About Tresca

233 Hanover St.
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Tresca is an authentic Italian restaurant featuring hearty multi-regional cuisine with an exceptional wine cellar, offering a selection of over 500 of the finest vintages. Recent winner of the 'Wine Spectator' award of excellence. The warm captivating atmosphere and fireplace lit dining rooms capture the feeling of being in villa in Tuscany. The service is exceptional and the menu remarkable, a true dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is available nightly from 5:00pm - 10:30pm Monday - Thursday, Friday 5pm - 11 pm. Saturday 4 pm - 11 pm and Sunday 4 pm - 10:30pm. Our full bar opens Saturday and Sunday at 4pm, closes at midnight during the week and 12:30am Friday and Saturday.

Cross Street:
Cross St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 742-8240

Website:
http://www.trescanorthend.com/

Entertainment:
Flat screen TV, CD music

Catering:
Available for private functions.

Parking Details:
Restaurant validates for parking at local Haymarket garage. $3 for first three hours standard after three hours. Please call for directions to garage. Five minute walk to restaurant.
Valet parking is available. Look for Exclusive Valet sign; the valet space is next to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Haymarket, TD Banknorth Garden

Executive Chef:
Jake Pease

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
The perfect romantic setting for an engagement party, rehearsal dinner or cozy intimate wedding. For an exceptional birthday cake or anniversary cake please call in advance and make arrangements.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The main dining room seats up to 80 and the smaller dining room seats up to 30. All have fireplaces and are available for luncheons, dinners, cocktail parties, and seminars.

Tresca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (37)
romantic (35)
notable wine list (27)
See All
fit for foodies (26)
neighborhood gem (22)
good for groups (21)
hot spot (7)
scenic view (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious!

Dined 5 days ago

The food was terrific. Everyone in our party thoroughly enjoyed their meal.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

The food at Tresca is good, but the serv ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food at Tresca is good, but the service is poor. We were 12 minutes late for our reservation because of North End traffic on a busy Boston Saturday. The maitre'd called to say they were giving away our table if we weren't there in 3 minutes due to a 15 minute late policy. We made the deadline, but he proceeded to tell our party they "needed their table back" by 7:30. They couldn't have made us feel less welcome. I will definitely not be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall experience was wonderful. T ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The overall experience was wonderful. The reason I did not rate it outstanding was the payment process. Apparently the computers went down and we were not notified for a good 10 - 12 minutes. Finally we were told and they took another 10 minutes to advise us they were still down. It's a good thing we had some cash on us because we could not wait any longer. I hope the computers are operating properly.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tresca has a great atmosphere and is hug ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Tresca has a great atmosphere and is huge in relation to most of the North End Italian restaurants. Lots of seating and a good likelihood to get a big group in here. Service was fast and extremely friendly. Personally I wish the menu had a few more classic options, most of the meal choices are a bit upscale and foodie. Very delicious, still. A little pricey, but it is to be expected. Overall very good!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

JD

Dined on May 6, 2016

While the food was good (osso bucco and beef tenderloin both good - not great), although the restaurant wasn't busy, the service was slow. I enjoy a leisurely meal but this just dragged on. For the price, I expected better overall service and value. It did have a good wine list.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a great cozy table, and we could ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a great cozy table, and we could watch the passers-by too. The oyster appetizer was scrumptious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bellisimo

Dined on April 22, 2016

Incredible service and outstanding food. The arancini were light and airy. Short rib was falling apart, yet moist and flavorful. Creamy buratta and heirloom tomatoes were delicious as was the carbonara. Also, a fantastic wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Night at Tresca

Dined on April 17, 2016

There were 9 of us. 5 were from Italy. We had the private room in the basement which was great. Servers need to know that you offer parmesan cheese to Italians eating pasta with tomato sauce. Seems they had no idea about this. Also, they shouldn't turn the lights out in the hallway until we left. it was very dark on the way out. Great room though. Food was average....

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service from our friendly welc ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Wonderful service from our friendly welcome at the front desk to the server

food5
ambience4
service5

We went as a double date, and it was per ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

We went as a double date, and it was perfect. The food was totally delicious, the service was on point, and the overall feel was fitting for a nice dinner out. We wrapped up the night by heading to the Improv Asylum across the street.

food3
ambience3
service4

Solid Italian food in a cozy enviornment

Dined on March 26, 2016

Solid Italian food in a cozy enviornment

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner at Tresca

Dined on March 19, 2016

We had a great experience at Tresca for our anniversary. The food was outstanding and our server was exceptional. We would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Restaurant week excursion -- good for va ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Restaurant week excursion -- good for value during the week. If we had paid full price, not sure I would say it was worth it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food2
ambience3
service3

Nothing amazing, and very expensive for ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Nothing amazing, and very expensive for the quality of the food.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We have been going to trescas for a few ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

We have been going to trescas for a few years now. Traveling from out of town about 45 min. We always ask for Filipino. He is no longer there. The hostess said the server we would have was just as good. He was not. In fact he was horrible. I think we saw him only when he took our order and to give us the check. Filipino was alway there checking on us and offering suggestions. He was so part of the experience that made it so enjoyable.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Disappointing!

