Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Trentina

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's Restaurant Trentina explores the rich diversity of culture and joyful voice of cuisine in the regions of northeastern Italy. The menu exemplifies the commonalities between the valleys of Trentino-Alto Adige and the Cuyahoga Valley, including a strong sense of gastronomic craftsmanship and agricultural heritage. Allow us to take you on a journey as we interpret tradition through an elegant and modern lens.

1903 Ford Drive
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Italian, German

Hours of Operation:
Mon–Thu 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
Fri, Sat 11:00 am–11:00 pm
Sun 11:00 am–9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Ford and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 421-2900

Website:
http://www.restauranttrentina.com/

Entertainment:
Located within walking distance of The Cleveland Museum of Art, The Cleveland Orchestra's Severance Hall, The Cleveland Botanical Gardens, Cleveland Museum of Contemporary Art, Western Reserve Historical Society, The Cleveland Museum of Natural History.

Parking Details:
We share parking with the Glidden House hotel and additional metered street parking is available as well.

Public Transit:
RTA Cedar-University Rapid Station

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cocktails, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Chef Jonathon Sawyer will prepare New Years Eve Menu Bianco Tasting menu. Diners will be delighted to find themselves in a whole new world with this fantastic creation by James Beard Award Winning Chef Sawyer.

Trentina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

Noise

Quiet

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Creative Cuisine (25)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Authentic (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Cozy (14)
Romantic (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fun (8)
Casual (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Organic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Seasonal (5)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort by
S
482 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

We were expecting excellent food, however it was just OK. I ordered the octopus for a starter. At a fine restaurant you don't expect large servings, however I paid 12.00 for a 3.5 inch tiny octopus tentacle. It was tasty, but 4 tiny bites? I could have prepared the broccoli, our other starter easily at home. The entree's were marginal at best.
Then, when we left, the hostess was quite rude regarding helping us locate the valet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Had an early lunch at Trentina’s. It was nice to have hot tea served in a teapot . The pork belly carbonara was exceptional. Will go back To try the dinner menu offerings which are far more extensive than lunch

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2017

I really like this place. Quaint and romantic. Menu is on the small side, but lots of great dishes. Nice wine list, specializing in Italian wines.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Wonderful place with great service and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Sadly disappointing. On previous visits to Cleveland we had been unable to go to Trentina as it was usually closed. We were excited to visit this time having heard good things. Perhaps it was because we were there later in the evening than most diners and the chef was tired? But the dishes served were very disappointing. Salmon tartare didn't even taste of salmon, and the thickly cut cucumber around it was bitter and overwhelming. A bowl of children's type pasta with tomatoey sauce was something I could have whipped up at home in ten minutes and other pastas at the table were equally underwhelming, bland, or overly salted. This is supposed to be fine dining. It was barely ordinary dining. Wine list is stupidly expensive. Good martini but pouring liquor over ice hardly counts as tricky to pull off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Even though we were late for our dinner reservation (by 15 minutes) we were served right away. The place is small so if you're tall call ahead or email and ask for a 4-top if available. This is the best restaurant in Cleveland and the food is outstanding as is the wine. Perhaps more choices of individual wines by the glass would be better. You can order half portions of most pastas. The place is a home run! Great just before an orchestra or Cleveland Museum of Art performance. The staff is friendly and flexible.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 1, 2017

We were visiting from Columbus and found this little gym close to our hotel. Darling spot, excellent food – we will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Seating was extremely slow—we waited at least five minutes to be seated and there was only one couple ahead of us when we arrived. The rest of our party was already there so it was fairly tedious. The service wasn’t much better. We had orchestra tickets and felt extremely rushed to get there even though our reservations were a good two hours in advance. The food was good but a little too pretentious for my taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 18, 2017

This was my second visit, and just as at the first, it was wonderful! The pizza crust was perfectly fired and the carbonara was decadent. You will not regret eating here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Night at the Orchestra.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 16, 2017

The wood fire lasagna was unbelievable. Octopus appetizer was not good. The “burning candle” that went with the table bread was tasteless in my opinion. Date’s pasta dish was good, not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Fabulous as always. There is always something new on the menu and every dish we have ever had is memorable. Dining room is rather 'cold' in décor. The space has the makings of a cozy carriage house but all the white and the choice of artwork makes it sterile and non-inviting, especially in the winter months.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Takes very long time to get your food. Third time I've been there, same story

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Duck duck duck. Get the duck. One of the best pieces I've ever had. Cooked perfectly.

