About Tulio

1100 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria in the heart of downtown Seattle. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike. His boldly flavored dishes are both simple and sophisticated, combining rustic Italian preparations with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients. Add to this our great location in downtown Seattle, our warm, intimate atmosphere and outstanding service and it's easy to understand why Tulio is widely regarded as one of the city's best restaurants.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am;
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Bar:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Close;
Saturday -Sunday: 5:00pm - Close;
Bistro Menu available during Bar Service

Cross Street:
Spring

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-5500

Website:
http://www.tulio.com/

Catering:
Let us arrange your next special event in one of our spaces; completely private, semi-private or even our outdoor patio! At Tulio, we strive to make each event special. Solaio, our upstairs dining room, is a charming and beautifully decorated venue with a wine-cellar motif. There is no room rental fee charged for using Solaio and we offer customized menus, candles for the tables and background music - all complimentary.

Parking Details:
Valet offered at Hotel Vintage Park with reduced rate for Tulio diners. Discount available for Olympic Garage Parking located across street to the west

Public Transit:
4th and Seneca BUS and 3rd and Union LIGHT RAIL

Executive Chef:
Walter Pisano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tulio offers one of the best Grappa selections in Town! Enjoy Flights of selected Grappas for $20!
Join us for our Grappa Happy Hour in our bar daily from 8pm-10pm. Flights of selected Grappas for $20 with traditional accompaniment.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Fri 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding downtown Seattle favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike.

Tulio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Good for a Date (55)
Romantic (50)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Business Meals (37)
Cozy (37)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Authentic (31)
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Comfort Food (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Casual (13)
Historic (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Outstanding Value (10)
Fun (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Seasonal (7)
People Watching (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Private Room (3)
Fireplace (3)
Family Style (2)
Vegan (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2664 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

The sweet potato gnocci was amazing.

The server was not good at recommendations. Or even stating what they are known for. Or most popular dishes.

Everything is good. When your from out of town. You want the wow experience

Came for a special birthday celebration that wasn't acknowledged even by staff.

Not personable.

It was clear that there are 2 standouts

The pork shank that's slow toasted and the dinner risotto.

As the 5 tables around us had this options.

Out of 12 ppl seated around us

8 had the pork shank

3 had the risotto

1 had the fish special of which he was disappointed in. Barely touched Not acknowledged by server.

After we asked about the best pasta dish. He said come at lunch. Give them a try. No suggestions

Truly a frustrating waiter

Ambiance was great. We were upstairs. Could see below

I would go back but not in a rush to do so.

It's unfortunate as I am in Seattle every 6 weeks. Plus our company frequents there and we host many client events.

They have a private room. I'm just not sure if the service or food would be up to par.

I had the chicken fish with lemon risotto. It was good. But nothing to write home about

My husband had the rib eye. Truly bland. No flavour. Thank goodness he swapped out to the ricotta mashed potatoes made dish eatable.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

I have dined at Tulio's a number of times and always had a great experience. Saturday was exceptional again. The food is delicious and atmosphere very comfortable.

I will be back again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Best mushroom pasta ever!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

We arrived late for our reservation but needed to leave on time for the theater. Our server was helpful in giving us a relaxing dining experience and had us out the door in a timely manner. He was attentive and friendly. Compliments to the chef! Maybe the best pasta course ever!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved the Cesar salad. Interesting menu. Relaxing pace not rushed.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Tulio is our favorite restaurant. Wonderful food and service. Great wine list. All around super.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

I had a salad and one of the smaller pasta portions in the Primi section of the menu, the pork pappardelle. My primi entree was seriously over-peppered, and one of my companions complained about the same thing with her chicken entree. I did not complain, as we were on our way to the theatre and we didn't have time for a re-do.

The restaurant was very busy, but even then, I had to wait a long time to get my second glass of wine, which I was then unable to finish because we had to leave. And, no one replenished our water glasses or our bread dish.

