HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Trax Tavern & Grill

3.7
40 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Barbecue
Top Tags:
  • Kid-friendly
  • Good for Groups
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

Trax Tavern & Grill is a community-oriented restaurant that is a favorite among locals and tourists alike. Sports lovers are especially drawn here, thanks to the 40 screens displayed around the restaurant to broadcast all the latest sporting events. The rustic bar features numerous big screens, making Trax the perfect place to grab a drink with friends while you watch the next big game.

The dining area at Trax is spacious, and the menu features an array of pizza, burgers and smokehouse dishes. Try the creative BBQ ranch salad or pico de gallo nachos to start. Indulge in entr�es like the giant sweet �n smoky monster burger or a hearty portion of baby back ribs. Finish your meal off with a big slice of eight-layer chocolate cake or another one of Trax's sinful desserts.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Barbecue, Burgers, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch & Dinner: Daily: 11:30am - 10:30pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(847) 236-0203
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Johnny Herrera
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Host your next event, seminar, business meeting or family dinner in our spacious 120 seat dining room. The room features an in room private bar, 3 large wide screen tv’s a video wall and top of the line sound system. Trax is wired for free Wi-Fi Just plug your laptop into our in room video system all TV’s will show your presentation.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Robby Cohn: (847) 212-6888
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Waukegan Rd
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Trax Offers free valet service daily or park in our private lot.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Trax is located across the street from the Deerfield Metra Station.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Trax offers live bands on specific nights Please call or visit our Facebook page for updates and schedule dates.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 40 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.7  based on all time ratings
3.7
food
3.7
service
3.5
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipMichele (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on April 27, 2016

We have friends who are thinking of moving to Lake County so we wanted to show off--of course we chose Bobby's! We got exceptional treatment at the bar, they timed our moving to the table well as we wanted a drink before sitting down and our waiter was friendly, funny and on top of everything. (oA lot of restaurants are touting their Halibut. No one does fish better than Bobby's (usually 3 specials a night) but their fennel crusted Halibut was just perfect--get there while it's in season. If not for the great schools and good real estate values, our friends might move to Deerfield just to visit Bobby's more often.

Report
Helpful
vipDontLockDoors (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on April 23, 2016

Trax continues with inconsistency. This time the service was better but the food has Deteriorated. Lots of TVs make it good for sports viewing, but $80 for beers and burgers leave me wanting a better venue.

Report
Helpful
vipNatalie (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on April 9, 2016

Great as always. We love Trax.

Report
Helpful
vipluv2eat (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on February 12, 2016

Great food and great service

Report
Helpful
AnnaL (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on January 2, 2016

This is definitely a fantastic place to go with a group and perfect with the kiddos. It has a good level of noise from TV's and the patrons that kids screeches are not very obnoxious. One thing I would say is it's not really a BBQ place. I did order a brisket sandwich and it was ok...really just ok and the corn that came with it was water soaked bad. But we did have grilled calamari and a 2 Cuban sandwiches that were awesome... So go there with appropriate expectations and you will love it. Also while walking all around with a little guy on the move I noticed that the bar area is really nice and there is very well done party room...Good to know...
Also... read some bad reviews about service and I have to say that our service was very very good and it was a busy night.

Report
Helpful
vipNatalie (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on January 1, 2016

Trax always has good food and service. Our favorite bar.

Report
Helpful
vipDebbieWT (Naples)
5.0  Dined on November 14, 2015

Our neighborhood go to restaurant with a varied and good menu. Go ourselves, with friends, our grandchildren and to watch sports.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
2.0  Dined on October 23, 2015

I would recommend Trax for hanging out with friends if you just wanted to grab a beer, watch a game as this is definitely a sports bar. Not what I was expecting for a night out with a friend.
The food that we ordered was "ok". If I were to go back it would be more for pizza or sandwiches/burgers- more pub/bar food.

The wait staff was great and would go back again to watch a game and have a casual, relaxed night out.

Report
Helpful
vipFirstTime (New York Area)
2.0  Dined on October 19, 2015

Am from out of town and wanted to find a good place for Monday Night Football. Great TVs and beer selection and attentive service. For most part, food wasn't very good. Exceptions are were the wings and tater tots which were good as you would expect for pub food. The bad were the Nachos and BBQ plate. When ordering nachos with beef, we just assumed the beef would be on the nachos & not served in a cup next to them. Also thought if would be seasoned beef, but really just cooked ground beef. The BBQ plate was just bad...nothing else to say.

