About TRIO Grill

8100 Lee Highway
Falls Church, VA 22042
View Larger Map

TRIO Grill is a modern American restaurant in Falls Church, Virginia offering the finest steaks and freshest seafood, an extensive beverage program, and Merrifield’s only cigar lounge. TRIO blends urban sophistication with the relaxed ambiance of a neighborhood grill, making us perfect for date night, after-work drinks or your next private dining occasion.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
4:00pm - 10:00pm Monday – Thursday
4:00pm - 11:00pm Friday – Saturday
4:00pm - 9:00pm Sunday

Cross Street:
Gallows Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 992-9200

Website:
http://www.triomerrifield.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for upbeat live piano played on our baby grand!

Parking Details:
TRIO Grill offers both complimentary valet and parking lot options for our guests.

Public Transit:
Walking distance from Dunn Loring Metro Station.

Executive Chef:
Eddie Marine

Additional:
Cigar Room, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are planning a special event, such as a rehearsal dinner or holiday party, we can make our entire restaurant available for brunch, lunch or dinner. You'll have access to all of our rooms, including Private Dining Room, Outdoor Patio and Cigar Lounge.

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Treat your Dad to something delicious this Father's Day!

Private Dining

Inviting and elegant, TRIO Grill is the perfect space for any gathering. Our Event Manager will work hand-in-hand with you to select tailored prix-fixe menus suitable for business dinners, special occasions, or holiday parties complete with wine pairings and hand-crafted cocktails.

TRIO Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (64)
fit for foodies (59)
neighborhood gem (48)
See All
notable wine list (39)
romantic (38)
good for groups (34)
great for outdoor dining (28)
hot spot (16)
vibrant bar scene (12)
late-night find (8)
great for lunch (6)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (4)
Sort By:
Newest
407 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our visit was very enjoyable. The food w ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our visit was very enjoyable. The food was delicious and our waiter was very helpful and made great recommendations. The service was very attentive without smothering us. We will definitely be back soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go-to restaurant

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Trio Grill never disappoints. It is the restaurant we count on for good meals when new restaurants we try fall short. The Manhattans and tuna nachos are must orders during every visit. We vary main courses and everything we've tried has been excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

In general the food and cooked very well ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

In general the food and cooked very well. However we noticed a heavy emphasis to use Kale - everywhere! Caesar salads are romaine - not kale. There should always be one or two standards on the menu to off-set the trendy items. Noise level was perfect. Seating was very good - tables were adequately spaced. Desserts were probably the weakest point.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything was perfect...just wish it wa ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Everything was perfect...just wish it was a little quieter.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

food was great and plenty of it----bar w ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

food was great and plenty of it----bar was great with good selection of drinks--bourbon was outstanding---- a little pricy but after all was said and done it was worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

A little pricey but large portions

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

A little pricey but large portions

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Local Gem

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great place for a fine meal, especially if you are a meat lover. Lots of very tasty appetizers and an excellent choice of wines, specialty drinks and after dinner choices. The service was absolutely excellent. Not your everyday restaurant but a fantastic choice for the special occasion or that rare night out when you want to indulge. Highly recommend.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent evening outing to celebrate my ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent evening outing to celebrate my wife's Birthday! Excellent phone service when making the reservation by Naveen, wonderful reception by Joe at the door upon arrival; Carlos was excellent behind the bar and Will as our server was equally excellent. Overall, a very attentive, professional and smooth staff, not intrusive in their service, just perfectly timing checking on us and ensuring a wonderful experience. Now, the food and drink -- Superb!!!! We had the full gamut of appetizers, entrees and wine. Each were superior in presentation and taste. In closing, we will definitely return and the Trio Grill has been added to our list for both personal and business related outings where superior service, food and drink come together in a delightful venue, including a cigar bar for those enjoying the after meal experience. Thank You Trio Grill Team, see you again and soon!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food, but not service

Dined on May 8, 2016

I ate dinner at Trio's on Mother's Day. The food was very good, as it has been during my previous visits. But the service this time didn't measure up to the food. Not only was the service very slow, particularly on drinks, but the wait staff forgot a side order and didn't record one drink order. Could it have been reduced staff following Mother's Day brunch? Maybe - but with reservations, the restaurant should know how many people to have on staff for the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

We always receive the best service and a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We always receive the best service and always come back for more. We appreciated the flower upon our departure. It was a wonderful evening and Trio Grill remains as our top pick restaurant, especially for special occasions!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Trio's

