About Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan

Tsunami - Riverpark is a "one of a kind" restaurant. We continue the Tsunami tradition, but also offer a unique atmosphere which includes a sushi lounge, private party room, patio, sake bar (full service), large party capacity (6-25), and beautiful interior design. We have a passion for great, fresh food and exceptional service. Please come visit us today.

10722 South Riverfront Parkway
South Jordan, UT 84095
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Saturday: 11:30am-3pm:

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 3:00pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10600 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 748-1178

Website:
http://tsunamiutah.com/

Private Party Facilities:
We have a beautiful private party room. We have AV hook-ups and the capacity for up to 25 people. Book your party today!

Private Party Contact:
Kimber Llewellyn: (801) 748-1178

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (24)
Casual (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Fun (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Healthy (12)
Business Meals (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Romantic (8)
Spicy (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Authentic (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Vegan (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Family Style (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great Beer (2)
Cozy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
538 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

We absolutely love the food here but unfortunately the service was awful. We didn't get our drinks until we got our dinner. Our kids food was brought out about 20 minutes before ours so by the time ours came they were done and ready to go. The sushi came at the very end of the meal when we were already full. Never got drink refills or checked on. Super disappointed because it's very expensive to not enjoy your time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

Hands down the best, and not just the sushi. It has amazing food. Period.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was amazing as it is every time we visit this location. Parker was our waiter and he went above and beyond making our night out wonderful. Thank you for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The calamari and the executive suite roll are our favorites!

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere. We ate dinner there and brought family the next day for lunch. We tried virtually all of the special menu items between us and everyone was happy. I highly recommend it and you should probably get reservations if you're going on Friday or Saturday night, as those without had to wait for tables.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

It was perfect! We got exactly what we wanted with great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Love it! It's always excellent! Try the Volcano! It's a fav of mine.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always great food.

Was very busy and always recommend reservations.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our waitress Angela was amazing. The kitchen was backed up and messed up a few times. But Angela kicked butt and did an amazing job.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our first time at the Tsunami, we love good Japanese food ( lived 6 years in japan). Based on others reviews we were hopeful this was going to be a great meal. The service was friendly and efficient. As far as the meal goes I believe we chose badly, we opted for the combination entrees instead of specialty rolls or the evening specials. The Kobi beef was excellent however the portion was very small, everything else was very average. On a ten scale I'd give the experience no more than a 5.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Absolutely delicious. We will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Fantastic service and fantastic food. One of my favorite places.

Tags: Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a great meal at Tsunami on our visit to Salt Lake City. The special role (Honey Bee) was our favorite, but they were all fantastic. Save room for their amazing homemade coconut ice cream!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Spicy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We love Tsunami! We love the rolls, but I like to add a salad and appetizer to the mix. We got the shrimp appetizer for the first time. It was yummy! Don't forget to add the apple pie with ice-cream at the end. That made it complete!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Tsunami in S. Jordan is always busy. I always make reservations via Open Table. The service was stellar. Ordered some basics: Miso, edamame, Executive Suite roll and Spicy Masa roll. Had a glass of the Sauvignon Blanc. Great lunch with my date.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food! Server forgot to bring our roll that he recommended! I actually really wanted to try it! Overall great time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

As always, Awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Fantastic place! We are here at least twice a month! The Tsunami club card is fun and awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Waiter wasn't friendly and efficient this time. About my fifth time dining but Hunter wasn't the best today. He was inattentive and uninformative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

They recently substantiated reduced the size of their rolls.

They are sliced thinner and are both skinnier and shorter than they used to be.

Albeit at the same price. ...

Food is great but going Cheap on the portions is Not going to win friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

As usual high quality and variety of food

Excellent service from the hostess to the server

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went to Tsunami for a special quiet time with our friends and were delighted by the experience. The food was very good all the way around. The only disappointment was the lobster roll but that was made up for when I gave them their first taste of Unagi, followed by their second, third and fourth tastes! Tempura calamari was tender and flavorful and the green tea had a delicate nuttiness that was a great counterpoint to the cold, gray day. Peter was a great server who always attended to our needs without being obtrusively omnipresent. On the whole, I would recommend Tsunami for good value and great food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was amazing and Christopher was so much fun!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Love this place! The sushi is fresh and so delicious! Friendly staff!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent place for a lunch. Had never been there for lunch, only dinner and we were quite suprised Wife and I went there for a lunch and it was great - The box Lunch specials are wonderful and made a hit for us. Food was outstanding and service was impressive to say the least.. I know we will be doing this again as better than so many other places.

