About Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan

Tsunami - Riverpark is a "one of a kind" restaurant. We continue the Tsunami tradition, but also offer a unique atmosphere which includes a sushi lounge, private party room, patio, sake bar (full service), large party capacity (6-25), and beautiful interior design. We have a passion for great, fresh food and exceptional service. Please come visit us today.

10722 South Riverfront Parkway
South Jordan, UT 84095
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Saturday: 11:30am-3pm:

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 3:00pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
10600 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 748-1178

Website:
http://tsunamiutah.com/

Private Party Facilities:
We have a beautiful private party room. We have AV hook-ups and the capacity for up to 25 people. Book your party today!

Private Party Contact:
Kimber Llewellyn: (801) 748-1178

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tsunami Restaurant - South Jordan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Special Occasion (29)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
See All
Business Meals (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Casual (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Healthy (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Modern Decor (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Romantic (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Authentic (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Family Style (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Private Room (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Cozy (3)
Vegan (3)
Spicy (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
566 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined a day ago

We came with a reservation at 1:15pm. It wasn't busy at all and there were many employees around. Despite being the only "table" in the back by the sushi bar our service was awful. I'm not sure what was going on. Could it be our sever's first day? Trouble in the kitchen? All I know is that it was exceptionally slower than normal and not at all what we expect from tsunami. Hopefully this was just a blip on the radar and things go back to normal but today was a wasted lunch. Kids were served last - an hour after ordering. Check was not split (despite one person being asked to get her tab separate). Order was wrong. Had to ask multiple times for sauce and other items. Hopefully this bad day was just a one time thing. I brought someone new (as their special occasion) and they said they will not be back. I'm a regular so I'll give them another shot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

Tsunami is always a winner. Our waitress was amazing as always. I haven't found a better roll in the Valley yet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food was really great we will be back for sure! Thank you!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Sushi is always great here. Always check out their daily specials.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Overall, I would only go eat there if I lose a bet. Sushi is bland and tastless

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Tsunami continues to be a favorite for my wife and I. We visit regularly and have yet to have a poor experience. The food is fantastic, the setting is fun, and the service is spectacular. Tsunami has been and will continue to be my favorite restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great sushi!! We love this place! Had new client in town and he was deliciously surprised at how excellent the rolls were!! His favorite was the Mainlander and the executive!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We love Tsunami. We eat there once a month!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My husband and I love Tsunami and it never disappoints. Our server Karalee was amazing and we were recommended a roll from the hostess that was absolutely incredible. One of the best meals we have had in a long time!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The Tsunami is the best sushi restaurant.. we went several places and this is the best one ever.. better sushi and such.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Don't walk run. You need to try this place!
It's always a good night out.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Tsunami has excellent sushi and I was very impressed. I personally found their "cooked" entrees to be good but unremarkable. We will go again and again for their rolls and sashimi! Their cheesecake is amazin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Absolutely amazing! I love Tsunami! They have great fast service and everything is so tasty!!

Tags: Family Style, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We love Tsunami! It's our favorite Sushi in the valley. The South Jordan location is exceptional and worth the drive. It is my favorite location of the three.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food, awesome service, and an amazing gluten free cheesecake!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Sushi rolls were very loose feel apart when dipped in say sauce, there was a bone in one of the rolls, manager took the rolls back to kitchen to have them ride then compared the roll with the bone in it. Not a good experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We were seated in the new west room. The acoustics are horrible and there were two loud parties that made it difficult for us to hear each other.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Our experience here in the past has always been delightful with over the top service & fresh sushi. Our disappointment was off the charts when we had neither on Saturday. We all left disappointed.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Hostess was a bit stressed with multiple parties waiting to be checked in and seated plus an older couple wanting to be re-seated. Our server, Claudia was great! Very attentive to our table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We have been fans of Tsunami for more than a decade and are glad to see a location closer to home in South Jordan. This location gets very crowded; be sure to make a reservation or be prepared to wait for a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I really find Tsunamis sushi rolls to be creative with delicious combinations. I have only eaten the Korean ribs in terms of cooked food and they were delicious. Prices are comparable to other similar quality sushi places. Must make reservations or be willing to wait a long time for a table, especially Thursday thru Saturday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food that is consistently good. We order the sushi rolls the specialty rolls with the executive suite. My kids usually get the teriyaki chicken and it is consistently good as well. Overall great food that is prepared well. The Sashimi is Fresh and great flavors. No cheap but not over the top expensive

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We have been here several times in the last several months and always have good consistent food and service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This is our family's favorite restaurant. Love the staff is always great and food is always delicious!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was great as always. Server was attentive, personable and just all around great! Very enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I love the creativity in their rolls, and servers always give great recommendations when I don't know what to order.
Love the variety and combinations of flavors and textures.
Music was a little too loud in our part of the restaurant for quiet conversation this time, but have been seated in other areas which were much better.
Always a treat to go to Tsunami!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Fantastic food, service and ambiance- we will definitely be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We absolutely love the food here but unfortunately the service was awful. We didn't get our drinks until we got our dinner. Our kids food was brought out about 20 minutes before ours so by the time ours came they were done and ready to go. The sushi came at the very end of the meal when we were already full. Never got drink refills or checked on. Super disappointed because it's very expensive to not enjoy your time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Hands down the best, and not just the sushi. It has amazing food. Period.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The food was amazing as it is every time we visit this location. Parker was our waiter and he went above and beyond making our night out wonderful. Thank you for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The calamari and the executive suite roll are our favorites!

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere. We ate dinner there and brought family the next day for lunch. We tried virtually all of the special menu items between us and everyone was happy. I highly recommend it and you should probably get reservations if you're going on Friday or Saturday night, as those without had to wait for tables.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

It was perfect! We got exactly what we wanted with great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Love it! It's always excellent! Try the Volcano! It's a fav of mine.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always great food.

Was very busy and always recommend reservations.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our waitress Angela was amazing. The kitchen was backed up and messed up a few times. But Angela kicked butt and did an amazing job.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our first time at the Tsunami, we love good Japanese food ( lived 6 years in japan). Based on others reviews we were hopeful this was going to be a great meal. The service was friendly and efficient. As far as the meal goes I believe we chose badly, we opted for the combination entrees instead of specialty rolls or the evening specials. The Kobi beef was excellent however the portion was very small, everything else was very average. On a ten scale I'd give the experience no more than a 5.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Absolutely delicious. We will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Fantastic service and fantastic food. One of my favorite places.

Tags: Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.