About TRIO Grill

TRIO Grill is a modern American restaurant in Falls Church, Virginia offering the finest steaks and freshest seafood, an extensive beverage program, and Merrifield’s only cigar lounge. TRIO blends urban sophistication with the relaxed ambiance of a neighborhood grill, making us perfect for date night, after-work drinks or your next private dining occasion.

8100 Lee Highway
Falls Church, VA 22042
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
4:00pm - 10:00pm Monday – Thursday
4:00pm - 11:00pm Friday – Saturday
4:00pm - 9:00pm Sunday

Cross Street:
Gallows Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 992-9200

Website:
http://www.triomerrifield.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for upbeat live piano played on our baby grand!

Parking Details:
TRIO Grill offers both complimentary valet and parking lot options for our guests.

Public Transit:
Walking distance from Dunn Loring Metro Station.

Executive Chef:
Eddie Marine

Additional:
BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are planning a special event, such as a rehearsal dinner or holiday party, we can make our entire restaurant available for brunch, lunch or dinner. You'll have access to all of our rooms, including Private Dining Room, Outdoor Patio and Cigar Lounge.

Private Dining

Inviting and elegant, TRIO Grill is the perfect space for any gathering. Our Event Manager will work hand-in-hand with you to select tailored prix-fixe menus suitable for business dinners, special occasions, or holiday parties complete with wine pairings and hand-crafted cocktails.

TRIO Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Good for Birthdays (32)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Business Meals (18)
Romantic (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Cozy (15)
Fun (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Casual (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Authentic (9)
Seasonal (8)
Live Music (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great Beer (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
716 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

Amazing food and amazing service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

First time eating here. The food and service was excellent. We will definitely be back and will recommend to our friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Went for my husbands birthday on a Monday night, which is also half price wine bottle night. Overall the atmosphere was very quiet and peaceful. We dined on the patio which was beautiful. Our server was great! We had the short rib, mac and cheese, pot stickers and the cumin steak. All amazing dishes and would highly recommend. The manager and server both were so sweet and gave us free champagne celebrating our recent marriage and my husband a big slice of birthday cake with a candle for his birthday. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Great first visit! We had dinner on the patio. The food was excellent and we liked the reasonable portion size, the service was attentive, and the server knew the menu well. Decent selection of wine and after-dinner drinks, too. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had heard good things about Trio, but I was not expecting it to be this good. The service was outstanding, but everything was overshadowed by the food. The oysters, tuna nachos, and scallops were all top-notch. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner and Kyle, our waiter, provided fabulous service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We always have a great meal at Trio and this night was no exception. The Rockfish special was fantastic. If you have not been, go and try it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food is very good & presented beautifully. Our server was attentive and helpful, especially in recommending drinks. Only disappointment was we were to sit outside, but the heater above our table was not working so we had to move inside. Oh, and the garlic mashed potatoes didn't have nearly enough garlic.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

It was my first visit and I will go back. The service was good, the food delicious and a nice wine and beer list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We love Trio! We always have the seasonal menu items because they are outstanding..and the food..well it's delicious and although it's creative it's not like most "foodie" places...in that the chef just makes interesting, but extremely edible meals.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

This was a wonderful experience and the service and food was Great! I would recommend this to all my friends and family

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We have been to Trio several times, but the last two visits have compelled me not to return. The last time we went in service was terrible, but I thought it was just a fluke. Service again this time did not meet expectations based on prior experience at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Went to TRIO with visiting friends and it was a great experience. The staff was very friendly (except for the associate passing out bread who reached across each of us and never said one word) and the ambience was very comfortable. The noise level is a bit high but we had no problem hearing each other. The chicken, tuna, steak and rockfish were excellent and the mac & cheese is to die for!! The Black Forest cake was the best I have ever had. Looking forward to coming back to this gem.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

My husband & I had been to Trio Grill before to celebrate our anniversary, and thoroughly enjoyed it, so we decided to take a dear friend there to celebrate her birthday. She immediately fell in love with the decor, and could not stop raving about the food. On this particular visit, I ordered the fillet mignon with chianti sauce; my husband, the rockfish special; and our friend, the scallops. All the food was expertly prepared, beautifully presented, and absolutely delicious! The three of us had shared the spinach salad and the delightful bleu cheese wedge salad prior to receiving the entrees, and again, afterward, we shared the cheesecake parfait, and the mango on shortbread cookie for dessert. Since I had responded that we were celebrating a special occasion (birthday) when the reservations were made, our friend was surprised to receive a black forest cupcake decorated with a lighted candle...A most delightful and delicious meal all around.

Our server, J.P., made fabulous suggestions, was most attentive and good natured, and we were thrilled to have him serve our table once more. The next visit, we will request to be seated at one of his tables again. We have begun to equate dining at Trio Grill with J.P.'s friendly and helpful service.

We would heartily recommend Trio Grill to anyone wanting to celebrate a special occasion or just plain wonderful food in a relaxing, unhurried dining atmosphere.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

As always, Trio did not disappoint! Food and service are consistently good!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great food w exceptional service. Priced fairly. Gray attention to detail. Delightful outside dinning facilities.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Trio and it was truly a wonderful experience. Our server was friendly, courteous, attentive and knowledgeable. He and other staff members were there to engage us in causal conversation while we waited and throughout our meal. The food was amazing and we will definitely be visiting Trio again on our next date night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I had tried to go to Trio for lunch before, however they are a diner only spot. Finally had an opportunity to make it for dinner. Menu has something for everyone. All of the food was well prepared and proportioned well. Handcrafted cocktails were excellent.

