About Town

716 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

Town opened in March of 2006. Located in the heart of downtown San Carlos. Town features hand cut steaks & chops, the freshest seafood, local organic produce, hand crafted cocktails, and a wine list with a focus on California, Washington and Oregon wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:Monday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Monday-Friday - Mid-Day Menu: 2:30pm-5:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 10:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Bar: 11:30am-12:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 595-3003 ext. 7

Website:
http://www.townsc.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in the front of Town on Laurel Street. Also there is a large free public parking lot in the rear of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located walking distance from the San Carlos Cal Train Station

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Cheng

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

In the heart of downtown San Carlos, Town features hand cut steaks & chops, the freshest seafood, local organic produce, hand crafted cocktails, and a wine list with a focus on California, Washington and Oregon wines. Our private dining room is perfect for your personal or corporate gatherings.

Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Overall
Peninsula
American
Peninsula
1 More
Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in San Carlos ›

neighborhood gem (176)
special occasion (173)
fit for foodies (162)
See All
great for lunch (130)
hot spot (122)
vibrant bar scene (120)
great for brunch (118)
good for groups (110)
great for outdoor dining (80)
romantic (68)
notable wine list (64)
kid-friendly (47)
late-night find (27)
scenic view (6)
Sort By:
Newest
3234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place but prices seem pretty steep ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great place but prices seem pretty steep for what you're actually getting. $3.50 for a kid's cup of milk seemed to be a bit exaggerated. It's also very dark in the back and we went at 11:30 AM - should be bright. I hear the owner is going to make a larger outdoor seating area which will be very nice. Overall, great place just brighten up the ambiance and add a few more lower price-point (and maybe even serving size) options to the menu so there's a little something for everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

First time there. Great menu and excelle ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

First time there. Great menu and excellent service. We will be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was slow and disconnected. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was slow and disconnected. I couldn't get a rare prime rib at 5pm. The person next to me had salmon that was undercooked. Not a great night at town.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

love, love, love. I have tried many diff ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

love, love, love. I have tried many different items on the menu during my visits. Everything I have every gotten has been delicious! Yum and thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I took my fiancee there for his birthday ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

I took my fiancee there for his birthday and the service was great. They had special Happy Birthday menus printed and gave us a wonderful bread pudding for dessert with a candle. The service was wonderful and food was great. Only complaint was how loud it was, but it was still fine and we had a great time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Very attentive servers. Our menus were s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very attentive servers. Our menus were specially printed to wish our daughter happy birthday. My brothers who are real foodies loved their appetizers and dinners. Great evening!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, we had a lovely birthday celebr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Overall, we had a lovely birthday celebration. Our server (didn't catch his name) was super attentive and knowledgeable.

I always order the warm cabbage salad with chicken but was a bit disappointed as it came with hardly any lettuce and chicken not as tender as usual - not it's usual presentation ??

The personalized menus are always a hit and very much appreciated by the birthday guests.

We'll be back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always enjoy our meal and the service at ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always enjoy our meal and the service at Town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always love this place for lunch and b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I always love this place for lunch and brunch. I was disappointed with the kale , corn and chicken salad. It didn't have any pop. They were very generous with the chicken, but it needed more corn and blue cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I have been dining at Town since it open ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I have been dining at Town since it opened and their service and food are consistently great! Perfect place to dine if you are celebrating a birthday, want to grab a delicious lunch or just done solo. Best restaurant in San Carlos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have come here before and loved it but t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Have come here before and loved it but the most recent trip wasn't solid. I'm guessing they just had an off day. Food came out at different times, was over-salted, and the plates were cold. They also didn't prepare enough baked potatoes that night so we couldn't have that option as a side. Town is great but I did have higher expectations. Will be back for special occasions but hope they up their game.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I absolutely love town. I take my clien ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I absolutely love town. I take my clients there and go there to celebrate special occasions. After many years of excellent food and service, I guess I was due. We were celebrating our first grandchild due in a month with our son and his wife. They forgot to print the special menus. The server congratulated them on buying their first home-what???? In addition, I ordered my usual baseball cut filet mignon and it was cold and the red wine demi glace was missing. Since it was my son and his wife's first visit (after years of me telling them how great the restaurant was) it was quite disappointing.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

I went to Town by reference. I met my mo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I went to Town by reference. I met my mother and brother there for brunch. The food was fantastic. The service was average/below average. In fairness, the restaurant was very busy on this particular Sunday afternoon. Prior to being seated (I had a reservation), I waited 10 minutes for a bartender to look my way and take my drink order. I ordered a Bloody Mary, which was very generic without any peppercinis, olive, lime, etc. I attempted to get the attention of the bartender to ask for some of the fixings, but to no avail. We were seated in a nice booth. Someone promptly came and provided water and our drink order. We ordered and received our food in a timely manner. The food was terrific - everyone enjoyed what they ordered. My drink ran dry halfway through the meal and remained for about 15 minutes. I was able to get the attention of our waiter and was able to order another beverage. The restaurant was buzzing and it was very loud (especially due to the group behind our booth). I enjoyed the food and will come back, but the service left a lot to be desired.

