About Truffles - St. Louis

9202 Clayton Road
St. Louis, MO 63124
View Larger Map

"Truffles has always managed that elusive balance of refinement and relaxed casualness...” Sauce, 8/2011

“This is a top-tier eatery. The kitchen is reinvigorated and inventive…” STL Magazine, 5/2011.

Truffles strives to produce a menu that easily fuses rustic and contemporary American cooking. With simplicity and seasonality as our guide, house-made specialties such as pasta and salumi are prepared fresh every day and are complemented by choice selections of locally sourced and raised meats, seafood and inventive sides. The Truffles menu begins in the fields, rivers and farms of the Midwest and our award-winning wine list features wines from every corner of the earth. We bring the best flavors of the season direct to your plate.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Price Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 567-9100

Website:
http://www.todayattruffles.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday and Saturday from 9PM to 1AM live music at the bar.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Benack

Private Party Facilities:
For your special occasions or business functions, reserve the Hat's room, the private dining room seating up to 20 guests. Truffles will create a menu to fit your needs & budget.

Private Party Contact:
Aleksandar Jovanovic: 3145679100

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Almond Trout
roasted chicken breast
Beets Salad
BBQ Shrimp
Filet Mignon
Tuna Wraps
Truffle Rissotto
Fioe Gras
Crispy Truffle-Mushroom Risotto Balls
Roasted Bone Marrow
Bread
Gelato
White Truffle Tagliatelle
Hand-Cut Tagliatelle
Reisling
Alba White Truffle
Chocolate Truffle Cake
Spaghetti Carbonara
Piedmontese beef
Olive Oil Cake
Braised Octopus With Roasted Tomatoes And Black Garlic
Duck
Sweet potato agnolotti
intermezzo
Saffron Fregola
Buttermilk Panacotta
Grilled Octopus
Bread Plate
Amuse Bouche
White Truffle Risotto
House-Made Salumi
Gnocchi
Trout Tartare
Baby Octopus
Roasted Beef Bone Marrow
Maccheroni Verdi With Pork Ragu
Rapini
Strettini Pasta
Beef shortrib
Casarecce
wagyu steak
Mac and Cheese
Sliders
Butchery Board
Trout Crudo
Roasted Beef Marrow Bone
roasted cauliflower
Warm Bread Basket
Risotto
Beignets
White asparagus with poached egg
Crispy panelle
Snapper
House Cured Salume
Capellini with sea urchin
Iron skillet polenta
Day Boat Fluke
Bone Marrow
New Orleans BBQ Shrimp
Louisiana Boudin Croquettas
Mussels
Braised Ox Tail Ragu
Wedge Salad
lobster roll

Truffles - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
St. Louis
Best Food
St. Louis
Best Ambiance
St. Louis
8 More
Contemporary American
St. Louis
Best Overall
West County
Best Food
West County
Best Ambiance
West County
Fit for Foodies
West County
Neighborhood Gem
West County
Romantic
West County
Special Occasion
West County
Best Restaurants in Frontenac ›

Special Occasion (31)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
See All
Notable Wine List (20)
Romantic (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Live Music (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Cozy (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Private Room (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Casual (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
545 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful ambiance, excellent cuisine, a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, excellent cuisine, and superb service. A perfect dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Live Music, Modern Decor, People Watching, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food quality

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am never disappointed with the quality ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I am never disappointed with the quality of food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome service. Amazing wine list. Out ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Awesome service. Amazing wine list. Out of this world food!

Tags: Live Music, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always love Truffles. Great food and a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I always love Truffles. Great food and amazing service always. Love the warm cozy feel of the place. T here is always a good amount of other people dining so that the place feels busy and bustling, but the noise level is always quiet to moderate. I LOVE that about this place. Too many restaurants today are decorated so modern and it makes it hard for anyone to hear. I am very sensitive to noise and appreciate a delicious, quiet meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Casual, Private Room, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific service. Delicious food. Lovely ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Terrific service. Delicious food. Lovely atmosphere. We took another couple as our guest and we enjoyed it totally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Great wine! Great service! G ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food! Great wine! Great service! Great experience! Neighborhood gem!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truffles is a great restaurant. Their f ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Truffles is a great restaurant. Their food is wonderful. They honor their reservations on time. We have never had a problem there - even on New Year's Eve!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to lunch with a client on a Thurs ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

I went to lunch with a client on a Thursday, and it was like we had a private club setting. Perfection. Exceptional service, other tables were seated far enough apart for added privacy, and the food is great, too. I will definitely be back more frequently for lunch appointments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a delightful lunch. Butternut squ ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We had a delightful lunch. Butternut squash

Soup, truffle risotto, and steak salad. Every dish prepared well, served at the right temperature. We had an interesting bottle of red wine that pared well with our steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good food, adequate service, very nice w ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Good food, adequate service, very nice wine list. BBQ shrimp and burger are quite good. Skip the steak. Banana Foster is an old but fun desert.

Be prepared to wait for a table even if you have reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

As alway Truffles never disappoints! CON ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

As alway Truffles never disappoints! CONSISTANCY is the key and it is always delicous. Truffles is one of our five go to restaraunts in town. Great service and great food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Love this place, but the last visit ther ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Love this place, but the last visit there were flies driving my clients crazy...the commented about it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Truffles never disappoints! Outstanding ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Truffles never disappoints! Outstanding as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This remains one of the top dining exper ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This remains one of the top dining experiences in the St. Louis region. Food prepared Expertly service attentive not overwhelming,simply a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best strip steaks I've ever e ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

One of the best strip steaks I've ever eaten. Always consistent, we are never disappointed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good place for date or special occasion. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good place for date or special occasion. Great service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We totally enjoyed a wonderful dinner at ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We totally enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Truffles-St Louis tonight. The drinks and wine were very good. The bbq shrimp appetizer was outstanding. The braised meatball appetizer was very delicious. The entrees selected by the four of us were halibut and filet mignon. Everything was cooked to perfection. The service was also outstanding as it was appropriately attentive but not to be intrusive. The desserts were wonderful too.

