About Tulio

1100 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria in the heart of downtown Seattle. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike. His boldly flavored dishes are both simple and sophisticated, combining rustic Italian preparations with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients. Add to this our great location in downtown Seattle, our warm, intimate atmosphere and outstanding service and it's easy to understand why Tulio is widely regarded as one of the city's best restaurants.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am;
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Bar:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Close;
Saturday -Sunday: 5:00pm - Close;
Bistro Menu available during Bar Service

Cross Street:
Spring

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-5500

Website:
http://www.tulio.com/

Catering:
Let us arrange your next special event in one of our spaces; completely private, semi-private or even our outdoor patio! At Tulio, we strive to make each event special. Solaio, our upstairs dining room, is a charming and beautifully decorated venue with a wine-cellar motif. There is no room rental fee charged for using Solaio and we offer customized menus, candles for the tables and background music - all complimentary.

Parking Details:
Valet offered at Hotel Vintage Park with reduced rate for Tulio diners. Discount available for Olympic Garage Parking located across street to the west

Public Transit:
4th and Seneca BUS and 3rd and Union LIGHT RAIL

Executive Chef:
Walter Pisano

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tulio offers one of the best Grappa selections in Town! Enjoy Flights of selected Grappas for $20!
Join us for our Grappa Happy Hour in our bar daily from 8pm-10pm. Flights of selected Grappas for $20 with traditional accompaniment.

Restaurant Photos

Tulio Dinner
Tulio Bar
Lunch: Focaccia + Oil, Butternut Squash Soup, White Anchovy Caesar Salad, Margherita Pizza.
orecchiette
Crab Ravioli
Veal Chop
Mussels
pistachio semifreddo
Burrata
Duck Breast
Tuna
Belgian Waffle With Berries
Sweet Potato Gnocchi
Crab Lasagna
Custard Dessert
Fish Entree
Spice Rubbed Lamb
Grilled Ahi Tuna
Burrata With Tomato Jam
Beet Salad
Breakfast Granola
Pasta
Branzino
Semolina-crusted scallops
Steamed Manila Clam Linguine
tortellini
Smoked Salmon Ravioli
Grilled Calamari
Linguine with Local Clams
Syrah
Butternut Squash Soup
Orecchiette Pasta With Spicy Italian Sausage.
Pork Shank With Ricotta Mashed Potatoes
Canolli Siciliani
Roasted Chicken
Orecchiette with Pancetta and Broccoli
Burrata, Golden Beets And Other Goodness Salad
Deserts (up: Choclate Cake & down: Raspberry Special)
Nebbiolo - Damilano, Piedmont, Italy
Heriloom Tomatoes
Lingunie & Clams
38 Day Dry Aged Grade 9 Kitayama Wagyu Rib Eye
Orchetti
Burratta
Hemingway Cocktail
Tiramisu
Fig, Goat Cheese, Balsalmic
Baileys Irish Latte
Pasta Alla Chitarra
Rib Eye With Fingerling Potatoe
Sweet Potatoe Gnocchi
Duck With Plum Sauce

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Fri 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding downtown Seattle favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike.

Tulio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (126)
Fit for Foodies (108)
Romantic (93)
See All
Notable Wine List (59)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Great for Lunch (39)
Good for Groups (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Kid-friendly (6)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Been here several times when we travel t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 3 days ago

Been here several times when we travel to Seattle.

Very curt and dismissive host seated us. We did not receive a very inviting welcome. He was downright snobby!

Food was pretty good. Mussels and halibut dinners good.

Our friends enjoyed their pasta. Felt like we were rushed. Waiter cried the blues about them being short staffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Can't imagine how a meal gets better. Th ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined 6 days ago

Can't imagine how a meal gets better. The sweet potato gnocchi is worth a visit on its own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the restaurant a lot. Great serv ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Enjoyed the restaurant a lot. Great service, great menu. Bone in ribeye was good, lamb was great, drinks were great. No complaints. Server was very attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious. The sweet potato gno ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food was delicious. The sweet potato gnocchi was so good we ordered another one. Chicken with lemon orzo was also very good. We accidentally made reservations to this restaurant thinking it was another one. So glad we made that mistake. Desserts were also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time here to have dinner with out ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

First time here to have dinner with out of town family. A very nice hotel based restaurant in downtown Seattle. Small but cozy bar where we started with drinks.

