Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

About Tupelo Honey - Charlotte

Tupelo Honey is a revival of Southern food and traditions rooted in the Carolina Mountains we call home. We craft brunches, lunches and suppers that bring family and friends around the table and allow for conversations and cocktails to linger longer than usual.

1820 South Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm


Friday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm*


Saturday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm*


Sunday 8:00 am - 9:00 pm


*Our bar will be open until 11:00 pm on Friday and Saturday nights.

Cross Street:
E. Worthington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 225-9167

Website:
http://tupelohoneycafe.com/location/charlotte/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the lot directly behind the restaurant and on the other side of the East/West light rail spot.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Weekend Brunch

Tupelo Honey - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (62)
Comfort Food (53)
Sunday Lunch (47)
See All
Casual (39)
Good for a Date (32)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Great for Lunch (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Local Ingredients (27)
Good for Groups (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Fun (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Authentic (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Gluten Free Options (10)
People Watching (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Business Meals (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Romantic (6)
Scenic View (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Great Beer (4)
Organic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vegan (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Glad I had a reservation! Seated within 5 minutes.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

we booked a morning table for brunch before the panthers game. Location is close to the train (walking distance) and the food was great. Will do it again for sure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Love the food. Love the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

I really like Tupelo Honey. There are always creative and different items on the menu. Its always hard to make a choice.

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Took 70 minutes to get our food. We ended up having to ask for our food to go or else we would miss our flight. Even if we had the time to stay and dine in, the wait was ridiculously long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I was emailed an invitation to book "limited reservations" for Labor Day Brunch and unfortunately we were extremely let down. I chose to take my out-of-town mom for her birthday treat, and there was not a reserved table for our 10:30am group. We decided to grab the only open table in the bar area only because I didn't want her to stand around waiting outside. Our table was completely overcrowded with folks standing beside us and against our table the entire meal. The servers weren't able to even squeeze past with plates of food for delivery, but instead were pushed into leaning over our table with hands full. This was specifically why we booked a table reservation in the dining area and didn't want to sit in the "first-come, first-serve" bar area in the first place. Very disappointed, and I will likely avoid this location. In the future, do not extend reservation invitations for promotional reasons when you can't honor them, or even offer quality customer service after the wait.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our first time we loved it! Celebrating Renee 50 th Birthday

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

I now see why this place stays packed. Tried out the Shoo Mercy Sweet Potato Pancakes and it was AMAZING. The presentation, the flavor, everything was just superb. Staff was extremely friendly and the Beverage Manager Haley Shore even gave us a jar of their jam since it was our first visit. I will definitely be back.

FYI: Be sure to make reservations to guarantee you a spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 1, 2017

fried chicken, surprisingly, was pretty bad. Overcooked, not flavorful. Prices for what you get (two small breast pieces in the case of the fried chicken) very high. Second time going, not going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The service was fine and the food was overpriced and over seasoned. The decor was tired and the wood floors greasy and slippery on the rainy day that we were there. Stick to the Asheville locations!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

we love tupelo honey in asheville. at this location, however, literally not one single thing brought to our table was as we had ordered or promised. after an hour of waiting, the manager gave us a discount and apologized profusely, and then made us wait another 20 minutes to bring back my credit card as she bounced around the store. she offered things such a extra sides but we never received them. Perhaps the waiter was new on the job. perhaps half the staff did not show up that day. i have a lot of grace for things not going well. but don't apologize up and down and then still not make any of it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food though a little pricey. Indoor dining not good for table conversation if they're busy. Parking can be a challenge.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Service was great but our food took a while to arrive & when it did it was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The service was wonderful as was the food. I had their specialty Lavender Lime drink, the fried Okra, grilled cheese and pork and a small dessert of chocolate cake and peanut butter served in a mason jar. Everything was wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great drinks; desserts and atmosphere. The flank steak was too spicy though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We were seated right away. Service was excellent. Food was good. I'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great place for a casual lunch, especially if you like fried chicken

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great food, great service, great atmosphere. A bit loud indoors, but the porch was perfect - quiet, with a gentle breeze. Fried green tomatoes were especially good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great great great great great great great great food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Although the food was delicious we had a 11:15 reservation and didn't sit until 11:35. Food was cold when it came to the table. Server was good but the place is understaffed. Great menu. Parking is difficult. We won't be back. 😕

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I was disappointed in the experience we had for brunch over the weekend. Our waitress was very aloof. Not attentive and acted liked she had a huge attitude. The manager was very nice and gave us a free appetizer to make up for her. She didn't come to table for 10 min after we were seated. Didn't bring cream and sugar for coffee. Slow to bring out biscuits. Food is really tasty though. Not for older folks who are looking for traditional breakfast just FyI

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fantastic Sunday brunch!!! Great outdoor seating and dog friendly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent and caring service and wonderful food using local ingredients. I love their non-alcoholic drink selection as well as their wonderful Okra Appetizer. The shrimp and grits was outstanding and our waitress was very thoughtful in verifying its ingredients as I have allergies.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food was not as hot as I would expect given we were seated at service window for kitchen. Booth for two was very cramped. Had asked to be seated at a booth and was told others were reserved for larger parties. Too bad they never got occupied during our visit.

