Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Rosebud - DeerfieldRosebud - Deerfield
(618)
$$$$
Italian | Deerfield, North Suburbs
Booked 11 times today
Bobbys DeerfieldBobbys Deerfield
(869)
$$$$
American | Deerfield, North Suburbs
Booked 33 times today
BluegrassBluegrass
(1045)
$$$$
American | Highland Park, North Suburbs
Booked 14 times today
Carson's Prime Steaks & Famous Barbecue - DeerfieldCarson's Prime Steaks & Famous Barbecue - Deerfield
(134)
$$$$
Barbecue | Deerfield, North Suburbs
Booked 4 times today
J. Alexander's - Redland's Grill - NorthbrookJ. Alexander's - Redland's Grill - Northbrook
(614)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Northbrook, North Suburbs
Booked 58 times today
Demetri'sDemetri's
(89)
$$$$
Greek | Deerfield, North Suburbs
Booked 3 times today
Di PescaraDi Pescara
(2884)
$$$$
Seafood | Northbrook, North Suburbs
Booked 71 times today
House 406House 406
(311)
$$$$
American | Northbrook, North Suburbs
Booked 15 times today
El TradicionalEl Tradicional
(2)
$$$$
Mexican | Deerfield, North Suburbs
Booked 2 times today
Zodiac at Neiman Marcus - NorthbrookZodiac at Neiman Marcus - Northbrook
(149)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Northbrook, North Suburbs
Booked 17 times today
Longitud315Longitud315
(561)
$$$$
Latin American | Highwood, North Suburbs
Booked 18 times today
Ristorante AbruzzoRistorante Abruzzo
(70)
$$$$
Italian | Deerfield, North Suburbs
Booked 1 time today
Stir Crazy Fresh Asian Grill - Northbrook CourtStir Crazy Fresh Asian Grill - Northbrook Court
(33)
$$$$
Asian | Northbrook, North Suburbs
Booked 7 times today
Francesca's NorthFrancesca's North
(917)
$$$$
Italian | Northbrook, North Suburbs
Booked 26 times today
MiramarMiramar
(594)
$$$$
French | Highwood, North Suburbs
Booked 9 times today

About Trax Tavern & Grill

833 Deerfield Rd
Deerfield, IL 60015
View Larger Map

Trax Tavern & Grill is a community-oriented restaurant that is a favorite among locals and tourists alike. Sports lovers are especially drawn here, thanks to the 40 screens displayed around the restaurant to broadcast all the latest sporting events. The rustic bar features numerous big screens, making Trax the perfect place to grab a drink with friends while you watch the next big game.

The dining area at Trax is spacious, and the menu features an array of pizza, burgers and smokehouse dishes. Try the creative BBQ ranch salad or pico de gallo nachos to start. Indulge in entr�es like the giant sweet �n smoky monster burger or a hearty portion of baby back ribs. Finish your meal off with a big slice of eight-layer chocolate cake or another one of Trax's sinful desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Burgers, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner: Daily: 11:30am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Waukegan Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 236-0203

Website:
http://www.traxtavern.com/

Entertainment:
Trax offers live bands on specific nights Please call or visit our Facebook page for updates and schedule dates.

Parking Details:
Trax Offers free valet service daily or park in our private lot.

Public Transit:
Trax is located across the street from the Deerfield Metra Station.

Executive Chef:
Johnny Herrera

Private Party Facilities:
Host your next event, seminar, business meeting or family dinner in our spacious 120 seat dining room. The room features an in room private bar, 3 large wide screen tv’s a video wall and top of the line sound system. Trax is wired for free Wi-Fi Just plug your laptop into our in room video system all TV’s will show your presentation.

Private Party Contact:
Robby Cohn: 8472126888x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
40 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Worth Moving to Lake County

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2016

We have friends who are thinking of moving to Lake County so we wanted to show off--of course we chose Bobby's! We got exceptional treatment at the bar, they timed our moving to the table well as we wanted a drink before sitting down and our waiter was friendly, funny and on top of everything. (oA lot of restaurants are touting their Halibut. No one does fish better than Bobby's (usually 3 specials a night) but their fennel crusted Halibut was just perfect--get there while it's in season. If not for the great schools and good real estate values, our friends might move to Deerfield just to visit Bobby's more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Trax continues with inconsistency. This ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Trax continues with inconsistency. This time the service was better but the food has Deteriorated. Lots of TVs make it good for sports viewing, but $80 for beers and burgers leave me wanting a better venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great as always. We love Trax.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Great as always. We love Trax.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and great service

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for the kids and group

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2016

This is definitely a fantastic place to go with a group and perfect with the kiddos. It has a good level of noise from TV's and the patrons that kids screeches are not very obnoxious. One thing I would say is it's not really a BBQ place. I did order a brisket sandwich and it was ok...really just ok and the corn that came with it was water soaked bad. But we did have grilled calamari and a 2 Cuban sandwiches that were awesome... So go there with appropriate expectations and you will love it. Also while walking all around with a little guy on the move I noticed that the bar area is really nice and there is very well done party room...Good to know...

