Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Trou Normand

Named for the northern French tradition of a shot of brandy between courses, this second location, from the owners of James Beard Award winning Bar Agricole, unites the pleasures of traditional mixed drinks and uncomplicated food.

The focus of the kitchen is house-made charcuterie and salumi. As many as 40 types of charcuterie are available on the all-day menu. Seasonal sides and simple cuts of meat round out the dinner options.

The focus of the drink menu is brandy. Many of the Armagnacs, Cognacs and Calvados served at Trou Normand and Bar Agricole are found nowhere else in the world.

140 New Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Organic

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5:30 pm-10:30 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30 am - 3 pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Charcuterie & Salumi served all day, from open until close.

Cross Street:
Natoma

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 975-0876

Website:
http://www.trounormandsf.com/

Parking Details:
The valet parking app Vatler provides service for $20.

Download the app: bit.ly/vatlerApp and get $10 off with promo code TROU

Select TROU NORMAND restaurant on the map and a valet will come to you.

Public Transit:
Montgomery Bart Station

Executive Chef:
Salvatore Cracco

Private Party Facilities:
Trou Normand is a new restaurant and bar located in the heart of San Francisco's Financial district. We have two unique spaces for private dining and with advanced planning the entire restaurant is available for a private event.

Private Party Contact:
Robert Nelson: (855) 538-4686

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Trou Normand Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Business Meals (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Casual (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Romantic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fun (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tapas (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
441 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Absolutely wonderful food, the menu is constantly being updated which keeps things interesting. The service is wonderful and its usually not too busy. Definitely a hidden gem.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food is excellent! Service seems slow, especially for first drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We were here with two other couples celebrating a 60th birthday. We ordered the chef-chosen charcuterie plate, which was fantastic. We ordered several veg dishes and several entrees and treated it family style. Our server was lovely and attentive. The restaurant has a European vibe and was lively without being a noise-bomb.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We found the lunch menu a bit limited but the building is nice. Cheese plate was quite nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Good but not great. Service was just okay; we were fighting to get our server's attn. overall, a disappointing experience compared to the first time we dined there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Really thoughtful, wonderful service and food! The atmosphere is airy, light and they've decorated with amazing art. We were a party of 5, all ages and were sat and serviced right away at prime time on a Sunday. Thanks for everything, highly recommend. Don't forget the little bites like the almonds, beignets, and olives!

Tags: Bar Seating, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The menu is a bit more limited than I prefer and the starter options were particularly limited.

The food is also hit or miss. The sausage dish was amazing, but the clam dish was ok and my friend's arugula salad was incredibly basic and totally not worth it.

Great atmosphere, though with a pretty patio and awesome cocktails.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Good charcuterie and cheese that we decided to skip the main entrees which they don't have many choices.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This restaurant has great potential. The interior is on point with stunning high ceilings. I loved the concept of the menu and the charcuterie selection is definitely worth ordering however the rest of the menu did not leave much of a lasting impression. The waiters were friendly but service was incredibly slow considering how quiet it was for a Saturday night. I think it would have a more vibrant scene during the week.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Ordered the medium Charcuterie plate, recieved and charged for what ended up being the large. Plate comes with no accompaniments. Cheese plate came with a baguette tasted day old and a small piece of sliced fruit, no butter or anything else . When we took the leftovers to go they did not include the bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The service was horrible. It took an hour for the food to come out, and about 45 minutes for the waiter to apology, and then offer some olives to make the wait continue. Incredibly disappointing and ungracious. A real disaster on service and basic restaurant management. I would not recommend this at all, and would go out of my way to vocally recommend that people do NOT go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Delicious! Enjoyed the patio and loved watching the butcher.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Gorgeous decor, delicious food and great staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We hadn't been back to Trou Normand in several years, and were delighted to find that it was as good, or maybe even better, than we remembered. My Mezcal cocktail with cherry bitters was outstanding. The chipotle corn on the cob: yum. My date had the pork meat balls, which were more like footballs, and they beat any meat ball I've ever had. Positively floated off the plate. And you gotta love a restaurant that has fresh, hot beignets with blueberry sauce for dessert!. We'll be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Everything from food to service and decor was spot on with our lunch here. Great place for business or casual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Historic building, nice ambiance. I ordered the pork which consisted of about 10 slices that filled up the entire plate. Unfortunately, there was only 2 slices with meat and the rest was ALL FAT. When I told the waitress, she just said she would take it off our bill. The pork did not come with any sides and she did not inform me of that when I ordered. She did not offer to get me another piece of pork or anything else. I was still hungry. I am sure when the cook prepared it, they could see that it was all fat, especially since it came sliced. What a disappointment. I will not go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Trou Normand is one of the gems of SF dining. Everything about it is top notch. Fantastic cocktails, to boot!

Tags: Great Beer, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Cocktails were outstanding. Go for the whiz-bang.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Hard to review when the restaurant, service, food, portions, value and noise level were overall awful. Our server was pleasant and apologetic about most everything. Disappointing as I had been there before and generally liked the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Dined here for brunch - for the patio - with my SO for her bday. Service started out strong - friendly server, charcuterie and first round of drinks showed up quickly. Then from there it went down hill.

