About Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan

10722 South Riverfront Parkway
South Jordan, UT 84095
View Larger Map

Tsunami - Riverpark is a "one of a kind" restaurant. We continue the Tsunami tradition, but also offer a unique atmosphere which includes a sushi lounge, private party room, patio, sake bar (full service), large party capacity (6-25), and beautiful interior design. We have a passion for great, fresh food and exceptional service. Please come visit us today.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Saturday: 11:30am-3pm:

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 3:00pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10600 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 748-1178

Website:
http://tsunamiutah.com/

Private Party Facilities:
We have a beautiful private party room. We have AV hook-ups and the capacity for up to 25 people. Book your party today!

Private Party Contact:
Kimber Llewellyn: 8017481178x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sushi Executive
  • Salmon Rangoon
  • Nagima
Sushi Executive
Salmon Rangoon
Nagima

Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Utah
Most Booked
Utah
Best Food
Salt Lake City
1 More
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in South Jordan ›

Fit for Foodies (31)
Special Occasion (29)
Good for Groups (25)
See All
Great for Lunch (24)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Romantic (15)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
430 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Once again, Tsunami did not disappoint. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Once again, Tsunami did not disappoint. The sushi was excellent and the entres were delicious. Good drinks as well. Our server was quite good and prompt. The manager visited our table twice. Will be back for sure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went for an early birthday ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I went for an early birthday celebration at one of my favorite restaurants in the valley. We decided to sit at the sushi bar to change it up and watch the magic happen.

Fantastic food and service.

At the bar, we had a great server and sushi chefs, who treated us like long time friends.

Tsunami is my go to recommendation for anyone looking for great sushi and yet again has exceeded expectations in both food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a regular at the South Jordan Tsuna ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I am a regular at the South Jordan Tsunami restaurant. It is at the top of my list for Sushi. The food quality and service are consistently great. The place is so popular that I have resorted to getting reservations any time that I go there to avoid long waits for seating. The Union Heights location is also great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love this location! As usual Awesome Foo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Love this location! As usual Awesome Food! Awesome Service from Cassie! Just one thing, the female host needs to acknowledge customers, especially if she can't help them at the moment. After she finished helping a customer at the host desk, the customer stepped aside. I stepped up, but she gave no eye contact, no greeting, nothing. She walked away. A young male was taking a phone order at the desk, after he was done, he asked if we were helped. He was nice enough to go into the computer to look for our reservations, he may have been new, but we appreciated him greeting us and helpung us until the female host returned to the desk. He sat us at our table, then Cassie immediately greeted us along with another young male who refilled our waters. Very friendly! Definitely, will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, the service was lacking. There ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Overall, the service was lacking. There had been a mix up with our reservation, but the hosts got it sorted out after a few minutes. Our server greeted us by saying that several tables had just been seated in her section, so food would be coming on a first ordered, first served basis--not a great first impression. It took quite a while to receive our food, appetizers were received at different times (one came with the paper ticket on top of the food), and one order was incorrect. It took until well after we were finished eating to receive the correct sushi roll, all while half of our party was sitting without all the food they had ordered.

The food was okay, but certainly nothing special. We have enjoyed Tsunami in the past, but we likely will not return to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Everything is Fresh and Awesome! The ser ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Everything is Fresh and Awesome! The service was great and our server was very knowledgeable of the specials and had great recommendations. It's my favorite place to get higher end sushi.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

What about 'food' for a box above? I en ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

What about 'food' for a box above?

I enjoyed the food although the tempura was not light and a bit greasy. Not an authentic Japanese tempura which should be lighter both in color and texture. Except for this the food was great and the service awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Being a frequent costumer I usually stic ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Being a frequent costumer I usually stick to my favorite rolls. Tonight I decided to try something new and I'm happy I did! The Hot Mamba roll with spicy tuna instead of tofu is delicious! I will definitely be trying this one again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was especially good. Service was O ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was especially good. Service was OK, but they were slammed. Want to go back already.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great quality food and service. DBD rol ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great quality food and service. DBD roll was the favorite tonight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my favorite Japanese restaurant ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

This is my favorite Japanese restaurant in Salt Lake County. The appetizers are fantastic (I love the gyoza and chicke karage) and the sushi is amazing. The Executive Suite roll is my favorite along with the Aloha roll (and they always make me a Mars roll even though it's not on the menu!). Great service and atmosphere. Definitely make reservations as it is very busy on nights and weekends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I really loved going to this restaurant. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I really loved going to this restaurant. Food was very good. Our server Meg was amazing!!! She was so personable. I would certainly ask for her again. We will without a doubt be going back. I wanted try everything on the menu because what we ordered was so good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I celebrated my birthday on Friday and i ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I celebrated my birthday on Friday and it was a great dining experience. Our sushi was fresh and delicious. Peter served us and we all thought the service was professional, speedy, and overall fantastic. He knew the menu, was super friendly, and was highly attentive without making himself seem to be hovering over us. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent! Best sushi in the val ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Always excellent! Best sushi in the valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food as always!! I highly recomm ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Amazing food as always!! I highly recommend a reservation as it can be very busy.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Requested a booth and were set in table ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Requested a booth and were set in table next to kids. We can stay home if we want this experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

The service is usually outstanding, but ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The service is usually outstanding, but for some reason this night lacked. I think our server received a large group and two new tables at the same time so we were a little neglected. Our appetizer came out after our meal and it was impossible to get a refill on water. Usually, there is someone dedicated to just refilling water but they weren't there that night. Other than that everything was great! Reservations really make a difference too. We got right in while others were waiting. Love the food as always!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Great place!

