About Turner's Seafood - Salem

43 Church St
Salem, MA 01970
View Larger Map

Turner's Seafood at Lyceum Hall Salem is an authentic New England fish house in a beautifully restored historical location with a turn of the century oyster bar, classic full bar, fireplaces and more! From the docks to your plate, experience the most trusted name in New England seafood.


Turner's operates on a requested seating list, so your name is on our list for tables estimated to open about the time of your request. Please check in with the host upon arrival and we do our best to seat you within 15 min.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
7 days a week

Lunch: Sunday - Saturday 11:00 - 4:00

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:00 - 9:00
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 4:00 - 10:00

Fresh Fish Market Open Daily 10:00 am to close

Cross Street:
Washington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 745-7665

Website:
http://www.turners-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in the public lot is free after 6 pm every day and on Sundays and Holidays

Public Transit:
Salem Depot Commuter Rail Train Station is located one block North of 43 Church Street

Executive Chef:
Yale Woodson

Private Party Facilities:
Decorated in a timeless New England style, our newly renovated second floor fills with natural light from large windows overlooking the beauty and grandeur of historic Salem. The venue features exposed brick, rustic wood floors and vaulted wood-beam ceilings. This historic landmark is a unique, private space – perfect for functions as varied as anniversary celebrations and rehearsal dinners to medical meetings and corporate events; achieve a successful dinner or social function complemented by authentic New England hospitality. Our Loft Room can accommodate up to 40 guests while The Ballroom can seat up to 80 guests for any special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Hirschfeld: 978-745-7665x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Turner's Seafood - Salem
Turner's Seafood - Salem

Turner's Seafood - Salem Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Salem, Massachusetts ›

Special Occasion (91)
Neighborhood Gem (89)
Fit for Foodies (87)
See All
Good for Groups (55)
Great for Lunch (46)
Romantic (38)
Vibrant Bar Scene (37)
Hot Spot (29)
Kid-friendly (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Bar Seating (11)
Authentic (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Historic (11)
Casual (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Business Meals (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Seasonal (5)
Fun (5)
Cozy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fireplace (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
753 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been to Turner's several times si ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I have been to Turner's several times since it opened. We always have a great meal there. I opted for the summer swordfish. Very good. My husband got a steak. He ordered medium rare, and it arrived very rare. He is not a complainer, so he didn't send it back. Nonetheless, we would still return to Turner's. The salads were also very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant in a historic build ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant in a historic building, excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent fresh seafood! Great service ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent fresh seafood! Great service too. Our first choice for seafood on the Northshore of Boston!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from our waitress!! The fo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great service from our waitress!! The food was really good. We had the shrimp scampi and the fish and chips. Also, the lobster bisque was the best we've had very creamy and light.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and reasonable va ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food was excellent and reasonable value. Service was slow - the staff was pleasant but it took a long time for the meal to arrive even though it wasn't that busy. I'd still go back and hope for a better experience with the service.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great seafood at good price. Very accomm ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great seafood at good price. Very accommodating . Tuna nachos are to die for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

For second time in a row, good food marr ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

For second time in a row, good food marred by horrible service. Within 3 weeks, we went with a friend to Turners for a quick bite. The ambiance is nice, we love the tuna sushi appetizer and/or main course. The fish chowder is light and flavorful. Their specials are usually quite interesting.

BUT the service has been horrible. In the first visit, the waitperson took forever to get our drink order and 5 minutes later forgot what one us ordered. One person ordered a soup and an appetizer to be served with the main courses. Unfortunately, they were brought out together before the mains, and made the person uncomfortable, as the rest of us only had mains. The final indignity was that our guest's drink was horrible. We all took a sip and agreed. The waitperson took it away and never asked about it.

Just when you thought it couldn't be worse, the waitperson last week had no training. He constantly reached across people's faces, brought the wrong food, kept asking if we were done 3 times while we were clearly still eating, and forgot 2 of the drinks. There's more but why bother.

Turners, please train people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Outstanding Birthday Dinner (Surf & Turf ...

