About Trou Normand

140 New Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Named for the northern French tradition of a shot of brandy between courses, this second location, from the owners of James Beard Award winning Bar Agricole, unites the pleasures of traditional mixed drinks and uncomplicated food.

The focus of the kitchen is house-made charcuterie and salumi. As many as 40 types of charcuterie are available on the all-day menu. Seasonal sides and simple cuts of meat round out the dinner options.

The focus of the drink menu is brandy. Many of the Armagnacs, Cognacs and Calvados served at Trou Normand and Bar Agricole are found nowhere else in the world.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Organic

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5:30 pm-10:30 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30 am - 3 pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Charcuterie & Salumi served all day, from open until close.

Cross Street:
Natoma

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 975-0876

Website:
http://www.trounormandsf.com/

Parking Details:
The valet parking app Vatler provides service for $20.

Download the app: bit.ly/vatlerApp and get $10 off with promo code TROU

Select TROU NORMAND restaurant on the map and a valet will come to you.

Public Transit:
Montgomery Bart Station

Executive Chef:
Salvatore Cracco

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Trou Normand is a new restaurant and bar located in the heart of San Francisco's Financial district. We have two unique spaces for private dining and with advanced planning the entire restaurant is available for a private event.

Trou Normand Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (62)
Good for Groups (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
See All
Great for Lunch (25)
Special Occasion (24)
Great for Brunch (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Romantic (13)
Notable Wine List (10)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
322 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Mediocre food, horrible service! Will ne ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 2 days ago

Mediocre food, horrible service! Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

We had reservations but had to sit in th ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had reservations but had to sit in the outside area which is very noisy and not an impressive setting. Very pricey although the food and service satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Great food , great service, really reall ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food , great service, really really noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

Most EXPENSIVE mediocre meal I've had in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Most EXPENSIVE mediocre meal I've had in a long time. No not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

The experience was terrible. We were e ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The experience was terrible.

We were expecting a professional, excellently run venue for Sunday dinner. The menu listed 4 entrees of which only 2 were available. The kitchen was very slow (understaffed) so the wait staff had to keep "thanking us for our patience." The pasta entry was "OK" and worth neither the wait nor the price.

This place is good for a drink and the expensive charcuterie and cheese. Then LEAVE.

It bordered on criminal that it was even open for Sunday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

This was one of the best dining experien ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was one of the best dining experiences I have had in recent memory. We were there for a special occasion and the staff just went out of their way to make the evening amazing. The food, the service, the drinks, the ambiance, everything was absolutely amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meat lovers unite! We started with pates ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Meat lovers unite!

We started with pates and salumi, went fishy with anchovies and squid, then reverted to form with roast pork, roast lamb, pork meatballs and pasta with lamb sausage.

Your healthy conscience goes MIA here. But it's SO good.

Just throw in a veggie every now and then.

It's all a la carte, so the tab starts getting hefty when you fill in the food groups.

There weren't many wines we recognized, so they let us sample a few from the glasses list to find one we liked.

One drawback -- the chairs on the patio get uncomfortable after an hour plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Charcuterie plate is absolutely necessar ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Charcuterie plate is absolutely necessary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I eat at Trou Normand a LOT because it i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I eat at Trou Normand a LOT because it is near my office, so I go for lunch, drinks, and dinner.

It's always a treat. The food changes and for a small menu, it's quite unique, fresh and delicious. I had calamari with sea beans and chimichurri sauce and an amazing heirloom/ricotta salad. I will continue to go back again and again!

Thank you Trou Normand staff, too. Always friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Arrived at 7:15 for my reservation. Was ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Arrived at 7:15 for my reservation. Was promptly seated and served water. Our visit was on a Sunday evening and the restaurant was not busy. We watched the servers chit chat with other customers and were still waiting for our server to take our drink orders after 20 minutes. At that time, we decide to walk out.

