Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

About Tupelo Honey - Charlotte

Tupelo Honey is a revival of Southern food and traditions rooted in the Carolina Mountains we call home. We craft brunches, lunches and suppers that bring family and friends around the table and allow for conversations and cocktails to linger longer than usual.

1820 South Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm


Friday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm*


Saturday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm*


Sunday 8:00 am - 9:00 pm


*Our bar will be open until 11:00 pm on Friday and Saturday nights.

Cross Street:
E. Worthington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 225-9167

Website:
http://tupelohoneycafe.com/location/charlotte/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the lot directly behind the restaurant and on the other side of the East/West light rail spot.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Weekend Brunch

Tupelo Honey - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (60)
Great for Brunch (58)
Sunday Lunch (51)
See All
Casual (47)
Great for Lunch (39)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Local Ingredients (33)
Good for a Date (32)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Fun (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Authentic (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Special Occasion (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Hot Spot (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Cozy (16)
Kid-friendly (14)
People Watching (13)
Afternoon Tea (11)
Business Meals (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Seasonal (9)
Organic (9)
Healthy (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Romantic (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Great Beer (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (3)
Vegan (3)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort by
S
224 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I would recommend trying the chicken. The restaurant was quiet and had a nice feel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was amazing, service was even better
We enjoyed everything about it

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Menu has changed again but this time not the best kind :/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was excellent. Service was very slow – they were very busy. I'm not sure if the business was unusual (because the Charlotte marathon had just let out.)

I would definitely recommend this place and I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

We loved our night at Tupelo! They provide biscuits as an appetizer so keep that in mind before ordering anything. The food was delicious and there were just enough options for everyone to choose. I‎t was too cold to sit outside but I’ll be back in the summer because I‎t looked beautiful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Southern food menu, ordered blackened catfish. They had no tarter sauce! Any southern restaurant with fish has tarter sauce! My sides were pork belly collards with Mac and cheese. Collards were over salted (and I salt everything), and the mac and cheese was average. Nice location and building.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great Beer, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Excellent cocktails, local seasonal food and knowledge wait staff. Coming from Chicago, would return in a heartbeat!

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 6, 2017

The food is innovative, filling and consistently good. Service is always excellent.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Great brunch place. Fresh and unique menu. It is a little pricey. Would definitely come here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Our server was too busy. He had a large table next to us and spent all of his time there. He asked us several times about our food but neglected everything else such as remembering to clear our plates, and he left our bill without asking us if we were having dessert. It was our anniversary. We were disappointed that we had to go ask staff at the front to find him so he would come back to our table. That was crazy. Our dessert that we finally had was only so-so since our pie contents was uncooked and runny. Pecan pie. So our meal that started good, ended with frustration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Not new to Tupelo Honey and liking past visits, we tried to repeat it. Alas this time, the magic didn’t operate waitress too distracted to bring our drink order. After a while I had to ask one of the managers, the noise level was off the charts. The hustle and bustle of the service counter interfered with whatever little comfort was left.
In brief, bad table location, bad choice of food on my part, and I’ll avoid Saturday night in the future.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The service was excellent. Ambiance was AMAZING and the food was great. My sister and I got brussel sprouts and pimento cheese nachos to start. They brought us really good biscuits and then we shared the buttermilk fried chicken with mac and cheese. The chicken was perfect and the mac and cheese was baked and not runny (I hate runny mac and cheese).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Tupelo Honey menu selection is fantastic, from the cocktails to the seasonal menu! We sat in the bar area, it was early, so it wasn't overly crowded yet. The service was fantastic, the bartender took care of us. He made several recommendations, knew the menu when we asked questions on several other dishes other then his recommendations , although the recommendations on the few that we did order, amazing!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 3, 2017

We had previously eaten at the Asheville location, the "beehive", as our waiter noted. I normally don't eat restaurant bread (want to save my calories for the "real" food!), but the herb biscuits here were worth every bite! The rosemary-peach lemonade, likewise, was wonderfully not-too-sweet, with an elusive herb clarity of taste..What I loved the most, maybe, was, after our waiter had happily presented the provenance of the local, seasonal ingredients for the dishes, when asked if the fries were anything special, he smiled and said, alas, they're not... they're the only thing that's frozen...I loved his honesty...can't wait to go back next time in Charlotte!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Terrible service, food sat a long time was cold and dried out. Having eaten in Asheville location, I was extremely disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 29, 2017

We had a great late lunch ( they are open all afternoon and into dinner) with friends.
The food was fresh and delicious. the hand crafted lavender cocktail was great.
The service ("Dutch" ) was fabulous recommend the avocado toast points.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Delicious food, totally packed and for good reason! Go hungry.