We shared one breakfast entree - poached eggs, mustard holandaise, sausage and greens w/ 2 additional poached eggs on the side, which we waited an additional 45-60 minutes to receive and the 2 additional eggs showed up 5 minutes after that. In total, we spent $200+ on brunch over a 2.5 hour period and ate fairly little.

The food and cocktails were tasty without a doubt. In contrast, I spent $200 at Liho Liho yacht club the night before and received better food and service + more food for the money.

Sorry Trou Normand, I liked the patio but it's not a great value. The server was really nice and I think the kitchen may have let him down. I won't be returning. :/

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had a guys night out and a friend recommended this restaurant Trou Normand And we had great service great food I'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Brunch on a Saturday. Menu was strange. Many things had to be ordered separately, two eggs then toast, then potatoes, etc. The toast is toasted on a grill so it is served burned. Service was terrible. It took a long time for the food to arrive and we had to repeatedly ask for things that had already been ordered like an iced coffee. Server's attitude was as if she was doing us a favor by taking our order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This is one of the best brunch places in San Francisco, every time a new menu, and always a good surprise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I love Trou. everything is fantastic: food, service, ambiance. Absolutely delightful!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual, Happy Hour, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service and great food made for an excellent mother's day brunch. So many "farm to table" restaurants are too limited or too bland. But that was not the case with Trou Normand. The semolina pancake was unique and fantastic. Their take on the corned beef hash was delicious, and a healthier twist on a classic. Even the humble scrambled eggs were amazing. Overall, a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch. Had the best time with Dominic at the bar. He made our day, and food was super

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Usually one of my very very fav spots. I was there the first time they opened and know Thad. Big fan of all the spots he has collaborated on etc. But this time I must say the cocktails were bad ! I had some of my fav cocktails and they were all off. Must have been a new bartender. This was a Saturday night and they took our last call at 10:45 ! Not sure what's happening there it's a spot I recommmed to everyone so quite disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Horrible staff. Had a reservation but waited for 15 minutes by the door because there was no Front of House staff to greet us. Food took forever to come, and both waitresses who served us seemed condescending. The food itself was good, but the charcuterie was very pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Unfortunately the hype did not live up to the experience or food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Though it was a lovely day ... we opted for inside table v. outdoor patio. The bar / dining area is a great room & too enjoyable to miss.

Food - cocktails - service - environment ... all contributed to a leisurely & pleasurable lunch.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great food and service. Quiet - great for business conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I eat at Trou Normand a LOT for lunch. Love the décor and vibe. Staff is always friendly. Menu changes and everything is great! Everything is made right there (even butchering animals!) and I'm never disappointed. Love to go after work for charcuterie and cocktails, too!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I came to try a dish that was not available, the beef chop that was touted in the on line magazine 7x7. Naturally I tried something else. We ordered the chefs charcuterie platter. Visually I wished for one little pickle as the platter seemed unthoughtful and very brown. My salad with hazelnuts was tasty and light. But my trout was average . I was not very excited about the amount of crispy fish skin on my trout and the two teaspoons of cooked greens . My garbanzos were cooked fresh. In general I guess the deal was a that, I'm a good home cook and I could have done this better. I don't go th restaurants to eat what I can make at home. Finally, if you have a whole section for cheese would you have a little port on the menu to accompany the cheese?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We had a 7:30 reservation, but we're ready to eat by 6:30. The hostess, Sam, was extremely accommodating, finding a spot for us in the bar. The charcuterie plate ( the small chef's sampler) was generous in portion with more bread served without request. The most unique and fully flavored item on the trencher was the rosemary salume. The rosemary was beautifully paired with some assertive spices that made for a very exciting salume. The red leaf salad was perfectly dressed to act as a palate refresher. My husband ordered the pork chop which he said was excellent. My cocktail, the Bronx Terrace, was okay. I thought it a bit lacking in fresh herbal flavors.
I would definitely eat there again and, would recommend it to friends. A huge shout out to Sam for making our Giant's game day(another loss) end happily.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This is usually a great place for a business lunch or after a museum or gallery visit . So what a shock that they were sold out of two items @ 12:30.. no options for non meat eaters left and no
One cared !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The staff really made the evening. They were very accommodating to our needs. Friendly, informative and with a great attitude. Bravo! Refreshing. The food was great too.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The food and service at TN are both excellent. It's a great place for a business lunch!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great service for a big group! Very attentive server and the food came out together. Portions are a bit small for the price, but very delicious. Love the interior design of the space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

While the food was good and obviously well-sourced, the ambience was cold and I don't really want to sit with other people which is how the seating is done. Our waitperson totally mixed up our order - we didn't get what we ordered for our main dish, they forgot a side, and no one really knew what kind of bread was used for toast which seems like a no brainer. They were friendly but for a good restaurant with higher pricing one expects better service.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Food was delicious. Charcuterie plate excellent. Cheese plate a bit spare. Service was fine if not a bit chilly. Overall good but not for price point. Cremant was corked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.