About Truffles - St. Louis

"Truffles has always managed that elusive balance of refinement and relaxed casualness...” Sauce, 8/2011

“This is a top-tier eatery. The kitchen is reinvigorated and inventive…” STL Magazine, 5/2011.

Truffles strives to produce a menu that easily fuses rustic and contemporary American cooking. With simplicity and seasonality as our guide, house-made specialties such as pasta and salumi are prepared fresh every day and are complemented by choice selections of locally sourced and raised meats, seafood and inventive sides. The Truffles menu begins in the fields, rivers and farms of the Midwest and our award-winning wine list features wines from every corner of the earth. We bring the best flavors of the season direct to your plate.

9202 Clayton Road
St. Louis, MO 63124
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Price Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 567-9100

Website:
http://www.todayattruffles.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday and Saturday from 9PM to 1AM live music at the bar.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Benack

Private Party Facilities:
For your special occasions or business functions, reserve the Hat's room, the private dining room seating up to 20 guests. Truffles will create a menu to fit your needs & budget.

Private Party Contact:
Aleksandar Jovanovic: (314) 567-9100

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Truffles - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Romantic (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Great for Lunch (8)
Business Meals (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Authentic (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Cozy (4)
Live Music (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Private Room (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Casual (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
636 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 15 hours ago

Waiter asked for drink order but since we were not ready he went off to serve other tables. Had to ask the manager to find our server to take our drink order once we were ready. Ordered a burger without cheese in the junior size and received a burger with cheese in the larger size. Side dish of coleslaw was a inedible. Bacon on the burger had been refrigerated with so-so taste. Service was very good once we ordered

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

It had been a while (more than 5 years) since my last visit and I don't know why. The staff is terrific, friendly and attentive and the food delicious. it seemed to be a busy night, but we never felt rushed and the staff was efficient and quiet as the tables on either side of us were cleared and set for arriving diners. The décor is terrific and terrifically well maintained through the years (I was in there 15 years ago when it was being constructed).

The only glitch occurred when they accidently put another table's similar tab on my CC, but they graciously apologized and corrected that as soon as I pointed it out (they are not the first to do that in the last few years which is why its smart to check both the initial tab and the CC tab when dining out)

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great place to celebrate an occasion with friends. Service was as hoped for; not hovering but conscientious. After dinner coffee was excellent, both regular and decaf. Each one of us ordered a different entree, and each of us was pleased with the selection. Expect it to be pricey, but worth it for special days.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner was terrific. A little close quarters on the special occasion, but the food and service more than made up for it. Our waiter, Yao, was attentive, funny, and full of terrific advice. Highly recommended when price is no object.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went toTruffles for Valentine's Day and were not disappointed! We split the impressive Seafood Tower and it was amazing. Even left enough room for an ice cream dessert!

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Hadn't been here in a while, forgot how good it was. Great, friendly staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our food was great! We had the BBQ shrimp and I had the Burger for dinner. I cannot remember our servers name. She was FABULOUS! SO so so sweet! Great experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It had been a few years since I had been to Truffles--and now, I'm in no hurry to go back. The service was insanely slow. It was a busy Friday night, but even so, our server was taking care of a large private party, which clearly should have been his only responsibility. He had no time for us. We waited forever to give him our orders, forever to receive them...and when we finally did get our entrees, my steak (which I ordered medium) was barely med-rare. It was not a good cut of meat, either. Very fatty. I would expect far better for the price! To their credit, they brought us a couple of complimentary desserts, but it was really a case of too little, too late. We basically felt ignored all night & in this town, there are plenty of other choices that will keep me from returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food, service and ambiance was perfect. I never have a bad meal or disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

If this was my first visit to Truffles I would probably have treated this review differently. Truffles has been in my top three St. Louis restaurants for several years and unfortunately this visit actually missed on a few fronts.

It took a while for our waiter to get to our table, which we understood since they were busy. After taking the drink orders, it took about 10 minutes for most of us to get our drinks and more than 20 minutes for one of us. And the one of us was my wife, who ordered a simple glass of white wine. After waiting a few minutes she actually had to get up to find our waiter to ask for her wine. Not good.

Orders were taken and served in a reasonable amount of time. After tempting the table with a fish special for the night and listening to two order it, the waiter returned a short while later to announce that they were out. Yes, that happens. But in a better restaurant, the wait staff is given warnings by the kitchen about short supplies of entrees (we have had that happen many times and we appreciated the heads up), rather than taking the order and then forcing diners to go over the menu to pick out a second choice. All enjoyed their entrees, although the yorkshire pudding served with my main course was dried out and hard. Disappointing.

The main problem was the wine service. I brought two good bottles of wine. The waiter opened the first bottle and that was about it. After waiting for him to pour the wine, I finally poured it. After waiting for re-pours, I had to keep pouring the wine. After waiting for him to open the second bottle, I had to do that myself (I carry a wine key in my wine case). And, you guessed it, I had to pour from that bottle as well. He seldom visited our table, which was the reason we had to self pour the wine. That did not keep him from charging the $25 corkage per bottle. Not cool!

We will go back, but we won't rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Outstanding meat and cheese board.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Limited menu and poor mains marred an otherwise good experience, detracting from excellent service, good appetizers and tasty deserts. Ambiance still good but has gone downmarket a bit. First-rate wine list with many over-the-top prices. Needed: a new chef!

