About Trentina

1903 Ford Drive
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's Restaurant Trentina explores the rich diversity of culture and joyful voice of cuisine in the regions of northeastern Italy. The menu exemplifies the commonalities between the valleys of Trentino-Alto Adige and the Cuyahoga Valley, including a strong sense of gastronomic craftsmanship and agricultural heritage. Allow us to take you on a journey as we interpret tradition through an elegant and modern lens.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Italian, German

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday-Friday 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Brunch Saturday & Sundays 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Ford and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 421-2900

Website:
http://www.restauranttrentina.com/

Entertainment:
Located within walking distance of The Cleveland Museum of Art, The Cleveland Orchestra's Severance Hall, The Cleveland Botanical Gardens, Cleveland Museum of Contemporary Art, Western Reserve Historical Society, The Cleveland Museum of Natural History.

Parking Details:
We share parking with the Glidden House hotel and additional metered street parking is available as well

Public Transit:
RTA Cedar-University Rapid Station

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Trentina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Fit for Foodies
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in University Circle ›

fit for foodies (57)
special occasion (40)
neighborhood gem (36)
See All
romantic (26)
great for outdoor dining (24)
great for brunch (19)
great for lunch (16)
notable wine list (11)
hot spot (7)
good for groups (4)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Had time for two dinners while in Clevel ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Had time for two dinners while in Cleveland. Trentina was probably not the best choice for one of them. Very casual with a wood fired theme. Roast cauliflower was very good, roast beet salad was ok (unusual flavors with dehydradeted olives and cheese). Two pastas - osso bucco sauce and rigatoni bolognese bianco were very good but heavy. Much more appropriate for a fall or winter menu.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my husband and our girls for Father ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Took my husband and our girls for Fathers Day. Nice menu variety especially since one daughter is vegetarian. Food was delicious and the service was friendly and attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was over the top fabulous...eve ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was over the top fabulous...every course was beautiful to look at and even better to savor.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

Food was good not great. Small portions ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was good not great. Small portions but reasonable fees

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food Is Really Good and Creative

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Drinks took a very long time - not sure they were prepared to make anything as exotic as a vodka gimlet! Pastas and pizzas are top notch. Spouse loved the steak.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Northern Italian Food

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

We all thought the food was excellent. We had the Wood Fired Broccoli and the Margarita Pizza to start. We ordered a small plate of Rigatoni to share and our friend ordered a small plate of the Linguini and Clams and liked it so much he ordered another, this time the large plate. My husband's fish of the day was excellent, my friend loved the Grilled Cauliflower Shank (we all shared and tasted each other's dishes) and I got the Lasagna. The Lasagna was the only disappointment of the evening, I thought it was too salty. The drink menu was very creative. Will definitely be back and will be getting the Table Bread this time too!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great food

Dined on June 3, 2016

I love the food at Trentina but was disappointed in the assistant waitress. Our main waitress was excellent, but the young woman who brought the food answered "No problem" to our "thank you" (this several times). An aspiring restaurant should not have wait staff that does not answer either "your welcome" or "my pleasure, " never the unfortunately ubiquitous "no problem." It brings down the tenor of the restaurant. The same waitress did not bring water when we asked for it twice. The main waitress did bring water immediately when requested. At a good restaurant (especially when it is not busy as it was not that day) water glasses should remain full and the waiters/waitresses should notice when they are not.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an awesome experience.

Dined on May 29, 2016

It was an awesome experience.

food3
ambience2
service3

Just ok. Won't go back. One visit was en ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Just ok. Won't go back. One visit was enough.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience! Knowledgeable staf ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Wonderful experience! Knowledgeable staff who discreetly catered to my food allergies. Great ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointing

Dined on May 26, 2016

Unfortunately the food was only mediocre. We were very disappointed and a little embarassed since we invited friends to this restaurant. The main upside is that we did not order the 12 course tasting meal which is very, very expensive. I wish that we had gone elsewhere.

food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Such a fake!

