About Tresca

233 Hanover St.
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Tresca is an authentic Italian restaurant featuring hearty multi-regional cuisine with an exceptional wine cellar, offering a selection of over 500 of the finest vintages. Recent winner of the 'Wine Spectator' award of excellence. The warm captivating atmosphere and fireplace lit dining rooms capture the feeling of being in villa in Tuscany. The service is exceptional and the menu remarkable, a true dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is available nightly from 5:00pm - 10:00pm Monday - Thursday, Friday 5pm - 11 pm. Saturday 4 pm - 11 pm and Sunday 4 pm - 9.00pm. Our full bar opens Saturday and Sunday at 4pm, closes at midnight during the week, 12:30 am Friday and Saturday, and 10 pm on Sunday.

Cross Street:
Cross St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 742-8240

Website:
http://www.trescanorthend.com/

Entertainment:
Flat screen TV, CD music

Catering:
Available for private functions.

Parking Details:
Restaurant validates for parking at local Haymarket garage. $3 for first three hours standard after three hours. Please call for directions to garage. Five minute walk to restaurant.
Valet parking is available. Look for Exclusive Valet sign; the valet space is next to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Haymarket, TD Banknorth Garden

Executive Chef:
Richard Ansara

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
The perfect romantic setting for an engagement party, rehearsal dinner or cozy intimate wedding. For an exceptional birthday cake or anniversary cake please call in advance and make arrangements.

Restaurant Photos

  • Tresca, Boston, MA
  • Tresca, Boston, MA
  • Tresca, Boston, MA
  • Tresca, Boston, MA
  • Tresca, Boston, MA
  • Tresca, Boston, MA
  • Tresca, Boston, MA
  • Tresca, Boston, MA
  • Tresca, Boston, MA
Tresca, Boston, MA
Tresca, Boston, MA
Tresca, Boston, MA
Tresca, Boston, MA
Tresca, Boston, MA
Tresca, Boston, MA
Tresca, Boston, MA
Tresca, Boston, MA
Tresca, Boston, MA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The main dining room seats up to 80 and the smaller dining room seats up to 30. All have fireplaces and are available for luncheons, dinners, cocktail parties, and seminars.

Tresca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Notable Wine List (13)
Casual (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Authentic (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Cozy (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
People Watching (7)
Business Meals (7)
Scenic View (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Family Style (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Fun (4)
Historic (3)
Fireplace (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and setting, price was a litt ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and setting, price was a little high, but you do get what you pay for.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We chose Tresca as a new place to try bu ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We chose Tresca as a new place to try but it turns out I had been there before. I would not have chosen it if I had realized. Everything was good but not remarkable in any way. The portions were rather mediocre. Steve, our server, recommended sharing the salad which was a great idea. We have been to other restaurants in the north end that are much better and the prices are more pleasing to the wallet. On the more positive side, they took a reservation, no waiting and our server was very attentive. Things could have moved along more slowly but it worked out just fine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service and food were great! Noise level ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Service and food were great! Noise level was high. Need to find ways to absorb the noise.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Absolutely amazing, like always. Impecc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Absolutely amazing, like always. Impeccable service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous wine. Awesome food. Wonderful s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Fabulous wine. Awesome food. Wonderful staff. Nice, quiet, candlelit table upstairs. Will go back on next trip to Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just ok....but the noise level ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was just ok....but the noise level up stairs was over the top! Had to yell over the table to have a conversation. Waitress was very good and manager was super friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Tresca is a great spot for authentic Ita ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Tresca is a great spot for authentic Italian food in the North End. Great service and atmosphere!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, People Watching, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I only wish Richard and his staff would ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I only wish Richard and his staff would create delicious meals for me everynight.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fireplace, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was great, classic Italian fare ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our food was great, classic Italian fare. Similar to other spots in the North End. Drinks were overpriced, but I suppose normal for being in the city ($14 for a martini). Our waiter was nice, but once he took our order we didn't see him for about an hour. Runners brought out the food, he didn't check on us and we got the check a long time after. Probably would have ordered more drinks if he had come back. Overall, the meal was good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We were a group of 6 having dinner befor ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We were a group of 6 having dinner before a show at the garden. We're pretty sure our waiter was new as he didn't know the menu very well and had a real hard time taking our drink orders - two of which did not come as requested. Food was enjoyable but fell just short of making the "must return here" list.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great celebratory family dinner in Bosto ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great celebratory family dinner in Boston. We arrived for an early dinner and were immediately greeted by the friendly staff. A pleasant surprise was the Children's Menu for our 3 children. The food, drink, and atmosphere was perfect! Will definitely return to this great gem!

