About Town

716 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

Town opened in March of 2006. Located in the heart of downtown San Carlos. Town features hand cut steaks & chops, the freshest seafood, local organic produce, hand crafted cocktails, and a wine list with a focus on California, Washington and Oregon wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:Monday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Monday-Friday - Mid-Day Menu: 2:30pm-5:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 10:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Bar: 11:30am-12:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 595-3003 ext. 7

Website:
http://www.townsc.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in the front of Town on Laurel Street. Also there is a large free public parking lot in the rear of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located walking distance from the San Carlos Cal Train Station

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Cheng

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

New York Steak Tacos - Town, San Carlos, CA
Blue Cheese Crusted Filet Mignon - Town, San Carlos, CA
Spit Roasted Rotisserie Chicken - Town, San Carlos, CA
Bread Pudding - Maple Brandy sauce, Creme Anglaise - Town, San Carlos, CA
Blood Orange Margarita - Town, San Carlos, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

In the heart of downtown San Carlos, Town features hand cut steaks & chops, the freshest seafood, local organic produce, hand crafted cocktails, and a wine list with a focus on California, Washington and Oregon wines. Our private dining room is perfect for your personal or corporate gatherings.

Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (92)
Good for a Date (82)
Neighborhood Gem (79)
See All
Good for Birthdays (79)
Bar Seating (74)
Great for Lunch (67)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
Great for Brunch (58)
Vibrant Bar Scene (58)
Fit for Foodies (57)
Hot Spot (57)
Good for Groups (54)
Fun (52)
Business Meals (50)
Worth the Drive (44)
Romantic (42)
Casual (40)
Comfort Food (40)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Open Kitchen (38)
People Watching (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Modern Decor (33)
Cozy (31)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Happy Hour (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Fireplace (23)
Kid-friendly (20)
Authentic (20)
Local Ingredients (17)
Family Style (15)
Private Room (14)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Live Sports (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Wood Oven (11)
Healthy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Seasonal (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Great Beer (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Scenic View (3)
Organic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
3677 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was better than the food, and th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was better than the food, and the food was really good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I run a local business and this is the s ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

I run a local business and this is the spot to bring my team and clients

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We met friends and had a wonderful meal. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We met friends and had a wonderful meal. The service is exceptional. We were a few minutes late; but we were accommodated with a smile. We stop here whenever we are in Redwood City or San Carlos, driving from Lodi. Never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only complaint about my recent dining ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My only complaint about my recent dining experience is I notice that Town charges a fee for the health care act ontop of the taxes and tip we already pay? Is this even legal?

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Town was great. Food was ready quickly a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Town was great. Food was ready quickly and was made the way I wanted it. The only thing was that the restaurant was rushing us to order. Our reservation was 9:45pm and since they closed at 10:00pm, they were rushing us to order. Why would you have a 9:45 reservation available if you can't serve people properly by then. I couldn't order everything I wanted because the server kept rushing me.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

I love the Chilean Seabass and the bread ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I love the Chilean Seabass and the breadpudding. Our waiter was very interactive with us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was AMAZING and so was the service. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was AMAZING and so was the service. I am so glad I mede reservations because the place was packed

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Town is one of our favorite restaurant & ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Town is one of our favorite restaurant & one of the best in the Peninsula/Bay Area. They have large & good selections of food & beverages. Their servers are very attentive & friendly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy dining here. The ambianc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We always enjoy dining here. The ambiance is good and the food outstanding. The salmon was excellent . The other seafood dishes they have on the menu are also good. The only thing I would recommend is that the resturant serve a little bread that can be enjoyed with wine while waiting for the main course.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently amazing for almost two deca ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Consistently amazing for almost two decades! I always look forward to dinnng at town

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Organic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still too loud at Town. Bar very busy. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Still too loud at Town. Bar very busy. Manhattans overpriced when order "UP".

