About Trattoria Lisina

13308 FM 150 West
Driftwood, TX 78619
View Larger Map

Situated in the Texas hill country just outside of Austin, this rustic, casual destination, created and owned by the Mandola Family, offers a new dining experience and boasts a widely varied menu of authentic country-style Italian fare and modern takes on classic Italian dishes. We offer an extensive wine list consisting of purely Italian wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday Closed
Tuesday-Thursday 4pm-9pm
Friday and Saturday 11am-10pm
Sunday 11am-9pm

Cross Street:
FM 1826

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 894-3111

Website:
http://www.trattorialisina.com/

Parking Details:
Our parking is adjacent to the restaurant with convenient and ample space.

Executive Chef:
Chisholm Webster

Private Party Facilities:
Our patio overlooking the vineyard makes a great setting to have from 25-200 people for a plated dinner, or family style dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Jett Minor: 512-221-0773x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Trattoria Lisina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Austin
Best Ambiance
Austin
Best Value
Austin
13 More
Notable Wine List
Austin
Romantic
Austin
Scenic View
Austin
Special Occasion
Austin
Italian
Austin
Best Overall
Austin
Best Ambiance
Austin
Best Value
Austin
Notable Wine List
Austin
Romantic
Austin
Scenic View
Austin
Special Occasion
Austin
Italian
Austin
Best Restaurants in Driftwood ›

special occasion (233)
scenic view (197)
romantic (184)
See All
good for groups (157)
notable wine list (133)
fit for foodies (132)
great for lunch (82)
neighborhood gem (56)
kid-friendly (55)
great for outdoor dining (50)
great for brunch (49)
hot spot (28)
late-night find (19)
vibrant bar scene (10)
Sort By:
Newest
2735 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our anniversary dinner ...

Dined 5 days ago

We really enjoyed our anniversary dinner. We had the meat and cheese app, a marg pizza, split the ravioli entree, and still had room for dessert. Perfect meal, ty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I asked for a corner table due to hearin ...

Dined 7 days ago

I asked for a corner table due to hearing difficulties of one member of our family and you wonderfully did so. Attentive but not intrusive service, a lovely plate for each one - thank you for a delightful evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Trattoria Lisina Disappoints - Again!

Dined on May 22, 2016

MAY 2016: Trattoria Lisina continues to be much, much less than what it could be. Ambiance, location and surroundings are incredible. However, food is NOT. -Gelato machine was broke, so no gelato for customer dessert -Calamari was the worst--small portions, very thin and old, tough tasting squid --mainly fried batter -Portions of lasagna, salad have decreased to bite-size 'small plate' dishes I have been a loyal patron of Trattoria Lisina since they opened, but I will NOT be dining there anytime soon.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fantastic. This is the place we t ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Always fantastic. This is the place we take visitors, go for family celebrations, and have romantic lunches. The food is wonderful, and the service is flawless. The only suggestion I have is to request the sun room rather than the main restaurant, which can be loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place we go every time when visiti ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great place we go every time when visiting the hill country

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Italian in Texas

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent Italian dishes and fantastic atmosphere. It's definitely worth the drive from Austin!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing short of wonderful. Food excelle ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Nothing short of wonderful. Food excellent, service just right. Our waiter was very well-informed and showed great interest in our needs and questions. Price reasonable for this level of qualty.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the food as much as the service ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We loved the food as much as the service. A very nice place for a special event. Make a reservation for sure.

food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Good Service, Food Variable

Dined on May 19, 2016

We went here for two birthdays with friends on a Wednesday night having made Open Table Reservations for 7PM the day before. It was very disappointing that they did not honor the reservation, at least not within ten minutes of our on time arrival. After a ten minute wait I indicated that I was not happy that our table was not ready. After a further five to ten minute wait we were shown to a table in an "overflow room" which was otherwise out of service. While I generally don't like this treatment it was actually OK as there were four of us and it was actually much quieter than the main dining room which was very noisy, perhaps due to a large group. The excuse for the delay was that people were not leaving. A more sympathetic person might say the establishment can't help this but I disagree. Clearly they filled tables with walk ins too close to our time rather than honoring the reservation made the day before. Once seated service was good though not always speedy. My wife's red snapper special looked very nice she indicated it was. My duck was disappointing: somewhat tough with a lot of fat. It was cooked well and as advertised. I somewhat blamed myself for risking duck in a hill country restaurant. We all had deserts which were excellent but beware the cake portion ($9 I think) is vey large for one person in my view. The coffee was good and the wine was excellent with good choices available by the glass; my Montepulciano was excellent ($15). In terms of value it is not great. The prices are fine dining and the ambiance, though noisy in the main dining room, good wine, and good service supports this categorization. However the lack of a table when we arrived on time and the disappointing duck detract significantly from the fine dining experience. This place may be worth a try as long as you are OK with a noisy dining room featuring large group(s), don't risk the duck, and are willing to spend $130+ for two. Hopefully your reservation will be honored promptly.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual we have a great time and the fo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