 
 (Acapulco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Outstanding Birthday Dinner (Surf & Turf) with a Fine 2011 Krug Napa Valley Merlot! The Fresh Oysters on the Half Shell were Fantastic Start! September is their Oyster Fest!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Historic, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Set up a reservation for our 2 year anni ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Set up a reservation for our 2 year anniversary dinner. Wanted to do some authentic seafood and the quality and price did not disappoint. My girlfriend and I had a lovely evening here and will come back again as we love the whole atmosphere of Salem.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Seasonal, Casual, Historic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went there the first nite and had outsta ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Went there the first nite and had outstanding mussels and oysters. They had no issue subbing ingredients too to accommodate me. Food was so good, I came back 3 nites in a row. I highly recommend the linguini and clams.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place and great food. The only rea ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great place and great food. The only real downside was that it was a bit loud. But the food, décor, lighting, and service was more than enough to make this a place to come back to or recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good was excellent and service was outst ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good was excellent and service was outstanding! Great ambiance !

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We dine at Turner's at least weekly and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We dine at Turner's at least weekly and it is always great! The food is fresh, delicious and the atmosphere always welcoming!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decent seafood. Nothing more, nothing le ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Decent seafood. Nothing more, nothing less. If you grade the restaurants on the north shore on a scale, then Turners ranks right up there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We was in town on vacation and decided t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We was in town on vacation and decided to eat there because of the trip advisor reviews. It did not disappoint as the food was delicious. I had the fried seafood platter and the wife had the fried shrimp dinner. Eat here if your into seafood, it will not dissapoint

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought our laptops and got a lot done b ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Brought our laptops and got a lot done between amazing courses!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time I've been there ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

This is the second time I've been there and both times had mediocre service. For a nice restaurant, the service should be much more professional. The food is good, ambiance very nice, and location great. But I hesitate to continue bringing out of town guests there because of the disappointing service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Wonderful lobster bisque, very good fish ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Wonderful lobster bisque, very good fish. Too much food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Throughout the Menu there are lots of ve ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Throughout the Menu there are lots of very great tasting food. Everyone tasted everything to get the full experience of the menu. The tuna nachos are unique, exquisite and very Japanese tasty. The lobster bisque is in a class by itself - almost like a creamy, lobstery foam. Stuffed clams are cherrystone size and fabulous. The stuffed shrimp and bouliabse are the best ever tasted, even including many of the great seafood restaurants in Boston. Shrimp and grits are great; but, today they were a bit overshadowed by the other dishes we had. Parking is a cinch given the huge meter parking lot across the street. Staff from hostess to servers are very friendly, engaging and understand the menu very well.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual, Authentic, Historic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently delicious. Excellent select ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Consistently delicious. Excellent selection and the menu changes! I love new options, menus that never change are so boring.

Well done Turner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent clam chowder. The waitress was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Excellent clam chowder.

The waitress was very professional and welcoming.

Our dinner was fantastic. Great location.Found the noise level a bit too loud.

Would certainly return again when visiting Salem!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a pleasant surprise. We live in Sa ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

What a pleasant surprise. We live in Salem and hadn't really been here to eat since it changed to Turner's. We went for my son's last night before school started. We all loved our meals and found many other things on the menu we would try. We all had a form of tuna (me the sashimi, my husband the panko crusted yellow tail, and my son the tuna burger). They were all fresh, well prepared and more than we could eat. The prices are reasoanble for seafood and the staff were helpful and friendly. They also have a good drink list. We will most definitely be back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were told the lobster bisque was not ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were told the lobster bisque was not to be missed. That was an understatement, it was outstanding. There were chunks of lobster with a sweet creamy taste & texture. One bowl is just not enough but you need to leave room for what ever fish you choose to order. I had the halibut which was moist flavorful & just delicious. The server was pleasant, & knowledgeable. We had a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were a party of four with a reservati ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were a party of four with a reservation and showed up a little early but were quickly shown to a table. Service was prompt, friendly and helpful. The food was interesting, delicious and attractively plated. The wine list had a good number of reasonably priced wines, and the bottle we chose proved to be an excellent companion with out meal. The whole experience was delightful. It's certainly a restaurant deserving of a repeat visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent fish, as usual. Appetizers ta ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent fish, as usual. Appetizers tasty, service was great, and a very enjoyable dining experience. I always enjoy dining at Turner's Seafood in Salem because I come away remarking how fresh the fish is. Definitely Five Stars.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the last meal of our vacation @ ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had the last meal of our vacation @ Turner's and it could not have been more delicious! The service was excellent and the drinks and food were spectacular. We had a lobster cocktail, lobster bisque, Finnan Haddie(smoked Haddock in pearl onion cream sauce), a halibut special, cherrystones on the half shell, and great bread. We returned later for drinks and desserts. All excellent. We needed to make a walking tour and the staff were very accommodating in getting us out in time without rushing us. We were a party of 5 young and old adults from Colorado and had a nice round table in the corner. Turners is in a wonderful historical building and that just added to the atmosphere and experience. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Seasonal, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Prices reasonabl ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food and service. Prices reasonable as well. Great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything as usual was perfect. The foo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything as usual was perfect. The food was outstanding. The service was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love it at Turners- never disappointe ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We love it at Turners- never disappointed the food is piping hot and always delicious! Servers pleasant, personable, and attentive. Cost a little higher than r dry day our to supper but large portions and delicious recipes make the cost very reasonable.

