Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves)

Viva Tequila!


Tres - SF is dedicated to quality and fun. Our tequila bar features fresh, hand-squeezed lime margaritas and other tasty tequila & mezcal cocktails, plus Mexican beers on tap. Our food is inspired by traditional restaurants of Jalisco Mexico. We serve wholesome, soulful renditions of Jaliscan classics using the freshest possible ingredients from Bay Area farmers.


Rocks, No Salt!

130 Townsend St
San Francisco, CA 94107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Sunday thru Thursday: 1130a - 10p*
Friday and Saturday: 1130a - 1100p *

*closing time subject to change based on business levels

Cross Street:
2nd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 227-0500

Website:
http://www.tressf.com/

Catering:
Tres Truck can bring the party to you! Our very own taco truck is perfect for birthday celebrations, tailgating, weddings, or just for fun. We will be there with our fresh Jaliscan cuisine and even tequila if you’d like!

Parking Details:
Street parking and valet.

Public Transit:
Caltrain - 2 blocks away
2nd and King Muni - 1 1/2 blocks away

Executive Chef:
Daniel Padilla

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located just 1 block from AT&T Park, our historic building with exposed brick and wood beams is the ideal spot for comfortable but upscale events. With 4 dedicated event spaces, Tres has everything you need for your next corporate or social event. Join us for one of our Margarita Making or Tequila Tasting Classes, both unique and interactive experiences that will leave a lasting memory with your guests.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

With a variety of unique event spaces and menus, TRES is the perfect venue for your next social gathering, meeting, or corporate event!

Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Bar Seating (9)
See All
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fun (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Spicy (3)
Special Occasion (3)
People Watching (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Romantic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Business Meals (1)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
863 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

I feel like the dinner was good, but the environment inside felt a bit of a drab. Use to be a hot spot, now just another place to go. I wouldn't NOT go there, but I wouldn't put it on the short list anymore.

It wasn't very busy and we were seated near the door, there was a glare coming in so bright and then the wind.

One thing about a great mexican restaurant is not just great drinks (the spicy margarita was really good), but the GUACAMOLE and honestly , most great mexican restaurants offer table side guac where they make it FRESH. We ordered Guacamole and it came out so fast - no way it was freshly made. We ordered a 2nd order (cuz the first was so small for our party of 4) and they it came out super quick .


The wait staff was very friendly. Although there was an error with one of the orders and the waitress made my guest feel like she ordered wrong -(which she didn't), instead of admitting she made an error.

Anyway, decent dinner and drinks with good service, but lacked ambiance and/or a specialness.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great margaritas and carnitas

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food was really good. The fish tacos were delicious.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great carnitas and drinks!
Great carnitas and drinks!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The restaurant is very nicely done, however there were a few surprises. First, paying for chips and salsa, no flour tortillas available, pricy entrees, and very good (but also pricy) margaritas. Secondly, the seating is very close together, and very loud so it made conversation difficult. For these reasons I probably would not return.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was Mother's Day and the waiter seemed perturbed when we asked very simple requests--could we get some more coffee? Seemed like it was a pain for him. Everyone in our party kept noticing it--put a damper on what should have been a great experience

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I love Tres. The restaurant is a bit noisy, though.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Delicious food, great service, great ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It being cinco de mayo, there was a true fiesta atmosphere. The guacamole was delicious and the drinks were strong. Meals were very authentic and so was the mariachi band

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I've been to Tres twice now and the servers are super friendly and nice. The pace of attention has been off both times. It takes too long to be approached once seated, the drinks don't come until the meal and then once served it takes too long to get the check. Just seems like the servers have too much else going on.
I think it is terrible that they charge for chips and salsa. Really???
The location is good, but valet is $40 so I almost cancelled my reservation. I was able to park on the street for $1 so that made me happy. Overall just a so-so experience. Carnitas was dry and there was nothing else on the plate with it. Odd.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Nice quick meal before a baseball game. Food is good, not outstanding. Service was good, given that it was crowded with baseball fans. Great selection of tequilas.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Expensive food which wasn't anything to write home about. You even have to pay for chips and salsa.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Bar Seating, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Food and drink were good! Too loud to have a conversation. Service was awful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Good food, atmosphere and service. A gem of a restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Our Giants opening day tradition. We normally hang out in the bar. Thankfully we got a reservation. Service was slow in the beginning - no server - but it was fine later.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on March 12, 2017

Amazing food Great Margaritas

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Went with friends... easy to park ... great food ... I'm a vegan and while there are no vegan options they were more than willing to accommodate! Sup meat for beans .... food was amazing

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Casual, Worth the Drive, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Your FAVORITE tequila - is found ! Amazing food too !

