Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

The Kitchen by Wolfgang PuckThe Kitchen by Wolfgang Puck
(297)
$$$$
Global, International | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Booked 10 times today
Cygnus 27Cygnus 27
(950)
$$$$
Global, International | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Booked 10 times today
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand RapidsRuth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids
(490)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Booked 9 times today
Reserve Wine & FoodReserve Wine & Food
(566)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Booked 5 times today
DivaniDivani
(136)
$$$$
Global, International | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Booked 5 times today
Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand RapidsSix One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids
(740)
$$$$
American | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Booked 9 times today
Judson’s Steakhouse at The BOBJudson’s Steakhouse at The BOB
(618)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Booked 5 times today
Gilly's at The B.O.B.Gilly's at The B.O.B.
(617)
$$$$
Seafood | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Booked 3 times today
Bistro Bella VitaBistro Bella Vita
(1585)
$$$$
Modern European | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Booked 15 times today
The BOB - Bobarino'sThe BOB - Bobarino's
(15)
$$$$
American | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
The Heritage RestaurantThe Heritage Restaurant
(364)
$$$$
Global, International | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Booked 2 times today
Wheelhouse - Grand RapidsWheelhouse - Grand Rapids
(104)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Booked 18 times today
IRON RestaurantIRON Restaurant
(45)
$$$$
American | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Booked 5 times today
Osteria RossaOsteria Rossa
(39)
$$$$
Italian | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Booked 13 times today
Charley's Crab - Grand RapidsCharley's Crab - Grand Rapids
(1190)
$$$$
Seafood | Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids
Booked 5 times today

About Tre Cugini

122 Monroe Center Street NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Tre Cugini is proud to be the recipient of several dining awards and strives to uphold the everyday standards of a fine dining establishment. Tre Cugini's authentic Italian cuisine is inspired by its Owner, Adriano Moscatelli. Our diverse and talented team of chefs, equipped with a rich culinary history and experience, bring a never ending beauty to every dish prepared. A charming team of service professionals will guide our guests through a unique dining experience, as we strive to make diners feel like friends and family. Tre Cugini has selected a strong cellar of unique and obscure Italian wines for your enjoyment, and has developed a great reputation for very creative martinis. Located in the center of downtown by the new "Art District" (across from the Grand Rapids Art Museum), we have carved out a taste of Italy in the heart of Grand Rapids.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Monroe Avenue & Ottawa Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 235-9339

Website:
http://www.trecugini.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy the musical stylings of accordianist Michael Schaeffer on Friday and Saturday nights

Private Party Facilities:
Tre Cugini offers two banquet spaces that can accommodate groups of 10 to 200 guests. Our small space is completely private and is perfect for business groups of up to 30. The larger "La Scala" atrium is a beautiful open area that feels like a European courtyard, and is perfect for any occasion!

Private Party Contact:
Adriano: (616) 235-9339

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tre Cugini Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.2

ambience

3.8

value

2.9

noise

Quiet

17% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
See All
Romantic (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
577 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I feel like tre has gone downhill. The r ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I feel like tre has gone downhill. The risotto was bland and ungarnished. The mussels were rubbery (old?) as was the lobster tail that came with the special. My beet salad was good, but the cheese was blue, not goat. I'm not sure who had more personality, our server or the complimentary bread.

It wasn't terrible, but for $250 I expected more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We all enjoyed our delicious meals but t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We all enjoyed our delicious meals but the service was disappointing as the server was stretched with a large group and we waited forever to get our main dishes. Kept having to ask for things like water refil, bread, etc. For the high price of dining here, and lack of prompt service, may find another option.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Very pricey for what it is. $14 for a g ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very pricey for what it is. $14 for a glass of wine and $7 for a light beer is quite high......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Food was just ok

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Food was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The one of bread offerings was hard and ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The one of bread offerings was hard and stale. Olive tapenade was great, as always. Pasta dish with sausage and butternut squash was good as well as the veal scallopini. Hot & tasty. The caprese salad had tasteless tomatoes and bland dressing.

Server was very young and inexperienced. He tried hard but was uncomfortable opening a wine bottle and clearly had minimal experience. We ordered a bottle of wine and instead he brought us a glass each.

We visited on a Saturday evening and our four people along with another four person group were the only persons in the restaurant. We had better experiences in the past, but clearly something has happened over there. I hope they can get on top of it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We came in for dinner last night and it ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We came in for dinner last night and it was absolutely awful! My chicken Marsala had no flavor and to be quite cranky, was disgusting. The only good thing about my $26 plate was the potatoes. For being an "upscale" restaurant, it definitely is lacking. Thanks for making us pay $75 hard earned dollars on gross food 😤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

It's a fine place, but overpriced. The l ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 21, 2016

It's a fine place, but overpriced. The listing says $30 and under. More like $45 and under. I would go to Amore again before I'd go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

We stopped here for dinner before an eve ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We stopped here for dinner before an event at the GRAM. It was not very busy but we always love the atmosphere. Service was great, meal was great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was awful. New waitress had too ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Service was awful. New waitress had too many tables and was having issues. No one helped her. Salad took 45 minutes to show up. Gaps of 10-15 minutes without service. Water server was the highlight as he was always there. But that is a sad highlight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

