Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Trio Restaurant and Bar – Novotel Toronto North York

Welcome to Trio at Novotel. Lose yourself in a sophisticated environment of lounge style music, sleek modern furnishings and urban style decor. Trio at Novotel is about much more than just taste, it’s about experience. Chef Bruno awaits an opportunity for you to relax and enjoy great food, with select international wines artfully combined to delight the palate.

3 Park Home Ave
North York, ON M2N 6L3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, International, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily: 6:00am - 10:00pm;
Bar: 11:30am - 12:00am;

Cross Street:
Empress Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 218-3868

Parking Details:
Parking is located beside the Trio-Novotel Toronto North York Hotel entrance. It is an undergound parking for $5 fee at breakfast & lunch time. Parking is free from 5pm for dinner dining. Please make sure to bring your parking ticket with you so we can validate at Trio.

Public Transit:
TTC subway stop is North York Center. Trio-Novotel Toronto North York entrance is located in North York Civic Center Mall.

Executive Chef:
Bruno Beaudoin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Trio Restaurant and Bar – Novotel Toronto North York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.6

ambience

3.5

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

57% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Casual (4)
See All
Bar Seating (4)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Cozy (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
44 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

winterlicious 2017 was great, valentine special good value

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I was disappointed with the quality of the food. I ordered a mushroom and asparagus tart appetizer. The tart was cold, tough. The tart looks like an old spinach pastry you get from supermarket that's a couple days old. The only thing I like is the double chocolate cake. It looks like they bought it from ouside and cut into small pieces.
The place is small and the interior design looks weird for a bar/restaurant. This Place Is Overrated And I Don't Understand Why They Have A Good Rating. Such a disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very friendly and accommodating staff, great meal, nice surroundings.

Tags: Comfort Food, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Loved the food, loved the place! Servers are just total pros! Everybody were nice to guests. Food arrived in timely manner. I would definitely come back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I came for winterlicious and the food was above my expectations. I really enjoyed the lobster bisque. I had the mushroom and bacon open face sandwich which I enjoyed, other than the hard crust made it difficult to eat. I had a bite of the supreme chicken which I found a bit dry. My meal ended with the triple decker chocolate cake with custard which was really rice and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Went here for winterlicious 2017. The food was great had the lobster soup, steak and chocolate cake. No complaints about the food. They had a live classical band at the front, which was nice. The staff was so nice and was good at refilling our water.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were dining there for the first day of the Winterlicious. I had been at Trios before and it was ok but this time it left me with a very bad experience. Almost nothing was right: cutleries were either missing a spoon, or knife. When we asked the servers to refill our water, we have to wait very long and ended up asking for 3 ppl in total before one of them came to do so. Either they are really under staff or the staff are not experienced at all! Also, there was an older man in suit who stood in the front (maybe a manager) and his attitude towards us was not very nice who is very wrong (if he is a supervisor or manager)! I might not go back again!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This place is very noisy. Food was so-so. Please note that there is no longer complimentary parking. Flat rate of $5 now applies. Another deterrent to come here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Despite taking our reservation....they were closed due to low holiday business....brutal....ate in the adjacent food court.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The restaurant and food were great. However, when we arrived, they did not have our reservation. They had a private function that day and were not taking any reservations. Even though I had confirmed this reservation above through Open Table. The waiters were great and accommodated us after we showed them the reservation. This could have been very bad, as it was a business lunch.

Somehow, the location is not connected to Open Table.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Was very good. Was slightly disappointed that the bread that was brought out was in the form of rolls not warmed up, rather than freshly made (warm) bread slices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 17, 2016

There's clearly an issue over washroom access for restaurant patrons. There appears to be no washrooms in the restaurant itself. The closest washrooms are in the lobby & these are restricted to those staying in the hotel. Signage directs people to another floor. Otherwise, people seem to have to trail out of the hotel into the mall& use the washrooms in the food court area,

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Found that the restaurant itself didn't appear to have any washrooms. The nearest washrooms are in the lobby & seem to be restricted to hotel guests. On this occasion this was not an issue. This could be an issue for anyone dining at the restaurant & not a hotel guest

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had a delicious dinner and participated in Paint Nite. It was a fun evening for all six of us.
Thank You.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Was not able to dine at the time I had booked. The restaurant had not set their profile up properly & I had booked a table when the restaurant was in fact closed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2016

1st they didn't have my reservation. But restaurant not busy anyway, lots of seats available. So doesn't really matter if they find my reservation or not.

The menu is very different from the one online. Not much choice for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2016

The service is great especially live music
The value is excellence
Food was great and so was the service.
The booking is smooth and flawless.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2016

I enjoyed the food ordering from the Winterlicious lunch menu; however, the female server I had was not at all attentive. She never came to refill my water, so I had to ask the server from the bar. She never came to ask how my meal tasted at any point throughout the three courses. Unacceptable! The ambiance was lovely and I would come back just for the food, but not for the service during the lunch period. The restaurant was only half full and not at all busy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2016

Visit for 2016 Winterlisious, and we really like it...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2016

I found the service to be very quick since the restaurant was not busy at all - I went on a Friday evening. The portion sizes were rather small and I found that the food could have had more flavour. Overall, not a BAD restaurant, but could definitely improve on their food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2016

Food generally is ok. Services is fairly acceptable nothing excited. Didn't even asking us what to drink before ordering just give us a special winterlicious menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2016

Staff was great and the overall vibe was sophisticated yet casual. Staff was friendly and accommodating and service was extremely quick. Portions were slightly small, but otherwise it was a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2016

The food was not as good as it could have been. The courses were served cold and the food was stale. This may have been because of winterlicious however my guest and I reserved at an off peak time and the restaurant was not busy when we had reached there. The dinning experience was fun due to the company more so than the food. The décor of the restaurant was beautiful and the servers were well dressed, however not always attentive.

