About Trabocco

2213 South Shore Center
Alameda, CA 94501
View Larger Map

Trabocco brings something new and exciting to Alameda. Chef-owner, Giuseppe Naccarelli presents a seasonally inspired menu of classic Italian dishes with a modern twist, influenced by the cuisine of his native region of Abruzzo.
A Trabocco is a unique fishing pier found along the Adriatic coast of Abruzzo. Architect and Designer Lev Weisbach of Weisbach Architecture|Design was inspired by the beautiful Trabocchi of Abruzzo when he created his spectacular design. With its reclaimed wood ceilings, dramatic copper encased fireplace, and modern bar Trabocco is warm and welcoming yet strikingly dramatic and modern.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Su-Sa 11:30am-4pm
Dinner Su-Th 4pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis St. and Park St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 521-1152

Website:
http://www.trabocco.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking in South Shore Center parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Naccarelli

Private Party Facilities:
The "Salle del Vino" provides groups of 10-16 with an intimate private dining experience. The Wine Room is separated from the Bar/Lounge area by a dramatic floor to ceiling wine wall which houses Trabocco's wines, all of which are from Italy and California.

Private Party Contact:
Christine Naccarelli: 5105211152x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Trabocco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (151)
neighborhood gem (136)
special occasion (130)
See All
good for groups (100)
great for lunch (88)
great for outdoor dining (88)
romantic (76)
notable wine list (52)
hot spot (51)
kid-friendly (31)
vibrant bar scene (27)
great for brunch (19)
late-night find (15)
scenic view (2)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
754 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was quite noisy, they should try to d ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

It was quite noisy, they should try to do something with the design to reduce the noise level. The food is good but the specials are almost always the same and the prices are a bit high for what you get. They should add some new dishes. The staff is very friendly and the owner is great, but for three of us it cost almost as much as the tasting menu at Commis!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What's not to love about Trabocco?! Eve ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

What's not to love about Trabocco?! Everyone makes you feel welcomed and at home...like you are a part of their family. It's a wonderful feeling to be in this environment making new friends and eating great food. Giuseppe & Christine take great pride in their restaurant with both who they staff and in their food quality. I can't recommend any one dish because everything on their menu has great flavor. It was fun ordering a pizza for the first time there because they give you pizza scissors so you can cut your pizza yourself. Whatever special risotto Giuseppe has for the day is always delicious. If you are fortunate to be there on a night where Osso Buco or Lamb Shank is on the menu as a special for the night, you are very lucky! If you get a chance to sit at the counter, watching the cooks is like watching a symphony...perfectly orchestrated.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had seared ahi salad, n ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

My husband and I had seared ahi salad, not on the menu, but the chef is always ready to fix it for us. It was delicious. That's why we always order it. The fish is always fresh, and there is plenty of it. Our friend, a little more daring than we are, ordered the pork belly. Outside of some Chinese restaurants, I don't think I ever see pork belly on a menu. But this restaurant is more creative than most. I ordered the muscato on from the bar, and it was a sweet complement to my meal. For dessert, I ordered zabaglione, again often difficult to find on Italian menus, and the custard had a perfect consistency with just the right amount of sherry flavor. The lovely waitress was friendly and patient as we made our decisions. She came back frequently to check on us, and we appreciated her attention.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always a fun time at Trabocco! The staff ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Always a fun time at Trabocco! The staff are helpful and friendly, drinks are delicious, food is AMAZING - fresh pasta is the best pasta! And Guiseppe, the owner, always comes around to greet the patrons which is a great touch. Love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I found this restaurant as I was looking ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

I found this restaurant as I was looking for a nice dine-in place to celebrate my brother's graduation but specifically in area close to Oakland airport due to one of the party having to catch a flight within few hours after graduation. When I called the night before the reservation date to ask if we could order the food ahead, they said it would be more than fine, as long as I clearly tell them what I want. It was very helpful that the restaurant's website has lunch and dinner menu ready for view. I sent the menu to everyone and they picked out the dish they wanted to order. So I called them as soon as they opened at 11:30 (as instructed), for our reservation was at 12:00, to put in the order. They did put in the order for me, but the person that picked up the phone was very reluctant. To a degree, I do understand, because it seemed like she was concerned that our food would be cold if we were to come late. But I gotta say I was taken aback by their constant and strong reluctance and doubtfulness, especially because I had called in advance and asked them to take a note of it. A polite and short reassuring of the possibility that food may be cold would have been fine instead of trying to convince me not to. And I don't know if it was because I was already slightly flustered by their attitude, I wasn't too pleased with the very few interaction I had with my server. Food on the other hand was very good though :). Perhaps you should visit this place when you have the time to enjoy. We all got pasta dish, along with the calamari, and they were all very, very good :). And the bread they brought out was steaming hot, which was a huge plus to our food experience. I would like to try the place again when I don't have to ask them to put the order in prior to us arriving. Maybe the restaurant doesn't like to work under a restricted time frame.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great neighborhood feel

