About Trentina

1903 Ford Drive
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's Restaurant Trentina explores the rich diversity of culture and joyful voice of cuisine in the regions of northeastern Italy. The menu exemplifies the commonalities between the valleys of Trentino-Alto Adige and the Cuyahoga Valley, including a strong sense of gastronomic craftsmanship and agricultural heritage. Allow us to take you on a journey as we interpret tradition through an elegant and modern lens.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Italian, German

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday-Friday 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Brunch Saturday & Sundays 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Ford and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 421-2900

Website:
http://www.restauranttrentina.com/

Entertainment:
Located within walking distance of The Cleveland Museum of Art, The Cleveland Orchestra's Severance Hall, The Cleveland Botanical Gardens, Cleveland Museum of Contemporary Art, Western Reserve Historical Society, The Cleveland Museum of Natural History.

Parking Details:
We share parking with the Glidden House hotel and additional metered street parking is available as well

Public Transit:
RTA Cedar-University Rapid Station

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Trentina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Fit for Foodies
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in University Circle ›

Fit for Foodies (67)
Special Occasion (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (43)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Romantic (26)
Great for Brunch (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for Groups (4)
Scenic View (4)
Sort By:
Newest
268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice evening celebrating best friends 38 ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 3 days ago

Nice evening celebrating best friends 38th anniversary and our first time at this restaurant. Foodies at work had said good things about it and we were not disappointed. Our waiter let us move at our own pace which worked out well. We sat inside but the outside seating area looked great also. Upstairs restrooms would be a problem for older folks as it is a steep climb. Overall, a pleasant experience. Good food and great friends; a great combination!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food. Did the tasting menu and ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food. Did the tasting menu and the wine pairings were spot on. Unique dishes. Wait staff was knowledgable and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Owner/ maitre di is very enthusiastic ab ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Owner/ maitre di is very enthusiastic about his restaurant. Cuisine was creative and well presented, but not outstanding. Decor is clean, fresh and modern. Wish he would have granted our request to move to another table for two, away from the kitchen door, that only filled as we were leaving!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Lovely outdoor dining without street noi ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely outdoor dining without street noise. Smaller portions available on some dishes for a lighter meal. Excellent, unobtrusive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic and everyone was supe ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was fantastic and everyone was super friendly :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent - knowledgable and friendly st ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent - knowledgable and friendly staff, great setting, and delicious food. Definitely lives up to expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The server we had was fine, but he seeme ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The server we had was fine, but he seemed to be stretched awfully thin. Thus, it took too long for his return trips, as he had too many table to attend to by himself. Otherwise, everything about this experience was top-notch. This is easily one of Cleveland's best restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This was one of those truly perfect dini ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was one of those truly perfect dining experiences. The entire staff worked so well together to offer us a memorable night. Everyone in the kitchen was clearly cooking their hearts out because the food was positively unrivaled. I also fully appreciated not only our server's extensive knowledge of the wine list and dinner menu, but also her willingness to admit that she wasn't the foremost authority on desserts wines, and so grabbing another server for suggestions. I always consider it the mark of an amazing server to not only be excellent at his or her job, but also to lean on others in instances where they may be stronger. It made for the best night out I've had in my three visits to Cleveland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our second time dining at Trenti ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This is our second time dining at Trentina. When we received the confirmation call for our reservation, I was asked whether we would be having the tasting menu or ordering from the a la carte menu. I asked whether we would both have to do the tasting