About Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves)

130 Townsend St
San Francisco, CA 94107
View Larger Map

Viva Tequila!


Tres - SF is dedicated to quality and fun. Our tequila bar features fresh, hand-squeezed lime margaritas and other tasty tequila & mezcal cocktails, plus Mexican beers on tap. Our food is inspired by traditional restaurants of Jalisco Mexico. We serve wholesome, soulful renditions of Jaliscan classics using the freshest possible ingredients from Bay Area farmers.


Rocks, No Salt!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Sunday thru Thursday: 1130a - 10p*
Friday and Saturday: 1130a - 1100p *

*closing time subject to change based on business levels

Cross Street:
2nd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 227-0500

Website:
http://www.tressf.com/

Catering:
Tres Truck can bring the party to you! Our very own taco truck is perfect for birthday celebrations, tailgating, weddings, or just for fun. We will be there with our fresh Jaliscan cuisine and even tequila if you’d like!

Parking Details:
Street parking and valet.

Public Transit:
Caltrain - 2 blocks away
2nd and King Muni - 1 1/2 blocks away

Executive Chef:
Anthony Del Real

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located just 1 block from AT&T Park, our historic building with exposed brick and wood beams is the ideal spot for comfortable but upscale events. With 4 dedicated event spaces, Tres has everything you need for your next corporate or social event. Join us for one of our Margarita Making or Tequila Tasting Classes, both unique and interactive experiences that will leave a lasting memory with your guests.

Restaurant Photos

  • Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves)
  • Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves)
  • Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves)
Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves)
Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves)
Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves)

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

With a variety of unique event spaces and menus, TRES is the perfect venue for your next social gathering, meeting, or corporate event!

Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in SOMA ›

good for groups (14)
neighborhood gem (12)
vibrant bar scene (11)
See All
great for lunch (11)
hot spot (7)
fit for foodies (6)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (3)
special occasion (2)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
724 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

As others has said, it is way overpriced ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

As others has said, it is way overpriced for what you get. I like the typical type of Mexican food so I ordered the chicken burretto. The others in my group order the Tacos. I got two burrettos for about $18. That did not include the rice and beans, which we then ordered. The tacos were just three tacos. The service was very good. It was on a Friday night so the bar was packed and it was very loud. We could not hear the conversation of our friends at our table. I would not plan on going back again.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent. Highly recommend.

Dined on May 27, 2016

Excellent. Highly recommend.

food3
ambience3
service2

We like Tres and have eaten multiple tim ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

We like Tres and have eaten multiple times there. We went after a Giants game and usually this isn't a problem. However the bar was overwhelmed that night and we never got the beers we ordered. Service was really slow and it took more than 20 minutes for our server to take our order. The food came quickly but it was not as good as it usually it is. I hope it was just an off night for them, but we were really disappointed since we were celebrating a birthday. Maybe we'll just go when the Giants are out of town.

food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Meal was disappointing.

Dined on May 21, 2016

Meal was disappointing. I had planned to get an entree size salad based on a previous visit but they didn't have any salads on their dinner menu (which was different than what I understood from their website.) They were kind enough to pull something together for me but it was a tiny salad. Don't go to this restaurant if you want healthy food, aka some vegetables.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great place

Dined on May 14, 2016

everything was perfect. the location, ambiance, food and drinks. We all were very happy!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great pre Giants' game gem

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were very pleasantly surprised with the Brunch we had on Mother's Day. The food and drinks were excellent. We had the eggs benedict and french toast. So yummy with the slight mexican flair to them both. The drinks were tasty as well. We have been there for lunch/dinner and it is good, basic mexican fair. But Brunch was a very nice surprise. I'd go there again over MoMo's for brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Vibrant ambience. Soothing color schemes ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Vibrant ambience. Soothing color schemes and furniture. Feels like home. Attentive staff.

food4
ambience3
service4

Large portions, good quality, fun!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Large portions, good quality, fun!

food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Sunday brunch before a Giants game.

Dined on April 24, 2016

We went for brunch before the Giants game. Our server was great and the food was amazing but a bit overpriced. $42 for a small pitcher (2-3 small glasses) of margaritas seemed excessive. We were overcharged for coffee which was on the menu for $3.50 but rang up in their system at $6.50 which they say they hadn't realized before I pointed it out. They corrected it and noted they will fix the register/computer pricing. All in all it was a great meal - well located to the ball park and a step up from other nearby mexican for a quick bite before the game.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just amazing food and drink!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We had the best experience we've had in a long time! The food was incredible and margaritas? Well, just outstanding! Our server, Vance was fabulous and we had a great time chatting up Eric, the manager. A+

