Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Tulio

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria in the heart of downtown Seattle. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike. His boldly flavored dishes are both simple and sophisticated, combining rustic Italian preparations with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients. Add to this our great location in downtown Seattle, our warm, intimate atmosphere and outstanding service and it's easy to understand why Tulio is widely regarded as one of the city's best restaurants.

1100 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am;
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Bar:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Close;
Saturday -Sunday: 5:00pm - Close;
Bistro Menu available during Bar Service

Cross Street:
Spring

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-5500

Website:
http://www.tulio.com/

Catering:
Let us arrange your next special event in one of our spaces; completely private, semi-private or even our outdoor patio! At Tulio, we strive to make each event special. Solaio, our upstairs dining room, is a charming and beautifully decorated venue with a wine-cellar motif. There is no room rental fee charged for using Solaio and we offer customized menus, candles for the tables and background music - all complimentary.

Parking Details:
Valet offered at Hotel Vintage Park with reduced rate for Tulio diners. Discount available for Olympic Garage Parking located across street to the west

Public Transit:
4th and Seneca BUS and 3rd and Union LIGHT RAIL

Executive Chef:
Walter Pisano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tulio offers one of the best Grappa selections in Town! Enjoy Flights of selected Grappas for $20!
Join us for our Grappa Happy Hour in our bar daily from 8pm-10pm. Flights of selected Grappas for $20 with traditional accompaniment.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Fri 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding downtown Seattle favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike.

Tulio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (66)
Good for a Date (55)
Romantic (55)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Cozy (42)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Business Meals (36)
Authentic (32)
Notable Wine List (28)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Worth the Drive (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Historic (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Casual (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Fun (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Gluten Free Options (7)
People Watching (7)
Seasonal (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Fireplace (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Private Room (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Family Style (3)
Vegan (2)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2678 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I am a Kimpton Hotels fan, and have stayed in many of them around the country. Several have restaurants attached that are also separate operations. Tulio is one of these, with an Italian foundation. Like others, great cocktails and good wine selection. The food was nicely prepared -- I had pasta,and my companion had the fish special -- both delicious. We shared the doughnuts for dessert, which were FAB! Nice ambience despite the tight spacing of the tables and booths in the space. The service was terrific. I would go again.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

There were five of us and we tried each other's dishes; food ranged from outstanding to "so-so" depending on the choice. The pork was the best, the duck sides and accompanying sauce were mild and very ordinary. Quite noisy and tightly seated but not in a bad way. Feels vibrant and urban. Great wait service and cocktails.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We have been to Tulio's often. Two of us had pork shank which is always great. Chicken was also good. My paparadelle was surprisingly average. Service was courteous but not what I have been used to there. Hoping it has not slipped in its focus. Will wait a while to try again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The roast chicken was awesome, the ambiance so lovely. Pastas, salads etc are very good, as well.
Convenient parking, either there or across the street.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great spot for authentic and tasty Italian; good wine selection, nice atmosphere; cozy bar.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Casual, Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing Dinner! My wife and I we're celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary and they surprised us with roses and free dessert. We both loved our meals, my steak was cooked too perfect and the Bone Marrow butter is worth the trip!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great evening, tasty food and friendly attentive service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was an amazing experience for us - from the reserved table to the fantastic service from every single staff member with whom we interacted. I cannot recommend the sweet potato gnocchi enough - it is DIVINE, and we will be ordering it every single time we return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 2, 2017

It was supposed to be a 1000 pt table. I got 100 pts for it. It was fabulous though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Tulio always impresses from the moment you arrive to saying goodbye. The staff and the food are top notch. I always enjoy Miriam, who brings me my ice tea whether I am sitting in her section or not. I feel like family here. You cannot do better than this gem.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Did a great job with a late arriving guest and bringing out lunch so everyone could get back in their offices. Thanks

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The sweet potato gnocci was amazing.
The server was not good at recommendations. Or even stating what they are known for. Or most popular dishes.
Everything is good. When your from out of town. You want the wow experience
Came for a special birthday celebration that wasn't acknowledged even by staff.
Not personable.
It was clear that there are 2 standouts
The pork shank that's slow toasted and the dinner risotto.
As the 5 tables around us had this options.
Out of 12 ppl seated around us
8 had the pork shank
3 had the risotto
1 had the fish special of which he was disappointed in. Barely touched Not acknowledged by server.
After we asked about the best pasta dish. He said come at lunch. Give them a try. No suggestions
Truly a frustrating waiter
Ambiance was great. We were upstairs. Could see below
I would go back but not in a rush to do so.
It's unfortunate as I am in Seattle every 6 weeks. Plus our company frequents there and we host many client events.
They have a private room. I'm just not sure if the service or food would be up to par.
I had the chicken fish with lemon risotto. It was good. But nothing to write home about
My husband had the rib eye. Truly bland. No flavour. Thank goodness he swapped out to the ricotta mashed potatoes made dish eatable.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I have dined at Tulio's a number of times and always had a great experience. Saturday was exceptional again. The food is delicious and atmosphere very comfortable.
I will be back again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Best mushroom pasta ever!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We arrived late for our reservation but needed to leave on time for the theater. Our server was helpful in giving us a relaxing dining experience and had us out the door in a timely manner. He was attentive and friendly. Compliments to the chef! Maybe the best pasta course ever!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Tulio's is my favorite restaurant in Seattle. The entire experience (food, wine, ambiance, decor, comfort) is always wonderful and our waiter was fantastic. I appreciate the valet parking very much as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Loved the Cesar salad. Interesting menu. Relaxing pace not rushed.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Tulio is our favorite restaurant. Wonderful food and service. Great wine list. All around super.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I had a salad and one of the smaller pasta portions in the Primi section of the menu, the pork pappardelle. My primi entree was seriously over-peppered, and one of my companions complained about the same thing with her chicken entree. I did not complain, as we were on our way to the theatre and we didn't have time for a re-do.

