About Truffles - St. Louis

9202 Clayton Road
St. Louis, MO 63124
View Larger Map

"Truffles has always managed that elusive balance of refinement and relaxed casualness...” Sauce, 8/2011

“This is a top-tier eatery. The kitchen is reinvigorated and inventive…” STL Magazine, 5/2011.

Truffles strives to produce a menu that easily fuses rustic and contemporary American cooking. With simplicity and seasonality as our guide, house-made specialties such as pasta and salumi are prepared fresh every day and are complemented by choice selections of locally sourced and raised meats, seafood and inventive sides. The Truffles menu begins in the fields, rivers and farms of the Midwest and our award-winning wine list features wines from every corner of the earth. We bring the best flavors of the season direct to your plate.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Price Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 567-9100

Website:
http://www.todayattruffles.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday and Saturday from 9PM to 1AM live music at the bar.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Benack

Private Party Facilities:
For your special occasions or business functions, reserve the Hat's room, the private dining room seating up to 20 guests. Truffles will create a menu to fit your needs & budget.

Private Party Contact:
Aleksandar Jovanovic: 3145679100

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crispy Truffle-Mushroom Risotto Balls
Butchery Board
Roasted Bone Marrow
Bread
Gelato
Hand-Cut Tagliatelle
White Truffle Tagliatelle
Reisling
Alba White Truffle
Chocolate Truffle Cake
Spaghetti Carbonara
Piedmontese beef
Olive Oil Cake
Braised Octopus With Roasted Tomatoes And Black Garlic
Sweet potato agnolotti
Duck
Saffron Fregola
Buttermilk Panacotta
Grilled Octopus
intermezzo
Bread Plate
Amuse Bouche
White Truffle Risotto
House-Made Salumi
Trout Tartare
Gnocchi
Baby Octopus
Maccheroni Verdi With Pork Ragu
Roasted Beef Bone Marrow
Casarecce
Beef shortrib
wagyu steak
Rapini
Strettini Pasta
Mac and Cheese
Sliders
Roasted Beef Marrow Bone
Trout Crudo
Risotto
Iron skillet polenta
House Cured Salume
Bone Marrow
roasted cauliflower
Crispy panelle
Warm Bread Basket
White asparagus with poached egg
Beignets
Capellini with sea urchin
Snapper
Day Boat Fluke
Braised Ox Tail Ragu
New Orleans BBQ Shrimp
Mussels
Louisiana Boudin Croquettas
Wedge Salad
Almond Trout
lobster roll

Truffles - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
St. Louis
Contemporary American
St. Louis
Best Food
West County
2 More
Best Ambiance
West County
Fit for Foodies
West County
Best Restaurants in Frontenac ›

fit for foodies (26)
special occasion (24)
notable wine list (19)
See All
neighborhood gem (16)
romantic (14)
vibrant bar scene (13)
great for lunch (7)
good for groups (6)
late-night find (3)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
524 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was delicious as always and service ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was delicious as always and service to match. We really enjoy Truffles and find the menu varied and affordable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and wait staff was exceptional. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Service and wait staff was exceptional. Ambiance was was very good. We were disappointed in cost of food vs value recd. outstanding was the risotto with mushrooms and truffles. Lettuce wedge salad not what we expected as we are used to the blue cheese, bacon variety. Shirt rib special was ok but the sauce was off putting. Halibut was good. Most disappointing was the bananas foster dessert. We have this in New Orleans often and fix at home. This was not fixed at table and the ice cream was half melted in the soupy brown sugar and ? Sauce.

food4
ambience3
service5

Great lunch. Food options were good and ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great lunch. Food options were good and service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I enjoyed the white table cloth ambience ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I enjoyed the white table cloth ambience and service right away. I met a friend for lunch and we were treated promptly with excellent and unrushed service. It is a perfect restaurant to enjoy quiet conversation in a lovely restaurant. The truffle risotto was outstanding...the best I ever ate. I can't wait to go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Unique menu items

Dined on June 4, 2016

Duck is simply amazing. I'd get it again. Interesting nightly specials and the beet salad is excellent too

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great. Lots of specials

Dined on June 1, 2016

Everything was really good. It's a little formal and can get busy. I'd make a reservation for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing lunch at Truffles. Ser ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We had an amazing lunch at Truffles. Service was on point and the food delicious. Highly recommend the truffle risotto and the burger!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing dinner

Dined on May 26, 2016

The best duck I've ever had, hands down...and the wine list is unrivaled in St. Louis.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening

Dined on May 26, 2016

Great staff and attentive service. The best tartar ever. The steak was juicy and really well seasoned. Duck is nnot to miss. Wine is really well priced and the list is overwhelming. Great experience overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

This was disappointing .

