About TRIO Grill

TRIO Grill is a modern American restaurant in Falls Church, Virginia offering the finest steaks and freshest seafood, an extensive beverage program, and Merrifield’s only cigar lounge. TRIO blends urban sophistication with the relaxed ambiance of a neighborhood grill, making us perfect for date night, after-work drinks or your next private dining occasion.

8100 Lee Highway
Falls Church, VA 22042
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
4:00pm - 10:00pm Monday – Thursday
4:00pm - 11:00pm Friday – Saturday
4:00pm - 9:00pm Sunday

Cross Street:
Gallows Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 992-9200

Website:
http://www.triomerrifield.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for upbeat live piano played on our baby grand!

Parking Details:
TRIO Grill offers both complimentary valet and parking lot options for our guests.

Public Transit:
Walking distance from Dunn Loring Metro Station.

Executive Chef:
Eddie Marine

Additional:
BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are planning a special event, such as a rehearsal dinner or holiday party, we can make our entire restaurant available for brunch, lunch or dinner. You'll have access to all of our rooms, including Private Dining Room, Outdoor Patio and Cigar Lounge.

Private Dining

Inviting and elegant, TRIO Grill is the perfect space for any gathering. Our Event Manager will work hand-in-hand with you to select tailored prix-fixe menus suitable for business dinners, special occasions, or holiday parties complete with wine pairings and hand-crafted cocktails.

TRIO Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (60)
Special Occasion (54)
Romantic (47)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Business Meals (28)
Modern Decor (26)
Worth the Drive (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Cozy (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Fireplace (17)
Live Music (16)
Private Room (14)
Fun (13)
Casual (12)
Great Beer (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Authentic (9)
Healthy (7)
Seasonal (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
632 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 9 hours ago

Decadent flavors. Quiet older crowd. Great wait staff. Loved it. Had a great date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Everything was perfect! The crab cake special was delicious and Belayneh was gracious and attentive. Excellent choice for a special birthday celebration!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

excellent short ribs, and appetizers, also garlic mashed. well formulated bar drinks, very professional service, dinner tables pleasantly isolated from the noise of bar, tables well set -- a very complete high-end restaurant. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Excellent and favorite dining for all ocassions
Food, service, ambience all outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food. Professional staff. Very attractive restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We absolutely love Trio! We cannot say enough about this all-around gem! The atmosphere, good, hospitality, drinks, wine, seating options, comfort and friendliness of the entire staff is top notch! Love love love!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to Trio Grill for Mother's Day brunch, our second year in a row going there. It was great! The food is excellent and there is a wide variety of choices. This year they added an omelette bar and the chef made the most perfect omelettes, nice and thin and not too big, perfect as part of a buffet. The seafood was wonderful, the hot choices were creative, it was great. It is also somewhat kid-friendly for brunch which is nice. We have not eaten dinner there but will return!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We absolutely LOVE coming to Trios! The service is always impeccable; it's like we are family. I would 100% recommend Trios for any occasion. The food is always so delicious and fantastic. We always have the opportunity of running into one of the managers, Sam, when we are there's on Saturday nights and he always such a delight to talk with! I can't wait to come back for our next night out!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Private Room, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

This was a revisit for us. We went there when they first opened years ago and was not impressed with our meal. We decided to try Trio again and we very satisfied. The food was outstanding and creative. Try the Shrimp and Grits or the Veal Chop. The service was great. The only thing I did not like was the music was a little loud at first. Maybe because of the hour (5:30pm). Later the volume was reduced and ok. All in all it was a fine meal and nice evening. We will be returning.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Bar Seating, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The atmosphere and the food was excellent. The price was fair for the quality. Live pianist.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2017

This is a great restaurant! What a great find! We celebrated my husband's birthday, so we came here for dinner. We certainly chose the right restaurant. Even my 12-year old, who is a very picky eater, loved the food. The menu selection was good, and the food we ordered were the best we have ever tasted (the shrimp and grits was the best dish I've ever had!). We will definitely come back again, and I have also spread the word to all my friends about how great this restaurant is!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Most recently went here for our sixth anniversary. Our second visit. We will probably go back again for a future special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Very wonderful experience! Food was fantastic!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Really great service. Our server would make suggestions that were perfect. Great pianist. 5 stars! All the stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The staff always goes above and beyond. Food tastes fantastic and the presentation is fancy meal without the stuffiness that sometimes accompanies.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good but pricey

