About Tulio

1100 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria in the heart of downtown Seattle. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike. His boldly flavored dishes are both simple and sophisticated, combining rustic Italian preparations with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients. Add to this our great location in downtown Seattle, our warm, intimate atmosphere and outstanding service and it's easy to understand why Tulio is widely regarded as one of the city's best restaurants.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am;
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Bar:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Close;
Saturday -Sunday: 5:00pm - Close;
Bistro Menu available during Bar Service

Cross Street:
Spring

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-5500

Website:
http://www.tulio.com/

Catering:
Let us arrange your next special event in one of our spaces; completely private, semi-private or even our outdoor patio! At Tulio, we strive to make each event special. Solaio, our upstairs dining room, is a charming and beautifully decorated venue with a wine-cellar motif. There is no room rental fee charged for using Solaio and we offer customized menus, candles for the tables and background music - all complimentary.

Parking Details:
Valet offered at Hotel Vintage Park with reduced rate for Tulio diners. Discount available for Olympic Garage Parking located across street to the west

Public Transit:
4th and Seneca BUS and 3rd and Union LIGHT RAIL

Executive Chef:
Walter Pisano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tulio offers one of the best Grappa selections in Town! Enjoy Flights of selected Grappas for $20!
Join us for our Grappa Happy Hour in our bar daily from 8pm-10pm. Flights of selected Grappas for $20 with traditional accompaniment.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Belgian Waffle With Berries - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Sweet Potato Gnocchi - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Crab Lasagna - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Custard Dessert - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Fish Entree - Tulio, Seattle, WA
orecchiette - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Spice Rubbed Lamb - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Grilled Ahi Tuna - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Duck Breast - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Burrata With Tomato Jam - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Beet Salad - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Breakfast Granola - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Pasta - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Branzino - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Crab Ravioli - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Tuna - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Veal Chop - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Burrata - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Mussels - Tulio, Seattle, WA
pistachio semifreddo - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Semolina-crusted scallops - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Steamed Manila Clam Linguine - Tulio, Seattle, WA
tortellini - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Smoked Salmon Ravioli - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Grilled Calamari - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Linguine with Local Clams - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Lunch: Focaccia + Oil, Butternut Squash Soup, White Anchovy Caesar Salad, Margherita Pizza. - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Syrah - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Butternut Squash Soup - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Orecchiette Pasta With Spicy Italian Sausage. - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Pork Shank With Ricotta Mashed Potatoes - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Canolli Siciliani - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Roasted Chicken - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Orecchiette with Pancetta and Broccoli - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Burrata, Golden Beets And Other Goodness Salad - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Deserts (up: Choclate Cake & down: Raspberry Special) - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Nebbiolo - Damilano, Piedmont, Italy - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Tulio Dinner - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Tulio Bar - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Heriloom Tomatoes - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Lingunie & Clams - Tulio, Seattle, WA
38 Day Dry Aged Grade 9 Kitayama Wagyu Rib Eye - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Orchetti - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Burratta - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Hemingway Cocktail - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Tiramisu - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Fig, Goat Cheese, Balsalmic - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Baileys Irish Latte - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Pasta Alla Chitarra - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Rib Eye With Fingerling Potatoe - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Sweet Potatoe Gnocchi - Tulio, Seattle, WA
Duck With Plum Sauce - Tulio, Seattle, WA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Fri 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding downtown Seattle favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike.

Tulio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (64)
Good for a Date (53)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Cozy (42)
Romantic (38)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Business Meals (31)
Authentic (30)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Casual (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Open Kitchen (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Historic (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Seasonal (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Fun (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
People Watching (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Private Room (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Fireplace (3)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
2618 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A Charming Break from warehouse restaura ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

A Charming Break from warehouse restaurants!

The booths and the end table in the bar offer quiet. The decor is pleasing, colorful, restful.

The waiter responded to special dietary requests without missing a beat. He was cheerful and efficient. The grilled chicken was moist and tasty. The risotto a bit salty. Delicious nutella bar for dessert.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

A frequented stop every time I am in Sea ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

A frequented stop every time I am in Seattle. Solid service, great food and enjoyable ambiance make this a can't miss stop for those looking for wonderful Italian food, which takes advantage of Seattle's proximity to fresh vegetables, fish and meat. Amble wine list and experienced bartenders, who can concoct a wonderful cocktail.

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic meal - good drinks, g ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a fantastic meal - good drinks, great wine, nice desserts too.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious authentic Italian food. Servic ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious authentic Italian food. Service was great and a relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Efran wqs a very friendly, knowledgable ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Efran wqs a very friendly, knowledgable server. He and the wonderful food made for a memorable meal.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Tulio's for a p ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I went to Tulio's for a pre-theater brunch. I had the Tulio's version of eggs benedict. It was served on grilled bread and had a Italian hollandaise sauce. I could have eaten an entire basket of the bread and dipped it in that sauce. It was very yummy. My husband had the biscuits and gravy-also very good. The service was excellent and super friendly. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Sophisticated Italian restaurant that co ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Sophisticated Italian restaurant that could be right out of the Upper East Side of Manhattan.

