Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Trentina

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's Restaurant Trentina explores the rich diversity of culture and joyful voice of cuisine in the regions of northeastern Italy. The menu exemplifies the commonalities between the valleys of Trentino-Alto Adige and the Cuyahoga Valley, including a strong sense of gastronomic craftsmanship and agricultural heritage. Allow us to take you on a journey as we interpret tradition through an elegant and modern lens.

1903 Ford Drive
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Italian, German

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thurs: 5pm-11pm

Fri-Saturday: 11am-11pm

Sunday: 11 am - 9pm

Cross Street:
Ford and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 421-2900

Website:
http://www.restauranttrentina.com/

Entertainment:
Located within walking distance of The Cleveland Museum of Art, The Cleveland Orchestra's Severance Hall, The Cleveland Botanical Gardens, Cleveland Museum of Contemporary Art, Western Reserve Historical Society, The Cleveland Museum of Natural History.

Parking Details:
We share parking with the Glidden House hotel and additional metered street parking is available as well. Complimentary valet is offered on Friday and Saturday evenings.

Public Transit:
RTA Cedar-University Rapid Station

Executive Chef:
Jason Dallas

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Trentina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

87% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (35)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Special Occasion (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Authentic (16)
Romantic (16)
Cozy (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Casual (9)
Fun (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Organic (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Business Meals (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Seasonal (6)
Healthy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
459 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Wood burning stove out back had amazing aroma and made delicious traditional Italian pizza and wood grilled beets!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 8, 2017

My wife and I have dined at Trentina at least a dozen times. We have never left feeling anything other than extremely satisfied.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

With our cousin visiting from Chicago last weekend, we wanted to share a sure great dinner out with him, and Trentina fit the bill perfectly. We were all impressed with the exquisite quality of their food. Tim really enjoyed a glass of their Italian white wine after not liking his sampling a taste of their Slovenia white. Portions were moderate in size but just right for us seniors, so will be back again. The duck breast was succulent and golden beet salad memorable.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was very good, but the atmosphere was in no way romantic. Our sever smelled like BO and they were more focused on the Indians game than asking if we needed to order more drinks. Overall it was a good experience but in the competitive cleveland restraint scene I don’t think I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Food was incredible. Trentina nailed it again with the salmon tartare, then my wife had the bucatini and I had the lamb bolognese. Food was great, wine was perfectly suited, and we really enjoyed our meal here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Server did good with the wine. We ordered three salads and entrees the server only put one salad in. The food all came out at once and we decided to ask for only one more salad. The second salad came out and it was off, very sweet tasting. We mentioned this to the server and she didn't have much of a response nor did she take it off the bill. also one of us asked for cheese on the pasta and we were given a tiny plate with Parmesan shavings, not as much as we had wanted. attentiveness of th service trailed off toward the end, though food was mostly good it was a bit disappointing given our experience last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Not a large variety on the menu. Very limited menu

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Trentina underwent a management change around 4 weeks ago (early September-2017). The menu and prices have not changed, but both the service and food preparation have deteriorated markedly. With only around 20 people, perhaps 7 tables, service was very, very slow. In fact, we never figured out who-if anyone-was supposed to be our server. Trentina's (formerly) wonderful puffy bread, $8, had barely raised in the oven and someone decided to address this by dousing it with oil before it came to the table. It didn't help, nor did the suet candle which left wick-ashes but did not melt much of anything before going out. Despite assurances that it would be ready soon after our appetizers, the wait for lasagna was 45 minutes-long after the appetizers had been cleared from the table. The Njuda pizza had none of the promised mozzarella and a minimal amount of sausage. In short, it was essentially nothing but bread. Perhaps the new management will improve, but at the moment Trentina should be regarded as barely satisfactory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Very disappointed. Cleveland has many better choices at a lower cost. Limited menu, bland food, served lukewarm at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Trentino exceeded our high expectations. We were visiting from our of town. I did my research and was so happy to have found Trentina on line. The food, service and atmosphere were all exceptional! Look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Extremely disappointing experience. We left halfway through the tasting menu due to extremely sluggish service (2.5 hours for 6 courses out of 12) and lackluster food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

The 11 course tasting menu was a home run. Service couldn't be better. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Excellent place for many reasons, foid service location price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Took friends from Lake Placid, NY and we wanted to treat them to our favorite place and chef. We are all foodies and they loved it! The menu is very creative and fresh. The patio is very nice too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday. I am vegan and the staff was very friendly and catered to my dietary preferences. We made reservations ahead of time. Overall the food and the wine were wonderful and we will definitely be coming back in the future!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We were very disappointed with our dining experience.
The food was fair in taste, and the service unenthusiastic and extremely slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Wife ordered pasta to start which was good, pizza for second course. Pizza was raw so we had another made and it was raw again. I think majority of service attention is for those that participate in the tasting menu. Price point may be a little high given service and food quality. We actually went to Greenhouse Tavern after because we were still hungry. Also owned by same person, excellent service and food - highly recommend. First review I have written but felt obligated given the fact we spent $200.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Excellent food. The pasta dishes were amazing as well as the roasted beets.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 20, 2017

The food at Trentina continues to be outstanding, but our service at this most recent visit was the first time things seemed to be off there. Many of the familiar faces were not around that evening, so perhaps it was just too many less experienced servers, but the pacing was off, the server did not seem to know anything about the wine being served, and the first Manhattan that came out seemed like it was all bourbon and served on the rocks.

