museums and shops, everyone had good meals and a lovely time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I get that valentine's day is a rough night to be working, but when you're told there are no more mussels, and then see 2 tables next to you (seated after your ordered) being served those piles of steamed mussels you were dreaming of... I wonder was I lied to on purpose, or was my server lost and confused.
Everything else that we ordered was delicious and flavorful though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love the place. Tuna, seafood stew, pastas always very good to excellent. One of our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Overall a good experience on Valentine's Day. Was in for an early reservation and was very disappointed in our table setting. Other more desirable tables available when we arrived and same tables were available when we left. Especially as we have dined there 5 times in last year would have expected something a little nicer. . Food was great, tasty, hot and served quickly. Waiter very pleasant but forgot our bread service and brought later in the meal when the timing was not appropriate. Will return agai.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.