About Trattoria Al Gusto

761 N Main St
Mooresville, NC 28115
View Larger Map

Enjoy the full experience of eating out by having a seat at one of our comfortable tables and enjoying the full experience. We offer dine in services for lunch and dinner, so you can stop in while on your lunch break or come see us after work. Visit us when special occasions demand a celebration:
weddings, birthdays, meet ups, or networking. Stop in for a meal when you crave the flavor of Italy.
Our staff is always happy to wait on you, and we are committed to providing you with an enjoyable dining experience.
Whether you are craving seafood linguine or want our famous Gnocchi, our Italian restaurant is delighted to serve you the best homemade Italian fare.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday-Friday: 5:00pm -10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(704) 660-1066

Website:
http://www.trattoriaalgusto.com/

Additional:
Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine

Trattoria Al Gusto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (18)
fit for foodies (17)
good for groups (11)
See All
special occasion (11)
romantic (9)
notable wine list (4)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (1)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
85 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Relatively good food, but not great. Ca ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Relatively good food, but not great. Caruso's in Mooresville is a better choice for Italian fare.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Flawless Sunday brunch

Dined on May 15, 2016

We took a chance to try to place we'd never visited for Sunday brunch. It had really good reviews. We got there around 10:40 and were the only ones in the restaurant for 20 or 30 minutes. The service, the food was flawless - it was a perfect experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Food was so salty that it was almost ine ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was so salty that it was almost inedible; service was slow. Some of our meals came out wrong and we weren't offered any compensation. The room was uncomfortably warm. We have been a few times before and not overly impressed, but my son likes it, and so we went to celebrate his graduation. Unfortunately, we, and none of our guests, will be back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

excellent service and food

Dined on May 14, 2016

food was delicious and service was great only glitch was that they did not have any white zinfandel

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

You just can't beat the price and qualit ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

You just can't beat the price and quality of food. I'm surprised they weren't busier. Parking is a hassle for sure, very small lot. Recommend carpooling if a large group.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great food!! Excellent service!!

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Great food!! Excellent service!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, what a brunch!

Dined on March 13, 2016

We made brunch reservations for Al Gusto on our anniversary. When we arrived we discovered it was bottomless mimosas too. They were very accommodating for my wife's OJ allergy and substituted cranberry juice. The server and bartender were super nice and always timely. Our drinks and appetizers arrived quickly. The main courses were on time but not rushed. All three, shrimp fritatta, grilled salmon and our daughter's pancakes were fantastic and affordable. If I could have eaten another bite I would have ordered another entree! Thanks for a great anniversary brunch! The complimentary canoles were the best I've ever had.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Just 'okay'

Dined on February 27, 2016

We live close to Trattoria Al Gusto and was curious to give it a try. Our experience was just 'okay'. The food was pretty good, but the service was lacking. It was also fairly loud. I wanted to like it, but I doubt we will be back.

food5
ambience3
service5

Food was very comparable to our favorite ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Food was very comparable to our favorite uptown Charlotte restaurant. Wonderful! Service was great too! Will definitely be back!!

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Once Again Great Food

Dined on February 21, 2016

This is around the fifth time we have eaten here and I will definitely return for a sixth time. The food was excellent. My daughter had the lasagne, my husband had a steak, and I had calamari done in an olive, tomato, and caper sauce served over creamy polenta. We all had desserts and the crème brûlée was one of the best I have had in a long time. The prices are lower than one would expect. The only thing I would fault the restaurant on is ambiance. This because it's very large, having taken over the premises a number of years ago from the Mexican restaurant the Prickly Pear. The old church that the restaurant is in is interesting

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good overall experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our waiter was very good and attentive. He made suggestions regarding the food and from the wine list. We ate out on Valentine's night, kind of last minute reservations. However, we like finding new places to eat. They had a special menu for Valentine's. I was interested in the ossobuco, but that was not one of the options. The pasta dish and NY strip that we decided on was good and well prepared. Since the wine I requested was out, the waiter substitute a similar and more expensive bottle for the same price. I liked that and do not find that at most places we go. Typically you have to find a second option on your own and pay the listed price. There were a few noisy kids, but mostly adults that night. I would like to try it again on a regular night and possibly their Sunday brunch.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible service, food mediocre

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I ate here the Saturday before Valentine's Day for the first time. It was super packed and we sat down shortly after our reservation time. We sat down and didn't have a server for about 10 minutes. We ordered the bruschetta which I'm pretty sure was served on slices of white bread and cut into triangles. There was so much raw garlic on it it wasn't edible and on the raw garlic subject. I had the gnocchi which was decent but there was a whole clove of garlic hidden in the sauce. My wife had the rigatoni and other than it being in the salty side it was decent as well. I understand it was a special occasion and it was very busy so the quality may have suffered but I won't be going back. There was one guy that may have been a bus boy but he was the only one with any sense of urgency or seemed to care that the restaurant was drowning.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good food bad service.