Wedge salad not as good as in the past. Lettuce not fresh enough. Had to ask for more dressing. Shrimp appetizer very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Town is a great restaurant in San Carlos ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Town is a great restaurant in San Carlos. The quality of the food and service have been the same EVERYTIME I visit (great). I visit at least once a month. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's Okay. Nothing special except the pr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

It's Okay. Nothing special except the prices, which are higher than necessary for average tasting and texture steaks. Expected more from its reputation, and from the almost fully packed house. Not a destination restaurant, unless you live right in that area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Went to the Town on a Monday night so it ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Went to the Town on a Monday night so it wasn't as crowded as I presumed it would be. Definitely good ambiance however the food just wasn't right for the evening. Perhaps this is an invitation to come back again and try something else.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The staff is so friendly and accommodati ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The staff is so friendly and accommodating! They take good care of kids! It's the best place around for family dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Always a great meal... service always go ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always a great meal... service always good

We enjoy going here for special occasions

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Town is my favorite place to have brunch ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Town is my favorite place to have brunch when my friends are in town. The food is always amazing and who could go wrong with bottomless mimosas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was amazing. Need to come back an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Brunch was amazing. Need to come back and try the entire menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

always a great experience from trh cockt ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

always a great experience from trh cocktails at the bar while we waited for our table to be ready to having a delicious meal and dessert. Our server was very nice and polite and had knowledge of the menu which is always a bonus.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Fun, Casual, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our booth was for 4 but they made it wor ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our booth was for 4 but they made it work for the 5th person by adding a chair, which we didn't mind! It was a cozy friends & family dinner, and it was awesome, steaks were perfectly cooked - sea bass was the yummiest, quite an amazing dining experience ++ our waiter was over the top!!! Excellent service, and we'll be back again, and again ...

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service, and lots of opti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and service, and lots of options for both our paleo & non-paleo diners!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we've tried has been excellen ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Everything we've tried has been excellent. it is truly the top restaurant in San Carlos.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best bay area restaurants. Gr ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 29, 2016

One of the best bay area restaurants. Great steaks. Awesome ribs. Amazing service and atmosphere. Always a place to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!! Great place to have ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!

Great place to have your Holiday Sales Luncheon we go every year!!!!!!!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent menu, execution and overall se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent menu, execution and overall service - certainly the gem of restaurant row in San Carlos. Be prepared for the bill, it's very pricey. Strictly for special occasions unless you're in the C Suite (or pretending).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our 45th anniversary here ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We celebrated our 45th anniversary here two days ago. The food was excellent (enough for another meal the next day) and our wonderful server, JayJay, surprised us with the house specialty dessert, warm bread pudding, delicious!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, good wine as always. Cobb ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great service, good wine as always. Cobb salad mediocre this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always awesome dining there!!!!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always awesome dining there!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE THIS PLACE!! An abundant varieties ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

LOVE THIS PLACE!! An abundant varieties of appetizers to choose from and taste absolutely sensational. Entrees were very well prepared and the portions were very fulfilling. The cocktails were to die for.......delicious!! Ambience of Town was very welcoming and great for families or friends get together. Definitely will come back again!!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, loved the menu made my d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food was great, loved the menu made my daughters birthday very special(don't change that). I would suggest adding a few vegan meals on the list. Shrimp and tuna AMAZING.....

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Historic, , Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

JJ is the best!!!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

JJ is the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and wonderful food, lookin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great service and wonderful food, looking forward to going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was not only surprised with the food b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I was not only surprised with the food but the overall service. I'm definitely coming back to this spot and I highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had the shaking beef and grilled sea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We had the shaking beef and grilled sea bass with a side of mushrooms for lunch - all very delicious. We sat in a booth and could still have a nice conversation despite the lively background.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

On point as always. Delicious food, grea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

On point as always. Delicious food, great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Groups, People Watching, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carlos, Nadeem and Cory are fabulous!!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Carlos, Nadeem and Cory are fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my Mom here for a before Christma ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I took my Mom here for a before Christmas lunch. We got our table immediately (I had made reservations as should you). The wait staff was excellent. The ambiance was very nice a little upscale but not stuffy formal. The food was outstanding. You do pay a pretty penny for the meal but was well worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is delicious and service is excelle ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food is delicious and service is excellent. Friendly, attentive and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had another good meal at Town. In fac ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I had another good meal at Town. In fact, the first time I was there, I enjoyed it so much that I promised myself I would return and again have the blackened salmon sandwich. As such, when I ate there this week, I did not have to read the menu.

As usual, the place was busy so reservations are recommended. We had one for 12:30 and it still took 20 minutes to seat us. Once at the table though, the service was courteous, energetic and efficient. Good thing too for I was chomping at the bit to get to that salmon sandwich.

I have mentioned this place to others and do plan to take my friends there. All I need is the opportunity or excuse to be in San Carlos.

Future diners should be aware that parking spaces are somewhat limited. As such, allow a few extra minutes to find one.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Came here for a Company lunch. Great mi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Came here for a Company lunch. Great mix of choices for all. Food is consistently well executed even from when they opened many years ago. Thanks Town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.