About Tres by José Andrés Beverly Hills

465 South La Cienega Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

James Beard award-winning chef José Andrés serves up a menu of comfort cuisine with a twist for breakfast, lunch and dinner, plus inspired cocktails. A sophisticated and secluded sanctuary peppered with cozy nooks, books and fireplaces, Tres by José Andrés, situated in the lobby of SLS Hotel, blends the soul of home with the luxury of exceptional service.

Weekend brunch features tabletop displays of caviar selections, specialty smoked salmon and inventive egg dishes.

Afternoon tea, served daily, showcases traditional sweet and savory selections paired with a variety of distinctive teas and coffees.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am – 11:00am
Brunch (Saturday - Sunday): 11:00am – 3:00pm;
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Afternoon Tea Daily: 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm,
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:30pm.

Cross Street:
San Vicente Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 246-5551

Website:
http://sbe.com/restaurants/tres

Catering:
Start planning your next power lunch or celebratory soiree with us today at sbe.com/events.

Parking Details:
Valet parking at the SLS Hotel is available for $8 with lunch validation, $14 for dinner.

Executive Chef:
Hussain Zouhbi

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Start planning your next power lunch or celebratory soiree with us today at sbe.com/events.

Private Dining

A sophisticated and secluded sanctuary peppered with cozy nooks, books and fireplaces, Tres by José Andrés, situated in the lobby of SLS Hotel, blends the soul of home with the luxury of exceptional service.

Tres by José Andrés Beverly Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Los Angeles
Contemporary American
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in Beverly Hills ›

fit for foodies (8)
great for brunch (7)
good for groups (5)
See All
great for lunch (5)
romantic (4)
hot spot (3)
neighborhood gem (3)
special occasion (3)
notable wine list (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The kitchen was incredibly slow.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 2 days ago

The kitchen was incredibly slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great service and absolutely stunning Ro ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great service and absolutely stunning Rotisserie Jidori Farm Chicken, and the second to none Lemon Tart. Greatly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service by Mallory; ambience w ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent service by Mallory; ambience was excellent, food was superb !!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Used to be better. The food is tasty ove ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Used to be better. The food is tasty overall but nothing special.

However, the service is greatly lacking. No warmth or charm, no checking to see how you are enjoying the meal. Once the check arrived, impossible to find the server to pay the bill. Was so fed up after about 10 minutes, ended up leaving cash when I usually pay with credit.

I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Great place for business meetings or rom ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great place for business meetings or romantic dates although the seats are not very comfortable. However, the food was amazing, service was great and the overall atmosphere was nice and private. I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Have a gilt city coupon for dinner here and it was outstanding. Food presentation was beautiful, service was attentive but not overbearing, and although the setting (sat on a couch for dinner) unusual, it really felt like we were dinning at home in front of a fire..... really neat idea and a special night. Only downside has nothing to do with the restaurant, but be prepared to pay almost $20 to park as this is located in a hotel and you have to valet your car (no self parking).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a superlative dining experience ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This was a superlative dining experience. Everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a gem.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Went for dinner with my son. Food was excellent. We really enjoyed evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was fairly good not amazing. We had ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Food was fairly good not amazing. We had a low table and sat on a sofa. We ordered some wine which wasn't great for $18 a glass.

Not a bad place but not as special as I expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Different type of setting and unusual me ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Different type of setting and unusual menu, enjoyed the variety and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was quite good and we had a lot ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was quite good and we had a lot of good menu options from which to choose. Our waiter also provided good suggestions. Also very good wine.

However the atmosphere is seriously lacking. It feels as though they just stuck some tables in the hotel lobby and called it a restaurant. Not a good date night restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

A fun evening in BH.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We were a party of three visiting from the East Coast for the weekend. We enjoyed our meal and the ambience of the restaurant very much. Our server (apologies but I don't remember her name) was charming and most accommodating. The design of the restaurant is modern and stylish as well as relaxing with tables well spaced. A great choice and we all loved our seafood - shrimp, crab and branzino. Would definitely visit again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This would be my first time dining at Tr ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This would be my first time dining at Tres for dinner. I purchased a Gilt deal to give this place a shot. Been to Bazaar many times for dinner, so had expectations that this place would be pretty good as well. The food was definitely amazing. The hush-puppies came out perfectly hot and tasted delicious. The short rib & tagliatelle pasta entrees were both mouthwatering. I obviously got great value out of the Gilt deal, but I wonder if that affected the level of service. Our waiter was just ok... sub par. Nothing bad, but nothing good. Don't think I ever saw him smile at us. Just doing his job I guess. In this regard, I expected more, but regardless I still had a great meal. Will most likely go back for the food. Also, love the decor - the personal fireplace tables. Love.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Best brunch in LA! $42 for all you can e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Best brunch in LA!