Once seated the service was quite good, very prompt, courteous and friendly.

We started with the mussels as well as the mozzarella/tomatoes. Both were very good...the broth for the mussels was outstanding and made for great bread dipping.

Dinner: I had the pork shank which is served with kale and mashed potatoes. I really enjoyed this, the pork shank was generous sized, the meat perfectly tender and the flavor excellent. Not sure how they prepped it but almost had a bit of an Asian flavor.

I also got to try the sweet potato gnocchi which I found unique. I did like this as well.

I would definitely come again for dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The pork shank dinner was out of this wo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The pork shank dinner was out of this world! It was cooked to perfection with a wonderful dried fruit and mustard sauce that took it to one of the top meals I'ver ever ordered. My husband enjoyed the halibut special but ended up eating some of my generous portion of pork. He said I was the winner of the night. Wine was fresh with a generous pour in correct wine glasses. The service was helpful and impeccable. We visited Tulio nine years ago and never forgot what a great meal we had. Nine years later.....still the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and great atmosphere with ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Fabulous food and great atmosphere with convenient parking. Server seemed un-knowledgeable of the drink menu and specials, and overall seemed indifferent - and at times perturbed - by our presence. Attention and service was relatively slow for post-dinner rush hours.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Second experience, just as good as the f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Second experience, just as good as the first. Miriam again served us impeccably. We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very limited menu. Steak was just okay.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very limited menu. Steak was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Lunch is very good value. The atmospher ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Lunch is very good value. The atmosphere is not for a young crowd. It's somewhat staid. We were impressed with excellent food quality. I highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you're staying at the hotel or in the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

If you're staying at the hotel or in the area it's a good, convenient, restaurant. Better than most hotel restaurants by far. However, an apparently overworked kitchen, full restaurant, and busy bar made for a slow meal. Also, the veal, recommended by our server, was tough. I've never had tough veal before. The rib-eye, however, was excellent, as was the asparagus soup. Not a "destination restaurant" but, if you need to eat, and you need convenience, it's good. Better than the restaurant in our hotel, not half as good as others in Seattle, such as the Whale Wins.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Fabulous dining experience! The food wa ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Fabulous dining experience! The food was amazing and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superior service and food. Walter the o ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Superior service and food. Walter the owner made a point to greet us at our table. He made us feel as though we were dining in his home . Great dining experience

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were meeting friends we had not seen ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were meeting friends we had not seen for some time. The quiet atmosphere made It possible to talk and catch up. The food was excellent, good wines and great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a favorite for great food and won ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always a favorite for great food and wonderful atmosphere. The roast chicken is the best anywhere!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tulio's was fabulous as always. Went th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Tulio's was fabulous as always. Went there for lunch and sat outside. It is a little noisy but fun for neighborhood (downtown) dining. I enjoy taking folks there for lunch. The wine list is a little pricey for the selection so we ended up having glasses of a "house" Montelpulciano which was really great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Tulio. This is the first time I ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We love Tulio. This is the first time I would not give it five stars for food as the albacore was a bit over cooked. But all in all an excellent meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was ok overall. My linguini vongole ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

It was ok overall. My linguini vongole was swimming in watery clam broth and I returned it. It was tasteless. Restaurant was gracious about it and offer another dish. I then ordered the mussel appetizer. They were ok, but very small and over cooked. The meals of the 3 other personsin our part were ok but no special enough to go back to this restaurant. Service was very good. Excellent focaccia bread and olive oil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Met a friend for a fun lunch. We had the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Met a friend for a fun lunch. We had the special which was Lingcod - delicious! I have been frequenting Tulio since they opened many years ago. It's an absolute favorite!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed all of the deliciously ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We really enjoyed all of the deliciously prepared food. Great ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Two things made Tulio worth visiting...t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Two things made Tulio worth visiting...the food was excellent and the entire waitstaff was friendly, knowedgeable and helpful. The manager on duty and the hostess were not helpful and the noise level was deafening. But we would probably go again for the food and adamantly insist on being seated in a different place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This is our traditional dining sport whe ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This is our traditional dining sport whenever we attend a play at 5th Avenue Theater. The food and service are always great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Seattle. Gre ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Seattle. Great service and food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is a no go We had a dinner r ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This place is a no go

We had a dinner reservation at 8 pm.

