About Trattoria Al Gusto

Enjoy the full experience of eating out by having a seat at one of our comfortable tables and enjoying the full experience. We offer dine in services for lunch and dinner, so you can stop in while on your lunch break or come see us after work. Visit us when special occasions demand a celebration:
weddings, birthdays, meet ups, or networking. Stop in for a meal when you crave the flavor of Italy.
Our staff is always happy to wait on you, and we are committed to providing you with an enjoyable dining experience.
Whether you are craving seafood linguine or want our famous Gnocchi, our Italian restaurant is delighted to serve you the best homemade Italian fare.

761 N Main St
Mooresville, NC 28115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday-Friday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(704) 660-1066

Website:
http://www.trattoriaalgusto.com/

Additional:
Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wine

Trattoria Al Gusto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (4)
See All
Special Occasion (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Casual (3)
Historic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Business Meals (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
111 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband & I were excited to try this ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband & I were excited to try this place as we had driven by it over the summer while in Mooresville. The restaurant itself is cute & quaint however we were not overly impressed with the meal.

We started out with the antipasto and the dish did not arrive as described. There were items missing that were supposed to be included, according to the menu description (olives, asparagus etc). I had the special of crab & shrimp stuffed ravioli in a vodka sauce. The pasta was about the size of a post it note which was great. However the actual stuffing was the size of a nickel. The dish came out luke warm at best & there was no vodka sauce. It was just a traditional red, tomato sauce.

My husband ordered the gnocchi which was good but the portion was very small.

Service was fine. Nothing to brag about and/or nothing to complain about.

I probably will not return and will just stick with my favorite local Italian spot in Charlotte.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

We visited during a snow weekend and wer ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We visited during a snow weekend and were one of the very few customer braving the elements. I'm so glad we did! The staff was knowledgeable and accommodating and the food was delicious! We came from out of town, but would

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed ourselves and the server reco ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed ourselves and the server recommended I try Sea Bass since I love seafood and had never had it. I LOVED it! It was delicious!! The only downfall was a large party was sat by us and they were extremely loud but other than that we highly enjoyed ourselves, the service and the food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Booked this restaurant on Open Table but ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Booked this restaurant on Open Table but they were not open. Must be closed for business and didn't update Open Table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

I would not recommend this restaurant. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant. We have been here twice. One on a regular Saturday night (not very good) and just this past Christmas Eve. Christmas Eve we were given a wine list when we were seated. I asked if the bar was open and also if they had beer. First person did not know. Second person said yes, but offered no information about what beer etc. Then, we experience the Christmas Eve Menu choices. Very very limited and were told we cannot order off the main menu at all. We all ordered the closest thing to what we might like if we had the full menu. The food was very very average and very very costly! I feel like they were open on Christmas Eve just to gouge people. Dinner for 4 with a drink for each person over $200! Not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Great, as always! Food was awesome. Ma ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great, as always! Food was awesome. Made to order. Our server, Jamie, was very knowledgeable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant! Great Food! Great Serv ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great restaurant! Great Food! Great Service! Richardo is the best!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great evening with the food, dr ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 2, 2016

It was a great evening with the food, drink and service amazing. Thanks to the staff there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found this restaurant a couple of yea ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We found this restaurant a couple of years ago and continue to enjoy. Never disappoints. never crowded. Food is delicious - home made pastas.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food! Great Service! Just a wonder ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food! Great Service! Just a wonderful place to Have a Nice Dinner!!!

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3 tables in the restaurant the entire ti ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 27, 2016

3 tables in the restaurant the entire time we were there. The waiter was busy playing on his phone behind the bar (probably bored), but still messed up on my husband's entree. Brought 2 entrees out, must have realized one was incorrect, put mine down and said he would be right back with my husbands. I watched him return with the other plate and then we waited for 10+ minutes for my husbands entree. Food was fine, but will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food, presentation and taste are a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food, presentation and taste are amazing. This is always a perfect place for Sunday Brunch, Lunch or Dinner. Well done...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great as alway ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food and service were great as always.

Our waiter's knowledge of wine was excellent and suggestions right on target.

If you haven't been here yet, you really missed out on a great experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food for reasonable prices. The amb ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Good food for reasonable prices. The ambiance was great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A quiet night for the restaurant but the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2016

A quiet night for the restaurant but the food was fantastic and the server very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food with fresh ingredients an ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent food with fresh ingredients and well appointed seasonings. Curated but broad offerings for appetizers and entrees. There were three of us with different choices and everyone was well satisfied with the quality of the food and the complimentary sides. Service could have been better as the waiter barely stopped when he asked how things were. If you don't really care, don't ask.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Since we found this gem, we have gone ba ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Since we found this gem, we have gone back many times. The waiters remember you and your drinks, are very friendly and make the meal. The food is very good and reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I think I expected a finer dining experi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2016

I think I expected a finer dining experience. After reviewing the regular menu, I think the selections for restaurant week could have been better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Probably the best meal in a Mooresville ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Probably the best meal in a Mooresville restaurant that I have had in the 34 years I have lived here. Every course was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Outstanding food, a pleasant experience. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Outstanding food, a pleasant experience. Not so noisy that you can't talk to your table mates. We have gone to this restaurant for lunch, brunch and a number of times for dinner , as a couple and with friends. we have NEVER been disappointed. The food is well prepared. The selections are varied and reasonable in price. It is our favorite place to dine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Varied menu, plenty to select from. Al ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Varied menu, plenty to select from. All dishes we ordered were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant for a group of friends ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great restaurant for a group of friends who want to be able to talk. Music is soft and background. The "old church" has some beautiful architecture, too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Had a great time here!

