About TRIO Grill

8100 Lee Highway
Falls Church, VA 22042
View Larger Map

TRIO Grill is a modern American restaurant in Falls Church, Virginia offering the finest steaks and freshest seafood, an extensive beverage program, and Merrifield’s only cigar lounge. TRIO blends urban sophistication with the relaxed ambiance of a neighborhood grill, making us perfect for date night, after-work drinks or your next private dining occasion.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
4:00pm - 10:00pm Monday – Thursday
4:00pm - 11:00pm Friday – Saturday
4:00pm - 9:00pm Sunday

Cross Street:
Gallows Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 992-9200

Website:
http://www.triomerrifield.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for upbeat live piano played on our baby grand!

Parking Details:
TRIO Grill offers both complimentary valet and parking lot options for our guests.

Public Transit:
Walking distance from Dunn Loring Metro Station.

Executive Chef:
Eddie Marine

Additional:
BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are planning a special event, such as a rehearsal dinner or holiday party, we can make our entire restaurant available for brunch, lunch or dinner. You'll have access to all of our rooms, including Private Dining Room, Outdoor Patio and Cigar Lounge.

Private Dining

Inviting and elegant, TRIO Grill is the perfect space for any gathering. Our Event Manager will work hand-in-hand with you to select tailored prix-fixe menus suitable for business dinners, special occasions, or holiday parties complete with wine pairings and hand-crafted cocktails.

TRIO Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (60)
Special Occasion (54)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
See All
Creative Cuisine (39)
Romantic (37)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Business Meals (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Modern Decor (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Worth the Drive (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for Groups (16)
Cozy (16)
Live Music (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Seasonal (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Fun (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Fireplace (8)
Private Room (8)
Casual (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Great Beer (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Authentic (5)
Healthy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Live Sports (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
562 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Kyle started the night with a perfect in ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Kyle started the night with a perfect intro with the specials, followed by bringing our drinks back from the bar quickly. He was extremely knowledgeable on pretty much every menu item with the ingredients as well as where the meats were from. He added perfect details into what would better compliment our meal and was dead-on! Overall the ambiance was great the service, even better. What a great way to celebrate Valentine's Day!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When my date wanted to switch from a tab ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

When my date wanted to switch from a table to a booth it was no problem for them at all and the accommodated us without a problem. Also the waiter and busboy were very attentive.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, had a great Valentines ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good food, had a great Valentines day meal with my wife. There was a couple next to us that was arguing loudly, making us uncomfortable, but the wait staff was very understanding and tried relocating us. Very friendly staff.

Tags: Live Music, Healthy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fun, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a wonderful time on our Valentine ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful time on our Valentines Day date! Amazing food and service. Incredible oysters appetizer! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for Valentines Day dinner and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Went there for Valentines Day dinner and had an excellent dinner. The service was impeccable, and the food was delicious. I can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved Trio Grill! Went for Valentines da ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Loved Trio Grill! Went for Valentines day with my husband and we enjoyed the ambience and the food was delicious. Highly recommend for a sophisticated and romantic date.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Early Valentine's Day date with my husba ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Early Valentine's Day date with my husband. We were intrigued by the menu online which brought us in. No regrets! Sam was our waiter and he was spot on with food choices and making us feel right at home. The food was amazing and the overall ascetic of Trio is great for a romantic date!

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though somehow our reservation got ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Even though somehow our reservation got messed up the manager was very accommodating and we sat 45 minutes earlier than expected which was nice for a Saturday night. The food was very good, from appetizer to dessert. The only reason I did not give 5 stars was the service was just okay, the waiter was not that attentive and took a long time to bring the bill...one thing you should know as a waiter is when people are finished dining they want to leave not sit there for 15 minutes waiting for the bill.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent food and service. Steak and s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food and service. Steak and seafood options will satisfy everyone. Will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on a date where I wanted a nice imp ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went on a date where I wanted a nice impressive place with good food and not too large of a restaurant. Made a reservation with 45 minutes at the bar before hand (I like to plan). My date and I had a seat at a table near the bar and skipped the reservation, because the table was a good spot. Mid-sized restaurant which is moderately noisy but not bad compared to most locations these days. In restaurant piano player which was nice. They have great oysters and great steaks, and the side dishes are amazing! I normally wouldn't have noticed this place because of the location (which is near the Mosaic District and the Dunn Loring metro on the Orange line), but decided on it and it was worth it! Service was great and the food came out more quickly than expected, but there was no rush to leave the restaurant...we stayed for 2.5 hours. The parking is a little hard to come by, but not impossible (and free). Highly recommend trying out TRIO.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service and food. Strong drinks. N ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service and food. Strong drinks. No complaints!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

In many other visits to the Trio the foo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

In many other visits to the Trio the food was always very good - this time everything ordered was fair and bland. Not up to previous times. Not sure if they have a new chef or what is going on.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Trio Grill had excellent food with an up ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Trio Grill had excellent food with an upscale ambience.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I'm torn with this review. The food, atm ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I'm torn with this review. The food, atmosphere, and feeling at Trio Grill is fantastic. We visited during Restaurant Week on a Friday night and the place was very busy.

