About Truluck's Seafood, Steak and Crab House - Southlake

1420 Plaza Place
Southlake, TX 76092
View Larger Map

We invite you to escape to Truluck's. A getaway for the senses.

Come savor the freshest Crab, direct from our own fisheries. Delight in our fresh-catch seafood menu or select tender, juicy steaks prepared to perfection. Then complement it all with delicious wines by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Cocktail Hour:
4:30pm - 6:30pm Daily.

Dinner:
5:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday-Thursday.
5:00pm - 11:00pm Friday-Saturday.

Cross Street:
HWY 114

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 912-0500

Website:
http://www.trulucks.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano entertainment seven nights a week from 6:00pm to 10:00pm weekdays and till 11:00pm on weekends.

Parking Details:
Free Valet parking available; private lot nearby

Executive Chef:
Brian Wubbena

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crab Mac & Cheese
Fiery Red Fish
Sweet potato fries
Scallops
mushrooms
Watermelon Tomato Gazpacho
Bread
Goat Cheese And Crab Dumplings
Jonah Crab Claws
Seafood Tower
Blue Point Oysters
Chimichurri Chilean Seabass
Hawaiian Tuna Chimichurri Style
Key Lime Pie
Fresh Mixed Berries with Creme Anglaise and Grand Marnier
Sea Bass With Crab Fried Rice And Scallops Pacific Spice Style
Chocolate Bag
Chilled Seafood Platter
Gulf Shrimp Cocktail
Wedge Salad
Filet Mignon With Peppercorn Sauce

Private Dining

For fabulous parties, lasting memories and none of the stress, choose Truluck’s for your next event.

Truluck's Seafood, Steak and Crab House - Southlake Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Ambiance
Dallas Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Dallas Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Southlake ›

special occasion (108)
romantic (79)
notable wine list (55)
See All
fit for foodies (52)
good for groups (41)
vibrant bar scene (28)
neighborhood gem (18)
hot spot (16)
late-night find (9)
great for lunch (7)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The noise level has been high lately. I ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 3 days ago

The noise level has been high lately. I really don't want to hear what the waiter has to say to the table next to us. Unfortunately the last couple times I have visited they were not serving halibut.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

11 years we have been going to Trulucks. ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

11 years we have been going to Trulucks. Tonight for my birthday we had the worst service we have ever had. Eric who introduced himself as our waiter and a sommelier was horrible. He spent his time taking care of an 8 top and left us in waiting for every course. We wound up pouring our own wine and waiting forever between not only courses but also 15 minutes between clearing my plate and my wife's so he could give his attention to his bigger party for the bigger tip. When we finally had to ask for service he asked us if we wanted coffee or our check. I said "well how about the desert menu". He said "oh ok". Then by the time he finally made it back 10 minutes later I asked him "what happened tonight". His response was in dismay as he asked what we were talking about. When I mentioned about our delays in service for

Every course and that we had to wind up pouring or own wine he said "well as you can see I have a big table here". Made

Us feel ver under appreciated for 11 years of patronage. Hell even a single time guest deserved better. We asked for the manager as he tried to pick up my credit card. Sheresa came by the table. We explained the problem and she said "let me pay for your meal". I explained that was not our intent and insisted we pay for what we had eaten. She quickly accepted my offer and moved on. Then said "email me if you ever come back ".

From there we went across the street to Copelands and had exceptional service. Friendly wait staff and the valet fromTrulucks even came over to bring the keys to my wife's Bentley parked out front of Trulucks. That was service.

