About Trio Restaurant - Charlotte

10709 McMullen Creek Parkway
Charlotte, NC 28226
View Larger Map

Trio provides a blend of traditional and contemporary foods. Salads, sandwiches, pizzas, steak, seafood and pasta all house made and served in a cozy and unique dining environment. You may choose to dine in a lively bar area, in cozy booths with views of the landscaped outdoors, in an open central area with linen-dressed tables and our warm wood-burning pizza oven, in a semi-private room, or "al fresco" on our patio. Our restaurant is a smoke-free establishment.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Sunday 10:00am - 2:30pm

Lunch:
Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday 2:30pm - 5:00pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Johnston Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 541-8000

Website:
http://www.trio-charlotte.com/

Executive Chef:
James Jamey Bailey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Almond Basket & Fresh Berries  - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte
  • Wood Smoked Chicken Penne - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte
  • Baked alaska - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte
  • Chicken and Waffles - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte
  • Wood fired Pesto Bread  - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte
Almond Basket & Fresh Berries  - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte
Wood Smoked Chicken Penne - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte
Baked alaska - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte
Chicken and Waffles - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte
Wood fired Pesto Bread  - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte

Trio Restaurant - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

3.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Charlotte
Great for Lunch
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Charlotte ›

Great for Lunch (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Great for Brunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Hot Spot (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Romantic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had an excellent experience at Trio o ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had an excellent experience at Trio on Saturday. Loved the ambience, and service was prompt and friendly. As a person with a gluten allergy, I loved that the GF options were marked and there was a wide variety. We will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Three of us dined here for a birthday oc ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Three of us dined here for a birthday occasion on Labor Day. The restaurant did not expect a large crowd on a holiday, so they had a reduced staff. More diners showed up than anticipated, so the wait to get service was longer than expected. Our waitress was good natured, but had to attend to more tables than usual. I ordered smoked chicken penne in a white cream sauce which was tasty with an unexpected plus: the plate was hot! We sat in a booth next to a window, which was to the side of the main dining room, so it was a little quieter. Conversation was easy to hear. The crème brulee was a disappointment: the custard was a little too firm and the glazing on top was skimpy; however, the presentation was lovely. Happy birthday was written on the plate lightly in chocolate, a few strawberries were on the side, and two dollops of various desert sauces were splashed on the plate. I've dined here before, and would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Always great food and equally great serv ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Always great food and equally great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very noisy

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

I chose Trio's for my Red Hat group's di ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I chose Trio's for my Red Hat group's dinner as I know from experience that service is always exceptional and the food choice is outstanding. This visit was no exception. In the past I've had lunch and dinner with small groups and large (as many as 40) and I've never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Went here restaurant week. The service ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Went here restaurant week. The service was great. The filet was a little tough but everything else was awsome. Service was awsome. Will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Was here from Atlanta and decided to try ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Was here from Atlanta and decided to try this place since restaurant week was available. For the price I thought his place would have been a bit more swanky... & the food was okay. The server was pretty cool though. Wouldn't put this on the list of good eats when I return to Charlotte in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We really like this place it's got nice ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We really like this place it's got nice atmosphere and great service. There are monthly specials and the food is always fresh and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Trios has always been an all time favori ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Trios has always been an all time favorite and never disappoints .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic. Been going here for 20 years, ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Fantastic. Been going here for 20 years, and it's still awesome. The manager is really great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistent. Several of our guest ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Always consistent. Several of our guests had never been there before and enjoyed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We moved to Atlanta twenty years ago aft ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We moved to Atlanta twenty years ago after living in Charlotte for five years. When we lived here Trio's was one of our favorite restaurants. This was our first time back since we moved. The restaurant is still clean and well managed . The food is well prepared and presented. The service was excellent. The bar is well stocked and the drinks were well prepared. The wine list gave us a good selection. I hope they continue to succeed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Celebrated sons graduation with the fami ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Celebrated sons graduation with the family. Trio has always been an exceptional place for brunch and dinner was just as great.

Perfect gem not only for brunch but for all occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first and last trip to Trio. Our e ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our first and last trip to Trio. Our expectations did not match the reality of this place. it is a mall restaurant which is long in the tooth. It is a little run down, not terribly clean, and has a very average menu. Fine dining it is not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

My husband and I chose to have dinner at ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My husband and I chose to have dinner at Trio's on our anniversary. Trio's is where we first met, so it holds great memories for us. As always, the food and service were fabulous! Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

love Trio

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food, service was excellent.

