About Town

716 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

Town opened in March of 2006. Located in the heart of downtown San Carlos. Town features hand cut steaks & chops, the freshest seafood, local organic produce, hand crafted cocktails, and a wine list with a focus on California, Washington and Oregon wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:Monday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Monday-Friday - Mid-Day Menu: 2:30pm-5:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 10:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Bar: 11:30am-12:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 595-3003 ext. 7

Website:
http://www.townsc.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in the front of Town on Laurel Street. Also there is a large free public parking lot in the rear of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located walking distance from the San Carlos Cal Train Station

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Cheng

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

In the heart of downtown San Carlos, Town features hand cut steaks & chops, the freshest seafood, local organic produce, hand crafted cocktails, and a wine list with a focus on California, Washington and Oregon wines. Our private dining room is perfect for your personal or corporate gatherings.

Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Overall
Peninsula
American
Peninsula
1 More
Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in San Carlos ›

Special Occasion (160)
Neighborhood Gem (159)
Fit for Foodies (132)
See All
Great for Lunch (127)
Great for Brunch (118)
Vibrant Bar Scene (106)
Hot Spot (105)
Good for Groups (96)
Great for Outdoor Dining (79)
Romantic (55)
Notable Wine List (54)
Kid-friendly (39)
Good for a Date (36)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Bar Seating (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Late-night Find (22)
Open Kitchen (21)
Fun (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Casual (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Cozy (11)
Business Meals (11)
People Watching (8)
Seasonal (8)
Healthy (7)
Scenic View (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Fireplace (6)
Live Sports (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Private Room (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Family Style (5)
Authentic (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great cocktails and a solid wine list. A ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great cocktails and a solid wine list. Amazing steak & sides.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was sub-par, as our waiter was r ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was sub-par, as our waiter was rarely seen and we even had to look for him a couple times. Wine serving was chinsey compared to other outstanding high end restaraunts, and the healthcare fee was a bit silly. The appetizers were the stand out item. Would I recommend to a friend? Maybe only to get appetizers and forego on dinner and drinks- way too pricey for what you get and lack of service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Took my grandparents here for their 62nd ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Took my grandparents here for their 62nd wedding anniversary. I was looking for something nice, offering a celebratory steak meal, but not so nice the old folks would feel inadequately dressed. We all dressed semi-casual, and we fit right in!

The menu had some great offerings, and it was very nice that the steaks came with two sides. In my experience you usually have to purchase your sides separately. Let me tell you, our steaks and sides were incredible!!! Pop and I got the ribeye and wow! Pop is still talking about it. Said it is one the best steaks he has ever had, and he is a meat and potatoes guy for sure. Gma (had a filet mignon) doesn't usually eat much and she finished every last bite of her meal.

Our server was Jay Jay, and I HIGHLY recommend requesting his section. He has been there a long time (did he say 20 yrs?) and his service was top notch (I def know good service as I myself am in the service industry). He was so kind, jovial, friendly, patient with helping with menu selections. He guided us to great choices on food and drinks. He surprised my grandparents with a delicious bread pudding dessert with kissing candles; so cute.

I would def go to TOWN again, and we live about 30min away. Worth the drive for a nice dinner out.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Town has been a family favorite so it wa ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Town has been a family favorite so it was only fitting that we came here to celebrate the life of a matriarch in the family who loved Town very much.

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food not up to standard we have experien ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Food not up to standard we have experienced in the past.

Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

I dine at Town often and it is always ou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

I dine at Town often and it is always outstanding--great food, great service. On my last visit, service was just awful. Our cocktails arrived together with our main dishes. Our appetizers never arrived at all and were cancelled by our server. We asked to get one of them, the cauliflower appetizer that we especially love. We had great bread pudding for dessert, but we couldn't get a coffee refill to save our lives. Our bill was incorrect, and we had to send it back to be corrected. That said, the food was terrific.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

TOWN is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

TOWN is one of my favorite restaurants in San Carlos! It's always a treat to dine there.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I made reservations for 7:15 ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My wife and I made reservations for 7:15 on a Saturday night. We got there around 7 and let them know that we were there for our 7:15 reservation. A few people had walked up after us and we're sorted. I figured they had reservations. 7:30 rolls around and the same pattern, people would walk up and get seated. I asked the hostess why people were getting seated tgat showed up after me. She told me that they were walk-ins that were waiting to be seated. I always thought that reservations were made for a reason. Apparently that isn't always the case for Town. The food and service once we were sorted were top notch. I am assuming they had accidentally skipped over us so I will let it slide. Things happen.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Town remains our special go-to restauran ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Town remains our special go-to restaurant for birthdays, anniversaries and other special nights out. Love the food, from the warm napa cabbage salad to the tomato basil soup (available in a $2 demi taste, yay!) to their fan fav skirt steak with garlic mashed potatoes and perfect green beans. We LOVE the signature bread pudding, a piece of heaven that will convert those who hate bread pudding, I promise. We had an outstanding server who was courteous, social but not intrusive, quick to help me out when I spilled half my martini, comped me a replacement martini and also the anniversary dessert. My only complaint about this place is it is SO BLOODY LOUD. The bar scene, the patrons, the televisions going, the open kitchen -- nothing romantic about shouting in my view. But we deal with the noise because it is a great meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

As always the service was fantastic and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

As always the service was fantastic and the food was great. it is always a pleasure to eat there

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service. The menu is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great food, great service. The menu is comprehensive, with a definite slant towards steaks. I had the ribs which were incredible

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Town is always a fun dining experience. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Town is always a fun dining experience. The brunch is good, the lunch is good as well as dinners. Bread pudding is very special. Also, the bartenders are not afraid to pour a decent drink.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great steak place. The service was terri ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great steak place. The service was terrific -- definitely attentive.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great experience at Tow ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We always have a great experience at Town. Our go to birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Town has consistently great food, great ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Town has consistently great food, great service and great drinks! What more could a customer want? Their meatloaf is just like Mama's and their Enchilada's are just like Paco's! I highly recommend Town, but be sure to make a reservation or it may be impossible to get in. That just says how well they are liked in our community.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Town is always a go-to spot for me if I' ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Town is always a go-to spot for me if I'm looking for a good meal. It's good for special occasions as well as everyday dining. Though it's family-friendly, it's a bit on the pricier side, so be warned that feeding a large group could put a dent in your wallet. That being said, the food is outstanding, and they have a nice selection of drinks (beer, wine, and cocktails). If you like steak, you will not be disappointed. Their brunch menu is also pretty great. Just be sure to leave room for some bread pudding after your meal (add a scoop of ice cream, too). I'd come just for that :) Love this place!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and service always top notch. Wond ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food and service always top notch. Wonderful food selection. Personal greeting on menu was a nice touch

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating K's birthday...was a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were celebrating K's birthday...was a nice touch to have the menu specialized with his name and birthday. He ordered the meatloaf (couldn't decide between the skirt steak). It was good but a lot of spices and not like the old recipe. B and T both got the kids skirt steak...they mixed up the order and forgot the mashed potatoes but was brought later and they got cooked carrots instead of the carrot and ranch dip. I ordered the prime rib dip which was good but not as tender and tasty as I remembered. The cole slaw was good. The wedge salad started was very good. The bread pudding was brought out with a candle and that was still delicious. The kids got their own make your own sundae which was good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time at Town. Food was seasonal an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

First time at Town. Food was seasonal and delicious. Lots of great choices. About loud but that also indicates it's popularity. Great for everyday or special occasions. I look forward to returning soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I came to Town for my husbands 50th bir ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I came to Town for my husbands 50th birthday. We had a party of 3. The service and food were outstanding. The personalized menu made my husband feel very special. Booking the reservation at open table was fast and easy. It all was worked out perfect. THANK YOU.