Dined on February 13, 2016

We went there for Valentine's Day. The food was very good, but the service was terrible. To be fair ... it was Valentine's Day and the place was packed so we'll give the server the benefit of the doubt. We both ordered a glass of wine but had to remind the server who forgot. Fifteen minutes later we got our wine. When we ordered the salad the server asked us for our entree order, and we told him that we hadn't decided yet. He then told us that we couldn't place the salad order until we place the entree order. We both ordered a house salad only to receive one salad. When the meal was over we asked the server for the check and he went to get it only to come back to our table to ask us what we had for meals. Yes ... we double and triple checked the tab before we paid for it.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

My first visit to Al Gusto

Dined on February 9, 2016

A friend and I ordered the Swordfish. The flavor of mine was very good; however I only hate half because I couldn't cut through the other half. My friend said hers had a very strong fishy taste. I have eaten swordfish many times and know there is often a dark flesh part that is a strong in fishiness. My friend ate all of hers. I did not. We let the waiter know and while he stated he would let the chef know. There was no reduction in my bill. I enjoyed the cauliflower puree, experienced a new wine that was excellent (Monkey Bay Sauvignon Blanc). It is not a restaurant I will visit again. If they had offered to reduce my bill for the half that was inedible I would go back and try other dishes. When I eat out I want the restaurant to make sure I am pleased.

food1
ambience1
service1

Rated them poor because they were closed ...

vip
Dined on February 8, 2016

Rated them poor because they were closed for the Super Bowl but accepted the reservation and had not updated their voicemail. I drove several miles to find the place dark and locked up-VERY unprofessional!

food4
ambience5
service5

Great service! Had a nice bday dinner he ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Great service! Had a nice bday dinner here with some friends. The food was good the service was even better. They made me feel special the moment I walked in all the way till we walked out. I would come back to try out more of their dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Amazing!

Dined on January 31, 2016

The food and service is always outstanding. I was there on New Years Eve and then again another Saturday both nights were exceptional. You weren't rushed between courses, the staff was polite and always there to refill your beverage. My new favorite place to eat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food

Dined on January 30, 2016

AL Gusto was a great experience, I had the lobster ravioli, delicious! It gets a little crowded and hard to have a personal conversation since the tables are so close but I would recommend this place to everyone who loves Italian food. Can't wait to go back

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

I'll be back

Dined on January 29, 2016

Don't be fooled by the exterior and interior design. The food was amazing. The service was above par. Queen's Feast allowed us to find this little gem. I had the lamb shank. Normally I stay far away from lamp. So happy I took the leap. Amazing! My husband's veal was equally as good. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Personable Service and Delicious Food

Dined on January 28, 2016

We were greeted and seated promptly and very personal attention was given to our possible wine and food choices. 2009 Brunello Montalcino was superb! Standouts for appetizers were the Carpaccio di Manzo con Tartufi Bianchi, the tuna and the Insalata di Campo e Noci. All were generous portions so we enjoyed sharing. Mahi Mahi, Sea Bass and lamb shanks were favorite entrees and Panna Cotta was delicious for dessert.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant week

Dined on January 28, 2016

I have been to Trattoria Al Gusto twice. Both times for restaurant week. Both times food was excellent. Not sure why I haven't tried it other times but I'll have to make an effort. Their restaurant week menu has more selections than most participating restaurants. Service was good and atmosphere very nice. Great place for Italian favorites as well as other specialities.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!!

Dined on January 27, 2016

Great place!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Snow Day Food Heaven

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

Due to it snowing, the staff called multiple times to ensure we still wanted to come. After arriving an hour early, we were treated like gold. Great food, great service, great everything. Great wine selection, but the food is impeccable! We'll definitely be back. Do yourself a favor and go!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite in NC

Dined on January 1, 2016

We moved here from CA and have had a tough time finding top notch food. We live at The Point and are fairly close to Al Gusto. So far, this is the only restaurant that has us returning frequently for dinner. We have genuinely liked all of our meals including our recent visit on New Years Eve. Between 4 of us, we enjoyed ahi, filet ravioli and my husband's favorite, the homemade pasta with ragu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Italian Experience

Dined on December 26, 2015

My partner and I dined at Trattoria Al Gusto on Christmas night. As first-time visitors we were really taken by the place—a large and cozy restaurant hidden away in Mooresville. The waiter that greeted us was very knowledgeable and recommended a few dishes from the their special holiday menu. Each of our orders from the three course options were prepared in a good amount of time and came out wonderful! The homemade gnocchi with braised beef was one of the best I've had compared to a few other restaurants in Charlotte. My partner's Chilian sea bass was also cooked with utmost care. Overall we had a fine experience for a reasonable price. We will definitely return for another date night and we suggest this restaurant for anyone seeking an authentic Italian experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Food is Excellent. Stay away from the bartender

Dined on December 25, 2015

We inadvertently asked the bartender to recommend a good red wine. The bartender is a Bills fan and was wearing a Bills hat and he recommended a great red wine. 2 bottles later and $130 later we realized that each bottle was $65. He said it was a great value, go figure:)

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Slow delievry

Dined on December 22, 2015

Although the restaurant is usually empty at lunch the delivery of food is too slow. Food is good.

food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious Northern Italian Food

Dined on December 11, 2015

After living in Northern Italy for 3 years and moving to Charlotte area a bit over a year ago, we are so excited to find Trattoria al Gusto. Run by the same family as Fiamma in Dilworth, we really enjoyed each dish we tasted. I knew we were in for a great meal after sampling their fantastic pesto and bread to get us going. We started with a the burrata antipasta and a sample of the eggplant Parmesan. Both were delicious. Our table of 4 then shared the gnocchi as a primi and bronzino and for our secondi. Fantastic. The flavors were all there and the quality of ingredients were evident. I'm very excited to find this hidden gem so close to our N Charlotte neighborhood.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2

Food ok, but slightly disappointed.

