About Troquet

140 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Boston's most exciting & comprehensive wine list cannot be found at a steakhouse or hotel; it is at Troquet, where cutting-edge cuisine & a killer view of the Boston Common act as accompaniments to an evening guaranteed to fulfill any wine connoisseur's fantasies. Please allow a minimum of two hours for dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Charles and Tremont

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 695-9463

Website:
http://www.troquetboston.com/

Public Transit:
Green line to Boylston Street.

Executive Chef:
Scott Hebert

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Troquet Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Boston / New England
Notable Wine List
Boston
French
Boston
Best Restaurants in Theater District ›

fit for foodies (45)
notable wine list (36)
romantic (30)
See All
special occasion (28)
scenic view (19)
neighborhood gem (17)
good for groups (5)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1022 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Wine, Great Food

Dined on May 21, 2016

My boyfriend and I came to Troquet for the notable wine list and it did not disappoint! The food was very good but for the price it should all be outstanding! I ordered the Octopus appetizer and it was not mediocre, it was honestly just bad. I was actually quite upset because my expectations were high because of the prices and the reviews. Our waiter was fantastic and he brought me something else that I loved. Good save on his part :) My boyfriend's app was amazing and we would come back just for that! It was the Short Rib with Polenta Pasta and I highly recommend it. Troquet should honestly reconsider that octopus dish; I love octopus but that dish was simply off-putting and not worth $19. Other than that, I would absolutely come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

All in all it was one of the highlights ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

All in all it was one of the highlights of our trip to Boston. Great food, great service. Only criticism, we were seated in the "hallway" between the stairs and the service area. Not such a nice view.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Pricey for sure but totally worth it.

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Wonderful service, view of the park, food and wine list. Very French feeling.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

One of Our Favorites in All of Boston

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The view of the Boston Commons is lovely from the second floor of this charming restaurant, but the food and accommodating service are the real standouts. There was a chilled lobster crape with a light citrus flavor on the appetizer menu that was out of this world. And the best part was that when I mentioned I couldn't have the crape part, they arranged it in a kind of lobster salad for me so I could still enjoy it. My husband had the scollops and I enjoyed the lamb dish. We both agreed it was one of the best meals we've had in a long time, and we dine out regularly in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Good wine and cheese could not change poor food.

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Great selection of good wine by the glass. Excellent cheese selection. However, ricotta cavetelli was completely overpowered by truffle oil, making it nearly inedible. In addition, scallops were way too salty. Very friendly server and nice view of Boston Common. Not enough to overcome poor food experience. Would not go again.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little gem

Dined on April 26, 2016

The food is great and service is attentive without being overbearing. Their cheese plate selections are excellent - taste thrills galore! The guidance on wine is spot on with a great selection. This is a great spot to eat before a show - the service is so consistent that you never worry that you'll be late for start times.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing meal....The Duo of Foie, ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Had an amazing meal....The Duo of Foie, the Scallops with morel, and the Lamb were absolutely perfect. The others in my party had the signature ricotta cavatelli, as well as the Bass, Chicken and the celery root and shrimp bisque--All were great. All dishes have a numerous wines paired with them and you can even do a 2oz flight of each. Save room for the date pudding. I have dined at this restaurant several times over the years and it never stops impressing me.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A-mazing!

Dined on April 22, 2016

The food. Impeccable. The service. Fantastic. The location. Second to none! This little place is a must when in Boston! Thank you to Chef Scott and crew for a truly amazing meal and evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Overall --- nice dinner

