About Trabocco

2213 South Shore Center
Alameda, CA 94501
View Larger Map

Trabocco brings something new and exciting to Alameda. Chef-owner, Giuseppe Naccarelli presents a seasonally inspired menu of classic Italian dishes with a modern twist, influenced by the cuisine of his native region of Abruzzo.
A Trabocco is a unique fishing pier found along the Adriatic coast of Abruzzo. Architect and Designer Lev Weisbach of Weisbach Architecture|Design was inspired by the beautiful Trabocchi of Abruzzo when he created his spectacular design. With its reclaimed wood ceilings, dramatic copper encased fireplace, and modern bar Trabocco is warm and welcoming yet strikingly dramatic and modern.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Su-Sa 11:30am-4pm
Dinner Su-Th 4pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis St. and Park St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 521-1152

Website:
http://www.trabocco.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking in South Shore Center parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Naccarelli

Private Party Facilities:
The "Salle del Vino" provides groups of 10-16 with an intimate private dining experience. The Wine Room is separated from the Bar/Lounge area by a dramatic floor to ceiling wine wall which houses Trabocco's wines, all of which are from Italy and California.

Private Party Contact:
Christine Naccarelli: 5105211152x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Trabocco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (124)
Special Occasion (119)
Neighborhood Gem (116)
See All
Good for Groups (90)
Great for Outdoor Dining (83)
Great for Lunch (79)
Romantic (55)
Notable Wine List (41)
Hot Spot (40)
Kid-friendly (33)
Great for Brunch (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Late-night Find (11)
Scenic View (3)
Sort By:
Newest
844 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was very pleased with my meal even tho ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was very pleased with my meal even though they brought me the wrong thing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant always is outstanding! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant always is outstanding! It's our 'go to' place when we have out of town guests and enjoy the friendliness of the owners and staff!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We recently moved to Alameda and wanted ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

We recently moved to Alameda and wanted to try a restaurant nearby our new apartment. Trabocco fit the bill and we were so glad we came. I had a Squid ink risotto which was delicious and my wife's gnocchi was one of the better ones we have had in some time. Our server was helpful and courteous and we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

great food, great service. I love this p ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

great food, great service. I love this place! I wish I could go every night.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. Each dish was unique. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was amazing. Each dish was unique. Loved the octopus appetizer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding every time! Besides the scr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding every time!

Besides the scrumptious food, 5 stars for the chef Giuseppe Naccarelli who makes it a point to walk around, chat with the diners and make each one feel special. His smile and attitude permeates among members of his staff who all see proud and happy to work there. It makes a huge difference to see people working together to make each dining experience a good one.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Groups, Private Room, Afternoon Coffee, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Alameda (from New York) ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were visiting Alameda (from New York) and sought a restaurant for a special occasion. Trabocco was recommended to us by our Alameda friends, both of whom are very successful and seem to have taste consistent with their success. What a wonderful recommendation! And as for Giuseppe, the owner-chef...!! What a HUGELY engaging personality is his. Oh, and did I mention the food was superb? Who would have expected to find this in Alameda...or is my NYC smugness, arrogance, and faux-sophistication showing?

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. We were welcomed and t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Love this place. We were welcomed and treated to wonderful food and great drinks. Service is usually great.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was so impressed that we were actually ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I was so impressed that we were actually seated at the time of our reservation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Giuseppe is a great chef, not only for h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Giuseppe is a great chef, not only for his food, but for friendliness to patrons, humor and how well he has trained his staff. Staff are always friendly and efficient. The food is reliably the highest quality, varied and interesting. We have been personally welcomed by chef after just a few visits. The wine offerings are broad and moderately priced for the quality.

Overall, this is a fun restaurant where you are welcome as casual or fancy.

Don't be put off by the location in a shopping center: this is NOT a shopping-center-restaurant but gourmet dining in a welcoming atmosphere.

One suggestion is to have a printed list of specials, there are too many to keep track of!! what a great array of choices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

How was Trabocco you ask? As always, a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

How was Trabocco you ask? As always, a delightful experience. My favorite restaurant in Alameda.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love sitting up at the food bar and wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I love sitting up at the food bar and watching all the action! The sous chef, the grill guy, the wood burning oven, the plating of the food. Staff friendly. The owner greets everyone. The food is delicious and presentation amazing. good pizzas, tasty all fresh entrees, an extensive wine list...one of my favorite places!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very attentive. Food was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The staff was very attentive. Food was delivered in a timely manner and delicious. We have eaten here a few times and always greeted at some point during the meal or as we leave by the chef himself. It is a great place for drinks and outdoor dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food at Trabacco was just delicious. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food at Trabacco was just delicious. We had a great waiter, Marshall. Unfortunately the night we were there, there was a concert going on right across from the restaurant. It was

very noisy which I had not anticipated. We went for my sweetheart's birthday and he really

enjoyed it except for the loud music. We will try it again as the food was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great service and excellent food. Prepa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service and excellent food. Prepared to perfection and wonderful wine selection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall an enjoyable dining experience. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Overall an enjoyable dining experience. However, the noise level was pretty high which made it difficult to carry on a normal conversation. I would probably try it for lunch next time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love this restaurant. Giuseppe the ow ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I love this restaurant. Giuseppe the owner is so friendly. The food is always great. And we always have a great time. You can't go wrong here.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I live in Alameda and always try to take ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I live in Alameda and always try to take out of town visitors to Trabocco. The decor, food and staff have never disappointed me. The bar is a nice for meeting friends for drink sand appetizers, the outdoor area is lovely on warm weather days and I really enjoy the food prep bar seating when it is just me and one other friend. If you are in the area and haven't tried Trabocco yet, make a reservation today!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was okay. The server really didn't kn ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