A++ rating

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was top notch. We ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food and service was top notch. We had some vey picky diners in our group and we all were more than happy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We go to Turner's often and will return. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We go to Turner's often and will return. The food is excellent and the atmosphere, while a bit noisy when busy, is pleasant and clean. The last two times we have gone, there were not enough servers. It was clear that they were understaffed, which caused some wait. Other workers, such as hosts and managers, worked hard to make sure customers were doing well despite the waits. We will definitely return, but we do hope that more servers will be hired!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoyed dinner for five celebrating o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We enjoyed dinner for five celebrating our birthday. The food and service were excellent and our only complaint was the noise level. The places was crowded and the people were energetic, but our table near the bar subjected us to it all. We'll go back again for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It's an eatery pretending to be a restau ...

vip
·Dined on August 17, 2016

It's an eatery pretending to be a restaurant. Bad cooking. Sticky tables. Slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

the food was very good. the service was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

the food was very good. the service was what really lacked. the service was slow and the waiter didn't seem to know the menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We went to this restaurant because it ap ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went to this restaurant because it appeared on a several travel lists as the best seafood restaurant in Salem and unfortunately, it did not live up to the hype. The food was adequate, but not exceptional, and considering the time of night, the service was quite slow. Drinks were expensive for what was served, and I thought the clams were sloppily shucked--I had several bits of shell in mine. The lobster was strangely bland for it being the height of lobster season--we had lobster the night before and the night after at different places, prepared in a similar manner, that were much better. The manager (?) for the evening was the highlight of our visit, however--friendly and a good storyteller. If our food experience had matched his personality, we probably would have had a better time. Maybe they had an off night, but I don't think I'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Busy Saturday night impacted service and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Busy Saturday night impacted service and noise. Really good lobster bisque. Prices are very reasonable.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was great! Lobster bisque and clam ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was great! Lobster bisque and clam chowder was amazing. I would definitely recommend the stuffed lobster!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Turners is one of of top 3 favorite plac ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Turners is one of of top 3 favorite places to eat. The freshness of the seafood, highly professional service, awesome decor and value for the dollar make it unbeatable. We had some chowder, Haddock Piccatta, Tuna Sashimi,raw oysters and cherry pepper calamari appetizers. The wine list is great although we just had cocktails on this visit. The Lyceum is a beautiful space and the Turners have done a great job of freshening it up while maintaining the old charm. Special tip: If you are on jury duty in Salem, Turner's is about 200 yds from the courthouse and the perfect place for lunch.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always great here and it's c ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food is always great here and it's convenient to our house, so we love it. However, the reason I routinely go back is the service. My dad is hard of hearing and both times that I've taken him there, the servers have noticed and made an effort to accommodate him without making it obvious. The most recent occasion we arrived later than we planned and I felt badly about bothering a server at 9pm on a Friday when she was probably nearly done with her shift. She was SO GOOD. Probably the best server I've had, and we eat at restaurants pretty frequently - kind, patient, personable, friendly, funny, prompt, made wonderful recommendations and we could not have been happier with her service. I hope management sees this review (Friday 8/12 at 9pm or so- we sat in a booth along the windows at the front of the restaurant). The bartender was so quick & accommodating while we waited for our table, and the manager also always drops by to be sure everything is good. The restaurant really seems to appreciate your business. The only notable exception is the hostess staff - they seem out to lunch (no pun intended) and it's always a bit confusing to check in, but apart from that small complaint, Turner's is one of our favorite spots. We will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great lunch. Menu is terrific w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had a great lunch. Menu is terrific with lots of good choices. Food, as usual, was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.