Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

Turn 12 Bar And Grill

4.3
157 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Fun
Turn 12 Bar and Grill waved the green flag on October 1, 2013. The modern and sporty decor surround a spectacular 50 foot custom zinc bar top with tire tread inlay. Vintage motorcycles, historic racing artwork, and multiple televisions capture your attention upon entering. With a menu that serves a little of everything, from steaks and pasta, to pizza, burgers and salads Turn 12 is a casual American Bar and Grill with something for everyone.


The name Turn 12 is related to the famous Laguna Seca Raceway that has 11 turns and meant to invite guests to visit us at the corner of Tyler and Franklin as the last turn of the day.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday-Friday Lunches 11:30-4:00 p.m. Dinner 4:00-10:00 p.m.
Late night menu 10:00-12:00 a.m.

Saturday-Sunday Brunch 10:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m. Lunch 11:30-4:00 p.m. Dinner 4:00-10:00p.m. Late night menu 10:00-12:00 a.m.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(831) 372-8876
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Miguel Cuevas
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Franklin St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There are two parking garages across the street.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music every Saturday night and select Fridays.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch
What 157 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.1
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on June 11, 2018

We took some visiting friends from the Philippines and all of us enjoyed the widely varied menu and the food. Two of us had the BBQ ribs and they were superb, flavorful and nice and meaty. A pizza was equally good and my wife enjoyed the lobster bisque. We will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Thanks for a fun and delicious !! Meal.... We loved it and will be back... Super Sweet staff to sing happy birthday to our Niece who was celebrating her 12th birthday... !!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We showed up a little early for our reservation so didn’t mind waiting a little bit for a table but after we were seated we did not see a waiter for 30 minutes. I stopped the bar manager or owner and he said he would get a server right over. The server walked past with a plate full of drinks saying he’d be right back. We waited for 5 more minutes which during that time the same waiter went to the table adjacent to ours and said, “you all haven’t gotten your food yet? I’ll go check on it.” That was our sign to leave, which we took. We found a much busier place around the corner called The Crown and Anchor and was seated right away, served right away and had an amazing dinner with unbelievable service! We highly recommend The Crown and Anchor!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Staff was amazing! We made reservations for our after wedding dinner. Food, drinks, dessert and service were outstanding.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 5, 2018

I ordered a warm goat cheese/beet salad and a hamburger. I was surprised that they were both served at the same time. It was impossible to enjoy both warm. The salad included a nice blend of vegetables and fruit, but it was disconcerting to find the entire core to the head of red cabbage in it. The havarti burger was good, but it also contained tomatoes with the core. My husband had a rack of lamb and said it was very good. The waitress never refilled our water glasses and pretty much ignored us once she took our order. Somebody else served the meals and cleared the dishes.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The service was impeccable, maybe owing to our early arrival and therefore relatively light customer load, but our server was very attentive without being overbearing, made recommendations and jokes. He dealt well with our son who is a picky eater and left the sour cream and croutons of the tomato soup and served the meatballs for the spaghetti on the side. We also showed up about 45 minutes before our reservation and were still seated immediately. Non-alcoholic drinks and desserts are not listed on the menu which was slightly annoying. But overall the food was what you would expect. My Roy Rogers was constantly refilled which is not something you find at every restaurant. The Mac & Cheese appetizer was very good. It comes with bacon, was hot and very creamy and tasty. It also comes with a sizable side of garlic bread and can qualify as a meal of its own. The tomato soup was also tasty. The spaghetti did not quite meet the high standards but were still mostly eaten. The Havarti burger with bacon was good, nothing special but also not bad. It comes with a side of their truffle fries which are truly yummy. We also ordered baby back ribs which were cooked well but tasted only OK. Overall this was reasonably priced comfort food, good for kids or bigger parties (such as a birthday if you can't or don't want to spend a lot of money), good if you want to grab a drink with a friend or a few friends and the food serves more to absorb the alcohol, or if you just need a quick bite to eat.

mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Very good food that is reasonably priced

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Turn 12 offers a full section of delicious dishes. My friend had the salmon and I enjoyed a chicken salad. Both fresh and well prepared and served. On each visit I enjoy the motoring themed environs, but they have the kitchen to make it more than a theme restaurant where you'll come back frequently for some of the best lunches and dinners in Monterey.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

A great new find for us in Monterey! We were going to a concert at the Golden State Theatre and wanted a place close by for dinner. As it turned out the restaurant is basically right behind the Theatre so it was an idea pre-concert dinner location! Will definately go again!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

We arrived at the restaurant for lunch later than we planned to & didn't think we would have time to eat & get to our 12:30 appointment. The server, who was very friendly & efficient, assured us that we would have time to eat - and she made it happen. We both had burgers, which were very good. We chose green salads for our side dish & it was great that they were served first, not with the burger. The restaurant wasn't crowded so it was quiet when we were there but I imagine that it would be very noisy when it is busy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Everything was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The bison burger was amazing a must have so juicy and full of flavor

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

I absolutely LOVE the fresh goat cheese salad with tenderloin added to it. It's worth a special trip into town just for that. Good selection of beers. Cool decor with vintage racing gear. The variety on the menu makes it a great place for a larger group too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Great live music! Fun atmosphere. Priced appropriately. Would definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Good atmosphere. Great music. I enjoyed eating and listening to really talented musicians. I appreciate the opportunity.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Everyone was good. Just the server was not attentive at all

