About Trattoria Al Gusto

761 N Main St
Mooresville, NC 28115
View Larger Map

Enjoy the full experience of eating out by having a seat at one of our comfortable tables and enjoying the full experience. We offer dine in services for lunch and dinner, so you can stop in while on your lunch break or come see us after work. Visit us when special occasions demand a celebration:
weddings, birthdays, meet ups, or networking. Stop in for a meal when you crave the flavor of Italy.
Our staff is always happy to wait on you, and we are committed to providing you with an enjoyable dining experience.
Whether you are craving seafood linguine or want our famous Gnocchi, our Italian restaurant is delighted to serve you the best homemade Italian fare.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday-Friday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(704) 660-1066

Website:
http://www.trattoriaalgusto.com/

Additional:
Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wine

Trattoria Al Gusto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.3

ambience

3.7

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
Special Occasion (9)
Casual (6)
See All
Authentic (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Historic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Cozy (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tapas (2)
Seasonal (2)
Business Meals (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We got up and walked out when after 15 minutes no one had even spoken to us so there was no reason to spend that much money at a place with such terrible service. Tons of stuff running around looking like they were cleaning and doing end of shift work but nobody wanted to take care of our table. So we left and went to Epic Chophouse and it was worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was wonderful once we got it. They were unprepared for the Valentine's reservations. Our waitress spoke little English and couldn't keep orders straight. Food was very slow coming out of kitchen. Also a bit pricey, but it was Valentine's after all.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went on Valentine's Day, and the food was as good as it always is. Unfortunately, they had some waitstaff "walk out", and some issues in the kitchen that created lengthy delays. We waited 1 hour for our food. Some couples left before being served. The waitstaff was doing all they could, and were very accommodating, but it is hard to handle a full house with 50+ tables and only 3 waiters that we could see. We will go back, but probably not on a busy night. They do a great job with their food though!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was absolutely terrible. Food was below average. Never will return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

My husband and I came here for the first time on Valentine's Day. We arrive promptly at 5 PM and we were the first ones here. It took 40 minutes for our dinners to come out. I had ordered the surf and turf, which was supposed to be beef tenderloin (filet) and lobster which was pretty pricey at almost $40. But instead I got a cheap steak with lobster for the same price. I complain to the waiter but he went back and ask the chef and he try to convince me that it was beef tenderloin. So they basically called me a liar. It was clearly not filet. Check out the picture yourself. Not impressed with food or service. I even called back to complain to the manager (we had to rush to get home for soccer) but he was rude and didn't seem to care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

I have been eating there since they opened. This was the first time I had a compliant. The scallop appetizer and The salmon both were fishy. My date could not eat her dinner. The other sides on the plate was fine but, the seafood part was very fishy.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great food. Awesome service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Surprisingly good food, considering the shabby décor and slow service. First the positive -- our salads were perfectly dressed, fresh and delicious. The osso buco and lamb shanks were rich and flavorful, and the other entrées we saw being taken to tables looked appetizing as well. The space (in an old church) has great potential.

On the negative side, the décor really brings this place down. Flimsy, ornate curtains obscure the charming old church windows. The main walls are a dingy shade of dark red, with a scattering of seemingly random wall art, most of which is too small to see from a distance beyond 5 feet. The lighting makes it seem like a permanent state of closing time at a run down bar -- when they flick on the lights and you instantly see just how dismal the place really is. They could do wonders by ripping down those curtains, painting the walls white, hanging some large, simply framed photos, lowering the lights and lighting candles on the tables. So much potential here -- and food and location make it worth what is probably a pretty minor investment!

Another quibble is that the wine mark up was ridiculous. We enjoyed our bottle, but were stunned to discover that you can buy a case online for about $16 a bottle whereas they charged us $60, We expect to pay up to 100% markup, but over 300% seems a bit extreme.

All things considered, the food was good enough to consider going back, though next time we'll see if we can bring our own wine and pay a corkage fee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

We tried this restaurant during restaurant week for something different. We had an 8pm reservation but it didn't matter as we didn't get seated until 8:30..not a big deal. They were quite busy so the service was slow at first but our waitress turned out to be very attentive. Our food was good, not great. Salmon was a bit dry and the veal slightly tough. Desserts were very good. We probably won't go back as we like a more intimate setting while dining. This restaurant is a big room with tables added. Understand this set up as it was a church.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME WITH OPENTABLE.