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

We were hesitant about this place after reading very controversial reviews here and on the other websites, but decided to give it a try and went for brunch. We are sorry we did. FOOD: FISH AND POTATOES (C), TRENTINA BENEDICT (C), GRILLED BROCCOLI (D), RICOTTA CAKES (D) was mediocre and tasteless, "inventive" , but failing to impress and all dishes were luke warm instead of hot. We had an impression that they were preheated instead of cooked freshly. Can't comment on drinks, we didn't order them. SERVICE: was inattentive, forgetful, VERY slow and not professional. AMBIANCE: was cute and modern and actually the best part of experience. VALUE: was outrageously bad for the experience received. No coming back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was very pleasant and food was INC ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Staff was very pleasant and food was INCREDIBLE!

food5
ambience4
service5

absolutely delicious ... we shared ricot ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

absolutely delicious ... we shared ricotta pancakes, bacon and egg bolognese and fish cakes ... one better than the next! started with broccoli app and that, too, was well worth it!

food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Dissapointing

Dined on May 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. Cozy, elegant, quaint. Great location. Service was good. Food was disappointing. 12 courses with three basic proteins - cured fish, lamb sausage (really?), bay scallops (again, really); pasta with unexciting flavors - and other dishes of mediocre presentation - from this award winning and "talented" chef?????

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Gem

Dined on May 16, 2016

My wife and I had our anniversary dinner at Trentina, and we were not disappointed. The food, which is inspired by the cuisine of the mountainous northeastern Italy, was superb. The chef focuses on using local sources. While simply prepared, our dishes were loaded with flavor. The wait staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. The wine list, while a bit pricey, featured wines from the region, which complemented the food very well. The dining room, while small, still feels airy and comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Another fine meal at Trentina and thanks ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Another fine meal at Trentina and thanks to the team for such a wonderful evening. Some of the dishes on the Bianco tasting menu were very elegant and some were very rustic; all were perfect. How lucky are we to have such an excellent restaurant to enjoy close to our home!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second visit to Trentina. Th ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was my second visit to Trentina. The first visit we had the fabulous menu bianco and this time we enjoyed a lovely brunch. We are huge fans!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3

The food was excellent. However the serv ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was excellent. However the service was extremely slow. There was only one server got the entire dining room. We sat for about 15 minutes before our waitress acknowledged us. It was about 20 minutes before we got our wine. Two tables that arrived after is has to have other staff members wait on them.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A New Cleveland Fave

Dined on May 13, 2016

Absolutely fantastic food, ambiance, environment. The menu was carefully crafted and skillfully put together with unique options and classics. A small menu with focus on excellence. The service was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I did not realize Trentina was open now ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

I did not realize Trentina was open now for lunch. Luckily my meeting partner did, and we were blown away with the excellent choices. Of which we could only eat two! I did buy Jonathan's book while there and now have to come back to buy another book as it will make a great gift for one of my grandchildren who loves to cook. Maybe when you send out those e-mails letting people who have signed up to find out what is going on, you could mention the hours you are opened?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Visit!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Spent our 10th anniversary here, and did the tasting menu. Excellent touch: they offer you the option to "revisit" any course you enjoyed. Nice touch! Excellent service, and great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique dining experience. Superb food and service.

Dined on May 10, 2016

This is my second trip to Trentina in recent weeks. Our larger party was treated royally and had a wonderful dining experience. Most recently, a friend and I had a lovely leisurely dining experience. Meal was superb, service was excellent and wine choice were outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A New Favorite

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We ate here before going to a 7:00 orchestra concert. It was our second time dining at Trentina and, after two outstanding visits it has become one of our Cleveland favorites. We were a little pressed for time, due to the concert, but the kitchen and the wait staff moved things along at the perfect pace to get us out the door at the correct time. We both had the fish special (halibut) and it was great. The "red bowl" salad was one of the best salads we've ever had and after this great meal, we even had time for dessert. Can't wait to come back to sit out on the patio!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Okay but could do better

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We ordered the Charcuterie and a Potato Pizza. The charcuterie was tasty but very small portion for the price. Even items that had a large margin were in small quantity. Pizza crust was good but lacked flavor once we added red pepper flakes it was better. I had a once piece that didn't even have potato on it. Drinks were great and so was the bartender!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic northern Italian

Dined on May 3, 2016

We continue to enjoy Trentina, for a business lunch, quiet dinner, or relaxing Sunday Brunch, especially on the patio.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Tight Trentina

