Triptych

3.7
843 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Great for Brunch

Similar Restaurants

About

Triptych is a trendy diner serving contemporary American fare. The dining room is covered wall to wall in paintings and photographs from local artists. Best of all, if diners desire, they can purchase the art right off the wall and, ultimately, support the artist. The dining space is open, with tall ceilings and a covered patio that sits out by the sidewalk.

While it is not a strictly vegetarian restaurant, Triptych does have a several options for vegetarian meals. These include an organic garden burger with wild oats, rice, corn broccoli and bell peppers, in addition to a roasted veggie sandwich with balsamic, red onion, pesto, summer squash, zucchini and eggplant. Triptych is also known for its great brunch menu, especially the chocolate and bacon beignets, and house-specialty mimosas made from a variety of freshly pressed juices.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Contemporary American, Californian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
WEEKEND BRUNCH: Saturday & Sunday and Holidays: 9:00am - 3:30pm
Weekday Brunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:00pm.
DINNER: Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm
DINNER: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
DINNER: Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-10:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(415) 703-0557
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Filipe Gonzalez
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Triptych can cater private and corporate parties of 20 or more. We specialize photo shoot crew catering whether in studio or on location. We also cater any special events, large and small. We can do catering outside San Francisco throughout the Bay Area for an additional delivery charge. Triptych Restaurant is available for private events or parties of 30-60 people as a "buy-out".
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
8th Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plenty of street parking on Folsom most of the time. There are sometimes two spaces at the end of Hallam (right turn right after Triptych).
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Civic Center Station hub at 8th & Market Street with underground station for B.A.R.T. and for SF MUNI. Easy Taxi service along Folsom Street, especially on weekends. Located on the Muni Bus #12 Folsom Street line and 1/2 block from the Muni Bus #19 Polk Street Line.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
At any given time, two or more artists are featured at Triptych. Patio open for brunch on weekends, and on some evenings and weekdays(depending on weather).
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Triptych would love to host SOMA neighborhood organization and arts event. We believe in community and value the opportunity to be a part of SoMA growth and diversity.
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 843 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.7based on all time ratings
3.8
food
3.8
service
3.6
ambience
3.4
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on March 4, 2016

Great dining experience and professional service. Too bad it was closing!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 27, 2016

Why did your system allow us to make a reserv. for 5 people at 3 PM when the place CLOSES at 3 PM? Further, when I suggested they update their hours on Open Table - the stated they are closing their doors in a week...so we'll never know. Sorry we missed it! However, Rocco's [just down the street] was AMAZING!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 21, 2016

Good personalized service, healthy, great variety

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2016

There credit machine was broken so had to walk to an atm for cash. Was let know before ordering which was greatly appreciated and was also given 3 free beignets! Great service would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Very friendly staff and attentive service. Food was good and lots of variety on the menu. Good spot for brunch. Easy parking.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 13, 2016

Brunch for 5 was a disappointment. Menu items (such as pancakes, chai, and certain beers) were completely missing. The waiter messed up 2 of the 5 orders (where one person wanted salad on the side, but then got potatoes, and the other person wanted french fries and instead got a salad). Not only that, but the food came out extremely late. We waited a really, really long time before any food came out at all.

The food quality of what we did receive was middling and uninspired.

This is so disappointing because the space itself is really cute, and the location is pretty central.

Finally, about 3 hours after we left the restaurant, I got an email saying that Triptych had cancelled my OpenTable reservation altogether. In addition to a poor dining experience, they also appeared to want to take away eligible dining points (which OpenTable subsequently fixed).

I will not come back here.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 31, 2016

Good food. Great patio in the backyard.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 31, 2016

We were seated near the front door on a Sunday. The crowds waiting for a table were queuing up inside the front door of the restaurant. People were hovering and bumping us at our table while they just stand there in the doorway. Why don't they have people wait outside, especially on a beautiful warm afternoon? Very uncomfortable dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 31, 2016

Nice staff, good food, solid prices. I'll be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 31, 2016

My frittata blanc was delicious and healthy, and a nice contrast to the sinfully good bacon bignets. We ate outside because it was a bit cold but they have a nice patio. I've also been there for lunch and had a very nice salmon salad with a glass of organic white wine.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 29, 2016

Good concept- art gallery + cafe but looks really tired during daylight. Tattered curtains needs paint etc. Art okay. Food passable but not delicious. Watery ice tea. Not many choices in this neighborhood.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 23, 2016

