About Town

716 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

Town opened in March of 2006. Located in the heart of downtown San Carlos. Town features hand cut steaks & chops, the freshest seafood, local organic produce, hand crafted cocktails, and a wine list with a focus on California, Washington and Oregon wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:Monday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Monday-Friday - Mid-Day Menu: 2:30pm-5:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 10:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Bar: 11:30am-12:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 595-3003 ext. 7

Website:
http://www.townsc.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in the front of Town on Laurel Street. Also there is a large free public parking lot in the rear of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located walking distance from the San Carlos Cal Train Station

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Cheng

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

In the heart of downtown San Carlos, Town features hand cut steaks & chops, the freshest seafood, local organic produce, hand crafted cocktails, and a wine list with a focus on California, Washington and Oregon wines. Our private dining room is perfect for your personal or corporate gatherings.

Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Peninsula
American
Peninsula
Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in San Carlos ›

Neighborhood Gem (165)
Special Occasion (162)
Fit for Foodies (145)
See All
Great for Lunch (132)
Great for Brunch (114)
Vibrant Bar Scene (108)
Hot Spot (107)
Good for Groups (100)
Great for Outdoor Dining (85)
Notable Wine List (60)
Romantic (59)
Kid-friendly (45)
Late-night Find (27)
Scenic View (7)
Good for a Date (1)
Casual (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a 6:30 PM reservation and were se ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

We had a 6:30 PM reservation and were seated immediately which is appreciated. Being on a Sunday, perhaps there were more loud children than usual. Even seated in a booth at times it was hard to hear across the table. The main courses were a little disappointing as the meat did not have a lot of flavor. Will try again and order something different.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Really good - everyone was very pleased ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 3 days ago

Really good - everyone was very pleased with the selection and the service

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is always excellent. It i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food here is always excellent. It is very busy on a Friday night (and rather noisy ) but they were still able to seat our reservation on time which was appreciated. Our server was young and while there were no missteps on her part, she was otherwise unengaged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

I've enjoyed many meals at Town. The ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

I've enjoyed many meals at Town.

The service is consistently very good. Food is good. It can get loud during happy hour/ dinner.

Highly recommend the bread pudding for dessert!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Martini excellent. Garlic chili green be ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Martini excellent. Garlic chili green beans way undercooked, couldn't even cut with steak knife. That is reason for 4 stars. Otherwise, filet au poivre and mashed potatoes very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food at Town seemed a little on the ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food at Town seemed a little on the pricey side at first, but was worth every last penny. Everything was so delicious and cooked to perfection. Want to go back again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice eclectic menu. Power lunch is a goo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Nice eclectic menu. Power lunch is a good option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I took my husband here for his birthday ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I took my husband here for his birthday because he loves prime rib. I was never big on prime rib but Town made me a huge fan of prime rib! We both enjoyed our meal. The service was prompt without feeling rushed and the leftover prime rib was also delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Town has a great location and local ener ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Town has a great location and local energy. Service and drinks were excellent but the entrees were disappointing. We have experienced some of the best steakhouses in the midwest (Annie Gunn's in St.Louis, St. Elmo's in Indianapolis) and had high expectations for the meat after reading reviews. The meat was average with charring on the outside of all three of our orders that eliminated the flavor of the cut. It was good, but I expected a lot better. I'll be looking for additional, local steakhouses to try.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Service was excellent as was the pan sea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Service was excellent as was the pan seared scallops and the Grapefruit & Mint G&T!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the second time I dine here, bot ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

This is the second time I dine here, both were for special occasions. I made reservations and was seated right away. Both times were noisy but not to the point of not being able to hear the person sitting across from you. You may have to raise your voice a little. The food was great. The mac and cheese is the best! I think the prices are very reasonable. I always get a steak which comes with 2 sides. Lots of food. The employees are nice and attentive. I will definitely come back but I like to save this place for special occasions only.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Romantic, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliably delicious food and pleasant, pr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Reliably delicious food and pleasant, professional service.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We love Town! We go for special occasion ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We love Town! We go for special occasions and typically for steak but the menu is amazing. You can order so many other options such as kale salads with chicken or fish. It's always a treat and the service is fantastic.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a birthday celebration for my fri ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was a birthday celebration for my friends 18 year old daughter. We ate outside on Sunday at 12:30. Had a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, a little neglected. Service ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good food, a little neglected. Service was friendly but spotty. The food was good, as usual.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Great night out. Very lively and great ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great night out. Very lively and great food. The halibut was wonderful and by wife's steak was perfect.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Best place in area for dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Best place in area for dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Town is my favorite restaurant in San Ca ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Town is my favorite restaurant in San Carlos so I chose it to celebrate our anniversary. Mariah, our waiter, did a great job on a busy Friday evening. Service was great but food was not up to par.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Love Town! Always delicious! Definitely ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love Town! Always delicious! Definitely recommend making a reservation well in advance as it gets booked quickly. Bar and outside seating are for non-reservations so if you get there early you will have a shot there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every year we celebrate my twin daughter ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Every year we celebrate my twin daughters at Town on their birthday. We are never disappointed. The food is lucsious, the service is exceptional and my granddaughter is comfortable there too!. This year, Korey was our server and he could not have been nicer! Thanks to everyone for 6 years of happy birthdays!