Perfect place to catch up with family and friends. Excellent ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was dated and needs remodelin ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Restaurant was dated and needs remodeling. Chips tasted stale but our server was nice enough to bring fresh ones when we requested them. Salad with house dressing was okay but not great. I drove from Huntersville to eat there and I was disappointed. I will likely not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Great meal on Mother's Day!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It has been several years since I dined at Trio's, but, after the wonderful brunch on Mother's Day, I'm going to make sure to go back soon. I made reservations early since we needed a table close to the door for my mother 's walker. The table just inside the door was perfect! I had forgotten the muffins and banana bread to begin our meal. The grilled salmon was delicious as were the tasty grits and asparagus. The meatloaf and mashed potatoes were very filling, and the creamed spinach great! The almond basket is large enough for 2 people to share so make sure you save room for one. Even though the restaurant was extremely crowded, the service was run like clockwork . Thanks SO much!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a delightful experience.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

As always a delightful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good food, but service not very warm and friendly

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We enjoyed the meal - my husband had a balsamic chicken salad and I had the salmon special. Reasonably priced. Service was efficient - but not warm and friendly. Server did not interact with us in a "hello, how are you tonight?" kind of way. No "feel good" kind of interaction at all. Very cursory. No matter how good the food is, some level of connection with the server is important - and we didn't get that on this particular Friday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Always a great spot for the family. It ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Always a great spot for the family. It would be nice if they would change up the menu from time to time but overall great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Dated, felt like I was back in 1994. Foo ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Dated, felt like I was back in 1994. Food was fine. Steak was rare when medium was requested

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Great for a groups!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We've gone to this wonderful restaurant three different times. One time with a group of eight people, the other two smaller groups. Service is always wonderful, food is great, and overall just a good restaurant to eat at.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had the Valentine's Day special

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Went for Valentines Day and ordered the filet. Was cooked perfectly medium rare. Food was very good. The restaurant was busy, but I think service could have been a bit faster. Have been a few times for lunch and the food is consistently good. Is in an easy to get to location also.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good thing I have eaten here many times

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

Food was very good. I eat here a lot but the service for the first time was non existent. We came at 6 and it was not busy....everyone probably still in post Superbowl let down. Waited 35 minutes for entrees and the server never came back until she gave us the bill.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Good Food and great service.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

Our server was Matt and he only exhibited a genuine desire to help make our evening an enjoyable one.

Appetizers, entrees and especially dessert were excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent as was the servic ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The food was excellent as was the service. I'm never disappointed art Trio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Trio - South Charlotte NC

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Trio remains the "go to " restaurant for my family whether for a special occasion,weekend brunch or weekday dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was early evening dinner. We were sea ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

It was early evening dinner. We were seated right away. The seating was nice. The food was good just not as hot as expected. Our waitress took a while to check in on us. I was not sure if she was responsible for multiple sections or tables. Overall it was a good experience. I will go back to try the Baked Alaska dessert since I did not this last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Good delicious as always. Only flaw was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Good delicious as always. Only flaw was the trout my wife had was not salted and peppered before crust was applied. Was a bit bland. Father loved his gun martini. Perfect to his taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always great food and service, try the a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Always great food and service, try the almond basket....best dessert ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Handicapped friendly

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

Trips accommodates the elderly on walkers very well and with great patience

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can always count on them to provide good food

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

We have visited there many times and always enjoy the food and ambience. This past visit was less than perfect though. As we sat down we realized that the bulb over our table would light up and then go off...constantly for the entire hour. The hosts should have removed the bulb altogether...maybe next time. But the ribeye was extremely tough, yet they replaced it after telling me the filet was much better and they gave it at the same price. Also threw is a dessert...an almond basket which is superb! Been getting it fro years and always the same. Will continue to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Trio review

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

I had the teriyaki salmon with stir fried vegetables which was the special Sat. night. It was excellent. Would like to see that added to the daily menu. Also would like to see the shrimp and Tasso fettuccine back on the menu. Sergio was our server and he did an excellent job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our daughter's birth ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

We were celebrating our daughter's birthday and she even got a free dessert! No one does that any more. So we really appreciate that it was special for her

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Just ok....

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

The caesar salad was bland. I ordered the Mediterranean seafood dish and the scallops and shrimp were under cooked. My husband ordered the guilt free turkey burger. He was more satisfied with his dish. My waitress, who I also think was the bartender (slow night), was helfpul and my martini was tasty! She sent my scallops back to be cooked more. Her shift leader/manager came to my table and apologized for the chef's error and offered a free dessert for my trouble. Sounds good, right? Except, I should have received a free dessert any way because my total bill (before taxes) was over $30, which was advertised on their menu. Her intentional obfuscation left a bad taste in my mouth.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Yummy

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on October 22, 2015

Food so amazing. Great portions. Love coming here. My bosses were impressed. I suggested Trio for dinner and told them how great food is. They said they woukd go back with their wives.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All ways enjoy

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

I have visited several times and usually with clients for lunch but took a group recently for dinner and once again enjoyed our experience. We like that there is a great variety of food for very reasonable prices along with service is top notch. Just overall a wonderful experience on each visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Dependable. Comfortable. Yummy!

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

My husband and I split a salad and a pizza apiece. Pepperoni and mediterranean. One beer. Glass of wine. More than $30 so got free dessert. Chocolate pie. Delightful! Attentive service. Good, low-key food. Great way to end a quiet weekend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.