The restaurant was very busy, but even then, I had to wait a long time to get my second glass of wine, which I was then unable to finish because we had to leave. And, no one replenished our water glasses or our bread dish.

I have had better experiences at Tulio in the past.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Love this restaurant for years -- for breakfast , lunch or dinner!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Went for breakfast and was very disappointed. The rustic toast was weak. All patrons from the hotel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Wonderful service, creative cocktails and delicious meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

When in Seattle on business or pleasure Tulio always gets one of my dinner nights. Wonderful food with a professional staff. In my opinion a must visit for authentic Italian.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Tulio. It was crowded and cozy and the food was delicious. The portions were large too! We enjoyed our meal and will definitely be back.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A very nice meal in a comfortable relaxed environment. I would have liked more variety on the menu, but all of the dishes were nicely prepared and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I have been going to Tulio for years. Just went again the other day for a lovely Valentines Day dinner and again, I can't think of a single disappointment. While the prices are high, it's what makes it a unique and rather exclusive spot. Meats cooked to perfection with a smooth mix of complex flavors for all dishes. I would recommend this for any special occasion. Looking forward to when I make my next reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was my first time at Tulio. I read a lot of reviews and decided to reserve at Tulio but I made a huge mistake. There were two receptionists. One young guy and old lady. Both of them were not wiling to helps us. They seated us on 2nd floor on very corner, where you can not see other people and plus it was cold. My wife wants to change seat and I told the receptionist and they were so arrogant specially the young guy. I asked twice and they could say at least "We will try" but instead they were almost angry and arrogant. This is not how you treat the customers. They told us "Just leave, we are full." My wife and I were so shocked and disappointed. This should be top notch restaurant and this is how they treat us! OK, I asked my wife, she was not very happy. Our meals came and they gave us wrong order. Anyhow I tried the dish, it was very bad taste. No salt, no juicy. Come on, we thought this s very good restaurant but food was awful. Even Cheesecake is much better than this. Totally ruined our date night. But the waiter acknowledges the problem and apologizes us. Tulio, you ruined our date night.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We have dined here several times & it always is a wonderful meal with excellent service. The Burrata salad is always a delight. A couple of us had the sweet potato gnocchi as our entree (it's on the appetizer menu) and it was plenty of food & very delicious! One of the group had the special of the night which was swordfish and she said it was one of the best she had had. The atmosphere is cozy with the tables fairly close together but you do not feel like your neighbor is sitting on top of you. I lovely place & we will be back again.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

If I could give a rating higher than 5 for service, I would. The food was so good, I keep thinking about it days later, causing my mouth to water. For a special evening without pretention, Tulio is tops.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This place never disappoints! Cozy old world charm, mouthwatering menu and professional wait staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were happy to be seated at the bar in this very popular Italian restaurant in Seattle. The food and the service were outstanding and the oysters were treated in an innovative way. I have the opportunity to eat fabulous Italian food in Vancouver and wonderful seafood. Was delighted by my new taste sensations at Tulios.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Hadn't been in years and decided to go on Valentine's Day. Entree's and apps were really quite excellent and the service was very professional without being intrusive. Will definitely return.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have been fans of Tulio in the past, but were disappointed by the overall experience for Valentine's Day. It took a long time to get our cocktails, someone tried to deliver another party's meal to our table, and the meal was just okay. The special part was my beautiful wife so we made the evening work, but would like to let Tulio know it was not up to their usual standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very disappointed given the reputation of the restaurant. Although simply a get together with a friend, happened to be on Valentine's day and was clear that food was on an assembly line. Asparagus was tasteless and none of the fibrous ends were cut off. Next course came when only half way through 1st course. Main course was cold and completely dried out with wine coming when nearly through with main course. Desert was very tasty and the highlight, but decaffeinated coffee was either mixed up with friend's caffeinated coffee or we both got caffeinated coffee. Extremely disappointed. Had much better meals at my other Seattle dining experiences.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This was a very disappointing experience. The food was average at best- we had the clam linguine which was watery and had little pasta to make up for it. Service was slow and inattentive.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Very good Service. Cute restaurant and delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had a great meal here. Service was excellent. Charming place that was great for my family including my 9 year old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We always have great service and a good meal here Celebrated Valentine's Day early and we're not disappointed

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

An old standard that truly gets better with age. We will be shortening the time inbetween visits. Great food, wonderful service and awesome drink.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My daughter and I had a very nice dinner. The waiter was very pleasant and service was great. I had the burrata salad and it was very good. I also had the clam linguine and it was very good. We had drinks in the bar after dinner and once again, the bartender was very nice and so was the crowd. I would definitely return again.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.