About TRIO Grill

8100 Lee Highway
Falls Church, VA 22042
View Larger Map

TRIO Grill is a modern American restaurant in Falls Church, Virginia offering the finest steaks and freshest seafood, an extensive beverage program, and Merrifield’s only cigar lounge. TRIO blends urban sophistication with the relaxed ambiance of a neighborhood grill, making us perfect for date night, after-work drinks or your next private dining occasion.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
4:00pm - 10:00pm Monday – Thursday
4:00pm - 11:00pm Friday – Saturday
4:00pm - 9:00pm Sunday

Cross Street:
Gallows Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 992-9200

Website:
http://www.triomerrifield.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for upbeat live piano played on our baby grand!

Parking Details:
TRIO Grill offers both complimentary valet and parking lot options for our guests.

Public Transit:
Walking distance from Dunn Loring Metro Station.

Executive Chef:
Eddie Marine

Additional:
BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are planning a special event, such as a rehearsal dinner or holiday party, we can make our entire restaurant available for brunch, lunch or dinner. You'll have access to all of our rooms, including Private Dining Room, Outdoor Patio and Cigar Lounge.

Private Dining

Inviting and elegant, TRIO Grill is the perfect space for any gathering. Our Event Manager will work hand-in-hand with you to select tailored prix-fixe menus suitable for business dinners, special occasions, or holiday parties complete with wine pairings and hand-crafted cocktails.

TRIO Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Falls Church ›

Special Occasion (52)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
See All
Romantic (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Notable Wine List (30)
Good for Groups (24)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Fireplace (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Seasonal (5)
Private Room (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Casual (1)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
Newest
474 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We are regulars. Trio Grill is always a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

We are regulars. Trio Grill is always a good bet for a weekend outing. Great salads and starters, great filet and fish. Portions are just right. Nice wine list.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We went on a Sunday night and enjoyed a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went on a Sunday night and enjoyed a beautiful evening on the outdoor area. We had great service with excellent recommendations by the server in terms of suggested fresh, seasonal apps as well as entrees. He was on target with everything. The pace of the meal was well done and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening! Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fireplace, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm surprised that this doesn't head Tom ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I'm surprised that this doesn't head Tom Sietsema's lists of best restaurants. Great food -- the chef is terrific. Latest was a duck soup if you can believe it -- delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here a multiple occasions g ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We have been here a multiple occasions generally as a celebration meal. We love that its easy to get to and a nice spot outside of DC . My Husband and I really enjoy the atmosphere and the food option.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Live Music, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We ate here for our anniversary. The foo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We ate here for our anniversary. The food, wine, ambiance was great

Our waiter was attentive without being overly intrusive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Our waiter (I believe ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Excellent service. Our waiter (I believe his name was Sam) was extremely polite and attentive and gave great recommendations on what to drink and eat. Was in the area for work and would definitely go back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Once again, really great food, priced re ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Once again, really great food, priced reasonably. Great chef!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my first time here and I'll DEF ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was my first time here and I'll DEFINITELY come back! All of our food items were beyond delicious (if there's even a word for that), the seating was great, noise level low, music was fun and up beat, drinks were great! Service was a little slow but we were on a 'date' with my mom so it was nice to catch up with her anyway.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Hot Spot, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, People Watching, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Private Room, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Samuel our waiter was amazing! He was so ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Samuel our waiter was amazing! He was so knowledgeable of the restaurant and their history! He was extremely attentive and made our dining experience that much more pleasurable. We will definitely be returning! The food was to die for! Every dish was delicious! Can't wait to bring our friends back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four of us went on a Friday night. The p ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Four of us went on a Friday night. The parking lot was full so we chose the valet parking, the valets were friendly and very efficient. A pianist was playing quietly in the front of the dining room which was a nice touch. Those were the high points, the rest of the visit was surreal. We were given menus and a wine list when we were seated. Our waiter came by, welcomed us and took our drink orders. The drinks were delivered and he went away. Several minutes later he came back and took our orders for appetizers only. He left again. The menus were still on the table. The appetizers were served. The menus were still on the table. After 15-20 minutes or so, we finished the appetizers. The menus were still on the table, the waiter had not returned. We waited. And waited. They were not real busy, perhaps 8-10 tables at the time. And waited. No waiter. Finally, I asked another member of the wait staff if he could find our waiter. The menus were still on the table. Our waiter came and took our order; we'd been there 45 minutes. He took the menus. In less than 10 minutes we had our food. I wondered how they'd prepared it so quickly, it literally came out so quickly I was thinking perhaps that it was pre-cooked and sitting in a pan or under a warmer. The scallops were overcooked and slightly tough. The ribeye was sinewy although cooked properly. The filet mignon, however, was perfectly cooked and flavored. The appetizers were okay. Not perfect. We had chosen to eat here because of positive past experience and the menu that was on line. The actual menu was not the same as the web menu. This visit was a disappointment.