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I've been to Truffles before and love the food. But this time, the experience was so poor I don't know that I'll go back even for the food. When I booked my reservation, I specifically looked for a restaurant that had reservations for 10p or later as I knew we'd be coming from a show & wanted a place where the kitchen was still open. Truffles was one of those. However, when we arrived, they told us they had to put the table together - a bit surprising since few people were in the restaurant. No sooner had we sat down then the waiter came by & didn't ask for drink orders, but asked if we were ready to order as the kitchen wanted him to get the order in as they were closing. While the food was good (although my friend said her risotto was too salty to finish), the service kept going downhill. We felt very rushed, had to ask for things & were never asked if we wanted dessert nor was a thank you for dining with us said when the checks were brought. It seemed like the server had seldom, if ever, waited on tables & didn't seem to have any support as all staff was gone when we left. We went into the bar after dinner & staff there was friendly and helpful - but I'm not sure I'll try the dining room again. It left a really bad taste in my mouth. If you don't want late reservations, then don't make them available. I'd made my reservation far enough in advance that if it was an error, someone had plenty of time to reach out to me to notify me. Very disappointing.

food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Not happy with my food.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very expensive for how my food was. Salad was the only thing that I enjoyed. My halibut was so mushy, I couldn't tell the difference between the fish and the mashed potatoes it was over. A friend we were with had a simiar experience, he had the bronzini fish and it had bones and was very small amount of fish. Will not be back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Great service

Dined on April 29, 2016

The service we received was beyond great. The food is good but on a Thursday night the dining room was virtually empty. The bar was packed (as always) a testament to Duke and his troops running things and making it look effortless. Too bad they can't double the bar size and get a simpler menu that's more cost efficient. The "special" that evening was a 4 ounce Waygu steak for $99 ridiculous.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I enjoyed a late lunch at Tr ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a late lunch at Truffles, our first dining experience here. If you're fortunate to have Courtney as your server, you'll appreciate her knowledgeable menu recommendations. If you're a martini snob like me, definitely order one. Their martinis, to include the espresso desert martini, are outstanding. Definitely try the steak tacos, truffle risotto, and creme brulee. Everyone was completely professional and friendly. We will definitely return!

food5
ambience5
service5

Truffles is always good. Last night it ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Truffles is always good. Last night it was spectacular! The rack of lamb was superb and the hanger steak also really great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on April 6, 2016

Super friendly staff and exceptional food. Trout is amazing and the Smoked Duck is the best duck you'll ever have. Chocolate Bar is noot to be missed. The wine list has to be the best in a State! It's a book! Amazing place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the chef's tasting menu with the ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

We had the chef's tasting menu with the wine pairing. Everything was superb !

food4
ambience3
service2

Had trout. For $ 31.00, the portion was ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Had trout. For $ 31.00, the portion was very small. Will go back as its a nice neighborhood restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Great place for lunch with a group of la ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Great place for lunch with a group of ladies. Can talk easily. Very quiet. Food was quite good. Tends to be on the expensive side. But overall, a great experience. I was only there for lunch so I cannot review dinner food.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on March 22, 2016

One of the best meals in a long time. Specials were amazing. Burata and Branzino...Wine list is just plain nuts and the prices are more than fair. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Diffinately better places in St Louis

Dined on March 19, 2016

Bone marrow was a huge disappointment! Wasn't cooked correctly. The savory bread pudding was disappointing as well. The smoked duck was good!

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Extensive wine list and excellent menu. ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Extensive wine list and excellent menu. The tuna lettuce wraps were delicious, but the sauce needed to be reduced slightly to keep from dripping. The tomato and cucumber salad was perfect as was the mushroom risotto and snapper, which had a wonderful flavor. The Caesar salad was very over dressed. Their chocolate chip cookie recipe has slightly too much flour in it. Overall very good. It's one of those restaurants you know you can go and always get great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood Gem

Dined on March 10, 2016

We had dinner here on a Thursday night and really enjoyed our visit. The bar was packed at 5 pm with well dressed patrons across a broad age range. We sat in the dining room which was not packed at all, very quiet, well lighted, plenty of competent servers. Our amuse was an oyster with mignonette which was very well done. The mignonette enhanced but didn't overpower the oyster. Our first course was an amazing artichoke and parmesan soup. The artichoke flavor was intense but the soup was very light - no cream and a perfect smooth texture. I had the tuna appetizer - 3 lettuce leaves with raw tuna, shaved jalapeno, wonton threads and a light dressing. Delicious. My companions had the trout and the snapper which they loved. The wine list is extensive with some very well priced wines. Rather surprising for the location. We had an amazing Riesling for $40. I would highly recommend this restaurant and look forward to visiting the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding tasting menu

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Tasting menu, offered on Friday and Saturday, was again outstanding. The best in St. Louis. And the wine pairings were excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

We are from out of town & it was our fir ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

We are from out of town & it was our first time to try Truffles. The food was fantastic & the wine list is superb.

food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Average for a special occasion

