About Truffles - St. Louis

9202 Clayton Road
St. Louis, MO 63124
View Larger Map

"Truffles has always managed that elusive balance of refinement and relaxed casualness...” Sauce, 8/2011

“This is a top-tier eatery. The kitchen is reinvigorated and inventive…” STL Magazine, 5/2011.

Truffles strives to produce a menu that easily fuses rustic and contemporary American cooking. With simplicity and seasonality as our guide, house-made specialties such as pasta and salumi are prepared fresh every day and are complemented by choice selections of locally sourced and raised meats, seafood and inventive sides. The Truffles menu begins in the fields, rivers and farms of the Midwest and our award-winning wine list features wines from every corner of the earth. We bring the best flavors of the season direct to your plate.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Price Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 567-9100

Website:
http://www.todayattruffles.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday and Saturday from 9PM to 1AM live music at the bar.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Benack

Private Party Facilities:
For your special occasions or business functions, reserve the Hat's room, the private dining room seating up to 20 guests. Truffles will create a menu to fit your needs & budget.

Private Party Contact:
Aleksandar Jovanovic: 3145679100

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Almond Trout  - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
roasted chicken breast - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Beets Salad - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
BBQ Shrimp - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Filet Mignon - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Tuna Wraps - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Truffle Rissotto - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Fioe Gras - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Crispy Truffle-Mushroom Risotto Balls - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Roasted Bone Marrow - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Bread - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Gelato - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
White Truffle Tagliatelle - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Hand-Cut Tagliatelle - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Reisling - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Alba White Truffle - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Chocolate Truffle Cake - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Spaghetti Carbonara - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Piedmontese beef  - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Olive Oil Cake - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Braised Octopus With Roasted Tomatoes And Black Garlic - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Duck - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Sweet potato agnolotti - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
intermezzo - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Saffron Fregola - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Buttermilk Panacotta - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Grilled Octopus - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Bread Plate - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Amuse Bouche - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
White Truffle Risotto - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
House-Made Salumi - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Gnocchi - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Trout Tartare - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Baby Octopus - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Roasted Beef Bone Marrow - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Maccheroni Verdi With Pork Ragu - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Rapini - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Strettini Pasta - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Beef shortrib - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Casarecce - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
wagyu steak - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Mac and Cheese - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Sliders - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Butchery Board - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Trout Crudo - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Roasted Beef Marrow Bone - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
roasted cauliflower - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Warm Bread Basket - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Risotto - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Beignets - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
White asparagus with poached egg - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Crispy panelle - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Snapper - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
House Cured Salume - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Capellini with sea urchin - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Iron skillet polenta - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Day Boat Fluke - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Bone Marrow - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
New Orleans BBQ Shrimp - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Louisiana Boudin Croquettas - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Mussels - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Braised Ox Tail Ragu - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Wedge Salad - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
lobster roll - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO

Truffles - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
St. Louis
Best Overall
West County
Best Food
West County
Best Restaurants in Frontenac ›

Special Occasion (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (14)
Bar Seating (10)
Cozy (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Live Music (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (5)
Private Room (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
570 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was disappointing for such an up ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was disappointing for such an upscale place. Very slow at the start to attend to us. Poorly written menu options caused disappointment. This is partly the management's fault, but an experienced server would know to explain how certain orders cancel out other parts of the menu that were promised. And would have made things right without sticking us for another charge-- or at least warned us that making things right would generate another charge...that was sleazy.

The food is very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

This is the second time that I have been ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is the second time that I have been at Truffles recently and I was VERY impressed. They menu has a Louisiana flare to it with gumbo, Cajun spices on dishes and trout almandine. That being said, I chose a steak and this prime New York strip was amazing. It was a great cut of beef, perfectly cooked to seal in all of the natural flavor. A friend of mine got the ribeye and was equally impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second time at Truffles. W ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was our second time at Truffles. We really like the "classic steakhouse" feel and the crab cakes and lobster roll are wonderful. We also had the duck ravioli special - wonderfully gamey paired with an Oregon pinot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time at Truffles but ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was our first time at Truffles but will not be the last. Food, service, ambiance were all excellent. We went at lunch and found the menu had great variety. Next time we will go back for dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food and service were grea ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

As always the food and service were great. Adam was as usual very attentive and thorough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I normally wouldn't write a review on a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I normally wouldn't write a review on a place after only one experience but this place was outstanding. Had an anniversary dinner here and the place was cozy but lively with locals as well. The meal was perfect. I had a filet that was outstanding and my wife had the duck which she described as the best she's ever had. We explored the bar area after dinner where we enjoyed the sounds of a fantastic 4 pc. Jazz set that was fantastic. A wonderful and memorable evening... Thank You Truffles!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappointed!

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Never disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service by the waiter,Scott M, was poor ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Service by the waiter,Scott M, was poor. Never brought a second beer that was ordered but charged for it. When we said we hadn't received it, he asked us if we were sure. Very rude. The wait staff that brought the food out was very good. Scott ruined our 42nd anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was delicious! The service was ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was delicious! The service was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious as always!

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Delicious as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

10 picky ladies out for dinner. Everyone ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 10, 2016

10 picky ladies out for dinner. Everyone wanted different drinks, wine-food. The timing and the presentation is always perfect. And they have the most delicious gourmet burger in St.Louis. Steaks, salads. French fries are all outstanding!

