HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 13 times today

Trentina

4.1
514 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date (25)
  • Special Occasion (22)
  • Local Ingredients (18)
Chef Jonathon Sawyer's Restaurant Trentina explores the rich diversity of culture and joyful voice of cuisine in the regions of northeastern Italy. The menu exemplifies the commonalities between the valleys of Trentino-Alto Adige and the Cuyahoga Valley, including a strong sense of gastronomic craftsmanship and agricultural heritage. Allow us to take you on a journey as we interpret tradition through an elegant and modern lens.


Valentine's Day 2018
Wednesday, February 14th

For Valentine's Day, Chef Korey will be creating a custom Menu Bianco tasting. The standard a la carte menu will not be offered that night. Please allow 3.5 hours for this extended tasting menu.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary Italian, Italian, German
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon–Thu 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
Fri, Sat 11:00 am–11:00 pm
Sun 11:00 am–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(216) 421-2900
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jonathon Sawyer
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Ford and Euclid
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We share parking with the Glidden House hotel and additional metered street parking is available as well.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
RTA Cedar-University Rapid Station
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Located within walking distance of The Cleveland Museum of Art, The Cleveland Orchestra's Severance Hall, The Cleveland Botanical Gardens, Cleveland Museum of Contemporary Art, Western Reserve Historical Society, The Cleveland Museum of Natural History.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Cocktails, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 514 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1  based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.1
service
4.1
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Quiet
74% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
RiRi 
1.0  Dined 6 days ago

We were visiting Case Western and excited to dine at Cleveland's number 1 ranked Italian restaurant according to NYC Daily News...in NYC Trentina would not survive. The worst pasta dish I ever had in my life, if I wasn't starving after a day of traveling, I would have returned it. My husband ordered an antipasto that looked unappealing, the items on the plate were all white. One of the items on the plate looked like pre packed turkey slices. My husband said it was pickled, not sure what he ate??? To add insult to injury, the server we had was most unfriendly. She looked like she hated her job. Too bad for Trentina because it's an ideal spot to dine.

Report
Helpful
JenniferJ (Cleveland)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Absolutely amazing food with wonderful service. I am a big fan of Jonathon Sawyer

Report
Helpful
Nevergo2bedhungry (Detroit)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Valentines Day dinner at Trentina was all we expected from Jonathon Sawyer. We had the ten course tasting menu with wine pairings. The food was creative and unique not to mention delicious! Jonathon greeted us at the door with champagne and a warm welcome. Our service was very good and the evening was truly enjoyable from start to finish A favorite course would be hard to select but I found the sturgeon exceptional and the dessert out of this world. The wine pairings complimented each course and were ample pours. Jonathon Sawyer was visiting with diners all evening and stopped by our table at least four times to check on things and converse with us. Great evening!

Report
Helpful
CharlesJ (Pittsburgh)
4.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Absolutely awesome food and service. The wait is long but well worth it. The staff is very kind and extremely accommodating. This was the best restaurant experience we have had since our arrival into Cleveland.

Report
Helpful
Darling (Cleveland)
2.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

-service: no explanation of menu, no asking if we had any questions, no telling us specials....just “are you ready to order”
-poor selection of white wine by glass...I wanted a Chardonnay..none available. I tried the first white suggested by server & did not like...so ended up ordering the Pinot Grigio available which was “ok”....nothing great. Surprised at the lack of wine choices by the glass for this caliber of restaurant.
-one of our party ordered the fish (note that he had to ask the server what the market fish was for the night)...he said it was very good . However the plate had only two very! small pieces of the fish & some citrusy garnish & a sauce...would have expected more
Disappointing...we have been there many times & probably won’t return for a while.....

Report
Helpful
hapxbp (Cleveland)
2.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

If you like high prices and mediocre food, this is the place for you.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
3.0  Dined on February 2, 2018

We had a very nice time at the restaurant. The food, atmosphere, drinks and service were great. The only complaint I have is portion size! I had the gnocchi and my date had the tortellini. Both were delicious (although mine was advertised as coming with beef and I maybe had one tiny shred - less than one bite), but there was nothing to it. $20 for 6 tortellini is outrageous. As an Italian, I couldn’t imagine sending anyone out of my home still hungry...wishing Trentina felt the same way!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
4.0  Dined on February 2, 2018

Trentina serves delicious food, provides professional and appropriately attentive service, and is housed in a cute building. However, the food portions are very small relative to the price - this has been stated in numerous reviews - but a full plate gnocchi was very (Very) light on gnocchi and high on sauce. Both elements were truly delectable and refined, but left us rather hungry. Would certainly recommend (already have, in fact), but with the caveat “be prepared to spend appropriately in order to leave full.”

Side notes: the entrance/reception desk is very (Very!) small; the dwelling that houses the restaurant is old, and as a result the dining room felt uncomfortably chilly all evening, especially for diners close to the windows; make a reservation.

