About Trou Normand

140 New Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Named for the northern French tradition of a shot of brandy between courses, this second location, from the owners of James Beard Award winning Bar Agricole, unites the pleasures of traditional mixed drinks and uncomplicated food.

The focus of the kitchen is house-made charcuterie and salumi. As many as 40 types of charcuterie are available on the all-day menu. Seasonal sides and simple cuts of meat round out the dinner options.

The focus of the drink menu is brandy. Many of the Armagnacs, Cognacs and Calvados served at Trou Normand and Bar Agricole are found nowhere else in the world.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Organic

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5:30 pm-10:30 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30 am - 3 pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Charcuterie & Salumi served all day, from open until close.

Cross Street:
Natoma

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 975-0876

Website:
http://www.trounormandsf.com/

Parking Details:
The valet parking app Vatler provides service for $20.

Download the app: bit.ly/vatlerApp and get $10 off with promo code TROU

Select TROU NORMAND restaurant on the map and a valet will come to you.

Public Transit:
Montgomery Bart Station

Executive Chef:
Salvatore Cracco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Trou Normand is a new restaurant and bar located in the heart of San Francisco's Financial district. We have two unique spaces for private dining and with advanced planning the entire restaurant is available for a private event.

Trou Normand Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
See All
Special Occasion (10)
Romantic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Casual (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Business Meals (4)
Cozy (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
People Watching (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Authentic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
355 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was the first time I have gone for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This was the first time I have gone for dinner. Really lovely menu and spread. On the pricier side, and the service was a little off, but the dishes and cocktails were very tasty. Would definitely recommend and go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Everything was seasonal and tasty! A cha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was seasonal and tasty! A charcuterie sampler, pasta, salad, and side left two women stuffed! It seemed like a good value and I would come back. Also, it seems to have a large space so could be good for groups or when you don't have a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent all around. Shout out to Maya ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent all around. Shout out to Maya for her engaging service. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Has not disappointed in any of my few vi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Has not disappointed in any of my few visits. On the pricier side, but food is quality and worth it. Menu changes, but they have something for everyone. Chopped Salad is great and filling, as well as the Avocado Sandwich, and I've heard the pastas are very good. Excellent patio dining in the back - perfect for business lunches, as unlike most places in SF, you can actually hear the person across from you without shouting.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

On my second visit, I was less impressed ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

On my second visit, I was less impressed. I think this is a great place for charcuterie and wine, but less so for a full dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Had a great lunch here! Delicious food a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Had a great lunch here! Delicious food and really friendly service staff. A little weird that they seat two parties in one large booth, but I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved everything except the pork chop w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Loved everything except the pork chop was WAY over salted.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Aloof service, small portions, ear-split ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Aloof service, small portions, ear-splitting noise levels, and awkward booth seating marred appreciation of the otherwise small but excellent though absurdly pricey menu. Trou Normand has successfully transitioned from a fun lively place with great food to quite possibly the worst value in a city. That stated, this past Tuesday it was packed full of bright shiny techies clamoring to buy $12 Belgium beer and $16/glass minimal pour meh wine. I may not be back for a while....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was really good and creative! Love ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Food was really good and creative! Love that menu changes nightly!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My chopped salad was fresh & thoughtfull ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My chopped salad was fresh & thoughtfully prepared but quite salty. Don't get me wrong I love flavor but the salt dominated the dish bite by bite. I had a slug emerge from my dish to which the server shrugged off with a goofy, "we're organic".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Amazing. Great selection of meats, drink ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Amazing. Great selection of meats, drinks and quality

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for the cheese board and it defi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We went for the cheese board and it definitely did not disappoint!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We arrived when the restaurant opened fo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We arrived when the restaurant opened for lunch. There were tables available, but we were seated in a very small booth with another couple. It was strange and had we known this was their policy ahead of time, we would not have chosen to eat here. The food was good and the cocktails were very strong. I used my dining reward gift certificate here, but will not return to this restaurant due to the seating arrangements.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Love this beautiful meat forward restaur ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Love this beautiful meat forward restaurant. My favorite thing to do is sit on their glass screened patio with a glass of rosé wine and a large platter of charcuterie to share with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu was fairly limited. The food was go ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Menu was fairly limited. The food was good but definitely not standout for San Francisco. The wine list was especially limited and highly focused on old world wines. The space is well-suited to groups and I found this to be the primary strength. Overall, a pleasant experience with attentive service but mediocre food and wine by SF standards and price.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great restaurant near SF Moma. Nice set ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great restaurant near SF Moma. Nice setting, cool ambiance , friendly and knowledgeable service. The food was delicious...not really a good place for vegetarians, though:) would definitely come back!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for brunch and had a wonderful t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went for brunch and had a wonderful time. Great food, drinks and service.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our table reservations were lambs hind s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our table reservations were lambs hind schedule but manager after 10 min came to offer us an appetizer, then a drink.

When we finally got our table manager brought us a assorted platter of appetizer on the house...

They went above and beyond to make up for being 10m late...

Great service and amazing food.

I would definitely go back and also recommend Trou Normand to anyone...