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 18, 2017

This restaurant is centrally located in the St. Louis metro area and is easy to get to from Highway 64 or driving on Clayton Road. Parking is more than adequate. Menu is diverse enough to meet anyone's preference or dietary restrictions. Service is impeccable. Ambiance is excellent. Restaurant is not noisy as the surfaces are soft rather than hard surfaces found in many restaurants today. Menu pricing is reasonable for all the attributes of the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very good food. The staff is incredibly kind and very attentive to food allergies. If you have never been try the burger, it's the best in town!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always excellent food and service! A very nice evening!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was really good and so was the service. We were able to locate it as we had been there a couple of years before.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Exceptional food and best steak we have had in St. Louis

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

the whole evening was wonderful from start to finish

Tags: People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were expecting great things since it came highly recommended and we were not at all disappointed. Every expectation was met.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Went there to see live music and have dinner - was happy on both counts! It's a lively bar area, so get there early to be able to sit and eat. The food was outstanding and the wait staff extremely attentive. Definitely worth a trip there. They also have their own butchery located next door, so if you're local stop in and check it out for some great take-home fare!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Truffles is a fantastic place for dining. We have been there before, and will certainly return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner was perfect. Quiet enough that our family could talk and great food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food & service! We enjoyed our evening out!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A taste of continental dining in St Louis. Simply superb. The Dover sole at its finest presented before deboning!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Outstanding in every way. The Beal was delicious and artistically presented. The service was respectful and fun. This was the perfect retreat. Ask for Rico.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Wonderful Christmas lunch with girls! Food was delicious and service superb.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have been to Truffles a number of times for special occasions, such as birthdays. The service and quality of food are both truly outstanding! The attention to detail is clearly evident. When it comes to the wine list, I believe Truffles has no match in the St. Louis metro area.

Thanks for a great experience!

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great wine program with one of the city's more capable sommeliers. Took business associates who prefer traditional fare. The beef filets were perfectly prepared and paired with lovely accompanying roasted veggies. Bar area was filled with a lively crowd, but the dining room was mercifully quiet enough for conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We were seated and within 5 minutes there was a major water leak. No one asked if we wanted to move tables but kept serving us while apologizing. The restaurant was not full so it could easily have been done. After we were served our meal, the waiter came and suggested we leave as soon as possible as the leak which was still going on and had been the entire time, was hazardous. We paid and left with no compensation or even hint of any one. Retched experience as the leak was very loud and dangerous to boot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Love the new, expanded lunch menu! Staff is incredible, as always!!Also, bonus was The Butchery right next door. Wonderful products you won't find anywhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Meat! And sides and amazing desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We had another wonderful meal at Truffles. The service is always friendly and efficient and the food is always delicious. We love to start off with a cocktail or glass of wine and then get the BBQ shrimp appetizer (the best dish on the menu), a salad or soup, and then one of the always wonderful entrees.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was our first time at Truffles. Sad to say it wasn't great.

We came in early and had a nice drink at the bar. The bartenders were both working hard but engaging.

The only major problem was we were at a table for 2 as you enter the restaurant sitting between a half wall and the aisle. Felt like we were in a hallway. Wait staff and customers all were buzzing by all night long. Worst table in the house. If they sit you there ask to be reseated!

The waiter was nice and well informed. He gave excellent recommendations. Food was good but excellent.

We will come back again and see if we have a better experience at a different table. That may help all our senses at that experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food and service! For some reason, they nicely gave us our dessert for free.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We will return and recommend this restaurant to others. Very nice and the fact that we could make reservations was notable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Service was disappointing for such an upscale place. Very slow at the start to attend to us. Poorly written menu options caused disappointment. This is partly the management's fault, but an experienced server would know to explain how certain orders cancel out other parts of the menu that were promised. And would have made things right without sticking us for another charge-- or at least warned us that making things right would generate another charge...that was sleazy.

The food is very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is the second time that I have been at Truffles recently and I was VERY impressed. They menu has a Louisiana flare to it with gumbo, Cajun spices on dishes and trout almandine. That being said, I chose a steak and this prime New York strip was amazing. It was a great cut of beef, perfectly cooked to seal in all of the natural flavor. A friend of mine got the ribeye and was equally impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was our second time at Truffles. We really like the "classic steakhouse" feel and the crab cakes and lobster roll are wonderful. We also had the duck ravioli special - wonderfully gamey paired with an Oregon pinot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was our first time at Truffles but will not be the last. Food, service, ambiance were all excellent. We went at lunch and found the menu had great variety. Next time we will go back for dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I normally wouldn't write a review on a place after only one experience but this place was outstanding. Had an anniversary dinner here and the place was cozy but lively with locals as well. The meal was perfect. I had a filet that was outstanding and my wife had the duck which she described as the best she's ever had. We explored the bar area after dinner where we enjoyed the sounds of a fantastic 4 pc. Jazz set that was fantastic. A wonderful and memorable evening... Thank You Truffles!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

As always the food and service were great. Adam was as usual very attentive and thorough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Never disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Service by the waiter,Scott M, was poor. Never brought a second beer that was ordered but charged for it. When we said we hadn't received it, he asked us if we were sure. Very rude. The wait staff that brought the food out was very good. Scott ruined our 42nd anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was delicious! The service was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Delicious as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 10, 2016

10 picky ladies out for dinner. Everyone wanted different drinks, wine-food. The timing and the presentation is always perfect. And they have the most delicious gourmet burger in St.Louis. Steaks, salads. French fries are all outstanding!

The service is always excellent as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Everything was very nice. We were entertaining a special academic leader and he was favorably impressed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.