Tags: Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef was amazing and came to the table! ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Chef was amazing and came to the table! The service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went to Tresca's with my wife and anot ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I went to Tresca's with my wife and another couple and we had an amazing time! The food was incredible with every course(appetizer, entree, and dessert) and the staff was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. I have been here several times and have never been disappointed. I am recommending this restaurant to all of my friends traveling in the North End!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant always exceeds expectati ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This restaurant always exceeds expectations! Everything is carefully prepared and presented. Creative combinations of tastes. Amazing veal chop! Yummy meatball appetizer. Grilled salmon superb. Wonderful salad. Waitstaff were attentive and knew the menu well. Chef/owner came to the table to see how we were doing and if he could help with anything.

We will be returning!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good all around place. So hard to find a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Good all around place. So hard to find a place that takes reservations in the North End so this place was a good choice for a guaranteed table. We are from out of town so I cant compare to other spots but it was solid good food. The flatbread was great as was the focaccia bread was insane!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food and atmosphere. We were lucky ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. We were lucky enough to be there on a night that Ray Bourque was there and got to meet him!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Our server was good and gave ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food. Our server was good and gave us suggestions.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I love dining in the Nort ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 19, 2016

My husband and I love dining in the North End and this restaurant is one of our favorites . Service was great , the waitress could not have been more accommodating or attentive . The food was fantastic. It was also quite a surprise when Ray Bourque came to our table to inquire if all was good .

We will be back !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

On a recent evening, my aunt, who had ne ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 12, 2016

On a recent evening, my aunt, who had never been to the North End came to Boston. I picked Tresca based on a recommendation from friends and I liked the menu. There was everything from pizzas to full entrees and you could get a half order of pasta.

We had a reservation but at my aunt's request, elected to sit in the open window in the bar overlooking Hanover Street. The staff was accomodating about the change in plans. It was wonderful to be able to watch the street scene which my aunt enjoyed.

The service was quite good. The bartender who served us was very nice and just the right amount of attentive. Both of us had the Tresca salad which was stellar. We both ordered half orders of pasta. My aunt had the lobster ravioli and I had the Ricotta gnocchi both tasted very good, but were on the salty side..

We did not have dessert as I wanted to take her to that North End institution, Caffe Vittorio.

Overall we had a good dinner and enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Second time there. Food is good, but no ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Second time there. Food is good, but not anything exceptional and a bit overpriced for North End standards. I'd probably recommend the stuffed meatballs, it was the one appetizers that I liked both times I visited. The seafood risotto was average.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good food and wine, but very loud a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Very good food and wine, but very loud and cramped

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant was perfect for a small ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2016

This restaurant was perfect for a small going away dinner for a customer and 4 others for a total of 5. The food was fantastic and plentiful. The service was attentive but not bothersome, and the ambiance was perfect for sharing stories and being able to hear each other.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We drove from Gatineau Quebec, Canada to ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We drove from Gatineau Quebec, Canada to visit friends in Beverly Mass. and the 4 of us decided going into Boston for a little site seeing, diner at TRESCA was the "gem" of the day, absolutely perfect, and Nick added that personal touch to make us feel part of the family. LOVE LOVE Tresca

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great service wonderful selec ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great food great service wonderful selection. Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was incredible - accommodate ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The service was incredible - accommodated the addition of 2 people to our party without difficulty and made space for a 5 month old baby. Also, they paid constant attention to how the meals were cooked, consistently refilled the delicious, fresh bread, and filled our wine glasses when empty. Food was flavorful. Several great vegetarian options. Wonderful ambiance!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They had great food that was inexpensive ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

They had great food that was inexpensive. They atmosphere was also a very nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food, hospitality by host staff and mana ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food, hospitality by host staff and manager excellent. Service was a little scattered. We found out after booking that there had been some management changes recently which can be a red flag but it did not seem to be an issue.

