About TRIO Grill

TRIO Grill is a modern American restaurant in Falls Church, Virginia offering the finest steaks and freshest seafood, an extensive beverage program, and Merrifield’s only cigar lounge. TRIO blends urban sophistication with the relaxed ambiance of a neighborhood grill, making us perfect for date night, after-work drinks or your next private dining occasion.

8100 Lee Highway
Falls Church, VA 22042
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
4:00pm - 10:00pm Monday – Thursday
4:00pm - 11:00pm Friday – Saturday
4:00pm - 9:00pm Sunday

Cross Street:
Gallows Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 992-9200

Website:
http://www.triomerrifield.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for upbeat live piano played on our baby grand!

Parking Details:
TRIO Grill offers both complimentary valet and parking lot options for our guests.

Public Transit:
Walking distance from Dunn Loring Metro Station.

Executive Chef:
Eddie Marine

Additional:
BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are planning a special event, such as a rehearsal dinner or holiday party, we can make our entire restaurant available for brunch, lunch or dinner. You'll have access to all of our rooms, including Private Dining Room, Outdoor Patio and Cigar Lounge.

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Ring in the new year with us!

Private Dining

Inviting and elegant, TRIO Grill is the perfect space for any gathering. Our Event Manager will work hand-in-hand with you to select tailored prix-fixe menus suitable for business dinners, special occasions, or holiday parties complete with wine pairings and hand-crafted cocktails.

TRIO Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for a Date (34)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
See All
Good for Birthdays (28)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Romantic (13)
Authentic (11)
Cozy (11)
Fun (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Seasonal (9)
Casual (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Live Music (6)
Healthy (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort by
S
744 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Trio Grill used to be a favorite of ours, but the chef increased the spice level of the dishes so much that we went elsewhere. We decided to try again and they have a new chef. The menu isn't nearly as exciting, nor is the food. And even though the restaurant was pretty empty, it still took a long time to get our food. And, the prices are high for food that isn't that great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

The cigar lounge is incredible! I've used it twice for business meetings and am sure I'll use it again often. The dinner was perfect with a seamless transition from table to cigar . My clients have been VERY impressed. I'm sure they will start using it for the same reasons I do.

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Trio Grill needs more love. It is a really good restaurant, with excellent service and a lovely atmosphere. The cocktails are outstanding--From Tequila with Love is the bomb. The food is consistently excellent, from the wonderful bread to a fine and authentic caesar salad, a great assortment of oysters with a nice mignonette and a radish relish that is surprisingly good on the oysters. The shrimp and grits are delicious, my husband always gets the halibut and I can also vouch for the ribeye. The wild mushroom side is awesome. Monday night is half price wine night, which is a good deal. I think it deserves more buzz--except that then parking would be even harder. That is the one down side, but they do have valet service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Food was poor all around. There was a almost no one ion the restaurant at 6pm on a Sunday.Despite this,the food was A LOOK slow in comimg and the chef murdered a $37 steak.Servers were nice but the kitchen embarrasses them. We were a Party of 11 people (including 3 kids) in nice private dining room. The bill was almost $600 including tip which was hard for me to give.
No manager ever came over to see how we were doing at anytime during meal.
Avoid this place.Overpriced with poor food
Yuk!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2017

The tuna nachos appetizer is a menu highlight that brings us back again and again. The Trio Manhattan is the perfect accompaniment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Dinner was delicious and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2017

This place is consistently good. The food and service are top notch. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2017

It appears Trio has come into their own. We are local and happy to see our neighborhood places succeed! We had a wonderful evening on the patio, encourage you to sit out there...It is heated and the fireplace crackling with the smell of fall add to the ambiance. The service was excellent and attentive, Samuel is the key to the team...orchestrating, managing and overseeing each diners experience. This is a much needed touch that had previously been missing. Samuel is full of personality and we enjoyed speaking with him as he carefully worked the dining room and patio. The food was amazingly good, we had oysters (recommend they add a beyond the bay option), Salmon and Tuna entree with Pumpkin pie desert. Thumbs up. Thank you Trio keep it up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We sat outside, which was quieter than the inside seating, and with the outdoor heaters it was plenty comfortable despite to the chilly weather. We loved the creative food (and drinks), and the service was competent and friendly. We started with a couple of great cocktails - the Platinum Mojito and A Drink with Hemingway. They were two of the best cocktails we'd had in a long time. We shared a baked pear with quinoa/kale/goat cheese salad, which was prepared beautifully and was delicious. I had the shrimp & grits, which had a yummy, slightly spicy sauce. My wife had the crusted halibut, which had an equally yummy brown butter sauce and cranberries. For dessert we shared the apple dumpling with ginger ice cream, which was good but not the highlight of the meal. This restaurant is very nice for special occasions (in our case we were celebrating my retirement) but it's a bit pricy for an everyday lunch or dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2017

It was a beautiful evening to dine on the patio. The food was terrific, but the service was poor. We suspect that they were short-handed that night, but nevertheless....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Service was impeccable and the food was excellent. Samuel, the young man I believe was the manager, did an amazing job and has an excellent future in front of him. I worked in the restaurant business and would not say this lightly.