Came here for a group brunch after doing research on good spots for that sort of occasion. Felt like the restaurant had no idea how to tackle serving a group of more than 4 and also felt like the menu is not at all geared toward sharing. Had the most abysmal Benedict of my life--the English muffin was soggy, the egg was fully cooked through ( a poached egg has a runny yoke...), and tabbouleh pairs terribly with the other ingredients (loved the idea, hated the execution). Will not be back and will not recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 22, 2016

I love this neighborhood find and have been going there for the past 3 years. David (the owner) is amazing and accommodating and always makes you feel like you are a VIP. The wait staff are artists and the spot contains not only solid/yummy food, but art on the walls all the way out through the back door where this is a WONDERFUL patio. A totally rare find in the 'hood.

Go there. You'll like it. It's warm, friendly, satiating.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 17, 2016

Overpriced, out-of-season menu. Service
was friendly and accomodating, but slow and forgetful.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 16, 2016

Fantastic service the night we ate dinner here. This could be a great place if the owners updated the environment and the menu. For the prices they're charging it was strange to almost be seated at fold up chairs (I asked for a different table) and I ordered a very odd Moroccan dish, it was basically a can of chick peas in a tomato sauce with some pita bread and a few slices of uncooked tofu. I love that they had up local art and they had a fantastic waiter working that night who saved our meal with his personable attention.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2016

We went to San Francisco to hear Neil deGrasse Tyson speak at the Orpheum and stayed at a Best Western just two blocks away. The hotel recommended three close by restaurants and we looked up the menu of Triptech and thought the food sounded delicious which it was. The site is small, vibrant red walls, original art work and hanging swaths of material, very entertaining setting. Our food was delicious: crab cakes, lobster ravioli, pear, blue cheese salad, mushroom soup but the only miss was they were out of the chocolate dessert. We had a gingerbread cake, loaded with whipped cream which was good, not great. The owner and server were both very friendly and we will return the next time we come to see a show at the Orpheum.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 1, 2016

Great food! Will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 1, 2016

The eggs Benedict are insane. They accommodated my no wheat request. Everything was really great. Will go again

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2015

The food is tasty and quite elegant. The space is a casual, sort of artsy space but seems like it could use a renovation.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 6, 2015

Food and service was mediocre but expensive. Won't be coming back here again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2015

Delicious vegan brunch options. My omnivorous dining companions enjoyed their food too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 15, 2015

We had 11:30 Sunday reservation and were seated at 11:31. The service was attentive and helpful. Everyone in our party of eight throughly enjoyed our meal. Three of us had the Pesto Chicken, three had the Club, one a fish sandwich, and the other the hamburger. I would definitely dine here again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 13, 2015

We needed a place near the Orpheum for a pre-show dinner on a Friday night and found Triptych on OpenTable. We were able to make last minute reservations. The restaurant is cozy but not cramped, and the gregarious but not overbearing owner, David, made us welcome. He asked if we had time constraints and made sure we had our meals - including dessert - well in time for us to get to the theater with time to spare. The food and service were fantastic. I had risotto with scallops, and my companions had lobster ravioli and a chicken entree. The risotto was creamy and the scallops were perfect. We shared desserts - a wonderful creme caramel flan and a three layer chocolate mousse. We will definitely be back. Cannot recommend Triptych highly enough - so, so good in every way.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 31, 2015

Originally came here because we were craving some french toast. A little disappointed to see it drowning in syrup. We also ordered a side of sweet potato fries, which came with a sweet chili aioli sauce–this side was great! Very tasty and satisfying. Overall, our experience was alright, but what stood out to us the most was the atmosphere. We sat outside and it felt nice, open, fresh, and very comfortable. I would go back simply for the atmosphere and the sweet potato fries.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 25, 2015

Went here for brunch. They have a large assortment of eggs benedict (one of my favorites). They were delicious! The bloody marys are also very good. The beneigs were ok. Probably would not order again. Love the back patio - very quiet and nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 24, 2015

This place has been a group favorite now for a few years. When the group is together from across the country we typically gather here for an evening of great food, drinks, and laughter.