Report
Helpful
Fishycpa (Cleveland)
4.0  Dined on January 29, 2018

We were there on a Monday evening and the weather was bad; therefore a little quiet, and therefore great service. Menu is not extensive but dishes are non-standard with focus on the Trentina area of Italy near the northern border. The knockout appetizer is "table bread," a giant pita-type concoction done in their 900 degree pizza oven. It's about a foot in diameter and puffed up to nearly three inches in places. Drizzled with olive oil and herbed salt, it is served with a candle of beef suet. Tear it apart, dip in the melted suet, and you have a delicious and unusual dish that would make a cardiologist faint. I would definitely order again! My wife had a gnocchi with a beef-laden pesto, and I had a spicy pizza. Wine list is not huge but more than adequate. Definitely would go back.

Report
Helpful
Abbie (Cleveland)
5.0  Dined on January 28, 2018

Great find, food was tasty and fresh. Plan to return with friends and family.

Report
Helpful
MDB1 (Cleveland)
4.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

This was my first time eating at this restaurant. It was conveniently located in the food and service were good.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
2.0  Dined on January 25, 2018

The table bread arrived, sad and deflated, a metaphor for our whole experience.

Trentina you REALLY let me down.

You were one of, if not my favorite restaurant in Cleveland. I’ve been about ten times in the past few years, had the menu Bianco with wine pairing and recommended you countless times. You were something I would long for all week once reservations had been placed.

The past three times I’ve went, the service has been slipping big time.

I made reservation for 4 earlier this week to finally bring my parents in town to Cleveland and experience my favorite restaurant I’ve been raving to them about for the past few years to celebrate my 25th birthday.

Once we were sat, with two other tables in the restaurant, we were essentially completely ignored for about ten-fifteen minutes while the waiter made multiple trips to each of the other tables. We began to grow impatient and were about to just get up and leave to go elsewhere. My mother being GM at a restaurant, and myself working pretty much every job in a restaurant since I was 13, it takes a lot to get to this point. The waiter, sensing this, hurried over to basically just ask if we knew what we wanted (would have been nice to have gotten some recommendations like those given to the other tables, but luckily my complete shot in the dark at ordering a bottle of an Italian wine was a hit).

The rest of the meal basically went the same, lackluster service with an almost apparent disregard for our existence as a whole.

The only silver lining to the night was our food, which has never let me down. While the table bread arrived deflated, it was still delicious and went exceedingly well dipped in the sauce for the scallop appetizer. My porchetta was excellent, (that polenta was divine, I bartered a scoop for a piece of my mother’s strip steak) and everyone loved their meal (fastest I’ve seen my father put down a plate of gnocchi which speaks volumes).

Overall though, experience wise - huge disappointment.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
5.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

Delicious 12 course chef’s tasting menu

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
3.0  Dined on January 16, 2018

First time here. Ambiance felt stark. At 6:30pm they were already out of two entrees we wanted. Odd.

Table bread was tasty; gnocchi was delicious; steak had been cooked perfectly and was flavorful, but not even warm when it reached the table; fish was overcooked. Cookies and Cream gelato was creamy yet oddly lacking flavor.

I know people love this place; it just wasn't our thing, especially with the various hiccups. An off night, perhaps. Have no need to return, though.

Report
Helpful
vipKevin (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

It was a delicious and lovey evening.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
2.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

We came to Trentina to celebrate my husband's birthday. I had previously eaten here in 2017 and had an enjoyable dining experience. Our experience Saturday evening was very disappointing. We arrived to be seated at a table in the corner that included a running space heater under my chair and a wet floor. A server arrived to pour us water, then a second server arrived to take our drink order, then the original server returned and told us that she would now be taking our order. No single person ever introduced themselves by name. We ordered the bread and tallow candle appetizer; however, the candle arrived and the bread followed nearly five minutes later, rather than being served both portions of the appetizer together. My husband and I both ordered pasta dishes. His tortellini arrived and was cold to the touch. My pappardelle noodles were glued together in one large lump. We were able to flag a server (not our own) after several minutes to have my husband's pasta warmed up; however, our actual server never apologized or checked in on the quality of our dinner as our plates were cleared by another employee. Our dessert was the highlight of the meal - a delicious espresso affogato. Overall, the prices for this experience combined with the poor quality of our dining experience means we will not return.

Report
Helpful
vipbillk (Pittsburgh)
2.0  Dined on January 6, 2018

My wife and I have dined at this restaurant several times. In the past few months it's been hit or miss with the service and food. After Saturday's dinner, we're on an indefinite break. Service was lousy, food cold, and we had to send items back twice since they were either not cooked through (table bread) or the chef forgot to add something to the dish, i.e. the dressing to the salad. We were never asked if we wanted more wine and instead offered a desert on the house and the check. The desert was greatly appreciated, however at this point in the evening we were simply looking to leave. Facebook post from Trentina today reads there looking for a new chef. My suggestion - wait a while until you decide to dine here.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
5.0  Dined on January 6, 2018

This is an amazing Italian restaurant. If you live in Cleveland you have to try ir

Report
Helpful
Nicholle (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on January 5, 2018

We had a great first time at Trentina, and at first even though we were placed very close to another couple we soon striked up conversation and shared a nice meal with our other guests! The salad was very light but tasty, the margaritas pizza was a perfect appetizer to share before our main dishes came out and the bucatini and gnocchi was a great way portion to finish an amazing night. We are sure to come again!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on January 2, 2018

This is my third time at trentina and I’m yet to be disappointed. Trentina offers some of my favorite food in cleveland for half the price of one course at similar restaurants. This combination of incredible food and value has made it my go to one nearly every special occasion, or any time I pass by. Hands down must visit!!

