Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 1.87mi
  3. Distance: 2.00mi
  4. Distance: 2.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 1.87mi
  3. Distance: 2.00mi
  4. Distance: 2.05mi

About Truffles - St. Louis

"Truffles has always managed that elusive balance of refinement and relaxed casualness...” Sauce, 8/2011

“This is a top-tier eatery. The kitchen is reinvigorated and inventive…” STL Magazine, 5/2011.

Truffles strives to produce a menu that easily fuses rustic and contemporary American cooking. With simplicity and seasonality as our guide, house-made specialties such as pasta and salumi are prepared fresh every day and are complemented by choice selections of locally sourced and raised meats, seafood and inventive sides. The Truffles menu begins in the fields, rivers and farms of the Midwest and our award-winning wine list features wines from every corner of the earth. We bring the best flavors of the season direct to your plate.

9202 Clayton Road
St. Louis, MO 63124
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Price Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 567-9100

Website:
http://www.todayattruffles.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday and Saturday from 9PM to 1AM live music at the bar.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Benack

Private Party Facilities:
For your special occasions or business functions, reserve the Hat's room, the private dining room seating up to 20 guests. Truffles will create a menu to fit your needs & budget.

Private Party Contact:
Aleksandar Jovanovic: (314) 567-9100

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Truffles - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for a Date (24)
Notable Wine List (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Romantic (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Live Music (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Cozy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Authentic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fun (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Great new menu additions for the spring - wish I could have ordered them all .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

One of the best in St. Louis!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Heather and Daniel, our servers, were very attentive and informative. As always the food was beyond perfection. The outdoor patio seating is a nice addition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent inalienable aspects. Dine their weekly. Chef is exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I liked it because it was quiet - it was a Tuesday night - don't know about other nights.
Also the fish was superb!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Really great experience and food and service. The hat trick of all Ladue restaurants! Had the HANGER STEAK. A rarity on menus because it's hard to make right but it was perfect. Trout good. Salmon good. Soup excellent. Port wine 😔 not so good. Back In Two weeks.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The food was great, the service was excellent! Certain portions could be slightly larger for the prices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had impeccable service and our waiter offered fabulous suggestions for what to order, both drinks and food. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Delightful lunch with friends - quiet!! Good place to meet!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great place! We continue to return on special ocassions.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Excellent food and great service. It is always a pleasure visiting this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We were and are favorably impressed with Truffles, service and quality of food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is such a consistently great restaurant operation.
Some might find the ambience too austere, but since it is located in Ladue its clientele appreciate the traditional decor.
The only blip in service was the front desk staff not offering to check our coats upon arrival. Very surprising at this price point.
We always enjoy the menu here. Today we tried a Halibut special. The fish was wrapped in grape leaves and served atop tabbouleh salad. At first we were surprised the salad was not warm, but after several bites agreed tabbouleh is never warm and it all worked together wonderfully.
One guest ordered trout and had the buratta appetizer.
She felt the onion pepper sauté under her cheese app didn't work and that the same onion mixture was under her trout.
Our server Ryan was fantastic! Attentive and friendly, a great combination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I went to Truffles twice: once for lunch the previous week and once for dinner. I had the onion soup for lunch and the caeser salad. The slad was drowning in dressing even though I asked for light dressing. And the soup tasted like the onions had been burned, not carmelized but burned. Dinner, however, was a very good experience. There were four of us and we had ribs, steak, and duck. which were all beautiful and tasty. My burrata salad tasted as if it had been sitting in the frig all day because the outside of the usual soft cheese was hardened and difficult to cut. But the wine and the service and the food were all excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was outstanding, there is a VERY extensive wine list, and our server was excellent. Will go again and more often since very close to home

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great Saturday night dinner. Enjoyed the steak cuts and gumbo. Can't wait to return to try other menu offerings!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Delicious food (hanger steak was perfect) and attentive service. Would definitely return for dinner. The menu is on the pricey side, but this is a nice place for a special evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food and service consistently outstanding. Quality of meats is exceptional. Flavors and creativity are outstanding

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was very good. Service was good. They made a mistake on our order, but quickly realized and and corrected it. Server was knowledgable about the wine and specials. Will definitely go back next time I am in St Louis.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My wife and I went for our 10 year anniversary and had a romantic but fabulous experience. Our waiter and staff were very knowledgeable. Would frequent this establishment again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Overall excellent meal and service. Great menu. Terrific quality and preparation.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Just a great place for dinner with friends and to share a good bottle of wine