We we're visiting Grand Rapids and feel ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We we're visiting Grand Rapids and feel we discovered a gem. From the friendly and welcoming greeting to the service and great food it made for a great evening

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food at this once great restaurant h ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 21, 2016

The food at this once great restaurant has gone way downhill. Our expensive bowls of pasta were cafeteria quality at best. They didn't taste or look good. Spaghetti Bolognese was gloppy pasta with tasteless, watery sauce. The linguini with clams was so full of broth, it was like pasta soup. Caprese Salads consisted of two small slices of almost-ripe tomatoes, with two small slices of mozzarella cheese. No basal, garnishment, or balsamic. That's it in the middle of a white plate. Looked very sad. If they can't find a ripe tomato in September, when will they. The table next to us complained as well, so I know it was more than just me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Very nice dinner for my wife's birthday. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Very nice dinner for my wife's birthday. We had great service and the food was awesome. My wife raved about the scallops that she had. The server messed up our bill but management was apologetic and all over it. No problem!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been here many times and enjoyed ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We have been here many times and enjoyed the food and service. This night was a significant disappointment. We were celebrating my wife's birthday. It took 20 minutes to bring our cocktails to the table, and the restaurant was almost empty! My wife ordered veal parmigiana and received veal scaloppini. When we questioned the waiter about it he questioned what she had ordered and then said "well thats how we make it here. We asked the manager about when we left, indicating we were disappointed and he said "We will take care of it next time." There won't be a next time for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

One of our favorite places to celebrate ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 6, 2016

One of our favorite places to celebrate our anniversary. And the band and dancing in Rosa Park Circle was a real treat. Because of the date, there is always something going on there I think. It was a wonderful evening in their outside dining area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I was on my own and alone for dinner and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2016

I was on my own and alone for dinner and this place was an easy walk from my hotel.

It may not be t be the most romantic venue in town, but the food and the wine list more than make me p for any lack in ambiance.

I had the Osso Bucco with a glass of Amarone - it simply outstanding.

Very cool little place with great food and wine offerings

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Their homemade pasta was excellent! The ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Their homemade pasta was excellent! The spinach ravioli I ordered was delicious. My husband got clams over linguine that was even better. He was disappointed with skimpy number of clams included, but it's tastiness made up for it. Salads were delicious but pricey. Pinot noir wine was overpriced. The restaurant was in a perfect location for us when we were on our way to a show at DeVos Place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This was the perfect venue for a "pre-De ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2016

This was the perfect venue for a "pre-DeVos" dinner with friends. And, it's always good to see our friend, Adriano. As with our other visits, the evenings entrées were wonderful. It got a little busy as others going to the show filled up the tables. But, our server, MaryAnn, did a fabulous job keeping everyone's order straight. Parking in the adjacent parking lot saved a lot of time instead of taking up to 20 minutes waiting to exit the packed Monroe & Lyon parking garage after the show. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

When you spend over $100/person you exce ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 18, 2016

When you spend over $100/person you except a great experience. Unfortunately, that is not what we receive at Tre Cugini. The food was mediocre at best and service was fair. We used to love this restaurant but we will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Great food, but nobody there.

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 4, 2016

We go to Tre Cugini every year for our anniversary on the Friday of Festival and every year the restaurant is less busy. This year, it was a beautiful night, the streets were busy but the restaurant was empty, which is very sad. It is a great place but it seems they have lost touch with how to bring in the customers. I hope they can turn it around because it's a wonderful place filled with great memories!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Sad Experience

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 28, 2016

In the past, we have always enjoyed dining at Tre Cugini. However this visit was quiet the let down. Our reservation was for 6pm prior to going to the theater. The service was very slow. We ordered an appetizer that took almost 40 minutes to get to our table. Once we got the appetizer, we had to ask how long our entrée was going to be so that we could make the theater on time. We were not able to have dessert or coffee due to the timing. The appetizer was quite good, we had the mussels. Our entrée was the sea food risotto that was on special. The lobster was cooked nicely and very tasty. The risotto itself was kind of bland. And we found it was odd that the shrimp in the risotto were breaded and fried. All in all it was not a great dining experience, which was very sad for us as this has been a favorite for some time now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

This little place is but a diamond in th ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2016

This little place is but a diamond in the rough. It is placed where most likely only the locals would have any inkling that it is there. I was lucky to find this diamond shining bright on Open Table. I was able to make reservations and they were honored ( was even given a table earlier than my 7 p.m. reservation time). I had the Spinach and Ricotta Ravioli - it was AMAZING! Cooked to perfection. My company's filet was melt in your mouth tender and tasty. I did order a cocktail that I was not that fond of, but that was my own issue (not a huge drinker). I did have a dessert that was over-the-top rich with chocolate; but oh-so-good! The Riesling that the waitress had picked out was a perfect dessert wine to top off the dining experience. With everything that we got and the quality of the meal the bill was a little high, but with all due respect very fair.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So sad to see the deterioration of this ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2016

