About TRIO Grill

8100 Lee Highway
Falls Church, VA 22042
View Larger Map

TRIO Grill is a modern American restaurant in Falls Church, Virginia offering the finest steaks and freshest seafood, an extensive beverage program, and Merrifield’s only cigar lounge. TRIO blends urban sophistication with the relaxed ambiance of a neighborhood grill, making us perfect for date night, after-work drinks or your next private dining occasion.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
4:00pm - 10:00pm Monday – Thursday
4:00pm - 11:00pm Friday – Saturday
4:00pm - 9:00pm Sunday

Cross Street:
Gallows Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 992-9200

Website:
http://www.triomerrifield.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for upbeat live piano played on our baby grand!

Parking Details:
TRIO Grill offers both complimentary valet and parking lot options for our guests.

Public Transit:
Walking distance from Dunn Loring Metro Station.

Executive Chef:
Eddie Marine

Additional:
BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are planning a special event, such as a rehearsal dinner or holiday party, we can make our entire restaurant available for brunch, lunch or dinner. You'll have access to all of our rooms, including Private Dining Room, Outdoor Patio and Cigar Lounge.

Private Dining

Inviting and elegant, TRIO Grill is the perfect space for any gathering. Our Event Manager will work hand-in-hand with you to select tailored prix-fixe menus suitable for business dinners, special occasions, or holiday parties complete with wine pairings and hand-crafted cocktails.

TRIO Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Washington, D.C. Area
Contemporary American
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Falls Church ›

Special Occasion (59)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Romantic (30)
Notable Wine List (27)
Good for Groups (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I went to Trio to celebra ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I went to Trio to celebrate a special occasion. My husband liked his dinner, but mine, the Rockfish dish, seemed to be crusted in salt, and was so salty as to be inedible. It sat on top of some sort of corn mush, which was extremely sweet, contrasting poorly with the over salted fish.

Nice atmosphere with a piano player, but sadly inedible food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Good, solid date night place or for catc ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Good, solid date night place or for catching up with a friend (not too loud). Tuna tartare nachos were delicious. Main dishes good; service good. There are more popular places in the area that we couldn't get into, but this place delivers and treats you well. Free valet parking is great, too, as the lot is small and crammed. No need to worry about it. Always a good option, of which there aren't enough around.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Trio's chef is amazing. Her name is Kel ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Trio's chef is amazing. Her name is Kelly Morrison and she produces some wonderful dishes. Last time we dined there, we had a corn bisque that was delicately flavored. The rockfish dish is great too. The parking situation is a little ugly, as usually there is no parking and sometimes too many cars trying to do valet. But we go quite frequently, as the food is worth the hassle.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I chose Trio Grill to cel ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I chose Trio Grill to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had been there a few times before but had never eaten on their patio. We were not disappointed. Since we went on a Wednesday evening, it was not very crowded, and we shared the patio with only a few other tables of guests. Our server, Isabel, was very attentive as were the other staff rotating through, filling our water glasses and clearing plates. The meal was excellent. We started with shrimp fritters, which did not resemble fritters but which tasted great anyway. I had the heirloom tomato salad since it was so seasonal, husband stuck with the tried and true wedge salad; both were excellent. His strip steak and my rib eye were cooked perfectly; the portions were huge so we needed to bring some home, which made for a nice encore.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten here multiple times and ne ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

We have eaten here multiple times and never been disappointed. This last time as Chef Kelly was leaving she took the time to chat with us. This is an approachable restaurant with food that is creative and not over done--quality down to the cocktails and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been to Trios several times and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have been to Trios several times and have never been disappointed. We were lucky enough to have reservations this time during Restaurant Week. The food and value were even greater. The salmon and short ribs were both delicious and the key lime pie was divine !