menu or if one of us could dine from the a la carte menu and the other have the tasting menu. The person on the phone assured me that if I selected the tasting menu for both of us, it would allow the restaurant to prepare for that, but once there, one of us could easily order from the a la carte menu. When we arrived our server immediately took away the a la carte menus and explained that we both needed to do the tasting menu contrary to what I was told. We have dined at many restaurants that offer a tasting menu. Most other tasting menus that we have experienced give some choices with regard to items in each course. I realize that Trentina asks for likes/dislikes/allergies before meal preparation to accommodate tastes, but offering at least two choices per course or at least for some courses would be preferable. It is a very noisy and stark environment. Since our first visit, some fabric art has been added to the walls to try to tamp down the noise, but they are ineffective, and add no color. For a long dining experience, as the tasting menu should be, the chairs are not comfortable. The mirrored tables get dirty immediately. We had to ask our server to slow down the food delivery, as it was coming rapid fire, one course after the other. We did the wine pairings, and were trying to enjoy the experience, not have fast food. On the positive side, the food is carefully and tastefully prepared and our server was attentive to our preference for red wine and was able to produce some very nice pairings with our food. The fish course was surprising in that had a lot of fish bones and it would have been nice for some advance warning of that.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Have been to Trentina many times over th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Have been to Trentina many times over the last two years and believe it is one of the top restaurants in Cleveland. Always some new gems on the menu, a unique wine list, and excellent service with attention to detail without being overwhelming. Always look forward to brunch or dinner here and have never been disappointed!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trentina is a disaster. Went with wife, ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Trentina is a disaster. Went with wife, ordered from a la carte menu. Two orders of oysters on the half shell- asked for mignonette on the side. Got them with mignonette on the oysters. Oysters past their prime. Ordered "Case Western" pizza, so named because of mushrooms from Squier Valley Farm. Oyster mushrooms used, but pizza also topped with large amount of kale, which restaurant obviously had an excess of (included in multiple dishes), and finished with a blue cheese sauce that was much too salty and pungent to the extent that the rather delicate flavor of the mushrooms was overwhelmed. My entree strip steak and potato galette. Ordered steak rare, received medium rare. Steak sauced with glace de viande. Inedible- acrid with salt. Checked with wife- inedible. Galette greasy and burnt- charred beyond edibility. Checked with wife- inedible. Wife's entree duck "two ways": slices of breast and confit. At least edible, but absolutely nothing of interest happening on the plate- profoundly mediocre. Because of scheduled Severance concert, no time to send dishes back or otherwise hassle. Will never go back. Just because we are in Cleveland and not a legitimate foodie city (New York, Chicago, San Francisco, etc.) doesn't mean we have to put up with this garbage. HIGHEST DISPARITY BETWEEN PRETENSE AND QUALITY THAT I CAN REMEMBER ENCOUNTERING IN A LONG LIFE OF RESTAURANT-GOING.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Second visit to Trentina for lunch, have ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Second visit to Trentina for lunch, have also been here for dinner. Love the quality of the food and the fact that they have small pasta plates so you can enjoy a lite meal at lunchtime. Feel always like a special place. Will pop in again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything about our dining experience w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Everything about our dining experience was top notch. I went with two friends (we meet for dinner quarterly) and this was a dining adventure with amazing results! Service was great- attentive without hovering, friendly without being "too chummy" :) The food was exceptional, from house made pastas to a ridulously good beet salad and then the "table bread" (brushed with olive oil and flaked with sea salt, served with a beef tallow candle to dip the bread in as it melted - other-worldly). Incredible value, too, for the many courses we got from the a la carte menu, plus a glass of wine each; I can't wait to come back (with my husband next time)!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very interesting food. Some courses wer ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very interesting food. Some courses were outstanding. Some courses did not come off completely right. Some enjoyable and fun surprises along the way.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Jonathan Sawyer has an extraordinary gem ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Jonathan Sawyer has an extraordinary gem in Trentina. It never disappoints. The wines are perfectly paired with dishes and we love the restaurant more each time we visit.

