About Trentina

1903 Ford Drive
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's Restaurant Trentina explores the rich diversity of culture and joyful voice of cuisine in the regions of northeastern Italy. The menu exemplifies the commonalities between the valleys of Trentino-Alto Adige and the Cuyahoga Valley, including a strong sense of gastronomic craftsmanship and agricultural heritage. Allow us to take you on a journey as we interpret tradition through an elegant and modern lens.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Italian, German

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday-Friday 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Brunch Saturday & Sundays 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Ford and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 421-2900

Website:
http://www.restauranttrentina.com/

Entertainment:
Located within walking distance of The Cleveland Museum of Art, The Cleveland Orchestra's Severance Hall, The Cleveland Botanical Gardens, Cleveland Museum of Contemporary Art, Western Reserve Historical Society, The Cleveland Museum of Natural History.

Parking Details:
We share parking with the Glidden House hotel and additional metered street parking is available as well

Public Transit:
RTA Cedar-University Rapid Station

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Trentina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Fit for Foodies
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in University Circle ›

fit for foodies (77)
special occasion (56)
neighborhood gem (46)
See All
great for outdoor dining (41)
romantic (32)
great for brunch (24)
great for lunch (20)
notable wine list (16)
hot spot (11)
good for groups (5)
scenic view (4)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I can see the potential, but would be ha ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 3 days ago

I can see the potential, but would be hard pressed to want to return. Had the tasting Bianca menu and it was pretty uninspiring. Nothing stood out, but could see some originality in a few dishes. The fired polenta with the charcuterie was nice, but too much butter and the pickles were too salty. The salt came back in force with the mushroom course. The best course we're the pastas: gnocchi and rigatoni. The meats (duck and sardine) were good but nothing more than ordinary. The biggest disappointment was the service. Three bottles of wine and I think we had our glasses filled twice. OK at The Olive Garden, not so much when you get a bill for $427 for two. Also the waitress never considered an accommodation on adjusting the beverage pairing or the "revisiting" course to our taste. As for the pairing, a simple adjustment to tilt to white from red would have been appreciated. Not necessary, but a reasonable expectation based on the price. My recommendation would be to drop the tasting menu. Focus on what you do well, pasta and a few key items, and train up st staff a bit more for this calibre of the restaurant. The young man who brought the courses was very well informed and excellent. The young lady who seated us and offered a the 'revisit' was less so. The revisit being the same course you already had and liked, you can have it again (as long as it's not the gnocchi or sardines). But they won't exchange it for a drink if you didn't enjoy the previous courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Inventive, satisfying, carefully prepare ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Inventive, satisfying, carefully prepared dishes at reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great food, very imaginative . Excellen ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great food, very imaginative . Excellent service. Relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great, and the brunch menu w ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was great, and the brunch menu was fantastic! Would definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried four pasta dishes and each one ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We tried four pasta dishes and each one was better than the next. Definitely the best pasta dishes in town. The vegetable appetizers were equally good. The only negative for this restaurant is that the seats both inside and outside are not very comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best meals I have had. Ever. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

One of the best meals I have had. Ever. We are from Denver and we flew in to find this gem. Truly spectacular.

We shared four pastas, four "starters", and two of the most amazing breads of my life. It was an experience that we will think back often about, and it makes me want to come into Cleveland just for the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding. We arrived ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service was outstanding. We arrived close to closing for the afternoon and the service was gracious and efficient. The food was excellent. Unique items on menu. Definitely will go again. Looking forward to one of their dinner dining menus.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to the restaurant twice and each of ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Been to the restaurant twice and each of my experiences have been fantastic. Mauve is wonderful front of the house specialist and server! She made both our experiences memorable and we just happened to come in to "check it out".

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been looking forward to eating h ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have been looking forward to eating here since it opened (had to cancel reservations more than once). We were rewarded for the wait. We decided to pass on the tasting menu and make our own - great idea. The menu is VERY reasonably priced and the pastas come in two sizes so it was easy to try several. All were excellent. I was particularly happy with the wine list since it contained several off the beaten path choices from NE Italy - a very under appreciated region. Although the restaurant was out of my first selection, the White Tokai blend from Capriva de Friuli was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Interesting looking menu, but the food w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Interesting looking menu, but the food was odd to say the least. Charred broccoli was recommended as an appetizer. It should just be called burnt. When I asked what the gray, muddy-looking liquid was on the plate I was told "eggplant puree with edible charcoal." My pasta was more than al dente, nearly crunchy. There were black flecks in the pasta and thinking it was more edible charcoal, I removed them to another plate. The waitress asked if I didn't like the olives. Seems that the black specks were dehydrated olives. Who knew? And when I asked for sweetener for my coffee, I was told they don't serve anything artificial. Interesting that they would serve me edible charcoal but not zero-calorie sweetener. We are not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

I would have given this restaurant a hig ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I would have given this restaurant a higher rating, but it sure is pretentious. From requiring a credit card to make a reservation, to not giving assistance when the server knew we were sharing (the pea and carrot plate was beautiful, but not share-able and hardly edible for one).

