About Tre Enoteca

555 W Bitters Rd.
in the back
San Antonio, TX 78216
View Larger Map

Chef Jason Dady's Tre Enoteca features Wood Oven Pizzas, Antipasti, Fresh Pasta Entrees and delicious Desserts, including our signature Nutella X3. Full wine list, cocktails and beer selections compliment the menu. Gluten Free Pasta is available.

Join us Wednesdays for Cast Iron Fried Chicken & Fridays for Wagyu Meatballs with Spaghetti.

With a beautiful patio and outdoor fireplace, now is the perfect time to enjoy Tre Enoteca!

Call us for phone reservations at (210)496-0555.
Now Accepting Reservations for Graduation and Private Dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Modern Tuscan, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm,

Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
The Alley at Bitters & Savannah Pass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 496-0555

Website:
http://treenoteca.com/

Catering:
Private Dining & Catering
Jason Dady Restaurants offers a complimentary comprehensive private dining planning and event coordination with a selection of packages that can accommodate parties from 6 to 300 people for weddings, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, anniversaries, corporate events, pharma seminars and in-home catering. Parties may be hosted at our 4 venues or at the location of your choice.
We take pride in working with you to customize your event, tailoring it to your budget by providing value and attention in each detail of your event.

Parking Details:
Located at The Alley on Bitters, there is plenty of parking and some covered parking.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jason Dady & Team

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning a formal dinner or just a causal social hour, Tre Enoteca is the perfect location for your next event. Our exclusive private dining room seats up to 30. Call today for availability.

Private Party Contact:
Liza Hill-Rodriguez: (210) 289-4955

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tre Enoteca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Casual (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Romantic (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fireplace (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Fun (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Family Style (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
Authentic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food as always but the drinks didn ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food as always but the drinks didn't tasse like they contained fresh ingredients and just like all of chef daddy's restaurants, the service was lacking and inexperienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Just another great experience!! Of cours ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Just another great experience!! Of course this time is was Valentines Day and Executive Chef/Owner Jason Dady put together a wonderful 4 course meal everyone could pick and enjoy from. Service here is always top notch. If you haven't stopped in before, I highly recommend the goat cheese grill cheeses with tomato jam to start and The Refresher drink to compliment it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An overall disappointing dinner. The ext ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

An overall disappointing dinner. The exterior lighting and signage was very poor so we walked all around the complex before finding the place. The salad was served on a hot-from-the dishwasher plate. NY Strip steak was undercooked and had to be sent back. Salmon was overly salted. The pasta dishes were good. Dessert was made from Sara Lee pound cake which was subsequently grilled in butter on a flat top producing an even heavier dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

What a perfect Valentines dinner at Tre ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

What a perfect Valentines dinner at Tre Enoteca. As soon as we walked in to when we departed, nothing but the upmost attention and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food, best service ever, have ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Incredible food, best service ever, have been to a lot of so called great restaurants... always left unfulfilled... this place delivers, everything we were looking for and more!!!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was too expensive for the amount and ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was too expensive for the amount and quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Great dinner following a movie at the Em ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great dinner following a movie at the Embassy. The restaurant week menu was outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, , Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We first get to the restaurant and wait ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We first get to the restaurant and wait 10 minutes to be seated , even though we had a reservation . Then we get our fresh cut mozzarella and the bread was extremely salty. Then we receive our entrees which were pasta. The gnocchis were fine though a bit bland. The pasta with mushrooms were also extremely salty. Paid $80 including 2 glasses of wine. Too much for nothing memorable. I miss the Italian food in nyc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We tried Tre Enoteca for Restaurant Week ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We tried Tre Enoteca for Restaurant Week and the food was wonderful. They featured a cauliflower bisque that was truly amazing. We added the wine pairing which was a nice touch and very tasty. We also tried the golden beet appetizer and grilled goat cheese sandwhiches with tomato jam from the normal menu; they were both excellent.

The ambiance is rustic and relaxing, yet chic. We really enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was awesome. We made a reserv ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Our server was awesome. We made a reservation and were the only people there for an hour and a half. Our server made us have a great time. He was very generous, helped us make good decisions on the menu, and kept us entertained with his humor. I expected the menu to be more interesting and the flavors in the pasta to be more pronounced. This would be a nice spot to go with big groups and please everyone.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We went to celebrate my husbands birthda ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We went to celebrate my husbands birthday and it happened to be restaurant week also. The menu was fabulous as well as the wine pairings. Nothing was left on our plates!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried Tre Enoteca for Restaurant Week ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We tried Tre Enoteca for Restaurant Week. We walked to the restaurant, which was a big plus!!!

We were seated at our reservation time and the service was good, however the place is very plain with almost nothing on the walls or tables. Perhaps that is the look that is desired, however a table cloth and candle or vase on the table would have improved the experience for me. A basket of bread or crackers with the drinks would also have been appreciated.

My husband had the Market Cut beef which he really enjoyed; it was cooked to perfection! He also enjoyed his Nutella dessert, though he said the Caprese salad was too salty.

