About Trio Restaurant - Charlotte

10709 McMullen Creek Parkway
Charlotte, NC 28226
View Larger Map

Trio provides a blend of traditional and contemporary foods. Salads, sandwiches, pizzas, steak, seafood and pasta all house made and served in a cozy and unique dining environment. You may choose to dine in a lively bar area, in cozy booths with views of the landscaped outdoors, in an open central area with linen-dressed tables and our warm wood-burning pizza oven, in a semi-private room, or "al fresco" on our patio. Our restaurant is a smoke-free establishment.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Sunday 10:00am - 2:30pm

Lunch:
Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday 2:30pm - 5:00pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Johnston Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 541-8000

Website:
http://www.trio-charlotte.com/

Executive Chef:
James Jamey Bailey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Almond Basket & Fresh Berries  - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
  • Wood Smoked Chicken Penne - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
  • Baked alaska - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
  • Chicken and Waffles - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
  • Wood fired Pesto Bread  - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC

Report a photo problem

Almond Basket & Fresh Berries  - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Wood Smoked Chicken Penne - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Baked alaska - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Chicken and Waffles - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Wood fired Pesto Bread  - Trio Restaurant - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC

Trio Restaurant - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Groups (7)
See All
Great for Lunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (2)
Fun (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
283 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of my favorite Charlotte restaurants ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

One of my favorite Charlotte restaurants. The food is always excellent as is the service

I particularly like their range offs specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The restaurant was very crowded. We wer ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant was very crowded. We were most fortunate that we had used open table. We were seated promptly at reservation time. Staff is courteous and competent. The food was delicious, the wine suggestion perfect, and the price very reasonable. Our waitress was excellent. Lovely evening !

Tags: , Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great experience starting with the war ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

A great experience starting with the warm greeting! The full varied menu had lots of good choices from which we picked pizza(kids said great), lobster ravioli(with lots of shrimp excellent), spicy shrimp & grits(excellent) & lasagna(tasty)! Our service was very attentive with lots of smiles! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

There were six ladies. We got the round ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 9, 2017

There were six ladies. We got the round table that was requested. We lingered over our dinners and desserts. We sat there for a total of three hours visiting. We were never made to feel like it was time for us to move on. We get together monthly and all felt this was our most enjoyable dinner out.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trio has been one of our go-to restauran ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Trio has been one of our go-to restaurants over the years, having celebrated our 10th Wedding anniversary party there, offering really good meals at reasonable prices. Our recent private Christmas dinner was a disappointment relative to the standards of the past. From the beginning, the evening lacked something to be desired. We walked in greeted by a somewhat inept teenager in teenager clothes, to the position we were seated (last booth to the left of the bar), to the unfriendly, crabby older lady, to the unusual quality of our crab cakes and pasta penne dinners that are our traditional favorites, to leaving not giving our usual 20+% tip, we had to declare our Christmas dinner a significant disappointment. It will be a while before we try again. Too bad!.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Wife and I thoroughly enjoyed a night ou ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Wife and I thoroughly enjoyed a night out Christmas week for our wedding anniversary. Our waitress was excellent and timely despite how busy the restaurant was. Whether steak (me) or seafood (wife), the quality of the dishes was excellent. Our appetizers were delivered on time and piping hot. Our entrees were wonderful. Desserts are homemade and we shared ours. Lastly, you simply can't beat the price! We highly recommend Trio's and we'll be back!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Private Room, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, , Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food...attentive service...brick o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great food...attentive service...brick oven pizzas were terrific!! Would recommend and go again!!

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our dining experience to celebrate a fri ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Our dining experience to celebrate a friend's birthday was very good. Even though the restaurant was very busy, the manager and wait staff did an excellent job.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious & Mark our server ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was delicious & Mark our server was great!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't get a chance to eat at Trio as m ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I don't get a chance to eat at Trio as much as I would like, but each and every time I do

I'm very much pleased with the servers, service and mostly the good food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was delicious as usual - especially ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Food was delicious as usual - especially liked the drink special!

Tags: Wood Oven, Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love trying new places and food. We ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We love trying new places and food. We were pleased with our choices and out taste buds, but increasing the quantity of food would be a plus.

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Trios is the best. We have been going ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Trios is the best. We have been going there for many years and are never disappointed. The food is always fresh,the presentation is wonderful and the staff always courteous. We will always return for years to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always Trio is the place to eat for r ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 22, 2016

As always Trio is the place to eat for really good food and value.