The pros: Like I said, the food was fantastic. Although the "medium-rare" came out a little closer to "rare" on the filet, otherwise the food was cooked, seasoned, and presented to perfection. The atmosphere was a little loud if you were looking to have a quiet conversation, but it was Friday night at a very in-demand restaurant, so I expected and appreciated the energy. It is absolutely worth noting that I would go back just to see the pianist!

The cons: We were seated about 10-15 minutes after our reservation time, being skipped over by a few tables of 2 (we were a party of 4). I have worked in the industry, so I understand how seating works. It was just frustrating as a patron to see four-tops be sat with parties of 2 when we had been there first (and had a reservation). My biggest complaint, though, was the service. Our server was very nice, but was VERY slow. After being seated later than our reservation time, I was already watching the clock and he did not come to greet our table til we had been there for 5 minutes. Our server knew the menu very well, and was able to recommend a bottle of wine based on our meals, but overall things were just a little slower than they should have been.

All in all, it was a nice dinner. Normally the prices are too high for my pocketbook, but I think I would go again during restaurant week, but maybe sit at the bar where service is faster.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Always a pleasure and especially fun to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always a pleasure and especially fun to introduce friends to our favorite neighborhood restaurant. Super busy during restaurant week, but we managed to get in twice. Excellent choices on offer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food and service was excellent. The amb ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food and service was excellent. The ambience was lovely but on the loud side.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Anniversary

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here for Restaurant Week and it ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We dined here for Restaurant Week and it was wonderful! We will definitely return. The fresh bread, spinach salad, salmon and couscous, and apple dumpling were so flavorable! The service was exceptional and the ambience was very nice. It was nice to,be able to carry on a conversation and actually hear each other - a rare find!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the food at Trio, but what reall ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We love the food at Trio, but what really makes the experience great is having Sharif as our waiter. He is so enthusiastic about the food - he makes it come alive and we want to taste all of it. He is personable, attentive, and always steers us in the right direction. We had the spinach salad with panchetta and blue cheese - the dressing was delicious and just the right amount. The entree of 5 spice brined salmon was served over greens and butternut squash and red quinoa. It was as beautiful as it is tasty. For dessert, my husband had the coconut key lime pie which is always a favorite and I had the espresso mousse. It was like having coffee and dessert at the same time. My husband so loves the dessert, he even had a second with the apple dumplings and ginger ice cream. I'm getting hungry again just writing this review. This restaurant is a favorite!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Quickly become a favorite, the restauran ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Quickly become a favorite, the restaurant week offering was a real treat and an excellent value (especially when combined with 1/2 price wine night!) This time I had the scallops, which were really excellent. The men had the filet and loved it. The service was stellar. We will be going back again this week!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wow, what a great restaurant. We went t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Wow, what a great restaurant. We went there for Washington Restaurant Week and its special 3 course menu. We actually upgraded to the Chef's Special Menu, and it was well worth it. The menu selections were excellent, and the food was fantastic. This is one of the best restaurants we have ever been to for Restaurant Week. Everthing was well presented, and portions were generous. We definitely

will be going back to this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trio is always awesome. Our New Years R ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Trio is always awesome. Our New Years Resolution as a couple is to go to Trio every month. Already looking forward to our February visit..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, , Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food (as always), and an incredi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Amazing food (as always), and an incredible waiter (JP). Always a great experience gere

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

went to trio for a sunday night dinner w ...

vip
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

went to trio for a sunday night dinner with 2 others. We ordered the lamb, short ribs and filet mignon. The short ribs were EXTREMELY DRY and I would not recommend this restaurant and will not be returning back. Too many other places to try in the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I took a good friend here for her birthd ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I took a good friend here for her birthday and everything we ordered was outstanding. The service was also excellent. The only issue I ever have is the parking but the food is so good I'm willing to deal with it. We come for girls night out and will continue.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. Would retur ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Excellent service and food. Would return for special event as price would prohibit frequent dining there, for my family.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent ambiance, service, food, and r ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent ambiance, service, food, and restrooms! We started by waiting at the bar where I noticed a nice selection of in house cocktails. Highly recommend the Hemingway rum cocktail. Our waiter (who goes by "B") was excellent. Friendly, informative service but not too intrusive..just right.

