About Troquet

140 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Boston's most exciting & comprehensive wine list cannot be found at a steakhouse or hotel; it is at Troquet, where cutting-edge cuisine & a killer view of the Boston Common act as accompaniments to an evening guaranteed to fulfill any wine connoisseur's fantasies. Please allow a minimum of two hours for dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Charles and Tremont

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 695-9463

Website:
http://www.troquetboston.com/

Public Transit:
Green line to Boylston Street.

Executive Chef:
Scott Hebert

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sole
Kobe Beef Sampler
Langoustine
Foie Gras
Briased Veal Cheel
Tuna Carpaccio At Troquet
Hamachi Taco
New Zealand Langoustines
King Crab Tasting
Lobster Salad

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Troquet Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Boston / New England
French
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Boston
3 More
Best Food
Boston
Notable Wine List
Boston
French
Boston
Best Restaurants in Theater District ›

Notable Wine List (38)
Special Occasion (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
See All
Romantic (24)
Scenic View (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Authentic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Business Meals (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Fun (1)
Cozy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1067 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Clear, diverse menu. Professional servic ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Clear, diverse menu. Professional service. Comfortable space. Great food with perfect wine pairing. Superb dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the service was excellent. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food and the service was excellent. I hidden gem!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had dinner at Troquet with friends visit ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had dinner at Troquet with friends visiting from New York. The food was excellent as usual. The wine list continues to be fairly priced for the quality of the wines offered. This allows mere mortals to drink some exceptional Bourdeauxs, at least for special occasions. Everyone in our group was very pleased with their dinner, the service, the décor and the overall experience. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was phenomenal. The lobster cr ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was phenomenal. The lobster crepe, the corn chowder soup and omg - the heirloom tomato salad may have been the best thing I have ever tasted. My wife had the suckling pig, which was perfectly flavourful and tender as can be. We could not finish the desserts, which included a sublime key lime tart and some chocolate confection that left us over the line, done/stuffed. Not much privacy in the seating arrangement, was made it hard to notice what your neigbors were eating or saying, the service was competent and attentive. We can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

While ok, troquet is not the epitome of ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

While ok, troquet is not the epitome of fine dining in Boston. You can do better at a number of restaurants. The wine was a bit suspicious ( a 10 year old French Bordeaux does not and should not taste like a 2 year old California Pinot noir. ) the food was well prepared, but unremarkable . The service was polite and attentive . Location is certainly convenient . Green line and Boylston station.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Food is consistently well prepared, atte ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food is consistently well prepared, attentive and fresh.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely food, wine, and kind service. W ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Lovely food, wine, and kind service. We adored the pairing of the rich beef duo and the Pomerol . The chocolate dessert was unctuous. HEAVEN!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant experience. Food was very ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very pleasant experience. Food was very good to excellent (recommend the tuna, cavatelli and duck). Wine list is great. Very easy, casual restaurant. Look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

I was pleasantly surprised by Troquet. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by Troquet. The location was fabulous and we were able to go for a quick stroll around the park prior to dinner. The appetizers were fabulous and the main courses (we both had fish) were very good although mine could have used a bit more seasoning. Service was efficient and friendly. Overall, a very nice experience. I will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, well-prepared and nicely ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent food, well-prepared and nicely presented, but very pricey ($60 before tax for roasted sole). Service was first rate, with staff attentive and responsive but not obtrusive. Not the place for a casual meal, but a good choice for higher-end dining.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

An excellent meal with professional serv ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

An excellent meal with professional service. They have numerous wines by the glass - all very good.

We are repeat customers and really like Troquet.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Continues to have an unbelievable wine s ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Continues to have an unbelievable wine selection - makes every other list in Boston look like a joke. *The* restaurant for serious wine lovers. The owner has the rare gift of regularly offering wines of great interest at every price range.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Boston by miles; have ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Best restaurant in Boston by miles; haven't been to L'espalier or 9 park in ages - I can't steer myself away from Troquet.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time at Troquet, we cam ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

It was our first time at Troquet, we came for our anniversary. It was a fairly quiet summer evening in Boston, with oppressive heat outside. We were seated promptly and ushered upstairs to our table by the window. Our server was friendly and knowledgable. I greatly enjoyed my striped bass, and my husband enjoyed his meal as well.

The food was delicious and overall a great experience. I think this restaurant could benefit from a spruce up. Super friendly though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Tasty French food, with many wine option ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Tasty French food, with many wine options. Wine is served in 2 or 4 ounce portions, to let you taste a few with your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Troquet has one of the ore notable wine ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Troquet has one of the ore notable wine lists in the City, but it also pours flights of 3-4 wines chosen to pair beautifully with the appetizers and main courses on the menu. We enjoyed an exceptional meal including duck confit salad, braised octopus, striped bass and braised shortribs and pasta. We finished with selections from the restaurant's notable and excellent cheese cart. Our server was extremely pleasant and knowledgeable especially regarding pairing wines with the food. All in all it was one of the best and most pleasant meals we have ever enjoyed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good wine (not all my favorit ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Good food, good wine (not all my favorites), very helpful service, and a good view. Nothing was particularly memorable though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fabulous! The creativity and quality of ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Fabulous! The creativity and quality of the food are unmatched in Boston. Whether you are eating upstairs or sitting at the bar, the serice is great. The menu can meet every interest and the specials were outstanding. Highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Sure thing every time. These guys never ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Sure thing every time. These guys never skip a beat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding wine list and menu of great ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Outstanding wine list and menu of great Troquet stanby's that make the choice to eat very difficult. Menu does not change much, but does not need to. They really nailed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wow - fantastic every time whether it's ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Wow - fantastic every time whether it's for a special occasion or just because I don't have anything in the refrigerator! Truly incredible, guys.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hadn't been here for awhile but we lo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We hadn't been here for awhile but we love the butter from France and the flights of wine for each course! As always we had a great time with good food and the view of the Public Garden is always nice but the menu really hasn't changed and our server was a little bit too friendly. He kept touching my DC who found it a bit disconcerting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