It is unacceptable to have no service in a city like San Francisco that is full of good restaurants. Will definitely not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Strange place. Not sure how much they ca ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Strange place. Not sure how much they care about their customers. The noise level in the back room was deafening. I made a dietary request--nothing outlandish--that they failed to observe. Food was really uneven. Just got a bad feeling here. Wish it weren't so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Met someone for a business lunch, sat in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Met someone for a business lunch, sat in the covered patio area. Everything was very good, staff, food, space. Completely on point for a business lunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was a bit spotty and confused - ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Service was a bit spotty and confused - and out of 3 different wines we ordered while dining on Sunday Eve. Also, we were seated outside tent (chilly), and not clear if they had a proper table available for inside dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was great. Location was nice. A bit ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was great. Location was nice. A bit on the pricey side. Terrible service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was good/very good (not great), ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was good/very good (not great), and the carnivores in our party enjoyed the meat-heavy menu. Service was very friendly, but on the slow side. Live guitar music was very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Trou Normand is a charcuterie, French st ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Trou Normand is a charcuterie, French style restaurant with seating both inside and out. Reservations are recommended (open table) but not required. My husband and I dined here for brunch the day before the SF Marathon and were surprised by how many open spots there were. Meter spots in the area still run on Saturdays (not on Sundays) so we parked near Yerba Buena Gardens and walked over. Inside seating offers bar or tables and they do have bar hooks for the ladies :) the brunch menu is ever changing so keep that in mind if you book your reservation more than a week out. We started with a goat cheese and pepper jelly on toast for an appetizer and it did not disappoint. My husband ordered the braised pork with lipstick peppers (not spicy) and a fried egg and was completely blown away by the depth of flavors. I ordered the scrambled eggs with beans and edamame and cheese and it was light and delicious and the eggs were the best scrambled eggs I have ever had. It's not an hyperbole but rather truth. The eggs were moist and airy and just delicious. I could have ordered more but the $20+ price tag definitely held me back. If you like meat order their charcuterie, it's what they are famous for, but... If you are a meatless eater like myself, order the eggs :) oh and make sure to Yelp this place afterwards. They are after all, located right next to Yelp.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was a disaster. The waiter bait ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Service was a disaster. The waiter bait and switch us on the appetizer. Further, gave us wrong information on the entrée and miscommunicated on the timing of when the entrée would be served.

We ordered the lamb salumi as an appetizer. The waiter strongly recommended that we switch to a large combination platter. We passed on the option. But ended up getting the large combo platter anyway. There was no offer to take it back or adjust the price.

Two of us ordered the Cod for our entrée. Both times the waiter asked if it was OK that our cod came out as a whole fish. We interpret that as fish head, bone and tail as a whole fish. Both of us said fine. When the plate came out, the piece of cod was no bigger than a large postage stamp. However, that entrée was sure priced like an entire fish.

The third mishap was the biggest disappointment. While we were chomping on the large platter, the waiter asked if it was ok to bring out the entrees as he said the kitchen was starting to get busy. We said great. Well 20 minutes later we got a bottle of water but was still waiting for our entrees.

Food was delicious, but for the price, I was expecting better service. Will not be going back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

this was my 3rd or 4th time at Trou Nord ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

this was my 3rd or 4th time at Trou Nord. The food is very unique.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A new find during a recent business trip ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

A new find during a recent business trip to San Francisco. Will definitely come back for dinner and future visits!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Trou Normand on Saturday nigh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I went to Trou Normand on Saturday night to take a friend out for a special birthday dinner. I had secretly advised the host that we were celebrating a birthday and she said she would let the server know. I was personally excited about dining at Trou Normand as I had a wonderful experience 2 years ago. Unfortunately the evening was not impressive and I wish I would have taken a risk and dined at another restaurant. I really liked the server as she was polite and kind, making the ambiance enjoyable. However, there was no mention of a happy birthday or offer for dessert. That alone was sad because the reason we were there was for my friends birthday. On to the food, what was worse was that the tagliatelle with pork was portion for 1/2 a person while being priced quite high. I don't mind paying a higher expense on food but I expect quality and a generous size. Instead it was a small portion of salty noodles. I do want to give credit to the charcuterie, this has not changed and I am glad we got to at least experience that. Overall the best part of our experience was the drinks. Kudos to the cocktails... only if everything else was that good. Well, Trou Normand it was a good run but I do not think I'll come back here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Overpriced, not enough tables, waitress ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Overpriced, not enough tables, waitress sat us at the bar while booths were available and empty, outdoor heater did not work