The bread here is the best around and a generous size portion as well!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Short ribs sauce very good, short ribs h ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Short ribs sauce very good, short ribs had no taste

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Second time heading to Trio Grill. Both ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Second time heading to Trio Grill. Both times the food was excellent and on Friday having the live piano provides for great ambiance. Had to remind the waiter that I had ordered a glass of wine to be brought with my filet mignon, but other than that it was an excellent meal and experience. We will return and highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I went to TRIO Grill for Restaurant Week ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I went to TRIO Grill for Restaurant Week. TRIO had a bit of a different take on $35 for 3 courses. They offered this, as well as the regular menu. But they also offered a chef's tasting menu for $55, $75 with wine pairings. This is what I had. I ordered the special appetizer (lamb-stuffed arancini - excellent), the special entree (pork shank - excellent), and the special dessert (peach bread pudding - excellent). The wine pairings were also excellent, although I would have liked a bit more of each wine.

Our server, JP, was excellent.

Our reservation was for 6:30, so the restaurant was quiet when we first got there. It got noisier and noisier as the evening wore on, to the point that, by the time we were ready to leave, it became difficult to hear.

Nevertheless, my friends, who had never been to TRIO before, both raved about their dinners. We all agreed we'd go back for more.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service was excellent. Serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food, service was excellent. Server was very attentive. Met friends for dinner. Ate outside...very nice atmosphere. Would recommend and will be going again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to TRIO at least 1-2 a week ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I have been to TRIO at least 1-2 a week all summer. It is undoubtedly one of my favorite restaurants in the whole area. Be back soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We caught Trio for the first day of Rest ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We caught Trio for the first day of Restaurant Week, and are thinking about squeezing in a second trip. Peach BBQ short ribs? Don't get me started. One of the best meals I've ever had. I can also heartily recommend the corn bisque and key lime pie (with meringue!!!!!!). Monique provided superb service.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here. A friend was interested ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First time here. A friend was interested in trying Trio and I had heard about it before and had always wanted to try the restaurant myself. Looking at the memu we saw they had a tomahawk steak and neither my friend or I have had one and have been interested in trying so we ordered the steak. It was amazing, from the quality of the meat, to the cooking and presentation. The food was fantastic. Our server was very friendly and helpful as well.

Highly recommend the restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was under seasoned including the bu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was under seasoned including the butter. Bread was good but also lacked flavor. Staff very professional as you'd find in upscale restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

This was my second time at Trio and the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was my second time at Trio and the food is just as good if not better than the first time i had it and was blown away. The service is top notch and the staff is very attentive and the know how to make sure you are getting exactly what you want and having a great time. I will be back again and again as the greens are to die for and the best i have ever had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious burrata appetizer and very ten ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Delicious burrata appetizer and very tender, tasty steaks. Customer service was superb.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The restaurant chose to book two large, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The restaurant chose to book two large, noisy private parties, both of which had at least partial use of the main dining room. It was impossible to enjoy the work of a very talented chef amidst the din.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value1

Food, service, atmosphere- all divine. I ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food, service, atmosphere- all divine. I implore anyone to give this place a shot, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I thoroughly enjoyed my dinner, probably ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed my dinner, probably my third visit to Trio Grill. Had the best waiter! He made the experience really nice, too. He told me about the crab cakes that did not disappoint! We ate early one Saturday so the noise level was probably lower than at peak. Try this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was terrific. The live pi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The restaurant was terrific. The live pianist was an additional treat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our first time visit.. everything ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It was our first time visit.. everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance was excellent. Great decor, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The ambiance was excellent. Great decor, very open and warm. It took a little while ( about 5 minutes) to be greeted and it took even longer to get our water and roughly 15 mins to get our wine.

However, once we had our drinks, the night marginally improved. Our waitress, Monique, made fabulous reccomendations. I had the seared tuna and my dad had the short rib-- both of which were incredible. They sent out the pork belly appetizer as a surprise treat and also two desserts since we were celebrating my dad's birthday. It was incredibly thoughtful and each dish was outstanding.

