About Tre Cugini

122 Monroe Center Street NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Tre Cugini is proud to be the recipient of several dining awards and strives to uphold the everyday standards of a fine dining establishment. Tre Cugini's authentic Italian cuisine is inspired by its Owner, Adriano Moscatelli. Our diverse and talented team of chefs, equipped with a rich culinary history and experience, bring a never ending beauty to every dish prepared. A charming team of service professionals will guide our guests through a unique dining experience, as we strive to make diners feel like friends and family. Tre Cugini has selected a strong cellar of unique and obscure Italian wines for your enjoyment, and has developed a great reputation for very creative martinis. Located in the center of downtown by the new "Art District" (across from the Grand Rapids Art Museum), we have carved out a taste of Italy in the heart of Grand Rapids.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Monroe Avenue & Ottawa Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 235-9339

Website:
http://www.trecugini.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy the musical stylings of accordianist Michael Schaeffer on Friday and Saturday nights

Private Party Facilities:
Tre Cugini offers two banquet spaces that can accommodate groups of 10 to 200 guests. Our small space is completely private and is perfect for business groups of up to 30. The larger "La Scala" atrium is a beautiful open area that feels like a European courtyard, and is perfect for any occasion!

Private Party Contact:
Adriano: 616-235-9339

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Caprese
Canolli
Classic Tiramisu
Gorgonzola Filet Medallions
Forbidden Passion Martini
Shrimp Cerviche
Port Walleye
Fried Calamari
Chardonnay
Tomato Bruschetta On Toast
Beef Carpaccio Cipriani
NY Strip Steak with Green Peppercorn Sauce
Proscutto With Fontina
Sfogliata Di Cioccolato Al'amaretto
Swordfish And Shrimp With Spicy Tomato Sauce
Poached Chilean Sea Bass With Pomegranate Reduction And Organic Carrots
Lobster Risotto
Seared Halibut With White Wine And Green Grapes
Penne Alla Vodka With Smoked Salmon And Asparagus
Pappardelle With Sausage And Butternut Squash
Beet Infused Linguine With Spinach, Pine Nuts, And Goat Cheese
Sauteed Calamari Over Shaved Cucumbers With White Balsamic Vinaigrette
Polenta Dusted Chilean Sea Bass With Fennel Frond Burre Blanc
Spedino Di Pesce
Pistacchio Crusted Lamb Chops
Grilled Scallops With Linguine And Julienne Carrots
Sea Scallops With Artichokes, Leeks, And Cherry Tomatoes
Calamari
Chilean Sea Bass
Pear Salad
Vegetable Soup
Barbera Wine
Sparkling White Wine
Beef tenderloin
Four Cheese Gnocchi
Salada Capri
Gnocchi
Sfogliata Al Cioccolato
Sliced Ny Strip With Spinach And Roasted Cherry Tomatoes
Veal Milanese With Bitter Greens Tossed In Lemon Vinaigrette
Lamb
Stuffed Filet Of Sole With Lump Crab
veal medallions
Mustard And Spice Crusted Lamb Chops With Barolo Reduction
Grilled Flank Steak With Shaved Parmesan And Truffle Oil
Swordfish Involtini With Olive Tapenade And Sun-Dried Tomatoes In Spicy Tomato Broth
Linguine Di Mare
Personal Key Lime Pie With Coconut Crust
Shrimp Risotto With Green Beans
Grilled Scottish Salmon Over Chilled Gazpacho With Avocado Salad And Crostini
Pan Seared Skate Wing (Pre-Plating)
Quartered Pineapple With Vanilla Gelato And Orange Curacao
Pan Seared Skate Wing With Fresh Seasonal Salad Tossed In Lemon Vinaigrette
Scallops
Poached Chilean Sea Bass With Tomato Chive Berre Blanc
Beef Paillard
Classic Branzino- Grilled Whole With Olives And Asparagus
Braised Rabbit With Olives And Pine Nuts Over Fennel Gato
Lamb Shank
Liver Pate
Wild Boar Chops With Roasted Peppers And Onions
Salmon
Sliced Ny Strip Over Tomato Salad And Zucchini Pesto
Osso Buco Alla Lombardia
Sea Bass Puttanesca Style
Seared Salmon Over Cuscus And Shaved Cucumbers And Dill Vinaigrette
Sea Scallops With Corn Relish
Sliced Ny Strip Over Parmesan Risotto With Sweet Peas
Smoked Salmon Tortellini In Spicy Tomato Broth
Classic Spaghetti With Veal Ragu
Scallop Risotto
Sea Scallops With Beet Infused Cuscus, Zucchini Julienne, And Tomato And Onion Relish
Tuna Tartare
Veal Roulade Stuffed With Capicola And Fontina
Salmon With Rabbit Ragu And Swiss Chard
Scallop Blts
Spinach Infused Gnocchi With Bell Peppers And Shaved Asiago
Squid İnk Fettucine
Chestnut Ravioli With Cauliflower Cream
Filet Mignon With Stuffed Roman Artichokes, Asiago Cheese, And Veal Demiglace
Linguine Vongole
Prawns
Skate Wing
Saltimbocca Romana
White Blossom Martini
Mussels In White Wine With Diced Tomatoes, Garlic, And Basil
Swordfish
Chilean Sea Bass With Bruschetta, Shaved Cucumber, And White Balsamic Glaze
Short Ribs
NY Strip
Marinated Rack Of Lamb Over Cucumber, Tomato, And Pepperoncini Tossed In Honey Ginger Balsamic Vinaigrette
Fried Pumpkin Gnocchi With Sage And Brown Butter
Cavatelli
Ravioli
Sliced Ny Strip With Kale And Lobster Cream Sauce
Salmon, Scallops, And Sea Bass Two Ways
Salmon With Sweet Peas And White Wine
Spinach Infused Gnocchi With Tomato Sauce And Fresh Mozzarella
Horseradish Crusted Salmon With Risotto, Dill Cream, And Pickled Fennel
Salmon Stuffed With Lump Crab And Ricotta