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our first time to come to Trio's. It had been recommended by my Mom's hairdresser, so she (Mom) picked it as her choice for a Mother's Day dinner. We loved all of the food choices, cocktails, desserts. Our waiter was very efficient and knew every detail of the items on the menu. He was attentive but not overly attentive so as to make us feel that we needed to hurry. We look forward to coming to Trio's again in the future. My Mom intends to recommend it to her monthly luncheon group.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Brunch on Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Trip Grill for brunch on Mother's Day and we were very impressed with the food and the service and the ambiance. We had never been before and saw it on the list of available restaurants when I looked on Open Table. They do not normally do brunch, but they should! It was a buffet and the food was amazing. The selection was even better and from a small raw bar to exquisite desserts and a beautiful carving of Prime Rib, everything I had was great. We will go back for dinner but I would love to see them offer brunch on a regular basis!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Gross food & Staff not helpful

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was interesting to say the least -- but not in a good way. The prices are absolutely ridiculous for what you actually get. The flavors and taste were very off putting. I would not recommend this place to anyone. You can tell money is the bottom line at this place and their not out to make the customer experience pleasant. We had a problem with our food during our visit (pork served to a non-pork eater) and were reminded it was our problem not theirs. The ambiance of the restaurant was very pleasant, with a live piano player. The menu looked like it would be fun to explore -- however we were vastly disappointed on all counts here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Want a great dining experience?

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

So many restaurants are ho-hum or don't have both good food and good service - this isn't one of them. Chef Kelly is inspired. She makes tasty and beautiful food. We always try to take pictures, but the food looks so good, we dive in before we remember to take the picture. I loved her halibut and was sad when she took it off the menu, until I tried the red snapper she replaced it with. It was tender and tasty and beautifully served as a whole fish, but without the bones - how did she do that? The wait staff is friendly and there when you need them. Sharif is especially good at recommending that we try new things. He is so enthusiastic about the food that it makes us excited --- and he never steers us wrong. He is upbeat and makes dining at Trio a fun experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it, I will go again.

Dined on May 4, 2016

Loved it, I will go again.

food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Excellent food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

surprising seasonally delectable choices

Dined on April 17, 2016

We shared our choices to experience as much as possible. Lovely right down to the wine. Our service was attentive and our charming waiter,Samuel was helpful defining the preparation of each dish....to avoid food allergies.overall, an embracing experience. Cannot wait to go again! We made reservations for Sunday-6:30pm-and you can get gift cards for such a unique and special experience. The manager visited our table-charming and chatted with us. Very personable, and pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner

Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband and I went out to dinner with 2 other couples. It was the first time here and frankly we had never heard of it. My husband drove by one day and thought it looked interesting. So we decided to go and were so glad we did! First we went to the wine store owned by the restaurant, right next door. We picked out 2 bottles and brought them back for dinner. They do charge a corking fee, but it was worth it. We also noticed some fun cocktails on the menu....2 of us got old fashionds and they were delicious. Dinner was amazing! I got the citrus salad Caribbean snapper, both were perfect! My husband got the shrimp and grits and loved it. Our friend got the ribeye and it was cooked perfectly and he loved it! We practically fought over the pea side dish that one of us ordered....it was so delicious! We split a lemon poppy seed cake, chocolate cake and mocha mousse.... They were gone so fast because they were heavenly!! A bit expensive but so worth it. An amazingly good dinner!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time - we'll be back

Dined on April 14, 2016

Have been trying to get here since it opened, and surprised the family with a dinner there. The food was great - we had a few appetizers including the antipasto and calamari, and there was a lot to love. I forget what my wife had but I was all over the short rib, which was enough for this dinner, lunch the next day and some for that night's dinner. It was a tough decision but we passed on dessert (just full - there were several options that sounded fantastic). Nice selection of cocktails, and my sweet-toothed wife found two that she really liked (something with a "57" in the title and "The Remedy"). I didn't look at the wine list myself and don't feel qualified enough to comment on it, but given the extensive bottles on display I can only imagine that wine is a focus here. Topping it all off was a very knowledgeable, accommodating and attentive server, Sharif. He knew the menu well, suggested the drinks my wife enjoyed and was always there when you needed him. Definitely a +1 for the whole experience. Though we had our two young daughters with us, and that was fine, I wouldn't say there's anything particular kid-friendly or unfriendly about it. They behaved well and it wasn't an issue. I would think that busier kids might detract from the experience for other diners, though, because I doubt people come here expecting to be surrounded by kids. Just wanted to say that.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was a bit pricey, but it was de ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was a bit pricey, but it was delicious. I enjoyed the pan seared scallops over risotto. The scallops were perfectly seasoned and prepared. This was definitely a meal that I would order again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy and comfortable.