Well done. Keep it up. Loved the small place. Atmosphere. Great night.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Big disappointment. I’ve eaten at Trentina a handful of times and always had a great experience. This time was a big disappointment . The server was inattentive, odiferous and inexperienced; drinks were slow (our food got cold while awaiting the wine); dishes I’ve ordered before were... microwaved? - I️ know the broccoli was good at some point, but It was just gross tonight, and no one commented when we sent it back; and the entrees were either poorly prepared, undercooked, horribly over spiced, or very bland. I can’t say that anything but the wine was good. There are high expectations at this price point, but it was really just a bad meal. I’m embarrassed that we took our out of town guest here... it led to many of the Cleveland jokes of old. Bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Delicious food at a price point so good I worry how they can manage it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2017

even though I made reservations 3 weeks in advance they still tried to seat us right by the kitchen with a few other two person tables available, I asked to move and they did move us but that didn't start things off great. Overly salted, poorly textured food.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Pretentious, overpriced, mediocre service and food - a bad combination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Food was of excellent quality and locally sourced. Service Staff was very pleasant but overtaxed by number of tables. Cappacino was ordered at end of meal, but could not be served because they were too busy. I don’t recall that ever happening to me before.
The restaurant is very pleasant, quiet and great for conversation. The art work is lacking but we were not that there for that art form.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Fantastic service. Get the polenta waffles! Bottomless mimosas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Very interesting menu items--Northern Italian modern would be the best description. The duck was terrific and my partner's pasta dish was terrific too. The 'wood-fired broccoli' was also amazing. Waiter was also extremely knowledgeable about wine. Doesn't seem to be much of a late-night place--we left at 9:30 and virtually closed the place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 23, 2017

Wonderful experience until I needed to use the restroom and couldn't because it was upstairs. Not disability friendly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

Food was outstanding and full of flavor. The server was knowledgeable and provided helpful recommendations. I would love to come back on a warmer evening and sit outside under the lights!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Wood burning stove out back had amazing aroma and made delicious traditional Italian pizza and wood grilled beets!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 8, 2017

My wife and I have dined at Trentina at least a dozen times. We have never left feeling anything other than extremely satisfied.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

With our cousin visiting from Chicago last weekend, we wanted to share a sure great dinner out with him, and Trentina fit the bill perfectly. We were all impressed with the exquisite quality of their food. Tim really enjoyed a glass of their Italian white wine after not liking his sampling a taste of their Slovenia white. Portions were moderate in size but just right for us seniors, so will be back again. The duck breast was succulent and golden beet salad memorable.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was very good, but the atmosphere was in no way romantic. Our sever smelled like BO and they were more focused on the Indians game than asking if we needed to order more drinks. Overall it was a good experience but in the competitive cleveland restraint scene I don’t think I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Food was incredible. Trentina nailed it again with the salmon tartare, then my wife had the bucatini and I had the lamb bolognese. Food was great, wine was perfectly suited, and we really enjoyed our meal here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Server did good with the wine. We ordered three salads and entrees the server only put one salad in. The food all came out at once and we decided to ask for only one more salad. The second salad came out and it was off, very sweet tasting. We mentioned this to the server and she didn't have much of a response nor did she take it off the bill. also one of us asked for cheese on the pasta and we were given a tiny plate with Parmesan shavings, not as much as we had wanted. attentiveness of th service trailed off toward the end, though food was mostly good it was a bit disappointing given our experience last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Not a large variety on the menu. Very limited menu

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Trentina underwent a management change around 4 weeks ago (early September-2017). The menu and prices have not changed, but both the service and food preparation have deteriorated markedly. With only around 20 people, perhaps 7 tables, service was very, very slow. In fact, we never figured out who-if anyone-was supposed to be our server. Trentina's (formerly) wonderful puffy bread, $8, had barely raised in the oven and someone decided to address this by dousing it with oil before it came to the table. It didn't help, nor did the suet candle which left wick-ashes but did not melt much of anything before going out. Despite assurances that it would be ready soon after our appetizers, the wait for lasagna was 45 minutes-long after the appetizers had been cleared from the table. The Njuda pizza had none of the promised mozzarella and a minimal amount of sausage. In short, it was essentially nothing but bread. Perhaps the new management will improve, but at the moment Trentina should be regarded as barely satisfactory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Very disappointed. Cleveland has many better choices at a lower cost. Limited menu, bland food, served lukewarm at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Trentino exceeded our high expectations. We were visiting from our of town. I did my research and was so happy to have found Trentina on line. The food, service and atmosphere were all exceptional! Look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Extremely disappointing experience. We left halfway through the tasting menu due to extremely sluggish service (2.5 hours for 6 courses out of 12) and lackluster food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

The 11 course tasting menu was a home run. Service couldn't be better. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Excellent place for many reasons, foid service location price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Took friends from Lake Placid, NY and we wanted to treat them to our favorite place and chef. We are all foodies and they loved it! The menu is very creative and fresh. The patio is very nice too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday. I am vegan and the staff was very friendly and catered to my dietary preferences. We made reservations ahead of time. Overall the food and the wine were wonderful and we will definitely be coming back in the future!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We were very disappointed with our dining experience.
The food was fair in taste, and the service unenthusiastic and extremely slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Wife ordered pasta to start which was good, pizza for second course. Pizza was raw so we had another made and it was raw again. I think majority of service attention is for those that participate in the tasting menu. Price point may be a little high given service and food quality. We actually went to Greenhouse Tavern after because we were still hungry. Also owned by same person, excellent service and food - highly recommend. First review I have written but felt obligated given the fact we spent $200.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.