All round great! Halibut, octopus and he ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

All round great! Halibut, octopus and heirloom tomato salad were amazing, and Rick was friendly , knowledgable and chose the perfect glass of wine for me. I would definitely recommend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and beverage/wine/drinks at thi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food and beverage/wine/drinks at this restaurant are not only well prepared and very delicious but the prices are a relative bargain, especially the wines. This is a must go to restaurant in Boston off Boylston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We shared a very special Birthday Dinner ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We shared a very special Birthday Dinner at Troquet. An excellent meal all around. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very attentive service, food is good and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very attentive service, food is good and tasty, albeit very US-centric (i.e. too many things going on at once on the plate).

Where Troquet shines is in its wine list. Great variety, exceptional prices especially in high end vintages.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always wonderful - Boston's best

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always wonderful - Boston's best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We became acquainted with the sous-chef, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We became acquainted with the sous-chef, who promised to take care of us if we showed up. We showed up, and he didn't disappoint--excellent bistro food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was impeccable yet friendly. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service was impeccable yet friendly. The waiter was knowledgeable about the food and wine offerings and was eager to answer questions and offer comments about both.

The food was creative and terrific. Troquet carries a rating that deservedly stands above other fine restaurants in the area. I was just visiting Boston for the weekend, but wish I could return to dine there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food skillfully prepared from first rate ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food skillfully prepared from first rate locally sourced ingredients. Great atmosphere, great service and a superb offering of keenly priced fine wine. Top notch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I've been coming to Troquet for years bu ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I've been coming to Troquet for years but never wrote a review - long overdue for someone who deserves my support! The owner, Chris, and the chef, Scott, are really operating at a level which would merit Michelin stars if Boston were included in the review. The menu is a thing of beauty - everything is great. You can't put a foot wrong. In addition, this is the single best wine list in the world - especially during the summer when there is a nightly cellar sale to supplement the wine list. If you're uncomfortable spending >$150 for a bottle, no worry - there's a fantastic by the glass list which is stunningly high quality (you can get half glasses or glasses which is great if you'd like to try a themed flight). Top it all off with a view of the Boston common that can't be beat, warm service, and a marvelous ambiance which is perfect for any setting (date, business, any given Wednesday night). Bottom line - go now.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was truly incredible and the restau ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food was truly incredible and the restaurant went to extra lengths to accommodate special requests for our celebration. Such a great spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

special starter was an amazing sushi rol ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

special starter was an amazing sushi roll. i had a great statler chicken. really love this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have dined here many times food/servi ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We have dined here many times food/service has always been outstanding.

The bread was not as fresh and tasty as it has always been. They may have even changed it.

My entree was superb, my wife's scallops very salty.

Cheese selection at the end was a little disappointing.

Definately go back, still love the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

VERY noisy environment. The service was ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

VERY noisy environment. The service was adequate but not up to the standards you expect in a restaurant at this price point. The food was good but, again, not up to the standards you expect at this price. We will not be returning nor recommending Troquet to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

OMG Great Food and Wine!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

If you are looking to drink some of the finest wines in the world at exceptionally fair prices and pair them with beautifully prepared, creative food, you need look no further. What a little gem this is. All of the service staff were personable and professional and Scott's (the Chef) cuisine is both creative and beautifully executed. I really enjoyed Troquet...enough so that I went back the very next night!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extraordinary as Usual

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

If it's possible for a restaurant to set a minimum standard of extraordinary and meet it every time, it's Troquet. Our group of 6 had the Beef Duo; Lamb; and Scallops. Each dish was impeccable. The service was great and evening was a great success.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellect French Cooking

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I thought the quality was excellent. I would return to this restaurant because of the food and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Smiling all the way through the meal....

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Troquet consistently prepares outstanding food accompanied by the best wine list in the city. The menu is just the right length to allow for creating outstanding blends of flavors and textures with incredibly consistent execution. From the foie gras to the cavetellin to the masterfully prepared duck, I am always impressed. A perfect combo of medium duck breast, with crisp skin, rendered fat and a thigh that falls apart like confit is hard to match. Kudos to Scott and the kitchen. I love tapping into Chris' extensive wine knowledge and his laid back counsel on choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best wine list in the country

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Hands down, best wine list in the US of A, not least if you're a Burgundy aficionado. Nothing more to say

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.