About Tresca

233 Hanover St.
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Tresca is an authentic Italian restaurant featuring hearty multi-regional cuisine with an exceptional wine cellar, offering a selection of over 500 of the finest vintages. Recent winner of the 'Wine Spectator' award of excellence. The warm captivating atmosphere and fireplace lit dining rooms capture the feeling of being in villa in Tuscany. The service is exceptional and the menu remarkable, a true dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is available nightly from 5:00pm - 10:00pm Monday - Thursday, Friday 5pm - 11 pm. Saturday 4 pm - 11 pm and Sunday 4 pm - 9.00pm. Our full bar opens Saturday and Sunday at 4pm, closes at midnight during the week, 12:30 am Friday and Saturday, and 10 pm on Sunday.

Cross Street:
Cross St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 742-8240

Website:
http://www.trescanorthend.com/

Entertainment:
Flat screen TV, CD music

Catering:
Available for private functions.

Parking Details:
Restaurant validates for parking at local Haymarket garage. $3 for first three hours standard after three hours. Please call for directions to garage. Five minute walk to restaurant.
Valet parking is available. Look for Exclusive Valet sign; the valet space is next to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Haymarket, TD Banknorth Garden

Executive Chef:
Richard Ansara

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
The perfect romantic setting for an engagement party, rehearsal dinner or cozy intimate wedding. For an exceptional birthday cake or anniversary cake please call in advance and make arrangements.

Restaurant Photos

  • Tresca
  • Wild Mushroom Pizza
  • Calamari Fritti
  • Caprese Salad
  • Crespelle
  • Lobster Linguine With Bourbon Cream Sauce
  • Terre E Mare
  • Rack of Lamb
Tresca
Wild Mushroom Pizza
Calamari Fritti
Caprese Salad
Crespelle
Lobster Linguine With Bourbon Cream Sauce
Terre E Mare
Rack of Lamb

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The main dining room seats up to 80 and the smaller dining room seats up to 30. All have fireplaces and are available for luncheons, dinners, cocktail parties, and seminars.

Tresca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Romantic (15)
See All
Good for Groups (13)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Scenic View (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Casual (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fun (3)
Family Style (3)
Business Meals (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was incredible - accommodate ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was incredible - accommodated the addition of 2 people to our party without difficulty and made space for a 5 month old baby. Also, they paid constant attention to how the meals were cooked, consistently refilled the delicious, fresh bread, and filled our wine glasses when empty. Food was flavorful. Several great vegetarian options. Wonderful ambiance!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They had great food that was inexpensive ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

They had great food that was inexpensive. They atmosphere was also a very nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food, hospitality by host staff and mana ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food, hospitality by host staff and manager excellent. Service was a little scattered. We found out after booking that there had been some management changes recently which can be a red flag but it did not seem to be an issue.

Food excellent, seafood risotto awesome. It is easy to overcook scallops but these were perfect. A relative from California ordered desserts for the table and they did a nice selection.

We recommend!

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Casual, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Most food was well prepared, well season ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Most food was well prepared, well seasoned, and well presented. Swordfish Putanesca( sp) was pretty unseasoned, bland, and overcooked.

Ambiance was nice - but the food seemed overpriced.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

It was our first time at Tresca and I mu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

It was our first time at Tresca and I must say that the hostesses were very warm and welcoming as soon as we walked in! The wine list was exceptional and the food was exquisite. We had a rock star of a waiter/server. Awesome that the chef came out to greet us--the guests! That was a special treat. Thank you for making my fiancé's birthday even more memorable!! We will definitely come again.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this restaurant waas highly recommended. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

this restaurant waas highly recommended.

Hoever the variety was limited' many items were missing (I.E/ tea)

the meat could not be cut by the available knives and the chef appologised and his solution was.... to take he plate to the kitchen and cut the meat up into bite size bits.

high price and no value for money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Great dining experience! Everything was ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great dining experience! Everything was top notch from the servers to the excellent food. Accommodating chef. Every dish flavorful and well crafted. Very memorable and will definitely be back! A must visit when in the North End.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our anniversary and it was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary and it was nice and romantic. There's a balcony upstairs which looked like fun. I liked how they dim the lights to make it even special. The food was fantastic. You can even bring a group of friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our party of 3 were seated downstairs in ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our party of 3 were seated downstairs in front of hostess, we felt awkward as the table was isolated and next to the front door. Only saving grace is that we were at a window. All else good and reasonably priced. I'd try again only with better seating.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We came here for restaurant week and we ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We came here for restaurant week and we were beyond excited for our reservation! After dining here, I am not sure we will be back.

