About Troquet

140 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Boston's most exciting & comprehensive wine list cannot be found at a steakhouse or hotel; it is at Troquet, where cutting-edge cuisine & a killer view of the Boston Common act as accompaniments to an evening guaranteed to fulfill any wine connoisseur's fantasies. Please allow a minimum of two hours for dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Charles and Tremont

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 695-9463

Website:
http://www.troquetboston.com/

Public Transit:
Green line to Boylston Street.

Executive Chef:
Scott Hebert

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Sole
Kobe Beef Sampler
Langoustine
Foie Gras
Briased Veal Cheel
Tuna Carpaccio At Troquet
Hamachi Taco
New Zealand Langoustines
King Crab Tasting
Lobster Salad

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Troquet Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Boston / New England
French
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Boston
4 More
Best Food
Boston
Best Service
Boston
Notable Wine List
Boston
French
Boston
Best Restaurants in Theater District ›

fit for foodies (35)
notable wine list (34)
special occasion (26)
See All
romantic (23)
scenic view (17)
neighborhood gem (14)
good for groups (7)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1041 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always wonderful - Boston's best

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always wonderful - Boston's best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We became acquainted with the sous-chef, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We became acquainted with the sous-chef, who promised to take care of us if we showed up. We showed up, and he didn't disappoint--excellent bistro food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was impeccable yet friendly. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service was impeccable yet friendly. The waiter was knowledgeable about the food and wine offerings and was eager to answer questions and offer comments about both.

The food was creative and terrific. Troquet carries a rating that deservedly stands above other fine restaurants in the area. I was just visiting Boston for the weekend, but wish I could return to dine there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food skillfully prepared from first rate ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food skillfully prepared from first rate locally sourced ingredients. Great atmosphere, great service and a superb offering of keenly priced fine wine. Top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I've been coming to Troquet for years bu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I've been coming to Troquet for years but never wrote a review - long overdue for someone who deserves my support! The owner, Chris, and the chef, Scott, are really operating at a level which would merit Michelin stars if Boston were included in the review. The menu is a thing of beauty - everything is great. You can't put a foot wrong. In addition, this is the single best wine list in the world - especially during the summer when there is a nightly cellar sale to supplement the wine list. If you're uncomfortable spending >$150 for a bottle, no worry - there's a fantastic by the glass list which is stunningly high quality (you can get half glasses or glasses which is great if you'd like to try a themed flight). Top it all off with a view of the Boston common that can't be beat, warm service, and a marvelous ambiance which is perfect for any setting (date, business, any given Wednesday night). Bottom line - go now.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was truly incredible and the restau ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food was truly incredible and the restaurant went to extra lengths to accommodate special requests for our celebration. Such a great spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

special starter was an amazing sushi rol ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

special starter was an amazing sushi roll. i had a great statler chicken. really love this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have dined here many times food/servi ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We have dined here many times food/service has always been outstanding.

The bread was not as fresh and tasty as it has always been. They may have even changed it.

My entree was superb, my wife's scallops very salty.

Cheese selection at the end was a little disappointing.

Definately go back, still love the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

VERY noisy environment. The service was ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

VERY noisy environment. The service was adequate but not up to the standards you expect in a restaurant at this price point. The food was good but, again, not up to the standards you expect at this price. We will not be returning nor recommending Troquet to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

OMG Great Food and Wine!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

If you are looking to drink some of the finest wines in the world at exceptionally fair prices and pair them with beautifully prepared, creative food, you need look no further. What a little gem this is. All of the service staff were personable and professional and Scott's (the Chef) cuisine is both creative and beautifully executed. I really enjoyed Troquet...enough so that I went back the very next night!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extraordinary as Usual

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

If it's possible for a restaurant to set a minimum standard of extraordinary and meet it every time, it's Troquet. Our group of 6 had the Beef Duo; Lamb; and Scallops. Each dish was impeccable. The service was great and evening was a great success.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellect French Cooking

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I thought the quality was excellent. I would return to this restaurant because of the food and service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Smiling all the way through the meal....

