Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves)

Viva Tequila!


Tres - SF is dedicated to quality and fun. Our tequila bar features fresh, hand-squeezed lime margaritas and other tasty tequila & mezcal cocktails, plus Mexican beers on tap. Our food is inspired by traditional restaurants of Jalisco Mexico. We serve wholesome, soulful renditions of Jaliscan classics using the freshest possible ingredients from Bay Area farmers.


Rocks, No Salt!

130 Townsend St
San Francisco, CA 94107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Sunday thru Thursday: 1130a - 10p*
Friday and Saturday: 1130a - 1100p *

*closing time subject to change based on business levels

Cross Street:
2nd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 227-0500

Website:
http://www.tressf.com/

Catering:
Tres Truck can bring the party to you! Our very own taco truck is perfect for birthday celebrations, tailgating, weddings, or just for fun. We will be there with our fresh Jaliscan cuisine and even tequila if you’d like!

Parking Details:
Street parking and valet.

Public Transit:
Caltrain - 2 blocks away
2nd and King Muni - 1 1/2 blocks away

Executive Chef:
Daniel Padilla

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located just 1 block from AT&T Park, our historic building with exposed brick and wood beams is the ideal spot for comfortable but upscale events. With 4 dedicated event spaces, Tres has everything you need for your next corporate or social event. Join us for one of our Margarita Making or Tequila Tasting Classes, both unique and interactive experiences that will leave a lasting memory with your guests.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

With a variety of unique event spaces and menus, TRES is the perfect venue for your next social gathering, meeting, or corporate event!

Tres - SF (fka Tres Agaves) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (14)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Groups (9)
See All
Authentic (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fun (6)
Good for a Date (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
People Watching (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tapas (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Business Meals (2)
Spicy (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Cozy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
875 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic food always. Great 'ritas. Superb place to eat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We all enjoyed the food, but was very disappointed that we couldn't get burritos
at a Mexican restaurant.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Berlin)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I tried paying with OpenTable for the first time here, and it was such a smooth experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Service was great, very friendly and engaging server. Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Had lunch and beers before Giants game. Highly recommended!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Great for a quick bite before a Giants game! Good food and margaritas!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Casual, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Best Mexican restaurant in the area... the margaritas are amazing! The workers were very nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

So disappointed in this restaurant. They took an 8.30 reservation and then told us as we were being seated that they closed at 9! We were rushed, asked for last drink orders quickly! We had to repeatedly ask for extra silverware and napkins. The service was terrible and I don't think I will probably eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Always a good stop before a Giants game! We had a pitcher of margaritas and shared two delicious tacos. Chips were fresh and came with three dipping salsas!

I miss the duck tacos. :-(

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Casual, Bar Seating, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Food was very good -- high end Mexican. I had a fabulous chile relleno and we shared some tasty appetizers. All excellent really.
The service was very dissapointing. To get my ice tea refilled I had to walk the length of the restaurant and find our waiter. Then to get coffee after the meal we made the same waiter hunting trip. Finally to pay, we had to get up, find him again, and stand by the door while he got our check.
Still, if you have both time and patience, this place is worth the trip.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Being vegetarian and Mexican food lover, I found the selection decent (aka more than 2 options to choose from) and veggie tacos exceptional! Salsas are very delicious too. Loved the energy, vibe, friendly and efficient service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I feel like the dinner was good, but the environment inside felt a bit of a drab. Use to be a hot spot, now just another place to go. I wouldn't NOT go there, but I wouldn't put it on the short list anymore.

It wasn't very busy and we were seated near the door, there was a glare coming in so bright and then the wind.

One thing about a great mexican restaurant is not just great drinks (the spicy margarita was really good), but the GUACAMOLE and honestly , most great mexican restaurants offer table side guac where they make it FRESH. We ordered Guacamole and it came out so fast - no way it was freshly made. We ordered a 2nd order (cuz the first was so small for our party of 4) and they it came out super quick .