Got told that 80% of the main course are allredy gone. one of there specials the pork shank was left and the waiter promised that we have it. 30 minutes later he came with of course bad news that it was taken.

Do we had to order the steak and veal chops witch where everything else then perfect....

Our waiter was not even paying attention to us.

It was on of the worst dinner we ever had .

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We really enjoyed our waiter James very ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We really enjoyed our waiter James very much! Great personality, great service!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location for pre-theatre dining (5 ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great location for pre-theatre dining (5th Avenue). Our server made sure that we were served in a timely manner without feeling rushed. She recommended some options which left us satisfied but not stuffed and we loved the beet sorbet and fresh peach cocktail. Delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tulio's has been a favorite for a long t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Tulio's has been a favorite for a long time. The service is unmatchable. My boyfriend's pork entre was delicious as was the Caesar Salad that we shared. My lamb was cooked to the doneness I had requested but unfortunately was burned on the outside enough that it really affected the taste of the lamb. I should have sent it back but we had time constraints as we had theater tickets. Regardless I would still recommend this restaurant based on all the other meals I have enjoyed at Tulio's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent meal, wonderful waiter, not ru ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent meal, wonderful waiter, not rushy at all. A very enjoyable evening. Thank you Will definitely be back on our next trip back to trip to Seattle. We are from Vancouver Isand

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent but our waiter, P ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was excellent but our waiter, Paulo, who made the evening memorable. He was extremely friendly and outgoing, giving us a true Italian family ambiance for our dinner. The portions shareable and the prices very reasonable for the quality of service and selection provided.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, wine and service was excellent ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food, wine and service was excellent. Nick was our waiter and he helped us make both our wine and food selection. We loved every bite and sip! Honestly it was one of my favorite restaurants ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional food, service and environmen ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Exceptional food, service and environment!! We visited from out of town and were very pleased with the recommendation we received from the concierge at the Fairmont.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very bad, the weiter inform us that they ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very bad, the weiter inform us that they were closing the kitchen in 10 minutes after we order a bottle of wine and they were sold out of 80% of the entrees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Excellent foodand great service. Not gr ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent foodand great service. Not great for date night. Very loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were excellent. A m ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food and service were excellent. A mixup in the whiskey served our companion was rectified quickly. The noise level was perfect for the private conversations we were having. The bone-rib steak was delicious, as were the lamb and lemon risotto with chicken. Tulios is always a great place for a business dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I like this restaurant very much. I go t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I like this restaurant very much. I go there whenever I visit Seattle. The food and service is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had tickets for the 5th Av ...

vip
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My wife and I had tickets for the 5th Avenue Theater and wanted to be close by the theater so we could park once and walk. Tulio's is VERY convenient. We had a great dinner and were able to relax and not worry about rushing. The service was great and very attentive. No complaints!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sooooo good! Pomegranate martini and asp ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Sooooo good! Pomegranate martini and asparagus soup were delicious. The orecchiette was spicy and wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved the atmosphere- it felt like an ol ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Loved the atmosphere- it felt like an old elegant restaurant in Italy. The food was ok but not something I'd revisit. We had a much better Italian dinner the night before with amazing food for way less money. Our waitress was attentive and professional.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The restaurant was fantastic. We were se ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The restaurant was fantastic. We were seated immediately after arriving. The food was delicious and the service was over and beyond.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We could not have been treated better or ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We could not have been treated better or had a more memorable and wonderful evening than at Tulio on July 10th in celebration of our 40th Wedding Anniversary. Fron the moment we arrived and received an unexpected warm reception specifically welcoming us by name and congratulating us on our special day, we were continually impressed and pleasantly surprised. We were escorted to a wonderful booth where two long stemmed roses adorned the table and without asking, were served two complimetary glasses of celebratory bubbly and desserts. The halibut main course and starter pasta and salad were perfection. Service was impecabble. Thank so much Tulio!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.