About Trentina

1903 Ford Drive
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's Restaurant Trentina explores the rich diversity of culture and joyful voice of cuisine in the regions of northeastern Italy. The menu exemplifies the commonalities between the valleys of Trentino-Alto Adige and the Cuyahoga Valley, including a strong sense of gastronomic craftsmanship and agricultural heritage. Allow us to take you on a journey as we interpret tradition through an elegant and modern lens.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Italian, German

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday-Friday 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Brunch Saturday & Sundays 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Ford and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 421-2900

Website:
http://www.restauranttrentina.com/

Entertainment:
Located within walking distance of The Cleveland Museum of Art, The Cleveland Orchestra's Severance Hall, The Cleveland Botanical Gardens, Cleveland Museum of Contemporary Art, Western Reserve Historical Society, The Cleveland Museum of Natural History.

Parking Details:
We share parking with the Glidden House hotel and additional metered street parking is available as well

Public Transit:
RTA Cedar-University Rapid Station

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Trentina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Fit for Foodies
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in University Circle ›

fit for foodies (74)
special occasion (53)
neighborhood gem (42)
See All
romantic (37)
great for brunch (20)
great for outdoor dining (19)
notable wine list (15)
great for lunch (12)
hot spot (9)
good for groups (4)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was very pleasant and food was INC ...

Dined 6 days ago

Staff was very pleasant and food was INCREDIBLE!

food5
ambience4
service5

absolutely delicious ... we shared ricot ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

absolutely delicious ... we shared ricotta pancakes, bacon and egg bolognese and fish cakes ... one better than the next! started with broccoli app and that, too, was well worth it!

food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Dissapointing

Dined on May 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. Cozy, elegant, quaint. Great location. Service was good. Food was disappointing. 12 courses with three basic proteins - cured fish, lamb sausage (really?), bay scallops (again, really); pasta with unexciting flavors - and other dishes of mediocre presentation - from this award winning and "talented" chef?????

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Gem

Dined on May 16, 2016

My wife and I had our anniversary dinner at Trentina, and we were not disappointed. The food, which is inspired by the cuisine of the mountainous northeastern Italy, was superb. The chef focuses on using local sources. While simply prepared, our dishes were loaded with flavor. The wait staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. The wine list, while a bit pricey, featured wines from the region, which complemented the food very well. The dining room, while small, still feels airy and comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Another fine meal at Trentina and thanks ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Another fine meal at Trentina and thanks to the team for such a wonderful evening. Some of the dishes on the Bianco tasting menu were very elegant and some were very rustic; all were perfect. How lucky are we to have such an excellent restaurant to enjoy close to our home!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second visit to Trentina. Th ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was my second visit to Trentina. The first visit we had the fabulous menu bianco and this time we enjoyed a lovely brunch. We are huge fans!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3

The food was excellent. However the serv ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was excellent. However the service was extremely slow. There was only one server got the entire dining room. We sat for about 15 minutes before our waitress acknowledged us. It was about 20 minutes before we got our wine. Two tables that arrived after is has to have other staff members wait on them.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A New Cleveland Fave

Dined on May 13, 2016

Absolutely fantastic food, ambiance, environment. The menu was carefully crafted and skillfully put together with unique options and classics. A small menu with focus on excellence. The service was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I did not realize Trentina was open now ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

I did not realize Trentina was open now for lunch. Luckily my meeting partner did, and we were blown away with the excellent choices. Of which we could only eat two! I did buy Jonathan's book while there and now have to come back to buy another book as it will make a great gift for one of my grandchildren who loves to cook. Maybe when you send out those e-mails letting people who have signed up to find out what is going on, you could mention the hours you are opened?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Visit!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Spent our 10th anniversary here, and did the tasting menu. Excellent touch: they offer you the option to "revisit" any course you enjoyed. Nice touch! Excellent service, and great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique dining experience. Superb food and service.

