About Trio An American Bistro

45 South Glenwood Street
Jackson Hole, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Voted one of Jackson Hole’s hottest restaurants in 2008 by Food and Wine Magazine, Trio is located just off the Town Square. Open since 2005, Trio is owned and operated by two local chefs with a flare for innovation. Trio serves both seasonal and nightly specials in a relaxed atmosphere, popular with locals and tourists alike. Come in and enjoy a specialty cocktail in front of the wood-fired oven as the chefs perform in an open kitchen.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - close

Cross Street:
Broadway and Pearl St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 734-8038

Website:
http://www.bistrotrio.com/

Catering:
Trio is available for a variety of special events; ranging from off-site catering to renting out our restaurant for private parties. If you have general questions or would like more information regarding our catering services, please contact Will Bradof at willbradof@bistrotrio.com.

Parking Details:
Trio has ample parking including many free, street-side spaces and a free parking garage just one and a half blocks away.

Public Transit:
The START bus stops one block from Trio on Pearl Street at the Teton Steak House and the 49'er Inn. The START (Southern Teton Area Rapid Transit) is Jackson Hole's convenient and affordable public transportation. www.startbus.com

Executive Chef:
Will Bradof and Paul Wireman

Private Party Facilities:
Trio is available for a variety of special events; ranging from off-site catering to renting out our restaurant for private parties. If you have general questions or would like more information regarding our catering services, please contact Will Bradof at willbradof@bistrotrio.com

Private Party Contact:
Will Bradof: 3077348038x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Years eve 2011
Trio will be offering a three course menu with choices for $75 (plus tax and gratuity).

Trio An American Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fun (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Casual (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Cozy (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Healthy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great Beer (4)
Seasonal (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Business Meals (3)
People Watching (3)
Romantic (2)
Organic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
822 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good but we had an 8pm reservat ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good but we had an 8pm reservation and they didn't seat us until 8:45... seems like a highly regarded restaurant would figure this out. It was 20 below freezing and there were several customers who also had to wait a while to be seated despite having a reservation. Service was good, food was delicious though somewhat overpriced.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Second visit to this restaurant. The fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Second visit to this restaurant. The food is creative, fresh and delicious. Very casual and relaxed dining with attentive service. Loved the mushroom salad and trout entree was fresh and perfectly cooked. My husband had the lamb chops and thoroughly enjoyed them!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I always try to visit Tri ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My husband and I always try to visit Trio once during our every visit to Jackson Hole. The food and the service are excellent. We would probably go more often if there were a better selection of Chardonnay by the glass. There are 2 and they are both expensive. One should not have to pay $18 to get a glass of a good California Chardonnay. There is a French Chardonnay available for $11 but it is nothing special. Last summer we took some friends who were visiting and they were stunned by the price of the Cabernet they had. So I would recommend Trio but with a warning about the wine list .

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overrated. Small portions, limited menu ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Overrated. Small portions, limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Fantastic as always. Great service and ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Fantastic as always. Great service and food...always.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite restaurant in Jackson. Excelle ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Favorite restaurant in Jackson. Excellent service and food is fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliably delicious. Attentive staff. Lon ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Reliably delicious. Attentive staff. Long wait (>40 minutes ) to be seated for reservation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

So good! We went here the first night o ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

So good! We went here the first night of our honeymoon and were not disappointed. Our food was amazing and the cocktails were unique and very good. The tables are cozy and we felt like we were part of the scene without being too close to our neighbors. The staff was very nice too and if we hadn't been trying to go to as many restaurants as possible, we would have come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Organic, Molecular Gastronomy, People Watching, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have always loved Trio and make a poin ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have always loved Trio and make a point to get there every time I am in town. I will NOT spend New Year's Eve there again. We had an 8 pm reservation which I made a month prior. It was a preset menu. $85 per person with additional $40 for wine pairings. All fine and I had confidence that Trio would make it so worth it.

We were not seated until 8:40. In the interim, we were offered cocktails in the tiny, freezing lobby crowded with other people with missed reservations times. Then we were told the bartender decided not to make any more cocktails for the lobby folks. We finally got tasteless, icy cocktails just before we were seated. We were rushed to order our food which arrived before we were able to put in a wine order. Food got cold while we waited for wine which we only got because the chef happen to stop by our table. Some of the food was good although the lobster bisque had one tiny piece of lobster floating in the center of a large bowl of... bisque. Not good enough to be worth the abysmal service. I really hope this was a one-time f-up and a not a new trend for Trio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Delicious salads and appetizers. 3 of u ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Delicious salads and appetizers. 3 of us had the mushroom salad and the special burger. Very very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always fabulous. Exceptional food. The ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Always fabulous. Exceptional food. The blue cheese waffle fries are not to be missed. Always great service and glorious specials. Our family favorite.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service, nice wine pairing and ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Wonderful service, nice wine pairing and amazing gnocchi!