After arriving and standing around awkwardly for 4-5 minutes waiting on some to acknowledge we had arrived, we told them we had a reservation. We were told it'd be at least a 20 minute wait. Didn't bother to write our name on any list, didn't bother to explain if there were any earlier reservations who were also waiting...just decided they were done talking to us and asked us to step aside so they could talk to the people standing behind us. Then walked off.

The whole exchange was so rude, we decided to cut our losses and leave then rather than subject ourselves to it for an entire evening. Don't waste your time with online reservations--they don't care.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

We made a reservation for 7:45 pm. When we arrived, on time, the restaurant was very busy and the manager told us it would be 15 to 20 minutes before we could be seated. When my husband inquired (politely) about our reservation, the manager shrugged, and said without one trace of apology "What do you want me to do? No one is getting up to leave." Had this person not replied in such a rhetorical, dismissive manner, we would have been sympathetic to the situation (the staff was probably working very hard that night) and waited it out. While leaving, we observed the manager responding similarly to another couple with a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Price point was high for the quality. Seated quickly but service took 2 hours. Definitely not fine dining but had the fine dining price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Host took 15 min before greeting us and the 10 other people with reservations standing at the entrance. Then we had to request a waiter as he never stopped by; it appeared the wait staff was under staffed. Food was decent but we anticipated it being better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

We have been to this restaurant a couple of times. For Sunday brunch and to celebrate a birthday. This time, we went to celebrate my birthday. I made the reservation a week ahead, knowing it was Restaurant Week. The place was full, however, we were seated right away! There were a few people without reservations that waited a bit longer. The food was fabulous and the service was great. Had a wonderful time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

We went as a couple during restaurant week. Initially the place seemed nice. It was busy, and due to the Queens Feast specials. We were seated promptly, yet others we saw waited an hour or so. The menu selection was fine, the taste was not very good. My salad I sent back was their signature salad, yet the dressing was way too much vinegar. It was exchanged for the Caprese which was nice. The chicken piccata was either microwaved or simply tough meat cooked otherwise. The owner was pacing about angry and causing turmoil. Apparently staff members did not come to work that day due to a party the owners brother had at his house the night before (or so we were told). Kind of a lost opportunity for the the restaurant as its their chance to win new business. We were the fish that got away! No real reason to return as Charlotte has a lot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was our first time hear even thou we live down the street. Food portions were perfect. Was able to finish all 3 courses without feeling stuffed. I order the Buffalo mozzarella and the lobster ravioli. Both were excellent. Only problem was the waiter took too long to get our drink orders. But the host realized that and have me a second glass of wine on the house.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very nice restaurant! Excellent service and food!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 25, 2017

There is limited parking. The staff was friendly but initially service was slow. My entree was messed up but they corrected promptly. The food was very good however, and served in a fine dining presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 24, 2017

The 2nd course came to the table before the 1st. The bartender/host was very nice and gave each of us a complimentary glass of wine. The dessert, tiramisu, was warm and soupy.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on January 24, 2017

Need more waiters. Very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on January 23, 2017

The food was OK--but not great. The service was quite slow and they got our dessert orders mixed up. There were very few people in the restaurant that night, so it wasn't like they were so busy.

We chose this restaurant as part of the Queen City Restaurant week because they had a bigger selection from the fixed price menus than many of the other restaurants--but I will not go back because the service and organization was only fair at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

The chicken dish we ordered was over cooked. The dish has to be sent back and redone. The rest of the meal was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

Went here for restaurant week. The place was busier than I had ever seen it! The wait staff was attentive, but a bit overwhelmed. They squeezed some extra table in to anticipate the large crowd. This made for a little uncomfortable closeness to the nearest tables. The food was as good as expected, we'll definitely return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was very good. Was disappointed in the Tiramisu. They were very busy because of restaurant week but the wait staff did a good job tending to their customers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

This a very nice place. The atmosphere is unusual and the food is excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

Located in a former church, the restaurant is attractive with attentive waiters and waitresses. Food was Italian with a good menu. Enjoyed the dinner.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

My husband & I were excited to try this place as we had driven by it over the summer while in Mooresville. The restaurant itself is cute & quaint however we were not overly impressed with the meal.

