About TRIO Grill

8100 Lee Highway
Falls Church, VA 22042
View Larger Map

TRIO Grill is a modern American restaurant in Falls Church, Virginia offering the finest steaks and freshest seafood, an extensive beverage program, and Merrifield’s only cigar lounge. TRIO blends urban sophistication with the relaxed ambiance of a neighborhood grill, making us perfect for date night, after-work drinks or your next private dining occasion.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
4:00pm - 10:00pm Monday – Thursday
4:00pm - 11:00pm Friday – Saturday
4:00pm - 9:00pm Sunday

Cross Street:
Gallows Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 992-9200

Website:
http://www.triomerrifield.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for upbeat live piano played on our baby grand!

Parking Details:
TRIO Grill offers both complimentary valet and parking lot options for our guests.

Public Transit:
Walking distance from Dunn Loring Metro Station.

Executive Chef:
Eddie Marine

Additional:
BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are planning a special event, such as a rehearsal dinner or holiday party, we can make our entire restaurant available for brunch, lunch or dinner. You'll have access to all of our rooms, including Private Dining Room, Outdoor Patio and Cigar Lounge.

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Celebrate with us!

Private Dining

Inviting and elegant, TRIO Grill is the perfect space for any gathering. Our Event Manager will work hand-in-hand with you to select tailored prix-fixe menus suitable for business dinners, special occasions, or holiday parties complete with wine pairings and hand-crafted cocktails.

TRIO Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Washington, D.C. Area
Contemporary American
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Falls Church ›

Special Occasion (51)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
See All
Notable Wine List (30)
Romantic (30)
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Business Meals (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Fireplace (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Seasonal (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Cozy (8)
Private Room (8)
Fun (7)
Live Music (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Authentic (5)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Live Sports (3)
Casual (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
504 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a reliable choice for that more s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a reliable choice for that more special dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

THE BEST!!! David and his team are unbea ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

THE BEST!!! David and his team are unbeatable! Why go into the city when you can get even better service, food and ambiance here!? My husband and I had our family In town for the holidays and knew just where to come. They treat us like celebrities every time we're there! Everyone went above and beyond to make our experience incredible. Our waiter, Sam was amazing and we will definitely be requesting him next time we're in. Thank you again and again for continuous outstanding, memorable service. We will be back over and over again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner! From the minute we wal ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Fantastic dinner! From the minute we walked in! The service was great and the food outstanding . We'll definitely go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great service and great food. I t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Really great service and great food. I took my wife there for her birthday and she couldn't have been happier and they couldn't have been any nicer. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was a very nice restaurant. Food was ver ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Was a very nice restaurant. Food was very good. I think the prices are high, though. I ordered the scallops and received THREE of them over brocollini for $30+ dollars. They were delicious, but that is just too much money for the portion. Calamari was fantastic. Tuna nachos were good, but hardly any tuna. Others in my party had seared tuna, halibut and short ribs. All said were excellent. Side of fries with duck fat dipping sauce not so great.. would pass next time. Good restaurant, nice ambiance, but overpriced.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

When we booked the reservation at Trio, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

When we booked the reservation at Trio, we knew nothing about it other than what we learned on Open Table. We were meeting an out of town friend for dinner, a friend who is not too adventurous when it comes to different cuisines--she regards a mussel with suspicion. We thought there were a few things on the Trio menu she might enjoy. From the moment we arrived, we knew we had made the right decision. The great service started with the valet parking attendant and continued throughout the meal. We followed staff recommendations for appetizers, entrees, and dessert--all were right on the mark. Especially interesting was the duck platter appetizer. It consisted of two parts--duck pate accompanied by bread for spreading, and slices of delicately smoked duck. If you like duck, it's a must. My wife and I both enjoyed the divers scallops, served over broccoli rabe on a bed of Italian sausage risotto. The scallops were perfectly grilled--they melted in our mouths as advertised. The risotto was also of the proper texture and consistency--not overcooked as it is so easy to do. Our friend had the shrimp and grits. They were accompanied by pork rinds which she complained were too hot, but spiciness is always a matter of personal taste. The wine list is extensive, with many good choices. However, the markup charged on each bottle compared to what you would pay at retail seemed excessive. In fact, if there is one knock on Trio, it's that it is a little pricey across the board. However, if you don't mind paying a bit more for superb food and friendly, professional service, then Trio is for you. We plan to return with family.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Trio Grill is probably my favorite resta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Trio Grill is probably my favorite restaurant in the Northern Virginia area. The food is outstanding. We ordered filet mignon which was cooked perfectly and was very tender. The burrata appetizer was delicious and very interesting (no tomatoes - the chef used peaches). I heartily recommend it - the burrata was very fresh. The apple dumpling with ginger ice cream and caramel topped off a wonderful meal. I can't forget to mention the great service from our server who was outstanding, the manager, and the very creative chef who also came to meet us. This place has it all -i t's the real deal!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every bite of the meal was delicious and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Every bite of the meal was delicious and the service was top notch. The Tuna Tartare Nacho appetizer was delightful and the cod and salmon entrees were both crazy flavorful. We finished the meal with Key Lime Pie for dessert, another delightful dish. On top of the fine food and service, the ambiance is fun and modern.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

David made us feel extremely welcome -kn ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

David made us feel extremely welcome -knew so much about wines that he educated us as well as entertained us with background information on what we were trying! Consistently delicious, from appetizers (calamari delicious) to main course (superb filet mignon) to dessert (ample key lime pie, not too sweet, with lots of lime zest). Faultless experience!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. Love the food. So happy ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love this place. Love the food. So happy to have stumbled upon it!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always on par with their service above ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Always on par with their service above and beyond.

