About Trou Normand

140 New Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Named for the northern French tradition of a shot of brandy between courses, this second location, from the owners of James Beard Award winning Bar Agricole, unites the pleasures of traditional mixed drinks and uncomplicated food.

The focus of the kitchen is house-made charcuterie and salumi. As many as 40 types of charcuterie are available on the all-day menu. Seasonal sides and simple cuts of meat round out the dinner options.

The focus of the drink menu is brandy. Many of the Armagnacs, Cognacs and Calvados served at Trou Normand and Bar Agricole are found nowhere else in the world.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Organic

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5:30 pm-10:30 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30 am - 3 pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Charcuterie & Salumi served all day, from open until close.

Cross Street:
Natoma

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 975-0876

Website:
http://www.trounormandsf.com/

Parking Details:
The valet parking app Vatler provides service for $20.

Download the app: bit.ly/vatlerApp and get $10 off with promo code TROU

Select TROU NORMAND restaurant on the map and a valet will come to you.

Public Transit:
Montgomery Bart Station

Executive Chef:
Salvatore Cracco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Trou Normand is a new restaurant and bar located in the heart of San Francisco's Financial district. We have two unique spaces for private dining and with advanced planning the entire restaurant is available for a private event.

Trou Normand Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
See All
Casual (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Romantic (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Cozy (3)
Live Music (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Never go here, so that the REST OF US CA ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Never go here, so that the REST OF US CAN FLOCK TO IT! I have lived around the corner from this place for two and a half years, and I will never ever, get those back! The charcuterie plates are to die for, and their entrees are outstanding! Run! Don't walk, to brunch and dinner!

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Been here 3 times and have enjoyed the f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Been here 3 times and have enjoyed the food each time. Friendly staff and service, not stuffy and pretentious considering the quality of the food and drink. Not cheap however, I Highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Pork chop was over brined and super salt ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Pork chop was over brined and super salty.

Go there for charcuterie and cheese. Everything else is mediocre at best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Had a truly exceptional experience. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Had a truly exceptional experience. The food was great, bar programs was excellent and it was all wrapped up with great service. Looking forward to our next trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They put us in a table outside with no h ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

They put us in a table outside with no heat on. Then when we kindly asked if we could be seated inside, they said they will try with the host and then put us in a table where all 3 of us were seated in the same row - unable to speak to each other. The service was unattentive, uncaring. We left early without ordering mains. Will certainly not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

New Years Eve was the occasion for our v ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve was the occasion for our visit!

Seating in the atrium for our group of eight was too cold and uncomfortable. The heat lamps did not provide enough heat.

Three in our party had the pork chop and thought it was delicious but also that it had too much fat left on. It also could have come with something like a vegetable or starch. Several in our party thought the food was overly salty.

On the whole, we had high expectations since it was a Chronicle Top 100 restaurant. I have to admit I was a bit disappointed in the overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Been to lunch and absolutely loved the f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Been to lunch and absolutely loved the food and the ambiance. The only concern of mine is I took my parents to Trou Normand when they came to visit me and even though I loved and enjoyed my food VERY MUCH, the food didn't really appeal to them. I guess it is a wonderful place for people looking for innovative (and delicious) approach to food that you probably had many times. FOODIES, definitely it is a place you would want to go!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A nice place. Food was shockingly medioc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A nice place. Food was shockingly mediocre, especially for the price. Pork was a bunch of slices, too uncooked and chewy. Chicken was good but uninteresting. The only decent food was the bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Well worth the visit. All round Good foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Well worth the visit. All round Good food, drinks & service.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is great place to have some cockta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is great place to have some cocktails with some snacks. they have a great choice of meat and cheeses. The main dishes are all pretty much pork but the starters or side dishes are quite large and taste amazing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated my birthday here. The food ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We celebrated my birthday here. The food was delicious, the staff was accommodating and friendly. My friends and I really enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The crab toast was awful. eggs were cold ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The crab toast was awful. eggs were cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Meh. Service was very slow. Drafty roo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Meh. Service was very slow. Drafty room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Great cocktails and excellent charcuteri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great cocktails and excellent charcuterie

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always the food was on point, and the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

As always the food was on point, and the folks working floor obviously love the menu and care about the guests. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere was great. Was a little disap ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Atmosphere was great. Was a little disappointed in the service. It took 30minutes for the table to be ready. We were then seated in the cold back room and service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

I went to Trou Normand for lunch with a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I went to Trou Normand for lunch with a group of five family members. We were seated promptly in a comfortable booth. Service was attentive and fast. The dining room has high ceilings and feels very spacious, unlike so many SF restaurants. The food was good, but by no means amazing, and felt somewhat overpriced, especially for lunch. The bread on my tartine and on another sandwich was burned (I am all for toasted, but it was black). One of us got a crab salad. It was a tiny salad, not nearly enough to make a meal, and had very little crab in it. The schnitzel (I was told) was very good. The coffee was so sour as to be barely drinkable.

