About Tulio

1100 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria in the heart of downtown Seattle. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike. His boldly flavored dishes are both simple and sophisticated, combining rustic Italian preparations with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients. Add to this our great location in downtown Seattle, our warm, intimate atmosphere and outstanding service and it's easy to understand why Tulio is widely regarded as one of the city's best restaurants.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am;
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Bar:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Close;
Saturday -Sunday: 5:00pm - Close;
Bistro Menu available during Bar Service

Cross Street:
Spring

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-5500

Website:
http://www.tulio.com/

Catering:
Let us arrange your next special event in one of our spaces; completely private, semi-private or even our outdoor patio! At Tulio, we strive to make each event special. Solaio, our upstairs dining room, is a charming and beautifully decorated venue with a wine-cellar motif. There is no room rental fee charged for using Solaio and we offer customized menus, candles for the tables and background music - all complimentary.

Parking Details:
Valet offered at Hotel Vintage Park with reduced rate for Tulio diners. Discount available for Olympic Garage Parking located across street to the west

Public Transit:
4th and Seneca BUS and 3rd and Union LIGHT RAIL

Executive Chef:
Walter Pisano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tulio offers one of the best Grappa selections in Town! Enjoy Flights of selected Grappas for $20!
Join us for our Grappa Happy Hour in our bar daily from 8pm-10pm. Flights of selected Grappas for $20 with traditional accompaniment.

Restaurant Photos

Lunch: Focaccia + Oil, Butternut Squash Soup, White Anchovy Caesar Salad, Margherita Pizza.
Tulio Dinner
Tulio Bar
Belgian Waffle With Berries
Sweet Potato Gnocchi
Crab Lasagna
Custard Dessert
Fish Entree
orecchiette
Spice Rubbed Lamb
Grilled Ahi Tuna
Duck Breast
Burrata With Tomato Jam
Beet Salad
Breakfast Granola
Pasta
Branzino
Crab Ravioli
Tuna
Veal Chop
Burrata
Mussels
pistachio semifreddo
Semolina-crusted scallops
Steamed Manila Clam Linguine
tortellini
Smoked Salmon Ravioli
Grilled Calamari
Linguine with Local Clams
Syrah
Butternut Squash Soup
Orecchiette Pasta With Spicy Italian Sausage.
Pork Shank With Ricotta Mashed Potatoes
Canolli Siciliani
Roasted Chicken
Orecchiette with Pancetta and Broccoli
Burrata, Golden Beets And Other Goodness Salad
Deserts (up: Choclate Cake & down: Raspberry Special)
Nebbiolo - Damilano, Piedmont, Italy
Heriloom Tomatoes
Lingunie & Clams
38 Day Dry Aged Grade 9 Kitayama Wagyu Rib Eye
Orchetti
Burratta
Hemingway Cocktail
Tiramisu
Fig, Goat Cheese, Balsalmic
Baileys Irish Latte
Pasta Alla Chitarra
Rib Eye With Fingerling Potatoe
Sweet Potatoe Gnocchi
Duck With Plum Sauce

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Fri 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding downtown Seattle favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike.

Tulio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (103)
Fit for Foodies (89)
Romantic (73)
See All
Notable Wine List (55)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Great for Lunch (34)
Good for Groups (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Cozy (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Casual (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Authentic (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fun (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2359 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good pasta dinner with sausage, chicken ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Good pasta dinner with sausage, chicken was also very good! Service was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This review is specific to Breakfast, as ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This review is specific to Breakfast, as our server was odd, the service given was strange, some of our food was terrible, and the rest just eehhh. We dined here about 5-6 times in our 5 day stay in Seattle. I made a reservation for the evening of our arrival, because I knew we'd be hungry and the restaurant was conveniently located in our lovely hotel. Our food was delicious, and the service was fantastic every time except this day for Breakfast. When our server would refill our coffee or water, he would spill all over the table. I ordered fennel sausage as a side to my meal, it was so disgusting, it fell completely apart, into crumbs when you cut into it, and tasted worse than it looked. My husband ordered a side of bacon with his meal, and there was nothing but fat on the plate, there wasn't a strand of meat on any slice of bacon. My meal was ok, I had grilled bread with tomato/mushroom ragu, topped with poached eggs and hollandaise sauce. The bread was burnt, the rest was just ok. My suggestion, Tulio is great, has great food, just avoid it on a Sunday morning!

