About Trabocco

2213 South Shore Center
Alameda, CA 94501
View Larger Map

Trabocco brings something new and exciting to Alameda. Chef-owner, Giuseppe Naccarelli presents a seasonally inspired menu of classic Italian dishes with a modern twist, influenced by the cuisine of his native region of Abruzzo.
A Trabocco is a unique fishing pier found along the Adriatic coast of Abruzzo. Architect and Designer Lev Weisbach of Weisbach Architecture|Design was inspired by the beautiful Trabocchi of Abruzzo when he created his spectacular design. With its reclaimed wood ceilings, dramatic copper encased fireplace, and modern bar Trabocco is warm and welcoming yet strikingly dramatic and modern.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Su-Sa 11:30am-4pm
Dinner Su-Th 4pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis St. and Park St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 521-1152

Website:
http://www.trabocco.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking in South Shore Center parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Naccarelli

Private Party Facilities:
The "Salle del Vino" provides groups of 10-16 with an intimate private dining experience. The Wine Room is separated from the Bar/Lounge area by a dramatic floor to ceiling wine wall which houses Trabocco's wines, all of which are from Italy and California.

Private Party Contact:
Christine Naccarelli: (510) 521-1152

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Trabocco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Good for a Date (62)
Good for Birthdays (56)
See All
Fit for Foodies (52)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Authentic (47)
Open Kitchen (46)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Modern Decor (42)
Worth the Drive (40)
Good for Groups (39)
Wood Oven (39)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Bar Seating (37)
Great for Lunch (34)
Romantic (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Casual (31)
Local Ingredients (30)
Fun (26)
Business Meals (26)
Healthy (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Seasonal (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Family Style (21)
Kid-friendly (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Cozy (14)
People Watching (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Disabled Access (11)
Fireplace (10)
Private Room (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Happy Hour (4)
Organic (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
993 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The fish stew was outstanding. The chic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The fish stew was outstanding. The chicken dinner the chicken was not boned. Suggest you offer boned, less messey for the ladies. I am counting on you!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Casual, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Trabucco has been our go-to for special ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Trabucco has been our go-to for special events since we discovered it a couple of years ago. The meal prep and its ingredients are absolutely tier 1. Certainly competitive with many (but not all) of the tier 1 spots in San Francisco, but of course easier to get to, easier to find parking, easy access to public transit, staff and management who are less uptight, and more family-friendly. They make their own pasta, and you can watch the process through a window next to the kitchen. It's a wonderful place to go. And the wait-staff are very personable and helpful and knowledgeable.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, , Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh and tasty pastas all around for ev ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Fresh and tasty pastas all around for everyone in my group. Not overly priced but still probably the best Italian one can find in Alameda.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server Katheryn was amazing and very ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server Katheryn was amazing and very knowledgeable with the menu. She went out of her way to make our Anniversary special.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food and great time for a frie ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food and great time for a friend's birthday! The food was perfectly prepared and delicious. The oxtail ravioli flavorful and obviously slow cooked, yet al dente. The seafood risotto fresh and tasty. The salmon was simple, but well prepared. Dessert was pretty traditional, but nothing wrong with a yummy flour-less chocolate cake & zabaglione w berries!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Private Room, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Healthy, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Trabocco is always 5-stars! We dined ou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Trabocco is always 5-stars! We dined outside on the patio (heaters in January) and watched the world go by. I had the grilled prawns, scallops, and calamari over greens and beans with an olive oil and lemon dressing - excellent! My boyfriend had the salmon - also excellent! We had coffee and shared the flourless chocolate cake for dessert (very decadent and yummy). The waiter was superb and the owner came over to say hello to all the diners. The best dining experience in Alameda.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fireplace, Healthy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently EXCELLENT food! Menu is cr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Consistently EXCELLENT food! Menu is creative, but, ALWAYS something for everyone, including some fabulous daily specials.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef/owner Giuseppe & staff never disapp ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Chef/owner Giuseppe & staff never disappoints this humble diner. Delectable specials adhering to the Giuseppe's cultural heritage/roots; the risotto & fish of the day were a marvel!

Tags: Modern Decor, Tapas, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, , Family Style, Casual, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful. Great food, great serv ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Always wonderful. Great food, great service. A bit loud but not obtrusive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic place! Love this Italian and C ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Fantastic place! Love this Italian and California cuisine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and very good, to good, s ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Very good food and very good, to good, service. The owner always enthusiastically greets repeat customers.

Tags: Vegan, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Authentic, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

New to Alameda, we chose Trabocco for ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

New to Alameda, we chose Trabocco for our celebration based on the recommendations of friends who are long time Alameda residents. From the beginning the staff was marvelous. I thought the timing of the dishes and extras was impeccable. It was a birthday dinner. Four of us celebrating my fiancé's birthday which included not one but two visits by the Executive Chief/owner..... Giuseppe was a very gracious host to us all. I was especially intrigued by the seafood risotto squid ink infused with scallops, shrimps & calamari but when our waiter offered to add baby octopus to the mix I had to try. Truly enjoyed this dish which I might not had order on my first visit to another restaurant but Trabocco inspires like no other we've found; so far.....