I would recommend this place to a friend because I think this trip was an aberration. We have eaten at Trio several times...this was out of the ordinary.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We love this restaurant and Chef Kelly. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We love this restaurant and Chef Kelly. The food is always inspired and delicious. Sometimes the food is too spicy and that takes away from it. Why would a watermelon appetizer need hot oil - yuk.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We dined on a Sunday night so the restau ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We dined on a Sunday night so the restaurant was not very crowded and we parked right in front. I've read that there is usually no parking available and they have valet service, but not on this Sunday night. We were seated at the outdoor patio and it was very nice and quiet. The menu was varied. I ordered the salmon and my husband had the scallops. Both were delicious with a different and interesting preparation. For dessert my husband had the strawberry shortcake. He was happy that it came with pound cake and not the hard biscuits that a lot of restaurants use nowadays. All in all it was a great dinner, will go to Trio again.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The staff was professional and the oyste ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The staff was professional and the oyster appetizer was very good. The entrees weren't quite up to par though. My fiancee and I both had steak. The steaks were cooked to the correct temperature but were not well seasoned or seared. The price of the steaks was equal to that of a high end steakhouse chain but the quality was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Food was great but the service was even ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was great but the service was even better! Ryan our waiter was attentive and nice. Food came on time and they remembered the birthday celebrants. Prices were not bad too. Would go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good, well priced food w great serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very good, well priced food w great service. Creative menu that changes seasonally. Very good wine list. Only drawback is parking lot off busy street could be bigger.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Private Room, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Trio to celebra ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

My husband and I went to Trio to celebrate a special occasion. My husband liked his dinner, but mine, the Rockfish dish, seemed to be crusted in salt, and was so salty as to be inedible. It sat on top of some sort of corn mush, which was extremely sweet, contrasting poorly with the over salted fish.

Nice atmosphere with a piano player, but sadly inedible food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Good, solid date night place or for catc ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Good, solid date night place or for catching up with a friend (not too loud). Tuna tartare nachos were delicious. Main dishes good; service good. There are more popular places in the area that we couldn't get into, but this place delivers and treats you well. Free valet parking is great, too, as the lot is small and crammed. No need to worry about it. Always a good option, of which there aren't enough around.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Trio's chef is amazing. Her name is Kel ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Trio's chef is amazing. Her name is Kelly Morrison and she produces some wonderful dishes. Last time we dined there, we had a corn bisque that was delicately flavored. The rockfish dish is great too. The parking situation is a little ugly, as usually there is no parking and sometimes too many cars trying to do valet. But we go quite frequently, as the food is worth the hassle.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I chose Trio Grill to cel ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

My husband and I chose Trio Grill to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had been there a few times before but had never eaten on their patio. We were not disappointed. Since we went on a Wednesday evening, it was not very crowded, and we shared the patio with only a few other tables of guests. Our server, Isabel, was very attentive as were the other staff rotating through, filling our water glasses and clearing plates. The meal was excellent. We started with shrimp fritters, which did not resemble fritters but which tasted great anyway. I had the heirloom tomato salad since it was so seasonal, husband stuck with the tried and true wedge salad; both were excellent. His strip steak and my rib eye were cooked perfectly; the portions were huge so we needed to bring some home, which made for a nice encore.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten here multiple times and ne ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We have eaten here multiple times and never been disappointed. This last time as Chef Kelly was leaving she took the time to chat with us. This is an approachable restaurant with food that is creative and not over done--quality down to the cocktails and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been to Trios several times and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have been to Trios several times and have never been disappointed. We were lucky enough to have reservations this time during Restaurant Week. The food and value were even greater. The salmon and short ribs were both delicious and the key lime pie was divine !

