About Tulio

1100 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria in the heart of downtown Seattle. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike. His boldly flavored dishes are both simple and sophisticated, combining rustic Italian preparations with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients. Add to this our great location in downtown Seattle, our warm, intimate atmosphere and outstanding service and it's easy to understand why Tulio is widely regarded as one of the city's best restaurants.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am;
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;
Bar:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Close;
Saturday -Sunday: 5:00pm - Close;
Bistro Menu available during Bar Service

Cross Street:
Spring

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-5500

Website:
http://www.tulio.com/

Catering:
Let us arrange your next special event in one of our spaces; completely private, semi-private or even our outdoor patio! At Tulio, we strive to make each event special. Solaio, our upstairs dining room, is a charming and beautifully decorated venue with a wine-cellar motif. There is no room rental fee charged for using Solaio and we offer customized menus, candles for the tables and background music - all complimentary.

Parking Details:
Valet offered at Hotel Vintage Park with reduced rate for Tulio diners. Discount available for Olympic Garage Parking located across street to the west

Public Transit:
4th and Seneca BUS and 3rd and Union LIGHT RAIL

Executive Chef:
Walter Pisano

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Tulio offers one of the best Grappa selections in Town! Enjoy Flights of selected Grappas for $20!
Join us for our Grappa Happy Hour in our bar daily from 8pm-10pm. Flights of selected Grappas for $20 with traditional accompaniment.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Fri 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding downtown Seattle favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike.

Tulio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (110)
fit for foodies (101)
romantic (90)
See All
notable wine list (69)
neighborhood gem (53)
good for groups (44)
great for lunch (38)
great for brunch (16)
late-night find (13)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (7)
kid-friendly (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2270 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We will be back

Dined 5 days ago

Reservations were easy, the host was attentive, but not pretentious. The wait staff was friendly and professional. They all were very busy, but we never felt neglected. The food was amazing. It literally was one of the best experiences we have had with fine dining. The atmosphere, the service, the food. All worth every penny. I wish I could remember names, but they all worked as a team, helping each other, keeping diners content. If you are looking for a quality dining experience you will find it at Tulio's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Murf

Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful restaurant! Try the sweet potato gnocchi- delicious!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Longstanding favorite

Dined 5 days ago

Every time I eat here, I am reminded again of why I love it. The host seated us immediately, the wait staff got us drinks immediately, food is always great, we're surrounded by lots of happy people enjoying themselves, it's buzzing with energy. Hug favorite, highly recommend for a special occasion or just dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Cozy with a Buzz

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Surprised that a hotel restaurant could be so intimate yet vibrant. Had a feel of Italian restaurants in NY or something you might find in a London neighborhood. Close quarters gives it a good energy level. Great service, food and good buzz.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new favorite Italian place to dine at ...

Dined 6 days ago

My new favorite Italian place to dine at! I have allergies, but there were many options on their menu and our server was very attentive to our needs. We had the Tuscan salad, lamb sirloin, and gluten free pasta with sausage. We have already told many friends about our experience here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent high end Italian restaurant. A ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent high end Italian restaurant. Ate here because we were staying at the Vintage Hotel in the same building. It is right there with the best restaurants in Seattle. We did not eat there Saturday night but had a drink after dinner at another eatery. Tulio was still busy & buzzing at 9:30, while the other place was obviously winding down after 9:00.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing family gathering dinner there!

Dined on May 20, 2016

The service was great with very efficient and warm hearted servers. Everyone at the table had a wonderful experience. Will definitely recommend Tulio for anyone wanting to spend a special time with delicious food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

we chose Tulio's for our third anniversa ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

we chose Tulio's for our third anniversary celebration, partly as we have been wanting to go there for a while, partly because we had not been there before and partly because they have a gluten free menu and my wife needs to avoid gluten. Our waiter was wonderful and gave great advice on our food choices. the food was excellent and we had a very enjoyable meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good meal and service

Dined on May 17, 2016

When I go to Seattle on business I make a point to eat at Tulio's. The food and service is always great. I'm never disappointed with any part of the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tulio's