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

The food and drink were perfect. The Va ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food and drink were perfect. The Valet parking fee was WAY over priced, when I was already spending over $100 for dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Tulios with friend was the per ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Dinner at Tulios with friend was the perfect way to relax after busy day of shopping! Delicious food, very fresh ingredients , great cocktails, and a waiter who was delightful made it am excellent evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks to all the staff at Tulio for mak ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Thanks to all the staff at Tulio for making our 27th wedding anniversary celebration so special. The 2 roses on the table, the complimentary Prosecco and the fantastic meal really made for a wonderful evening. I have recommended your lovely restaurant to our friends.

Thanks,

Laurie from South Surrey, BC

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant for my anniversary ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very nice restaurant for my anniversary dinner with my husband. I made reservations on open table in the afternoon for what I thought was that night! Which was actually the next night! Well thank god the host was able to accommodate us right away.

The only complaint I have is this : I ordered a split champagne from the bar and when bill came it cost $64.00! I could buy a case for that!!😡😡😡

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This establishment is outstanding in eve ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

This establishment is outstanding in every way, shape and form. You are greeted warmly by the manager and every aspect of our dining experience was superior. Service is outstanding and the cuisine is par excellence - our chicken was cooked to perfection, salad and tomato soup is mouthwatering and the dessert is to die for. As mentioned earlier, the attention to detail and the outstanding service was truly remarkable. Our new go-to restaurant. Nicely done.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit, dining room extremely l ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our first visit, dining room extremely loud and noisy, service should have been a lot better. Will not return, too many other restaurants that offer better food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

We chose Tulio for our weekly date nite. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We chose Tulio for our weekly date nite. We'd never been but were impressed and completely happy.

Antonio was a great and personable host / waiter and he was warm and friendly. The food was terrific as was the desserts.

We will most likely enjoy Tulio again sometime!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed in the food. Gnocchi w ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Very disappointed in the food. Gnocchi was overcooked and nearly burned; tomatoes with burrata were mealy and grocery store quality (so disappointing given how delicious farm fresh tomatoes are this time of year); and feta cherry risotto was unappetizing. I have had some very good meals at Tulio's before, so hopefully this was just a fluke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Atmosphere made an impression. Dark wain ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Atmosphere made an impression. Dark wainscoated walls, linens, central stair case with staff in dresses and ties. Our food order could not be considered the best measuring stick but an appetizer of Burrata with entrees of Chicken and Orecchiette were well prepared and presented. Wine list was strong with Washington State and many others represented, something for all pallets.

Thanks to the staff for a great evening, worth a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and wine selection. I ha ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent food and wine selection. I had the halibut special and it was stellar. Great service. Would highly recommend for a date or special occasion; classy place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Based on a previous review, I requested ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Based on a previous review, I requested the clamshell booth. Happily the table was available & our request granted! Every aspect of our dining experience was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow, what a treasure this restaurant is! ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Wow, what a treasure this restaurant is! I had heard of Tulio when I was working in the wine industry but really knew nothing about it. My son likes to try new places and we had an out of town relative with us so we gave it a try. When we arrived, they didn't have a booth and we waited a little while for one, but they didn't turn fast enough.

We were seated behind a pillar which gave us some privacy. Our waiter was Juan, who was fabulous. Knowledgeable about the food, friendly, interesting and interested in us. We each ordered something different and enjoyed it all.

The decor in the restaurant is classic and a bit old world, and very inviting.

I would definitely come back, particularly for a special occasion because this is a bit out of our price range. A great evening!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Tulio's. One of my favorites. Great ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Love Tulio's. One of my favorites. Great food and service. They make you feel special!

Tags: Late-night Find, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here several times when we travel t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Been here several times when we travel to Seattle.

Very curt and dismissive host seated us. We did not receive a very inviting welcome. He was downright snobby!

Food was pretty good. Mussels and halibut dinners good.

Our friends enjoyed their pasta. Felt like we were rushed. Waiter cried the blues about them being short staffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Can't imagine how a meal gets better. Th ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Can't imagine how a meal gets better. The sweet potato gnocchi is worth a visit on its own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the restaurant a lot. Great serv ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Enjoyed the restaurant a lot. Great service, great menu. Bone in ribeye was good, lamb was great, drinks were great. No complaints. Server was very attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious. The sweet potato gno ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food was delicious. The sweet potato gnocchi was so good we ordered another one. Chicken with lemon orzo was also very good. We accidentally made reservations to this restaurant thinking it was another one. So glad we made that mistake. Desserts were also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time here to have dinner with out ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

First time here to have dinner with out of town family. A very nice hotel based restaurant in downtown Seattle. Small but cozy bar where we started with drinks.

Once seated the service was quite good, very prompt, courteous and friendly.

