About Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan

Tsunami - Riverpark is a "one of a kind" restaurant. We continue the Tsunami tradition, but also offer a unique atmosphere which includes a sushi lounge, private party room, patio, sake bar (full service), large party capacity (6-25), and beautiful interior design. We have a passion for great, fresh food and exceptional service. Please come visit us today.

10722 South Riverfront Parkway
South Jordan, UT 84095
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Saturday: 11:30am-3pm:

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 3:00pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10600 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 748-1178

Website:
http://tsunamiutah.com/

Private Party Facilities:
We have a beautiful private party room. We have AV hook-ups and the capacity for up to 25 people. Book your party today!

Private Party Contact:
Kimber Llewellyn: (801) 748-1178

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (25)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Good for Birthdays (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Casual (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Fun (13)
Romantic (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Authentic (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Spicy (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Cozy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Vegan (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
628 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

Best sushi in Salt Lake. Period. Never a bad experience there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Love it but it was super loud and we could barely hear each other out

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I've been to this restaurant many times so I would still recommend it, but this visit was very disappointing. It took the waitress over 10 min to even greet our table. I had to ask for water 3 times after I ordered. My wine glass remained empty until another waitress asked if I need a refill - as I was paying my bill. I felt like I was shoved in a loud back room and ignored. The food was good which was good because the staff was too busy to correct anything. It was a really disappointing way to celebrate my birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our server was friendly and did his best to answer the questions we had about the menu. He did seem to lose some interest in us when he realized we wouldn't be ordering more than an appetizer and a couple rolls each, but otherwise he did a good job.
The biggest issue is the price of the food here. The rolls were decent, but definitely not anything to write home about. The tempura vegetables were also good, but the portion was pretty small. Everything on the menu was just overpriced for what you got.

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

This is the 2nd time we've been served in a very room that echoes the sound. I couldn't even have a conversation with my spouse because it was so noisy. Love the food but the ambiance was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Tsunami is an excellent restaurant. The food is high quality and the sushi is amazing we love to come in as a family and enjoy the food and great service. I recommend this restaurant highly

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

My wife and I frequent this Tsunami restaurant and have never had a bad meal. There's something for everybody on their menu. The sushi is the best and freshest around. I ordered teriyaki salmon on this visit and it was a little over cooked but our waiter took it back and it was great!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Tsunami never disappoints! The service is always top-notch, and the food is absolutely amazing. We've been coming here for years, and somehow it just keeps getting better!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Love, love, love Tsunami. I am celiac and they have great gluten free options and the kitchen staff is always really careful about cross contamination. Even the cheesecake is gluten free!

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Business Meals, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

There was a lot of flies in the restaurant and it took a long time to get sides like the wasabi.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Tsunami is very consistent - excellent service, the best food, and exceptional value.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Excellent, the best Sushi Restaurant in Utah!! it is fresh, natural and the service is amazing.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The first time I went here was for dinner the food was good but the service wasn't that good but the second time I went for lunch and it was great. The server was excellent, he was very knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Other than our server being absent and uninterested - everything else was grear

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The best sushi in Utah

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The outer dining room was rather stark, but wait staff friendly. Good solid Japanese fare, with interesting specials. Teriyaki skewers a tad underdone, but the kitchen happily regrilled them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great all around. The manager even came to our seats and thanked us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

As always the service was great and very attentive to our needs, even if though it was a busy night. Our party ordered several things on the menu and it was all very delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I love coming to this place! We dine here quite frequently and have never been disappointed. My all time favorite is the Chicken Katsu. Last time though I tried the teriyaki Salmon. It was perfect! We aren't much for Sushi (although their menu is quite long) but we have never had trouble finding something wonderful on the menu! Highly recommended for any occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Always one of our favorite places to eat. Delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This last go-round we were seated in the back and it was so much more quiet.
Their sushi always tastes great.

Caterpillar role
TNT role

I love their veggie tempura!!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Spicy, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We love this location!! Service is awesome and the food is so much better here for some reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great Food As Usual! Service Was a Little Slow this Time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This restaurant was absolutely outstanding. The food was great, affordable, and the ambiance provided a great vibe. Definitely will go again.

Tags: Casual, Spicy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Amazing and Beautiful especially with Meg💗💞

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Tsunami had pretty typical high quality Salt Lake Valley Sushi. I thought the Sashimi was quite good. The rolls were pretty typical of Utah fare in that they had lots of salt, sugar and fat rather than interesting and well thought out composition of ingredients. It was good and if you're looking for high quality but typical sushi roll experience this will meet your requirements. The hostess who seated us was fairly incompetent, but our waitress was fantastic. The air conditioning is cranked up way too high, bring a jacket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Tusnami does a fantastic job

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great sushi all the time! The fusion rolls are innovative and very well balanced. The variety and quality of fish was impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Always gooooooooooooooooooooooooood
.......................... Yum

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Great service!
Great food!
Everyone enjoyed themselves.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Our server was extraordinary!
Food excellent.
Everyone extremely kind.
Perfect birthday celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I had to ask the server to give us some water multiple times. He only filled my husband's glass but not my mine or my kids. Then I asked for desert menu and she came with after 10 minutes. Service was very lousy. There was so smile on servers face.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

As always an amazing experience! Krista was such a good server and really knew the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Our waitress Rhiannon was awesome! We have eaten at this restaurant quite a few times, but she made this time the best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We live in Ogden, but had to pick up our boat nearby this restaurant and thought we would give it a try. We all decided that it is a new favorite spot and we will now go out of our way go back often. We loved all of the sushi and appetizers. We will get the cinnamon roll cheesecake every time that we go back. That was the most unique and best tasting cheesecake we have ever tried. Great restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great place. Great sushi and appetizers. An awesome place to bring a date, or family.

Tags: Comfort Food, Spicy, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Every time I go here, I forget how incredible it is. I don't eat fish, but I order edamame, a Hot Mamba roll, and a Buddha roll. I can't describe how delicious every bite is. I would recommend Tsunami to anyone, even people who normally don't like sushi. The service is always great, and the food is also amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 8, 2017

I was refused a glass of wine. I was carded. And my ID is Canadian I am 50 years old. The manager treated us poorly and advised us that a passport would be the only acceptable ID. I have since looked into this and it is incorrect. My daughter is a permanent resident and her green card was not accepted. We will not return to this restaurant. I should clarify, the wait staff were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Always fresh.
Always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.