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice ambiance (more old world than modern) and very good Italian. Pasta's were delicious and the beef/lamb eaters were happy too. Good selection and varied prices for wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a perfect Mothers Day brunch. Foo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was a perfect Mothers Day brunch. Food was great, service friendly and pronto. We'll be back. Booking on Open Table was easy!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a Mother's Day brunch prior to catching a musical at the 5th Ave. Food and service were perfect as has always been the case the 25 years we have dined there.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Mothers Day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my Mother to Tulio's as I did 2 years ago and she enjoyed it very much then. The food wasn't as fresh this time as it has been in the past. But was passable. The service was good as always, the server did seem rushed but he was very nice and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Pass on breakfast

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great dinner spot but they have not cracked the code on breakfast/brunch. Service was very good but not setup for breakfast - bread - butter - jam on arrival or with meal - limited children's choices. Dinner is their core might be better to focus there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian Restaurant

Dined on May 6, 2016

We love Tulios! Whenever we visit Seattle this is a must go to restaurant. Great food, great vibe, we are never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Welcome home lunch

Dined on May 3, 2016

I booked lunch reservation for myself and hubby for when I arrived back in the US from being overseas doing Peace Corps. I had the chicken and avocado salad which was very delicious. Hubby had the risotto which was creamy and tasty. We are always pleased with our experience here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Food. Great service.

Dined on May 3, 2016

I highly recommend Tulio. The food was wonderful. The service was impeccable. The atmosphere was charming. The price is on the higher end but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Past its prime

Dined on May 1, 2016

Unfortunately this restaurant has lost its mojo in my book. The food tries to be original but does not work with strange combinations of spicy sauce with halibut grilled and baked? Sorry this was not the Tulio I remember

Tags: group bookings
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

No fun

Dined on April 30, 2016

It just was not up to par with my expectations. The presentation was off, it seems as though the food was just thrown to me and over seasoned. I was fairly disappointed but the waiter was amazing.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My New Favorite Restaurant

Dined on April 30, 2016

I ate at Tulio for my first time with my coworkers for my birthday lunch in February and have been dying to go back. The sweet potato gnocchi is amazing! I took my boyfriend here last week and he fell in love as well. Our server, Antonio (who I have had previously as a server at Purple), provided an exceptional dining experience for us. Antonio recommended the coconut ice cream for dessert, which turned out to be delicious. I am now wanting to go back asap for the ice cream!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Italian food outside of Italy...in ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Best Italian food outside of Italy...in fact, it was absolutely on a par with it!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Worth it

Dined on April 25, 2016

Good venue, good service, good food. Overall, I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good environment, service and good food.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

We made a reservation at Tullio at anoth ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

We made a reservation at Tullio at another reservation fell through. We were lucky as it turned out since Tullio turned out to be a delightful experience. The food was top notch, the service perfect and the atmosphere veer welcoming. From now on, Tullio will be a regular stop whenever we are in Seattle.

food5
ambience4
service5

We shared appetizers for the table and m ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

We shared appetizers for the table and many had the lamb dish, however the pork shoulder was truly amazing. Great food and service!

food5
ambience4
service5

We were in town for meetings and had a f ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

We were in town for meetings and had a free night. The service was very nice and the food was delicious--especially the sweet potato gnocchi and the lemon budino. Try having it with the house-made Limon cello. Highly recommended. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

food4
ambience4
service3

We went to Tulio for dinner prior to a 7 ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We went to Tulio for dinner prior to a 7:30 event at Town Hall. The host asked my husband if we were going to an event, and he told him we were and needed to leave by 7. Our server was attentive and helpful. We ordered, to share, the kale salad, risotto and then the duck. The kitchen split the first two courses for us. I had a lovely glass of Italian red wine, recommended by our server, which paired well with the risotto and the duck. The kale salad was uninspired, they don't know how to make a raw kale salad in that the kale hadn't been "cooked" by the vinegar or lemon, not sure what if anything they used. Risotto delicious of course. Duck also very good, but it was served at 6:55 and so we had to rush eating the last course. I'm not sure where the communication breakdown happened, between the host and server, or server and kitchen? The restaurant wasn't full. At any rate, I won't go there pre-event again but save it for a more leisurely evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal

