About Trio Restaurant - Charlotte

10709 McMullen Creek Parkway
Charlotte, NC 28226
View Larger Map

Trio provides a blend of traditional and contemporary foods. Salads, sandwiches, pizzas, steak, seafood and pasta all house made and served in a cozy and unique dining environment. You may choose to dine in a lively bar area, in cozy booths with views of the landscaped outdoors, in an open central area with linen-dressed tables and our warm wood-burning pizza oven, in a semi-private room, or "al fresco" on our patio. Our restaurant is a smoke-free establishment.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Sunday 10:00am - 2:30pm

Lunch:
Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday 2:30pm - 5:00pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Johnston Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 541-8000

Website:
http://www.trio-charlotte.com/

Executive Chef:
James Jamey Bailey

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Almond Basket & Fresh Berries
  • Wood Smoked Chicken Penne
  • Baked alaska
  • Chicken and Waffles
  • Wood fired Pesto Bread
Almond Basket & Fresh Berries
Wood Smoked Chicken Penne
Baked alaska
Chicken and Waffles
Wood fired Pesto Bread

Trio Restaurant - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Charlotte
Great for Lunch
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Charlotte ›

neighborhood gem (15)
good for groups (12)
great for lunch (12)
See All
great for brunch (11)
fit for foodies (6)
special occasion (6)
kid-friendly (4)
romantic (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
hot spot (1)
notable wine list (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We moved to Atlanta twenty years ago aft ...

Dined 5 days ago

We moved to Atlanta twenty years ago after living in Charlotte for five years. When we lived here Trio's was one of our favorite restaurants. This was our first time back since we moved. The restaurant is still clean and well managed . The food is well prepared and presented. The service was excellent. The bar is well stocked and the drinks were well prepared. The wine list gave us a good selection. I hope they continue to succeed.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Our first and last trip to Trio. Our e ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Our first and last trip to Trio. Our expectations did not match the reality of this place. it is a mall restaurant which is long in the tooth. It is a little run down, not terribly clean, and has a very average menu. Fine dining it is not.

food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I chose to have dinner at ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

My husband and I chose to have dinner at Trio's on our anniversary. Trio's is where we first met, so it holds great memories for us. As always, the food and service were fabulous! Thanks for a wonderful experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love Trio

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food, service was excellent. Perfect place to catch up with family and friends. Excellent ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Restaurant was dated and needs remodelin ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Restaurant was dated and needs remodeling. Chips tasted stale but our server was nice enough to bring fresh ones when we requested them. Salad with house dressing was okay but not great. I drove from Huntersville to eat there and I was disappointed. I will likely not be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal on Mother's Day!

Dined on May 8, 2016

It has been several years since I dined at Trio's, but, after the wonderful brunch on Mother's Day, I'm going to make sure to go back soon. I made reservations early since we needed a table close to the door for my mother 's walker. The table just inside the door was perfect! I had forgotten the muffins and banana bread to begin our meal. The grilled salmon was delicious as were the tasty grits and asparagus. The meatloaf and mashed potatoes were very filling, and the creamed spinach great! The almond basket is large enough for 2 people to share so make sure you save room for one. Even though the restaurant was extremely crowded, the service was run like clockwork . Thanks SO much!!!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

As always a delightful experience.

Dined on May 6, 2016

As always a delightful experience.

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good food, but service not very warm and friendly

Dined on May 6, 2016

We enjoyed the meal - my husband had a balsamic chicken salad and I had the salmon special. Reasonably priced. Service was efficient - but not warm and friendly. Server did not interact with us in a "hello, how are you tonight?" kind of way. No "feel good" kind of interaction at all. Very cursory. No matter how good the food is, some level of connection with the server is important - and we didn't get that on this particular Friday evening.

food5
ambience4
service4

Always a great spot for the family. It ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Always a great spot for the family. It would be nice if they would change up the menu from time to time but overall great food and service!

food3
ambience1
service2

Dated, felt like I was back in 1994. Foo ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Dated, felt like I was back in 1994. Food was fine. Steak was rare when medium was requested

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for a groups!

