About Trentina

1903 Ford Drive
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's Restaurant Trentina explores the rich diversity of culture and joyful voice of cuisine in the regions of northeastern Italy. The menu exemplifies the commonalities between the valleys of Trentino-Alto Adige and the Cuyahoga Valley, including a strong sense of gastronomic craftsmanship and agricultural heritage. Allow us to take you on a journey as we interpret tradition through an elegant and modern lens.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Italian, German

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 11 am - 4 pm; 5 pm - 10 pm

Saturday: 10 am - 2 pm*; 5 pm - 10 pm

Sunday: 10 am - 2 pm*; 4 pm - 9 pm

*Alcohol sales begin after 11 am

Cross Street:
Ford and Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 421-2900

Website:
http://www.restauranttrentina.com/

Entertainment:
Located within walking distance of The Cleveland Museum of Art, The Cleveland Orchestra's Severance Hall, The Cleveland Botanical Gardens, Cleveland Museum of Contemporary Art, Western Reserve Historical Society, The Cleveland Museum of Natural History.

Parking Details:
We share parking with the Glidden House hotel and additional metered street parking is available as well. Complimentary valet is offered on Friday and Saturday evenings.

Public Transit:
RTA Cedar-University Rapid Station

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Trentina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Fit for Foodies
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in University Circle ›

Fit for Foodies (31)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Special Occasion (23)
Local Ingredients (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Romantic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Wood Oven (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Cozy (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Authentic (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Seasonal (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Organic (5)
Casual (5)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tapas (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Another great meal at Trentina! Rigaton ...

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined 5 days ago

Another great meal at Trentina! Rigatoni with land was amazing. Pizza was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall excellent ding experience, food ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall excellent ding experience, food was amazing from the starters to dessert. Can't say enough and can't wait to get back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really delicious dinner- some of the bes ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Really delicious dinner- some of the best food we have had in Cleveland in the last few years. Went before a performance at Playhouse Square.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we arrived our table wasn't ready a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

When we arrived our table wasn't ready and they send us next door to the bar at the hotel, which is fine, but they may want to work out a system with the hotel because one beer and one glass of sparkling water shouldn't cost $17 without tip, but it did.

This is our second time there and the pizza is very good. The salad not so much. The pastas are average but not bad. The sauce was kind of heavy. The noodles though were very good, fresh. Every good restaurant should have great coffee. The coffee unfortunately is way too weak.

My biggest pet peeve about the place is the ambiance. it's totally lacking from the décor, etc , to the tables, whacking your leg when you go to get up or move. maybe the patio is better

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Perfect dinner. Wonderful salad - simp ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Perfect dinner. Wonderful salad - simple but excellent. Pasta, again, simple but absolutely delectable. The food here works, you can tell how much thought and expertise goes into the preparation. Service, as always, was impeccable. The only flaw is the price of a glass of wine - a little steep.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent preparation, imaginative menu, ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

excellent preparation, imaginative menu, local sourcing, very fair prices, highly recommended

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative menu, delicious food, sophistic ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Creative menu, delicious food, sophisticated ambience. Also, some of the best coffee I've ever had.

I appreciated that the portion sizes were reasonable and not excessive.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Red Basket Farm salad was great as u ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The Red Basket Farm salad was great as usual. It is our favorite salad in Cleveland. The potato pizza was incredible. My wife had the buckwheat spaghetti which was excellent. I had the Nona's pasta which was good, but not as good as the first time I had it. I would give the restaurant 4 1/2 stars as 5 stars would imply perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Went for the 12 course tasting g menu. T ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Went for the 12 course tasting g menu. Tge food was incredible. However, it was more food that I - or my companion - could comfortably eat. And the chef would not permit us to box up any leftovers. So did not particularly enjoy the last 4 or 5 dishes as we were already full. Bad policy. So I couldn't really appreciate all of the $115 meal. I may go back again, but certainly not for one of the special things about Trentina

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I stopped for lunch after vi ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

