Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 1.87mi
  3. Distance: 2.00mi
  4. Distance: 2.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 1.87mi
  3. Distance: 2.00mi
  4. Distance: 2.05mi

About Truffles - St. Louis

"Truffles has always managed that elusive balance of refinement and relaxed casualness...” Sauce, 8/2011

“This is a top-tier eatery. The kitchen is reinvigorated and inventive…” STL Magazine, 5/2011.

Truffles strives to produce a menu that easily fuses rustic and contemporary American cooking. With simplicity and seasonality as our guide, house-made specialties such as pasta and salumi are prepared fresh every day and are complemented by choice selections of locally sourced and raised meats, seafood and inventive sides. The Truffles menu begins in the fields, rivers and farms of the Midwest and our award-winning wine list features wines from every corner of the earth. We bring the best flavors of the season direct to your plate.

9202 Clayton Road
St. Louis, MO 63124
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Price Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 567-9100

Website:
http://www.todayattruffles.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday and Saturday from 9PM to 1AM live music at the bar.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Benack

Private Party Facilities:
For your special occasions or business functions, reserve the Hat's room, the private dining room seating up to 20 guests. Truffles will create a menu to fit your needs & budget.

Private Party Contact:
Aleksandar Jovanovic: (314) 567-9100

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Truffles - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Notable Wine List (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Romantic (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Fun (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Cozy (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Authentic (4)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (3)
Seasonal (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
698 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Always a great time. The food is always an A+
The BBQ shrimp were amazing!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, People Watching, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our meal was delicious and our service outstanding. We even got a complimentary toast before dinner. 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻🥂🥂🥂

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Best food and service we have had in a very long time! Wine list is amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Service was excellent. Atmosphere was.great. The food was fresh but bland. The sauces la ked flavor.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

I made a reservation for two people but did not need it for this weekday lunch- there were only about three other tables occupied. The host proceeded to seat us as far back as possible, next to the kitchen door at the end of a row of pushed-together 2 tops! We were dressed very nicely, btw! We asked for a better table. The food was not as described; one of our dishes was minus the main ingredient so it was sent back. The hostess never came to ask if we needed anything else and did not offer a dessert menu. I will not be back. Too bad because we had a wonderful evening celebration there a few months ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The food and service is outstanding...I usually eat half of my meal and take the other half home, Much to my surprise the waiter did not give me my favorite Parmesan fries, just the salmon BLT half... diappointed!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our food was delicious. Our server, Kurt, did a wonderful job. I hadn't been here for years but can't wait to go back. That Dover sole is calling my name.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Never disappointed - great food and friendly service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

To start with they comp'd my lamb chops and my 2 drinks (hubby had tea). We had to ask about off menu items, we weren't told all of them. Ask chops to be medium, they were rare, sent back, then came back well done. Off of 4 small chops, there was maybe 2 oz of meat. My husband had salmon. Nice portion, no flavor. Our waiter was inattentive, was "too busy" with larger tables (?). We have been there for lunch several times, but this just wasn't worth it, nor good. I really can't recommend anything. It was my husband's birthday, but we didn't even wait for the dessert, the waiter seemed a little miffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Made reservation for 6 of us. We were surprised when we were given a private dining room. The wait staff was wonderful -- helpful but not intrusive. The tomato salad was amazing. It was huge though. Others ordered the salad and the chicken/corn chowder soup. Everyone loved what they ordered. Those of us that ordered the petit filet, loved our meals -- cooked just the way we ordered them. The roasted asparagus was great too. Others ordered the trout, and that was a big hit . We all left full and happy and plan to return soon. The dining room was packed when we left, so reservations look necessary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It had been a couple of years since we had dinner at Truffles. On their email list. Not anymore. Our server forgot to mention or introduce himself. Never asked if we were celebrating a special occasion. I had mention when I made reservations that it was my birthday. The server (Matt only because we asked) was very knowledgeable about the food and wine. The mgr. never came by our table to inquire how we were doing. He did a lot of walking around but not stopping by the tables. Finally we were asked if there was anything else like dessert. I finally asked about if there was something a little special for my birthday. Matt said they could fix something up. Never did wish me Happy Birthday. I got the mgr attention and told him about our experience thus far. He mention he had seen in the bookings that it was my birthday and he leaves it to the server. Guess it his beneath him or his duties. It would have been nice if we had been greeted by the hostess with a Happy Birthday or anybody. The mgr although not rude was not friendly and very offish. We won't be back. To many other places where they have excellent food with a friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The service was outstanding and the food was amazing. The wine list was extensive (over 30 pages of cabernets) and hit all price points. The Valpolicella was amazing. Pre dinner salads were huge, filet mignon was done perfectly, and the bananas foster was wonderful. Excellent experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