Dined on February 28, 2016

We've gone to this wonderful restaurant three different times. One time with a group of eight people, the other two smaller groups. Service is always wonderful, food is great, and overall just a good restaurant to eat at.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Had the Valentine's Day special

Dined on February 13, 2016

Went for Valentines Day and ordered the filet. Was cooked perfectly medium rare. Food was very good. The restaurant was busy, but I think service could have been a bit faster. Have been a few times for lunch and the food is consistently good. Is in an easy to get to location also.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Good thing I have eaten here many times

Dined on February 9, 2016

Food was very good. I eat here a lot but the service for the first time was non existent. We came at 6 and it was not busy....everyone probably still in post Superbowl let down. Waited 35 minutes for entrees and the server never came back until she gave us the bill.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Food and great service.

Dined on February 1, 2016

Our server was Matt and he only exhibited a genuine desire to help make our evening an enjoyable one. Appetizers, entrees and especially dessert were excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent as was the servic ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

The food was excellent as was the service. I'm never disappointed art Trio!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trio - South Charlotte NC

Dined on January 9, 2016

Trio remains the "go to " restaurant for my family whether for a special occasion,weekend brunch or weekday dinner.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2

It was early evening dinner. We were sea ...

Dined on December 29, 2015

It was early evening dinner. We were seated right away. The seating was nice. The food was good just not as hot as expected. Our waitress took a while to check in on us. I was not sure if she was responsible for multiple sections or tables. Overall it was a good experience. I will go back to try the Baked Alaska dessert since I did not this last time.

food4
ambience4
service5

Good delicious as always. Only flaw was ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

Good delicious as always. Only flaw was the trout my wife had was not salted and peppered before crust was applied. Was a bit bland. Father loved his gun martini. Perfect to his taste.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food and service, try the a ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

Always great food and service, try the almond basket....best dessert ever!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Handicapped friendly

Dined on December 18, 2015

Trips accommodates the elderly on walkers very well and with great patience

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Can always count on them to provide good food

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

We have visited there many times and always enjoy the food and ambience. This past visit was less than perfect though. As we sat down we realized that the bulb over our table would light up and then go off...constantly for the entire hour. The hosts should have removed the bulb altogether...maybe next time. But the ribeye was extremely tough, yet they replaced it after telling me the filet was much better and they gave it at the same price. Also threw is a dessert...an almond basket which is superb! Been getting it fro years and always the same. Will continue to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Trio review

Dined on November 22, 2015

I had the teriyaki salmon with stir fried vegetables which was the special Sat. night. It was excellent. Would like to see that added to the daily menu. Also would like to see the shrimp and Tasso fettuccine back on the menu. Sergio was our server and he did an excellent job.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

We were celebrating our daughter's birth ...

Dined on November 15, 2015

We were celebrating our daughter's birthday and she even got a free dessert! No one does that any more. So we really appreciate that it was special for her

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food1
ambience3
service1

Just ok....

Dined on November 8, 2015

The caesar salad was bland. I ordered the Mediterranean seafood dish and the scallops and shrimp were under cooked. My husband ordered the guilt free turkey burger. He was more satisfied with his dish. My waitress, who I also think was the bartender (slow night), was helfpul and my martini was tasty! She sent my scallops back to be cooked more. Her shift leader/manager came to my table and apologized for the chef's error and offered a free dessert for my trouble. Sounds good, right? Except, I should have received a free dessert any way because my total bill (before taxes) was over $30, which was advertised on their menu. Her intentional obfuscation left a bad taste in my mouth.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Yummy

Dined on October 22, 2015

Food so amazing. Great portions. Love coming here. My bosses were impressed. I suggested Trio for dinner and told them how great food is. They said they woukd go back with their wives.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4

All ways enjoy

Dined on September 26, 2015

I have visited several times and usually with clients for lunch but took a group recently for dinner and once again enjoyed our experience. We like that there is a great variety of food for very reasonable prices along with service is top notch. Just overall a wonderful experience on each visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Dependable. Comfortable. Yummy!