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great steak and appetizers. Menu varied with lots of choices. Service great . Live piano music. Recently moved to Fairfax from D.C. - good to find great place such as TRIO near our new home in the Mosaic District.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Service was outstanding as was the food. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Seasonal, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The food was clearly prepared by a chef who knew what he/she was doing. Not your average restaurant for sure. If you want a meal that's well above average, we recommend Trio Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I enjoyed my experience and had a great time with my date. The only issue was my one appetizer which they said was Bruchetta but it ended up being more like croutons and cheese.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Really good! Love it there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Came here for a business dinner. Great customer service and food!

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Our favorite local restaurant! Compliments to the wait staff, management and Chef. Never a bad meal and always relaxing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Amazing Atmosphere

Tags: Organic, Fireplace, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Cozy, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food an waiter were excellent, but the kitchen was overwhelmed and the food was served later than expected.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Very busy on a Friday night (several restaurants share the parking lot) but excellent food and very good service.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I think the music could be a little less loud. It was hard to talk at a 4 top without raising your voice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Nice patio dining under cover. Great scallops -- we also enjoyed the bison, lamb and filet.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

TRIO is a first class neighborhood gem. Five star treatment and dining without the pretense. We are always greeted by name and the attention by the staff to remember previous diners as returning friends is a tremendous touch.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went to Trio for Easter Brunch last Sunday (12 people including 5 kids). We were also celebrating my aunt's 89th birthday. The food and service were good, but the brunch was woefully overpriced! $60 per adult ($25/kid) and they charged separately for coffee! There was not enough fancy food/drinks to justify the exorbitant price. You'd be much better off going to Founding Farmers for brunch.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Brunch was mediocre and extremely overpriced. Not up to Trio's standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went here for Easter brunch. What a great place and a great buffet. Everything was seasoned well and fresh. The pork belly was especially tasty.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This is the 4th time we have been to Trio and it is still great. I had a birthday party for my wife there last year with a large group and they took great care of us. I recommend it highly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

What more could you want than great food, great atmosphere, and great service.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

A bit pricey. Parking at a premium.
Otherwise a great experience

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Our first time at Trio. Outstanding food and knowledgeable, helpful staff. Complimentary dessert as first-timers. Nice touch. Will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

It was a little loud with the piano playing, but it gave dinner a nice feel (just made it hard to hear each other). Busiest we've seen Trio in a long time so the wait staff was hopping but were still attentive. Even with the large crowd the food was perfectly prepared and came out pretty quickly. The Chef knows what he is doing. Was a typical great dinner on a Friday evening for Trio.

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food was delicious, the service was great, but the restaurant is so loud that my husband and I could not carry on a conversation. At all. And there was a piano player on top of the very high volume - which seemed not only over the top, but exactly the wrong approach for a very loud restaurant to begin with!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

As a Capitol Hill resident I don't normally venture into the wilds of NoVa to eat (how many amazing restaurants would I pass along the way?!), but I made an exception to meet an out-of-town friend who was staying near the Dunn Loring Metro station. On the strength of other Open Table reviews (thank you!) I chose this place for a Friday night dinner for two. (It is walkable from the Metro.) Service was good (although a little chaotic at one point; after we'd already been welcomed and had our drink order taken by one waiter, a second one went through the whole routine again). Excellent cocktails -- mine was a martini-like riff on a Margarita, and my friend liked her Cosmopolitan. Excellent artisanal bread and butter. I had the asparagus salad with a poached egg -- YUM, and the lamb loin entree, also delicious and cooked perfectly. My friend had the spinach salad and the scallops, and was also very happy with her food. Menu apparently changes seasonally; we were treated to the new spring menu featuring lots of seasonal selections. Nice wine list. The portions are modest, such that I had no problem finishing my appetizer and entree but did not have room for dessert. My only beef with this restaurant is that I was expecting -- as a white tablecloth style fine dining venue -- it would be quieter. I'm not sure why it is so noisy -- there is carpeting, etc. -- but my friend and I were straining to hear each other across a small table. This did not improve even when the Happy Hour crowd cleared out.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.