Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 1.87mi
  3. Distance: 2.00mi
  4. Distance: 2.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 1.87mi
  3. Distance: 2.00mi
  4. Distance: 2.05mi

About Truffles - St. Louis

"Truffles has always managed that elusive balance of refinement and relaxed casualness...” Sauce, 8/2011

“This is a top-tier eatery. The kitchen is reinvigorated and inventive…” STL Magazine, 5/2011.

Truffles strives to produce a menu that easily fuses rustic and contemporary American cooking. With simplicity and seasonality as our guide, house-made specialties such as pasta and salumi are prepared fresh every day and are complemented by choice selections of locally sourced and raised meats, seafood and inventive sides. The Truffles menu begins in the fields, rivers and farms of the Midwest and our award-winning wine list features wines from every corner of the earth. We bring the best flavors of the season direct to your plate.

9202 Clayton Road
St. Louis, MO 63124
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Price Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 567-9100

Website:
http://www.todayattruffles.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday and Saturday from 9PM to 1AM live music at the bar.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Benack

Private Party Facilities:
For your special occasions or business functions, reserve the Hat's room, the private dining room seating up to 20 guests. Truffles will create a menu to fit your needs & budget.

Private Party Contact:
Aleksandar Jovanovic: (314) 567-9100

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Truffles - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Romantic (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Business Meals (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Cozy (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Fun (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Healthy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Live Music (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Casual (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
685 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

food was delicious; atmosphere fairly quiet and conducive to conversation

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Very slow service. 6:30 reservation Slow to take order, slow to receive dinner and slow to get check

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great service, amazing food, outstanding wine list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Had the soft shell crab this time. Very good but left hungry. Weird. Hanger steak looked good. I'll stick with what I know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Truffle's in my opinion has evolved into the best restaurant in St. Louis. The service is consistently excellent. More importantly the quality of the food and the innovative items on the menu are outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Always have a great meal at Truffles. Service is excellent also.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The service and wine list at Truffles are second to none. Our server had only been with the restaurant for three weeks...but you never would have known. He was knowledgeable, appropriately attentive, and provided excellent guidance. The wine list included options from even the most obscure regions. While I didn't love my entree (a special), the others at my table were pleased with their meals.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I would give Truffles an overall great rating, except for one incident. Great food. Wait staff was excellent. The problem was, unfortunately, our first contact. We made a reservation well in advance. We got to the restaurant and we were seated right away. But ... for an anniversary dinner, the hostess sat us at the absolute worst table in the restaurant. Literally the only table in the doorway to the kitchen and next to the wait station. Completely unacceptable. And absolutely no reason for it. Restaurant was never more than 2/3 full the entire night. And it was a 4 top for a party of 2! Fortunately, our waiter (I wish I could remember his name!) immediately offered to seat us at another table. So no harm and the rest of the meal was great. But there is really no excuse for the hostess. Completely thoughtless.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

One of the best meals ever!! Would highly recommend it to my friends!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Always a great meal and a beautiful atmosphere. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Our meal was delicious. The wait staff was very attentive. The wine list is impressive.
A little expensive, but we enjoyed it and will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food; terrific service. Fun bar scene after dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Always great. Perfect mix of elegant and casual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Good atmosphere and service. All food was good except the fried soft shell crab. Very nice time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It was our second time here and unfortunately it was like most sequels...disappointing. We loved our first visit. This time we went for Mother's Day dinner (Sat night before). Food was great as it was before. The hostess and our server were clueless with regards to customer service. I must say, their clientele is made up of two distinct pretentious categories...The gaudy jeweled elders or their trust fund babies. But if that's your thing...hanging around ostentatious people, this is you place. My wife and I couldn't get out of there quick enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was delicious. Two days later we are still talking about it. We also really liked the pictures on the wall

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 11, 2017

Food was delicious and service was amazing. I will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was delicious and innovative. The service from Yoa was attentive, personable and hospitable. The wine runs from expensive to OMG! It is no doubt very good, but the $25 corkage fee makes bringing your own cost effective.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent all around as usual. Everything is delicious but if you can't decide their burgers are exceptional and the roasted chicken superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Celebrating a birthday and Truffles made it fun and nice. Alex, the manager, and his staff are attentive and cordial.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great new menu additions for the spring - wish I could have ordered them all .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Wonderful food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

One of the best in St. Louis!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Heather and Daniel, our servers, were very attentive and informative. As always the food was beyond perfection. The outdoor patio seating is a nice addition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent inalienable aspects. Dine their weekly. Chef is exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We have been extremely impressed with Truffles of late. On this evening we enjoyed a terrific beet salad and a wedge salad. The steaks we ordered were some of the most perfectly cooked and flavorful steaks I have ever eaten. I cannot wait to get back to TRUFFLES for my next meal!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I liked it because it was quiet - it was a Tuesday night - don't know about other nights.
Also the fish was superb!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Really great experience and food and service. The hat trick of all Ladue restaurants! Had the HANGER STEAK. A rarity on menus because it's hard to make right but it was perfect. Trout good. Salmon good. Soup excellent. Port wine 😔 not so good. Back In Two weeks.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The food was great, the service was excellent! Certain portions could be slightly larger for the prices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had impeccable service and our waiter offered fabulous suggestions for what to order, both drinks and food. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Delightful lunch with friends - quiet!! Good place to meet!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great place! We continue to return on special ocassions.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Excellent food and great service. It is always a pleasure visiting this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We were and are favorably impressed with Truffles, service and quality of food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is such a consistently great restaurant operation.
Some might find the ambience too austere, but since it is located in Ladue its clientele appreciate the traditional decor.
The only blip in service was the front desk staff not offering to check our coats upon arrival. Very surprising at this price point.
We always enjoy the menu here. Today we tried a Halibut special. The fish was wrapped in grape leaves and served atop tabbouleh salad. At first we were surprised the salad was not warm, but after several bites agreed tabbouleh is never warm and it all worked together wonderfully.
One guest ordered trout and had the buratta appetizer.
She felt the onion pepper sauté under her cheese app didn't work and that the same onion mixture was under her trout.
Our server Ryan was fantastic! Attentive and friendly, a great combination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I went to Truffles twice: once for lunch the previous week and once for dinner. I had the onion soup for lunch and the caeser salad. The slad was drowning in dressing even though I asked for light dressing. And the soup tasted like the onions had been burned, not carmelized but burned. Dinner, however, was a very good experience. There were four of us and we had ribs, steak, and duck. which were all beautiful and tasty. My burrata salad tasted as if it had been sitting in the frig all day because the outside of the usual soft cheese was hardened and difficult to cut. But the wine and the service and the food were all excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was outstanding, there is a VERY extensive wine list, and our server was excellent. Will go again and more often since very close to home

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great Saturday night dinner. Enjoyed the steak cuts and gumbo. Can't wait to return to try other menu offerings!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Delicious food (hanger steak was perfect) and attentive service. Would definitely return for dinner. The menu is on the pricey side, but this is a nice place for a special evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.