About Truluck's Seafood, Steak and Crab House - Southlake

1420 Plaza Place
Southlake, TX 76092
View Larger Map

We invite you to escape to Truluck's. A getaway for the senses.

Come savor the freshest Crab, direct from our own fisheries. Delight in our fresh-catch seafood menu or select tender, juicy steaks prepared to perfection. Then complement it all with delicious wines by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Cocktail Hour:
4:30pm - 6:30pm Daily.

Dinner:
5:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday-Thursday.
5:00pm - 11:00pm Friday-Saturday.

Cross Street:
HWY 114

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 912-0500

Website:
http://www.trulucks.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano entertainment seven nights a week from 6:00pm to 10:00pm weekdays and till 11:00pm on weekends.

Parking Details:
Free Valet parking available; private lot nearby

Executive Chef:
Chef Todd Citta

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
You'll be hooked on our private party rooms. The perfect place for meetings, luncheons, private parties or any occasion.

For more information, please contact Your Special Events Coordinator:

Rebecca Wright
(214) 220-2401
rwright@trulucks.com

Restaurant Photos

Crab Mac & Cheese
Fiery Red Fish
Sweet potato fries
Scallops
mushrooms
Watermelon Tomato Gazpacho
Bread
Goat Cheese And Crab Dumplings
Jonah Crab Claws
Seafood Tower
Chimichurri Chilean Seabass
Blue Point Oysters
Hawaiian Tuna Chimichurri Style
Fresh Mixed Berries with Creme Anglaise and Grand Marnier
Key Lime Pie
Chocolate Bag
Sea Bass With Crab Fried Rice And Scallops Pacific Spice Style
Chilled Seafood Platter
Gulf Shrimp Cocktail
Wedge Salad
Filet Mignon With Peppercorn Sauce

Private Dining

For fabulous parties, lasting memories and none of the stress, choose Truluck’s for your next event.

Truluck's Seafood, Steak and Crab House - Southlake Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Ambiance
Dallas Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Dallas Suburbs
1 More
Romantic
Dallas Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Southlake ›

Special Occasion (108)
Romantic (83)
Notable Wine List (49)
See All
Fit for Foodies (44)
Good for Groups (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Good for a Date (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Late-night Find (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fun (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Casual (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Live Music (2)
Scenic View (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Authentic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Contrary to what my husband requested I ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Contrary to what my husband requested I told Ron, our server, it was my husband's belated birthday dinner. This was our 2nd visit to Trulucks, the first was a wedding anniversary 2 years ago. For starters we had the oysters on a half shell and escargot which I highly recommend. My husband and I had The Lobster Bisque with a dollop of goat's cheese and our son had the Caesar's salad both were amazing. We had the miso glazed Seabass and Redfish Ponchatrain, both dishes recommended by Ron, were fantastic. To cap the belated birthday dinner my husband was treated to a fabulous Baked Alaska (enough for 3). We appreciated the exceptional attention Ron gave to us and the excellent food we experienced from this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I celebrated our one year an ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I celebrated our one year anniversary. We had maxing service and even better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a nice experience. We eat at Trul ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had a nice experience. We eat at Truluck's 3 - 4 times a year and come to expect excellence and near perfection every time. I had the stone crab (cold crab) and although it was pretty good, it wasn't great this time. It seemed a bit mushy and maybe not as fresh as it could have been. My husband ordered the striped bass. It had a spicy sauce which he thought was fantastic. We also had the dessert sampler which was nice but we were very full so we took most of the chocolate and carrot cake home after splitting the Creme Brulee.

The sommelier , Eric, is always helpful with a wine choice. It was a hot day and we wanted a Rose and ended up trying the Italian Rose which was about the right dryness vs. sweetness balance for our meal.

We plan on going back in a few months.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Spicy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great time at Truluck's for my wif ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Had a great time at Truluck's for my wife's birthday last Monday night. Rob, our waiter did a terrific job, knowledgeable and funny with a nice sense of humor...It was a team effort in that each person working that night, the managers included (thank you Tambra) tried to accommodate us with any request for pix or whatever it might have been. Special shout out to the piano player who was very sweet to my 8 year old daughter and budding pianist herself. We had a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have not been to Truluck's in several ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I have not been to Truluck's in several years. Oh what a few years will do to a restaurant; unfortunately the years appears to have been bad to this location. What a huge disappointment! The steaks were over seasoned. The mashed potatoes were gritty. The lobster tails were mediocre. I expected much better. We will be choosing a different restaurant for special occasions due to this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Too much salt on the steaks. Service was ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Too much salt on the steaks. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been going here for years. Love it! ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Have been going here for years. Love it! There was an issue with the steaks this time that was handled by the staff very well and we were given new steaks and a very nice discount on the bill also. This was the only issue in many visits so we will be back for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Outstanding food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Must ask for Eric when you go. He provid ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Must ask for Eric when you go. He provides some of he best service you will receive at a fine dining resteraunt

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It wasn't a horrible experience but bar ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It wasn't a horrible experience but bar was loud and the food / value scale is a little towards expensive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were out for Alabama football game an ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were out for Alabama football game and for 3rd year ate here because enjoyed so much first time dinning in Ft. Lauderdale site.

