About Trou Normand

140 New Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Named for the northern French tradition of a shot of brandy between courses, this second location, from the owners of James Beard Award winning Bar Agricole, unites the pleasures of traditional mixed drinks and uncomplicated food.

The focus of the kitchen is house-made charcuterie and salumi. As many as 40 types of charcuterie are available on the all-day menu. Seasonal sides and simple cuts of meat round out the dinner options.

The focus of the drink menu is brandy. Many of the Armagnacs, Cognacs and Calvados served at Trou Normand and Bar Agricole are found nowhere else in the world.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Organic

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5:30 pm-10:30 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:30 am - 3 pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Charcuterie & Salumi served all day, from open until close.

Cross Street:
Natoma

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 975-0876

Website:
http://www.trounormandsf.com/

Parking Details:
The valet parking app Vatler provides service for $20.

Download the app: bit.ly/vatlerApp and get $10 off with promo code TROU

Select TROU NORMAND restaurant on the map and a valet will come to you.

Public Transit:
Montgomery Bart Station

Executive Chef:
Salvatore Cracco

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Trou Normand is a new restaurant and bar located in the heart of San Francisco's Financial district. We have two unique spaces for private dining and with advanced planning the entire restaurant is available for a private event.

Trou Normand Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (46)
Good for Groups (28)
Great for Lunch (22)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Special Occasion (21)
Great for Brunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Romantic (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Bar Seating (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (3)
Fun (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Casual (2)
Scenic View (2)
Cozy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Healthy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
340 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love this beautiful meat forward restaur ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Love this beautiful meat forward restaurant. My favorite thing to do is sit on their glass screened patio with a glass of rosé wine and a large platter of charcuterie to share with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu was fairly limited. The food was go ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Menu was fairly limited. The food was good but definitely not standout for San Francisco. The wine list was especially limited and highly focused on old world wines. The space is well-suited to groups and I found this to be the primary strength. Overall, a pleasant experience with attentive service but mediocre food and wine by SF standards and price.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great restaurant near SF Moma. Nice set ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great restaurant near SF Moma. Nice setting, cool ambiance , friendly and knowledgeable service. The food was delicious...not really a good place for vegetarians, though:) would definitely come back!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for brunch and had a wonderful t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went for brunch and had a wonderful time. Great food, drinks and service.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our table reservations were lambs hind s ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our table reservations were lambs hind schedule but manager after 10 min came to offer us an appetizer, then a drink.

When we finally got our table manager brought us a assorted platter of appetizer on the house...

They went above and beyond to make up for being 10m late...

Great service and amazing food.

I would definitely go back and also recommend Trou Normand to anyone...

Great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food is completely mis-priced. Good qual ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Food is completely mis-priced. Good quality and I didn't mind the portion size but some things were just ridiculously priced like cheese and sides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Extraordinarily expensive for what it is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Extraordinarily expensive for what it is. Half-thought through ideas, sterile atmosphere. Very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

GOOD FOOD BUT TOO EXPENSIVE. SIZE OF TH ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

GOOD FOOD BUT TOO EXPENSIVE. SIZE OF THE PORK CHOP WAS AT LEAST ONE POUND. OUR PARTY OF THREE ORDERED THE CHARCUTERIE PLATE OF 8 ITEMS AND THEN ORDERED ONE PORK CHOP AND THE PASTA ENTREE. THE SECOND MEMBER OF OUR GROUP ORDERED A PORK CHOP TOO AND THE SERVER NEVER TOLD US HOW BIG THE PORK CHOP REALLY WAS. WE CANCELLED ONE OF THE PORK CHOPS AND GOOD THING BECAUSE THE ONE PORK CHOP WAS ENOUGH FOR 3 PEOPLE. THE SIZE OF THE PASTA DISH WAS FINE. I AM PUTTING THE SERVICE LOW BECAUSE WE SHOULD HAVE BEEN WARNED.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great Charcuterie Elegant reminds me of ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great Charcuterie Elegant reminds me of Normandy as a kid love it

Authentic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overpriced on all levels. Food was great ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Overpriced on all levels. Food was great but too pricey. I wouldn't recommend until they step up their variety or lower the prices