We started out with the antipasto and the dish did not arrive as described. There were items missing that were supposed to be included, according to the menu description (olives, asparagus etc). I had the special of crab & shrimp stuffed ravioli in a vodka sauce. The pasta was about the size of a post it note which was great. However the actual stuffing was the size of a nickel. The dish came out luke warm at best & there was no vodka sauce. It was just a traditional red, tomato sauce.

My husband ordered the gnocchi which was good but the portion was very small.

Service was fine. Nothing to brag about and/or nothing to complain about.

I probably will not return and will just stick with my favorite local Italian spot in Charlotte.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

We visited during a snow weekend and were one of the very few customer braving the elements. I'm so glad we did! The staff was knowledgeable and accommodating and the food was delicious! We came from out of town, but would

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed ourselves and the server recommended I try Sea Bass since I love seafood and had never had it. I LOVED it! It was delicious!! The only downfall was a large party was sat by us and they were extremely loud but other than that we highly enjoyed ourselves, the service and the food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Booked this restaurant on Open Table but they were not open. Must be closed for business and didn't update Open Table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant. We have been here twice. One on a regular Saturday night (not very good) and just this past Christmas Eve. Christmas Eve we were given a wine list when we were seated. I asked if the bar was open and also if they had beer. First person did not know. Second person said yes, but offered no information about what beer etc. Then, we experience the Christmas Eve Menu choices. Very very limited and were told we cannot order off the main menu at all. We all ordered the closest thing to what we might like if we had the full menu. The food was very very average and very very costly! I feel like they were open on Christmas Eve just to gouge people. Dinner for 4 with a drink for each person over $200! Not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great, as always! Food was awesome. Made to order. Our server, Jamie, was very knowledgeable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great restaurant! Great Food! Great Service! Richardo is the best!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

It was a great evening with the food, drink and service amazing. Thanks to the staff there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

We found this restaurant a couple of years ago and continue to enjoy. Never disappoints. never crowded. Food is delicious - home made pastas.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food! Great Service! Just a wonderful place to Have a Nice Dinner!!!

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2016

3 tables in the restaurant the entire time we were there. The waiter was busy playing on his phone behind the bar (probably bored), but still messed up on my husband's entree. Brought 2 entrees out, must have realized one was incorrect, put mine down and said he would be right back with my husbands. I watched him return with the other plate and then we waited for 10+ minutes for my husbands entree. Food was fine, but will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food, presentation and taste are amazing. This is always a perfect place for Sunday Brunch, Lunch or Dinner. Well done...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food and service were great as always.

Our waiter's knowledge of wine was excellent and suggestions right on target.

If you haven't been here yet, you really missed out on a great experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Good food for reasonable prices. The ambiance was great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

A quiet night for the restaurant but the food was fantastic and the server very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent food with fresh ingredients and well appointed seasonings. Curated but broad offerings for appetizers and entrees. There were three of us with different choices and everyone was well satisfied with the quality of the food and the complimentary sides. Service could have been better as the waiter barely stopped when he asked how things were. If you don't really care, don't ask.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Since we found this gem, we have gone back many times. The waiters remember you and your drinks, are very friendly and make the meal. The food is very good and reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I think I expected a finer dining experience. After reviewing the regular menu, I think the selections for restaurant week could have been better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Probably the best meal in a Mooresville restaurant that I have had in the 34 years I have lived here. Every course was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Outstanding food, a pleasant experience. Not so noisy that you can't talk to your table mates. We have gone to this restaurant for lunch, brunch and a number of times for dinner , as a couple and with friends. we have NEVER been disappointed. The food is well prepared. The selections are varied and reasonable in price. It is our favorite place to dine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Varied menu, plenty to select from. All dishes we ordered were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great restaurant for a group of friends who want to be able to talk. Music is soft and background. The "old church" has some beautiful architecture, too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on June 8, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant! We had a party of 12, plus 2 babies and we were easily accommodated and the staff took excellent care of us. The food was amazing and everyone loved what they had - not easy to do when trying to get 12 different orders out at the same time. I can't wait to come back here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Both dishes we had were excellent; the chicken and the salmon, quiet atmosphere and would definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.