About TRIO Grill

TRIO Grill is a modern American restaurant in Falls Church, Virginia offering the finest steaks and freshest seafood, an extensive beverage program, and Merrifield’s only cigar lounge. TRIO blends urban sophistication with the relaxed ambiance of a neighborhood grill, making us perfect for date night, after-work drinks or your next private dining occasion.

8100 Lee Highway
Falls Church, VA 22042
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
4:00pm - 10:00pm Monday – Thursday
4:00pm - 11:00pm Friday – Saturday
4:00pm - 9:00pm Sunday

Cross Street:
Gallows Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 992-9200

Website:
http://www.triomerrifield.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for upbeat live piano played on our baby grand!

Parking Details:
TRIO Grill offers both complimentary valet and parking lot options for our guests.

Public Transit:
Walking distance from Dunn Loring Metro Station.

Executive Chef:
Eddie Marine

Additional:
BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are planning a special event, such as a rehearsal dinner or holiday party, we can make our entire restaurant available for brunch, lunch or dinner. You'll have access to all of our rooms, including Private Dining Room, Outdoor Patio and Cigar Lounge.

Private Dining

Inviting and elegant, TRIO Grill is the perfect space for any gathering. Our Event Manager will work hand-in-hand with you to select tailored prix-fixe menus suitable for business dinners, special occasions, or holiday parties complete with wine pairings and hand-crafted cocktails.

TRIO Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for a Date (35)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
See All
Good for Birthdays (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Romantic (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Business Meals (11)
Cozy (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Authentic (8)
Casual (8)
Fun (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Live Music (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Seasonal (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Disabled Access (3)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
785 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent entrees and craft cocktails, great service, loved the live piano music. Would go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Terrific meal and staff was terrific as well. Tuna nachos great. Trio Manhattan very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent service to include complimentary champagne for our anniversary. Loved the variety on the menu to include scallops, buffalo, lamb, and halibut. Kyle was attentive and his wine recommendations proved to be a nice choice to pair with our entrees.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2018

We made reservations to celebrate our friend's finally getting her green card and her path to U.S. citizenship. Our waiter was so friendly and made the evening very special. He congratulated her and then made sure everything was done correctly. We will definitely plan to have our future celebrations at Trio Grill, Falls Church, VA.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 12, 2018

I would highly recommend this restaurant. My family took my mother to Trio Grill for her 87th Birthday. The hostess took us to a table close to the bar which was very, very loud. We asked to be moved away from the bar and the staff was very accommodating, placing us at another table. The food was excellent, service was great and I appreciated how they quickly resolved our issue with the bar noise. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 7, 2018

My boyfriend and I recently tried TRIO for the first time for a date night - we had a great time! The service was absolutely fantastic, we felt welcomed and well attended to throughout our meal. The food was also very good - not sure if it was worth the menu pricing, but we both enjoyed our meals. Good wine list, and supposedly their manhattans are the best in DC!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Had a great dinner with friends. 2 vegetarians in the group, and server was very good about offering options for them. He was attentive and we had a great time.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2018

We tried Trio out for my birthday celebration, and we were not disappointed! Kyle was our server, ave he was excellent - good overview of the restaurant, described the menu well, delivered food and drinks in a timely manner, and had good recommendations for my dietary restrictions. We had the burrata appetizer, and it was a good combination of sweet and healthy with the frisee salad as a part of it - I definitely recommend trying it. I thoroughly enjoyed the tender short ribs, and had the garlic mashed potatoes instead of horseradish, which was a good choice. My husband enjoyed the crusted bison, which had nice flavor as well. Their key lime pie has real limes in it, so you'll taste the shreds, but it's a refreshing flavor. Overall, we had a lovely time and plan to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Service was great. Had our NYE dinner here. Ambiance is good. Our server was attentive. No complaints. Had the Strip, wife had the tuna. Ok. Will return. Love the piano. Will recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Love this place for a special occasion, and NYE fit the bill. Like that they knew we weee returning guests, our server was perfectly balanced for attentiveness and leaving us alone. Food was great as always, cocktails were top shelf. Not sure how to make a busy place less loud, but it would be nice to figure that out. The piano music is a nice touch, but it’s hard to enjoy over the din. Will be back on a quiet night.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2017

This place simply does not disappoint. Our third visit so far and each has been consistently divine.

The New Year’s Eve tasting menu was exciting, and my girlfriend is still thinking about the roast duck (and harboring a deep craving for the duck Wellington served on a previous excursion), the entire staff was friendly and courteous, there was a great atmosphere with live piano renditions of modern chart-topper- I simply can find nothing wrong with our visit.

Highly recommend for any occasion worth celebrating, or even just to treat yourself or somebody you love.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Our meal was well-timed and the presentation was beautiful. The manager and waiter were both very approachable and knowledgeable about the menu. It was a very nice dining experience. We will return!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Lovely restaurant with a great menu. Best mac and cheese I've ever had! The gnocchi appetizer and sesame seared ahi tuna were also wonderful.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Amazing food & a great wine selection , many which are very reasonable . The new winter menu offers a very nice selection of both fish/seafood dishes & meats. The appetizers were great as well ( the tuna tartare nachos were excellent). Service was perfect. We couldn't make it to desert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Always a treat, we choose Trio whenever we have a special occasion. The ambiance is very nice; quiet conversation easy( though at our last visit the background music was a tad loud). The staff is outstanding and contribute greatly to our overall experience with attentive, but not intrusive service and very helpful recommendations. And as an extra bonus for us, we can walk there, so never a parking issue for us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Love Trio but it was so loud we couldn’t talk. Bar was lively. Too lovely.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 22, 2017

We had our family Christmas dinner there with a 1 year. The wait staff was amazing and so sweet to him and he loved the food (especially the sides; carrots, brussels sprouts and Mac and cheese) The food and service was amazing and it was quite enough for us all to hear each other. The ambiance was great, they even had someone singing/playing the piano that night. It made the night extra special. Had a great family dinner at Trio!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2017

casual and elegant at the same time. Portions were not overly large and all had a special twist to them. Chef put together some ingenious dishes!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 21, 2017

Very accommodating ...they really listen to the customer !

