About Turn 12 Bar And Grill

400 Tyler Street
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Turn 12 Bar and Grill waved the green flag on October 1, 2013. The modern and sporty decor surround a spectacular 50 foot custom zinc bar top with tire tread inlay. Vintage motorcycles, historic racing artwork, and multiple televisions capture your attention upon entering. With a menu that serves a little of everything, from steaks and pasta, to pizza, burgers and salads Turn 12 is a casual American Bar and Grill with something for everyone.


The name Turn 12 is related to the famous Laguna Seca Raceway that has 11 turns and meant to invite guests to visit us at the corner of Tyler and Franklin as the last turn of the day.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday Lunches 11:30-4:00 p.m. Dinner 4:00-10:00 p.m.
Late night menu 10:00-12:00 a.m.

Saturday-Sunday Brunch 10:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m. Lunch 11:30-4:00 p.m. Dinner 4:00-10:00p.m. Late night menu 10:00-12:00 a.m.

Cross Street:
Franklin St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-8876

Entertainment:
Live music every Saturday night and select Fridays.

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages across the street.

Executive Chef:
Miguel Cuevas

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch

Turn 12 Bar And Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
California Central Coast
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Business Meals (5)
See All
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (4)
Casual (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Romantic (2)
Family Style (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Live Sports (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
83 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food + great service.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great food + great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It met my tough standards. The pizza on ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 2, 2016

It met my tough standards. The pizza on flatbread was a good idea.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Casual, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Awesome shareable bites , great service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Awesome shareable bites , great service , good drinks and delicious dessert (olive oil cake!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The "starter" Pizza is a really good siz ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 19, 2016

The "starter" Pizza is a really good size - go with the prosciutto pizza & a local greens salad. Also, try one of the local brews 'Monterey Wheat" works well with the meal. Love the racing decor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, menu and ambiance. Service a ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food, menu and ambiance. Service average. The server was friendly and nice, but kept forgetting things. Luckily we weren't in a hurry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great place for lunch. Food and servic ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great place for lunch. Food and service were very good with pleasant staff. Recommended for a nice place to eat in downtown Monterey.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a fun place for ribs and a meal ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is a fun place for ribs and a meal that's casual. Nice wait staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The staff was great during a busy weeken ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The staff was great during a busy weekend. It is a great place to meet friends.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

They have the right mix, the right space ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 13, 2016

They have the right mix, the right space and location. Food is always good to great. Service can be slow during off hours (2-4) but with the right company you would never notice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Going to the Michael McDonald concert wi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Going to the Michael McDonald concert with friends, their 1st time at the Turn, the loved it. Had great food and service will be back again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I didn't want to cook dinner one night, ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 18, 2016

I didn't want to cook dinner one night, and I've been eyeing to try Turn 12 since driving by late one night and seeing people having a good time near a fire pit in the restaurant's outdoor patio. There weren't a lot of people at that time we went, so it was pretty quiet. I absolutely loved both dishes we ordered, especially our pizza. I like to try every restaurant's margherita pizza; and while some places' pizza just fill my belly, I just LOVED my pizza at Turn 12. It has been a VERY long time since a pizza has made my tastebuds and brain feel the way it did when I ate my first slice here. I will be back for pizza someday. I just wish I wasn't so busy because I'd be dropping by for happy hour at this place way more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought a party of 10 here for a work fu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Brought a party of 10 here for a work function and had a great time. The Food was amazing, and the drinks were fantastic. The staff did an amazing job of keeping our drinks full and continued to check on us throughout the night. The place has great ambiance, and was located in an area where it was easy to get an Uber. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was very friendly and patien ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service was very friendly and patient. The decor was fun and interesting. Enjoyed the long table full of my favorite people.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food!

