Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 1.87mi
  3. Distance: 2.00mi
  4. Distance: 2.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 1.87mi
  3. Distance: 2.00mi
  4. Distance: 2.05mi

About Truffles - St. Louis

"Truffles has always managed that elusive balance of refinement and relaxed casualness...” Sauce, 8/2011

“This is a top-tier eatery. The kitchen is reinvigorated and inventive…” STL Magazine, 5/2011.

Truffles strives to produce a menu that easily fuses rustic and contemporary American cooking. With simplicity and seasonality as our guide, house-made specialties such as pasta and salumi are prepared fresh every day and are complemented by choice selections of locally sourced and raised meats, seafood and inventive sides. The Truffles menu begins in the fields, rivers and farms of the Midwest and our award-winning wine list features wines from every corner of the earth. We bring the best flavors of the season direct to your plate.

9202 Clayton Road
St. Louis, MO 63124
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Price Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 567-9100

Website:
http://www.todayattruffles.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday and Saturday from 9PM to 1AM live music at the bar.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Benack

Private Party Facilities:
For your special occasions or business functions, reserve the Hat's room, the private dining room seating up to 20 guests. Truffles will create a menu to fit your needs & budget.

Private Party Contact:
Aleksandar Jovanovic: (314) 567-9100

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Truffles - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Romantic (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Business Meals (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fun (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Casual (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
710 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

delicious food, crowded but wait staff was attentive

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

It is always delicious and one of the few restaurants that is quiet enough to hear a conversation!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing anniversary meal! First time in, will be back soon. The steak and lamb were perfect. The appetizers were unique and well presented. The wine list will blow your mind. Curt and his team did an absolutely fantastic job of taking care of all of our needs.
-O and C

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

As always, still probably the best large-format restaurant and bar in the St Louis area. Food is always superb with an excellent wine selection. Service, as always is spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

This is more of a special occasion restaurant as it's rather expensive but we do dine out more than we eat at home. We love Truffles. It's consistently good. This evening was especially enjoyable as our server Julie was not only excellent but quite funny and really excelled at her job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a pleasure dining at Truffles!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great food as usual! The oysters on the half shell was my favorite.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Potato was dry, presentation lacking on main dish. Got the prime cut NY strip which was cooked to perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Opened with the Butchery Board...delicious sampler of artisan cheeses , meats, toasted pumpkin seeds...generous & great starter.

Beth was our server and was attentive and helpful all evening. Great service.

My wife had the petite filet. It was cooked perfectly medium rare. I had the Dover Sole, a rarity in St Louis & expertly prepared. Delicious & beautifully presented. I also had a Caesar Salad & it was nice & cold, fresh, light, flavorful but not heavy like some Caesars.

It was my birthday and Truffle's graciously brought out a wonderful Banana's Foster with a little candle on the side. Get this desert, even if it's not your birthday.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

THIS IS THE BEST STEAK IN ST. LOUIS! The service is consistently great, the ambiance comfortable and the location is great with easy parking.

On this occasion I got the New York Strip with their amazing bernaise sauce. IT WAS PERFECT! Great flavor, cooked to temperature and tasty sides. They also had a okra special dish which everyone enjoyed. It was bartered and fried but cut lengthwise.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Excellent service and food. Generous portions... Can't say enough good things about this place. A well kept secret for lunch business meetings because it is relatively quiet.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 27, 2017

It was great. Julie S was our server and did a great job, helping us make our selections, etc. They brought out a champagne toast and chocolate truffles after the meal to help us celebrate our Anniversary...we will go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Second visit for lunch. Truffles provides a nice upscale lunch at a moderate price. Food both times has been excellently prepared and easy on the pallet. I'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Always a great time. The food is always an A+
The BBQ shrimp were amazing!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, People Watching, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our meal was delicious and our service outstanding. We even got a complimentary toast before dinner. 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻🥂🥂🥂

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Best food and service we have had in a very long time! Wine list is amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Service was excellent. Atmosphere was.great. The food was fresh but bland. The sauces la ked flavor.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The food and service is outstanding...I usually eat half of my meal and take the other half home, Much to my surprise the waiter did not give me my favorite Parmesan fries, just the salmon BLT half... diappointed!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our food was delicious. Our server, Kurt, did a wonderful job. I hadn't been here for years but can't wait to go back. That Dover sole is calling my name.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Never disappointed - great food and friendly service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