Also... read some bad reviews about service and I have to say that our service was very very good and it was a busy night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Trax always has good food and service. O ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2016

Trax always has good food and service. Our favorite bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our neighborhood go to restaurant with a ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 15, 2015

Our neighborhood go to restaurant with a varied and good menu. Go ourselves, with friends, our grandchildren and to watch sports.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Good casual place

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2015

I would recommend Trax for hanging out with friends if you just wanted to grab a beer, watch a game as this is definitely a sports bar. Not what I was expecting for a night out with a friend.

The food that we ordered was "ok". If I were to go back it would be more for pizza or sandwiches/burgers- more pub/bar food.

The wait staff was great and would go back again to watch a game and have a casual, relaxed night out.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Good for Sports but Not so Much for Food

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2015

Am from out of town and wanted to find a good place for Monday Night Football. Great TVs and beer selection and attentive service. For most part, food wasn't very good. Exceptions are were the wings and tater tots which were good as you would expect for pub food. The bad were the Nachos and BBQ plate. When ordering nachos with beef, we just assumed the beef would be on the nachos & not served in a cup next to them. Also thought if would be seasoned beef, but really just cooked ground beef. The BBQ plate was just bad...nothing else to say.

For a sports bar, we expected the main event to have sound. Being Monday night, you would figure it would be that game but actually it was none. our server said he would try to get owner to put on sound. Owner checked on table and I asked him; he said no and walked away. Thirty minutes later as the place was emptying out I asked our server again and he accommodated.

Overall, server was really good, beer was good, food was mediocre at best and owner wasn't very accommodating. If you want to drink & watch a game it's the place to go though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Might as well stay home and watch TV

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 6, 2015

If only they put as much thought into their limited menu and training of their staff as they did into cramming TV's into every square inch of wall space then it would be a fantastic restaurant.

Each dish tasted like the next, it was all bland and flavorless. Don't take children there whom you are trying to raise correctly. That is to engage in dialogue rather than watching the "idiot box's" that one cannot avoid.

I can only assume they hope the TV's will be a distraction from the utterly flavorless food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

Nickel and Dime you

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 14, 2015

I didn't like the fact that they charge $1.00 for every single item you put on your hamburger (or turkey burger, vegetable burger, chicken sandwiches etc.). So they literally charge $1.00 for cheese and then another $1.00 for grilled mushrooms and another 1.00 for grilled onions, etc.

Otherwise, good menu selection but salad was just ok. I asked for romaine lettuce only and felt like the entire salad was either iceburg lettuce or the ribbed part of the lettuce.

Won't go back...too many other restaurants with good hamburgers that don't nickel and dime you.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

The food is not bad, but the service is ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2015

The food is not bad, but the service is so slow and bad. I like the inside and outside seating the restaurant has but the poor service makes you not want to go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Good Neighborhood Restaurant

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 9, 2015

Great local restaurant for families and sports nights. Always good food. Very kid friendly. Our grandsons favorite s'mores dessert is there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Having arrived in Deerfield for a weddin ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 5, 2015

Having arrived in Deerfield for a wedding weekend and having no idea of the dining options around, OpenTable led us to Trax where we had a generally good dining experience. The menu was expansive, offering something for everyone. The Chicken Parm and BBQ Sampler were quite good. The place was a bit noisy as we were seated next to a large baseball team victory celebration. The staff were friendly and efficient. Prices were reasonable. Would recommend and return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I shouldn't be forced to make further re ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2015

I shouldn't be forced to make further review comments, especially after all of my scoring was very good or above.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Solid not spectacular

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2015

Appetizers were good - we went with the sampler. President dinner drink was a martini that was well shaken and mixed well.

I had the BBQ sampler for dinner and the pulled pork was good, as was the chicken, ribs were just ok and I'm not sure what the other meat selection really was. The cole slaw was better than average and the mix fries - wedge with crisscut was also a nice addition.

Beer selection was good.

Service was attentive without being overbearing and made the entire evening better.

