About Tsunami Shaw Center - Baton Rouge

100 Lafayette St.
Baton Rouge, LA 70801
View Larger Map

Sister restaurant to Tsunami Lafayette, we offer a diverse menu which focuses on obtaining the freshest seafood and all around ingredients available. Our menu has remained water cooler conversation with its Japanese and Eastern fare, striving to add innovative new dishes as we travel the globe sampling ideas and bringing them back to our beloved customers. Food offerings include standard sushi rolls, nigiri and sashimi. In addition to our fresh Japanese tempura and teriyaki dishes, TSUNAMI also offers delicious Asian inspired specials on Friday and Saturday evenings, ranging from duck to wahoo to ribeye steak prepared by our award winning chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Convention/North St/Third

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(225) 346-5100

Website:
http://www.servingsushi.com/

Catering:
Please contact us info@servingsushi.com
or 225-346-5100.

Executive Chef:
Blake Crawford

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be serving a pre-fixe menu for New Years Eve. 5 courses @ $65 per person.

Restaurant Photos

Squid Salad
saigon beer
Sake And Soy Set Up Service
Sake Purity
Hironaga Cocktail
R. Biggus Roll
Calais Roll
Eggplant Miso App
Sonoma Cutrer
Miso Soup
Birthday Bounty Of Rolls
Lemon Fish Sashimi
Black And Gold Sake
Candy Cane Roll
Maguro Nigiri
Cilantro Cream Salad
Voss Sparkling Water
High End Sake
Kabuki Roll And Cucumber Roll
Mackerel And Lemon Fish Sushi
Tsinful Chocolate Tsunami
Rainbow Rolls
Escolar Kazan
Crispy Duck
Mochi
Cajun Shrimp
Cedar Plank Salmon
 Shrimp Tempura Roll
Takatzu
Dragon Roll
Rainbow & Spicy Tuna Roll

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 12:00PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Sat 11:00AM - 1:00PM

Tsunami Shaw Center - Baton Rouge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
New Orleans / Louisiana
Hot Spot
New Orleans / Louisiana
Scenic View
New Orleans / Louisiana
4 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Food
Baton Rouge
Best Ambiance
Baton Rouge
Most Booked
Baton Rouge
Best Restaurants in Baton Rouge ›

scenic view (73)
special occasion (59)
romantic (45)
See All
hot spot (42)
great for outdoor dining (42)
fit for foodies (34)
good for groups (24)
vibrant bar scene (23)
great for lunch (17)
neighborhood gem (13)
late-night find (9)
notable wine list (7)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
601 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was good and staff was very friendl ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food was good and staff was very friendly and helpful. River view would be great once sun sets.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Far more than a typical Japanese Restaur ...

Dined 7 days ago

Far more than a typical Japanese Restaurant ... although, both evening I ordered the Sashimi Dinners. The food choices are exceptional at the Tsunami Shaw Center - Baton Rouge.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. Best sushi anywhe ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Wonderful experience. Best sushi anywhere and our waiter made our daughter feel special on her 15th birthday! Cant wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

great experience high quality fresh sush ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

great experience high quality fresh sushi and good staff. wife birthday excellent choice and dining experience. thanks ralph

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun, laid back atmosphere!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Fun, laid back atmosphere!

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Food , Awesome View!

Dined on June 4, 2016

I have often eaten at the original Tsunami in Lafayette and found the food at the Baton Rouge location to be just as good but with a better view. Unfortunately the waitress dropped a glass of water on my mother and all over the table as soon as we sat down. We wanted to move to the empty table next to our wet one with the broken glass but was told we could not. We had to wait for the staff to re-set the table and clean up the broken glass on the floor. The manager was not very nice about it and didn't offer us anything for the inconvenience. I thought it could have been handled better so that is the reason for the lower rating on service. In Lafayette the service has always been good so maybe the management at the Baton Rouge location is not as on top of things as the Lafayette location where the owner is often in the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to eat

