Trois Cent Onze

4.7
244 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary French
Top Tags:
  • Quiet Conversation
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Fit for Foodies
Since 2000 , 311 Trois Cent Onze has been located in the heart of Old San Juan, housed in a landmark building at 311 Fortaleza Street, of the area also known as SOFO (South of Fortaleza).
311"s Kitchen is under Chef Carlos Guzman Tavarez winner of many local awards.
Chef Guzman's cuisine is refined, delicate yet full of flavors of what France's culinary art has to offer .
The Dining Room, under the administration of owner, Sylma Pérez and General Manager Carolina Sostre . It hosts approximately 50 people for a sit down dinner. Sitting at the bar or in the dining room, you will experience the gentle and unobtrusive service of 311's professional staff.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary French, European
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner from Monday thru Saturday 6:00 pm to 10:00pm
Closed on Sundays
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(787) 725-7959
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Carlos Guzman Tavarez
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Restaurant buy out available for larger group activities. Birthdays, Baptism, Wedding, Corporate or private events welcome.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Sylma: (787) 671-6093
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Calle Tanca
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
2 large public parking (Doña Fela and Paseo Portuario) are only a couple blocks away. (3 minutes walking distance), as well as Taxi stops
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Soft Background Music Only
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine
What 244 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

The food and drinks here were delicious. We were a party of four, the only patrons in the place at 8 pm. The service was just terribly sloooooooow, which detracted from the experience. The staff was very nice. We would go back....when we are not hungry.....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Aniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Great food and service. Quiet and nice ambiance. Real French cooking. Also check out the rooftop bar next door. Great views.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Excellent. Great ambiance. Service was very good. Pace of the meal was leisurely. Lots of time for socializing. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Really good food
This place is not appreciated enough, it’s probably the best French Restaurant in San Juan

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

You would not really expect to find a French restaurant in the heart of Old San Juan but a very good one can be found at 311 (Trois Cent Onze) Fortaleza. The service is very attentive and the food is is carefully prepared. The cocktails are good, the wine selection is quite sufficient (dinner wines and dessert wines) and the ambiance is very nice. This is our second visit in the last three years and we would highly recommend this restaurant for a nice evening out.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

First impression was nice room, good menu and decent wine selection. After ordering drinks and receiving them we ordered our food. The starter came within a reasonable amount of time but after that it took nearly 45 minutes to receive our main course. Our server seemed distracted by a larger party and wasn’t as attentive as we would have liked. My wife ordered the duck which was a bit dry. I had the risotto special served with a lobster tail. The tail came still firmly attached to the shell and was difficult to dislodge and was also a bit tuff as well. I mentioned this to the server who said he would relate this to the kitchen. Nothing further was done or offered. Ordered desert and again the wait was too long. Even the process for paying wasn’t done in a timely manner. We weren’t in a hurry but didn’t expect to spend nearly 3 hours for dinner for two.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Best French restaurant in San Juan. Menu appeals to all tastes regardless of your preference: fish, meat, poultry. Make reservations otherwise you are not getting in on Saturdays.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Excellent food and service, nice decor. Highly recommend for either lunch or dinner when you visit old San Juan.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

We were greeted very pleasantly like they were waiting for us. The waiter was very knowable about the menu and gave us a few recommendations. I had a perfectly cooked pork chop with local flavors. This was our second visit, and we look forward to the next.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

We had a really nice dinner here. We read the great reviews, and we experienced why. Our server was very friendly and attentive. The ambiance was really nice. The mushroom soup was so good. That was a treat. Our only regret was that we didn’t leave room for desert! Next time!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Great food, but terrible service. We ordered the steak tartare, escargot, bouillabaisse, and special seafood risotto. All dishes were excellent. Wines were very good. The service couldn't have been less attentive. We were left for excruciatingly long stretches of time without anyone checking on us, including at least 10 minutes with an empty wine glass. Not sure if the staff were inexperienced the night we went or if sitting in the window just generally leads to the customer being ignored. The ambiance was very romantic. For what you get, I'd recommend going elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Once again, 311 was excellent. Even on a busy Valentines night! Service was outstanding with our waitress taking the time to describe various dishes, wines, even the history of the building. We also saw her giving this special attention to every other table she had. Outstanding! The food was all fantastic. Not a single complaint. We had Arugula Salad and Tuna Carpaccio for appetizers, Filet Mignon and Duck for entres, and the special parfait dessert that was delicious. The champagne was also very nice and complemented our meal. While not cheap, this restaurant is worth every penny. It’s not many places you’ll see the owner of 18 years taking drink orders, chatting with guests, and bussing tables! You can really feel how proud the staff is to work here at 311. Do yourself a favor, get dressed up one night and go have a fabulous meal at Trois Cent Onze!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

