About Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves)

130 Townsend St
San Francisco, CA 94107
View Larger Map

Viva Tequila!


Tres - SF is dedicated to quality and fun. Our tequila bar features fresh, hand-squeezed lime margaritas and other tasty tequila & mezcal cocktails, plus Mexican beers on tap. Our food is inspired by traditional restaurants of Jalisco Mexico. We serve wholesome, soulful renditions of Jaliscan classics using the freshest possible ingredients from Bay Area farmers.


Rocks, No Salt!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Sunday thru Thursday: 1130a - 10p*
Friday and Saturday: 1130a - 1100p *

*closing time subject to change based on business levels

Cross Street:
2nd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 227-0500

Website:
http://www.tressf.com/

Catering:
Tres Truck can bring the party to you! Our very own taco truck is perfect for birthday celebrations, tailgating, weddings, or just for fun. We will be there with our fresh Jaliscan cuisine and even tequila if you’d like!

Parking Details:
Street parking and valet.

Public Transit:
Caltrain - 2 blocks away
2nd and King Muni - 1 1/2 blocks away

Executive Chef:
Daniel Padilla

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located just 1 block from AT&T Park, our historic building with exposed brick and wood beams is the ideal spot for comfortable but upscale events. With 4 dedicated event spaces, Tres has everything you need for your next corporate or social event. Join us for one of our Margarita Making or Tequila Tasting Classes, both unique and interactive experiences that will leave a lasting memory with your guests.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

With a variety of unique event spaces and menus, TRES is the perfect venue for your next social gathering, meeting, or corporate event!

Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Casual (6)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Spicy (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Family Style (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Romantic (2)
Business Meals (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Cozy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
844 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I came here for lunch with a friend and I am had the most AMAZING fish tacos, probably the best I've ever had! I will definitely be back. The place is very cute as well. I strongly recommend trying Tres when in the mood for Mexican food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

When friends join us from out of town, we always make at least one visit to Tres for their carnitas!

Tags: Tapas, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Rarely disappointed by a visit to Tres. Excellent service and the updated menu is really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The worst service I have experienced, and I spoke with the on duty manager and she didn't really care either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

There were 10 of us. The waiter was attentive and gave good suggestions. We had a really nice time and everything deserved a good solid 4 stars. Actually I would give the queso 5 stars.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

They were out of three main dishes. The waiter was only somewhat patient with my family that has lots of energy and lots of questions. The ceviche was delicious but the carne asada was a little off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Horrible service throughout. Appetizers came after entrees, server was rude, and the bus staff was worse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The Ceviche and the fish tacos. Delicious! Only negative was the 5% mandate tax. Thanks Obama. The waiter go less tip thanks to you.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent Mexican food. simple and delicious. Great service.

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Tres was an interesting experience. We were well taken care of at the beginning of the night, but service tapered off once we got our appetizers. Some of the food was excellent (the steak stew), some was a little overcooked (the chicken mole) and one dish was completely unbalanced (the carnitas). We will probably be back at some point, but more careful in what we order.

Tags: Hot Spot, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The food was great . I had the Jardin Tacos. The primary ingredient was hen of the woods mushrooms and they were perfect. My husband got the Sopa Ranchero, which is listed as an appetizer but is plenty for a main dish. The problem we had was timing. We both ordered cocktails expecting to sip on them while we waited for our food. When the waiter returned to get our food order the drinks had not arrived, so we ordered some chips to nibble on with our drinks. The chips came out almost immediately as did the entrees!!!! Still no drinks. We nudged someone and they finally arrived but one of them was the wrong drink and had to go back. Not a deal breaker and I'd definitely go back if in the area, but coordination was definitely off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

food was very very good. upscale Mexican food. Perfect precursor to going to Luzia at Cirque de Soleil. However it was utterly shocking to order coffee and be told that the restaurant is out of coffee. How can you be in restaurant business and run out of coffee? Were they just giving us a line or what? Most bizarre thing ever experienced at a brunch restaurant. Service a little uneven with plates coming out to table in a very hodgepodge fashion. so we all ended up drinking water cause there was not coffee. so so strange. the waiter wanted us to drink tequila...um....maybe after the circus...and not on a Sunday. Skimpy on the chips.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I love bringing friends to Tres - they are never disappointed. Tasty Mexican food for a good price. The chips, salsa and guacamole are always a favorite. The fish tacos were delicious. My friend was so happy he could order a Mexican Coca Cola - in fact, he ordered two. I will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Had a great dinner. We made reservations here because the menu looked good and it was a short walk to At&t Park where we were seeing a show. The restaurant was nice, food was good, service was great, and it's also a tequila bar😀

