Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Trentina

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's Restaurant Trentina explores the rich diversity of culture and joyful voice of cuisine in the regions of northeastern Italy. The menu exemplifies the commonalities between the valleys of Trentino-Alto Adige and the Cuyahoga Valley, including a strong sense of gastronomic craftsmanship and agricultural heritage. Allow us to take you on a journey as we interpret tradition through an elegant and modern lens.

1903 Ford Drive
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Italian, German

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thurs: 5pm-11pm

Fri-Saturday: 11am-11pm

Sunday: 11 am - 9pm

Cross Street:
Ford and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 421-2900

Website:
http://www.restauranttrentina.com/

Entertainment:
Located within walking distance of The Cleveland Museum of Art, The Cleveland Orchestra's Severance Hall, The Cleveland Botanical Gardens, Cleveland Museum of Contemporary Art, Western Reserve Historical Society, The Cleveland Museum of Natural History.

Parking Details:
We share parking with the Glidden House hotel and additional metered street parking is available as well. Complimentary valet is offered on Friday and Saturday evenings.

Public Transit:
RTA Cedar-University Rapid Station

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Trentina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for a Date (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Cozy (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Romantic (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Authentic (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Casual (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Wood Oven (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Business Meals (8)
Seasonal (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fun (5)
Organic (4)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Historic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
394 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 hours ago

Always amazing. Always special. Always one of a kind. Cleveland gem!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Freshness, authentic recipes, great presentation, great service

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

We loved Trentina! Coming from New Jersey we know great restaurants and this is a great one! Jonathan Sawyer lives up to his reputation with inventive, authentic fire-infused cuisine. We stayed downtown where there are lots of options, but chose this one. It did not disappoint for any of the 5 of us! Service was gracious and knowledgeable.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

Delightful cozy little gem near teh Euclid Circle on the east side near Case Western. Wood fired dishes are sensational, and the handcrafted drinks/wine list are notable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

OUTSTANDING
Very impressed. The lamb rigatoni was incredible, gnocchetti were outstanding and the cheesecake was the best we ever had.
Have eaten at Noodlecat and Greenhouse Tavern multiple times and had to try Tretina's on Father's Day.
Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Enjoyed the range of fresh prepped dishes. Sophisticated casual ambiance. Nice of them to let us sit on the patio after our meal even tho it was close to closing time. The only small problem was that when we sent for the server to replace our corked wine, the customer did not get credit for being right. We did get a replacement but just a little reluctance on the part of the server.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our second time at Trentina. Great menu choices, outstanding food, very nice atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Terrible ambiance
Tables too small
Stairway to restrooms steep and narrow
Slow service
Food mediocre
Outrageously priced
Poor value

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 12, 2017

My college-aged son and I shared a fantastic weeknight meal here - the food (pasta dishes and parmesan cheesecake for dessert) was fantastic and the service was spectacular.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Magnificent food, atmosphere, and service ! The chef's tasting menu our night was perfect for both of our tastes !

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The waitress messed up the drink order but took so long to come back and check that it was irritating. I ordered coffee with desert and it came 10 min after desert which was melting so it could not wait. The eggplant cassoulet was heavy on salt and chickpeas and light on eggplant. I would not order again. Bread was good. I would think twice before I went again. They were not packed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My wife and I did the 12 course tasting for our anniversary. It was spectacular! We also included the wine pairing. If you love food it is a fantastic experience. Thank you to Chef Dave, Fred, and the rest of Trentina's staff for making our experience truly unforgettable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Wonderful dinner before the CYO orchestra concert. Food was great and service was extremely helpful!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Underwhelming.
Grilled broccoli was fantastic. We should have stopped there.
Server was indifferent to our satisfaction. One fish entree, but they were out of fish.
Cocktails were meager.
Eggplant lasagna was tasteless.
Didn't feel like anyone was really managing.
Maybe I should get a pizza next time or just have starters and dessert.
Greenhouse Tavern is one of my favorite restaurants in Cleveland. Jonathon Sawyer disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We had a wonderful 3.5 hour experience for our one year anniversary. The tasting menu was a delight and delicious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We didn't do our homework and were surprised to find out we came during the brunch menu time. That said, brunch was incredible. I had the pasta, egg, pork belly dish and I was delighted. The fingerling potatoes were perfect and my wife loved the veggie benedict. The food was well-crafted and beautifully prepared. The mimosas were excellent. The staff, flawless. The only ding on ambiance was the table of girls in sports bras slathering sunscreen up their skirts— distracting. But, it was a nice day out and maybe the mimosas got to them. Still, Trentina is a gem. This is one of the best restaurants in the city. You should go.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Trentina brunch was a unique menu mostly vegetarian options but they did not disappoint! The veggie Benedict was fantastic with the best stewed tomatoes I've ever tasted. The bottomless mimosas were absolutely delicious and the entire ambiance of the patio was perfect. This place has solidified itself as an elite Cleveland restaurant for me.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very creative menu well executed without the hype. Chef has some mad skills. It was an amazing blend of old world and new.