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Definitely coming back! We had a last minute reservation for a party of 8, for my nieces 12th Birthday. She loved turning 12, at Turn 12 she had the Turn 12 pizza! They were able to get us in with a great table. The server was wonderful, the food was excellent (as usual). The birthday girl couldn’t have been happier. THANK YOU Turn 12 the whole family was happy!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Fun spot with nice menu - good burgers. Lots to look at on the walls too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

We have our favorite dishes here and they never disappoint!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Everything was great!! I love the food and service! I will be back. 😃

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Best sand dabs ever. We sat in the back and it was quiet.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 1, 2018

Waited 10 minutes after seated for someone to come to the table. No body came to refill the water glasses. Asked for dessert menu and took over 5 minutes to get it and then 10 minutes for someone to check what we wanted to order. We ended up not ordering dessert and left. Food was fine and waiter was friendly, just need training on promptness of service as it was not busy when we got there.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Despit we had a reservation, the restaurant host put my family in the bar area next to the door. I told the host my husband was sick and we preferred not to sit in this area. However, th host insisted the restaurant was booked and could not move us. On the other hand, I saw the host continued to take other customers into the restaurant inside. Therefore, I decided to check out myself and found plenty space inside the restaurant. Is there a race discrimination against Alain in this restaurant? I will never take my family to this restaurant ever again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 30, 2017

I wanted to love this restaurant because of the location (downtown Monterey) and theme (Laguna Seca and auto racing) and extensive menu. Perhaps it was an off night in terms of getting the regular wait and kitchen staff....perhaps not? The hostess and manager very kindly got us a table when we arrived early for our dinner reservation. That was the best part of the evening. Our waiter was harried and inattentive. The dinner entree of Clams and Linguini was mediocre and did not arrive as described in the menu. Another waitress took care of that because our waiter was nowhere and did not check back after we were served. Two other dinner entrees were satisfactory but did not deliver in terms of taste and presentation. We will give the restaurant another visit and hopefully service and food quality will be better.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 26, 2017

Some dishes were good (lobster corn chowder, salmon) others did not come as ordered, and kids pizza was burnt on bottom. Entrees took an incredibly long time to come to table. Other guests came in after we had ordered, ordered their meals, and were served their food first. Waiter would not admit anything was wrong, but we waited 35 minutes for a kids meal to get to table, then it came burnt. Service was lacking and we only saw our waiter a total of 3 times the whole service. Disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

We love this restaurant. We just had dinner there with ten family members. The food is very good, and our server, Katie, was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 9, 2017

The menu is great with lots of choices and the dishes all looked great. Unfortunately, the service did not match the options. The service was very rough and our waiter answered all of our requests with "no problem"....which we found to be a problem. Also, depending on where you sit, you will have a different experience. The main area of the restaurant is vibrant while the back area is somewhat dark and quiet.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 2, 2017

Food was great and our waitress was very good. The only issue was a manager who got upset when we asked if they could change the game on the tv in front of our table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 2, 2017

Turn 12 serves good food and has an impressive variety of craft beers. I was impressed by the speed of the service on a busy Saturday night. My salmon entrée was perfectly cooked. Donald provided attentive service and was helped me with my beer selection.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Good meal. Very friendly place. Large portions. Decent beer menu. I didn't love my sand dabs, but everyone else was happy with their meal. The spinach was pretty bitter. I'd switch to creamed spinach.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 27, 2017

This place is just mediocre. The Caesar salad was forgettable and the second round of drinks we ordered were horrible. We asked them to be remade and they still weren't good. Very disappointing since we just ordered margaritas. The mushroom pizza was delicious and the roaster chicken salad was tasty. The bar was full due to the World Series game on so it did get loud a few times but nothing out of control. Probably won't be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 20, 2017

Just like last time, good food, good service, good menu options. This time I had the Turn 12 Sandwich, which is a thick chicken breast, bacon, avocado, lettuce & tomato on a nice crusty bun. The fries were good, but too much Parmesan cheese sprinkled on top (I do not like Parmesan cheese, my fault, should have asked them to omit it). My husband tried the Prosciutto Pizza, loved it. He's not a big fan of arugula but he ate it all, so it must have been good. Good selection of beers on tap and bottle. My only "complaint" is that they didn't bring a glass for the bottled beer. Otherwise, great dinner before we saw Howie Mandel at the Golden State Theatre. I'm sure we'll be back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

This restaurant has a very casual atmosphere. Sport oriented, Very friendly. Many of the locals hangout here. The food is much better than you might expect in a sport oriented grill. I ordered the braised short ribs. Outstanding. I would recommend this as one of the better casual dining experiences.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 8, 2017

Un buen restaurante de comida americana. Pedimos hamburguesas bien preparadas y ricas. La camarera fue amable y servicial. El té muy pequeño, se agradecería una taza más grande o algo de agua caliente extra. Bien de precio.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 27, 2017

Great service and great food. Bartender was really nice as well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 15, 2017

Interesting venue, outstanding theme & decor. Food was pub-like plus, but very good. Overall good experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 4, 2017

First time customer. Food, service & great atmosphere. Sports bar with multiple games. Great place. Will return.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 3, 2017

The chef was not willing to accommodate a very simple request to give me 2 different vegetables since I don't eat white rice due to a restricted diet I'm on. He refused to do that which has never happened to me before anywhere.(they ran out of the box choy which was supposed to come with it). Instead he doubled up on the brocoloni.It was disappointing and set a really bad tone for the meal.The portions were small and the food was just ok.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 3, 2017

The manager was doubling as a hostess and was very rude. Pretty much told us we should leave when I asked about the wait.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4