About Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan

10722 South Riverfront Parkway
South Jordan, UT 84095
View Larger Map

Tsunami - Riverpark is a "one of a kind" restaurant. We continue the Tsunami tradition, but also offer a unique atmosphere which includes a sushi lounge, private party room, patio, sake bar (full service), large party capacity (6-25), and beautiful interior design. We have a passion for great, fresh food and exceptional service. Please come visit us today.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Saturday: 11:30am-3pm:

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 3:00pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10600 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 748-1178

Website:
http://tsunamiutah.com/

Private Party Facilities:
We have a beautiful private party room. We have AV hook-ups and the capacity for up to 25 people. Book your party today!

Private Party Contact:
Kimber Llewellyn: 8017481178x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sushi Executive - Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan, South Jordan, UT
  • Salmon Rangoon - Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan, South Jordan, UT
  • Nagima - Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan, South Jordan, UT
Sushi Executive - Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan, South Jordan, UT
Salmon Rangoon - Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan, South Jordan, UT
Nagima - Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan, South Jordan, UT

Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Salt Lake City
Best Value
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in South Jordan ›

Good for a Date (21)
Special Occasion (19)
Casual (18)
See All
Good for Groups (12)
Healthy (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Fun (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Business Meals (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Romantic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Authentic (5)
Spicy (5)
Cozy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Private Room (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and service. Kaylee was incr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service. Kaylee was incredible in helping us choose cuisine that fit our taste. It was hard to carry on a conversation with some of the larger groups around us, but the quality and quantity of the food PLUS excellent service is the reason for the high rating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything was very good. Great first v ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was very good. Great first visit for business. Very attentive service, food came quickly, and the food was great.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Consistently good! Excellent sashimi. G ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Consistently good! Excellent sashimi. Great sake options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Tsunami always has consistent good food ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Tsunami always has consistent good food and excellent service. The pan seared gyozas are always tasty and served hot. The specials menu always has some interesting choices so that, if you are a regular, it provides great options to your standard default choices. One roll I enjoy frequently is the Executive Suite. The lemon on top of the roll adds that citrus flavouring which enhances the fish. The habanero sauce that is provided on the side has the requisite heat without overpowering the roll. The only caveat with the habanero is that it might pack a punch for the uninitiated. This was a Sunday night and you will need reservations at the peak dinner hours.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Parker our server was wonderful! We rea ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Parker our server was wonderful! We really enjoyed our dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and service as usual! Order ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Awesome food and service as usual! Ordered teriyaki chicken & teriyaki beef bowl, shrimp tempura roll & spicy tuna roll! Have been to only South Jordan location and never disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

For the price Tsunami has the best sushi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 22, 2016

For the price Tsunami has the best sushi in Utah. Always have some special rolls to try, the tempura veggies are great, and if you dont like sushi the bento box is a great option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Expensive, but worth every penny. Every ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Expensive, but worth every penny. Everything we tried on the menu was first rate; freshness, quality, and presentation. Service was outstanding -- always there when (before) anything needed, but not annoying or constantly interrupting conversation. Server was knowledgeable about the menu (drinks included). Left feeling like a king-for-a-day.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rhianna was our server, absolutely pheno ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Rhianna was our server, absolutely phenomenal white glove service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good, service was excellent. W ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was good, service was excellent. Will come back.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Don't count on a reservation to secure y ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Don't count on a reservation to secure your table.

Second weekend in a row that I've waited an additional 30 minutes past my reservation time - even though we arrived early.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Always a great dinner with friends. We h ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Always a great dinner with friends. We have never had a bad server, and their recommendations are spot on!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent price for decent sushi! Nice rest ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Decent price for decent sushi! Nice restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

One of the best sushi spots in Salt Lake ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

One of the best sushi spots in Salt Lake City. If you want great food with decent service, Tsunami is the place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We come to Tsunami often, and never need ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We come to Tsunami often, and never need disappointed in the food until this visit. Some of our usual rolls were not as fresh as they normally are, chicken skewers were rubbery and tough. Our waitress was great, however service was slow. Just not a great overall visit.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

We frequent tsunami as often as possible ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We frequent tsunami as often as possible - our favorite sushi place in the world!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a favorite! We go at least once a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always a favorite! We go at least once a month. Take advantage of their VIP program.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is fresh and fabulous. I will ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food is fresh and fabulous. I will say their lack of handicapped parking is very disappointing. It's hard finding a parking spot to begin with especially during busy hours, but trying to drop someone off that uses a walker/wheelchair is very difficult when all the parking up front by the door isn't for handicapped people. It is also hard for them to have to step up onto the sidewalk to enter the restaurant. I hope this is something can be addressed soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Get the PD, Sunshine, Executive Suite, C ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Get the

PD, Sunshine, Executive Suite, Cococabana, The Regal, Something Tropical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My absolute favorite sushi place. I'm ne ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

