About Trabocco

2213 South Shore Center
Alameda, CA 94501
View Larger Map

Trabocco brings something new and exciting to Alameda. Chef-owner, Giuseppe Naccarelli presents a seasonally inspired menu of classic Italian dishes with a modern twist, influenced by the cuisine of his native region of Abruzzo.
A Trabocco is a unique fishing pier found along the Adriatic coast of Abruzzo. Architect and Designer Lev Weisbach of Weisbach Architecture|Design was inspired by the beautiful Trabocchi of Abruzzo when he created his spectacular design. With its reclaimed wood ceilings, dramatic copper encased fireplace, and modern bar Trabocco is warm and welcoming yet strikingly dramatic and modern.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Su-Sa 11:30am-4pm
Dinner Su-Th 4pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis St. and Park St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 521-1152

Website:
http://www.trabocco.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking in South Shore Center parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Naccarelli

Private Party Facilities:
The "Salle del Vino" provides groups of 10-16 with an intimate private dining experience. The Wine Room is separated from the Bar/Lounge area by a dramatic floor to ceiling wine wall which houses Trabocco's wines, all of which are from Italy and California.

Private Party Contact:
Christine Naccarelli: 5105211152x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Trabocco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (127)
special occasion (117)
neighborhood gem (114)
See All
good for groups (100)
great for lunch (80)
great for outdoor dining (79)
romantic (57)
hot spot (49)
notable wine list (42)
kid-friendly (38)
vibrant bar scene (26)
great for brunch (21)
late-night find (8)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Chef/owner Giuseppe is a true gem and ma ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 7 days ago

Chef/owner Giuseppe is a true gem and made me feel like I was a celebrity guest instead of just a frazzled working mom eating at the chefs counter on a work trip. I had the cocoa pasta with rabbit and a vegan spinach/zucchini soup and both were perfection. Menu also has safer options like pizza or salads for less adventurous eaters. Despite being part of a mall it is truly special and worth a visit!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This has to be one of the most cheerful ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This has to be one of the most cheerful restaurants anywhere...from the waitstaff all the way to the chef, everyone is intent on making you feel welcome. All of this plus outstanding food served in such quantities that you will enjoy it for two more meals.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We sat overlooking the kitchen and were ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We sat overlooking the kitchen and were able to watch and talk without being overwhelmed by noise. The food was great. The owner/chef tries to greet everyone who comes in. A very friendly place. We love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was meeting a friend for dinner, and tho ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Was meeting a friend for dinner, and thought we'd try this place out. There was a good crowd for a Tuesday, but we weren't inconvenienced. We sat out on the patio, and it was very comfortable. The service was friendly and quick, and the food was good. All in all a very nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was second time for me, octupus was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was second time for me, octupus was good again and margarita pizza good, but salads were disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food is excellent however the noise ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food is excellent however the noise level is so bad that we had to speak to each other (party of four) in a really loud voice. This was dinner time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our family has dined at Trabocco many ti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our family has dined at Trabocco many times and each time is a special treat. The owner greets everyone and makes you feel welcome. The food is delicious and there is a wide variety of fish and seafood from which to choose. This is not your fish and chips type of place. The menu gives a diner many choices. It is a great restaurant where you can select something that you have never tried before. I haven't been disappointed yet!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an excellent time. Food and service ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had an excellent time. Food and service were great. I can't believe I'm going to complain about this but the food came out way too fast! I didn't have time to enjoy my company! Would definitely go to again and look forward to it.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was actually good but cold and ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was actually good but cold and poorly timed. Owner/chef actually made situation worse by trying to make excuses instead of addressing problem. There is better food/dinning experiences on the island!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Met an old friend on a weekday for lunch ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Met an old friend on a weekday for lunch. Service was attentive. Specials were creative. Atmosphere was relaxing. The chef always makes you feel welcome and appreciated. Still the best place to eat in Alameda.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was recently at Trabocco's for lunch a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I was recently at Trabocco's for lunch and had a wonderful meal. Dinner was not as good. All three of us had dinner specials. The rabbit was tough and over done with pancetta and the special risotto was under cooked. The prices are high for a restaurant in a shopping center. Small glasses of wine were $12 and most of the special entrees were $30-$32. I would suggest going to Trabocco's for lunch, but not for dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We are new to the area and LOVE this pla ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We are new to the area and LOVE this place. We are foodies and are so glad we found such an amazing place to bring guests. The staff and chef are super friendly and the food was very yummy!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent octopus starter dishes. The h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent octopus starter dishes. The homemade pasta and ravioli dishes were also luscious.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always great food and service.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is great, food, service, but ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything is great, food, service, but it is really really noisy. Terrible acoustics

