Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 27 times today

Trou Normand

4.5
496 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Handcrafted Cocktails
  • Good for a Date
Named for the northern French tradition of a shot of brandy between courses, this second location, from the owners of James Beard Award winning Bar Agricole, unites the pleasures of traditional mixed drinks and uncomplicated food.

The focus of the kitchen is house-made charcuterie and salumi. As many as 40 types of charcuterie are available on the all-day menu. Seasonal sides and simple cuts of meat round out the dinner options.

The focus of the drink menu is brandy. Many of the Armagnacs, Cognacs and Calvados served at Trou Normand and Bar Agricole are found nowhere else in the world.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, Organic
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch
Sat 10:30 am–2:30 pm
Lunch
Mon–Fri 11:30 am–2:30 pm
Dinner
Mon–Sat 5:30 pm–10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(415) 975-0876
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Seth Stowawy
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Natoma
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Montgomery Bart Station
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

What Insiders Are Saying

The Infatuation
8.3

Trou Normand is great place to eat cured meats and sip crafty cognac cocktails.

Ratings 8.0-8.5:The best way to think about restaurants in the low to mid 8′s is that these are the places you would absolutely go back to, anytime. These restaurants are ones that you want to bring a friend to, just so they can also experience the duck carnitas, or burger, or whatever dish the place is known for.
What 496 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.4
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
76% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Love love love this place. The cocktails and food are amazing, so lucky it's in my neighborhood!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 17, 2018

I enjoyed the charcuturie plate; it was a generous appetizer portion. The salmon was fresh and cooked very rare (the way I like it). The gem salad had no gems and had a vinegary taste. I didn't like it. Expensive but this is San Francisco.

The seats at Trou Normand are horrible. Uncomfortable metal chairs with too small a seat. Hard to lean back and relax; you sit up stiffly for the entire meal. I won't go back because of the seats.

The booths in the front of the restaurant look comfortable. If you can't get one of those, I'd pass.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Overpriced for what you get

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

For a place that boasts about the origins and quality of its beef and pork, the results were disappointing. The charcuterie plate was very ordinary. The slices of salami tasted like store bought, and the pickled vegetables and bologna were bland.
The $52 flank steak (ordered medium-rare but was cooked to medium) arrived already sliced, and was VERY TOUGH. I ended up chewing on the pieces and then leaving the chewed pieces on the plate. Afterwards I wondered if the kitchen had sliced the steak parallel to the grain and not perpendicular? A major mistake for a meat centered restaurant, or any restaurant for that matter. On the other hand, the cocktails and wine were pretty good.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 9, 2018

The restaurant was not open during the time of the reservation.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Food was disappointing. We had the burger, salmon tartar appetizer, spaghetti carbonera, and salmon. Salmon was undercooked, burger was just ok, the salmon tartar appetizer was also meh. The carbonera was the only yummy meal. not worth it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Small portions and way overpriced. Service just OK. Beef quality was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

This was our first time in downtown San Francisco and I did a search for organic restaurants nearby and boy did we hit the jackpot. That was the freshest most incredible food, the local meats and the cheeses are as exceptional as can be found anywhere. We sat out in the courtyard which was a beautiful haven in the middle of the city and our server could not have been more helpful and enthusiastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

A favorite of ours! We had creamed potatoes, pea shoots salad, the meats, and the trout. All yums.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Too loud, half the menu items were unavail, they forgot our side dishes. Disaster.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Great cocktails.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 12, 2018

They gave us drinks that was not the one we ordered. They are not fit to be a Group friendly bar / restaurant. They messed our drink orders and food orders.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Overpriced for what it is. Total absence of any Gallic flair, despite the name. Starters were small and didn’t hit the spot, steaks were ok, but not special and simply a lump of meat. Desert was just broken up chunks of chocolate (same brand as available at the ferry building)-which for the price is a complete p-take. All in all total absence of effort, tart up some interesting building give it a quirky name, serve any old grub and they will come... right?

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Great food - most unengaged waitress who just couldn’t have cared less about anything.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We sat outside on Easter. The staff was exceptionally nice. We were the last people there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

It was my second time there. The first time I came with friends and shared some plates and a filet. It was one of the best steaks I’ve had in the city! Then this time around we shared one of the steaks on the menu that was the closest they had to the filet. It just wasn’t flavorful, we both thought it could have been much tastier. The service and our cheeses were great tho!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The food is really good, we weren’t too hungry so had appetizers. The mains are super pricey. The drinks were interesting and pours heavy. Service was really good - friendly and knowledgeable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

New interesting foods to try. Best bratwurst ever.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Chef Seth is the man!! Food is amazing along with the service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Outstanding charcuterie! The pork is unbelievable. Service wonderful. Great cocktails. Definitely unique menu of you love meat!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 14, 2018

It took almost 3 hours for the meal despite asking for quicker service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Perfection as always

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Trou Normand was the perfect spot to kick off a Saturday MOMA + brunch date! The little gem salad was yummy and they are NOT messing around with the Cubano - its sooo good! The delightfully chill atmosphere, cool jazzy tunes and classically beautiful decor made it tough to leave but we had art to see. Can’t wait to come back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Trou Normand is a very unique restaurant. Inside it is quite pretty, but most of the seating is outside under a tent, which is OK but not great. The food is OK but seemed a bit expensive. The olives were really good, and the steak we ordered was fantastic, but gosh it better be for the price we paid ($40 for about 12 oz a la carte?) The broccoli and farro side dishes were just OK. Empanadas were pretty good. There are about 20 different types of salami on the menu. They were pretty good but wow, again, expensive. The service was incredibly relaxed, despite our repeated pleas that we needed to get to a show. Overall, not a bad night but definitely not a great one either.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Fantastic experience. Classy but not unfriendly. Warm ambience. Wonderful food. Only disappointment was I informed them it was my fiancé's birthday but no special dessert, special menu, or even special mention was made. Otherwise experience was good enough to overlook this.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

The best charcuterie I've ever had. I have never had anything else from the menu, just charcuterie and cheeses and lovely cocktails.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Real cool space, ok lunch food. Dinner may be better

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Vegetarian options are extremely limited.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 11, 2018

Not a good place for vegetarians. They have almost nothing for them.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 8, 2018

Hands down one of the best meals I have ever had!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 6, 2018

The burger was tasty but looked so sad and lonely on a small plate with no sides. Kind of ridiculous that their sandwiches don't come with even a token few leafs if lettuce on the side.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 8, 2017

My five coworkers and I picked Trou Normand for our holiday celebration lunch and it turned out to be an enjoyable, relaxed-paced meal together. The service was very friendly and attentive!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 30, 2017

This was great! Wish they had a few more vegetarian or fish options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2017

They were wonderful! It was our anniversary, and they made us feel special. The food was on point, and the service excellent. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 20, 2017

Great selection of charcuterie. And some fine cheeses. Moreover, the cocktails were good as well

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 15, 2017

Heat lamps were not working, noise level made it hard to hear the other end of the table, service was slow and uncoordinated

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Very limited menu for Saturday brunch. Delicious hamburger

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

After three dinners at Trou Normand, we've decided to keep it in our regular rotation. The house-made salumi and pates are terrific, the seasonal food is always exciting. Cocktails, of course, are exceptional. And service has always been friendly and appropriately attentive.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 12, 2017

Delicious food. Limited menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Really great food. The porkchop hit the spot for us and we ended up ordering more.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13

Tweets by Trou Normand