About Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan

Tsunami - Riverpark is a "one of a kind" restaurant. We continue the Tsunami tradition, but also offer a unique atmosphere which includes a sushi lounge, private party room, patio, sake bar (full service), large party capacity (6-25), and beautiful interior design. We have a passion for great, fresh food and exceptional service. Please come visit us today.

10722 South Riverfront Parkway
South Jordan, UT 84095
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Saturday: 11:30am-3pm:

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 3:00pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10600 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 748-1178

Website:
http://tsunamiutah.com/

Private Party Facilities:
We have a beautiful private party room. We have AV hook-ups and the capacity for up to 25 people. Book your party today!

Private Party Contact:
Kimber Llewellyn: (801) 748-1178

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Business Meals (28)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Casual (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Healthy (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Romantic (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Authentic (10)
Fun (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Family Style (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Spicy (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Private Room (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Vegan (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Cozy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
597 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

I had to ask the server to give us some water multiple times. He only filled my husband's glass but not my mine or my kids. Then I asked for desert menu and she came with after 10 minutes. Service was very lousy. There was so smile on servers face.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

As always an amazing experience! Krista was such a good server and really knew the menu.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Our waitress Rhiannon was awesome! We have eaten at this restaurant quite a few times, but she made this time the best.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We live in Ogden, but had to pick up our boat nearby this restaurant and thought we would give it a try. We all decided that it is a new favorite spot and we will now go out of our way go back often. We loved all of the sushi and appetizers. We will get the cinnamon roll cheesecake every time that we go back. That was the most unique and best tasting cheesecake we have ever tried. Great restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great place. Great sushi and appetizers. An awesome place to bring a date, or family.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Spicy, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Every time I go here, I forget how incredible it is. I don't eat fish, but I order edamame, a Hot Mamba roll, and a Buddha roll. I can't describe how delicious every bite is. I would recommend Tsunami to anyone, even people who normally don't like sushi. The service is always great, and the food is also amazing.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I was refused a glass of wine. I was carded. And my ID is Canadian I am 50 years old. The manager treated us poorly and advised us that a passport would be the only acceptable ID. I have since looked into this and it is incorrect. My daughter is a permanent resident and her green card was not accepted. We will not return to this restaurant. I should clarify, the wait staff were great

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Always fresh.
Always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Graduation

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Service was a little slow - but that's just cause they were slightly busy that night. Totally understandable ... if nothing else it helped not feeling rushed! I absolutely love this place and would go back again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Food was amazing as always. I would suggest to wait staff to clean up after we eat our meal instead of disrupting our conversation the entire time to wipe things down.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Always good food and service. Sushi and other food all good

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was outstanding as usual and I must say that our server, Christopher, was absolutely amazing to work with.

He made the meal and dining experience even better than it was already.

Kudos to the restaurant and the excellent staff!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The sushi was really good. I went with my boyfriend for my senior ball and was not disappointed. My aunt visits your establishment and has high praise. I will also be coming back because not only was the food good, but I love the laid back environment.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Tsunami is a great place!!! They have exceptional sushi as well as a great entree' selection. The staff is super friendly! Christopher, our server was awesome!! I would always suggest reservations! The lunch and dinner wait are crazy without them. If you are a sushi lover this is the place to go!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Ok here you have it... start with Chicken Tacos. Then ho with the PD Roll (ask em what PD means), the Sneaky Spouse, and something Tropical. Finish with cheesecake du jour...

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The server was really great until she started distributing our meal. She was extending in front of me when giving the food to the person next to me. That was annoying especially when she did that quite a few times. It's understandable if we were seating in a booth but it was a table with 4 chairs!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service is always great!
Food is always good!
Our waitress the other night was excellent

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Was visiting my son in Salt Lake and we are both sushi lovers. We saw the great reviews on Open Table and decided to make the drive. It was well worth it. All of the fish was fresh and well made. Our server was happy to recommend things based on our tastes, including the sake - and they have lots to choose from. Highly recommended!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Good food and service was awesome! Table was ready at our reservation time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Try the volcano or sneaky spouse rolls or something tropical (off menu rolls)

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Best sushi in the Salt Lake valley. Sushis is pricey but this is worth it.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite, Romantic, Great Beer, Fun, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Spicy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We love tsunami! It's always fresh and delicious. The waiting staff recommend great rolls that we love. This time it was the Coco Cabana roll and it's our new favorite!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Tsunami never disappoints. Iff you're feeling adventurous, order an off-menu sushi roll - just ask the chef to surprise you. I have discovered some of my favorite sushi that way. Also, they import several sakes you won't find anywhere else in Utah. You can spend $15 or $50 here, depending on your appetite.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Spicy, Bar Seating, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Tsunami, regardless of which one you go to, is always a great bet. The service is great, and the sushi is always good. Even better, you can make reservations. In two places where the food is equally good, I'll always go with a place that takes reservations.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Tsunami is consistent in their service and food quality. My favourite roll is the Executive Suite with the habanero sauce. The sauce has a nice kick in heat and complements the roll very well. The miso was hot and not overly salty. Our bento box with tempura was delicious. The tempura was golden and crispy on the outside and perfect on the inside. We will be back for lunch.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My favorite place ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our server is not attentive, only visiting our table to drop off rolls and a check. We were not asked about another glass of wine, even though we had wanted to purchase more. The rolls took longer to arrive without any communication from our server. The rolls were also lackluster and not as good as they have been in the past. If this were our first visit we would be hesitant to recommend to others.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We came with a reservation at 1:15pm. It wasn't busy at all and there were many employees around. Despite being the only "table" in the back by the sushi bar our service was awful. I'm not sure what was going on. Could it be our sever's first day? Trouble in the kitchen? All I know is that it was exceptionally slower than normal and not at all what we expect from tsunami. Hopefully this was just a blip on the radar and things go back to normal but today was a wasted lunch. Kids were served last - an hour after ordering. Check was not split (despite one person being asked to get her tab separate). Order was wrong. Had to ask multiple times for sauce and other items. Hopefully this bad day was just a one time thing. I brought someone new (as their special occasion) and they said they will not be back. I'm a regular so I'll give them another shot.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Tsunami is always a winner. Our waitress was amazing as always. I haven't found a better roll in the Valley yet.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food was really great we will be back for sure! Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Sushi is always great here. Always check out their daily specials.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Overall, I would only go eat there if I lose a bet. Sushi is bland and tastless

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Tsunami continues to be a favorite for my wife and I. We visit regularly and have yet to have a poor experience. The food is fantastic, the setting is fun, and the service is spectacular. Tsunami has been and will continue to be my favorite restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great sushi!! We love this place! Had new client in town and he was deliciously surprised at how excellent the rolls were!! His favorite was the Mainlander and the executive!!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We love Tsunami. We eat there once a month!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My husband and I love Tsunami and it never disappoints. Our server Karalee was amazing and we were recommended a roll from the hostess that was absolutely incredible. One of the best meals we have had in a long time!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The Tsunami is the best sushi restaurant.. we went several places and this is the best one ever.. better sushi and such.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Don't walk run. You need to try this place!
It's always a good night out.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Tsunami has excellent sushi and I was very impressed. I personally found their "cooked" entrees to be good but unremarkable. We will go again and again for their rolls and sashimi! Their cheesecake is amazin.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.