The waiters and staff are very attentive and offer excellent guidance on beverages to pair with dishes. It is an outstanding experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since we were traveling through the Clev ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Since we were traveling through the Cleveland area at dinner-time, we chose this Jonathan Sawyer restaurant because of the chef's reputation. We loved the creativity and beautiful presentation of our shared appetizer, golden beet salad, and shared plum dessert. My husband's entree of duck two ways was excellent, though a few bites of the duck were too tough. My entree of grouper with squid ink pasta and bitter greens was very good though not quite as exciting and interesting as I had hoped. Service was excellent, and the high-tech restroom was an added bonus. We'd love to return if we're in the area again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Just a wonderful creative delicious meal ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Just a wonderful creative delicious meal. A real celebration from beginning to end

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasting menu with wine pairings awesome

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Tasting menu with wine pairings awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I can see the potential, but would be ha ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I can see the potential, but would be hard pressed to want to return. Had the tasting Bianca menu and it was pretty uninspiring. Nothing stood out, but could see some originality in a few dishes. The fired polenta with the charcuterie was nice, but too much butter and the pickles were too salty. The salt came back in force with the mushroom course. The best course we're the pastas: gnocchi and rigatoni. The meats (duck and sardine) were good but nothing more than ordinary. The biggest disappointment was the service. Three bottles of wine and I think we had our glasses filled twice. OK at The Olive Garden, not so much when you get a bill for $427 for two. Also the waitress never considered an accommodation on adjusting the beverage pairing or the "revisiting" course to our taste. As for the pairing, a simple adjustment to tilt to white from red would have been appreciated. Not necessary, but a reasonable expectation based on the price. My recommendation would be to drop the tasting menu. Focus on what you do well, pasta and a few key items, and train up st staff a bit more for this calibre of the restaurant. The young man who brought the courses was very well informed and excellent. The young lady who seated us and offered a the 'revisit' was less so. The revisit being the same course you already had and liked, you can have it again (as long as it's not the gnocchi or sardines). But they won't exchange it for a drink if you didn't enjoy the previous courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Inventive, satisfying, carefully prepare ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Inventive, satisfying, carefully prepared dishes at reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great food, very imaginative . Excellen ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great food, very imaginative . Excellent service. Relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great, and the brunch menu w ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was great, and the brunch menu was fantastic! Would definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried four pasta dishes and each one ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We tried four pasta dishes and each one was better than the next. Definitely the best pasta dishes in town. The vegetable appetizers were equally good. The only negative for this restaurant is that the seats both inside and outside are not very comfortable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best meals I have had. Ever. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

One of the best meals I have had. Ever. We are from Denver and we flew in to find this gem. Truly spectacular.

We shared four pastas, four "starters", and two of the most amazing breads of my life. It was an experience that we will think back often about, and it makes me want to come into Cleveland just for the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding. We arrived ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service was outstanding. We arrived close to closing for the afternoon and the service was gracious and efficient. The food was excellent. Unique items on menu. Definitely will go again. Looking forward to one of their dinner dining menus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to the restaurant twice and each of ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Been to the restaurant twice and each of my experiences have been fantastic. Mauve is wonderful front of the house specialist and server! She made both our experiences memorable and we just happened to come in to "check it out".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been looking forward to eating h ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have been looking forward to eating here since it opened (had to cancel reservations more than once). We were rewarded for the wait. We decided to pass on the tasting menu and make our own - great idea. The menu is VERY reasonably priced and the pastas come in two sizes so it was easy to try several. All were excellent. I was particularly happy with the wine list since it contained several off the beaten path choices from NE Italy - a very under appreciated region. Although the restaurant was out of my first selection, the White Tokai blend from Capriva de Friuli was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dining experience at ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience at Trentina. The outdoor setting was wonderful and service was very good. The food delectable. The only drawback was the mixed drinks. Trentina does not have a bartender and relies on the servers to make the drinks. All of our drinks were subpar and not worthy of such a fine restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Interesting looking menu, but the food w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Interesting looking menu, but the food was odd to say the least. Charred broccoli was recommended as an appetizer. It should just be called burnt. When I asked what the gray, muddy-looking liquid was on the plate I was told "eggplant puree with edible charcoal." My pasta was more than al dente, nearly crunchy. There were black flecks in the pasta and thinking it was more edible charcoal, I removed them to another plate. The waitress asked if I didn't like the olives. Seems that the black specks were dehydrated olives. Who knew? And when I asked for sweetener for my coffee, I was told they don't serve anything artificial. Interesting that they would serve me edible charcoal but not zero-calorie sweetener. We are not going back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