Tre Cugini Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.4

ambience

3.9

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

great for outdoor dining (7)
notable wine list (7)
fit for foodies (6)
See All
special occasion (6)
romantic (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
good for groups (3)
scenic view (1)
great for lunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
529 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Their homemade pasta was excellent! The ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Their homemade pasta was excellent! The spinach ravioli I ordered was delicious. My husband got clams over linguine that was even better. He was disappointed with skimpy number of clams included, but it's tastiness made up for it. Salads were delicious but pricey. Pinot noir wine was overpriced. The restaurant was in a perfect location for us when we were on our way to a show at DeVos Place.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This was the perfect venue for a "pre-De ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

This was the perfect venue for a "pre-DeVos" dinner with friends. And, it's always good to see our friend, Adriano. As with our other visits, the evenings entrées were wonderful. It got a little busy as others going to the show filled up the tables. But, our server, MaryAnn, did a fabulous job keeping everyone's order straight. Parking in the adjacent parking lot saved a lot of time instead of taking up to 20 minutes waiting to exit the packed Monroe & Lyon parking garage after the show. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

When you spend over $100/person you exce ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

When you spend over $100/person you except a great experience. Unfortunately, that is not what we receive at Tre Cugini. The food was mediocre at best and service was fair. We used to love this restaurant but we will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Great food, but nobody there.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We go to Tre Cugini every year for our anniversary on the Friday of Festival and every year the restaurant is less busy. This year, it was a beautiful night, the streets were busy but the restaurant was empty, which is very sad. It is a great place but it seems they have lost touch with how to bring in the customers. I hope they can turn it around because it's a wonderful place filled with great memories!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Sad Experience

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

In the past, we have always enjoyed dining at Tre Cugini. However this visit was quiet the let down. Our reservation was for 6pm prior to going to the theater. The service was very slow. We ordered an appetizer that took almost 40 minutes to get to our table. Once we got the appetizer, we had to ask how long our entrée was going to be so that we could make the theater on time. We were not able to have dessert or coffee due to the timing. The appetizer was quite good, we had the mussels. Our entrée was the sea food risotto that was on special. The lobster was cooked nicely and very tasty. The risotto itself was kind of bland. And we found it was odd that the shrimp in the risotto were breaded and fried. All in all it was not a great dining experience, which was very sad for us as this has been a favorite for some time now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