I hope this was just an isolated event and not the future of the restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

There is really no way to go wrong with Trentina. If you love delicious food from a renown chef - look no further.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Service was TERRIBLE.
We ordered the tasting menu and waited 25 minutes between courses.
We politely asked if we could be served faster to multiple restaurant employees.
Either the chef does not care if diners had a good experience or the owner, Jonathan Sawyer does not care. We spent alot of money for the tasting menu and not only did we have terrible service, the food was cold and we did not get the items as described on the menu.
There are many other great options for a tasting menu including CROP BISTRO, where service was timely and food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Family wedding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great meal
Lovely evening and sat outside
Excellent service
Very interesting wine list

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Wanted a nice patio, great food, good drink...got it! Delicious, creative Arugula pizza which highly recommend and a Butterscotch Budino that was to die for! Enjoyed a quiet meal on the patio on a warm early Fall evening! Cool location on a quiet tree lined street in the University Area...perfect! A must do restaurant! Friendly, smart server! Thanks ... will be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great food! Good service! We were here for a friend's get together and couldn't have picked a better place. The mushroom pizza was out of this world. We ended up getting one to go as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

First time eating at Trentina, waitress was terrific, attended to our needs made suggestions and was not intrusive. She suggested we order the bread and candle, yes a real live lit candle ( tallow fat). A great suggestion, delicious, we also enjoyed the charred broccoli. Since Trentina fuses Italy into its entrees, we ordered two pasta dishes to share, yummy. For our main course we delighted in the flavors of steak, branzino, and duck, plus a yummy bottle of wine. We all enjoyed our evening.

One drawback, the restrooms are upstairs any one with knee or back problems will have difficulty with the steps.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We were seated for dinner outside and it took a while before we were acknowledged. Drinks were delivered

No food menus were given. Had to flag the server down and we got food menus.

Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We specified that it was our anniversary and it was never acknowledged. Server was dull and a low talker. Hard to hear and understand him with the table of loud men next to us. Food was ridiculously overpriced. I would never recommend this place to anyone and will never go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Would definitely go back. Serving size was perfect, ambiance was perfect. Food was very fun and unique. Was a bit cold by the time it go to me but I did not mind that much given it is still summer and I am a realist. Great service!

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Organic, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

second time at Trentina. we stayed steps away at the Glidden House. food is superb, staff is kind and knowledgable
. outdoor seating is our favorite

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 1, 2017

One of the best Gems in Cleveland. Worth every penny.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great service and food. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

The restaurant has excellent food and great service. It is also conveniently located in the middle of the Case campus. Couldn't ask for more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

My grandmother was born in the Trentino region and my husband and I were married there, so finding a restaurant which featured this Northern Italian cuisine on the Case Western campus felt like a good omen as we dropped off our college freshman for the new school year. It was the perfect place to celebrate this milestone event. The table bread from their wood-fired oven with the "edible beef suet candle" was both inventive and delicious. This was followed by the most wonderful beet salad accented with a brown butter vinaigrette and smoked almonds. Perfectly prepared bucatini was coated in a light tomato and white wine sauce, and my son's gnochetti was also excellent, topped with flavorful shredded beef for a heartier dish. While my half order of pasta and the beet salad was filling, my son said the full order of gnochetti alone was all he could eat, which says a lot, since he typically does not pass up dessert! Prices for this caliber of cuisine were fair, although I'd like to see a more generous wine pour in the future given the cost. We will be regulars here whenever we visit Case Western.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We went here for brunch and loved it! They have a wood burning oven in the back and if you order anything with their bread, you will not be disappointed. Also, the Rye Felicia is INSANELY good if you like cocktails. Excellent wine menu, excellent service. Great location. I would say definitely one of the best restaurants in Cleveland.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Birthday brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We did the menu Bianca (12 course tasting menu), and not only was it super creative and tasty, but they tailored our menu to my dietary restrictions. Was a great experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This placed is in an excellent location by the museum. We had dinner outside with an outstanding service and amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Overall, the experience at Trentina was alright, though we're definitely not going back. We asked them for some bread and they brought us some to the table at a cost of 8 dollars! -- it's the first time I've heard of an Italian restaurant that charges for bread. Also, the dessert menu is really unappetizing, there is hardly any variety, just some ice cream and cake. An Italian restaurant ought to offer some tiramisu, panna cotta, or cannoli. Lastly, the waiters ought to wash their aprons that were really dirty and stained with food!! Would not recommend this restaurant, we were so disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 9, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 31st wedding anniversary at Trentina. We enjoyed the Bianco 12 course tasting experience with wine pairing. Each course was a surprise and a delight! Beautifully presented and a pallet pleaser the way the locally sourced ingredients were used together to make wonderful dishes. You could tell that they were made with passion and love from the chefs and kitchen staff. Also the wait staff were so friendly and attentive it made our night magical! Thank you Trentina! We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.