About Trabocco

2213 South Shore Center
Alameda, CA 94501
View Larger Map

Trabocco brings something new and exciting to Alameda. Chef-owner, Giuseppe Naccarelli presents a seasonally inspired menu of classic Italian dishes with a modern twist, influenced by the cuisine of his native region of Abruzzo.
A Trabocco is a unique fishing pier found along the Adriatic coast of Abruzzo. Architect and Designer Lev Weisbach of Weisbach Architecture|Design was inspired by the beautiful Trabocchi of Abruzzo when he created his spectacular design. With its reclaimed wood ceilings, dramatic copper encased fireplace, and modern bar Trabocco is warm and welcoming yet strikingly dramatic and modern.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Su-Sa 11:30am-4pm
Dinner Su-Th 4pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis St. and Park St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 521-1152

Website:
http://www.trabocco.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking in South Shore Center parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Naccarelli

Private Party Facilities:
The "Salle del Vino" provides groups of 10-16 with an intimate private dining experience. The Wine Room is separated from the Bar/Lounge area by a dramatic floor to ceiling wine wall which houses Trabocco's wines, all of which are from Italy and California.

Private Party Contact:
Christine Naccarelli: 5105211152x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Trabocco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (133)
neighborhood gem (123)
special occasion (123)
See All
good for groups (99)
great for outdoor dining (87)
great for lunch (84)
romantic (62)
notable wine list (47)
hot spot (47)
kid-friendly (34)
vibrant bar scene (27)
great for brunch (24)
late-night find (9)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
784 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance is wonderful. We had a gre ...

Dined 3 days ago

The ambiance is wonderful. We had a great waitress. With the exception of one seafood dish, the food was excellent. We plan to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner at Trabocco with good frie ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We had dinner at Trabocco with good friends and we were very happy we chose Trabocco. A warm reception, seated on time per our reservation, exceptional service, and fantastic food. All of our meals were fantastic. This is a very special restaurant hidden in the center of a big shopping center in Alameda. A must go to!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tuna salad is wonderful. Everything ...

Dined 5 days ago

The tuna salad is wonderful. Everything is wonderful, actually! I've dined here many times, and have not had a bad meal,

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everyone enjoyed their meal immensely. O ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Everyone enjoyed their meal immensely. Our waiter was very attentive. Reviewed the nite's specials slowly, no need to have him repeat anything.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very good food and ambience. Especially ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

very good food and ambience. Especially like the chef-comign to the table to welcome us and "chat us up".

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Too loud. Lamb shank too greasy. Octop ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Too loud. Lamb shank too greasy. Octopus very good

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really enjoy this restaurant. Food is v ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Really enjoy this restaurant. Food is very good and service was wonderful. But it is so darn noisy, it's even difficult to hear the people at your own table. Must be something you can do to dampen the sound.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation but I miscounted an ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a reservation but I miscounted and we had one extra person. The host didn't bat an eye - switched our booth set up with another reserved round table so everyone was happy. The staff is perfect: relaxed and friendly, but professional. We have been here several times now and the food never disappoints. The butternut squash-stuffed pasta is a favorite, as is the lamb shank when they have it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything is perfect except the noise l ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything is perfect except the noise level!

food5
ambience5
service5

Came for late night desserts, wine and c ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Came for late night desserts, wine and cocktails with friends and family. Quiet and elegant way to end our day of celebrating the 2 graduates in our group. Trabocco is always a great venue for these special occasions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a very nice graduation dinner with f ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Had a very nice graduation dinner with family and friends. Food was awesome and outdoor seating was perfect. Very friendly staff and welcoming ambiance.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite restaurant in Alameda. Food is ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Favorite restaurant in Alameda. Food is always exceptional as is the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The absolute best restaurant in Alameda! ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The absolute best restaurant in Alameda!!! Delicious food always! Can't wait to go back again!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Ask to be seated on the patio, order a B ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Ask to be seated on the patio, order a Bitter Italian and the octopus, and you won't be disappointed.

