About TRIO Grill

TRIO Grill is a modern American restaurant in Falls Church, Virginia offering the finest steaks and freshest seafood, an extensive beverage program, and Merrifield’s only cigar lounge. TRIO blends urban sophistication with the relaxed ambiance of a neighborhood grill, making us perfect for date night, after-work drinks or your next private dining occasion.

8100 Lee Highway
Falls Church, VA 22042
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
4:00pm - 10:00pm Monday – Thursday
4:00pm - 11:00pm Friday – Saturday
4:00pm - 9:00pm Sunday

Cross Street:
Gallows Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 992-9200

Website:
http://www.triomerrifield.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for upbeat live piano played on our baby grand!

Parking Details:
TRIO Grill offers both complimentary valet and parking lot options for our guests.

Public Transit:
Walking distance from Dunn Loring Metro Station.

Executive Chef:
Eddie Marine

Additional:
BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are planning a special event, such as a rehearsal dinner or holiday party, we can make our entire restaurant available for brunch, lunch or dinner. You'll have access to all of our rooms, including Private Dining Room, Outdoor Patio and Cigar Lounge.

Private Dining

Inviting and elegant, TRIO Grill is the perfect space for any gathering. Our Event Manager will work hand-in-hand with you to select tailored prix-fixe menus suitable for business dinners, special occasions, or holiday parties complete with wine pairings and hand-crafted cocktails.

TRIO Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Good for a Date (46)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Romantic (37)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Business Meals (28)
Notable Wine List (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Bar Seating (18)
Cozy (18)
Fun (15)
Fireplace (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Casual (11)
Private Room (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Authentic (9)
Live Music (9)
Healthy (9)
Great Beer (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Seasonal (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
668 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great experience. Very friendly service. Delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

From start to finish we had a wonderful experience. Excellent service, food and ambiance! Can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 5 days ago

We had women's night out to celebrate a friend's birthday. Two of us had the scallops with risotto dish and it was literally out of this world. We all shared appetizers. The fried calamari was very good, but the cauliflower was absolutely outstanding. It was 1/2 price on bottles of wine, which always makes it nice. Great evening at a wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Noise level higher this time. But love All the staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Enjoyed all aspects of the meal; appetizer, main course, and dessert. Went with servers recommendations for all three and all three were spot on. Fantastic quality and flavor!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Loved it. Great service and food. Was half price night on wine bottles. Shirt ribs were superb. Excellent private room available.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Recently dined at Trio Grill with some girlfriends and had such a great experience, my husband and I booked a few weeks later for date night. The cocktails, food and service were outstanding. The first time I visited there was live piano music, though this weekend we enjoyed the quiet background music as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely evening on their patio. Service and attention were on target.
The beet and spinach salads were great first courses, enough to share. The pork loin was tender, juicy and prepared with nice spices and sides. The crab cakes were superb, hearty crab, no filler and well seasoned with a nice veggie medley. Key lime pie for dessert finished off a nice meal perfectly. Also enjoyed a very reasonably priced red wine.
Look forward to our next visit. Thank you.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

For our anniversary, my husband and I decided to go to Trio Grill after reading reviews and looking over the menu. We were the first people to arrive and the host greeted us warmly after verifying our reservations. We were seated and treated to two flutes of champagne--I had indicated on our reservation that it was our wedding anniversary. Our waiter Kyle
was attentive throughout, offering suggestions and mentioning favorites. We started with the roasted cauliflower (delicious) and the salmon chowder, which was also superb. I really like balanced dishes with savory meats and fresh vegetables, subtle flavors and surprising textures--BBQ short rib with a sweet corn base and collard greens, topped with a green apple slaw. This place delivers on every level. Our measure for good American cuisine is the steak and chef-prepared soup. My husband ordered both and enjoyed them very much. We don't dine often, but we've dined together in some wonderful restaurants when we lived in San Francisco. And though the prices are on the higher end, I wouldn't call the menu overpriced because the quality of the food measures up. I appreciate that they want to keep the menu dynamic and interesting with seasonal ingredients.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 6, 2017

I went for an anniversary celebration. I mentioned the special occasion in my online reservation. The staff and the waiter noticed the anniversary mention, and provided a dessert with a candle to help us celebrate our special occasion. Props to the staff for paying attention and making our outing such a special occasion! Great service, great food, great ambiance. What a great place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The food was excellent and the presentation, very appealing. Kyle was a great waiter! Trio is one of our "go to" places to bring friends.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food and service was great but entrees are entirely too expensive for the area. I'd say 10-20% too expensive. I should not be paying $34 for a scallop entree with 3 scallops! That said, the scallops and accompanying risotto was quite good. My fellow dinners had the rockfish special (tasty) and steaks - both said the steaks were good as well but too pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

A nice surprise. Drove from D.C. to meet others. Worth the drive. Excellent and imaginative food, great service, and nice atmosphere. All in all worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Trio Grill is one of my favorite restaurants in the DC/Northern VA area. The service is outstanding and the servers are knowledgeable, very pleasant and they do not rush your meal. We had dinner on the patio which was very relaxing and the tables are not close. We had oysters, filet mignon with asparagus (which was cooked to perfection) and a banana and coconut dessert - just OK. At times the parking is limited but they do have Valet parking. I would highly recommend Trio Grill.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 23, 2017

