Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Trentina

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's Restaurant Trentina explores the rich diversity of culture and joyful voice of cuisine in the regions of northeastern Italy. The menu exemplifies the commonalities between the valleys of Trentino-Alto Adige and the Cuyahoga Valley, including a strong sense of gastronomic craftsmanship and agricultural heritage. Allow us to take you on a journey as we interpret tradition through an elegant and modern lens.

1903 Ford Drive
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Italian, German

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thurs: 5pm-11pm

Fri-Saturday: 11am-11pm

Sunday: 11 am - 9pm

Cross Street:
Ford and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 421-2900

Website:
http://www.restauranttrentina.com/

Entertainment:
Located within walking distance of The Cleveland Museum of Art, The Cleveland Orchestra's Severance Hall, The Cleveland Botanical Gardens, Cleveland Museum of Contemporary Art, Western Reserve Historical Society, The Cleveland Museum of Natural History.

Parking Details:
We share parking with the Glidden House hotel and additional metered street parking is available as well. Complimentary valet is offered on Friday and Saturday evenings.

Public Transit:
RTA Cedar-University Rapid Station

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Trentina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (32)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Fit for Foodies (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Cozy (18)
Romantic (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Authentic (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Casual (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Organic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Business Meals (7)
Seasonal (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Healthy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

We went here for brunch and loved it! They have a wood burning oven in the back and if you order anything with their bread, you will not be disappointed. Also, the Rye Felicia is INSANELY good if you like cocktails. Excellent wine menu, excellent service. Great location. I would say definitely one of the best restaurants in Cleveland.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Birthday brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

We did the menu Bianca (12 course tasting menu), and not only was it super creative and tasty, but they tailored our menu to my dietary restrictions. Was a great experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

This placed is in an excellent location by the museum. We had dinner outside with an outstanding service and amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall, the experience at Trentina was alright, though we're definitely not going back. We asked them for some bread and they brought us some to the table at a cost of 8 dollars! -- it's the first time I've heard of an Italian restaurant that charges for bread. Also, the dessert menu is really unappetizing, there is hardly any variety, just some ice cream and cake. An Italian restaurant ought to offer some tiramisu, panna cotta, or cannoli. Lastly, the waiters ought to wash their aprons that were really dirty and stained with food!! Would not recommend this restaurant, we were so disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 9, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 31st wedding anniversary at Trentina. We enjoyed the Bianco 12 course tasting experience with wine pairing. Each course was a surprise and a delight! Beautifully presented and a pallet pleaser the way the locally sourced ingredients were used together to make wonderful dishes. You could tell that they were made with passion and love from the chefs and kitchen staff. Also the wait staff were so friendly and attentive it made our night magical! Thank you Trentina! We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fabulous meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food and service here is always excellent! Very creative menu, unlike any place in Cleveland; very much like NYC. Only con is that it is very noisy inside and hard to converse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great little place for an intimate dinner or small gathering of friends. Small plates are perfect for lighter appetites or for sharing. Authentic pastas and super fresh local ingredients make this a nice stop in the beautiful University Circle area

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We love Chef Sawyer's other restaurants and we couldn't wait to try Trentina for our anniversary. We got the 12 course tasting menu with the drink pairing. The service was so educational and polished. The food was creative and fun and outside the box. While the cost is up there, the experience was worth it.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Absolutely delicious pasta and salad ! Servers knowledgeable about the menu and specials.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Dinner was great. We enjoyed it. But there were a couple of things. I had heard that they had a great 12 course tasting menu. However, the server never mentioned it. When we got home from Cleveland, there was a message on our answering machine confirming our reservation and offering both menus. Wish the server had mentioned it. Also, we ordered the bread for an appetizer. It's awesome. When our meals came, we were offered a second order at no charge. We ordered it since we all had meals with sauces. However, the bread that was delivered to our table was beyond burned. We picked at the bottom of the bread but most of it couldn't be eaten. The manager on duty did happen to walk by and see the bread. She was not happy that the bread had been served. She remarked that she was sorry and offered to get us a new bread order but we decided against it. Guess we just felt like the food is amazing but the service certainly lacked the quality that you would expect from such a fine dine restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Service was very good. The brocolli salad and beet salad excellent but the pizza distinctly mediocre at best. Eggplant stew was good .
But the toilet was amazing and the sink pretty nifty too! 5 stars for the restroom

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This was our first time at Trentina and we will be back. Food was excellent and server was very knowledgeable about the menu. I would recommend maybe one additional fish option, and would suggest the wine list offer more affordable offerings (or lower the highly marked-up prices currently used), and broaden selection beyond Trentina region. This is not the best restaurant we've ever been to, but it ranks high on our University Circle list. Definitely worth a visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 22, 2017

My wife and I were in Italy last year for a honeymoon and our planning a trip back there this year to Northern Italy. As a result we have spent some time studying the food and wines of the northern region. Having recently been to Italy and with studying the Northern regions we were beyond impressed with Trentina. It was the best meal we have had since Italy, and the best I've had in Cleveland, OH; each course was better than the next. The Cesari Ripasso Valpolicella was the best Ripasso I've had, and the desert port was even better. The ambiance and the wait staff was excellent as well. For anyone looking for a truly authentic Northern Italian meal, I would HIGHLY recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Fantastic in all areas. Service, food, hostess, all perfect. Will return again and again!