Overall very solid place that I would try again just maybe sticking with something simpler than BBQ.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Love this place.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2015

Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Decent place for watching sports.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2015

It has a friendly staff and the food is decent. Neighborhood place. We like the martini s and the food selection.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great for watching the games

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2015

Many TVs to choose from. Went to watch NCAA basketball when multiple games (and some Blackhawks, too) were on. Ordered the sampler platter. Plenty of food. Very good for a sampler - a good variety of different items. The nachos were good as well. Ordered a large salad and split x4 - more than enough salad, and it was fresh and tasty. Would certainly recommend. Have to use valet parking (complimentary) because there just aren't enough parking spots in the lot to support that sized restaurant.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Trax is a perfect Sunday night dinner re ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 22, 2015

Trax is a perfect Sunday night dinner restaurant for families. Kid friendly and the sports on the TVs are perfect for all the males....old and young. Food is good and a great selection!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Best burgers around! Always good, never ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2015

Best burgers around! Always good, never had a bad burger there. Busy little place, so expect to wait for a table if you arrive between 6:30 - 7. But, worth the wait.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Good solid menu. Lots of choices.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2015

Food was good. There was a nice variety on the menu. We were very pleased. It was a Tuesday so it was very quiet.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Menu has a lot of variety

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 18, 2015

We have been going to Trax for years. In the past, I would say it was ok/good. Pretty easy to get into without a reservation...decent food.

Hadn't been there is awhile...the menu seems more varied and a little more upscale. The food was very good and the service was as well.

Will definitely go back more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2015

I would choose this restaurant for a casual experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Local Place

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2014

For a local restaurant/bar it is was just OK. The service was a little slow, especially the drink service. We had to constantly ask for more water and had to ask for our check. I would go back because of the location for meeting friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

First time there and enjoyed the food an ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 2, 2014

First time there and enjoyed the food and bar scene atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Trax is good bar food.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 2, 2014

Trax is good bar food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Incredible!

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 26, 2014

Fabulous food! Outstanding staff! Easy location! Good parking! Staff went above and beyond when we thought our son left his $465 retainer on a plate! They found it! And the 22" pizza blew us away!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

what you would expect

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2014

place is nice. food was great. service was wonderful. good place to be to watch sports

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Food okay wine choices above average. Ea ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2014

Food okay wine choices above average. Easy location and parking.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fun neighborhood restaurant

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2014

Fun neighborhood restaurant, great outdoor dining, friendly service, good food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meh

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2014

Ordered nachos which were the worst I have ever had. Its hard to screw up nachos but Trax did. Also had cheeseburger and onion rings. Very average at best. Great place to watch a game though.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Menu items

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 29, 2014

We had a hard time with the delivery of food. It was not as presented on the menu. It came out wrong several times wrong.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

We took our grandchildren to Trax for an ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 7, 2014

We took our grandchildren to Trax for an early dinner. We sat outside on the roof so we could see the trains when they went by. They loved it. The kids menu had a nice variety. The regular menu had a nice variety of sandwiches, salads, pizza etc. My major disappointment was the service. They brought our appetizer and never brought plates. Before we finished the appetizer the rest of the food arrived. We were the only people seated outside at the time, and about 8 other servers were just standing around and talking to each other. I got up to ask for plates and condiments and some additional napkins. We will return with our grandkids, hopefully with better service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Pre-Schooler Paradise

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 23, 2014

The steak was tough, and the salad was poor. Service from the waitress was also sub-standard. On a Friday night at 6:00 p.m., almost 80% of the patrons in the croweded restaurant were under the age of eight. The noise was reminiscent of a school playground at recess time. We will not return.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Saturday night, kitchen must have been o ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 11, 2014

Saturday night, kitchen must have been overwhelmed and service was shabby

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Big portions

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2014

All food was prepared perfectly and the portions are huge including kid's menu. Definitely a great value! The other plus is they offer kids eat free on Monday & Tuesday from 4-7pm which is a bonus. The ambience was fantastic- TV's all throughout and good times while watching the Hawks. Some of the seating allows view of the train which is entertaining for the kids.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Sports bar and restaurant

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2014

I was at this place several years ago. It has more than doubled in size so it must be successful. It is great for sports fans. Lots of big screen TVs all over and a very noisy group of fans. The food is not great. I had lemon chicken. The sauce was not so good and very tart. The green beans were exceptionally good. My friend had the oriental salad which was a much better choice. It had an interesting variety of ingredients. We got there at 9:30 there were only a few people and a lot of them left as soon as the game was over. It is an OK place for late night, after a show, or for sports fans but not if you want great food or to have a conversation with your companions. You may like it better than I did. It depends on what you are looking for

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

loved it

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2014

wow the new menu at trax was so amazing it exceeded my expectations . We order the Manny's corn-beef sandwich it was so big and delicious it was enough for two meals. the other people ordered the BBQ beef sliders another winner and the lettuce wraps a healthier version . we finished our meal with a warm molten cake and a hot skillet cookie ala mode.

I cannot wait to go back.

The management was very friendly thanks Robby and Jacklyn

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Below Average

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2014

Poor food and service. Not worth going back. Not what we were expecting.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.