We started with the mussels as well as the mozzarella/tomatoes. Both were very good...the broth for the mussels was outstanding and made for great bread dipping.

Dinner: I had the pork shank which is served with kale and mashed potatoes. I really enjoyed this, the pork shank was generous sized, the meat perfectly tender and the flavor excellent. Not sure how they prepped it but almost had a bit of an Asian flavor.

I also got to try the sweet potato gnocchi which I found unique. I did like this as well.

I would definitely come again for dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The pork shank dinner was out of this wo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The pork shank dinner was out of this world! It was cooked to perfection with a wonderful dried fruit and mustard sauce that took it to one of the top meals I'ver ever ordered. My husband enjoyed the halibut special but ended up eating some of my generous portion of pork. He said I was the winner of the night. Wine was fresh with a generous pour in correct wine glasses. The service was helpful and impeccable. We visited Tulio nine years ago and never forgot what a great meal we had. Nine years later.....still the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and great atmosphere with ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Fabulous food and great atmosphere with convenient parking. Server seemed un-knowledgeable of the drink menu and specials, and overall seemed indifferent - and at times perturbed - by our presence. Attention and service was relatively slow for post-dinner rush hours.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Second experience, just as good as the f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Second experience, just as good as the first. Miriam again served us impeccably. We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very limited menu. Steak was just okay.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very limited menu. Steak was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Lunch is very good value. The atmospher ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Lunch is very good value. The atmosphere is not for a young crowd. It's somewhat staid. We were impressed with excellent food quality. I highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you're staying at the hotel or in the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

If you're staying at the hotel or in the area it's a good, convenient, restaurant. Better than most hotel restaurants by far. However, an apparently overworked kitchen, full restaurant, and busy bar made for a slow meal. Also, the veal, recommended by our server, was tough. I've never had tough veal before. The rib-eye, however, was excellent, as was the asparagus soup. Not a "destination restaurant" but, if you need to eat, and you need convenience, it's good. Better than the restaurant in our hotel, not half as good as others in Seattle, such as the Whale Wins.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Fabulous dining experience! The food wa ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Fabulous dining experience! The food was amazing and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superior service and food. Walter the o ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Superior service and food. Walter the owner made a point to greet us at our table. He made us feel as though we were dining in his home . Great dining experience

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were meeting friends we had not seen ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were meeting friends we had not seen for some time. The quiet atmosphere made It possible to talk and catch up. The food was excellent, good wines and great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a favorite for great food and won ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always a favorite for great food and wonderful atmosphere. The roast chicken is the best anywhere!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tulio's was fabulous as always. Went th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Tulio's was fabulous as always. Went there for lunch and sat outside. It is a little noisy but fun for neighborhood (downtown) dining. I enjoy taking folks there for lunch. The wine list is a little pricey for the selection so we ended up having glasses of a "house" Montelpulciano which was really great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Tulio. This is the first time I ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We love Tulio. This is the first time I would not give it five stars for food as the albacore was a bit over cooked. But all in all an excellent meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was ok overall. My linguini vongole ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

It was ok overall. My linguini vongole was swimming in watery clam broth and I returned it. It was tasteless. Restaurant was gracious about it and offer another dish. I then ordered the mussel appetizer. They were ok, but very small and over cooked. The meals of the 3 other personsin our part were ok but no special enough to go back to this restaurant. Service was very good. Excellent focaccia bread and olive oil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Met a friend for a fun lunch. We had the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Met a friend for a fun lunch. We had the special which was Lingcod - delicious! I have been frequenting Tulio since they opened many years ago. It's an absolute favorite!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed all of the deliciously ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We really enjoyed all of the deliciously prepared food. Great ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Two things made Tulio worth visiting...t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Two things made Tulio worth visiting...the food was excellent and the entire waitstaff was friendly, knowedgeable and helpful. The manager on duty and the hostess were not helpful and the noise level was deafening. But we would probably go again for the food and adamantly insist on being seated in a different place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This is our traditional dining sport whe ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This is our traditional dining sport whenever we attend a play at 5th Avenue Theater. The food and service are always great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Seattle. Gre ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Seattle. Great service and food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is a no go We had a dinner r ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This place is a no go

We had a dinner reservation at 8 pm.

Got told that 80% of the main course are allredy gone. one of there specials the pork shank was left and the waiter promised that we have it. 30 minutes later he came with of course bad news that it was taken.

Do we had to order the steak and veal chops witch where everything else then perfect....

Our waiter was not even paying attention to us.

It was on of the worst dinner we ever had .

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We really enjoyed our waiter James very ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We really enjoyed our waiter James very much! Great personality, great service!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.