Dined on September 13, 2015

My husband and I split a salad and a pizza apiece. Pepperoni and mediterranean. One beer. Glass of wine. More than $30 so got free dessert. Chocolate pie. Delightful! Attentive service. Good, low-key food. Great way to end a quiet weekend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

OK for kids

Dined on August 28, 2015

Trio has become a fairly regular Friday night dinner, but this night we brought grandchildren (1 and 3). The staff was open armed and placed us in an area where the kids would be happy, and the only noise was produced by us! And their sort of on-demand kids menu worked out perfectly. Not a morsel left on a plate - excellent experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A-1 Restaurant - Can't be Beat

vip
Dined on August 2, 2015

I cannot say enough good things about Trio. The food, the staff, the ambiance, even the other diners are tops! I am there usually twice a week, and everyone who works there is SO accommodating!! My home away from home. Thank you Gary, Greg, Jim, Alexis, Mary Ann, Dottie, and on and on! Brunch this past Sunday was out of this world !!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Restaurant Week

Dined on July 25, 2015

Best restaurant in Charlotte for Restaurant Week. Love the glass of wine included with the meal and the offering of filet & crab cake. Excellent food.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great

Dined on July 23, 2015

Everything was wonderful . The server was very attentive and the salmon on the specials menu was wonderful.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch

Dined on July 3, 2015

Had lunch at Trio's with a couple of friends. Great place with great food for us to enjoy time together

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Smitty

Dined on June 28, 2015

Very good the whole dining experience.food very tasty, waiter very prompt & knew the menu really well.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3

Nice Father's Day brunch

Dined on June 21, 2015

The food at Trio is always good. With such a variety it's hard to decide what to order. I wanted to try the shrimp & grits but was concerned it would be too spicy. Our waitress recommended that they could make it "lightly Cajun." This was helpful and I enjoyed a delightful meal! I only wish we would have had room for dessert!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Trio is one of Charlotte's best restaurants

Dined on June 12, 2015

You can always depend upon getting a wonderful meal at reasonable prices. Their salmon is one of their specialit ies and we order this often. We have booked this restaurant for special occasions and never been disappointed. Well managed, staffed and clean.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Good Dining Experience!

Dined on May 30, 2015

We enjoyed the food, service, ambience, and parking. First time visit for both couples. Waitress was very knowledgeable.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

Mother's Day Lunch

Dined on May 10, 2015

We had Mother's Day Lunch there this year and were able to get reservations for 9. Food was pretty good and we were glad we didn't have to wait. Service was a little slow but that is to be expected on Mother's Day. Restaurant is a little dated and could use a good remodel, but other than that it was an overall enjoyable experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Just Perfect

Dined on May 9, 2015

We made reservation and arrived on time. Our party of six was seated immediately. It was Mother's Day weekend as well as HS Proms and restaurant was full and busy. Our server's assigned tables were full but she never missed a beat. Our service was timely, the orders accurate, and follow-ups (refills, etc.) were also timely. Taste, temperature, and quantity of meals were perfect. Prices are reasonable. This was one check I was pleased to pay. Recommend highly.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful atmosphere. Always the best food!

Dined on April 19, 2015

A neighborhood spot for us. Always the best staff, good and fellowship.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience

vip
Dined on April 17, 2015

Took the family here for mom's birthday. From steak to seafood to a reuben, everyone loved their food. Everyone ordered dessert which is rare for us. Baked Alaska, almond basket, pound cake with strawberries and khalua sauce...it was fantastic. To top it all off the staff was very friendly, attentive and made an extra effort to make sure that mom was happy. Will definitely be back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.