About Tulio

1100 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria in the heart of downtown Seattle. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike. His boldly flavored dishes are both simple and sophisticated, combining rustic Italian preparations with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients. Add to this our great location in downtown Seattle, our warm, intimate atmosphere and outstanding service and it's easy to understand why Tulio is widely regarded as one of the city's best restaurants.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am;
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Bar:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Close;
Saturday -Sunday: 5:00pm - Close;
Bistro Menu available during Bar Service

Cross Street:
Spring

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-5500

Website:
http://www.tulio.com/

Catering:
Let us arrange your next special event in one of our spaces; completely private, semi-private or even our outdoor patio! At Tulio, we strive to make each event special. Solaio, our upstairs dining room, is a charming and beautifully decorated venue with a wine-cellar motif. There is no room rental fee charged for using Solaio and we offer customized menus, candles for the tables and background music - all complimentary.

Parking Details:
Valet offered at Hotel Vintage Park with reduced rate for Tulio diners. Discount available for Olympic Garage Parking located across street to the west

Public Transit:
4th and Seneca BUS and 3rd and Union LIGHT RAIL

Executive Chef:
Walter Pisano

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Tulio offers one of the best Grappa selections in Town! Enjoy Flights of selected Grappas for $20!
Join us for our Grappa Happy Hour in our bar daily from 8pm-10pm. Flights of selected Grappas for $20 with traditional accompaniment.

Restaurant Photos

Tulio Dinner
Tulio Bar
Lunch: Focaccia + Oil, Butternut Squash Soup, White Anchovy Caesar Salad, Margherita Pizza.
orecchiette
Crab Ravioli
Mussels
Veal Chop
pistachio semifreddo
Burrata
Duck Breast
Tuna
Belgian Waffle With Berries
Sweet Potato Gnocchi
Crab Lasagna
Custard Dessert
Fish Entree
Spice Rubbed Lamb
Grilled Ahi Tuna
Burrata With Tomato Jam
Beet Salad
Breakfast Granola
Pasta
Branzino
Semolina-crusted scallops
Steamed Manila Clam Linguine
tortellini
Grilled Calamari
Linguine with Local Clams
Smoked Salmon Ravioli
Syrah
Butternut Squash Soup
Orecchiette Pasta With Spicy Italian Sausage.
Pork Shank With Ricotta Mashed Potatoes
Canolli Siciliani
Roasted Chicken
Orecchiette with Pancetta and Broccoli
Burrata, Golden Beets And Other Goodness Salad
Deserts (up: Choclate Cake & down: Raspberry Special)
Nebbiolo - Damilano, Piedmont, Italy
Heriloom Tomatoes
Lingunie & Clams
38 Day Dry Aged Grade 9 Kitayama Wagyu Rib Eye
Burratta
Orchetti
Baileys Irish Latte
Fig, Goat Cheese, Balsalmic
Tiramisu
Sweet Potatoe Gnocchi
Hemingway Cocktail
Pasta Alla Chitarra
Rib Eye With Fingerling Potatoe
Duck With Plum Sauce

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Fri 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding downtown Seattle favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike.

Tulio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (104)
fit for foodies (90)
romantic (77)
See All
notable wine list (54)
neighborhood gem (43)
good for groups (32)
great for lunch (32)
great for brunch (12)
great for outdoor dining (10)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food, wine and service was excellent ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food, wine and service was excellent. Nick was our waiter and he helped us make both our wine and food selection. We loved every bite and sip! Honestly it was one of my favorite restaurants ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very bad, the weiter inform us that they ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very bad, the weiter inform us that they were closing the kitchen in 10 minutes after we order a bottle of wine and they were sold out of 80% of the entrees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Excellent foodand great service. Not gr ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent foodand great service. Not great for date night. Very loud.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were excellent. A m ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were excellent. A mixup in the whiskey served our companion was rectified quickly. The noise level was perfect for the private conversations we were having. The bone-rib steak was delicious, as were the lamb and lemon risotto with chicken. Tulios is always a great place for a business dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I like this restaurant very much. I go t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

I like this restaurant very much. I go there whenever I visit Seattle. The food and service is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had tickets for the 5th Av ...