Dined on May 2, 2016

Trentina is a small restaurant specializing in Italian cuisine. Dishes are limited but nicely varied. The wine list is good, if a bit pricey. It isn't a restaurant for diners who don't like to feel crowded. Space decidedly is at a premium. Service is quite well informed. Reservations are a must, with some interesting and delicious takes on 'standards' such as lasagna.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

weekend brunch

Dined on April 30, 2016

Unique and delicious preparations. Our family including two kids - all find choice items on the menu for brunch as well as dinner.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FOR THE BOLD

Dined on April 26, 2016

Sawyer lives up to his accomplishments. Presentation on all dishes was excellent. Friendly and casual service. The edible candle thing is really fun, and that's what I would call this experience...fun and inventive cuisine. I had the veal hearts as an appetizer because.....WHY NOT? I don't know how they are to taste, but it's not something I would get again. The wood-fired lasagna was a winner as was the halibut special. It's always difficult swallowing a $14 cocktail.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Too much salt

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

While the entire restaurant was involved with receiving the chef's special meal and we all received the same dishes thus suggesting it was not so special, the dishes were well executed and often exceptional except for the heavy use of salt. The homemade pasta was wonderful and the fish dish was delightful. A small restaurant, it was crowded and slow on a Saturday evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome

Dined on April 22, 2016

My fiancé and I went out to celebrate our anniversary. We had the 12 course tasting menu. Most of the courses were really good and I was really impressed. I got the drink pairing for 50 dollars more and it came with 8 drinks ( not as full as a normal drink would be). Plenty for me though. The total came to 300 for two with one soda and the drink pairing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

OK, not great

Dined on April 22, 2016

We ate well: charcuterie, pasta, halibut and steak. Service was very attentive. The steak is nothing special. The menu is short and didn't change in the three weeks we visited twice, other than the fish entree. For a restaurant that prides itself on locally sourced food and with comparatively high prices, one would expect greater creativity and variety in the menu. The food is interesting, but not exciting.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

One of my favorite dining spots in Cleveland

Dined on April 10, 2016

Trentina is a go-to before a night at the orchestra. I also went there for Sunday brunch with my girlfriends before a matinee ballet performance. So cozy and romantic, great food and cocktails - couldn't ask for anything more!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on April 10, 2016

Trentina had been on my must-go list for some time and it did not disappoint. Every aspect of the experience was perfectly executed, from the space / design of the restaurant to the service and food itself. Truly a gem of University Circle, worth the trip even for west- or south-siders!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service3

Food was good but not what I would expec ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was good but not what I would expect from someone who is up for a James Beard award. The good news is that the prices are much more reasonable than a Michael Symon restaurant. Glad we went but probably won't go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service, excellent portion siz ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Fantastic service, excellent portion sizes. Would highly recommend!

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was unique and delicious! We ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

The food was unique and delicious! We really enjoyed the bread with the edible candle.

food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious! Great staff, food, and venue!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Delicious! Great staff, food, and venue!

food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Disappointed !

Dined on March 16, 2016

I was very excited to try this Johnatan Sawyer restaurant, since I like greenhouse tavern, although have not visited that in a few years, so don't know how is it doing nowadays... Ok atmosphere, very small place, small tables, food: good looking menu, but lacking in meaty appetizers, heavy on added salt and olive oil, which I both like but in reasonable amounts. Mushroom pizza, nice incredients, local mushrooms and kale, but swimming in added olive oil; pasta with mussels( I forget the name) , good flavor, but overly salted and again heavy on the oil( and I love olive oil, I eat it with bread on its own) but this was too much for me; agnolotti, it was not at all what I expected, so it's my fault, the walnut sauce overpowering, had to return, got the steak instead, with kale (again) and au-gratin potatoes (dry, by the way), steak was tender and cooked right( server took the liberty to ask the chef not too add salt to already marinated steak, so this one had the appropriate amount of saltiness). Sadly, in the sea of options there are in Cleveland area, I have to say that this restaurant will not make me come back!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

had heard so much about trentina that i ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

had heard so much about trentina that i think i may have been expecting a mini trip to italy! while we thought the food was delicious and the service was great, i didn't quite get the "OMG" factor that everyone spoke about -- maybe we had too much information beforehand. having said that, we thoroughly enjoyed our meal ... at our servers suggestion, we shared a few apps and then a few small servings of pasta for our entrees .... yum! the only complaint i have is the wine and alcohol prices .... very over the top, even for a 'nice' restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.