HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Sun, 2/25
Time
8:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 23 times today

Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan

4.7
727 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Sushi
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Birthdays
Tsunami - Riverpark is a "one of a kind" restaurant. We continue the Tsunami tradition, but also offer a unique atmosphere which includes a sushi lounge, private party room, patio, sake bar (full service), large party capacity (6-25), and beautiful interior design. We have a passion for great, fresh food and exceptional service. Please come visit us today.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Sushi, Japanese
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Saturday: 11:30am-3pm:

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 3:00pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(801) 748-1178 ext. 2
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We have a beautiful private party room. We have AV hook-ups and the capacity for up to 40 people. Book your party today!
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Kimber Llewellyn: (801) 748-1178
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
10600 South
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 727 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7  based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined 2 days ago

Best sushi around!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Orlando)
3.0  Dined on February 17, 2018

We eat here often. Usually is very good. This time was annoying. We sat at our table in basically a “overflow “ seating area. it was 10 minutes before the waiter came by. After they brought the sushi rolls, we were confused and asked the waiter what they were. He had to get another person to figure it out. One of them was not what we ordered and he said he had to take it back! (After we had sampled it). They should have comped us the roll. It was awkward and the roll was just going in the trash. Going to have to rethink and look for a new favorite restaurant.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
4.0  Dined on February 17, 2018

Tsunami is always a reliable sushi meal, and incredibly popular. I was so glad we had a reservation as the wait was north of 90 minutes before 6pm. Dinner was pretty average this time, like a meal i can get at any Tun of the mill sushi joint, though usually the whole experience is fantastic. Tsunami is consistently some of the most popular sushi in the south valley.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on February 16, 2018

Great experience!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Boise)
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Excellent sushi, tempura, teriyaki. The banana coconut dessert was delicious. Great service - our drinks were kept filled and waiter was attentive without being intrusive. Definitely get reservations - this place is popular.

Report
Helpful
RobT (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Really good food. The Executive roll, Jenny roll, and Tiger roll were fabulous. As well as the short ribs. Coconut glory is an excellent dessert to finish.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

It was just really busy for Valentines Day and our waiter forgot a few things but that’s okay.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Hawaii)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Wonderful valentines date!

Report
Helpful
ToddC (Dallas)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Waiter was very good. We had the Vegas and the Executive sushi rolls which were very good.

Report
Helpful
ssla (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Good food! good service!

Report
Helpful
DaliaC (Salt Lake City)
4.0  Dined on February 6, 2018

Prompt service and very tasty food, Very professional environment, my friends were very impressed since was their first time at the restaurant, so, I am sure I brought you more clientele for the future.

Report
Helpful
JamieB (Salt Lake City)
4.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

It was super busy! I can’t imagine not having a reservation! I LOVE the food and the service is always great! I will go here many years to come!

Report
Helpful
libertyfordean (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on February 1, 2018

Absolute best sushi in Utah! Love this place. Fish is always fresh and rolls are amazing. I pretty much only come here for sushi. But, even their non-sushi food is done right. They just do a good job. If you need a quick filling lunch, the chicken donburi (rice bowl) is out of this world. Their shrimp poppers or spicy edamame are a fantastic starters. But you have to come try their Executive roll, the Coco-cabana roll, and their Playboy roll. Tried a new one today, too... Spicy Masa with their Sablefish substituted for the Masa (because it is so good they sold out of it). So, so good!

p.s. - If Teran is working, ask to sit at one of his tables. He's the best server! Super attentive and so nice. Always makes great recommendations and always makes sure you have everything you need. Service with a smile.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on January 31, 2018

Wonderful!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on January 28, 2018

Tsunami never disappoints! The food was delicious, and the service was great! I wish they carried more craft beer, but their sake selection is good.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
2.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

We had a reservation at 6:00, and checked in a little before then. It wasn’t until around 6:25 that we were actually seated, and that was only because we reminded them we had been waiting for 30 minutes. The hosts weren’t friendly, and made us feel like an inconvenience. The waitress and delicious food redeemed the experience a little bit, but the whole experience was frustrating.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

Bridget is as awesome. She served us and was very respectful of space and conversation. She’s a keeper!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on January 24, 2018

Super yummy = just a little loud for me. but food made it worth it

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

Tsunami is our very favorite place for date night, lunches, business meetings, birthday/anniversary celebrations. Always fresh! I love sushi, my husband loves the steak. Agadashi tofu is BOMB!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

Wait staff is always professional, engaging and provide excellent service

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
4.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

We loved the food. We didn’t realize there was like a side conference room area that was very bright and took away from the ambiance. We got seated in there unfortunately. It was very busy that night so we felt bad asking to switch. Next time we will make a note on our reservation not to be seated there.

Report
Helpful
vipCla12 (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

They have great rolls and sushi! Staff is always calm and nice under pressure. Food does take a while when they are busy!!
Quality is great! Wide variety of rolls and kitchen items for sushi and no sushi eater alike!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on January 16, 2018

We love Tsunami for business lunch. Lots of options and some great sushi if that's your thing. If you're not a sushi fan its OK they have so many alternatives.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Orange County)
4.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

This is one of my favorite sushi restaurants. We find it better to make reservations.

Report
Helpful
MDenison (Salt Lake City)
3.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

We had a reservation at 8pm, the very rude hostess didn't even bother to read the special instructions we left on our reservation until we got there. We proceeded to wait 50 minutes until we were seated. What's the point of a reservation if we will 1. be treated poorly by the hostess 2. wait for almost an hour after our scheduled time? It was extremely disappointing. The waiting area is not suited for the amount of people they have waiting, and table turnaround was extremely slow. Thank the heavens for our amazing server, Peter, that saved the entire experience with his quick and kind service.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

We love South Jordan Tsunami. It has a great ambiance and decor - it looks like it was made to be a sushi restaurant. Their sushi is excellent, the best in Salt Lake (I think, and I lived in Japan for 15 months). Service is usually excellent, but I did not love our server this time. They just did not seem to care if our experience was top notch or not, just did not give off a good vibe. But they were insanely busy and that said, MAKE SURE you make a reservation for the weekend. It was absolutely packed and it was just a regular weekend, no holidays or anything. We tried the Kalbi beef kabobs this time and they were amazing. I would totally get them again. The Jenny roll is probably one of my favorites with the lemon slices on top. We tried the PD roll this time and it was my husband's favorite, the sugarhouse was good, not our favorite. I always get a vegas roll (I know, deep fried, not really "sushi") but it's the best one in the valley.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on January 12, 2018

Excellent seafood, sushi, as well as teriyaki chicken. Service was accommodating even on a super busy weekend.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
4.0  Dined on January 12, 2018

Everything about our visit was perfect except we did wait longer than we had hoped for the server to initially come to our table. We reserved online ahead of time and it asked if there was any special requests. It was our anniversary so I requested a more private or quiet booth and when I got there they tried to give us a table right up against a table with another couple . Why ask if there is a preference if they aren't going to acknowledge it.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on January 11, 2018

Brandon was amazing and very accommodating, even with our linger-longer group. :)

Report
Helpful
vipalisha74801 (Salt Lake City)
5.0  Dined on January 11, 2018

My fathers birthday.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
25