About Tulio

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria in the heart of downtown Seattle. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike. His boldly flavored dishes are both simple and sophisticated, combining rustic Italian preparations with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients. Add to this our great location in downtown Seattle, our warm, intimate atmosphere and outstanding service and it's easy to understand why Tulio is widely regarded as one of the city's best restaurants.

1100 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am;
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Bar:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Close;
Saturday -Sunday: 5:00pm - Close;
Bistro Menu available during Bar Service

Cross Street:
Spring

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-5500

Website:
http://www.tulio.com/

Catering:
Let us arrange your next special event in one of our spaces; completely private, semi-private or even our outdoor patio! At Tulio, we strive to make each event special. Solaio, our upstairs dining room, is a charming and beautifully decorated venue with a wine-cellar motif. There is no room rental fee charged for using Solaio and we offer customized menus, candles for the tables and background music - all complimentary.

Parking Details:
Valet offered at Hotel Vintage Park with reduced rate for Tulio diners. Discount available for Olympic Garage Parking located across street to the west

Public Transit:
4th and Seneca BUS and 3rd and Union LIGHT RAIL

Executive Chef:
Walter Pisano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tulio offers one of the best Grappa selections in Town! Enjoy Flights of selected Grappas for $20!
Join us for our Grappa Happy Hour in our bar daily from 8pm-10pm. Flights of selected Grappas for $20 with traditional accompaniment.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Fri 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding downtown Seattle favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike.

Tulio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Good for a Date (56)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
See All
Romantic (40)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Business Meals (34)
Cozy (33)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Authentic (28)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Casual (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Historic (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Seasonal (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Fun (8)
People Watching (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Private Room (4)
Fireplace (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2646 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were happy to be seated at the bar in ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

We were happy to be seated at the bar in this very popular Italian restaurant in Seattle. The food and the service were outstanding and the oysters were treated in an innovative way. I have the opportunity to eat fabulous Italian food in Vancouver and wonderful seafood. Was delighted by my new taste sensations at Tulios.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hadn't been in years and decided to go o ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Hadn't been in years and decided to go on Valentine's Day. Entree's and apps were really quite excellent and the service was very professional without being intrusive. Will definitely return.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been fans of Tulio in the past, ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been fans of Tulio in the past, but were disappointed by the overall experience for Valentine's Day. It took a long time to get our cocktails, someone tried to deliver another party's meal to our table, and the meal was just okay. The special part was my beautiful wife so we made the evening work, but would like to let Tulio know it was not up to their usual standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Very disappointed given the reputation o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Very disappointed given the reputation of the restaurant. Although simply a get together with a friend, happened to be on Valentine's day and was clear that food was on an assembly line. Asparagus was tasteless and none of the fibrous ends were cut off. Next course came when only half way through 1st course. Main course was cold and completely dried out with wine coming when nearly through with main course. Desert was very tasty and the highlight, but decaffeinated coffee was either mixed up with friend's caffeinated coffee or we both got caffeinated coffee. Extremely disappointed. Had much better meals at my other Seattle dining experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

This was a very disappointing experience ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

This was a very disappointing experience. The food was average at best- we had the clam linguine which was watery and had little pasta to make up for it. Service was slow and inattentive.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Very good Service. Cute restaurant and d ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Very good Service. Cute restaurant and delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great meal here. Service was ex ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a great meal here. Service was excellent. Charming place that was great for my family including my 9 year old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have great service and a good ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We always have great service and a good meal here Celebrated Valentine's Day early and we're not disappointed

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An old standard that truly gets better w ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

An old standard that truly gets better with age. We will be shortening the time inbetween visits. Great food, wonderful service and awesome drink.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My daughter and I had a very nice dinner ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My daughter and I had a very nice dinner. The waiter was very pleasant and service was great. I had the burrata salad and it was very good. I also had the clam linguine and it was very good. We had drinks in the bar after dinner and once again, the bartender was very nice and so was the crowd. I would definitely return again.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tulio's continues to be one of my favori ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Tulio's continues to be one of my favorite restaurants in Seattle. They consistently have great food and excellent service.