I have had better experiences at Tulio in the past.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Love this restaurant for years -- for breakfast , lunch or dinner!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful service, creative cocktails and delicious meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

When in Seattle on business or pleasure Tulio always gets one of my dinner nights. Wonderful food with a professional staff. In my opinion a must visit for authentic Italian.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

We enjoyed our dinner at Tulio. It was crowded and cozy and the food was delicious. The portions were large too! We enjoyed our meal and will definitely be back.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I have been going to Tulio for years. Just went again the other day for a lovely Valentines Day dinner and again, I can't think of a single disappointment. While the prices are high, it's what makes it a unique and rather exclusive spot. Meats cooked to perfection with a smooth mix of complex flavors for all dishes. I would recommend this for any special occasion. Looking forward to when I make my next reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A very nice meal in a comfortable relaxed environment. I would have liked more variety on the menu, but all of the dishes were nicely prepared and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was my first time at Tulio. I read a lot of reviews and decided to reserve at Tulio but I made a huge mistake. There were two receptionists. One young guy and old lady. Both of them were not wiling to helps us. They seated us on 2nd floor on very corner, where you can not see other people and plus it was cold. My wife wants to change seat and I told the receptionist and they were so arrogant specially the young guy. I asked twice and they could say at least "We will try" but instead they were almost angry and arrogant. This is not how you treat the customers. They told us "Just leave, we are full." My wife and I were so shocked and disappointed. This should be top notch restaurant and this is how they treat us! OK, I asked my wife, she was not very happy. Our meals came and they gave us wrong order. Anyhow I tried the dish, it was very bad taste. No salt, no juicy. Come on, we thought this s very good restaurant but food was awful. Even Cheesecake is much better than this. Totally ruined our date night. But the waiter acknowledges the problem and apologizes us. Tulio, you ruined our date night.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We have dined here several times & it always is a wonderful meal with excellent service. The Burrata salad is always a delight. A couple of us had the sweet potato gnocchi as our entree (it's on the appetizer menu) and it was plenty of food & very delicious! One of the group had the special of the night which was swordfish and she said it was one of the best she had had. The atmosphere is cozy with the tables fairly close together but you do not feel like your neighbor is sitting on top of you. I lovely place & we will be back again.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

If I could give a rating higher than 5 for service, I would. The food was so good, I keep thinking about it days later, causing my mouth to water. For a special evening without pretention, Tulio is tops.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This place never disappoints! Cozy old world charm, mouthwatering menu and professional wait staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were happy to be seated at the bar in this very popular Italian restaurant in Seattle. The food and the service were outstanding and the oysters were treated in an innovative way. I have the opportunity to eat fabulous Italian food in Vancouver and wonderful seafood. Was delighted by my new taste sensations at Tulios.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Hadn't been in years and decided to go on Valentine's Day. Entree's and apps were really quite excellent and the service was very professional without being intrusive. Will definitely return.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have been fans of Tulio in the past, but were disappointed by the overall experience for Valentine's Day. It took a long time to get our cocktails, someone tried to deliver another party's meal to our table, and the meal was just okay. The special part was my beautiful wife so we made the evening work, but would like to let Tulio know it was not up to their usual standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very disappointed given the reputation of the restaurant. Although simply a get together with a friend, happened to be on Valentine's day and was clear that food was on an assembly line. Asparagus was tasteless and none of the fibrous ends were cut off. Next course came when only half way through 1st course. Main course was cold and completely dried out with wine coming when nearly through with main course. Desert was very tasty and the highlight, but decaffeinated coffee was either mixed up with friend's caffeinated coffee or we both got caffeinated coffee. Extremely disappointed. Had much better meals at my other Seattle dining experiences.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This was a very disappointing experience. The food was average at best- we had the clam linguine which was watery and had little pasta to make up for it. Service was slow and inattentive.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Very good Service. Cute restaurant and delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had a great meal here. Service was excellent. Charming place that was great for my family including my 9 year old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We always have great service and a good meal here Celebrated Valentine's Day early and we're not disappointed