Tags: Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Fun, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a 6:30 PM reservation and were se ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We had a 6:30 PM reservation and were seated immediately which is appreciated. Being on a Sunday, perhaps there were more loud children than usual. Even seated in a booth at times it was hard to hear across the table. The main courses were a little disappointing as the meat did not have a lot of flavor. Will try again and order something different.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Really good - everyone was very pleased ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Really good - everyone was very pleased with the selection and the service

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my brother, sister-in-law, husb ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was my brother, sister-in-law, husband, and my 1st visit for brunch. We had reservations and were promptly seated. Town has been in San Carlos for awhile. While there are many dining choices, we noticed it was the only place packed for brunch. Service and the quality of food has improved over time. We were happy with the friendly prompt service. Our orders were presented to the right person even though the servers were not the ones who took our orders. My sister-in-law's chilaquiles were soggier than expected but all other dishes were perfect. We can't wait to have brunch there again.

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food here is always excellent. It i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food here is always excellent. It is very busy on a Friday night (and rather noisy ) but they were still able to seat our reservation on time which was appreciated. Our server was young and while there were no missteps on her part, she was otherwise unengaged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

I've enjoyed many meals at Town. The ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I've enjoyed many meals at Town.

The service is consistently very good. Food is good. It can get loud during happy hour/ dinner.

Highly recommend the bread pudding for dessert!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Martini excellent. Garlic chili green be ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Martini excellent. Garlic chili green beans way undercooked, couldn't even cut with steak knife. That is reason for 4 stars. Otherwise, filet au poivre and mashed potatoes very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food at Town seemed a little on the ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food at Town seemed a little on the pricey side at first, but was worth every last penny. Everything was so delicious and cooked to perfection. Want to go back again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice eclectic menu. Power lunch is a goo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Nice eclectic menu. Power lunch is a good option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I took my husband here for his birthday ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I took my husband here for his birthday because he loves prime rib. I was never big on prime rib but Town made me a huge fan of prime rib! We both enjoyed our meal. The service was prompt without feeling rushed and the leftover prime rib was also delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Town has a great location and local ener ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Town has a great location and local energy. Service and drinks were excellent but the entrees were disappointing. We have experienced some of the best steakhouses in the midwest (Annie Gunn's in St.Louis, St. Elmo's in Indianapolis) and had high expectations for the meat after reading reviews. The meat was average with charring on the outside of all three of our orders that eliminated the flavor of the cut. It was good, but I expected a lot better. I'll be looking for additional, local steakhouses to try.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Service was excellent as was the pan sea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Service was excellent as was the pan seared scallops and the Grapefruit & Mint G&T!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the second time I dine here, bot ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

This is the second time I dine here, both were for special occasions. I made reservations and was seated right away. Both times were noisy but not to the point of not being able to hear the person sitting across from you. You may have to raise your voice a little. The food was great. The mac and cheese is the best! I think the prices are very reasonable. I always get a steak which comes with 2 sides. Lots of food. The employees are nice and attentive. I will definitely come back but I like to save this place for special occasions only.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Romantic, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliably delicious food and pleasant, pr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Reliably delicious food and pleasant, professional service.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We love Town! We go for special occasion ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We love Town! We go for special occasions and typically for steak but the menu is amazing. You can order so many other options such as kale salads with chicken or fish. It's always a treat and the service is fantastic.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a birthday celebration for my fri ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was a birthday celebration for my friends 18 year old daughter. We ate outside on Sunday at 12:30. Had a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, a little neglected. Service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good food, a little neglected. Service was friendly but spotty. The food was good, as usual.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Great night out. Very lively and great ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great night out. Very lively and great food. The halibut was wonderful and by wife's steak was perfect.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Best place in area for dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Best place in area for dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Town is my favorite restaurant in San Ca ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Town is my favorite restaurant in San Carlos so I chose it to celebrate our anniversary. Mariah, our waiter, did a great job on a busy Friday evening. Service was great but food was not up to par.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Love Town! Always delicious! Definitely ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love Town! Always delicious! Definitely recommend making a reservation well in advance as it gets booked quickly. Bar and outside seating are for non-reservations so if you get there early you will have a shot there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.