About Trattoria Al Gusto

761 N Main St
Mooresville, NC 28115
View Larger Map

Enjoy the full experience of eating out by having a seat at one of our comfortable tables and enjoying the full experience. We offer dine in services for lunch and dinner, so you can stop in while on your lunch break or come see us after work. Visit us when special occasions demand a celebration:
weddings, birthdays, meet ups, or networking. Stop in for a meal when you crave the flavor of Italy.
Our staff is always happy to wait on you, and we are committed to providing you with an enjoyable dining experience.
Whether you are craving seafood linguine or want our famous Gnocchi, our Italian restaurant is delighted to serve you the best homemade Italian fare.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday-Friday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(704) 660-1066

Website:
http://www.trattoriaalgusto.com/

Additional:
Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wine

Trattoria Al Gusto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Groups (9)
See All
Fit for Foodies (6)
Romantic (5)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Historic (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
99 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, presentation and taste are a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food, presentation and taste are amazing. This is always a perfect place for Sunday Brunch, Lunch or Dinner. Well done...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great as alway ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food and service were great as always.

Our waiter's knowledge of wine was excellent and suggestions right on target.

If you haven't been here yet, you really missed out on a great experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food for reasonable prices. The amb ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Good food for reasonable prices. The ambiance was great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A quiet night for the restaurant but the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

A quiet night for the restaurant but the food was fantastic and the server very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food with fresh ingredients an ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent food with fresh ingredients and well appointed seasonings. Curated but broad offerings for appetizers and entrees. There were three of us with different choices and everyone was well satisfied with the quality of the food and the complimentary sides. Service could have been better as the waiter barely stopped when he asked how things were. If you don't really care, don't ask.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Since we found this gem, we have gone ba ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Since we found this gem, we have gone back many times. The waiters remember you and your drinks, are very friendly and make the meal. The food is very good and reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I think I expected a finer dining experi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I think I expected a finer dining experience. After reviewing the regular menu, I think the selections for restaurant week could have been better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Probably the best meal in a Mooresville ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Probably the best meal in a Mooresville restaurant that I have had in the 34 years I have lived here. Every course was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Outstanding food, a pleasant experience. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Outstanding food, a pleasant experience. Not so noisy that you can't talk to your table mates. We have gone to this restaurant for lunch, brunch and a number of times for dinner , as a couple and with friends. we have NEVER been disappointed. The food is well prepared. The selections are varied and reasonable in price. It is our favorite place to dine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Varied menu, plenty to select from. Al ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Varied menu, plenty to select from. All dishes we ordered were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant for a group of friends ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great restaurant for a group of friends who want to be able to talk. Music is soft and background. The "old church" has some beautiful architecture, too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Had a great time here!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant! We had a party of 12, plus 2 babies and we were easily accommodated and the staff took excellent care of us. The food was amazing and everyone loved what they had - not easy to do when trying to get 12 different orders out at the same time. I can't wait to come back here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both dishes we had were excellent; the c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Both dishes we had were excellent; the chicken and the salmon, quiet atmosphere and would definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant continues to exceed expectations

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Absolutely one of the best Italian restaurants I have ever eaten in. From the appetizer / entree specials, to the wine selection, this establishment hits the mark in every way imaginable. Superb food, gracious service and, most of all, consistency.

Although I live in NY, I visit the Charlotte area frequently and Trattoria al Gusto is, and always will be one of my "go to" places each visit.