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

My husband and I finally tried Troquet after talking about it for a few years. We had an 8 pm show, so perfect spot around the corner. Our server was excellent and she was mindful of getting us out in time. Food was very good. Started with the lobster crepes and pasta/ricotta dish. Both were delicious. For dinner I had the Dover Sole and my husband the scallops. Again, delicious. We even saved a little room for dessert -- key lime pie and the date sticky pudding. And again, delicious. It is small place and the tables are close together as other reviewers have noted. My one disappointment is the atmosphere. Besides the close tables, it just isn't that pretty inside. A bit boring and sterile. The tables by the window would be a score --- fun to look out at the park. But we did not get one of those. So overall -- really good and I would probably come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply amazing!!! They spit the plates o ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Simply amazing!!! They spit the plates on are apps with out even asking. Flavor was great and loved their butter basket.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

everything was perfect

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Delicious food, great ambience, wonderful service. loved the cavatelli, duck salad, sea bass, chicken , scallops. the special dessert sticky toffee pudding was amazing. come here whenever i am in boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

Very disappointed regarding the reviews ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Very disappointed regarding the reviews and the price range. The pork was overpowered by way too much cumin and the rhubarb crumble didn't taste rhubarb either because again, something else (that I couldn't identify) overpowered the fruit... Won't return and don't recommend to a gourmet. Additionally, very noisy restaurant. Service was pleasant. Bottom line, go spend your money elsewhere.

food5
ambience4
service4

Food was very very good. Tables a bit cl ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Food was very very good. Tables a bit close for my taste but overall will be back

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Wonderful restaurant

Dined on February 25, 2016

This restaurant was memorable, for its lovely ambiance, interesting menu, superbly prepared and presented food, excellent service and extraordinary wine list. The attention to detail was evident and the staff were friendly and knowledgeable. We will return for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Usually good, not spectacular

Dined on February 15, 2016

Good-very good food, friendly service and nice atmosphere typically. Was disappointed in valentines night dinner, but enjoyed previous visits.

Tags: romantic
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Lacks Balance

Dined on February 14, 2016

I came here for the Valentine's Day prix-fixe dinner with my husband. Food: If all you want are heavy flavors in your face plate after plate then great, but I prefer balanced flavors where everything on the plate compliments each other and gives you a break from heavy flavors so that you can actually enjoy the complexity and flavors of every bite. Service: It's not enough to be polite. The atmosphere was too stiff for me.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Had dinner before a show, the staff made ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Had dinner before a show, the staff made sure we were out on time. Great service, good price point

food5
ambience4
service5

Our wait staff was great. We took their ...

Dined on February 10, 2016

Our wait staff was great. We took their suggestions on meals and we were not disappointed. Our waiter, Andy, was really professional and made amazing recommendations. I got the duo beef...this is a MUST HAVE item on the menu. Order it, and you won't be disappointed.

food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Pre-Valentine's Day Dinner & Theater Night

Dined on February 6, 2016

As my date and I were not going to be together for V-day, we made plans to celebrate with a special dinner and attend "Love Letters" at the Shubert. We were seated promptly, service was attentive and the menu was interesting and varied. While service was adequate, it wasn't what I would call polished or professional. The food itself was plated beautifully and tasted exceptional. Dessert was also very good. We agreed that $20 for a glass of the most inexpensive champagne was a bit much, but we were out for a night on the town and accepted it. Overall, we enjoyed our dinner and would recommend it to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Troquet near Boston Common and Emerson college

Dined on February 5, 2016

Formerly a French restaurant - now mostly modern American with a good wine list. Very good dinner meals. Charming. Great location. Consider for a special night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great wines, dessert souffles, wine

Dined on February 5, 2016

The food is excellent, but the wines are spectacular. Especially. The wine pairings are in groups of 3 to 5 and you can get all of the group (2 ounces each). I had the 3 German Rieslings with the soup, saving the Auslese (sweetest) fo dessert. I had the three Pinot Noir with the main (meat) course. The there are the dessert souffles!! Never the routine chocolate or grand marnier. This time it was a yogurt and another time a pistachio. And always a matching homemade ice cream. It is business casual and very friendly. Server Alex 2as,special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Boston

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

Troquet continues to go quietly about its business providing first rate food, wine and service in a great location easily accessible by public transportation. My wife and I have been there on several occasions and have never been disappointed. The wine list, while relatively short, is impressive for the high quality, difficult-to-find older Bordeaux wines at reasonable prices. As a special occasion restaurant, you can't beat it in my view.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service, delectable dishes, incr ...