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Troquet consistently prepares outstanding food accompanied by the best wine list in the city. The menu is just the right length to allow for creating outstanding blends of flavors and textures with incredibly consistent execution. From the foie gras to the cavetellin to the masterfully prepared duck, I am always impressed. A perfect combo of medium duck breast, with crisp skin, rendered fat and a thigh that falls apart like confit is hard to match. Kudos to Scott and the kitchen. I love tapping into Chris' extensive wine knowledge and his laid back counsel on choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best wine list in the country

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Hands down, best wine list in the US of A, not least if you're a Burgundy aficionado. Nothing more to say

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Adequate food; interesting wines

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The food sounds better than it is. The pasta appetizer, with mushrooms, which I had for a main course was delicious. Not spectacular, but very very tasty. The duck frisse salad was just okay. The greens were not as fresh as one would hope, although the duck was delicious (a bit too salty) it didn't come together to produce anything special. The prices are high for the quality of the cuisine. I have had better meals there in the past.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The experience was perfect and the food is divine!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The staff, owner and food are always memorable. They can not do enough to accomodate everyone's needs. The ambiance is always warm and inviting with a few of the Commons.

There isn't a better restaurant or wine list in the city!!

You have to order the Cavatelli- outstanding.

We will go back again and again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Outstanding Birthday Dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We arrived for our 7PM reservation and were seated immediately. We asked about the 7 course wine-pairing menu, which we selected. We were not disappointed. This is the 2nd time we have been to Troquet, and the food continues to be over the moon. We had (ratings in parens) tuna sushi (9), octopus(10), sea bass (9), scallop (10), shortribs (8), duck (10), cheese plate (8), and dessert (7). When I rate something a 10, it means that this is the best octopus, scallop, or duck that I have ever tasted. The quality and attention to detail is outstanding.

Things to improve: the service was too fast, quickly taking away half-finished dishes. There could have been more description of the selected wines. It would be nice if the 7 course meal could be packagked with the wine for a single price. The cost of the meal was very high - again, the food was outstanding, so it is hard to complain.

We will return to Troquet for another memorable evening in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

a GREAT find in Boston

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We were so excited to have found this restaurant on Trip Advisor. It did not disappoint . Felt like a "real" French restaurant. Food was not only beautifully presented, but the flavors were outstanding and not ridiculously huge portions either, which was refreshing to clean the plates and feel full but not gorged. I can't wait for an opportunity to go back there again. The restaurant was practically empty because we went there after a matinee show of the Ballet, so I don't know what it would be like if it were packed with people, noise-wise.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Wine, Great Food

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My boyfriend and I came to Troquet for the notable wine list and it did not disappoint! The food was very good but for the price it should all be outstanding! I ordered the Octopus appetizer and it was not mediocre, it was honestly just bad. I was actually quite upset because my expectations were high because of the prices and the reviews. Our waiter was fantastic and he brought me something else that I loved. Good save on his part :) My boyfriend's app was amazing and we would come back just for that! It was the Short Rib with Polenta Pasta and I highly recommend it. Troquet should honestly reconsider that octopus dish; I love octopus but that dish was simply off-putting and not worth $19. Other than that, I would absolutely come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

All in all it was one of the highlights ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

All in all it was one of the highlights of our trip to Boston. Great food, great service. Only criticism, we were seated in the "hallway" between the stairs and the service area. Not such a nice view.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Pricey for sure but totally worth it.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Wonderful service, view of the park, food and wine list. Very French feeling.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of Our Favorites in All of Boston

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The view of the Boston Commons is lovely from the second floor of this charming restaurant, but the food and accommodating service are the real standouts. There was a chilled lobster crape with a light citrus flavor on the appetizer menu that was out of this world. And the best part was that when I mentioned I couldn't have the crape part, they arranged it in a kind of lobster salad for me so I could still enjoy it. My husband had the scollops and I enjoyed the lamb dish. We both agreed it was one of the best meals we've had in a long time, and we dine out regularly in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Good wine and cheese could not change poor food.

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great selection of good wine by the glass. Excellent cheese selection. However, ricotta cavetelli was completely overpowered by truffle oil, making it nearly inedible. In addition, scallops were way too salty.

Very friendly server and nice view of Boston Common. Not enough to overcome poor food experience. Would not go again.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Little gem

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

The food is great and service is attentive without being overbearing. Their cheese plate selections are excellent - taste thrills galore! The guidance on wine is spot on with a great selection. This is a great spot to eat before a show - the service is so consistent that you never worry that you'll be late for start times.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing meal....The Duo of Foie, ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Had an amazing meal....The Duo of Foie, the Scallops with morel, and the Lamb were absolutely perfect. The others in my party had the signature ricotta cavatelli, as well as the Bass, Chicken and the celery root and shrimp bisque--All were great. All dishes have a numerous wines paired with them and you can even do a 2oz flight of each. Save room for the date pudding. I have dined at this restaurant several times over the years and it never stops impressing me.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A-mazing!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The food. Impeccable. The service. Fantastic. The location. Second to none!

