About Trio Restaurant - Charlotte

Trio provides a blend of traditional and contemporary foods. Salads, sandwiches, pizzas, steak, seafood and pasta all house made and served in a cozy and unique dining environment. You may choose to dine in a lively bar area, in cozy booths with views of the landscaped outdoors, in an open central area with linen-dressed tables and our warm wood-burning pizza oven, in a semi-private room, or "al fresco" on our patio. Our restaurant is a smoke-free establishment.

10709 McMullen Creek Parkway
Charlotte, NC 28226
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:
Sunday 10:00am - 2:30pm

Lunch:
Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday 2:30pm - 5:00pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Johnston Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 541-8000

Website:
http://www.trio-charlotte.com/

Executive Chef:
James Jamey Bailey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Trio Restaurant - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.0

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (13)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
See All
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Great Beer (1)
Authentic (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
329 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was the first time we had tried brunch at Trio. Total Success! Prices, Portions, and Service all just right. Coffee particularly well done - taste and temperature great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We visited Trio on Thursday, July 13th with another couple from our neighborhood. We have been to Trio on several previous occasions and have always enjoyed ourselves. Dinner for four, including 3 glasses of wine and 2 ice teas, came to $104. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. Having been a repeat customer at this restaurant, I can tell you I have never been disappointed with the food or service. This restaurant, conveniently located on Pineville-Matthews Road just about a mile east of I-485 is a neighborhood favorite. I'm sure you will enjoy the atmosphere and the reasonable prices. They have the best filet mignon in Charlotte!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The stuffed french toast was too sweet, but aside from that, everyone really enjoyed what they ordered.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We had a great lunch and we're able to talk to each other without yelling.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Always like going here. The food is consistently good and the almond basket dessert is amazing as well as beautiful

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Love the meatloaf and the jambala special when they have it is my favorite. The salmon on the Southwest Salmon Salad is always cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Fantastic experience as always here. Excellent selection of menu items and food of the highest quality can't be beat for the price.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We went on a busy Friday night but the service was still top notch. Food was served in a timely matter and as nicely presented. I had a shrimp, sausage and angel hair pasta dish that was excellent. Jusr the right temperature and it was very flavorful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Ordered the calamari, it had pepper jelly and hot peppers and was delicious! Pizza was excellent as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vegan, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a terrible start to an otherwise fantastic experience. We were seated outside the patio and asked for the heat to be turned on. On the other side there was a party that didn't want the heat turned on and proceeded to throw a tantrum , slamming hands and glaring at us. I immediately went to management and requested a relocation. Management was compassionate and acted swiftly in relocating our large party. From then on the experience was fantastic. The food was delicious: definitely try the quiches and the collard greens with the shrimp & grits were seasoned well. I would definitely suggest a reservation via OpenTable or the phone for weekend brunch. Trio is a very popular place and rightly so.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food very ordinary, overly salted and just not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Enjoyed a great meal with special friends. Service was great and so was the food!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent food and service ...,I will definitely dine there again and recommend to friends and coworkers.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My husband and I ate at Trio about 8 years ago and the atmosphere was the same. Not really noisy but still okay so that you could laugh and talk with your family. The appetizer selection is great. The food amazing the Mediterranean dishes are perfectly seasoned and portioned. We will definitely returning!

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a group of 10 and we sat on the patio. It was great! We could actually hear each other and carry on a conversation. The waitstaff was very efficient and no one rushed us to finish, so we had plenty of time to visit with old friends. The almond basket dessert is wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Had a wonderful catch up with friends. Everyone loved their meal and service was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Always a good meal here at a reasonable price. Come here often.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food is very good. It's not cutting edge cuisine, but the menu has something for everyone and the wine list is pretty long and reasonably priced. The service was outstanding, not hurried, not constant interruption asking if everything was okay. If you want a good meal at a decent price, this is an excellent choice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Enjoyable weeknight dinner - especially the bread pudding!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The service is always terrific at Trio. Many of the wait staff have been with the restaurant for years. They are eager to please and to modify orders upon request. The food is very tasty, not super high end gourmet, just reliable, flavor-filled dishes. Always a treat!

Tags: Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Trio was a little over-priced if you're looking for portion size. If you're looking for quality- it was nothing short of fantastic. Our waitress was not only knowledgeable, but also very attentive. It was a great experience that will definitely have us back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 10, 2017

since we came to Charlotte in 1999 ...excellent meals. Everyone was so satisfied. will be back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Party of 4 on BYOB night (Tuesday) - I had the Spinach Salad (always great) and the Seafood Farro (Risotto w.Scallops) which was excellent. One friend reaved about the MULLIGATAWNY SOUP and Meatloaf. To top it off our sever was right on top of everything

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 24, 2017

A night out with family......Trio always delivers! Great food, service and ambience!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Love Trios! Food is delicious, staff is friendly, welcoming, gracious and accommodating. Real food which is fresh and clean. Very reasonably priced.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Trio is my go to for Sunday Brunch. Family visiting from out of town wanted a family environment to visit. Email ahead was easy. Table was ready and there was plenty of wait staff.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Food is always great, booths are private and comfortable and is a go to spot for great value for a great variety at reasonable prices!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This is always a great local place. It's nice to see that the servers stay for a long time. That is a sign of great management. Oh by the way, the manager is such a great people guy. He always smile and makes his way around to the table to acknowledge you. He was truly meant to do that job.o can't complain. It was a nice experience and overall it was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I celebrated Valentine's Day at Trio's and everything was exceptionally well done--ambiance, food, service and attention to detail. As usual, the prices for such a quality meal were much less than we would expect to pay anywhere else. Our waiter was courteous and prompt. We were pleasantly impressed with Trio's.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Casual, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Walked in got table was ready for us, wait staff was excellent, food was delicious. Conversations were heard (2 of 6) wear hearing aids. Trios' is a go to favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We went to celebrate Valentine's Day early and weren't disappointed. As usual, great food and wonderful dessert. Consistently good dining here every time!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Reserved a table for 10 and we dined in a separate room with no atmosphere at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Everything was great and we had been here many times before! A+

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My family and I went to Trio just for Saturday dinner. We had a good time and enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We visited Trio for Queen's Feast 2017. The food was wonderful and our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and the food they served. Definitely worth going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We had a reservation and was seated within minutes. Our waitress came for drink orders right away. The atmosphere was calm and a reasonable level of noise. There were well behaved children sitting across from us. The waitress took our orders and left. The salads did not come for 20 minutes. I had just made a comment about this when she came with the salads. The salad was very good. Our entrees came about 15 minutes later. My husband had a Seaford platter with orzo. The shrimp and scallops were excellent. My food was the problem. I ordered Lobster ravioli. The pasta was under cooked and lobster was old and chewy. The sauce was the big problem, it was thin and dripped on my clothes. Large pieces of spinach under the pasta had become slimy. The only redeeming part about my dish was the 4 well cooked shrimp; I did not see shrimp included. I had a bland piece of garlic bread with meal. Now, the desert I ordered was amazing. I had the *Carmel nut brownie with house made ice cream. The reason I did not send my entree back was that the waitress did not come back for 20 minutes. I think the waitress did a reasonable job considering that they were extremely busy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always a great place. We go for their awesome dessert menu. I do wish they had more vegan and gluten free options on the menu though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I love going to Trio's. Food is always excellent and service is great. I really want the Killer dressing recipe...it's the best dressing ever!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.