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Overpriced for the ambiance and quality of the meal. Menu is very limited. Wouldn't recommend. Many better choices in the north end.

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

I probably would have given a better rat ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

I probably would have given a better rating however, I believe our server (Mario) rushed us through the entire meal and could not wait for my wife and I to leave. What confirmed this for me was when I asked him if they had good espresso and he responded by saying I could probably get better somewhere else on Hanover Street. I will definitely seek out other options the next time I am in Boston.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Valentine's Day dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Stopped in here for Valentine's dinner with my girlfriend. We had dinner here at a work function prior to getting together, so it was a nice return. The Valentine's day menu was great - typically we are not fans of set menus, but the variety and quality of this menu was excellent. The wine was great - we both enjoyed two glasses of Merlot and Sav Blanc. The fried oysters were an amazing start. While disappointed with such little lobster in the lobster fra diavolo, pasta course, our entrees, both duck and short rib, were incredibly cooked and well-paired with sides and sauces. To cap, the tiramisu was perhaps the best dessert either of us have had at a restaurant. All portions were perfect. We very much enjoyed lingering at dinner, due to the ambiance and enjoyable pace of the courses coming out of the kitchen. We were, however, a bit disappointed that it took the server a bit too long to return and refill the wine glasses for our courses. The end result was slugging wine back to quickly finish as our car was pulled up to the valet stand at the end of the night. Overall, 9.5/10 for the entire night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on February 14, 2016

Had a great dinner here for Valentine's Day. Steak was one of the best I've ever had. Service was great and drinks were made perfectly. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5

We were 45 min late on the Saturday nigh ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were 45 min late on the Saturday night before Valentine's and we were still sat promptly at a table that was, at least in my opinion, the best table in the house. Service was great and food was excellent. Loved my favorite dessert, Nutella flatbread. Lovely date night.

food2
ambience2
service5
value3

Tresca Review

Dined on February 14, 2016

Unfortunately I have to give Tresca a bad review. This may have just been an unlucky night but I won't be returning to find that out. It was 0 degrees outside and you could clearly tell. The inside of the restaurant was freezing cold. It was Un-enjoyably cold. The service was great, waiter was nice and polite. The bartenders did not make our drinks uniform as the same drink ordered twice came out two clearly different ways. The Fra Diavlo was delicious, although small. The short rib was also great but the side was terrible. The pork chop was extremely tough and it was a struggle to cut it with the knife they provided. Then towards the end they seated an extremely intoxicated couple. Very obnoxious and loud. It was clear to see and they should have never been let in to begin with. The guy fell asleep at the table and then tried to fight the manager right next to me when he was asked to leave. Like I said, a couple unlucky events made the night worse but not worth going back here for me.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyable

Dined on February 13, 2016

We arrived early and enjoyed a drink at the bar while we waited for our table to be ready. We were seated shortly and enjoyed an upstairs table overlooking Hanover which was really nice. Tables are close together but not bad especially compared to some others in the north end. I had the Surf and Turf which was delicious and perfectly cooked to my taste and my hubby had the braised short ribs which he is still talking about. We shared tiramisu to finish our meal, yum. It was a wonderful evening and wE hope to return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great

Dined on February 10, 2016

The ambiance was terrific for a dinner for 2.making reservations was easy with the open table app. I requested a table and they sat us right by the fireplace. It was wonderful and our waiter was very helpful choosing our meals. I would highly recommend this place. .

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Over priced

Dined on February 9, 2016

The menu was horrible. When I go to an Italian restaurant I want meat balls made of beef not veal and pork. We ordered the meatballs anyway and they were the size of a large grape. I also like a nice red meat sauce and this was not available. The caesar salad was fine. I then wanted some ravioli's for a main course and was told they did not have these. It appeared to me they are trying to justify over charing the customer for italian food.

food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Dinner

Dined on February 6, 2016

My husband and I went to Tresca for the first time last weekend. Before ordering I notified my waiter of dietary restrictions. He was very attentive. When the meal came it was not prepared as requested. The waiter immediately took it back to fix it. I think when they removed the sauce and or butter they must have reheated it. I say that because my medium steak was well done and a little tough. Enough to ask for a better knife. For $48, for surf and turf I wasn't impressed and won't go back. My husband ordered pasta (which is probably what they specialize in) and was ok with his meal. I don't think it was worth the money spent. Plenty other great restaurants in the North End.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining with Ray

Dined on February 6, 2016

Took my girlfriend to Tresca before a Bruins game. We were seated directly beside Ray Bourque and his wife. It was a special and unexpected bonus to a dining experience that was already special. Mr. Bourque was gracious and patient with the frequent visitors to his table. A true gentleman.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!!!