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

An old standard that truly gets better with age. We will be shortening the time inbetween visits. Great food, wonderful service and awesome drink.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My daughter and I had a very nice dinner. The waiter was very pleasant and service was great. I had the burrata salad and it was very good. I also had the clam linguine and it was very good. We had drinks in the bar after dinner and once again, the bartender was very nice and so was the crowd. I would definitely return again.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Tulio's continues to be one of my favorite restaurants in Seattle. They consistently have great food and excellent service.

Tags: Historic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We went as a combination business/friend lunch. The hostess made the effort to get us a nice window booth. Had the chicken avocado salad and a linguini with clams. Both delicious, though it is noted that the clams have a bit of a kick to them! All in all, great meal great service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good food, good service. Love the ambiance. Very classic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Celebrating an anniversary and we felt very special. Dinner was sinfully delicious and the wine paired perfectly. Lots to choose from. Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Tulio used to be one of my favorite restaurants. We even went there with the whole family for Easter dinner one year. I'm not sure whether it has changed owners or changed chefs, but the last two times I've eaten there I have been disappointed in the food. My steak was cooked well, but tough and not very flavorful. Next time I'll go to Sullivan's, Lola, or the Met. Our server was very pleasant and reasonably attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We went here for a date and we're both vegetarian. They have a separate vegetarian menu which is always nice. For my taste, I thought things were a bit bland. Considering that trait was across the board, I think this is the way the chef wants the fresh ingredients and house made dishes to speak for themselves instead of relying on a lot of seasoning and spices. My date's wine was great and my old fashioned was spot on. Our server was great and we got everything in a very timely manner. The dessert was magical (Nutella bar)and I would definitely consider going again!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our second time there. Our first visit last year was great, so we returned but had an awful experience this time. The young woman and man at the front desk were rude when we showed up early for our reservation and suggested we go to another bar down the street and come back at the correct time. After taking our water order, our waiter disappeared for almost 20 minutes - then the service he provided for the remainder of the evening was very poor. We wondered if the restaurant was understaffed that night. The employees allowed a diner's young child to run through the restaurant interrupting others. My husband's veal chop (cooked medium) was very tough and impossible to chew. We probably won't return for a third visit.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very good dinner - healthy portions. Great wines. Excellent service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The waitstaff was not attentive and actually quite dismissive to my friend's food allergies. Knowing this restaurant had been recommended by a local Celiac group and regarded as one of the best, we were surprised by the waitstaff and their dismissive nature when asking for confirmation of a gluten free dish since she was ordering the same thing we were non gluten free. We had to wave down servers and bussers just to get water and drink refills as our server disappeared in a not so busy restaurant. The taste of the food was superb but it could not make up for the horrible service. He brought dessert menus when we asked for the check and disregarded again that we had a gluten free person dining at the table. We paid and was out the door in less than an hour. We felt rushed and uncomfortable staying. Not an expected timetable for a Saturday evening. Highly disappointed in the experience. Doubt I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Tulio's is one of those must-go-to places in Seattle! Everything about this place is wonderful. From the warm, cozy feeling of walking into the door, being greeted by the nicest most professional staff and then when you're seated the smells of fine food just linger toward you from the kitchen. Hands down my favorite restaurant for a special occasion with my husband or a fun night with family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The risotto and sweet potato gnocchi were delicious! They let us get an appetizer portion of each so we could try both. The roasted chicken was good, but the duck was amazing! Great wine list and grappa list!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Gracious in allowing us to reschedule an anniversary diner after transportation failed. When we arrived were treated as if the only guests, with flowers and campaign. The restaurant was packed, yet our server was always available as needed. This was our third visit; it was the best. Oh, and the food was superb.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The food was great, but what really made the evening was the friendly, helpful, non-condescending waiter.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.