BRAVO!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Relatively good food, but not great. Ca ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Relatively good food, but not great. Caruso's in Mooresville is a better choice for Italian fare.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Flawless Sunday brunch

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We took a chance to try to place we'd never visited for Sunday brunch. It had really good reviews. We got there around 10:40 and were the only ones in the restaurant for 20 or 30 minutes. The service, the food was flawless - it was a perfect experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was so salty that it was almost ine ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was so salty that it was almost inedible; service was slow. Some of our meals came out wrong and we weren't offered any compensation. The room was uncomfortably warm. We have been a few times before and not overly impressed, but my son likes it, and so we went to celebrate his graduation. Unfortunately, we, and none of our guests, will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

excellent service and food

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

food was delicious and service was great

only glitch was that they did not have any white zinfandel

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

You just can't beat the price and qualit ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

You just can't beat the price and quality of food. I'm surprised they weren't busier. Parking is a hassle for sure, very small lot. Recommend carpooling if a large group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!! Excellent service!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Great food!! Excellent service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wow, what a brunch!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We made brunch reservations for Al Gusto on our anniversary. When we arrived we discovered it was bottomless mimosas too. They were very accommodating for my wife's OJ allergy and substituted cranberry juice. The server and bartender were super nice and always timely. Our drinks and appetizers arrived quickly. The main courses were on time but not rushed. All three, shrimp fritatta, grilled salmon and our daughter's pancakes were fantastic and affordable. If I could have eaten another bite I would have ordered another entree! Thanks for a great anniversary brunch! The complimentary canoles were the best I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just 'okay'

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We live close to Trattoria Al Gusto and was curious to give it a try. Our experience was just 'okay'. The food was pretty good, but the service was lacking. It was also fairly loud. I wanted to like it, but I doubt we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Food was very comparable to our favorite ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Food was very comparable to our favorite uptown Charlotte restaurant. Wonderful! Service was great too! Will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Once Again Great Food

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

This is around the fifth time we have eaten here and I will definitely return for a sixth time. The food was excellent. My daughter had the lasagne, my husband had a steak, and I had calamari done in an olive, tomato, and caper sauce served over creamy polenta. We all had desserts and the crème brûlée was one of the best I have had in a long time. The prices are lower than one would expect. The only thing I would fault the restaurant on is ambiance. This because it's very large, having taken over the premises a number of years ago from the Mexican restaurant the Prickly Pear. The old church that the restaurant is in is interesting

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good overall experience

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our waiter was very good and attentive. He made suggestions regarding the food and from the wine list. We ate out on Valentine's night, kind of last minute reservations. However, we like finding new places to eat. They had a special menu for Valentine's. I was interested in the ossobuco, but that was not one of the options. The pasta dish and NY strip that we decided on was good and well prepared. Since the wine I requested was out, the waiter substitute a similar and more expensive bottle for the same price. I liked that and do not find that at most places we go. Typically you have to find a second option on your own and pay the listed price. There were a few noisy kids, but mostly adults that night. I would like to try it again on a regular night and possibly their Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Horrible service, food mediocre

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I ate here the Saturday before Valentine's Day for the first time. It was super packed and we sat down shortly after our reservation time. We sat down and didn't have a server for about 10 minutes. We ordered the bruschetta which I'm pretty sure was served on slices of white bread and cut into triangles. There was so much raw garlic on it it wasn't edible and on the raw garlic subject. I had the gnocchi which was decent but there was a whole clove of garlic hidden in the sauce. My wife had the rigatoni and other than it being in the salty side it was decent as well. I understand it was a special occasion and it was very busy so the quality may have suffered but I won't be going back. There was one guy that may have been a bus boy but he was the only one with any sense of urgency or seemed to care that the restaurant was drowning.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good food bad service.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We went there for Valentine's Day. The food was very good, but the service was terrible. To be fair ... it was Valentine's Day and the place was packed so we'll give the server the benefit of the doubt. We both ordered a glass of wine but had to remind the server who forgot. Fifteen minutes later we got our wine. When we ordered the salad the server asked us for our entree order, and we told him that we hadn't decided yet. He then told us that we couldn't place the salad order until we place the entree order. We both ordered a house salad only to receive one salad. When the meal was over we asked the server for the check and he went to get it only to come back to our table to ask us what we had for meals. Yes ... we double and triple checked the tab before we paid for it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