Dined on February 3, 2016

In a word, EXCELLENT!!!!! Ambiance, service, food and everything in between was fabulous. Highly recommend!!! The restaurant is quiet with a great vibe, service was impeccable, wine list extensive but not overwhelming and the food was prepared with the utmost care and pride. Cannot say enough about Tresca, you will not go wrong!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were ver impressed with the dinning e ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

We were ver impressed with the dinning experience. Everything was wonderful. The staff were friendly - I would recommend not using open table to book but to call restaurant directly. This gives you more variety of times.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Great Service, Very Loud

Dined on January 24, 2016

We had dinner during Saturdays snowstorm and the food and service were excellent but the noise level with only half the tables occupied was disconcerting. It was difficult to hear the person next to you.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We will definitely be back

Dined on January 23, 2016

The staff was wonderful and the food just as good. Great place

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Decent food but overpriced.

Dined on January 17, 2016

My wife and I have wanted to try Tresca for a while and finally pulled the trigger. If you are going to charge more you should be able to taste the difference. Nothing that we ate stood out as being worth spending an extra $10 per entree than you would at other restaurants in the area. We were glad to have finally tried it but would not go back. There are plenty of restaurants a few doors down that offer the same food with better value.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Treated well

Dined on January 15, 2016

Was my daughter's birthday and her first time dining in the North End. The waiter gave us a few "freebies" and made the night special.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant for special occasions

Dined on January 12, 2016

Tresca has a lovely size with a warm fireplace. We went there for our anniversary. We had a great experience. The staffs are friendly and professional. Oh yes, try duck pizza. Bravo!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Disappointing birthday dinner

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

I booked this restaurant on the recommendation of a friend -- however the experience was extremely disappointing. The bartender could not manage to make two basic cocktails (gin and tonic; vodka/soda) and the service was below average. The tables were extremely close together, which made it feel hard to have a private conversation. This would be a better restaurant for a larger group, family or party. Not a date restaurant at all.

Tags: child friendly
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing service and fantastic food

Dined on January 9, 2016

My group and I had a wonderful experience at Tresca. Given that the north-end can be overwhelming and busy with people, Tresca did not make us feel rushed or guilty for having our guests arrive 15 minutes after our reservation time. The service was incredible. We received personalized service and wonderful recommendations from our waiter. We even had the opportunity to learn about Sicilian wines from the waiter. Our group of four had a wonderful seat on the first floor by the window. The only recommendation I have is to turn down the heat just a tad bit. We were all warm. Otherwise, the food was amazing. There were three pasta dishes (1 was even specially made), and my husband ordered the beef short ribs. We loved everything. The gnocchi was delicious. We could definitely take a trip back here again.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

New Year's Dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

I hadn't been to Tresca in 6 years. My wife and I spent the weekend in Boston and decided to try it again. My dinner was only fair, but my wife's was excellent. So I compromised and gave the food a "good" rating. I had a Ceasar salad that was to lemony for my taste and I had the pumpkin risotto for a meal. Much of the risotto was hard. My wife got the pork chop and said it was one of the best pork chops she has ever had. Our server, Fillipio, was amazing.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience1
service1
value2

Good intentions but poor execution

Dined on January 1, 2016

The food was great. But the restaurant tried hard to provide good service, without success. The food was coming out late, big time gaps between the different courses, the bar tender mixed a cocktail which he was not able to recreate for a second order...

food1
ambience1
service4

Average at best. Do not waste your mon ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Average at best. Do not waste your money

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve

Dined on January 1, 2016

Had a wonderful time at Tresca with their celebration. The menu was fantastic and the service is outstanding. Our waiter, Phillipo is amazing. We were also lucky enough to be there when Ray Bourque, #77 retired Boston Bruins. We got to meet him and it was amazing. I highly suggest Tresca for all occasions. Outstanding place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

NYE Celebration

Dined on January 1, 2016

While the kitchen certainly struggled pushing food out in a timely manner and they seemed FAR understaffed, these are common issues when dining out on holidays. Although the length of time between courses was astronomically long, our server took fantastic care of us while waiting. Best of all, my kids were lucky enough to meet Ray Bourque (one of the owners) after the meal. I look forward to returning on a "regular" evening.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.