Tags: Healthy, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The food was excellent as always and our server Hunter was very friendly and attentive. Made for an excellent birthday lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The best sushi, to my knowledge, in the south part of the valley. We drive past another sushi place on our way to Tsunami. It's a little further and a little more expensive than the other place, but it's worth it.

I'm particularly fond of their large and diverse options for vegetarian/vegan rolls.

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always a favorite! We eat here once a month at minimum.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent value for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Good meal out. Evan was a bit slow and unresponsive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Waiter was terrific and food was excellent as always!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This restaurant is great. The service and food are very consistent and we will definitely be back

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This is a great place to dine. The food is awesome and the service is always excellent! Highly recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service -- awesome evening for New Years!;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Nice meal with a lot of variety, great service. Definitely a keeper.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We reserved our table and when arrived we were seated quickly. The food was good, we had time to talk and catch up. The girls chose a combination meal. One in our party must have gluten free and this as accommodated easily without problems. I had two sashimi appetizers. The ocean trout was amazing. The salmon was good but compared to the ocean trout lacked snap. We ordered specialty rolls and there were executed well and the flavors were excellent. We love the food at Tsunami. The prices are on the higher end but it is worth if for the food and atmosphere. Don't go if you want a quiet meal, the music was a bit loud and the restaurant has a lot of energy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Service was slow and has been the last few times we've been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Love love love Tsunami in S Jordan. The manager is awesome and always welcoming. Our waiters are always attentive and water glasses are always filled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The waiting staff was very professional and helpful. The sushi was fresh and delicious. Great place to dine with prices on many roles that is quite reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

we eat at tsunami at least once a month. this night we had the worst service we have ever had at any restaurant ever!! it took about 15 minutes for anyone to come to our table, so when the waitress finally came she was very apologetic. after we ordered our drinks and food she brought us edemame (on the house) while we were waiting for our meals to come, because it was taking so long. then the waitress brought my food 30 minutes before my husbands (i am not exagerating), we could not believe it, i was completely done with my plate before my husband got his food. it was miserable eating in front of him. the people sitting around us could not believe it either. our waitress was no where to be found. then after the whole meal taking 1 hour and 50 minutes, she brought us our bill with the edemame charged to us!! i lost it! needless to say, its gonna be a while before i want to go back, even though i love the food. she was absolutely terrible!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

As usual tsunami is excellent. My favorite sushi in Salt Lake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Overall positive experience. Unfortunately, I've found the quality of food at multiple Tsunami locations has dropped over the last two years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Tsunami is our favorite place to get sushi. Always fresh with a wide selection of choices and good service. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We love the food at Tsunami and drive from Utah County (past the Lehi location) for the nicer atmosphere at the South Jordan location. This time the food was still amazing, but the atmosphere and service was not-so-great. We had made reservations weeks in advance and told them at the reservation time that we were celebrating our anniversary, but they seated us in a group room right next to a large and exceptionally noisy group. ..so much so that I could hardly hear my husband across the table! We asked to be seated somewhere else, but they said there were no other available tables for us. From other reviews, it seems like they have a history of doing this, so you may be taking chances eating here for a romantic date. Our service was spotty...refills came quickly for my husband's soda, but though I asked for it multiple times, the refill of my water came only once right before I left. I was left with a cup of ice for over half the meal! The server refilling it even walked right past me multiple times while I was talking to him and raising my hand. We eventually had to leave the room and find him to get it refilled! We had ordered appetizers and they didn't clear our empty appetizer plates when they brought the main course...until we asked them to. We will continue to go to Tsunami for the food, but I really hope we don't have more experiences like this one!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great Sushi! The Salmon, mackerel and sweet shrimp were to die for!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Went Saturday night with friends whom have never tried, and they were sold. Enjoyed everything they tried. We have been going for two years and haven't found better in the great Salt Lake Area

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Spicy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food is always great and we love their quick service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Fun, Casual, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food and service. Kaylee was incredible in helping us choose cuisine that fit our taste. It was hard to carry on a conversation with some of the larger groups around us, but the quality and quantity of the food PLUS excellent service is the reason for the high rating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.