Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Rocco's CafeRocco's Cafe
(656)
Italian | SOMA, San Francisco
Reserve Now
FénixFénix
(69)
Mexican | SOMA, San Francisco
Reserve Now
MONTESACRO PINSERIAMONTESACRO PINSERIA
(149)
Pizzeria | SOMA, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Bar AgricoleBar Agricole
(1229)
Californian | SOMA, San Francisco
Reserve Now
AsiaSFAsiaSF
(422)
Asian | SOMA, San Francisco
Reserve Now
AQ Restaurant & BarAQ Restaurant & Bar
(269)
Contemporary American | SOMA, San Francisco
Reserve Now
The PerennialThe Perennial
(89)
American | SOMA, San Francisco
Reserve Now
54 Mint54 Mint
(919)
Italian | SOMA, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Cadillac Bar & GrillCadillac Bar & Grill
(89)
Mexican | Civic Center / Hayes Valley / Van Ness, San Francisco
Reserve Now
OECOEC
(5)
Japanese | SOMA, San Francisco
Reserve Now
OkaneOkane
(19)
Japanese | SOMA, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Mathilde BistroMathilde Bistro
(1315)
French | SOMA, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Zero ZeroZero Zero
(1172)
Italian | SOMA, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Alta CAAlta CA
(384)
American | Civic Center / Hayes Valley / Van Ness, San Francisco
Reserve Now
OolaOola
(717)
Contemporary French / American | SOMA, San Francisco
Reserve Now

About Triptych - Permanently Closed

1155 Folsom Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Triptych's South of Market location embraces the industrial with the arts culture of the neighborhood. The cuisine reflects the diverse palates of its patrons and is complimented by a unique wine list from around the world. Local artists' works are displayed. Triptych is an oasis of cuisine, culture, and ambiance. Garden is available for Brunch and in warm weather.

See Triptych's video at http://www.jippidy.com/Triptych

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
WEEKEND BRUNCH: Saturday & Sunday and Holidays: 9:00am - 3:30pm
Weekday Brunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:00pm.
DINNER: Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm
DINNER: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
DINNER: Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
8th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 703-0557

Website:
http://www.triptychsf.com/

Entertainment:
At any given time, two or more artists are featured at Triptych. Patio open for brunch on weekends, and on some evenings and weekdays(depending on weather).

Catering:
Triptych can cater private and corporate parties of 20 or more. We specialize photo shoot crew catering whether in studio or on location. We also cater any special events, large and small. We can do catering outside San Francisco throughout the Bay Area for an additional delivery charge. Triptych Restaurant is available for private events or parties of 30-60 people as a "buy-out".

Parking Details:
Plenty of street parking on Folsom most of the time. There are sometimes two spaces at the end of Hallam (right turn right after Triptych).

Public Transit:
Civic Center Station hub at 8th & Market Street with underground station for B.A.R.T. and for SF MUNI. Easy Taxi service along Folsom Street, especially on weekends. Located on the Muni Bus #12 Folsom Street line and 1/2 block from the Muni Bus #19 Polk Street Line.

Executive Chef:
Filipe Gonzalez

Private Party Facilities:
Triptych is available for private parties of 30 or more. These are referred to as a "buy-out". Special conditions apply. Please contact the restaurant for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
David Kittredge: 4157030557x

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Triptych would love to host SOMA neighborhood organization and arts event. We believe in community and value the opportunity to be a part of SoMA growth and diversity.

