About Truluck's Seafood, Steak and Crab House - Southlake

1420 Plaza Place
Southlake, TX 76092
View Larger Map

We invite you to escape to Truluck's. A getaway for the senses.

Come savor the freshest Crab, direct from our own fisheries. Delight in our fresh-catch seafood menu or select tender, juicy steaks prepared to perfection. Then complement it all with delicious wines by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Cocktail Hour:
4:30pm - 6:30pm Daily.

Dinner:
5:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday-Thursday.
5:00pm - 11:00pm Friday-Saturday.

Cross Street:
HWY 114

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 912-0500

Website:
http://www.trulucks.com/

Entertainment:
Live piano entertainment seven nights a week from 6:00pm to 10:00pm weekdays and till 11:00pm on weekends.

Parking Details:
Free Valet parking available; private lot nearby

Executive Chef:
Brian Wubbena

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crab Mac & Cheese
Fiery Red Fish
Sweet potato fries
Scallops
mushrooms
Watermelon Tomato Gazpacho
Bread
Goat Cheese And Crab Dumplings
Jonah Crab Claws
Seafood Tower
Blue Point Oysters
Chimichurri Chilean Seabass
Hawaiian Tuna Chimichurri Style
Key Lime Pie
Fresh Mixed Berries with Creme Anglaise and Grand Marnier
Sea Bass With Crab Fried Rice And Scallops Pacific Spice Style
Chocolate Bag
Chilled Seafood Platter
Gulf Shrimp Cocktail
Wedge Salad
Filet Mignon With Peppercorn Sauce

Private Dining

For fabulous parties, lasting memories and none of the stress, choose Truluck’s for your next event.

Truluck's Seafood, Steak and Crab House - Southlake Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Restaurants in Southlake ›

special occasion (112)
romantic (86)
notable wine list (63)
See All
fit for foodies (56)
good for groups (42)
vibrant bar scene (33)
hot spot (18)
neighborhood gem (17)
late-night find (12)
great for lunch (7)
great for brunch (4)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have long considered Truluck's to be ...

Dined 3 days ago

We have long considered Truluck's to be an excellent restaurant. This is our choice for birthdays, anniversaries or other celebrations. The food has always been perfectly prepared and presented. The serving staff caters to your needs and often anticipates those needs. One of the finest places in Southlake!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was excellent. Food was super de ...

Dined 4 days ago

Service was excellent. Food was super delicious, and the music was soothing and relaxing. I highly recommend Truluck.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great. Only comment wou ...

Dined 4 days ago

Everything was great. Only comment would be steak a little on salty side but was still great

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

I always enjoy Trulucks. it's one of my ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

I always enjoy Trulucks. it's one of my favorite restaurants. must have been a bad nite. everything tasted as if it had been frozen & not fresh. from appetizers to main course. AWFUL. I'm sad

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

'Room for Inprovement' Service was not v ...

Dined 6 days ago

'Room for Inprovement' Service was not very good. Our waiter seemed irritated regarding our questions relating to food allergies. Although the food itself was excellent, mashed potatoes were served cool as if they had been sitting awhile.

food4
ambience4
service5

Lovely spot, fantastic service. Definite ...

vip
Dined on June 23, 2016

Lovely spot, fantastic service. Definitely pricey but for that type of service, that is to be expected,

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The steaks were delicious! Also, we rea ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The steaks were delicious! Also, we really loved the carrot cake!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The lobster tail was exceptional as was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The lobster tail was exceptional as was the bisque. My filet was cooked to order and flavorful. The warm raisin bread with butter was great too.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Only disappointment was our server refer ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Only disappointment was our server referred to a special that night "surf and surf". While the scallops and lobster were excellent, it was really 2 entrees, not 2 smaller servings combined into 1 special. And it was priced that way too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very impressed with the service. Waiter ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Very impressed with the service. Waiter was extremely attentive and professional.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love going to Trulucks in Southlake e ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We love going to Trulucks in Southlake every Sunday evening that we are in town, and being served by our favorite waiter, Ryan.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ryan is outstanding server