Tags: Historic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went as a combination business/friend ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We went as a combination business/friend lunch. The hostess made the effort to get us a nice window booth. Had the chicken avocado salad and a linguini with clams. Both delicious, though it is noted that the clams have a bit of a kick to them! All in all, great meal great service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, good service. Love the ambian ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good food, good service. Love the ambiance. Very classic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Celebrating an anniversary and we felt v ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Celebrating an anniversary and we felt very special. Dinner was sinfully delicious and the wine paired perfectly. Lots to choose from. Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Tulio used to be one of my favorite rest ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Tulio used to be one of my favorite restaurants. We even went there with the whole family for Easter dinner one year. I'm not sure whether it has changed owners or changed chefs, but the last two times I've eaten there I have been disappointed in the food. My steak was cooked well, but tough and not very flavorful. Next time I'll go to Sullivan's, Lola, or the Met. Our server was very pleasant and reasonably attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We went here for a date and we're both v ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We went here for a date and we're both vegetarian. They have a separate vegetarian menu which is always nice. For my taste, I thought things were a bit bland. Considering that trait was across the board, I think this is the way the chef wants the fresh ingredients and house made dishes to speak for themselves instead of relying on a lot of seasoning and spices. My date's wine was great and my old fashioned was spot on. Our server was great and we got everything in a very timely manner. The dessert was magical (Nutella bar)and I would definitely consider going again!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second time there. Our firs ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our second time there. Our first visit last year was great, so we returned but had an awful experience this time. The young woman and man at the front desk were rude when we showed up early for our reservation and suggested we go to another bar down the street and come back at the correct time. After taking our water order, our waiter disappeared for almost 20 minutes - then the service he provided for the remainder of the evening was very poor. We wondered if the restaurant was understaffed that night. The employees allowed a diner's young child to run through the restaurant interrupting others. My husband's veal chop (cooked medium) was very tough and impossible to chew. We probably won't return for a third visit.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Very good dinner - healthy portions. Gr ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very good dinner - healthy portions. Great wines. Excellent service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The waitstaff was not attentive and actu ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The waitstaff was not attentive and actually quite dismissive to my friend's food allergies. Knowing this restaurant had been recommended by a local Celiac group and regarded as one of the best, we were surprised by the waitstaff and their dismissive nature when asking for confirmation of a gluten free dish since she was ordering the same thing we were non gluten free. We had to wave down servers and bussers just to get water and drink refills as our server disappeared in a not so busy restaurant. The taste of the food was superb but it could not make up for the horrible service. He brought dessert menus when we asked for the check and disregarded again that we had a gluten free person dining at the table. We paid and was out the door in less than an hour. We felt rushed and uncomfortable staying. Not an expected timetable for a Saturday evening. Highly disappointed in the experience. Doubt I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Tulio's is one of those must-go-to place ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Tulio's is one of those must-go-to places in Seattle! Everything about this place is wonderful. From the warm, cozy feeling of walking into the door, being greeted by the nicest most professional staff and then when you're seated the smells of fine food just linger toward you from the kitchen. Hands down my favorite restaurant for a special occasion with my husband or a fun night with family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The risotto and sweet potato gnocchi wer ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The risotto and sweet potato gnocchi were delicious! They let us get an appetizer portion of each so we could try both. The roasted chicken was good, but the duck was amazing! Great wine list and grappa list!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gracious in allowing us to reschedule an ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Gracious in allowing us to reschedule an anniversary diner after transportation failed. When we arrived were treated as if the only guests, with flowers and campaign. The restaurant was packed, yet our server was always available as needed. This was our third visit; it was the best. Oh, and the food was superb.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, but what really made ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The food was great, but what really made the evening was the friendly, helpful, non-condescending waiter.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tulio was wonderful! Great food and serv ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Tulio was wonderful! Great food and service! thank you Tulio, it was a special night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family took my dad here for his 60th ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 24, 2017

My family took my dad here for his 60th birthday. In the reservation notes online, I told them it was his birthday and the waiter generously wish him a happy birthday and at the end of the meal, even game his a complimentary dessert. Our waiter was very experienced, friendly, and polite. The food was delicious. It was not too rich, either, which can be an issue for me at some upscale Italian restaurants. The best aspect of Tulio, however, was the atmosphere. Altogether, it was a very nice evening, and I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, , Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only complaint is the tight space. D ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My only complaint is the tight space. Difficult to move/walk through the restaurant. The food was fabulous, as was the service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A Charming Break from warehouse restaura ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 19, 2017

A Charming Break from warehouse restaurants!

The booths and the end table in the bar offer quiet. The decor is pleasing, colorful, restful.

The waiter responded to special dietary requests without missing a beat. He was cheerful and efficient. The grilled chicken was moist and tasty. The risotto a bit salty. Delicious nutella bar for dessert.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

A frequented stop every time I am in Sea ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 19, 2017

A frequented stop every time I am in Seattle. Solid service, great food and enjoyable ambiance make this a can't miss stop for those looking for wonderful Italian food, which takes advantage of Seattle's proximity to fresh vegetables, fish and meat. Amble wine list and experienced bartenders, who can concoct a wonderful cocktail.

Tags: Business Meals, , Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic meal - good drinks, g ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We had a fantastic meal - good drinks, great wine, nice desserts too.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious authentic Italian food. Servic ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Delicious authentic Italian food. Service was great and a relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

First time ever at Tulios,greeted right ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 16, 2017

First time ever at Tulios,greeted right away at table,he was very nice,very informative. Food was to the table fast,very good tasting,presented neatly on plate. No disappointments no negatives. Will be back soon! Very Good Experience! Thank You.

Edward Archer

Tags: , Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Efran wqs a very friendly, knowledgable ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Efran wqs a very friendly, knowledgable server. He and the wonderful food made for a memorable meal.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Tulio's for a p ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My husband and I went to Tulio's for a pre-theater brunch. I had the Tulio's version of eggs benedict. It was served on grilled bread and had a Italian hollandaise sauce. I could have eaten an entire basket of the bread and dipped it in that sauce. It was very yummy. My husband had the biscuits and gravy-also very good. The service was excellent and super friendly. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

As always, Tulio was amazing. The servic ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

As always, Tulio was amazing. The service was phenomenal and the food was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sophisticated Italian restaurant that co ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Sophisticated Italian restaurant that could be right out of the Upper East Side of Manhattan.

Wood panelled, low candelabra lighting all add to an intimate atmosphere in which to enjoy good food.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible for vegetarians Bartender slow ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Terrible for vegetarians

Bartender slow and made drink incorrectly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Noisy . . . hey . . . just get the messa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Noisy . . . hey . . . just get the message. Folks do not like lots of noise anymore.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience. Very homey, comfortabl ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great Experience. Very homey, comfortable ambiance

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The waitress was wonderful and her wine ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The waitress was wonderful and her wine recommendation was spot on. A lovely evening.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love everything about this restaurant- ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I love everything about this restaurant-- food, atmosphere, service!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.