About Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves)

130 Townsend St
San Francisco, CA 94107
View Larger Map

Viva Tequila!


Tres - SF is dedicated to quality and fun. Our tequila bar features fresh, hand-squeezed lime margaritas and other tasty tequila & mezcal cocktails, plus Mexican beers on tap. Our food is inspired by traditional restaurants of Jalisco Mexico. We serve wholesome, soulful renditions of Jaliscan classics using the freshest possible ingredients from Bay Area farmers.


Rocks, No Salt!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Sunday thru Thursday: 1130a - 10p*
Friday and Saturday: 1130a - 1100p *

*closing time subject to change based on business levels

Cross Street:
2nd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 227-0500

Website:
http://www.tressf.com/

Catering:
Tres Truck can bring the party to you! Our very own taco truck is perfect for birthday celebrations, tailgating, weddings, or just for fun. We will be there with our fresh Jaliscan cuisine and even tequila if you’d like!

Parking Details:
Street parking and valet.

Public Transit:
Caltrain - 2 blocks away
2nd and King Muni - 1 1/2 blocks away

Executive Chef:
Daniel Padilla

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located just 1 block from AT&T Park, our historic building with exposed brick and wood beams is the ideal spot for comfortable but upscale events. With 4 dedicated event spaces, Tres has everything you need for your next corporate or social event. Join us for one of our Margarita Making or Tequila Tasting Classes, both unique and interactive experiences that will leave a lasting memory with your guests.

Restaurant Photos

  • Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves), San Francisco, CA
  • Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves), San Francisco, CA
  • Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves), San Francisco, CA
Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves), San Francisco, CA
Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves), San Francisco, CA
Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves), San Francisco, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

With a variety of unique event spaces and menus, TRES is the perfect venue for your next social gathering, meeting, or corporate event!

Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.8

ambience

3.7

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in SOMA ›

Good for Groups (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
See All
Good for a Date (4)
Casual (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Authentic (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
753 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had only previously been to Tres for p ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

I had only previously been to Tres for private parties in their backroom. We were seated and served quickly, I enjoyed my margarita and carnitas entree, my companion ordered the pollo con mole and wished only that there'd been more mole sauce. In a neighborhood drowning in unimaginative and overpriced American pub fare served to overpaid man-children in hoodies, Tres was a fine business dinner choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The experience I've had a tres is amazin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The experience I've had a tres is amazing. Love the environment and food! I'm a meat person. I love their angus steak platter. The only thing I wish they offered was more meat portion. The angus steak platter is only 8oz. Wish they had 20oz. But over all I love the place. I recommend anybody to go their for their Mexican food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent guacamole and chips, margarita ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent guacamole and chips, margaritas, and fish tacos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty dishes and cocktails , served prom ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Tasty dishes and cocktails , served promptly in a lively setting.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really good food - but it felt like the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Really good food - but it felt like the servers were trying to rush us out. We'd put down a fork and the plate would be cleared, even if we weren't done.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Tres always delivers. Great service, goo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Tres always delivers. Great service, good food. Great for groups and fun occasions .

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, lively atmosphere. Great teq ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great food, lively atmosphere. Great tequila selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was delicious. The server was a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was delicious. The server was amazing. The hostess at the door was terrible. We were there to celebrate my girlfriends birthday and we wanted to switch to a different table. At the time, the restaurant was at 20% capacity and we were just a party of 4. They told us all the other tables were reserved. Weird. When pushed again, they said that it is a waitress/waiter allocation issue and they don't want to overload them. Weird since our request was to love 2 tables down to avoid the wind from the door.

Anywho, after a lot of complaining, they finally moved us and the hostess said "are you finally happy? Don't be surprised if your food is super late or cold".

The waitress we had was super gracious and rescued the night and birthday celebration for us. The food was great and made us eventually forget about the rough start.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

What Mexican restaurant runs out of guac ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

What Mexican restaurant runs out of guacamole on a busy weekend? I almost thought they were kidding. Seriously.

