About Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan

10722 South Riverfront Parkway
South Jordan, UT 84095
View Larger Map

Tsunami - Riverpark is a "one of a kind" restaurant. We continue the Tsunami tradition, but also offer a unique atmosphere which includes a sushi lounge, private party room, patio, sake bar (full service), large party capacity (6-25), and beautiful interior design. We have a passion for great, fresh food and exceptional service. Please come visit us today.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Saturday: 11:30am-3pm:

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 3:00pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10600 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 748-1178

Website:
http://tsunamiutah.com/

Private Party Facilities:
We have a beautiful private party room. We have AV hook-ups and the capacity for up to 25 people. Book your party today!

Private Party Contact:
Kimber Llewellyn: 8017481178x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sushi Executive
  • Salmon Rangoon
  • Nagima
Sushi Executive
Salmon Rangoon
Nagima

Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Utah
Most Booked
Utah
Best Overall
Salt Lake City
2 More
Best Food
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in South Jordan ›

fit for foodies (31)
special occasion (29)
good for groups (27)
See All
great for lunch (24)
neighborhood gem (21)
hot spot (18)
romantic (13)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (2)
notable wine list (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
417 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I celebrated my birthday on Friday and i ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 4 days ago

I celebrated my birthday on Friday and it was a great dining experience. Our sushi was fresh and delicious. Peter served us and we all thought the service was professional, speedy, and overall fantastic. He knew the menu, was super friendly, and was highly attentive without making himself seem to be hovering over us. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent! Best sushi in the val ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Always excellent! Best sushi in the valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food as always!! I highly recomm ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Amazing food as always!! I highly recommend a reservation as it can be very busy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Requested a booth and were set in table ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Requested a booth and were set in table next to kids. We can stay home if we want this experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

The service is usually outstanding, but ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The service is usually outstanding, but for some reason this night lacked. I think our server received a large group and two new tables at the same time so we were a little neglected. Our appetizer came out after our meal and it was impossible to get a refill on water. Usually, there is someone dedicated to just refilling water but they weren't there that night. Other than that everything was great! Reservations really make a difference too. We got right in while others were waiting. Love the food as always!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

I read dozens of reviews before deciding ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I read dozens of reviews before deciding to try this restaurant with an out-of town aunt, but our party left disappointed. I'd like to give Tsunami the benefit of the doubt; maybe our bad experience was because we chose regular dinner entrees, not sushi. Though the restaurant on a Sunday was not terribly busy, our wait time was long and our food was served warm, not hot. Six of us got our dinners, but the seventh meal was wrong and had to be remade. As it happened, it was our guest's meal. She waited over 15 additional minutes. She insisted that the rest of us get started, but by the time her dinner arrived we were mostly finished with our food and ready to go home, since we had been waiting at the restaurant for so long.

We're a Japanese family and eat a lot of Japanese food. All seven of us ordered combination meals. The tempura was very average, the steak and salmon were decent, but served, as I said, warm. The kids wanted some extra teriyaki on the side and we asked for some, but the request was forgotten. The white rice was certainly edible, though not very soft. That said, the restaurant itself was nice and our server was pleasant. Most of us agreed that the miso soup was the best part of our meal. Disappointing. We had come with such high hopes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Always enjoy a meal at Tsunami! Great fo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Always enjoy a meal at Tsunami! Great food great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent sushi. Dessert was good too (i ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent sushi. Dessert was good too (ice cream made in-house!). We went as a big group so we tried and shared lots of things, and everything was good. I would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always we enjoyed the food, restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

As always we enjoyed the food, restaurant atmosphere, and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys not just sushi but any teriyaki cuisine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Love Tsunami, need to go more often, alw ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Love Tsunami, need to go more often, always have good food and this time in particular the service was exceptional.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Service is always fantastic. Have tried ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service is always fantastic. Have tried sushi at several different places in the salt lake valley and always come back to Tsunami in South jordan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kaela - our server - made the experience ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Kaela - our server - made the experience very special. She was attentive, full of personality and very kind.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love the food. Service is top ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We always love the food. Service is top notch. Especially if we are lucky enough to be with Angela!

The new room(enclosed porch) is too loud to enjoy much conversation. I really don't love sitting there. But, Angela takes such good care of us, we ALMOST didn't notice, almost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Best sushi that I have had in Utah. Real ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best sushi that I have had in Utah. Really awesome menu and the service is exceptional as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really like sushi. We've been searchi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We really like sushi. We've been searching for an excellent sushi bar since we've moved to Utah, price isn't really a concern. We are more than willing to pay whatever to get some exceptional sushi. Tsunami didn't have a single example of excellence as far as sushi goes. The appetizers were really good, but I would say all of them would be considered Asian inspired, not Japanese. Their most expensive specialty roll was $16, and it was lackluster. There was zero craft involved. It looked like a roll I can pick up at any grocery store. There were some yummy rolls, but I wouldn't pay over $100 for a nice meal for 2 for "yummy". I pay $100 for 2 for "That was AMAZING!" Maybe their entree's are their claim to fame. Also, I would expect a floor manager to come and touch almost every table at that type of restaurant. I didn't see a manager once.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great as always!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our meal was very good, but the server w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our meal was very good, but the server was rude and inept. He offended everyone at the table. Even made my daughter cry. He verbally abused another server in front of several tables as well. We will never go back.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Lovely Date Night