Dined on February 21, 2016

My husband and I went here for our first date night in ages. Our intention was go to someplace nice . I wish I could have given it 2.5 stars because it wasn't "fair" or "good," per se, it was more average. The food was fine. We both had a filet. I ordered mine medium and it came well done but tasted good. My husband ordered his medium and it was cooked accordingly. The appetizer crab cake was a bit runny on the inside - so much so that I had trouble eating it with a fork. Also, the tables are way too close together. I am not a big person and I had to be extremely careful and walk sideways not to knock over wine glasses when I was walking between our table and the table right next to us. That said, the service was very good. Everyone was very friendly and they were very accommodating when I called and asked to delay our reservation by a half hour. It is definitely an older crowd - we are in our late thirties and I felt like we were definitely the youngest patrons. For the money, we will try another place next time but I wouldn't be opposed to going back if someone else suggested it.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on February 20, 2016

My husband and I were looking for something different than we usually do for Anniversary's or holidays and I found this little gem online. I was blown away with the service and quality of food. The server came out of the kitchen with a special appetizer compliments of the chef and they also didn't charge us for our dessert because it was our Anniversary which was a VERY pleasant surprise. Price is a little high but that is expected for this area and for the quality of food. We will definitely be going back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Couldn't fault

Dined on February 17, 2016

Classy restaurant without being stuffy. Great menu and wine list. I chose the duck dish and it was the best duck I've had, juicy and full of flavor. My husband had the lamb which was delicious. For our next special event, we are heading back here!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Great romantic dinner. Wonderful time with my wife. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing and the service was ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was also very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on February 9, 2016

Quiet night and romantic music. Our meal was exceptional, starting with tuna wraps and steak tartar. Server recommended their grower champagne as a pairing and it was perfect. We finished with the prime ribeye and the duck. Possibly the finest steak in the city and definitely the best duck I've ever head. Candy bar was to die for. Can't wait to go back and try one of their Master Tastinngs.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on February 7, 2016

Great dinner. Super friendly staff from the moment we walked in. Really interesting menu with a little bit of something for everyone. My duck was outstanding and the hanger steak was exceptional. Amazing wine selection. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good restaurant

Dined on February 6, 2016

had dinner there before the opera. It was so good, we went back afterwards for late night snack and drinks

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Always awesome.

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Always awesome.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Filet Mignon in St. louis

Dined on February 3, 2016

When I want a fabulous Filet, I run to Truffles. Rare is rare. Taste is supreme. Husband orders Dover Sole and loves it. Another diner ordered the Duck and it was fabulous. Save room for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Astounding.

Dined on January 31, 2016

I do not become excited about many restaurants, but this one blew me away. My fiancée had the duck, and I can honestly say it was the best duck I've had in my life. Definitely worth the price. Not only was the food and service amazing, the wine list was even better. I definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a good night out

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Place

Dined on January 31, 2016

We have made Truffles our special occasion Go To since we discovered it on Valentine's Day last year. What a gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Overrated - Extremely disappointed with our visit

Dined on January 24, 2016

We were excited to try a new restaurant. We arrived early to have a pre-meal cocktail. The bar was packed, there was no room. So we asked to be seated. The menu looked delicious with a lot of options. We ordered the BBQ shrimp app. Before the app came, the manager came over with a Shrimp Ceviche amuse bouche. It was so good! We were excited that if this was to start, everything else must be just as good. Unfortunately, it was the best thing we had all night. Everything went downhill from there. The BBQ shrimp was ok. I prefer a little more kick in my BBQ shrimp and definitely have had better. We then ordered a second course. I had the "Famous" French Onion Soup and my husband ordered the house salad. The soup looked better than it tasted, it was below standard. Not sure why it is "Famous"? The salad was nothing special. We moved onto entrees. I ordered the prime rib (can't go wrong) and my husband ordered the filet. He chose not to get a sauce for it. I was satisfied with the prime rib, but my mother makes better, I am spoiled. It was nothing special. They only served a horseradish cream (no gravy). I ordered Medium rare and it was cooked perfectly. My husband ordered his filet medium and received medium well +. He felt that they didn't season it and when I asked, he said they must offer so many sauces to hide that it is under seasoned. My biggest problem was the server. My husband ordered a wine and instead of telling him that they no longer carried it, she just served him something else. We found out because he ordered that wine for his second glass and she quietly said "so the same thing". I was floored. She said it so quietly, that my husband did not hear it. We asked her when she came back and she finally explained it. She should have been upfront to begin with. The positives were the amuse bouche and I have to say the busser was exceptional. (far better service from him than the server.) From this experience, we will not return and would not recommend it.

food5
ambience5
service5

The simple name does not do this excelle ...

vip
Dined on January 20, 2016

The simple name does not do this excellent restaurant justice. All aspects of the experience were exceptional.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Hit or miss

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

We've eaten at Truffles several times over the last few years. Each time the experience and food has been hit or miss. Unfortunately, this last time the food was a miss. Not sure if chef went on a health kick, but everything that we ordered was bland and needed salt (the soup, butter, salad dressing and main course). Also, while this is an elegant restaurant, we found the prices were quite high for what you received. Truffle's is a very pretty restaurant and the service was very good, but that was not enough to offset bland dishes and high prices.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food.

Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was delicious. Service was very friendly. I would definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.