Report
Helpful
CindyD (Cleveland)
1.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

We were looking forward to a very special dining experience. That is not at all what we had. It took over 3 hours for 9 of the 12 courses to be served. We waited 20 to 30 minutes between courses. We had an unengaged server, several of our courses came out cold, and the menu, which we asked to see beforehand and was never sent or put online was lazy. It featured lots of mushrooms and truffles in several of the courses. We had our desserts boxed up, one of which was not included so that we could finally leave. Other customers complaints could be heard in the background. Extremely dissapointing, for a lot of money.

Report
Helpful
vipcarpedavid (Cleveland)
5.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

Trentina is always a great experience. Great food, great service, and a very intimate atmosphere. We took my in-laws for a New Year’s Eve Eve dinner, and despite the lousy weather, we had a great night because of the great time we shared at dinner.

Report
Helpful
Arch (Fayetteville)
3.0  Dined on December 28, 2017

Meh - some dishes good, my pasta looked like worms. Noise level acceptable except if there’s a loudmouth nearby. Hubbies fish was dry-ish. Not Parallax

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
5.0  Dined on December 28, 2017

Incredible pizza from authentic Neopolitan oven out back (850 degrees)! Friendly, helpful staff. Service a bit on the slow side, but who’s rushing? Will certainly return when in town again.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
2.0  Dined on December 18, 2017

I have been to this restaurant many times, and have - until recently - enjoyed it and recommended it. The last two times have been very disappointing. Level of service and quality of food have definitely declined. Our server - who was very nice - said a number of people were out sick that night. Our white wine was poured then plopped on the table with no chiller. No one ever checked our glasses and re-poured (our very expensive) wine; same happened with the second bottle. We had to repeatedly ask for more water. Our food took a very long time - no one said sorry it's taking so long. We waited forever for change - our waiter said he had to go to the hotel next door to get it. For a restaurant headed by such a well-known and award-winning chef, this is a very poor showing. I have to add that when I was there a few weeks ago, my guest ordered a martini, up, with a twist. When it came, it was vodka - no one asked - and it had three olives and a wedge of lime. Go figure.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
5.0  Dined on December 17, 2017

All around good restaurant. We went for brunch at 11 am and it was quiet and not busy. Louder and busier by the time we left at 1230

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
1.0  Dined on December 16, 2017

We have been to Trentina several times and always loved it so decided to go there for our 20th wedding anniversary. Despite having mentioned that on open table and telling the hostess when she asked how many years we were celebrating the treatment from the staff was pathetic. Our server was pleasant but did not wish us or act like it was a special occasion. The hostess almost rolled her eyes when I said we’d been married twenty years and the person bringing the food from the kitchen would literally dump it on the table and run away. Normally they explain what they are serving. The food was above average but because of everything else it was a dismal experience. I’m sad to say we may never go back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Las Vegas)
3.0  Dined on December 15, 2017

This was my second visit to Trentina. My first time I wasn't overly impressed so I wanted to give it a second chance. Again, I was underwhelmed. The hostess greeted us with a friendly but passive aggressive suggestion that we would have to rush because she had another group scheduled for our table later in the evening--an hour and a half away. The salads were both delicious. The pasta dishes sadly missed the mark. My lasagna seemed gummy and reheated. My husband's dish had a great sauce but the type of pasta chosen didn't seem to be the best fit. I'm disappointed because I really wanted to love this local and popular spot.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
5.0  Dined on December 14, 2017

Everything was 5 star! The food was great, our waitress was very pleasant and knowledgeable about the menu. wines, and the family.

Report
Helpful
vipdiane (Cleveland)
3.0  Dined on December 11, 2017

Broccoli appetizer was just a giant stalk. We got butter knives, so it was difficult to cut it up. The eggplant char that came with it was tasteless - literally just tasted like char. The osso bucco style beef pasta dish lacked enough sauce although the beef was delicious. Presentation of dishes all around was sub-par except the pita and beef suet candle gimmick was cute. The lamb pasta dish was excellent.

There was only one working bathroom with one toilet for all patrons. The toilet is very weird - it was stopped up when I got in there. Quickly discovered why that may have been - none of us could figure out how to flush it! It came with a remote. I don't think a restaurant should be encouraging their patrons to linger in the bathroom - especially when there's only one!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
18