Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.71mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.71mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.71mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.71mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi

About Triple J Chophouse and Brew Co

Not just Lubbock’s only brew pub, but also a steakhouse where a comfortable atmosphere and a friendly service staff awaits you. With a wide variety of menu items, no wonder people claim we have “Darn Good Food.”

Come in for a Well Crafted Beer, stay for the food.

1807 Buddy Holly Ave
Lubbock, TX 79401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Brewery, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
19th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 771-6555

Website:
http://www.triplejchophouseandbrewco.com/

Entertainment:
Variety of live music weekly. Check our website for this week's performers.

Catering:
A variety of options are available. Call us to talk with a catering coordinator.

Parking Details:
Free

Public Transit:
Citibus stop - intersection of 19th & Buddy Holly Ave.

Private Party Facilities:
Our Back Forty Room will accommodate up to 35 people. A perfect fit for parties or presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Triple J Chophouse Manager: (806) 771-6555

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Triple J Chophouse and Brew Co Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Fun (16)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Great Beer (14)
Live Music (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Business Meals (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Casual (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Authentic (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Family Style (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Cozy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Historic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Romantic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
People Watching (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Sports (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dancing (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
83 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great service and food. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had a special occasion and made a reservation online. We were seated immediately upon arriving and we were able to have a leisurely meal while waiting to hear our favorite local artist, D.G. Flewellyn who made a dedication for us. Our waitress was very attentive and patient knowing that we were looking for a leisurely meal. Thumbs up! We will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 1, 2017

YUCK! My beef tips had NO flavor, my sons Ancho Filet was lacking, and how do you ruin mixed veggies? Not only would I not recommend, I'll never go back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We reserved a table for 13, which was ready upon arrival. The service and food were excellent. Triple J helped make our evening celebration a huge success!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our daughter attended Texas Tech. We have enjoyed going to Triple J every time we are in town. Never a bad meal or service. Craft beers very tasty. A+++

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great Beer, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We had a graduation celebration. Our server was fantastic!! The food was delicious and a fun time was had by all!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went on graduation day for Tech, so wait go food was a bit long, but our server was awesome!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was good. Great atmosphere. Outstanding service. No problem getting seats for lunch. Varied selections on the menu. Friendly staff. I think that just about covers it. Sorry it wasn't 50 words. I'm a man of few words.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 4, 2017

i was hosting a training for Probation directors from across the state of Texas. Everyone had a great time,enjoyed the food, enjoyed the bar and beer and the music was perfect.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Live Music, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 3, 2017

My husband and I were in Lubbock, celebrating our anniversary. We found this place for dinner, since they had both steak and seafood, and we were very pleased! The ambiance and service were great, and the food was fantastic!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Live Music, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great steaks and house brewed beer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Few restaurants can cook a steak "Pittsburgh Style" aka "Black and Blue" aka "Charred Raw" but Tripple J Chophouse can!! My favorite way to prepare a steak. This meal had my perfect steak and fried string beans. Service as great! The cook made sure that I got the steak exactly perfect. My wife loves the Western decor and her chicken fried chicken with gravy and baked potato made her happy. It's our favorite place in Lubbock. I live in Houston so I know what good restaurants are like and this one is GOOD!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I have been to Triple J several times and I have to say that our last experience was quite terrible. From the moment that we walked in we were rushed to place our order and once the salads hit the table we didn't even have 2 bites before our dinner was served. Also considering that I paid $24.00 for a steak I would have liked to have had more that 2 bites as the steak was all fat and gristle. Very disappointed!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our server, Garrett was excellent! Extraordinarily above and beyond. Promote him- except when we're there- then let him serve our table again

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was great and our server was excellent. There was a concert going on in the street in front, so it was a little loud, but we had a great time and a great meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Everything was amazing! Our server, Zach, went above and beyond! We will definitely go back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

One good steak and meat restaurant. They know how to cook a steak Pittsburgh style!! Most places haven't a clue. Wife thought decorations were cute. Wild West theme sort of. Very pleasant place with good food. Fried green beans really tasty. One of the best places in Lubbock.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Have been here couple times and every time the food is great. I have tried different things and everything is always great. Try the Nachos you will be surprised how great they are.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Interesting variety menu, large portions, reasonable prices, excellent decor and lighting, brick oven, open view plate prep, multiple spirits available. Only peoblems for me: 1) booths are completely hard wood and difficult for long legs/tall people (but they are fairly private with tall backs/siding, and 2) high noise level during busy times. Overall, our favorite restaurant in Lubbock so far.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Fun, Private Room, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I was disappointed with the Sidewinder appetizer, which is jalapeños stuffed with shrimp and cheese. The first order came out undercooked. Although they are fried, the cheese was not melted and the center was still cool.

