Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Turn 12 Bar And Grill

Turn 12 Bar and Grill waved the green flag on October 1, 2013. The modern and sporty decor surround a spectacular 50 foot custom zinc bar top with tire tread inlay. Vintage motorcycles, historic racing artwork, and multiple televisions capture your attention upon entering. With a menu that serves a little of everything, from steaks and pasta, to pizza, burgers and salads Turn 12 is a casual American Bar and Grill with something for everyone.


The name Turn 12 is related to the famous Laguna Seca Raceway that has 11 turns and meant to invite guests to visit us at the corner of Tyler and Franklin as the last turn of the day.

400 Tyler Street
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday Lunches 11:30-4:00 p.m. Dinner 4:00-10:00 p.m.
Late night menu 10:00-12:00 a.m.

Saturday-Sunday Brunch 10:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m. Lunch 11:30-4:00 p.m. Dinner 4:00-10:00p.m. Late night menu 10:00-12:00 a.m.

Cross Street:
Franklin St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-8876

Entertainment:
Live music every Saturday night and select Fridays.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages across the street.

Executive Chef:
Miguel Cuevas

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch

Turn 12 Bar And Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (10)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
See All
Great Beer (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Live Sports (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Cozy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Romantic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
People Watching (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (0)
Sort By:
S
100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Always good food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Turn 12 is an interesting mix of a restaurant trying to be a sports bar and a family restaurant. The menu has a good variety of options and the cocktail menu is also enticing. There were 6 of us for dinner. Service was very slow in the beginning, but got better after we received our food (a little late in the game if you ask me). We started with cocktails, which took a long time to get. Once we did get the drinks it turned out that the bartender left out a few components in two of the cocktails, which took extra time to fix. Once the drinks were fixed, we enjoyed them - they were quite good. Most of our group ordered salads or the fried oysters followed by burgers with sweet potato fries or the flat bread pizza. All of the food was quite good - the bison burger, sweet potato fries, and fried oysters were exceptional. Would I eat there again? If I were in the neighborhood or lived around the corner, I might. It's probably a better pick for lunch than dinner.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Barry was an excellent server! The food was delicious & the ambiance was perfect. It's in a great location and walking distance to everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Have been to Turn 12 twice in the evening and really enjoyed it. Our first lunch experience was nice as well, however, this time, our second lunch experience, with a larger group, had some awkwardness to it. Knowing we had a larger group, we made a reservation on Open Table for our 9 guests about 30 minutes before arrival. Our first guest that arrived asked to be seated and was told he needed to wait for them to prepare a table for a group our size. A few moments later, another group of 9 arrived and was immediately seated. When the remainder of our group arrived, the woman seating us, apparently a manager, still seemed confused as to whether or not we had a reservation and struggled to get us seated. The oddest part was that the restaurant was nearly empty. It might also be noted our entire group was military and in uniform. After this experience, I don't believe we will return during lunch, but will continue to come for happy hour. Seems the day staff is either incompetent or of the anti-military type, first time I've felt that vibe in a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent food as always with outstanding service. Would recommend

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great place!! Love the variety in menu and friendly service. A little pricey but a nice treat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was my first time dining at Turn 12. The ambience was perfect! The music was amazing and got us to dance in our seat while we ate. Our waiter, Berry, was incredibly attentive even though we saw how busy it was, he still made us feel like we had everything we needed. Everyone enjoyed their food. We actually tasted food from each of our plates. All around great experience and we will definitely be dining there again. The only topic I feel I should add (because the title of the restaurant is called Turn 12 Bar & Grill) is that our drinks tasted bland. I usually continue to drink something I ordered but this time I simply could not let it go because at a $15 drink, it should taste like something. I returned that one and the second one I ordered, to my surprise, tasted like it was just watered down juice. Although I will be back, I will be sure to stick to water.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great happy hour! Sliders are fantastic - clearly made in house and not frozen. Bar staff was extremely attentive and helpful. Overall great experience and my wife and I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Good food as usual, service a little slow (some staff out for seasonal reasons).

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I was tasked with finding a dinner spot for a group in Monterey for a business meeting. Based upon reviews and price point - and convenient location - I picked Turn 12 - our group was pleased with the choice! The food and wine menu offered plenty of choices for a group with a varied palate. Our server was attentive and made several menu suggestions that seemed spot on. One diner (who arrived a little late) lost her salad entree when the staff cleared the table and she was engaged in a conversation. The server offered to build her a new salad and then, when she declined, comped a dessert for her and her companion - nice touch - without asking. We started out a party of three and kept adding until the group reached 10 - and the Turn 12 staff handled it with aplomb.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was really good and reasonably priced...we had two chicken entrees (honey truffle and chipotle) and were very pleased with the flavor, portion, and presentation...seemed somewhat upscale and comparable to Tarpy's or Rio Grill. However, the ambiance seemed lacking. Upon walking in, Turn 21 appears to be a upscale hip bar scene and restaurant. I was expecting the dining area to have a similar vibe but it didn't. Rather, it felt as though the dining area was an after thought. The tables and seating resembled that of a pizza place and didn't have any sense of continuity with the rest of the restaurant/bar. The servers were somewhat friendly but didn't seem very professional. We would definitely go back for the food and hope they spruce up the dining area a little bit.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food was excellent and I really appreciated the allowance of substitution within what I ordered.

