About Triple J Chophouse and Brew Co

1807 Buddy Holly Ave
Lubbock, TX 79401
View Larger Map

Not just Lubbock’s only brew pub, but also a steakhouse where a comfortable atmosphere and a friendly service staff awaits you. With a wide variety of menu items, no wonder people claim we have “Darn Good Food.”

Come in for a Well Crafted Beer, stay for the food.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Brewery, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
19th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 771-6555

Website:
http://www.triplejchophouseandbrewco.com/

Entertainment:
Variety of live music weekly. Check our website for this week's performers.

Catering:
A variety of options are available. Call us to talk with a catering coordinator.

Parking Details:
Free

Public Transit:
Citibus stop - intersection of 19th & Buddy Holly Ave.

Private Party Facilities:
Our Back Forty Room will accommodate up to 35 people. A perfect fit for parties or presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Triple J Chophouse Manager: 8067716555

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Triple J Chophouse and Brew Co Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Texas Panhandle
Most Booked
Lubbock
Best Restaurants in Lubbock ›

good for groups (22)
special occasion (21)
great for lunch (12)
See All
hot spot (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
late-night find (9)
vibrant bar scene (9)
fit for foodies (8)
romantic (7)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (2)
notable wine list (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
27 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the perfect place to take my fa ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was the perfect place to take my family for a graduation Dinner. They're from other states, so this was a nice, authentically Texas place to take them. Food was good, drinks were good, and everyone had a good time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always. Prime rib is absolutel ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great as always. Prime rib is absolutely unbeatable. Even though it was graduation weekend service was good. Go to place. Never disappoints

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The place to go in Lubbock for the local ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The place to go in Lubbock for the local atmosphere. Loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good menu selections - steaks are good ( ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Good menu selections - steaks are good (family loves Lila riveted best) but cooked a little more than asked for - sides and salad choices are great also - love to have a green chili option!!!! Beer choices great, wine good but not over the top. Service is always excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service5

Most of the food there is heavy. Even po ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Most of the food there is heavy. Even portions of healthier dishes are huge. Drinks were good answer service was excellent. Can see going for happy hour, but not a serious meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

12oz Ribeye was delicious and the fried ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

12oz Ribeye was delicious and the fried green beans are awesome.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good but you must order Steak

Dined on April 20, 2016

the restaurant is very loud when musicians are playing, the chicken isn't very good but the steak is great for the valu and taste ($25 for a 10 oz Filet).

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Date Night - but noisy

Dined on April 2, 2016

Me and my husband were there for date night for his birthday. As always the food was great, but the noise level was loud. The tables are close together so I felt like I kept getting distracted by the conversation happening next to me. Also just sitting across from one another I had trouble hearing my husband and he has a dominating voice. We were also there early prior to the live music. It's a great place, but if you're wanting to have a conversation, it might not be the best.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service4
value5

I like

Dined on March 26, 2016

We went as a big group last weekend the food was tasty and out waitress was Great. But I Was sad becauce My Chicken friedsteak was Burnt so I asked for another one and they brought me A chicken fried chicken and tthe Wrong sidessides Which I did not want.. I will go back I know there's mistakes But I didn't get to enjoy my Meal with my family :(

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Excellent food and service!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food at good price

Dined on March 8, 2016

I ordered the 6 oz steak and mashed potatoes. It was very good and well prepared. The waiter was great and it wasn't too noisy with the live music.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food always taste great! Especially ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

The food always taste great! Especially dinner! I tried the home made beer for the first time and it tasted great.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome place! Not ridiculously expensiv ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Awesome place! Not ridiculously expensive! Great service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is good! Always is!

Dined on February 24, 2016

Everything is good! Always is!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beef, brews, and music!

Dined on February 14, 2016

I love Triple J's. The food is always excellent and comes out hot! The flavor of the steak is great and it is always prepared perfectly. All the appetizers are wonderful, so take your pick! I look forward to the prime rib special-medium rare is the way to go! Recommend trying the in-house brews before choosing an entire glass. My favorite cocktail is the jalapeño margarita; sweet, stout, and spicy! For dessert choose whatever but make sure to get some homemade vanilla bean ice cream! The servers are always friendly and the atmosphere is great! I love when they have live music; they bring in great local talent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love this place

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have always loved this place the only problem I had this Year for my valentines dinner was my table was not prepared. The valentines package was not set on the table when I was trying to do something nice for my wife. I know this is a small issue but for 22 dollars this should be a priority. for the record this will not change our love for the chop house. Matt & Robin

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Very Disappointed!! Food Was Awful!

Dined on February 7, 2016

Would not recommend, place was loud, we waited a long time for our food, order was wrong had to send back food, food tasted horrible. We will not go back.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Less Than Impressed

Dined on February 5, 2016

The food was below par and, therefore, overpriced. Also, our waiter was very inexperienced. Luckily, we had great company!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were excellent, the ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

The service and food were excellent, the waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable of the different menu choices.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steaks, good local spot

Dined on August 17, 2015

We brought some out of towners to Triple J and everyone in our table of 7 ordered steaks. They were cooked nicely and came out promptly. Service was attentive. Server had good suggestions on what their house brewed beer tasted similar to and what he thought we would like. As always, the bread and honey butter is my favorite!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

We ordered steaks and our steaks were co ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2015

We ordered steaks and our steaks were cooked to perfection. They have a variety of wines and beer to choose from. The ambience is a little rustic, but interesting. We will be back!

food4
ambience4
service3

Took a while for our server to get back ...

Dined on May 28, 2015

Took a while for our server to get back to us. It was a busy night feel like they were understaffed, the server was very nice and apologized. Food was good as always.

food4
ambience4
service4

We went for lunch at Triple J. Service w ...

Dined on February 7, 2015

We went for lunch at Triple J. Service was excellent - friendly staff! Our party had 2 adults and 4 girls! The staff was very accommodating and attentive!

food4
ambience4
service4

Fun Place when in Lubbock !!

Dined on September 11, 2013

An energetic fun place when in Lubbock. The steaks are average but the ambiance makes up for a good time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5

My favorite place in Lubbock

Dined on May 21, 2013

My daughter attended graduate school at Texas Tech and Triple J's was the very first place we ate in town. It was so good it became our go to place to eat when I went to town. The food is wonderful and the beer is some of the best craft beer I have ever enjoyed. Don't miss their IPA's--

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service4

Very good food and nice selection

Dined on April 7, 2013

Very good food and nice selection of locally brewed beer. The popular "whynot wheat" beer was excellent. I had "ancho grilled filet mignon" for dinner and it was very tender and juicy. Even if you are not a fan of green beans, you must try "fried green beans" with ranch or even ketchup.

food3
ambience2
service3

Our experience was good, but

Dined on April 17, 2012

Our experience was good, but not great on a busy Tuesday night. There really wasn't one thing that was outstanding or even excellent that stood out. Service was good for the amount of people that nearly packed the restaurant at 7 p.m., and when the JJJ is packed, its very noisy and hard to carry on a conversation. I've had better meals here, and the place seems to be succeeding on reputation, not quality or innovation.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.