About Troquet

140 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Boston's most exciting & comprehensive wine list cannot be found at a steakhouse or hotel; it is at Troquet, where cutting-edge cuisine & a killer view of the Boston Common act as accompaniments to an evening guaranteed to fulfill any wine connoisseur's fantasies. Please allow a minimum of two hours for dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Charles and Tremont

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 695-9463

Website:
http://www.troquetboston.com/

Public Transit:
Green line to Boylston Street.

Executive Chef:
Scott Hebert

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sole - Troquet, Boston, MA
Kobe Beef Sampler - Troquet, Boston, MA
Langoustine - Troquet, Boston, MA
Foie Gras - Troquet, Boston, MA
Briased Veal Cheel - Troquet, Boston, MA
Tuna Carpaccio At Troquet - Troquet, Boston, MA
Hamachi Taco - Troquet, Boston, MA
New Zealand Langoustines  - Troquet, Boston, MA
King Crab Tasting - Troquet, Boston, MA
Lobster Salad - Troquet, Boston, MA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Troquet Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Boston / New England
Best Service
Boston
French
Boston
Best Restaurants in Theater District ›

Special Occasion (29)
Notable Wine List (26)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Romantic (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Scenic View (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Cozy (8)
Authentic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Business Meals (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Seasonal (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
1094 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very fine food, excellent service, great ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Very fine food, excellent service, great wine list, polished and sophisticated but not stuffy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and tremendous service. A ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food and tremendous service. Although it's pricey it's worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Troquet is a great restaurant in the hea ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Troquet is a great restaurant in the heart of Boston. Fabulous food, fabulous view and fabulous service. This is a great go-to restaurant before theatre in Boston.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great pre-theatre spot - super food, eas ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Great pre-theatre spot - super food, easy walk to theatre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent cuisine...1st course of Ricott ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent cuisine...1st course of Ricotta Cavatelli was exceptional...notable deep wine list (bottles)...wines by the glass extensive and offered in both 2oz. and 4oz. sizes...excellent for tasting several wines without consuming too much in total...fantastic desserts made for a crowning finish to the dining experience...Highly Recommend!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Two months away from this place is, well ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Two months away from this place is, well, two months too long. Best restaurant in town.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still one of the best restaurants in Bos ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Still one of the best restaurants in Boston. The food never fails to amaze.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and amazing service - enjoyed ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great food and amazing service - enjoyed every course. We had the chilled lobster crepe and polenta agnolottie for appetizers, the cavatelli as an entree along with a lamb special - all of which were delicious. Will definitely be back and would recommend for business dinners as well as special occasions.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The trifecta...excellent food, wine and ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The trifecta...excellent food, wine and service!

Many gems on tbe wine list.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner. We started with the l ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful dinner. We started with the lobster crepe which was amazing. I had the chicken which was also delicious. We elected to do the wine pairings. I would highly recommend doing this at it does enhance the flavors of the dish!

By far my favorite was the apple and brie dessert. This was delectable! We can't wait to go back. This was an excellent venue to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our first visit, but certainly will not ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our first visit, but certainly will not be our last. Excellent food and service from very friendly people in a beautiful comfortable setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have such a fabulous experienc ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We always have such a fabulous experience at Troquet, and this time was no exception. Everything from the service to the food is always outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best wine list in Boston with fantastic ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Best wine list in Boston with fantastic food to match!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistent and fine dining. Horri ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Always consistent and fine dining. Horrible atmosphere, needs paint, remodeling, updating. Atmosphere a turn-off to all but foodies.

Tags: Healthy, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

The overall dining experience was fair. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The overall dining experience was fair. I was disappointed with my meal (Tuna) and the wine selection. We sampled 3 wines before settling on a 4th, which wasn't very good. For a restaurant that advertises it's wine selection, I was disappointed in the quality. The decore of the restaurant was also disappointing down stairs and in need of some TLC.

I would not recommend this restaurant as one of the better high end restaurants in Boston. I was looking for a "Wow" and the overall experience feel pretty short of that expectation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

I'm a vegetarian so I can eat about two ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I'm a vegetarian so I can eat about two things on the menu, but they're both delicious. My mother and I are good cooks, so we often scoff at what other similar restaurants have to offer. Not this place--we love it. We'll still go, but will miss the lovely view of the Common through the windows when it changes its location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went here for a dinner date before the t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Went here for a dinner date before the theater. The experience was all-around wonderful: fantastic food, service, and ambiance. Definitely going back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cuisine is excellent ! The wines are ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The cuisine is excellent ! The wines are expensive but you can take a lot of them by the glass

so to match your choice of food nicely. The room is not very warm or cosy but is reasonably elegant. The two or three tables by the window overlooking the Boston Common are of course

best. Service was not always very coordinated, but the food was delicious !

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Delightful dinner experience before thea ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Delightful dinner experience before theatre. Very friendly host and staff. A definite keeper. Food was exceptional. Presentation creative. Staff very respectful of our theatre time. All in all a wonderful experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious !

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Absolutely delicious !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely place near Theatre District. Exce ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Lovely place near Theatre District. Excellent food and warm service. Stairs awkwardly deliver you right on top of the kitchen, and there are tables near the kitchen which are not as nice as those near the windows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Interesting menu and wine list. We went ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Interesting menu and wine list. We went pre theater and had 4 appetizers that were all unique, visually very attractive, and very good. We were tight on time so we could not take advantage of the 5 or 7 item pairing menu but will be back to do that as we loved the atmosphere, service and the view of the commons and are looking forward to taking advantage of the extensive wine list.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was Excellent, Wine list is out of ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Food was Excellent, Wine list is out of this world with a WIDE range of older wines at great value

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Troquet is a place I visited once many y ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Troquet is a place I visited once many years ago and never returned. I forgot why, until I say the prices. The markup on the wine is horrendous. Pillar Box Red is a $13.- bottle of wine. You'll pay close to $80.- a bottle buying it by the ounce at this place. The same is true for the Breca. And those are just the ones I could easily recall. How about a nice piece of Dover Sole? Better ask the price first, because it says MP (market price) and that happens to be $60.! Just not worth it. When we were leaving I said to my date "You go first and see if anyone asks how dinner was or if everything was OK". Guess what? Too busy looking at their cell phones.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

This place is a well-hidden gem! Great f ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This place is a well-hidden gem! Great food, Wonderful wine and lovely ambiance. I will be returning soon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Clear, diverse menu. Professional servic ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Clear, diverse menu. Professional service. Comfortable space. Great food with perfect wine pairing. Superb dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the service was excellent. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food and the service was excellent. I hidden gem!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had dinner at Troquet with friends visit ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had dinner at Troquet with friends visiting from New York. The food was excellent as usual. The wine list continues to be fairly priced for the quality of the wines offered. This allows mere mortals to drink some exceptional Bourdeauxs, at least for special occasions. Everyone in our group was very pleased with their dinner, the service, the décor and the overall experience. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was phenomenal. The lobster cr ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was phenomenal. The lobster crepe, the corn chowder soup and omg - the heirloom tomato salad may have been the best thing I have ever tasted. My wife had the suckling pig, which was perfectly flavourful and tender as can be. We could not finish the desserts, which included a sublime key lime tart and some chocolate confection that left us over the line, done/stuffed. Not much privacy in the seating arrangement, was made it hard to notice what your neigbors were eating or saying, the service was competent and attentive. We can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

While ok, troquet is not the epitome of ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 16, 2016

While ok, troquet is not the epitome of fine dining in Boston. You can do better at a number of restaurants. The wine was a bit suspicious ( a 10 year old French Bordeaux does not and should not taste like a 2 year old California Pinot noir. ) the food was well prepared, but unremarkable . The service was polite and attentive . Location is certainly convenient . Green line and Boylston station.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Food is consistently well prepared, atte ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food is consistently well prepared, attentive and fresh.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely food, wine, and kind service. W ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Lovely food, wine, and kind service. We adored the pairing of the rich beef duo and the Pomerol . The chocolate dessert was unctuous. HEAVEN!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant experience. Food was very ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very pleasant experience. Food was very good to excellent (recommend the tuna, cavatelli and duck). Wine list is great. Very easy, casual restaurant. Look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

I was pleasantly surprised by Troquet. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by Troquet. The location was fabulous and we were able to go for a quick stroll around the park prior to dinner. The appetizers were fabulous and the main courses (we both had fish) were very good although mine could have used a bit more seasoning. Service was efficient and friendly. Overall, a very nice experience. I will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, well-prepared and nicely ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent food, well-prepared and nicely presented, but very pricey ($60 before tax for roasted sole). Service was first rate, with staff attentive and responsive but not obtrusive. Not the place for a casual meal, but a good choice for higher-end dining.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

An excellent meal with professional serv ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2016

An excellent meal with professional service. They have numerous wines by the glass - all very good.

We are repeat customers and really like Troquet.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Continues to have an unbelievable wine s ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Continues to have an unbelievable wine selection - makes every other list in Boston look like a joke. The restaurant for serious wine lovers. The owner has the rare gift of regularly offering wines of great interest at every price range.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing!

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Simply amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in Boston by miles; have ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Best restaurant in Boston by miles; haven't been to L'espalier or 9 park in ages - I can't steer myself away from Troquet.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time at Troquet, we cam ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2016

It was our first time at Troquet, we came for our anniversary. It was a fairly quiet summer evening in Boston, with oppressive heat outside. We were seated promptly and ushered upstairs to our table by the window. Our server was friendly and knowledgable. I greatly enjoyed my striped bass, and my husband enjoyed his meal as well.

The food was delicious and overall a great experience. I think this restaurant could benefit from a spruce up. Super friendly though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.