Dined on May 10, 2016

This is my second trip to Trentina in recent weeks. Our larger party was treated royally and had a wonderful dining experience. Most recently, a friend and I had a lovely leisurely dining experience. Meal was superb, service was excellent and wine choice were outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A New Favorite

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We ate here before going to a 7:00 orchestra concert. It was our second time dining at Trentina and, after two outstanding visits it has become one of our Cleveland favorites. We were a little pressed for time, due to the concert, but the kitchen and the wait staff moved things along at the perfect pace to get us out the door at the correct time. We both had the fish special (halibut) and it was great. The "red bowl" salad was one of the best salads we've ever had and after this great meal, we even had time for dessert. Can't wait to come back to sit out on the patio!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Okay but could do better

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We ordered the Charcuterie and a Potato Pizza. The charcuterie was tasty but very small portion for the price. Even items that had a large margin were in small quantity. Pizza crust was good but lacked flavor once we added red pepper flakes it was better. I had a once piece that didn't even have potato on it. Drinks were great and so was the bartender!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic northern Italian

Dined on May 3, 2016

We continue to enjoy Trentina, for a business lunch, quiet dinner, or relaxing Sunday Brunch, especially on the patio.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Tight Trentina

Dined on May 2, 2016

Trentina is a small restaurant specializing in Italian cuisine. Dishes are limited but nicely varied. The wine list is good, if a bit pricey. It isn't a restaurant for diners who don't like to feel crowded. Space decidedly is at a premium. Service is quite well informed. Reservations are a must, with some interesting and delicious takes on 'standards' such as lasagna.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

weekend brunch

Dined on April 30, 2016

Unique and delicious preparations. Our family including two kids - all find choice items on the menu for brunch as well as dinner.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FOR THE BOLD

Dined on April 26, 2016

Sawyer lives up to his accomplishments. Presentation on all dishes was excellent. Friendly and casual service. The edible candle thing is really fun, and that's what I would call this experience...fun and inventive cuisine. I had the veal hearts as an appetizer because.....WHY NOT? I don't know how they are to taste, but it's not something I would get again. The wood-fired lasagna was a winner as was the halibut special. It's always difficult swallowing a $14 cocktail.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Too much salt

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

While the entire restaurant was involved with receiving the chef's special meal and we all received the same dishes thus suggesting it was not so special, the dishes were well executed and often exceptional except for the heavy use of salt. The homemade pasta was wonderful and the fish dish was delightful. A small restaurant, it was crowded and slow on a Saturday evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome

Dined on April 22, 2016

My fiancé and I went out to celebrate our anniversary. We had the 12 course tasting menu. Most of the courses were really good and I was really impressed. I got the drink pairing for 50 dollars more and it came with 8 drinks ( not as full as a normal drink would be). Plenty for me though. The total came to 300 for two with one soda and the drink pairing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

OK, not great

Dined on April 22, 2016

We ate well: charcuterie, pasta, halibut and steak. Service was very attentive. The steak is nothing special. The menu is short and didn't change in the three weeks we visited twice, other than the fish entree. For a restaurant that prides itself on locally sourced food and with comparatively high prices, one would expect greater creativity and variety in the menu. The food is interesting, but not exciting.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

One of my favorite dining spots in Cleveland

Dined on April 10, 2016

Trentina is a go-to before a night at the orchestra. I also went there for Sunday brunch with my girlfriends before a matinee ballet performance. So cozy and romantic, great food and cocktails - couldn't ask for anything more!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on April 10, 2016

Trentina had been on my must-go list for some time and it did not disappoint. Every aspect of the experience was perfectly executed, from the space / design of the restaurant to the service and food itself. Truly a gem of University Circle, worth the trip even for west- or south-siders!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service3

Food was good but not what I would expec ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was good but not what I would expect from someone who is up for a James Beard award. The good news is that the prices are much more reasonable than a Michael Symon restaurant. Glad we went but probably won't go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service, excellent portion siz ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Fantastic service, excellent portion sizes. Would highly recommend!

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was unique and delicious! We ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

The food was unique and delicious! We really enjoyed the bread with the edible candle.

food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious! Great staff, food, and venue!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Delicious! Great staff, food, and venue!

food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Disappointed !

Dined on March 16, 2016

I was very excited to try this Johnatan Sawyer restaurant, since I like greenhouse tavern, although have not visited that in a few years, so don't know how is it doing nowadays... Ok atmosphere, very small place, small tables, food: good looking menu, but lacking in meaty appetizers, heavy on added salt and olive oil, which I both like but in reasonable amounts. Mushroom pizza, nice incredients, local mushrooms and kale, but swimming in added olive oil; pasta with mussels( I forget the name) , good flavor, but overly salted and again heavy on the oil( and I love olive oil, I eat it with bread on its own) but this was too much for me; agnolotti, it was not at all what I expected, so it's my fault, the walnut sauce overpowering, had to return, got the steak instead, with kale (again) and au-gratin potatoes (dry, by the way), steak was tender and cooked right( server took the liberty to ask the chef not too add salt to already marinated steak, so this one had the appropriate amount of saltiness). Sadly, in the sea of options there are in Cleveland area, I have to say that this restaurant will not make me come back!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

