About Trattoria Lisina

13308 FM 150 West
Driftwood, TX 78619
View Larger Map

Situated in the Texas hill country just outside of Austin, this rustic, casual destination, created and owned by the Mandola Family, offers a new dining experience and boasts a widely varied menu of authentic country-style Italian fare and modern takes on classic Italian dishes. We offer an extensive wine list consisting of purely Italian wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday Closed
Tuesday-Thursday 4pm-9pm
Friday and Saturday 11am-10pm
Sunday 11am-9pm

Cross Street:
FM 1826

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 894-3111

Website:
http://www.trattorialisina.com/

Parking Details:
Our parking is adjacent to the restaurant with convenient and ample space.

Executive Chef:
Chisholm Webster

Private Party Facilities:
Our patio overlooking the vineyard makes a great setting to have from 25-200 people for a plated dinner, or family style dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Jett Minor: 512-221-0773x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Costette Di Agnello Alla Griglia
  • Cinammon Gelato
  • Marscapone Cheesecake
  • Bistecca Al Gorgonzola
  • Antipasto Misto
  • Osso Buco
  • Chocolate Cake
  • Fig & Prosciutto Pizza
  • Pasta With Shrimp
Costette Di Agnello Alla Griglia
Cinammon Gelato
Marscapone Cheesecake
Bistecca Al Gorgonzola
Antipasto Misto
Osso Buco
Chocolate Cake
Fig & Prosciutto Pizza
Pasta With Shrimp

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Trattoria Lisina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Austin
Best Ambiance
Austin
Best Value
Austin
13 More
Notable Wine List
Austin
Romantic
Austin
Scenic View
Austin
Special Occasion
Austin
Italian
Austin
Best Overall
Austin
Best Ambiance
Austin
Best Value
Austin
Notable Wine List
Austin
Romantic
Austin
Scenic View
Austin
Special Occasion
Austin
Italian
Austin
Best Restaurants in Driftwood ›

special occasion (208)
scenic view (183)
romantic (154)
See All
good for groups (134)
fit for foodies (123)
notable wine list (110)
great for lunch (69)
neighborhood gem (50)
kid-friendly (45)
great for brunch (42)
great for outdoor dining (42)
hot spot (25)
late-night find (13)
vibrant bar scene (7)
Sort By:
Newest
2764 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

great getaway great chef true italian am ...

Dined 5 days ago

great getaway great chef true italian ambiance will return

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Waiter had no problem ...

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service. Waiter had no problem serving our antipasti misto and our fettucine prosciutto family style. We had duck and osso bucco for our secundo and both were excellent. We celebrated Fathers Day and our 51st anniversary. The vineyards were beautiful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful property. Not too deep into Hi ...

Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful property. Not too deep into Hill Country so it's accessible from Austin. Service was excellent. Food was good. My favorite part was the chocolate and sea salt caramel cake--possibly the best dessert I've ever had.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food good and friendly service scen ...

Dined 5 days ago

Good food good and friendly service scenic location

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the drive! Fabulous food, service ...

Dined 6 days ago

Worth the drive! Fabulous food, service, & ambiance!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place....Great Food.... You feel y ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great Place....Great Food.... You feel you are in Tuscany Italy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a delicious meal. We started with ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had a delicious meal. We started with bread and oil very good, then salad, meatballs -which were great. We took home lots of our main meal as we were full. The atmosphere was nice and the restaurant quickly filled up. Make a reservation. The scenery outside is splendid.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Don't order a steak here. I ordered medi ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Don't order a steak here. I ordered medium rare and got well done. I sent it back and the next one was medium. It was a mediocre piece of meat. The food is extremely overpriced. Service was good. In the past is has been outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great restaurant. Matt overse ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

This is a great restaurant. Matt oversees the operation and never fails to come by and greet us. The food is fabulous and even better with a wine paring from their excellent wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All was wonderful. I would suggest tryin ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

All was wonderful. I would suggest trying to quieten the noise. We could not really talk and be understood. We always come to celebrate special occasions. I had the pork chops with the Brussel sprouts as a veggie. Brussels sprouts were cooked too much and had a burned taste to them.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the menu and the outstanding presen ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Love the menu and the outstanding presentation and the high quality of food. The service and ambiance are a treasure!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite spot! Always has wonderful ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our favorite spot! Always has wonderful service and we are never disappointed with the food!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

