About Trabocco

2213 South Shore Center
Alameda, CA 94501
View Larger Map

Trabocco brings something new and exciting to Alameda. Chef-owner, Giuseppe Naccarelli presents a seasonally inspired menu of classic Italian dishes with a modern twist, influenced by the cuisine of his native region of Abruzzo.
A Trabocco is a unique fishing pier found along the Adriatic coast of Abruzzo. Architect and Designer Lev Weisbach of Weisbach Architecture|Design was inspired by the beautiful Trabocchi of Abruzzo when he created his spectacular design. With its reclaimed wood ceilings, dramatic copper encased fireplace, and modern bar Trabocco is warm and welcoming yet strikingly dramatic and modern.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Su-Sa 11:30am-4pm
Dinner Su-Th 4pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis St. and Park St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 521-1152

Website:
http://www.trabocco.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking in South Shore Center parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Naccarelli

Private Party Facilities:
The "Salle del Vino" provides groups of 10-16 with an intimate private dining experience. The Wine Room is separated from the Bar/Lounge area by a dramatic floor to ceiling wine wall which houses Trabocco's wines, all of which are from Italy and California.

Private Party Contact:
Christine Naccarelli: 5105211152x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Trabocco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (111)
Special Occasion (109)
Neighborhood Gem (106)
See All
Good for Groups (84)
Great for Outdoor Dining (75)
Great for Lunch (72)
Romantic (42)
Hot Spot (38)
Notable Wine List (37)
Kid-friendly (29)
Great for Brunch (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Authentic (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Open Kitchen (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Casual (14)
Business Meals (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Wood Oven (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Fun (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Family Style (9)
Healthy (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Private Room (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Cozy (4)
Organic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fireplace (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
868 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Every time I go to Trabocco I feel like ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Every time I go to Trabocco I feel like a celebrity. Everyone there seems really happy that you are there. The risotto was amazing and so was the rotisserie duck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can say, the calamari is outstanding, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

I can say, the calamari is outstanding, and the kitchen always delivers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The chef-owner was table touching tables ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The chef-owner was table touching tables ensuring everything was going well. Great feel in the restaurant. Our waiter was effective. Great food and wine options, were visiting from Pennsylvania and so happy we found Trabocco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my third visit to Trabocco and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was my third visit to Trabocco and I'm from out of state. I will go there every opportunity i have when i'm in the area. Their menu is comprehensive, food is fresh and local, authentic and delicious Italian food (I'm Italian) and the service is outstanding. What more can i say?

Tags: Organic, Cozy, Family Style, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved this place! Everyone sh ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Absolutely loved this place! Everyone should try it, the food is amazing, the service on point, and ambiance very lovely. This is a gem ad a must try for anyone.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have been there many times and notonc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I have been there many times and notonce have I been disappointed. The food is always fresh and the service is excellent. Plenty of parking which is another plus.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My buddy Josh and I enjoyed the food. Th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My buddy Josh and I enjoyed the food. The waitress recommended a great italian wine and our food was quite good.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Pappo is always outstanding: it never di ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Pappo is always outstanding: it never disappoints. My favorite cocktail is the Citronella, but this time I tried the Basil Martini: delicious! Great bar service: we ordered a couple of delicious appetizers as well. The owner greets everyone, and all the staff seem very happy to work there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vegan, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Healthy, Tapas, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Trabocco in Southshore Center, is a wond ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Trabocco in Southshore Center, is a wonderful dining destination. There were two of us for dinner. My choice was Osso Bucco. It was served with delicious polenta and spinach. The sauce on the meat was filled with mushrooms, carrots, and a fantastic array of spices. For dessert my choice was pumpkin Creme Brûlée. While I was a little skeptical about the pumpkin, it was light, delicious, and delightful.

The service was attentive and friendly without being pushy. Definitely looking forward to my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There are only so many words to say incr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

There are only so many words to say incredibly good food, terrific service, fabulous ambiance, wonderful chef. We truly appreciate how special we felt having the service staff engage with us and then having the chef stop by to chat. Every time I take clients and friends to this place, they are all very impressed and thankful that I introduced them to Trabocco.

How else can I say that this was a superb experience?

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for a special occasion. Great fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Perfect for a special occasion. Great food, fun ambience, friendly service. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A friend lives in the area and suggested ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

A friend lives in the area and suggested we meet at Trabocco. Because I am not familiar with Alameda, I had a hard time locating the restaurant. It's in a shopping mall and my GPS was not completely accurate with directions. Once I arrived, the service was very good. Our server immediately greeted us, explained the specials for the evening and offered further explanations where necessary. She was attentive and checked in with our group throughout the evening. I had sea bass, which was cooked perfectly. It was served with greens and polenta. The greens were good, but I didn't like the polenta -- it looked as though it had been sitting on the plate for a while. However, others in our party who ordered the same dish did not have the same impression of the polenta and I did.

