About Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan

10722 South Riverfront Parkway
South Jordan, UT 84095
View Larger Map

Tsunami - Riverpark is a "one of a kind" restaurant. We continue the Tsunami tradition, but also offer a unique atmosphere which includes a sushi lounge, private party room, patio, sake bar (full service), large party capacity (6-25), and beautiful interior design. We have a passion for great, fresh food and exceptional service. Please come visit us today.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Saturday: 11:30am-3pm:

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 3:00pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10600 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 748-1178

Website:
http://tsunamiutah.com/

Private Party Facilities:
We have a beautiful private party room. We have AV hook-ups and the capacity for up to 25 people. Book your party today!

Private Party Contact:
Kimber Llewellyn: 8017481178x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sushi Executive
  • Salmon Rangoon
  • Nagima
Sushi Executive
Salmon Rangoon
Nagima

Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Utah
Most Booked
Utah
Best Food
Salt Lake City
2 More
Great for Lunch
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in South Jordan ›

special occasion (32)
fit for foodies (30)
great for lunch (30)
See All
good for groups (30)
neighborhood gem (20)
hot spot (18)
romantic (17)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
notable wine list (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Love Tsunami, need to go more often, alw ...

Dined 6 days ago

Love Tsunami, need to go more often, always have good food and this time in particular the service was exceptional.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Service is always fantastic. Have tried ...

Dined 7 days ago

Service is always fantastic. Have tried sushi at several different places in the salt lake valley and always come back to Tsunami in South jordan.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kaela - our server - made the experience ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Kaela - our server - made the experience very special. She was attentive, full of personality and very kind.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience1
service5

We always love the food. Service is top ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

We always love the food. Service is top notch. Especially if we are lucky enough to be with Angela! The new room(enclosed porch) is too loud to enjoy much conversation. I really don't love sitting there. But, Angela takes such good care of us, we ALMOST didn't notice, almost.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best sushi that I have had in Utah. Real ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Best sushi that I have had in Utah. Really awesome menu and the service is exceptional as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We really like sushi. We've been searchi ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We really like sushi. We've been searching for an excellent sushi bar since we've moved to Utah, price isn't really a concern. We are more than willing to pay whatever to get some exceptional sushi. Tsunami didn't have a single example of excellence as far as sushi goes. The appetizers were really good, but I would say all of them would be considered Asian inspired, not Japanese. Their most expensive specialty roll was $16, and it was lackluster. There was zero craft involved. It looked like a roll I can pick up at any grocery store. There were some yummy rolls, but I wouldn't pay over $100 for a nice meal for 2 for "yummy". I pay $100 for 2 for "That was AMAZING!" Maybe their entree's are their claim to fame. Also, I would expect a floor manager to come and touch almost every table at that type of restaurant. I didn't see a manager once.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always!

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great as always!

food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Our meal was very good, but the server w ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Our meal was very good, but the server was rude and inept. He offended everyone at the table. Even made my daughter cry. He verbally abused another server in front of several tables as well. We will never go back.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Date Night

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Again a wonderful evening. The food was exceptional as was the service. This restaurant never disappoints.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service1

Food was good the server was a little in ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was good the server was a little inappropriate. A little bit too much. Being discrete at a meal goes a long way. He made the dinner all about him. Way too much presence

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love when they have the time to make all ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Love when they have the time to make all of our rolls with Cucumber instead of Rice.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

I love Tsunami! I've never been disappoi ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

I love Tsunami! I've never been disappointed by the service or quality here.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Food As Always

Dined on May 21, 2016

I've had a great experience with the food here every time. I feel that the sushi is a little over-priced but it is always quality, so i am willing to pay for that. I have yet to eat a sushi roll that I have not liked here. I was never asked for my rewards card and didn't realize I forgot to add it to my account, which is nice to have a gift card to subsidize the sushi every once in a while. Great job on the service! (This lights did go out for a few minutes, but I think that wasn't necessarily the restaurant's fault, bad weather.)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was good and the food was as wel ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Service was good and the food was as well. Rolls weren't as big as I have had at other locations but the price wasn't too high so you could probably just get more. Overall fairly average sushi location but I would go again.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a great place for lunch or dinner!

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Such a great place for lunch or dinner!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always- great service and great food ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

As always- great service and great food. This has been one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been craving it since I left!

Dined on April 29, 2016

The combo plate of teriyaki salmon and sushi was amazing. I have been craving it ever since I left. I will be returning very soon to satisfy this craving! Our waitress was very knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great as usual

Dined on April 27, 2016

Tsunami is my favorite sushi restaurant. I have never been let down with their food or service. If you are going for lunch, get a reservation. The place is so popular that it is difficult to get a seat without one. Had sushi on the east coast, west coast and Hawaii. Never had anything better.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Tsunami is consistenly amazing.

Dined on April 20, 2016

The fresh fish choices are vast and delicious. I am a big fan of their Dynamite Scallops although I am not sure they are still on the menu. Their bento boxes are an incredible value and loaded with food. I especially like their fried vanilla ice cream with mango and chocolate sauce.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Favorite Sushi place in Utah. Great glut ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Favorite Sushi place in Utah. Great gluten free options for Celiac community and knowledgeable staff.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good service, noisy night.

