About Trio Restaurant - Charlotte

10709 McMullen Creek Parkway
Charlotte, NC 28226
View Larger Map

Trio provides a blend of traditional and contemporary foods. Salads, sandwiches, pizzas, steak, seafood and pasta all house made and served in a cozy and unique dining environment. You may choose to dine in a lively bar area, in cozy booths with views of the landscaped outdoors, in an open central area with linen-dressed tables and our warm wood-burning pizza oven, in a semi-private room, or "al fresco" on our patio. Our restaurant is a smoke-free establishment.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Sunday 10:00am - 2:30pm

Lunch:
Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday 2:30pm - 5:00pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Johnston Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 541-8000

Website:
http://www.trio-charlotte.com/

Executive Chef:
James Jamey Bailey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Almond Basket & Fresh Berries  - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
  • Wood Smoked Chicken Penne - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
  • Baked alaska - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
  • Chicken and Waffles - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
  • Wood fired Pesto Bread  - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Almond Basket & Fresh Berries  - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Wood Smoked Chicken Penne - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Baked alaska - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Chicken and Waffles - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Wood fired Pesto Bread  - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC

Trio Restaurant - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
See All
Creative Cuisine (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Family Style (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Authentic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Cozy (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
260 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love trying new places and food. We ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

We love trying new places and food. We were pleased with our choices and out taste buds, but increasing the quantity of food would be a plus.

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Trios is the best. We have been going ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Trios is the best. We have been going there for many years and are never disappointed. The food is always fresh,the presentation is wonderful and the staff always courteous. We will always return for years to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always Trio is the place to eat for r ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 22, 2016

As always Trio is the place to eat for really good food and value.

Unfortunately, the selection of beers needs improvement but overall this place is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Enjoyed your food and service for many y ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Enjoyed your food and service for many years! Another good evening!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a table of 11... Great food, grea ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a table of 11... Great food, great variety. To please 11 people is hard.. They did a great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

TRIO has become a great Value-For-Money ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

TRIO has become a great Value-For-Money location rather than a fine-dining spot, however everything is great tasting, portion sizes are reasonable which keeps the prices reasonable. It's a good and easy solution

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

Our waiter Matt was the best server I've ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Our waiter Matt was the best server I've had since moving to Charlotte. Food was also spot on this time, delicious. We used to go here all the time but took along break from Trio's after an mediocre experience and a terrible waitress, happy to say it is back again on our regular list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Comfortable atmosphere, good food, frie ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Comfortable atmosphere, good food, friendly staff, good pricing.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for a birthday! They brought ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great place for a birthday! They brought out a dessert to celebrate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our meal immensely on a Frida ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We enjoyed our meal immensely on a Friday night. Made reservations and was seated promptly. Every dish was delicious and cooked to perfection. Crab cakes, filet mignon, au gratin potatoes, and desert of baked Alaska just fantastic! Great place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very ordinary meal and not likely to r ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 14, 2016

A very ordinary meal and not likely to repeat anytime soon. Nothing was wrong, just a bland meal and there are many better options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great jambalaya

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Great jambalaya

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Trio was very accommodating to a party o ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Trio was very accommodating to a party of 10 plus an infant. The food was great. The noise was just perfect enough so that our kids weren't interrupting anyone. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For our party of eight, we got the perfe ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 7, 2016

For our party of eight, we got the perfect spot in the back room area. Our wait staff was great. We always enjoy the food selection but for me it is all about the dessert. Be sure and save room for the Almond Basket!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The brunch was delicious. The service wa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The brunch was delicious. The service was a 7 out of 10. The flies were kinda yucky, flying around :(

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It's hit or miss here-- our server was s ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It's hit or miss here-- our server was slack-- the food was good. We like the location and if the service is good that day-- your experience is better. It does take too long to get the food out.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