This time food great but not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was outstanding, but my stuffed ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Service was outstanding, but my stuffed whole fish was poor/bland.

As one menu item priced at $65.00 it was disappointing!

Don't think I could recommend to a friend.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Food, service, ambience top notch. They ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Food, service, ambience top notch. They even comped us a wonderful dessert to highlight our 48th anniversary celebration. A return visit is assured. Our server Bethany was delightful and extremely competent.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner with the whole family (gra ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had dinner with the whole family (grand-kids as well, 3 and 6 years old) for my Birthday.

We had a great time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the host to our server Steve the se ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

From the host to our server Steve the service was incredible and the food was just as fantastic. Truluck's never disappoints!! Live music sets the mood and vibrant yet classy atmosphere is unique, fun, and relaxing. Thank you for helping to make our 10th Anniversary so memorable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding experience - from the food t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Outstanding experience - from the food to our waiter, we really enjoyed ourselves! The ONLY piece of criticism I had is the steak was slightly overcooked; nonetheless, still delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience! Our server was AJ and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great experience! Our server was AJ and he was able to make great suggestions for food as well as complimentary wine suggestions. Good was excellent. Positive experience all around. Expensive meal but worth it!

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Disappointed this visit. Other than the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Disappointed this visit. Other than the shrimp cocktail our party of 4 found the food average. This place is to pricey to be average! Will come for the bar next time, not dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Eric is excellent

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Eric is excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went for my mothers birthday and unfo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went for my mothers birthday and unfortunately we were sat right next to the door by a huge table of office workers which was SO LOUD and our food took FORVER. It was a Wednesday and it took over an hour to get our food!!!! Which is ridiculous. Service was mediocre at best.. we were rarely checked on by our server which was not ideal especially since it is an expensive meal. Will not be giving them my business again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

great happy hour pricing. Great dinner t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

great happy hour pricing. Great dinner topped off with complimentary baked Alaska for my wife's birthday. Great service as well.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch as usual,from the food to the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Top notch as usual,from the food to the atmosphere and service. We love to eat there when we are in the area!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This particular visit was to celebrate m ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This particular visit was to celebrate my wife's birthday, and we had a great time. Atmosphere was good, as it usually is, our server was perhaps the best we have ever had in any restaurant, and the food was superb. We will most definitely dine at Truluck's again.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been at Truluck's before, usuall ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We have been at Truluck's before, usually good experiences. August 13th was the last time, after an unfortunate encounter with an ill-mannered waiter. Ambiance was good, wine list decent and appetizers and my wife's entree good.

I had the misfortune of asking for my steak to be cooked medium-plus as I have done in many places in multiple countries, only to be lectured by the waiter that it doesn't exist, with only a 2 degree difference between medium and medium well. The steak arrived under-cooked, went back to the kitchen and returned to no avail, with very poor flavor and appearance.

The Manager was very kind, offering to change the dish, but it was too late by then. Perhaps Mr. Waiter had a bad day before we came at 8:15 pm, but it is still unacceptable behavior.

Next day we tried Winewood in Grapevine, completely opposite experience. When I asked the waiter "how do you call a steak cooked between medium and medium well ?", he cheerfully answered "medium-plus!", it should always be what the customer wishes to be. :)

With so many options around us, Truluck's is history. We'd rather go to Winewood, Bob's, Kirby's, or all the way to Nick&Sam's in Dallas, places where normally the customer is right.

Hope this review is helpful to all, including Truluck's Management.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Awesome meal, wine, and service. Toppe ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Awesome meal, wine, and service.

