About Triple J Chophouse and Brew Co

1807 Buddy Holly Ave
Lubbock, TX 79401
View Larger Map

Not just Lubbock’s only brew pub, but also a steakhouse where a comfortable atmosphere and a friendly service staff awaits you. With a wide variety of menu items, no wonder people claim we have “Darn Good Food.”

Come in for a Well Crafted Beer, stay for the food.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Brewery, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
19th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 771-6555

Website:
http://www.triplejchophouseandbrewco.com/

Entertainment:
Variety of live music weekly. Check our website for this week's performers.

Catering:
A variety of options are available. Call us to talk with a catering coordinator.

Parking Details:
Free

Public Transit:
Citibus stop - intersection of 19th & Buddy Holly Ave.

Private Party Facilities:
Our Back Forty Room will accommodate up to 35 people. A perfect fit for parties or presentations.

Private Party Contact:
Triple J Chophouse Manager: (806) 771-6555

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Triple J Chophouse and Brew Co Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (9)
Great Beer (8)
Casual (8)
See All
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Live Music (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Fun (5)
Authentic (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Historic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Family Style (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Business Meals (3)
Romantic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Cozy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
58 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love this restaurant! Great beer, fun ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined 6 days ago

I love this restaurant! Great beer, fun atmosphere, and excellent green chile chicken!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's dinner with my wife. Excell ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentine's dinner with my wife. Excellent care from front desk staff to waitperson. Waitperson very attentive to our needs. The food as always was excellent. Ambience of restaurant is great. We will certainly return for the service and food we enjoy at Triple J's.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, People Watching, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Live Music, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was and always has been, a great expe ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 25, 2017

It was and always has been, a great experience for me. Food has always been as I Ordered, and taste great. The atmosphere is nice and not over powering.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have eaten at Triple J's numerous time ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I have eaten at Triple J's numerous times for business lunches as I am a purchasing agent and reps buy my lunch on occasion. I have also eaten there with family members visiting from out of town--which was the occasion on my recent visit. I requested a table for 6 and one where no stairs were involved as my 96 year old Mother uses a walker. When I entered and gave my name, the young man said our table was ready for us. We were seated and had wonderful service from Holly and just had a wonderful visit with family along with our great meal. I was very pleased with the visit (as was my family) and will sure recommend Triple J's to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We split the nachos. Brisket was incredi ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We split the nachos. Brisket was incredibly dry and seemed several days old. Chips were wontons??? What???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding staff and dinner. Wonderful ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Outstanding staff and dinner. Wonderful venue for a graduation celebration.

Tags: People Watching, Healthy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything from start to finish was exce ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everything from start to finish was excellent from the staff to the food to the atmosphere! It couldn't have been a better setting for our event, and the staff bent over backwards to accommodate us. We made reservations over a month ago and in spite of a couple of changes to the number of people, everything was ready. The food was excellent and served just as ordered by each. Appetizers were great! Our server, Dawn, was wonderful. We would definitely recommend this place as a go-to place to eat to everyone!

Tags: Fun, , Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good.

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I have been coming here for the last 4 1 ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I have been coming here for the last 4 1/2 years and my son graduated . so we came because the food has always been outstanding but on this special occasion it was the worst food I have had from this restaurant .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value4

The steaks were excellent, and the side ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The steaks were excellent, and the side dishes were better and more creative than most restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food at a fair price. Very cool ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food at a fair price. Very cool dining experience.

Tags: Historic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been to Triple J's about 7 time on speci ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Been to Triple J's about 7 time on special occasions and have always had great experiences and good food. Our last visit, the atmosphere was great, and the waiter was friendly although the food left me dissapointed. My pasta and shrimp plate was very unappetizing. After being cold, it was oily and the noodles seemed like a Knor side you can get for a dollar and the shrimp was heat and serve. My brother-in-laws pork chop was nearly raw and cold too. My sister in laws pot pie had a wierd flavor like sour or something. Finally my wifes nachos were the crumbs from the bottom of the barrel. I was disappointed in the food this time, which I have never experienced before. Hoping I just went on a bad day.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Live Music, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend this steak house to any ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Highly recommend this steak house to anyone who is visiting Lubbock. The food was good, service the best!! If I could give more stars for service I would give more. The beer is good and I look forward to visiting again in the future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service are always good.

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food and service are always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

This place has killer food and great atm ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 30, 2016

This place has killer food and great atmosphere! I would recommend them to anyone.