Tags: Historic, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Casual, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The short ribs were very tender. Parmesan chicken was tender and juicy. Spaghetti could have had a little more seasoning in the sauce.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

In a busy downtown scene, Turn 12 offers an easy menu and kid friendly place.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food is delicious especially the grilled chicken salad. The place is huge so lots of seating. Depending where you are seated the ambiance is either sports bar or dining room. I'd go back for the salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great place. Lots of different types of dishes on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great food + great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 2, 2016

It met my tough standards. The pizza on flatbread was a good idea.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Casual, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Awesome shareable bites , great service , good drinks and delicious dessert (olive oil cake!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 19, 2016

The "starter" Pizza is a really good size - go with the prosciutto pizza & a local greens salad. Also, try one of the local brews 'Monterey Wheat" works well with the meal. Love the racing decor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food, menu and ambiance. Service average. The server was friendly and nice, but kept forgetting things. Luckily we weren't in a hurry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great place for lunch. Food and service were very good with pleasant staff. Recommended for a nice place to eat in downtown Monterey.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is a fun place for ribs and a meal that's casual. Nice wait staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The staff was great during a busy weekend. It is a great place to meet friends.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 13, 2016

They have the right mix, the right space and location. Food is always good to great. Service can be slow during off hours (2-4) but with the right company you would never notice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Going to the Michael McDonald concert with friends, their 1st time at the Turn, the loved it. Had great food and service will be back again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 18, 2016

I didn't want to cook dinner one night, and I've been eyeing to try Turn 12 since driving by late one night and seeing people having a good time near a fire pit in the restaurant's outdoor patio. There weren't a lot of people at that time we went, so it was pretty quiet. I absolutely loved both dishes we ordered, especially our pizza. I like to try every restaurant's margherita pizza; and while some places' pizza just fill my belly, I just LOVED my pizza at Turn 12. It has been a VERY long time since a pizza has made my tastebuds and brain feel the way it did when I ate my first slice here. I will be back for pizza someday. I just wish I wasn't so busy because I'd be dropping by for happy hour at this place way more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Brought a party of 10 here for a work function and had a great time. The Food was amazing, and the drinks were fantastic. The staff did an amazing job of keeping our drinks full and continued to check on us throughout the night. The place has great ambiance, and was located in an area where it was easy to get an Uber. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service was very friendly and patient. The decor was fun and interesting. Enjoyed the long table full of my favorite people.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Wanted to watch the Warriors game while on a getaway weekend in Monterey. Found Turn 12 and it was perfect. Requested a table with a view of the screen and they gave us one right in front. The food was a surprise - fabulous. Recommend the rack of lamb and the ahi tuna appetizer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent service and delicious food. This continues to be a great spot to have dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 25, 2016

Loved the decor and the food was amazing! Super friendly and quick service on a Monday afternoon. Had the grilled cheese and tomato bisque, outstanding! Will definitely be going back, great hangout spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Very nice selection of food. Something for everyone. Always a great lot of specials in addition to the regular menu! Yummy desserts, friendly staff! Can get noisy when busy but still very enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Been here three times and the Alvarado Oysters are my favorite! Yum!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 13, 2016

We went here as a group to celebrate and relax. Our server was superb! Though we were a group eight, he had no problem keeping our orders straight. Our drink orders were filled quickly, food arrived hot and promptly. Server was very attentive but did not hover. Food and beverages were quite delicious. Would definitely go again with the group or by myself to watch a game on the television!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2016

Great spot lunch or dinner, good service, food and were very accommodating. We will be back again for our next office luncheon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Excellent draft beer assortment. Great food. Try the shi tower appetizer...you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I'm a part time local and needed an alternative to a fine dining restaurant to take guests to during ATT Pro Am golf weekend on short notice. Most of our party of six had the BBQ ribs and they were fall off the bone delicious! Saturday night at 7:30 was busy, but not crowded. The waiter was friendly, helpful and very attentive. We were even able to park on the street very close by. A winner. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been to Turn 12 on at least 5 occasions, experiencing lunch, happy hour, and dinner and I can truly say that in my humble opinion it represents one of the top ten dining experiences on the Monterey Peninsula. The food has been consistently very good, service is top notch, and the cocktails are generally good as well - they have gone through a few bartenders so I've had GREAT drinks and so-so depending on who is behind the bar.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2016

We were in Monterey for the AT& T Pro-Am, a super busy time for the area, and found Turn 12 on Open Table. We enjoyed a couple of appetizers and three different entrees. Two of us had dessert. All were quite good - not outstanding, but nice presentation, patient but timely service, all dishes tasty. Would return again when at the Pro-Am next year!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.