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 20, 2017

We had an amazing meal, yet again, at Trio. I always have to start with a Trio Manhattan (best in town) but I had a taste of my friend's cider smash, which was light, sweet, and refreshing. The new winter menu is fantastic. We started with some oysters and the porkbelly appetizer... which was savory & lucious. I had the braised shortrib, which was super tender and tasty. The green beans were delightfully crisp and the carrots were just perfect. Two of my friends ordered the halibut, which was beautifully cooked, light and flakey. Another friend had the pork porterhouse which was tender and juicy (but I prefer last winter's version that was cooked with apples). We had a side of the collard greens at the table which were a big hit! For dessert we had the apple tart, a chocolate cupcake, and the key lime pie (which is my favorite). I love the coconut crust and the toasted marshmallow on top. Mmm Mmm! Wonderful service from JP and the rest of the crew. The live piano music was a hit, too. Would highly recommend to everyone.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 19, 2017

The food was excellent. The ambiance was phenomenal. The service was like no other.

This place is a gem. I'll definitely be back.

Thanks guys for helping me make a special night for my girlfriend's birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 16, 2017

I LOVE THIS PLACE!!! Amazing staff, food, atmosphere .... EVERYTHING!!!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Service and food were great as usual!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 15, 2017

Really amazing food and the service was on point that night. The food was by far the best part. The one down side was that the tables were really close together and it was packed... so it was loud. But that’s expected on a Friday night. Probably the classiest place in Merrifield area. Expect to drop some $$$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 15, 2017

This was my first time at Trio. One person in our party suggested we dine here, because he's been before. I was not disappointed. The food was great and the staff was very friendly!

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Great service here. We were well attended for wine and water refills and people asking how our food was

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 14, 2017

We enjoyed a celebratory friend get together! The drink menu is exciting with great selections from all categories. We enjoyed the potsticker and calamari appetizers, well seasoned and tasty. The salmon, tuna and pork chops were well enjoyed by our group! Each entree was prepared according to our individual likes and thoroughly enjoyed. Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2017

We reserved a table for six and got the wine tasting room. All that privacy was a very special treat. Service was excellent, food was good as always. Very nice. One of my favorite spots!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Friend’s birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Easily the best restaurant in Virginia, maybe the whole DC area. The food is sensational! The presentation is amazing. I ordered the roast chicken. Everyone in our group left nothing on their plate. Can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Amazing food and service. I liken it to Grand Cru in ballston where the food is outstanding and the service is great, but you wouldn’t expect that from the look of the place. We moved out of DC and were worried we wouldn’t find a great restaurant. But this place knocked our socks off. Pork belly, either fish entree, and calamari were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2017

We enjoyed our meal so much. Starting with that amazing bread!we were on a slightly tight schedule as we were going to the Kennedy Center after our our meal. Our waiter Favio (spelling?) was so accommodating. He kept things moving at a perfect pace and was a total delight. He recommended the cauliflower app which was soo flavorful.the cocktails we tried were delicious: Tequila with Love and Moscow Mule. Both couples had the iceberg lettuce salad-so tasty! My husband and I shared the pan seared sea bass special and it was cooked to perfection. Portion sizes of everything were quite generous. Beautiful presentation. We had to dash off to make our show, so couldn't partake in dessert. Look forward to returning soon!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Grrrrrreat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 30, 2017

The food and service were both excellent. We had the lamb and short ribs. For the prices charged, the portion could have been a little larger. The apple dumpling dessert was also excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Cocktails and food were excellent. Decent wine and beer lists. Steaks were cooked to perfection. Staff was attentive and friendly. Piano player was an unexpected plus.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 28, 2017

This restaurant was recommended by our neighbors. We found Trios Grill to have a nice atmosphere; good food, service and entertainment, too. It was our pleasure meeting the manager and some of the employees.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Third or fourth visit to Trio. Food was great as usual and good wine list. Only problem was server who ignored us for 20 minutes. However, management more than rectified the situation and I thought we were more than fairly treated. In fact, the handling of the problem makes me want to return soon.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2017

We asked to sit on the patio. The fireplace was burning and the heaters made sitting outside very pleasant...the music selection added to an already great ambiance. We had excellent service and the food was great as usual! Highly recommend Trio...ask to have Samuel drop by your table and say hello.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 22, 2017

I made a reservation for 8, including two children, for the evening before Thanksgiving. I was very pleased to be seated in the private dining room, where the two children, ages one and five, could run around and yell without disturbing other diners. Our waiter, JP, was excellent in all respects. We had several special needs, and all were taken care of, with good humor. The food was very good, especially the soup and the entree ribs. The tab, including a well earned tip, was $400 plus. It was well worth it. I would go again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2017

Been to Trio Grill many times now. Always impressed with the food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.