Tags: Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

we made a reservation, but then we lande ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

we made a reservation, but then we landed in the back outdoor area with heaters. It's too cold in SF for out door dining! ALso, not much real food, very limited menu, better for cheese/pate/etc.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Dinner for 12 at the Butcher's Table was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Dinner for 12 at the Butcher's Table was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

we really enjoyed our sunday brunch. gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

we really enjoyed our sunday brunch. great service, outdoor seating in the back..made us feel like we were in ny or chicago, with the fidi skyline in view.

food delicious, wine list is very good.

will def go back, dinner on the patio would probably be amazing.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Fun, Late-night Find, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Seasoning was inconsistent. Meatballs we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Seasoning was inconsistent. Meatballs were salty and chicken dish was flavorless and under-seasoned.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing. Great atmosphere, attentive sta ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Amazing. Great atmosphere, attentive staff, and a group of super talented chefs. The drinks were incredibly tasty and well-balanced. Of course, the star of the restaurant is the meat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice stop on way to ATT or Moscone Cente ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Nice stop on way to ATT or Moscone Center. Hidden in 140 New Montgomery Trou Normand is worth the hunt

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Note that we went for brunch, which is n ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Note that we went for brunch, which is not the best test of any kitchen. But we stayed away from eggs and instead tried a house-made pate, arincini, flat bread and a salad. Everything was delicious and had just enough of a twist to be unique but not weird. The breakfast cocktails were a fabulous alternative to the typical bloody mary and mimosa. I wasn't crazy about the indoor/outdoor shared table thing, but I think it would make it a good spot for a group.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Mediocre food, horrible service! Will ne ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Mediocre food, horrible service! Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

We had reservations but had to sit in th ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had reservations but had to sit in the outside area which is very noisy and not an impressive setting. Very pricey although the food and service satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Great outdoor dining option in SF thanks ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great outdoor dining option in SF thanks to heat lamps and rain protection (glass ceiling ). Recommend for a downtown work lunch or an evening date. Great for charcuterie lovers. Service was exceptional.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food , great service, really reall ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food , great service, really really noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

Most EXPENSIVE mediocre meal I've had in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Most EXPENSIVE mediocre meal I've had in a long time. No not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

The experience was terrible. We were e ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The experience was terrible.

We were expecting a professional, excellently run venue for Sunday dinner. The menu listed 4 entrees of which only 2 were available. The kitchen was very slow (understaffed) so the wait staff had to keep "thanking us for our patience." The pasta entry was "OK" and worth neither the wait nor the price.

This place is good for a drink and the expensive charcuterie and cheese. Then LEAVE.

It bordered on criminal that it was even open for Sunday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

This was one of the best dining experien ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was one of the best dining experiences I have had in recent memory. We were there for a special occasion and the staff just went out of their way to make the evening amazing. The food, the service, the drinks, the ambiance, everything was absolutely amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meat lovers unite! We started with pates ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Meat lovers unite!

We started with pates and salumi, went fishy with anchovies and squid, then reverted to form with roast pork, roast lamb, pork meatballs and pasta with lamb sausage.

Your healthy conscience goes MIA here. But it's SO good.

Just throw in a veggie every now and then.

It's all a la carte, so the tab starts getting hefty when you fill in the food groups.

There weren't many wines we recognized, so they let us sample a few from the glasses list to find one we liked.

One drawback -- the chairs on the patio get uncomfortable after an hour plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Charcuterie plate is absolutely necessar ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Charcuterie plate is absolutely necessary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I eat at Trou Normand a LOT because it i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I eat at Trou Normand a LOT because it is near my office, so I go for lunch, drinks, and dinner.

It's always a treat. The food changes and for a small menu, it's quite unique, fresh and delicious. I had calamari with sea beans and chimichurri sauce and an amazing heirloom/ricotta salad. I will continue to go back again and again!

Thank you Trou Normand staff, too. Always friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Arrived at 7:15 for my reservation. Was ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Arrived at 7:15 for my reservation. Was promptly seated and served water. Our visit was on a Sunday evening and the restaurant was not busy. We watched the servers chit chat with other customers and were still waiting for our server to take our drink orders after 20 minutes. At that time, we decide to walk out.

