Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

About Tupelo Honey - Charlotte

Tupelo Honey is a revival of Southern food and traditions rooted in the Carolina Mountains we call home. We craft brunches, lunches and suppers that bring family and friends around the table and allow for conversations and cocktails to linger longer than usual.

1820 South Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm


Friday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm*


Saturday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm*


Sunday 8:00 am - 9:00 pm


*Our bar will be open until 11:00 pm on Friday and Saturday nights.

Cross Street:
E. Worthington

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 225-9167

Website:
http://tupelohoneycafe.com/location/charlotte/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the lot directly behind the restaurant and on the other side of the East/West light rail spot.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch

Tupelo Honey - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (31)
Casual (22)
Comfort Food (22)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Authentic (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fun (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Special Occasion (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Business Meals (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (3)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Romantic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Vegan (2)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Spicy (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
107 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 hours ago

Food was amazing as expected!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing Southern food with a unique twist. Also interesting flavor combinations in their signature cocktails. Shrimp and grits were a little too spicy for me, but I understand this dish is a favorite, so order it notwithstanding my small issue. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

As usual, the food @ Tupelo Honey was very good. However, the drinks menus need updating. I ordered the Old Fasioned. Our waiter told me the specific bourbon listed wasn't available. Ok, fine. There are lots of alternatives. The drinks were great. Then we get the bill. A 12.00 drink is 15.50 on the bill. Apart from the false advertising, 15.50 is an outrage for a simple cocktail. It's more than a 20% surcharge. 😠 The menu price and the bill also need to match or the servers need to disclose the real price. My friend had the exact same thing with his drink. The good news, the server fixed the bill. However, ASK about the drink price before you order or you'll get a nasty surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

As an out of town visitor, I previously had dinner at Tupelo which was great! Decided to have brunch for my wedding guests the day after my wedding and I was disappointed. My guests were not seated in a timely fashion although there was a reservation in my maid of honor's name. Apparently the staff couldn't find it, miraculously when I arrived, the reservation was found. Seating all of my guests was unorganized and an event all on its own. Please allow guests to sit with whom they know and are comfortable sitting with and at table that they are able to sit at comfortably. The biscuits were not as hot and fresh as they were previously. My first visit was much better. Large parties are not handled well.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Visiting from CT and saw all the good reviews for brunch. Our server was very friendly, quick service, food was good, but regardless of our reservation we had to wait another 20 minutes, which was inconvenient because we made the reservation since we were on a tight schedule. Also, after ordering the shaksuka (something like that) I had an awful stomachache and ended up getting sick, which is very unusual for me. However, disregarding my sickness and the wait time, it was an overall nice experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

I had reservations for 24 at 9:00 and although 20 of the people were present, we weren't allowed to be seated until 9:30 when the other 4 arrived. We patiently waited. After the 24 were FINALLY seated, more people from our wedding party decided to come to the restaurant. There was no wait or anything and we were given a hard time about adding more tables for our party, although there were about 5 empty tables of 4 seats each vacant near our party. I'm not sure why the establishment couldn't have just been happy at the fact that they were getting so much business. Instead they acted as if we needed too many seats and they didn't want to accommodate. I felt very uncomfortable and the food is definitely overpriced. The entire party flew into Charlotte for a wedding and decided to try this place for brunch before we flew back home. Very bad choice and terrible way to end our trip.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 11, 2017

This was a great find for a glass of wine and dinner with friends. Atmosphere very friendly and customer service outstanding. Plus the food is amazing! I found this jewel through word of mouth and had dinner before a show on a Saturday night, 3 days later I was back with another friend. Both visits were fabulous. Highly recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Awesome brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The food is always good here. Despite having a reservation for 12:45 we were not seated until 1:20 pm. The restaurant comped us 2 free appetizers to make up for the wait which was great because we were starving by the time we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The brunch prix fixe menu was a great value! We split the meal between us and had plenty to eat. We chose fried green tomatoes as the appetizer and blueberry French toast with pork belly as the entree. The complimentary biscuits were delicious! My friend drank the coffee and declared it to be delicious. We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent all the way around!!! Loved the atmosphere, the service was excellent, but most of all I am a vegetarian and the choices were so tasty!!!! Especially the cauliflower steak. Was there for my birthday/date and would love to come back for brunch!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 4, 2017

While the waitress was lovely and the ambience was lovely, the food fell short. It was cold and not done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We had brunch. I can always count on solid classics but I go for the creative twists on southern traditional fare. We each loved our dishes - Banana pudding pancakes (enough for lots of leftovers), Appalachian breakfast, and Red Flannel hash (beets being the red component, pretty sure it was veg but not 100% sure). Love their classic and house cocktails. We tried the Violet Beauregard (my fav), Bloody Mary, Boubon blueberry sage (good but I'm not a big bourbon person), and Honeysuckle Lavander Flip.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I liked Tueplo Honey, the food was okay it was a little dry and very spicy. We had a total of 4 servers, and that was interesting. Overall I think we just came on an off day. I would like to try it again an just order something different.