My wife and I stopped for lunch after visiting area museums and had a wonderful lunch. Treat yourself to the "Table Bread" served in olive oil and dusted with sea salt.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Trentina has incredible food and service ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Trentina has incredible food and service. Honestly the only "drawback" is the room lighting. I don't pretend to understand the nuances of fine dining and decor, but if I had to say, the dining experience is reduced some when eating in cold, flat light. The mood was improved incredibly when the "tallow candle" was served. That little addition of light made everything feel warmer. Still, incredible food. The bianco bolognese was amazing.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Was in CLE for a weekend. JS's restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Was in CLE for a weekend. JS's restaurants were highly recommended so we tried this one. The only available time was 5 pm so we skipped lunch and took an early supper. We were the only people in the restaurant for 90 minutes when another couple finally arrived -- so that was weird. The food was good but there was eggplant in the lasagna which created an allergy issue that went unacknowledged If going I recommend ordering a few plates to share to create a cadence to the meal. Otherwise it feels somewhat flat

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Creative food. Knowledgeable and accommo ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Creative food. Knowledgeable and accommodating staff and a thoughtful list of regional wines of northern Italy ( Alto)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Trentina is a great restaurant with exce ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Trentina is a great restaurant with excellent food and service. The portions are on the smaller side but this allows you to try multiple things on the menu which is nice. Great restaurant, would definitely go back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great selection of brunch and dinner ite ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great selection of brunch and dinner items. Excellent presentation and preparation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

When we're in Cleveland, Trentina never ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

When we're in Cleveland, Trentina never disappoints! We had another great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome pasta and bread. Consistently g ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Awesome pasta and bread. Consistently great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was superb. However there was no mention of our anniversary by the staff or a congratulations on our child to be which was mentioned in a conversation with the staff. The staff was very knowledgeable on the products and the specialities that were used to prepare these dishes; however they missed the mark with the personal touch with me. I would definitely return to this class A restaurant it just must have been an oversight that night.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Server was overly talkative and slow. Bo ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Server was overly talkative and slow. Both the salad and the entree were over-salted (the saltiest meal I ever choked down in my life. I didn't mention it at the time because I didn't want to spoil the evening, but, sure enough, both my husband and my daughter remarked on it later). The ambiance was lacking - a candle would have been nice at least. A good bottle of wine was the only saving grace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

My husband and I had dinner at Trentina ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My husband and I had dinner at Trentina for a birthday celebration. Other than being seated right by the front entrance( worst table in place) the food and service were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The broccoli and red leaf lettuce were e ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The broccoli and red leaf lettuce were excellent. The red leaf salad is one of my favorite salads anywhere. The pasta Nona was good, but not as good as usual. The pasta was gummy and clumped together leading me to believe that it needed a little more pasta water to prevent this problem. The cavatelli with grapes was interesting. I like grapes and I like cavatelli but the combo didn't really work for us. Separately, both the pasta and grapes were tasty. The one dish that failed and the only dish we have ever had at Trentina that we didn't think was excellent or very good was the vegetarian eggplant. The eggplant just wasn't very tasty. The accompanying sauce of chickpeas, tomatoes, capers, and cheese was tasty, but a little salty. Overall, a very good meal with some minor complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great kitchen. They highlight the area o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great kitchen. They highlight the area of far northern Italy that has german influence. The food and wine reflect that in a creative way.

Tags: Vegan, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Second time we were here, both times the ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Second time we were here, both times the food has been delicious! Our waiter was one of the best in the city. Go! Enjoy!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A University Park gem!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2016

A University Park gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is a hidden gem for sure. Very smal ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 10, 2016

This is a hidden gem for sure. Very small dining area but beautiful patio! The small dining area certainly makes it a quaint area to have a meal with a small group or just the two of you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The gluten free options lack. Although t ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The gluten free options lack. Although the gf pasta that they did was very well done. Wouldn't go back due to the limited gluten free options. Beautiful outside dining. Redoing the outside footing would be advised and I'm not even 30 years old. I can't quite imagine sitting on uneven concrete as an older diner. The chef did a lovely job creating beautiful dishes. Would recommend but wouldn't go back ourselves.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Made reservations for this Thursday to c ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Made reservations for this Thursday to celebrate my wife's birthday. Location is nestled on Case's campus near the museum district and Severance Hall. Started with cheese/pickle/charcuterie plate, which had several excellent selections, notably the polenta cracker and coffee rind cheese. Excellent selection of wines--not an overwhelming list but a good assortment of high quality options. For mains, my wife had the duck two ways, which was perfectly cooked and had the smoky flavor afforded by the wood oven. I went with the lasagna, which reacted equally well to the smokiness and was given an extra unique texture by the house made noodles. Service was excellent--well explained menu, extremely kind and helpful, and gave enough space to enjoy the service. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great.Service a little slow.Res ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Food was great.Service a little slow.Restrooms are inaccessible for handicapped.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great dinner we had the tasting menu. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Great dinner we had the tasting menu. Everything was wonderful and beautiful on the plate. The service was very good , friendly and efficient. The different courses were explained well as was the wine pairing.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trentina was outstanding the staff was a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Trentina was outstanding the staff was attentive to our every request and the food was memorable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful and interesting and t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Food was wonderful and interesting and the bread was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Creative cuisine coupled with excellent ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Creative cuisine coupled with excellent service. The food was outstanding. The menu options/preparations were well explained and accurate. Our server was also sensitive to our time needs, attending Cleveland Orchestra concert. A great experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I came here for our annivers ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 28, 2016