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Again a wonderful evening. The food was exceptional as was the service. This restaurant never disappoints.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good the server was a little in ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was good the server was a little inappropriate. A little bit too much. Being discrete at a meal goes a long way. He made the dinner all about him. Way too much presence

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Love when they have the time to make all ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Love when they have the time to make all of our rolls with Cucumber instead of Rice.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love Tsunami! I've never been disappoi ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I love Tsunami! I've never been disappointed by the service or quality here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food As Always

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I've had a great experience with the food here every time. I feel that the sushi is a little over-priced but it is always quality, so i am willing to pay for that. I have yet to eat a sushi roll that I have not liked here. I was never asked for my rewards card and didn't realize I forgot to add it to my account, which is nice to have a gift card to subsidize the sushi every once in a while. Great job on the service!

(This lights did go out for a few minutes, but I think that wasn't necessarily the restaurant's fault, bad weather.)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was good and the food was as wel ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Service was good and the food was as well. Rolls weren't as big as I have had at other locations but the price wasn't too high so you could probably just get more. Overall fairly average sushi location but I would go again.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Such a great place for lunch or dinner!

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Such a great place for lunch or dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always- great service and great food ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

As always- great service and great food. This has been one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been craving it since I left!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The combo plate of teriyaki salmon and sushi was amazing. I have been craving it ever since I left. I will be returning very soon to satisfy this craving!

Our waitress was very knowledgeable, friendly and attentive.

I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as usual

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Tsunami is my favorite sushi restaurant. I have never been let down with their food or service. If you are going for lunch, get a reservation. The place is so popular that it is difficult to get a seat without one. Had sushi on the east coast, west coast and Hawaii. Never had anything better.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Tsunami is consistenly amazing.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

The fresh fish choices are vast and delicious. I am a big fan of their Dynamite Scallops although I am not sure they are still on the menu. Their bento boxes are an incredible value and loaded with food. I especially like their fried vanilla ice cream with mango and chocolate sauce.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Favorite Sushi place in Utah. Great glut ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Favorite Sushi place in Utah. Great gluten free options for Celiac community and knowledgeable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good service, noisy night.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Service and food were very good. It was noisier than usual which is fine. It is to be expected that a restaurant may have revelers and be a bit loud. All in all a good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We love dining at Tsunami. The sushi thi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We love dining at Tsunami. The sushi this evening was delicious, and we have one child who gets the teriyaki chicken each visit. The vegetable tempura is top notch. They always under promise and over deliver when it comes to sushi prep times. Wish the cucumber salad was more authentic. Earned a $25 gift cert this evening from our frequent diner card. Thanks tsunami team!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great sushi!!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

This place is my husband and I go to place for sushi!! The rolls are excellent!! My favorite is the executive roll and my husband loves the Vegas roll. We also love the tempura veggies! Service at times can be hit or miss either being excellent or very slow..but that's any where you go.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Best Sushi Ever

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The sushi is outstanding. Will customize rolls and there is just no better sushi in Utah.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Sushi in Utah

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

This is our go to place for sushi. We are so spoiled with the freshness and taste that places out of state just don't live up to it. Our service is always excellent. Haven't had a bad server yet in the many times we have eaten there. If you make a reservation you can get in right away otherwise it is always busy and you may have to wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love tsunami. Great sushi for decen ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We love tsunami. Great sushi for decent prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seriously best sushi I've had. Great combinations!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

My wife and I were looking for a place to go for our anniversary dinner. We love sushi, but our experience with sushi places in Utah has not been the best. We liked Happy Sumo, but wanted something different. Tsunami takes the prize with us. Awesome sushi with great combinations of flavors!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Fresh Sushi

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Service was great. Sushi is always fresh with great presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We always love Tsunami! Our server was fantastic and the sushi was delicious! The only slight disappointment this time was our reservation was for 6:30 and we weren't seated until 7:10. But, this is the first time that has happened. They are usually running right on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Best sushi-very fresh! Service is outsta ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Best sushi-very fresh! Service is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Sushi in Town

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

I've been to every sushi joint in town, from the high-end to the low. Tsunami is, hands-down, the tastiest sushi I've had in Utah. I take large groups there quite often, as I am in sales. They accommodate large groups (10+) quite easily and the food is just as fast as having 2 people. The place is super busy for lunch, so make a reservation and get there a little early.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.