About TRIO Grill

8100 Lee Highway
Falls Church, VA 22042
View Larger Map

TRIO Grill is a modern American restaurant in Falls Church, Virginia offering the finest steaks and freshest seafood, an extensive beverage program, and Merrifield’s only cigar lounge. TRIO blends urban sophistication with the relaxed ambiance of a neighborhood grill, making us perfect for date night, after-work drinks or your next private dining occasion.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
4:00pm - 10:00pm Monday – Thursday
4:00pm - 11:00pm Friday – Saturday
4:00pm - 9:00pm Sunday

Cross Street:
Gallows Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 992-9200

Website:
http://www.triomerrifield.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for upbeat live piano played on our baby grand!

Parking Details:
TRIO Grill offers both complimentary valet and parking lot options for our guests.

Public Transit:
Walking distance from Dunn Loring Metro Station.

Executive Chef:
Eddie Marine

Additional:
Cigar Room, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are planning a special event, such as a rehearsal dinner or holiday party, we can make our entire restaurant available for brunch, lunch or dinner. You'll have access to all of our rooms, including Private Dining Room, Outdoor Patio and Cigar Lounge.

Private Dining

Inviting and elegant, TRIO Grill is the perfect space for any gathering. Our Event Manager will work hand-in-hand with you to select tailored prix-fixe menus suitable for business dinners, special occasions, or holiday parties complete with wine pairings and hand-crafted cocktails.

TRIO Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Falls Church ›

special occasion (61)
fit for foodies (54)
neighborhood gem (42)
See All
romantic (32)
notable wine list (31)
great for outdoor dining (31)
good for groups (30)
hot spot (15)
vibrant bar scene (11)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
429 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server, Monique, was outstanding -- ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our server, Monique, was outstanding -- friendly, funny, helpful, generous. This was better experience than even two parents out without the kids were hoping for.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Trio is an amazing find with a stellar m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Trio is an amazing find with a stellar menu that features my favorites plus enough change to make repeat dining exciting. The staff and management are top-notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, Samuel, was awesome! He was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter, Samuel, was awesome! He was definitely one of the reasons my friends and I enjoyed our evening as much as we did.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience; food is incredible; dr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience; food is incredible; drinks and wine list are top shelf. Had lamb chops; rockfish, filet, short ribs and shrimp fritter appetizer. Quality is as good as Great American restaurants but a tad more expensive. Service and Ambience were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Beautiful décor and live piano made for ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful décor and live piano made for great ambience. Food was delicious, worth the $.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very professional, great variety of sele ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Very professional, great variety of selections, nice atmosphere. My colleagues really liked the specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding meal, and I personal visit f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstanding meal, and I personal visit from Chef Kelly top off our dinner. Staff and management our outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I came to Trio on a date. We ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My wife and I came to Trio on a date. We really like it a lot. We started out with a summer salad and a beef carpaccio. Both were very good.

For the main course we had the eggplant and the short rib and for a side the fried brussel sprouts. My wife really really enjoyed the eggplant and I loved the short rib. Part of the short rib is the collard greens with bacon. I would return just for the collard greens with bacon they were that good.

For dessert we had the key lime pie which was very good but not traditional. It was more like a key lime cheesecake with coconut crust. I liked it a lot but if you are a traditional key lime pie lover you may have issues.

We were particularly impressed with the service, everybody was very friendly and the food was prepared and delivered in a on-time manner not too fast but not too slow either. Our main server, a woman, was very good. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have now dined at Trios two times. Bo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We have now dined at Trios two times. Both dinners have been outstanding. This restaurant is without a doubt some of the finest food in the DC Metro area. We have had appetizers, soups, salads, meat, fish and desserts! Every morsel has been exceptional! Maitre d', Dragan, is extremely professional and attentive. Chef Kelly is amazing! Her story is beautiful, and we love the passion with which she carries out her profession. Trios has created an entire atmosphere. Dining is not merely food. It is an experience! We are now regulars, and are making sure our friends try Trios. Be careful - as just one visit will have you hooked!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The diner was in honor of a special occa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The diner was in honor of a special occasion and the food, as well as the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I thought it was the steakhouse restaura ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I thought it was the steakhouse restaurant but I was disappointed with the beef and fish. Other main and apps were fine but I don't think I would go back as they don't have any special dishes to crave for.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our second visit to Trio Grill. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was our second visit to Trio Grill. The gist of my review of our first visit, about six months ago, was that the food was really good but the service we'd had was terrible. It speaks to the quality of the food that we were willing to try the place again. We were pleased at this second visit. that we given menus and water shortly after we were seated and that food arrived in a timely fashion.