Food was very good though and the serving was large. Enough for lunch tomorrow and great value for the money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Good food with great service. My wife and I shared a meal and appetizer. We will go back for the great desserts

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Cute atmosphere but a little overpriced and needs at least a few basic southern dishes added to the menu if everyone in your party isn't a total "foodie". One of the few restaurants that doesn't even acknowledge a wedding anniversary which we chose to celebrate there. Not worth a trip back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

My girlfriend and I love the Tupelo Honey Café in Asheville, so for our anniversary this year, we decided to go to the one in Charlotte. We had a reservation and arrived well in time, however we still had to wait for over a half an hour to be seated. What's the point of a reservation, then? When we were finally seated, it was at a table that hadn't been cleaned and once we had our appetizer, it took another ten minutes to get silverware. The service was horrible, but the food was amazing as always. Although, patrons used to the Asheville location should know that the Charlotte location had slightly less menu options. I truly hope that the lack of customer service was an isolated incident, otherwise, the Charlotte location isn't worth visiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We were seated in a pass through where all of the servers walked by multiple times throughout our meal. This was not comfortable seating at all. The food was good but not exceptional for the price. The kitchen was slow. We were able to view many meals left under the heat lamp for extended periods of time before a server picked it up to take to a table. Our meal took at least 30 minutes after we placed our order. I attempted to order a beer and they were out of both choices I made.
It will be a while before we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Not our 1st time here, but something has changed since the last time, and not for the better.

The server was rushed, twice she walked away from the table with only half an order and we had to call her back to say we weren't finished. Our a la carte sides came 10 mins before our entrees so we're cold when the entrees arrived.

Our water glasses were never refilled and we were never offered a 2nd round of drinks.

The food was just not very good. Excessive use of garlic. To the point that we stopped eating the crispy Brussels sprouts appetizer.
2 fingerling potatoes doesn't seem adequate as a side with a steak.
Cauliflower steak was barely touched, because it just wasn't good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We were celebrating our recent marriage with our in-laws visiting us from out of town to see our new home. The waitress was so thoughtful that when she found out we were newlyweds, she brought us Tupelo honey and local blackberry jelly as gifts from the restaurant. We always love taking out of town guests to this spot for some wonderful Southern charm: delicious food, friendly and welcoming service, and a fun atmosphere. One of our favorite spots in Charlotte!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We had high hopes but they were dashed. We were disappointed in the the server as well as the fact they were out of what we wanted. Which affected 2 of the 4 of us. One of our Party ordered a burger and it was not assembled correctly. They left ingredients off. Ordered a drink, server admitted he heard me order it, but he didn't write it down so that didn't work out either. Not sure if we will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This was a huge disappointment. My wife and I went to the Tupelo Honey Restaurant in Asheville, NC two years ago this coming fall and we absolutely loved it. The Charlotte location is a fleeting imitation in every sense. Loud music, slow service and mediocre food at expensive prices. We won't be going back to this location again.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My wife's birthday experience was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was amazing and I loved the decor of the restaurant. Great place for Sunday brunch but make sure you make reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We were 10 minutes late for our reservation on a busy Sunday morning but were quickly seated in our preferred area - outdoors. Wait staff was attentive though there was a bit of a wait on the food - could be because they were busy. Favorites: the coffee (Counter Culture - yum!), potato cracklins and the pork belly that came with the Challah French Toast. Poached eggs were done perfectly; country ham was tasty. Least favorite - the biscuits - but that could be either because we're not big biscuit lovers to begin with or because I have yet to find biscuits that measure up to my memory of those from my childhood made with lard.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Just perfect! It will be a must visit whenever I return to Charlotte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I celebrated my birthday here and it was great! I enjoyed the food and the staff couldn't have been nicer!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Authentic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food and the staff were great. We look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Amazing service - thanks, Kim! Food is always good - wish there were more Gluten Free options. Great brunch spot, but cocktails are a little pricey... over all we will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Fun, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great food and great service! Went for my wife's birthday and we had immediate seating.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.