About Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan

Tsunami - Riverpark is a "one of a kind" restaurant. We continue the Tsunami tradition, but also offer a unique atmosphere which includes a sushi lounge, private party room, patio, sake bar (full service), large party capacity (6-25), and beautiful interior design. We have a passion for great, fresh food and exceptional service. Please come visit us today.

10722 South Riverfront Parkway
South Jordan, UT 84095
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Saturday: 11:30am-3pm:

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 3:00pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10600 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 748-1178 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.tsunamiutah.com/

Private Party Facilities:
We have a beautiful private party room. We have AV hook-ups and the capacity for up to 40 people. Book your party today!

Private Party Contact:
Kimber Llewellyn: (801) 748-1178

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Over the course of the past 15 years Tsunami has become a Christmas Eve tradition for families all over the Salt Lake Valley. With our new location in Traverse Mountain we have extended our reach to include Utah Valley as well!

Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (23)
Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Good for Birthdays (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Casual (12)
Healthy (11)
Romantic (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fun (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Authentic (6)
Spicy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Vegan (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tapas (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
647 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Best Sushi in town, excellent wine list, great service,

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

The food was great, but what impressed me was the service. The staff were very attentive, and on top of it. I loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We love Tsunami. We are always happy with the sushi!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 7, 2017

As always, the food was delicious! The food did seem to take a while to come out after we ordered (over 30 mins) and the waitress was super nice but must have had too many tables to wait on as our drinks seemed to be constantly empty. Again, she was great, maybe just overwhelmed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Tsunami is a busy place. We were glad we had a reservation, as there were lots of people waiting for tables. Service was friendly and efficient. The food was excellent - mostly non-traditional sushi. Some combinations worked better than others, but we were very pleased overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Always a great experience. We’ve been going to this location long enough to request certain servers for maximum entertainment and enjoyment. The menu is vast - something for everyone, even the non-sushi eaters. Great, easy to find location with plenty of parking. Go here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Healthy, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Authentic, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 29, 2017

I took my wife for her birthday dinner without the kids. We love Tsunami for their great food and the service is always friendly .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Service was horrible. If you don't want to be a server, which was obvious, find another line of work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We love tsunami! We come often, the GM Rob is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Sushi and service were good. I like the sandy location better, butnit was nice

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

My boyfriend and myself came here for our date night that we have once a month and it was an amazing start to our night! Our server was so friendly and very informative. We ordered soup as an appetizer and then ordered 3-4 sushi rolls and we have nothing bad to say about any of them! They were all very delicious. Very happy with our experience at this location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We went for a catch up on friends dinner. I kind of felt like we were a little rushed to get out of there. We would have liked to get another drink and sit and talk but the waiter brought our checks out without even asking if we would like anything else. Then he came by three times wanting to close out our ticket. The food was excellent, his service was excellent we just felt a little rushed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 11, 2017

I went for my birthday lunch with some work colleagues. Yuliyan, our server was delightful. The food was very good. We had the lunch boxes and sushi. I have never been disappointed with anything I have ordered here for lunch or dinner. This is my go to lunch destination. An absolute favorite!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

