About Trentina

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's Restaurant Trentina explores the rich diversity of culture and joyful voice of cuisine in the regions of northeastern Italy. The menu exemplifies the commonalities between the valleys of Trentino-Alto Adige and the Cuyahoga Valley, including a strong sense of gastronomic craftsmanship and agricultural heritage. Allow us to take you on a journey as we interpret tradition through an elegant and modern lens.

1903 Ford Drive
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Italian, German

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 11 am - 4 pm; 5 pm - 10 pm

Saturday: 10 am - 2 pm*; 5 pm - 10 pm

Sunday: 10 am - 2 pm*; 4 pm - 9 pm

*Alcohol sales begin after 11 am

Cross Street:
Ford and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 421-2900

Website:
http://www.restauranttrentina.com/

Entertainment:
Located within walking distance of The Cleveland Museum of Art, The Cleveland Orchestra's Severance Hall, The Cleveland Botanical Gardens, Cleveland Museum of Contemporary Art, Western Reserve Historical Society, The Cleveland Museum of Natural History.

Parking Details:
We share parking with the Glidden House hotel and additional metered street parking is available as well. Complimentary valet is offered on Friday and Saturday evenings.

Public Transit:
RTA Cedar-University Rapid Station

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Trentina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
See All
Special Occasion (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Wood Oven (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Tasting Menu (13)
Authentic (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Romantic (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Cozy (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Seasonal (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Healthy (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Organic (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tapas (4)
Fun (4)
Historic (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Casual (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
343 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

The food at Trentina is always of great quality and if you're not opposed to spending a little extra for an amazing experience, you have to try the tasting menu!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated my Mom's 60th birthday last Sunday at Trentina and we were all very happy with our experience. Our server perfectly described and informed us with all of their food options and I was impressed with how well she verbally explained each item on the menu. We all enjoyed the fresh stone-oven baked bread along with the edible wax that we started with, I could have eaten the bread all night! I ordered the Pappardelle en Ragu and shared the Confit Silke Chicken with my boyfriend and enjoyed both Entrees very much. The chicken was unique with its black exterior, but the flavors were impeccable. I also tried my Mom's Ohio Strip Steak and it was cooked just right. I especially enjoyed the crispy potato in that dish.

All in all, I could say it was probably the best meal I have had in Cleveland in awhile, everything was well executed and the staff was all very friendly and attentive. You can never go wrong visiting a Chef Jonathon Sawyer establishment!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Was let down lunch was not served at 12:30pm, I was looking forward to trying some of the dinner items. Overall it was good and I would go back

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience with the 12 course tasting menu. Staff was attentive and helpful. Make sure you check out the bathroom too.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

We did the tasting menu with beverage pairing. While the food was fantastic, as the restaurant filled up, the timing between dishes got longer. And its understandable this would happen for a tasting menu, we expected it to take 3 hours (what it has taken in the past for us and others). This time, we were there for 4 and half hours. This really took away from the last few dishes because we really were just ready to finish at the 3 hour point. Because of this, I don't think we'll do the tasting menu again, but the standard ordering menu. The food was good, but the standard menu would have been a better option for us. The wine/beverage pairing was really good, but again, timing was a bit of an issue.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We enjoyed everything about this neighborhood gem except the service.

Our waiter was loquacious and spent more time making table talk than following through on his duties. The osso bucco pasta was truly outstanding! Kudos to the Chef.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

whole experience was fantastic, food is superb, like from the Top Chefs TV show. Sorry did not make it there before. Foodies are welcome their !!!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Have been to Trentina a few times and are never disappointed. The food is amazing and the staff is equally as great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We went a couple of weeks ago and had the tasting menu. It was WORLD-CLASS, truly. We went back to try the a la carte options. The pizza margarita was exceptional, but I found the rest a letdown.

Endive salad

Beef Osso Buco pasta

Rigatoni with lamb ragu in white sauce

Cookies

All pedestrian, at best. I was surprised.