Food is always amazing !!! I just prefer the original pork belly menu , other than that it's always perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service and dining! The chef ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Outstanding service and dining! The chef came out and spoke with us.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TRIO Grill is outstanding! This was my s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 1, 2016

TRIO Grill is outstanding! This was my second visit here and it was just as good as I remembered! Service is excellent- from the greeting at the front door, the hostess, waiters and really just the entire staff. Everyone makes you feel welcome and treats you like a VIP. My husband and I had a three course meal and split our appetizers and dessert and ordered a bottle of wine. Every dish was delicious and we nearly licked our plates clean. They were very nice and brought our dessert out with a special birthday candle and glasses of champagne. If you have a special occasion to celebrate or are looking for a great meal and nice ambience, give TRIO grill a try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trio Grill is our new, favorite "go to" ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Trio Grill is our new, favorite "go to" restaurant. The food is absolutely delicious, perfect temperature, creative and beautifully plated. The staff is knowledgeable, easy going, attentive, polite, welcoming, authentic (not uppity) and so very helpful but not overbearing. The atmosphere is warm and cozy and the music is a fantastic mix of different genres. The drinks and wine list are lovely with something for everyone. If you're a brussel sprout fan they are fantastic! The Diver scallops are another winner...they were perfect! The price is very reasonable for what you get. In DC you'd easily pay twice as much for what you get at the Trio. You will not be disappointed at the Trio!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not for kids. Nothing exceptional but no ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Not for kids. Nothing exceptional but nothing terrible. The place is like a nice hotel restaurant . There is no character or theme.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I liked the new seasonal menu. We ordere ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I liked the new seasonal menu. We ordered 4 starters and were quite happy. We like to eat here after the movies at Mosaic. The booths and chairs are comfortably cushioned, prices reasonable, good wine selection. Not crowded early til 8 on Friday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Drove from Baltimore for dinner before a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Drove from Baltimore for dinner before a concert at Eaglebank (about a 20-25 min drive). Live piano music on Friday night was 🙌🏼. Celebrating my grandparents 60th wedding anniversary...Rory (our waiter) was so patient and attentive. Sweet Jesus oysters were some of the best I've had along with a seasonal fresh Barrata (mozzarella cheese ball). Steaks were a hit all the way around. The special monkfish wasn't so special and I was still kinda hungry. The desserts were just ok. A highlight was definitely the cocktails. My boyfriend and my grandfather thouroughly enjoyed "the porch swing" (a bourbon cocktail). Deck seating with heaters and a wood burning fireplace is also an awesome feature. Overall, you get what you pay for...it was worth the $.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I love everything about Trio! The food ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I love everything about Trio! The food is fantastic. Decor and service are perfect. Trio is now my favorite place to take a friend to.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a lovely dinner. Their pork bell ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Enjoyed a lovely dinner. Their pork belly appetizer and oysters were delicious. Good wine selection and ambience. I ordered the diver scallops and sausage risotto and my date chose the short rib. Food was great. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My father and I had date night here and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

My father and I had date night here and it was perfect. Great menu, great service, decor is spot on, and food was splendid. My father had the scallops and I had the halibut. We also ordered a couple sides and a nice bottle of wine. Monday nights is 1/2 off wines and they also recorked the left over. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expected a higher level of service here; ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Expected a higher level of service here; bartender didn't acknowledge us until I caught eye contact with him at the other end of the bar, he then walked over and stared at us expecting us to say something to him instead of asking us if we're ready, or have any questions/recommendations he has, etc., oh did I mention they had just opened and they only had 2 guests in the restaurant..we ordered 2 drinks and an app. We then proceeded to go in the dining room expecting a better start..we order drinks and 2 apps; the server comes over and asks me for my ID, despite the fact that we had transferred our checks in the dining room from the bar..does not check my partners ID who's dining with me..not a big deal, just doesn't add up..bread comes out before he even fills our waters or deliver drinks. The experience was too awkward and lacked attention to detail for us to continue and have entrees. To top it off, I ordered the same drink at the bar and the dining room, neither were the same price and no the bar didn't have happy hour for my drink. Hope this review helps the business owners implement more detailed and professional service with communication and not be so dead when the guests come in..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The barrel aged Manhattans are the best. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The barrel aged Manhattans are the best. Kevin the bartender, makes the best drinks this side of the Atlantic. Food is very very good.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We were celebrating our first wedding an ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We were celebrating our first wedding anniversary with you all - the food was fantastic and the service was exemplary. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

