About Tresca

233 Hanover St.
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Tresca is an authentic Italian restaurant featuring hearty multi-regional cuisine with an exceptional wine cellar, offering a selection of over 500 of the finest vintages. Recent winner of the 'Wine Spectator' award of excellence. The warm captivating atmosphere and fireplace lit dining rooms capture the feeling of being in villa in Tuscany. The service is exceptional and the menu remarkable, a true dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is available nightly from 5:00pm - 10:30pm Monday - Thursday, Friday 5pm - 11 pm. Saturday 4 pm - 11 pm and Sunday 4 pm - 10:30pm. Our full bar opens Saturday and Sunday at 4pm, closes at midnight during the week and 12:30am Friday and Saturday.

Cross Street:
Cross St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 742-8240

Website:
http://www.trescanorthend.com/

Entertainment:
Flat screen TV, CD music

Catering:
Available for private functions.

Parking Details:
Restaurant validates for parking at local Haymarket garage. $3 for first three hours standard after three hours. Please call for directions to garage. Five minute walk to restaurant.
Valet parking is available. Look for Exclusive Valet sign; the valet space is next to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Haymarket, TD Banknorth Garden

Executive Chef:
Jake Pease

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
The perfect romantic setting for an engagement party, rehearsal dinner or cozy intimate wedding. For an exceptional birthday cake or anniversary cake please call in advance and make arrangements.

Restaurant Photos

  • Wild Mushroom Pizza
  • Calamari Fritti
  • Caprese Salad
  • Crespelle
  • Lobster Linguine With Bourbon Cream Sauce
  • Terre E Mare
  • Rack of Lamb
Wild Mushroom Pizza
Calamari Fritti
Caprese Salad
Crespelle
Lobster Linguine With Bourbon Cream Sauce
Terre E Mare
Rack of Lamb

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The main dining room seats up to 80 and the smaller dining room seats up to 30. All have fireplaces and are available for luncheons, dinners, cocktail parties, and seminars.

Tresca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (27)
good for groups (23)
fit for foodies (22)
See All
romantic (20)
neighborhood gem (17)
notable wine list (16)
scenic view (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good size menu. Party of 5 all enjoyed t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Good size menu. Party of 5 all enjoyed their meal and loved the pasta and flavors. Nice sitting upstairs to watch all the Hanover St activity. Ample wine selection but limited on California wines. Restrooms were less than expected.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Supposed to be romantic, was not. Loud a ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Supposed to be romantic, was not. Loud and close, bar was also loud and crowded. Thought we would be treated to another North End Italian food dining experience but surprised that the menu was very limited regarding Italian cuisine in both appetizers and entrees. Food was great, had the veal chop and carpaccio appetizer was very good, wife had the Caesar salad and a pasta dish which was also excellent. Service was fine, wine list was ok. There was just no atmosphere in an establishment that billed itself as romantic. Would be super for a larger group but not so much for an anniversary dinner. Price was reasonable for a North End Saturday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food but watch the check

Dined on June 6, 2016

Very good food and good but pricey wines. A very enjoyable meal marred somewhat by conscious overcharging of at least 1 item - a bottle of wine. As I was about to point this out to the waiter I was amazed that he told me he already knew. I'm still lost for words Food great - but check your bill

Tags: group bookings, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Incredibly overpriced/loud, horrible food/serivce

Dined on June 5, 2016

Went here with my wife and her family. Sitting next to us was an ridiculously loud group of 8 doing shots, yelling, laughing and being obnoxious. We ordered food, 2 members of our party specifically requested only a half portion of the pasta dish they ordered (which is an option on the menu) but the server brought them both full portions and charged us for 2 full portions. Everyone's pasta was very chewy and under-cooked (not al dente). We also asked for a second round of wine which was never brought to us. Then we got the check which was very large, especially considering the atrocious food and atmosphere we received. I've been to 15-20 restaurants in the North End of Boston and this is the first one that I can safely say I will never be returning to.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Private Space

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a bachelorette party and they put us in a private room within the wine cellar. Super nice and special. We have a great time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Had the tasting meal and wine pairing. T ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Had the tasting meal and wine pairing. The food was very good but traditional Italian. No real surprises for a chefs choice meal. Wines were nice as well.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a great meal here. I f you like p ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a great meal here. I f you like polenta u must try there's . Best I ever had!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tresca is a must when dining in the North End!