We WILL be going back next season tohave spring's tasting menu. Absolutely.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We truly enjoyed our evening at Trentina. The service was noticeably superior, and our server, Drew, was extremely knowledgeable about the menu and the wine list. We opted to order off the a la carte menu for our first visit to the restaurant, and overall the meal was great and priced appropriately. Standout items from the menu included the grilled endive and Salsiccha Di Manza (beef sausage) from the PRIMO + INSALATA section, as well as the sweet potato dessert. Most of us had various pastas for the main course and they were all very good. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Most diasappointing food experience in 6.5 years in Cleveland. Food was average. Decor was indoor-patio. Service was ok. Pretty sure my wife got food poisoning from oysters. She was sick all night... Not a good night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner at Trentina. It was our first visit.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Cozy, Modern Decor, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This was our second visit to Trentina and it did not disappoint. The menu presented interesting seasonal offerings with a Northern Italian emphasis. The food was beautifully presented and delicious. It was a particular delight for the person in our party who needed gluten free food, because there were a lot of choices and they were really good. The prices are reasonable as well. It's a small space, and a bit on the noisy side. The service is somewhat leisurely--and I wish that the servers weren't trained to "review" the menu with patrons. But these are small quibbles in an overall excellent dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The Bianco Tasting menu was an incredible experience. Each course was served with a full explanation of each of the locally sourced ingredients and how it was prepared. We tasted every ingredient in each course. Some of the courses included things we never even heard of...(smoked butter served with the beast course). The Bianco Tasting Menu was one of the best meals I have ever had. We are looking forward to returning with friends to try the other things on the menu.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Best. Meal. I've. Ever. Had.

Bar none.

Expensive, yes. But extraordinary.

In addition to all the good and great local options, Cleveland now has a WORLD-CLASS restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We loved our experience, a culinary adventure! The staff was knowledgeable, friendly and attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Comfort Food, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very authentic northern Italy cuisine. For New Year's eve they featured a twelve course meal with good portion sizes and very tastefully woven together. The staff is very attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Truly outstanding. A real foodie experience. A San Francisco/Northern Cal restaurant in Cleveland. You can be sure that the preparation of every item will be incredible and unique. Service is excellent - very knowledgeable and present without being intrusive. Decor is intimate and comfortable while allowing the focus to be the sensory experience of the food.

Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Lovely place. My first visit under this chef. Would like to try it again and go with entirely different selections in order to understand more about the entire experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

my friend and I had lunch which was wonderful. I didn't ask but it did not seem as though there was accessible restroom for her ( she uses a walker and stairs just aren't possible)- restrooms are on the second floor. Fortunately it wasn't an issue for us but I suggest checking before you arrive, if this is a potential issue. Service, food, ambiance were great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We were a party of four which completely enjoyed our lunch. The menu options were somewhat limited but the quality and presentation of the food we ordered was excellent. The wait staff was unobtrusive but was there when they were needed. This was our first meal at the restaurant and we were pleasantly surprised by the ambiance and the modern feel. We do highly recommend Trentina.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

A shared menu bianco (chef's tasting menu) dinner + pairings was the perfect holiday gift for my boyfriend and I to give each other. We shared a beautiful experience over 12 courses and 4 hours. Every dish was carefully planned and crafted, and delicious - several were damn-near (if not) perfect. Literally, a few gave the man goosebumps. Pairings were fantastic.

The staff was attentive, courteous and extremely knowledgeable about everything we were eating and drinking. They even checked in several times on the pacing to be sure we'd make it the whole way through (and adjusted a bit when we asked for a little breathing room).

I've been a fan of Chef Jonathan Sawyer's for several years, but this was my first trip to Trentina, and it surely did not disappoint.

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Loved it. Contemporary environment could use the touch of a candle on each table

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Went to Trentina to celebrate my girlfriend's 21st birthday and did the 12 course tasting menu. We were BLOWN AWAY by the food and service -- both of which were the best we've experienced in Cleveland. Our reservations were at 7:30, and even though the restaurant closed at 10:00, they insisted we take are time and enjoy ourselves. We left at around 11:30, all the while treated to the best dining experience of our lives.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food and staff are awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was unbelievable. Service top notch. Highly recommend this restaurant. Vegetarian friendly as well.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Wow, never eaten anything I didn't love here. Great service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Organic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent service and meal. We highly recommend Trentina and will go back.

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 7, 2016

This is an intimate space with a great menu and wine list. The quail was perfectly prepared. The pasta is made on site and was delicious. The wait staff was not overbearing and was knowledgeable about the dishes and the history of the restaurant. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Another great meal at Trentina! Rigatoni with land was amazing. Pizza was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Overall excellent ding experience, food was amazing from the starters to dessert. Can't say enough and can't wait to get back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Really delicious dinner- some of the best food we have had in Cleveland in the last few years. Went before a performance at Playhouse Square.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

When we arrived our table wasn't ready and they send us next door to the bar at the hotel, which is fine, but they may want to work out a system with the hotel because one beer and one glass of sparkling water shouldn't cost $17 without tip, but it did.

