About Tsunami Shaw Center - Baton Rouge

100 Lafayette St.
Baton Rouge, LA 70801
View Larger Map

Sister restaurant to Tsunami Lafayette, we offer a diverse menu which focuses on obtaining the freshest seafood and all around ingredients available. Our menu has remained water cooler conversation with its Japanese and Eastern fare, striving to add innovative new dishes as we travel the globe sampling ideas and bringing them back to our beloved customers. Food offerings include standard sushi rolls, nigiri and sashimi. In addition to our fresh Japanese tempura and teriyaki dishes, TSUNAMI also offers delicious Asian inspired specials on Friday and Saturday evenings, ranging from duck to wahoo to ribeye steak prepared by our award winning chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Convention/North St/Third

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(225) 346-5100

Website:
http://www.servingsushi.com/

Catering:
Please contact us info@servingsushi.com
or 225-346-5100.

Executive Chef:
Blake Crawford

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be serving a pre-fixe menu for New Years Eve. 5 courses @ $65 per person.

Restaurant Photos

Squid Salad
saigon beer
Sake And Soy Set Up Service
Sake Purity
Hironaga Cocktail
R. Biggus Roll
Calais Roll
Eggplant Miso App
Sonoma Cutrer
Miso Soup
Birthday Bounty Of Rolls
Lemon Fish Sashimi
Black And Gold Sake
Candy Cane Roll
Maguro Nigiri
Cilantro Cream Salad
Voss Sparkling Water
High End Sake
Kabuki Roll And Cucumber Roll
Mackerel And Lemon Fish Sushi
Tsinful Chocolate Tsunami
Rainbow Rolls
Escolar Kazan
Crispy Duck
Mochi
Cajun Shrimp
 Shrimp Tempura Roll
Takatzu
Cedar Plank Salmon
Dragon Roll
Rainbow & Spicy Tuna Roll

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 12:00PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Sat 11:00AM - 1:00PM

Tsunami Shaw Center - Baton Rouge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
New Orleans / Louisiana
Scenic View
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Food
Baton Rouge
3 More
Best Ambiance
Baton Rouge
Romantic
Baton Rouge
Most Booked
Baton Rouge
Best Restaurants in Baton Rouge ›

Scenic View (73)
Special Occasion (61)
Romantic (50)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Hot Spot (33)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Groups (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Late-night Find (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Brunch (4)
Kid-friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
620 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was great. My wife's sushi w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything was great. My wife's sushi was very late getting to the table and had too much sauce. Otherwise everything was "great as usual."

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Go on a cool night sit outside sting the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Go on a cool night sit outside sting the sunset. Great place and very good food! Always have great device.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect. Cocktails were great ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Absolutely perfect. Cocktails were great; menu selection was fantastic. Best ribeye ever and the sea bass was to die for! Wonderful ambiance and the view cannot be beat in BR.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view of the Mississippi. Some of ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great view of the Mississippi. Some of the food is amazing (had some duds too).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was great. We went for 5 PM so ther ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was great. We went for 5 PM so there were hardly any seated tables, but around the time our food was coming out, the hostess sat one of the only tables in the restaurant directly next to us. It was very quiet so it was awkward knowing they could hear our conversations. There was more than enough room to seat them a few tables down. Instead they were right on top of us and it was uncomfortable. But, there was nothing we could do about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Tsunami was amazing. They have stepped u ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Tsunami was amazing. They have stepped up their sushi game. My date and I had amazing sushi overlooking the Mississippi River during sunset. Great drinks and great food. I'm definitely coming back again....and again...and again...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good "sushi" and rolls (except coul ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Very good "sushi" and rolls (except could not ever order the "Tide Roll". Geaux Tigers! :) ) Great view. Friendly staff. Music was loud at first but was turned down and not a problem. Wholeheartedly recommended for any occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Tsunami! Definitely one of my fav ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I love Tsunami! Definitely one of my favorites in Downtown Baton Rouge!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dined there several years ago and enjoye ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Dined there several years ago and enjoyed it. Was back in Baton Rouge and tried it again and enjoyed it so much we came back again the next evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the layout, waitress was exceptiona ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love the layout, waitress was exceptional , welcoming was excellent. Paid attention to conversation of being a special night and got surprise with a nice desert. Steaks were ordered , T-bone was very fatty , asked for mediums well and got medium rare. The manager states that's the way the steaks are ,hmmm. Polite to trim fat off steak to make eatable . This is a fine dinning restaurant , should not receive a fatty steak under any circumstances. I understand some fat, but not to the point where you cannot eat any further.

But we enjoyed the view ! Thanks

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I were put next to a party o ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I were put next to a party of 12+ people and we were right next to the wait station and the door to the patio - so a lot of people passed and it really was annoying. If you want to get a table by the windows with a view of the river, YOU NEED TO CALL THEM!

That being said - THE SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING. The food was very good, although I wasn't too impressed with the "cupcake" roll. It was drenched in a mayo based sauce and it really overpowered the roll itself. Once I scraped the sauce off, I was able to enjoy the roll. We had the "big easy" roll and it was tasty, but only came with 4 pieces.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Love it EVERY TIME!!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Love it EVERY TIME!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Normally places with a view are not much ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Normally places with a view are not much on food. But the sushi here is excellent!. Creative rolls and you really can't beat the Views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice view of the water and bridge took m ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Nice view of the water and bridge took my wife out for her birthday with a party of 5 great experience will go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic and the wait staf ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The food was fantastic and the wait staff was pleasant and not overbearing. We watched the fireworks on the river from there and it was a great view point. Will come here again later on in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything else was great. There should ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Everything else was great. There should be a way you can have a choice of your table and not be always seated that the hostess' choice.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The steak was terrible. It wasn't cooked ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The steak was terrible. It wasn't cooked as ordered and you couldn't taste the steak at all under all of the seasoning that was piled on it. I never go to Tsunami for the food. The view is second to none in BR. The very professional management did comp us some excellent Sake for the mix up in our meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Food was good and staff was very friendl ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was good and staff was very friendly and helpful. River view would be great once sun sets.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Far more than a typical Japanese Restaur ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Far more than a typical Japanese Restaurant ... although, both evening I ordered the Sashimi Dinners. The food choices are exceptional at the Tsunami Shaw Center - Baton Rouge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. Best sushi anywhe ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Wonderful experience. Best sushi anywhere and our waiter made our daughter feel special on her 15th birthday! Cant wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great experience high quality fresh sush ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