Tags: Great Beer, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband ordered the rib eye and it wa ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My husband ordered the rib eye and it was delicious. I had the buffalo chicken pizza and I would not order it again. It is a cute restaurant and had a nice vibe.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

Really enjoyed my experience. The food w ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Really enjoyed my experience. The food was really good, from the salad dressing on my salad to the way my steak was cooked. My whole party enjoyed the over all experience from the food to the service. Will definitely return for dinner again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The only complaint at our table was one ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The only complaint at our table was one steak coming out under cooked. The staff quickly corrected the complaint. Otherwise, a good example of the high quality experience I've come to expect from Triple J.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Waited 25 minutes past reservation time. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Waited 25 minutes past reservation time. Received a weak excuse from hostess. Never apologized. Food fair at best. The service was very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Everything clicks here for me. The atmo ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Everything clicks here for me. The atmosphere, drinks, food, service, entertainment, hours of business, location, etc. Great manager that personally makes sure you're getting the quality of service you should expect when dining. Truly an authentic place that caters to Lubbock and what it was built upon. Definitely an original and must try for everyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience. The wedge salad was gre ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Good experience. The wedge salad was great take on the standard by adding the berries and nuts. The I had the sirloin and I was disappointed that it was only 6oz. Would have liked to see a larger cut. As I am a lover of simple steaks this one had a little too much seasoning. Overall a good experience and would recommend it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Visiting my daughter in Lubbock and want ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Visiting my daughter in Lubbock and wanted to take her to her favorite restaurant there!! Highly recommend! Service was great and food was wonderful as usual!! Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and the food was very good. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The service and the food was very good. My only complaint was I ordered my steak medium-rare but, it arrived medium-well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This restaurant was a lot of fun. We we ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This restaurant was a lot of fun. We were celebrating a birthday, but be sure to tell them in advance, as when I mentioned it when we got there it was ignored. It was the only thing that was disappointing on an otherwise very nice evening.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Waitress and manager very hard and did ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Waitress and manager very hard and did a great job taking care of our party of six. Live music was perfect sound level- not too loud to visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid choice when in Lubbock. Great plac ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Solid choice when in Lubbock. Great place to take the family. Something for everybody.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, great beer.................. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food, great beer...................... WIN WIN!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Triple J Chophouse and Brew Company ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 28, 2016

The Triple J Chophouse and Brew Company offers good food and great value! It has a friendly staff, large portions and an enjoyable casual atmosphere. It was a great place to enjoy a steak dinner with my son.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Our server was great but the guy who hel ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our server was great but the guy who helped bring out the food was rude. He yelled at us to move our salad bowl and spilled the au jus from steak all over the table and just walked off. Steak was dry and chewy.... disappointed to get a dry ribeye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We wouldn't have many suggestions for im ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on June 17, 2016

We wouldn't have many suggestions for improvement. We asked our hotel for non chain steak houses,and this one topped the list. I can see why!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I love going to Triple J! It's in the he ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on June 17, 2016

I love going to Triple J! It's in the heart of the Depot and the atmosphere and food are amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the perfect place to take my fa ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 22, 2016

This was the perfect place to take my family for a graduation Dinner. They're from other states, so this was a nice, authentically Texas place to take them. Food was good, drinks were good, and everyone had a good time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as always. Prime rib is absolutel ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great as always. Prime rib is absolutely unbeatable. Even though it was graduation weekend service was good. Go to place. Never disappoints

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place to go in Lubbock for the local ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 17, 2016

The place to go in Lubbock for the local atmosphere. Loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good menu selections - steaks are good ( ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Good menu selections - steaks are good (family loves Lila riveted best) but cooked a little more than asked for - sides and salad choices are great also - love to have a green chili option!!!! Beer choices great, wine good but not over the top. Service is always excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Most of the food there is heavy. Even po ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Most of the food there is heavy. Even portions of healthier dishes are huge. Drinks were good answer service was excellent. Can see going for happy hour, but not a serious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

12oz Ribeye was delicious and the fried ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 28, 2016

12oz Ribeye was delicious and the fried green beans are awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good but you must order Steak

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 20, 2016

the restaurant is very loud when musicians are playing, the chicken isn't very good but the steak is great for the valu and taste ($25 for a 10 oz Filet).

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Date Night - but noisy

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Me and my husband were there for date night for his birthday. As always the food was great, but the noise level was loud. The tables are close together so I felt like I kept getting distracted by the conversation happening next to me. Also just sitting across from one another I had trouble hearing my husband and he has a dominating voice. We were also there early prior to the live music.

It's a great place, but if you're wanting to have a conversation, it might not be the best.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

I like

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 26, 2016

We went as a big group last weekend the food was tasty and out waitress was Great. But I Was sad becauce My Chicken friedsteak was Burnt so I asked for another one and they brought me A chicken fried chicken and tthe Wrong sidessides Which I did not want.. I will go back I know there's mistakes But I didn't get to enjoy my Meal with my family :(

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.