Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

AndinaAndina
(4702)
Peruvian | Pearl District, Portland
Reserve Now
ObaOba
(1522)
Latin American | Pearl District, Portland
Reserve Now
Giorgio'sGiorgio's
(66)
Italian | NW Portland, Portland
Reserve Now
Bellino Trattoria SicilianaBellino Trattoria Siciliana
(130)
Sicilian | Pearl District, Portland
Reserve Now
Paragon - PortlandParagon - Portland
(343)
Gastro Pub | Pearl District, Portland
Reserve Now
Brix TavernBrix Tavern
(704)
Comfort Food | Pearl District, Portland
Reserve Now
Zaatar Fine Lebanese CuisineZaatar Fine Lebanese Cuisine
(43)
Lebanese | Pearl District, Portland
Reserve Now
Irving St KitchenIrving St Kitchen
(1002)
American | Pearl District, Portland
Reserve Now
BluehourBluehour
(1293)
Modern European | Pearl District, Portland
Reserve Now
Isabel PearlIsabel Pearl
(119)
Latin / Spanish | Pearl District, Portland
Reserve Now
Gallo NeroGallo Nero
(158)
Italian | Pearl District, Portland
Reserve Now
The Hairy LobsterThe Hairy Lobster
(169)
American | Pearl District, Portland
Reserve Now
SanteSante
(1)
Tapas / Small Plates | Pearl District, Portland
Reserve Now
Eleni's PhiloxeniaEleni's Philoxenia
(89)
Mediterranean | Pearl District, Portland
Reserve Now
Masu SushiMasu Sushi
(469)
Sushi | Downtown, Portland
Reserve Now

About Trader Vic's

1203 NW Glisan
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Escape to Portland’s premiere destination for Polynesian cuisine, tropical cocktails, traditional Pupus and famous Chinese oven dishes. Our unforgettable ambiance features traditional Tikis, and palm-thatched ceilings. Trader Vic's Portland is located in the Pearl district. Join us for a little island spirit.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Pan-Asian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday 11 am -10 pm
Friday & Saturday 11 am -12 am

Cross Street:
NW 12th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 467-2277

Website:
http://www.tradervicspdx.com/

Parking Details:
If street parking is a challenge there are several public lots with in a block radius.

Public Transit:
We are conveniently located one block from both the north and south bound Trolley cars, and bus 17 stops at the corner.

Executive Chef:
Chef Travis Stroud

Private Party Facilities:
Our beautiful Polynesian private dining room seats up to 50 guests. We offer plate or buffet services. Audio Visual features are available.

Private Party Contact:
Chris Omoletski: 5034672277

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM
Sort By:
Newest
608 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good was ok and device was good. I thoug ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Good was ok and device was good. I thought the food was better the first time I went here. Drinks were good but small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

No drink accessories

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The fun memories of visits to Trader vics include tiki men swizle sticks, umbrella skewered pineapple, an orchid floating and flamed dishes prepared tableside. We ordered 4 drinks and all came without decoration. We ordered the flaming steak, which was toothpick skewered beef to hold over a fuel cube in a foil cup. Kids meal ribs were as chewy and dry as beef jerky. The nice waiter comped them. A little more effort could make it so much better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

poor service and food

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Service was marginal and rushed when they weren't busy. Salads were brought to the table with no effort to clear the appetizer plates that were finished. Within 2 mins of bringing the salads out the entrees arrived and then they clumsily tried to make room for everything. Quality of the food was poor. Beef tenderloin was very chewy and calamari was soggy. When the reservation was made it was clear we were celebrating the birthday of 2 in our party of 4. Absolutely no mention was made by the waitstaff of the birthdays nor did they attempt to make us feel welcome. We now understand why all the empty tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

They do tiki very well. Food, not so muc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

They do tiki very well. Food, not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Service was exceptional. Server was atte ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was exceptional. Server was attentive, timely, and very knowledgeable about drinks which was helpful. Food was delicious. We are excited to return for another date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious! But a bit spendy

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for our anniversary, and needless to say it was a great experience! We came at 530 for Happy Hour drinks before dinner, and I must admit their Original Mai Tai's are famous for a reason; strong but flavorful (although i prefer their 1944 version which has a bit more kick as its made with orange liqueur and almond syrup rather than a premade mix). For dinner i had the drunken noodles.The mix of chicken, pork, and shrimp went well the mix of noodles, scrambled egg and bok choy. I was a bit disappointed in the amount of noodles there were compared to the whole dish; there could have been more. My girlfriend really enjoyed the Cioppino she ordered. The only downside is the price; $12 for the appetizer shrimp was a bit much considered there were only about 7 small pieces in the order. I would definitely recommend this place at least for special occasions but not something i could personally afford on a regular basis. I will definitely be back for Happy Hour again because they have a great deals on their food and drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Trader Vic's has great food, friendly, p ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Trader Vic's has great food, friendly, prompt service and over the top island style ambiance, very tastefully done. I enjoy their flavorful food, the drunken noodles and brisket sandwich were great! They have fun, exotic drinks (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic). I will definitely be going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Mid week dinner