Tags: great for brunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

another great time having brunch at Town ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

another great time having brunch at Town followed by delicious food, fabulous service and my cousin had a great time celebrating her bday here...thank you

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Egg shells left in the eggs Benedict. St ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Egg shells left in the eggs Benedict. Staff didn't seem surprised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

LOVE this place! My husband and I usual ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

LOVE this place! My husband and I usually go here for any special occasion. The bread pudding is to die for!! :)

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for our 16th wedding anniv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were there for our 16th wedding anniversary. We were seated (by request through Open Table) in the same location as our first date 16 years ago (the restaurant was called A. Tavoli back then).

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent and consistent all around.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent and consistent all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience, excellent wait staff a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great experience, excellent wait staff and food. The steaks are exceptional and the wine list is very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Out waiter was fabulous. But the hostess ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Out waiter was fabulous. But the hostess or manager came up to our table and in a rude manner told us to wrap up because she needed the table. We told her we just ordered dessert and she looked like she was going to have a heart attack. She was ridiculously rude. The waiter kept apologizing and I felt bad for him because he didn't do anything wrong. I have hosted many business and social meals at Town and I doubt I'll be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This was a top notch experience. I work ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was a top notch experience. I worked in the restaurant industry for over 20 years and this was one of the best dining experiences ever! The server was on his A game and the food was delish! I don't know any of these people, so it's not like they are my pals and I'm boosting their egos! They just really were THAT good! Made my birthday dinner amazing and was a great way to end my day! I've been raving about it ever since! Thank you Town!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Town has tradition being one the areas b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Town has tradition being one the areas best. Sadly things have changed. The ahi on the salad consisted of 5 thin pieces. Ordering an extra portion gave you another 5 and nine more dollars on your bill. The lettuce looked like something would serve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

TOWN has consistent excellent service an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

TOWN has consistent excellent service and delicious food. It's the type of food that isn't too far out there, food that you would love to make for yourself, but it's a treat because it's made for you, and it's done extremely well. The portions are very generous and the wait staff is helpful and friendly. It's always a treat to go to TOWN.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The fillet steak is supreme. The volu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The fillet steak is supreme. The volume of dessert is a bit much for me.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for brunch and everything about the ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went for brunch and everything about the crab cake benedict was horrible. Dry english muffin, tasteless crab, hard egg yolk, tasteless hollandaise sauce.

Going to try it again as it was my first visit. I heard good things about the restaurant - must of hit a bad Sunday brunch

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

I sent a special request to Town for my ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I sent a special request to Town for my parents 40 anniversary and they made the entire occasion very special. I would not hesitate to return for anything from date night to another special occasion. Excellent food and drinks as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Town was recommended by a coworker to ce ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Town was recommended by a coworker to celebrate my recent promotion. Taking in the entire experience form the food, wine selection and friendly attending staff it turned from a celebration to a date night with my wife.

Awesome place. We will be back

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants. Brunch f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. Brunch food is amazing, even the appetizer list is amazing. This is my go to place. I bring all my friends here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great neighbor find..great food and grea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great neighbor find..great food and great ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were in a booth at the end of the bar ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were in a booth at the end of the bar and about 10 people were standing there and the were very loud. We had trouble hearing each other. Should not allow anyone to stand there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Went to Town with a friend. We both had ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Went to Town with a friend. We both had enchiladas. They were fabulous. Our reservation was early so parking was easy.

I have ordered on line for take out in the past. Service was impeccable. Meal was ready when I arrived for pick up.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took two of my fellow lady colleagues ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I took two of my fellow lady colleagues here for a marketing brainstorming session. We had some of the non-alcoholic house drinks which were unique and refreshing, and all ordered entrees that were lovely. Service was incredibly accommodating, even after my multiple changes to our reservation times. It was pleasantly crowded with other diners during the lunch hour but the booths were comfortable and secluded enough to have a candid business discussion without worrying about being overheard. If I get a chance to treat these ladies again in this area I'm definitely coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, great food! Must visit! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great ambiance, great food! Must visit! Def will be back again!

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everytime we go to Town, we are never di ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Everytime we go to Town, we are never disappointed. The food, service, fabulous. Wish it wasn't so noisy...anything to be done with more sound baffling?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I needed a mid-peninsula restaurant that ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I needed a mid-peninsula restaurant that had an up-to-date menu with variety and a bit of elegance without pretension. Town hit all the boxes and then some. We had lunch, the table ordered salads and entrees. The cabbage salad was unique and very tasty. The steak salad

was well prepared & more than beef on greens. Good presentations all around. We all plan to

come back. Service was attentive and friendly but never pushy.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A1 Yola, no baking soda!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

A1 Yola, no baking soda!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love coming here.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Love coming here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Overall good experience - Little pricey ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Overall good experience - Little pricey - service was very good.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Above average food and variety. However, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Above average food and variety. However, unless you eat outside, expect a very loud experience. However, it's a great place with great food

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

What the hell happened? I have been goi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

What the hell happened? I have been going to Town for years...but some is really wrong! The restaurant was not full...two drinks took 25 minutes, dinner took 65 minutes and when the food came, it was over cooked. The manager came by and said they had a new menu...the bold face lie was too much, did she think that I didn't look at the menu before I ordered?

Horrible experience...will I ever go back?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.