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Trabocco is one of our favorite restaura ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Trabocco is one of our favorite restaurants on the Island! The food is always fantastic and the service is friendly and prompt. And we always appreciate how the executive chef comes out to check on us and the food :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef comes around and talks to you a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The chef comes around and talks to you and makes you feel very special. The food is delicious especially the octopus dish. Service is quick and the waitperson checks in regularly. The venue is contemporary and very attractive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The serving for ravioli (with oxtail), w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The serving for ravioli (with oxtail), was small. Although handmade and cheesy, the plate only had 4 pieces of ravioli. Was disappointing for $15. Had to go to Five Guys to satisfy my hunger.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The BEST!! Food is phenomenal, service o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The BEST!! Food is phenomenal, service outstanding, and ambiance is terrific!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food was fair to good for the price, but ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

food was fair to good for the price, but it was just too loud, had to sit at the bar instead of our reserved table so that 2 people could hear each other

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

First time at this wonderful classy rest ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

First time at this wonderful classy restaurant...Would definitely return...

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Trabocco has a well trained staff. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Trabocco has a well trained staff. The hostess is always very professional. The wait staff is excellent and we have always had great experiences at this restaurant. The owner/chef is charming, and makes sure that the meals are cooked to perfection. We usually have the special pizza and salad, which is enough for me and my husband. It is not overpriced for the value and the portions.'

We would recommend this to people we know and appreciate find yet casual dining. What a treasure.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is consistently delicious! Sta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food is consistently delicious! Staff are so friendly and the restaurant itself is very attractive and comfortable. I always look forward to having a meal and catching up with good friends at Trabocco!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous food, especially the grilled oc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Fabulous food, especially the grilled octopus. Good portions. Nice, contemporary setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It is always a pleasure to eat there The ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

It is always a pleasure to eat there

They are very welcoming and the food is fresh and fabulous !!!

Great, great service😀

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance is wonderful. We had a gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The ambiance is wonderful. We had a great waitress. With the exception of one seafood dish, the food was excellent. We plan to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had dinner at Trabocco with good frie ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had dinner at Trabocco with good friends and we were very happy we chose Trabocco. A warm reception, seated on time per our reservation, exceptional service, and fantastic food. All of our meals were fantastic. This is a very special restaurant hidden in the center of a big shopping center in Alameda. A must go to!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tuna salad is wonderful. Everything ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The tuna salad is wonderful. Everything is wonderful, actually! I've dined here many times, and have not had a bad meal,

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone enjoyed their meal immensely. O ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Everyone enjoyed their meal immensely. Our waiter was very attentive. Reviewed the nite's specials slowly, no need to have him repeat anything.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

very good food and ambience. Especially ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

very good food and ambience. Especially like the chef-comign to the table to welcome us and "chat us up".

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too loud. Lamb shank too greasy. Octop ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Too loud. Lamb shank too greasy. Octopus very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Really enjoy this restaurant. Food is v ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Really enjoy this restaurant. Food is very good and service was wonderful. But it is so darn noisy, it's even difficult to hear the people at your own table. Must be something you can do to dampen the sound.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a reservation but I miscounted an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a reservation but I miscounted and we had one extra person. The host didn't bat an eye - switched our booth set up with another reserved round table so everyone was happy. The staff is perfect: relaxed and friendly, but professional. We have been here several times now and the food never disappoints. The butternut squash-stuffed pasta is a favorite, as is the lamb shank when they have it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything is perfect except the noise l ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything is perfect except the noise level!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Came for late night desserts, wine and c ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Came for late night desserts, wine and cocktails with friends and family. Quiet and elegant way to end our day of celebrating the 2 graduates in our group. Trabocco is always a great venue for these special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a very nice graduation dinner with f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Had a very nice graduation dinner with family and friends. Food was awesome and outdoor seating was perfect. Very friendly staff and welcoming ambiance.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite restaurant in Alameda. Food is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Favorite restaurant in Alameda. Food is always exceptional as is the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The absolute best restaurant in Alameda! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The absolute best restaurant in Alameda!!! Delicious food always! Can't wait to go back again!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ask to be seated on the patio, order a B ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Ask to be seated on the patio, order a Bitter Italian and the octopus, and you won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Casual dining in a shopping center that ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Casual dining in a shopping center that tries to be a bit upscale.

The service was okay but nothing special.

There are a lot of specials which are not written down. I guess it is a bit like being blind and having to ask what your options are.

The best part is that you can walk across the parking lot and stroll along the beach while looking at the San Francisco skyline after dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.