Great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food is completely mis-priced. Good qual ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Food is completely mis-priced. Good quality and I didn't mind the portion size but some things were just ridiculously priced like cheese and sides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Extraordinarily expensive for what it is ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Extraordinarily expensive for what it is. Half-thought through ideas, sterile atmosphere. Very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

GOOD FOOD BUT TOO EXPENSIVE. SIZE OF TH ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 8, 2016

GOOD FOOD BUT TOO EXPENSIVE. SIZE OF THE PORK CHOP WAS AT LEAST ONE POUND. OUR PARTY OF THREE ORDERED THE CHARCUTERIE PLATE OF 8 ITEMS AND THEN ORDERED ONE PORK CHOP AND THE PASTA ENTREE. THE SECOND MEMBER OF OUR GROUP ORDERED A PORK CHOP TOO AND THE SERVER NEVER TOLD US HOW BIG THE PORK CHOP REALLY WAS. WE CANCELLED ONE OF THE PORK CHOPS AND GOOD THING BECAUSE THE ONE PORK CHOP WAS ENOUGH FOR 3 PEOPLE. THE SIZE OF THE PASTA DISH WAS FINE. I AM PUTTING THE SERVICE LOW BECAUSE WE SHOULD HAVE BEEN WARNED.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great Charcuterie Elegant reminds me of ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great Charcuterie Elegant reminds me of Normandy as a kid love it

Authentic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overpriced on all levels. Food was great ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Overpriced on all levels. Food was great but too pricey. I wouldn't recommend until they step up their variety or lower the prices

Tags: Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

we made a reservation, but then we lande ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 4, 2016

we made a reservation, but then we landed in the back outdoor area with heaters. It's too cold in SF for out door dining! ALso, not much real food, very limited menu, better for cheese/pate/etc.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The tomatoes were some of the best I've ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The tomatoes were some of the best I've had!! Great coffee and cocktails as well. Cures were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Dinner for 12 at the Butcher's Table was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Dinner for 12 at the Butcher's Table was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

we really enjoyed our sunday brunch. gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

we really enjoyed our sunday brunch. great service, outdoor seating in the back..made us feel like we were in ny or chicago, with the fidi skyline in view.

food delicious, wine list is very good.

will def go back, dinner on the patio would probably be amazing.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Fun, Late-night Find, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Seasoning was inconsistent. Meatballs we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Seasoning was inconsistent. Meatballs were salty and chicken dish was flavorless and under-seasoned.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing. Great atmosphere, attentive sta ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Amazing. Great atmosphere, attentive staff, and a group of super talented chefs. The drinks were incredibly tasty and well-balanced. Of course, the star of the restaurant is the meat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice stop on way to ATT or Moscone Cente ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Nice stop on way to ATT or Moscone Center. Hidden in 140 New Montgomery Trou Normand is worth the hunt

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Note that we went for brunch, which is n ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Note that we went for brunch, which is not the best test of any kitchen. But we stayed away from eggs and instead tried a house-made pate, arincini, flat bread and a salad. Everything was delicious and had just enough of a twist to be unique but not weird. The breakfast cocktails were a fabulous alternative to the typical bloody mary and mimosa. I wasn't crazy about the indoor/outdoor shared table thing, but I think it would make it a good spot for a group.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Mediocre food, horrible service! Will ne ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Mediocre food, horrible service! Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

We had reservations but had to sit in th ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had reservations but had to sit in the outside area which is very noisy and not an impressive setting. Very pricey although the food and service satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Great outdoor dining option in SF thanks ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great outdoor dining option in SF thanks to heat lamps and rain protection (glass ceiling ). Recommend for a downtown work lunch or an evening date. Great for charcuterie lovers. Service was exceptional.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food , great service, really reall ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food , great service, really really noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

Most EXPENSIVE mediocre meal I've had in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Most EXPENSIVE mediocre meal I've had in a long time. No not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

The experience was terrible. We were e ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 15, 2016

The experience was terrible.

We were expecting a professional, excellently run venue for Sunday dinner. The menu listed 4 entrees of which only 2 were available. The kitchen was very slow (understaffed) so the wait staff had to keep "thanking us for our patience." The pasta entry was "OK" and worth neither the wait nor the price.

This place is good for a drink and the expensive charcuterie and cheese. Then LEAVE.

It bordered on criminal that it was even open for Sunday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

This was one of the best dining experien ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was one of the best dining experiences I have had in recent memory. We were there for a special occasion and the staff just went out of their way to make the evening amazing. The food, the service, the drinks, the ambiance, everything was absolutely amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meat lovers unite! We started with pates ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Meat lovers unite!

We started with pates and salumi, went fishy with anchovies and squid, then reverted to form with roast pork, roast lamb, pork meatballs and pasta with lamb sausage.

Your healthy conscience goes MIA here. But it's SO good.

Just throw in a veggie every now and then.

It's all a la carte, so the tab starts getting hefty when you fill in the food groups.

There weren't many wines we recognized, so they let us sample a few from the glasses list to find one we liked.

One drawback -- the chairs on the patio get uncomfortable after an hour plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Charcuterie plate is absolutely necessar ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Charcuterie plate is absolutely necessary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.