Tuna Tartare and the Beignets should not be missed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 24, 2015

Nice and quiet from 9-1030 am while I was there. Great service! The staff was perfect unobtrusive but attentive. Interesting art works.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 24, 2015

the service was very attentive--coffee and water were refilled all the time and without being intrusive. the bacon beignets are MUST HAVES. the food was great--loved the gluten free polenta cake option for benedits, and juices are fresh-squeezed on the premises. wonderful brunch experience!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 17, 2015

Food was good, not exceptional or unique but good. The overall experience was also good until the waiter lectured me because I did not give him 18% of gratuity. He made a scene at the front of my guests because I only gave him 12% tips. This feeling of entitlement is really off putting, the customer decides whether a 12% tip or 18% or no tips for that matter is suitable for the service he receives. The food was good and I almost considered to go back and try other dishes. However, the attitude of the waiter that night made me so uncomfortable and angry at the same time that I will never go back to this place again!!! The place was unusually empty for a Saturday night, and I don't think the Chef was the cause of a deserted restaurant. Time to hire more professional waiters perhaps??

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 3, 2015

Friendly atmosphere with quality food. Surprisingly slow at brunch so no wait.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 27, 2015

Place seems still a work in progress
Food was decent

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 9, 2015

We really liked this place, we had a huge table for 16 people in the back patio for my birthday! It was a perfect spot for a great group, and the back patio is amazing. The sangria was delicious and we couldn't stop ordering it. I got the surf and turf. The surf part was to die for, and the best scallops I'd had. The turf part was overcooked and not particularly special. Most people liked their food and loved the atmosphere. Thank you Tryptich for a great birthday!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 22, 2015

This restaurant is located next to and across the street from some popular clubs, so it's great to be able to go to dinner with friends, then go to the clubs afterwards. The food is very tasty, with a large selection for all types of diners, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Despite being right next door to a club, this is a great place to be able to talk to people and actually be able to hear them.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 3, 2015

Alas, Triptych is closed - but I do hope that it will re-open. Both my friend and I were saddened, when we received the news from Open Table that the restaurant was closed and we could not dine here. This was one of our top favorites, as it was with most of our friends, and visitors, in San Francisco. Outstanding food, outstanding service, very gracious owner and serving staff (and the best beignets in the world!) Aside from the culinary delights, the outside patio garden wonderful - and there was almost a strong commitment to art. I and all my friends wish the best to the owner and the staff - they've earned tens-of-thousands of accolades and much joy and happiness!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 2, 2015

If you're looking for a low key brunch spot that has excellent brunch item selections with several different sangria mimosas, then you've found the right place. At a steal price of 30 dollars a person, you will find yourself quite satisfied with your brunch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 30, 2015

This is the third time I have been here and it is still quite good. the food is good, and interesting, the service is decent, the wines are nice. It is a nice simple unpretentious place. It is always good, always nice and that makes it dependable and special

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 21, 2015

The owner, David,was so nice and you could really tel that he took care in decorating and making the space unique. The paella i had was lovely as was the wine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 19, 2015

I've eaten here a couple of times (brunch and dinner) and the food is always great. I especially appreciate their gluten-free options (such as gf beignets at brunch). For dinner they offer a good variety of wines by the glass. Services is always friendly and helpful. Only draw back is the front room can get noisy if there is a large crowd.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 27, 2015

Love this place--we had a big group, and service was great--table in the window lovely: food very good and accommodated all palates.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 27, 2015

I checked around for reviews on their food and found some good raves about it. However there was a lot of hit or miss on their part.

The Osso buco was on the bland side. It was as tender but needs a bit more umph on the flavor and salt.

The sweet potato fries was ok, not excellent, but it was one of the good ones we had. The fried chicken was dry and the breading was just falling off.

My dad had the paella and it there was too much tomatoes. The saffron flavor was masked. The flavors didn't carry over to the seafood.

The risotto was good, creamy, and tasty. My nephew loved the lamb. My niece who turned 6 barely ate her salmon. I was satisfied that they did it well done for the kid.

The one big issue was their kitchen and expediter feels like they don't communicate. The dessert menu was given to us, even when we just ordered our entrees. I thought, they might want to turn the table for more business and I understand that. So we told them (who looked like he was the manager) our dessert order. He then brought it out within 3 minutes. I thought we were having a reverse dinner.

Anyway, I told him to hold it until we were done with dinner. When my niece was enjoying her ice cream, somebody took the little bowl when she wasn't even finished. I wish you could've seen the sad face when she saw her ice cream was gone. They did replace it, but it could have been avoided if somebody bothered to ask instead of grabbing it.

We're not coming back.

Kudos the that one waiter they had that night. He was excellent. That was the only silver lining in the whole dining experience.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
22