This little place is a must when in Boston!

Thank you to Chef Scott and crew for a truly amazing meal and evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall --- nice dinner

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

My husband and I finally tried Troquet after talking about it for a few years. We had an 8 pm show, so perfect spot around the corner. Our server was excellent and she was mindful of getting us out in time. Food was very good. Started with the lobster crepes and pasta/ricotta dish. Both were delicious. For dinner I had the Dover Sole and my husband the scallops. Again, delicious. We even saved a little room for dessert -- key lime pie and the date sticky pudding. And again, delicious. It is small place and the tables are close together as other reviewers have noted. My one disappointment is the atmosphere. Besides the close tables, it just isn't that pretty inside. A bit boring and sterile. The tables by the window would be a score --- fun to look out at the park. But we did not get one of those. So overall -- really good and I would probably come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Simply amazing!!! They spit the plates o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Simply amazing!!! They spit the plates on are apps with out even asking. Flavor was great and loved their butter basket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

everything was perfect

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Delicious food, great ambience, wonderful service. loved the cavatelli, duck salad, sea bass, chicken , scallops. the special dessert sticky toffee pudding was amazing. come here whenever i am in boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed regarding the reviews ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Very disappointed regarding the reviews and the price range. The pork was overpowered by way too much cumin and the rhubarb crumble didn't taste rhubarb either because again, something else (that I couldn't identify) overpowered the fruit... Won't return and don't recommend to a gourmet. Additionally, very noisy restaurant. Service was pleasant. Bottom line, go spend your money elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Food was very very good. Tables a bit cl ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Food was very very good. Tables a bit close for my taste but overall will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful restaurant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

This restaurant was memorable, for its lovely ambiance, interesting menu, superbly prepared and presented food, excellent service and extraordinary wine list. The attention to detail was evident and the staff were friendly and knowledgeable. We will return for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Usually good, not spectacular

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Good-very good food, friendly service and nice atmosphere typically. Was disappointed in valentines night dinner, but enjoyed previous visits.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Lacks Balance

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I came here for the Valentine's Day prix-fixe dinner with my husband.

Food: If all you want are heavy flavors in your face plate after plate then great, but I prefer balanced flavors where everything on the plate compliments each other and gives you a break from heavy flavors so that you can actually enjoy the complexity and flavors of every bite.

Service: It's not enough to be polite. The atmosphere was too stiff for me.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Had dinner before a show, the staff made ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Had dinner before a show, the staff made sure we were out on time. Great service, good price point

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our wait staff was great. We took their ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Our wait staff was great. We took their suggestions on meals and we were not disappointed. Our waiter, Andy, was really professional and made amazing recommendations.

I got the duo beef...this is a MUST HAVE item on the menu. Order it, and you won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Pre-Valentine's Day Dinner & Theater Night

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

As my date and I were not going to be together for V-day, we made plans to celebrate with a special dinner and attend "Love Letters" at the Shubert. We were seated promptly, service was attentive and the menu was interesting and varied. While service was adequate, it wasn't what I would call polished or professional. The food itself was plated beautifully and tasted exceptional. Dessert was also very good. We agreed that $20 for a glass of the most inexpensive champagne was a bit much, but we were out for a night on the town and accepted it. Overall, we enjoyed our dinner and would recommend it to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Troquet near Boston Common and Emerson college

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Formerly a French restaurant - now mostly modern American with a good wine list. Very good dinner meals. Charming. Great location. Consider for a special night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great wines, dessert souffles, wine

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

The food is excellent, but the wines are spectacular. Especially. The wine pairings are in groups of 3 to 5 and you can get all of the group (2 ounces each). I had the 3 German Rieslings with the soup, saving the Auslese (sweetest) fo dessert. I had the three Pinot Noir with the main (meat) course. The there are the dessert souffles!! Never the routine chocolate or grand marnier. This time it was a yogurt and another time a pistachio. And always a matching homemade ice cream. It is business casual and very friendly. Server Alex 2as,special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants in Boston

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Troquet continues to go quietly about its business providing first rate food, wine and service in a great location easily accessible by public transportation. My wife and I have been there on several occasions and have never been disappointed. The wine list, while relatively short, is impressive for the high quality, difficult-to-find older Bordeaux wines at reasonable prices. As a special occasion restaurant, you can't beat it in my view.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.