food was delicious; atmosphere fairly quiet and conducive to conversation

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent, will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Very slow service. 6:30 reservation Slow to take order, slow to receive dinner and slow to get check

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great service, amazing food, outstanding wine list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Had the soft shell crab this time. Very good but left hungry. Weird. Hanger steak looked good. I'll stick with what I know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Truffle's in my opinion has evolved into the best restaurant in St. Louis. The service is consistently excellent. More importantly the quality of the food and the innovative items on the menu are outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Always have a great meal at Truffles. Service is excellent also.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The service and wine list at Truffles are second to none. Our server had only been with the restaurant for three weeks...but you never would have known. He was knowledgeable, appropriately attentive, and provided excellent guidance. The wine list included options from even the most obscure regions. While I didn't love my entree (a special), the others at my table were pleased with their meals.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I would give Truffles an overall great rating, except for one incident. Great food. Wait staff was excellent. The problem was, unfortunately, our first contact. We made a reservation well in advance. We got to the restaurant and we were seated right away. But ... for an anniversary dinner, the hostess sat us at the absolute worst table in the restaurant. Literally the only table in the doorway to the kitchen and next to the wait station. Completely unacceptable. And absolutely no reason for it. Restaurant was never more than 2/3 full the entire night. And it was a 4 top for a party of 2! Fortunately, our waiter (I wish I could remember his name!) immediately offered to seat us at another table. So no harm and the rest of the meal was great. But there is really no excuse for the hostess. Completely thoughtless.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

One of the best meals ever!! Would highly recommend it to my friends!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Always a great meal and a beautiful atmosphere. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Our meal was delicious. The wait staff was very attentive. The wine list is impressive.
A little expensive, but we enjoyed it and will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great food; terrific service. Fun bar scene after dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Always great. Perfect mix of elegant and casual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Good atmosphere and service. All food was good except the fried soft shell crab. Very nice time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was delicious. Two days later we are still talking about it. We also really liked the pictures on the wall

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It was our second time here and unfortunately it was like most sequels...disappointing. We loved our first visit. This time we went for Mother's Day dinner (Sat night before). Food was great as it was before. The hostess and our server were clueless with regards to customer service. I must say, their clientele is made up of two distinct pretentious categories...The gaudy jeweled elders or their trust fund babies. But if that's your thing...hanging around ostentatious people, this is you place. My wife and I couldn't get out of there quick enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

 
·Dined on May 10, 2017

Food was delicious and service was amazing. I will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was delicious and innovative. The service from Yoa was attentive, personable and hospitable. The wine runs from expensive to OMG! It is no doubt very good, but the $25 corkage fee makes bringing your own cost effective.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent all around as usual. Everything is delicious but if you can't decide their burgers are exceptional and the roasted chicken superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Celebrating a birthday and Truffles made it fun and nice. Alex, the manager, and his staff are attentive and cordial.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great new menu additions for the spring - wish I could have ordered them all .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Wonderful food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

One of the best in St. Louis!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Heather and Daniel, our servers, were very attentive and informative. As always the food was beyond perfection. The outdoor patio seating is a nice addition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent inalienable aspects. Dine their weekly. Chef is exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We have been extremely impressed with Truffles of late. On this evening we enjoyed a terrific beet salad and a wedge salad. The steaks we ordered were some of the most perfectly cooked and flavorful steaks I have ever eaten. I cannot wait to get back to TRUFFLES for my next meal!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.