About TRIO Grill

8100 Lee Highway
Falls Church, VA 22042
View Larger Map

TRIO Grill is a modern American restaurant in Falls Church, Virginia offering the finest steaks and freshest seafood, an extensive beverage program, and Merrifield’s only cigar lounge. TRIO blends urban sophistication with the relaxed ambiance of a neighborhood grill, making us perfect for date night, after-work drinks or your next private dining occasion.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
4:00pm - 10:00pm Monday – Thursday
4:00pm - 11:00pm Friday – Saturday
4:00pm - 9:00pm Sunday

Cross Street:
Gallows Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 992-9200

Website:
http://www.triomerrifield.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for upbeat live piano played on our baby grand!

Parking Details:
TRIO Grill offers both complimentary valet and parking lot options for our guests.

Public Transit:
Walking distance from Dunn Loring Metro Station.

Executive Chef:
Eddie Marine

Additional:
BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are planning a special event, such as a rehearsal dinner or holiday party, we can make our entire restaurant available for brunch, lunch or dinner. You'll have access to all of our rooms, including Private Dining Room, Outdoor Patio and Cigar Lounge.

Private Dining

Inviting and elegant, TRIO Grill is the perfect space for any gathering. Our Event Manager will work hand-in-hand with you to select tailored prix-fixe menus suitable for business dinners, special occasions, or holiday parties complete with wine pairings and hand-crafted cocktails.

TRIO Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for a Date (41)
Fit for Foodies (32)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Romantic (27)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Business Meals (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Bar Seating (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Seasonal (11)
Fireplace (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Live Music (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Fun (7)
Private Room (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Casual (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great Beer (4)
Live Sports (3)
Authentic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and dining experience. Yo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food and dining experience. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Spicy, Cozy, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A warm and inviting restaurant. Service ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

A warm and inviting restaurant. Service was excellent. Food is very good and elevated homey comfort food (at least what we got). The cider-braised pork shank is outstanding. The craft cocktails are excellent as well; well made and well balanced in flavor, good presentation.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Authentic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, , Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was outstanding. Everyone is sup ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Service was outstanding. Everyone is super friendly and polite. Valet is free. Food is very good. Best calamari by far!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Great service. We had a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Excellent food. Great service. We had a family dinner here and really enjoyed it. The food was excellent, the wine list was very good and the service was great. We had the duck appetizer, salads, steak and tuna. All of which were excellent. The only disappointment was the chese plate. It came with massive slices of bread, when flat bread or thin cut bread would have been more appropriate. Made the quantity of excellent cheese look tiny by comparison. To the restaurant's credit, when we said something, they brought more cheese. We will be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic evening at Trios! The privat ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Fantastic evening at Trios! The private dining room was perfect and the waiter (JP) was very helpful and accommodating. Kelly (chef) visited us and was charming - not to mention vary accomplished in the kitchen. All 8 entrees were delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Private Room, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The new winter menu is terrific & I'll p ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The new winter menu is terrific & I'll probably be back, because the food is very good. The pear appetizer should have larger portions of pear, but even though there wasn't enough for it, overall it was divinely delicious. Dessert options were good, too. However, the pineapple upside down cake needed more pineapple. Lastly, I must mention that I won't order any alcohol in future even though the cocktail menu is reasonable for this area's standards. I hope Trio Grill is listed as $$$, because they want to be high end. The cigar bar must be the big attraction, so if patrons don't spend there, they get you with high drink prices for the portions you get. I mean mean even hot tea was $3.50! I added spiced rum & asked for whatever rail version of triple sec they had. Total drink cost was $19.50 & it didn't even stay warm, nor did they offer a second tea bag. So that was the disappointment at the end of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Have been many times-this was NYE and we ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Have been many times-this was NYE and we had a great table and a waiter named Samuel

He was fantastic and the food very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was excellent!!! Carpaccio, dumplin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was excellent!!! Carpaccio, dumplings, pork belly were all killer! Steaks were cooked perfectly, scallops were also very good!!! Only thing we could find to comment on was the lobster bisque. Just a bit too salty, but not so much that we complained about it. We'll definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This our favorite spot and probably the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This our favorite spot and probably the best restaurant in Falls Church Fairfax area. We have been here many times and the quality has never waivered. The chef was on top of his game when we went there. Glad to see the venison made it on the menu full time. Anything with the seasonal vegetables is a must.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Old Fashioned and amazing Brussels ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great Old Fashioned and amazing Brussels sprouts! A big pricey, but would definitely return.

Tags: Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

First visit and will definite return! O ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

First visit and will definite return! Options for everyone in our group.