Dined on April 15, 2016

Service and food were very good. It was noisier than usual which is fine. It is to be expected that a restaurant may have revelers and be a bit loud. All in all a good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

We love dining at Tsunami. The sushi thi ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

We love dining at Tsunami. The sushi this evening was delicious, and we have one child who gets the teriyaki chicken each visit. The vegetable tempura is top notch. They always under promise and over deliver when it comes to sushi prep times. Wish the cucumber salad was more authentic. Earned a $25 gift cert this evening from our frequent diner card. Thanks tsunami team!

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great sushi!!

Dined on March 14, 2016

This place is my husband and I go to place for sushi!! The rolls are excellent!! My favorite is the executive roll and my husband loves the Vegas roll. We also love the tempura veggies! Service at times can be hit or miss either being excellent or very slow..but that's any where you go.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Sushi Ever

Dined on March 13, 2016

The sushi is outstanding. Will customize rolls and there is just no better sushi in Utah.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Sushi in Utah

Dined on March 13, 2016

This is our go to place for sushi. We are so spoiled with the freshness and taste that places out of state just don't live up to it. Our service is always excellent. Haven't had a bad server yet in the many times we have eaten there. If you make a reservation you can get in right away otherwise it is always busy and you may have to wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We love tsunami. Great sushi for decen ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

We love tsunami. Great sushi for decent prices.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Seriously best sushi I've had. Great combinations!

Dined on March 12, 2016

My wife and I were looking for a place to go for our anniversary dinner. We love sushi, but our experience with sushi places in Utah has not been the best. We liked Happy Sumo, but wanted something different. Tsunami takes the prize with us. Awesome sushi with great combinations of flavors!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh Sushi

Dined on March 9, 2016

Service was great. Sushi is always fresh with great presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always great!

Dined on March 5, 2016

We always love Tsunami! Our server was fantastic and the sushi was delicious! The only slight disappointment this time was our reservation was for 6:30 and we weren't seated until 7:10. But, this is the first time that has happened. They are usually running right on time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best sushi-very fresh! Service is outsta ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Best sushi-very fresh! Service is outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Sushi in Town

Dined on March 4, 2016

I've been to every sushi joint in town, from the high-end to the low. Tsunami is, hands-down, the tastiest sushi I've had in Utah. I take large groups there quite often, as I am in sales. They accommodate large groups (10+) quite easily and the food is just as fast as having 2 people. The place is super busy for lunch, so make a reservation and get there a little early.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We don't eat much sushi, but we went her ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

We don't eat much sushi, but we went here with friends at their suggestion. The food was great! However, our waiter wasn't very helpful and seemed impatient, and a little condescending. Maybe Tsunami is for real sushi connoisseurs, but I didn't appreciate feeling like an idiot for choosing to order a non sushi entree.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Always delicious!

Dined on February 28, 2016

We love Tsunami! My favorite roll is the Cococabanna, my husband got the baby back ribs with the jalepeno teriyaki sauce--delish! Only draw back is we were seated in a room where a lot of people had brought small (noisy!) children. I love kids, but it was a night out away from ours and it was kind of annoying. This is not a place to take young kids in my opinion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Will Always Return to South Jordan Location!

Dined on February 27, 2016

We have Only Been to Tsunami South Jordan location many times. As usual food was Awesome! Ordered Chicken Katsu from the regular menu. Also , ordered from the Happy Hour menu, Spicy Tuna Roll, Shrimp Tempura Roll and Vegetable Tempura. ALL Very Good! We are never disappointed in the food! Service is hit and miss, but this time.... We had an Awesome server, Kylee, probably the best service we have had here. She was Friendly, Attentive, Always Smiled! Counting down til our next visit........

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We've been many times and will return many more.

Dined on February 21, 2016

This particular night we had reservations. The hostess forgot about us. When I went to ask when we'll be sat 30 minutes later, she said "oops, asap".

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Love Tsunami

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

Tsunami Sushi has never disappointed. As long as they keep the fresh fish and a wide variety of options, we'll continue to go there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The quail egg muscle shooters were absol ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The quail egg muscle shooters were absolutely divine! The chef's choice sashimi melted in our mouths! The New York strip was perfectly done! And they even gave us a cute valentines chocolate bar branded with Tsunami. It was one of the best Valentine dates we've ever had. I look forward to our next visit.

food5
ambience5
service5

Cococabana was bomb! The GM gave me choc ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Cococabana was bomb! The GM gave me chocolate which was awesome! I loved it.

food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Consistently Great

Dined on February 14, 2016

Tsunami as always delivered great food. Generally, I've had fantastic experiences although this time was a little sub-par. It wasn't necessarily an issue with the restaurant but a busy day (Valentine's Day). This made it louder and very crowded. Our table was shared by placing a divider between sides of the table. The good news despite the ambiance for the evening was great food and service. I'd recommend Tsunami though would have some hesitation going on a holiday.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Incredible Food!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We have been here several times. It is truly the only restaurant I've found where I feel comfortable trying pretty much anything on the menu. I've never been disappointed. They have a variety of unique Japanese cuisine along with an amazing sushi menu. Lots of rolls you won't find anywhere else. It's all fresh. It all tastes amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.