About Truluck's Seafood, Steak and Crab House - Southlake

1420 Plaza Place
Southlake, TX 76092
View Larger Map

We invite you to escape to Truluck's. A getaway for the senses.

Come savor the freshest Crab, direct from our own fisheries. Delight in our fresh-catch seafood menu or select tender, juicy steaks prepared to perfection. Then complement it all with delicious wines by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Cocktail Hour:
4:30pm - 6:30pm Daily.

Dinner:
5:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday-Thursday.
5:00pm - 11:00pm Friday-Saturday.

Cross Street:
HWY 114

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 912-0500

Website:
http://www.trulucks.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano entertainment seven nights a week from 6:00pm to 10:00pm weekdays and till 11:00pm on weekends.

Parking Details:
Free Valet parking available; private lot nearby

Executive Chef:
Brian Wubbena

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

For fabulous parties, lasting memories and none of the stress, choose Truluck’s for your next event.

Truluck's Seafood, Steak and Crab House - Southlake Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Ambiance
Dallas Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Southlake ›

special occasion (109)
romantic (87)
fit for foodies (60)
See All
notable wine list (59)
vibrant bar scene (35)
good for groups (30)
hot spot (19)
neighborhood gem (13)
late-night find (12)
great for brunch (7)
great for lunch (7)
scenic view (5)
 (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
 (2)
 (2)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1113 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They always do a great job. It's nice to ...

Dined 6 days ago

They always do a great job. It's nice to have a first class restaurant less than 5 minutes from home.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good Crab Was recommended by a gu ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Really good Crab Was recommended by a guy on the Airplane and I am glad I listened to him Monday All you can Eat is worth the Money They lost money on me

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful. Great waiter, ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Great waiter, perfect recommendations and excellent food. Could not have picked a better place on Open Table!👍

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Southlake - A Southlake Treasure

Dined on May 20, 2016

Perhaps I am biased. We partake in a southlake meal often times at least once a week and for good reason. Their seafood and steak selection is the best combination of the two to be found in this area of town. Their red fish is prepared with just the perfect amount of seasoning to bring out the freshness of the catch and comes in a huge portion, almost 95% de-boned. The filet remains a consistent home run as well. The fresh crab legs are also most often times the freshest in the city. Throw in a couple of sides of grilled asparagus, sauteed spinach and their mashed and you have the makings for an extraordinary dining experience, while mostly still keeping the calories in check. We do continue to beat them up however for removing chicken from the menu along with their pork chop. Not offering the chicken is a sizable miss on their part, one I hope they remedy soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Unhappy - 25th Wedding Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 15, 2016

I had made reservations for my wife and I for our 25th Special Wedding Anniversary at Truluck's in Southlake on Saturday night (5/14) at 7:30 PM. We are considered regular and dedicated customers as Truluck's was our place to go for many special occasions over the last seven years. We typically spend $150-200 a night when we go but it is usually well worth it. We have always had a great time, especially at their happy hour. Molly (waitress) and Mike (GM/Partner) are awesome as they always go out of there way to accommodate us. On this particular evening, we had Jeremy for our server. Not only was he unattentive that evening, he never even acknowledge our special anniversary. All he talked about was his upcoming trip to Italy. I did complain to the Mike, but apparently that did not make a difference. We were very unhappy to say the least. Unfortunately, I won't be making any more reservations at Truluck's anytime soon. Michael D.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant. Dress code was littl ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great restaurant. Dress code was little confusing. As a woman, I was concerned that wouldn't be able to wear sleeveless top and thought that was a bit odd. Other than restaurant and staff.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truluck's is consistently awesome!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Truluck's is consistently awesome! The last time we were there, it was even better than normal, which is really saying something. The service was one of the absolute best we have ever had anywhere. Our server's name was Germane and I would strongly suggest asking for him, AJ, or Chris. The Surf and Turf is great, and if you add "The Dynamite" to the turf portion, it takes things to another level. The appetizers (Shrimp cocktail), the wine, the bread, the entrees, the dessert (Baked Alaska) -- it's all fantastic. If you're even thinking about it, go. You won't regret it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fine dining, good selection

Dined on May 11, 2016

Tough to go wrong at Truluck's, with good meat and seafood dishes, nice ambiance, and good service. You'll pay for the pleasure, though.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great mother's day.

Dined on May 9, 2016

Everything was great as always. The Mother's day special was excellent. Robert Sweeney was his usual master-server self. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent! Well worth the price and wor ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent! Well worth the price and worth the travel!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

The chilled crab claws served with a cre ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The chilled crab claws served with a creamy mustard sauce we were a delicious appetizer. They are also available as an entree and I will likely order them for my entre next time.

food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Over priced and tasted very bland high prices.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Expected a top notch experience. Well only the service matched that expectation. Service is great! Food is a BIG Disappointment. I mean not the level of Denny's, Yes it was that bad. Crab Cake- (recommended) They were under cooked. Lobster Bisk -- Watered down. main course all entries were a big disappointment. Strange this this I loved this play 8 month ago. Something changed. Not going back when I compare t he cost for what I got. Papa Deaux -- Although LOUD has great food for the price. Well maybe I'll give it another try. 1 great and 1 terrible so I need a tie breaker.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day - weavers