It is unacceptable to have no service in a city like San Francisco that is full of good restaurants. Will definitely not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Strange place. Not sure how much they ca ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Strange place. Not sure how much they care about their customers. The noise level in the back room was deafening. I made a dietary request--nothing outlandish--that they failed to observe. Food was really uneven. Just got a bad feeling here. Wish it weren't so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Met someone for a business lunch, sat in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Met someone for a business lunch, sat in the covered patio area. Everything was very good, staff, food, space. Completely on point for a business lunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was a bit spotty and confused - ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Service was a bit spotty and confused - and out of 3 different wines we ordered while dining on Sunday Eve. Also, we were seated outside tent (chilly), and not clear if they had a proper table available for inside dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was great. Location was nice. A bit ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was great. Location was nice. A bit on the pricey side. Terrible service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was good/very good (not great), ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was good/very good (not great), and the carnivores in our party enjoyed the meat-heavy menu. Service was very friendly, but on the slow side. Live guitar music was very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Trou Normand is a charcuterie, French st ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Trou Normand is a charcuterie, French style restaurant with seating both inside and out. Reservations are recommended (open table) but not required. My husband and I dined here for brunch the day before the SF Marathon and were surprised by how many open spots there were. Meter spots in the area still run on Saturdays (not on Sundays) so we parked near Yerba Buena Gardens and walked over. Inside seating offers bar or tables and they do have bar hooks for the ladies :) the brunch menu is ever changing so keep that in mind if you book your reservation more than a week out. We started with a goat cheese and pepper jelly on toast for an appetizer and it did not disappoint. My husband ordered the braised pork with lipstick peppers (not spicy) and a fried egg and was completely blown away by the depth of flavors. I ordered the scrambled eggs with beans and edamame and cheese and it was light and delicious and the eggs were the best scrambled eggs I have ever had. It's not an hyperbole but rather truth. The eggs were moist and airy and just delicious. I could have ordered more but the $20+ price tag definitely held me back. If you like meat order their charcuterie, it's what they are famous for, but... If you are a meatless eater like myself, order the eggs :) oh and make sure to Yelp this place afterwards. They are after all, located right next to Yelp.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was a disaster. The waiter bait ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Service was a disaster. The waiter bait and switch us on the appetizer. Further, gave us wrong information on the entrée and miscommunicated on the timing of when the entrée would be served.

We ordered the lamb salumi as an appetizer. The waiter strongly recommended that we switch to a large combination platter. We passed on the option. But ended up getting the large combo platter anyway. There was no offer to take it back or adjust the price.

Two of us ordered the Cod for our entrée. Both times the waiter asked if it was OK that our cod came out as a whole fish. We interpret that as fish head, bone and tail as a whole fish. Both of us said fine. When the plate came out, the piece of cod was no bigger than a large postage stamp. However, that entrée was sure priced like an entire fish.

The third mishap was the biggest disappointment. While we were chomping on the large platter, the waiter asked if it was ok to bring out the entrees as he said the kitchen was starting to get busy. We said great. Well 20 minutes later we got a bottle of water but was still waiting for our entrees.

Food was delicious, but for the price, I was expecting better service. Will not be going back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

this was my 3rd or 4th time at Trou Nord ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

this was my 3rd or 4th time at Trou Nord. The food is very unique.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A new find during a recent business trip ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

A new find during a recent business trip to San Francisco. Will definitely come back for dinner and future visits!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Trou Normand on Saturday nigh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I went to Trou Normand on Saturday night to take a friend out for a special birthday dinner. I had secretly advised the host that we were celebrating a birthday and she said she would let the server know. I was personally excited about dining at Trou Normand as I had a wonderful experience 2 years ago. Unfortunately the evening was not impressive and I wish I would have taken a risk and dined at another restaurant. I really liked the server as she was polite and kind, making the ambiance enjoyable. However, there was no mention of a happy birthday or offer for dessert. That alone was sad because the reason we were there was for my friends birthday. On to the food, what was worse was that the tagliatelle with pork was portion for 1/2 a person while being priced quite high. I don't mind paying a higher expense on food but I expect quality and a generous size. Instead it was a small portion of salty noodles. I do want to give credit to the charcuterie, this has not changed and I am glad we got to at least experience that. Overall the best part of our experience was the drinks. Kudos to the cocktails... only if everything else was that good. Well, Trou Normand it was a good run but I do not think I'll come back here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Overpriced, not enough tables, waitress ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Overpriced, not enough tables, waitress sat us at the bar while booths were available and empty, outdoor heater did not work

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Solid. Trendy restaurant with good food ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Solid. Trendy restaurant with good food to back up the hip vibe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.