About Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan

Tsunami - Riverpark is a "one of a kind" restaurant. We continue the Tsunami tradition, but also offer a unique atmosphere which includes a sushi lounge, private party room, patio, sake bar (full service), large party capacity (6-25), and beautiful interior design. We have a passion for great, fresh food and exceptional service. Please come visit us today.

10722 South Riverfront Parkway
South Jordan, UT 84095
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Saturday: 11:30am-3pm:

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 3:00pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10600 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 748-1178 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.tsunamiutah.com/

Private Party Facilities:
We have a beautiful private party room. We have AV hook-ups and the capacity for up to 40 people. Book your party today!

Private Party Contact:
Kimber Llewellyn: (801) 748-1178

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Over the course of the past 15 years Tsunami has become a Christmas Eve tradition for families all over the Salt Lake Valley. With our new location in Traverse Mountain we have extended our reach to include Utah Valley as well!

Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (26)
Business Meals (20)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Good for Birthdays (17)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Healthy (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Casual (9)
Fun (9)
Romantic (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Bar Seating (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Authentic (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Cozy (3)
People Watching (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
672 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing sushi varieties ... Spicy, non-spicy, veggie ... Something for everyone.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

I love the food here. We were around two big groups so the noise this time was unbelievable. If you want a quiet setting this restaurant is hit or miss. The service was a little slower than usual but the food was fantastic as always. I highly recommend reservations. There is very little to no wait when you have one.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

I don't like sushi, but Tsunami has some delicious option for those of us who don't want to order rolls or sashimi. I was impressed!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 4, 2017

The food is sensational! No better in the state of Utah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

Had a reservation at 7:30. Checked in at 7:25- got seated at 7:45. Sat and got our water then waited for our actual waiter for almost 30 minutes just to order. Our waiter kept forgetting about us. Got done with dinner a few minutes before 9. I usually go to the tsunami in fort union or Lehi and I have never have been treated so poorly. I just would think spending $80+ for two people would get you treated better.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

The best sushi I've ever had. Excellent customer service. Will go back again and again!

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 22, 2017

We love Tsunami. It’s our go-to for sushi. A great variety of roll selections and the fish is always amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2017

Tsunami consistently serves good food with awesome service!! There’s something for the whole family, and we always look forward to dining at Tsunami.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Loved the food, we told the waitress about celebrating my moms birthday and nothing was done but we had fun and loved the food.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Brisbane / QLD)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Dependably good. Attentive service. Creative seasonal specials. Comfortable atmosphere for either date night or after work with colleagues. Plenty of menu options for those that chose sushi, sashimi, or would rather have something deep fried, saucy or vegetation (or maybe they have vegan, didn't pay that much attention). Have enjoyed just about everything I've tried so far! Will keep coming back.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 14, 2017

Lincoln our waiter was fantastic! Thank you. Food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 14, 2017

Food is always amazing but it's loud and extremely cold in the restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Everything was great as usual!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Once again, we had a lovely meal at Tsunami. Everything is consistently great. Our favorite sushi is made here. Kudos, Tsunami! You do it well!

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Tsunami used to be my go-to spot for a great dinner with my family and I have eaten there for years. It was consistently the place for birthday celebrations and everyone in my family has always agreed on their favorite spot being this restaurant. It was consistent with great food. However, the last couple of times I have been there, the service has been terrible. I met my manager there for a business meal last Monday and the service went from terrible to abhorrent. We actually had to find our server during the meal to order more sushi and drinks. He rarely returned to the table, didn't actually deliver our food, and disappeared half-way through the meal for more than a half hour. If I am going to pay for high-quality sushi that I recommend to others, I expect much better, attentive service and shouldn't have to expect to track down a hostess to request a refill on my water and additional sashimi. I won't be returning any time soon. It's not worth the price due to the miserable service during this last experience. Overall my experiences have been increasingly disappointing.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Always enjoy the food and environment at Tsunami. I get here every time I visit my company HQ across the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Even though we made a reservation, we still had to wait an extra 25 minutes for our table. It seemed a little long and I couldn’t figure out how they were giving tables and if they were staying true to the reservation order. Despite the wait, we surprisingly had really quick service with drinks and appetizers which were delicious and our main entrees also came very quickly and were awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Always fresh sushi, great service, great place close to home.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 3, 2017

