Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Tres by Jose Andres @ SLS Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel

James Beard award-winning chef José Andrés serves up a menu of comfort cuisine with a twist for breakfast, lunch and dinner, plus inspired cocktails. A sophisticated and secluded sanctuary peppered with cozy nooks, books and fireplaces, Tres by José Andrés, situated in the lobby of SLS Hotel, blends the soul of home with the luxury of exceptional service.

Weekend brunch features tabletop displays of caviar selections, specialty smoked salmon and inventive egg dishes.

Afternoon tea, served daily, showcases traditional sweet and savory selections paired with a variety of distinctive teas and coffees.

465 South La Cienega Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am – 11:00am
Brunch (Saturday - Sunday): 11:00am – 3:00pm;
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Afternoon Tea Daily: 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm,
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm.

Cross Street:
San Vicente Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 246-5551

Website:
http://sbe.com/restaurants/tres

Catering:
Start planning your next power lunch or celebratory soiree with us today at sbe.com/events.

Parking Details:
Valet parking at the SLS Hotel is available for $8 with lunch validation, $14 for dinner.

Executive Chef:
Hussain Zouhbi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Start planning your next power lunch or celebratory soiree with us today at sbe.com/events.

Private Dining

A sophisticated and secluded sanctuary peppered with cozy nooks, books and fireplaces, Tres by José Andrés, situated in the lobby of SLS Hotel, blends the soul of home with the luxury of exceptional service.

Tres by Jose Andres @ SLS Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fun (4)
See All
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Romantic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Superb food and service. Excellent value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2017

We went to dinner for Christmas Day and the restaurant looks nothing like the pictures online. I was dressed very nice for a place with beat up chipped wood tables. It reminded me of an LD library that served food. It also had metal bar-style type of metal chairs and tables that made it seem like two restaurants in one. It needs a serious remodel!! Fortunately, the food made up for the horrible atmosphere.

One more thing, the awful small spotlights are ill placed where they shine directly in your eyes when sitting in the awful uncomfortable wood tables and cheap and uncomfortable chairs and benches. Not what I expected and I would not go Bank until they decide to remodel the restaurant. Sorry, I will pay for great food but I want the atmosphere to also match the price of the meals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Incredible Christmas Brunch and beautiful ambiance! Would go back for sure 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2017

We had our annual high tea at Tres, and the food and service as always, was excellent. My only complaint is that part way through our tea they sat a family with two young children next to us for chicken fingers and juice, and since small children get fussy and cry it really ruined our elegant high tea atmosphere we had looked forward to.

I would hope in the future the high tea group is separated from the families who are staying in the hotel and are grabbing a meal for their small kids.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

Unfortunately, they took time to seat us. Also an extraordinary long time to bring us tea. The tea time was sub par - cold buns and mediocre food. I wouldn't come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Tres Lounge is my # 1 go to spot for quiet business meals, with a great menu and wine list with an incredibly cozy and warm atmosphere in front of the fireplaces
Kendall Minter, Esq

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 29, 2017

The food was good but the standout was the service. Everyone from the hostess to our server was so very nice! We never had to ask for anything, they were attentive and very helpful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Good food. It was my first time eating in restaurant with fire place. Very interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2017

I went for the buffet. And all I can say is if you plan on going there for the buffet don’t do it. The food selection is really really limited. The carving station has one beef and nothing else also I tend to like my beef on the well done side and they don’t offer that at all. It will have to be rare or medium rare only. So for me I was left with only the cold food. Quality of the food is so so. The service is very good and the place is elegant and not so noisy which is a plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2017

First time here, but had been to nearby Bazzar restaurant by Jose. We had brunch, a great buffet with prime rib as the days centerpiece, with treats such as short ribs, salmon, caviar and a great selection of Spanish cheeses and Jamon. The dessert table had something for every sweet tooth. From homemade jellies, to cookies, to flan in egg cups to lemon meringue pie. We loved every bite and enjoyed getting to go back and have more of our favorite tastes of the day. We had a great time and consider Tres well worth a visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2017

IT'S TOTALLY WORTH IT FOR SUNDAY BRUNCH

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 11, 2017

So disappointing! First, I was seated at an impossibly deep couch where I would have had to have pirched on the edge to eat from the marble table that could not have been brought closer. So I moved.

The appetizer was decent, but my entree was fair. The beef short rib is described on the menu as braised, butter is actually prepared sous vide. It was tough and dry, and I only ate half. I told the waiter at the end of the meal that it was a little tough. Five minutes later the manager came by to tell me he had removed it from the check, and that it really wasn’t their fault because the piece of meat was too big, and then added that he wished I’d said something sooner so the chef could have done something about it, and he would not have had to remove it from the bill.

My waiter was good, the restaurant was near empty, the food was fair and the manager was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The service was outstanding. The decor and ambiance was top notch and comfortable while retaining a air of refinement. I would recommend this restaurant to people looking for a special dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2017

With the newest price increase, this brunch has gone from being a splurge to a big luxury.
It's a phenomenal brunch with high quality lox and seafood, cheeses, and desserts. And it's great if you don't want to eat too many carbs(and if you do). But with the parking only partially subsidized (it was $17 for 3 hours) and the big increase to $68 (without egg dish which is extra and no alcohol), I'm not sure if my friends and I will return on a regular basis anymore. Ugh! This gem has become too pricey for regular visits.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Absolutly amazing. Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The interpersonal skills of the manager on duty Sunday night are virtually non-existent. Customer service is not his forte. The "customer is always right"and customer good will are not concepts in his view of his job responsibilities. We have previously eaten at Tres many times and before last Sunday have always had enjoyable experiences. After, I seriously question whether I will return or recommend the restaurant to other diners.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food here was good. We had a Gilt City special which made it worthwhile. I would not pay full price though.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Outstanding great Brunch!
Excellent and attentive Service
Beautiful Presentation
Great Variety
Amazing Deserts
Highly commend Beatrice and Lisette Hosts, Roy the Manager Miguel Trainee Manager and Suzette our waitress!
The Team and all the above mentioned were most attentive friendly and helpful!!
Love our visits to Tres
Thank you