Dined on May 10, 2016

Love this restaurant. Beautiful inside, bar and patio. Food dependably good every time!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

THE WAITERS ARE WONDERFUL. THE PATIO AR ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

THE WAITERS ARE WONDERFUL. THE PATIO AREA IS HEATED AND QUIETER THAN THE DINING ROOM WHICH CAN BE LOUD.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Cool spot in Alameda

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was good and ambiance was nice. Staff was friendly. Some may say, you can find better options in SF but to have a restaurant like this in our backyard and not have to pay toll is a score. If in the area def. worth checking out!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Long wait.

Dined on May 9, 2016

I'm a fan of this restaurant but it took us an hour to get our entree. We watched the table beside us sit down, get their food, and eat before we got our food. The waiter never even came to address this until about 45 minutes in. Really frustrating.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Italian Cuisine at Southshore Mall Alameda.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great authentic Southern Italian food in a shopping mall !!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Great local restaurant. Have been a coup ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great local restaurant. Have been a couple of times. Each time it gets better and better.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome, as usual. The octopus appetizer ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Awesome, as usual. The octopus appetizer is as good as it gets. Bonus points to the hostess who noticed the noise level in the main dining room was a bit on the lively side and immediately offered us a quieter alternative on the enclosed terrace.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Outstanding experience at this beautiful, modern, classic, friendly restaurant which I will definitely recommend to any one who is going to be in the Bay area either visiting or that lives there. Giuseppe the chef and owner of this authentic Italian cuisine is a energetic vibration to the place, he greed you like you are art of the family.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Got to meet Giueseppe!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Very elegant and romantic place to dine without feeling it was too fancy. We got sat at a beautiful corner table and had a great view from our table. Our waitress Gretta was great, although felt like she went missing every now and then. We had a all 3 courses (appitizer, main, dessert) and it took about 2.5 hours! I thought it took a little long, but overall she was great. Greta was attentive and repeated the specials when we had questions. Food was good. Calamari was awesome. Dessert was lovely. I got the pumpkin creme brule and it didn't taste like a pumpkin pie at all. I was afraid it would remind me of thanksgiving (I was not prepared for Thanksgiving pie) and it did not disappoint. Towards the end of our dinner, the head chef Giuseppe came over and said hi to us and asked us how our meal was. Really felt like first class guest! Even posed for a picture with us. Meeting him was the cherry on top.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious seafood pasta, salmon and sea ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Delicious seafood pasta, salmon and sea bass. Squid ink risotto just ok. Salads very good too. Nice ambiance but very loud. Difficult to hear dinner conversation. Service excellent.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Hard to believe we were in Alameda! Easy ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Hard to believe we were in Alameda! Easy parking. Wine and food were good. I would definitely go again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Restaurant is warm and has a current amb ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Restaurant is warm and has a current ambience. Wait staff to number of tables needs improvement - long intervals between staff interaction. Wait staff and bus staff didn't clear table thru out our dinner. Had to catch their attention many times.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super stars

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Trabocco continues to shine in every way....from the moment you walk in and are greeted by the effervescent Guiseppe and his wonderful wife Christine, the evening becomes an occasion...they treat everyone like family and the food and the service continue to excel....thanks for the always consistent delivery of everything from food to service and beyond...

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional!