We were taken very good care of and Monique even wrote a hand written card wishing my dad a happy birthday. This restaurant is pricier than most I am used to but it was worth every dollar. Trio provided a great experience and I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything was outstanding and delicious ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Everything was outstanding and delicious. I will invite friends and family to join.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Monique, was outstanding -- ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our server, Monique, was outstanding -- friendly, funny, helpful, generous. This was better experience than even two parents out without the kids were hoping for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Trio is an amazing find with a stellar m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Trio is an amazing find with a stellar menu that features my favorites plus enough change to make repeat dining exciting. The staff and management are top-notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service a little too slow for a nice pla ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service a little too slow for a nice place. Good was great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Our waiter, Samuel, was awesome! He was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our waiter, Samuel, was awesome! He was definitely one of the reasons my friends and I enjoyed our evening as much as we did.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience; food is incredible; dr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great experience; food is incredible; drinks and wine list are top shelf. Had lamb chops; rockfish, filet, short ribs and shrimp fritter appetizer. Quality is as good as Great American restaurants but a tad more expensive. Service and Ambience were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Beautiful décor and live piano made for ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Beautiful décor and live piano made for great ambience. Food was delicious, worth the $.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very professional, great variety of sele ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Very professional, great variety of selections, nice atmosphere. My colleagues really liked the specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding meal, and I personal visit f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstanding meal, and I personal visit from Chef Kelly top off our dinner. Staff and management our outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I came to Trio on a date. We ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My wife and I came to Trio on a date. We really like it a lot. We started out with a summer salad and a beef carpaccio. Both were very good.

For the main course we had the eggplant and the short rib and for a side the fried brussel sprouts. My wife really really enjoyed the eggplant and I loved the short rib. Part of the short rib is the collard greens with bacon. I would return just for the collard greens with bacon they were that good.

For dessert we had the key lime pie which was very good but not traditional. It was more like a key lime cheesecake with coconut crust. I liked it a lot but if you are a traditional key lime pie lover you may have issues.

We were particularly impressed with the service, everybody was very friendly and the food was prepared and delivered in a on-time manner not too fast but not too slow either. Our main server, a woman, was very good. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have now dined at Trios two times. Bo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We have now dined at Trios two times. Both dinners have been outstanding. This restaurant is without a doubt some of the finest food in the DC Metro area. We have had appetizers, soups, salads, meat, fish and desserts! Every morsel has been exceptional! Maitre d', Dragan, is extremely professional and attentive. Chef Kelly is amazing! Her story is beautiful, and we love the passion with which she carries out her profession. Trios has created an entire atmosphere. Dining is not merely food. It is an experience! We are now regulars, and are making sure our friends try Trios. Be careful - as just one visit will have you hooked!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The diner was in honor of a special occa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The diner was in honor of a special occasion and the food, as well as the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I thought it was the steakhouse restaura ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I thought it was the steakhouse restaurant but I was disappointed with the beef and fish. Other main and apps were fine but I don't think I would go back as they don't have any special dishes to crave for.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our second visit to Trio Grill. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was our second visit to Trio Grill. The gist of my review of our first visit, about six months ago, was that the food was really good but the service we'd had was terrible. It speaks to the quality of the food that we were willing to try the place again. We were pleased at this second visit. that we given menus and water shortly after we were seated and that food arrived in a timely fashion.

The food is still, really, very good. We particularly enjoyed our appetizers--roasted cauliflower and kale caesar salad. The waiter made sure I was aware that there was white anchovy in the salad (probably because some people don't like it). Our entrees were good; however, the seared tuna, which I ordered "medium," was served with what would be comparable to "blue center" in steak.

The key lime pie was excellent.

Service was good up until the time that we submitted our credit card. After waiting a really unreasonable time for our waiter to return with our card, we asked the manager for assistance in allowing us to pay for our meal.

Food is still very good; service still needs some work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Service and ambiance were great but once ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service and ambiance were great but once again food was average at best. I came back after nearly six months hoping food was improved, but nope. I think this will definitely be my last visit to Trio. It's too bad because I really like the service, ambiance and location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was excellent. Great proportion ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The food was excellent. Great proportions but the service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really delicious food and excellent serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Really delicious food and excellent service. It was our 5th anniversary, and they really went out of their way to make it a special occasion for us. We'll definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TRIO was great! The food was wonderful a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

TRIO was great! The food was wonderful and our server was fantastic. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.