About Town

716 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

Town opened in March of 2006. Located in the heart of downtown San Carlos. Town features hand cut steaks & chops, the freshest seafood, local organic produce, hand crafted cocktails, and a wine list with a focus on California, Washington and Oregon wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:Monday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Monday-Friday - Mid-Day Menu: 2:30pm-5:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 10:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Bar: 11:30am-12:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 595-3003 ext. 7

Website:
http://www.townsc.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in the front of Town on Laurel Street. Also there is a large free public parking lot in the rear of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located walking distance from the San Carlos Cal Train Station

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Cheng

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Town, San Carlos, CA
Town, San Carlos, CA
Town, San Carlos, CA
Town, San Carlos, CA
New York Steak Tacos - Town, San Carlos, CA
Blue Cheese Crusted Filet Mignon - Town, San Carlos, CA
Town, San Carlos, CA
Spit Roasted Rotisserie Chicken - Town, San Carlos, CA
Bread Pudding - Maple Brandy sauce, Creme Anglaise - Town, San Carlos, CA
Town, San Carlos, CA
Town, San Carlos, CA
Blood Orange Margarita - Town, San Carlos, CA
Town, San Carlos, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

In the heart of downtown San Carlos, Town features hand cut steaks & chops, the freshest seafood, local organic produce, hand crafted cocktails, and a wine list with a focus on California, Washington and Oregon wines. Our private dining room is perfect for your personal or corporate gatherings.

Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Overall
Peninsula
4 More
Best Food
Peninsula
Best Service
Peninsula
American
Peninsula
Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in San Carlos ›

Special Occasion (103)
Good for a Date (84)
Neighborhood Gem (79)
See All
Good for Birthdays (76)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Great for Brunch (73)
Vibrant Bar Scene (70)
Bar Seating (69)
Great for Lunch (67)
Hot Spot (61)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Fun (48)
Good for Groups (44)
Open Kitchen (44)
Handcrafted Cocktails (44)
Casual (42)
Romantic (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Worth the Drive (40)
Comfort Food (39)
Business Meals (37)
Modern Decor (35)
People Watching (31)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Notable Wine List (29)
Happy Hour (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Cozy (23)
Fireplace (19)
Authentic (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Seasonal (14)
Healthy (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Live Sports (13)
Family Style (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Private Room (12)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Wood Oven (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great Beer (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Organic (4)
Scenic View (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
3407 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of our go-to places, always great fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

One of our go-to places, always great food and cocktails. It was my wife's birthday, the "Happy Birthday" on the menu made the night. Thanks TOWN for another great time!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Town is hands down one of the best resta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Town is hands down one of the best restaurants on the peninsula. The food is incredible, the staff is kind, and the ambiance is very cozy/romantic.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first experience with Town was underw ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My first experience with Town was underwhelming. I had read all the hype and it just didn't live up to expectations. This was my second visit and it was a pleasant surprise that changed my impression. The service was excellent and the ambiance improved - maybe it is the fall season. Most importantly, though, the food was perfectly prepared. Great night by the fireplace added to a fun date with my wife. We'll be sure to return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A vibrant metropolitan-like (think San F ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

A vibrant metropolitan-like (think San Francisco) environment with a personable, well-trained staff. The food and drinks are good too.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A great selection of brunch items and th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

A great selection of brunch items and the food quality is always great!

We love the bread pudding but we think Nola's bread pudding is better. Nola gives you more of that delicious sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Food and service were good. Unfortunatel ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food and service were good. Unfortunately I can't get over the unannounced "Healthcare Act" fee slipped into the bill @ a measly $0.75/person. WTF? Server explained it was to cover potential cost if we were to get sick as aresult of our dine. I'd be surprised if that was an accurate explanation. Perhaps ownership would like to chime in with a reasonable explanation.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Reservations were easy, staff cheerful a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Reservations were easy, staff cheerful and helpful. Food and desserts worth it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and ambience. Definitely reco ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great food and ambience. Definitely recommended. Good service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A bit overpriced for what I got to be ho ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

A bit overpriced for what I got to be honest...at least for the quality versus price...

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Had a very enjoyable lunch at Town with ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Had a very enjoyable lunch at Town with friends. I was concerned the noise level would make it difficult to carry on a conversation but I was wrong. We had a table up front near the fireplace. Perfect! The Warm cabbage salad is to die for. Salmon sandwich was very good. At the end of our lunch the waiter brought a nice slice of bread pudding as we were celebrating a birthday. Excellent service from the minute we sat down.

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a nice server.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We had a nice server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We come to Town for all our "special occ ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We come to Town for all our "special occassions" and when we just want a goooood meal. We have our favorite waiter who knows our orders, what we like and how we like it. Don't believe I have ever had a bad meal or experience with Town!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was excellent as was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

As always the food was excellent as was the service! We love Town!!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was very cold with door alway ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Restaurant was very cold with door always open to outside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Pass it if you are looking for a steak

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Pass it if you are looking for a steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Town is an excellent go-to restaurant fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Town is an excellent go-to restaurant for a business lunch. The service is always great, and the food delicious -- the shaking beef is flavorful and tender, and the Kale salad is very tasty. Overall, 5 stars lunching experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High Quality food. Well prepared. Great ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

High Quality food. Well prepared. Great service. Consistently excellent. Great for business lunch, or friends get together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The Loco Moco was better than in Hawaii. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The Loco Moco was better than in Hawaii.