Dined on April 19, 2016

Our group meets monthly at Tulio's and always has a fine experience. We are recognized by the staff and get wonderful service. The food is excellent without exception.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Had brunch there on Saturday and enjoyed ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Had brunch there on Saturday and enjoyed it so much we went back for Sunday morning. We will be selecting our Seattle hotel to make sure we are within walking distance when we are staying in town. Awesome food and great coffee.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh and Flavorful

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was excellent. Very fresh and flavorful. The service was very attentive without being intrusive. We had a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I ordered the kale salad and halibut, my ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

I ordered the kale salad and halibut, my boyfriend, ordered the romescu thinking it was romanesco, but nevertheless , it was delicious. Everything was great, including our server, and host. The ambiance was quiet, romantic, and steadily busy, which was perfect for a romantic evening with your loved one. They serve an inexpensive Amorone by the glass, which was nice, since the majority of restaurants only offer it by the bottle. Overall, we will return for the ribeye and try the fresh pasta.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Constistently delicious!

Dined on April 15, 2016

I have dined at Tulio many times over many years. Tonight's dinner was as fabulous as always. My friend had the special halibut and I had the duck. Everything was perfectly prepared and the portion just right. We enjoyed some wine and dessert as well. A wonderful meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Solid

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

We had an 8:30 reservation. I knew the upstairs was more quiet than down, so I asked for it. I was told it was too late for upstairs. (I'm a New Yorker; 8:30 is early!). Seated in the bar area. Food very good, but not great. They decided to close down the outdoor dining while we were seated next to the door. Not sure why they could not wait until we were finished. Not exactly welcoming. Great hotel, though!

food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Rated highly but disappointing

Dined on April 10, 2016

After reading reviews we expected better food from Tulio. Great attentive service and a nice atmosphere but overall the food was completely disappointing. Terribly over cooked pasta for one main and butternut risotto which was over cooked and mushy/sticky for another main, both appetizers of beet and quinoa salad had a scarcity of beets and gnocchi was over done and dry so we were both disappointed with Tulio. Dessert was not completely eaten either so although service and ambience was lovely, the meal was not.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent, perfectly prepared food.

Dined on April 10, 2016

Never disappoints. Burrata and saltcod were so tasty we could have have more. Entrees, especially the chicken and lamb, were delicious and the dessert, a chocolate with meringue, was fantastic. And try The Pear cocktail--if you like drinks a bit sweet, this was heavenly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

One of Seattle's finest Italian restaurants

Dined on April 8, 2016

Seattle was blessed when Executive Chef Walter Pisano eased out of cooking in world-class restaurants like Jean-Louis in the Watergate and established Tulio. The menu is classic Italian with a northwest flavor. Don't expect a panoply of steaks. Instead go for outstanding pasta, chicken, fish, salads and desserts. My entree this week was a beautifully sautéed piece of halibut surrounded by petite potatoes and tomatoes, sauced in a light herb cream. Wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always 1st class!

Dined on April 3, 2016

I love Tulio. The ambiance, food and superb service are always worth the trip (and I live 300 miles away). One of my favorite restaurants in Seattle!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous on all counts

Dined on March 28, 2016

Superb food with excellent service. Reasonable Price. Go there!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Tulio is a crowd-pleaser on every occasion

Dined on March 27, 2016

My wife and I have enjoyed Tulio many times and suggested it for dinner with another couple. We very much enjoyed the sweet potato gnocchi and burratta appetizers, as well as the Caesar salad. Entrees were all enjoyed too. Service was excellent, the wine was delightful (Tenuta de Frescobaldi, if I remember correctly) and the ambiance is always enjoyable and thankfully unchanged by the remodel of the Hotel Vintage Park. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Tulio's on a Friday Night

Dined on March 26, 2016

Tulio's has delicious food and great service. The ambiance is lovely. I have never been disappointed. A little less noise would be nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great memorable night!

Dined on March 23, 2016

We ate here for our 46th wedding anniversary and had a memorable evening. Great food; great service! My wife ordered the pork shank (at recommendation of our waiter) and I ordered the duck breast. Both meals were great and the pork was so tender it was practically falling off of the bone. Our waiter's name was Juan and gave us excellent service! We will be back. For dessert we had a chocolate pudding cake which was to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.