Was it Winterlicious or is the quality of the food always mediocre?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2016

We highly recommend this little gem, love going there. A little elegance in a casual way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2016

Went in for the Winterlicious menu with no expectations. Food was surprisingly good! Came out happy & satisfied! Will visit again!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2015

They didn't know we had a openTable booking or something, and we had to wait 30 min to get our table. The food was turkey and salad and some dessert and a house wine for 100 bucks. A bit of a rip off even for Christmas night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Fantastic service and delicious food with French flair!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2015

We have had several very nice meals at Trio over the past 2-3 years, so we reserved for a special holiday lunch with a friend. Something has changed. No one greeted us at the door. Finally we caught a waiter’s eye and he said we could “sit anywhere”. The menu was only lunch specials consisting of things like souvlaki. We asked for the regular lunch menu; there was no regular menu. We each ordered soup and a main. The mains arrived first. We asked after our soup and were told it was coming right up. We suggested it should have come first and were told “it is a combo”. It was not. We requested the mains be taken away so we could enjoy the soup. Our request was quickly accommodated. We enjoyed the French onion soup with our wine for about 15 minutes. When the mains arrived next, they were cool on hot plates; cool souvlaki, cool soft French fries. It was apparent they’d been kept over while we had soup. We did not bother to complain about this. The staff offered free coffee and dessert given the soup/main timing mix up. Our overall impression is the staff are untrained. At least they tried to make up for it, however we will not be returning to Trio any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2015

I was unhappy with the overall experience at this restaurant. I decided to try out their Summerlicious menu as their descriptions sounded appetizing however their portion sizes for all 3 courses were extremely small and not very filling. The appetizers were bite sized and were easily finished within minutes, although they did have good flavour (pulled pork with mac and cheese fritter and an arugula salad with watermelon and feta (2 pieces each)). The quality of the food was very poor, especially for the mains. My boyfriend had trout with what appeared and tasted like canned soup with added beans underneath. I had the sirloin and asked for it medium rare, it came medium well and was very small and tough. Cutting through it made the entire table shake. The sides of mashed potatoes and portobello mushroom were good. The cheesecake for dessert tasted as though it was store bought and was very grainy. The hazelnut mousse was the only highlight of the meal and was very good.

The restaurant decor is very nice and modern, the service was good, but overall I was not happy with the food quality and the amount of food given. I would not go back or recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2015

The staff overheard us saying that it was my father's birthday (he turned 87) and, on their own initiative, brought out a beautifully decorated dessert complete with candle and "Happy Birthday" written on the plate in chocolate. The food and service had been very good but this just showed us that the staff actually pay attention to their guests and we really appreciated that.

We've been telling lots of people how much we enjoyed our meal at Trio.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 19, 2015

Server was helpful & friendly. Food was delicious. The surroundings pleasant. Would come again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 11, 2015

Been to Trio several times- food quality has deteriorated-food looks good- presentation was excellent but the taste was questionable-in short-I did not feel I got value for my money-perhaps they should get back their previous chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 3, 2015

I went Trio for summerlicious. Food was delicious and valuable to have with $25.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2015

we cancelled by phone on the same evening. we intended to go to Trio on Yonge Street in North York. we did not realize there are 2 Trio restaurants in the same vicinity until we arrived at the one we had had chosen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2015

A co-worker told me about an "all you can eat breakfast buffet" downstairs from my office and I had to try it! For $15.95 (plus tax & tip on top of that) you can pile your plate with delicious bacon, scrambled eggs, hash potatoes, oatmeal, toast, muffins, yogurt, cold cereal, fruit, fruit cup, bagels, croissants, and unlimited juice, coffee and tea! I'm sure there were other things on the table, but you get the gist of what was available! The last time I went, they had eggs benedict, but on June 4, they did not (pity). An absolute great value! I went up 4 times and stuffed myself crazy and I didn't have to eat until the next day! Good food, good price, the servers don't frown at you when you get more and more (and more!) food. I'm going again (when I'm off my diet ...)!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2015

We went for winterlicious and all the menu options we tried were delicious! We also enjoyed the special winterlicious wine pairings they had on the menu. The service we received was spectacular! Overall a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2015

We've been 3 times in total to Trio for Winterlicious lunch. The first time, the Winterlicious menu was not as advertised. They changed it. Perhaps certain things were not available. But it was a bit disappointing. The soup arrived cold and it was NOT vichyssoise. We had to send it back to warm it up. Aside from that it was pretty good. So we gave it another chance the following year for Winterlicious/Summerlicious and were pleased with everything, so we went back again this year - Winterlicious 2015. Food was wonderful. Presentation was nice. Compliments to the chef(s). Service was fast and friendly. Always a nice place to sit and chat with a friend or two over a good meal. Central location, close to the subway, greenp parking close by.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2015

Our table of 2 quite enjoyed our appetizers with the fritters being a favourite. We both ordered the Basa, which was cooked very nicely although the sauce overpowered the fish a little. The rice was a little too buttery. The chia pudding dessert was good but the chocolate cake was very dry and nothing special.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2015

Liked that the underground parking ticket was validated by the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2015

I went on a Tuesday evening. It was not busy at all. The waiter was attentive and friendly. And the food was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.