Highly recommended for food and service.

It was a great evening with wonderful food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This ranks among the best restaurants in ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This ranks among the best restaurants in St. Louis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always delish!! They have a great menu- ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Always delish!! They have a great menu- always interesting. Devine French fries!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great but the service was a ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was great but the service was average --- at best.

The manager was a jerk --- never acknowledged anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Food was delicious as always and service ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was delicious as always and service to match. We really enjoy Truffles and find the menu varied and affordable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service and wait staff was exceptional. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service and wait staff was exceptional. Ambiance was was very good. We were disappointed in cost of food vs value recd. outstanding was the risotto with mushrooms and truffles. Lettuce wedge salad not what we expected as we are used to the blue cheese, bacon variety. Shirt rib special was ok but the sauce was off putting. Halibut was good. Most disappointing was the bananas foster dessert. We have this in New Orleans often and fix at home. This was not fixed at table and the ice cream was half melted in the soupy brown sugar and ? Sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great lunch. Food options were good and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great lunch. Food options were good and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

I enjoyed the white table cloth ambience ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I enjoyed the white table cloth ambience and service right away. I met a friend for lunch and we were treated promptly with excellent and unrushed service. It is a perfect restaurant to enjoy quiet conversation in a lovely restaurant. The truffle risotto was outstanding...the best I ever ate. I can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Unique menu items

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Duck is simply amazing. I'd get it again. Interesting nightly specials and the beet salad is excellent too

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was great. Lots of specials

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Everything was really good. It's a little formal and can get busy. I'd make a reservation for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had an amazing lunch at Truffles. Ser ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We had an amazing lunch at Truffles. Service was on point and the food delicious. Highly recommend the truffle risotto and the burger!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dinner

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The best duck I've ever had, hands down...and the wine list is unrivaled in St. Louis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great evening

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Great staff and attentive service. The best tartar ever. The steak was juicy and really well seasoned. Duck is nnot to miss. Wine is really well priced and the list is overwhelming. Great experience overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was disappointing .

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I've been to Truffles before and love the food. But this time, the experience was so poor I don't know that I'll go back even for the food. When I booked my reservation, I specifically looked for a restaurant that had reservations for 10p or later as I knew we'd be coming from a show & wanted a place where the kitchen was still open. Truffles was one of those. However, when we arrived, they told us they had to put the table together - a bit surprising since few people were in the restaurant. No sooner had we sat down then the waiter came by & didn't ask for drink orders, but asked if we were ready to order as the kitchen wanted him to get the order in as they were closing. While the food was good (although my friend said her risotto was too salty to finish), the service kept going downhill. We felt very rushed, had to ask for things & were never asked if we wanted dessert nor was a thank you for dining with us said when the checks were brought. It seemed like the server had seldom, if ever, waited on tables & didn't seem to have any support as all staff was gone when we left. We went into the bar after dinner & staff there was friendly and helpful - but I'm not sure I'll try the dining room again. It left a really bad taste in my mouth. If you don't want late reservations, then don't make them available. I'd made my reservation far enough in advance that if it was an error, someone had plenty of time to reach out to me to notify me. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Not happy with my food.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Very expensive for how my food was. Salad was the only thing that I enjoyed. My halibut was so mushy, I couldn't tell the difference between the fish and the mashed potatoes it was over.

A friend we were with had a simiar experience, he had the bronzini fish and it had bones and was very small amount of fish. Will not be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Great service

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The service we received was beyond great. The food is good but on a Thursday night the dining room was virtually empty. The bar was packed (as always) a testament to Duke and his troops running things and making it look effortless. Too bad they can't double the bar size and get a simpler menu that's more cost efficient. The "special" that evening was a 4 ounce Waygu steak for $99 ridiculous.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

My wife and I enjoyed a late lunch at Tr ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a late lunch at Truffles, our first dining experience here. If you're fortunate to have Courtney as your server, you'll appreciate her knowledgeable menu recommendations. If you're a martini snob like me, definitely order one. Their martinis, to include the espresso desert martini, are outstanding. Definitely try the steak tacos, truffle risotto, and creme brulee. Everyone was completely professional and friendly. We will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truffles is always good. Last night it ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Truffles is always good. Last night it was spectacular! The rack of lamb was superb and the hanger steak also really great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great!

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Super friendly staff and exceptional food. Trout is amazing and the Smoked Duck is the best duck you'll ever have. Chocolate Bar is noot to be missed. The wine list has to be the best in a State! It's a book! Amazing place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the chef's tasting menu with the ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We had the chef's tasting menu with the wine pairing. Everything was superb !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had trout. For $ 31.00, the portion was ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Had trout. For $ 31.00, the portion was very small. Will go back as its a nice neighborhood restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great place for lunch with a group of la ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Great place for lunch with a group of ladies. Can talk easily. Very quiet. Food was quite good. Tends to be on the expensive side. But overall, a great experience. I was only there for lunch so I cannot review dinner food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Outstanding!

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

One of the best meals in a long time. Specials were amazing. Burata and Branzino...Wine list is just plain nuts and the prices are more than fair. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.