About Trou Normand

140 New Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Named for the northern French tradition of a shot of brandy between courses, this second location, from the owners of James Beard Award winning Bar Agricole, unites the pleasures of traditional mixed drinks and uncomplicated food.

The focus of the kitchen is house-made charcuterie and salumi. As many as 40 types of charcuterie are available on the all-day menu. Seasonal sides and simple cuts of meat round out the dinner options.

The focus of the drink menu is brandy. Many of the Armagnacs, Cognacs and Calvados served at Trou Normand and Bar Agricole are found nowhere else in the world.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Organic

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5:30 pm-10:30 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30 am - 3 pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Charcuterie & Salumi served all day, from open until close.

Cross Street:
Natoma

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 975-0876

Website:
http://www.trounormandsf.com/

Parking Details:
The valet parking app Vatler provides service for $20.

Download the app: bit.ly/vatlerApp and get $10 off with promo code TROU

Select TROU NORMAND restaurant on the map and a valet will come to you.

Public Transit:
Montgomery Bart Station

Executive Chef:
Salvatore Cracco

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Trou Normand is a new restaurant and bar located in the heart of San Francisco's Financial district. We have two unique spaces for private dining and with advanced planning the entire restaurant is available for a private event.

Trou Normand Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (69)
good for groups (39)
great for outdoor dining (37)
See All
special occasion (24)
great for lunch (23)
hot spot (18)
great for brunch (18)
vibrant bar scene (18)
neighborhood gem (17)
romantic (14)
notable wine list (9)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A new find during a recent business trip ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

A new find during a recent business trip to San Francisco. Will definitely come back for dinner and future visits!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Trou Normand on Saturday nigh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I went to Trou Normand on Saturday night to take a friend out for a special birthday dinner. I had secretly advised the host that we were celebrating a birthday and she said she would let the server know. I was personally excited about dining at Trou Normand as I had a wonderful experience 2 years ago. Unfortunately the evening was not impressive and I wish I would have taken a risk and dined at another restaurant. I really liked the server as she was polite and kind, making the ambiance enjoyable. However, there was no mention of a happy birthday or offer for dessert. That alone was sad because the reason we were there was for my friends birthday. On to the food, what was worse was that the tagliatelle with pork was portion for 1/2 a person while being priced quite high. I don't mind paying a higher expense on food but I expect quality and a generous size. Instead it was a small portion of salty noodles. I do want to give credit to the charcuterie, this has not changed and I am glad we got to at least experience that. Overall the best part of our experience was the drinks. Kudos to the cocktails... only if everything else was that good. Well, Trou Normand it was a good run but I do not think I'll come back here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Overpriced, not enough tables, waitress ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Overpriced, not enough tables, waitress sat us at the bar while booths were available and empty, outdoor heater did not work

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Solid. Trendy restaurant with good food ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Solid. Trendy restaurant with good food to back up the hip vibe.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Trou Normand was a wonderful experience. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Trou Normand was a wonderful experience. Treated my boyfriend for brunch for his birthday and he had an amazing time. The staff were amazing, the outdoor seating is lovely on a sunny afternoon, and the food, oh my goodness, the food; exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, utterly insane prices, e ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food, utterly insane prices, even by San Francisco standards.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

The design, cocktails, and wine were fan ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The design, cocktails, and wine were fantastic. A great place to catch up with a friend or dine with coworkers.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food and a very unique place. T ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fabulous food and a very unique place. They make all their own cuts of meat and sausages.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. My husband and I w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Wonderful experience. My husband and I were referred by a client friend of mine and it was absolutely wonderful. Our server was attentive and very helpful in helping us make selections.

I am an architect and to me the space was very inspiring! Love when ambiance and very creative and excellent food all work together. I highly recommend Trou Normand to everyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trou Normand is a gorgeous space that se ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Trou Normand is a gorgeous space that serves equally gorgeous food. Each item we ordered was a beautiful showcase of food, particularly the simply titled ham toast. What arrived were two perfectly toasted pieces of bread lathered with soft butter and then piled enticingly with shavings of not too sweet, not too salty ham. We cannot wait to find an excuse to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. Everyone is so fr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was excellent. Everyone is so friendly and accommodating. We were waiting at the bar for over an hour for our table. They more than made it up to us. Cocktails were divine and the food was delicious as well.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A great, though slightly unusual, restau ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