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was delicious! Especially the guacamole, queso and fish tacos. Perfect location to go before heading to ATT park. Parking was only $15

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great restaurant near AT&T park. Amazing food, not typical Mexican food. Great flavors, great food. We will do this again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The guacamole was awesome and even though the menu doesn't have a lot of vegetarian options, they were very open to making many of their dishes vegetarian.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great carnitas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Tres was delicious and had very unique margarita options. I had the herbaceous and it was served in a beautiful glass and was a very elegant drink. I also ordered the vegetarian tacos and they were fantastic. service was great, plenty of guacamole. Atmosphere is modern but warm. Cannot wait to go back! thank you

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was excellent, and as others have noted, the service was very slow and the waitstaff inattentive. The restuarant was far from full or busy, yet the waiter and pretty much everyone seemed to have something else to do other than take an order to ask if we'd like a refill. The other thing that was odd was we wanted to order some guacamole, only to be told that all of it was reserved for a private party (we saw the party, which was only about 10 people). What kind of Mexican restaurant runs out of guacamole at 5pm? We would have ordered dessert, but it took two hours to get one round of drinks and our entrees.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I had only previously been to Tres for private parties in their backroom. We were seated and served quickly, I enjoyed my margarita and carnitas entree, my companion ordered the pollo con mole and wished only that there'd been more mole sauce. In a neighborhood drowning in unimaginative and overpriced American pub fare served to overpaid man-children in hoodies, Tres was a fine business dinner choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The experience I've had a tres is amazing. Love the environment and food! I'm a meat person. I love their angus steak platter. The only thing I wish they offered was more meat portion. The angus steak platter is only 8oz. Wish they had 20oz. But over all I love the place. I recommend anybody to go their for their Mexican food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent guacamole and chips, margaritas, and fish tacos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Tasty dishes and cocktails , served promptly in a lively setting.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Really good food - but it felt like the servers were trying to rush us out. We'd put down a fork and the plate would be cleared, even if we weren't done.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Tres always delivers. Great service, good food. Great for groups and fun occasions .

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great food, lively atmosphere. Great tequila selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was delicious. The server was amazing. The hostess at the door was terrible. We were there to celebrate my girlfriends birthday and we wanted to switch to a different table. At the time, the restaurant was at 20% capacity and we were just a party of 4. They told us all the other tables were reserved. Weird. When pushed again, they said that it is a waitress/waiter allocation issue and they don't want to overload them. Weird since our request was to love 2 tables down to avoid the wind from the door.

Anywho, after a lot of complaining, they finally moved us and the hostess said "are you finally happy? Don't be surprised if your food is super late or cold".

The waitress we had was super gracious and rescued the night and birthday celebration for us. The food was great and made us eventually forget about the rough start.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

What Mexican restaurant runs out of guacamole on a busy weekend? I almost thought they were kidding. Seriously.

This would have absolutely been a deal-breaker had I known when we made the reservation. In fact, my party and I specifically walked ~2 mi from our hotel to the restaurants in anticipation of all the margaritas and chips/guac we were going to enjoy.

We complained to the server a little who then sent over the manager. Basically, he said they ran out and there was nothing he could do. He seemed aloof. He seemed arrogant. And he made me feel like I was the one who was crazy for being upset. Nothing you can do? Really? How about apologize? How about - oh, I don't know - throw in a free dessert? How about act like you care? The service was just awful. Which tainted everything else. Really disappointing experience. It was beautifully decorated, but I would never return. Nor would I recommend. Too many outstanding choices in San Francisco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was really good and the margaritas amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food was good but the reason to go here is the bar!!! Quite crowded!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

I had placed a reservation for 5. We arrived and were seated quickly. We were seated at a table that was for 4 people, and were given a chair to throw at the end. This made the table feel crammed. We were also seated right behind the bar area - where the TV's are set to MAX volume levels and results in having everyone shouting the entire time. This will not be somewhere my office will use for future dinner spots, which is really unfortunate, as it is very close to our office.