The pizza was good and share-able.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Had the 12-course tasting menu. Seldom ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Had the 12-course tasting menu. Seldom have I experienced food so imaginative and perfectly prepared, with a level of service (professional & extremely knowledgeable) to match. Kudos to everyone involved in this extraordinary dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very creative and varied menu, we have d ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Very creative and varied menu, we have dined her before and have always found everything to be very well prepared, great presentations and very creative.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Party of 4 outside dinning, informative ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Party of 4 outside dinning, informative professional service with a smile, oil candle as a dip for bread, salads, flatbread pizza, broccoli app, 3 pasta dishes one full order, duck and a steak entree paired with a bottle of wine and a rosé may have ordered a bit too much. Broccoli app and Duck entree memorable, everything else was good enough to order again except not a fan of the bolognese sauce over the rigatoni, waiter said this was done more of a traditional style. I was expecting something different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Beautiful morning for brunch on the pati ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Beautiful morning for brunch on the patio. Great service. Always outstanding dining from drinks to desert.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Loved the wood fired brocco ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great food. Loved the wood fired broccoli, golden tile fish (a favorite Gulf fish of mine), and beets. Just wished they had indicated on their menu that their food is made with a blend oil that contains soy. I can only eat soy in small doses and pretty much it was in everything. In an age of food allergies and sensitivities this seems a surprising for such a high caliber restaurant.

The service was good but even the waitress was not aware of the oil blend when I first asked about soy products in the food.

I enjoyed my time drinking the rose wine with a friend on a fabulous night in Cleveland. Highly recommend just beware of food sensitivities and ask before digging in.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a poor experience all the way aro ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had a poor experience all the way around. Ordered a bottle of wine-- was brought a different year. Waitress said nothing until my husband noticed, only then did she say they were out of the vintage we ordered. Charred broccoli is an ill-conceived app--tastes just like burned broccoli. Two of us ordered pasta entrees which were served to us before the waiter replaced our missing silverware. Had to wait for him to hunt some up -- meanwhile pasta cooling. The rigatoni with lamb had no discernible lamb flavor but what it did have was a huge amount of black pepper. After a few bites my mouth was so hot, I sent the dish away. Two diners ordered "duck two ways" which were served LONG AFTER pastas arrived. Pasta eaters had to start or else face cold dinners. When the duck dinners finally came, they were almost RAW! Sent them back to the kitchen and another 15 min. passed before they emerged---really OVERCOOKED! Was this the chef's lack of skill or revenge? To add insult to injury, we were at this restaurant to celebrate an anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Had time for two dinners while in Clevel ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had time for two dinners while in Cleveland. Trentina was probably not the best choice for one of them. Very casual with a wood fired theme. Roast cauliflower was very good, roast beet salad was ok (unusual flavors with dehydradeted olives and cheese). Two pastas - osso bucco sauce and rigatoni bolognese bianco were very good but heavy. Much more appropriate for a fall or winter menu.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Took my husband and our girls for Father ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Took my husband and our girls for Fathers Day. Nice menu variety especially since one daughter is vegetarian. Food was delicious and the service was friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was over the top fabulous...eve ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was over the top fabulous...every course was beautiful to look at and even better to savor.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good not great. Small portions ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was good not great. Small portions but reasonable fees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Food Is Really Good and Creative

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Drinks took a very long time - not sure they were prepared to make anything as exotic as a vodka gimlet! Pastas and pizzas are top notch. Spouse loved the steak.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Northern Italian Food

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We all thought the food was excellent. We had the Wood Fired Broccoli and the Margarita Pizza to start. We ordered a small plate of Rigatoni to share and our friend ordered a small plate of the Linguini and Clams and liked it so much he ordered another, this time the large plate. My husband's fish of the day was excellent, my friend loved the Grilled Cauliflower Shank (we all shared and tasted each other's dishes) and I got the Lasagna. The Lasagna was the only disappointment of the evening, I thought it was too salty. The drink menu was very creative. Will definitely be back and will be getting the Table Bread this time too!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I love the food at Trentina but was disappointed in the assistant waitress. Our main waitress was excellent, but the young woman who brought the food answered "No problem" to our "thank you" (this several times). An aspiring restaurant should not have wait staff that does not answer either "your welcome" or "my pleasure, " never the unfortunately ubiquitous "no problem." It brings down the tenor of the restaurant. The same waitress did not bring water when we asked for it twice. The main waitress did bring water immediately when requested. At a good restaurant (especially when it is not busy as it was not that day) water glasses should remain full and the waiters/waitresses should notice when they are not.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