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent, attentive waitstaff. Food was perfect. Our service person offered just the right portion suggestions. Everything came out at perfect temperature. Truly enjoy Trulucks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. We will definitely be dining at Truluck's again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

This restaurant is really great! Fantastic service. Manager even stopped by our table a few times to see if we needed anything.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Truluck's food and service is consistent ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Truluck's food and service is consistent. Always great service, and plenty of tasty appetizers and entrees. We have never had a bad experience.

food5
ambience4
service5

Love the fresh crabs! The service was gr ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Love the fresh crabs! The service was great and the drinks were excellent. Every special request was accommodated. Just wish the noise level was a notch lower.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we ordered was excellent. I ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Everything we ordered was excellent. I had never had South African lobster before....melted in my mouth. Steak was fork tender. A great place to hear jazz singer and pianist. Bar scene was hopping! Will be back...soon!

food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently great food and great dining ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Consistently great food and great dining experience! Our server (Eric) was amazing! Very knowledgable and attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great Service, great food. I love it when the manager checks on you at the table. More managers should do this.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always not a disappointment.

Dined on April 17, 2016

Had our anniversary dinner here. Wonderful evening. Awesome food and service. Truly a special place to celebrate.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on April 11, 2016

Great food, impeccable service. Never have had a bad experience. Can't go wrong at Truluck's

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Rich Anniversary

Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I have been married now for 6 years and there is one thing we never miss on our anniversary....A fantastic evening at Trulucks. Being that we both used to work in southlake, we knew of the place but never tried it out. I decided to make reservations for our first anniversary and from then on we got hooked. Great service, and staff. I love it that we have the option to go to the bar area and enjoy a few cocktails, live music and some appetizers before we sit down for the main course. Very intimate setting, great for date nights or special occasion. Food is wonderful and the desserts are even better. Will Definitely keep the tradition going!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love coming here for special occasions. ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Love coming here for special occasions. Well worth every penny. Perfect service. Awesome food. Thank you Truluck's!

food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Special Occasion

Dined on April 5, 2016

This was our second visit to Truluck's, this time for our anniversary. Truluck's has great food and excellent service, but the prices are rather exorbitant. There are several high end seafood restaurants in DFW that provide food and service just as good for a more reasonable price.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous Dinner

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Anniversary dinner -- It was great! food was wonderful

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience

Dined on April 3, 2016

Despite a emergency scene moments before ariving, the staff was completely on there game. Wait staff and was attentive but not intrusive b

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

They create a well rounded experience. S ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

They create a well rounded experience. Service, atmosphere and quality. I being my wife here for special occasions and they always make it special for us. My extended family joined us tonight and they enjoyed it very much.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food seemed less outstanding as in the past.

Dined on March 30, 2016

Service is always very good as is atmosphere. Menu seemed much less interesting and unique this time and food quality was good but not for the price I paid. Seems like prices at this restaurant chain have really spiked to a point that I would have done better at a number of other places.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Not impressed....

Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter Sunday my family and I chose to try Trulucks since we had researched and read reviews we were really expecting a great meal. Unfortunately none of us were impressed by the food or service we received. $450.00 later for a party of 5 and lesson learned. Stick with what you know. We will go to back to our usual (Texas De Brazil) better quality meat, better priced, and much better service.

food1
ambience2
service4
value2

So disappointed!

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been to so many great restaurants and hoped this would be one to add to our list. Between all of us we ordered a variety of dishes and we were all disappointed. The salad was not edible as so much dressing and overwhelmingly sweet, most dishes lacked anything special. Steak was luke warm which was shocking for a steak house. Not anywhere near worth the price or the place to spend a holiday. Server was attentive, but kept telling us how great everything was as though he was trying to convince us. We never complained, but he must have realized as we did not compliment anything as their was nothing to compliment. We were so disappointed and it ruined our holiday dinner.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Just a bad day

Dined on March 27, 2016

The lobster bisque was off that day. I've been many times, and it was just an off day for the bisque. The waiter recommended the "dynamite" topping for my steak and it was not a good fit. Maybe for another dish, but not steak.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place for a special occasion

Dined on March 27, 2016

This is becoming our go-to spot for Easter lunch with family. The service there never disappoints - the staff treats you with extra care, and they truly seem to want your experience to be special at Truluck's. The service was efficient, but not rushed. The seafood dishes are great, and the steaks are as well. It is pricey, but worth the money.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Date Night Choice!

Dined on March 27, 2016

I took my boyfriend to dinner there for his birthday. The ambiance, service, and food were amazing. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Server was ambivilant to our existence. ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Server was ambivilant to our existence. While prompt and professional, it was clear he didn't really care if we enjoyed our meal or not.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service. I had the best ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Amazing food and service. I had the best lobster bisque and crab legs I've ever had. Period.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quickly becoming our favorite ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

It's great to have a little of South Florida right in the heart of Texas ... the steaks are great, but Truluck's is a crab lover's delight! Service and ambience are second to none in Southlake.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect. Great waiter. Th ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Everything was perfect. Great waiter. The finest seafood I've ever tasted. My wife was overjoyed at the opportunity to try everything she wanted at her favorite seafood restaurant. Thanks for everything, again!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on March 19, 2016

The service was outstanding and the food impeccable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious

Dined on March 19, 2016

It was the perfect spot for our anniversary dinner. Great food and ambiance. Will return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.