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Very energetic. Live music!

Nice Mezcal Margarita. Quite authentic Mexican fare. Filling portions. The Birra was very good, fall off the bone, flavorful Gravy/sauce. Carnitas, nice and crunchy on the outside, a little dry on the inside. Guac and salsas with chips flavorful; tortillas not so much. Plantanos are nice and sweet and would benefit from some housemade Crema!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I came here for lunch with a friend and I am had the most AMAZING fish tacos, probably the best I've ever had! I will definitely be back. The place is very cute as well. I strongly recommend trying Tres when in the mood for Mexican food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Large venue and food is pretty good. Extensive tequila menu but I'm not a big fan, great for hosting large events

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

When friends join us from out of town, we always make at least one visit to Tres for their carnitas!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tapas, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Rarely disappointed by a visit to Tres. Excellent service and the updated menu is really great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The worst service I have experienced, and I spoke with the on duty manager and she didn't really care either.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

There were 10 of us. The waiter was attentive and gave good suggestions. We had a really nice time and everything deserved a good solid 4 stars. Actually I would give the queso 5 stars.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

They were out of three main dishes. The waiter was only somewhat patient with my family that has lots of energy and lots of questions. The ceviche was delicious but the carne asada was a little off.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Horrible service throughout. Appetizers came after entrees, server was rude, and the bus staff was worse.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The Ceviche and the fish tacos. Delicious! Only negative was the 5% mandate tax. Thanks Obama. The waiter go less tip thanks to you.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent Mexican food. simple and delicious. Great service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Tres was an interesting experience. We were well taken care of at the beginning of the night, but service tapered off once we got our appetizers. Some of the food was excellent (the steak stew), some was a little overcooked (the chicken mole) and one dish was completely unbalanced (the carnitas). We will probably be back at some point, but more careful in what we order.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The food was great . I had the Jardin Tacos. The primary ingredient was hen of the woods mushrooms and they were perfect. My husband got the Sopa Ranchero, which is listed as an appetizer but is plenty for a main dish. The problem we had was timing. We both ordered cocktails expecting to sip on them while we waited for our food. When the waiter returned to get our food order the drinks had not arrived, so we ordered some chips to nibble on with our drinks. The chips came out almost immediately as did the entrees!!!! Still no drinks. We nudged someone and they finally arrived but one of them was the wrong drink and had to go back. Not a deal breaker and I'd definitely go back if in the area, but coordination was definitely off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

food was very very good. upscale Mexican food. Perfect precursor to going to Luzia at Cirque de Soleil. However it was utterly shocking to order coffee and be told that the restaurant is out of coffee. How can you be in restaurant business and run out of coffee? Were they just giving us a line or what? Most bizarre thing ever experienced at a brunch restaurant. Service a little uneven with plates coming out to table in a very hodgepodge fashion. so we all ended up drinking water cause there was not coffee. so so strange. the waiter wanted us to drink tequila...um....maybe after the circus...and not on a Sunday. Skimpy on the chips.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I love bringing friends to Tres - they are never disappointed. Tasty Mexican food for a good price. The chips, salsa and guacamole are always a favorite. The fish tacos were delicious. My friend was so happy he could order a Mexican Coca Cola - in fact, he ordered two. I will be back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Had a great dinner. We made reservations here because the menu looked good and it was a short walk to At&t Park where we were seeing a show. The restaurant was nice, food was good, service was great, and it's also a tequila bar😀

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was delicious! Especially the guacamole, queso and fish tacos. Perfect location to go before heading to ATT park. Parking was only $15

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great restaurant near AT&T park. Amazing food, not typical Mexican food. Great flavors, great food. We will do this again!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The guacamole was awesome and even though the menu doesn't have a lot of vegetarian options, they were very open to making many of their dishes vegetarian.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great carnitas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Tres was delicious and had very unique margarita options. I had the herbaceous and it was served in a beautiful glass and was a very elegant drink. I also ordered the vegetarian tacos and they were fantastic. service was great, plenty of guacamole. Atmosphere is modern but warm. Cannot wait to go back! thank you

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was excellent, and as others have noted, the service was very slow and the waitstaff inattentive. The restuarant was far from full or busy, yet the waiter and pretty much everyone seemed to have something else to do other than take an order to ask if we'd like a refill. The other thing that was odd was we wanted to order some guacamole, only to be told that all of it was reserved for a private party (we saw the party, which was only about 10 people). What kind of Mexican restaurant runs out of guacamole at 5pm? We would have ordered dessert, but it took two hours to get one round of drinks and our entrees.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.