About TRIO Grill

TRIO Grill is a modern American restaurant in Falls Church, Virginia offering the finest steaks and freshest seafood, an extensive beverage program, and Merrifield’s only cigar lounge. TRIO blends urban sophistication with the relaxed ambiance of a neighborhood grill, making us perfect for date night, after-work drinks or your next private dining occasion.

8100 Lee Highway
Falls Church, VA 22042
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
4:00pm - 10:00pm Monday – Thursday
4:00pm - 11:00pm Friday – Saturday
4:00pm - 9:00pm Sunday

Cross Street:
Gallows Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 992-9200

Website:
http://www.triomerrifield.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for upbeat live piano played on our baby grand!

Parking Details:
TRIO Grill offers both complimentary valet and parking lot options for our guests.

Public Transit:
Walking distance from Dunn Loring Metro Station.

Executive Chef:
Eddie Marine

Additional:
BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are planning a special event, such as a rehearsal dinner or holiday party, we can make our entire restaurant available for brunch, lunch or dinner. You'll have access to all of our rooms, including Private Dining Room, Outdoor Patio and Cigar Lounge.

Private Dining

Inviting and elegant, TRIO Grill is the perfect space for any gathering. Our Event Manager will work hand-in-hand with you to select tailored prix-fixe menus suitable for business dinners, special occasions, or holiday parties complete with wine pairings and hand-crafted cocktails.

TRIO Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (63)
Special Occasion (51)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
See All
Romantic (39)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Modern Decor (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Worth the Drive (23)
Business Meals (22)
Bar Seating (22)
Good for Groups (16)
Cozy (16)
Live Music (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Fireplace (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Casual (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Seasonal (9)
Great Beer (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Private Room (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Fun (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Live Sports (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
585 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

It is so nice to go to a restaurant with great food, ambiance, and a noise level where friends can have a conversation without screaming. Trio's menu has enough diversity to work for everyone at our table, even though 2 of us had restricted diets. The staff was very attentive without hovering. We had a lot of catching up to do with our friends and we never felt rushed by the staff.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Dinner was outstanding. Creative dishes beautifully presented. And adequate portion sizes. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

A great evening with an out-of-town friend. Cigar patio was a great plus for him, despite the drips from pouring rain. Staff was really excellent and everything went perfectly. Food was excellent and the hors d'oeuvre was enough to take care of a group. Busy, but very pleasant. leisurely meal. No one was trying to push us out the door to make room for an additional seating. We agreed that we will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food is always solid, fresh and flavorful. The bar area is a good size and spacious enough to gather for drinks before sitting for the meal. Great cocktail selection. We have a great experience every single time

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I will be back. I live in the Mosaic District and I definitely recommend this restaurant over all of the others. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The Trio Grille is an excellent and romantic place to dine on any occasion. My middle name is Trio and that makes it even more memorable

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The food was good. Very small portions give the price. They

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Trio delivers again. Our favorite spot to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Service was outstanding for our table of 7. Everyone enjoyed their meal and as the birthday girl I was treated to a flute of Prosecco.
Tuesday evenings there is a young man who plays the piano by ear, very talented, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

TRIO Grill is our go-to restaurant for outstanding service and outstanding food. The atmosphere is lovely but not pretentious, and the menu is exemplary.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Trio has a nice ambiance, and my wife and I really enjoyed the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Trio Grill may not have the most innovate menu, but the dishes are well done, the service is very good, the wine list is good, and the cocktails absolutely rock.

Come here if you're looking for a great drink from great bartenders or if you're looking for a very good, "New American" dinner with excellent steaks and seafood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was amazing. Service excellent, ambiance was great. Little noise at prime time but still ok. Love this place. We've gone for dinner at an earlier time with two children. Everything was perfect then as well, and they were very accommodating with the children.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Overall, a very good experience. The service was awesome!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The service at Trio is always excellent. We've never been disappointed and usually a manager will come by to greet us. All the appetizers are great, especially the pork belly and tuna nachos. The entrees provide a wide selection of meats, poultry and fish with seasonal items and specials. A good wine list with some moderate price bottle selections that are well rated by Wine Enthusiast. We usually have to ask to turn the music down, but they always accommodate quickly. A good choice for regular dining and special occasions with an outdoor seating area that is quite nice, including heaters when it get chilly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Sam Jalloh provided us top tier service!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The chef at Trio really knows what he's doing. This is definitely a foodie's paradise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We went on the recommendation of a friend who is a chef in the area and we were not disappoint. Great service and we loved the meal and the experience for a birthday dinner. We will be going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good food, nice atmosphere, a pleasant experience all around.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Trio Grill is a wonderful local gem. The restaurant has a nice slightly upscale yet laid back atmosphere. The cocktails are great and the food is amazing. Give it a try and you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We ate there on an early Saturday evening. We had a party of six and sat at a round table. The good news is that the food and the wine list is outstanding; everyone enjoyed the meal. The not so stellar comment here is that it took a LONG time to get our drinks and wine. and another long time to get our meals. We eat out together as a group frequently and we all noticed the slowness, for sure. The other problem is that as nice as the 'ambiance' is generally, it is VERY hard to hear any conversation at a table of six. With the high volume of the music and the general sound level in a fairly full dining room, we really couldn't carry on a group conversation - we could only really talk to the person next to us without having to shout. So, my husband and I may try it again, but on a different night and just for two.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Kyle started the night with a perfect intro with the specials, followed by bringing our drinks back from the bar quickly. He was extremely knowledgeable on pretty much every menu item with the ingredients as well as where the meats were from. He added perfect details into what would better compliment our meal and was dead-on! Overall the ambiance was great the service, even better. What a great way to celebrate Valentine's Day!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