food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Casual dining in a shopping center that ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Casual dining in a shopping center that tries to be a bit upscale. The service was okay but nothing special. There are a lot of specials which are not written down. I guess it is a bit like being blind and having to ask what your options are. The best part is that you can walk across the parking lot and stroll along the beach while looking at the San Francisco skyline after dinner.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very creative cuisine with high quality ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Very creative cuisine with high quality ingredients. There are also splendidly prepared pizzas. Extensive wine list. Don't let the mall location put you off. This is far from a typical mall dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trabocco is a gem in the strip mall

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

You wouldn't expect to find a bistro like Trabocco in the middle of a strip mall. It delivers the ambiance, quality, menu and cocktails of a fancy downtown San Francisco hot spot, here on the Island.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service

Dined on June 11, 2016

We dined here with friends from Florida and everyone was very happy. Since I live in Alameda, I know the menu well and always get the ravioli with oxtail filling, but do not like the sauce with ground vegetables. Our server suggested I have the lighter sauce that accompanies the squash filled ravioli and it was perfect. I always order the carparchio, but wish it wasn't quite as thin, as I can't really get the flavor of the beef. I ordered the zabliogne which was excellent and I didn't get to have it all, as everyone dug in also. Our meal would not have been as good without the excellent service of our wait person. (Wish I could remember her name).

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply the best dining experience in Ala ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Simply the best dining experience in Alameda!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

One of the great restaurants in Alameda, CA

Dined on June 9, 2016

There are not many outstanding restaurants in Alameda, just a lot of them. But Trabocco is an exception. The food there is outstanding and the chef/owner personally is involved with the meals and speaks to his customers. Great staff, everyone was super friendly and cared about the meal. IN one case the waiter was so excited that we picked one of his favorite dishes. The only downside is the main dining area is pretty noisy.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and surprisingly good vib ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent food and surprisingly good vibe for a restaurant in a shopping mall. Definitely will dine there again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best!

Dined on June 7, 2016

Trabocco is the go-to place for me and judging by the crowds every time I go, it's the go-to place for a lot of people. The food and service are always, without fail, excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

Enjoyed the personal visit from the chef

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Enjoyed the personal visit from the chef

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good Italian

Dined on May 30, 2016

New to area and very glad to find a good Italian meal with good service and a nice atmosphere. Will be back to try more of the very tempting menu.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Prices really should be about 12% lower ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Prices really should be about 12% lower for lunch and $10 glasses of wine, especially after waiting 10 minutes for 1st contact and additional 8 minutes for cocktail.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Great food and service eclipsed by noise level

Dined on May 29, 2016

Lovely place to eat with friends, if you don't care about damaging your hearing. Hard surfaces magnify this problem. Seriously, Trabocco should consider all possible avenues to dampen noise levels. The food is really good, the owner is always welcoming, and the service is superb. My overall feeling about this restaurant are colored by the fact that I had to strain to hear conversation with my dinner companion. I don't call that energetic. I call it loud.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was quite noisy, they should try to d ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

It was quite noisy, they should try to do something with the design to reduce the noise level. The food is good but the specials are almost always the same and the prices are a bit high for what you get. They should add some new dishes. The staff is very friendly and the owner is great, but for three of us it cost almost as much as the tasting menu at Commis!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What's not to love about Trabocco?! Eve ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

What's not to love about Trabocco?! Everyone makes you feel welcomed and at home...like you are a part of their family. It's a wonderful feeling to be in this environment making new friends and eating great food. Giuseppe & Christine take great pride in their restaurant with both who they staff and in their food quality. I can't recommend any one dish because everything on their menu has great flavor. It was fun ordering a pizza for the first time there because they give you pizza scissors so you can cut your pizza yourself. Whatever special risotto Giuseppe has for the day is always delicious. If you are fortunate to be there on a night where Osso Buco or Lamb Shank is on the menu as a special for the night, you are very lucky! If you get a chance to sit at the counter, watching the cooks is like watching a symphony...perfectly orchestrated.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had seared ahi salad, n ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

My husband and I had seared ahi salad, not on the menu, but the chef is always ready to fix it for us. It was delicious. That's why we always order it. The fish is always fresh, and there is plenty of it. Our friend, a little more daring than we are, ordered the pork belly. Outside of some Chinese restaurants, I don't think I ever see pork belly on a menu. But this restaurant is more creative than most. I ordered the muscato on from the bar, and it was a sweet complement to my meal. For dessert, I ordered zabaglione, again often difficult to find on Italian menus, and the custard had a perfect consistency with just the right amount of sherry flavor. The lovely waitress was friendly and patient as we made our decisions. She came back frequently to check on us, and we appreciated her attention.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always a fun time at Trabocco! The staff ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Always a fun time at Trabocco! The staff are helpful and friendly, drinks are delicious, food is AMAZING - fresh pasta is the best pasta! And Guiseppe, the owner, always comes around to greet the patrons which is a great touch. Love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I found this restaurant as I was looking ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

