About Trio Restaurant and Bar – Novotel Toronto North York

3 Park Home Ave
North York, ON M2N 6L3
View Larger Map

Welcome to Trio at Novotel. Lose yourself in a sophisticated environment of lounge style music, sleek modern furnishings and urban style decor. Trio at Novotel is about much more than just taste, it’s about experience. Chef Tony awaits an opportunity for you to relax and enjoy great food, with select international wines artfully combined to delight the palate.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, International, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily: 6:00am - 10:00pm;
Bar: 11:30am - 12:00am;

Cross Street:
Empress Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 218-3868

Parking Details:
Parking is located beside the Trio-Novotel Toronto North York Hotel entrance. It is an undergound parking for $5 fee at breakfast & lunch time. Parking is free from 5pm for dinner dining. Please make sure to bring your parking ticket with you so we can validate at Trio.

Public Transit:
TTC subway stop is North York Center. Trio-Novotel Toronto North York entrance is located in North York Civic Center Mall.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Andrady

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Trio Restaurant and Bar – Novotel Toronto North York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

2.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.0

service

3.8

ambience

2.5

value

2.8

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
29 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

1st they didn't have my reservation. But ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

1st they didn't have my reservation. But restaurant not busy anyway, lots of seats available. So doesn't really matter if they find my reservation or not.

The menu is very different from the one online. Not much choice for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Great food for value

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

The service is great especially live music

The value is excellence

Food was great and so was the service.

The booking is smooth and flawless.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed the food ordering from the Win ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

I enjoyed the food ordering from the Winterlicious lunch menu; however, the female server I had was not at all attentive. She never came to refill my water, so I had to ask the server from the bar. She never came to ask how my meal tasted at any point throughout the three courses. Unacceptable! The ambiance was lovely and I would come back just for the food, but not for the service during the lunch period. The restaurant was only half full and not at all busy.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Good restaurant

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

Visit for 2016 Winterlisious, and we really like it...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing service, but mediocre food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

I found the service to be very quick since the restaurant was not busy at all - I went on a Friday evening. The portion sizes were rather small and I found that the food could have had more flavour. Overall, not a BAD restaurant, but could definitely improve on their food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Food generally is ok. Services is fairl ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Food generally is ok. Services is fairly acceptable nothing excited. Didn't even asking us what to drink before ordering just give us a special winterlicious menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Its all about the service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

Staff was great and the overall vibe was sophisticated yet casual. Staff was friendly and accommodating and service was extremely quick. Portions were slightly small, but otherwise it was a great dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Was it Winterlicious or just bad?

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

The food was not as good as it could have been. The courses were served cold and the food was stale. This may have been because of winterlicious however my guest and I reserved at an off peak time and the restaurant was not busy when we had reached there. The dinning experience was fun due to the company more so than the food. The décor of the restaurant was beautiful and the servers were well dressed, however not always attentive.

Was it Winterlicious or is the quality of the food always mediocre?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Excellent everything and free parking too.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We highly recommend this little gem, love going there. A little elegance in a casual way.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Went in for the Winterlicious menu with no expectations. Food was surprisingly good! Came out happy & satisfied! Will visit again!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dec25 food and service is not too good

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

They didn't know we had a openTable booking or something, and we had to wait 30 min to get our table. The food was turkey and salad and some dessert and a house wine for 100 bucks. A bit of a rip off even for Christmas night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Fantastic service and delicious food wit ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Fantastic service and delicious food with French flair!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very disappointed with food and service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 22, 2015

We have had several very nice meals at Trio over the past 2-3 years, so we reserved for a special holiday lunch with a friend. Something has changed. No one greeted us at the door. Finally we caught a waiter’s eye and he said we could “sit anywhere”. The menu was only lunch specials consisting of things like souvlaki. We asked for the regular lunch menu; there was no regular menu. We each ordered soup and a main. The mains arrived first. We asked after our soup and were told it was coming right up. We suggested it should have come first and were told “it is a combo”. It was not. We requested the mains be taken away so we could enjoy the soup. Our request was quickly accommodated. We enjoyed the French onion soup with our wine for about 15 minutes. When the mains arrived next, they were cool on hot plates; cool souvlaki, cool soft French fries. It was apparent they’d been kept over while we had soup. We did not bother to complain about this. The staff offered free coffee and dessert given the soup/main timing mix up. Our overall impression is the staff are untrained. At least they tried to make up for it, however we will not be returning to Trio any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Unhappy Experience

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2015

I was unhappy with the overall experience at this restaurant. I decided to try out their Summerlicious menu as their descriptions sounded appetizing however their portion sizes for all 3 courses were extremely small and not very filling. The appetizers were bite sized and were easily finished within minutes, although they did have good flavour (pulled pork with mac and cheese fritter and an arugula salad with watermelon and feta (2 pieces each)). The quality of the food was very poor, especially for the mains. My boyfriend had trout with what appeared and tasted like canned soup with added beans underneath. I had the sirloin and asked for it medium rare, it came medium well and was very small and tough. Cutting through it made the entire table shake. The sides of mashed potatoes and portobello mushroom were good. The cheesecake for dessert tasted as though it was store bought and was very grainy. The hazelnut mousse was the only highlight of the meal and was very good.