Dined on May 28, 2016

If you have not yet checked out Tresca...what are you waiting for? We arrived a bit before our reservation time to enjoy a drink and appetizer at the bar. The bar staff was friendly, funny, knowledgeable & very accommodating. The other patrons seated at the bar were also very friendly - the fried spaghetti was a fun topic of conversation. Upon being seated, we were offered the intimate balcony table which provides a private & romantic ambiance overlooking Hanover Street but the outdoor temperatures were warm & my husbands' long sleeved Oxford didn't agree with that plan. ;D We were seated at a great table overlooking Hanover street. There were families & couples alike dining upstairs & the atmosphere was relaxed & perfect. Our waiter was friendly, knowledgable on the menu items & very helpful in making dinner choices. We started with both the Marinated Calamari Salad & the Veal Meatballs then ordered the Grilled Maine Family Farms Pork Chop & 1/2 order of the Black Truffle Ricotta Gnocchi to share. Everything was delicious & portions were generous. I was happy to see the 1/2 plate options too! We ended with The Sogno Di Cioccolato - it truly is a chocolate lover's dream! It was a fabulous night out...food, drink & atmosphere all second to none! Don't believe me? Go see for yourself!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Everything was great! They were more tha ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Everything was great! They were more than accommodating to our group of 8 and very helpful with the few allergies at the table.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious!

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was terrific. Everyone in our party thoroughly enjoyed their meal.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

The food at Tresca is good, but the serv ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food at Tresca is good, but the service is poor. We were 12 minutes late for our reservation because of North End traffic on a busy Boston Saturday. The maitre'd called to say they were giving away our table if we weren't there in 3 minutes due to a 15 minute late policy. We made the deadline, but he proceeded to tell our party they "needed their table back" by 7:30. They couldn't have made us feel less welcome. I will definitely not be back.

food4
ambience5
service4

Outdoor balcony table was amazing and so ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Outdoor balcony table was amazing and so romantic!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall experience was wonderful. T ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The overall experience was wonderful. The reason I did not rate it outstanding was the payment process. Apparently the computers went down and we were not notified for a good 10 - 12 minutes. Finally we were told and they took another 10 minutes to advise us they were still down. It's a good thing we had some cash on us because we could not wait any longer. I hope the computers are operating properly.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tresca has a great atmosphere and is hug ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Tresca has a great atmosphere and is huge in relation to most of the North End Italian restaurants. Lots of seating and a good likelihood to get a big group in here. Service was fast and extremely friendly. Personally I wish the menu had a few more classic options, most of the meal choices are a bit upscale and foodie. Very delicious, still. A little pricey, but it is to be expected. Overall very good!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

JD

Dined on May 6, 2016

While the food was good (osso bucco and beef tenderloin both good - not great), although the restaurant wasn't busy, the service was slow. I enjoy a leisurely meal but this just dragged on. For the price, I expected better overall service and value. It did have a good wine list.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a great cozy table, and we could ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a great cozy table, and we could watch the passers-by too. The oyster appetizer was scrumptious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bellisimo

Dined on April 22, 2016

Incredible service and outstanding food. The arancini were light and airy. Short rib was falling apart, yet moist and flavorful. Creamy buratta and heirloom tomatoes were delicious as was the carbonara. Also, a fantastic wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Night at Tresca

Dined on April 17, 2016

There were 9 of us. 5 were from Italy. We had the private room in the basement which was great. Servers need to know that you offer parmesan cheese to Italians eating pasta with tomato sauce. Seems they had no idea about this. Also, they shouldn't turn the lights out in the hallway until we left. it was very dark on the way out. Great room though. Food was average....

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service from our friendly welc ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Wonderful service from our friendly welcome at the front desk to the server

food5
ambience4
service5

We went as a double date, and it was per ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

We went as a double date, and it was perfect. The food was totally delicious, the service was on point, and the overall feel was fitting for a nice dinner out. We wrapped up the night by heading to the Improv Asylum across the street.

food3
ambience3
service4

Solid Italian food in a cozy enviornment

Dined on March 26, 2016

Solid Italian food in a cozy enviornment

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner at Tresca

Dined on March 19, 2016

We had a great experience at Tresca for our anniversary. The food was outstanding and our server was exceptional. We would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Restaurant week excursion -- good for va ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Restaurant week excursion -- good for value during the week. If we had paid full price, not sure I would say it was worth it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food2
ambience3
service3

Nothing amazing, and very expensive for ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Nothing amazing, and very expensive for the quality of the food.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We have been going to trescas for a few ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

We have been going to trescas for a few years now. Traveling from out of town about 45 min. We always ask for Filipino. He is no longer there. The hostess said the server we would have was just as good. He was not. In fact he was horrible. I think we saw him only when he took our order and to give us the check. Filipino was alway there checking on us and offering suggestions. He was so part of the experience that made it so enjoyable.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Disappointing!

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Overpriced for the ambiance and quality of the meal. Menu is very limited. Wouldn't recommend. Many better choices in the north end.

