About Truffles - St. Louis

9202 Clayton Road
St. Louis, MO 63124
View Larger Map

"Truffles has always managed that elusive balance of refinement and relaxed casualness...” Sauce, 8/2011

“This is a top-tier eatery. The kitchen is reinvigorated and inventive…” STL Magazine, 5/2011.

Truffles strives to produce a menu that easily fuses rustic and contemporary American cooking. With simplicity and seasonality as our guide, house-made specialties such as pasta and salumi are prepared fresh every day and are complemented by choice selections of locally sourced and raised meats, seafood and inventive sides. The Truffles menu begins in the fields, rivers and farms of the Midwest and our award-winning wine list features wines from every corner of the earth. We bring the best flavors of the season direct to your plate.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Price Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 567-9100

Website:
http://www.todayattruffles.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday and Saturday from 9PM to 1AM live music at the bar.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Benack

Private Party Facilities:
For your special occasions or business functions, reserve the Hat's room, the private dining room seating up to 20 guests. Truffles will create a menu to fit your needs & budget.

Private Party Contact:
Aleksandar Jovanovic: 3145679100

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Almond Trout  - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
roasted chicken breast - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Beets Salad - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
BBQ Shrimp - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Filet Mignon - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Tuna Wraps - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Truffle Rissotto - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Fioe Gras - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Crispy Truffle-Mushroom Risotto Balls - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Roasted Bone Marrow - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Bread - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Gelato - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
White Truffle Tagliatelle - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Hand-Cut Tagliatelle - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Reisling - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Alba White Truffle - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Chocolate Truffle Cake - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Spaghetti Carbonara - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Piedmontese beef  - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Olive Oil Cake - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Braised Octopus With Roasted Tomatoes And Black Garlic - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Duck - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Sweet potato agnolotti - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
intermezzo - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Saffron Fregola - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Buttermilk Panacotta - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Grilled Octopus - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Bread Plate - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Amuse Bouche - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
White Truffle Risotto - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
House-Made Salumi - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Gnocchi - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Trout Tartare - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Baby Octopus - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Roasted Beef Bone Marrow - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Maccheroni Verdi With Pork Ragu - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Rapini - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Strettini Pasta - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Beef shortrib - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Casarecce - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
wagyu steak - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Mac and Cheese - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Sliders - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Butchery Board - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Trout Crudo - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Roasted Beef Marrow Bone - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
roasted cauliflower - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Warm Bread Basket - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Risotto - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Beignets - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
White asparagus with poached egg - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Crispy panelle - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Snapper - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
House Cured Salume - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Capellini with sea urchin - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Iron skillet polenta - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Day Boat Fluke - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Bone Marrow - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
New Orleans BBQ Shrimp - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Louisiana Boudin Croquettas - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Mussels - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Braised Ox Tail Ragu - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Wedge Salad - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
lobster roll - Truffles - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO

Truffles - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
See All
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for a Date (21)
Romantic (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Authentic (9)
Business Meals (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Live Music (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Private Room (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
617 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always excellent food and service! A ver ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always excellent food and service! A very nice evening!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good and so was the ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was really good and so was the service. We were able to locate it as we had been there a couple of years before.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food and best steak we have ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Exceptional food and best steak we have had in St. Louis

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

the whole evening was wonderful from sta ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

the whole evening was wonderful from start to finish

Tags: People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were expecting great things since it ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were expecting great things since it came highly recommended and we were not at all disappointed. Every expectation was met.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there to see live music and have di ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Went there to see live music and have dinner - was happy on both counts! It's a lively bar area, so get there early to be able to sit and eat. The food was outstanding and the wait staff extremely attentive. Definitely worth a trip there. They also have their own butchery located next door, so if you're local stop in and check it out for some great take-home fare!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truffles is a fantastic place for dining ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Truffles is a fantastic place for dining. We have been there before, and will certainly return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Eve dinner

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Eve dinner was perfect. Quiet ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner was perfect. Quiet enough that our family could talk and great food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food & service! We enjoyed ou ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food & service! We enjoyed our evening out!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A taste of continental dining in St Loui ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A taste of continental dining in St Louis. Simply superb. The Dover sole at its finest presented before deboning!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding in every way. The Beal was ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Outstanding in every way. The Beal was delicious and artistically presented. The service was respectful and fun. This was the perfect retreat. Ask for Rico.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Christmas lunch with girls! F ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Wonderful Christmas lunch with girls! Food was delicious and service superb.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Truffles a number of tim ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have been to Truffles a number of times for special occasions, such as birthdays. The service and quality of food are both truly outstanding! The attention to detail is clearly evident. When it comes to the wine list, I believe Truffles has no match in the St. Louis metro area.

Thanks for a great experience!

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great wine program with one of the city' ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great wine program with one of the city's more capable sommeliers. Took business associates who prefer traditional fare. The beef filets were perfectly prepared and paired with lovely accompanying roasted veggies. Bar area was filled with a lively crowd, but the dining room was mercifully quiet enough for conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated and within 5 minutes ther ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We were seated and within 5 minutes there was a major water leak. No one asked if we wanted to move tables but kept serving us while apologizing. The restaurant was not full so it could easily have been done. After we were served our meal, the waiter came and suggested we leave as soon as possible as the leak which was still going on and had been the entire time, was hazardous. We paid and left with no compensation or even hint of any one. Retched experience as the leak was very loud and dangerous to boot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Love the new, expanded lunch menu! Staff ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Love the new, expanded lunch menu! Staff is incredible, as always!!Also, bonus was The Butchery right next door. Wonderful products you won't find anywhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meat! And sides and amazing desserts.

