About Tresca

233 Hanover St.
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Tresca is an authentic Boston North End Italian restaurant featuring hearty multi-regional cuisine with an exceptional wine cave, offering a selection of over 500 of the finest vintages. The warm and cozy atmosphere features a fireplace lit dining room both in the lower level and the beautiful Tuscan style upstairs seating overlooking famous Hanover St. in the heart of the North End. Bruins Hall of Fame Legend Ray Bourque co-owns Tresca with partners including Chef Richard Ansara. The service is exceptional and the menu remarkable, a delicious dining experience inviting patrons to make return visits.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is available nightly from 5:00pm - 10:00pm Monday - Thursday, Friday 5pm - 11 pm. Saturday 4 pm - 11 pm and Sunday 4 pm - 9.00pm. Our full bar opens Saturday and Sunday at 4pm, closes at midnight during the week, 12:30 am Friday and Saturday, and 10 pm on Sunday.

Cross Street:
Cross St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 742-8240

Website:
http://www.trescanorthend.com/

Entertainment:
Flat screen TV, CD music

Catering:
Available for private functions.

Parking Details:
Restaurant validates for parking at local Haymarket garage. $3 for first three hours standard after three hours. Please call for directions to garage. Five minute walk to restaurant.
Valet parking is available. Look for Exclusive Valet sign; the valet space is next to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Haymarket, TD Banknorth Garden

Executive Chef:
Richard Ansara

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
The perfect romantic setting for an engagement party, rehearsal dinner or cozy intimate wedding. For an exceptional birthday cake or anniversary cake please call in advance and make arrangements.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Tuscan Room Upstairs - Tresca, Boston, MA
Italian Feast - Tresca, Boston, MA
Seafood Fra Divavlo - Tresca, Boston, MA
Ray At Tresca - Tresca, Boston, MA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The main dining room seats up to 80 and the smaller dining room seats up to 30. All have fireplaces and are available for luncheons, dinners, cocktail parties, and seminars.

Tresca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Romantic (20)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Authentic (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Casual (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Cozy (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Fireplace (8)
People Watching (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Fun (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Family Style (5)
Scenic View (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Historic (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Waterfront (2)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
1280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great time at Tresca. Food was amazing, ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great time at Tresca. Food was amazing, atmosphere was perfect and the waitstaff/hostess were outstanding! All around a hidden treasure! Also, a nice surprise to see Ray Bourque was there and gracious enough to allow us to take photos with him!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First off, come to this place for the fo ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

First off, come to this place for the food. My girlfriend ordered the chicken parm, which filled the entire plate, and had a side of pasta. I ordered the Swordfish, grilled to perfection and served over a small order of angel hair in a wine sauce.

This is a great place to go for a date, friends get together (our reason for going on this trip), anything. There is an upstairs level and we were sat adjacent to a fireplace - very classy!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time at this restaura ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was my second time at this restaurant (the first time was far better). The hostess and waiting staff have all been kind and patient. The vegetarian options are limited, but the chefs are amenable to subtracting meat components from many of the dishes. Great wine list. The meal started with stale bread (disappointing). The mushroom gnocchi was delicious. The eggplant pasta dish and the pumpkin ravioli were bland and both came out lukewarm instead of hot and fresh. We were seated downstairs this time around and so the ambient noise level was much higher.

Tags: Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Wine list is pricey, meals delicious and ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

Wine list is pricey, meals delicious and price fits for Boston

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a business dinner for 4. The foo ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had a business dinner for 4. The food was incredible. Appetizers were meatballs that had cheese inside and eggplant that was delicious. The servers and hostess were very friendly. Rich, the Chef was also very friendly and nice and came to our table 3 times to make sure everything was okay. The entrées were swordfish, salmon and veal. All portions were cooked to perfection, excellent size and reasonably priced. We also got a bottle of cabernet which was reasonably priced and of excellent quality. Tresca is now our go-to restaurant for business dinners, dates and business functions. We plan on having a business reception for 20 people sometime in the next 2 months. Tresca is a good sized restaurant having 2 floors which is unique for the North End. It is a short walk from Faneuil Hall and the TD Garden. I met Ray Bourque at our mutual gym and he recommended speaking with Rich who was very helpful and an incredible chef. 5 stars for Tresca!!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Private Room, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night and the staff was fantastic. ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great night and the staff was fantastic. I was welcomed and felt important. Very much appreciated and I will definitely be back again. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a party of seven, diverse in age ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were a party of seven, diverse in age and taste. But everyone was pleased with our evening at Tresca. The food and service were wonderful, and the atmosphere lovely. We sat at a table upstairs, overlooking Hanover Street. The noise level was not an issue, and our conversation was easily heard. All in all, this was a great choice for our company holiday gathering. Thanks, Tresca!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a good enjoyable experience. Will d ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Such a good enjoyable experience. Will definitely be back again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went out here for New Years Eve. Upon ar ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went out here for New Years Eve. Upon arriving at 9:30pm we were told our table would be ready in a few, 20 minutes later we had not heard anything so I checked with the hostess who clearly had forgotten about us. We were seated next to three empty tables - not sure what the wait was for.

We ordered Oysters, Halibut, and the Ribeye. Following the Oysters I began to feel sick and therefore was unable to finish my meal. The steak was good, but the halibut was overcooked. The waitress was clearly in a rush and didn't even ask if I wanted to take my leftovers home - she just took them from me. Overall, it was a very poor experienced at an extremely premium cost.

