Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Tulio

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria in the heart of downtown Seattle. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike. His boldly flavored dishes are both simple and sophisticated, combining rustic Italian preparations with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients. Add to this our great location in downtown Seattle, our warm, intimate atmosphere and outstanding service and it's easy to understand why Tulio is widely regarded as one of the city's best restaurants.

1100 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am;
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Bar:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Close;
Saturday -Sunday: 5:00pm - Close;
Bistro Menu available during Bar Service

Cross Street:
Spring

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-5500

Website:
http://www.tulio.com/

Catering:
Let us arrange your next special event in one of our spaces; completely private, semi-private or even our outdoor patio! At Tulio, we strive to make each event special. Solaio, our upstairs dining room, is a charming and beautifully decorated venue with a wine-cellar motif. There is no room rental fee charged for using Solaio and we offer customized menus, candles for the tables and background music - all complimentary.

Parking Details:
Valet offered at Hotel Vintage Park with reduced rate for Tulio diners. Discount available for Olympic Garage Parking located across street to the west

Public Transit:
4th and Seneca BUS and 3rd and Union LIGHT RAIL

Executive Chef:
Walter Pisano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tulio offers one of the best Grappa selections in Town! Enjoy Flights of selected Grappas for $20!
Join us for our Grappa Happy Hour in our bar daily from 8pm-10pm. Flights of selected Grappas for $20 with traditional accompaniment.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Fri 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding downtown Seattle favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike.

Tulio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (52)
Special Occasion (45)
Romantic (38)
See All
Fit for Foodies (37)
Cozy (37)
Business Meals (36)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Authentic (33)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Fun (18)
Local Ingredients (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Casual (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Historic (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Seasonal (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Fireplace (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
2752 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely horrible service. We made a reservation only 2 weeks before. We arrived and found that the kitchen was closing early, so we were told we had to get our order in quickly, and that construction would be starting in 30 minutes, so there would be some noise. They said they tried to contact us, but I received no notification. They offered no inducement for us to stay (e.g., free appetizer or drink, something off of our check), nada. So we left. Would never come back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Just eh. Not great not terrible. Would probably not go back. Too many other great places in Seattle.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely loved my experience at this fine restaurant. Service by Nate is outstanding. The menu has some worthy and mouthwatering items. Loved the roasted chicken with Risotto and the Caesar and beet salads are amazing. The desserts - this time the gelato was 'to die for'. Top it off with a cappuccino and latte and you're in heaven. Again, the food, the service and the classiness of this place is truly noteworthy and well worth you time to dine here and enjoy. A true Seattle treasure.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Continues to be one of my favorites for consistently good food!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Excellent food and even better service. Our waiter allowed us to linger and timed the service of drinks, appetizers, main course, and dessert perfectly. We were seated next to a large party for the second half of our meal, so it was not as quiet as I have found in the past, but I suspect that is an anomaly. The valet parking is also very convenient and inexpensive--a real advantage for downtown Seattle.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great place to meet friends for lunch. The food and service is always great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 19, 2017

It was an exquisite experience . The service was great and the food was amazing. We will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My daughter and I arrived for our reservation late but we didn't feel rushed by the staff and in fact everyone was very welcoming and engaging. The food was amazing - truly. We will definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We had a great dinner but the restaurant was totally full which we had never experienced here before and very noisy which made visiting difficult. Overall it was enjoyable and we would return.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great ambiance and service! Food was good, but often lacked enough flavor. Some things on the menu were very good, it was just a little hit or miss.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Tulio exceeded my expectations! Why a gem it still is after all these years! It's nice to see there is still good service food and atmosphere out there! We went to celebrate my nieces grad school graduation and we're going to the 5th avenue theater afterwards. They paced our meal perfectly, helped with our food allergies and requests, They even sent out champagne & dessert on the house! We were treated very special and will remember the experience with fond memories!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 7, 2017

As a vegetarian, I am always looking for choices, as opposed to settling for whatever might be there. Tulio had several appetizer options and at least one pasta option that fit the bill (vegetarian). I suspect a vegan would struggle a bit. The agnolotti with mushrooms was terrific, as was the pinot noir. My companions had the burrata app and salad, respectively, followed by the chicken/risotto dish and a meat dish that I didn't pay attention to. Everyone enjoyed the food. The waiter was ok and my companion did not get her "take home" box, but shrugged it off. I'll definitely go again when in Seattle. My companions were local and will be back.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 6, 2017

It is our second time at Tulio. Each time we found the service wanting; wait staff seemed too busy for us while half of the restaurant was empty. This time, it took the server a long time to appear to take the order, and when questions are asked answers were terse and dismissive. Food is not bad and ambience is decent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Sweet potato gnocchi was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Wonderful food and service