Restaurant Photos

Triptych - Permanently Closed
Triptych - Permanently Closed
Triptych - Permanently Closed
Triptych - Permanently Closed
Gluten Free Eggs Benedict With Ham
Mimosas
Eggs Benedict
 Beignet
Crab Cake Bites
Bacon Cheeseburger
Octopus Salad
Crab Cake Benedict
Quiche Lorraine
Crab Cakes
Chicken Apple Sausage Omelet
Lobster Ravioli
Beignets
Spinach, Mushroom, Bacon Eggs Benedict
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Fritatta
Crab Cake Eggs Benedict
Grilled Tofu with Quinoa and Vegetables
Beignets With Mascarpone
Cappuccino
Champignon Omlette With Tater Tots!!
Burger
Vegan Spring Vegetable Tagine
Sweet Potatoe Fries
Grilled Salmon w/Southwest Polenta
Mini Crabcakes
Chorizo Scramble
Salad
Apple Sausage Omelette
Cappuccino Cake
Warm Duck Salad
beignets with seasonal berry mascarpone
eggs benedict with spinach, mushroom and bacon
Chicken apple sausage
Bacon Cheese Burger with sauted mushrooms and onions
Osso Bucco
Osso Bucco w/ Bacon And Polenta
Mimosa
Omelette - Champignon
Beet Salad
French Toast
Eggwhite Frittata
Chorizo Omelette
Huevos Rancharos & Sweet Potato Fries
Chocolate Mousse
Croque Madame And Turkey Burger
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Sweet potato fries
Sashimi
Sort By:
Newest
806 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great dining experience and professional ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Great dining experience and professional service. Too bad it was closing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

SYSTEM FAILURE

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Why did your system allow us to make a reserv. for 5 people at 3 PM when the place CLOSES at 3 PM? Further, when I suggested they update their hours on Open Table - the stated they are closing their doors in a week...so we'll never know. Sorry we missed it! However, Rocco's [just down the street] was AMAZING!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good personalized service, healthy, grea ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Good personalized service, healthy, great variety

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There credit machine was broken so had t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

There credit machine was broken so had to walk to an atm for cash. Was let know before ordering which was greatly appreciated and was also given 3 free beignets! Great service would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very friendly staff and attentive servic ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Very friendly staff and attentive service. Food was good and lots of variety on the menu. Good spot for brunch. Easy parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Disappointing!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Brunch for 5 was a disappointment. Menu items (such as pancakes, chai, and certain beers) were completely missing. The waiter messed up 2 of the 5 orders (where one person wanted salad on the side, but then got potatoes, and the other person wanted french fries and instead got a salad). Not only that, but the food came out extremely late. We waited a really, really long time before any food came out at all.

The food quality of what we did receive was middling and uninspired.

This is so disappointing because the space itself is really cute, and the location is pretty central.

Finally, about 3 hours after we left the restaurant, I got an email saying that Triptych had cancelled my OpenTable reservation altogether. In addition to a poor dining experience, they also appeared to want to take away eligible dining points (which OpenTable subsequently fixed).

I will not come back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Good food. Great patio in the backyard.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Good food. Great patio in the backyard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We were seated near the front door on a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We were seated near the front door on a Sunday. The crowds waiting for a table were queuing up inside the front door of the restaurant. People were hovering and bumping us at our table while they just stand there in the doorway. Why don't they have people wait outside, especially on a beautiful warm afternoon? Very uncomfortable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

yummy

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Nice staff, good food, solid prices. I'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a nice little brunch here

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

My frittata blanc was delicious and healthy, and a nice contrast to the sinfully good bacon bignets. We ate outside because it was a bit cold but they have a nice patio. I've also been there for lunch and had a very nice salmon salad with a glass of organic white wine.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best choice in the immediate area

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Good concept- art gallery + cafe but looks really tired during daylight. Tattered curtains needs paint etc. Art okay. Food passable but not delicious. Watery ice tea. Not many choices in this neighborhood.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Completely Underwhelming

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Came here for a group brunch after doing research on good spots for that sort of occasion. Felt like the restaurant had no idea how to tackle serving a group of more than 4 and also felt like the menu is not at all geared toward sharing. Had the most abysmal Benedict of my life--the English muffin was soggy, the egg was fully cooked through ( a poached egg has a runny yoke...), and tabbouleh pairs terribly with the other ingredients (loved the idea, hated the execution). Will not be back and will not recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Triptych is a SOMA gem!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

I love this neighborhood find and have been going there for the past 3 years. David (the owner) is amazing and accommodating and always makes you feel like you are a VIP. The wait staff are artists and the spot contains not only solid/yummy food, but art on the walls all the way out through the back door where this is a WONDERFUL patio. A totally rare find in the 'hood.