Dined on March 19, 2016

I loved the outdoor seating! It was comfortable seating and a relaxed ambiance. They have a fireplace outside and also overhead heaters. It's great if you want to go out and it's a little windy out, you can always ask to have the heater turned on. The food was great and service was excellent. Our server Samuel was really funny and attentive. Along with management. Don't worry, just because you're outside doesn't mean they won't tend to you, you actually have multiple people taking care of you. From your waiter, to the person who brings out the bread (a nice, big cut) and butter, to the person who refills your water to the food server. Just a great experience. And really comfortable seating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Great food, great wine list, fantastic service but a little pricey. I've been here a couple of times but that last time I was able to sit outside and it made the evening. Great dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant Week Deal

Dined on March 16, 2016

Excellent salad, nice salmon on top of a bed of quinoa. Lovely chocolate mousse with fresh whipped cream and raspberry coulis.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent menu, wonderful food, and grea ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

Excellent menu, wonderful food, and great service. I was celebrating a birthday, and they really were over the top in making it a special event for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night for our gang

Dined on March 12, 2016

Perfect setting for a get together with friends. We had a party of eight and without requesting they put us in the private back room. Our waiter (Ronald) was exceptional. Really made the group feel comfortable and made good recommendations from the menu. Love the menu - great variety of choices. Look forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

My family and I have been there twice. B ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

My family and I have been there twice. Both times the food and service was excellent. On our recent visit my family was really impressed with the attention to details and food presentation.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great restaurant.

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great restaurant. Food was great. It just gets a little pricey to go for just a casual dinner.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE THIS PLACE; Foodie GEM

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

This place is great food with great service; it is also open on average an hour later than most places in the Vienna, Fairfax, Merrifield area. The service is always great and if you love a fire place (with heaters as well) and a little cold, go have your food (or just a drink) in the outdoor fireplace.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

Tuna tartare nachos were a delicious nov ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Tuna tartare nachos were a delicious novel appetizer. However, most of the food seemed to have a sweet base, especially the salads, which were not really to our taste. Would definitely try again, just order different things.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

absolutely loved this place

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great service great food, everyone was very professional

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Overall good value

Dined on February 14, 2016

The appetizers were a bit of a letdown for everyone's entrée was excellent. Our server was very knowledgeable and professional. The drinks were great too. Overall it was a good value.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious!

Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a group of 8 go here for Valentines weekend. All were impressed & happy with this restaurant. Will recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dining

Dined on February 7, 2016

The professionalism of the entire staff was firstt class. Food was outstanding, Bourbon drinks were excellent, waiter recommended great wines, enjoyed a cigar in the outside smoking lounge prior to dinner. Decoration is elegant but not stuffy. I could have done with less Lenny Kravitz type music. Look forward to a return visit.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Made my birthday special!

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

Sharif is such a good waiter - he remembers our preferences and is always personable. He knows the menu well and never steers us in the wrong direction. My husband's pork chop was so large and delicious, we brought half of it home. The collards were so tasty, we almost made a meal on them. I had the ribeye and brussells sprouts. My husband doesn't usually like them, but he loved these. We love the key lime pie, but for my birthday got the chocolate cake. We are still eating it - huge and decadent and memorable!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff was exceptional and the f ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

The wait staff was exceptional and the food delivered on flavor and presentation.

food5
ambience5
service5

I have eaten at Trio Grill several times ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

I have eaten at Trio Grill several times. I have never gotten a single item that wasn't done to perfection.

food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Tri Grill

Dined on January 30, 2016

Best Cocktails in Merrifield. Food is terrific. I adore the Diver Scallops. Have dined here 4 times and each time was great. Service was a bit slow the last time, but we did not mind as we were celebrating a special birthday. Great place and prices are reasonable .

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great choice!

Dined on January 30, 2016

Love a round table for 6 people! Food was excellent and service was welcoming from the moment we arrived. We were there during restaurant week. Like that each of us could order off main menu, restaurant week and chef's menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Enjoyable Evening

Dined on January 29, 2016

We dined from the Restaurant Week menu and everything was delicious except the pecan pie. The pie crust was tough, the pecan filling was difficult to distinguish. Without the ice cream, it wouldn't have been edible. ANY cookbook has a better pecan pie recipe that than one.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Good dinner memo. Happy hour food menu ...

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

Good dinner memo. Happy hour food menu is too greasy/fried/unhealthily.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.