The service is always excellent as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was very nice. We were enter ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Everything was very nice. We were entertaining a special academic leader and he was favorably impressed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant experience. Service was e ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Very pleasant experience. Service was extremely attentive. Food was excellent. Particularly enjoyed the duck with its accompaniments. Definitely will return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent but service was lacki ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was excellent but service was lacking on this visit. Server tried very hard to please, but either lack of training or understanding what goes into great service caused that to be noticeable. Starters were all good, except the steak tartare was on the dry side. And that despite supposedly having an egg on top that I never saw. Pork chop was out of the world good and my wife could not finish it. One friend and I had both had duck and other friend had snapper and all raved about the quality of the dinner. Orders were all wrong with sides from one on the plate of another. Three meals had to go back, but were brought back quickly with correct sides. Wine pouring was poorly done, with pours that were too tall (we had to instruct waiter how to pour wine) and then lack of pouring (we just poured ourselves). Never offered dessert and had to ask.

Have had many excellent meals at Truffles and will return for the normal great food and service that usually accompanies it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Had not been to Truffles for dinner in a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Had not been to Truffles for dinner in ages, even though it's so close to us. Boys had the gumbo first, which is great. I had the petit filet with a mix of fresh baby arugula lemon and shaved Pecorino. Perfectly cooked and just what I wanted. Shared bananas foster for dessert, which was terrific. Great wine list. Servers nicely attentive. The bar scene is very busy, but back in the restaurant you wouldn't know it, so you can have a nice dinner for 4 without shouting at each other. Will go back sooner rather than later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice decor and quiet. Very good service ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Nice decor and quiet. Very good service but not over the top. Most prices were reasonable and there is a very good selection of entrees that are not common at other restaurants. Defiitely would go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a disappointing experience at Tru ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had a disappointing experience at Truffles. We have been there before and enjoyed it. However, our recent experience has convinced us not to return. The service was poor. The waiter continually confused our order and was never around to fix it. He was rarely around our table at all. And, they gave us a spoon to use with a cheese plate. The food itself was not what we had experienced in the past, particularly the trout that was very over cooked. Just not very good overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We celebrated my wife's 65th birthday an ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We celebrated my wife's 65th birthday and our waiter and the support staff made it memorable .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service and food. We let them know ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Good service and food. We let them know that it was our anniversary, but I don't think they really cared. No big deal as far as upscale restaurants go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always fantastic and the Chef continues ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Always fantastic and the Chef continues to tweak the menu to stay fresh. One of STL best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding! We really enjoyed ourselves ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Outstanding! We really enjoyed ourselves. The meat was exquisite.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truffles has an excellent, seasonal menu ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Truffles has an excellent, seasonal menu. Their wine list is beyond impressive, and the Sommelier always provides outstanding recommendations. Matt has taken care of us several times, and the service is always remarkable. The bar is also a great place for both a before and after dinner drink, and the bartenders also provide exceptional service. I would highly recommend Truffles; it is one of our favorite local restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic dining experience! Service out ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fantastic dining experience! Service outstanding, food was delicious. The lobster roll took me back to my time in New England. The steak was perfect. The wine list was excellent, and had a large number of high quality wine by the glass options.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food! Friendly, knowledgeab ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Outstanding food! Friendly, knowledgeable servers.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fun, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful ambiance, excellent cuisine, a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, excellent cuisine, and superb service. A perfect dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Live Music, Modern Decor, People Watching, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food quality

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am never disappointed with the quality ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I am never disappointed with the quality of food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome service. Amazing wine list. Out ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Awesome service. Amazing wine list. Out of this world food!

Tags: Live Music, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always love Truffles. Great food and a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I always love Truffles. Great food and amazing service always. Love the warm cozy feel of the place. T here is always a good amount of other people dining so that the place feels busy and bustling, but the noise level is always quiet to moderate. I LOVE that about this place. Too many restaurants today are decorated so modern and it makes it hard for anyone to hear. I am very sensitive to noise and appreciate a delicious, quiet meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Casual, Private Room, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific service. Delicious food. Lovely ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Terrific service. Delicious food. Lovely atmosphere. We took another couple as our guest and we enjoyed it totally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Great wine! Great service! G ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food! Great wine! Great service! Great experience! Neighborhood gem!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truffles is a great restaurant. Their f ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Truffles is a great restaurant. Their food is wonderful. They honor their reservations on time. We have never had a problem there - even on New Year's Eve!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to lunch with a client on a Thurs ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 1, 2016

I went to lunch with a client on a Thursday, and it was like we had a private club setting. Perfection. Exceptional service, other tables were seated far enough apart for added privacy, and the food is great, too. I will definitely be back more frequently for lunch appointments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a delightful lunch. Butternut squ ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 31, 2016

We had a delightful lunch. Butternut squash

Soup, truffle risotto, and steak salad. Every dish prepared well, served at the right temperature. We had an interesting bottle of red wine that pared well with our steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good food, adequate service, very nice w ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Good food, adequate service, very nice wine list. BBQ shrimp and burger are quite good. Skip the steak. Banana Foster is an old but fun desert.

Be prepared to wait for a table even if you have reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

As alway Truffles never disappoints! CON ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 28, 2016

As alway Truffles never disappoints! CONSISTANCY is the key and it is always delicous. Truffles is one of our five go to restaraunts in town. Great service and great food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Love this place, but the last visit ther ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Love this place, but the last visit there were flies driving my clients crazy...the commented about it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Staff and food are both amazing! Their n ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Staff and food are both amazing! Their new lunch menu is the best in town. Dinner is always exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truffles never disappoints! Outstanding ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Truffles never disappoints! Outstanding as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This remains one of the top dining exper ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 6, 2016

This remains one of the top dining experiences in the St. Louis region. Food prepared Expertly service attentive not overwhelming,simply a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.