While our appetizers (Italian wedding, Bolognese and lobster ravs) were very good, our main dishes were less than satisfactory. We each got the steak and it was overcooked, fatty and unappetizing. I had 2 bites and was unable to continue eating it. There was a function happening upstairs which in my opinion caused the main dining patrons to suffer. I do not believe this meal was worth the $150 we spent.

Our server was working her first shift at Tresca and she was wonderful! I wish I remembered her name but unfortunately I do not. I can say that she was working the bar/bar area.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I am a regular a Tresca. It was my birth ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I am a regular a Tresca. It was my birthday and I had my wife and 2 grown up children for dinner. I am so glad they now have traditional veal dishes. three of us had the veal parm and it was to die for! My wife had the salmon and it was fabulous. Our server had his a game on was super positive. We love the Italian Chardonnay. Great time and lasting memory. Thanks . Jeff

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They do not serve Miller Lite or Guinnes ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

They do not serve Miller Lite or Guinness. The only two beers that I am not allergic. So I will not be back. The food is great and so was the service. So others might love it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was unexceptable. It took an ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The service was unexceptable. It took an hour to receive our food. Our waitress never checked with us about a delay. Very poor food and very poor service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Excellent! Accommodating, we told the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent! Accommodating, we told the waiter we had to be be done in time to

get to a concert and he served with plenty of time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location with plenty of seating - ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great location with plenty of seating - we much preferred getting seated here with a last-minute reservation! The "small plate" dinner size was perfect for us after splitting an appetizer and salad!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We were there when they first opened. I ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were there when they first opened. I didn't see exactly what I was looking for on the menu so they made it special for me. The food was great and the chef even came out to see if we were satisfied. Service was prompt, friendly and very helpful, especially when trying to select a wine to pair with the meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We sat upstairs, at about 7:45 on a Mond ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We sat upstairs, at about 7:45 on a Monday night - very comfortable - quiet enough for a business discussion. Our food was great - try the Veal Milanese, if you don't mind your veal breaded... and ask for a wedge of lemon to drizzle over it.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The service was great we had some allerg ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The service was great we had some allergy issue and we can't have any liquor so the chef came out and discussed with us all our dishes and made sure it's the way we want it with some changes and everything came out delicious

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went there for my anniversary dinner. Ni ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Went there for my anniversary dinner. Nice upstairs dining room. Not too busy, so it was relatively quiet. Overall not a bad experience, but with the new chef I am not sure if it is going to get better (which I hope so). The wine by the glass menu was decent which I appreciate; the bottle menu was extensive. Food was not great, which is a shame!! I got the cioppino and it was just okay. Calamari overcooked and there was whitefish (not listed on the menu) that was also overcooked. Clams, mussels, shrimp and lobster was good and the broth was good. But $36 was a bit overpriced. My husband got the short ribs which were EXTREMELY dry and the gnocchi that came with it was burnt. He only ate half. The server said the had Sam Adam's on tap, but turns out it was Sam's seasonal, which my husband can not drink. We did not say anything, as we did not ask to clarify. But wish the server was a bit more specific.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We loved everything about Tresca. The fo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We loved everything about Tresca. The food was amazing. We will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The meal was mediocre at best and not wo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The meal was mediocre at best and not worth the price. I appreciated the ambience and amble window seating but not enough to return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Totally awesome experience at Tresca. Th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Totally awesome experience at Tresca. The staff, including the head-chef and co-owner truly cared about our (date night anniversary!) experience. That extra care and family-oriented service will definitely nudge us to come back, and recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tresca did not meet the standard of the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Tresca did not meet the standard of the website. It offered fewer options than the online menu with a few new changes that did not appeal to anyone in my party. We were all disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was outstanding. I have been he ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food was outstanding. I have been here twice now and I am impressed with the service and both the food. The Executive Chef was very knowledgeable on helping me select a entree and was very polite. I would give Tresca 5 Michelin stars for there outstanding service, delicious food, and friendly dining atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good size menu. Party of 5 all enjoyed t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good size menu. Party of 5 all enjoyed their meal and loved the pasta and flavors. Nice sitting upstairs to watch all the Hanover St activity. Ample wine selection but limited on California wines. Restrooms were less than expected.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Supposed to be romantic, was not. Loud a ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Supposed to be romantic, was not. Loud and close, bar was also loud and crowded. Thought we would be treated to another North End Italian food dining experience but surprised that the menu was very limited regarding Italian cuisine in both appetizers and entrees. Food was great, had the veal chop and carpaccio appetizer was very good, wife had the Caesar salad and a pasta dish which was also excellent. Service was fine, wine list was ok. There was just no atmosphere in an establishment that billed itself as romantic. Would be super for a larger group but not so much for an anniversary dinner. Price was reasonable for a North End Saturday night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Good food but watch the check