Topped off with a complimentary Baked Alaska for our anniversary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Truluck's for the occasional spl ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We love Truluck's for the occasional splurge. It never disappoints! Love the happy hour and live music in the bar, as well as the delicious dinner on the quieter side of the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time I had been there, and it live ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

First time I had been there, and it lived up to its reputation - magnificent! The staff was extremely welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable and took marvelous care of us. Portion size was perfect. Plenty to eat without needing to wade through half a plate of mashed potatoes! For a special occasion or quiet dinner on the intimate side you can't go wrong here. Well done and well deserved 5-star ratings in all categories. Thanks.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Eric made the experience awes ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our server Eric made the experience awesome! He was incredibly attentive at every turn. Food was good, but perhaps not as great as I expected, or remembered it being. We were welcomed very warmly and overall had a very good experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I love Trulucks and always visiting diff ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I love Trulucks and always visiting different ones in Texas. My favorite is the one in the Arboretum. Not sure what it was about this visit but didn't hit the mark for me. Maybe just a off night....

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

On Saturday August 6, 2016 I brought my ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

On Saturday August 6, 2016 I brought my family (myself and my son’s 23, 21 and 18) to Trulucks to celebrate one of my son’s Birthday. I wanted to treat him and his brother’s to a nice restaurant, and expected great food and service, but that did not happen.

The service was terrible. The waiter (Michael) seemed bored, disinterested in serving our table, and we barely saw him all night. Hardly the warm and inviting atmosphere you hope for when spending $ 50 plus on each entrée.

After a long wait the waiter came by to take our orders, we asked some questions then asked for a minute to process his answers. He acted irritated and left. We spent an additional 20 minutes uncomfortably sitting there waiting for him to return, with no drinks or bread. We had planned on ordering appetizers for the table, but we discarded that idea because it took too long to order. I was afraid that if it took that long to order how long would we wait for the food?

The waiter (finally) took our food and drink orders, about 40 minutes after being seated. The food didn't take long to come out, and was good, but not good enough to make up for the poor service. I wanted to take my sons to a nice restaurant as a fun experience unfortunately we failed to pick a good restaurant.

Lastly, I left a black shawl there and sent my son back to retrieve it for me. I had received a call after we left the restaurant that the shawl was there at the hostess stand. However, when he asked the hostess for the shawl, she barely looked and told him they did not have it. He left, and I had to make an unnecessary trip back to the restaurant. I spoke with the manager, and the shawl had been put in the hostess stand and was there the whole time.

I was very disappointed in the service and atmosphere of Trulucks, I have been there before and never had a bad experience until now. These days you need both good service and good food. Fortunately for us there are many other places with both.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

They how to treat you. Solid food, frien ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

They how to treat you. Solid food, friendly staff! Did I mention the food? Greatness

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had dinner at Truluck's to celebrate ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had dinner at Truluck's to celebrate my husband's birthday. My husband and I arrived 30 minutes early and thought that we might have to wait in the entry for the rest of our party since the bar was completely full; however, upon arrival we were told that our table was already prepared for our 6:45 PM reservation. We were directed to our table and Ashley, our server, took our cocktail orders and asked if we would like some warm bread while we waited for the remainder of our party. Once everyone had arrived, Ashley quickly took drink orders and explained the appetizer menu. She was friendly, efficient, and non-obtrusive throughout the entire evening, and she allowed us to set the tempo of the meal (imagine!). Although we never told her that we were celebrating a birthday, she noticed when my sister gave my husband a gift and to our surprise, ordered him a baked Alaska to celebrate. Everyone at the table had a different seafood entree and all were perfectly cooked and presented. I highly, highly recommend Truluck's.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful! Went for our Anniv ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Absolutely wonderful! Went for our Anniversary...would recommend this everyday of the week and twice on Sunday. Cheers!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, wine and service were fantastic. S ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food, wine and service were fantastic. Seafood is very fresh!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good but not the experience we ex ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

It was good but not the experience we expected. The waiter was good. The food was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Wonderful crab cakes, the salads were fr ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Wonderful crab cakes, the salads were fresh and dressed just right. I had the South African lobster tail and while I usually eat Maine lobster, there was a "strange" taste to this and it was chewy. The rest of the dinner, followed by baked Alaska was great - just won't order the lobster again. Our waiter was great - did not rush us and was attentive while not being intrusive!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I went for scallops, but they no longer ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I went for scallops, but they no longer serve them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

This was our first time at this location ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was our first time at this location and we were not dissapointed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I mentioned to the staff, when booking o ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I mentioned to the staff, when booking on Open Table, that it was a special occasion for my girlfriend. The staff offered us free dessert and brought flowers to the table. Great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food, service, ambiance. At So ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent food, service, ambiance. At Southlake 3 nights and went to Trulucks for two of the nights. Should have gone every night.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.