Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Trou Normand

Named for the northern French tradition of a shot of brandy between courses, this second location, from the owners of James Beard Award winning Bar Agricole, unites the pleasures of traditional mixed drinks and uncomplicated food.

The focus of the kitchen is house-made charcuterie and salumi. As many as 40 types of charcuterie are available on the all-day menu. Seasonal sides and simple cuts of meat round out the dinner options.

The focus of the drink menu is brandy. Many of the Armagnacs, Cognacs and Calvados served at Trou Normand and Bar Agricole are found nowhere else in the world.

140 New Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Organic

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5:30 pm-10:30 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30 am - 3 pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Charcuterie & Salumi served all day, from open until close.

Cross Street:
Natoma

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 975-0876

Website:
http://www.trounormandsf.com/

Parking Details:
The valet parking app Vatler provides service for $20.

Download the app: bit.ly/vatlerApp and get $10 off with promo code TROU

Select TROU NORMAND restaurant on the map and a valet will come to you.

Public Transit:
Montgomery Bart Station

Executive Chef:
Salvatore Cracco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Trou Normand Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
See All
Creative Cuisine (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Authentic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Romantic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Cozy (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Delicious food. Limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Really great food. The porkchop hit the spot for us and we ended up ordering more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

For those like us who really really enjoy paté, salami, great mustard, crispy epic and wonderful olives and almonds, this place is unbeatable and totally unique in its offerings. On a Friday lunch every one else ate out back outside but we had the inside all to ourselves. Totally enjoyable,.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The pork chop was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Do NOT go here for brunch. Food is crazy overpriced and very limited menu. Service was obviously not in the mood to be there. We were not offered any drinks and service took forever when there was no one else in the restaurant. Space was beautiful and the potatoes were good. That was the only 2 positives of our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Went to Trou Normand for a celebratory work lunch with my team. Great ambiance and service. Definitely sit outside if you can – refreshing to find such a delightful and private outdoor patio in the middle of downtown San Francisco. Great spot for more adventurous meat lovers (generous charcuterie portions!)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 22, 2017

My only wish was for a more extensive wine list, food, service and vibe were all excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Great experience! We loved all of the selections and had wonderful service. Thank you!

Tags: Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

This place always delivers. Love the open kitchen. Pop your head in and say hi.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Service was great. And the drinks are always unique, and spirit forward. Perfect. I've been here every few months as I live nearby, and also have recommended repeatedly. After the menu changes, and tonight's food...it's unlikely moving forward. No more arancini. Extremely limited vegetables. Outside of the charcuterie, majority of the menu is beef or pork related. Menu should have a balance with other items. We ordered the four piece charcuterie, the accoutrement platter (figs, grapes, sauce), pork chop, and soup for dinner. The platter was basically incredibly good toasted bread with 2 halved figs and fancy apple sauce and some grapes for $15. The charcuterie was amazing as usual and the pork chop is a must order.
Then, the dessert. Here is the huge fail. Peaches served with fromage Blanc $8. What we received... Four thin slices of peach on top of warm large curd cottage cheese. No flavor, no sauce, and looked straight off a hospital tray. I'm not exaggerating. Fromage Blanc definition is creamy and soft (not what we got). We left it on the table after sharing the 1/8th of a peach they gave us for $8.
When the server didn't see us eating it, we shared simply that it wasn't that good. Dinner was okay, but dessert was a huge miss. And we should have been offered something else when we barely touched it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food was pretty tasty, but there was a shocking lack of vegetable options on the side. I know they are a meat focused restaurant, but there was no broccoli, brussel sprouts, or something of that nature to add to the meal so it didn't feel so heavy. The steak came out medium well when it was ordered medium rare, but the server was quick to replace it. It was also rather expensive. None of the meat dishes came with anything substantial on the side, and for $30-50+ per dish, I would have expected more of a complete meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2017

I love Trou Normand! I work near there and go often for lunch or after work for drinks. It's different but very cool. Love the atmosphere and all the food is very good, esp the roast beef sandwich on grilled bread!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

I wouldn't go back here - menu was very limited if you don't want pork, portions were small, waitress was impatient. Outdoor seating area was beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Absolutely wonderful food, the menu is constantly being updated which keeps things interesting. The service is wonderful and its usually not too busy. Definitely a hidden gem.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food is excellent! Service seems slow, especially for first drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We were here with two other couples celebrating a 60th birthday. We ordered the chef-chosen charcuterie plate, which was fantastic. We ordered several veg dishes and several entrees and treated it family style. Our server was lovely and attentive. The restaurant has a European vibe and was lively without being a noise-bomb.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We found the lunch menu a bit limited but the building is nice. Cheese plate was quite nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Good but not great. Service was just okay; we were fighting to get our server's attn. overall, a disappointing experience compared to the first time we dined there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Really thoughtful, wonderful service and food! The atmosphere is airy, light and they've decorated with amazing art. We were a party of 5, all ages and were sat and serviced right away at prime time on a Sunday. Thanks for everything, highly recommend. Don't forget the little bites like the almonds, beignets, and olives!

