Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Tulio

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria in the heart of downtown Seattle. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike. His boldly flavored dishes are both simple and sophisticated, combining rustic Italian preparations with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients. Add to this our great location in downtown Seattle, our warm, intimate atmosphere and outstanding service and it's easy to understand why Tulio is widely regarded as one of the city's best restaurants.

1100 5th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am;
Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm;
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
Dinner:
Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Bar:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Close;
Saturday -Sunday: 5:00pm - Close;
Bistro Menu available during Bar Service

Cross Street:
Spring

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 624-5500

Website:
http://www.tulio.com/

Catering:
Let us arrange your next special event in one of our spaces; completely private, semi-private or even our outdoor patio! At Tulio, we strive to make each event special. Solaio, our upstairs dining room, is a charming and beautifully decorated venue with a wine-cellar motif. There is no room rental fee charged for using Solaio and we offer customized menus, candles for the tables and background music - all complimentary.

Parking Details:
Valet offered at Hotel Vintage Park with reduced rate for Tulio diners. Discount available for Olympic Garage Parking located across street to the west

Public Transit:
4th and Seneca BUS and 3rd and Union LIGHT RAIL

Executive Chef:
Walter Pisano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tulio offers one of the best Grappa selections in Town! Enjoy Flights of selected Grappas for $20!
Join us for our Grappa Happy Hour in our bar daily from 8pm-10pm. Flights of selected Grappas for $20 with traditional accompaniment.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Fri 1:30PM - 2:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Step through the antique revolving doors of Tulio Ristorante and it's as if you've entered a bustling Italian trattoria. Chef Walter Pisano clearly puts his heart into this longstanding downtown Seattle favorite, continuing to impress diners and critics alike.

Tulio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Good for a Date (53)
Fit for Foodies (45)
See All
Business Meals (42)
Romantic (41)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Authentic (40)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Cozy (28)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Great for Lunch (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Casual (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Healthy (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Fun (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Seasonal (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
People Watching (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
2886 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (China)·Dined 2 days ago

Great! Definitely will come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The food and the service were excellent. I had not been there in some years and I am wondering why. Great resteraunt!
I will be back sooner than later.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

I've never had food stay so hot for so long and get better in taste with every bite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was amazing! My friend and I split the Caesar salad, agnelli?, and lamb sirloin! So delicious and the perfect amount of food. Our waiter was great and suggested a delicious red blend wine that was divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Mains were really good. Appetizers and dessert were less interesting. Service was knowledgeable and candid.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant had a lovely, darker mood. I went with two of my friends while I was visiting. The food was wonderful, and creative. The wines and sherry were superb, and the waiter was phenomenal. He had great suggestions, and went above and beyond what he needed too. I would definitely go again!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was mediocre as butter and cheese seems to go into many items in the menu. We rather add cheese if desired. Chef should be more accommodating to people's allergies - e.g. Gnocchi had to be done with butter and cheese rather than fresh tomato sauce. The Chef should limit the use of butter and use olive oil instead. May consider another visit if cooking complies more with traditional Italian cooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We sat upstairs and were chilled the entire time, even with my coat on; it would be nice if the temperature was at a comfortable level so one could eat without having to wear their coat. Otherwise, time was enjoyable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful food, service and atmosphere. Rib-eye done to perfection and the pork shank was to die for!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Nice place. Super fresh and local food. Felt like they could offer some more choices - wood fired pizzas? They have the oven. Or maybe a couple more traditional Italian dishes. Desserts were outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Wonderful dinner. We enjoyed cocktails and four courses; easily shared sweet potato sage gnocci and primo wild mushroom pasta; entrees were duck and veal roast, both perfectly prepared. My pistachio dessert was amazing, so good I would not share so Mom had to survive with her tiramisu. We spent 2 1/2 hours and were not rushed. Be sure to go hungry because you will want to taste everything.

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Great Italian food! Service was impeccable. Liked it so much on our trip here we ate there two nights in a row. Tiramassu was great. Pork shank was fabulous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Great time celebrating our wedding anniversary. Our waiter, James was excellent. He helped us with our wine selection and took the time for some friendly conversation.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 11, 2017

I want to eat non-stop sweet potato gnocchi! The tomato bread soup and beer salad are a must. The mimosa went down well with all of it too.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Great place. Great food. Exceptional service. Tulio's has been one of my go to places for a nice lunch or wonderful dinner for years and it never disappoints.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Tulio is the destination for a friend and I when we get together for lunch several times a year. Our recent experience was terrific like all the ones that preceded it -- even down to our server, someone who has waited on us many times, always with skill and grace. We love the ambiance, bustling but not hectic. We appreciate the careful attention to detail. Who'd ever think of preparing risotto with cherries? Num -- it was excellent. And my companion loved the gnocchi. We'll go back again. Because we know the quality of the food is high, and the experience is memorable.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Very quaint restaurant with great servers and delicious food. Limited menu which I can appreciate when so many other restaurants have too many choices.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual, Spicy, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Wonderful service and superb food. Our waiter was well acquainted with the menu and added to our experience. I feel awful I can't remember his name!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Excellent food, great service from knowledgeable staff. Had a business dinner here and would do again. Would be perfect for any occasion and any taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

good food at reasonable prices perfect for a business lunch. you want to show your lunch partner you care without breaking the bank. excellent fish, pasta items and chicken, great deserts and wine (if the business lunch has more time and latitude)