We experienced a attentive and friendly server. She did a great job. The sushi rolls were all very tasty. The only reason I gave a 4-Star rating was I felt th Miso soup was not quite up to normal and wasn’t very hot when served. The small octopus salad seemed a bit chewy but was overall ok. Overall, it was a nice ding experience and we will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Spicy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Fun, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Love Tsunami!! Lunch was awesome, the server had very appropriate suggestions and was very attentive!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 23, 2017

Was disappointed that I had advised on line it was a birthday - Yet, nothing was even said.
Food great as always, however service was sporatic and off - example I ordered a 2nd Sake when dinner was delivered, it did not arrive till over half done.
Will still be comming back as love the food and so on.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 21, 2017

They were busy and were late in getting us seated. Then when we ordered the food took longer than normal to be served, what should've been in and out in an hour took us almost 2.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Best Sushi in town, excellent wine list, great service,

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Amazing food! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

The food was great, but what impressed me was the service. The staff were very attentive, and on top of it. I loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We love Tsunami. We are always happy with the sushi!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 7, 2017

As always, the food was delicious! The food did seem to take a while to come out after we ordered (over 30 mins) and the waitress was super nice but must have had too many tables to wait on as our drinks seemed to be constantly empty. Again, she was great, maybe just overwhelmed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Tsunami is a busy place. We were glad we had a reservation, as there were lots of people waiting for tables. Service was friendly and efficient. The food was excellent - mostly non-traditional sushi. Some combinations worked better than others, but we were very pleased overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Always a great experience. We’ve been going to this location long enough to request certain servers for maximum entertainment and enjoyment. The menu is vast - something for everyone, even the non-sushi eaters. Great, easy to find location with plenty of parking. Go here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Healthy, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Authentic, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 29, 2017

I took my wife for her birthday dinner without the kids. We love Tsunami for their great food and the service is always friendly .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Service was horrible. If you don't want to be a server, which was obvious, find another line of work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We love tsunami! We come often, the GM Rob is great!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Sushi and service were good. I like the sandy location better, butnit was nice

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

My boyfriend and myself came here for our date night that we have once a month and it was an amazing start to our night! Our server was so friendly and very informative. We ordered soup as an appetizer and then ordered 3-4 sushi rolls and we have nothing bad to say about any of them! They were all very delicious. Very happy with our experience at this location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We went for a catch up on friends dinner. I kind of felt like we were a little rushed to get out of there. We would have liked to get another drink and sit and talk but the waiter brought our checks out without even asking if we would like anything else. Then he came by three times wanting to close out our ticket. The food was excellent, his service was excellent we just felt a little rushed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 11, 2017

I went for my birthday lunch with some work colleagues. Yuliyan, our server was delightful. The food was very good. We had the lunch boxes and sushi. I have never been disappointed with anything I have ordered here for lunch or dinner. This is my go to lunch destination. An absolute favorite!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

I had heard from a few friends that this place was really good so I finally tried it out. It was even better than they said! The appetizers shocked us they were so good.
The manager, Rob, and our server were wonderful and very helpful. We have 3 kids with celiac. We have to be very careful with their meals being gluten free. The restaurant did a great job showing us their GF menu and answering my kids' questions.
I will definitely be going back and will recommend this to everyone. My only even slightly negative thing to say was that they sat us, reserved table for 5 people, next to the bar and it was quite noisy and crowded. But again, that's minor and I'd do it all over again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Romantic, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food was Awesome as Usual! Jason, Our Server, was Great and Friendly. Will Definitely Return to this Location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We had a reservation for 6 pm on Tuesday 8/22/17. We were there to celebrate my Mom and late Fathers anniversary. We take her there every year on their anniversary because it's what they used to do together. Austin was our server he was nice , but after taking our order which included appetizers our waiter disappeared for over 25 minutes. Our drinks were long past empty and still no appetizers .. When he finally reappeared we had to ask him if our appetizer was coming and you could tell he had completely forgot about them and us.. at this point it was almost 7 pm, then he brought our Gyoza out and you could tell it had been sitting there a while. Eventually our food came and that as well seemed like it was sitting there awhile. Most of us got hot dishes so it was very disappointing to have waited so long for any type of food, just to get warm food at best . Mind you this is on a Tuesday night the restaurant was not busy. Then near the end a gentleman which I assume was the manager came by to I guess see how our meal was , but he didn't even stop and make eye contact with us, just faintly asked as he was looking off in the other direction, then quickly left. I frequent Tsunami so the whole experience was really disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.