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

I probably would have given a better rat ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

I probably would have given a better rating however, I believe our server (Mario) rushed us through the entire meal and could not wait for my wife and I to leave. What confirmed this for me was when I asked him if they had good espresso and he responded by saying I could probably get better somewhere else on Hanover Street. I will definitely seek out other options the next time I am in Boston.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Valentine's Day dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Stopped in here for Valentine's dinner with my girlfriend. We had dinner here at a work function prior to getting together, so it was a nice return. The Valentine's day menu was great - typically we are not fans of set menus, but the variety and quality of this menu was excellent. The wine was great - we both enjoyed two glasses of Merlot and Sav Blanc. The fried oysters were an amazing start. While disappointed with such little lobster in the lobster fra diavolo, pasta course, our entrees, both duck and short rib, were incredibly cooked and well-paired with sides and sauces. To cap, the tiramisu was perhaps the best dessert either of us have had at a restaurant. All portions were perfect. We very much enjoyed lingering at dinner, due to the ambiance and enjoyable pace of the courses coming out of the kitchen. We were, however, a bit disappointed that it took the server a bit too long to return and refill the wine glasses for our courses. The end result was slugging wine back to quickly finish as our car was pulled up to the valet stand at the end of the night. Overall, 9.5/10 for the entire night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on February 14, 2016

Had a great dinner here for Valentine's Day. Steak was one of the best I've ever had. Service was great and drinks were made perfectly. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5

We were 45 min late on the Saturday nigh ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were 45 min late on the Saturday night before Valentine's and we were still sat promptly at a table that was, at least in my opinion, the best table in the house. Service was great and food was excellent. Loved my favorite dessert, Nutella flatbread. Lovely date night.

food2
ambience2
service5
value3

Tresca Review

Dined on February 14, 2016

Unfortunately I have to give Tresca a bad review. This may have just been an unlucky night but I won't be returning to find that out. It was 0 degrees outside and you could clearly tell. The inside of the restaurant was freezing cold. It was Un-enjoyably cold. The service was great, waiter was nice and polite. The bartenders did not make our drinks uniform as the same drink ordered twice came out two clearly different ways. The Fra Diavlo was delicious, although small. The short rib was also great but the side was terrible. The pork chop was extremely tough and it was a struggle to cut it with the knife they provided. Then towards the end they seated an extremely intoxicated couple. Very obnoxious and loud. It was clear to see and they should have never been let in to begin with. The guy fell asleep at the table and then tried to fight the manager right next to me when he was asked to leave. Like I said, a couple unlucky events made the night worse but not worth going back here for me.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyable

Dined on February 13, 2016

We arrived early and enjoyed a drink at the bar while we waited for our table to be ready. We were seated shortly and enjoyed an upstairs table overlooking Hanover which was really nice. Tables are close together but not bad especially compared to some others in the north end. I had the Surf and Turf which was delicious and perfectly cooked to my taste and my hubby had the braised short ribs which he is still talking about. We shared tiramisu to finish our meal, yum. It was a wonderful evening and wE hope to return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great

Dined on February 10, 2016

The ambiance was terrific for a dinner for 2.making reservations was easy with the open table app. I requested a table and they sat us right by the fireplace. It was wonderful and our waiter was very helpful choosing our meals. I would highly recommend this place. .

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Over priced

Dined on February 9, 2016

The menu was horrible. When I go to an Italian restaurant I want meat balls made of beef not veal and pork. We ordered the meatballs anyway and they were the size of a large grape. I also like a nice red meat sauce and this was not available. The caesar salad was fine. I then wanted some ravioli's for a main course and was told they did not have these. It appeared to me they are trying to justify over charing the customer for italian food.

food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Dinner

Dined on February 6, 2016

My husband and I went to Tresca for the first time last weekend. Before ordering I notified my waiter of dietary restrictions. He was very attentive. When the meal came it was not prepared as requested. The waiter immediately took it back to fix it. I think when they removed the sauce and or butter they must have reheated it. I say that because my medium steak was well done and a little tough. Enough to ask for a better knife. For $48, for surf and turf I wasn't impressed and won't go back. My husband ordered pasta (which is probably what they specialize in) and was ok with his meal. I don't think it was worth the money spent. Plenty other great restaurants in the North End.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining with Ray

Dined on February 6, 2016

Took my girlfriend to Tresca before a Bruins game. We were seated directly beside Ray Bourque and his wife. It was a special and unexpected bonus to a dining experience that was already special. Mr. Bourque was gracious and patient with the frequent visitors to his table. A true gentleman.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!!!

Dined on February 3, 2016

In a word, EXCELLENT!!!!! Ambiance, service, food and everything in between was fabulous. Highly recommend!!! The restaurant is quiet with a great vibe, service was impeccable, wine list extensive but not overwhelming and the food was prepared with the utmost care and pride. Cannot say enough about Tresca, you will not go wrong!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were ver impressed with the dinning e ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

We were ver impressed with the dinning experience. Everything was wonderful. The staff were friendly - I would recommend not using open table to book but to call restaurant directly. This gives you more variety of times.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Great Service, Very Loud

Dined on January 24, 2016

We had dinner during Saturdays snowstorm and the food and service were excellent but the noise level with only half the tables occupied was disconcerting. It was difficult to hear the person next to you.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We will definitely be back

Dined on January 23, 2016

The staff was wonderful and the food just as good. Great place

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.