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service1

Service was not great. The food was not ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Service was not great. The food was not as good as their price indicated. Will not be going back.

food1
ambience3
service3

I love their chiles rellenos but it was ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

I love their chiles rellenos but it was burnt and tasted off when I ate there last Friday. May be they are unable to handle rush hour

food2
ambience4
service2

Their pitcher of margaritas serves 3 ful ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Their pitcher of margaritas serves 3 full glasses or 4 half glasses for $36. An individual full margarita is $9.5. So you actually lose money. It's very frustrating. The waiter will say a pitcher serves 4, but it's a total scam.

food5
ambience4
service5

We ate here before the ball game, and we ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

We ate here before the ball game, and we were quite pleased. We started with a pitcher of sangria, and if you like it boozy (I do), it was great. Nice flavor and abundant fruit. I also had a margarita, which was excellent. Carnitas were excellent and a generous portion, with nicely crispy edges and fork-tender. Sides have to be ordered separately, but the mature plantains were sweet and starchy and a perfect side. Service was everything I could ask for, from the hosts to the server to the food runners. When food was a little slow to come out from the kitchen, the food runners took it upon themselves to keep the chips coming. Filling and carb-a-licious, yes, but also great.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Interesting flavors

Dined on March 14, 2016

Interesting flavors, good for lunch. Make a reservation!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

Food was good, salsas are weak - asked f ...

Dined on March 8, 2016

Food was good, salsas are weak - asked for their habanero salsa to find some kick. Overall great place to hang with friends.

food3
ambience3
service3

Everything was just ok.

Dined on March 8, 2016

Everything was just ok.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great bar, relaxing, energetic and fun

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We caught a late dinner with friends here the night before Valentines. We wanted somewhere upbeat and fun, with a great bar and no pre-fixe menu. We did a little Tequila tasting (they have a top notch selection), and spend a few minutes chatting with a knowledgeable bartender. Once our friends showed, we had a great, late dinner (they kept the place open). I'd recommend this place to anyone. It gets packed during Giants games, but it's a great restaurant on it's own.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Deliziosa

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Well, this was so 'not obvious' that I almost walked past, but once I entered I was immediately impressed with the generous helping of colors and textures. The restaurant itself, like a Spanish villa, is gorgeous. Our party really enjoyed the waiter who was very engaging, never rushed us and always returned with a smile. I had an adaptation of Eggs Benedict like I've never tasted before. I couldn't finish it so I took half of it home - IT WAS STILL GOOD THAT NIGHT. It was on a house-made muffin of corn and whole wheat with jalapeno - OUTSTANDING. I even tried a new coffee drink with 1921 tequila cream - really good. Everyone else's order looked good too, but I didn't try it because I was enjoying mine so much. Oh, the house margarita was just right too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1

Food is good but not great and the servi ...

Dined on January 21, 2016

Food is good but not great and the service was horrible. Perhaps it was an off night but will not be returning. Many other choices in the city.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Unusual Mexican food

Dined on January 12, 2016

NO chimichangas here! The food was very good.....we especially enjoyed the side dishes of zucchini with lime and roasted Brussels Sprouts...not what we were expecting, but so much better. My friend and I don't drink, but everyone around us loved their margaritas. Our server was not attentive and brought the bill without asking us if we wanted dessert (we did). I would definitely go back.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food & Service

Dined on January 9, 2016

Some of the best pazole I've ever had, I'm from Texas! The homemade tortilla chips were perfectly crispy, and unsalted (thank you!). This paired perfectly with the three varieties of salsa that you get with a chips and salsa appetizer order. While one of the salsas was sweeter than I expected, the other two added savory sensations to the palate with hints of chipotle and lime. We visited for brunch on a Saturday, and the bartender worked expediently to serve four parties at the bar, and two parties of eight at nearby tables. Even with this many diners, we never went without a drink refill, nor did we wait long for our food. All-in-all, I give this place a solid five stars!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good restaurant but.....

Dined on December 31, 2015

The restaurant was good but this is the only place I had to pay for the chips and salsa. In any other mexican restaurant these are complimentary.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I remembered it better

Dined on December 30, 2015

Something has happened to this restaurant. The menu is very limited. I had the lime soup as it was one of the few things that attracted my attention. It was good. I kept on asking for water without ice and kept on getting water with ice.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointing

Dined on December 28, 2015

I'll cut them some slack because it was between Christmas and New Years and I've had positive experiences there before. But the service was poor and a lot a what was on the menu was unavailable.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mas Tequila!

vip
Dined on December 17, 2015

Always a great place to take friends and co-workers!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service1

Not worth the hype

Dined on November 29, 2015

On a slow night the hostess completely forgot we were waiting for a table even though we were the only people waiting in the bar. We had to ask for menues after sitting for awhile when we were finally seated, and then wave down someone for the check after being done for quite awhile. For the price, not worth the subpar service.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience3
service3

Tres is OK.