The food is still, really, very good. We particularly enjoyed our appetizers--roasted cauliflower and kale caesar salad. The waiter made sure I was aware that there was white anchovy in the salad (probably because some people don't like it). Our entrees were good; however, the seared tuna, which I ordered "medium," was served with what would be comparable to "blue center" in steak.

The key lime pie was excellent.

Service was good up until the time that we submitted our credit card. After waiting a really unreasonable time for our waiter to return with our card, we asked the manager for assistance in allowing us to pay for our meal.

Food is still very good; service still needs some work.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Service and ambiance were great but once ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service and ambiance were great but once again food was average at best. I came back after nearly six months hoping food was improved, but nope. I think this will definitely be my last visit to Trio. It's too bad because I really like the service, ambiance and location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was excellent. Great proportion ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The food was excellent. Great proportions but the service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really delicious food and excellent serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Really delicious food and excellent service. It was our 5th anniversary, and they really went out of their way to make it a special occasion for us. We'll definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TRIO was great! The food was wonderful a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

TRIO was great! The food was wonderful and our server was fantastic. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, excellent and attentive ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent food, excellent and attentive service. One of our favorite places to go without our children!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

2nd time at this restaurant and even better this

 
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Time around. We had an awesome waitress which made it very pleasant experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice ambience, great service with a smil ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Nice ambience, great service with a smile, excellent cuisine!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eatingoutwell

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent, excellent, excellent! The staff and service were truly impressive. I have not dined in a more customer friendly environment: everyone smiled, greeted you and made the experience incredibly pleasant. The food, the spacing between delivery of appetizers, salads,entrees and desserts, etc and the impeccable service were well versed. Kudos to our primary server and to the team.

We all look forward to going back soon and sitting in the patio area (it was raining the night we went) Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our visit was very enjoyable. The food w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our visit was very enjoyable. The food was delicious and our waiter was very helpful and made great recommendations. The service was very attentive without smothering us. We will definitely be back soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our go-to restaurant

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Trio Grill never disappoints. It is the restaurant we count on for good meals when new restaurants we try fall short. The Manhattans and tuna nachos are must orders during every visit. We vary main courses and everything we've tried has been excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In general the food and cooked very well ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

In general the food and cooked very well.

However we noticed a heavy emphasis to use Kale - everywhere! Caesar salads are romaine - not kale. There should always be one or two standards on the menu to off-set the trendy items.

Noise level was perfect. Seating was very good - tables were adequately spaced.

Desserts were probably the weakest point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was perfect...just wish it wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Everything was perfect...just wish it was a little quieter.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

food was great and plenty of it----bar w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

food was great and plenty of it----bar was great with good selection of drinks--bourbon was outstanding---- a little pricy but after all was said and done it was worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A little pricey but large portions

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

A little pricey but large portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Local Gem

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great place for a fine meal, especially if you are a meat lover. Lots of very tasty appetizers and an excellent choice of wines, specialty drinks and after dinner choices. The service was absolutely excellent. Not your everyday restaurant but a fantastic choice for the special occasion or that rare night out when you want to indulge. Highly recommend.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent evening outing to celebrate my ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent evening outing to celebrate my wife's Birthday! Excellent phone service when making the reservation by Naveen, wonderful reception by Joe at the door upon arrival; Carlos was excellent behind the bar and Will as our server was equally excellent. Overall, a very attentive, professional and smooth staff, not intrusive in their service, just perfectly timing checking on us and ensuring a wonderful experience. Now, the food and drink -- Superb!!!! We had the full gamut of appetizers, entrees and wine. Each were superior in presentation and taste. In closing, we will definitely return and the Trio Grill has been added to our list for both personal and business related outings where superior service, food and drink come together in a delightful venue, including a cigar bar for those enjoying the after meal experience. Thank You Trio Grill Team, see you again and soon!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, but not service

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I ate dinner at Trio's on Mother's Day. The food was very good, as it has been during my previous visits. But the service this time didn't measure up to the food. Not only was the service very slow, particularly on drinks, but the wait staff forgot a side order and didn't record one drink order. Could it have been reduced staff following Mother's Day brunch? Maybe - but with reservations, the restaurant should know how many people to have on staff for the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We always receive the best service and a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We always receive the best service and always come back for more. We appreciated the flower upon our departure. It was a wonderful evening and Trio Grill remains as our top pick restaurant, especially for special occasions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner at Trio's

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our first time to come to Trio's. It had been recommended by my Mom's hairdresser, so she (Mom) picked it as her choice for a Mother's Day dinner. We loved all of the food choices, cocktails, desserts. Our waiter was very efficient and knew every detail of the items on the menu. He was attentive but not overly attentive so as to make us feel that we needed to hurry.