$42 for all you can eat caviar, crab and prime rib.....fantastico!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Good to try once.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

This lesser known restaurant is also located at the SLS hotel, next to The Bazaar. There are a variety of tables throughout, both traditional and off-beat. We were seated in front of one of several fireplaces that has a lower table and living room chairs/sofas rather than dining chairs. It was a very comfortable and cozy place to sit.

APPETIZERS:

WATERMELON AND TOMATO SKEWERS $14

- very fresh with the micro basil to top it off, but not worth the price

CROQUETAS DE POLLO $12

Chicken and béchamel fritters. This is also offered at Bazaar. I've now had it a few times and I'm over it.

SEARED SEA SCALLOPS $18

3 perfectly cooked scallops, cut in half, and served with lushious potato cream sauce, white asparagus, and bacon

ENTREES:

SEARED BRANZINO $32

Crispy skin served with a nice fennel puree, wild mushrooms, endive, and citrus vinaigrette

HOMEMADE PAPPARDELLE PASTA $30

Egg 63 topped with parmesan foam, serrano hay, truffle. The pasta was overdone and not al dente. Flavors were a bit muddled and bland.

DESSERT:

COCO ROUGE $12

Rich, milk chocolate mousse topped with raspberry and coconut streusel. The streusel added a nice, crunchy texture.

Good, but not great food. Service is very friendly but not the most efficient.

parking - valet, metered, or limited free street parking

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I loved the whole ambience, service was excellent

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I love SLS Hotels and try and eat there whenever I get the chance. I also really admire Chef Jose Andre and have had many opportunities to eat at his various restaurants around the world. I am never disappointed. Tres was perfect for my pre-Valentine's dinner. The service was spot on, timing of the plates in-between each course was perfect and the taste...too die for. Truly enjoyed my evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was not up to par.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Perhaps it was because it New Years Eve but the food was served cold (steak). It took over 20 minutes to get a glass of wine. The waiter was not around much although when he was he was friendly and trying to please. The menu was quite varied but it seemed they didn't know where they were going with it. I couldn't figure out the theme. I though this was Spanish type restaurant but one of our favorite dishes was the baba ganoush, tatziki appetizer. The quality of the ingredients was great. They need to do away with those tall tables. Nobody liked them. They just don't belong in this type of elegant restaurant. I do plan to come here again perhaps for their high tea. One more thing the Valet was $26 after the $2 discount from the validation. Well LA is getting more expensive and we do have to pay for the location. I may park on the street next time.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Nice dinner

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

My teenage daughter and I ate here after going to the spa at Ciel. We were looking for good food in a low-key setting. Tres was perfect. We ate lightly, but well. The service was friendly and efficient. We enjoyed it very much and will definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Do not go expecting large American servi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Do not go expecting large American servings! The food is very nicely presented but really could do with a bit more on the plate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We went on Christmas day for brunch. And while they jacked up the price by 50% just for Christmas it was worth it. Very high quality, beautiful setting.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Civilized Dining

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Selectively limited fine dining with unique decor and extraordinarily civilized ambiance for those who believe dining is as much a relaxing, harmonious relationship event as it is a "trough" one.

Service is solicitous, especially as watched over by "Andrew" and "Raheleh" is a warm, welcoming Hostess par excellence.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this brunch

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Definitely my new favorite brunch spot. Been to Saam twice so I already had high expectations going in (but knew not to expect the same level as those). Was not disappointed. Loved the spread. The smoked salmon was incredible. I loved the cheeses and meats and the burrata. Loved the assortment of fresh fruits and parfaits and juices. I wanted to order the cava but I'm currently pregnant so in a few months I'm going back for sure! Loved this brunch, worth every penny both in terms of quality of food and variety. Can't wait to return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I loved the relaxed feel of this place. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

I loved the relaxed feel of this place. The back area was cozy and romantic, like being in your own living room. Excellent food. Especially the house made Patatas Bravas Chips with the garlic aioli (OMG!!!). The short rib was succulent and tender (yummy). The Jidori Chicken was tender, juicy and very delicious. Dessert was very good as well. I can't wait to come back.

Job well done Tres!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great first experience!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

Our first time here and it was great! We had a Gilt City voucher and it was a great value. Service was great and the food was great too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The chic and well-designed place

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

The place was chic and classy we went there for a sunday brunch for buffet,I was expecting a large brunch buffet but it was really small they even didn't have bacon or roasted potatoes in their buffet,so we just get one buffet and my family preferred to order from the menu instead of paying 42$ per person for the buffet,but the quality was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

It was a decent experience. There is no ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

It was a decent experience. There is nothing bad about it. The prices are reasonable, the service was mediocre, the ambiance was not there, despite se decor. Yet, when you go to a place with José Andrés name on it you are forced to expect something much more memorable. I wish José Andrés would not just put his name on places like this because it really is a disservice to the culinary industry and especially the Spanish Culinary industry as a whole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Good not great

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Food is good, but is B-league compared to the Bazaar next door. Service is competent, but imperfect. The room is absolutely lovely, and pleasantly quiet. One serious complaint is a wine list that starts at $60 per bottle, and $35 corkage in case you try bringing your own.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Great casual dining

vip
 (Brighton)
·Dined on September 28, 2015

Great place to enjoy good food and wine in a casual setting.