Wood panelled, low candelabra lighting all add to an intimate atmosphere in which to enjoy good food.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible for vegetarians Bartender slow ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Terrible for vegetarians

Bartender slow and made drink incorrectly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Noisy . . . hey . . . just get the messa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Noisy . . . hey . . . just get the message. Folks do not like lots of noise anymore.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience. Very homey, comfortabl ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great Experience. Very homey, comfortable ambiance

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The waitress was wonderful and her wine ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The waitress was wonderful and her wine recommendation was spot on. A lovely evening.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love everything about this restaurant- ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I love everything about this restaurant-- food, atmosphere, service!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner with a few high school women frie ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Dinner with a few high school women friends (class of 64). Cozy restaurant with great atmosphere. Sat upstairs which didn't have as much ambience as downstairs but quiet. Suzy, our waitress, was outstanding, always there when we needed her but never pushy or hovering. We shared three large pasta plates between the 6 of us, two salads and 2 desserts. Perfect amount and everything was delicious. Standout dishes were the Pappardelle with smoked pork bolognese recommended by a couple we met in the bar), Agniolette with mushrooms, Kale salad and the pecan tart dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Have had the privilege of dining at Tuli ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Have had the privilege of dining at Tulio for years! My first visit was February 2002! I treated a friend for an after Christmas gift and everything was awesome! The food is always great and service stellar! Thank you!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our table and the sweet potato ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We loved our table and the sweet potato gnocchi...the oysters were absolutely delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My boyfriend and I dined here on New Yea ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My boyfriend and I dined here on New Year's Eve and the food was exceptional! It was very busy, so the service was a little slow, but our server was very friendly. It's a smaller place and kind of crammed, but I would definitely go back. The portions were very generous which isn't always the case for nicer restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Even though this place was extremely bus ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Even though this place was extremely busy before New Year's Eve, the food was outstanding, the ambiance was festive (if loud), and the service was prompt. I think part of the reason we enjoyed it so much because we were seated upstairs, in a corner near the windows. (Downstairs the tables are somewhat close together.) It was worth the price for a special night out.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tulio is one of our favorites for a roma ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Tulio is one of our favorites for a romantic dinner. We enjoy coming out on NYE, because the menu is intriguing and always delicious. The personnel (from hostess to waiters/waitresses to bus person) who attend to our needs,requests and service are always kind, courteous and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, excellent service! New Year's ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always, excellent service! New Year's menu was limited, but delicious. Will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sweet potato gnocchi was amazing. I ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The sweet potato gnocchi was amazing. I had never had it crispy on the outside before, but it was very good. Hubby's spicy sausage pasta was really good, too! The lamb sirloin was okay, but give me been over it any time. Hubby had veal which tasted pretty good, too.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dinner at Tulio's as ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Tulio's as usual. We are always so warmly welcomed and our favorite table is always ready for us. The food is excellent, the ambiance terrific, and our waiter Efren was sensational. Staff stop by to say hello which makes us feel even more welcome. Only great things to say about Tulio's.

Henry and Nancy

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Romantic, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I chose Tulio for my birthday date night ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I chose Tulio for my birthday date night. We started our meal with Hearts of Romaine salad, followed by the entrees: Agnolotti, Orecchiette and the Kurobuta Pork Shank. For dessert, the table shared the Nutella Bar, which was a mistake -- we devoured it within seconds, next time I'm getting my own, no sharing.

This experience was A+ from the food to the service (Juan); he was fantastic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service as always, bu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent food and service as always, but notwithstanding prior reservations, an unsuitable table, in the bar, next to the front door.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a fantastic experience. Our serve ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had a fantastic experience. Our server was wonderful and went themail extra mile. Our food was delightful. Got us out just in time for our show at the 5th Ave. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was exceptional. Noise ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food and service was exceptional. Noise level was a bit high for our liking. They placed a table less than 2 feet from us so people kept bruising up against me every time someone had to walk by. A little less crowding next time Tulio?!?

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A fun and festive spot for a get-togethe ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

A fun and festive spot for a get-together lunch with friends during the holidays.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great time was had. Food was about 8/10. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great time was had. Food was about 8/10. Lamb dish was excellent. Prosecco to celebrate was complimentary. Risotto awful. Sent back because it smelt horrible and was runny.

Desert was just ok. Sour cream gelato was good. Our server was really helpful and informed.

Will go back to try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Christmas Eve dinner. Limited menu but g ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner. Limited menu but good choices. We were seated upstairs which was cramped and not as intimate. Service was good and the food was excellent. Definitely worth going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We go with dear friends to lunch every C ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We go with dear friends to lunch every Christmas Eve... love it when we end up atTulio which we have for the last four years!! Very festive nice wait staff, and cozy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and food as always

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful service and food as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for an office Christmas par ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We came here for an office Christmas party. Wonderful. The food all came out at the same time and we enjoyed it tremendously

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Tulio is always a lovely dining experien ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Tulio is always a lovely dining experience in Seattle. It feels cozy, but not pretentious; and the food is perfectly prepared every time. The service is very friendly--Seattle style--and attentive. We love it both for special occasions and as a predictably-fine everyday dining destination.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tulio's is a Christmas event tradition. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Tulio's is a Christmas event tradition. The food is always great...It is a nice intimate place to go out with friends... It has been in Seattle for years and is consistently great..

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Open Kitchen, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time at Tulio! The sw ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Tulio! The sweet potato gnocchi and the lamb were amazing! This was easily the best lamb we've ever had! The service is great and the food is outstanding. While it's definitely on the more expensive side, it's worth it here! We will definitely visit again - thank you for a great night!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great attentive service and good private ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 19, 2016

great attentive service and good private spot for older relatives who want to talk and visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We enjoyed our meal and time at Tulio! A ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We enjoyed our meal and time at Tulio! A nice holiday setting with family. Salute'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and wonderful ambiance. W ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Excellent food and wonderful ambiance. What made the experience truly memorable was the service which was impeccable and gracious, in spite of the challenge of a large family party and a confined environment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

All was good. Was not aware of only offe ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

All was good. Was not aware of only offering brunch items. Would have liked option to order off a lunch menu.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great breakfast

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great breakfast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was very nice. We loved the f ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everything was very nice. We loved the featured brunch omelet. Our friends were disappointed in the number of gnocchi in their brunch portion. They would have ordered a salad if they had known. Left hungry.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.