I had the Ceaser salad, which was way too salty, followed by the Oven Fired Chicken which was really disappointing. I was very surprised to be served a small attached thigh and leg, which were very salty, atop a grain with kale. The grain and kale were ok. My dessert, the Pound Cake with Marscipone and Fruit was excellent! All the Restaurant Week menu items were from the regular dinner menu, so you can have them on any visit. They have a decent drink/wine menu and outdoor seating for nice weather.

I will take my husband here for his upcoming birthday as we can walk there and he really loved the beef he had.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

I specifically selected Wednesday becaus ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I specifically selected Wednesday because of the delicious lasagna - can't say enough about that!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food for Restaurant week was wonderf ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The food for Restaurant week was wonderful! The wine pairings were perfect and even with an extra bottle of wine before dinner the cost per person was much less than expected. We love Jason Dady & Tre Enoteca

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant week

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Restaurant week

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing on our Jan. 13 tr ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Everything was amazing on our Jan. 13 trip here. We love this place because it's right across the street from our home. We shared an appetizer of cheese, nuts and bread with a bottle of wine at the bar. All were fantastic. At our table for dinner we had another bottle of outstanding wine. The market salad was amazing and the chicken parm that I had was out of this world. (Be warned as the portion of the chicken parm is enough for a small army!!!) my husband had the fish which was also amazing. We finished off the night with coffee and dessert. We had a great time!!! We spent about $350 but that was because of the great bottles of wine. A great bargain in my book!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been long time fans and patrons ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We have been long time fans and patrons of the original Tre Trattoria in Alamo Heights, and the original Bin 555. Enoteca's menu was a little more "challenging" for me than Trattoria when they first opened, but in its latest version I actually prefer it to the original.

We have actually eaten here twice in the past week, and everything in this most recent visit was simply stellar: the quality and freshness of the ingredients, the service, and the ambiance. It doesn't really matter how good the food if it is sitting in the kitchen getting cold, or you spend your entire meal trying to track down your server. This night was completely packed, but the manager John kept things humming with a large party and limited staff.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tre is always solid. Food is well prepar ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Tre is always solid. Food is well prepared, interesting and a good value. Wait staff is attentive.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We enjoyed the New Year's Day Brunch and ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed the New Year's Day Brunch and it was fabulous! Our server made wonderful recommendations and was very attentive. The brunch selections were all outstanding and it was difficult to select one! We had a wonderful family brunch...very delicious and very relaxing. We will be back!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time on New Years Eve. Fo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a great time on New Years Eve.

Food was outstanding. 5 course meal with wine pairing was perfect! Recommend highly!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You have to discover this hidden gem. O ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 18, 2016

You have to discover this hidden gem. Outstanding Jason Dady foodie food in a warm inviting atmosphere. Excellent rustic Italian cuisine. From Italian country comfort food like the gnocchi with lamb ragu to the creative fish dishes to the savory wood fired pizzas and the rich burrata, Tre Enoteca serves up great food in a cool ambience. Here you'll enjoy a romantic dinner for two or a great group gathering.

The service is top notch and the bar is excellent. So make it to the back of the Alley on Bitters. It's closer than you think. And so worth it.

Tags: Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried Tre after a poor experience wit ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We tried Tre after a poor experience with its previous Asian incarnation. This was better but not by much. Of the 3 menu items 2 were good (not great) and one was not consumed. Issue was greater with service, they were clearly understaffed, tables left unbussed for 15+ minutes and an overwhelmed waiter. I'll try it again but my fiancé not so willing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

We had been working hard all day and wan ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had been working hard all day and wanted a nice place to relax and have a great meal !

We gave short notice but our table was ready for us when we arrived! Felt right at home

and had great service! Will certainly go again! ALREADY PLANNING A BIG FAMILY GET TOGETHER!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, , Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's a little out of the way and hard to ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

It's a little out of the way and hard to find, but worth the effort. Fantastic, fresh flavors, excellent service (thank you Liza), and a very relaxing place to enjoy a meal with a beautiful woman! Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food, but 45 minutes for 2 sala ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Fabulous food, but 45 minutes for 2 salads is way too long during an empty brunch service. They ended up comping our meal, but service ruined what was otherwise a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You'd be happy with just their amazing a ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 8, 2016

You'd be happy with just their amazing appetizers alone. The deviled eggs, pulled mozzarella, burrata, white beans, beets, and orzo were all delicious. But, save some room for the pastas. The bolognese was a favorite, and the bucatini and clams and pesto also outstanding. Wonderful food, great service, beautiful and quaint space.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Local Ingredients, , Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time I've dined at Tr ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 1, 2016