We found this unexpected treat on a cruise to the Eastern Caribbean. The owner, Silma, and our waiter, Juan Carlos, were as pleasant as the food was exceptional. This meal is the highlight of our shore-side experience and I cannot recommend it highly enough!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Excellent service; great French-style food and charming ambiance at the old city

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Delicious food, great ambience, close to the waterfront. Nice to find a little piece of France in beautiful Old San Juan.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

When we winter in Puerto Rico we always make sure to dine here at least once during our stay. We couldn't make it down to Puerto Rico last year but when we ate our outstanding meal last week, we were greeted by a staff member who not only remembered us but also knew we were from the northeast. The duck was cooked perfectly with a sear that was outstanding. The prix fixe was a find. Service was complete and not intrusive. If you like fine dining, this is the place to go in Viejo San Juan!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2018

The ambiance is unique. These people have been able to create that turn of the previous century feeling within the restaurant. The meal is delicious, high quality food and great pairing wines too. U must visit, when you are in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 25, 2017

Great food and ambiance. The only flaw was the tuna carpaccio that didn’t have much taste. Everything else was flawless.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 28, 2017

Romantic, cozy place with extraordinary French food in the heart of one of the most beautuful colonial cities in the Caribbean. The food is unbelievably delicious and the quality is as good as anything you will find in France. Excellent for a date.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Food and service was excellent.Ambiance was very good and the place was excellent for a fine french dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 19, 2017

Trois Cent Onze is amazing. Don't ask questions, just book reservations or walk in for a wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 10, 2017

Great meal and service. I would recommend expanding the wine selection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 28, 2017

Really charming locale and friendly staff. Consistently good over the years. Wine list not very extensive but expertly chosen. Good for a romantic dinner but also for clients. I went with clients (lawyers from NYC), who were impressed and very pleased.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was outstanding. The service was excellent. Worth finding in Old San Juan.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was awesome. Lamb chops are the best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2017

Fantastic ,beautiful and very goof service.I recommend whit insurance.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2017

Es la tercera vez que lo visitamos. Nos parece un restaurante acogedor y romántico. Mi único reparo fue el aperitivo de pulpo. La cantidad no cualifica como aperitivo y no tuvo nada de espectacular. La ensalada de melón original y sabrosa igual que el pato y el "pork belly". El postre de manzana regular. Debo decir que la vez anterior ordené las vieras de aperitivo y estuvieron muy bien cocinadas. Las porciones son bastante pequeñas. Salí con un poco de hambre. Aún así regresaremos y lo recomendamos.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2017

Great service and wine list. Very flavorful and perfectly prepared food. Charming atmosphere

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2017

Wonderful anniversary dinner. The complimentary amuse bouche at the beginning of the meal was a wonderful touch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2017

Who would have thought at tucked away in a littler hole in the wall is a gastronomic wonder. French cuisine at it's most demanding best. Flavourable, affordable and outstanding in every way. One note - forget the attractive looking round table for 4 in the middle of the back of the restaurant. Nearly froze to death. Fabulous food!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2017

Trois Cent Onze was amazing! The food was delicious - we went with a large group and everyone tasted all the meals, it was hard to pick a favorite! The service was impeccable. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2017

Very nice evening in a typical French style cafe.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2017

This was our second time at the restaurant and it was just as delicious with perfect service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2017

This was a repeat trip for us - this restauarent is fantastic. Highly recommend, friendly and attentive service, and food is heavenly. Party of four we had a variety of entrees, including duck, shrimp and red pepper risotto, code and quiche. All were plated well and delicious. Do not miss the creme brulee - ours was cinnamon and it was heavenly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2017

Amazing overall!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 13, 2017

We learned (too late) that the regular chef, who has earned a good reputation, was out due to an injury or prolonged illness. The substitute chef was tasked with imitating the good chef's food, but it did not go well. For people like us, who went there based on a reputation earned by the good chef, we felt cheated. The restaurant would have kept us as customers if we were informed, in advance, of the issue. In the New York theatre, when a star is not performing, a notice is given in advance concerning the understudy. Very sad. The service gets a good mark because of Victor, the fine waiter.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2017

Exquisite French cuisine...love the chicken stew...great pasta...we need to return to try the rack of lamb...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2017

We had a marvelous meal from beginning to end. Classical French cooking with emphasis on details. Order the soufflé for dessert!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2017

Portions too small .When we asked for olive oil, for only one bread, the butter was removed

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7