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Generally good food. They consistently ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Generally good food. They consistently overcook the wood fired chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We dined here in off season and after re ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We dined here in off season and after reading other reviews, wonder if we got the "back up chefs". Our food was fine. I enjoyed my arugula salad and my husband said the ceasar salad was good but not outstanding. The bread was delicious. We waited over 45 minutes for our food thought there were only six other diners when we arrived. It did fill up as we waited for our food. My husband got the burger with blue cheese sauce (which we were not impressed with at all. It did not taste like blue cheese at all) and fries. I ordered the trout (they were out of halibut) and it was good, but the entire plate was soaking in oil. I realize that the brussel sprouts were "fried", but that much oil is not appetizing at all. So, glad we tried it, but can't give it a high review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

On every occasion that we've been there ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 13, 2016

On every occasion that we've been there the food has been excellent and the service outstanding. Highly recommended!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great time! Food excellent wel ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a great time! Food excellent well paced...nice wine list. Was busy as could be but everything went really well timing and food wise. I loved that the chef was expediting and serving. Only glaring mistake was that there was no serving the woman at the table first...not with wine, apps, salad and entree. Odd that everything else was so on the money but the service details were missing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Chef Paul and all the staff are always s ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Chef Paul and all the staff are always so attentive. The food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A local favorite. Excellent food and se ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 11, 2016

A local favorite. Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best mussels in the valley and the Pheas ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Best mussels in the valley and the Pheasant was excellent!!! With its 2 for 1 off season special its the best deal in the valley!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trio is always fantastic! Love the live ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Trio is always fantastic! Love the lively atmosphere and the creative dishes and cocktails. Mussels are always a fave, as well as waffle fries with blue cheese fondue! My favorite restaurant in all of town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Trio has wonderful food at a reasonable ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Trio has wonderful food at a reasonable price. Atmosphere is nice and the service is way above average. I would recommend Trio to anyone!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Appetizer of mussels fabulous flavor and ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Appetizer of mussels fabulous flavor and use the delicious bread to dip the sauce. Pheasant entree moist and flavorful. Chicken was good. The pork chop, special entree, was the best on the table. Large portion, great sauce and flavorful!!! Lemon pie was the favorite dessert and the strawberry shortcake not...unique flavor.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service. Food was a bit on the ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent service. Food was a bit on the cool side, but wasn't detrimental to our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Trio to celebrate a birthday ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We went to Trio to celebrate a birthday and as usual, it exceeded expectations and was a truly wonderful experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can always count on Trio for great foo ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I can always count on Trio for great food and friendly, efficient service. The restaurant is near the Center for the Arts, and the wait staff is good about making sure diners who are heading over to the Center for the show are served promptly. My one quibble is that wine prices are heading too high. Not everyone in Jackson Hole is a bazillionaire, and if I pay $15 for a glass of wine I'm going to cut back on the entree and appetizer. But probably the wine is more profitable.

Tags: Wood Oven, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Fun, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was very good. We made the mis ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was very good. We made the mistake of ordering the blue cheese fries as an ap, which were very rich---I don't think we were expecting all of the sauce on the fries. A little too much sauce on the fries. They were good, but they kind of spoiled our appetite for entrees, as they were too heavy. We will definitely go back and try entrees, but will not do the fries again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Business Meals, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Overall, an adequate eating experience. ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Overall, an adequate eating experience. Had to wait twenty minutes for a table, despite a reservation, and it appeared that they seated locals without a reservation before us. Good wine by the glass. Wait staff could have more attentive. Tasty apps and main dishes. Tables are very close together, so it's a noisy atmosphere. There are other places town that I'd rather visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Paid $32 for a small portion of pasta wi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Paid $32 for a small portion of pasta with butter and Parmesan. We wanted truffle pasta and the truffles were another $18, so $50 for a tiny plate of truffle pasta. I've eaten at a lot of five star restaurants and never paid $50 for pasta; even in Manhattan. Also, the wine is about 20% more expensive than other nice restaurants in Jackson. The food is pretty good but not a good value, even for Jackson Hole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

The risotto was what I came for, the ser ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The risotto was what I came for, the server offered it as a special for the night, but I ordered it and it was not available le. It was only 7:30. I really missed having the special.

I had pizza instead. OK, but I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Great as always. The sous vide pork spec ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Great as always. The sous vide pork special was delicious.

Tags: Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better every time we go. Hard to believe ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Better every time we go. Hard to believe the chef can keep surprising us with new dishes or new variations on standards. It's our go-to place when we visit Jackson and I just wish it was more than once a year.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Trio is a wonderful part of the Jackson ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Trio is a wonderful part of the Jackson restaurant scene. It offers great locally sourced food with creatively designed recipes, that are well prepared and expertly served. Locals and out of town visitors create a sophisticated, but relaxed vibe. The cocktail, beer and wine list is well matched.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I've only eaten at Trio once but will de ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 26, 2016

I've only eaten at Trio once but will definitely go back again. The New York steak was fantastic

Tags: Healthy, Great Beer, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is heavy on cheese. My argula ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The food is heavy on cheese. My argula salad so loaded with cheese, it was unappealing. The blue cheese fries were gross. Nothing very special on the menu.

The dining room was freezing. Half the women had their coats on. I mentioned this to a server/manager who told me she was boiling hot! She said she would turn up the heat and she did about a hour later when we were ready to leave.

Try somewhere else, this place is not worth their pricetag!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a very tasty birthday dinner cele ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 19, 2016

We had a very tasty birthday dinner celebration. Service was prompt and attentive. The mussel appetizer was wonderful!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fantastic! One of the best meals we had ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fantastic! One of the best meals we had in Jackson Hole.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, creative menu and great ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent food, creative menu and great cocktails. Perfect place for a lively time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The waiter was very good- food was so so ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The waiter was very good- food was so so

Buffalo burger cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Looking in from the front window the pla ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Looking in from the front window the place doesn't look like much. If I didn't go in it would have been a big mistake. What a nice place. Very cool. Great food. Really glad I went in.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellent, service was outstand ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was excellent, service was outstanding, but as normal for Jackson this all comes with a high price. Would definitely go again if I am back in Jackson Hole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.