This is the second time I've dined at Tre, and I do no think there will be a third. I was looking forward to getting the house-pulled mozzarella I'd enjoyed so much in my first visit. However, the cheese was extremely rubbery instead of soft and buttery as it had been previously. It was difficult to even cut it. Service was exceedingly slow, even though there were only three other very small groups of diners. Dinner took about 30 minutes to arrive. The portions were more than generous. The lasagna special was in a casserole pan, large enough to feed a small family! There was no perceptible different taste to the Wagyu beef that was advertised to be in the lasagna - it was just like ordinary hamburger meat. The lasagna was just okay - the sauce was devoid of seasoning. The Campanelle Bolognese was very good, though. Just overall, nothing special - there is much better ambience, service and Italian cuisine to be had elsewhere in town, including my own kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

Everything about this place is great. W ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Everything about this place is great. Walking into a place that recognizes you, knows your name, and puts you with one of the best servers is an awesome feeling. I love going here, whether it's a special occasion, a quiet dinner, or happy hour, is my go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I don't think I'll ever go back to this ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I don't think I'll ever go back to this place. I got mislead by the almost 5-star rating of this place.

First, it is a little strange location in the back of a plaza, which is not properly indicated. Service

was extremely slow. It took about 10 minutes for the server to show up. The place was empty and there was no noticeable bottleneck anywhere else.

The place features an open kitchen which is not visually appealing, looks a little dirty and messy from the outside.

The lighting and the environment overall were good, the outside patio is nice, but completely underused.

Seemed like the place was good for brick-oven pizza, so we decided to order a mushroom pizza and burrata. The flavors were ok, but not extraordinary. If I may offer another better alternative in terms of price/quality go to Doug Pizzeria Napolitana.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We chose Tre Enoteca to celebrate my bir ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We chose Tre Enoteca to celebrate my birthday because we have dined here before and it was a great experience. This time, we were rather disappointed. On a Friday night, we were one of two tables. The server was slow, the entrees came out separately, and my friend 's steak was under done for what she had ordered. I did enjoy my meal, though. The butternut squash bisque was creamy and subtly flavored. The bolognese sauce was just spicy enough and it was a generous portion. I got to savor the leftovers the next day. To their credit, the did bring out a lovely chocolate torte topped with a candle for me, vert sweet of them.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

The service was very slow, which was dis ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The service was very slow, which was disappointing as it didn't seem too busy. Our server would disappear for long stretches, which normally doesn't bother us during obviously busy times, but we were literally the only people on the patio for much of our meal. He did bring us a complimentary dessert as a peace offering for the ridiculous wait, and explained the kitchen was having some quality control issues which pushed several orders back, but it would've been much nicer to get that explanation earlier on, rather than at the end of our meal.

Like every visit to a Jason Dady restaurant, the food was excellent and up to the par we expect from his kitchens.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I love this place, but their service rea ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I love this place, but their service really str

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

The gnocchi as always amazing, but I thi ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The gnocchi as always amazing, but I think I prefer the original sauce.

The best Bolognese sauce EVER. So good, I ordered it on the side and they accommodated me.

Wish the meatballs and fried chicken were available every night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the ambiance here at happy hour. P ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Love the ambiance here at happy hour. Pizza and apps are great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Have dined there several times before; n ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Have dined there several times before; never disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The deviled eggs are awesome.

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The deviled eggs are awesome.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant because the food is ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Love this restaurant because the food is excellent, however our last visit gave us lousy service. We had to ask several times to get more bread and more drinks, two of out had our food arrive more than five minutes before the other two so they sat there getting cold while we waited . On top of that our bill was wrong. What made it worse was that we had brought friends to show off our new favorite restaurant. We will return anyway, and give it another try because this was our first bad experience after many visits. Also there is a patio with great potential but it has cheap furniture, gritty tabletops from the outdoors, leaves and debris and dead plants around. I wish they would make it more inviting. It could be the best patio dining in this town. I'm glad Chef Dady works so hard on the food, it shows! But his restaurants lack ambiance, mainly due to some overlooked details and clutter laying around that patrons should not see. He should hire a consultant to tweak his places or new management.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Contrary to my usual instincts, I took a ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Contrary to my usual instincts, I took an out of town guest to Tre Enoteca even though it was my first time at this restaurant. I did this based on the reputation of the chef. It was an embarrassing experience for me as the host. To begin with, the waiter openly told us that he could not help with wine selection because he was only working there part-time and hadn't tasted any of the wines. He did not offer to bring over anyone with experience. But the biggest disappointment was the food. We split the orchiaetta with wild mushrooms as an appetizer. It was good, not great. But the entrées were dreadful. I had the chicken, which was undercooked. My guest had the halibut, which was overcooked. But the strangest thing was the dessert. The Panna cotta had a very strange bitter, chemical taste. And the strawberries on top had a very unpleasant texture.

I expected more from this restaurant. I will not be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We dined on the last night of Tre Enotec ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We dined on the last night of Tre Enoteca's special menu. It was DELISH! I loved the ambiance and could actually hear the conversation. I love this is at The Alley on Bitters. I can't wait for cooler weather so we can dine al fresco!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food! The Caesar Salad was the ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Excellent food! The Caesar Salad was the best I've had, the salad that came with my grilled chicken was also awesome. The steak my girlfriend ordered was top-notch! Definitely going back.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.