The wait staff was very friendly. Although there was an error with one of the orders and the waitress made my guest feel like she ordered wrong -(which she didn't), instead of admitting she made an error.

Anyway, decent dinner and drinks with good service, but lacked ambiance and/or a specialness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great margaritas and carnitas

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was really good. The fish tacos were delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great carnitas and drinks!
Great carnitas and drinks!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Portions (especially the tacos) are very small and come with no sides. Also, its rare that a real Mexican restaurant charges for chips and salsa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The restaurant is very nicely done, however there were a few surprises. First, paying for chips and salsa, no flour tortillas available, pricy entrees, and very good (but also pricy) margaritas. Secondly, the seating is very close together, and very loud so it made conversation difficult. For these reasons I probably would not return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was Mother's Day and the waiter seemed perturbed when we asked very simple requests--could we get some more coffee? Seemed like it was a pain for him. Everyone in our party kept noticing it--put a damper on what should have been a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I love Tres. The restaurant is a bit noisy, though.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Delicious food, great service, great ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It being cinco de mayo, there was a true fiesta atmosphere. The guacamole was delicious and the drinks were strong. Meals were very authentic and so was the mariachi band

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I've been to Tres twice now and the servers are super friendly and nice. The pace of attention has been off both times. It takes too long to be approached once seated, the drinks don't come until the meal and then once served it takes too long to get the check. Just seems like the servers have too much else going on.
I think it is terrible that they charge for chips and salsa. Really???
The location is good, but valet is $40 so I almost cancelled my reservation. I was able to park on the street for $1 so that made me happy. Overall just a so-so experience. Carnitas was dry and there was nothing else on the plate with it. Odd.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Nice quick meal before a baseball game. Food is good, not outstanding. Service was good, given that it was crowded with baseball fans. Great selection of tequilas.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Expensive food which wasn't anything to write home about. You even have to pay for chips and salsa.

Tags: Bar Seating, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Food and drink were good! Too loud to have a conversation. Service was awful.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Good food, atmosphere and service. A gem of a restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Our Giants opening day tradition. We normally hang out in the bar. Thankfully we got a reservation. Service was slow in the beginning - no server - but it was fine later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on March 11, 2017

Amazing food Great Margaritas

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Went with friends... easy to park ... great food ... I'm a vegan and while there are no vegan options they were more than willing to accommodate! Sup meat for beans .... food was amazing

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Your FAVORITE tequila - is found ! Amazing food too !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Very energetic. Live music!

Nice Mezcal Margarita. Quite authentic Mexican fare. Filling portions. The Birra was very good, fall off the bone, flavorful Gravy/sauce. Carnitas, nice and crunchy on the outside, a little dry on the inside. Guac and salsas with chips flavorful; tortillas not so much. Plantanos are nice and sweet and would benefit from some housemade Crema!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I came here for lunch with a friend and I am had the most AMAZING fish tacos, probably the best I've ever had! I will definitely be back. The place is very cute as well. I strongly recommend trying Tres when in the mood for Mexican food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Large venue and food is pretty good. Extensive tequila menu but I'm not a big fan, great for hosting large events

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

When friends join us from out of town, we always make at least one visit to Tres for their carnitas!

Tags: Tapas, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Rarely disappointed by a visit to Tres. Excellent service and the updated menu is really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The worst service I have experienced, and I spoke with the on duty manager and she didn't really care either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 25, 2017

There were 10 of us. The waiter was attentive and gave good suggestions. We had a really nice time and everything deserved a good solid 4 stars. Actually I would give the queso 5 stars.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

They were out of three main dishes. The waiter was only somewhat patient with my family that has lots of energy and lots of questions. The ceviche was delicious but the carne asada was a little off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Horrible service throughout. Appetizers came after entrees, server was rude, and the bus staff was worse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The Ceviche and the fish tacos. Delicious! Only negative was the 5% mandate tax. Thanks Obama. The waiter go less tip thanks to you.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.