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Wanted to watch the Warriors game while on a getaway weekend in Monterey. Found Turn 12 and it was perfect. Requested a table with a view of the screen and they gave us one right in front. The food was a surprise - fabulous. Recommend the rack of lamb and the ahi tuna appetizer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and delicious food. Th ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent service and delicious food. This continues to be a great spot to have dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

WEEKDAY LUNCH

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 25, 2016

Loved the decor and the food was amazing! Super friendly and quick service on a Monday afternoon. Had the grilled cheese and tomato bisque, outstanding! Will definitely be going back, great hangout spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice selection of food. Something f ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Very nice selection of food. Something for everyone. Always a great lot of specials in addition to the regular menu! Yummy desserts, friendly staff! Can get noisy when busy but still very enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food. Great service.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Been here three times and the Alvarado Oysters are my favorite! Yum!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place and friendly atmosphere

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 13, 2016

We went here as a group to celebrate and relax. Our server was superb! Though we were a group eight, he had no problem keeping our orders straight. Our drink orders were filled quickly, food arrived hot and promptly. Server was very attentive but did not hover. Food and beverages were quite delicious. Would definitely go again with the group or by myself to watch a game on the television!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Booked office meeting for six, great service/food

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2016

Great spot lunch or dinner, good service, food and were very accommodating. We will be back again for our next office luncheon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant and bar

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Excellent draft beer assortment. Great food. Try the shi tower appetizer...you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get the ribs!

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I'm a part time local and needed an alternative to a fine dining restaurant to take guests to during ATT Pro Am golf weekend on short notice. Most of our party of six had the BBQ ribs and they were fall off the bone delicious! Saturday night at 7:30 was busy, but not crowded. The waiter was friendly, helpful and very attentive. We were even able to park on the street very close by. A winner. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Awesome Service, and a good time out!!

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been to Turn 12 on at least 5 occasions, experiencing lunch, happy hour, and dinner and I can truly say that in my humble opinion it represents one of the top ten dining experiences on the Monterey Peninsula. The food has been consistently very good, service is top notch, and the cocktails are generally good as well - they have gone through a few bartenders so I've had GREAT drinks and so-so depending on who is behind the bar.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A Delightful Find....

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2016

We were in Monterey for the AT& T Pro-Am, a super busy time for the area, and found Turn 12 on Open Table. We enjoyed a couple of appetizers and three different entrees. Two of us had dessert. All were quite good - not outstanding, but nice presentation, patient but timely service, all dishes tasty. Would return again when at the Pro-Am next year!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Happy find

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 13, 2016

Friendly, lively place with a racing theme. Good food, and a chef willing to tweak the menu to accommodate our needs. Had a great pizza and my companions both declared their dishes good. If the waitress had been more on the ball I'd have ordered another drink, but the place was surprisingly busy for a January weeknight. Planning to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great find

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2016

My husband and I went here for a night out on New Years Eve. Probably would not have picked this restaurant, if we had just walked by. But based on reviews, we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. The tomato soup was delicious and the main course was very good. I would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Turn 12

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 13, 2015

I had a very pleasant experience at Turn 12, my daye and i were given wonderful service and fantastic food, with attentive staff and a great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant, but doesn't value its customers

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2015

We were a party of 8 and had reservations. About a half hour after we arrived, approaching 9p on Halloween, we were told the kitchen would be closing due to it being slow. We felt rushed and somewhat insignificant as the staff moved chairs and tables all around us in preparation for a late-night party crowd. Lights were brightened and then dimmed repeatedly, staff was shuffling about and the music volume was raised and lowered as well. Not a great environment. All of us in our party had been to Turn 21 before and really enjoyed the food, but this time wasn't so pleasant. At a time when most businesses are trying to get customers through the door, our patronage didn't seem nearly as important as the potential customers they were hoping to see later in the evening. Assuming this isn't a normal act, the food is generally quite good and the automotive decor is always appealing. If you're a Concourse d'Elegance or Laguna Seca aficionado, it's worth checking out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

I shall return

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2015

We always order the same thing, soup (my husband), salad (me), pizza (me), burger (my husband) Every time we went it was fantastic.

The service is amazing. Our waiter thought that the pizza that I had ordered did not come out just right so he ordered another one for me. After I had the second pizza, he brought me a box to take home with the not so pretty pizza.