This is our second time there and the pizza is very good. The salad not so much. The pastas are average but not bad. The sauce was kind of heavy. The noodles though were very good, fresh. Every good restaurant should have great coffee. The coffee unfortunately is way too weak.

My biggest pet peeve about the place is the ambiance. it's totally lacking from the décor, etc , to the tables, whacking your leg when you go to get up or move. maybe the patio is better

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Perfect dinner. Wonderful salad - simple but excellent. Pasta, again, simple but absolutely delectable. The food here works, you can tell how much thought and expertise goes into the preparation. Service, as always, was impeccable. The only flaw is the price of a glass of wine - a little steep.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

excellent preparation, imaginative menu, local sourcing, very fair prices, highly recommended

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Creative menu, delicious food, sophisticated ambience. Also, some of the best coffee I've ever had.

I appreciated that the portion sizes were reasonable and not excessive.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The Red Basket Farm salad was great as usual. It is our favorite salad in Cleveland. The potato pizza was incredible. My wife had the buckwheat spaghetti which was excellent. I had the Nona's pasta which was good, but not as good as the first time I had it. I would give the restaurant 4 1/2 stars as 5 stars would imply perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Went for the 12 course tasting g menu. Tge food was incredible. However, it was more food that I - or my companion - could comfortably eat. And the chef would not permit us to box up any leftovers. So did not particularly enjoy the last 4 or 5 dishes as we were already full. Bad policy. So I couldn't really appreciate all of the $115 meal. I may go back again, but certainly not for one of the special things about Trentina

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

My wife and I stopped for lunch after visiting area museums and had a wonderful lunch. Treat yourself to the "Table Bread" served in olive oil and dusted with sea salt.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Trentina has incredible food and service. Honestly the only "drawback" is the room lighting. I don't pretend to understand the nuances of fine dining and decor, but if I had to say, the dining experience is reduced some when eating in cold, flat light. The mood was improved incredibly when the "tallow candle" was served. That little addition of light made everything feel warmer. Still, incredible food. The bianco bolognese was amazing.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Was in CLE for a weekend. JS's restaurants were highly recommended so we tried this one. The only available time was 5 pm so we skipped lunch and took an early supper. We were the only people in the restaurant for 90 minutes when another couple finally arrived -- so that was weird. The food was good but there was eggplant in the lasagna which created an allergy issue that went unacknowledged If going I recommend ordering a few plates to share to create a cadence to the meal. Otherwise it feels somewhat flat

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Creative food. Knowledgeable and accommodating staff and a thoughtful list of regional wines of northern Italy ( Alto)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Trentina is a great restaurant with excellent food and service. The portions are on the smaller side but this allows you to try multiple things on the menu which is nice. Great restaurant, would definitely go back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great selection of brunch and dinner items. Excellent presentation and preparation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

When we're in Cleveland, Trentina never disappoints! We had another great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Awesome pasta and bread. Consistently great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was superb. However there was no mention of our anniversary by the staff or a congratulations on our child to be which was mentioned in a conversation with the staff. The staff was very knowledgeable on the products and the specialities that were used to prepare these dishes; however they missed the mark with the personal touch with me. I would definitely return to this class A restaurant it just must have been an oversight that night.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Server was overly talkative and slow. Both the salad and the entree were over-salted (the saltiest meal I ever choked down in my life. I didn't mention it at the time because I didn't want to spoil the evening, but, sure enough, both my husband and my daughter remarked on it later). The ambiance was lacking - a candle would have been nice at least. A good bottle of wine was the only saving grace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My husband and I had dinner at Trentina for a birthday celebration. Other than being seated right by the front entrance( worst table in place) the food and service were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The broccoli and red leaf lettuce were excellent. The red leaf salad is one of my favorite salads anywhere. The pasta Nona was good, but not as good as usual. The pasta was gummy and clumped together leading me to believe that it needed a little more pasta water to prevent this problem. The cavatelli with grapes was interesting. I like grapes and I like cavatelli but the combo didn't really work for us. Separately, both the pasta and grapes were tasty. The one dish that failed and the only dish we have ever had at Trentina that we didn't think was excellent or very good was the vegetarian eggplant. The eggplant just wasn't very tasty. The accompanying sauce of chickpeas, tomatoes, capers, and cheese was tasty, but a little salty. Overall, a very good meal with some minor complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.