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had Thai shrimp and butternut vegetab ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had Thai shrimp and butternut vegetable soup. Both excellent

For main course we had smoked short ribs which was very tender and had a nice smoky taste. The other was the eggplant bolognese which was good but a little salty.

Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Celebrated mom's bd. The manager brought ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Celebrated mom's bd. The manager brought a glass of champagne and said happy birthday. We thought it was on the house. Lol. It was on the bill. Service: spotty, Samuel, our server, was too busy. We didn't get full attention as we normally do. Food: Good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Arrived in time for happy hour but choos ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Arrived in time for happy hour but choose a speciality cocktail and paid full price (NOTE: Would be nice if there was one offering of a special cocktail on the happy hour menu). The bar area is great. If it was just 2 of us, would have stayed there but 3 isn't great at a bar. Moved to dining room for our meal. The Ribeye, Shrimp and Grits and Halibut were excellent. The Ribeye however was cooked well past how it was ordered. Because it was so tasty, I ate it but probably should have sent it back. Overall it was a great night. Definitely a beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time dining here after ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

It was our first time dining here after hearing wonderful things. We had oysters and the tuna tartar nachos. The nachos were really good and flavorful while the oysters could have had better tasting sauces. For dinner we had the scallops and shrimp + grits. The scallops were good, however were on the saltier side and I wasn't a fan of the risotto. The shrimp and grits were mediocre; nothing to write home about. The key lime pie was the highlight of the meal. The ambience is really relaxing and the service is good, but could be better. I would recommend trying at the bar for drinks and appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The food was outstanding, everyone had s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food was outstanding, everyone had seafood and was cooked to perfection. Our waiter was very attentive without being overbearing. Good wine list and prices were very reasonable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Trio never disappoints with great servi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Trio never disappoints with great service, food and attention to every detail.

The bread is delicious as are the appetizers. Our last visit found us enjoying the bread and the mussels (using the great bread to enjoy the last of the sauce). The chef/cooks allowed us to share the Kale and beet salads, splitting the half portion for us vs us having to do it at the table.

Our group enjoyed the salmon, halibut and seared tuna as well as the free range chicken. All entrees were properly seasoned for the best flavor and prepared as ordered.

Trio never disappoints and we look forward to our next gathering there.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice choices,great service,good food sel ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

nice choices,great service,good food selecdtions abd an attentive staff.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The entire staff, from the young ladies ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The entire staff, from the young ladies at the Host stand, Bartender,waiter and the manager on duty were great! They would checkin but not intrusively, never had to wait for water or a drink replacement. Spent time outside in front of the patio (covered but open) fire place, with drinks.

All in all a wonderful evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Without a doubt we two couples enjoyed o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Without a doubt we two couples enjoyed one of the finest meals to be found in Northern Virginia. We have all lived overseas for many years - Rome, Berlin, Florence, Milan, Singapore, London, Manila and have experienced poor, mediocre, good, excellent and superbly nuanced dishes. What we ate at the TRIO Grill was supremely excellent. In particular I highly recommend the pistachio encrusted Halibut. Beautifully balanced flavors.

We will be certainly return soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner took almost 3 hours. My first wi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Dinner took almost 3 hours. My first wine order took 1/2 hour to search for the bottle but didn't find one. Waiter told us 3 times main course will be ready in minutes. It showed up an hour later. My first beet salad was covered with sour vinegar. Returned it but same scenerio so I gave it to my husband to eat. His Cesar salad barely had Parmesan cheese. My lamb was lukewarm but too hungry to return it. I ordered decaf extra hot coffee, a lukewarm cappuccino showed up. Returned it for a hot one. Got one 15 minutes later. We got 3 complimentary dessert but will never go back again. Worst dinner and service I've ever had this year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

When restaurant is run by 2 young girls, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

When restaurant is run by 2 young girls, who do not know what they are doing, that is not a good service. When you have more than 1 waiter, in our case, three, one doesn't know what the other one is doing, that is not a good service.... Not going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food and drinks! The only Thing I ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great food and drinks! The only Thing I did not like was the parking.

Tags: , Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slow and the restaurant was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Service was slow and the restaurant was not crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was amazing ... foodie lovers. Thou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was amazing ... foodie lovers. Thought it was a steak house but is SO much more! Piano is wonderful though may just be for Christmas. The noise level is HORRIBLE, and the piano was NOT the problem. You have to SHOUT at the person next to you to be heard. Makes it hard to enjoy a fabulous meal outing when you can't communicate with your table...only issue that keeps me from going back . MY EARS WERE LITERALLY RINGING! They need an acoustical engineer desperately for what is so upscale!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The pricey food was very good but the ki ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The pricey food was very good but the kitchen was painfully slow. The waiter was attentive without being annoying. My friends ordered appetizers but I did not. The waiter brought me a tasting of the soup so that I wouldn't feel left out of the appetizer course. I thought this was really nice until we got the bill and I realized that I was charged for it.