Unfortunately, the selection of beers needs improvement but overall this place is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Enjoyed your food and service for many y ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Enjoyed your food and service for many years! Another good evening!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a table of 11... Great food, grea ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a table of 11... Great food, great variety. To please 11 people is hard.. They did a great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

TRIO has become a great Value-For-Money ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

TRIO has become a great Value-For-Money location rather than a fine-dining spot, however everything is great tasting, portion sizes are reasonable which keeps the prices reasonable. It's a good and easy solution

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

Our waiter Matt was the best server I've ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Our waiter Matt was the best server I've had since moving to Charlotte. Food was also spot on this time, delicious. We used to go here all the time but took along break from Trio's after an mediocre experience and a terrible waitress, happy to say it is back again on our regular list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Comfortable atmosphere, good food, frie ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Comfortable atmosphere, good food, friendly staff, good pricing.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for a birthday! They brought ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great place for a birthday! They brought out a dessert to celebrate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our meal immensely on a Frida ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We enjoyed our meal immensely on a Friday night. Made reservations and was seated promptly. Every dish was delicious and cooked to perfection. Crab cakes, filet mignon, au gratin potatoes, and desert of baked Alaska just fantastic! Great place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very ordinary meal and not likely to r ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 14, 2016

A very ordinary meal and not likely to repeat anytime soon. Nothing was wrong, just a bland meal and there are many better options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great jambalaya

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Great jambalaya

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Trio was very accommodating to a party o ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Trio was very accommodating to a party of 10 plus an infant. The food was great. The noise was just perfect enough so that our kids weren't interrupting anyone. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For our party of eight, we got the perfe ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 7, 2016

For our party of eight, we got the perfect spot in the back room area. Our wait staff was great. We always enjoy the food selection but for me it is all about the dessert. Be sure and save room for the Almond Basket!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The brunch was delicious. The service wa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The brunch was delicious. The service was a 7 out of 10. The flies were kinda yucky, flying around :(

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It's hit or miss here-- our server was s ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It's hit or miss here-- our server was slack-- the food was good. We like the location and if the service is good that day-- your experience is better. It does take too long to get the food out.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

We had an excellent experience at Trio o ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had an excellent experience at Trio on Saturday. Loved the ambience, and service was prompt and friendly. As a person with a gluten allergy, I loved that the GF options were marked and there was a wide variety. We will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Three of us dined here for a birthday oc ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Three of us dined here for a birthday occasion on Labor Day. The restaurant did not expect a large crowd on a holiday, so they had a reduced staff. More diners showed up than anticipated, so the wait to get service was longer than expected. Our waitress was good natured, but had to attend to more tables than usual. I ordered smoked chicken penne in a white cream sauce which was tasty with an unexpected plus: the plate was hot! We sat in a booth next to a window, which was to the side of the main dining room, so it was a little quieter. Conversation was easy to hear. The crème brulee was a disappointment: the custard was a little too firm and the glazing on top was skimpy; however, the presentation was lovely. Happy birthday was written on the plate lightly in chocolate, a few strawberries were on the side, and two dollops of various desert sauces were splashed on the plate. I've dined here before, and would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Really stuck In the 80s. Needs a decor m ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Really stuck In the 80s. Needs a decor make over badly. Food was good. Homemade dressings very good. Chef has good ideas and could excel at the right restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Always great food and equally great serv ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Always great food and equally great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very noisy

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

I chose Trio's for my Red Hat group's di ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 4, 2016

I chose Trio's for my Red Hat group's dinner as I know from experience that service is always exceptional and the food choice is outstanding. This visit was no exception. In the past I've had lunch and dinner with small groups and large (as many as 40) and I've never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Went here restaurant week. The service ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Went here restaurant week. The service was great. The filet was a little tough but everything else was awsome. Service was awsome. Will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Was here from Atlanta and decided to try ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Was here from Atlanta and decided to try this place since restaurant week was available. For the price I thought his place would have been a bit more swanky... & the food was okay. The server was pretty cool though. Wouldn't put this on the list of good eats when I return to Charlotte in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We really like this place it's got nice ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 25, 2016

We really like this place it's got nice atmosphere and great service. There are monthly specials and the food is always fresh and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Trios has always been an all time favori ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Trios has always been an all time favorite and never disappoints .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic. Been going here for 20 years, ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Fantastic. Been going here for 20 years, and it's still awesome. The manager is really great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistent. Several of our guest ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Always consistent. Several of our guests had never been there before and enjoyed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.