great experience high quality fresh sushi and good staff. wife birthday excellent choice and dining experience. thanks ralph

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fun, laid back atmosphere!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Fun, laid back atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food , Awesome View!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I have often eaten at the original Tsunami in Lafayette and found the food at the Baton Rouge location to be just as good but with a better view. Unfortunately the waitress dropped a glass of water on my mother and all over the table as soon as we sat down. We wanted to move to the empty table next to our wet one with the broken glass but was told we could not. We had to wait for the staff to re-set the table and clean up the broken glass on the floor. The manager was not very nice about it and didn't offer us anything for the inconvenience. I thought it could have been handled better so that is the reason for the lower rating on service. In Lafayette the service has always been good so maybe the management at the Baton Rouge location is not as on top of things as the Lafayette location where the owner is often in the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great place to eat

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

My wife and I went to celebrate her birthday and the sushi was excellent. We had been trying to go for a while but never did make reservations early enough and they always seemed to book up but I am glad I was able to get a reservation this time. The prices are in line with our other favorite sushi restaurant so it was very reasonable and the atmosphere and view were amazing. One thing to keep in mind is that the menu is almost all sushi, I did not see any other entrees so if you don't eat sushi this is probably not the place for you.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great Mississipi river view

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food, great Mississipi river view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stunning and Fun

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

My wife and I came out for a date during our 1 and only night in Baton Rouge and chose Tsunami or the views. We were delighted by our server who was attentive but not overly which allowed us time to just enjoy one another. We had a very nice dai ginjo sake to compliment our 4 specialty rolls and 6 pieces of nigori.

The views of the sunset which followed a HUGE rain storm just moments before the sun actually set was gorgeous from the restaurant.

The energy was great in the room.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Busy night so took a while but it's a pl ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Busy night so took a while but it's a place you go to enjoy & visit w your friends etc. everything we had was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Mostly everything was very good. The se ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Mostly everything was very good. The service was very good but a couple of the rolls were a bit disappointing. We are frequent customers and were a little let down. This was a first.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Pre-Concert/Birthday dinner

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

What a wonderful evening! Tsunami had amazing food, we had a perfect corner table with a spectacular view of the river, and a wonderful server. THANK YOU!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have had such poor service the last 3 times !

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The food has been good enough but service is horrible . The Waiter just don't care

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Great birthday celebration

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Celebrating a group birthday of 10 people. It was a great experience. Our waitress was Madison & she was phenomenal. Of course the food was fabulous, as always. Great lunch spot because it wasn't as crowded as dinner time. Sushi was fresh and yummy! Definitely will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and view! Conveniently loca ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Amazing food and view! Conveniently located to River Center, which we attended a show right after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

first time there

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

the entrée was excellent but small portions, glad we got the entrée salad first. LOL your bloody marys are FABULOUS!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Food is always great!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Me and my boyfriend come here for date nights. We recently went with some friends for my birthday, and it again was fantastic. One of my favorite places to go! Always a choice when I'm asked where do I want to go eat. Another plus, is it's not that expensive. Reasonably priced and great food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect. Food great. Allergy accommodate ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Perfect. Food great. Allergy accommodated. Service quick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another fine evening up above the river ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Another fine evening up above the river with one of our best friends. Nice cocktails beforehand on the terrace (what an amazing plus!!!). We've always loved the eggplant appetizer, the gyoza, the Michael Doumite, & the biggus. Once again, they didn't fail us. Go eat some sushi!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

I had been here in the past, but not for a few years. They knew we were on a first date, and they made it very special for us. The food, table location, service, it was all on point. Even the bar area to wait in when my date was late, was a treat. We will be back often. Great rolls!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a date and good sushi!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

What a wonderful little find! Artful decor, scenic views of the river, wonderful atmosphere, and delicious food to boot! My husband and I certainly enjoyed our date and will definitely be returning the next time we visit Baton Rouge.

The sushi and drink selection were notable and we enjoyed the gyoza appetizer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

nice atmosphere, but below average food vs. comp

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

good wait staff...efficient...we rate food everywhere we go...ordered 2 apps...dumplings were average...fried oysters were good...ordered 5 sushi rolls...2 good but not great, 3 less than average...ordered 3 Nigiri...all 3 less than average...wine list is way overpriced...not a single red wine of quality (why 3 Merlots on the list, red wine drinkers don't drink Merlot...and St Francis is a CAB winery, not a Merlot winery...they only use Merlot grapes for blends)...2 desserts were good...but, Pure Joie! for coffee instead of Community or a Chicory??? ...Irish Coffee was a shot on the side of Jameson and Bailey's (are the bartenders that lazy?) with black coffee...if ya want to go to the deck, then enjoy...but, food quality---this place is waaaay overhyped...try the sushi at Sake Cafe in New Orleans on Magazine or Ichiban on Essen...far better choices

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Staff were very pleasant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Staff were very pleasant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.