Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Tulio

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria in the heart of downtown Seattle. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike. His boldly flavored dishes are both simple and sophisticated, combining rustic Italian preparations with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients. Add to this our great location in downtown Seattle, our warm, intimate atmosphere and outstanding service and it's easy to understand why Tulio is widely regarded as one of the city's best restaurants.

1100 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am;
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Bar:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Close;
Saturday -Sunday: 5:00pm - Close;
Bistro Menu available during Bar Service

Cross Street:
Spring

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-5500

Website:
http://www.tulio.com/

Catering:
Let us arrange your next special event in one of our spaces; completely private, semi-private or even our outdoor patio! At Tulio, we strive to make each event special. Solaio, our upstairs dining room, is a charming and beautifully decorated venue with a wine-cellar motif. There is no room rental fee charged for using Solaio and we offer customized menus, candles for the tables and background music - all complimentary.

Parking Details:
Valet offered at Hotel Vintage Park with reduced rate for Tulio diners. Discount available for Olympic Garage Parking located across street to the west

Public Transit:
4th and Seneca BUS and 3rd and Union LIGHT RAIL

Executive Chef:
Walter Pisano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tulio offers one of the best Grappa selections in Town! Enjoy Flights of selected Grappas for $20!
Join us for our Grappa Happy Hour in our bar daily from 8pm-10pm. Flights of selected Grappas for $20 with traditional accompaniment.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Fri 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding downtown Seattle favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike.

Tulio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (49)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Special Occasion (48)
See All
Romantic (43)
Business Meals (40)
Authentic (39)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Cozy (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Great for Lunch (21)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Fun (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Casual (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Hot Spot (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vegan (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
2838 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

We were there on a Sunday evening for 7:00 theater. The waiter paced our meal perfectly and was a lovely representative of Tulio's name and reputation. Food was excellent, we had: the chicken, the duck, and the angliotti. Portion size was perfect and, the food arrived hot. Oh, and the bread and fabulous fruity olive oil were excellent before dinner eating. We would return again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service and lunch options! I came here for lunch and really enjoyed my time here. Servers were very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I was in town on business and the ambiance was amazing for after a long day! The atmosphere was not overwhelming, and I found the size to perfect. Our waiter was knowledgeable and made great recommendations towards the diet restrictions of one of my counterparts. I ordered the pork shank and tiramisu, and it was flavorful, and the portion size of both was enough to share.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant and bar were both wonderful. Food was presented well and tasted fantastic. I look forward to going there again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Server started off great. Then disappeared. Would have liked another glass of wine but no one asked. We asked for dessert menu. Received it. But never returned for us to place the order. Food was great. Highly recommend for food quality. Very comfortable setting.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The resteraunt has a very nice ambiance. Our server was wonderful and willing to make suggestions freely. Our dinners were very good. However my steak, while a very nice cut of ribeye, has little seasoning. In fact, I had to break out the salt shaker. My wife had linguini with clams. It was very nicely prepared as we're the mussels we had as an appetizer. Overall, a very nice resteraunt. The only con is that it is a bit overpriced.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Had the Orecchiette which tasted great but it was the Tiramisu that put it over the top. Best Tiramisu I have ever had it was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great bday dinner!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Our waiter Oden was fantastic! Tomato soup delish, pasta with red sauce and sausage was boring, gnocchi ok. Tiramisu had too much of a salty cookie crumble on top. Wine however, made up for the meal. I guess I expected more excitement for my palate and the cost. The presentation is nice, salads looked pretty that other diners ordered. I would come back for wine and maybe try the cheese plate and a salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Fantastic food, friendly and knowledgeable service, with a cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Melissa is awesome. Greeted warmly and made to feel most welcome. Nate is a fantastic waiter and enjoyed our experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We went to Tulio at the recommendation of a friend, but we were disappointed. The service was erratic and the food uneven. The wine glass of one member of our party smelled of sulfur, we were given the wrong dishes, and the dessert we ordered was a meager portion. Though we dined in many fine restaurants while vacationing in Seattle, this was the most expensive and the least satisfying.

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 6, 2017

I have always liked Tulio's food and service. But Tuesday evening was a disappointment. The special fish dish was very dry and over cooked. Service was totally lacking. We requested twice for time to enjoy our cocktail before ordering and when we did order we asked that they would not rush. The food was delivered with in minutes. They did not check in to see if we wished additional wine or water. Sad. Usually it is top in both food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2017

After leaving a waterfront restaurant after the appetizer because it wasn't very good we were still hungry and just wanted pasta. We randomly found Tulio on Open Table. Lucky for us it was excellent! The service was friendly and the food came fast. We both ordered pasta and it was amazing. It was very fresh and light. We loved the cozy atmosphere as well. Next time we are in Seattle we will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Late-night Find, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Varied menu, but my husband always loves the pork shank. The pasta perfect, focaccia bread always fantastic, salads crisp, fresh, flavorful. Servers unobtrusive and helpful.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Reminded us of favorite NYC restaurants especially atmosphere and professional grade service staff. Also, staff was very accommodating to our style of dining which includes sharing everything - extra plates were provided and no questions were asked. Classicsly casual and excellent food served professionally.