Go there. You'll like it. It's warm, friendly, satiating.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Needs Work

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Overpriced, out-of-season menu. Service

was friendly and accomodating, but slow and forgetful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Fantastic service the night we ate dinne ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Fantastic service the night we ate dinner here. This could be a great place if the owners updated the environment and the menu. For the prices they're charging it was strange to almost be seated at fold up chairs (I asked for a different table) and I ordered a very odd Moroccan dish, it was basically a can of chick peas in a tomato sauce with some pita bread and a few slices of uncooked tofu. I love that they had up local art and they had a fantastic waiter working that night who saved our meal with his personable attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Close to the Orpheum before a show!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

We went to San Francisco to hear Neil deGrasse Tyson speak at the Orpheum and stayed at a Best Western just two blocks away. The hotel recommended three close by restaurants and we looked up the menu of Triptech and thought the food sounded delicious which it was. The site is small, vibrant red walls, original art work and hanging swaths of material, very entertaining setting. Our food was delicious: crab cakes, lobster ravioli, pear, blue cheese salad, mushroom soup but the only miss was they were out of the chocolate dessert. We had a gingerbread cake, loaded with whipped cream which was good, not great. The owner and server were both very friendly and we will return the next time we come to see a show at the Orpheum.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Will be back!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Great food! Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The eggs Benedict are insane. They accom ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The eggs Benedict are insane. They accommodated my no wheat request. Everything was really great. Will go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

good good, fair ambiance

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The food is tasty and quite elegant. The space is a casual, sort of artsy space but seems like it could use a renovation.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Food and service was mediocre but expens ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

Food and service was mediocre but expensive. Won't be coming back here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Delicious vegan brunch options. My omniv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Delicious vegan brunch options. My omnivorous dining companions enjoyed their food too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very Tasty Lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

We had 11:30 Sunday reservation and were seated at 11:31. The service was attentive and helpful. Everyone in our party of eight throughly enjoyed our meal. Three of us had the Pesto Chicken, three had the Club, one a fish sandwich, and the other the hamburger. I would definitely dine here again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great find!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

We needed a place near the Orpheum for a pre-show dinner on a Friday night and found Triptych on OpenTable. We were able to make last minute reservations. The restaurant is cozy but not cramped, and the gregarious but not overbearing owner, David, made us welcome. He asked if we had time constraints and made sure we had our meals - including dessert - well in time for us to get to the theater with time to spare. The food and service were fantastic. I had risotto with scallops, and my companions had lobster ravioli and a chicken entree. The risotto was creamy and the scallops were perfect. We shared desserts - a wonderful creme caramel flan and a three layer chocolate mousse. We will definitely be back. Cannot recommend Triptych highly enough - so, so good in every way.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Originally came here because we were craving some french toast. A little disappointed to see it drowning in syrup. We also ordered a side of sweet potato fries, which came with a sweet chili aioli sauce–this side was great! Very tasty and satisfying. Overall, our experience was alright, but what stood out to us the most was the atmosphere. We sat outside and it felt nice, open, fresh, and very comfortable. I would go back simply for the atmosphere and the sweet potato fries.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great Eggs Benedict!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Went here for brunch. They have a large assortment of eggs benedict (one of my favorites). They were delicious! The bloody marys are also very good. The beneigs were ok. Probably would not order again. Love the back patio - very quiet and nice.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I try not to miss a chance

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

This place has been a group favorite now for a few years. When the group is together from across the country we typically gather here for an evening of great food, drinks, and laughter.

Tuna Tartare and the Beignets should not be missed.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Saturday 9 AM brunch

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

Nice and quiet from 9-1030 am while I was there. Great service! The staff was perfect unobtrusive but attentive. Interesting art works.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

the service was very attentive--coffee a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

the service was very attentive--coffee and water were refilled all the time and without being intrusive. the bacon beignets are MUST HAVES. the food was great--loved the gluten free polenta cake option for benedits, and juices are fresh-squeezed on the premises. wonderful brunch experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good, not exceptional or uniqu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Food was good, not exceptional or unique but good. The overall experience was also good until the waiter lectured me because I did not give him 18% of gratuity. He made a scene at the front of my guests because I only gave him 12% tips. This feeling of entitlement is really off putting, the customer decides whether a 12% tip or 18% or no tips for that matter is suitable for the service he receives. The food was good and I almost considered to go back and try other dishes. However, the attitude of the waiter that night made me so uncomfortable and angry at the same time that I will never go back to this place again!!! The place was unusually empty for a Saturday night, and I don't think the Chef was the cause of a deserted restaurant. Time to hire more professional waiters perhaps??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Good restaurant worth a visit