had heard so much about trentina that i ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

had heard so much about trentina that i think i may have been expecting a mini trip to italy! while we thought the food was delicious and the service was great, i didn't quite get the "OMG" factor that everyone spoke about -- maybe we had too much information beforehand. having said that, we thoroughly enjoyed our meal ... at our servers suggestion, we shared a few apps and then a few small servings of pasta for our entrees .... yum! the only complaint i have is the wine and alcohol prices .... very over the top, even for a 'nice' restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

DELICIOUS

Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and I have eaten at Trentina 3 times, and the food has been delicious each time. The seasonings are complex and unusual. The proteins are perfectly done. The pastas are fresh and tender. The wait staff is attentive without being snooty or overbearing. We look forward to returning to see what new deliciousness the chefs are cooking up.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Surprising restaurant

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

Despite the positive reviews I'd read, I wasn't expecting much from Trentino when I arrived. But I was pleasantly surprised. The grilled broccoli was amazing..I could've ordered more as an entrée. The bread was outstanding as well

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

went for sunday brunch

Dined on February 28, 2016

i went for a sunday brunch just because the spot was convenient ... had never been there or heard of it. it was amazing ... simply done and super tasty

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good brunch. Food a little differen ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Very good brunch. Food a little different than most, certainly worth trying. A keeper.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Bad Brunch

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had brunch there last Sunday. Service was very slow. Eggs benedict were cold. We had a movie to go to, so did not have time for a redo. We were given extra toasted bread we did not order and was charged for it! We had to ask for refills on coffee. We will not hurry back.

food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Disappointing

Dined on February 20, 2016

First off I'm a huge fan of Johnathan Sawyer. The Greenhouse is one of my favorite places in the city. Everything there has flavor!!! So I've been waiting for a year and a half to experience Trentina and I finally had the chance to try the Menu Bianco. Yes I had high expectations and i was let down in a big way. I knew they would be small tastes of things i may have never tried before and may be a little scared to but I expected something other than earth. It was course after course of earth. Bland earth! At least 3 courses had charcuterie....at least 3 or 4 courses featured parsnip puree. These are items that should have barely showed up once!!! I like both but these were not heavy hitters in flavor. The mushroom broth was ok. The lobster was cooked well but again had 0 flavor. The risotto tasted like salt water not creamy lovely risotto. The pasta was crunchy. I'm not kidding I know al dente this was still crunchy. And tasted like fish not beautiful red snapper. The sorbet again was just mundane. The chocolate dessert was ok and the olive oil cake was black on the bottom it was so burnt. The best thing was the bread and it really was wonderful but 400 dollars for a meh meal and really good bread. We were offered a repeat and declined and left food on our plates more than once. The service dissipated as our interest in the food did. I know they have an a la carte menu which we did not look at so that may be wonderful but I really hope Johnathan reconsiders the tasting menu. It was just such a let down. I understand sustainable and I understand local but to me without flavor who's gonna buy in?

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and interesting menu. Fantast ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

Great food and interesting menu. Fantastic service. Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Experience

Dined on February 13, 2016

My husband and I had brunch reservations and everything about our experience was amazing! There are not enough positive words to describe our visit. The food was spectacular and the staff were very knowledgeable about the food. Thanks for a fantastic meal! We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Been to trentina 3 time ! Brunch and als ...

vip
Dined on February 8, 2016

Been to trentina 3 time ! Brunch and also lunch . Everything is always cooked to perfection ! Love this this place

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My favorite restaurant in Cleveland.

Dined on January 24, 2016

I love Trentina. The food is exciting and delicious. They serve the most creative and yummy vegetables I have ever eaten and the other food is also amazing (desserts were the only weak link). The atmosphere is serene but not stuffy and so is the service. Try It!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous tasting menu with wine pairings

Dined on January 24, 2016

Each course in the tasting menu was unique and bursting with flavor. Servers were professional and exceptionally knowledgeable about each ingredient in the food courses. The meal was perfectly executed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 star food and service

Dined on January 20, 2016

Delicious food - the various portion sizes allowed us to try many different entrees and appetizers! And all of them turned out delicious - accompanied by a perfect service! Our first visit - and certainly not the last!

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.