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter is a huge fan of the oxtail ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

My daughter is a huge fan of the oxtail ravioli and the tiramisu! We celebrated her 8th birthday with a friend and we were treated like royalty. Giuseppe takes great pride in his menu and is always so warm and welcoming. We have been huge fans since the inception. The restaurant feels like a little slice of New York in our little Alameda town!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Seasonal, Authentic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trabocco is a great place to bring out o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Trabocco is a great place to bring out of town guests for a special dinner. We all ate specials and they did not disappoint! Bravo, Guiseppi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the best Italian restaurant in t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

This is the best Italian restaurant in the Bay Area hands down! The staff and owner of the restaurant are the best people, they really care about their customers. You get fine dining with excellent unique dishes at a reasonable price. The wine selection is amazing! Love this place!

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful time! Food was spectacular - m ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Wonderful time! Food was spectacular - maybe the best salmon ever. Lobster ravioli was only thing that was just ok. Save room for dessert. When you are here you feel special and welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have all been to Trabocco several tim ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We have all been to Trabocco several times before, and always enjoyed the experience. This last time was different. We had horrible service and it ruined our entire experience, which was to celebrate a friend's birthday.

Our waiter was not only lax, he was often rude and aggressive. He made many mistakes on the order (probably because he didn't write anything down), and instead of taking responsibility, he got aggressive and nasty.

We will not be returning to Trabocco - because of this horrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Amazing as always! A total treasure for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing as always! A total treasure for Alameda. We are never disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant lunch with good service and foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Pleasant lunch with good service and food. Some dishes were very good others average. There were 4 of us. We shared an octopus appetizer which was excellent. Main dishes were : sliced pork and onion panini which too fatty; shrimp and rice pilaf which was described as very good; shrimp and octopus over spinach described as very good; grilled chicken salad said to be good. Service was good. Prices were reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was incredible!!! Highly reco ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was incredible!!! Highly recommend- a very special restaurant!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent and my son fel ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The service was excellent and my son felt special on his birthday.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food by genuine Italian chef w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fantastic food by genuine Italian chef who greets you at the door. Highly recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Erica was wonderful. Great service! Gius ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Erica was wonderful. Great service! Giuseppe is a great master chef. Thank you...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the food, very authentic Italian Fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Love the food, very authentic Italian Food. Friendly wait staff, second time we had lunch with family and friends during the Holiday week.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Christmas Eve Dinner was once again. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our Christmas Eve Dinner was once again... Outstanding!!!

Trabocco used to be my favorite restaurant in Alameda,

then it became my favorite restaurant in the East Bay,

now it is my favorite restaurant in the Bay Area!

How lucky are we to have this gem in town!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Private Room, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trabocco is an amazing restaurant! We lo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Trabocco is an amazing restaurant! We love going there for special occasions or just for a nice evening out. The food is fabulous and always the same great quality no matter how many times you visit. The staff is excellent and friendly. I love everything about this family owned and operated restaurant. I highly recommend this place to anyone!!! Its my favorite place in the Bay!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure. Every dish is great. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always a pleasure. Every dish is great. The pizza's are amazing. Local wine and beer selection round things out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The shrimp risotto was excellent. The wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The shrimp risotto was excellent. The wait staff are friendly . I highly recommend this place .

Tags: Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service. Food was very good. Noi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great service. Food was very good. Noice level was a bit much but I get it's the holiday season. Overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We went to celebrate a birthday. Our se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We went to celebrate a birthday. Our server was great . The octopus and the calamari are amazing! The risotto and ravioli were very good and I would order it again. Save room for dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice option to fast food in the area - a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Nice option to fast food in the area - a step above and great staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We come here about once every two months ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We come here about once every two months. I have never had a bad experience. The food is always very good and it's an experience eating at the wood counter. I appreciate that the owner stops by the tables to say hello on most visits.

Tags: Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoy every moment watching, ordering an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Enjoy every moment watching, ordering and eating all their great menu items. Waiters know the menu and whatt to recommend. Great service all the time-lunch or dinner.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, great service and a pers ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Delicious food, great service and a personal touch with a visit by chef/owner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, we were treated to a very sp ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Once again, we were treated to a very special dining experience. From the service (Erica is wonderful ) to the expertly made cocktails and creative cuisine (Giuseppe, the owner / chef is a true rock star), everything was perfect from beginning to end. You always feel like part of the "family" and how nice that my staff chose Trabocco for our holiday celebration. I am even luckier to have this jewel in my neighborhood !! Thanks everybody !!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great experience. Waiter was very ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Had a great experience. Waiter was very knowledgeable and his recommendations were great. Cocktails very tasty. I would definitely recommend and return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Trabocco is a wonderful restaurant. It's ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Trabocco is a wonderful restaurant. It's good for a nice dinner with your mate or even a group. Everyone who works there is a pleasure to talk to and are very helpful and friendly. The food is always amazing. We always feel at home when we go there. Giuseppe and Christine have a wonderful establishment and are blessed with hard working, dedicated and friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were late for our reservations but th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We were late for our reservations but they still accommodated us and seated us within minutes. The service was very good and the food was excellent. My friend and I are planning to come back again soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and great atmosphere. You wo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great food and great atmosphere. You would not expect to find a place this good in a strip mall. Highly recommended.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service. Attentive without bei ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent service. Attentive without being overly eager. Chef/owner came out personally to wish my wife happy birthday.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.