Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Trou Normand

Named for the northern French tradition of a shot of brandy between courses, this second location, from the owners of James Beard Award winning Bar Agricole, unites the pleasures of traditional mixed drinks and uncomplicated food.

The focus of the kitchen is house-made charcuterie and salumi. As many as 40 types of charcuterie are available on the all-day menu. Seasonal sides and simple cuts of meat round out the dinner options.

The focus of the drink menu is brandy. Many of the Armagnacs, Cognacs and Calvados served at Trou Normand and Bar Agricole are found nowhere else in the world.

140 New Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Organic

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5:30 pm-10:30 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30 am - 3 pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Charcuterie & Salumi served all day, from open until close.

Cross Street:
Natoma

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 975-0876

Website:
http://www.trounormandsf.com/

Parking Details:
The valet parking app Vatler provides service for $20.

Download the app: bit.ly/vatlerApp and get $10 off with promo code TROU

Select TROU NORMAND restaurant on the map and a valet will come to you.

Public Transit:
Montgomery Bart Station

Executive Chef:
Salvatore Cracco

Private Party Facilities:
Trou Normand is a new restaurant and bar located in the heart of San Francisco's Financial district. We have two unique spaces for private dining and with advanced planning the entire restaurant is available for a private event.

Private Party Contact:
Robert Nelson: (855) 538-4686

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Trou Normand Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.2

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Foodies (15)
BarSeating (10)
LocalIngredients (10)
See All
OutdoorDining (9)
Groups (8)
BusinessMeals (8)
SpecialOccasions (7)
Romance (7)
Lunch (7)
GoodForDates (7)
Brunch (6)
Casual (6)
HandcraftedCocktails (6)
ModernDecor (6)
NeighborhoodGem (6)
CreativeCuisine (5)
Fun (5)
HotSpot (5)
Tapas (4)
QuietConversation (4)
HappyHour (4)
Anniversaries (4)
SundayLunch (4)
VibrantBarScene (4)
Authentic (3)
ComfortFood (3)
TastingMenu (3)
OpenKitchen (2)
Seasonal (2)
PeopleWatching (2)
PrePostTheatre (2)
Healthy (2)
NotableWineList (2)
PaleoFriendly (2)
LateNightFind (2)
Organic (2)
AfternoonCoffee (2)
Cozy (1)
VegetarianOptions (1)
AfternoonTea (1)
Historic (1)
ScenicView (1)
GreatBeer (1)
Sort By:
S
426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Historic building, nice ambiance. I ordered the pork which consisted of about 10 slices that filled up the entire plate. Unfortunately, there was only 2 slices with meat and the rest was ALL FAT. When I told the waitress, she just said she would take it off our bill. The pork did not come with any sides and she did not inform me of that when I ordered. She did not offer to get me another piece of pork or anything else. I was still hungry. I am sure when the cook prepared it, they could see that it was all fat, especially since it came sliced. What a disappointment. I will not go here again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Trou Normand is one of the gems of SF dining. Everything about it is top notch. Fantastic cocktails, to boot!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great Beer, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Cocktails were outstanding. Go for the whiz-bang.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Hard to review when the restaurant, service, food, portions, value and noise level were overall awful. Our server was pleasant and apologetic about most everything. Disappointing as I had been there before and generally liked the place.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Dined here for brunch - for the patio - with my SO for her bday. Service started out strong - friendly server, charcuterie and first round of drinks showed up quickly. Then from there it went down hill.

We shared one breakfast entree - poached eggs, mustard holandaise, sausage and greens w/ 2 additional poached eggs on the side, which we waited an additional 45-60 minutes to receive and the 2 additional eggs showed up 5 minutes after that. In total, we spent $200+ on brunch over a 2.5 hour period and ate fairly little.

The food and cocktails were tasty without a doubt. In contrast, I spent $200 at Liho Liho yacht club the night before and received better food and service + more food for the money.

Sorry Trou Normand, I liked the patio but it's not a great value. The server was really nice and I think the kitchen may have let him down. I won't be returning. :/

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had a guys night out and a friend recommended this restaurant Trou Normand And we had great service great food I'll be back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Brunch on a Saturday. Menu was strange. Many things had to be ordered separately, two eggs then toast, then potatoes, etc. The toast is toasted on a grill so it is served burned. Service was terrible. It took a long time for the food to arrive and we had to repeatedly ask for things that had already been ordered like an iced coffee. Server's attitude was as if she was doing us a favor by taking our order.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This is one of the best brunch places in San Francisco, every time a new menu, and always a good surprise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I love Trou. everything is fantastic: food, service, ambiance. Absolutely delightful!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual, Happy Hour, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service and great food made for an excellent mother's day brunch. So many "farm to table" restaurants are too limited or too bland. But that was not the case with Trou Normand. The semolina pancake was unique and fantastic. Their take on the corned beef hash was delicious, and a healthier twist on a classic. Even the humble scrambled eggs were amazing. Overall, a great experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch. Had the best time with Dominic at the bar. He made our day, and food was super

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Usually one of my very very fav spots. I was there the first time they opened and know Thad. Big fan of all the spots he has collaborated on etc. But this time I must say the cocktails were bad ! I had some of my fav cocktails and they were all off. Must have been a new bartender. This was a Saturday night and they took our last call at 10:45 ! Not sure what's happening there it's a spot I recommmed to everyone so quite disappointing

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Horrible staff. Had a reservation but waited for 15 minutes by the door because there was no Front of House staff to greet us. Food took forever to come, and both waitresses who served us seemed condescending. The food itself was good, but the charcuterie was very pricey.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Unfortunately the hype did not live up to the experience or food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Though it was a lovely day ... we opted for inside table v. outdoor patio. The bar / dining area is a great room & too enjoyable to miss.