The rest of the meal was very good. The ribeye and filet were perfectly cooked. One of our party had the chicken fried steak and said it was one of the best he has eaten.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Love the Triple J Chophouse! Been there 2 times and both times have been thoroughly pleased and always wanting to go back the minute I leave! Food is awesome and so delicious!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Family Style, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Our server, Breckkyn, was very good. Enjoyed her attention and service.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Wait staff excellent - friendly and attentive. Good steak. Enjoyed it.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My wife and I went to JJJ's to celebrate our 8th anniversary and had a wonderful meal with exemplary service. We are planning to go back as soon as possible. The Cactus Theater is right across the street and it is so convenient to eat a great meal with cool atmosphere and walk across the street and catch a great show at the Cactus. We love JJJ's. Thank You for providing Lubbock with a great place to dine with such friendly staff.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food and a fun atmosphere. Wait staff were friendly and we had a good time.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I love this restaurant! Great beer, fun atmosphere, and excellent green chile chicken!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's dinner with my wife. Excellent care from front desk staff to waitperson. Waitperson very attentive to our needs. The food as always was excellent. Ambience of restaurant is great. We will certainly return for the service and food we enjoy at Triple J's.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, People Watching, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Live Music, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 25, 2017

It was and always has been, a great experience for me. Food has always been as I Ordered, and taste great. The atmosphere is nice and not over powering.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I have eaten at Triple J's numerous times for business lunches as I am a purchasing agent and reps buy my lunch on occasion. I have also eaten there with family members visiting from out of town--which was the occasion on my recent visit. I requested a table for 6 and one where no stairs were involved as my 96 year old Mother uses a walker. When I entered and gave my name, the young man said our table was ready for us. We were seated and had wonderful service from Holly and just had a wonderful visit with family along with our great meal. I was very pleased with the visit (as was my family) and will sure recommend Triple J's to anyone.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We split the nachos. Brisket was incredibly dry and seemed several days old. Chips were wontons??? What???

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Outstanding staff and dinner. Wonderful venue for a graduation celebration.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Healthy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everything from start to finish was excellent from the staff to the food to the atmosphere! It couldn't have been a better setting for our event, and the staff bent over backwards to accommodate us. We made reservations over a month ago and in spite of a couple of changes to the number of people, everything was ready. The food was excellent and served just as ordered by each. Appetizers were great! Our server, Dawn, was wonderful. We would definitely recommend this place as a go-to place to eat to everyone!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I have been coming here for the last 4 1/2 years and my son graduated . so we came because the food has always been outstanding but on this special occasion it was the worst food I have had from this restaurant .

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The steaks were excellent, and the side dishes were better and more creative than most restaurants.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food at a fair price. Very cool dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Historic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Been to Triple J's about 7 time on special occasions and have always had great experiences and good food. Our last visit, the atmosphere was great, and the waiter was friendly although the food left me dissapointed. My pasta and shrimp plate was very unappetizing. After being cold, it was oily and the noodles seemed like a Knor side you can get for a dollar and the shrimp was heat and serve. My brother-in-laws pork chop was nearly raw and cold too. My sister in laws pot pie had a wierd flavor like sour or something. Finally my wifes nachos were the crumbs from the bottom of the barrel. I was disappointed in the food this time, which I have never experienced before. Hoping I just went on a bad day.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Live Music, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Highly recommend this steak house to anyone who is visiting Lubbock. The food was good, service the best!! If I could give more stars for service I would give more. The beer is good and I look forward to visiting again in the future!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food and service are always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 30, 2016

This place has killer food and great atmosphere! I would recommend them to anyone.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great Beer, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.