It was an awesome experience.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

It was an awesome experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just ok. Won't go back. One visit was en ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Just ok. Won't go back. One visit was enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Wonderful experience! Knowledgeable staf ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Wonderful experience! Knowledgeable staff who discreetly catered to my food allergies. Great ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Unfortunately the food was only mediocre. We were very disappointed and a little embarassed since we invited friends to this restaurant. The main upside is that we did not order the 12 course tasting meal which is very, very expensive. I wish that we had gone elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Such a fake!

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We were hesitant about this place after reading very controversial reviews here and on the other websites, but decided to give it a try and went for brunch. We are sorry we did.

FOOD: FISH AND POTATOES (C), TRENTINA BENEDICT (C), GRILLED BROCCOLI (D), RICOTTA CAKES (D) was mediocre and tasteless, "inventive" , but failing to impress and all dishes were luke warm instead of hot. We had an impression that they were preheated instead of cooked freshly. Can't comment on drinks, we didn't order them.

SERVICE: was inattentive, forgetful, VERY slow and not professional.

AMBIANCE: was cute and modern and actually the best part of experience.

VALUE: was outrageously bad for the experience received.

No coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Interesting little place here. The food ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Interesting little place here. The food was pretty good, but it seemed like the restaurant was trying TOO hard to be a cutting edge, trendy place. The environment is cool, set in an 1800's old fire house-type building. However, it's very small, leaving little room for more than 2-4 people in a group, and there are not more than 10 tables in the entire place. The service was good, as the wait staff was knowledgable. As mentioned, the food was ok. Not outstanding. Again, it seemed as if they were trying to be too trendy. I must say that the highlight was my trip to the men's room. This was like visiting the future. The toilet seat was motion activated and heated, the toilet itself was a front AND back bidet, and the entire thing was remote controlled! Anyway, a nice place to visit, but I won't favorite this one.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Staff was very pleasant and food was INC ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Staff was very pleasant and food was INCREDIBLE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

absolutely delicious ... we shared ricot ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

absolutely delicious ... we shared ricotta pancakes, bacon and egg bolognese and fish cakes ... one better than the next! started with broccoli app and that, too, was well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dissapointing

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. Cozy, elegant, quaint. Great location. Service was good. Food was disappointing. 12 courses with three basic proteins - cured fish, lamb sausage (really?), bay scallops (again, really); pasta with unexciting flavors - and other dishes of mediocre presentation - from this award winning and "talented" chef?????

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

A Gem

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

My wife and I had our anniversary dinner at Trentina, and we were not disappointed. The food, which is inspired by the cuisine of the mountainous northeastern Italy, was superb. The chef focuses on using local sources. While simply prepared, our dishes were loaded with flavor. The wait staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. The wine list, while a bit pricey, featured wines from the region, which complemented the food very well. The dining room, while small, still feels airy and comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fine meal at Trentina and thanks ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Another fine meal at Trentina and thanks to the team for such a wonderful evening. Some of the dishes on the Bianco tasting menu were very elegant and some were very rustic; all were perfect. How lucky are we to have such an excellent restaurant to enjoy close to our home!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second visit to Trentina. Th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This was my second visit to Trentina. The first visit we had the fabulous menu bianco and this time we enjoyed a lovely brunch. We are huge fans!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent. However the serv ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was excellent. However the service was extremely slow. There was only one server got the entire dining room. We sat for about 15 minutes before our waitress acknowledged us. It was about 20 minutes before we got our wine. Two tables that arrived after is has to have other staff members wait on them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

A New Cleveland Fave

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Absolutely fantastic food, ambiance, environment. The menu was carefully crafted and skillfully put together with unique options and classics. A small menu with focus on excellence. The service was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I did not realize Trentina was open now ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I did not realize Trentina was open now for lunch. Luckily my meeting partner did, and we were blown away with the excellent choices. Of which we could only eat two!

I did buy Jonathan's book while there and now have to come back to buy another book as it will make a great gift for one of my grandchildren who loves to cook.

Maybe when you send out those e-mails letting people who have signed up to find out what is going on, you could mention the hours you are opened?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Visit!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Spent our 10th anniversary here, and did the tasting menu. Excellent touch: they offer you the option to "revisit" any course you enjoyed. Nice touch! Excellent service, and great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.