David and his team could not be any bett ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

David and his team could not be any better! My husband and I choose to come to Trio for all occasions because it's doesn't get better than this! The service is perfect and the food is incredible! We've never had a dish we didn't love and I already can't wait to go back! Thank you David and thank you Trio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Autumn menu is amazing! Don't miss it

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Autumn menu is amazing! Don't miss it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't honestly say I've had a better r ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I can't honestly say I've had a better restaurant experience for a birthday ever before. Pretty sure this will become a tradition and my go to spot for birthdays moving forward.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasantly surprised. The food was deli ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious and the service was great. My wife and I decided to try it out on a whim and both of us really enjoyed our meals, the atmosphere, and the service. We will definitely return again soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Have been coming here since 2013 and the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Have been coming here since 2013 and the quality hasnt waivered since then. There is sometimes live piano music which is really nice. The food is excellent. It is a steakhouse but they have good seafood and alternative options. The cocktails are great and so is the wine selection. Have discovered great wines based on the wait staff recommendations. There is outdoor seating and cigar selection as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live nearby and can't believe how luc ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We live nearby and can't believe how lucky we are to have such a great restaurant at our fingertips. We find it hard to choose any other place when we are looking for a nice date night, birthday, or anniversary dinner. The food, service, and atmosphere are always great. The short rib and the chicken were both excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We are regulars. Trio Grill is always a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We are regulars. Trio Grill is always a good bet for a weekend outing. Great salads and starters, great filet and fish. Portions are just right. Nice wine list.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We went on a Sunday night and enjoyed a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went on a Sunday night and enjoyed a beautiful evening on the outdoor area. We had great service with excellent recommendations by the server in terms of suggested fresh, seasonal apps as well as entrees. He was on target with everything. The pace of the meal was well done and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening! Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fireplace, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm surprised that this doesn't head Tom ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I'm surprised that this doesn't head Tom Sietsema's lists of best restaurants. Great food -- the chef is terrific. Latest was a duck soup if you can believe it -- delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here a multiple occasions g ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2016

We have been here a multiple occasions generally as a celebration meal. We love that its easy to get to and a nice spot outside of DC . My Husband and I really enjoy the atmosphere and the food option.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Live Music, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We ate here for our anniversary. The foo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We ate here for our anniversary. The food, wine, ambiance was great

Our waiter was attentive without being overly intrusive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Our waiter (I believe ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Excellent service. Our waiter (I believe his name was Sam) was extremely polite and attentive and gave great recommendations on what to drink and eat. Was in the area for work and would definitely go back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Once again, really great food, priced re ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Once again, really great food, priced reasonably. Great chef!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my first time here and I'll DEF ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was my first time here and I'll DEFINITELY come back! All of our food items were beyond delicious (if there's even a word for that), the seating was great, noise level low, music was fun and up beat, drinks were great! Service was a little slow but we were on a 'date' with my mom so it was nice to catch up with her anyway.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Hot Spot, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, People Watching, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Private Room, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Samuel our waiter was amazing! He was so ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Samuel our waiter was amazing! He was so knowledgeable of the restaurant and their history! He was extremely attentive and made our dining experience that much more pleasurable. We will definitely be returning! The food was to die for! Every dish was delicious! Can't wait to bring our friends back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four of us went on a Friday night. The p ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Four of us went on a Friday night. The parking lot was full so we chose the valet parking, the valets were friendly and very efficient. A pianist was playing quietly in the front of the dining room which was a nice touch. Those were the high points, the rest of the visit was surreal. We were given menus and a wine list when we were seated. Our waiter came by, welcomed us and took our drink orders. The drinks were delivered and he went away. Several minutes later he came back and took our orders for appetizers only. He left again. The menus were still on the table. The appetizers were served. The menus were still on the table. After 15-20 minutes or so, we finished the appetizers. The menus were still on the table, the waiter had not returned. We waited. And waited. They were not real busy, perhaps 8-10 tables at the time. And waited. No waiter. Finally, I asked another member of the wait staff if he could find our waiter. The menus were still on the table. Our waiter came and took our order; we'd been there 45 minutes. He took the menus. In less than 10 minutes we had our food. I wondered how they'd prepared it so quickly, it literally came out so quickly I was thinking perhaps that it was pre-cooked and sitting in a pan or under a warmer. The scallops were overcooked and slightly tough. The ribeye was sinewy although cooked properly. The filet mignon, however, was perfectly cooked and flavored. The appetizers were okay. Not perfect. We had chosen to eat here because of positive past experience and the menu that was on line. The actual menu was not the same as the web menu. This visit was a disappointment.

I would recommend this place to a friend because I think this trip was an aberration. We have eaten at Trio several times...this was out of the ordinary.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We love this restaurant and Chef Kelly. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We love this restaurant and Chef Kelly. The food is always inspired and delicious. Sometimes the food is too spicy and that takes away from it. Why would a watermelon appetizer need hot oil - yuk.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.