We been there before and we were bringin ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We been there before and we were bringing my sister and husband . The food was good our waiter one of the Best we have had anywhere, but our company was finish eating n our food wasn't there we waited for a long time while watch them eat, they were not impressed

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful time at this little gem! ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Had a wonderful time at this little gem! You will feel like you are in the wine country of Napa, or Sanoma Valley, as it could rival most of the wineries/restaurants of that area! Loved it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm a steak man. The ribeye was one of ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I'm a steak man. The ribeye was one of the top steaks I've ever had. BTW, I get the same thing every time. The mashed potatoes were perfect as well. Our friends were very impressed.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Duck wAs not very good but everything el ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Duck wAs not very good but everything else was great. Server needed more training.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a great dinner Friday for our an ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Enjoyed a great dinner Friday for our anniversary. Requested Veranda seating and the staff was outstanding in accommodating us. The wine list is excellent even if Italian centric, and the food is consistently excellent. You can't beat the setting for a special occasion - like a Tuscan villa. A great place for a romantic lunch or dinner and stroll the grounds before or after.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A reunion of five friends from afar

Dined on June 10, 2016

As usual, we had a great evening at your restaurant. The food was tasty and the service was superb! Our waiter was kind, attentive, and professional in every respect. 4 Stars for him. Our only disappointment was that two of the men ordered the same main course: the pork chop with sprouts. Unfortunately, one of the men (my guest) receive a chop literally one-half as big as mine. I know he was disappointed, and I offered him my chop. Still, it was quite awkward. I think the kitchen should have been more careful with two identical dishes going to the same table, don't you agree?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

OK AT tRATTORIA

Dined on June 5, 2016

We were excited to take the drive on the first sunny Sunday we had in over a month. Trattoria is in a lovely location and is a lovely restaurant. We could not be seated right at our reservation time, but that can be understood. We were seated fairly soon after, though. Our service was very good but our food was no where near what we expected. Our food came extremely quickly which was a great surprise, but it fell short in flavor, texture, and creativity. We both ordered pork ossabuco (sp?). The pork was not tender and did not have flavor of its own. It didn't even taste seasoned. VERY few vegetables accompanied the pork and the mashed potatoes were soupy. We always review restaurants and love to give great reviews. Possibly a different dinner dish could get us to return.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The evening started out rocky since we w ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The evening started out rocky since we were not greeted by a server and had to flag someone down. That happened to be John though and he was outstanding. The food was very good and the view of the winery fields was fantastic. In the end, we were very impressed by both the food and our server John.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Beautiful restaurant

Dined on June 5, 2016

I like driving out to Lisina and eating at this scenic restaurant. The food is excellent, but with one caveat. My dining companion was celiac-intolerant, and it was surprising that a restaurant of this excellence did not have gluten-free pasta. Nor did it have a single gluten-free dessert, as the gelato machine was "broken." Very odd. Still, the ambiance, the location, the restaurant itself were, as always, worth the visit.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience - will definitely return

Dined on June 5, 2016

A group of friends and I dined at Trattoria Lisina and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We split 3 appetizer salads 4 entrees and loved each dish. We will definitely return.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantanstic!!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great place to enjoy a meal with family and friends. We made the 90 minute drive so we could Lisina again. And our waiter, Paul, was great!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Long drive for a disappointing meal

Dined on June 4, 2016

We scheduled a family birthday lunch thinking we were going to have an upscale Mandolas experience. The only thing upscale was the scenery and price of the food. The portions, taste and menu items were disappointing. Will never eat there again or recommend anyone else to. Save your money and take a picnic lunch next door to the Duchman Winery and enjoy a bottle or 2 of their wine outside on their tables.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

No let down on third visit

Dined on May 28, 2016

Another fantastic dinner, this one for a birthday celebration. Reservations were running late and wait staff, although very competent, seemed rushed. Food was perfectly cooked, delicious and correct proportions. Desert was over the top. Arrive early and take in a wine tasting at Duchman vineyards. Very pleasant staff and quite nice Texas wines. Enjoy

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food. Great views. L ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great service and food. Great views. Late Friday lunch was excellent Really good service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, food and great view o ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Excellent service, food and great view of the gardens. Definitely would recommend finding a day during the week to have lunch, it is a much better time than the busy weekend time or the evenings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our anniversary dinner ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

We really enjoyed our anniversary dinner. We had the meat and cheese app, a marg pizza, split the ravioli entree, and still had room for dessert. Perfect meal, ty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I asked for a corner table due to hearin ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I asked for a corner table due to hearing difficulties of one member of our family and you wonderfully did so. Attentive but not intrusive service, a lovely plate for each one - thank you for a delightful evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Trattoria Lisina Disappoints - Again!