I would have given this restaurant a hig ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I would have given this restaurant a higher rating, but it sure is pretentious. From requiring a credit card to make a reservation, to not giving assistance when the server knew we were sharing (the pea and carrot plate was beautiful, but not share-able and hardly edible for one).

The pizza was good and share-able.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Had the 12-course tasting menu. Seldom ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Had the 12-course tasting menu. Seldom have I experienced food so imaginative and perfectly prepared, with a level of service (professional & extremely knowledgeable) to match. Kudos to everyone involved in this extraordinary dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very creative and varied menu, we have d ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Very creative and varied menu, we have dined her before and have always found everything to be very well prepared, great presentations and very creative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Party of 4 outside dinning, informative ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Party of 4 outside dinning, informative professional service with a smile, oil candle as a dip for bread, salads, flatbread pizza, broccoli app, 3 pasta dishes one full order, duck and a steak entree paired with a bottle of wine and a rosé may have ordered a bit too much. Broccoli app and Duck entree memorable, everything else was good enough to order again except not a fan of the bolognese sauce over the rigatoni, waiter said this was done more of a traditional style. I was expecting something different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Beautiful morning for brunch on the pati ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Beautiful morning for brunch on the patio. Great service. Always outstanding dining from drinks to desert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Loved the wood fired brocco ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great food. Loved the wood fired broccoli, golden tile fish (a favorite Gulf fish of mine), and beets. Just wished they had indicated on their menu that their food is made with a blend oil that contains soy. I can only eat soy in small doses and pretty much it was in everything. In an age of food allergies and sensitivities this seems a surprising for such a high caliber restaurant.

The service was good but even the waitress was not aware of the oil blend when I first asked about soy products in the food.

I enjoyed my time drinking the rose wine with a friend on a fabulous night in Cleveland. Highly recommend just beware of food sensitivities and ask before digging in.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a poor experience all the way aro ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had a poor experience all the way around. Ordered a bottle of wine-- was brought a different year. Waitress said nothing until my husband noticed, only then did she say they were out of the vintage we ordered. Charred broccoli is an ill-conceived app--tastes just like burned broccoli. Two of us ordered pasta entrees which were served to us before the waiter replaced our missing silverware. Had to wait for him to hunt some up -- meanwhile pasta cooling. The rigatoni with lamb had no discernible lamb flavor but what it did have was a huge amount of black pepper. After a few bites my mouth was so hot, I sent the dish away. Two diners ordered "duck two ways" which were served LONG AFTER pastas arrived. Pasta eaters had to start or else face cold dinners. When the duck dinners finally came, they were almost RAW! Sent them back to the kitchen and another 15 min. passed before they emerged---really OVERCOOKED! Was this the chef's lack of skill or revenge? To add insult to injury, we were at this restaurant to celebrate an anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Had time for two dinners while in Clevel ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had time for two dinners while in Cleveland. Trentina was probably not the best choice for one of them. Very casual with a wood fired theme. Roast cauliflower was very good, roast beet salad was ok (unusual flavors with dehydradeted olives and cheese). Two pastas - osso bucco sauce and rigatoni bolognese bianco were very good but heavy. Much more appropriate for a fall or winter menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Took my husband and our girls for Father ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Took my husband and our girls for Fathers Day. Nice menu variety especially since one daughter is vegetarian. Food was delicious and the service was friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was over the top fabulous...eve ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was over the top fabulous...every course was beautiful to look at and even better to savor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good not great. Small portions ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was good not great. Small portions but reasonable fees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.