About Trio Restaurant - Charlotte

Trio provides a blend of traditional and contemporary foods. Salads, sandwiches, pizzas, steak, seafood and pasta all house made and served in a cozy and unique dining environment. You may choose to dine in a lively bar area, in cozy booths with views of the landscaped outdoors, in an open central area with linen-dressed tables and our warm wood-burning pizza oven, in a semi-private room, or "al fresco" on our patio. Our restaurant is a smoke-free establishment.

10709 McMullen Creek Parkway
Charlotte, NC 28226
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Sunday 10:00am - 2:30pm

Lunch:
Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday 2:30pm - 5:00pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Johnston Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 541-8000

Website:
http://www.trio-charlotte.com/

Executive Chef:
James Jamey Bailey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Trio Restaurant - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.0

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for Groups (14)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Family Style (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Business Meals (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Cozy (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fun (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Private Room (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Authentic (2)
Romantic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
320 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Ordered the calamari, it had pepper jelly and hot peppers and was delicious! Pizza was excellent as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vegan, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a terrible start to an otherwise fantastic experience. We were seated outside the patio and asked for the heat to be turned on. On the other side there was a party that didn't want the heat turned on and proceeded to throw a tantrum , slamming hands and glaring at us. I immediately went to management and requested a relocation. Management was compassionate and acted swiftly in relocating our large party. From then on the experience was fantastic. The food was delicious: definitely try the quiches and the collard greens with the shrimp & grits were seasoned well. I would definitely suggest a reservation via OpenTable or the phone for weekend brunch. Trio is a very popular place and rightly so.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food very ordinary, overly salted and just not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Enjoyed a great meal with special friends. Service was great and so was the food!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent food and service ...,I will definitely dine there again and recommend to friends and coworkers.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My husband and I ate at Trio about 8 years ago and the atmosphere was the same. Not really noisy but still okay so that you could laugh and talk with your family. The appetizer selection is great. The food amazing the Mediterranean dishes are perfectly seasoned and portioned. We will definitely returning!

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a group of 10 and we sat on the patio. It was great! We could actually hear each other and carry on a conversation. The waitstaff was very efficient and no one rushed us to finish, so we had plenty of time to visit with old friends. The almond basket dessert is wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Had a wonderful catch up with friends. Everyone loved their meal and service was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Always a good meal here at a reasonable price. Come here often.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food is very good. It's not cutting edge cuisine, but the menu has something for everyone and the wine list is pretty long and reasonably priced. The service was outstanding, not hurried, not constant interruption asking if everything was okay. If you want a good meal at a decent price, this is an excellent choice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Enjoyable weeknight dinner - especially the bread pudding!

Tags: Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The service is always terrific at Trio. Many of the wait staff have been with the restaurant for years. They are eager to please and to modify orders upon request. The food is very tasty, not super high end gourmet, just reliable, flavor-filled dishes. Always a treat!

Tags: Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Trio was a little over-priced if you're looking for portion size. If you're looking for quality- it was nothing short of fantastic. Our waitress was not only knowledgeable, but also very attentive. It was a great experience that will definitely have us back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 10, 2017

since we came to Charlotte in 1999 ...excellent meals. Everyone was so satisfied. will be back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Party of 4 on BYOB night (Tuesday) - I had the Spinach Salad (always great) and the Seafood Farro (Risotto w.Scallops) which was excellent. One friend reaved about the MULLIGATAWNY SOUP and Meatloaf. To top it off our sever was right on top of everything

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2017

A night out with family......Trio always delivers! Great food, service and ambience!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Love Trios! Food is delicious, staff is friendly, welcoming, gracious and accommodating. Real food which is fresh and clean. Very reasonably priced.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Authentic, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Trio is my go to for Sunday Brunch. Family visiting from out of town wanted a family environment to visit. Email ahead was easy. Table was ready and there was plenty of wait staff.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Family Style, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food is always great, booths are private and comfortable and is a go to spot for great value for a great variety at reasonable prices!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This is always a great local place. It's nice to see that the servers stay for a long time. That is a sign of great management. Oh by the way, the manager is such a great people guy. He always smile and makes his way around to the table to acknowledge you. He was truly meant to do that job.o can't complain. It was a nice experience and overall it was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I celebrated Valentine's Day at Trio's and everything was exceptionally well done--ambiance, food, service and attention to detail. As usual, the prices for such a quality meal were much less than we would expect to pay anywhere else. Our waiter was courteous and prompt. We were pleasantly impressed with Trio's.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Casual, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Walked in got table was ready for us, wait staff was excellent, food was delicious. Conversations were heard (2 of 6) wear hearing aids. Trios' is a go to favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We went to celebrate Valentine's Day early and weren't disappointed. As usual, great food and wonderful dessert. Consistently good dining here every time!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Reserved a table for 10 and we dined in a separate room with no atmosphere at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My family and I went to Trio just for Saturday dinner. We had a good time and enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything was great and we had been here many times before! A+

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We visited Trio for Queen's Feast 2017. The food was wonderful and our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and the food they served. Definitely worth going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a reservation and was seated within minutes. Our waitress came for drink orders right away. The atmosphere was calm and a reasonable level of noise. There were well behaved children sitting across from us. The waitress took our orders and left. The salads did not come for 20 minutes. I had just made a comment about this when she came with the salads. The salad was very good. Our entrees came about 15 minutes later. My husband had a Seaford platter with orzo. The shrimp and scallops were excellent. My food was the problem. I ordered Lobster ravioli. The pasta was under cooked and lobster was old and chewy. The sauce was the big problem, it was thin and dripped on my clothes. Large pieces of spinach under the pasta had become slimy. The only redeeming part about my dish was the 4 well cooked shrimp; I did not see shrimp included. I had a bland piece of garlic bread with meal. Now, the desert I ordered was amazing. I had the *Carmel nut brownie with house made ice cream. The reason I did not send my entree back was that the waitress did not come back for 20 minutes. I think the waitress did a reasonable job considering that they were extremely busy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Family Style, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always a great place. We go for their awesome dessert menu. I do wish they had more vegan and gluten free options on the menu though.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I love going to Trio's. Food is always excellent and service is great. I really want the Killer dressing recipe...it's the best dressing ever!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Trio is more people friendly and good food than it is upscale. There are numerous options for budget conscious folks. Portions are generous and service is casual, yet informed. The restaurant is 25 years old, so more comfortable than fancy. Broad range of people and attire.
This was our third visit to a Queen's Feast Restaurant and our best overall experience.

Tags: Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great food, reasonable prices, extensive menu with lots of options, management attention to our reservation, Server was attentive at first but got covered up on other tables so it took a while to get our order in.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Our visit during the Charlotte Queen's Feast was excellent. The food was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Groups, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

David, our server was wonderful. Thanks for a great evening.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2017

One of my favorite Charlotte restaurants. The food is always excellent as is the service
I particularly like their range offs specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The restaurant was very crowded. We were most fortunate that we had used open table. We were seated promptly at reservation time. Staff is courteous and competent. The food was delicious, the wine suggestion perfect, and the price very reasonable. Our waitress was excellent. Lovely evening !

Tags: Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 13, 2017

A great experience starting with the warm greeting! The full varied menu had lots of good choices from which we picked pizza(kids said great), lobster ravioli(with lots of shrimp excellent), spicy shrimp & grits(excellent) & lasagna(tasty)! Our service was very attentive with lots of smiles! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 9, 2017

There were six ladies. We got the round table that was requested. We lingered over our dinners and desserts. We sat there for a total of three hours visiting. We were never made to feel like it was time for us to move on. We get together monthly and all felt this was our most enjoyable dinner out.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.