Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 11 times today

Trentina

4.2
538 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary Italian
Perfect For:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
Chef Jonathon Sawyer's Restaurant Trentina explores the rich diversity of culture and joyful voice of cuisine in the regions of northeastern Italy. The menu exemplifies the commonalities between the valleys of Trentino-Alto Adige and the Cuyahoga Valley, including a strong sense of gastronomic craftsmanship and agricultural heritage. Allow us to take you on a journey as we interpret tradition through an elegant and modern lens.


Valentine's Day 2018
Wednesday, February 14th

For Valentine's Day, Chef Korey will be creating a custom Menu Bianco tasting. The standard a la carte menu will not be offered that night. Please allow 3.5 hours for this extended tasting menu.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary Italian, Italian, German
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon–Thu 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
Fri, Sat 11:00 am–11:00 pm
Sun 11:00 am–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(216) 421-2900
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jonathon Sawyer
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Ford and Euclid
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We share parking with the Glidden House hotel and additional metered street parking is available as well.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
RTA Cedar-University Rapid Station
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Located within walking distance of The Cleveland Museum of Art, The Cleveland Orchestra's Severance Hall, The Cleveland Botanical Gardens, Cleveland Museum of Contemporary Art, Western Reserve Historical Society, The Cleveland Museum of Natural History.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Cocktails, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 538 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
75% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Food was fantastic, service was exceptional. Truly a dining experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

An imaginative menu, although not long. The charred cabbage appetizer was excellent and fairly large. The pastas were both very good, and the "large" portions were appropriate sized. The wine list is focused but good in quality. The server was fairly new and not well informed about the wines, but the service was otherwise very good. We wish there were no music, or if music is needed, it could be classical. The present music doesn't seem to fit the clientele and space very well. The desserts were varied, and we appreciated the opportunity to get just one scoop of ice cream or sorbet, at a very reasonable price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We loved our experience at Trentina. It was our first time there and we will definitely go back soon! We ordered pizza, salads, desert, and a bottle of wine. Can’t wait to visit again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

The food is fabulous and inventive. The service is always top notch even when busy. It's great fun to sit outside (weather permitting) and people watch.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Neat spot with great appetizers. The main course was lacking in flavor.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great food and a very unique menu. Portion sizes are on the smaller side but truthfully the right size and packed with great flavor and well-executed technique. Very creative menu with a number of interesting starters to share. In a small building but very well decorated with simple touches on both the inside and outside. Great experience, definitely recommend

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

The charcuterie plate and the cookie assortment were quite good, but only one of our three entrees was exceptional- the steak. The gnocchi lacked flavor, and the vegetarian option was boring, and about half the vegetables were undercooked to the point of being inedible. I told one of the wait staff when he took my plate and he said he would pass the problem on to the chef but there was no follow up at all.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The service was mostly great and the food was mostly excellent. The one concern I had is that our food was sitting and got somewhat cold because "they needed to serve the large parties".

That sat with me a little poorly, as it made me feel like my visit was less important because it was only two of us. In addition, we were given dinner menus at the start when it was brunch time and we didn't realize that was going to be a different menu until we saw people being served mimosas and bloody marys.

I'm willing to give them the benefit because it is an extremely small restaurant during Easter service, but I hope that the next time I go will be more enjoyable!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

This was the first time I ever ate at Trentina and I really enjoyed my experience! The food was delicious and very unique...would recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The server was excellent and his recommendations were spot on.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

The food, service and experience was great. The NY Strip was cooked to perfection and hardly needed a knife to cut it. The sauce was perfectly balanced and an excellent addition that I didn’t know I wanted. The gnocchi was also out of this world. I’m definitely going to try Chef Sawyer’s other spots.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Went to art museum and then Trentina, the food, the service was excellent, I will be back, the only thing that kept if from being perfect is the restaurant is on the small size, and the tables were all full so the noise level was a little high

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Great food. Great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

First time visit, great experience. Food was delicious and many different options from which to choose. Definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2018

FOOD WAS EXCELLENT, SERVER WAS VERY PLEASANT AND INFORMATIVE, JUST THOUGHT SOME ITEMS A LITTLE OVERPRICED.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

This was a really nice place. High quality food, non-pretentious waiter who was attentive and willing and able to talk about the menu (not scared to help you choose the best option for you). Quality of food was memorable. Thought it might be too foodie snobby (Chef Sawyer is of superior talent and recognition) but the vibe is comfortable and casual. I will be back and recommend to others.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Great food, nothing like it in the Italian world of dining, and I go to Italy regularly.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Very disappointing. From the ridiculously long wait to get seated, to the poor service and misinformation about the food. There was almost no one in the restaurant, yet we waited more than five minutes in the tiny cold entryway before finally getting someone's attention. The service was very poor. The menu is adventurous, yet we were giving little to no explanation, even when we asked. The food was mediocre, at best. My husband ordered the strip steak, expecting, well, a strip steak. He got a very small serving of cut up steak, tossed with salad. It could have been OK, but it lacked flavor. I could go on, but, why bother. It's clear no one at the restaurant cares. Once again, we should have gone to Dante's.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 8, 2018