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Friendly atmosphere with quality food. Surprisingly slow at brunch so no wait.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A Nice meal

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 28, 2015

Place seems still a work in progress

Food was decent

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Fish Plate and Patio AMAZING, steak was whatever

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2015

We really liked this place, we had a huge table for 16 people in the back patio for my birthday! It was a perfect spot for a great group, and the back patio is amazing. The sangria was delicious and we couldn't stop ordering it. I got the surf and turf. The surf part was to die for, and the best scallops I'd had. The turf part was overcooked and not particularly special. Most people liked their food and loved the atmosphere. Thank you Tryptich for a great birthday!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Great place for dinner with friends

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

This restaurant is located next to and across the street from some popular clubs, so it's great to be able to go to dinner with friends, then go to the clubs afterwards. The food is very tasty, with a large selection for all types of diners, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Despite being right next door to a club, this is a great place to be able to talk to people and actually be able to hear them.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Boozy Brunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

If you're looking for a low key brunch spot that has excellent brunch item selections with several different sangria mimosas, then you've found the right place. At a steal price of 30 dollars a person, you will find yourself quite satisfied with your brunch.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice local place

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2015

This is the third time I have been here and it is still quite good. the food is good, and interesting, the service is decent, the wines are nice. It is a nice simple unpretentious place. It is always good, always nice and that makes it dependable and special

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The owner, David,was so nice and you cou ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2015

The owner, David,was so nice and you could really tel that he took care in decorating and making the space unique. The paella i had was lovely as was the wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food including gluten-free options!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2015

I've eaten here a couple of times (brunch and dinner) and the food is always great. I especially appreciate their gluten-free options (such as gf beignets at brunch). For dinner they offer a good variety of wines by the glass. Services is always friendly and helpful. Only draw back is the front room can get noisy if there is a large crowd.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love this place--we had a big group, and ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 28, 2015

Love this place--we had a big group, and service was great--table in the window lovely: food very good and accommodated all palates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Late fathers day and my nieces 6th birthday dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2015

I checked around for reviews on their food and found some good raves about it. However there was a lot of hit or miss on their part.

The Osso buco was on the bland side. It was as tender but needs a bit more umph on the flavor and salt.

The sweet potato fries was ok, not excellent, but it was one of the good ones we had. The fried chicken was dry and the breading was just falling off.

My dad had the paella and it there was too much tomatoes. The saffron flavor was masked. The flavors didn't carry over to the seafood.

The risotto was good, creamy, and tasty. My nephew loved the lamb. My niece who turned 6 barely ate her salmon. I was satisfied that they did it well done for the kid.

The one big issue was their kitchen and expediter feels like they don't communicate. The dessert menu was given to us, even when we just ordered our entrees. I thought, they might want to turn the table for more business and I understand that. So we told them (who looked like he was the manager) our dessert order. He then brought it out within 3 minutes. I thought we were having a reverse dinner.

Anyway, I told him to hold it until we were done with dinner. When my niece was enjoying her ice cream, somebody took the little bowl when she wasn't even finished. I wish you could've seen the sad face when she saw her ice cream was gone. They did replace it, but it could have been avoided if somebody bothered to ask instead of grabbing it.

We're not coming back.

Kudos the that one waiter they had that night. He was excellent. That was the only silver lining in the whole dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Lunch review

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2015

I took clients here for lunch. They were the ones which suggested the restaurant and they said that for decent dining there was not much in the area. I wasn't too impressed with the lunch menu offerings (I had hoped for more offerings) but ended up with some polenta cakes with a curry sauce on a bed of spinich and potatoes. I enjoyed the plate. The owner and staff were outstanding in their attention and graciousness and that goes a long way!

Their dinner menu had a number of things I'd want to eat.

I'd definitely come back to try dinner and eat outside if the weather is nice. The atmosphere inside was chill and relaxed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.