My wife and I came here for our anniversary. We had been to other Jonathon Sawyer restaurants, but this was our first time at Trentina. We had a great time! The food was excellent and a great value. As a plus, the bathrooms have fancy space-age toilets that are worth checking out.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did the tasting menu, and it was phen ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We did the tasting menu, and it was phenomenal! It's expensive, but it's worth it to taste so many amazing options!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been wanting to try this restaura ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 19, 2016

We had been wanting to try this restaurant for a while, but it is small so reservations are a must and require a credit card. We had the grilled cauliflower and a mushroom pizza. I thought both were outstanding, and would try everything on the menu! My husband is a meat and potatoes guy, so he didn't like the food as much. Nice patio in one of the prettiest locations in Cleve, University Circle.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Shockingly bad, especially for what is s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Shockingly bad, especially for what is supposedly one of Cleveland's best restaurants. First of all, if you're going to specialize in the cuisine of a particular region, train your staff to pronounce it properly. Alto Adige is not pronounced ah-DEEJ. But the food was unbelievably awful, starting with the charcuterie plate, which featured an oddly textured, underflavored mortadella, some pallid slices of pork, two hunks of cheese that were too cold and mostly rind, and pickled broccoli stems that were nasty-tasting and so fibrous that I literally gagged on one piece. The house-"extruded" pasta was gummy and oversauced with some sort of flavorless goo. My halibut had a burned crust and was horribly overcooked. My brother's pizza, a house specialty, had a soggy crust, a weird-colored and texured tomato sauce and no flavor. Avoid this disaster or you'll regret it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

$12 for a gimlet? $12 for a glass of whi ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 15, 2016

$12 for a gimlet? $12 for a glass of white wine? Well, I guess. We were looking forward to Trentina, having heard a lot about it, but the menu was...what is the word...overreaching. Trying too hard. Bread for $8? Grilled cauliflower for $15? The oysters were fresh, but the menu said they were served "with a Prosecco mignionette, fresh horseradish and citrus" but what that means is the oysters were served with all that atop, not on the side to be doled out according to taste. The osso bucco was terrific, and the smaller serving sizes are much appreciated. My Rigatoni Bolognese Blanco was very good. But then came the check. Again, $12 for a gimlet? I guess I have got to get used to restaurants trying to recoup all their investment quickly. Yes, we will go back. Nobody judges a restaurant on one visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Pleasant experience overall. Great servi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Pleasant experience overall. Great service. Wide choice in all menu categories. Loved the (shared) table bread with beef tallow candle for starters...original and delicious. Charcuterie platter also unique and tasty.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Organic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Quite frankly, after having an outstandi ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Quite frankly, after having an outstanding meal at their sister restaurant (The Greenhouse Tavern), we were severely disappointed. We were so excited to go to Johathon's new Trentina, after GHT and were so, so unimpressed and uninspired. We decided to go with the 12 course, all in signature specially prepared dinner by the chef. Honestly, the ala carte menu would have been a far better decision. How can one suggest the seafood feature of that 12 course menu be a dish of anchovies as the only seafood? Come on now. Also, the service was unpolished (as was the service at GHT). Jonathon should take some lessons from Michael Symon's restaurants which have incredibly polished service and outstanding food. If you haven't tried it yet, go to Lola--far greater experience, food and service than Trenstina. Perhaps I should stop now. But having spent close to $500 for this meal was just short of ridiculous.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

The waitress seemed very friendly at fir ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The waitress seemed very friendly at first and then ignored us. The food wasn't seasoned- grilled broccoli appetizer, grilled cauliflower and halibut lacked flavor. Vegetables tasted more steamed then grilled and had little flavor. Smores dessert was the highlight of the meal. Overall, we were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.