Dined on December 6, 2015

We made a reservation and when we arrived we were put smack dab in the middle of the restaurant and seated next to a group of 12. It was very loud. The food was ok - not the best italian, but not the worst. It was quite pricey for an average meal. Service was good and bad. Sometimes we got attention but other times the waiter was also the maitre d and the bartender. Not sure we will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently excellent

Dined on November 29, 2015

This restaurant has some of the best Italian food this side of the Atlantic. Travel to Charlotte area frequently and this will be on the dinner schedule every trip. Matt is an excellent server, knows the menu and wine very well. Wonderful guy!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Great food!

Dined on November 15, 2015

Food was great! The service was very slow, but the server explained that they had two of the servers call out. Will go back because food was great, just not when we are in a hurry!

food4
ambience4
service1

Great food, understaffed

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

My party of 6 went on a Saturday evening and had a wonderful time. Everyone's meal was authentic and tasty. The wine list was limited, but had great choices and dessert was wonderful and sized to share. However, they were woefully understaffed and it took a long time to order, get our food, and pay.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service3

Good choice for a local night out

Dined on October 31, 2015

Great food and friendly service, but a little on the slow side. I still keep going back and always enjoy my meal. There are selections (like beef carpaccio) that you can't find at other Italian restaurants locally and they always offer a lot of great nightly specials.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4

Always delicious food

Dined on October 19, 2015

The food was great as always. The service was friendly and punctual.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Hard to Tell, but Food was Good

vip
Dined on October 5, 2015

We went on a Monday night at 7pm. There was only one other table there and one other one that came in after us. There was one server who I believe may have been the owners wife. I read a lot of reviews on the place for terrible service during busy times but the service was ok for us since we were one of really two tables since the others had finished up. Couple of notes. Music seemed a bit to loud but that may be due to the dead silence with only two tables seated. There is a tv over the bar area which is somewhat out of place in the corner of the resturaunt which was turned to the spanish channel. Mrs. Owner looks and speaks more like she is spanish and Mr. Owner more toward the Italian heritage may via Argentinian decent. My grandfather who was from Naples spoke broken english and all his buddies from different parts of the "old country" also, and his didn't sound like any of those but that's been some 35 years since I've heard them speaking. It's a toss up on Mr. Owner! If there are only two tables in seated there is no reason to have the TV on except that Mrs. is the one watching. Definitely takes away from the ambiance of the place. Food however is good. I read a review that read jar sauce at best and I didn't get that taste. Sauce is a little sweet but that comes from using ripe tomatoes. I'm more of more tangy sauce and like a more heavy use of organo than most people. That being said, the marinara that came with the squid was as it should be. My wife had the egg plant. Egg plant can be bitter if not pressed right and this was good. I only had a little bite and it was good confirming her sentiments. I had the veal saltimbocca and it was good good. Menu bills it with aspargus, spinach, and mashed potatos. The only thing wrong with the aspargus was there was only one on the plate. Absolutely cook perfect, flavorful, nice grill marks, and a fresh piece. Spinach was no different, sauteed beautifully and fresh. Out of review room, see trip advisor

food5
ambience3
service5

A wonderful surprise

Dined on October 4, 2015

We tried two of the fish specials. Both were outstanding, with ample portions and nice presentation. The waiter was attentive and friendly without being overbearing. We will definitely go back for another meal when we are in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Authentic Italian

vip
Dined on September 26, 2015

The restaurant is in a former church, so the ambience is quite unique. Our only complaint is the kitchen was VERY SLOW and it took 1 hour to get our food. The food is homemade & you feel as though you're in Italy. I hope we hit it on a bad night and plan to go back in the future even though we drive almost an hour to get there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service1

Great food but no servicr

Dined on September 17, 2015

one guy served entire restaurant! He kept on apologizing Food was amazing but I will not go back due to poor or no service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best Italian food outside of New York

Dined on August 15, 2015

The chef at this restaurant has extensive talent. We come here everything we are in town, and have always had incredible food, and we look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service2

We went for brunch!

vip
Dined on August 9, 2015

We thought we would try their brunch. It was a bit disappointing as we were 1 of 2 tables being served and service was sluggish at best. Wait staff was nice enough and friendly but the food as not great. Poached eggs were over cooked and the rest of the food was just so-so. However the Italian sausage was very good. We will try Al Gusto for dinner at some point but it is not likely we would go back for Sunday Brunch.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.