If you don't like smoke with your dinner, avoid this place. Food could be better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This was not our first visit to Trio Grille but it was definitely one of the best meals I've ever had. The service was first rate and the food was delicious! The only negative comment I have is that it was very noisy, hard to converse with my dinner partner and very difficult to hear the servers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great service
Great management
Comfortable
Yummy
Easy get to
Fun

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Very much becoming a go-to place. Great cocktails, food, and even a live pianist!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Went for an anniversary dinner and had a terrific evening. We had the fillets which we're perfectly prepared and so good. The wine was great, and our dessert was delicious. Service was superb and our server Kyle was absolutely outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our last visit to our favorite restaurant before leaving the country. It was spectacular!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food and service. Never a dissapointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great hit for Father's Day--everyone was pleased! Waiter was attentive and accommodating of our picky eaters.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were there for Father's day. Our server, Shariff, was very friendly and attentive. He made all the delicious. Unfortunately, the chef got both steak orders wrong. My MIL loved her veal chop. Definitely trying that next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It's been a long time since I've had a food "experience.". TRIO was amazing, the food was thoughtful and interesting. Freeman our waiter was informative and professional. My 11 year old son wanted to try oysters on the half shell for the first time and he loved Freeman's suggestions. Freeman also immediately picked up on the fact that my 10 year old daughter is very picky and gave excellent suggestions and alternatives for her. TRIO is definitely a hidden gem because if you were just driving by you would think it was just a run of the mill restaurant or pub. It most certainly is not. Great for a special occasion and it has now been added to our list of "go-to's". I'm so sorry I didn't take pics because everything we received was presented splendidly and tasted as good as, or better, than it looked.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The service was excellent, drinks came very quickly. All four of us had steak and we all agreed that it was one of the best steaks we ever had. The steaks were charred perfectly, done to perfection and had the perfect seasoning. The side dishes were all quite lovely.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Love Trio Grille. Exceptional atmosphere, food and service. It has become my favorite place for a night out with my wife and family or for just a date night with my wife. I had my 60th birthday celebration there with 12 friends and it was an awesome evening on their patio, which is beautiful. I recommend Trio to all my friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Our favorite restaurant for any reason. We are so sad chef Kelly is moving on to pursue her dream job. We wish her the best and she will be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Birthday celebration for my son with family. We had an awesome waiter and food and drinks were delicious. Thanks for birthday dessert with candle for my son. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We never have a bad meal here and the service is always excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My husband and I visited Trio for a Date Night. We enjoyed the atmosphere and most of the food. He ordered the scallops with risotto and loved it. I ordered the ribeye and hand cut fries with hollandaise and was a bit disappointed. The steak was more gristle than meat and the Fries with sauce had little flavor. I didn't tell the waiter or I'm sure he would have tried to correct. He was very nice. I just didn't want my complaint/disappointment to put a damper on our long awaited date night away from kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

By far my FAVORITE restaurant!!!!! Love love love Trio! Every time, every drink every meal!!!! This place is cosy and thoughtful....drinks are handcrafted and amazing! I have never tasted a dish I didn't love! Thank you for making my birthday memorable!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We frequent Truro once or twice a year. They treated us with champagne for our anniversary. All the food is amazing especially the Brussel sprouts! Don't skip the strawberry truffle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 2, 2017

First time dining at Trio and it won't be the last. We were celebrating a friend who is getting married and the service, food and ambience were all exceptional. My husband and I will be back soon for a date night and I plan to bring my parents when they are in town as well. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We decided to go to Trio for dinner after getting a babysitter for some much needed alone time.

The ambience was quite, dim light, with a cozy atmosphere.

We were promptly sat in center both. Our waiter, Will, arrived in just a moment with an extensive wine menu. I had a few questions about the menu and he was extremely knowledgeable. We decided on the bold Starmount Merrivale.

We started with the Bershire Pork Belly. The dish was crispy, yet soft. The preparation was exquisite. We then moved onto Will's suggestion of oysters paired with a Stacked Beet salad. Both were absolutely delicious. Now for the main course, my wife had the Antipasti as an entrée, which I couldn't refuse trying, of course. Will reassured me that if I ordered a Medium Rare steak that Chef would not get it wrong. Time for the truth, I cut into a perfectly prepared Filet Mignon with a butter knife. Salivating over my plate, that first bite melted in my mouth. Will could not have been more on the spot, it was amazing! Compliments to the Chef!

Our meals had conquered us. To finish them would have been agonizing, as we would not have had leftovers for a late-night snack.

Our doggie bags were full as the staff bid us a farewell. You have earned a patron. As far as anyone reading this, Trio is a "must have" in life, and remember to ask for Will!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had a very pleasant dinner at the Trio Grill. The food was excellently prepared and the service was affable. Our two entrees were both perfectly prepared -- the bison steak and the lamb were both delectable. Also -- the seating is very comfortable. A great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Decadent flavors. Quiet older crowd. Great wait staff. Loved it. Had a great date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Everything was perfect! The crab cake special was delicious and Belayneh was gracious and attentive. Excellent choice for a special birthday celebration!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

excellent short ribs, and appetizers, also garlic mashed. well formulated bar drinks, very professional service, dinner tables pleasantly isolated from the noise of bar, tables well set -- a very complete high-end restaurant. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Excellent and favorite dining for all ocassions
Food, service, ambience all outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food. Professional staff. Very attractive restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.