My absolute favorite sushi place. I'm never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Tsunami several times. Ev ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 4, 2016

I have been to Tsunami several times. Every time has been an excellent experience. I highly recommend taking the time to make reservations. They get you right in and is a much better experience. They are always crowded. I love the food and the atmosphere. One of my favorite places to dine.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food is usually very good and we hav ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The food is usually very good and we have been going for years but there is a new manager there now and he is VERY unprofessional. We order the same appetizer pretty much every time we go in and this time it was raw, not medium rare. We told the manager and he pretty much told us we were wrong and treated us like idiots. Even the server agreed with us and they didn't even offer to take it off the bill. I sure hope they figure this out before my favorite restaurant goes under due to poor management!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Our waiter forgot to bring something sev ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our waiter forgot to bring something several times after we ask we had to ask a different waiter who brought it right away

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Tsunami was a great date night with frie ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Tsunami was a great date night with friends. The atmosphere is nice for a date and the food and service were great!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter as a very nice guy, however.. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our waiter as a very nice guy, however...

They knew it was out anniversary and they still sat us between a couple groups of overly loud, overly self important, dimwits.

The baby back ribs were good. The sushi was compared unfavorably to the local grocery chain sushi. I has teriyaki that in Seattle comes in a Styrofoam box and cost $9. Here the same food cost $20+ and came on a plate. It tasted fine but the value was not there.

Nothing except the seating was bad it was just not a $70 dinner for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

We really enjoyed the upbeat personality ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We really enjoyed the upbeat personality of the young man that served us. He is from Hawaii and his name may be Chris(?) We were three people from Oregon attending a horse show and his service was truly everything I expect from a hospitality professional! The sushi rolls and Tempura were excellent!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as always. Service was particular ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great as always. Service was particularly good this time around.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing food and atmosphere as usual...g ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing food and atmosphere as usual...great restaurant!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister and I came here during Happy H ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My sister and I came here during Happy Hour Saturday at 4:30 pm. The selection is not as extensive as the regular menu, but there are plenty of choices and the prices can't be beat. Good rolls, good service, and remember if you are there between 2:00 pm -5:00 pm, to ask for the Happy Hour menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've had much better experiences in the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We've had much better experiences in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Really love eating here. Their product i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Really love eating here. Their product is always fresh and the quality is consistently great.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our go to date night place. Love ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is our go to date night place. Love the place, the staff, the sushi.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was fantastic! Food was gre ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Our waitress was fantastic! Food was great and came out fast. My husband has a shell fish allergy and they are always very accommodating. Will be back ASAP!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got right in even though there was a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We got right in even though there was a 1 hour wait

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always an amazing dining experience. We ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always an amazing dining experience. We look forward to trying new rolls and love our favorites. If new, try the executive, sunshine, and PD rolls. Love these must haves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Once again, Tsunami did not disappoint. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Once again, Tsunami did not disappoint. The sushi was excellent and the entres were delicious. Good drinks as well. Our server was quite good and prompt. The manager visited our table twice. Will be back for sure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went for an early birthday ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I went for an early birthday celebration at one of my favorite restaurants in the valley. We decided to sit at the sushi bar to change it up and watch the magic happen.

Fantastic food and service.

At the bar, we had a great server and sushi chefs, who treated us like long time friends.

Tsunami is my go to recommendation for anyone looking for great sushi and yet again has exceeded expectations in both food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a regular at the South Jordan Tsuna ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 17, 2016

I am a regular at the South Jordan Tsunami restaurant. It is at the top of my list for Sushi. The food quality and service are consistently great. The place is so popular that I have resorted to getting reservations any time that I go there to avoid long waits for seating. The Union Heights location is also great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love this location! As usual Awesome Foo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Love this location! As usual Awesome Food! Awesome Service from Cassie! Just one thing, the female host needs to acknowledge customers, especially if she can't help them at the moment. After she finished helping a customer at the host desk, the customer stepped aside. I stepped up, but she gave no eye contact, no greeting, nothing. She walked away. A young male was taking a phone order at the desk, after he was done, he asked if we were helped. He was nice enough to go into the computer to look for our reservations, he may have been new, but we appreciated him greeting us and helpung us until the female host returned to the desk. He sat us at our table, then Cassie immediately greeted us along with another young male who refilled our waters. Very friendly! Definitely, will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, the service was lacking. There ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Overall, the service was lacking. There had been a mix up with our reservation, but the hosts got it sorted out after a few minutes. Our server greeted us by saying that several tables had just been seated in her section, so food would be coming on a first ordered, first served basis--not a great first impression. It took quite a while to receive our food, appetizers were received at different times (one came with the paper ticket on top of the food), and one order was incorrect. It took until well after we were finished eating to receive the correct sushi roll, all while half of our party was sitting without all the food they had ordered.

The food was okay, but certainly nothing special. We have enjoyed Tsunami in the past, but we likely will not return to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.