Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Trou Normand

Named for the northern French tradition of a shot of brandy between courses, this second location, from the owners of James Beard Award winning Bar Agricole, unites the pleasures of traditional mixed drinks and uncomplicated food.

The focus of the kitchen is house-made charcuterie and salumi. As many as 40 types of charcuterie are available on the all-day menu. Seasonal sides and simple cuts of meat round out the dinner options.

The focus of the drink menu is brandy. Many of the Armagnacs, Cognacs and Calvados served at Trou Normand and Bar Agricole are found nowhere else in the world.

140 New Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Organic

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5:30 pm-10:30 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30 am - 3 pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Charcuterie & Salumi served all day, from open until close.

Cross Street:
Natoma

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 975-0876

Website:
http://www.trounormandsf.com/

Parking Details:
The valet parking app Vatler provides service for $20.

Download the app: bit.ly/vatlerApp and get $10 off with promo code TROU

Select TROU NORMAND restaurant on the map and a valet will come to you.

Public Transit:
Montgomery Bart Station

Executive Chef:
Salvatore Cracco

Private Party Facilities:
Trou Normand is a new restaurant and bar located in the heart of San Francisco's Financial district. We have two unique spaces for private dining and with advanced planning the entire restaurant is available for a private event.

Private Party Contact:
Robert Nelson: (855) 538-4686

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Trou Normand Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for a Date (7)
See All
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Romantic (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Organic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Fun (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Cozy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
403 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service at TN are both excellent. It's a great place for a business lunch!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great service for a big group! Very attentive server and the food came out together. Portions are a bit small for the price, but very delicious. Love the interior design of the space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

While the food was good and obviously well-sourced, the ambience was cold and I don't really want to sit with other people which is how the seating is done. Our waitperson totally mixed up our order - we didn't get what we ordered for our main dish, they forgot a side, and no one really knew what kind of bread was used for toast which seems like a no brainer. They were friendly but for a good restaurant with higher pricing one expects better service.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Food was delicious. Charcuterie plate excellent. Cheese plate a bit spare. Service was fine if not a bit chilly. Overall good but not for price point. Cremant was corked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food! The cocktails are really awesome but kind of small. You will need more than one.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I love the chef here! Excellent charcuterie made in house and great cheese options to pair with the charcuterie or on its own. The best pork chop available in San Francisco- it's a must have if this is your first visit at Trou.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Historic, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great space / interesting food / good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I was really disappointed in Trou Normand's brunch. I had been there for lunch once before and thought it would be a fun place to take my aunt and friend for brunch. It was a disaster the whole way through. The hipster waiters seemed far more interested in having a beard convention than waiting on tables. Their vegetarian offerings or modifications were pitiful. Literally they gave my friend lettuce with olives chopped egg and a sprinkling of cheese. Hardly a meal. Then my aunt and I ordered poached eggs and sausage. Our sausage was raw in the middle which was first disputed by our waiter and then when she asked for a burger well done because she was grossed out by raw pork sausage, they gave her a burnt burger. We had to be reseated because the noise level on the patio was so loud that we literally couldn't hear each other. It was just a #fail all around. Sunday brunch crew: get your sh&t together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Although everything is great at Trou Normand, we love their pasta and as always, the pasta was absolutely delicious! The salads are also great and although simple, also interesting. The food is fantastic at Trou Normand and the service friendly and upbeat.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The flavor and quality of the food was outstanding, but the portions were significantly smaller than expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Upon arrival, the 4 of us were taken to an (empty) communal table with high, uncomfortable seats. When I expressed my dissatisfaction, the server was very responsive: she comped me a cocktail, and also gave each of us an armagnac sample while we waited for a booth to clear. Very classy! The charcuterie/salumi were delicious; actually everything was delicious! Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was very fresh, creatively prepared and delicious! Unfortunately, it was not plentiful, thus the price did not seem like a good value, and the dessert menu was limited to 2 items.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

They were super nice on our anniversary

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

If you love charcuterie and the freshest of fresh homemade salumi, you have got to try this place. The pork burger, chopped salad and mozzarella sandwich are what we ordered and I've got to go back and have it all...all over again. Professional and pleasant bartender when wine dined this week. Only downside is the limited seating in the main room so sometimes they ask you to share a table. Seems to be commonplace these days but not my favorite.