For a sports bar, we expected the main event to have sound. Being Monday night, you would figure it would be that game but actually it was none. our server said he would try to get owner to put on sound. Owner checked on table and I asked him; he said no and walked away. Thirty minutes later as the place was emptying out I asked our server again and he accommodated.

Overall, server was really good, beer was good, food was mediocre at best and owner wasn't very accommodating. If you want to drink & watch a game it's the place to go though.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
1.0  Dined on September 5, 2015

If only they put as much thought into their limited menu and training of their staff as they did into cramming TV's into every square inch of wall space then it would be a fantastic restaurant.

Each dish tasted like the next, it was all bland and flavorless. Don't take children there whom you are trying to raise correctly. That is to engage in dialogue rather than watching the "idiot box's" that one cannot avoid.

I can only assume they hope the TV's will be a distraction from the utterly flavorless food.

Report
Helpful
vipMark (Nashville)
1.0  Dined on August 14, 2015

I didn't like the fact that they charge $1.00 for every single item you put on your hamburger (or turkey burger, vegetable burger, chicken sandwiches etc.). So they literally charge $1.00 for cheese and then another $1.00 for grilled mushrooms and another 1.00 for grilled onions, etc.
Otherwise, good menu selection but salad was just ok. I asked for romaine lettuce only and felt like the entire salad was either iceburg lettuce or the ribbed part of the lettuce.

Won't go back...too many other restaurants with good hamburgers that don't nickel and dime you.

Report
Helpful
Foodie23 (Chicago)
2.0  Dined on August 8, 2015

The food is not bad, but the service is so slow and bad. I like the inside and outside seating the restaurant has but the poor service makes you not want to go there.

Report
Helpful
vipDebbieWT (Naples)
5.0  Dined on July 9, 2015

Great local restaurant for families and sports nights. Always good food. Very kid friendly. Our grandsons favorite s'mores dessert is there.

Report
Helpful
vipMmmDietCoke (Los Angeles)
4.0  Dined on June 4, 2015

Having arrived in Deerfield for a wedding weekend and having no idea of the dining options around, OpenTable led us to Trax where we had a generally good dining experience. The menu was expansive, offering something for everyone. The Chicken Parm and BBQ Sampler were quite good. The place was a bit noisy as we were seated next to a large baseball team victory celebration. The staff were friendly and efficient. Prices were reasonable. Would recommend and return.

Report
Helpful
WhyMe (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on May 28, 2015

I shouldn't be forced to make further review comments, especially after all of my scoring was very good or above.

Report
Helpful
FromFremont (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on May 13, 2015

Appetizers were good - we went with the sampler. President dinner drink was a martini that was well shaken and mixed well.

I had the BBQ sampler for dinner and the pulled pork was good, as was the chicken, ribs were just ok and I'm not sure what the other meat selection really was. The cole slaw was better than average and the mix fries - wedge with crisscut was also a nice addition.

Beer selection was good.

Service was attentive without being overbearing and made the entire evening better.

Overall very solid place that I would try again just maybe sticking with something simpler than BBQ.

Report
Helpful
vipNatalie (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on May 10, 2015

Love this place.

Report
Helpful
viptradeitup (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on March 28, 2015

It has a friendly staff and the food is decent. Neighborhood place. We like the martini s and the food selection.

Report
Helpful
vipErlo (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on March 27, 2015

Many TVs to choose from. Went to watch NCAA basketball when multiple games (and some Blackhawks, too) were on. Ordered the sampler platter. Plenty of food. Very good for a sampler - a good variety of different items. The nachos were good as well. Ordered a large salad and split x4 - more than enough salad, and it was fresh and tasty. Would certainly recommend. Have to use valet parking (complimentary) because there just aren't enough parking spots in the lot to support that sized restaurant.

Report
Helpful
vipDebbieWT (Naples)
5.0  Dined on March 22, 2015

Trax is a perfect Sunday night dinner restaurant for families. Kid friendly and the sports on the TVs are perfect for all the males....old and young. Food is good and a great selection!

Report
Helpful
1
2