This little place is but a diamond in th ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This little place is but a diamond in the rough. It is placed where most likely only the locals would have any inkling that it is there. I was lucky to find this diamond shining bright on Open Table. I was able to make reservations and they were honored ( was even given a table earlier than my 7 p.m. reservation time). I had the Spinach and Ricotta Ravioli - it was AMAZING! Cooked to perfection. My company's filet was melt in your mouth tender and tasty. I did order a cocktail that I was not that fond of, but that was my own issue (not a huge drinker). I did have a dessert that was over-the-top rich with chocolate; but oh-so-good! The Riesling that the waitress had picked out was a perfect dessert wine to top off the dining experience. With everything that we got and the quality of the meal the bill was a little high, but with all due respect very fair.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So sad to see the deterioration of this ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

So sad to see the deterioration of this place. First, no server was assigned to us so we had a long wait just to get a drink and appetizer order in. Then they were literally out of the first three items I tried to order. Food was ok, but the servers have no personality or enthusiasm for what they are doing. Probably our last visit there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

OK but not great

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Nice view of Monroe from front window, inside was nice, not too loud which I liked. The food was so-so but the portion was generous. Service was polite and attentive.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food and service were lacking, a lot ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The food and service were lacking, a lot. Steak was ordered medium/well and was rare. The scallops were small and overcooked. The carrots were almost raw. The waiter was pulled in all directions but you could count on ten minutes to receive whatever you asked for (wine, dessert) and he never came up pick up our check so we ended up leaving cash on the table with a small tip as opposed to the credit card we would have used. Not recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Overrated Restaurant

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

This restaurant was nothing special It was very pricey. The wine by the glass was hugely overpriced and nothing spectacular. The food was good but nothing special for the price that you paid . We also didn't appreciate that the tip was added onto our bill . There was only two of

us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

good food at Tre Cugini

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

It might seem a bit more expensive than other restaurants in Grand Rapids, but the food is worth it. For our appetizers, the mozzarella was soft and supple, the greens actually fresh and not wilted. The entrees were excellent too. I recommend it. When you compare price to value this place comes out on top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We have eaten at Tre Cugini many times and the quality has been consistently great. Both the food quality and choices are excellent and they have one of the best wine lists in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Grand Rapids Italian gem

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Great location in downtown area within walking distance to many great venues. Food was excellent and service top notch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Poor experience

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Food was not good and too greasy. Price was also too high. Sparkling white italian wine was good.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Nice, food was good, but nothing exceptional

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Love the ambiance and location. The service was also very good.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Evening Out

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The staff was very friendly and welcoming. However, after being seated we were told that they were out of some items....one dish being the reason we chose to come to this restaurant. We ordered the next best dish so we thought....the dish was not that great but we made the best of it. The appetizer that we ordered was very tasty although and so we're the cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

Slow and unappealing food.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Had the pre-fixe menu. Prime rib was Luke warm when served and though the portion was generous,it was not a good cut of meat and was grisly. It was accompanied by one half of a baked potato that was undercooked,and a tough,steamed broccoli. No seasoning and no effort at presentation. It took over 2 hours to complete the meal,and between the over cooked shrimp cocktail appetizer to the main course, almost an hour had elapsed. While it was busy and was Valentine's Day, the whole experience was underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Valentines dinner

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Good selection of food and wines. Restaurant was full but noise and ambiance was good. Service on this busy night was excellent and wait time for food was perfect. Went with fixed priced meal and both of us enjoyed it.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A great place for a romantic dinner.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I tried this eatery for Valentines day this year and it did not disappoint. It was a lovely atmosphere and we were very well treated and tended to by the staff. It was the perfect beginning to a lovely valentines day night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good but pricey

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Tre Cugini has fantastic food and the service was excellent. Only downfall of the restaurant was the price of the food. I think the food was good and there was a very good selection, but for the price to be right the quality or quantity needed to be better