As usual we have a great time and the food was just outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

We LOVE this place and have for several ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We LOVE this place and have for several years. It's well worth the drive from San Antonio.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited Trattoria Lisina to celebrate ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We visited Trattoria Lisina to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. When booking our reservation, I only requested a table out of the main traffic path. When we arrived, they had set a special table for us with an amazing view of the garden, complete with white tablecloth. The service was impeccable and the evening was perfectly romantic. The perfect spot for this type of celebration.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was delightful and only the ser ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was delightful and only the service was a bit off even though the restaurant was not overcrowded or its staff stressed to the limits. We have eaten at the restaurant on four prior occasions. This was my wife's birthday so the occasion was a special one. I spent, including tip, $506.00, for lunch for seven people. I thought the value was fine and our guests enjoyed the entire meal and mentioned how good the food and wine were. We will certainly come back for it remains one of our favorite restaurants in the Austin area.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered Italian style and waiter was ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We ordered Italian style and waiter was wonderful. Very personable and nice. All food was very good. Only miss was the handmade pasta with tomato, basil, garlic dish which was a little watery & bland.

food1
ambience3
service3

Lettuce in salads were brown and wilted, ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Lettuce in salads were brown and wilted, salad dressing tasted bland- not like it usually does, tomato Mozzerella salad over salted, pork was fatty - only a few bites were edible, and the corn tasted like coffee.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome. (Again)

Dined on May 9, 2016

This is becoming my favorite spot. So peaceful. Delicious. Fantastic service Incredible food. An experience not just a meal !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian I have ever had!!!!

Dined on May 9, 2016

Took my husband there for his birthday and he loved it. The grounds are beautiful and the food was delicious. We will be regulars at this restaurant. Hats off to the owner, cooks, and waitstaff you have a gem.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Mother's Day treat!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a wonderful Mother's Day dinner at Trattoria Lisiana. The service and food were excellent. I look forward to visiting this restraunt again soon. It wasn't just a meal, it was an experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Trattoria

Dined on May 7, 2016

One of the great experiences for anyone wanting to impress loved ones, family and friends, and business clients. It's like being in Tuscany. Wonderful.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lasina

Dined on May 7, 2016

Since moving to Austin a couple of years ago, we are exploring the numerous restaurants in the area. This has become one of our go to places. Went Sat instead of Sunday for Mother's Day. As always great service, great food, great location. Never bad service here or problem with anything. Even with crowds service impeccable.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best in the Area

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Trattoria Lisina remains the best restaurant out far Southwest Austin (Driftwood). There is always a desire for more quality restaurants, and hopefully they will come as more people continue moving out to Hays County in the coming years. Nevertheless, the food and the service were all wonderful. We gathered there to celebrate an early Mother's Day on Friday night (5/6/2016). Previously, in December 2015, my sisters and I hosted my parents' 45th wedding anniversary party there. They live out of town but it is one of their favorite places to dine when visiting the area. There was a party of 7 - two enjoyed the ravioli special and the other two had the striped bass special. The shrimp pasta and osso bucco rounded out the options at the table. Our waitress, Angela (I believe that was her name), was fantastic. She was prompt in her service and was very communicative throughout. We are constantly pleased by the dining experience and have never been disappointed in our several visits to the restaurant. We look forward to returning again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughters and I had the best experien ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

My daughters and I had the best experience e. And John was awesome!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent food in the hill country

Dined on May 3, 2016

We come to trattoria lisina once a month as a special treat to ourselves. My mouth waters all day at work when I know we have a dinner reservation that evening. Our 4 year old loves playing on the playscape before dinner. The calamari is tender with a light crisp and flaky breading. The ribeye is melt in your mouth delicious. The lamb is almost as good as the ribeye. The mashed potatoes that accompany the lamb and the steak are creamy and lightly seasoned. Last night we tried the pizza for the first time. The crust was thin - moist with a crisp bite. The sauce was a little bit too salty for my tastes, but flavorful. The gelato cooler was broken, but luckily they had a stockpile in the freezer in the back and were able to serve our daughter the dessert we had promised her.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Logan was a fabulous server. Everything ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Logan was a fabulous server. Everything we had was fabulous. The meatballs were so delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great as usual! Ribeye is always perfect ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Great as usual! Ribeye is always perfect!