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

Amazing service, delectable dishes, incredibly varied wine list available by the glass.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time we came for dinner. We brou ...

Dined on January 10, 2016

Second time we came for dinner. We brought friends who really appreciate good food and wines. They loved it. Will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

yummy yummy with easy wine pairing

Dined on January 1, 2016

I enjoyed a great prix fixed 3 course dinner on New Years Eve with my hubbie. The menu was upscale and creative with just enough choices. Everything was delicious from the duo of beef entree to the sticky toffee pudding for dessert. It was only 79 bucks per person (excluding wine pairings) which is very very reasonable for New Years Eve. The wine list was extensive but very user friendly. Each dish was matched with three or four wine suggestions. The wait staff can help with any indecision but as the recommended wines were listed, it eliminated the "wine lecture". Sometimes I just want to keep it simple and enjoy the wine, not have a class about wine. All the pairings we had were excellent and we did it without the lecture. The second floor dining room is tight but in a good way. It overlooks the Boston Common which was all decked out on Christmas lights. I would like to go again. This time I am getting the dinner version of my scallop and gnocchi appetizer. It was really good. I could have licked the plate, but that would have been rude. Good thing they brought very nice rolls to act as a "sauce sponge". Last time we went out for New Years Eve, we went to Number 9 Park. Don't get me wrong, I love that place.....foodie heaven. I don't know if I enjoyed it more necessarily but I felt more satisfied and relaxed at Troquet. Try it, it's great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of Boston's Top Spots

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

When our foodie friends ask me where to go in Boston we send them to Troquet, and especially if they're into wine. Stopped in on NYE with my wife and had a fabulous dinner... the house was packed. Chef Hebert has run the kitchen since they opened 15 years ago. The wine program is the best in town... a great list filled with many gems as well as excellent finds that the owner, Chris, has sourced. He knows every wine on his list and will point you to exactly what will satisfy your taste and budget. Most importantly, the wines are perfectly stored and served at the appropriate temperature and the correct and clean wine glasses... so rare these days. After a glass of Krug we began a beautiful dining experience. The Gnocchi with Bay Scallops just snuck in as one of the best dishes I had all year... amazing. King Crab served with Puff Pastry, Romanesco Cauliflower Soup with Shrimp (a must if they have it on the menu when you go), Ricotta Cavatelli with Shaved White Truffles (wow), White Corn Polenta Agnolotti, the always perfect Rice Crusted Halibut, Roast Suckling Pig (perhaps considered their signature dish)... the different preparations of the pig are fantastic but even better are the sides, an excellent corn spoon bread and perhaps the best baby carrots and brussel sprouts you'll ever have. Loved our dessert choices. Chevre Cheesecake w/pears and a berry granite... and the Chocolate Souffle w/Strawberry Ice Cream. If you're a lover of food and wine Troquet is a must stop when visiting Boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food spot in Boston

Dined on December 23, 2015

I think this place is a very decent pick for all sorts of occasions up to groups of 8. The service is excellent and the food delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

wonderful dinner

Dined on December 13, 2015

both the food and service were wonderful. only problem is that the seating is so close. hard to have a private conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A must for oenophiles

Dined on December 12, 2015

The wine list alone is to drool for — so many great, older vintages. If you don't want to go there, their pairing selections are spot on with many, many unique wines available by the glass. The, there's the food, prepared with care, served graciously... and consumed deliciously! Prices are modest. though those older vintages creep up there quickly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Not only was the service perfect as alwa ...

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

Not only was the service perfect as always so was the food!!!

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious!