This would have absolutely been a deal-breaker had I known when we made the reservation. In fact, my party and I specifically walked ~2 mi from our hotel to the restaurants in anticipation of all the margaritas and chips/guac we were going to enjoy.

We complained to the server a little who then sent over the manager. Basically, he said they ran out and there was nothing he could do. He seemed aloof. He seemed arrogant. And he made me feel like I was the one who was crazy for being upset. Nothing you can do? Really? How about apologize? How about - oh, I don't know - throw in a free dessert? How about act like you care? The service was just awful. Which tainted everything else. Really disappointing experience. It was beautifully decorated, but I would never return. Nor would I recommend. Too many outstanding choices in San Francisco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

The food was really good and the margari ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was really good and the margaritas amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was good but the reason to go here ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food was good but the reason to go here is the bar!!! Quite crowded!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I had placed a reservation for 5. We arr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

I had placed a reservation for 5. We arrived and were seated quickly. We were seated at a table that was for 4 people, and were given a chair to throw at the end. This made the table feel crammed. We were also seated right behind the bar area - where the TV's are set to MAX volume levels and results in having everyone shouting the entire time. This will not be somewhere my office will use for future dinner spots, which is really unfortunate, as it is very close to our office.

Food was ok, a lot of fatty pieces in the carnitas. The drinks were also mediocre. The service to receive these drinks took an awfully long time. One was due to the waitress forgetting to put in the order, and the bar tender mentioned he'd take it off the bill. Not sure if that happened, but it was a nice gesture.

Tags: Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great place to meet friends before a bal ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great place to meet friends before a ball game, just a block away from the park! Love the margaritas, chips and salsa, guacamole and the entrees are delicious! Servers are very friendly also!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Mexican food, great location to ATT ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Good Mexican food, great location to ATT Park. Nice ambiance and layout. Great bar. Service was okay - expect a bit better from such a busy place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great, convenient stop before a Giants' ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great, convenient stop before a Giants' game. Good food, easy in and out.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It's been a while since I've dined at Tr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

It's been a while since I've dined at Tres. It's sometimes difficult to get a reservation. The friends I went with used to be regulars. We were all three extremely disappointed with the food. Something has changed and it's not good! The chips and guacamole were terrific as always but the chicken enchilada was bland and not at all as flavorful as it once was. The shrimp entree which my friend recommended I order (he said it was the best in town) was awful! It was a generous portion of shrimp but it had absolutely NO flavor or seasoning. The shrimp were accompanied by a mound of onions piled on top of 2 thick, soggy pieces of white bread. Is this really a recipe?? Yikes! My friend quickly retracted his praise. The service was the only thing pleasant about the meal. I doubt I'll ever go back. There's too many other great choices in SF!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

The service was great. And the food was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The service was great. And the food was excellent. The only negative was that when we arrived about 15 mins early, we were told that the kitchen was about to close because they were not busy enough. While I understand that staying open and paying staff without customers does not make good business sense, we would have appreciated a phone call to let us know so that we could have arrived earlier to help the restaurant out or made other plans so as not to feel rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

The manager cancelled the 8:30pm reserva ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The manager cancelled the 8:30pm reservation when I arrived and told me that the kitchen was closing since I was the last reservation of the night, and they hadn't had reservations for two hours prior. I will not be trying to go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great place for a quick bite before the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great place for a quick bite before the Giants' games. Good, fresh Mexican food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

They were 20 minutes late seating us des ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2016

They were 20 minutes late seating us despite our reservation. And when they did seat our party of 6, we did not even get a table. They put is at a weird bar in the back where I couldn't even talk to my clients. I won't be back, it was embarrassing.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The drinks were good but the food was ju ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2016

The drinks were good but the food was just ok and the portion size for the price was not great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The drinks were delicious. The food fell ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 25, 2016

The drinks were delicious. The food fell a little short of our expectations.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was just Ok. Fish Tacos weren't th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was just Ok.

