About Trabocco

2213 South Shore Center
Alameda, CA 94501
View Larger Map

Trabocco brings something new and exciting to Alameda. Chef-owner, Giuseppe Naccarelli presents a seasonally inspired menu of classic Italian dishes with a modern twist, influenced by the cuisine of his native region of Abruzzo.
A Trabocco is a unique fishing pier found along the Adriatic coast of Abruzzo. Architect and Designer Lev Weisbach of Weisbach Architecture|Design was inspired by the beautiful Trabocchi of Abruzzo when he created his spectacular design. With its reclaimed wood ceilings, dramatic copper encased fireplace, and modern bar Trabocco is warm and welcoming yet strikingly dramatic and modern.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Su-Sa 11:30am-4pm
Dinner Su-Th 4pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis St. and Park St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 521-1152

Website:
http://www.trabocco.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking in South Shore Center parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Naccarelli

Private Party Facilities:
The "Salle del Vino" provides groups of 10-16 with an intimate private dining experience. The Wine Room is separated from the Bar/Lounge area by a dramatic floor to ceiling wine wall which houses Trabocco's wines, all of which are from Italy and California.

Private Party Contact:
Christine Naccarelli: 5105211152x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Trabocco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East Bay
Best Food
East Bay
Best Service
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Alameda ›

Special Occasion (69)
Neighborhood Gem (60)
Fit for Foodies (60)
See All
Good for a Date (57)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Good for Groups (48)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Open Kitchen (47)
Authentic (47)
Worth the Drive (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Wood Oven (39)
Bar Seating (36)
Romantic (35)
Casual (35)
Modern Decor (35)
Great for Lunch (35)
Local Ingredients (33)
Business Meals (32)
Fun (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Family Style (25)
Hot Spot (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Healthy (22)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Seasonal (18)
Kid-friendly (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Cozy (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
People Watching (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Disabled Access (10)
Fireplace (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Private Room (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Organic (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tapas (3)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (2)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
943 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had lunch with five friends. The se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

We had lunch with five friends. The service and food were great. Two had the special seafood stew and they thought it was very good. The rest of us ordered a variety of other items. We had a great lunch and they have a hearth so it was warm and cozy. I have been several times and have enjoyed the food and service each time. I will definitely be there many times in the months and years ahead.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was very dark....making m ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant was very dark....making menu small print impossible to read

Having a list of specials that takes 15 minutes for the server to recite at the table really should be printed for the customer to read....it is impossible to remember what was said and the ingredients

I would offer more common but fancy sides....the broccollini was bitter...YUCK

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

I have eaten at Trabocco a few times bef ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

I have eaten at Trabocco a few times before Saturday and thoroughly enjoyed the food. However, the rabbit special I had this time was quite dry and not nearly as tasty as has been your standard in the past.

Again though, everything else, including a very patient wait staff, was excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Great pasta and stellar service. A nice ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Great pasta and stellar service. A nice birthday treat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a top-notch Italian place with e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 1, 2016

This is a top-notch Italian place with excellent food. Usually has a good variety of daily specials and does seafood quite well. Pasta while made fresh is not exceptional. Service and ambiance are excellent. Does get noisy during peak times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Giuseppe and Christine are giving alamed ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Giuseppe and Christine are giving alamedans a real go-to restaurant.food is authentic Italian Hospitality is warm and makes you want to return again and again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Family Style, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommended by a real Italian Nonna, Tra ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Recommended by a real Italian Nonna, Trabocco met my high expectations for a delicious celebratory meal in a casual and comfortable environment. The food was excellent and the service on par with some of the best restaurants in the Big City. Two big Thumbs Up!

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My absolute, favorite "go to" restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My absolute, favorite "go to" restaurant. The hardest part is deciding what to order since everything is delicious.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is impeccable an Guissepe makes ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food is impeccable an Guissepe makes you feel like you are at your neighborhood restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have been here many times and always e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I have been here many times and always enjoy it. I do have to say the pasta was under cooked for my taste and to heavy. On the other hand it was very tasty. Wouldn't order this dish again but there are many other dishes I haven't tried. Always greeted by the warm and friendly owner and everyone is made to feel welcome and special.

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Enjoy the abbondanza

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a lot of special menu items. Grea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Always a lot of special menu items.

Great service, I like the location, lots of parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Both seafood dishes excellent. The burr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Both seafood dishes excellent. The burrata on the caprese was a bit runny and there was too much of it, but the tomatoes were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The server was nice and friendly. The fo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The server was nice and friendly. The food was overall delicious.

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great design by Lev Weisbach and estimat ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great design by Lev Weisbach and estimated designer in the industry.

Giuseppe Naccarelli ( owner of Trabacco ) is outstanding and always filling the space with positive and friendly vibes. He is an excellent chef, food is excellent and staff is also well trained. Overall a gem specially for small island city, Alameda.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and great survice!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Delicious food and great survice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best restaurants we've been t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One of the best restaurants we've been to in this price range and this focus in several years.

Boisterously energetic (so a bit loud for conversations) the food was well prepared, great variety. Good service staff.

Bar makes a terrific "Bitter Italian" (read Manhattan) Icy chilled glass kept the drink the right temp w/out ice. Great aroma that turned the heads at our table when it arrived.

Great seafood options, home made pastas. Chef was accessible and interested in patrons opinions.

Who knew? In the one major shopping plaza in Alameda!!!