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Our favorite destination between Austin and SA

Dined on May 1, 2016

My family loves to meet here for lunch on a weekend, to celebrate special occasions and just to visit. It's kid-friendly, gorgeous grounds and delicious food are inviting to spend a couple of hours together in a relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice Sunday lunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

Our reservation was at 1130, and the crowd was light. By 1230, the place was packed. There was one area close for a group. With the crowd, the noise was quite loud. The food ex excellent. Without wine, our meals with one appetizer and two desserts was about $46 per person.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We took our friends visiting from Michig ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We took our friends visiting from Michigan to Trattoria Lisina after a day of sightseeing in the Hill Country. We live near the restaurant so we have been there many times, and we are never disappointed. The restaurant and views are beautiful. Our friends said they felt like they were in Italy. We had the meatballs and asparagus salad as starters which were outstanding. I had the Striped Bass special which was everyone's favorite dish at the table. The pasta dinners that everyone else had were good as well. The only reason that I did not give 5 stars is because we had a problem with our desserts. We waited over 20 minutes before the waiter realized that we still had not received our desserts. But the manager promptly came to our table to apologize and comped our desserts. I highly recommend making reservations at Open Table, especially on the weekend. We had reservations at 6:45 and were seated immediately, whereas others, we overheard, had been waiting over an hour for a table. It is definitely worth the drive out to the Hill Country!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular

Dined on April 30, 2016

Everything about this restaurant is top notch. The food is special, the atmosphere is amazing, and the service is attentive. A table by the window provides a fantastic view. I have been to Napa many times and traveled to London and Paris. This location and atmosphere is second to none.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trattoria Lisina has excellent food

Dined on April 30, 2016

No matter your food choices this restaurant has well prepared dishes with an authentic taste of Italy. The garlic bread (a favorite of mine) is the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent. Bread a ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Bread and olive oil as starter was great, the asparagus salad was unbelievable and the entras superb. We topped the meal off with the chocolate cake that was the best

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was extremely good with the e ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Everything was extremely good with the exception of the fish dish two of our group. It was a red snapper and they said it was bland. Our server was extremely helpful and attentive. I think his name was Stephen or Steven.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Not pleased

Dined on April 24, 2016

Reservations were at 8:45 we were seated at 9:30. We did not receive our food until 10:30 because we were told there were issues in the kitchen. Waiter served us meatballs , cheese curds and bread on his own because of the wait to get our table. The manger came to our table after we were served and said she would comp any starters and dessert if we wanted desert. We never requested the starters to begin with and it was so late to eat as it was who could eat dessert. It's a shame because its a beautiful place and we were all excited about going.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food as always

Dined on April 24, 2016

We love eating at Trattoria. The food is great every time, and this time was no exception. Our only issue we had was with the reservation. It was packed as usual, which is why we always make a reservation. Not sure what was different this time, but we ended up being seated 45 minutes after our reservation. It seemed like reservations were not taking priority over walk-ups. We weren't in a hurry, so it wasn't the end of the world, and other than that, no complaints.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

only complaint. I had asked for only sh ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

only complaint. I had asked for only shrimp & was given mussels & scallops. my wife was told she would get spaghettini & was given a large noodle. otherwise we had a great time

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food. Good wine lovely view. Overal ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Good food. Good wine lovely view. Overall a completely pleasant experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trattoria Lusina is a family favorite

Dined on April 17, 2016

Trattoria Lusaina has been a favorite of my family for years. It was once out here in the middle of nowhere when it started, but has grown to be acknowledged by the growing city neighbors. The kids love the appetizer menu. Be sure and try at least one of the daily chef specials....they never disappoint. And make sure someone at the table orders the lasagna. A must have.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food in a beautiful vineyard

Dined on April 17, 2016

The menu at Trattoria Lisina is fantastic! Their homemade bread alone is worth the drive to Driftwood. We always start with the appetizer meatballs. We have tried most items on the menu and have yet to be disappointed. We have held several special occasion group lunches here, and they do an excellent job of making the meal special.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Expensive

Dined on April 15, 2016

The entrees for lunch were too expensive for lunch portions, especially since there were no sides (not even salad) included. We drove from Canyon Lake to the Duchman Winery as our primary destination & decided to just have lunch while there. We could have gotten a much better lunch for the money at Gennaro's which is a mile from our house!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Like a trip to Italy

Dined on April 13, 2016

We've been to this restaurant several times over the past five years and it has not lost one bit of its glamour or the quality of the food; if anything the food is more creative than ever. To say it's an Italian restaurant is to limit the kitchen; really there is all sorts of food, including pasta and antipasto and gelato. The atmosphere, the service and the food are all first rate. Of course the price tag is high and it's not an everyday place for us; also it's a bit out of the way. But as a destination restaurant for a special occasion it's worth every penny. Our service has always been good here and this was no exception. I happened to mention it was my friend's birthday so when her desert came it had a candle burning on it. Nice attention to detail! We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.