Dined on June 3, 2016

My wife and I went to celebrate her birthday and the sushi was excellent. We had been trying to go for a while but never did make reservations early enough and they always seemed to book up but I am glad I was able to get a reservation this time. The prices are in line with our other favorite sushi restaurant so it was very reasonable and the atmosphere and view were amazing. One thing to keep in mind is that the menu is almost all sushi, I did not see any other entrees so if you don't eat sushi this is probably not the place for you.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great Mississipi river view

Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food, great Mississipi river view

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Stunning and Fun

Dined on June 1, 2016

My wife and I came out for a date during our 1 and only night in Baton Rouge and chose Tsunami or the views. We were delighted by our server who was attentive but not overly which allowed us time to just enjoy one another. We had a very nice dai ginjo sake to compliment our 4 specialty rolls and 6 pieces of nigori. The views of the sunset which followed a HUGE rain storm just moments before the sun actually set was gorgeous from the restaurant. The energy was great in the room.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Busy night so took a while but it's a pl ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Busy night so took a while but it's a place you go to enjoy & visit w your friends etc. everything we had was fabulous.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Mostly everything was very good. The se ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Mostly everything was very good. The service was very good but a couple of the rolls were a bit disappointing. We are frequent customers and were a little let down. This was a first.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Pre-Concert/Birthday dinner

Dined on April 28, 2016

What a wonderful evening! Tsunami had amazing food, we had a perfect corner table with a spectacular view of the river, and a wonderful server. THANK YOU!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

We have had such poor service the last 3 times !

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The food has been good enough but service is horrible . The Waiter just don't care

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great birthday celebration

Dined on April 21, 2016

Celebrating a group birthday of 10 people. It was a great experience. Our waitress was Madison & she was phenomenal. Of course the food was fabulous, as always. Great lunch spot because it wasn't as crowded as dinner time. Sushi was fresh and yummy! Definitely will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and view! Conveniently loca ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Amazing food and view! Conveniently located to River Center, which we attended a show right after.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

first time there

Dined on April 16, 2016

the entrée was excellent but small portions, glad we got the entrée salad first. LOL your bloody marys are FABULOUS!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always great!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Me and my boyfriend come here for date nights. We recently went with some friends for my birthday, and it again was fantastic. One of my favorite places to go! Always a choice when I'm asked where do I want to go eat. Another plus, is it's not that expensive. Reasonably priced and great food!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect. Food great. Allergy accommodate ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Perfect. Food great. Allergy accommodated. Service quick.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fine evening up above the river ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Another fine evening up above the river with one of our best friends. Nice cocktails beforehand on the terrace (what an amazing plus!!!). We've always loved the eggplant appetizer, the gyoza, the Michael Doumite, & the biggus. Once again, they didn't fail us. Go eat some sushi!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on March 31, 2016

I had been here in the past, but not for a few years. They knew we were on a first date, and they made it very special for us. The food, table location, service, it was all on point. Even the bar area to wait in when my date was late, was a treat. We will be back often. Great rolls!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place for a date and good sushi!

Dined on March 27, 2016

What a wonderful little find! Artful decor, scenic views of the river, wonderful atmosphere, and delicious food to boot! My husband and I certainly enjoyed our date and will definitely be returning the next time we visit Baton Rouge. The sushi and drink selection were notable and we enjoyed the gyoza appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

nice atmosphere, but below average food vs. comp

Dined on March 20, 2016

good wait staff...efficient...we rate food everywhere we go...ordered 2 apps...dumplings were average...fried oysters were good...ordered 5 sushi rolls...2 good but not great, 3 less than average...ordered 3 Nigiri...all 3 less than average...wine list is way overpriced...not a single red wine of quality (why 3 Merlots on the list, red wine drinkers don't drink Merlot...and St Francis is a CAB winery, not a Merlot winery...they only use Merlot grapes for blends)...2 desserts were good...but, Pure Joie! for coffee instead of Community or a Chicory??? ...Irish Coffee was a shot on the side of Jameson and Bailey's (are the bartenders that lazy?) with black coffee...if ya want to go to the deck, then enjoy...but, food quality---this place is waaaay overhyped...try the sushi at Sake Cafe in New Orleans on Magazine or Ichiban on Essen...far better choices

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff were very pleasant

Dined on March 19, 2016

Staff were very pleasant

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Slow dinner service

Dined on March 16, 2016

Took over 1 hour to get our meals served . however the manager took care of half the bill and was sorry for slow service

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved every minute we were there!