Tags: group bookings, lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Just amazing from the moment yourestaurant!!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2015

The ambiance of this restaurant is unmatched. It has such class and style. All of the food was exceptional but the prawns were the star of the show. Everything was cooked so well it was remarkable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful place

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2015

Beatiful ,well decorated, creative and delicious food, excellent service . Just improve please the wine service

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance is very hip and the staff v ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

The ambiance is very hip and the staff very pleasant, even the valet. Watermelon appetizer was very good as was the shrimp but we wish they would have told us they aren't completely shelled. The crab cakes were good but nothing original. My lemon tart was more like lemon custard in a lemon meringue pie and was tasty. My husband enjoyed his chocolate cake but said it wasn't memorable. All portions were small which was fine, I don't need/want to over eat anyway. Our biggest complaint is that management did nothing to remove a constantly crying baby or 2 kids that were "fake surfing" on the couches while the parents sipped cocktails. I'm unclear as to when high end restaurants allowed kids to be savages or when parents became so self absorbed and rude to ignore them and ruin other peoples dinner. Restaurants will need to put a child cut off time of 6:30p if this continues or parents should just give it up and get a sitter, either way we probably will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Fun brunch spot

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

Food is good - typical brunch fare, the atmosphere is fun, service was pleasant

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Lovely experience

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

The place itself is very pretty. If you want a more quiet and cozy spot, ask to be seated next to the fireplace. Everything from the buffet was delicious. We loved the caviar and the charcuterie and the aguas frescas. Dessert was nice too. We got the huevos a la cubana (12 quail eggs sunny side up) a la carte. It was good but a bit too rich. (And I wouldn't recommend it to anyone with a cholesterol problem). If you're going for the lunch buffet, I think it's worth the additional $15 for one a la carte dish and bottomless mimosas, but the buffet itself is already very good. Just don't expect a Vegas Seafood Buffet or Hokkaido type of experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day Tea

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Made a reservation for Tea for my mother and my daughter for Mother's Day. The service was Superb & The Tea was Fabulous. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, this place is on par. Service ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

As usual, this place is on par. Service is friendly. The food served is always consistently delicious. Even though there are no eggs for all-you-can-eat, the items available are plenty to fill you up & make your tummy happy. You can even add 1 a la carte plate for $10 (brunch experience). Last time I did that, I couldn't breathe! This time I did only the brunch table and I was plenty full. Make sure to remember to get the valet validation which takes your parking fee from $14 to $8.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not as good as it should be

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 18, 2015

We had tea at Tres on Saturday. Our server was not attentive and we repeatedly had to flag someone down to get more hot water. We also had to wait quite awhile for the hot water, after we asked. There was perhaps a small handful of other guests also dining, so it's not as though the servers were super busy.

The food and tea were great. Nothing in particular stood out to me, but it was yummy and was the one aspect that made the tea experience special. Our group tried the blossoming tea at the recommendation of the server. It was underwhelming and probably not even worth the small upcharge, considering it was sold as being super special and quite pretty. The area was also super dark, it'd be nice if they'd have pin lights or something illuminating the tables.

Also, the valet nor the server mentioned that Tres validates for parking. We only discovered it ourselves after going to the valet booth, seeing the sign ourselves, and going back into the restaurant to ask.

For a high-quality operation, I expect far better service than what we experienced. I had hoped for a special afternoon out with my girlfriends, and while we still enjoyed ourselves, it was not as great as I thought it would or should be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Great style, great service

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 12, 2015

Always a nice place to have a good meal and great cocktails in a sophisticated, stylish setting. And the staff and servers are always welcoming and energetic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The scallops and shrimp from the appetiz ...

vip
 (Dubai)
·Dined on April 10, 2015

The scallops and shrimp from the appetizers are great! The service was a bit slow for lunch, but they were polite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Casual and elegant

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 29, 2015

Chef Jose Andres is an artist creating some of the most unique & delicious dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My new favorite brunch place. You just ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 28, 2015

My new favorite brunch place. You just can't beat the quality of the food and of course the bottomless mimosas. I had a great time, stuffed my face and left happy. The a la carte dishes were decently sized. Probably didn't need to to do the brunch along with a la carte. But if you want variety, then I'd say go big or go home for your first time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.