We had an excellent experience at Trio o ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had an excellent experience at Trio on Saturday. Loved the ambience, and service was prompt and friendly. As a person with a gluten allergy, I loved that the GF options were marked and there was a wide variety. We will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Three of us dined here for a birthday oc ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Three of us dined here for a birthday occasion on Labor Day. The restaurant did not expect a large crowd on a holiday, so they had a reduced staff. More diners showed up than anticipated, so the wait to get service was longer than expected. Our waitress was good natured, but had to attend to more tables than usual. I ordered smoked chicken penne in a white cream sauce which was tasty with an unexpected plus: the plate was hot! We sat in a booth next to a window, which was to the side of the main dining room, so it was a little quieter. Conversation was easy to hear. The crème brulee was a disappointment: the custard was a little too firm and the glazing on top was skimpy; however, the presentation was lovely. Happy birthday was written on the plate lightly in chocolate, a few strawberries were on the side, and two dollops of various desert sauces were splashed on the plate. I've dined here before, and would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Really stuck In the 80s. Needs a decor m ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Really stuck In the 80s. Needs a decor make over badly. Food was good. Homemade dressings very good. Chef has good ideas and could excel at the right restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Always great food and equally great serv ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Always great food and equally great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very noisy

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

I chose Trio's for my Red Hat group's di ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 4, 2016

I chose Trio's for my Red Hat group's dinner as I know from experience that service is always exceptional and the food choice is outstanding. This visit was no exception. In the past I've had lunch and dinner with small groups and large (as many as 40) and I've never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Went here restaurant week. The service ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Went here restaurant week. The service was great. The filet was a little tough but everything else was awsome. Service was awsome. Will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Was here from Atlanta and decided to try ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Was here from Atlanta and decided to try this place since restaurant week was available. For the price I thought his place would have been a bit more swanky... & the food was okay. The server was pretty cool though. Wouldn't put this on the list of good eats when I return to Charlotte in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We really like this place it's got nice ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 25, 2016

We really like this place it's got nice atmosphere and great service. There are monthly specials and the food is always fresh and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Trios has always been an all time favori ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Trios has always been an all time favorite and never disappoints .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic. Been going here for 20 years, ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Fantastic. Been going here for 20 years, and it's still awesome. The manager is really great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistent. Several of our guest ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Always consistent. Several of our guests had never been there before and enjoyed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We moved to Atlanta twenty years ago aft ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We moved to Atlanta twenty years ago after living in Charlotte for five years. When we lived here Trio's was one of our favorite restaurants. This was our first time back since we moved. The restaurant is still clean and well managed . The food is well prepared and presented. The service was excellent. The bar is well stocked and the drinks were well prepared. The wine list gave us a good selection. I hope they continue to succeed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Celebrated sons graduation with the fami ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Celebrated sons graduation with the family. Trio has always been an exceptional place for brunch and dinner was just as great.

Perfect gem not only for brunch but for all occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first and last trip to Trio. Our e ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our first and last trip to Trio. Our expectations did not match the reality of this place. it is a mall restaurant which is long in the tooth. It is a little run down, not terribly clean, and has a very average menu. Fine dining it is not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

My husband and I chose to have dinner at ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 29, 2016

My husband and I chose to have dinner at Trio's on our anniversary. Trio's is where we first met, so it holds great memories for us. As always, the food and service were fabulous! Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

love Trio

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food, service was excellent.

Perfect place to catch up with family and friends. Excellent ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was dated and needs remodelin ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Restaurant was dated and needs remodeling. Chips tasted stale but our server was nice enough to bring fresh ones when we requested them. Salad with house dressing was okay but not great. I drove from Huntersville to eat there and I was disappointed. I will likely not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Great meal on Mother's Day!

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 8, 2016

It has been several years since I dined at Trio's, but, after the wonderful brunch on Mother's Day, I'm going to make sure to go back soon. I made reservations early since we needed a table close to the door for my mother 's walker. The table just inside the door was perfect! I had forgotten the muffins and banana bread to begin our meal. The grilled salmon was delicious as were the tasty grits and asparagus. The meatloaf and mashed potatoes were very filling, and the creamed spinach great! The almond basket is large enough for 2 people to share so make sure you save room for one. Even though the restaurant was extremely crowded, the service was run like clockwork . Thanks SO much!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a delightful experience.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2016

As always a delightful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good food, but service not very warm and friendly

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2016

We enjoyed the meal - my husband had a balsamic chicken salad and I had the salmon special. Reasonably priced. Service was efficient - but not warm and friendly. Server did not interact with us in a "hello, how are you tonight?" kind of way. No "feel good" kind of interaction at all. Very cursory. No matter how good the food is, some level of connection with the server is important - and we didn't get that on this particular Friday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Always a great spot for the family. It ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 3, 2016

Always a great spot for the family. It would be nice if they would change up the menu from time to time but overall great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Dated, felt like I was back in 1994. Foo ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Dated, felt like I was back in 1994. Food was fine. Steak was rare when medium was requested

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.