We finished our morning business early but had a 2:15 reservation. The hostess was very nice and seated us about 1 PM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good food and great atmosphere! A ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Always good food and great atmosphere!

A good locals hangout as well as business lunch etc ...

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service. Super loud t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Super loud tho' be aware, it is the only (small) downside to TOWN.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very Good, AS USUAL. Thanks. I have ne ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Very Good, AS USUAL. Thanks. I have never been disappointed at Town. Love the Express Lunch menu. Second time I have used it.

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my husband's birthday with ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday with a Sunday brunch. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a friendly hostess who acknowledged the birthday occasion as we were escorted to our table. Our wait person was genuinely warm and attentive. We ordered the mimosa, sangria, steak benedict and the chicken and waffles. All were superb! My husband also received a complementary warm bread pudding for a birthday dessert, which was big enough for the two of us. Moist, with a warm caramel sauce, it was the best bread pudding I had ever eaten! Our experience at Town was fantastic. We are so happy we picked Town for my husband's special day. It was our first time there, but certainly not the last. A great big thank you to everyone at Town!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with the family for Sunday brunch. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Went with the family for Sunday brunch. Promptly seated, friendly server, great cocktail, great food! It was a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

TOWN is consistently a winner ! Service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

TOWN is consistently a winner ! Service is always terrific (especially Louanna). Food is excellent.

I've been to TOWN many, many times and they are excellent. Looking forward to seeing the new outdoor seating area once it's completed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is delicious here. Everything I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food is delicious here. Everything I have tasted so far has been perfect. The one thing I cannot stop raving about is their Bread Pudding - you HAVE got to eat it if you go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

enjoyed a great lunch celebrating a girl ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

enjoyed a great lunch celebrating a girlfriend's birthday - great service, yummy food and nice atmosphere

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a good spot for a business lunc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This was a good spot for a business lunch. We were seated in a booth and though the sound level is moderate (a good energy level) we were able to talk easily. The Power Lunch menu is a good option and we both enjoyed the starter and mains. Well cooked, flavorful and delivered quickly. I'd definitely go here again for a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant is expensive but worth i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This restaurant is expensive but worth it. My husband and I both had filet mignon. I had the au poivre sauce which was wonderful. My steak was cooked perfectly. Service got four stars because the waiter took a long time to greet us. Once he did he was very attentive and redeemed himself. :) Would highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Business dinner for 8. Waiter did a gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Business dinner for 8. Waiter did a great job with the service and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our evening was delightful! The food an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Our evening was delightful! The food and service was superb ... I would go again in a heartbeat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been here many times, and never been dis ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Been here many times, and never been disappointed! Great cocktails, great steaks, great appetizers, great wine. Always my first choice in the area, can get pretty crowded for walk in, but bar and chef seating can help.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good. Room was chilly-door open ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food was good. Room was chilly-door opened and never closed despite my request to do so or to turn some heat on. Was uncomfortable cold at our table. Chicken was a bit grislly. Steak good, but over-priced. Sides were very good. Wine prices generally decent-some good values (Merlot and Zins) and some not as much.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a 6:30 reservation at Town last ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We had a 6:30 reservation at Town last night 11/13/2026, our whole experience went from bad to worse. One of our parties entree was ice cold and all the vegetables were cold on the other entree's. They were returned it then took 20 mins for them to be returned. Also we were not all served at the same time. The service was beyond awful, this is an experienced restaurant !

They then gave us a discount on our bill for the terrible

service and cold food, but when they rang up the bill we were charged the full amount of the bill. It then had to be redone and took another 15 mins..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

We enjoyed a really good meal. My 12 and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We enjoyed a really good meal. My 12 and 14 year old, plus my husband and I. The Chilean Sea Bass with the miso glaze was perfect. Not over-done which can happen so often. The cocktails and wine were good, as was my son's NY steak and loaded baked potatoes. My daughter's butternut squash gnochi was also really tasty. The California roll but a great appetizer.

Only one complaint -- the lemonade was really watery and refills should be free. Also, possibly too many televisions at the bar. They serve to distract dinner conversation a bit too much.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, our waiter was excellent, an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, our waiter was excellent, and the bread pudding dessert 'is to die for!'

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We all enjoyed our dinner. Town contin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We all enjoyed our dinner. Town continues to give a great value for a good dining experience.

We will return again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, People Watching, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wine at Town, nice to hav ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food and wine at Town, nice to have a good place nearby that is open later. I love the specials and having new options at an old favorite restaurant. Town is a solid choice for dinner in San Carlos.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were late coming from a funeral. The ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We were late coming from a funeral. The lady at the desk was very ride and my brother who was very emotional was just as rude back. We had our salads before the drinks and the meals before we were done with out salads. We got the check before desserts. From start to finish it took 42'. And the table then sat empty for 35' for the 8pm reservation. Not very well done but the waiter was told by the hostess to get us out as fast as he could. He was told it was at our request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scottish Salmon & NY strip both excellen ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Scottish Salmon & NY strip both excellent. Service was good. Nice booth, table needed refinishing. Good meal, expected prices for quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We came here to celebrate my Mom's 65th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We came here to celebrate my Mom's 65th birthday. Corey, our server, went out of his way to make my Mom feel extra special. She was so surprised by the special menu header for the event and loved the bread pudding dessert that Corey selected to top it all off.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.