vip
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My wife and I had tickets for the 5th Avenue Theater and wanted to be close by the theater so we could park once and walk. Tulio's is VERY convenient. We had a great dinner and were able to relax and not worry about rushing. The service was great and very attentive. No complaints!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sooooo good! Pomegranate martini and asp ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Sooooo good! Pomegranate martini and asparagus soup were delicious. The orecchiette was spicy and wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved the atmosphere- it felt like an ol ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Loved the atmosphere- it felt like an old elegant restaurant in Italy. The food was ok but not something I'd revisit. We had a much better Italian dinner the night before with amazing food for way less money. Our waitress was attentive and professional.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The restaurant was fantastic. We were se ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The restaurant was fantastic. We were seated immediately after arriving. The food was delicious and the service was over and beyond.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We could not have been treated better or ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We could not have been treated better or had a more memorable and wonderful evening than at Tulio on July 10th in celebration of our 40th Wedding Anniversary. Fron the moment we arrived and received an unexpected warm reception specifically welcoming us by name and congratulating us on our special day, we were continually impressed and pleasantly surprised. We were escorted to a wonderful booth where two long stemmed roses adorned the table and without asking, were served two complimetary glasses of celebratory bubbly and desserts. The halibut main course and starter pasta and salad were perfection. Service was impecabble. Thank so much Tulio!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On my online reservation I indicated a p ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

On my online reservation I indicated a preference for a round table for 6 if they had this option - and it was ready and waiting when we arrived.

Excellent food and service. Would come back in a heartbeat. The pastas we had were to die for. Good wine selection - our bottle was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal at Tulio. Excel ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at Tulio. Excellent service and atmosphere. Reservation was exactly on time. there were three of us for dinner and all meals were delicious. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was excellent. The food so de ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Our waiter was excellent. The food so delicious. Their lamb preparation was wonderfully unusual and the best I've ever tasted! The pistachio semifreddo - a revelation : )

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service at Tulio was fantas ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food and service at Tulio was fantastic. The clams linguine were absolutely phenomenal, the restaurant had a decent beer selection, and our server was delightful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waited over an hour for our food, but th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Waited over an hour for our food, but the actual food was very delicious. The asparagus soup was good, and I liked the spinach & cheese calzone, it was very good also. You won't walk out paying less than $25/person, more realistically it will $35/person & up, so plan for that. For me, I would choose this place for "special occasion" dining:)

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Anniversary dinner We had an enjoyable ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Anniversary dinner We had an enjoyable evening close to our hotel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were seated in a lovely little booth, ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were seated in a lovely little booth, so that we could see the lovely open kitchen, but that was where it all ended. The waitress did not tell us about the specials, it was only after over hearing a group seated next to us being told about them next to us did I realize there were any at all. I ordered the asparagus soup, it was so salty that I sent it back. This is only the second time that I have ever sent anything back in my life. The sweet potato gnocchi was very heavy and the pasta we ordered was very spicy, although is was not noted on the menu. My husband enjoyed it but commented that is was nothing special and could easily be made at home. The cocktails were nice, but that was about it. We left without dessert, as I didn't want to waste anymore money and time on the place and went down the street for Gelato. Very disappointing, it left me wondering how it could possibly be so highly rated on trip advisor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value3

Had very high hopes for our meal here, b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Had very high hopes for our meal here, based on past reviews and nice menu selection. Our appetizer came (mussels) and it was delicious - very fresh, flavorful. Wine recommendations on point and extremely good service from our waitress. The main courses came (gnocchi and ribeye steak), and nothing was cooked correctly - pasta overcooked, practically burnt to a crisp and ribeye pounded so thin and cooked to grey. Our waitress was very apologetic but did not seem surprised that the food was not cooked to our liking. The manager came over right away to apologize and remove entrees from our bill. It was very unfortunate, as we were there to celebrate a birthday. With all the great restaurants in Seattle, we are disappointed that we waisted an evening here. I'm sure we may gave caught it on a bad night, we'll definitely avoid during our next visit to the area.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Read all of the reviews and must say a t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Read all of the reviews and must say a touch disappointed.

nothing great here. nice room but food was somewhat average.