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Very good food and good but pricey wines. A very enjoyable meal marred somewhat by conscious overcharging of at least 1 item - a bottle of wine. As I was about to point this out to the waiter I was amazed that he told me he already knew. I'm still lost for words

Food great - but check your bill

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Prior to reading this, please note Tresc ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Prior to reading this, please note Tresca has contacted me and apologized for the poor experience we had. They have graciously offered to make amends next time we visit and I look forward to giving the restaurant another try in the near future...

Went here with my wife and her family. Sitting next to us was a loud group of 8 people doing shots, yelling, laughing and being obnoxious. We ordered food, 2 members of our party specifically requested only a half portion of the pasta dish they ordered (which is an option on the menu) but the server brought them both full portions and charged us for 2 full portions. Everyone's pasta was very chewy and under-cooked (not al dente). We also asked for a second round of wine which was never brought to us. Then we got the check which was very large, especially considering the food quality and atmosphere we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great Private Space

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a bachelorette party and they put us in a private room within the wine cellar. Super nice and special. We have a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had the tasting meal and wine pairing. T ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Had the tasting meal and wine pairing. The food was very good but traditional Italian. No real surprises for a chefs choice meal. Wines were nice as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We had a great meal here. I f you like p ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a great meal here. I f you like polenta u must try there's . Best I ever had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Tresca is a must when dining in the North End!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

If you have not yet checked out Tresca...what are you waiting for?

We arrived a bit before our reservation time to enjoy a drink and appetizer at the bar. The bar staff was friendly, funny, knowledgeable & very accommodating. The other patrons seated at the bar were also very friendly - the fried spaghetti was a fun topic of conversation.

Upon being seated, we were offered the intimate balcony table which provides a private & romantic ambiance overlooking Hanover Street but the outdoor temperatures were warm & my husbands' long sleeved Oxford didn't agree with that plan. ;D

We were seated at a great table overlooking Hanover street. There were families & couples alike dining upstairs & the atmosphere was relaxed & perfect.

Our waiter was friendly, knowledgable on the menu items & very helpful in making dinner choices.

We started with both the Marinated Calamari Salad & the Veal Meatballs then ordered the Grilled Maine Family Farms Pork Chop & 1/2 order of the Black Truffle Ricotta Gnocchi to share. Everything was delicious & portions were generous. I was happy to see the 1/2 plate options too!

We ended with The Sogno Di Cioccolato - it truly is a chocolate lover's dream!

It was a fabulous night out...food, drink & atmosphere all second to none!

Don't believe me? Go see for yourself!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great! They were more tha ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Everything was great! They were more than accommodating to our group of 8 and very helpful with the few allergies at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was terrific. Everyone in our party thoroughly enjoyed their meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food at Tresca is good, but the serv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food at Tresca is good, but the service is poor. We were 12 minutes late for our reservation because of North End traffic on a busy Boston Saturday. The maitre'd called to say they were giving away our table if we weren't there in 3 minutes due to a 15 minute late policy. We made the deadline, but he proceeded to tell our party they "needed their table back" by 7:30. They couldn't have made us feel less welcome. I will definitely not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Outdoor balcony table was amazing and so ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Outdoor balcony table was amazing and so romantic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The overall experience was wonderful. T ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The overall experience was wonderful. The reason I did not rate it outstanding was the payment process. Apparently the computers went down and we were not notified for a good 10 - 12 minutes. Finally we were told and they took another 10 minutes to advise us they were still down. It's a good thing we had some cash on us because we could not wait any longer. I hope the computers are operating properly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tresca has a great atmosphere and is hug ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Tresca has a great atmosphere and is huge in relation to most of the North End Italian restaurants. Lots of seating and a good likelihood to get a big group in here. Service was fast and extremely friendly. Personally I wish the menu had a few more classic options, most of the meal choices are a bit upscale and foodie. Very delicious, still. A little pricey, but it is to be expected. Overall very good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

JD

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

While the food was good (osso bucco and beef tenderloin both good - not great), although the restaurant wasn't busy, the service was slow. I enjoy a leisurely meal but this just dragged on. For the price, I expected better overall service and value. It did have a good wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We had a great cozy table, and we could ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a great cozy table, and we could watch the passers-by too. The oyster appetizer was scrumptious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.