About Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan

10722 South Riverfront Parkway
South Jordan, UT 84095
View Larger Map

Tsunami - Riverpark is a "one of a kind" restaurant. We continue the Tsunami tradition, but also offer a unique atmosphere which includes a sushi lounge, private party room, patio, sake bar (full service), large party capacity (6-25), and beautiful interior design. We have a passion for great, fresh food and exceptional service. Please come visit us today.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Saturday: 11:30am-3pm:

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 3:00pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10600 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 748-1178

Website:
http://tsunamiutah.com/

Private Party Facilities:
We have a beautiful private party room. We have AV hook-ups and the capacity for up to 25 people. Book your party today!

Private Party Contact:
Kimber Llewellyn: 8017481178x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sushi Executive - Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan, South Jordan, UT
  • Salmon Rangoon - Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan, South Jordan, UT
  • Nagima - Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan, South Jordan, UT

Report a photo problem

Sushi Executive - Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan, South Jordan, UT
Salmon Rangoon - Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan, South Jordan, UT
Nagima - Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan, South Jordan, UT

Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (21)
Casual (20)
See All
Good for Groups (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Fun (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Healthy (9)
Business Meals (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Romantic (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Spicy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (4)
Vegan (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Waiter was terrific and food was excelle ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Waiter was terrific and food was excellent as always!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is great. The service an ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This restaurant is great. The service and food are very consistent and we will definitely be back

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place to dine. The food ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This is a great place to dine. The food is awesome and the service is always excellent! Highly recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time.

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service -- awesome evening for New ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service -- awesome evening for New Years!;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice meal with a lot of variety, great s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Nice meal with a lot of variety, great service. Definitely a keeper.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We reserved our table and when arrived w ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We reserved our table and when arrived we were seated quickly. The food was good, we had time to talk and catch up. The girls chose a combination meal. One in our party must have gluten free and this as accommodated easily without problems. I had two sashimi appetizers. The ocean trout was amazing. The salmon was good but compared to the ocean trout lacked snap. We ordered specialty rolls and there were executed well and the flavors were excellent. We love the food at Tsunami. The prices are on the higher end but it is worth if for the food and atmosphere. Don't go if you want a quiet meal, the music was a bit loud and the restaurant has a lot of energy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slow and has been the last f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Service was slow and has been the last few times we've been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Love love love Tsunami in S Jordan. The ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Love love love Tsunami in S Jordan. The manager is awesome and always welcoming. Our waiters are always attentive and water glasses are always filled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiting staff was very professional ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The waiting staff was very professional and helpful. The sushi was fresh and delicious. Great place to dine with prices on many roles that is quite reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

we eat at tsunami at least once a month. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

we eat at tsunami at least once a month. this night we had the worst service we have ever had at any restaurant ever!! it took about 15 minutes for anyone to come to our table, so when the waitress finally came she was very apologetic. after we ordered our drinks and food she brought us edemame (on the house) while we were waiting for our meals to come, because it was taking so long. then the waitress brought my food 30 minutes before my husbands (i am not exagerating), we could not believe it, i was completely done with my plate before my husband got his food. it was miserable eating in front of him. the people sitting around us could not believe it either. our waitress was no where to be found. then after the whole meal taking 1 hour and 50 minutes, she brought us our bill with the edemame charged to us!! i lost it! needless to say, its gonna be a while before i want to go back, even though i love the food. she was absolutely terrible!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

As usual tsunami is excellent. My favor ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

As usual tsunami is excellent. My favorite sushi in Salt Lake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Overall positive experience. Unfortunate ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Overall positive experience. Unfortunately, I've found the quality of food at multiple Tsunami locations has dropped over the last two years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Tsunami is our favorite place to get sus ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Tsunami is our favorite place to get sushi. Always fresh with a wide selection of choices and good service. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love the food at Tsunami and drive fr ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We love the food at Tsunami and drive from Utah County (past the Lehi location) for the nicer atmosphere at the South Jordan location. This time the food was still amazing, but the atmosphere and service was not-so-great. We had made reservations weeks in advance and told them at the reservation time that we were celebrating our anniversary, but they seated us in a group room right next to a large and exceptionally noisy group. ..so much so that I could hardly hear my husband across the table! We asked to be seated somewhere else, but they said there were no other available tables for us. From other reviews, it seems like they have a history of doing this, so you may be taking chances eating here for a romantic date. Our service was spotty...refills came quickly for my husband's soda, but though I asked for it multiple times, the refill of my water came only once right before I left. I was left with a cup of ice for over half the meal! The server refilling it even walked right past me multiple times while I was talking to him and raising my hand. We eventually had to leave the room and find him to get it refilled! We had ordered appetizers and they didn't clear our empty appetizer plates when they brought the main course...until we asked them to. We will continue to go to Tsunami for the food, but I really hope we don't have more experiences like this one!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Great Sushi! The Salmon, mackerel and sw ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great Sushi! The Salmon, mackerel and sweet shrimp were to die for!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went Saturday night with friends whom ha ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Went Saturday night with friends whom have never tried, and they were sold. Enjoyed everything they tried. We have been going for two years and haven't found better in the great Salt Lake Area