Dined on November 4, 2015

OK ambiance, decent food, a little weak on the portions and drinks are a bit on the weak side.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

So many kinds of Tequila

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

Huge Tequila and Margarita list. Have to have one or two at every meal here. Friendly staff and excellent service. Although prices actually seem to be less than when we went before its still a little pricey for the food you get. Guacamole appetizer with chips was large and exellent guacamole. Hacienda Margarita was very tasty. Guac appetizer is only $8.00 as well. Plantains side was only $4.00 and there were enough to take home as well and have the next day. They were good at Tres but better the next day for some reason. Main courses of pork tacos - 3 of them and one went home. Also better the next day. Carne en Jugo was good but not great. Again better the next day. Large portion for $18.00.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4

Great Tequila Food so so

Dined on October 3, 2015

The margaritas guacamole and chips were great. The tequila menu was good and there were great ones to chose from. The food is a lot to be desired especially since the Mission is not to far away. The carne asada was just so so. I could not taste the marinade on the flank steak. The beef was of good quality however the whole point of carne asada is the marinade with the green onions that you take out of the marinade and grill them to. The onions never saw the marinade. Very disappointing especially for the price.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4

The food portions were more copious than necessary

Dined on September 15, 2015

Food was pretty good. Unfortunately over-indulgence in the habanero salsa resulted in a day after negative experience (maybe label it ;-)) Otherwise, the food was pretty good, just ended up wasting a lot of uneaten food because portions were just too much and we had ordered a couple of appetizers as well...

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service2

Needs work

vip
Dined on September 13, 2015

If the food was as consistent as the marguerites this place would be great. Fish taco didn't smell or taste overly fresh but the salsas and cerciche were great. Service was weak as the waiter got almost every course wrong.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience1
service2

The past two times I have visited the se ...

Dined on September 6, 2015

The past two times I have visited the service has been poor. I had a reservation and I had to wait 10 min to be seated with out menus. I thought this was the duty of the hostess. Once seated another 5 minutes passed until a busser greater us. He brought menus and was pleasant guy. The waiter arrived and took our drink and appetizer orders and we requested silverware. Appetizer arrived and still no silverware. I stood up to request it again from a busser. Bottom line service is super slow and inattentive but the food is still good. I will not return.

food5
ambience4
service3

Delicious!!

Dined on September 6, 2015

Food was awesome. Love the queso fundido! Great before concert or game! Server was a little grumpy but didn't matter since food was so good. Enjoyed the decor also!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4

Great Margaritas

vip
Dined on September 5, 2015

Tres has a great tequila bar and wonderful margaritas. The food was only passable with too much salt in the chips and lack-luster fish tacos and salsas. I would recommend the margaritas.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3

Great food, great company

Dined on August 27, 2015

This place is vibrant, and well-known for a reason. The food is great, the atmosphere is awesome, and the energy is unique. The only recommendation I would make is to be cognizant of when the San Francisco Giants are playing. Our reservation was within an hour after the end of the baseball game, and the restaurant was either at or near capacity. On a non-game day, this place is much more quiet, and just as fun.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service2

Nice Space

vip
Dined on August 9, 2015

Great space, but I don't get the charging for every order of chips and salsa - maybe game days when people think chips will be their meal. Ended up sitting at the bar - that is not bad in itself but service was minimal at best. Love the food and in the past have had great meals and good service. Who knows this might have been an off day.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great for Giants pre-game dinner

Dined on July 25, 2015

Dinner was tasty and quick but not rushed. The carnitas plate was the hit of the dinner. The portions were very large but sadly with the giants game we opted not to take home the leftovers. The margaritas were excellent. Don't forget to order the rice and beans on the side.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Best Marguarita Pitchers!

Dined on July 4, 2015

Super convenient to AT&T Park . Awesome Tequila choices, try the Marguaritas, Main dishes are very well prepared. For a first time visit get the Chips and Salsa, and an assortment of tacos to share - then make up your own mind. Brought 3 people for the first time and they loved it. Tres is one of my "goto' places to bring friends meeting up for events at Adobe or SOMA or AT&T Park. Over the past 5 years EVERYONE has been delighted.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service2

Lackluster and Overpriced

Dined on June 27, 2015

- Overpriced food that wasn't too great (somewhat offended by the fact that they gave me 5 pieces of ravioli for $30) - Some of the wait staff seemed confused as to what they were supposed to be doing - Overall was trying so hard to be stylish that it presented very little substance

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.