Overall, the experience was very good. Service was excellent from the time we walked in until we left the restaurant. Food was served promptly. We were not rushed through the meal. I would return to Trabocco if I found myself in the area again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I arrived in my power wheelchair and it ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I arrived in my power wheelchair and it was no problem at all.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always. Chef is so personable. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great as always. Chef is so personable. Food is great.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the salmon special, and it was per ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I had the salmon special, and it was perfectly cooked, with great sides. The cocktails and dessert were also great. Really enjoyed our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service great. Server suggestions right ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Service great. Server suggestions right on for wine and entre. Chef had a good time visiting tables. So everyone seemed to have a good time. Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent Lunch Very attentive chef! I c ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Excellent Lunch Very attentive chef! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

GREAT DINING EXPIERENCE - FANTASTIC KNOW ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

GREAT DINING EXPIERENCE - FANTASTIC KNOWLEDGEABLE WAITER AND WONDERFUL

AUTHENTIC INTALIAN CUSINE - HIGHLY RECCOMMEND

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my 2nd visit to Trabocco, and t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was my 2nd visit to Trabocco, and the food was equally good. The service was impeccable. I would however, ask for a different table, perhaps one "outside" so that it would be less noisy. I could not hear our waiter, and had to have husband translate. We were tucked in a corner, next to glass that separated us from the seats at the counter.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food, tasty deserts, and excep ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

excellent food, tasty deserts, and exceptional service

Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Fireplace, Healthy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Tasting Menu, Historic, Fun, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was excellent, saw some wonderfu ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service was excellent, saw some wonderful dishes being served. Loved the atmosphere, noise level high for conversation, but we managed. Will go back to try some of the dishes we saw.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fun, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner in a welcoming atmosphe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Wonderful dinner in a welcoming atmosphere. Food is delicious especially the pastas and salads. Desserts are exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Always great Italian cuisine. Service i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always great Italian cuisine. Service is fast and attentive.

Tags: Healthy, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was meeting a colleague to discuss bus ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I was meeting a colleague to discuss business in general. The ambiance, the service and the food were excellent. I will plan to return many more time.

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very pleased with my meal even tho ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I was very pleased with my meal even though they brought me the wrong thing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant always is outstanding! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

This restaurant always is outstanding! It's our 'go to' place when we have out of town guests and enjoy the friendliness of the owners and staff!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We recently moved to Alameda and wanted ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We recently moved to Alameda and wanted to try a restaurant nearby our new apartment. Trabocco fit the bill and we were so glad we came. I had a Squid ink risotto which was delicious and my wife's gnocchi was one of the better ones we have had in some time. Our server was helpful and courteous and we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

great food, great service. I love this p ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

great food, great service. I love this place! I wish I could go every night.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. Each dish was unique. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was amazing. Each dish was unique. Loved the octopus appetizer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding every time! Besides the scr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Outstanding every time!

Besides the scrumptious food, 5 stars for the chef Giuseppe Naccarelli who makes it a point to walk around, chat with the diners and make each one feel special. His smile and attitude permeates among members of his staff who all see proud and happy to work there. It makes a huge difference to see people working together to make each dining experience a good one.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Groups, Private Room, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Alameda (from New York) ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were visiting Alameda (from New York) and sought a restaurant for a special occasion. Trabocco was recommended to us by our Alameda friends, both of whom are very successful and seem to have taste consistent with their success. What a wonderful recommendation! And as for Giuseppe, the owner-chef...!! What a HUGELY engaging personality is his. Oh, and did I mention the food was superb? Who would have expected to find this in Alameda...or is my NYC smugness, arrogance, and faux-sophistication showing?

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. We were welcomed and t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Love this place. We were welcomed and treated to wonderful food and great drinks. Service is usually great.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was so impressed that we were actually ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I was so impressed that we were actually seated at the time of our reservation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Giuseppe is a great chef, not only for h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Giuseppe is a great chef, not only for his food, but for friendliness to patrons, humor and how well he has trained his staff. Staff are always friendly and efficient. The food is reliably the highest quality, varied and interesting. We have been personally welcomed by chef after just a few visits. The wine offerings are broad and moderately priced for the quality.

Overall, this is a fun restaurant where you are welcome as casual or fancy.

Don't be put off by the location in a shopping center: this is NOT a shopping-center-restaurant but gourmet dining in a welcoming atmosphere.

One suggestion is to have a printed list of specials, there are too many to keep track of!! what a great array of choices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

How was Trabocco you ask? As always, a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

How was Trabocco you ask? As always, a delightful experience. My favorite restaurant in Alameda.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love sitting up at the food bar and wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I love sitting up at the food bar and watching all the action! The sous chef, the grill guy, the wood burning oven, the plating of the food. Staff friendly. The owner greets everyone. The food is delicious and presentation amazing. good pizzas, tasty all fresh entrees, an extensive wine list...one of my favorite places!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very attentive. Food was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The staff was very attentive. Food was delivered in a timely manner and delicious. We have eaten here a few times and always greeted at some point during the meal or as we leave by the chef himself. It is a great place for drinks and outdoor dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food at Trabacco was just delicious. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food at Trabacco was just delicious. We had a great waiter, Marshall. Unfortunately the night we were there, there was a concert going on right across from the restaurant. It was

very noisy which I had not anticipated. We went for my sweetheart's birthday and he really

enjoyed it except for the loud music. We will try it again as the food was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great service and excellent food. Prepa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service and excellent food. Prepared to perfection and wonderful wine selection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall an enjoyable dining experience. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Overall an enjoyable dining experience. However, the noise level was pretty high which made it difficult to carry on a normal conversation. I would probably try it for lunch next time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.