Also, this is where I like to dine as a treat any time, either solo or with a guest. I love Town!!!💕

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TOWN brunch has been the talk of the Tow ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

TOWN brunch has been the talk of the Town since we moved to the area. The place was crowded but we were sat right away for your reservations. The table we sat at was a little musty smelling like they used a dirty rag to clean it prior to us arriving. We ordered cocktails and brunch. The server was MIA pretty often and I wouldn't have been able to get another drink if I wanted one! Three of four people at our table were happy with their meals. I ordered the cobb salad which was over dressed. The chicken was also slightly pink which immediately made me lose my appetite.

For an upscale place they had TVs everywhere! My uncle told me they even had them in the restroom. I think if we go back it will be to sit at the bar.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

I have been to Town several times but it ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have been to Town several times but it has been 3 years since my last visit. I chose Town to celebrate my birthday with my husband. Our server was fantastic. I had several choices in mind and before I could tell him what they were he recommended those very same dishes. It was like he was reading my mind. He also was very attentive to my champagne flute, since I got the bottomless mimosas. On top of the personalized menu I got to keep, I also received a free dessert, bread pudding. Our server, Korey, was a mind reader. Kudos to Korey and kudos to Town. The food was excellent, the ambiance, and most of all the service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Town has been my mainstay for out of tow ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Town has been my mainstay for out of town dinning when in the san Carlos area. I've used for both business and pleasure with excellent results. Always a happening place besides the wonderful wine and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My server was awesome, just the right am ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

My server was awesome, just the right amount of interaction and very friendly. The food came very quickly after we ordered and the timing was exceptional because we only had an hour for our lunch break. I ordered the Napa Cabbage salad and it was as usual sensational. My iced tea was refilled without me asking. I always enjoy TOWN but this experience really stood out as outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food was great, the servi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

As always, the food was great, the service was superb and the atmosphere wonderful. We treated our son and grandson and it made for a very special lunch together!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great culmination to a long birthday wee ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great culmination to a long birthday weekend before my mom's flight home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Town never disappoints but this past din ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Town never disappoints but this past dinner was really exceptional. Our table was not ready for more than 30 minutes after our reservation because the diners lingered a bit. Management sent over a ton of free appetizers and an after dinner drink and could not have been more gracious b

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was wonderful. That said, the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was wonderful. That said, the table assigned to us by making a reservation through Open Table was the noisiest in the place, right next to the kitchen and the bar. We couldn't hear each other talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Our food and service were impeccable. I ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our food and service were impeccable. I had the filet which was cooked on a 1400 degree grill. Absolutely crispy but medium rare on the inside. A very lovely shrimp appetizers, great glass of cab. Happy campers.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had been to Town before, and decide ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We had been to Town before, and decided to take our adult daughter there to celebrate her birthday. Food and service were very good. They have a good. Selection of steaks as well as a variety of other dishes and several choices of sides, two of which you can choose to accompany your entree. Recommend creamed spinach. Service was quick and a birthday dessert was offered for us to share. All in all it was an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We all loved our dinners. The tuna appet ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We all loved our dinners. The tuna appetizer was so good and so was the cauliflower. We loved the pistachio crusted halibut and the bread pudding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Make reservations well in advance and ha ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Make reservations well in advance and have a great time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Popular spot for good reason. Food is ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Popular spot for good reason. Food is outstanding and is consistent have had several visits.

Service and friendly staff on par with the quality of the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I took my friend there for her Birthday ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I took my friend there for her Birthday as she had never been. She loved her Napa cabbage salad and chili. I enjoyed the same salad and tomato bisque soup. The waitress learned that it was her birthday, she brought the BEST bread pudding (with a candle, no singing) In addition, she had a pear martini....it was delicious!!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Warm Napa Cabbage Salad and Pear M ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great Warm Napa Cabbage Salad and Pear Martinis!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was Paul and he was great.foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our waiter was Paul and he was great.food was good and service was excellent

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Excellent waiter.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great experience. Excellent waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy Town Restaurant. The fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We always enjoy Town Restaurant. The food selection is exceptional! Every dish is prepared and presented beautifully. The servers are consistently courteous and attentive!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My waitress was awesome! Had knowledge a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

My waitress was awesome! Had knowledge about the wine list, gave recommendations and was super nice! Love the experience and food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time at Town and love ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This was our first time at Town and loved it! I indicated on my reservation that I was celebrating my boyfriends birthday and they printed Happy Birthday Eric on the top of our menus. The food was amazing and our service was great. Definitely would recommend this place and will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.