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I read dozens of reviews before deciding ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I read dozens of reviews before deciding to try this restaurant with an out-of town aunt, but our party left disappointed. I'd like to give Tsunami the benefit of the doubt; maybe our bad experience was because we chose regular dinner entrees, not sushi. Though the restaurant on a Sunday was not terribly busy, our wait time was long and our food was served warm, not hot. Six of us got our dinners, but the seventh meal was wrong and had to be remade. As it happened, it was our guest's meal. She waited over 15 additional minutes. She insisted that the rest of us get started, but by the time her dinner arrived we were mostly finished with our food and ready to go home, since we had been waiting at the restaurant for so long.

We're a Japanese family and eat a lot of Japanese food. All seven of us ordered combination meals. The tempura was very average, the steak and salmon were decent, but served, as I said, warm. The kids wanted some extra teriyaki on the side and we asked for some, but the request was forgotten. The white rice was certainly edible, though not very soft. That said, the restaurant itself was nice and our server was pleasant. Most of us agreed that the miso soup was the best part of our meal. Disappointing. We had come with such high hopes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Always enjoy a meal at Tsunami! Great fo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Always enjoy a meal at Tsunami! Great food great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent sushi. Dessert was good too (i ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent sushi. Dessert was good too (ice cream made in-house!). We went as a big group so we tried and shared lots of things, and everything was good. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always we enjoyed the food, restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

As always we enjoyed the food, restaurant atmosphere, and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys not just sushi but any teriyaki cuisine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Love Tsunami, need to go more often, alw ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Love Tsunami, need to go more often, always have good food and this time in particular the service was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Service is always fantastic. Have tried ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service is always fantastic. Have tried sushi at several different places in the salt lake valley and always come back to Tsunami in South jordan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kaela - our server - made the experience ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Kaela - our server - made the experience very special. She was attentive, full of personality and very kind.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love the food. Service is top ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We always love the food. Service is top notch. Especially if we are lucky enough to be with Angela!

The new room(enclosed porch) is too loud to enjoy much conversation. I really don't love sitting there. But, Angela takes such good care of us, we ALMOST didn't notice, almost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Best sushi that I have had in Utah. Real ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best sushi that I have had in Utah. Really awesome menu and the service is exceptional as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really like sushi. We've been searchi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We really like sushi. We've been searching for an excellent sushi bar since we've moved to Utah, price isn't really a concern. We are more than willing to pay whatever to get some exceptional sushi. Tsunami didn't have a single example of excellence as far as sushi goes. The appetizers were really good, but I would say all of them would be considered Asian inspired, not Japanese. Their most expensive specialty roll was $16, and it was lackluster. There was zero craft involved. It looked like a roll I can pick up at any grocery store. There were some yummy rolls, but I wouldn't pay over $100 for a nice meal for 2 for "yummy". I pay $100 for 2 for "That was AMAZING!" Maybe their entree's are their claim to fame. Also, I would expect a floor manager to come and touch almost every table at that type of restaurant. I didn't see a manager once.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great as always!

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our meal was very good, but the server w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our meal was very good, but the server was rude and inept. He offended everyone at the table. Even made my daughter cry. He verbally abused another server in front of several tables as well. We will never go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Lovely Date Night

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Again a wonderful evening. The food was exceptional as was the service. This restaurant never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good the server was a little in ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was good the server was a little inappropriate. A little bit too much. Being discrete at a meal goes a long way. He made the dinner all about him. Way too much presence

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Love when they have the time to make all ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Love when they have the time to make all of our rolls with Cucumber instead of Rice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love Tsunami! I've never been disappoi ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I love Tsunami! I've never been disappointed by the service or quality here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food As Always

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I've had a great experience with the food here every time. I feel that the sushi is a little over-priced but it is always quality, so i am willing to pay for that. I have yet to eat a sushi roll that I have not liked here. I was never asked for my rewards card and didn't realize I forgot to add it to my account, which is nice to have a gift card to subsidize the sushi every once in a while. Great job on the service!

(This lights did go out for a few minutes, but I think that wasn't necessarily the restaurant's fault, bad weather.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was good and the food was as wel ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Service was good and the food was as well. Rolls weren't as big as I have had at other locations but the price wasn't too high so you could probably just get more. Overall fairly average sushi location but I would go again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Such a great place for lunch or dinner!

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Such a great place for lunch or dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always- great service and great food ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

As always- great service and great food. This has been one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been craving it since I left!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The combo plate of teriyaki salmon and sushi was amazing. I have been craving it ever since I left. I will be returning very soon to satisfy this craving!

Our waitress was very knowledgeable, friendly and attentive.

I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as usual

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Tsunami is my favorite sushi restaurant. I have never been let down with their food or service. If you are going for lunch, get a reservation. The place is so popular that it is difficult to get a seat without one. Had sushi on the east coast, west coast and Hawaii. Never had anything better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.