This was our third occasion to dine at Trentina in the last two years. This time we had: charcuterie w/ cheese and pickles wood-fired golden beets, farm greens salad, bucatini, risotto nero, plus butterscotch budino with espresso and cappuccino. There were more dishes we wanted to try, but we knew our stomachs would not allow it. We enjoyed the beets the most. While it had layers of wonderful flavors, it did not overwhelm the natural flavor and texture of the beets. The budino was underwhelming. The bucatini w/ heirloom tomato butter and salad were very good as well. Overall we enjoyed ourselves. We hope to come back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Excellent food. Server knowledgeable about wines to pair. A great location prior to Cleveland Institute of Music concerts.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 3, 2018

I was expecting more from a Sawyer restaurant as I love Greenhouse Tavern. Overall, I just felt that the entire meal and service fell a bit flat. Scallop app, while smokey had little other flavor...needed some acid...something was missing. Grouper (fish special) was way under cooked. Cold raw in middle and lLacked salt and it too needed some acid. My wife's vegan dish was actually very good.

Service was spotty. Server was very nice, but forgot my drink and had to order twice. We had to ask to have our bottle of white put on ice or "placed in fridge" which is what they did. Water refills almost non-existent.

Not sure we will go back. Disappointed.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 1, 2018

We have dined at Trentina several times and each time we go it is diminished from where it once was. Thursday evening was the worst example - we arrived and there was no hostess. The only waitress also served as the hostess. I believe there was only one person in the kitchen. The place was empty. I ordered the striped bass and it was terrible - very fishy tasting and overcooked. The other meals were at least edible but not particularly good - a low bar for a restaurant of this stature and cost. This is a stain on the name of Jonathan Sawyer.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

We'd enjoyed Brunch here in nice weather so tried dinner on a winter weekend. Menu is interestingly unusual but quite limited number of choices. Wine list is extremely spare. Basically just Italian wines and few of those (e.g., not a single Barolo or Chianti Classico Reserva, or any of the interesting Sicilian wines) and many of the choices very pricey (over $100). We'll definitely be back for Brunch, likely not for dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Everything was great. Portions were a bit small, but food was fantastic. Would eat here again and looking forward to going back to eat on the patio.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We were visiting Case Western and excited to dine at Cleveland's number 1 ranked Italian restaurant according to NYC Daily News...in NYC Trentina would not survive. The worst pasta dish I ever had in my life, if I wasn't starving after a day of traveling, I would have returned it. My husband ordered an antipasto that looked unappealing, the items on the plate were all white. One of the items on the plate looked like pre packed turkey slices. My husband said it was pickled, not sure what he ate??? To add insult to injury, the server we had was most unfriendly. She looked like she hated her job. Too bad for Trentina because it's an ideal spot to dine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Absolutely amazing food with wonderful service. I am a big fan of Jonathon Sawyer

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Valentines Day dinner at Trentina was all we expected from Jonathon Sawyer. We had the ten course tasting menu with wine pairings. The food was creative and unique not to mention delicious! Jonathon greeted us at the door with champagne and a warm welcome. Our service was very good and the evening was truly enjoyable from start to finish A favorite course would be hard to select but I found the sturgeon exceptional and the dessert out of this world. The wine pairings complimented each course and were ample pours. Jonathon Sawyer was visiting with diners all evening and stopped by our table at least four times to check on things and converse with us. Great evening!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Absolutely awesome food and service. The wait is long but well worth it. The staff is very kind and extremely accommodating. This was the best restaurant experience we have had since our arrival into Cleveland.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 3, 2018

-service: no explanation of menu, no asking if we had any questions, no telling us specials....just “are you ready to order”
-poor selection of white wine by glass...I wanted a Chardonnay..none available. I tried the first white suggested by server & did not like...so ended up ordering the Pinot Grigio available which was “ok”....nothing great. Surprised at the lack of wine choices by the glass for this caliber of restaurant.
-one of our party ordered the fish (note that he had to ask the server what the market fish was for the night)...he said it was very good . However the plate had only two very! small pieces of the fish & some citrusy garnish & a sauce...would have expected more
Disappointing...we have been there many times & probably won’t return for a while.....