I can't wait to go again and try the tasting menu with wine pairing. If you plan on doing it they need 24 hour notice in order to secure all the ingredients from local sources. AND the bread is to die for.

The staff was highly knowledgeable and very friendly.

Go, don't hesitate, go!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Love the food and service. The atmosphere is relaxed.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I am from NY. This is my second time and this restaurant only gets better each time. Truly innovative using fresh and unique ingredients. If this restaurant were in NYC it would be among the best italian and the prices would we easily be double! So obviously worth the trip.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food is absolutely outstanding here. We have been here twice now and each time we have not been disappointed. The service is wonderful and the wine and drinks are first class.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Organic, Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The entire evening was wonderful. The service was great, the cocktails were delicious and the food was beyond amazing. Fantastic evening at Trentina.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fantastic food. Mediocre service. Basically sums this place up. Still worth repeat visits.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A quaint little place with good food and cozy atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I've been to Trentina twice now. Both times the food was great as was the service. Staff is attentive, but not pushy. Food is delicious and just a little fancy. Really nice date spot or place to just have a nice dinner with friends.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Trentina presents cuisine locally sourced and international in accomplishment. Modest bistro setting with tables tightly spaced. Excellent glassware. Tasting menu maybe a course too long (not if you like pasta and risotto in the same flight).
Very fine wine pairings (forgo the cider unless you like Normandy barnyard). The mushroom mini terrarium is fabulous in look, originality and flavor.
Bronzino over coals as sumptuous as a fish dish gets. And Sawyer does perfect beef. On the Michelin scale, two stars, two true stars. Lucky those in Cleveland who may go often. Worth the journey whether you visit the museums or not.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Organic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Not my first time to Trentina, but it was my guest's first visit and he was especially blown away. I recommended some of my favorites dishes and we decided to split a couple of pasta entrees. I have always regarded the pasta at Trentina as exceptional but this evening, they even exceeded that standard!

00 PAPPARADELLE EN RAGU
Braised mushrooms, kale, pistachio & Luxardo

And

RIGATONI CON BOLOGNESE BIANCO
Lamb & crema ragu with nutmeg & black pepper, topped with breadcrumbs & Trenta grana parmesan

Completely insane and 100% remarkable. My guest (who is well traveled) said they were easily the best pasta dishes he has had in the US.

I also had the branzino special, table bread, and grilled broccoli which were outstanding.