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Had some out of town guests and wanted a place that showed the vibrant week night pedestrian traffic. Trader Vic's has a great location for viewing the street life while enjoying the restaurants beautiful interior. Our waiter was uber friendly and knowledgeable and the food was terrific. I was worried that the menu was not varied enough, but everything we ordered was distinctive and everyone's diverse tastes were accomodated. Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trader Vics

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Trader Vics is old school dining at its best. No pretense. Wood fired oven is amazing. creative menu. great pupus and tropical drinks. The orginal mai tai is perfectly done. no need for wine at a pure tiki bar. Great fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tiki Bars Yeah!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Had a great table for two at the window. A big party was across the way from us but did not seem to bother us to much. We had pupus for dinner. Enjoyed most everything. Loved the Poke, very fresh. BBQ ribs had a great smoked flavor but we're a little tough for my taste. The waiter was okay but not very attentive. He seemed like he was somewhere else all night. Will be back. There were a few more things on the menu we want to try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent Service

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

I haven't been to Trader Vics in a very long time and I was so happy my girlfriend and I met there for lunch. The service is absolutely excellent and great food to go with it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service from Justin is always the Be ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

The service from Justin is always the Best in PDX. And Trader Vic's food and drinks could never be better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love Trader Vic's. It is one of my fav ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

I love Trader Vic's. It is one of my favorites in Portland. There is no ther place like it in Portland. I think the crackers with homemade PB is so different-and good. The food is always good. And, best Mai Tai ever (1944). Always a special treat when I get to go here.

Peggy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Trendy

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Drink menu was great, especially if you enjoy rum and tropical juices. Food was nice, my scallops were a tad undercooked, but still tasty.

I made a reservation in advance and arrived 40 minutes early to enjoy the bar, it was crowded and we had to wait for a seat. Once seated at a table in the lounge we informed the cocktailer that we were waiting for our dinner table, big mistake as she assumed we were transferring our check over to our table after we elected not to close out after every drink, lets just say we were ignored compared to the other patrons.

When we were seated, the table was located directly next to the micro in the middle of the dining room. Unfortunately this is my pet peeve, I dislike being seated by the micro as there is a lot of traffic. I asked to move to another table....another mistake, the hostess gave such an attitude, slamming silverware down on the new table and not even looking me in the face. I watched her as she went over to our server and pointed us out. God only knows what she said. Fortunately the server was professional and the evening ended well. He saved our dinner because it was quickly starting to go downhill fast.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great Atmosphere & Drinks

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

We went for a birthday lunch amd had drinks. The place has a fun Polynesian atmosphere and lots of fun drinks. Food was good (and we've been multiple times).

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place to visit

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

Super fun! The place took us back to the wonderful i'm we spent in Kauai Hawaii!! Was very quiet and romantic. Drinks were amazing as was every morsel of food!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

NYE price fixe menu

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was tasty , but might have been better off menu. Shrimp cocktail had just 1 prawn (I think only 1 oyster was served there as well), really! Salad was large and tasty. All enjoyed steaks and salmon, Very disappointed in wine pairing! All were sparkling, would have preferred variety of wines! Dessert was also nothing to rave about.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Mixed success

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Our drinks, appetizers, and desserts were terrific -- really delicious. Unfortunately our entrees and salads were not. While not bad, they were mediocre for the price. Trader Vic's should work on correcting that. This is not the first time we have had that happen here. The ambience is so much fun. I hope they can make this part of their menu better.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

It was ok.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Dinner was lackluster. There was maybe one vegetarian option for me and nothing my daughter would eat in the small kid's selection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great food

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

A gem.

Great food delicious drinks

Good for a group or a date .