Bad bad bad waiter and subpar manager. Sure. I'll email you if I ever come back. As the owner I would be disgusted. I WAS NOT LOOKING FOR A FREE MEAL! I was long for you to understand that you have a shitty waiter that shouldn't be serving in an Appleby's. She was way to relieved that we weren't asking for. 300 dollar meal between two birthday people to be comped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Food Fantastic! Waitress slow and non en ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food Fantastic! Waitress slow and non engaging! Took too long on inquiring if ready to order and slow service! Placed half table order. Food was beautiful and tasty!!! Would go have engage longer if witness was more present, still left her with more than desirable tip vs service!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

I had two $250 gift cards my wife paid t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had two $250 gift cards my wife paid the bill and only one was used and we didn't get the other back. So bottom line I was over charged $250. Can you help

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First visit - food was adequate, had to ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

First visit - food was adequate, had to request butter for lobsters, beverages were replenished often, complimentary dessert was delicious!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My wife and I were new to the Southlake ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I were new to the Southlake area. We have visited some of their other locations and always enjoyed the food and experience. We went to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary at Truluck's. Germane Cain was our server and he was amazing. He took wonderful care of us throughout the night. The food was amazing. Seafood Platter, Crab Cakes and Sea Bass was one of the best meals I have enjoyed in Dallas. At the end of the dinner Germane surprised my wife and I with a wonderful table Baked Alaska.

Truluck's truly made our wedding anniversary a special night. We are so glad we spent it at Truluck's.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eric was our waiter and he was amazing! ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Eric was our waiter and he was amazing! It was our five year anniversary and he made it extra special. He also gave us a complimentary Dessert (baked Alaska) which was amazing.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Service by Rob Cobra! The F ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Outstanding Service by Rob Cobra!

The Food was great!!! One of the best in town!

Will come back soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect service, exceptional food - tota ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Perfect service, exceptional food - totally wonderful experience. Well worth the higher price. Will go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This evening we celebrated an 80th birth ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This evening we celebrated an 80th birthday in our family and it truly was a overall excellent evening! The food is always good here, but tonight we really tried one of everything from seafood tower (which they made from the normal 4 person to 5 people for us), salads & soups, 1 1/2 of king crab lags split for the table, and awesome filets with different toppings for each person, THEN since we had a birthday the gave us a baked Alaskan and we also had the chocolate bag (a must each time we go!) this was all paired with great bottles of wine and ended with coffee and ports. Now for the really good part, we were lucky enough to get AJ (bartender/waiter who was born in Louisiana raised in Arkansas and loves and respects his mother) this is why the evening was perfect. I cannot say enough times "thank you" to him and the other staff for how wonderful an evening they help create for ur family! We have been to Trulucks many many time and usually set in the bar because we like the music and the sports on the tv's , but tonight was a memory for all of us. Again "thank you" for all 5 of us to AJ, the other staff members, and Trulucks! Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Could not be better.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Could not be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to Trulucks. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was our first visit to Trulucks. We were pleasantly surprised when we were greeted at the front doors with a mention of the special occasion and escorted to a lovely table/booth that was great for quiet conversation yet where we could still experience the ambiance and décor of the restaurant. There was live music in the bar at the opposite end of the restaurant. We could hear the music without hearing the bar buzz. Our server was friendly and professional and guided us through the menu with ease. She was also attentive at just the right times. The menu was full of mouth-watering options and our selections were as good as they sounded in the menu. What's more, we received a special dessert prepared by the chef in honor of the occasion. Can't wait to return soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was just right! Our server AJ ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Everything was just right! Our server AJ was a Perfect 10! Ask for him and you won't be disappointed. Thanks Truluck's

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, will be back

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great, will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The waiter was very good, but my steak w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The waiter was very good, but my steak was very tough and chewy. My wife’s salmon was over cooked.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been here many times and this wa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have been here many times and this was not a good evening . We took two friends with us for their birthdays. The first thing was both birthday guests ordered steaks, they were not cooked as ordered. The macaroni and cheese was not good as they had changed the recipe. The creamed spinach was dry and the piñata colada has several pieces of ice in it. We felt that the food quality has fallen. Maybe you have a new Chef, don't know but it will be awhile before we return.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Our server Eric Bruce was awesome. The f ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our server Eric Bruce was awesome. The food was great. We had a great anniversary dinner. Thank you