A heck of a drive from the Silicon Valley but we'll make the trip again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner at Trabocco! ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Trabocco! Gueseppi greeted us at our table and welcomed us to his Restaurant and wished us Happy Anniversary. Then upon leaving, he caught us at the door and shook my hand and said, thanks for coming and then hugged my wife and told us both to have a great evening! The service was perfect and so was the food! This dinner was a kick off dinner for our vacation and it was the best!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trabocco is a true treasure. The food, s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Trabocco is a true treasure. The food, staff and welcoming atmosphere provide all that is needed for a great dining experience.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shared caprese salad which was amazing. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Shared caprese salad which was amazing. Delicious tomatoes and fresh mozzarella. My entre was oxtail ravioli which were delicious. Chocolate flourless cake was our shared dessert. Highly recommend Trabocco. Staff and food are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We truly enjoyed our diner even though w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We truly enjoyed our diner even though we were very short on time. The raviolis filled with oxtail were wonderful as was the partially deboned chicken. The chicken was accompanied by roasted winter vegetables that were cooked perfectly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Most Fabulous and wonderful & the servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Most Fabulous and wonderful & the service is exceptional...Thanks

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We ate here Sunday evening mid-November. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We ate here Sunday evening mid-November. I had the squid ink risotto with shrimp and scallops; my husband had the sea bass with polenta and spinach, and we shared the invernale salad: all delicious. Husband enjoyed the hefeweizen beer, and I enjoyed the Spritz cocktail. No room left for dessert; too bad! The restaurant is half an hour from where we live, lots of good restaurants closer, but we would happily go to Trabocco again. Only downside: it's a little noisy.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

favorite restaurant for anything. love ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

favorite restaurant for anything. love this place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we walked through the do ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

From the moment we walked through the door we felt like we were back in Europe at some of our favorite, local restaurants. The owner and chef,Giuseppe called out to us and welcomed us and throughout the meal we could hear him greeting other guests as they entered. Our waiter Michele, aka "the Silver Fox"was very attentive and came around several times just to talk and engage us in stories. The food was superb from the pasta to the pizza, my family and I enjoyed every bite and then looked forward to dessert. Our eldest daughter was celebrating her birthday and when the platter with her square of tiramisu arrived Giuseppe was right there and he proceeded to lead us all in singing her Happy Birthday. What a wonderful dining and celebratory experience.!!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

14th anniversary dinner. Wonderful atmo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

14th anniversary dinner. Wonderful atmosphere, great food, great service.. Our favorite restaurant in alameda, and the east bay..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden gem. Food is great, chef is great ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Hidden gem. Food is great, chef is great, service is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Giuseppe and his staff are so friendly. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Giuseppe and his staff are so friendly. Giuseppe makes it a point to stop by the tables to chat with his customers. I LOVED our waiter (I didn't get his name). He made our dining experience so much fun. When we asked him to take a picture of our table, he literally took a picture of the table! I loved his sense of humor and it made my girlfriend's birthday very memorable. The food as always was excellent. My brother and I ordered the special of the night which was the porchetta. It was so huge that I couldn't finish it. It was fork tender and delicious. The wait staff also surprised the birthday gal with a slice of tiramisu with Happy Birthday written on the plate.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food and service were won ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2016

As always, the food and service were wonderful. Giuseppe does not miss anything in the smooth & consistent operation of his wonderful restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've had a business dinner here, as well ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I've had a business dinner here, as well as met a friend for lunch, both visits were outstanding. The service and food was great both times. During both of my meals at Trabocco the owner had personally come by the table to check on everything. I love how many specials they have (its equivalent to an additional menu of just seasonal options). I had the salmon special for lunch recently and it was delicious. Great spot and I highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was excellent and we enjoyed ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our service was excellent and we enjoyed the variety of flavors in our meals!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my 3 favorite Italian Restaurants ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

One of my 3 favorite Italian Restaurants in the Bay area. The pasta dishes are fantastic, especially the Lasagna. The chef is the owner and he works in the kitchen every night to make sure all the dishes come out perfect. It seems that it would be very odd to find such a great restaurant in the middle of a shopping center, but easy parking, safe access, and truly a excellent culinary adventure.

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had 3 appetizers, 4 main dishes and 3 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had 3 appetizers, 4 main dishes and 3 desserts and no complaints! All the main courses were abundant and delicious. Looking forward to returning for another great meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were in town for one night before our ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We were in town for one night before our flight out of Oakland Airport. Googled best restaurants and Trabocco came up. I went to their website and made reservations on Open Table. It was a short 15 min drive from our airport hotel with no traffic on the surface roads. Excellent service, food, and atmosphere. The Chef made rounds and greeted us. The food was delicious and the wine selection excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Chef and really the best dining exp ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Best Chef and really the best dining experience this side of the Bay! Before Trabocco, Alameda really didn't have a place to go for a truly culinary experince.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Authentic, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't know if it was so noisy that the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I don't know if it was so noisy that the server couldn't hear my guest but to deliver a martini with no garnish SHOULD have prompted a query. It took an observant manager walking by to notice and ask if she didn't want something in her drink. I expect better from this staff.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Outstanding! Food and service are aweso ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Outstanding! Food and service are awesome! Looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Authentic, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anew modern Italian restaurant serving a ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Anew modern Italian restaurant serving a creative menu of good quality food all prepared from scratch with great service

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Took the wife and kids to dinner before ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Took the wife and kids to dinner before a show at the Oracle for her Bday. Modern feel. Staff were all nice and attentive. Food was great with good sized portions. Overall good experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a top notch hidden jewel. The fo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This is a top notch hidden jewel. The food is amazing! The service is wonderful. Attentive without being too hovering! Giuseppe is most welcoming

Worth the drive from anywhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal, friendly atmosphere!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great meal, friendly atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.