Although they have a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, I would say the wine list is just slightly above average, but they do allow corkage. To my dismay, the waiter did not know how to decant a bottle with sediment at the bottom. Otherwise the wait staff was attentive, efficient and quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

My favorite local place for everything. I consider myself a regular :)

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Trio always lives up to our expectations with their menu choices and specials.
Osysters and seasonal salads are good choices as starters to share or enjoy on your own.
Seafood, steaks and pork dishes are well seasoned and prepared. The scallops are an excellent choice. They have a nice variety of cocktails, wines and beers with reasonable prices.
Service was excellent and the patio allows easy conversation. Thank you.

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Parking is very limited but they do provide valet service.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Fantastic all around!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Restaurant week and the chef's tasting menu were fantastic. Love the ambiance, very comfortable chairs, outstanding service, and all with an excellent bottle of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

First time at the restaurant and we decided on the Restaurant Week menu. The food was delicious and our table service was great. However, for those that sit at a table in the middle of the aisle, prepare to be bumped several times as the wait staff, host, and guests walk by to get to other tables. It was unbelievable the number of times the back of my seat hit and that ruined my dining experience as the restaurant got busier.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

This was an outstanding meal & service that exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We have tried Trio a few other times and had "hit or miss" experiences. Their salads have always been great but other things not so much. BUT, this time the food was exceptional. We went for restaurant week and a couple of is ordered a Chef's Special that was absolutely delicious. It started with a shrimp appetizer that would have been adequate for a lunch, the lamb entree served with root vegetables was perfect and the chocolate mousse was heavenly. The waiter was just delightful. He took great care of the table but didn't hover. Definitely going back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

I had a monthly meeting here that we usually have at a moderately priced restaurant. Since it was restaurant week we had it here. The food on the restaurant week menu was not what I would have ordinarily ordered. Almost all of the entrees had pork, and were not to my liking. The salad sounded like it would be really great. It was good, but not what I expected. The dessert sounded like it would be fabulous, but was just so so. the cookies actually tasted store-bought.
I have eaten here before for special occasions and the food was absolutely fabulous. I guess I just didn't care for the choices on the restaurant week menu. I will say that our server- Samuel was awesome, and I will ask to be seated at his table again if he is there.
Thank goodness they have valet parking, as parking there is absolutely ridiculous. I don't know how they ever got approved for that few parking spaces with those restaurants!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

The food was outstanding as was the service. My only minor complaint was the parking. The parking lot was strangely full given the number of people in the restaurant at 6pm. Fortunately there was a valet option.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Been here twice, food is consisently well done.
Service was not 100 percent perfect both times but enjoyable nether the less.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The food was fantastic and the service even better. 1/2 priced wines on Monday just a plus. Short ribs one of the best!

Tags: Seasonal, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

As always, dinner at Trio is grand. Food is exceptional (soup is always so tasty). It is the restaurant I go to when I feel the need for some great food in a nice atmosphere. The steak carpaccio is another favorite. Cocktails are excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We almost always have a great experience at Trio and are glad to have it as an option so close to our home. The restaurant was really busy, so things took a little longer, but the waitstaff let us know that and did a fantastic job. The food, as always, was excellent. I'd come here just for the Maple Old Fashioned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Went to Trio Friday night with friends and had a wonderful dinner and great service. looking forward to going again soon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Trio Grill never disappoints. This is one of my go to places for consistently excellent food and service. Hits this visit - heirloom tomato salad, boneless rib eye and crab cake special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Birthday and retirement celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I selected this restaurant from the magazine stating it was on the 50 best restaurants in the DC Area. It really such a nice place to eat, the food, the staff, the music and atmosphere was all what I was looking for to have a perfect birthday dinner. The restaurant at 7:00pm was not crowded. Our waiter took about great care of us, everyone we encountered wanted to ensure if there was anything we needed just let them know. We had the best tasting Caribbean Jerk Spare ribs we have ever tasted and it had mango salsa with cilantro. If you go this is a MUST TRY item. So many great things to try that we will go back for Restaurant week so we can sample more of these great dishes. After dinner the waiter brought out a small cupcake with whipped cream and a lit candle to say Happy Birthday and he thanked us for selecting the Trio Grill to spend our special day. I will be going back there again and bringing friends with me to experience this restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The food was exceptional! I was traveling for work and found this Hidden Gem, this restaurant has made it to the top of my list! I'm a sucker for a good Burrata and Trio knocked my socks off!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Absolutely fabulous! Never leave disappointed!! This is our fav dining spot!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

My husband and I went for a date night. Thomas was our server and provided excellent service. He made good recommendations, made sure we had everything we needed, and certainly didn't rush us. The rest of the staff was also attentive and friendly. The food was amazing. The brussels sprouts were delicious! I'd never had brussels sprouts before because I'd heard about how awful there were, but there were very yummy. My husband loved the calamari. We both had the rib eye and then shared the fried banana dessert. I'm getting hungry just thinking about them now... Excellent experience. I would certainly recommend TRIO and will definitely be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food choices sounded delicious. We had the calamari & Burrata as appetizers and both were wonderful. For dinner we had the special crabcakes & shortribs. Both were a great portion and delicious. The service was also very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.