Dined on November 19, 2015

I haven't been to a really good restaurant in a while and this fulfilled my expectations! Service was very efficient, yet friendly. We were served one steaming hot French roll each, with a scoop of delicious butter. the waiter also said that we could have as many rolls as we wanted, just ask! (this is not usually the case in many upscale dining establishments) we split a mushroom-ricotta appetizer, so alive with flavor, my entrée was the beef duo, 2 pieces of beef cooked differently, one slow cooked "pot roast style" and the other rare, tender, sauces were fabulous! had the lemon tart with rose water merengue for dessert. Wow! this was amazing, it was a soft merengue and released just a hint of rose when you put it in your mouth. Just try this restaurant! It is a bit expensive but worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3

Empty Place... Impatient wait staff

Dined on November 18, 2015

We walked in to a crowd of servers at the door, and we immediately felt like we were intruding. We were literally the only people in the dining room, but we still felt like we were being rushed through the meal. The fois gras was okay... almost tasted like it had been frozen. Everything else was really good. The wine was very good though, and the list is vibrant and reasonable.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't delay - get to Troquet!

vip
Dined on November 17, 2015

We hadn't been to Troquet in years and, for the life of me, I can't figure out why. But a when a friend from out of town was staying at a hotel near the restaurant, I immediately thought of the wonderful dinners we had enjoyed at Troquet in the past, so we planned to meet there. Troquet was traditionally known for its unusual wine programming: it offers an extensive list of wines by the glass -- and the "glass" servings come in two sizes -- and provides wine suggestions for each food item on the menu. In reviews, the notable wine programming often unfairly eclipsed the excellent quality of those food items. On our recent visit, I was thrilled to find that Troquet offered the same wonderful dining experience I remembered from years ago. On a chilly evening, we started with a creamy Romanesco cauliflower soup with shrimp. For entrees, we shared an earthy and toothsome wild mushroom pasta, and a crusted halibut that was perfectly seared on the outside, sealing in the moisture of the flavorful fish. Both meals were beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. Service throughout the evening was impeccable, we had a lovely table near the window, overlooking the Public Garden, and the quiet, adult atmosphere allowed us middle-aged adults to converse and catch up without having to shout. I will not make the mistake of waiting years to return to Troquet, and neither should you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Troquet: Still a classic

vip
Dined on November 8, 2015

Troquet has been wonderful for a long time. Founder Chris Campbell is still an attentive presence. The food is fabulous and the service is very good. The room can be noisy but was relatively quiet on this visit. It might be time for a little updating at Troquet. With prices over $100 per person, it could use some new decor, new posters, maybe carpet or wall coverings to reduce the noise level... maybe better flowers than astromeria? Troquet has always been very (overly?) modest, calling itself a wine bar... not boasting about such things as Chris's rare expertise as Maitre Fromagier and wine expert. It is more than a wine bar, one of Boston's top "fine dining" experiences. But the cheeses that were once indisputably #1 in Boston (or USA) are now slightly less fabulous (ex. waiter offered a Brillat Savarin which wasn't really ripe)... need to be tip-top, and could be promoted (better) as such. Chris himself could be friendlier and more gracious in receiving compliments. Troquet is great, but there's room for small improvements.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service, food and wine list was exceptio ...

Dined on November 4, 2015

Service, food and wine list was exceptional. Matt, our server, was attentive and pleasant. Chefs are skillful and creative. Great location across from Boston Commons.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous Dinner

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

We had an amazing meal at Troquet after several people recommended it. The food was delicious, every presentation was a work of art and the wine pairings were perfect. I'm still amazed by the deconstructed lemon tart with fruit--such creativity!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great wine list. Food overly fussy

Dined on October 27, 2015

Great atmoshere excellent service. Only negative was that our group thought that the different fish entrees which we had were over come by the various additional ingredients which were included. Appetizers and dessert came off better.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great meal as usual

Dined on October 24, 2015

Terrific menu, food was outstanding. Service attentive. Not as crowded as one would expect for a Sat night but nonetheless a great meal again

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing wine. Great service

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

Amazing wine. Great service

food5
ambience3
service5

This was my second experience at the res ...

Dined on October 24, 2015

This was my second experience at the restaurant and once again, my expectations were exceeded! Food and service were wonderful. Great dining before the theatre!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.