Food was ok, a lot of fatty pieces in the carnitas. The drinks were also mediocre. The service to receive these drinks took an awfully long time. One was due to the waitress forgetting to put in the order, and the bar tender mentioned he'd take it off the bill. Not sure if that happened, but it was a nice gesture.

Tags: Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great place to meet friends before a ball game, just a block away from the park! Love the margaritas, chips and salsa, guacamole and the entrees are delicious! Servers are very friendly also!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Good Mexican food, great location to ATT Park. Nice ambiance and layout. Great bar. Service was okay - expect a bit better from such a busy place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great, convenient stop before a Giants' game. Good food, easy in and out.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

It's been a while since I've dined at Tres. It's sometimes difficult to get a reservation. The friends I went with used to be regulars. We were all three extremely disappointed with the food. Something has changed and it's not good! The chips and guacamole were terrific as always but the chicken enchilada was bland and not at all as flavorful as it once was. The shrimp entree which my friend recommended I order (he said it was the best in town) was awful! It was a generous portion of shrimp but it had absolutely NO flavor or seasoning. The shrimp were accompanied by a mound of onions piled on top of 2 thick, soggy pieces of white bread. Is this really a recipe?? Yikes! My friend quickly retracted his praise. The service was the only thing pleasant about the meal. I doubt I'll ever go back. There's too many other great choices in SF!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The service was great. And the food was excellent. The only negative was that when we arrived about 15 mins early, we were told that the kitchen was about to close because they were not busy enough. While I understand that staying open and paying staff without customers does not make good business sense, we would have appreciated a phone call to let us know so that we could have arrived earlier to help the restaurant out or made other plans so as not to feel rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The manager cancelled the 8:30pm reservation when I arrived and told me that the kitchen was closing since I was the last reservation of the night, and they hadn't had reservations for two hours prior. I will not be trying to go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great place for a quick bite before the Giants' games. Good, fresh Mexican food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2016

They were 20 minutes late seating us despite our reservation. And when they did seat our party of 6, we did not even get a table. They put is at a weird bar in the back where I couldn't even talk to my clients. I won't be back, it was embarrassing.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2016

The drinks were good but the food was just ok and the portion size for the price was not great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 25, 2016

The drinks were delicious. The food fell a little short of our expectations.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was just Ok.

Fish Tacos weren't that flavorful and kinda fishy.

Guacamole was kinda bland.... mine's way tastier!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Every selection was amazingly delicious and the service was top notch. Would not hesitate to go back. Top marks across the board!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were party of six, everyone seemed to enjoy the food. Service was a little sketchy with regard to appetizers. Had to ask a few times for chips and salsa; this was a day when there was no Giants game in town so business at the restaurant was pretty slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Extensive tequila menu with good tequilas. Close to the ballpark. We had a great evening, with drinks and food, although we thought it was a little pricey. Otherwise good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 10, 2016

The best part of this restaurant really was only the food. I was excited to try this place but was let down with the service. Great guacamole!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The restaurant had a great selection of dining options. I highly recommend the mushroom quesadilla as well as the poblano dish, both very flavorful! Tons of great margarita options, I enjoyed a classic Don Julio margarita while my friend chose the one with the peppers in it which although I'm not one for spicy stuff, was relatively mild and absolutely delicious! Highly recommend this restaurant!! :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great veggie tacos before the Giants game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2016

As others has said, it is way overpriced for what you get. I like the typical type of Mexican food so I ordered the chicken burretto. The others in my group order the Tacos. I got two burrettos for about $18. That did not include the rice and beans, which we then ordered. The tacos were just three tacos. The service was very good. It was on a Friday night so the bar was packed and it was very loud. We could not hear the conversation of our friends at our table. I would not plan on going back again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.