Tags: Bar Seating, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The menu is a bit more limited than I prefer and the starter options were particularly limited.

The food is also hit or miss. The sausage dish was amazing, but the clam dish was ok and my friend's arugula salad was incredibly basic and totally not worth it.

Great atmosphere, though with a pretty patio and awesome cocktails.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Good charcuterie and cheese that we decided to skip the main entrees which they don't have many choices.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This restaurant has great potential. The interior is on point with stunning high ceilings. I loved the concept of the menu and the charcuterie selection is definitely worth ordering however the rest of the menu did not leave much of a lasting impression. The waiters were friendly but service was incredibly slow considering how quiet it was for a Saturday night. I think it would have a more vibrant scene during the week.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Ordered the medium Charcuterie plate, recieved and charged for what ended up being the large. Plate comes with no accompaniments. Cheese plate came with a baguette tasted day old and a small piece of sliced fruit, no butter or anything else . When we took the leftovers to go they did not include the bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The service was horrible. It took an hour for the food to come out, and about 45 minutes for the waiter to apology, and then offer some olives to make the wait continue. Incredibly disappointing and ungracious. A real disaster on service and basic restaurant management. I would not recommend this at all, and would go out of my way to vocally recommend that people do NOT go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Delicious! Enjoyed the patio and loved watching the butcher.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Gorgeous decor, delicious food and great staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We hadn't been back to Trou Normand in several years, and were delighted to find that it was as good, or maybe even better, than we remembered. My Mezcal cocktail with cherry bitters was outstanding. The chipotle corn on the cob: yum. My date had the pork meat balls, which were more like footballs, and they beat any meat ball I've ever had. Positively floated off the plate. And you gotta love a restaurant that has fresh, hot beignets with blueberry sauce for dessert!. We'll be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Everything from food to service and decor was spot on with our lunch here. Great place for business or casual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Historic building, nice ambiance. I ordered the pork which consisted of about 10 slices that filled up the entire plate. Unfortunately, there was only 2 slices with meat and the rest was ALL FAT. When I told the waitress, she just said she would take it off our bill. The pork did not come with any sides and she did not inform me of that when I ordered. She did not offer to get me another piece of pork or anything else. I was still hungry. I am sure when the cook prepared it, they could see that it was all fat, especially since it came sliced. What a disappointment. I will not go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Trou Normand is one of the gems of SF dining. Everything about it is top notch. Fantastic cocktails, to boot!

Tags: Great Beer, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Cocktails were outstanding. Go for the whiz-bang.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Hard to review when the restaurant, service, food, portions, value and noise level were overall awful. Our server was pleasant and apologetic about most everything. Disappointing as I had been there before and generally liked the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Dined here for brunch - for the patio - with my SO for her bday. Service started out strong - friendly server, charcuterie and first round of drinks showed up quickly. Then from there it went down hill.

We shared one breakfast entree - poached eggs, mustard holandaise, sausage and greens w/ 2 additional poached eggs on the side, which we waited an additional 45-60 minutes to receive and the 2 additional eggs showed up 5 minutes after that. In total, we spent $200+ on brunch over a 2.5 hour period and ate fairly little.

The food and cocktails were tasty without a doubt. In contrast, I spent $200 at Liho Liho yacht club the night before and received better food and service + more food for the money.

Sorry Trou Normand, I liked the patio but it's not a great value. The server was really nice and I think the kitchen may have let him down. I won't be returning. :/

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had a guys night out and a friend recommended this restaurant Trou Normand And we had great service great food I'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Brunch on a Saturday. Menu was strange. Many things had to be ordered separately, two eggs then toast, then potatoes, etc. The toast is toasted on a grill so it is served burned. Service was terrible. It took a long time for the food to arrive and we had to repeatedly ask for things that had already been ordered like an iced coffee. Server's attitude was as if she was doing us a favor by taking our order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This is one of the best brunch places in San Francisco, every time a new menu, and always a good surprise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I love Trou. everything is fantastic: food, service, ambiance. Absolutely delightful!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual, Happy Hour, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service and great food made for an excellent mother's day brunch. So many "farm to table" restaurants are too limited or too bland. But that was not the case with Trou Normand. The semolina pancake was unique and fantastic. Their take on the corned beef hash was delicious, and a healthier twist on a classic. Even the humble scrambled eggs were amazing. Overall, a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch. Had the best time with Dominic at the bar. He made our day, and food was super

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Usually one of my very very fav spots. I was there the first time they opened and know Thad. Big fan of all the spots he has collaborated on etc. But this time I must say the cocktails were bad ! I had some of my fav cocktails and they were all off. Must have been a new bartender. This was a Saturday night and they took our last call at 10:45 ! Not sure what's happening there it's a spot I recommmed to everyone so quite disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.