Dined on April 26, 2016

The variety of selections on the menu, the ample wine list, and the attentive service was areal treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointing

Dined on April 25, 2016

Whether it's lunch or dinner, I have never had a disappointing meal. The food is excellent as is the service. The staff is friendly. It's a feel good restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Memorable service and great food

Dined on April 23, 2016

Memorable service and great food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trabocco

Dined on April 21, 2016

Great local place. The staff is friendly and helpful at choosing from the menu.Food is outstanding. The owner makes every effort to greet customers on a regular basis.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was lovely - the chef was a wond ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Service was lovely - the chef was a wonderful greeter - felt welcomed in. The ravioli was to die for, great wine suggestion and the zabilogne was mouth watering.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent salmon!

Dined on April 19, 2016

The appetizers were both excellent (the wonderful soft cheese, burrata?), and I loved the salmon with a pomegranate glaze. My fellow diners liked their meals but perhaps were not as wowed as I was. When one person found the pizza too soft / damp, the waitress ended up taking it off the bill. A classy restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have good service and the food ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

We always have good service and the food is always great.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expecting good, but experienced GREAT.

Dined on April 16, 2016

We were a group of six. Every plate was perfection, but the standout for the evening was the squid ink linguine. Not bitter at all; just buttery, savory goodness. Warm, attentive service start to finish.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommended

Dined on April 14, 2016

Really enjoyed the friendly, casual atmosphere, but also suitable for private conversations and meetings. Great, hospitable staff, especially our server!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

The chefs seating is terrific. Every di ...

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

The chefs seating is terrific. Every dish here is amazing. Quality, attention to detail and great execution of fresh ingredients.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely but Noisy

Dined on April 11, 2016

We very much enjoyed exploring the menu. The food had beautiful presentation and was delicious. I couldn't hear almost anything my two companions said. There seems to be a regrettable fad for hard-surface, very noisy restaurants. If I'm planning on conversation (which is any time I go out to eat with anyone) I'd much prefer a quieter place where I can hear and don't have to shout to be heard. I'm tired of this trend and I can hardly wait for it to be over. This is a wonderful menu with great service and reasonably priced, high-quality food. If it were quieter, I'd go more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

First let me say that when it gets crowe ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

First let me say that when it gets crowed, the noise level is off the hook loud. Does not make for an overall nice experience for the quality of food you get here. Now then, our waitress Greta, top notch. The Chef's Specials, about 10 of them, she didn't skip a beat on explaining them. To keep this short, food was excellent. 3 appetizers, 2 main meals, drinks, dessert, all brought out in order and all hit the mark. We will definitely return....with ear plugs tho.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great, as always! I had the lamb shank s ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great, as always! I had the lamb shank special, and it was fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great service

Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was wonderful but what stood out to us was the wonderful service by our server. Unfortunately we can't remember his name but he had a awesome mustache lol He was phenomenal, I have been in the restaurant industry over 15 years and he impressed me.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our group of 4 had a wonderful time catching up.

Dined on April 3, 2016

The burrata and tomato salad was sumptuous! This restaurant, although in the middle of a shopping center, is very classy and warm, a big plus when it's chilly outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing

Dined on March 30, 2016

Great service of wonderful food. Never had a bad experience. Can hardly wait to come back every time. Thank you so much!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Great service, tasty food!

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Great service, tasty food!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistent and very good on all counts

Dined on March 28, 2016

We went back a second time on Easter and the Lamb was flipping' amazing. Server recommended a very good Italian red, perfect evening. BTW - I don't care if it's in a shopping center. It's far better than many of the trendy hipster joints in Oakland.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Mostly a great place to eat and enjoy good food

Dined on March 27, 2016

Food is excellent. Service is professional and attentive. Hostess #2 is a concern. Can forget reservations, overlook special requests, insult people who are slow, etc.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointing.

Dined on March 26, 2016

Pizza crust was burnt, like black all around. We told our server, he just said that most people prefer it burnt. And didn't offer to re-make a fresh one. We had to use the scissor to cut all around the crust to avoid the bitterness. The pork belly was not prepared like the previous time that I had it, it was sliced, but this time it was chunks of pork with the rind wrapped around them and it sat on a pool of pork fat. Lamb shank was good! Overall, dinner was not like it was in my previous 4-5 visits. Hope they look into the deficiencies, but I wish for them to do well I the future. I will give it another try with family and friends.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, beautiful atmosphere, th ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Delicious food, beautiful atmosphere, the wait staff is patient and fun!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday went out with wife and kids. Gr ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Birthday went out with wife and kids. Great food, great service. Very recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.