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Solid. Trendy restaurant with good food ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Solid. Trendy restaurant with good food to back up the hip vibe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Trou Normand was a wonderful experience. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Trou Normand was a wonderful experience. Treated my boyfriend for brunch for his birthday and he had an amazing time. The staff were amazing, the outdoor seating is lovely on a sunny afternoon, and the food, oh my goodness, the food; exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, utterly insane prices, e ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food, utterly insane prices, even by San Francisco standards.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

The design, cocktails, and wine were fan ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The design, cocktails, and wine were fantastic. A great place to catch up with a friend or dine with coworkers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food and a very unique place. T ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fabulous food and a very unique place. They make all their own cuts of meat and sausages.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. My husband and I w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Wonderful experience. My husband and I were referred by a client friend of mine and it was absolutely wonderful. Our server was attentive and very helpful in helping us make selections.

I am an architect and to me the space was very inspiring! Love when ambiance and very creative and excellent food all work together. I highly recommend Trou Normand to everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trou Normand is a gorgeous space that se ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Trou Normand is a gorgeous space that serves equally gorgeous food. Each item we ordered was a beautiful showcase of food, particularly the simply titled ham toast. What arrived were two perfectly toasted pieces of bread lathered with soft butter and then piled enticingly with shavings of not too sweet, not too salty ham. We cannot wait to find an excuse to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. Everyone is so fr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was excellent. Everyone is so friendly and accommodating. We were waiting at the bar for over an hour for our table. They more than made it up to us. Cocktails were divine and the food was delicious as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A great, though slightly unusual, restau ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

A great, though slightly unusual, restaurant. The service was fabulous and the house made charcuterie was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The selection of fine meats and cheeses ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The selection of fine meats and cheeses was excellent. The food was excellent minus the patte. The servers were professional and prompt. Not sure it was worth the price though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Salmon roe on salmon tartar were old. Sa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Salmon roe on salmon tartar were old. Salmon wasn't very good. We left and got dinner elsewhere without finishing our appetizers. A disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The salumi options are excellent and all ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The salumi options are excellent and all unique to Trou Normand. I had the porkchop for dinner and it was perfect, though it was one leisurely pig with a little bit more fat and a lot more flavor than porkchops I have had elsewhere. The salumi was so good, we opted for another two and cheese for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and service were excellent but ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The food and service were excellent but the wine was outrageously overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food, service and setting. Patio i ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food, service and setting. Patio is pet friendly. I just wish they had more on the menu for non-meat eaters.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious with great service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I went for brunch and got the scrambled eggs with sheep's milk ricotta. So delicious! Especially because I can't eat cow's milk dairy so this was perfect. The service was also fantastic and really accommodating. Would recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 4 booths completely empty the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

There were 4 booths completely empty the whole time we were there and they kept telling people they were reserved so we had the choice of horribly uncomfortable chairs in the full sun outside, the bar stools, or sharing a booth with a very lively couple. We chose the bar and got indifferent and slow service from a very unenthusiastic bartender. The portions were tiny and pricey. Tasty but not worth the price or the attitudes. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Great lunch spot with outdoors patio

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great food, nice decor (tastefully decorated), good service, awesome patio outside

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lunch Gem

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We really enjoyed our lunch her for my sister's birthday. It was a sunny day and we sat outside in the greenhouse. They lowered the sides of the greenhouse to keep the breezes at bay. The food was great; loved the charcuterie assortment so we could sample a few of the house specialties. Our entrees were delicious: a Chopped salad, some Lamb sausages and a Ham and cheese sandwich. Best of all was dessert! Loved the deconstructed take on a Boston Cream Pie we shared. A shout out for the excellent service we had from Tsemrou! He made us laugh with his jokes, was very attentive that we had everything we needed and put a candle on the dessert as a surprise for my sister. I will look forward to eating here again when back in San Francisco.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing lunch

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Very limited menu for lunch, and poor value for the money. Literally 2 beers on the menu, and we had to ask for bread (of course no butter) as the lunch entrees were not enough. Very noisy music track inside. We came here for a business lunch which was a big mistake. Service was not highly professional. Hostess was great and by far the best part of the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.