My first visit to Al Gusto

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

A friend and I ordered the Swordfish. The flavor of mine was very good; however I only hate half because I couldn't cut through the other half. My friend said hers had a very strong fishy taste. I have eaten swordfish many times and know there is often a dark flesh part that is a strong in fishiness. My friend ate all of hers. I did not. We let the waiter know and while he stated he would let the chef know. There was no reduction in my bill. I enjoyed the cauliflower puree, experienced a new wine that was excellent (Monkey Bay Sauvignon Blanc). It is not a restaurant I will visit again. If they had offered to reduce my bill for the half that was inedible I would go back and try other dishes. When I eat out I want the restaurant to make sure I am pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Rated them poor because they were closed ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

Rated them poor because they were closed for the Super Bowl but accepted the reservation and had not updated their voicemail. I drove several miles to find the place dark and locked up-VERY unprofessional!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great service! Had a nice bday dinner he ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Great service! Had a nice bday dinner here with some friends. The food was good the service was even better. They made me feel special the moment I walked in all the way till we walked out. I would come back to try out more of their dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always Amazing!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

The food and service is always outstanding. I was there on New Years Eve and then again another Saturday both nights were exceptional. You weren't rushed between courses, the staff was polite and always there to refill your beverage. My new favorite place to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

AL Gusto was a great experience, I had the lobster ravioli, delicious! It gets a little crowded and hard to have a personal conversation since the tables are so close but I would recommend this place to everyone who loves Italian food. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I'll be back

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Don't be fooled by the exterior and interior design. The food was amazing. The service was above par. Queen's Feast allowed us to find this little gem. I had the lamb shank. Normally I stay far away from lamp. So happy I took the leap. Amazing! My husband's veal was equally as good. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Personable Service and Delicious Food

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

We were greeted and seated promptly and very personal attention was given to our possible wine and food choices. 2009 Brunello Montalcino was superb! Standouts for appetizers were the Carpaccio di Manzo con Tartufi Bianchi, the tuna and the Insalata di Campo e Noci. All were generous portions so we enjoyed sharing. Mahi Mahi, Sea Bass and lamb shanks were favorite entrees and Panna Cotta was delicious for dessert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

I have been to Trattoria Al Gusto twice. Both times for restaurant week. Both times food was excellent. Not sure why I haven't tried it other times but I'll have to make an effort. Their restaurant week menu has more selections than most participating restaurants. Service was good and atmosphere very nice. Great place for Italian favorites as well as other specialities.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place!!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Great place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Snow Day Food Heaven

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Due to it snowing, the staff called multiple times to ensure we still wanted to come. After arriving an hour early, we were treated like gold. Great food, great service, great everything. Great wine selection, but the food is impeccable! We'll definitely be back. Do yourself a favor and go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite in NC

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We moved here from CA and have had a tough time finding top notch food. We live at The Point and are fairly close to Al Gusto. So far, this is the only restaurant that has us returning frequently for dinner. We have genuinely liked all of our meals including our recent visit on New Years Eve. Between 4 of us, we enjoyed ahi, filet ravioli and my husband's favorite, the homemade pasta with ragu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Italian Experience

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

My partner and I dined at Trattoria Al Gusto on Christmas night. As first-time visitors we were really taken by the place—a large and cozy restaurant hidden away in Mooresville. The waiter that greeted us was very knowledgeable and recommended a few dishes from the their special holiday menu. Each of our orders from the three course options were prepared in a good amount of time and came out wonderful! The homemade gnocchi with braised beef was one of the best I've had compared to a few other restaurants in Charlotte. My partner's Chilian sea bass was also cooked with utmost care. Overall we had a fine experience for a reasonable price. We will definitely return for another date night and we suggest this restaurant for anyone seeking an authentic Italian experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is Excellent. Stay away from the bartender

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We inadvertently asked the bartender to recommend a good red wine. The bartender is a Bills fan and was wearing a Bills hat and he recommended a great red wine. 2 bottles later and $130 later we realized that each bottle was $65. He said it was a great value, go figure:)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.