A bit slow with the service, but not surprising with a space that large and so packed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Wonderful food and service always! The omelettes and biscuits are always the best!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2017

I'm from MY so was looking for southern food with a twist. This place nails it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

My department was here for an afternoon lunch and everyone agreed that it was very good food and a very nice atmosphere. The service was great and we did not have to wait long for our meal, even though there were a good amount of people in the restaurant. We would come here again and would recommend that others go there as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Hi. Great food, but will say the server was not good. She had a bad attitude and honestly should not be a server.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

My first time and I will definitely be back! Food was AMAZING! The sweet potato pancakes were so tasty and the fried chicken was better than my southern grandmas!!! Next time I will also try dessert. Oh and the fried okra appetizer.....YUM!!!! Best southern comfort food around!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2017

We went to this restaurant based on the Open Table reviews and it did not disappoint. The decor was wonderful, even in the outside eating area. There was a good variety of brunch food and everything was great. If I ever return to Charlotte, I'd definitely come back to dine here.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 17, 2017

I love tupelo honey and have been several times before, but wanted to come for my birthday brunch and it was great. We got brunch, the food was great, our mimosas were awesome, and our server was very attentive. We enjoyed it and I recommend.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2017

I really wanted to like this place. Menu looked yummy and the restaurant itself is adorable. Felt like eating brunch at my grandmothers house. But the service was not good. We waiting 1 hour 40 minutes for our brunch items (table of 3). After the first 30 min of waiting, our server told us our food “would be out soon”. By the time our food arrived it was cold and/or over cooked. Think poached eggs that came out hard boiled. I had a flight to catch a flight so we didn’t have time for the food to be redone. The manager eventually came out and apologized and comped our meal. However, I likely won’t be back - there are so many good brunch options in charlotte where you don’t have to waste half your day waiting to eat.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Our waiter was great , However we waited for an hour and a half after having a reservation for 11:45.
once we were served our food , but it put a big damper on a birthday brunch , I think they just need to get their time management and reservation system down pat

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 15, 2017

On this day the Chef let us down. There was some issue in the kitchen that caused a delay of 1.5 hrs. forall customers. I was disappointed the Managers did not walk the flow to make us aware or perhaps apologize. I actually overheard one the managers state he would fire the entire cook staff if he could. You might want to avoid such comments while out in the dining floor.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

I will say that our server was very friendly and accommodating. The issue we had was we were there for 1 1/2 hours and never got our food. Unfortunately we had to be somewhere and could not wait another half hour so we cancelled our order and walked away hungry. They seat way more people than their kitchen is able to keep up with. Do not go there unless you’re willing to wait a couple hours for your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Unfortunately, my family and I had great expectations that were not met. We had reservations for my sons birthday at 11:30 AM on Sunday. We waited about 10-15 minutes to be seated. The waitress came up to the table immediately and was attentive at first, offering an appetizer and taking our order. From the time we ordered until the time our food was brought to the table was a little over 1.5 hours. The waitress rarely acknowledged us, "stating it's being prepared", then moving on. The meal was average, 2 of us had chicken BLT sandwiches and the chicken was very dry. I asked for the manager to come over to discuss our experience, he then finally acknowledged that the kitchen staff was "running behind" and immediate offered 30% off. This was a nice gesture that we expected, but the overall experience for my son's birthday was awful. From the time we arrived to the time we left, it had been 3 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 15, 2017

This was our first time experience of Sunday brunch at Tupelo Honey. I had no trouble making reservations. Our waitress was very helpful and attentive. The menu selections are quite creative and lots of great choices. I know that we all loved the food and the atmosphere.
We will definitely go again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Not great, everyone’s food was cold and not very good. Too many better options for brunch, service was good. No excuse for cold food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 14, 2017

A bit noisy inside, but interesting brunch menu items. Not your usual choices Relaxing patio dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

I was very uncomfortable because it was kept so cold, but after a cup of coffee and a great meal, I almost forgot. They have some very interesting dishes I haven’t seen at other places, for instance, a beet hash with mint, basil, and other great flavors.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Bailey, our server, was great! She made great food and drink recommendations! The grit cake was awesome!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Food wasn’t as delectable as the menu depicts. I’ve heard lots of buzz about the brunch menu, so I decided to try dinner to test their other offerings. I may return but only for a date that I’m not paying for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Had a reservation for 1215, but they said they were running at little late when we got there, so we didn't get seated until 1225-1230. Otherwise, food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great restaurant, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Had dinner with a friend here on the patio and it was great! We ended up sharing 3 of the small plates (Brussels Sprouts, Fried Green Tomatoes, and Avocado Toast) and that was more than filling for us! The Brussels Sprouts were our favorite, but the other two were also delicious! Service was wonderful. Loved the outdoor space and will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Casual, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great atmosphere. Okay service. Our server could have been a little more attentive and patient. He seemed to be a little frustrated and annoyed with us as we had some children and they were being indecisive about the menu choices. I don't know what he expected serving kids but, okay. The food was good not great. The best thing I tasted was the mac n cheese. This had to have been the best mac n cheese I'd tasted in a restaurant in forever. Almost everything on the menu is either spicy or has some form of pork content. Which may not pose a problem for most but it does for me as my family does not consume pork and I don't like spicy foods. See my dilemma. I don't know what I expected but this was not it but not because of Tupelos itself but more so for personal preferences. I should have researched better. All this to say I would return but only for the mac n cheese and biscuits!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Authentic, Organic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.