HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Trattoria Al Gusto

3.9
143 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

Enjoy the full experience of eating out by having a seat at one of our comfortable tables and enjoying the full experience. We offer dine in services for lunch and dinner, so you can stop in while on your lunch break or come see us after work. Visit us when special occasions demand a celebration:
weddings, birthdays, meet ups, or networking. Stop in for a meal when you crave the flavor of Italy.
Our staff is always happy to wait on you, and we are committed to providing you with an enjoyable dining experience.
Whether you are craving seafood linguine or want our famous Gnocchi, our Italian restaurant is delighted to serve you the best homemade Italian fare.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday-Friday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(704) 660-1066
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wine
What 143 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.9  based on all time ratings
4.1
food
3.9
service
3.9
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Charlotte)
1.0  Dined on April 30, 2017

Extremely slow, poor service despite a low number of customers in the establishment. We went for lunch and the food was a good value, but it took forever to be seated and for anyone to ever return to our table for orders and assistance throughout the meal. The waiter had to be flagged down multiple times.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charlotte)
3.0  Dined on April 12, 2017

All our food was excellent (4 ppl with all different apps & meals). The only draw back was there was only one person in the whole front...he served as seater, bartender, waiter. He said someone didn't show up but in reading other comments it sounds like it's not that unusual an event

Report
Helpful
vipLauraN (Charlotte)
1.0  Dined on April 4, 2017

This place was not open nor did anyone answer or call concerning our client lunch reservation. We showed up at noon and there wasn't a soul in sight, some sort of FYI or signage would've been helpfull.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charlotte)
5.0  Dined on March 9, 2017

Our last experience here was in a word disaster. But with some coaxing from the manager we decided to give it one more shot and we were not disappointed! Everything was to die for. We will most definitely be back, again and again. Thank you for an amazing meal and a new favorite Italian place!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charlotte)
1.0  Dined on March 2, 2017

Thx for opportunity to review. I made reservations for a business lunch. Including a client and my boss. Received an email confirmation. So far so good. Arrived a few minutes early only to find restaurant licked up tighter than a drum. No access whatsoever. Sent an email on their website and, gee here's a surprise- absolutely no response. Will never waste my time with them again.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charlotte)
1.0  Dined on February 18, 2017

We got up and walked out when after 15 minutes no one had even spoken to us so there was no reason to spend that much money at a place with such terrible service. Tons of stuff running around looking like they were cleaning and doing end of shift work but nobody wanted to take care of our table. So we left and went to Epic Chophouse and it was worth every penny.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charlotte)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was wonderful once we got it. They were unprepared for the Valentine's reservations. Our waitress spoke little English and couldn't keep orders straight. Food was very slow coming out of kitchen. Also a bit pricey, but it was Valentine's after all.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charlotte)
1.0  Dined on February 14, 2017

Terrible. Couldn't believe how bad everything was. It was comical. Don't waste your time and money.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charlotte)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2017

We went on Valentine's Day, and the food was as good as it always is. Unfortunately, they had some waitstaff "walk out", and some issues in the kitchen that created lengthy delays. We waited 1 hour for our food. Some couples left before being served. The waitstaff was doing all they could, and were very accommodating, but it is hard to handle a full house with 50+ tables and only 3 waiters that we could see. We will go back, but probably not on a busy night. They do a great job with their food though!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Jacksonville)
1.0  Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was absolutely terrible. Food was below average. Never will return to this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
JillStJohn (Charlotte)
1.0  Dined on February 14, 2017

My husband and I came here for the first time on Valentine's Day. We arrive promptly at 5 PM and we were the first ones here. It took 40 minutes for our dinners to come out. I had ordered the surf and turf, which was supposed to be beef tenderloin (filet) and lobster which was pretty pricey at almost $40. But instead I got a cheap steak with lobster for the same price. I complain to the waiter but he went back and ask the chef and he try to convince me that it was beef tenderloin. So they basically called me a liar. It was clearly not filet. Check out the picture yourself. Not impressed with food or service. I even called back to complain to the manager (we had to rush to get home for soccer) but he was rude and didn't seem to care.

Report
Helpful
RobertH (Charlotte)
3.0  Dined on February 4, 2017

I have been eating there since they opened. This was the first time I had a compliant. The scallop appetizer and The salmon both were fishy. My date could not eat her dinner. The other sides on the plate was fine but, the seafood part was very fishy.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on January 31, 2017

Great food. Awesome service.

Report
Helpful
vipRiverDancer (Charlotte)
4.0  Dined on January 28, 2017

Surprisingly good food, considering the shabby décor and slow service. First the positive -- our salads were perfectly dressed, fresh and delicious. The osso buco and lamb shanks were rich and flavorful, and the other entrées we saw being taken to tables looked appetizing as well. The space (in an old church) has great potential.

On the negative side, the décor really brings this place down. Flimsy, ornate curtains obscure the charming old church windows. The main walls are a dingy shade of dark red, with a scattering of seemingly random wall art, most of which is too small to see from a distance beyond 5 feet. The lighting makes it seem like a permanent state of closing time at a run down bar -- when they flick on the lights and you instantly see just how dismal the place really is. They could do wonders by ripping down those curtains, painting the walls white, hanging some large, simply framed photos, lowering the lights and lighting candles on the tables. So much potential here -- and food and location make it worth what is probably a pretty minor investment!

Another quibble is that the wine mark up was ridiculous. We enjoyed our bottle, but were stunned to discover that you can buy a case online for about $16 a bottle whereas they charged us $60, We expect to pay up to 100% markup, but over 300% seems a bit extreme.

All things considered, the food was good enough to consider going back, though next time we'll see if we can bring our own wine and pay a corkage fee.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Las Vegas)
3.0  Dined on January 28, 2017

We tried this restaurant during restaurant week for something different. We had an 8pm reservation but it didn't matter as we didn't get seated until 8:30..not a big deal. They were quite busy so the service was slow at first but our waitress turned out to be very attentive. Our food was good, not great. Salmon was a bit dry and the veal slightly tough. Desserts were very good. We probably won't go back as we like a more intimate setting while dining. This restaurant is a big room with tables added. Understand this set up as it was a church.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10