I found this restaurant as I was looking for a nice dine-in place to celebrate my brother's graduation but specifically in area close to Oakland airport due to one of the party having to catch a flight within few hours after graduation. When I called the night before the reservation date to ask if we could order the food ahead, they said it would be more than fine, as long as I clearly tell them what I want. It was very helpful that the restaurant's website has lunch and dinner menu ready for view. I sent the menu to everyone and they picked out the dish they wanted to order. So I called them as soon as they opened at 11:30 (as instructed), for our reservation was at 12:00, to put in the order. They did put in the order for me, but the person that picked up the phone was very reluctant. To a degree, I do understand, because it seemed like she was concerned that our food would be cold if we were to come late. But I gotta say I was taken aback by their constant and strong reluctance and doubtfulness, especially because I had called in advance and asked them to take a note of it. A polite and short reassuring of the possibility that food may be cold would have been fine instead of trying to convince me not to. And I don't know if it was because I was already slightly flustered by their attitude, I wasn't too pleased with the very few interaction I had with my server. Food on the other hand was very good though :). Perhaps you should visit this place when you have the time to enjoy. We all got pasta dish, along with the calamari, and they were all very, very good :). And the bread they brought out was steaming hot, which was a huge plus to our food experience. I would like to try the place again when I don't have to ask them to put the order in prior to us arriving. Maybe the restaurant doesn't like to work under a restricted time frame.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great neighborhood feel

Dined on May 10, 2016

Love this restaurant. Beautiful inside, bar and patio. Food dependably good every time!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

THE WAITERS ARE WONDERFUL. THE PATIO AR ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

THE WAITERS ARE WONDERFUL. THE PATIO AREA IS HEATED AND QUIETER THAN THE DINING ROOM WHICH CAN BE LOUD.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Cool spot in Alameda

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was good and ambiance was nice. Staff was friendly. Some may say, you can find better options in SF but to have a restaurant like this in our backyard and not have to pay toll is a score. If in the area def. worth checking out!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Long wait.

Dined on May 9, 2016

I'm a fan of this restaurant but it took us an hour to get our entree. We watched the table beside us sit down, get their food, and eat before we got our food. The waiter never even came to address this until about 45 minutes in. Really frustrating.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Italian Cuisine at Southshore Mall Alameda.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great authentic Southern Italian food in a shopping mall !!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Great local restaurant. Have been a coup ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great local restaurant. Have been a couple of times. Each time it gets better and better.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome, as usual. The octopus appetizer ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Awesome, as usual. The octopus appetizer is as good as it gets. Bonus points to the hostess who noticed the noise level in the main dining room was a bit on the lively side and immediately offered us a quieter alternative on the enclosed terrace.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Outstanding experience at this beautiful, modern, classic, friendly restaurant which I will definitely recommend to any one who is going to be in the Bay area either visiting or that lives there. Giuseppe the chef and owner of this authentic Italian cuisine is a energetic vibration to the place, he greed you like you are art of the family.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Got to meet Giueseppe!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Very elegant and romantic place to dine without feeling it was too fancy. We got sat at a beautiful corner table and had a great view from our table. Our waitress Gretta was great, although felt like she went missing every now and then. We had a all 3 courses (appitizer, main, dessert) and it took about 2.5 hours! I thought it took a little long, but overall she was great. Greta was attentive and repeated the specials when we had questions. Food was good. Calamari was awesome. Dessert was lovely. I got the pumpkin creme brule and it didn't taste like a pumpkin pie at all. I was afraid it would remind me of thanksgiving (I was not prepared for Thanksgiving pie) and it did not disappoint. Towards the end of our dinner, the head chef Giuseppe came over and said hi to us and asked us how our meal was. Really felt like first class guest! Even posed for a picture with us. Meeting him was the cherry on top.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.