Food excellent, seafood risotto awesome. It is easy to overcook scallops but these were perfect. A relative from California ordered desserts for the table and they did a nice selection.

We recommend!

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Casual, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Most food was well prepared, well season ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Most food was well prepared, well seasoned, and well presented. Swordfish Putanesca( sp) was pretty unseasoned, bland, and overcooked.

Ambiance was nice - but the food seemed overpriced.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Chef/owner Richard provided extensive in ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Chef/owner Richard provided extensive information regarding menu and food preparation. He personally checked on our table at least four times and ensured a fantastic culinary experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first time at Tresca and I mu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2016

It was our first time at Tresca and I must say that the hostesses were very warm and welcoming as soon as we walked in! The wine list was exceptional and the food was exquisite. We had a rock star of a waiter/server. Awesome that the chef came out to greet us--the guests! That was a special treat. Thank you for making my fiancé's birthday even more memorable!! We will definitely come again.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this restaurant waas highly recommended. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2016

this restaurant waas highly recommended.

Hoever the variety was limited' many items were missing (I.E/ tea)

the meat could not be cut by the available knives and the chef appologised and his solution was.... to take he plate to the kitchen and cut the meat up into bite size bits.

high price and no value for money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Great dining experience! Everything was ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great dining experience! Everything was top notch from the servers to the excellent food. Accommodating chef. Every dish flavorful and well crafted. Very memorable and will definitely be back! A must visit when in the North End.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our anniversary and it was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary and it was nice and romantic. There's a balcony upstairs which looked like fun. I liked how they dim the lights to make it even special. The food was fantastic. You can even bring a group of friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our party of 3 were seated downstairs in ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our party of 3 were seated downstairs in front of hostess, we felt awkward as the table was isolated and next to the front door. Only saving grace is that we were at a window. All else good and reasonably priced. I'd try again only with better seating.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We came here for restaurant week and we ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We came here for restaurant week and we were beyond excited for our reservation! After dining here, I am not sure we will be back.

While our appetizers (Italian wedding, Bolognese and lobster ravs) were very good, our main dishes were less than satisfactory. We each got the steak and it was overcooked, fatty and unappetizing. I had 2 bites and was unable to continue eating it. There was a function happening upstairs which in my opinion caused the main dining patrons to suffer. I do not believe this meal was worth the $150 we spent.

Our server was working her first shift at Tresca and she was wonderful! I wish I remembered her name but unfortunately I do not. I can say that she was working the bar/bar area.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I am a regular a Tresca. It was my birth ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I am a regular a Tresca. It was my birthday and I had my wife and 2 grown up children for dinner. I am so glad they now have traditional veal dishes. three of us had the veal parm and it was to die for! My wife had the salmon and it was fabulous. Our server had his a game on was super positive. We love the Italian Chardonnay. Great time and lasting memory. Thanks . Jeff

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They do not serve Miller Lite or Guinnes ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 21, 2016

They do not serve Miller Lite or Guinness. The only two beers that I am not allergic. So I will not be back. The food is great and so was the service. So others might love it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was unexceptable. It took an ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The service was unexceptable. It took an hour to receive our food. Our waitress never checked with us about a delay. Very poor food and very poor service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Excellent! Accommodating, we told the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent! Accommodating, we told the waiter we had to be be done in time to

get to a concert and he served with plenty of time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location with plenty of seating - ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great location with plenty of seating - we much preferred getting seated here with a last-minute reservation! The "small plate" dinner size was perfect for us after splitting an appetizer and salad!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.