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have long considered Truluck's to be ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We have long considered Truluck's to be an excellent restaurant. This is our choice for birthdays, anniversaries or other celebrations. The food has always been perfectly prepared and presented. The serving staff caters to your needs and often anticipates those needs. One of the finest places in Southlake!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am quite disappointed in my Truluck's ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I am quite disappointed in my Truluck's Experience. My husband and I went there to celebrate our anniversary and had to take our food to go. We explained to the waitress that we had to be at a movie and was told not a problem. My husband and I enjoyed 2 cocktails and an app for $220. While the table of 4 whom arrived after us enjoyed their food we waited. We finally told the waitress we had to leave and she delivered us our check and our food in a bag. I was charged for all you can eat crabs although I had to eat them soaked in water two days later! Never got to enjoy the AYCE. Usually we have a great time at Trulucks but this was a horrible experience. Even worse I wrote in TWICE and received no response.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value5

Service was excellent. Food was super de ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was super delicious, and the music was soothing and relaxing. I highly recommend Truluck.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything was great. Only comment wou ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everything was great. Only comment would be steak a little on salty side but was still great

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy Trulucks. it's one of my ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I always enjoy Trulucks. it's one of my favorite restaurants. must have been a bad nite. everything tasted as if it had been frozen & not fresh. from appetizers to main course. AWFUL. I'm sad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

'Room for Inprovement' Service was not v ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

'Room for Inprovement'

Service was not very good. Our waiter seemed irritated regarding our questions relating to food allergies. Although the food itself was excellent, mashed potatoes were served cool as if they had been sitting awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Lovely spot, fantastic service. Definite ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Lovely spot, fantastic service. Definitely pricey but for that type of service, that is to be expected,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The steaks were delicious! Also, we rea ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The steaks were delicious! Also, we really loved the carrot cake!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The lobster tail was exceptional as was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The lobster tail was exceptional as was the bisque. My filet was cooked to order and flavorful. The warm raisin bread with butter was great too.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Only disappointment was our server refer ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Only disappointment was our server referred to a special that night "surf and surf". While the scallops and lobster were excellent, it was really 2 entrees, not 2 smaller servings combined into 1 special. And it was priced that way too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Very impressed with the service. Waiter ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Very impressed with the service. Waiter was extremely attentive and professional.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love going to Trulucks in Southlake e ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We love going to Trulucks in Southlake every Sunday evening that we are in town, and being served by our favorite waiter, Ryan.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ryan is outstanding server

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Best kept secret! It is GREAT to be a regular at Trulucks. You will be consistently treated like royalty. Don't need to say more. Try it, you will love it! Everything is perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eric Bruce is a consummate professional. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Eric Bruce is a consummate professional. Best service I've ever had. The food was great. Great choice for an Anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special place

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The happy hour bar is a value play with good discounts on great drinks. Appetizers are great and a value. The dining is always special with excellent service from knowledgeable staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and Service!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The food was excellent but the service was outstanding. Bruce really made the dinner enjoyable and kept the conversations going with his humor and charm! Will come back again and will request Bruce again! Thank you for a great evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another wonderful evening at Truluck's Southlake

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Mike McClure and his team really understand what great service is all about ... responsive, but not too intrusive. The combination of great service and excellent cuisine (the South African Lobster Tails are a must) should put Truluck's Southlake on everyone's "to do" list !!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Appetizer - Crab cake ; fair, not enough crab

Salads - Wedge; verygood, fresh, great blue cheese and bacon

Entrees - Prime Ribeye; fair; a little tough and just average flavor/Turf and Surf; good flavor

Dessert - Trio; good to fair, chocolate cake was dry, carrot cake was moist and very good

Wine selection - very good but a little pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was awesome

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We had the best the best service from Steven. Very attentive and not bothersome. Very balanced. Food was also excellent, but we will come back for the service alone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whole trout was good. Sea bass was awful ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Whole trout was good. Sea bass was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great filet. Great ago tuna. Excellent ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great filet. Great ago tuna. Excellent wedge. The crab cake appetizers were the best we have ever eaten. The sauce under them was a great compliment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always geeat

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Everything was perfect except for the table next to us that decided to let their two little kids make Truluck's a play ground .

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.