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Always love the food, though a bit pricey. Service at this particular location has lacked every time we've been here. Food is always wonderful, which is why we go back. Reservations for dinner and weekends highly recommended.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fun, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Very slow service. We had to get our own coffee refill at one point because server never came to check on us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Been here a few times and the last couple times the food really wasn't that great and definitely not worth the price. I love the ambiance of the place and our server was pretty attentive. We were sat immediately with our reservation. Probably won't be back...:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

They told Open Table we were not there, however, we were there promptly at 5:30 and ate a great dinner. I suggest they communicate with Open Table accurately or that Open Table confirm prior to accusations. Thanks!

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Always a great experience. Classy and upscale without being stuffy or formal. Variations on Southern cuisine you won't find elsewhere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great food and service. Fried green tomatoes are some of the best you'll find anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I had heard how great the food was here so I was dying to try it. I was disappointed, not that the food was bad it was just OK. Nothing to write home to Mom for. The service was great and the atmosphere was nice.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Love this place! The food is always great. One of my favorite dining places.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Seeing as though they've gotten a new chef, it's obvious that he's NOT from the south....the menu has changed and unfortunately we will NOT be back..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Awful and I mean awful service. The food came out all at once or not at all. Overly salty. Not worth the price. Also a lot of the items on the menu weren't available

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Tupelo Honey always pleases. Took my coworkers out after a very successful day in Charlotte. Love this town and TH never disappoints. Tana our waitress was exceptional and a great ambassador for Charlotte.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This used to be one of my husbands faves. Much has changed with menu and service. Reservations for Father's Day. I didn't realize the restaurant was no longer kid friendly. No kids menu for breakfast. We asked for a shady spot outside. We were sat in blaring sun. We would have happily sat inside if we knew outside shade was non existent. There were plenty of spots inside. There were only specialty items on the menu, no way to eat healthy - which breakfast is a always an easy way to eat out healthy. All food was very slow to come out. Last, the server didn't even wish my husband Happy Fathers Day. While the food itself was tasty - the service and new mood aren't worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The appetizers were heavily breaded, fried green tomatoes and chicken. The salad greens were not fresh. The ribs were spiced hot, although this was not noted on the menu. The waiter was very chatty, but was attentive to our requests. We were celebrating birthdays and were very disappointed with the meal. Would not recommend this restaurant to a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food but too crowded! The front desk seems a little overwhelmed on Saturday mornings for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Every was delicious except my husband's catfish had a burnt flavor. I think his leeks were burnt. My pork shoulder was moist and delicious and the potato cracklings and Brussels sprouts with hominy were plentiful and tasty. Fried green tomatoes over goat cheese grit-fabulous. Biscuits with blueberry compote-divine. The service and atmosphere excellent

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The food was amazing, as always, and our server Jameson (aka Tyreese) was the best!! He recommended the Herb Crusted Steak and it was probably the best thing I've ever eaten at Tupelo. And I will certainly be looking to sit in Jameson's section the next time I'm there!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I reserved a table and still had to wait over 30 minutes. This place is quite loud considering it seems small for the crowd that is in there but overall the place is good. The new menu was good but some traditional items would also be good. Some pictures of their food would be appreciated as well. Slightly fast service would be great.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great place for brunch with friends on a sunny Saturday!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My son loved this restaurant so much - he wants to have next years birthday dinner here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Couldn't even find the restaurant. My GPS had us going in circles for 20 minutes. Need a better or bigger sign directing non locals were to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Table of 3. Chicken blts and fries sat while waiting on rib plate - 6 minutes. Too pricey for quality of food. Also menu sucks. No mashed potatoes, no Appalachian egg roles, no Johnny cakes. Jalapeno corn slaw had no taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Felt rushed in the beginning but our server, Kimberly was outstanding! Chicken was a little dry, but overall everything was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Met my son and his girlfriend for brunch. Lots of choices on the menu. Creative dishes. Had a reservation and was seated on time. The food was delicious and plentiful. None of us could finish our meal. We tried though. We were not rushed but encouraged to sit and visit. That is unheard of these days when most places want to rush you so they can flip the table. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Casual, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

My go to brunch restaurant every time I travel to Charlotte!! Crab Benedict is outstanding!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The best thing was we were able to find a seat and not have to wait the usual 2-3 hr Saturday night wait.
We sat on the "quiet" side. When we arrived and had reservations, the hostess said we could sit outside (hot) or the noisy side or the quiet side (bar). We chose the quiet so we could talk but perhaps that was part of the mistake. The service was spotty and we had to ask for everything and I got up and found napkins and that was towards the end of the meal! We each had apps (FGTomatoes and Nachos) and my dinner guest order the buttermilk fried chicken and I ordered the chipotle wings and macncheese. Everything we had was missing "something" that could take it to the next level of very good, not great, but very good. I won't be back with so many other QC choices. We were visiting from out of town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We arrived and were seated at 7; server was okay, the place wasn't too busy but the food took forever. Extremely long wait for a few items. I think the kitchen dropped the ball last night for whatever reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.