Dined on March 10, 2016

Our group of 4 were headed to the Baton Rouge River Center to see Robert Plant, so we made reservations at Tsunami to get a bite before. We were not disappointed!! The food, service, & ambiance were all magnificent!!!! We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellebnt Food and Service

Dined on March 10, 2016

Manager and wait staff extremely friendly. Service was as excellent as was the food. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service1

Great view and ambiance but the service ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Great view and ambiance but the service at the table was poor.

food3
ambience5
service4

Best view in Baton Rouge with great atmo ...

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

Best view in Baton Rouge with great atmosphere and crowd.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awsome...again!

Dined on March 6, 2016

We are from out of town, and when we know we are going to be in Baton Rouge for dinner - this is the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on February 21, 2016

Party of 7 and ordered Sushi and Entrees. Sea Bass was superb. Great ambiance. Highly recommended if you love sushi

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't want to leave BR without going to ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Don't want to leave BR without going to Tsunami.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Tsunami Baton Rouge

Dined on February 20, 2016

This is the 4th time I've been to Tsunami. The food & atmosphere was great as always. Our service was a little slow, but that's understandable since they were quite busy. Our waitress brought out 3 of our entrees, but forgot about our 3 orders of sushi. We informed her of this & she got them out quickly. I like the fact that the manager comes around & asks how everything is going.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

This was my first time in Baton Rouge. A ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

This was my first time in Baton Rouge. A friend suggested this restaurant more for the view and ambiance. I was impressed by the service and quality of food. The space is very modern as well with a great view!

food5
ambience5
service5

The Big Easy sushi roll is wonderful.

Dined on February 15, 2016

The Big Easy sushi roll is wonderful.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

First and last time

Dined on February 15, 2016

Booked a reservation for 4, 2 weeks in advance. It was our first visit for all of us and from browsing the menu online, I thought it would be good for all of us... WRONG. We get there and go to order and are informed they are out of most entrees, including the only one I would eat, and some how that was ok? The waitress seemed like it was a big deal that I even wanted an entree and even went to take the menus after my friends ordered sushi. Not everyone eats sushi. I wish I would have been informed when they called earlier to confirm my reservation or even when I came in, that they were out of food. This experience ruined our Valentines Day and seeing as how it was too late to go almost anywhere else and seeing as how everyone, especially me, since I didn't get to eat at all, left starving, we all had to go eat at Waffle House afterwards. How humiliating to have to go to Waffle House on Valentine's Day all dressed up. And the little bit of food that was ordered was extremely over priced and disgusting. Never again will we come here or recommend it to anyone. You are paying for the view here.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The Sumo Steak and the Munchie Roll were ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The Sumo Steak and the Munchie Roll were my favorite choices! Dessert was heavenly vietnamese coffee ice cream and chocolate cake! Best spot for Valentine's Day for my husband and I. We will definetly return.

food4
ambience5
service4

Everything was delicious. The food was a ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Everything was delicious. The food was awesome, the staff was accommodating, & the noise level was what I predicted it would be. It was Valentine's Day so of course it was loud. But it wasn't ridiculous. The food came out quickly and our server was so sweet.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great sushi! The view and ambiance was a ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great sushi! The view and ambiance was also perfect. Great for a date or dinner with friends.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very good. Waitress was fantastic.

Dined on February 12, 2016

Very good. Waitress was fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

World Class Restaurant

Dined on February 7, 2016

I've eaten in countless establishments throughout the US and abroad, and this is my absolute favorite restaurant. The food is outstanding and the view is spectacular. I can hardly wait to return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.