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 1, 2017

A gem. Solid service - waiter made good wine pairing recommendations. Food was excellent. I had orricchiette with house-made fennel sausage and my wife had halibut with arugula and white beans - everything was outstanding in a fairly small and cozy setting.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 31, 2017

I was hoping to love Tulio but frankly, it's a poor value experience. We made reservations via Open Table but were seated at a tight table for 4 in the bar area. Lots of background conversation so it was hard to hear each other. Food portions are poor, although the quality of the food is terrific. I just can't justify the high prices for the amount of food. High quality presentation, however. Service was outstanding. Finally, they add a 5% surcharge for who knows what service related activity....but it's not a substitute for the tip. I've never seen that in any other Seattle restaurant. Not a good idea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I dine here 3-4 times a year, when I come to Seattle. Great food and great service. The noon rush makes for a somewhat noisy lunch, but it dies down quickly and is most pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 28, 2017

A very good restaurant with a unique menu, convenient location and excellent service. But, unless you sit in the bar it has become very noisy and is not the ideal lunch place it used to be. Still, a good choice off hour or if you really don't have special talks to conduct.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Great Food! Very Good Service! Nice Setting with Knowledgeable Wait Staff!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

It was our anniversary dinner and the thoughtful staff at Tulio had a beautiful table set for us with roses. The wait staff was attentive without being overbearing. We had a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cambridge)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our hotel was quoting a 40 minute wait to be served breakfast and recommended Tulio as an alternative.
We were pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Tulios has excellent service and food, but you are paying for it. Their menu can accommodate a wide variety of tastes and needs, but is primarily Italian / Mediterranean base. They have a good selection of wines from Italy and around the world. I especially appreciate their ports and the century of port flight (10yr, 20yr, 30yr, 40yr)

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Tulio was convenient to our downtown hotel -- just around the corner. It was the start of a week-long vacation and decided to give the restaurant a try based on reviews on Open Table. We were not disappointed. Everything was excellent. I had the halibut special -- perfectly cooked over a bed of watercress, corn, and cherry tomatoes. Delicious without being overly filling. The ambiance of the restaurant was excellent -- lots of wood with a cozy, almost British feel. Definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We really enjoyed this place. Pretty cool old school atmosphere. Super friendly service from our waiter who also gave us some great pointers on local attractions. Reasonably priced food was awesome! Highlights: house-made pasta, tomato bread soup, Burrata appetizer, pork belly spaghetti, and halibut (chef's seasonal special that night). Desserts were superb also, especially the pecan tart and tiramisu. I highly recommend. Make a reservation or get there early as the place appeared to fill up by 7pm.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The gluten free menu was a big plus and my husband loved the lamb sirloin, something he had never tasted before

Tags: Organic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Visited for the first time prior to the Sounders match. Great food! Knowledgeable wait staff with attentive support staff! Will return and recommend it to friends!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Wonderful food & great service. Linguini w clams and Orecchiette were outstanding. Best meal we had on Seattle visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Our meal was excellent, every dish tasted great. Tulip does a great job with gluten free options. We loved their wine list, lots of great italian wines!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Tulios has fantastic salads and entrees. I love the linguine with clams.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was OK..no more than that..In addition I asked for "antipasti" to share for 5 people and was very scarce..service was not good. Wine list reasonable and OK..I do not think will go gain.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Wonderful food, very friendly knowledgeable service. Tiramisu to die for.👍

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 17, 2017

James was awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Food was average to good with some surprises--the gnocchi was delicious as was the tuscan kale salad and the agnolotti. Some great wine choices too. Portion sizes were huge though--great for those looking for a large, hearty meal but a bit much for many of us. Would suggest getting a few main dishes to share instead of ordering individually. Service was warm and friendly--only complaint is that one server kept removing plates as we finished, which is a big no-no. Left the last person to finish eating awkwardly while the rest of our plates had been cleared. Still, a great restaurant--we had a very pleasant meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner with great service! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Stopped in for breakfast + mimosas to celebrate my best friend choosing her wedding dress! The server was very kind and attentive, mimosas and food were delicious, and prices weren't crazy - about what we expected for brunch in downtown Seattle.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Really had a special time celebrating our 27th anniversary there. Service was attentive and the food fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

My wife and I have been there before, but they were spectacular for our anniversary. I requested a certain table, and not only was it ready for us when we arrived, but they put two rose stems on it for my wife. We were both very impressed with our waiter Jimmy's service, as he was attentive, gave great suggestions, and knew to leave us alone at the right times. I cannot say enough about Tulio, it is the best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

This is a great restaurant! My Italian wife (who is pretty hard to please when it comes to pasta) loved it. The sweet potato gnocchi was especially delicious. The restaurant itself is very nice, with a cool vintage looking bar and a great wine selection. I did find it a bit odd that when my wife and I (both late 20s) asked for a wine bottle pairing, our waiter's only recommendation was a $400 bottle. Other than that, I very much enjoyed our meal. I will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.