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great meal and service. The food was excellent and the service was impeccable

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Lovely restaurant. Unique menu with enough variety for most diners. Beautifully presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Service has seemed to be going down hill later. It used to be my favorite Italian spot in Cle but the over all of the restaurant isn't the same. Needs a revamp!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Excellent food in a spare modern setting. This small, high-end Italian restaurant definitely worth a visit. Tucked away in the heart of University Circle next to Glidden House, it's easy to miss. The guard allowed us to park in their lot.

My guest declared the charred broccoli the best version of that vegetable she ever had. We split an order of the wood-fired lasagne, also excellent. White pizza with ricotta and arugula was tangy, bordering on sweet. Charcuterie delicious as were the unique pickled vegetable accompaniments.

Service was friendly but spotty. Some order confusion. Forgot our second glass of wine. The usual "who had the..." (pet peeve). Shouldn't they know?

This place is beautiful but loud. All hard surfaces. Could use a couple of tapestries or something to deaden sound. Tough to even hear the person across from you.

Nice patio in summer. Definitely worth a visit.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I've had many fantastic meals here. Definitely worth a trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great! Will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food was super heavy and not that flavorful. I wanted to like it because the menu is really creative but the food was just sort of bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great service and the food was delicious. Very accommodating to food allergies as well. Next time I will request outside where the ambiance looked amazing! Inside was a bit empty (it was a Monday night of a holiday weekend) so it felt a bit stale inside. But I'm sure if all tables are filled the ambiance would be much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Good food, great brunch. Dinner was good as well. Expect a select menu but food. Wine selection is limited and could be better if your a red drinker.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Had the wood-fired pizza and 3 half-portions of pasta on the menu to make a pasta tasting of sorts. First of all, their half-portions are deceptively generous. However, every dish was quite heavily salted. The kitchen's heavy hand with salt detracted from my enjoyment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We came in for brunch and split the Muffaletta and Carbonara. Both were delicious, but the Carbonara was out of this world! Looking forward to coming back and trying the dinner menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food, excellent service. Very enjoyable birthday dinner!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was excellent as always. Drew our server was exceptional and extremely helpful. A must go to if you are in Cleveland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 27, 2017

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed dining here. The food was excellent . Thankfully, we requested a table outside, because the restaurant is very noisy inside. The music was very loud and the seating very congested. Actually, the music was a bit too loud on the patio as well, but it was very comfortable and better for conversation. My only disappointment was that, even though we were asked if this was a special occasion when we confirmed the reservation, and it was our 25th anniversary, it was not acknowledged by the host or wait staff at any time. Most restaurants offer a complimentary dessert or at least thank you for coming to celebrate an event.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Always amazing. Always special. Always one of a kind. Cleveland gem!

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Freshness, authentic recipes, great presentation, great service

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We loved Trentina! Coming from New Jersey we know great restaurants and this is a great one! Jonathan Sawyer lives up to his reputation with inventive, authentic fire-infused cuisine. We stayed downtown where there are lots of options, but chose this one. It did not disappoint for any of the 5 of us! Service was gracious and knowledgeable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Delightful cozy little gem near teh Euclid Circle on the east side near Case Western. Wood fired dishes are sensational, and the handcrafted drinks/wine list are notable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

OUTSTANDING
Very impressed. The lamb rigatoni was incredible, gnocchetti were outstanding and the cheesecake was the best we ever had.
Have eaten at Noodlecat and Greenhouse Tavern multiple times and had to try Tretina's on Father's Day.
Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Enjoyed the range of fresh prepped dishes. Sophisticated casual ambiance. Nice of them to let us sit on the patio after our meal even tho it was close to closing time. The only small problem was that when we sent for the server to replace our corked wine, the customer did not get credit for being right. We did get a replacement but just a little reluctance on the part of the server.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I've heard great things about Trentina for dinner. Brunch, on the other hand, fell short. The brunch entrees should come with a side dish for the price they charge. Two of us ordered the eggs benedict, which came out extremely raw. The other two ordered egg strata, which was nice, but nothing special. We all left hungry, $100 later for the 4 of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our second time at Trentina. Great menu choices, outstanding food, very nice atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Terrible ambiance
Tables too small
Stairway to restrooms steep and narrow
Slow service
Food mediocre
Outrageously priced
Poor value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 12, 2017

My college-aged son and I shared a fantastic weeknight meal here - the food (pasta dishes and parmesan cheesecake for dessert) was fantastic and the service was spectacular.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.