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 3, 2018

If you like high prices and mediocre food, this is the place for you.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 2, 2018

We had a very nice time at the restaurant. The food, atmosphere, drinks and service were great. The only complaint I have is portion size! I had the gnocchi and my date had the tortellini. Both were delicious (although mine was advertised as coming with beef and I maybe had one tiny shred - less than one bite), but there was nothing to it. $20 for 6 tortellini is outrageous. As an Italian, I couldn’t imagine sending anyone out of my home still hungry...wishing Trentina felt the same way!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Trentina serves delicious food, provides professional and appropriately attentive service, and is housed in a cute building. However, the food portions are very small relative to the price - this has been stated in numerous reviews - but a full plate gnocchi was very (Very) light on gnocchi and high on sauce. Both elements were truly delectable and refined, but left us rather hungry. Would certainly recommend (already have, in fact), but with the caveat “be prepared to spend appropriately in order to leave full.”

Side notes: the entrance/reception desk is very (Very!) small; the dwelling that houses the restaurant is old, and as a result the dining room felt uncomfortably chilly all evening, especially for diners close to the windows; make a reservation.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 29, 2018

We were there on a Monday evening and the weather was bad; therefore a little quiet, and therefore great service. Menu is not extensive but dishes are non-standard with focus on the Trentina area of Italy near the northern border. The knockout appetizer is "table bread," a giant pita-type concoction done in their 900 degree pizza oven. It's about a foot in diameter and puffed up to nearly three inches in places. Drizzled with olive oil and herbed salt, it is served with a candle of beef suet. Tear it apart, dip in the melted suet, and you have a delicious and unusual dish that would make a cardiologist faint. I would definitely order again! My wife had a gnocchi with a beef-laden pesto, and I had a spicy pizza. Wine list is not huge but more than adequate. Definitely would go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Great find, food was tasty and fresh. Plan to return with friends and family.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

This was my first time eating at this restaurant. It was conveniently located in the food and service were good.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 25, 2018

The table bread arrived, sad and deflated, a metaphor for our whole experience.

Trentina you REALLY let me down.

You were one of, if not my favorite restaurant in Cleveland. I’ve been about ten times in the past few years, had the menu Bianco with wine pairing and recommended you countless times. You were something I would long for all week once reservations had been placed.

The past three times I’ve went, the service has been slipping big time.

I made reservation for 4 earlier this week to finally bring my parents in town to Cleveland and experience my favorite restaurant I’ve been raving to them about for the past few years to celebrate my 25th birthday.

Once we were sat, with two other tables in the restaurant, we were essentially completely ignored for about ten-fifteen minutes while the waiter made multiple trips to each of the other tables. We began to grow impatient and were about to just get up and leave to go elsewhere. My mother being GM at a restaurant, and myself working pretty much every job in a restaurant since I was 13, it takes a lot to get to this point. The waiter, sensing this, hurried over to basically just ask if we knew what we wanted (would have been nice to have gotten some recommendations like those given to the other tables, but luckily my complete shot in the dark at ordering a bottle of an Italian wine was a hit).

The rest of the meal basically went the same, lackluster service with an almost apparent disregard for our existence as a whole.

The only silver lining to the night was our food, which has never let me down. While the table bread arrived deflated, it was still delicious and went exceedingly well dipped in the sauce for the scallop appetizer. My porchetta was excellent, (that polenta was divine, I bartered a scoop for a piece of my mother’s strip steak) and everyone loved their meal (fastest I’ve seen my father put down a plate of gnocchi which speaks volumes).

Overall though, experience wise - huge disappointment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Delicious 12 course chef’s tasting menu

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 16, 2018

First time here. Ambiance felt stark. At 6:30pm they were already out of two entrees we wanted. Odd.

Table bread was tasty; gnocchi was delicious; steak had been cooked perfectly and was flavorful, but not even warm when it reached the table; fish was overcooked. Cookies and Cream gelato was creamy yet oddly lacking flavor.

I know people love this place; it just wasn't our thing, especially with the various hiccups. An off night, perhaps. Have no need to return, though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

It was a delicious and lovey evening.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 13, 2018

We came to Trentina to celebrate my husband's birthday. I had previously eaten here in 2017 and had an enjoyable dining experience. Our experience Saturday evening was very disappointing. We arrived to be seated at a table in the corner that included a running space heater under my chair and a wet floor. A server arrived to pour us water, then a second server arrived to take our drink order, then the original server returned and told us that she would now be taking our order. No single person ever introduced themselves by name. We ordered the bread and tallow candle appetizer; however, the candle arrived and the bread followed nearly five minutes later, rather than being served both portions of the appetizer together. My husband and I both ordered pasta dishes. His tortellini arrived and was cold to the touch. My pappardelle noodles were glued together in one large lump. We were able to flag a server (not our own) after several minutes to have my husband's pasta warmed up; however, our actual server never apologized or checked in on the quality of our dinner as our plates were cleared by another employee. Our dessert was the highlight of the meal - a delicious espresso affogato. Overall, the prices for this experience combined with the poor quality of our dining experience means we will not return.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14