So sad to see the deterioration of this place. First, no server was assigned to us so we had a long wait just to get a drink and appetizer order in. Then they were literally out of the first three items I tried to order. Food was ok, but the servers have no personality or enthusiasm for what they are doing. Probably our last visit there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

OK but not great

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Nice view of Monroe from front window, inside was nice, not too loud which I liked. The food was so-so but the portion was generous. Service was polite and attentive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food and service were lacking, a lot ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2016

The food and service were lacking, a lot. Steak was ordered medium/well and was rare. The scallops were small and overcooked. The carrots were almost raw. The waiter was pulled in all directions but you could count on ten minutes to receive whatever you asked for (wine, dessert) and he never came up pick up our check so we ended up leaving cash on the table with a small tip as opposed to the credit card we would have used. Not recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Overrated Restaurant

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2016

This restaurant was nothing special It was very pricey. The wine by the glass was hugely overpriced and nothing spectacular. The food was good but nothing special for the price that you paid . We also didn't appreciate that the tip was added onto our bill . There was only two of

us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

good food at Tre Cugini

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2016

It might seem a bit more expensive than other restaurants in Grand Rapids, but the food is worth it. For our appetizers, the mozzarella was soft and supple, the greens actually fresh and not wilted. The entrees were excellent too. I recommend it. When you compare price to value this place comes out on top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great!

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 2, 2016

We have eaten at Tre Cugini many times and the quality has been consistently great. Both the food quality and choices are excellent and they have one of the best wine lists in the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Grand Rapids Italian gem

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 23, 2016

Great location in downtown area within walking distance to many great venues. Food was excellent and service top notch.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Poor experience

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Food was not good and too greasy. Price was also too high. Sparkling white italian wine was good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Nice, food was good, but nothing exceptional

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 3, 2016

Love the ambiance and location. The service was also very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Evening Out

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 28, 2016

The staff was very friendly and welcoming. However, after being seated we were told that they were out of some items....one dish being the reason we chose to come to this restaurant. We ordered the next best dish so we thought....the dish was not that great but we made the best of it. The appetizer that we ordered was very tasty although and so we're the cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

Slow and unappealing food.

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Had the pre-fixe menu. Prime rib was Luke warm when served and though the portion was generous,it was not a good cut of meat and was grisly. It was accompanied by one half of a baked potato that was undercooked,and a tough,steamed broccoli. No seasoning and no effort at presentation. It took over 2 hours to complete the meal,and between the over cooked shrimp cocktail appetizer to the main course, almost an hour had elapsed. While it was busy and was Valentine's Day, the whole experience was underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

A great place for a romantic dinner.

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I tried this eatery for Valentines day this year and it did not disappoint. It was a lovely atmosphere and we were very well treated and tended to by the staff. It was the perfect beginning to a lovely valentines day night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Valentines dinner

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Good selection of food and wines. Restaurant was full but noise and ambiance was good. Service on this busy night was excellent and wait time for food was perfect. Went with fixed priced meal and both of us enjoyed it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good but pricey

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Tre Cugini has fantastic food and the service was excellent. Only downfall of the restaurant was the price of the food. I think the food was good and there was a very good selection, but for the price to be right the quality or quantity needed to be better

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Favorite upscale spot in GR

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 13, 2016

I have been going here for 2 years now with my fiance for special occasions. Food is absolutely great and true to Italy. We love the atmosphere, service is consistent and polite

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There's parking right next to the buildi ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 13, 2016

There's parking right next to the building - you have to pay for. The building is beautiful. The service was great. Wasn't really that impresses with the food, considering how expensive it is. Overall, it's a good place to visit but not a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Valentine Weekend

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2016

We visited Friday evening of Valentine weekend. The atmosphere was great, as usual as was the service (Alex). My dish was very good, Tenderloin while my wife's Roast Beef was tough. It was a huge cut of RB, but a smaller, more tender choice would have made her happy and thus me happy. Pay attention to the quality, not simply the quantity please.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

WOW

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 6, 2016

The wow in the title is for how dissapointing the whole tre cugini experience was. I chose the place after a Google search showed it as a nice restaurant in Grand Rapids. If you check the menu ahead of time you know it's going to be expensive. But $12 for a caesar salad that tastes like its out of the bag is crazy. Same with the drinks. WAY OVERPRICED.

And the worst part was the crazy over priced low quality food. My GF got ravioli and I got spagh and meatballs which were almost $20 a piece. The meatballs, noodles, and ravioli were over cooked and chewy. The sauce tasted like it was out of a jar.

All in all, two martinis a salad and two entrees were $80. You could get more food and higher quality for a lower price basically anywhere, especially Olive Garden. Don't waste your time or money going here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Have had better dinners

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 1, 2016

I wasn't very happy with my dinner. When asked for suggestions, the waitress suggested all of the higher priced dinners. She convinced me that the scallops were excellent. Despite the high price, I decided to try them. They were cooked correctly, but soggy. I'm not sure if it was the sauce or whatever was on the sauteed squash, but there were puddles of oil on my plate, and the squash was overcooked and soggy. The bread basket looked wonderful, but the bread was very dry. My husband had the clams and pasta, and enjoyed it very much. I was disappointed, and will probably not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.