I don't think I'll be going be back there, unless I can expense the meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent charcuterie, cocktails and win ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Excellent charcuterie, cocktails and wine list I'll go again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Despite a reservation, we were seated in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Despite a reservation, we were seated in the bar area at a shared table with uncomfortable seating. Service was spotty. Servers only came by to deliver food. Food was very heavy and salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

The mixed drinks were excellent. Loved t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The mixed drinks were excellent. Loved the

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Cute place, unexpected. Great food, good ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Cute place, unexpected. Great food, good service, well decorated but cold. The terrace is extremely noisy and cold too. Worth it to share a table inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Every course was delicious and the servi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Every course was delicious and the service was just attentive enough. The music was too loud when we arrived but got quieter. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My friend and I enjoyed a quiet brunch. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My friend and I enjoyed a quiet brunch. Celiac friendly, which is very important to me. Tiny bit pricey but the food and service was well worth it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had brunch to celebrate a birthday. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had brunch to celebrate a birthday. Our group had the corned beef sandwich, red flannel hash, and semolina pancake. Everything was very good. It was $90 (includes tip) for 4 people and no alcohol. I would go back for special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I made reservations but they were a half ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I made reservations but they were a half an hour late in seating us. They gave us a drink or two on the house but bimmedwr had to wait a while. The food was very good and the service was just fair. A little noisy but not too bad. Charcuterie and pork chop was great and the sides were too

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and drinks but relatively expe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Good food and drinks but relatively expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was the first time I have gone for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This was the first time I have gone for dinner. Really lovely menu and spread. On the pricier side, and the service was a little off, but the dishes and cocktails were very tasty. Would definitely recommend and go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Everything was seasonal and tasty! A cha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was seasonal and tasty! A charcuterie sampler, pasta, salad, and side left two women stuffed! It seemed like a good value and I would come back. Also, it seems to have a large space so could be good for groups or when you don't have a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent all around. Shout out to Maya ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent all around. Shout out to Maya for her engaging service. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Has not disappointed in any of my few vi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Has not disappointed in any of my few visits. On the pricier side, but food is quality and worth it. Menu changes, but they have something for everyone. Chopped Salad is great and filling, as well as the Avocado Sandwich, and I've heard the pastas are very good. Excellent patio dining in the back - perfect for business lunches, as unlike most places in SF, you can actually hear the person across from you without shouting.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

On my second visit, I was less impressed ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

On my second visit, I was less impressed. I think this is a great place for charcuterie and wine, but less so for a full dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Had a great lunch here! Delicious food a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Had a great lunch here! Delicious food and really friendly service staff. A little weird that they seat two parties in one large booth, but I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved everything except the pork chop w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Loved everything except the pork chop was WAY over salted.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Aloof service, small portions, ear-split ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Aloof service, small portions, ear-splitting noise levels, and awkward booth seating marred appreciation of the otherwise small but excellent though absurdly pricey menu. Trou Normand has successfully transitioned from a fun lively place with great food to quite possibly the worst value in a city. That stated, this past Tuesday it was packed full of bright shiny techies clamoring to buy $12 Belgium beer and $16/glass minimal pour meh wine. I may not be back for a while....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was really good and creative! Love ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Food was really good and creative! Love that menu changes nightly!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My chopped salad was fresh & thoughtfull ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My chopped salad was fresh & thoughtfully prepared but quite salty. Don't get me wrong I love flavor but the salt dominated the dish bite by bite. I had a slug emerge from my dish to which the server shrugged off with a goofy, "we're organic".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Amazing. Great selection of meats, drink ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Amazing. Great selection of meats, drinks and quality

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for the cheese board and it defi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We went for the cheese board and it definitely did not disappoint!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We arrived when the restaurant opened fo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We arrived when the restaurant opened for lunch. There were tables available, but we were seated in a very small booth with another couple. It was strange and had we known this was their policy ahead of time, we would not have chosen to eat here. The food was good and the cocktails were very strong. I used my dining reward gift certificate here, but will not return to this restaurant due to the seating arrangements.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Love this beautiful meat forward restaur ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Love this beautiful meat forward restaurant. My favorite thing to do is sit on their glass screened patio with a glass of rosé wine and a large platter of charcuterie to share with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.