I had heard from a few friends that this place was really good so I finally tried it out. It was even better than they said! The appetizers shocked us they were so good.
The manager, Rob, and our server were wonderful and very helpful. We have 3 kids with celiac. We have to be very careful with their meals being gluten free. The restaurant did a great job showing us their GF menu and answering my kids' questions.
I will definitely be going back and will recommend this to everyone. My only even slightly negative thing to say was that they sat us, reserved table for 5 people, next to the bar and it was quite noisy and crowded. But again, that's minor and I'd do it all over again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Romantic, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food was Awesome as Usual! Jason, Our Server, was Great and Friendly. Will Definitely Return to this Location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We had a reservation for 6 pm on Tuesday 8/22/17. We were there to celebrate my Mom and late Fathers anniversary. We take her there every year on their anniversary because it's what they used to do together. Austin was our server he was nice , but after taking our order which included appetizers our waiter disappeared for over 25 minutes. Our drinks were long past empty and still no appetizers .. When he finally reappeared we had to ask him if our appetizer was coming and you could tell he had completely forgot about them and us.. at this point it was almost 7 pm, then he brought our Gyoza out and you could tell it had been sitting there a while. Eventually our food came and that as well seemed like it was sitting there awhile. Most of us got hot dishes so it was very disappointing to have waited so long for any type of food, just to get warm food at best . Mind you this is on a Tuesday night the restaurant was not busy. Then near the end a gentleman which I assume was the manager came by to I guess see how our meal was , but he didn't even stop and make eye contact with us, just faintly asked as he was looking off in the other direction, then quickly left. I frequent Tsunami so the whole experience was really disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We went in for a late dinner/snack and our server was very sweet, attentive and patient with us. Great service and an enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Best sushi in Salt Lake. Period. Never a bad experience there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Christopher was an awesome server. Very playful, attentive and fun. Traverse Location needs more servers like this!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Healthy, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Love it but it was super loud and we could barely hear each other out

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I've been to this restaurant many times so I would still recommend it, but this visit was very disappointing. It took the waitress over 10 min to even greet our table. I had to ask for water 3 times after I ordered. My wine glass remained empty until another waitress asked if I need a refill - as I was paying my bill. I felt like I was shoved in a loud back room and ignored. The food was good which was good because the staff was too busy to correct anything. It was a really disappointing way to celebrate my birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our server was friendly and did his best to answer the questions we had about the menu. He did seem to lose some interest in us when he realized we wouldn't be ordering more than an appetizer and a couple rolls each, but otherwise he did a good job.
The biggest issue is the price of the food here. The rolls were decent, but definitely not anything to write home about. The tempura vegetables were also good, but the portion was pretty small. Everything on the menu was just overpriced for what you got.

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

This is the 2nd time we've been served in a very room that echoes the sound. I couldn't even have a conversation with my spouse because it was so noisy. Love the food but the ambiance was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Tsunami is an excellent restaurant. The food is high quality and the sushi is amazing we love to come in as a family and enjoy the food and great service. I recommend this restaurant highly

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

My wife and I frequent this Tsunami restaurant and have never had a bad meal. There's something for everybody on their menu. The sushi is the best and freshest around. I ordered teriyaki salmon on this visit and it was a little over cooked but our waiter took it back and it was great!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Tsunami never disappoints! The service is always top-notch, and the food is absolutely amazing. We've been coming here for years, and somehow it just keeps getting better!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Love, love, love Tsunami. I am celiac and they have great gluten free options and the kitchen staff is always really careful about cross contamination. Even the cheesecake is gluten free!

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Business Meals, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

There was a lot of flies in the restaurant and it took a long time to get sides like the wasabi.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Just ok. Probably would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Tsunami is very consistent - excellent service, the best food, and exceptional value.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Excellent, the best Sushi Restaurant in Utah!! it is fresh, natural and the service is amazing.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The first time I went here was for dinner the food was good but the service wasn't that good but the second time I went for lunch and it was great. The server was excellent, he was very knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Other than our server being absent and uninterested - everything else was grear

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The best sushi in Utah

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The outer dining room was rather stark, but wait staff friendly. Good solid Japanese fare, with interesting specials. Teriyaki skewers a tad underdone, but the kitchen happily regrilled them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great all around. The manager even came to our seats and thanked us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

As always the service was great and very attentive to our needs, even if though it was a busy night. Our party ordered several things on the menu and it was all very delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I love coming to this place! We dine here quite frequently and have never been disappointed. My all time favorite is the Chicken Katsu. Last time though I tried the teriyaki Salmon. It was perfect! We aren't much for Sushi (although their menu is quite long) but we have never had trouble finding something wonderful on the menu! Highly recommended for any occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Always one of our favorite places to eat. Delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This last go-round we were seated in the back and it was so much more quiet.
Their sushi always tastes great.

Caterpillar role
TNT role

I love their veggie tempura!!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Spicy, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.