Trentina has consistently delivered since opening and remains at the top of my list of exceptional dining experiences in Cleveland.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had a great meal on the patio outside. The raw oysters were so fresh and delicious, but the shells could have been a little cleaner as far as a little grit when you bring them to your mouth to eat. Our staff was knowledgeable and very pleasant. I would definitely go again to experience more items on the menu!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We were given the a la carte menu, as the tasting menu is not available Sundays when we dined. The waiter was not as attentive as he should have been--never offered to refill drinks or ask us if we needed anything. I ordered the GNOCCHETTI SARDI, which was absolutely delicious, despite the unappetizing green color of the gnocchetti. My daughter had the sausage pizza and said it was good. It was large for one person. It did not have a lot of sausage on it though. It looked more like a cheese pizza with a few clumps of sausage on top. My husband said the lasagna, while containing no meat. was very good. Our other two daughters got the BUCATINI DELLA NONNA, which they said was good. I also had the green salad, which I did not care for the dressing or the extremely finely chopped almonds. I would not recommend it. The Strawberry Fields drink on the cocktail menu was delicious as well. Overall, the food, with the exception of the salad. was very good. They do offer 1/2 size portions. We got the full size portions, which were not very large; so unless you get appetizers, salad, bread, desserts, etc., I would not opt for this option. With the exception of my daughter, who got the pizza, none of us left with a doggie bag.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It was our first visit and we loved it. The food was delicious and well prepared. The service was excellent and decor simple. We definitely be back and would love to sit outside in nicer weather.
If we had one "negative" comment, it would be that the wine list is a bit pricey with not enough selections of more reasonably priced wines.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Took 45 min to get food from a brunch menu. No offers for a second cup of coffee. Didn't refill water frequently.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was very good; portions a bit on the small size. The service unfortunately was not very good. There were two waitresses for about 10 tables, brunch took over two hours only due to waiting for the waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Lovely Italian restaurant that has a very creative chef! Servers were attentive and food was delicious! Salad was very fresh and tasting pasta dish was perfect! Looks like a great place for brunch!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Everything was phenomenal from the moment we walked in! Best brunch in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was quite good and innovative. would not say the service was on par with the food and how the place is advertised. You would expect a place for "foodies" to have service to match. The waitress was pleasant enough but not particularly warm. I was most disappointed by the fact that the restaurant did absolutely nothing to acknowledge our anniversary. I specifically mentioned that on my open table reservation and the restaurant mentioned it when confirming. We have 2 young children at home and don't get to dine out much, so it would have been nice to at least acknowledge it. We have been to other restaurants for special occasions, and other places have gone above and beyond to thank us for choosing their place for a special dinner. Forget a dessert on the house - a simple thanks for choosing us would have been nice. Good, but not sure I'd choose to spend $100 per person there again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Brunch. The food was very fresh and you could taste the quality of the ingredients. We thought it was reasonable for brunch with regards to pricing especially based on the food quality. Looking forward to returning for wood fired pizza on the patio.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

my favorite spot on the east side. always cozy & the best service. only wish they had more a la carte or add-on options like eggs, bacon for brunch.

oh & do yourself a favor and visit the restroom upstairs. trust!

the sound i heard while dining:
"My Girl" by The Temptations

@xfoxrox on IG

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I love Trentina overall but the tasting menu was a disappointment. We had sketchy service as well. The wine/food pairings were mis-timed. The wine steward did not know her wine list. Overall I'd love to come back and try the regular menu which I have enjoyed in the past, but I wouldn't recommend the tasting menu.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I picked Trentina for its location close to a CMA event, but it is a worthy destination in its own right. The cozy room was appealing, as was the simplicity of the menu - veg-focused appetizers, pizzas, pastas, and a handful of entrees. The Italian-oriented wine list was thoughtful, with plenty of choices by the glass and bottle. Service was fine, but the small kitchen seemed to get backed up a bit at points, though wait time for dishes wasn't excessive. What knocked me out was the excellence of the ingredients and the way they shone through in the refined conception and execution of the dishes. An appetizer of grilled broccoli couldn't have been simpler or more delicious. It was broccoli forward, with a delightfully smoky taste enhanced by a subtle sauce - no extraneous seasoning or overdone presentations. A pasta with lamb ragu was appropriately al dente and lightly coated with a creamy sauce - another winner. I couldn't resist trying the black pepper pound cake, which turned out to be made with polenta and came with lightly whipped cream and macerated strawberries. Worth every scrumptious calorie! I would love to eat at one of the outdoor tables when the weather allows. I'll make a point of coming back to Trentina next time I'm in town...maybe every time.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Very tasty! Yum. Fresh, local ingredients. Unique options. Nice and cozy. Good service. Definitely want to return.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.