I would be willing to try the restaurant again to see if maybe the kitchen was having an off night although I'm going to skip the "free" soup.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Way too noisy to carry on conversation w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Way too noisy to carry on conversation with guests. Cocktails over priced for the ounces poured. Food and service would bring us back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Amazing! We enjoyed a very fancy meal f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Amazing! We enjoyed a very fancy meal for a not so fancy price. We will be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a reliable choice for that more s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Always a reliable choice for that more special dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

THE BEST!!! David and his team are unbea ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

THE BEST!!! David and his team are unbeatable! Why go into the city when you can get even better service, food and ambiance here!? My husband and I had our family In town for the holidays and knew just where to come. They treat us like celebrities every time we're there! Everyone went above and beyond to make our experience incredible. Our waiter, Sam was amazing and we will definitely be requesting him next time we're in. Thank you again and again for continuous outstanding, memorable service. We will be back over and over again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner! From the minute we wal ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Fantastic dinner! From the minute we walked in! The service was great and the food outstanding . We'll definitely go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great service and great food. I t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Really great service and great food. I took my wife there for her birthday and she couldn't have been happier and they couldn't have been any nicer. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was a very nice restaurant. Food was ver ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Was a very nice restaurant. Food was very good. I think the prices are high, though. I ordered the scallops and received THREE of them over brocollini for $30+ dollars. They were delicious, but that is just too much money for the portion. Calamari was fantastic. Tuna nachos were good, but hardly any tuna. Others in my party had seared tuna, halibut and short ribs. All said were excellent. Side of fries with duck fat dipping sauce not so great.. would pass next time. Good restaurant, nice ambiance, but overpriced.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

When we booked the reservation at Trio, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

When we booked the reservation at Trio, we knew nothing about it other than what we learned on Open Table. We were meeting an out of town friend for dinner, a friend who is not too adventurous when it comes to different cuisines--she regards a mussel with suspicion. We thought there were a few things on the Trio menu she might enjoy. From the moment we arrived, we knew we had made the right decision. The great service started with the valet parking attendant and continued throughout the meal. We followed staff recommendations for appetizers, entrees, and dessert--all were right on the mark. Especially interesting was the duck platter appetizer. It consisted of two parts--duck pate accompanied by bread for spreading, and slices of delicately smoked duck. If you like duck, it's a must. My wife and I both enjoyed the divers scallops, served over broccoli rabe on a bed of Italian sausage risotto. The scallops were perfectly grilled--they melted in our mouths as advertised. The risotto was also of the proper texture and consistency--not overcooked as it is so easy to do. Our friend had the shrimp and grits. They were accompanied by pork rinds which she complained were too hot, but spiciness is always a matter of personal taste. The wine list is extensive, with many good choices. However, the markup charged on each bottle compared to what you would pay at retail seemed excessive. In fact, if there is one knock on Trio, it's that it is a little pricey across the board. However, if you don't mind paying a bit more for superb food and friendly, professional service, then Trio is for you. We plan to return with family.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Trio Grill is probably my favorite resta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Trio Grill is probably my favorite restaurant in the Northern Virginia area. The food is outstanding. We ordered filet mignon which was cooked perfectly and was very tender. The burrata appetizer was delicious and very interesting (no tomatoes - the chef used peaches). I heartily recommend it - the burrata was very fresh. The apple dumpling with ginger ice cream and caramel topped off a wonderful meal. I can't forget to mention the great service from our server who was outstanding, the manager, and the very creative chef who also came to meet us. This place has it all -i t's the real deal!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every bite of the meal was delicious and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Every bite of the meal was delicious and the service was top notch. The Tuna Tartare Nacho appetizer was delightful and the cod and salmon entrees were both crazy flavorful. We finished the meal with Key Lime Pie for dessert, another delightful dish. On top of the fine food and service, the ambiance is fun and modern.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

David made us feel extremely welcome -kn ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

David made us feel extremely welcome -knew so much about wines that he educated us as well as entertained us with background information on what we were trying! Consistently delicious, from appetizers (calamari delicious) to main course (superb filet mignon) to dessert (ample key lime pie, not too sweet, with lots of lime zest). Faultless experience!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. Love the food. So happy ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love this place. Love the food. So happy to have stumbled upon it!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always on par with their service above ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Always on par with their service above and beyond.

Food is always amazing !!! I just prefer the original pork belly menu , other than that it's always perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service and dining! The chef ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Outstanding service and dining! The chef came out and spoke with us.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.