The by the glass zin is awesome

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great bar & grille for race fans (and others)

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2015

After waiting for a table at the always over-subscribed, rushed, and loud Fishhouse down the road the previous evening, Turn 12 was a great find. Well-appointed, spacious, and quiet. Our waitress was attentive but not over-bearing, the wines were fairly priced, and the draft beer selection was great! Our eggplant appetizer was smothered in mozzarella & tomato sauce,, my wedge was fresh, crisp, and topped well with bleu cheese & bacon bits, and the linguini was el dente great with a flavorful Alfredo. We dropped into the bar for an after-dinner drink and were again treated to great service and smiles. We will go again when we are in the area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food and nice atmosphere

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 20, 2015

Nice place to be. Very friendly and cariing service. Clean Restaurant. Good food and very good quality of the food.

I had the burger with avocado, my husband had the baby rips. We both were drinking 805.

They have one of a kind Maserati motorcycles.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Thank you hostesses

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 27, 2015

I called to tell the reservation desk that I had run into major trouble and was going to be very late. They took care of us when they didn't have to (it was a busy Saturday night). I really appreciate that kind of effort. I'll go back to Turn 12 mainly because they care about their customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Labor Day Lunch At Turn 12

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 7, 2015

Lunch for 8 was spoiled by the very slow staff, had to ask several times for refills on drinks on a very warm Monterey day. For the most part everyone enjoyed the food that was served.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Diners, Start Your Engines!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 20, 2015

A race fan's delight (road racing, not NASCAR). Great artwork of iconic race scenes through the entire venue. We had dinner there before a show right around the corner at the Golden State Theater. We had an appetizer platter including the FABULOUS Oysters Alvarado, calamari, and a grilled artichoke. I had their INCREDIBLE Tomato Basil soup (words won't do it justice) and a Prosciutto Arugula Flatbread which was very good and very satisfying for a small plate. My wife had a steak salad which she enjoyed very very much. Our server was right on top of things and very personable. Good find!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Linguini & Clams

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 12, 2015

If you're not a sports fan, you may want to shy away from this restaurant, particularly when sports are are on. There are several TV's, and the noise level can get quite loud. Our party of six was seated in the dining room through which one must traverse a poorly-lit bar area. The only complaint is the linguini and clams. This dish was unsatisfactory. While the pasta was well-cooked, the dish was quite sandy as the clams were not washed thoroughly. There was a crunch in every bite. Everything else was satisfactory, but not noteworthy. We would recommend this restaurant to sports fans but not so much for non-sport fans. The place is packed, so it obviously caters to the former.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Nice - Good- Exceptional-Wonderful

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 17, 2015

Having been here 3 or more times, I find this place consistently a nice family friendly and even trending to hip. The food is very good and trending to foodie, The Service is exceptional and trending toward downright conversational. The free driving video game with a Laguna Seca track is just wonderful and trending toward awesome, but there is only one....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Turn 12 Grad occasion

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 16, 2015

We were pleasantly surprised at the atmosphere at Turn 12. It is a place that appeals to both men and women. The food was delicious! The service was excellent and it is an easy waling distance to downtown. parking was easy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

mothers day

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 10, 2015

Took our 98 year old dad to lunch for mother's day and asked for a quiet table.

got a great one and had a very good lunch.

lot's on the menu and everyone was happy.

Well drinks good and my daughter who goes there for happy hours says it great.

have had good dinners and one of our local favorites to go back too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was severely blah...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 18, 2015

I went here with a group and was left wanting. It could be more (cool enough decor, room for groups, good bar area, great location) but it's clear that the food is not a priority. I wasn't expecting a gastronomic feast given that this is really a bar but the "bar food" was just super bland and poorly executed. Would like to try again but the food side needs to be stepped up for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

We've been here several times. My wife ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2015

We've been here several times. My wife likes it but I'm not a fan. After last nights experience, we will not be returning, and she told me she understood why I'd feel this way and why she agreed. The service is disorganized. Our area had 4-5 bussers but no wait staff. We sat for a full 15 minutes, closer to 20, before one of the bussers who had passed our table at least 3-4 times and who was our waiter on a previous visit, asked if we wanted something to drink. We ordered a glass of wine and waters.

Ten minutes later another busser who had also passed us by numerous times, asked if we had been served. Every table in our section was empty at this time. We explained we ordered something to drink but apparently we had been forgotten. She took our order. The staff seems not able to get along with one another and they don't seem to work in a happy environment. And the food isn't so good that we need to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.