Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Tulio

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria in the heart of downtown Seattle. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike. His boldly flavored dishes are both simple and sophisticated, combining rustic Italian preparations with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients. Add to this our great location in downtown Seattle, our warm, intimate atmosphere and outstanding service and it's easy to understand why Tulio is widely regarded as one of the city's best restaurants.

1100 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am;
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Bar:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Close;
Saturday -Sunday: 5:00pm - Close;
Bistro Menu available during Bar Service

Cross Street:
Spring

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-5500

Website:
http://www.tulio.com/

Catering:
Let us arrange your next special event in one of our spaces; completely private, semi-private or even our outdoor patio! At Tulio, we strive to make each event special. Solaio, our upstairs dining room, is a charming and beautifully decorated venue with a wine-cellar motif. There is no room rental fee charged for using Solaio and we offer customized menus, candles for the tables and background music - all complimentary.

Parking Details:
Valet offered at Hotel Vintage Park with reduced rate for Tulio diners. Discount available for Olympic Garage Parking located across street to the west

Public Transit:
4th and Seneca BUS and 3rd and Union LIGHT RAIL

Executive Chef:
Walter Pisano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tulio offers one of the best Grappa selections in Town! Enjoy Flights of selected Grappas for $20!
Join us for our Grappa Happy Hour in our bar daily from 8pm-10pm. Flights of selected Grappas for $20 with traditional accompaniment.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Fri 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding downtown Seattle favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike.

Tulio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (58)
Special Occasion (50)
Fit for Foodies (46)
See All
Romantic (42)
Cozy (40)
Business Meals (40)
Pre/post Theatre (39)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Authentic (38)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Historic (17)
Great for Lunch (14)
Fun (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Casual (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Seasonal (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Private Room (4)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Fireplace (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2735 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Juan was such a fabulous waiter. We were there for a friends 50th birthday and he made it super fun and special. We also liked all the food we got specially the spicy Italian sausage, Buratta and t the beignets desserts. We'd recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server Juan was fantastic. Attentive and engaged, light banter with the group. Great food, high quality. Will return for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Tulio continues to maintain their high quality standards. Staff is friendly and the food is top notch. Can't say enough about this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Another wonderful meal at one of my favorite restaurants. Service was wonderful and the food was fantastic.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Great Italian food, decent wine list. At 6:00 it was quiet, but by 7:00 it was pretty noisy and a little hard to hear. A lovely little restaurant, fun place. The waitress was super knowledgeable and very helpful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Normally not in Seattle for Sunday breakfast - so we decided to go to somewhere that we enjoy for dinner. My wife reported that the cappuccino was divine. The breakfast options were hearty. The fennel sausage was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My wife had halibut and she enjoyed the meal. I had veal roast and was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 18, 2017

dinner was exceptional; service impeccable; everything I expected it would be! I'll be back and will continue to refer friends and family. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Service was excellent.
Wine by the bottle was over priced.
Food was no more than 3 stars.
Terrible business decision to add a surcharge of 5% on the total bill to off set the owners obligation to meet the $15 an hour mandate in Seattle.

Tags: Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Friends in town for u2. Two had pork shank and said best shank they had ever had. I had halibut perfectly grilled. Everything was great including clams and spicy sausage pasta. Great coconut sorbet. Our favorite meal of the weekend

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

There were 4 of us dining - the bread was delicious and the olive oil on the table was great! They split our appetizers which was very nice - the burrata appetizer was delicious I would definitely have that again. Raves from the table for the Spaghetti and the vegetarian option Agnolotti - Me and the other guest had the Linguine with clams - we were both very disappointed - the broth was flat and the noodles had no flavor, the clams were tasty but I had many broken shells in my dish I had to be very careful. The service started out really good, we wanted to order dessert but it took our waiter so long to get back to us we had to pass - we were going to a show and he knew that! The restaurant wasn't full. I don't think I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We all enjoyed our meals and the service and would return

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great waiter. Ate upstairs--quieter than the main floor. Good food. Had the asparagus soup and pork shank. My wife order the rib steak rare, but it showed up medium rare to medium.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Most of our meals were very good with the exception of the chicken which was very dry. Any pasta dish or the pork shank I would highly recommend. Service was attentive. A lady at the next table had an obnoxious laugh but overall the restaurant was nice.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I regularly eat at Tulios. It's within walking distance of several theaters, so it's a good choice for pre-theater dining. The quality of the food is excellent and consistent. The service is always first rate, and they have a great gluten free menu. The menu varies with the season, so the food is always fresh and inventive but not overwrought.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great place