Always deliver :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced--4 bites of poke for $14! Dri ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

Overpriced--4 bites of poke for $14! Drinks were 95% crushed ice, when we asked for a second round without ice we got drinks in teeny tiny glasses! Lighting was a harsh can light directly over our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Impressed, Different

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

Went for lunch, looking forward to visiting for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was slow. We were crammed at ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

The service was slow. We were crammed at some tiny table in a corner. The servers were very busy, and it took quite a while to get someone to take our order, however he was very friendly. Unfortunately the food was awful, and the drinks are 3/4 ice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Disappointed

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

Service was absolutely fantastic. Atmosphere was fun. Food was mediocre, overcooked and overpriced for the quality that was delivered to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Did not enjoy Thanksgiving buffet at all

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

We were very excited to try our first Thanksgiving buffet at a Portland restaurant. This seemed like an amazing deal at a very nice spot I've heard good things about - mostly for their drinks. The OpenTable reservation process was easy, we got a great table, service was great, the kids enjoyed their fancy drinks, and we were very excited for the food, but.... it was a huge disappointment. Everything was tasteless, overcooked, dry, mushy or otherwise unappealing. We are not picky eaters! We love Hawaiian food! And buffets! But my husband didn't even finish his first plate and I couldn't find anything to go back for on my second trip. Specifics: their attempt at "Lua lua" (lau lau, I suppose) was dry and overcooked. Their prime rib thin and dry. I didn't even try the kalua turkey. Eggs and bacon at a buffet at 3:30 p.m.? Come on. Their three noodle dishes - Dan Dan Noodles, cold ramen and some kind of Asian noodle salad - tasteless, something you might find at a bad potluck. Stuffing a big mush pile. Their "huli huli chicken" was not even 1% in resemblance of actual huli huli chicken -- juicy meat, characterized by a nice char grill. Theirs was covered in red BBQ sauce that tasted like it came out of a bottle. The desserts were mini versions of pumpkin pie, cheesecake, etc that I've tasted better at a cafeteria or Trader Joe's. I feel like this should've-been-special experience was a total waste. I hope this is not their food on a usual basis, just a bad buffet offering. But it turned us off from having any future Thanksgiving buffets at Portland restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

A special Thanksgiving

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

My family had our Thanksgiving meal at the buffet and it was excellent! The food and atmosphere was fun and energetic. I would recommend Trader Vic's to friends and family for a great dining experience! We will definitely be back! Thank you Trader Vic's!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Fun atmosphere!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Excellent service. Fun atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanksgiving

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving meal and an adventure in trying new dishes. Everything was wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Rum and yum

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Loved all of it. Drinks, food, drinks and service and drinks. All fantastic each time we visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun menu; Attentive service

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Visited Trader Vic's for Happy Hour with my book club. Service was attentive, efficient, and the menu had enough variety that everyone was able to find something she liked. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Experience, cozy interesting decor

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

We had a great dinner here. Food was good, lots of choices, service was very good. Most importantly we could have a conversation without shouting! Noise level was very good. Ambiance was very nice... dimmed lights with Polynesian theme decorations. You can see the fire that heats the oven from parts of the restaurant making it a very cozy place to come into on a cold, wet fall evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fun, but a bit over-priced

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

I've been here half a dozen times, and I've never had a single bad meal or drink. The place has a fun Tiki bar ambiance, the Mai Tai's are delicious, and the servers are always friendly and accommodating. My only complaint would be that the prices for entrees are a bit over-priced.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

This restaurant was all around amazing; ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

This restaurant was all around amazing; the food, atmosphere, service was great as well. We were just visiting for the weekend and our waiter just proved us right that everyone in portland is so nice. His energy great and you could tell he liked his job. The unique food selections was amazing as well, and we just got appetizers! If i come visit portland again i will 100% be visiting Trader Vic's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Not so special of an occasion...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

I gave service a 3 due to the fact that I had told them specifically that our reservation was for my boyfriend's Birthday and if they could do something special for him that would be awesome. There was nothing special at all for his Birthday dinner. Not one single acknowledgement that it was his Birthday. I was quite disappointed in their lack of service and effort to make our dining experience special, so I would suggest this ace to frienda, but not for any kind of special occasion. Their saving grace was that out food was hot and pretty tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Love this place great ambience. Fun drin ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Love this place great ambience. Fun drinks great food and very helpful staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mai Tai

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 19, 2015

This is a beautiful restaurant and bar, really speedy service both times we had lunch here.

Both times, it was not very busy. The food was great, and the drinks were well made and delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great experience

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

We really appreciated the professional and friendly attention from our server--Jesse--he made the good food and atmosphere much better by making us feel so welcome.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bland, overpriced food. Seems twenty yea ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

Bland, overpriced food. Seems twenty years out of date with so many other chef driven restaurants in Portland. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Patrick was a very attentive server! Our ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 29, 2015

Patrick was a very attentive server! Our lunch was tasty and it was a beautiful day to sit near the windows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Entrees need improvement

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

Great service, fun drinks, good appetizers. Entrees were overpriced for what you got. Seafood pad Thai was a bowl of noodles with a couple of pieces of overdone seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.