Fish Tacos weren't that flavorful and kinda fishy.

Guacamole was kinda bland.... mine's way tastier!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Every selection was amazingly delicious ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Every selection was amazingly delicious and the service was top notch. Would not hesitate to go back. Top marks across the board!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were party of six, everyone seemed to ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were party of six, everyone seemed to enjoy the food. Service was a little sketchy with regard to appetizers. Had to ask a few times for chips and salsa; this was a day when there was no Giants game in town so business at the restaurant was pretty slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Extensive tequila menu with good tequila ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Extensive tequila menu with good tequilas. Close to the ballpark. We had a great evening, with drinks and food, although we thought it was a little pricey. Otherwise good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The best part of this restaurant really ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 10, 2016

The best part of this restaurant really was only the food. I was excited to try this place but was let down with the service. Great guacamole!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The restaurant had a great selection of ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The restaurant had a great selection of dining options. I highly recommend the mushroom quesadilla as well as the poblano dish, both very flavorful! Tons of great margarita options, I enjoyed a classic Don Julio margarita while my friend chose the one with the peppers in it which although I'm not one for spicy stuff, was relatively mild and absolutely delicious! Highly recommend this restaurant!! :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great veggie tacos before the Giants gam ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great veggie tacos before the Giants game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As others has said, it is way overpriced ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2016

As others has said, it is way overpriced for what you get. I like the typical type of Mexican food so I ordered the chicken burretto. The others in my group order the Tacos. I got two burrettos for about $18. That did not include the rice and beans, which we then ordered. The tacos were just three tacos. The service was very good. It was on a Friday night so the bar was packed and it was very loud. We could not hear the conversation of our friends at our table. I would not plan on going back again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Excellent. Highly recommend.

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Excellent. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We like Tres and have eaten multiple tim ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We like Tres and have eaten multiple times there. We went after a Giants game and usually this isn't a problem. However the bar was overwhelmed that night and we never got the beers we ordered. Service was really slow and it took more than 20 minutes for our server to take our order. The food came quickly but it was not as good as it usually it is. I hope it was just an off night for them, but we were really disappointed since we were celebrating a birthday. Maybe we'll just go when the Giants are out of town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Meal was disappointing.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Meal was disappointing. I had planned to get an entree size salad based on a previous visit but they didn't have any salads on their dinner menu (which was different than what I understood from their website.) They were kind enough to pull something together for me but it was a tiny salad. Don't go to this restaurant if you want healthy food, aka some vegetables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

great place

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2016

everything was perfect. the location, ambiance, food and drinks. We all were very happy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great pre Giants' game gem

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were very pleasantly surprised with the Brunch we had on Mother's Day. The food and drinks were excellent. We had the eggs benedict and french toast. So yummy with the slight mexican flair to them both. The drinks were tasty as well. We have been there for lunch/dinner and it is good, basic mexican fair. But Brunch was a very nice surprise. I'd go there again over MoMo's for brunch!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Vibrant ambience. Soothing color schemes ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2016

Vibrant ambience. Soothing color schemes and furniture. Feels like home. Attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Large portions, good quality, fun!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Large portions, good quality, fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Sunday brunch before a Giants game.

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 24, 2016

We went for brunch before the Giants game. Our server was great and the food was amazing but a bit overpriced. $42 for a small pitcher (2-3 small glasses) of margaritas seemed excessive. We were overcharged for coffee which was on the menu for $3.50 but rang up in their system at $6.50 which they say they hadn't realized before I pointed it out. They corrected it and noted they will fix the register/computer pricing. All in all it was a great meal - well located to the ball park and a step up from other nearby mexican for a quick bite before the game.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Just amazing food and drink!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2016

We had the best experience we've had in a long time! The food was incredible and margaritas? Well, just outstanding! Our server, Vance was fabulous and we had a great time chatting up Eric, the manager. A+

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was not great. The food was not ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Service was not great. The food was not as good as their price indicated. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.