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Best kept secret! It is GREAT to be a regular at Trulucks. You will be consistently treated like royalty. Don't need to say more. Try it, you will love it! Everything is perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Eric Bruce is a consummate professional. ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Eric Bruce is a consummate professional. Best service I've ever had. The food was great. Great choice for an Anniversary dinner.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Special place

Dined on June 10, 2016

The happy hour bar is a value play with good discounts on great drinks. Appetizers are great and a value. The dining is always special with excellent service from knowledgeable staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and Service!

Dined on June 9, 2016

The food was excellent but the service was outstanding. Bruce really made the dinner enjoyable and kept the conversations going with his humor and charm! Will come back again and will request Bruce again! Thank you for a great evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful evening at Truluck's Southlake

Dined on June 7, 2016

Mike McClure and his team really understand what great service is all about ... responsive, but not too intrusive. The combination of great service and excellent cuisine (the South African Lobster Tails are a must) should put Truluck's Southlake on everyone's "to do" list !!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food

Dined on June 5, 2016

Appetizer - Crab cake ; fair, not enough crab Salads - Wedge; verygood, fresh, great blue cheese and bacon Entrees - Prime Ribeye; fair; a little tough and just average flavor/Turf and Surf; good flavor Dessert - Trio; good to fair, chocolate cake was dry, carrot cake was moist and very good Wine selection - very good but a little pricey

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was awesome

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had the best the best service from Steven. Very attentive and not bothersome. Very balanced. Food was also excellent, but we will come back for the service alone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2

Whole trout was good. Sea bass was awful ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Whole trout was good. Sea bass was awful.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great filet. Great ago tuna. Excellent ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Great filet. Great ago tuna. Excellent wedge. The crab cake appetizers were the best we have ever eaten. The sauce under them was a great compliment.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always geeat

Dined on June 3, 2016

Everything was perfect except for the table next to us that decided to let their two little kids make Truluck's a play ground .

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal and service. Everything t ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Excellent meal and service. Everything that we ordered was perfection!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on May 30, 2016

Awesome experience. Our waiter, AJ, was knowledgeable and attentive. He had great recommendations and kept us entertained throughout the evening. Thank you Trulucks for making my wife's birthday memorable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

I had a large party and everything was w ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

I had a large party and everything was wonderful. Food: The wine list is very good and had a great selection for the type of wine that I wanted. The appetizer choices are robust and fitting for the restaurant. Of course Truluck's is known for their crab to which they had several varieties - all of which were expertly prepared and delicious. Some of us had steaks which like everything there was wonderful. The desert menu is a must try with interesting and decadent desserts. Staff: Very professional and courteous. We were early for our reservation and asked to move to the lounge - no problem but one of the party has difficulty walking. One of the friendly and warm staff brought her a chair so she wouldn't have to stifle for the walk. A very nice touch by the staff. The waiter was knowledgeable, polite and very personable. Ambiance: Beautiful restaurant with options for dark and naturally lit ambiance. The lounge had a piano player and singer. The tables seemed well enough away that the lounge activities were not distracting but a welcome background to the meal. Only complaint - I believe the restaurant needs to be stricter on their dress code. To me it is difficult to enjoy a fine meal while viewing people straggling in wearing workout clothes, short denim shorts and tshirts. I don't understand why people dress the same for a $100 meal as they would for McDonald's. Anyhow, I can't control what people wear but the restaurant can. Unfortunately, the lack of dress code enforcement will play into my future reservations.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They always do a great job. It's nice to ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

They always do a great job. It's nice to have a first class restaurant less than 5 minutes from home.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good Crab Was recommended by a gu ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Really good Crab Was recommended by a guy on the Airplane and I am glad I listened to him Monday All you can Eat is worth the Money They lost money on me

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful. Great waiter, ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Great waiter, perfect recommendations and excellent food. Could not have picked a better place on Open Table!👍