I must clarify we only did only have a few appies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Tulio's is an institution in downtown Se ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Tulio's is an institution in downtown Seattle and is in the Kimpton Hotel tradition of housing excellent restaurants that serve their guests as well as residents of the area. The food has never failed me in its quality and its a great spot for individuals who love Italian food. Service is always gracious and accommodating to individuals who have all the time in the world or conversely, need to get in and out on a schedule. Wine choices are very good. Just a great place to dine in Seattle.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good not exceptional. Little pr ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food was good not exceptional. Little pricey for what you get. Desert was disappointing. Service was stellar.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

GREAT service!~ Lovely, helpful waiter. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

GREAT service!~ Lovely, helpful waiter. Good food flavor but the halibut was slightly over cooked (just enough to be undesirable)

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Tulio's is simply the best Italian resta ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Tulio's is simply the best Italian restaurant Seattle has to offer. The chef is personable and puts out delicious meals. The service is first class, and the ambiance can't be beat. Splurge and treat yourself to a dinner at Tulio's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Traffic was abominable and I called ahea ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Traffic was abominable and I called ahead to say we would be late. We were . . . 35 minutes! The staff understood that we had symphony tickets and our salads arrived in just a few minutes and our entree's were also rushed. We made it to the symphony before it started. FANTASTIC service!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious but pricey. Would go back. G ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Delicious but pricey. Would go back. Good place to go before the theater.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Their is something about the atmosphere ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Their is something about the atmosphere of this place that is conducive for conversation. It's a great date venue. Things are kind of pricey but you get what you are paying for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall lunch was a nice experience. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The overall lunch was a nice experience. Our waiter though was not really present. He was clueless to specials and more excited that he was off the next two days. All the salads are amazing and very filling.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Highlights of Sunday brunch at Tulio inc ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Highlights of Sunday brunch at Tulio included a very mushroomy agnolotti, a pastry which showed off its nutella core to great advantage, a homemade sausage packed with flavor, bread you could happily build a meal around and attentive service. Wine selections are plentiful and I would be delighted to sample more of them at dinner. (For brunch, a prosecco mimosa was just right). The dark wood paneled room with big windows was a pleasant daytime venue and would serve well for an elegant romantic dinner. Less than two blocks from Fifth Avenue Theater, this is a terrific place to convene before or after a show. None of the food takes chances, so if you're looking for a place to be thrilled and astonished by unexpected combinations I don't think this is it; nor does it offer any bargain prices. But for fulfilling and exceeding your expectations of fine classical flavors with attention to detail and supportive service, this is an excellent choice. We enjoyed it and will look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good brunch but not memorable. Service w ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Good brunch but not memorable. Service was okay but no refill on mimosas :( I may go back if i see improvements in brunch menu. Beautiful hotel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Delicious food, wonderful waiter. We we ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Delicious food, wonderful waiter. We were three friends coming together after five years and we wanted to take our time and the waiter was very good about that. We had later reservations but got there early and they were able to get us seated right away. We were treated wonderfully. Impressed my out-of-town friends very much. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thehalibutwasexcellent butIthink awarmpo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Thehalibutwasexcellent butIthink awarmpotatowouldcomplimentthehalibutbetter

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good. Crowded and noisy. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was very good. Crowded and noisy. 5 people at our table had trouble hearing at times. The next table seemed to be at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Consistently an excellent restaurant wit ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Consistently an excellent restaurant with great food and atmosphere. Delightful menu, not just the typical Italian menu items. Beautiful dining room and very nice, quaint bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was my first time at Tulio. From t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This was my first time at Tulio. From the minute we walked in the service was amazing. We were early and wanted to have a glass of wine. The transition from bar to dining room was seamless. Our server knew what we were drinking and suggested wines to accompany our meal choices. The escarole salad was one of the best salads I've ever had. I would go back just to have that. I ordered the pork shank for my main course. It was tender, and tasty. My companion ordered the halibut. It was perfectly seared and moist.

We will definitely be back. This time I won't share my salad though!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Good food , although they had only a few vegetarian options. The Gnocchi was amazing. I would have preferred the vegetarian pizza to have tasted better, I have tasted better pizzas out side even in a mom and pop shop. The seating arrangement was a bit tight and would have liked a more spaced layout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Tulio has a beautiful atmosphere, mouth- ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Tulio has a beautiful atmosphere, mouth-watering food and they were very professional and took good care of us. Would definitely visit again for a special occasion. They even gifted us with two roses for our anniversary!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This visit provided us with a great meal ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This visit provided us with a great meal within the the Vintage hotel and made for a gteat evening after a long day travelling.The quallity of the meal and service was excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Very attentive t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great food and service. Very attentive to our needs.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This gem will never disappoint.

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Ate here twice in two days because it was that good. Three words: Sweet Potato Gnocchi. Huge wine cellar and knowledgeable, attentive service makes this the perfect place to unwind after a long day. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth a look!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food here was great (sweet potato gnocchi was the clear highlight!), and while our waiter struggled a bit, he made up for it by comping our appetizer. The bartender was not only exceedingly personable, but made an excellent drink. All in all, definitely worth checking out!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.