To start with they comp'd my lamb chops and my 2 drinks (hubby had tea). We had to ask about off menu items, we weren't told all of them. Ask chops to be medium, they were rare, sent back, then came back well done. Off of 4 small chops, there was maybe 2 oz of meat. My husband had salmon. Nice portion, no flavor. Our waiter was inattentive, was "too busy" with larger tables (?). We have been there for lunch several times, but this just wasn't worth it, nor good. I really can't recommend anything. It was my husband's birthday, but we didn't even wait for the dessert, the waiter seemed a little miffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Made reservation for 6 of us. We were surprised when we were given a private dining room. The wait staff was wonderful -- helpful but not intrusive. The tomato salad was amazing. It was huge though. Others ordered the salad and the chicken/corn chowder soup. Everyone loved what they ordered. Those of us that ordered the petit filet, loved our meals -- cooked just the way we ordered them. The roasted asparagus was great too. Others ordered the trout, and that was a big hit . We all left full and happy and plan to return soon. The dining room was packed when we left, so reservations look necessary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It had been a couple of years since we had dinner at Truffles. On their email list. Not anymore. Our server forgot to mention or introduce himself. Never asked if we were celebrating a special occasion. I had mention when I made reservations that it was my birthday. The server (Matt only because we asked) was very knowledgeable about the food and wine. The mgr. never came by our table to inquire how we were doing. He did a lot of walking around but not stopping by the tables. Finally we were asked if there was anything else like dessert. I finally asked about if there was something a little special for my birthday. Matt said they could fix something up. Never did wish me Happy Birthday. I got the mgr attention and told him about our experience thus far. He mention he had seen in the bookings that it was my birthday and he leaves it to the server. Guess it his beneath him or his duties. It would have been nice if we had been greeted by the hostess with a Happy Birthday or anybody. The mgr although not rude was not friendly and very offish. We won't be back. To many other places where they have excellent food with a friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The service was outstanding and the food was amazing. The wine list was extensive (over 30 pages of cabernets) and hit all price points. The Valpolicella was amazing. Pre dinner salads were huge, filet mignon was done perfectly, and the bananas foster was wonderful. Excellent experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

food was delicious; atmosphere fairly quiet and conducive to conversation

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent, will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Very slow service. 6:30 reservation Slow to take order, slow to receive dinner and slow to get check

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great service, amazing food, outstanding wine list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Had the soft shell crab this time. Very good but left hungry. Weird. Hanger steak looked good. I'll stick with what I know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Truffle's in my opinion has evolved into the best restaurant in St. Louis. The service is consistently excellent. More importantly the quality of the food and the innovative items on the menu are outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Always have a great meal at Truffles. Service is excellent also.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The service and wine list at Truffles are second to none. Our server had only been with the restaurant for three weeks...but you never would have known. He was knowledgeable, appropriately attentive, and provided excellent guidance. The wine list included options from even the most obscure regions. While I didn't love my entree (a special), the others at my table were pleased with their meals.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I would give Truffles an overall great rating, except for one incident. Great food. Wait staff was excellent. The problem was, unfortunately, our first contact. We made a reservation well in advance. We got to the restaurant and we were seated right away. But ... for an anniversary dinner, the hostess sat us at the absolute worst table in the restaurant. Literally the only table in the doorway to the kitchen and next to the wait station. Completely unacceptable. And absolutely no reason for it. Restaurant was never more than 2/3 full the entire night. And it was a 4 top for a party of 2! Fortunately, our waiter (I wish I could remember his name!) immediately offered to seat us at another table. So no harm and the rest of the meal was great. But there is really no excuse for the hostess. Completely thoughtless.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

One of the best meals ever!! Would highly recommend it to my friends!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Always a great meal and a beautiful atmosphere. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Our meal was delicious. The wait staff was very attentive. The wine list is impressive.
A little expensive, but we enjoyed it and will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great food; terrific service. Fun bar scene after dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Always great. Perfect mix of elegant and casual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Good atmosphere and service. All food was good except the fried soft shell crab. Very nice time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was delicious. Two days later we are still talking about it. We also really liked the pictures on the wall

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.