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Meat! And sides and amazing desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had another wonderful meal at Truffle ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We had another wonderful meal at Truffles. The service is always friendly and efficient and the food is always delicious. We love to start off with a cocktail or glass of wine and then get the BBQ shrimp appetizer (the best dish on the menu), a salad or soup, and then one of the always wonderful entrees.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent menu!

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service! For some reason, ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food and service! For some reason, they nicely gave us our dessert for free.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We will return and recommend this restau ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We will return and recommend this restaurant to others. Very nice and the fact that we could make reservations was notable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was disappointing for such an up ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Service was disappointing for such an upscale place. Very slow at the start to attend to us. Poorly written menu options caused disappointment. This is partly the management's fault, but an experienced server would know to explain how certain orders cancel out other parts of the menu that were promised. And would have made things right without sticking us for another charge-- or at least warned us that making things right would generate another charge...that was sleazy.

The food is very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

This is the second time that I have been ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is the second time that I have been at Truffles recently and I was VERY impressed. They menu has a Louisiana flare to it with gumbo, Cajun spices on dishes and trout almandine. That being said, I chose a steak and this prime New York strip was amazing. It was a great cut of beef, perfectly cooked to seal in all of the natural flavor. A friend of mine got the ribeye and was equally impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second time at Truffles. W ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was our second time at Truffles. We really like the "classic steakhouse" feel and the crab cakes and lobster roll are wonderful. We also had the duck ravioli special - wonderfully gamey paired with an Oregon pinot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time at Truffles but ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was our first time at Truffles but will not be the last. Food, service, ambiance were all excellent. We went at lunch and found the menu had great variety. Next time we will go back for dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I normally wouldn't write a review on a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I normally wouldn't write a review on a place after only one experience but this place was outstanding. Had an anniversary dinner here and the place was cozy but lively with locals as well. The meal was perfect. I had a filet that was outstanding and my wife had the duck which she described as the best she's ever had. We explored the bar area after dinner where we enjoyed the sounds of a fantastic 4 pc. Jazz set that was fantastic. A wonderful and memorable evening... Thank You Truffles!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always the food and service were grea ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

As always the food and service were great. Adam was as usual very attentive and thorough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappointed!

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Never disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service by the waiter,Scott M, was poor ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Service by the waiter,Scott M, was poor. Never brought a second beer that was ordered but charged for it. When we said we hadn't received it, he asked us if we were sure. Very rude. The wait staff that brought the food out was very good. Scott ruined our 42nd anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was delicious! The service was ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was delicious! The service was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious as always!

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Delicious as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

10 picky ladies out for dinner. Everyone ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 10, 2016

10 picky ladies out for dinner. Everyone wanted different drinks, wine-food. The timing and the presentation is always perfect. And they have the most delicious gourmet burger in St.Louis. Steaks, salads. French fries are all outstanding!

The service is always excellent as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was very nice. We were enter ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Everything was very nice. We were entertaining a special academic leader and he was favorably impressed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant experience. Service was e ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Very pleasant experience. Service was extremely attentive. Food was excellent. Particularly enjoyed the duck with its accompaniments. Definitely will return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent but service was lacki ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was excellent but service was lacking on this visit. Server tried very hard to please, but either lack of training or understanding what goes into great service caused that to be noticeable. Starters were all good, except the steak tartare was on the dry side. And that despite supposedly having an egg on top that I never saw. Pork chop was out of the world good and my wife could not finish it. One friend and I had both had duck and other friend had snapper and all raved about the quality of the dinner. Orders were all wrong with sides from one on the plate of another. Three meals had to go back, but were brought back quickly with correct sides. Wine pouring was poorly done, with pours that were too tall (we had to instruct waiter how to pour wine) and then lack of pouring (we just poured ourselves). Never offered dessert and had to ask.

Have had many excellent meals at Truffles and will return for the normal great food and service that usually accompanies it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Had not been to Truffles for dinner in a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Had not been to Truffles for dinner in ages, even though it's so close to us. Boys had the gumbo first, which is great. I had the petit filet with a mix of fresh baby arugula lemon and shaved Pecorino. Perfectly cooked and just what I wanted. Shared bananas foster for dessert, which was terrific. Great wine list. Servers nicely attentive. The bar scene is very busy, but back in the restaurant you wouldn't know it, so you can have a nice dinner for 4 without shouting at each other. Will go back sooner rather than later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice decor and quiet. Very good service ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Nice decor and quiet. Very good service but not over the top. Most prices were reasonable and there is a very good selection of entrees that are not common at other restaurants. Defiitely would go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a disappointing experience at Tru ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had a disappointing experience at Truffles. We have been there before and enjoyed it. However, our recent experience has convinced us not to return. The service was poor. The waiter continually confused our order and was never around to fix it. He was rarely around our table at all. And, they gave us a spoon to use with a cheese plate. The food itself was not what we had experienced in the past, particularly the trout that was very over cooked. Just not very good overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We celebrated my wife's 65th birthday an ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We celebrated my wife's 65th birthday and our waiter and the support staff made it memorable .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.