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Delicious food and a fun place to dine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This was the best dining experience we had in Seattle. Will recommend as a first choice for anyone visiting.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Juan was such a fabulous waiter. We were there for a friends 50th birthday and he made it super fun and special. We also liked all the food we got specially the spicy Italian sausage, Buratta and t the beignets desserts. We'd recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Our server Juan was fantastic. Attentive and engaged, light banter with the group. Great food, high quality. Will return for sure.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Tulio continues to maintain their high quality standards. Staff is friendly and the food is top notch. Can't say enough about this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Another wonderful meal at one of my favorite restaurants. Service was wonderful and the food was fantastic.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Lunch, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Great Italian food, decent wine list. At 6:00 it was quiet, but by 7:00 it was pretty noisy and a little hard to hear. A lovely little restaurant, fun place. The waitress was super knowledgeable and very helpful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Normally not in Seattle for Sunday breakfast - so we decided to go to somewhere that we enjoy for dinner. My wife reported that the cappuccino was divine. The breakfast options were hearty. The fennel sausage was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My wife had halibut and she enjoyed the meal. I had veal roast and was disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 18, 2017

dinner was exceptional; service impeccable; everything I expected it would be! I'll be back and will continue to refer friends and family. Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Service was excellent.
Wine by the bottle was over priced.
Food was no more than 3 stars.
Terrible business decision to add a surcharge of 5% on the total bill to off set the owners obligation to meet the $15 an hour mandate in Seattle.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Friends in town for u2. Two had pork shank and said best shank they had ever had. I had halibut perfectly grilled. Everything was great including clams and spicy sausage pasta. Great coconut sorbet. Our favorite meal of the weekend

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

There were 4 of us dining - the bread was delicious and the olive oil on the table was great! They split our appetizers which was very nice - the burrata appetizer was delicious I would definitely have that again. Raves from the table for the Spaghetti and the vegetarian option Agnolotti - Me and the other guest had the Linguine with clams - we were both very disappointed - the broth was flat and the noodles had no flavor, the clams were tasty but I had many broken shells in my dish I had to be very careful. The service started out really good, we wanted to order dessert but it took our waiter so long to get back to us we had to pass - we were going to a show and he knew that! The restaurant wasn't full. I don't think I'll be back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We all enjoyed our meals and the service and would return

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great waiter. Ate upstairs--quieter than the main floor. Good food. Had the asparagus soup and pork shank. My wife order the rib steak rare, but it showed up medium rare to medium.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Most of our meals were very good with the exception of the chicken which was very dry. Any pasta dish or the pork shank I would highly recommend. Service was attentive. A lady at the next table had an obnoxious laugh but overall the restaurant was nice.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I regularly eat at Tulios. It's within walking distance of several theaters, so it's a good choice for pre-theater dining. The quality of the food is excellent and consistent. The service is always first rate, and they have a great gluten free menu. The menu varies with the season, so the food is always fresh and inventive but not overwrought.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great place

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Lovely atmosphere and inventive dishes that surprised and delighted. The asparagus soup had an unexpected depth of flavor. Interesting crunch to the salad had us searching for the secret, thick fresh ahi steaks, and pork shank falling off the bone with flavor. The only problem? We ate too much sumptuous food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We were thrilled to visit Tulio at last!! The food was fabulous- we had the asparagus soup, the orecchiette, and the agnolotti. I wish I could remember our server's name...he was perfect.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I'm a regular diner at Tulio and was sorry that my recent dinner with friends was less satisfactory than usual. The server, while nice (when he showed up), seemed to forget about us for stretches of time. Fortunately, we didn't have time constraints (like theater tickets) because this would have been an issue since dinner dragged out considerably. The halibut special sounded excellent but unfortunately was a little dry from being overcooked. One party at our table had the roast chicken with risotto and that was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I went there on my birthday and it was amazing. The guy who served us bought me a glass of champagne! I love the vibe and food there, especially the linguine and the chicken.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Quality service, outstanding food, but just a tad noisy for a business meeting.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Ambience is terrific. Like stepping into an Italian Trattoria. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. The asparagus soup and burrata were great. Linguini with clams had so many flame I finished the linguini and had clams left to eat with the broth. Very good. However, the Orecchiette sauce was really thick, as if it had been in the pot too long. Very heavy and my wife only ate a few bites. Gelato del giorno was praline and hazelnut. House made, and excellent. Good wine list by bottle or glass. Would five another star except for the overly heavy pasta sauce.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Absolutely love Tulio's consistently good for breakfast lunch or dinner!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.