We look forward to coming to Trio's again in the future. My Mom intends to recommend it to her monthly luncheon group.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch on Mother's Day

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Trip Grill for brunch on Mother's Day and we were very impressed with the food and the service and the ambiance. We had never been before and saw it on the list of available restaurants when I looked on Open Table. They do not normally do brunch, but they should! It was a buffet and the food was amazing. The selection was even better and from a small raw bar to exquisite desserts and a beautiful carving of Prime Rib, everything I had was great.

We will go back for dinner but I would love to see them offer brunch on a regular basis!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Gross food & Staff not helpful

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was interesting to say the least -- but not in a good way. The prices are absolutely ridiculous for what you actually get. The flavors and taste were very off putting. I would not recommend this place to anyone. You can tell money is the bottom line at this place and their not out to make the customer experience pleasant. We had a problem with our food during our visit (pork served to a non-pork eater) and were reminded it was our problem not theirs. The ambiance of the restaurant was very pleasant, with a live piano player. The menu looked like it would be fun to explore -- however we were vastly disappointed on all counts here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Want a great dining experience?

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

So many restaurants are ho-hum or don't have both good food and good service - this isn't one of them. Chef Kelly is inspired. She makes tasty and beautiful food. We always try to take pictures, but the food looks so good, we dive in before we remember to take the picture. I loved her halibut and was sad when she took it off the menu, until I tried the red snapper she replaced it with. It was tender and tasty and beautifully served as a whole fish, but without the bones - how did she do that? The wait staff is friendly and there when you need them. Sharif is especially good at recommending that we try new things. He is so enthusiastic about the food that it makes us excited --- and he never steers us wrong. He is upbeat and makes dining at Trio a fun experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it, I will go again.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Loved it, I will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Didn't have a very good experience at Tr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Didn't have a very good experience at Trio Grill. Food was over cooked and it took a while to be served. Wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

surprising seasonally delectable choices

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We shared our choices to experience as much as possible. Lovely right down to the wine. Our service was attentive and our charming waiter,Samuel was helpful defining the preparation of each dish....to avoid food allergies.overall, an embracing experience. Cannot wait to go again! We made reservations for Sunday-6:30pm-and you can get gift cards for such a unique and special experience. The manager visited our table-charming and chatted with us. Very personable, and pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband and I went out to dinner with 2 other couples. It was the first time here and frankly we had never heard of it. My husband drove by one day and thought it looked interesting. So we decided to go and were so glad we did! First we went to the wine store owned by the restaurant, right next door. We picked out 2 bottles and brought them back for dinner. They do charge a corking fee, but it was worth it. We also noticed some fun cocktails on the menu....2 of us got old fashionds and they were delicious. Dinner was amazing! I got the citrus salad Caribbean snapper, both were perfect! My husband got the shrimp and grits and loved it. Our friend got the ribeye and it was cooked perfectly and he loved it! We practically fought over the pea side dish that one of us ordered....it was so delicious! We split a lemon poppy seed cake, chocolate cake and mocha mousse.... They were gone so fast because they were heavenly!! A bit expensive but so worth it. An amazingly good dinner!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time - we'll be back

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Have been trying to get here since it opened, and surprised the family with a dinner there. The food was great - we had a few appetizers including the antipasto and calamari, and there was a lot to love. I forget what my wife had but I was all over the short rib, which was enough for this dinner, lunch the next day and some for that night's dinner. It was a tough decision but we passed on dessert (just full - there were several options that sounded fantastic).

Nice selection of cocktails, and my sweet-toothed wife found two that she really liked (something with a "57" in the title and "The Remedy"). I didn't look at the wine list myself and don't feel qualified enough to comment on it, but given the extensive bottles on display I can only imagine that wine is a focus here.

Topping it all off was a very knowledgeable, accommodating and attentive server, Sharif. He knew the menu well, suggested the drinks my wife enjoyed and was always there when you needed him. Definitely a +1 for the whole experience.

Though we had our two young daughters with us, and that was fine, I wouldn't say there's anything particular kid-friendly or unfriendly about it. They behaved well and it wasn't an issue. I would think that busier kids might detract from the experience for other diners, though, because I doubt people come here expecting to be surrounded by kids. Just wanted to say that.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.