A great, though slightly unusual, restaurant. The service was fabulous and the house made charcuterie was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The selection of fine meats and cheeses ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The selection of fine meats and cheeses was excellent. The food was excellent minus the patte. The servers were professional and prompt. Not sure it was worth the price though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Salmon roe on salmon tartar were old. Sa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Salmon roe on salmon tartar were old. Salmon wasn't very good. We left and got dinner elsewhere without finishing our appetizers. A disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The salumi options are excellent and all ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The salumi options are excellent and all unique to Trou Normand. I had the porkchop for dinner and it was perfect, though it was one leisurely pig with a little bit more fat and a lot more flavor than porkchops I have had elsewhere. The salumi was so good, we opted for another two and cheese for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and service were excellent but ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The food and service were excellent but the wine was outrageously overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food, service and setting. Patio i ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food, service and setting. Patio is pet friendly. I just wish they had more on the menu for non-meat eaters.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious with great service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I went for brunch and got the scrambled eggs with sheep's milk ricotta. So delicious! Especially because I can't eat cow's milk dairy so this was perfect. The service was also fantastic and really accommodating. Would recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 4 booths completely empty the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

There were 4 booths completely empty the whole time we were there and they kept telling people they were reserved so we had the choice of horribly uncomfortable chairs in the full sun outside, the bar stools, or sharing a booth with a very lively couple. We chose the bar and got indifferent and slow service from a very unenthusiastic bartender. The portions were tiny and pricey. Tasty but not worth the price or the attitudes. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Great lunch spot with outdoors patio

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great food, nice decor (tastefully decorated), good service, awesome patio outside

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lunch Gem

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We really enjoyed our lunch her for my sister's birthday. It was a sunny day and we sat outside in the greenhouse. They lowered the sides of the greenhouse to keep the breezes at bay. The food was great; loved the charcuterie assortment so we could sample a few of the house specialties. Our entrees were delicious: a Chopped salad, some Lamb sausages and a Ham and cheese sandwich. Best of all was dessert! Loved the deconstructed take on a Boston Cream Pie we shared. A shout out for the excellent service we had from Tsemrou! He made us laugh with his jokes, was very attentive that we had everything we needed and put a candle on the dessert as a surprise for my sister. I will look forward to eating here again when back in San Francisco.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing lunch

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Very limited menu for lunch, and poor value for the money. Literally 2 beers on the menu, and we had to ask for bread (of course no butter) as the lunch entrees were not enough. Very noisy music track inside. We came here for a business lunch which was a big mistake. Service was not highly professional. Hostess was great and by far the best part of the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

24 hours in SFO

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Fabulous brunch, great calvados based cocktails. Roasted apricots were Devine and they know how to cook eggs. All this and more and around the corner from the top modern art museum in America.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Strange experience!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Strange experience! They are known for their bacon! Meals come with just meat!! We Where hungry when we left! And our bill for 4 was over 300.00!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Tru Normand is a bar, with some pretensi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Tru Normand is a bar, with some pretensions of a restaurant. The atmosphere, menu and noise level are what you expect to find in a vibrant bar. It is not a place to relax and enjoy dinner with friends.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Really enjoyed my first visit here. Ther ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Really enjoyed my first visit here. There were 3 of us and we started w/ a charcuterie plate that our gracious waitress helped us with picking out cheeses & meats. I can't remember the name but one of the cheeses was a double cream Brie or similar and it was so delicious I would have been happy eating that slathered on baguette for dinner. We split 3 entrees which were the purple potatoes, the pork meatballs & the tagliatelle. All were very good, the meatballs were tender and the sauce was rich & flavorful. I was also surprised at how much I enjoyed the potatoes.

For dessert we had the Deconstructed Boston Creme Pie which was so dang good, I hated having to share.

Oh , the cocktails were great too. I would def recommend this resteraunt, I would like to go back and try out some of the other items on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best charcuterie in town.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Best charcuterie in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Went for brunch. Amazing food and ambien ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Went for brunch.