Cheers to Trio Grill

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Very Impressed! We have driven by Trio many times and said that we wanted to try it. For our 2nd Anniversary, we finally made a reservation. Our waiter, Kyle, was so informative and helpful. His recommendations based on our likes and dislikes were spot on. He as very professional. The Manager, Dragan, stopped by to make sure our experience was great. They rest of the staff was attentive as well. And the food...the food! DELICIOUS! Everything we ordered was wonderful in presentation and taste. I give Trio an A+! We will return for sure.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Trio is one of my favorites. The food is always very well prepared, and the servers are very attentive -- not overly so -- just aware and friendly.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2017

As our second time dining at Trio, the experience did not live up to our first which was our reason to dine in again. The good news is that the food was exceptional, as was expected from our first dining experience minus the dessert. Our service was the main differentiator between the two. Our server was an older gentleman who came off as very uptight and took a while between table checks. At one point during our visit, he came by to clean plates at which he made a slight hand gesture to my girlfriend motioning for her to give him her plate. Normally this would not bother me, but in this case he did not say anything when doing so which came off as rude. The dessert we had was the German Black Forest cake which is far from what you’d expect and not recommended. Regardless we still enjoyed ourselves and will probably dine in again. Hopefully we will get better service and definitely avoid the cake.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2017

The meal and service was outstanding! Very much enjoyed our evening there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2017

We are never disappointed, either in the quality of the food or the service. Butter up soup was outrageous with small bites of pork belly. Their calamari is always excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Trio is an attractive space with very good food that sometimes achieves great food. Parking is tight but the valet service is free, friendly, quick, and efficient. The staff are very friendly, but sometimes the wait staff verged on the point of being too friendly, too chatty. It can be a fine line. My wife and I were seated at a 2 person table in a section with several 2 person tables next to each other - other areas I have sat in at Trio are cozy and give you elbow room and talking is easy but the two person tables grouped together felt too close, too loud, and a bit challenging for my wife and I being that we were on a wedding anniversary date. Next time I'd ask for a 4 person table. Our food was excellent. My wife had the shrimp and grits and the roasted green chili grits were fantastic. I had the Ancho Crusted Halibut and it was one of the better prepared
and tasty pieces of fish I have eaten in my life. Desert was Black Forrest Cake which is very very good. Not sublime...but very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

We had a wonderful evening, the food was amazing and the service was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Brought my parents here for my Dad’s birthday - they both had the filet and raved about how good it was! Service was fantastic and we enjoyed a nice family diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Trio Grill was excelent all around, service and food. It was woth the drive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Service was great! Location is good. Parking can be tricky but they have valet if needed. Key lime pie was terrific.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

My family and relatives got together at TRIO Grill to celebrate my birthday. This is our third visit since this restaurant opened. The food, service, and ambiance are good, but not outstanding. The best thing I like is that we can have quiet conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

I absolutely loved this place will definitely return excellent from the hostess down to the bust boy .... and the managers are phenomenal... you must visit TRIO

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fun, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Everything was 5 star. Food, service, ambiance. With a piano player and all.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Great side porch dining. The calamari was very fresh and the beef short ribs were amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Well, it was really to get together with family. Tonight I had the best shrimp & grits I've ever had :-) Everyone in our party thoroughly enjoyed their meals, and as usual the service was stellar (this time our waiter was Belayneh - incredibly polite and attentive). When we arrived back in our neighborhood (Fenwick Park) we got into a conversation with our neighbors, and the mention of Trio was met with compliments from all (on quality, service and value) so you're definitely doing it right! Thanks again for a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We celebrated a lovely birthday, anniversary and friends & family get together. The food and service were outstanding. The cocktails were great. We (6 of us) sat outside on the patio, which was so enjoyable and allowed us to have great conversation. Our waiter, Freeman, doted on us, and two other managers checked in with us as well. Thank you Trio Grill for an awesome evening enjoyed by all!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 22, 2017

The food and service were excellent but it was very noisy.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Amazing food and amazing service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 21, 2017

First time eating here. The food and service was excellent. We will definitely be back and will recommend to our friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Went for my husbands birthday on a Monday night, which is also half price wine bottle night. Overall the atmosphere was very quiet and peaceful. We dined on the patio which was beautiful. Our server was great! We had the short rib, mac and cheese, pot stickers and the cumin steak. All amazing dishes and would highly recommend. The manager and server both were so sweet and gave us free champagne celebrating our recent marriage and my husband a big slice of birthday cake with a candle for his birthday. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great first visit! We had dinner on the patio. The food was excellent and we liked the reasonable portion size, the service was attentive, and the server knew the menu well. Decent selection of wine and after-dinner drinks, too. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had heard good things about Trio, but I was not expecting it to be this good. The service was outstanding, but everything was overshadowed by the food. The oysters, tuna nachos, and scallops were all top-notch. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner and Kyle, our waiter, provided fabulous service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We always have a great meal at Trio and this night was no exception. The Rockfish special was fantastic. If you have not been, go and try it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food is very good & presented beautifully. Our server was attentive and helpful, especially in recommending drinks. Only disappointment was we were to sit outside, but the heater above our table was not working so we had to move inside. Oh, and the garlic mashed potatoes didn't have nearly enough garlic.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

It was my first visit and I will go back. The service was good, the food delicious and a nice wine and beer list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We love Trio! We always have the seasonal menu items because they are outstanding..and the food..well it's delicious and although it's creative it's not like most "foodie" places...in that the chef just makes interesting, but extremely edible meals.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

This was a wonderful experience and the service and food was Great! I would recommend this to all my friends and family

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We have been to Trio several times, but the last two visits have compelled me not to return. The last time we went in service was terrible, but I thought it was just a fluke. Service again this time did not meet expectations based on prior experience at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.