It was okay. The server really didn't know about the wines on the menu and the place was really loud but we enjoyed the salad which came with olives it was very tasty.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Excellent. I highly recommend it. I ha ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent. I highly recommend it. I have been there many times for both business lunches and social dinners.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I just enjoy the restaurant love to bri ...

 
 (Acapulco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I just enjoy the restaurant love to bring friends there

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Alameda. I take my friends here for special occasions. And on Sunday, we were celebrating my girlfriend's daughter's birthday. The food was good as usual as was the service. And to top it off, the staff brought out this huge platter with the words "Happy Birthday" in chocolate and a slice of Tiramisu. It was unexpected and just a wonderful gesture.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Another super dinner at Trabocco. Every ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Another super dinner at Trabocco. Everyone loved their food and the service was superb. The lasagna was off the charts and my friend raved about the sea bass special. The service has always been great and we had a wonderful girls night out.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I ordered Lamb shank and she brought me ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I ordered Lamb shank and she brought me veal assuming that would be ok. I was so hungry I just took it. She did not come and tell me that they weren't serving lamb she just brought the veal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

My absolute favorite restaurant! Delici ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

My absolute favorite restaurant! Delicious food and you feel right at home. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This seemingly "upscale" restaurant sadl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This seemingly "upscale" restaurant sadly serves really really low-quality beef. My New York was well flavored, although a bit salty, and appropriately cooked to medium rare (not over-cooked). It was shockingly sinewy and tough, however. (Although a majority of steak houses, according to Wall Street Journal several years ago, have shifted to serving well-prepared B-grade beef dishes, my NY steak was beyond "tenderizer salvage" and definitely a "lower-than-B-grade" cut.) My polite comments to a pleasant waitress elicited no concern. The owner/manager/cook/staff cannot be so clueless as to be unaware of beef quality this bad. I'll not revisit this restaurant or send any friends.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Chef very personable and friendly bus la ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Chef very personable and friendly bus lady not friendly picked up plates never gave us any new bread plates. She seemed unaware. Then at end she dropped plates near us almost scared lyrics newborn didn't apologize inky main chef

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Very friendly staff. Great food!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Very friendly staff. Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Doubled barreled nigroni cocktail was ma ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Doubled barreled nigroni cocktail was made perfectly. The pasta with rabbit ragu was excellent and the pasta eggplant was also good, but very filling. Expect a high level of noise inside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Our server that day was well informed an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our server that day was well informed and took good care of our table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The pasta meals are out of this world!!! ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The pasta meals are out of this world!!!! The wait staff is very knowledgeable on the various food and wine selections.

The atmosphere is so inviting and very modern. Our new favorite place to go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a hidden gem. The food is fabulo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This is a hidden gem. The food is fabulous. The food is the closest thing to authentic Italian cooking that I have had in years.

Giuseppe is so welcoming.

I cannot wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Italian food in Alameda, portions a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Best Italian food in Alameda, portions are large, service is excellent.

The chef even stopped to our table to see how things are and chat a bit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I absolutely love Trabocco for fancy eve ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I absolutely love Trabocco for fancy events or date nights. The food is divine and never disappoints. The service is amazing and the staff is always able to recommend a really great bottle of wine. I love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is probably one of the best restaur ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

This is probably one of the best restaurants in Alameda. I take my friends here for special occasions as the food is consistently good and the décor is so nice. Great place to impress new acquaintances.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef/owner Giuseppe is a true gem and ma ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Chef/owner Giuseppe is a true gem and made me feel like I was a celebrity guest instead of just a frazzled working mom eating at the chefs counter on a work trip. I had the cocoa pasta with rabbit and a vegan spinach/zucchini soup and both were perfection. Menu also has safer options like pizza or salads for less adventurous eaters. Despite being part of a mall it is truly special and worth a visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This has to be one of the most cheerful ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This has to be one of the most cheerful restaurants anywhere...from the waitstaff all the way to the chef, everyone is intent on making you feel welcome. All of this plus outstanding food served in such quantities that you will enjoy it for two more meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We sat overlooking the kitchen and were ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We sat overlooking the kitchen and were able to watch and talk without being overwhelmed by noise. The food was great. The owner/chef tries to greet everyone who comes in. A very friendly place. We love it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was meeting a friend for dinner, and tho ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Was meeting a friend for dinner, and thought we'd try this place out. There was a good crowd for a Tuesday, but we weren't inconvenienced. We sat out on the patio, and it was very comfortable. The service was friendly and quick, and the food was good. All in all a very nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was second time for me, octupus was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was second time for me, octupus was good again and margarita pizza good, but salads were disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.