Amazing food and ambience

Had the charcuterie board, eggs, and pork

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We wish we could go back today, it was t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We wish we could go back today, it was that good. We started with the small charcuterie sampler, 4 items selected by the chef served with grainy mustard, a small, shaved fennel salad, pork broth aspic, and a small baguette. So good. My particular favorites were the fennel salami and the ciccioli and didn't find the aspic added anything positive. I moved on to the pork meatballs pomodoro and my husband had tagliatelli with a lamb ragu. Both so, so good. Because there hadn't been much in the way of vegetables, we also got the sugar snap peas with fava greens, to make us feel more virtuous. If we were to go back, we'd split a larger charcuterie platter and maybe just go with a salad or split an entree. The stars of the show for us were the pates and charcuterie. We sat near the bar in one of the banquettes and I really enjoyed the atmosphere- steady action but not too loud to be able to talk.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waited 45 min for a $25 burger worth $10 ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Waited 45 min for a $25 burger worth $10 and average brisket when there were only 3 other tables. Charcuterie was good, if expensive, but understandable for the neighborhood, but there was no excuse for the long wait for the food given how un busy it was. Will not be coming here again, nor recommending it to friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

I don't eat much but these were ridiculo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I don't eat much but these were ridiculously small portions for the price asked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

not much good to say

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

I really wanted to love this place but had a pretty bad experience and left feeing very disappointed.

1. There's no doubt about it, It's expensive. I don't care about that, if it's good - then charge whatever you want. Mostly it wasn't good though and the portions are tiny so it's worth mentioning upfront that this place is $$$$$$.

2. No one knew anything about the wine list. I asked about a $65 bottle of Chardonnay from the Jura. The server said he'd never tried it but heard it was good. I asked for more definitive information. He came back and said that he'd asked two other staff and they said they also "liked it". I find it hard to believe there were no other notes from the sommelier (or the wine rep!) that they could have shared. This seemed slack and what I'd expect in a basic chain restaurant.

2. We split a mixed charcuterie plate to start. It was delicious. Condiments weren't right for the dish though. It felt incomplete. The meats themselves seemed good. It was really pricey for tiny thin slices of cured meat. We had to ask bread which seemed stupid.

3. Our main course - the pork chop special and a side of asparagus - came before we had finished our appetizer. I asked if the chef was in a rush and the server asked if I wanted him to take the food back to the kitchen. I said no, but it seemed a bit amateur that it was sent out in the first place.

4. The asparagus was tiny. And $18 (I think?). The point is it was very small and very expensive. It was also too heavily seasoned meaning way too salty.

5. The pork chop was under cooked. I don't care if the chef disagrees pork should be mostly opaque the whole way through and slightly pink in the middle. It was translucent and could only be described as rare. We only ate half of it. We let the server know and he took it off the bill which was not expected but a nice gesture.

The server offered us a complementary glass of calvados, the essence of trou normand. It was a nice way to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

The food was tasty, and the service was friendly.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The only reason I think the value is overrated here, is that the food wasn't SO GREAT that I think it's worth being above $20.00 per brunch entree. Would be willing to give it a shot for drinks/dinner though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

I love this place.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

I love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good fried fish Need more food selection ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Good fried fish

Need more food selection on the menu

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Cool place!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

I go there regularly for lunch and drinks after work. The atmosphere is very cool, staff is very friendly, food is all made in house, drinks are delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The place to go for charcuterie/salumi!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Charcuterie, salumi, pate, sausage - if these words make your mouth water, then you must go to Trou Normand! This is a temple for the worshipers of cured meat. The best lunch treat for me is the sausage sandwich. with fresh horseradish and wilted greens, this is the perfect blend of flavors. I cannot wait to go back for more!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

staff were wonderful, as we were delayed ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

staff were wonderful, as we were delayed for our lunch reservation, and they let us stay and enjoy a wonderful lunch.

lamb and pork sandwiches were divine!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place has so much potential and the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This place has so much potential and the food is really quite good. The hitch is that the service is unpredictable. The staff we encountered were pleasant and lovely though the timing of delivery of our food was all off. We ordered two appetizers and they both appeared after our main dishes were served. I think that they really need to work on the communication between the kitchen and the wait staff. I would like to go back but will wait until they have worked out their service kinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food & service, too noisy

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food. Everything was delicious. Couldn't get enough of the meats. Had 2-3 rounds of starters. Even dessert (Boston Cream Pie) was amazing, and we are not a sweet tooth kind of crowd.

Helpful and responsive service. We complained about the noise and the music was turned down a bit, even though it was a Friday evening. Would love to come back and enjoy at a mellower time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.