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Spicy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always great and we love the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food is always great and we love their quick service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Fun, Casual, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Kaylee was incr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food and service. Kaylee was incredible in helping us choose cuisine that fit our taste. It was hard to carry on a conversation with some of the larger groups around us, but the quality and quantity of the food PLUS excellent service is the reason for the high rating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything was very good. Great first v ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Everything was very good. Great first visit for business. Very attentive service, food came quickly, and the food was great.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Consistently good! Excellent sashimi. G ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Consistently good! Excellent sashimi. Great sake options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Tsunami always has consistent good food ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Tsunami always has consistent good food and excellent service. The pan seared gyozas are always tasty and served hot. The specials menu always has some interesting choices so that, if you are a regular, it provides great options to your standard default choices. One roll I enjoy frequently is the Executive Suite. The lemon on top of the roll adds that citrus flavouring which enhances the fish. The habanero sauce that is provided on the side has the requisite heat without overpowering the roll. The only caveat with the habanero is that it might pack a punch for the uninitiated. This was a Sunday night and you will need reservations at the peak dinner hours.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent sushi. Tsunami is always a fav ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent sushi. Tsunami is always a favorite for sushi in the south part of the Salt Lake Valley. We frequent this restaurant often, love it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Parker our server was wonderful! We rea ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Parker our server was wonderful! We really enjoyed our dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and service as usual! Order ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Awesome food and service as usual! Ordered teriyaki chicken & teriyaki beef bowl, shrimp tempura roll & spicy tuna roll! Have been to only South Jordan location and never disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

For the price Tsunami has the best sushi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 22, 2016

For the price Tsunami has the best sushi in Utah. Always have some special rolls to try, the tempura veggies are great, and if you dont like sushi the bento box is a great option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Expensive, but worth every penny. Every ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Expensive, but worth every penny. Everything we tried on the menu was first rate; freshness, quality, and presentation. Service was outstanding -- always there when (before) anything needed, but not annoying or constantly interrupting conversation. Server was knowledgeable about the menu (drinks included). Left feeling like a king-for-a-day.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rhianna was our server, absolutely pheno ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Rhianna was our server, absolutely phenomenal white glove service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good, service was excellent. W ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was good, service was excellent. Will come back.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Don't count on a reservation to secure y ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Don't count on a reservation to secure your table.

Second weekend in a row that I've waited an additional 30 minutes past my reservation time - even though we arrived early.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Always a great dinner with friends. We h ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Always a great dinner with friends. We have never had a bad server, and their recommendations are spot on!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent price for decent sushi! Nice rest ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Decent price for decent sushi! Nice restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

One of the best sushi spots in Salt Lake ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

One of the best sushi spots in Salt Lake City. If you want great food with decent service, Tsunami is the place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We come to Tsunami often, and never need ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We come to Tsunami often, and never need disappointed in the food until this visit. Some of our usual rolls were not as fresh as they normally are, chicken skewers were rubbery and tough. Our waitress was great, however service was slow. Just not a great overall visit.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

We frequent tsunami as often as possible ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We frequent tsunami as often as possible - our favorite sushi place in the world!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a favorite! We go at least once a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always a favorite! We go at least once a month. Take advantage of their VIP program.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is fresh and fabulous. I will ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food is fresh and fabulous. I will say their lack of handicapped parking is very disappointing. It's hard finding a parking spot to begin with especially during busy hours, but trying to drop someone off that uses a walker/wheelchair is very difficult when all the parking up front by the door isn't for handicapped people. It is also hard for them to have to step up onto the sidewalk to enter the restaurant. I hope this is something can be addressed soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Get the PD, Sunshine, Executive Suite, C ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Get the

PD, Sunshine, Executive Suite, Cococabana, The Regal, Something Tropical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My absolute favorite sushi place. I'm ne ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

My absolute favorite sushi place. I'm never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Tsunami several times. Ev ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 4, 2016

I have been to Tsunami several times. Every time has been an excellent experience. I highly recommend taking the time to make reservations. They get you right in and is a much better experience. They are always crowded. I love the food and the atmosphere. One of my favorite places to dine.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.