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Lovely atmosphere and inventive dishes that surprised and delighted. The asparagus soup had an unexpected depth of flavor. Interesting crunch to the salad had us searching for the secret, thick fresh ahi steaks, and pork shank falling off the bone with flavor. The only problem? We ate too much sumptuous food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We were thrilled to visit Tulio at last!! The food was fabulous- we had the asparagus soup, the orecchiette, and the agnolotti. I wish I could remember our server's name...he was perfect.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I'm a regular diner at Tulio and was sorry that my recent dinner with friends was less satisfactory than usual. The server, while nice (when he showed up), seemed to forget about us for stretches of time. Fortunately, we didn't have time constraints (like theater tickets) because this would have been an issue since dinner dragged out considerably. The halibut special sounded excellent but unfortunately was a little dry from being overcooked. One party at our table had the roast chicken with risotto and that was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I went there on my birthday and it was amazing. The guy who served us bought me a glass of champagne! I love the vibe and food there, especially the linguine and the chicken.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Quality service, outstanding food, but just a tad noisy for a business meeting.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Ambience is terrific. Like stepping into an Italian Trattoria. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. The asparagus soup and burrata were great. Linguini with clams had so many flame I finished the linguini and had clams left to eat with the broth. Very good. However, the Orecchiette sauce was really thick, as if it had been in the pot too long. Very heavy and my wife only ate a few bites. Gelato del giorno was praline and hazelnut. House made, and excellent. Good wine list by bottle or glass. Would five another star except for the overly heavy pasta sauce.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Absolutely love Tulio's consistently good for breakfast lunch or dinner!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had requested seating away from the kitchen and wait stand and we got stuck right next to both. When I tried to speak with the manager, he dismissed us with no apology. Very BAD customer service and very unprofessional! I won't be back, nor will anyone else in my party. There are too many other great restaurants with better attitudes towards their clientele.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very busy place. Wait staff were great, but occasionally difficult to find. Food was smaller portions than I liked, and not very memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I love this place.. Authenic Italian, professional service. Feels like it belongs in Manhattan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Despite the fact that we were nearly 30 minutes late for our reservation (due to traffic; we called) we were graciously accommodated. It was a lovely meal in a cozy corner near a front window. The asparagus soup was stunning -- so fresh tasting! Everything else ordered was yummy, too. Professional service, too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The fresh halibut was AMAZING!!! Our server was charming and attentive and very responsive to our timeline since we had an event after dinner. The desserts were incredible too.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Healthy, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This is my first time to this restaurant and hotel in Seattle and I was impressed with both. There may not be many menu options but what was on the menu was fantastic. The bread and olive oil / balsamic vinegar are a great start to the mean. They have a decent wine list as well. The chicken with lemon / sage risotto was sooo good! I would definitely eat here again.

I did have breakfast the next morning and the crispy bacom - OMG. Was so good!!!!

Tags: Historic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Our waiter (personable young man from Colombia) was a pure delight, with excellent suggestions and just the right amount of attentiveness. Great wine suggestions and customized our food order to accommodate our wishes. We were seated in a quieter booth, otherwise could be a bit noisy. Overall, we loved it and highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Several great options. We came from Town Hall, where we have a membership. Free appetizer was given to us, because of the membership, and we got to sample their gniocci. We had the lamb and the pork shank. The pork shank literally "fell off the bone!" Next time, we'll save room for dessert, too!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2017

While we have been to Tulio multiple times, this was our second time with Antonio as our waiter. I mention Antonio by name because he made the evening great! From his food recommendations to his engaging demeanor, he makes you feel like you're a priority for him. He listened to my bride's needs for dairy free options attentively...and that meant the world to me! Tulio is a place worth visiting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2017

All around great dining experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food and service. Very lively, busy, authentic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Delicious food! Surpassed expectations! Started with sweet potato gnocchi which were perfectly crispy with a soft inside. Then had the mushroom angolotti, homemade pasta, decadent and amazing. Finally had the fish of the day which was halibut caught this morning. Fish was prepared perfectly, and was delicious. Dessert was bambinos and gelato... both were fantastic. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was delicious and the service excellent. Waiter gave great advice on the menu and wine list. The ambience upstairs was intimate and there was no rush to leave.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We reserved a table for a lunch meeting. I asked for a space with less noise. They gave us a table on the second floor. I was worried they would forget about us because there was only one other table on our floor occupied but they did not. Service was great and the food was amazing. Great value!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual, Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

There was a change in the reservation that was not communicated correctly. The staff went out their way to make us accommodated comfortably.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The service and food were great, I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice sit down dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Wonderful Italian cuisine with many original flavors. Great use of vegetables with special meat also. Wait staff was professional and friendly. Their desserts seemed handcrafted too. I think Tulio's is a very good place for a special lunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.