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Favorite upscale spot in GR

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I have been going here for 2 years now with my fiance for special occasions. Food is absolutely great and true to Italy. We love the atmosphere, service is consistent and polite

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There's parking right next to the buildi ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

There's parking right next to the building - you have to pay for. The building is beautiful. The service was great. Wasn't really that impresses with the food, considering how expensive it is. Overall, it's a good place to visit but not a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Valentine Weekend

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We visited Friday evening of Valentine weekend. The atmosphere was great, as usual as was the service (Alex). My dish was very good, Tenderloin while my wife's Roast Beef was tough. It was a huge cut of RB, but a smaller, more tender choice would have made her happy and thus me happy. Pay attention to the quality, not simply the quantity please.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

WOW

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

The wow in the title is for how dissapointing the whole tre cugini experience was. I chose the place after a Google search showed it as a nice restaurant in Grand Rapids. If you check the menu ahead of time you know it's going to be expensive. But $12 for a caesar salad that tastes like its out of the bag is crazy. Same with the drinks. WAY OVERPRICED.

And the worst part was the crazy over priced low quality food. My GF got ravioli and I got spagh and meatballs which were almost $20 a piece. The meatballs, noodles, and ravioli were over cooked and chewy. The sauce tasted like it was out of a jar.

All in all, two martinis a salad and two entrees were $80. You could get more food and higher quality for a lower price basically anywhere, especially Olive Garden. Don't waste your time or money going here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Have had better dinners

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

I wasn't very happy with my dinner. When asked for suggestions, the waitress suggested all of the higher priced dinners. She convinced me that the scallops were excellent. Despite the high price, I decided to try them. They were cooked correctly, but soggy. I'm not sure if it was the sauce or whatever was on the sauteed squash, but there were puddles of oil on my plate, and the squash was overcooked and soggy. The bread basket looked wonderful, but the bread was very dry. My husband had the clams and pasta, and enjoyed it very much. I was disappointed, and will probably not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Birthday Night Out

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We went to Tre Cugini on a Saturday night and tried the 3-course tasting menu for things we might not ordinarily order. It was limited to three entrees, one appetizer and one dessert. The fried polenta appetizer was awesome. I had a beef tenderloin and sage gravy main course and my wife had the salmon and pancetta. Both were good but not fantastic. The third course was a desert of little note. We did the wine pairing and the choices were spot on to the course. Service was great and the atmosphere was good. We had a great time. This deserves an overall 'very good' any day of the week. As I said, we chose the tasting menu to try something different so you have to go into it thinking you may be less than overwhelmed and that was the case with the particular entrees and dessert chosen, but we would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Very long wait for very poor food

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We waited 1 1/2 hours to get food that was no better than cheap take out food. Spent way to much money for such poor quality food. We were told they did not have enough people in the kitchen and that that was why the wait was so long. In looking at reviews (which I wish I had before we decided to go!) others had said that they got the same line, not enough people. It seems they are well versed in what their excuses are. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Always a great service and wonderful foo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Always a great service and wonderful food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So so

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Ambiance was great..food not do much...ordeyed lamb chops and fettuccine (noodles under cooked)...super nice restaurant but way over priced...disappointed with the quality of food.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

new years eve

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The atmosphere was great! We have dined there many times before, so we were excited to take the entire family (3 grown kids) for a Special New Year's Eve dinner. Unfortunately, it was sub par. The service was not very good. The wine was delicious, as were the salads and appetizers. But the entrees were fair. 3 of the 5 entrees were pretty good, 2 were disappointing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Service not quite up to par

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Waitress forgot our drink order. Had to ask us twice. Didn't communicate very well. Another server brought bread basket but we had to ask for olive oil. Food was good though! Shared mussels - plenty for 2 - delish. Scallops were great; chicken Marsala was also very good. Had to wait a long time for my cappuccino. Seems like an Italian restaurant would be a little quicker. Although it was New Year's Eve

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Mediocre food at a high cost

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

The food we ordered was good but did not warrant the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Great service, great ambience, disappointing food