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Southlake - A Southlake Treasure

Dined on May 20, 2016

Perhaps I am biased. We partake in a southlake meal often times at least once a week and for good reason. Their seafood and steak selection is the best combination of the two to be found in this area of town. Their red fish is prepared with just the perfect amount of seasoning to bring out the freshness of the catch and comes in a huge portion, almost 95% de-boned. The filet remains a consistent home run as well. The fresh crab legs are also most often times the freshest in the city. Throw in a couple of sides of grilled asparagus, sauteed spinach and their mashed and you have the makings for an extraordinary dining experience, while mostly still keeping the calories in check. We do continue to beat them up however for removing chicken from the menu along with their pork chop. Not offering the chicken is a sizable miss on their part, one I hope they remedy soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Unhappy - 25th Wedding Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 15, 2016

I had made reservations for my wife and I for our 25th Special Wedding Anniversary at Truluck's in Southlake on Saturday night (5/14) at 7:30 PM. We are considered regular and dedicated customers as Truluck's was our place to go for many special occasions over the last seven years. We typically spend $150-200 a night when we go but it is usually well worth it. We have always had a great time, especially at their happy hour. Molly (waitress) and Mike (GM/Partner) are awesome as they always go out of there way to accommodate us. On this particular evening, we had Jeremy for our server. Not only was he unattentive that evening, he never even acknowledge our special anniversary. All he talked about was his upcoming trip to Italy. I did complain to the Mike, but apparently that did not make a difference. We were very unhappy to say the least. Unfortunately, I won't be making any more reservations at Truluck's anytime soon. Michael D.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant. Dress code was littl ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great restaurant. Dress code was little confusing. As a woman, I was concerned that wouldn't be able to wear sleeveless top and thought that was a bit odd. Other than restaurant and staff.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truluck's is consistently awesome!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Truluck's is consistently awesome! The last time we were there, it was even better than normal, which is really saying something. The service was one of the absolute best we have ever had anywhere. Our server's name was Germane and I would strongly suggest asking for him, AJ, or Chris. The Surf and Turf is great, and if you add "The Dynamite" to the turf portion, it takes things to another level. The appetizers (Shrimp cocktail), the wine, the bread, the entrees, the dessert (Baked Alaska) -- it's all fantastic. If you're even thinking about it, go. You won't regret it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fine dining, good selection

Dined on May 11, 2016

Tough to go wrong at Truluck's, with good meat and seafood dishes, nice ambiance, and good service. You'll pay for the pleasure, though.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great mother's day.

Dined on May 9, 2016

Everything was great as always. The Mother's day special was excellent. Robert Sweeney was his usual master-server self. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent! Well worth the price and wor ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent! Well worth the price and worth the travel!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

The chilled crab claws served with a cre ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The chilled crab claws served with a creamy mustard sauce we were a delicious appetizer. They are also available as an entree and I will likely order them for my entre next time.

food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Over priced and tasted very bland high prices.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Expected a top notch experience. Well only the service matched that expectation. Service is great! Food is a BIG Disappointment. I mean not the level of Denny's, Yes it was that bad. Crab Cake- (recommended) They were under cooked. Lobster Bisk -- Watered down. main course all entries were a big disappointment. Strange this this I loved this play 8 month ago. Something changed. Not going back when I compare t he cost for what I got. Papa Deaux -- Although LOUD has great food for the price. Well maybe I'll give it another try. 1 great and 1 terrible so I need a tie breaker.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day - weavers

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent, attentive waitstaff. Food was perfect. Our service person offered just the right portion suggestions. Everything came out at perfect temperature. Truly enjoy Trulucks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. We will definitely be dining at Truluck's again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

This restaurant is really great! Fantastic service. Manager even stopped by our table a few times to see if we needed anything.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Truluck's food and service is consistent ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Truluck's food and service is consistent. Always great service, and plenty of tasty appetizers and entrees. We have never had a bad experience.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.