The worst part of the night was the wait-staff. The waitress was in a rush to go out to party on her own - she was walking out the door next to us!! We felt like we were being rushed the whole time, not the feeling you want to have when you are spending $200 on a meal. She didn't even ask if we wanted desert!! I will be calling and speaking to the manager about the poor experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

My wife, daughter and cousin went to thi ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife, daughter and cousin went to this fine establishment for New Years Eve and our Anniversary. They had a great special menu for the holiday, the waitstaff was superb and the chef came around to the table twice to make sure everything was great. I strongly suggest that you try this place for any special occasion or just to go out to eat. Happy New Year!

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was excellent. Prices were set a ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Dinner was excellent. Prices were set a little high on the special New Year's Eve menu. But the food did not disappoint. Our server could have been a little more forthcoming with suggestions. Would definitely come back. Veal chop was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent service and good. The atmosphe ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent service and good. The atmosphere was great and it was awesome to get to meet Ray Borque.

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great from start to finis ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was great from start to finish. Appetizers, salads, entrees and desserts were all outstanding. Service was perfect too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Way over priced. The food was lousy and ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Way over priced. The food was lousy and the atmosphere was terrible. Sat us at the front door, it was freezing and loud. 60$ for three slices of meat, 4 slices of potato, and three, really THREE, asparagus. I was so upset with myself having to pay 450$ for an absolute terrible experience. Never again, live and learn and hope people learn from my review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great service, great pasta. A very enjo ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great service, great pasta. A very enjoyable evening!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice meal & menu. Tables a little too c ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Nice meal & menu. Tables a little too close for comfort though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We have been wanting to dine at Tresca f ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

We have been wanting to dine at Tresca for a long time and have not had a chance, as we are not home (Boston) very often. We made a reservation and arrived a little early, but it was no problem. It is a beautiful and romantic setting. We were sat upstairs where we had a nice view of part of North End. The service was on point and the food was fantastic. Loved the Lobster Ravioli! We will be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The veal parm, lobster rav, and pasta bo ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

The veal parm, lobster rav, and pasta bolognese were excellent. The service was family-friendly, the cocktails were generous, and the warm fireplace added a cozy ambiance. I look forward to my next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Plenty of room to get 8 of us comfortabl ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Plenty of room to get 8 of us comfortably at a table. Waiter was attentive, but did not rush us at all. Every meal met our expectations.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous dinner, wonderful ambiance, exc ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Fabulous dinner, wonderful ambiance, excellent experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was phenomenal. The cook on eve ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was phenomenal. The cook on everything was perfect. Our server was perfect. We will definitely return.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Really enjoyed our family dinner at Tres ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Really enjoyed our family dinner at Tresca. Great location, wonderful food, and great service. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a party of six and Rick was our ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were a party of six and Rick was our server. Food, wine and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meal! The space was quite no ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Delicious meal!

The space was quite noisy and the tables were tight. Being a cold day, the old building proved drafty if near the windows.

Service was slow given the volume of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Been to Tresca a few times, though this ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Been to Tresca a few times, though this was the first time in a while. Service was excellent, food was very good. The veal/sirloin meatball appetizer was okay, and my lobster raviolis were very, very good. My mother had a veal piccata she said she really liked.

Restaurant was definitely on the noisy side - probably a combination of holiday season, two different 8-10 person tables near us, and it being a Saturday night. So while I understand it, it was borderline loud to where it wasn't enjoyable. But food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good, wine, and service were impeccable. ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Good, wine, and service were impeccable. Not much more to say. Excellent all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had decided on a whim to check it out ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

We had decided on a whim to check it out and were not disappointed! Food and service were both amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We spent the evening with special friend ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

We spent the evening with special friends enjoying wonderful food and wine in a friendly atmosphere

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's an Italian restaurant in the North ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

It's an Italian restaurant in the North End. Not all are good, they all serve just about the same thing. Therefore, food was good, service was good bartender should work on her product knowledge. It was a slow night, just ashame, it could have been a great expereience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was very good as well as the servic ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was very good as well as the service. This was our second time at Tresca. Each time was very good.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was good but not great - not worthy o ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

It was good but not great - not worthy of the North End

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and setting, price was a litt ...

 
·Dined on December 5, 2016

Great food and setting, price was a little high, but you do get what you pay for.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We chose Tresca as a new place to try bu ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

We chose Tresca as a new place to try but it turns out I had been there before. I would not have chosen it if I had realized. Everything was good but not remarkable in any way. The portions were rather mediocre. Steve, our server, recommended sharing the salad which was a great idea. We have been to other restaurants in the north end that are much better and the prices are more pleasing to the wallet. On the more positive side, they took a reservation, no waiting and our server was very attentive. Things could have moved along more slowly but it worked out just fine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service and food were great! Noise level ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Service and food were great! Noise level was high. Need to find ways to absorb the noise.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Absolutely amazing, like always. Impecc ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Absolutely amazing, like always. Impeccable service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous wine. Awesome food. Wonderful s ...

 
·Dined on November 23, 2016

Fabulous wine. Awesome food. Wonderful staff. Nice, quiet, candlelit table upstairs. Will go back on next trip to Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just ok....but the noise level ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was just ok....but the noise level up stairs was over the top! Had to yell over the table to have a conversation. Waitress was very good and manager was super friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Tresca is a great spot for authentic Ita ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Tresca is a great spot for authentic Italian food in the North End. Great service and atmosphere!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, People Watching, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

In the heart of the North End, I often t ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

In the heart of the North End, I often take out of town guests here. The menu and chef changed recently, so I miss my old favorites. The food however has remained excellent. It was extremely busy this time, and incredibly loud upstairs. I recommend you ask for downstairs if you want to hear your dinner companion speak. I'll give the waiter a pass this time because he was running around very busy. Both my date and I loved the Pumpkin Ravioli and the Veal Chop. I could eat the Panzanella Salad every day.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Family Style, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I only wish Richard and his staff would ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

I only wish Richard and his staff would create delicious meals for me everynight.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fireplace, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.