The restaurant decor is very nice and modern, the service was good, but overall I was not happy with the food quality and the amount of food given. I would not go back or recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Above and Beyond

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2015

The staff overheard us saying that it was my father's birthday (he turned 87) and, on their own initiative, brought out a beautifully decorated dessert complete with candle and "Happy Birthday" written on the plate in chocolate. The food and service had been very good but this just showed us that the staff actually pay attention to their guests and we really appreciated that.

We've been telling lots of people how much we enjoyed our meal at Trio.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Server was helpful & friendly. Food was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2015

Server was helpful & friendly. Food was delicious. The surroundings pleasant. Would come again.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Average

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 11, 2015

Been to Trio several times- food quality has deteriorated-food looks good- presentation was excellent but the taste was questionable-in short-I did not feel I got value for my money-perhaps they should get back their previous chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

I went Trio for summerlicious. Food was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 3, 2015

I went Trio for summerlicious. Food was delicious and valuable to have with $25.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

2 Trio restaurants

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2015

we cancelled by phone on the same evening. we intended to go to Trio on Yonge Street in North York. we did not realize there are 2 Trio restaurants in the same vicinity until we arrived at the one we had had chosen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

All you can eat breakfast buffet!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2015

A co-worker told me about an "all you can eat breakfast buffet" downstairs from my office and I had to try it! For $15.95 (plus tax & tip on top of that) you can pile your plate with delicious bacon, scrambled eggs, hash potatoes, oatmeal, toast, muffins, yogurt, cold cereal, fruit, fruit cup, bagels, croissants, and unlimited juice, coffee and tea! I'm sure there were other things on the table, but you get the gist of what was available! The last time I went, they had eggs benedict, but on June 4, they did not (pity). An absolute great value! I went up 4 times and stuffed myself crazy and I didn't have to eat until the next day! Good food, good price, the servers don't frown at you when you get more and more (and more!) food. I'm going again (when I'm off my diet ...)!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious Winterlicious Menu

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 7, 2015

We went for winterlicious and all the menu options we tried were delicious! We also enjoyed the special winterlicious wine pairings they had on the menu. The service we received was spectacular! Overall a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Winterlicious Favourite

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 7, 2015

We've been 3 times in total to Trio for Winterlicious lunch. The first time, the Winterlicious menu was not as advertised. They changed it. Perhaps certain things were not available. But it was a bit disappointing. The soup arrived cold and it was NOT vichyssoise. We had to send it back to warm it up. Aside from that it was pretty good. So we gave it another chance the following year for Winterlicious/Summerlicious and were pleased with everything, so we went back again this year - Winterlicious 2015. Food was wonderful. Presentation was nice. Compliments to the chef(s). Service was fast and friendly. Always a nice place to sit and chat with a friend or two over a good meal. Central location, close to the subway, greenp parking close by.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food good for winterlicious pricing.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 4, 2015

Our table of 2 quite enjoyed our appetizers with the fritters being a favourite. We both ordered the Basa, which was cooked very nicely although the sauce overpowered the fish a little. The rice was a little too buttery. The chia pudding dessert was good but the chocolate cake was very dry and nothing special.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Liked that the underground parking ticke ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 1, 2015

Liked that the underground parking ticket was validated by the restaurant.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Decent

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 27, 2015

I went on a Tuesday evening. It was not busy at all. The waiter was attentive and friendly. And the food was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

something wrong with the server

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 25, 2014

Can't believe the server can serve dessert before appetizer and main dish. What's wrong with him.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Good if staying at the Novotel

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 14, 2014

We live in the neighborhood but stayed at the Novotel over Canadian Thanksgiving, so we had dinner at Trio. Their four-course Thanksgiving Turkey dinner was quite good. Our server was also very attentive. The atmosphere of the restaurant is nice but it never tends to be too busy so don't go there if you want to be at a busy restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not downtown

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2014

Great place to meet up with friends. Staff were kind and attentive. Food was delicious.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Did not meet expectations

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 5, 2014

Went to Trio for Summerlicious lunch and was expecting some great food. Was disappointed with the lack of service and inexperience of the servers, as well as the food which was mediocre at best. The place wasn't the cleanest either with crumbs on the seat and a dead fly behind the booth! Hopefully your experience with Trio won't be like mine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.