I had the fillet and it was excellent. The only issue I had is that I would set the price about 10% lower, but all in all it was well worth it!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and dining experience. Yo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Excellent food and dining experience. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Spicy, Cozy, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting and creative menu. We start ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Interesting and creative menu. We started with calamari, which was very good though not great. The acorn squash salad was also very good and very filling; could easily be a small plate main. Our mains (seared tuna and smoked salmon) were the highlight; both were excellent. And our server, Kyle, was super. He was efficient, professional, and friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A warm and inviting restaurant. Service ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

A warm and inviting restaurant. Service was excellent. Food is very good and elevated homey comfort food (at least what we got). The cider-braised pork shank is outstanding. The craft cocktails are excellent as well; well made and well balanced in flavor, good presentation.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Authentic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, , Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I don't think words can describe how ama ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I don't think words can describe how amazing Trio truly is. The ambiance, service, and food are all spot on and as close to perfect as you can get. This is the type of restaurant that would easily cost twice as much if it was in downtown DC. I came here three weeks in a row after discovering it.

There are dishes I have had here that are so unique and delicious that my mouth waters just thinking about them. The ahi tuna tartar nachos are by far the most unique and delicious dish I have ever had. Highly recommend them- you will never try something so amazing.

Also the best mac n cheese you will ever try.

The tomahawk rib eye, collard greens, and short rib are also amazing. The short rib plate is so

special- every part of the dish goes together so well. Every bite is perfection.

Drinks are also amazing here. I highly recommend the Moscow mule. The old fashioned and something with the name porch in it are also great.

The only thing that I wouldn't rave about is the dessert. Don't get me wrong, it is good, but not on the same level as everything else.

You really will not regret this choice. (even the bread and butter is great, the butter is infused with stella and mustard seeds).

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding. Everyone is sup ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Service was outstanding. Everyone is super friendly and polite. Valet is free. Food is very good. Best calamari by far!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Great service. We had a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Excellent food. Great service. We had a family dinner here and really enjoyed it. The food was excellent, the wine list was very good and the service was great. We had the duck appetizer, salads, steak and tuna. All of which were excellent. The only disappointment was the chese plate. It came with massive slices of bread, when flat bread or thin cut bread would have been more appropriate. Made the quantity of excellent cheese look tiny by comparison. To the restaurant's credit, when we said something, they brought more cheese. We will be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic evening at Trios! The privat ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Fantastic evening at Trios! The private dining room was perfect and the waiter (JP) was very helpful and accommodating. Kelly (chef) visited us and was charming - not to mention vary accomplished in the kitchen. All 8 entrees were delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Private Room, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The new winter menu is terrific & I'll p ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The new winter menu is terrific & I'll probably be back, because the food is very good. The pear appetizer should have larger portions of pear, but even though there wasn't enough for it, overall it was divinely delicious. Dessert options were good, too. However, the pineapple upside down cake needed more pineapple. Lastly, I must mention that I won't order any alcohol in future even though the cocktail menu is reasonable for this area's standards. I hope Trio Grill is listed as $$$, because they want to be high end. The cigar bar must be the big attraction, so if patrons don't spend there, they get you with high drink prices for the portions you get. I mean mean even hot tea was $3.50! I added spiced rum & asked for whatever rail version of triple sec they had. Total drink cost was $19.50 & it didn't even stay warm, nor did they offer a second tea bag. So that was the disappointment at the end of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Have been many times-this was NYE and we ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Have been many times-this was NYE and we had a great table and a waiter named Samuel

He was fantastic and the food very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was excellent!!! Carpaccio, dumplin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was excellent!!! Carpaccio, dumplings, pork belly were all killer! Steaks were cooked perfectly, scallops were also very good!!! Only thing we could find to comment on was the lobster bisque. Just a bit too salty, but not so much that we complained about it. We'll definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This our favorite spot and probably the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This our favorite spot and probably the best restaurant in Falls Church Fairfax area. We have been here many times and the quality has never waivered. The chef was on top of his game when we went there. Glad to see the venison made it on the menu full time. Anything with the seasonal vegetables is a must.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Old Fashioned and amazing Brussels ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great Old Fashioned and amazing Brussels sprouts! A big pricey, but would definitely return.

Tags: Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

First visit and will definite return! O ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

First visit and will definite return! Options for everyone in our group.

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.