The food was outstanding, though.

Tags: Fun, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

"Hot" food arrived cold. Wife had to send her over-salted eggs and undercooked cardoons back. Other food was good, if not that hot. Charcuterie was excellent. Service was lackluster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 3, 2017

A little expensive but everything was VERY good!

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Don't bother making a reservation, they'll stick you at the bar or a communal table. Their sparkling wine is only meant for orange juice, don't order solo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great spot with delicious food and very nice staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always a pleasure. When I'm in the right mood, it feels like travel.

Tags: Late-night Find, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This was my second time to Trou Normand. It is an easy and convenient place for great food. It is a bit chilly, but other crazy.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a relatively large group. The main part of the restaurant is little on the smaller side. The table we sat at was quite large, and not ideal for conversation or food sharing. In the end everyone seemed to enjoy the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Never go here, so that the REST OF US CAN FLOCK TO IT! I have lived around the corner from this place for two and a half years, and I will never ever, get those back! The charcuterie plates are to die for, and their entrees are outstanding! Run! Don't walk, to brunch and dinner!

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Been here 3 times and have enjoyed the food each time. Friendly staff and service, not stuffy and pretentious considering the quality of the food and drink. Not cheap however, I Highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Pork chop was over brined and super salty.

Go there for charcuterie and cheese. Everything else is mediocre at best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Had a truly exceptional experience. The food was great, bar programs was excellent and it was all wrapped up with great service. Looking forward to our next trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My roommate and I came here for New Years Eve dinner, and we could not have been happier. The staff was incredibly friendly and very hands-off, which is something I love. They gave us all the time to slowly make our way through the meal, and were great at reading when we wanted something else or were done with our plates.
The food was unbelievable. We look back with such fond memories of the meatballs, ha! Really an amazing experience with food that will defiantly have me coming back for more.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

They put us in a table outside with no heat on. Then when we kindly asked if we could be seated inside, they said they will try with the host and then put us in a table where all 3 of us were seated in the same row - unable to speak to each other. The service was unattentive, uncaring. We left early without ordering mains. Will certainly not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve was the occasion for our visit!

Seating in the atrium for our group of eight was too cold and uncomfortable. The heat lamps did not provide enough heat.

Three in our party had the pork chop and thought it was delicious but also that it had too much fat left on. It also could have come with something like a vegetable or starch. Several in our party thought the food was overly salty.

On the whole, we had high expectations since it was a Chronicle Top 100 restaurant. I have to admit I was a bit disappointed in the overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Been to lunch and absolutely loved the food and the ambiance. The only concern of mine is I took my parents to Trou Normand when they came to visit me and even though I loved and enjoyed my food VERY MUCH, the food didn't really appeal to them. I guess it is a wonderful place for people looking for innovative (and delicious) approach to food that you probably had many times. FOODIES, definitely it is a place you would want to go!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A nice place. Food was shockingly mediocre, especially for the price. Pork was a bunch of slices, too uncooked and chewy. Chicken was good but uninteresting. The only decent food was the bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Well worth the visit. All round Good food, drinks & service.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is great place to have some cocktails with some snacks. they have a great choice of meat and cheeses. The main dishes are all pretty much pork but the starters or side dishes are quite large and taste amazing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We celebrated my birthday here. The food was delicious, the staff was accommodating and friendly. My friends and I really enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The crab toast was awful. eggs were cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Meh. Service was very slow. Drafty room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great cocktails and excellent charcuterie

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

As always the food was on point, and the folks working floor obviously love the menu and care about the guests. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Atmosphere was great. Was a little disappointed in the service. It took 30minutes for the table to be ready. We were then seated in the cold back room and service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I went to Trou Normand for lunch with a group of five family members. We were seated promptly in a comfortable booth. Service was attentive and fast. The dining room has high ceilings and feels very spacious, unlike so many SF restaurants. The food was good, but by no means amazing, and felt somewhat overpriced, especially for lunch. The bread on my tartine and on another sandwich was burned (I am all for toasted, but it was black). One of us got a crab salad. It was a tiny salad, not nearly enough to make a meal, and had very little crab in it. The schnitzel (I was told) was very good. The coffee was so sour as to be barely drinkable.
I don't think I'll be going be back there, unless I can expense the meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Excellent charcuterie, cocktails and wine list I'll go again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.