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Love the service, tables and food.
We wouldhave to invite family planning

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Pappardelle pasta was out of the world! Ay Margarita had a great spicy kick to it and was delicious. Salmon and appetizers were okay. A nice restaurant but definitely not as exciting as the Bazaar next door!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Had a great sever, hostes was amazing addressed me by name each time. just a wonderful date night. loved the fireplace dinning.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day brunch. They increased the price from $45 to $75. No one informed us of this when the reservations were made nor when they were confirmed. It was worth $45, not $75

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a wonderful meal. The food and service were excellent. We will be definitely coming back very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It seems confused as to what the genre of food it is. The apps were Chicken Croquettes (spanish) and Mediterranean dipping sauces (boba ganoush, hummus, tazsiki) with pita. Everything was just "Meh". The wine we were originally served was old and bad. We had to ask the server to open a new bottle. He did and it was much better but shouldn't the server and/or bartender know that their wine has been opened for too long and no longer fresh?
Also, it felt like we were in a lobby of a hotel, not a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great value with Gilt City date night offer: Pappardelle with truffles was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Outstanding Delicious Desert fabulous fresh food.. great presentation actually exquisitely displayed !
Love to bring our guests from all over the Country here!
All highly commend it!
Great efficient and friendly staff especially Lisette the Hostess
,thank you

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Tea, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I had brunch here. Selection is very limited & does not warrant the price. Nothing offered in this very limited brunch was outstanding. It wasn't horrible it was just way over priced for what you get. You are paying to sit inside the SLS hotel in LA in a restaurant opened by a famous chef. I was highly disappointed. I'm more than happy to spend money on good food but this was a waste of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great service. Romantic ambiance. Food was good. Gilt Voucher was a steal

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent qualities & presentation as usual. The brunch buffet was my option on Sunday. Roast beef was ok, but my favorite was Pan con Tomate with the cure meat combination. Oh yeah, the smoke salmon & caviar is absolutely amazing. These 2 specific proteins didn't leave room for the fruit & pastry section in my stomach. Therefore it'll be my excuse to come back for the 2nd round, in the near future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Tres is an Outstanding Restaurant!
We cannot rave enough about the Sunday Buffet Brunch!
The food and the presentation of it is Exquisite!
The selection and variety is amazing!
We would like to highly recommend the Food and Neverage Manager Abraham and the wonderful Hosts Lisette and Beatrice all of who are most gracious friendly and always make us feel so Welcome!
They actually treat us like we're Celebrities!
We would like to mention Janell who does a great job with the presentation and placement of all the beautiful food!
We have hosted guests from all over the USA all of whm have enjoyed it as much as we have!
Look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was great but the service was awful. We had to flag someone down to get the water we asked for. She completely forgot about our Cava that it was warm by the time we got it after we had to remind her. She was way more interested in hanging out with a table of men that we had to ask the hostess to get our bill after waiting 10 minutes after we asked the waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a reservation but still needed to wait 15 minutes to be seated. Went for Sunday Brunch but found there was a limited buffet offering (without any egg dishes) and no 'bottomless' drink options. Food was good just not many options. Service was pleasant, but nothing exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent choice for Sunday brunch. Buffet is compact and all very high quality options. From oysters to prime rib, everything was fabulous. Service was intimate and not excessive. Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My friends and I had a wonderful time at their afternoon tea service and it should be a 5-star-across-the-board review. We made a reservation way in advance (imperative!) and even though I mentioned that we would have a vegetarian with us, the serving staff appeared to have never gotten the message. To their credit, they handled it professionally--I was just disappointed that the message hadn't gotten through, even though it was confirmed. We really were pleased with the whole afternoon and are looking forward to returning.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great ambiance, stellar design, and refreshing cocktails

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Tres Restaurant is OUTSTANDING!
We enjoyed the Sunday Buffet which weve been to many times previously!
We've invited friends from New York Ohio and California all who have enjoyed it as much as we have!
We actually celebrated a big Anniversary there last Month with Friends and Family and we're all still all raving about the Magnificent Brunch!
Exquisitely presented amazing variety elegant and wonderful restaurant!
Cant wait to return!
Weve also enjoyed the delightful Tea served at Tres daily!
Weve also eaten at their other Restaurants in the Hotel

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Top notch Hotel eatery that shares the DNA of Bazaar/Jaleo with great cuisine served by a warm and friendly, knowledgable staff. By far the best hotel restaurant in SOCAL

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Fun, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Went here for the afternoon tea. The food was very tasty and well presented. However, if you are looking for "High Tea" with the finger sandwiches this is not the place. The service was great. However, the atmosphere was more modern, not well lit, and noisier than I would prefer for a private gathering for tea. We had a good time and enjoyed it but likely will not go back for tea here.

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great brunch! Exotic fruit arrangement, house champagne, classy atmosphere, great green tea, servers all look very presentable + professional, only thing prime rib was cold.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It took 4 confirmations to finally have restaurant acknowledge my reservation. One thru Open Table, 1 by email and 2 phone calls. Was sent email requiring credit card authorization form plus $100 cancellation fee if less than 24hr notice. The email was sent 10:14pm night before and reservations were 3:15 next day. Service lacking at High Tea with plenty wait staff not enough attention. Saving grace was the food and ambiance. Better experience elsewhere for cost and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.