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Butchery plate is quite good, but the duck is not smoky enough to balance the over-sweetness.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food is very good and the fish special was outstanding . Always well-crafted food. The wine program is by far the best in St Louis.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Waiter asked for drink order but since we were not ready he went off to serve other tables. Had to ask the manager to find our server to take our drink order once we were ready. Ordered a burger without cheese in the junior size and received a burger with cheese in the larger size. Side dish of coleslaw was a inedible. Bacon on the burger had been refrigerated with so-so taste. Service was very good once we ordered

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It had been a while (more than 5 years) since my last visit and I don't know why. The staff is terrific, friendly and attentive and the food delicious. it seemed to be a busy night, but we never felt rushed and the staff was efficient and quiet as the tables on either side of us were cleared and set for arriving diners. The décor is terrific and terrifically well maintained through the years (I was in there 15 years ago when it was being constructed).

The only glitch occurred when they accidently put another table's similar tab on my CC, but they graciously apologized and corrected that as soon as I pointed it out (they are not the first to do that in the last few years which is why its smart to check both the initial tab and the CC tab when dining out)

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great place to celebrate an occasion with friends. Service was as hoped for; not hovering but conscientious. After dinner coffee was excellent, both regular and decaf. Each one of us ordered a different entree, and each of us was pleased with the selection. Expect it to be pricey, but worth it for special days.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner was terrific. A little close quarters on the special occasion, but the food and service more than made up for it. Our waiter, Yao, was attentive, funny, and full of terrific advice. Highly recommended when price is no object.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went toTruffles for Valentine's Day and were not disappointed! We split the impressive Seafood Tower and it was amazing. Even left enough room for an ice cream dessert!

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Hadn't been here in a while, forgot how good it was. Great, friendly staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our food was great! We had the BBQ shrimp and I had the Burger for dinner. I cannot remember our servers name. She was FABULOUS! SO so so sweet! Great experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It had been a few years since I had been to Truffles--and now, I'm in no hurry to go back. The service was insanely slow. It was a busy Friday night, but even so, our server was taking care of a large private party, which clearly should have been his only responsibility. He had no time for us. We waited forever to give him our orders, forever to receive them...and when we *finally* did get our entrees, my steak (which I ordered medium) was barely med-rare. It was not a good cut of meat, either. Very fatty. I would expect far better for the price! To their credit, they brought us a couple of complimentary desserts, but it was really a case of too little, too late. We basically felt ignored all night & in this town, there are *plenty* of other choices that will keep me from returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food, service and ambiance was perfect. I never have a bad meal or disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

If this was my first visit to Truffles I would probably have treated this review differently. Truffles has been in my top three St. Louis restaurants for several years and unfortunately this visit actually missed on a few fronts.

It took a while for our waiter to get to our table, which we understood since they were busy. After taking the drink orders, it took about 10 minutes for most of us to get our drinks and more than 20 minutes for one of us. And the one of us was my wife, who ordered a simple glass of white wine. After waiting a few minutes she actually had to get up to find our waiter to ask for her wine. Not good.

Orders were taken and served in a reasonable amount of time. After tempting the table with a fish special for the night and listening to two order it, the waiter returned a short while later to announce that they were out. Yes, that happens. But in a better restaurant, the wait staff is given warnings by the kitchen about short supplies of entrees (we have had that happen many times and we appreciated the heads up), rather than taking the order and then forcing diners to go over the menu to pick out a second choice. All enjoyed their entrees, although the yorkshire pudding served with my main course was dried out and hard. Disappointing.

The main problem was the wine service. I brought two good bottles of wine. The waiter opened the first bottle and that was about it. After waiting for him to pour the wine, I finally poured it. After waiting for re-pours, I had to keep pouring the wine. After waiting for him to open the second bottle, I had to do that myself (I carry a wine key in my wine case). And, you guessed it, I had to pour from that bottle as well. He seldom visited our table, which was the reason we had to self pour the wine. That did not keep him from charging the $25 corkage per bottle. Not cool!

We will go back, but we won't rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Outstanding meat and cheese board.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Limited menu and poor mains marred an otherwise good experience, detracting from excellent service, good appetizers and tasty deserts. Ambiance still good but has gone downmarket a bit. First-rate wine list with many over-the-top prices. Needed: a new chef!

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 18, 2017

This restaurant is centrally located in the St. Louis metro area and is easy to get to from Highway 64 or driving on Clayton Road. Parking is more than adequate. Menu is diverse enough to meet anyone's preference or dietary restrictions. Service is impeccable. Ambiance is excellent. Restaurant is not noisy as the surfaces are soft rather than hard surfaces found in many restaurants today. Menu pricing is reasonable for all the attributes of the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very good food. The staff is incredibly kind and very attentive to food allergies. If you have never been try the burger, it's the best in town!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.