Dined on May 22, 2016

MAY 2016: Trattoria Lisina continues to be much, much less than what it could be. Ambiance, location and surroundings are incredible. However, food is NOT. -Gelato machine was broke, so no gelato for customer dessert -Calamari was the worst--small portions, very thin and old, tough tasting squid --mainly fried batter -Portions of lasagna, salad have decreased to bite-size 'small plate' dishes I have been a loyal patron of Trattoria Lisina since they opened, but I will NOT be dining there anytime soon.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fantastic. This is the place we t ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Always fantastic. This is the place we take visitors, go for family celebrations, and have romantic lunches. The food is wonderful, and the service is flawless. The only suggestion I have is to request the sun room rather than the main restaurant, which can be loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place we go every time when visiti ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great place we go every time when visiting the hill country

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Italian in Texas

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent Italian dishes and fantastic atmosphere. It's definitely worth the drive from Austin!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing short of wonderful. Food excelle ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Nothing short of wonderful. Food excellent, service just right. Our waiter was very well-informed and showed great interest in our needs and questions. Price reasonable for this level of qualty.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the food as much as the service ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We loved the food as much as the service. A very nice place for a special event. Make a reservation for sure.

food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Good Service, Food Variable

Dined on May 19, 2016

We went here for two birthdays with friends on a Wednesday night having made Open Table Reservations for 7PM the day before. It was very disappointing that they did not honor the reservation, at least not within ten minutes of our on time arrival. After a ten minute wait I indicated that I was not happy that our table was not ready. After a further five to ten minute wait we were shown to a table in an "overflow room" which was otherwise out of service. While I generally don't like this treatment it was actually OK as there were four of us and it was actually much quieter than the main dining room which was very noisy, perhaps due to a large group. The excuse for the delay was that people were not leaving. A more sympathetic person might say the establishment can't help this but I disagree. Clearly they filled tables with walk ins too close to our time rather than honoring the reservation made the day before. Once seated service was good though not always speedy. My wife's red snapper special looked very nice she indicated it was. My duck was disappointing: somewhat tough with a lot of fat. It was cooked well and as advertised. I somewhat blamed myself for risking duck in a hill country restaurant. We all had deserts which were excellent but beware the cake portion ($9 I think) is vey large for one person in my view. The coffee was good and the wine was excellent with good choices available by the glass; my Montepulciano was excellent ($15). In terms of value it is not great. The prices are fine dining and the ambiance, though noisy in the main dining room, good wine, and good service supports this categorization. However the lack of a table when we arrived on time and the disappointing duck detract significantly from the fine dining experience. This place may be worth a try as long as you are OK with a noisy dining room featuring large group(s), don't risk the duck, and are willing to spend $130+ for two. Hopefully your reservation will be honored promptly.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual we have a great time and the fo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

As usual we have a great time and the food was just outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

We LOVE this place and have for several ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We LOVE this place and have for several years. It's well worth the drive from San Antonio.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited Trattoria Lisina to celebrate ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We visited Trattoria Lisina to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. When booking our reservation, I only requested a table out of the main traffic path. When we arrived, they had set a special table for us with an amazing view of the garden, complete with white tablecloth. The service was impeccable and the evening was perfectly romantic. The perfect spot for this type of celebration.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was delightful and only the ser ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was delightful and only the service was a bit off even though the restaurant was not overcrowded or its staff stressed to the limits. We have eaten at the restaurant on four prior occasions. This was my wife's birthday so the occasion was a special one. I spent, including tip, $506.00, for lunch for seven people. I thought the value was fine and our guests enjoyed the entire meal and mentioned how good the food and wine were. We will certainly come back for it remains one of our favorite restaurants in the Austin area.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.