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

A group of us met for dinner recently, hoping for a really good Italian meal (I grew up in an Italian family and I know good Italian food). The room is lovely; the service was friendly and professional. However, the food was mediocre at best. My salmon, with what looked like fried potatoes and carrots, was lukewarm and pretty tasteless. It reminded me of cafeteria food. My husband's spaghetti the same. Big price; disappointing food. Lots of potential; I wish they would live up to it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Disappointing

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

We were so excited to return to Tre Cugini after some great previous experiences, but for the second time, this was lackluster at best and we will not return. There are so many issues we had but I'll sum up a few: we were dining with a child (10 YO) who saw that there was a meatball appetizer and pasta meals. She was very interested in a combo so I asked if they would be able to maybe do a small portion of pasta with the meatballs; after checking the server assured us they could but when the bill came I was charged for both full price meals. I would never have ordered it had I known. And to top that off, the sauce was very acidic and no one enjoyed it, the meal was not eaten but the server never bothered to check if things were ok. The second issue is with one of the steak dinners ordered. It was a ribeye special, and while we understand that ribeye is going to be more marbled, it was mostly inedible and fat/gristle. Again, no check back so we just dealt with it. We did order some great desserts but seeing a $200 bill for 2 out of 4 inedible meals was a hit we won't be taking again. Very disappointing, not great service, just seems to have gone downhill. We will not return or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Returned the bread - it was cold - hear ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

Returned the bread - it was cold - heard our server say to the kitchen - throw this in the microwave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Not Bad

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

We've eaten at Tre Cugini numerous times. The food is good - though I wouldn't say it is incredible. I had the spinach and mushroom risotto - it was very creamy, but didn't have a lot of flavor. My husband had the veal scaloppini, he wasn't crazy about it, but I liked it. The shrimp polenta starter that we shared was really nice. Our service was great.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Sadly underwhelmed

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on October 13, 2015

We were looking forward to celebrating our 3rd anniversary at Tre Cugini since in the past it's always been a very delicious meal and a treat. However, this time we left disappointed. Has the management changed? Or owners? Or new chef? It just seemed to be lacking in many areas where they used to excel. Our server was very nice, no complaints about the service. The bread was nothing special and it was cold, almost tasted like it could've come from Meijer. We ordered a meat and cheese plate and weren't finished with it and they brought our entree's out....not a huge deal but at a nice fancy restaurant like this they usually wait to bring out the entree until the apps are finished. Our food was just okay. The ravioli was a little under cooked and stiff, not what we'd expect from here. Their menu definitely seemed different with fewer choices. Not the same caliber it used to be by far. We were in and out in 45 minutes, and that's odd for a nice restaurant! Very disappointed that it wasn't the fancy dinner we anticipated and hoped for and that it wasn't like it was in the past. I'd like to give it another try in the future, but I think it'll be a while. It'd be hard to recommend this restaurant to someone based on this most recent experience.....past experiences heck yes! But sadly not now. Make some positive changes back to what you used to be Tre Cugini!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Where's the beef?

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on October 8, 2015

Bolognaese sauce on gnocchi was watery and had little meat. Waiter told us menu was limited due to Art Prize crowds but the place was almost empty. Waiter disappeared for long periods; waited a long time to get our check. Will think twice before returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Outstanding

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

6 visitors to Grand Rapids all thought the restaurant was outstanding. They even paid for the user ride to the hotel.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

20 mins to get drinks. No meatballs. Slow service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

Reserved table for (4) at 8pm. Arrived 15 mins early & table was ready. Took 20 mins to get 1st round of cocktails, had to approach Mgr to ask if they forgot about us. They comp'd the round on the house. Ordered caprese salad, gnocchi with side of meatballs. They said they don't have meatballs??!!! That seemed odd for an itlaian resturant. Good portion sizes, enough for (2) to split. Lot's of employees walking around but no one really doing anything, even when you needed something. Everyone was very friendly but felt like they were all in training. Felt like Olive Garden with the lights dimmed......not a fan. 3rd time at this place and don't think I'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.