Food - cocktails - service - environment ... all contributed to a leisurely & pleasurable lunch.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great food and service. Quiet - great for business conversation.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I eat at Trou Normand a LOT for lunch. Love the décor and vibe. Staff is always friendly. Menu changes and everything is great! Everything is made right there (even butchering animals!) and I'm never disappointed. Love to go after work for charcuterie and cocktails, too!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I came to try a dish that was not available, the beef chop that was touted in the on line magazine 7x7. Naturally I tried something else. We ordered the chefs charcuterie platter. Visually I wished for one little pickle as the platter seemed unthoughtful and very brown. My salad with hazelnuts was tasty and light. But my trout was average . I was not very excited about the amount of crispy fish skin on my trout and the two teaspoons of cooked greens . My garbanzos were cooked fresh. In general I guess the deal was a that, I'm a good home cook and I could have done this better. I don't go th restaurants to eat what I can make at home. Finally, if you have a whole section for cheese would you have a little port on the menu to accompany the cheese?

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We had a 7:30 reservation, but we're ready to eat by 6:30. The hostess, Sam, was extremely accommodating, finding a spot for us in the bar. The charcuterie plate ( the small chef's sampler) was generous in portion with more bread served without request. The most unique and fully flavored item on the trencher was the rosemary salume. The rosemary was beautifully paired with some assertive spices that made for a very exciting salume. The red leaf salad was perfectly dressed to act as a palate refresher. My husband ordered the pork chop which he said was excellent. My cocktail, the Bronx Terrace, was okay. I thought it a bit lacking in fresh herbal flavors.
I would definitely eat there again and, would recommend it to friends. A huge shout out to Sam for making our Giant's game day(another loss) end happily.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This is usually a great place for a business lunch or after a museum or gallery visit . So what a shock that they were sold out of two items @ 12:30.. no options for non meat eaters left and no
One cared !

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The staff really made the evening. They were very accommodating to our needs. Friendly, informative and with a great attitude. Bravo! Refreshing. The food was great too.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The food and service at TN are both excellent. It's a great place for a business lunch!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great service for a big group! Very attentive server and the food came out together. Portions are a bit small for the price, but very delicious. Love the interior design of the space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

While the food was good and obviously well-sourced, the ambience was cold and I don't really want to sit with other people which is how the seating is done. Our waitperson totally mixed up our order - we didn't get what we ordered for our main dish, they forgot a side, and no one really knew what kind of bread was used for toast which seems like a no brainer. They were friendly but for a good restaurant with higher pricing one expects better service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Food was delicious. Charcuterie plate excellent. Cheese plate a bit spare. Service was fine if not a bit chilly. Overall good but not for price point. Cremant was corked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food! The cocktails are really awesome but kind of small. You will need more than one.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I love the chef here! Excellent charcuterie made in house and great cheese options to pair with the charcuterie or on its own. The best pork chop available in San Francisco- it's a must have if this is your first visit at Trou.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Historic, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great space / interesting food / good service

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I was really disappointed in Trou Normand's brunch. I had been there for lunch once before and thought it would be a fun place to take my aunt and friend for brunch. It was a disaster the whole way through. The hipster waiters seemed far more interested in having a beard convention than waiting on tables. Their vegetarian offerings or modifications were pitiful. Literally they gave my friend lettuce with olives chopped egg and a sprinkling of cheese. Hardly a meal. Then my aunt and I ordered poached eggs and sausage. Our sausage was raw in the middle which was first disputed by our waiter and then when she asked for a burger well done because she was grossed out by raw pork sausage, they gave her a burnt burger. We had to be reseated because the noise level on the patio was so loud that we literally couldn't hear each other. It was just a #fail all around. Sunday brunch crew: get your sh&t together.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Although everything is great at Trou Normand, we love their pasta and as always, the pasta was absolutely delicious! The salads are also great and although simple, also interesting. The food is fantastic at Trou Normand and the service friendly and upbeat.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The flavor and quality of the food was outstanding, but the portions were significantly smaller than expected.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Upon arrival, the 4 of us were taken to an (empty) communal table with high, uncomfortable seats. When I expressed my dissatisfaction, the server was very responsive: she comped me a cocktail, and also gave each of us an armagnac sample while we waited for a booth to clear. Very classy! The charcuterie/salumi were delicious; actually everything was delicious! Highly recommended!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was very fresh, creatively prepared and delicious! Unfortunately, it was not plentiful, thus the price did not seem like a good value, and the dessert menu was limited to 2 items.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

They were super nice on our anniversary

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

If you love charcuterie and the freshest of fresh homemade salumi, you have got to try this place. The pork burger, chopped salad and mozzarella sandwich are what we ordered and I've got to go back and have it all...all over again. Professional and pleasant bartender when wine dined this week. Only downside is the limited seating in the main room so sometimes they ask you to share a table. Seems to be commonplace these days but not my favorite.

The food was outstanding, though.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fun, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

"Hot" food arrived cold. Wife had to send her over-salted eggs and undercooked cardoons back. Other food was good, if not that hot. Charcuterie was excellent. Service was lackluster.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 3, 2017

A little expensive but everything was VERY good!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Don't bother making a reservation, they'll stick you at the bar or a communal table. Their sparkling wine is only meant for orange juice, don't order solo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great spot with delicious food and very nice staff.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always a pleasure. When I'm in the right mood, it feels like travel.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.