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 4, 2017

The food was great as always, but unfortunately the service was really disappointing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 3, 2017

I absolutely love this very special restaurant. The staff here, particularly Melissa, is incredible.. Our waiter today was Jose, who was excellent. Nate is also a noteworthy waiter. The food is top notch with an exciting and eclectic menu, containing many tempting choices. We loved our Caesar salads, tomato bread soup and the other main courses, like the Linguine and chicken are so very good. Again, you will be enchanted in this beautiful oasis and greeted with kindness and a welcoming attitude by Melissa and taken care of by a great wait staff. Enjoy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Tulio's never ceases to delight! We shared steamed mussels, a beet salad, and a ravioli-esque kind of pasta dish I can't recall the actual name of. We had a glass of rose bubbles and iced tea. Service was a little slow at the start, but fine and helpful overall.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Delicious food with Italian focus. Menu very simple and brief but all four of us enjoyed our meals. The halibut Special was especially delicious. Recommend if in Seattle checking out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2017

The food was OK. But I was expecting more authentic Italian dishes. The prosciutto was not high quality. The fried gnocchi were heavy. Service was good. Prosecco was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2017

What a treat! Loved everything about this place. Rain, our server, is perfection. Our favorites were the sweet potato gnocchi and linguini with clams. Highly recommend you make a reservation. Excellent food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Our server was wonderful. The appetizer was partially cold My main course was supposed to be wild mushrooms has very large partially cooked mushroom stems as well as being bland with over cooked pasta. My husband sent his over cooked pasta back as it was dry and only tasting of pepper. Even the server said it looked dry.
They did not do well on very basic things for an Italian restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Just average. Nothing to brag about but it’s not bad either. Just kinda alright.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Fabulous meal at Tulios. Never a disappointment! Love it! A fav spot in Seattle

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 27, 2017

We've been here a few times before, and they continue to provide excellent service, food and wine. Prices are typical for high end, and expect a modest
surcharge to help pay for $15/hr min wage in Seattle. Nice decor, intimate atmosphere with easy access parking at hotel next door on 5th.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 27, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants..staff is always very friendly and attentive. Food is always great.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Four of us had a wonderful pre-Theatre dinner. We were asked right away if we were going to the theater- so no need to worry about timing. Atmosphere was lovely - food delicious - from cocktails to dessert the service was attentive but not overly so. Tulios is a real downtown Seattle neighborhood gem & if you’re taking in a show- it’s a just a 3 minute walk to the 5th Ave!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Amazing dinner. James is one of the best waiters that we have ever encountered. He guided us through the full dinner. Trust him and you will be in for a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We had reserved a table at Tullio without even knowing it was attached to our hotel The Vintage. Our waiter was excellent, very funny and walked briskly the entire night. Very knowledgeable of menu, too. Want to know what to order? The Sweet Potato gnocchi appetizer and the pork shank. It'll be the best meal you eat in a Seattle. I made the mistake of ordering the chicken because I didn't want to order the same meal as my friend, but I had major food envy. The chicken was really boring, but the pork shank is one of the best bites of food I've ever had. I'll be spending weeks trying to recreate at home!

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The food was all flavorful, well prepared and very fresh. It was delicious. Additionally, our server Efren was there when we needed him, made great suggestions on both food and wine and was generally very friendly. The wine list is not huge but sufficient and a decent selection of Italian and domestic wines. Good Negroni and great list of different Grappa's.
All in all a very good experience that both me and my husband enjoyed; we will definitely go back again and recommend to our friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We were in Seattle for four evenings and dined at Blueacre Seafood, Lola, Tulio, and Ivar on Lake Union. All were full of life with better than average food, good service, fairly expensive but not by city standards, and each was unique in terms of decor/ambiance. Ivar is worth a trip to Lake Union because it’s a really beautiful spot. Nola and Tulio are more intimate and cleverly designed. We are fans of Open Table, travel a lot, and almost always enjoy our choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (China)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 22, 2017

A Seattle classic, I just love Tulio. I like to sit at the bar and enjoy a good meal when dining alone in Seattle. Housed in a corner of a small boutique hotel, this place is a great little spot. Gnocci app is crazy good. Nice salads. All of the pasta is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Solid meal. Prompt and attentive. Food in Seattle overall is getting expensive. Better tailored for business meals...

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The staff seemed to focus on the before theater crowd. We had to request to have dirty dished bussed, water refill, etc. Expected much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.