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 8, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant! We had a party of 12, plus 2 babies and we were easily accommodated and the staff took excellent care of us. The food was amazing and everyone loved what they had - not easy to do when trying to get 12 different orders out at the same time. I can't wait to come back here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both dishes we had were excellent; the c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Both dishes we had were excellent; the chicken and the salmon, quiet atmosphere and would definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant continues to exceed expectations

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Absolutely one of the best Italian restaurants I have ever eaten in. From the appetizer / entree specials, to the wine selection, this establishment hits the mark in every way imaginable. Superb food, gracious service and, most of all, consistency.

Although I live in NY, I visit the Charlotte area frequently and Trattoria al Gusto is, and always will be one of my "go to" places each visit.

BRAVO!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Relatively good food, but not great. Ca ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Relatively good food, but not great. Caruso's in Mooresville is a better choice for Italian fare.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Flawless Sunday brunch

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 15, 2016

We took a chance to try to place we'd never visited for Sunday brunch. It had really good reviews. We got there around 10:40 and were the only ones in the restaurant for 20 or 30 minutes. The service, the food was flawless - it was a perfect experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was so salty that it was almost ine ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was so salty that it was almost inedible; service was slow. Some of our meals came out wrong and we weren't offered any compensation. The room was uncomfortably warm. We have been a few times before and not overly impressed, but my son likes it, and so we went to celebrate his graduation. Unfortunately, we, and none of our guests, will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

excellent service and food

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2016

food was delicious and service was great

only glitch was that they did not have any white zinfandel

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

You just can't beat the price and qualit ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2016

You just can't beat the price and quality of food. I'm surprised they weren't busier. Parking is a hassle for sure, very small lot. Recommend carpooling if a large group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Papperdelle bolognese is delicious!

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Papperdelle bolognese is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!! Excellent service!!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Great food!! Excellent service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wow, what a brunch!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 13, 2016

We made brunch reservations for Al Gusto on our anniversary. When we arrived we discovered it was bottomless mimosas too. They were very accommodating for my wife's OJ allergy and substituted cranberry juice. The server and bartender were super nice and always timely. Our drinks and appetizers arrived quickly. The main courses were on time but not rushed. All three, shrimp fritatta, grilled salmon and our daughter's pancakes were fantastic and affordable. If I could have eaten another bite I would have ordered another entree! Thanks for a great anniversary brunch! The complimentary canoles were the best I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just 'okay'

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 27, 2016

We live close to Trattoria Al Gusto and was curious to give it a try. Our experience was just 'okay'. The food was pretty good, but the service was lacking. It was also fairly loud. I wanted to like it, but I doubt we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Food was very comparable to our favorite ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 26, 2016

Food was very comparable to our favorite uptown Charlotte restaurant. Wonderful! Service was great too! Will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Once Again Great Food

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 21, 2016

This is around the fifth time we have eaten here and I will definitely return for a sixth time. The food was excellent. My daughter had the lasagne, my husband had a steak, and I had calamari done in an olive, tomato, and caper sauce served over creamy polenta. We all had desserts and the crème brûlée was one of the best I have had in a long time. The prices are lower than one would expect. The only thing I would fault the restaurant on is ambiance. This because it's very large, having taken over the premises a number of years ago from the Mexican restaurant the Prickly Pear. The old church that the restaurant is in is interesting

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good overall experience

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our waiter was very good and attentive. He made suggestions regarding the food and from the wine list. We ate out on Valentine's night, kind of last minute reservations. However, we like finding new places to eat. They had a special menu for Valentine's. I was interested in the ossobuco, but that was not one of the options. The pasta dish and NY strip that we decided on was good and well prepared. Since the wine I requested was out, the waiter substitute a similar and more expensive bottle for the same price. I liked that and do not find that at most places we go. Typically you have to find a second option on your own and pay the listed price. There were a few noisy kids, but mostly adults that night. I would like to try it again on a regular night and possibly their Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Horrible service, food mediocre

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I ate here the Saturday before Valentine's Day for the first time. It was super packed and we sat down shortly after our reservation time. We sat down and didn't have a server for about 10 minutes. We ordered the bruschetta which I'm pretty sure was served on slices of white bread and cut into triangles. There was so much raw garlic on it it wasn't edible and on the raw garlic subject. I had the gnocchi which was decent but there was a whole clove of garlic hidden in the sauce. My wife had the rigatoni and other than it being in the salty side it was decent as well. I understand it was a special occasion and it was very busy so the quality may have suffered but I won't be going back. There was one guy that may have been a bus boy but he was the only one with any sense of urgency or seemed to care that the restaurant was drowning.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good food bad service.

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2016

We went there for Valentine's Day. The food was very good, but the service was terrible. To be fair ... it was Valentine's Day and the place was packed so we'll give the server the benefit of the doubt. We both ordered a glass of wine but had to remind the server who forgot. Fifteen minutes later we got our wine. When we ordered the salad the server asked us for our entree order, and we told him that we hadn't decided yet. He then told us that we couldn't place the salad order until we place the entree order. We both ordered a house salad only to receive one salad. When the meal was over we asked the server for the check and he went to get it only to come back to our table to ask us what we had for meals. Yes ... we double and triple checked the tab before we paid for it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

My first visit to Al Gusto

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 9, 2016

A friend and I ordered the Swordfish. The flavor of mine was very good; however I only hate half because I couldn't cut through the other half. My friend said hers had a very strong fishy taste. I have eaten swordfish many times and know there is often a dark flesh part that is a strong in fishiness. My friend ate all of hers. I did not. We let the waiter know and while he stated he would let the chef know. There was no reduction in my bill. I enjoyed the cauliflower puree, experienced a new wine that was excellent (Monkey Bay Sauvignon Blanc). It is not a restaurant I will visit again. If they had offered to reduce my bill for the half that was inedible I would go back and try other dishes. When I eat out I want the restaurant to make sure I am pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.