The bread here is the best around and a generous size portion as well!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Short ribs sauce very good, short ribs h ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Short ribs sauce very good, short ribs had no taste

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Second time heading to Trio Grill. Both ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Second time heading to Trio Grill. Both times the food was excellent and on Friday having the live piano provides for great ambiance. Had to remind the waiter that I had ordered a glass of wine to be brought with my filet mignon, but other than that it was an excellent meal and experience. We will return and highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I went to TRIO Grill for Restaurant Week ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I went to TRIO Grill for Restaurant Week. TRIO had a bit of a different take on $35 for 3 courses. They offered this, as well as the regular menu. But they also offered a chef's tasting menu for $55, $75 with wine pairings. This is what I had. I ordered the special appetizer (lamb-stuffed arancini - excellent), the special entree (pork shank - excellent), and the special dessert (peach bread pudding - excellent). The wine pairings were also excellent, although I would have liked a bit more of each wine.

Our server, JP, was excellent.

Our reservation was for 6:30, so the restaurant was quiet when we first got there. It got noisier and noisier as the evening wore on, to the point that, by the time we were ready to leave, it became difficult to hear.

Nevertheless, my friends, who had never been to TRIO before, both raved about their dinners. We all agreed we'd go back for more.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service was excellent. Serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food, service was excellent. Server was very attentive. Met friends for dinner. Ate outside...very nice atmosphere. Would recommend and will be going again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to TRIO at least 1-2 a week ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I have been to TRIO at least 1-2 a week all summer. It is undoubtedly one of my favorite restaurants in the whole area. Be back soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We caught Trio for the first day of Rest ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We caught Trio for the first day of Restaurant Week, and are thinking about squeezing in a second trip. Peach BBQ short ribs? Don't get me started. One of the best meals I've ever had. I can also heartily recommend the corn bisque and key lime pie (with meringue!!!!!!). Monique provided superb service.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here. A friend was interested ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First time here. A friend was interested in trying Trio and I had heard about it before and had always wanted to try the restaurant myself. Looking at the memu we saw they had a tomahawk steak and neither my friend or I have had one and have been interested in trying so we ordered the steak. It was amazing, from the quality of the meat, to the cooking and presentation. The food was fantastic. Our server was very friendly and helpful as well.

Highly recommend the restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was under seasoned including the bu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was under seasoned including the butter. Bread was good but also lacked flavor. Staff very professional as you'd find in upscale restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

This was my second time at Trio and the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was my second time at Trio and the food is just as good if not better than the first time i had it and was blown away. The service is top notch and the staff is very attentive and the know how to make sure you are getting exactly what you want and having a great time. I will be back again and again as the greens are to die for and the best i have ever had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious burrata appetizer and very ten ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Delicious burrata appetizer and very tender, tasty steaks. Customer service was superb.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The restaurant chose to book two large, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The restaurant chose to book two large, noisy private parties, both of which had at least partial use of the main dining room. It was impossible to enjoy the work of a very talented chef amidst the din.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value1

Food, service, atmosphere- all divine. I ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food, service, atmosphere- all divine. I implore anyone to give this place a shot, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I thoroughly enjoyed my dinner, probably ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed my dinner, probably my third visit to Trio Grill. Had the best waiter! He made the experience really nice, too. He told me about the crab cakes that did not disappoint! We ate early one Saturday so the noise level was probably lower than at peak. Try this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was terrific. The live pi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The restaurant was terrific. The live pianist was an additional treat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our first time visit.. everything ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It was our first time visit.. everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance was excellent. Great decor, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The ambiance was excellent. Great decor, very open and warm. It took a little while ( about 5 minutes) to be greeted and it took even longer to get our water and roughly 15 mins to get our wine.

However, once we had our drinks, the night marginally improved. Our waitress, Monique, made fabulous reccomendations. I had the seared tuna and my dad had the short rib-- both of which were incredible. They sent out the pork belly appetizer as a surprise treat and also two desserts since we were celebrating my dad's birthday. It was incredibly thoughtful and each dish was outstanding.

We were taken very good care of and Monique even wrote a hand written card wishing my dad a happy birthday. This restaurant is pricier than most I am used to but it was worth every dollar. Trio provided a great experience and I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything was outstanding and delicious ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Everything was outstanding and delicious. I will invite friends and family to join.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Monique, was outstanding -- ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our server, Monique, was outstanding -- friendly, funny, helpful, generous. This was better experience than even two parents out without the kids were hoping for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Trio is an amazing find with a stellar m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Trio is an amazing find with a stellar menu that features my favorites plus enough change to make repeat dining exciting. The staff and management are top-notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.