When my date wanted to switch from a table to a booth it was no problem for them at all and the accommodated us without a problem. Also the waiter and busboy were very attentive.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day - spectacular. As in she loved it. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very good food, had a great Valentines day meal with my wife. There was a couple next to us that was arguing loudly, making us uncomfortable, but the wait staff was very understanding and tried relocating us. Very friendly staff.

Tags: Live Music, Healthy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fun, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a wonderful time on our Valentines Day date! Amazing food and service. Incredible oysters appetizer! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went there for Valentines Day dinner and had an excellent dinner. The service was impeccable, and the food was delicious. I can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Loved Trio Grill! Went for Valentines day with my husband and we enjoyed the ambience and the food was delicious. Highly recommend for a sophisticated and romantic date.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Early Valentine's Day date with my husband. We were intrigued by the menu online which brought us in. No regrets! Sam was our waiter and he was spot on with food choices and making us feel right at home. The food was amazing and the overall ascetic of Trio is great for a romantic date!

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Even though somehow our reservation got messed up the manager was very accommodating and we sat 45 minutes earlier than expected which was nice for a Saturday night. The food was very good, from appetizer to dessert. The only reason I did not give 5 stars was the service was just okay, the waiter was not that attentive and took a long time to bring the bill...one thing you should know as a waiter is when people are finished dining they want to leave not sit there for 15 minutes waiting for the bill.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food and service. Steak and seafood options will satisfy everyone. Will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went on a date where I wanted a nice impressive place with good food and not too large of a restaurant. Made a reservation with 45 minutes at the bar before hand (I like to plan). My date and I had a seat at a table near the bar and skipped the reservation, because the table was a good spot. Mid-sized restaurant which is moderately noisy but not bad compared to most locations these days. In restaurant piano player which was nice. They have great oysters and great steaks, and the side dishes are amazing! I normally wouldn't have noticed this place because of the location (which is near the Mosaic District and the Dunn Loring metro on the Orange line), but decided on it and it was worth it! Service was great and the food came out more quickly than expected, but there was no rush to leave the restaurant...we stayed for 2.5 hours. The parking is a little hard to come by, but not impossible (and free). Highly recommend trying out TRIO.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I LOVE this restaurant and have never had a bad meal. We tried several appetizers, entrees, sides and desserts, and all were incredible! The hostess and waiters were extremely professional and did a perfect job. The food is so tasty and unique...the flavors, amazing. The ambience is cozy but not stuffy. I've already made plans to return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service and food. Strong drinks. No complaints!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

In many other visits to the Trio the food was always very good - this time everything ordered was fair and bland. Not up to previous times. Not sure if they have a new chef or what is going on.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Trio Grill had excellent food with an upscale ambience.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I'm torn with this review. The food, atmosphere, and feeling at Trio Grill is fantastic. We visited during Restaurant Week on a Friday night and the place was very busy.

The pros: Like I said, the food was fantastic. Although the "medium-rare" came out a little closer to "rare" on the filet, otherwise the food was cooked, seasoned, and presented to perfection. The atmosphere was a little loud if you were looking to have a quiet conversation, but it was Friday night at a very in-demand restaurant, so I expected and appreciated the energy. It is absolutely worth noting that I would go back just to see the pianist!

The cons: We were seated about 10-15 minutes after our reservation time, being skipped over by a few tables of 2 (we were a party of 4). I have worked in the industry, so I understand how seating works. It was just frustrating as a patron to see four-tops be sat with parties of 2 when we had been there first (and had a reservation). My biggest complaint, though, was the service. Our server was very nice, but was VERY slow. After being seated later than our reservation time, I was already watching the clock and he did not come to greet our table til we had been there for 5 minutes. Our server knew the menu very well, and was able to recommend a bottle of wine based on our meals, but overall things were just a little slower than they should have been.

All in all, it was a nice dinner. Normally the prices are too high for my pocketbook, but I think I would go again during restaurant week, but maybe sit at the bar where service is faster.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always a pleasure and especially fun to introduce friends to our favorite neighborhood restaurant. Super busy during restaurant week, but we managed to get in twice. Excellent choices on offer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food and service was excellent. The ambience was lovely but on the loud side.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.