About Town

716 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

Town opened in March of 2006. Located in the heart of downtown San Carlos. Town features hand cut steaks & chops, the freshest seafood, local organic produce, hand crafted cocktails, and a wine list with a focus on California, Washington and Oregon wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:Monday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Monday-Friday - Mid-Day Menu: 2:30pm-5:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 10:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Bar: 11:30am-12:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 595-3003 ext. 7

Website:
http://www.townsc.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in the front of Town on Laurel Street. Also there is a large free public parking lot in the rear of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located walking distance from the San Carlos Cal Train Station

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Cheng

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

In the heart of downtown San Carlos, Town features hand cut steaks & chops, the freshest seafood, local organic produce, hand crafted cocktails, and a wine list with a focus on California, Washington and Oregon wines. Our private dining room is perfect for your personal or corporate gatherings.

Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Overall
Peninsula
3 More
Best Food
Peninsula
American
Peninsula
Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in San Carlos ›

special occasion (179)
neighborhood gem (152)
fit for foodies (152)
See All
vibrant bar scene (129)
hot spot (124)
great for lunch (117)
great for brunch (117)
good for groups (104)
romantic (79)
great for outdoor dining (73)
notable wine list (64)
kid-friendly (39)
late-night find (26)
scenic view (3)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3141 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

On a warm night, there is no place I'd r ...

vip
Dined a day ago

On a warm night, there is no place I'd rather be than Town. The most lively place on the Peninsula & the food never disappoints. One of our absolute favorites.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

JJ is the best server in the Bay Area . ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

JJ is the best server in the Bay Area . Saoule is the best bar tender in the Bay Area so how can yo go wrong?

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very limited items for vegetarian. Not f ...

Dined 4 days ago

Very limited items for vegetarian. Not flexible to modify other items to make vegetarian meal (Burger - Skip meat). Good selection and food for Non-vegetarian.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3

Went for lunch, The burger was delicious ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Went for lunch, The burger was delicious! The bread pudding was highly recommended, extremely rich and sweet. More like French toast with maple syrup. Server was pleasant.

food5
ambience5
service3

We were seated upon our reservation time ...

Dined 5 days ago

We were seated upon our reservation time.Service was average, but our food was delicious as always. It arrived timely, from appetizers to the entrees. Overall a good visit.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love that the have great food and spirit ...

Dined 5 days ago

Love that the have great food and spirits -- and are super kid friendly!

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Solid food & atmosphere but service a total miss.

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Was in the area for a special event; clearly this is one of the more popular spots in the neighborhood. The menu is solid and the food did not disappoint (drink selection very good as well). The restaurant is decorated nicely and feels cozy. Perhaps it was an off night, but the service was just honestly terrible. Everyone was pleasant, but it ended up taking us close to 2.5 hours to eat dinner. Each step of the meal, including the check at the end (which took an extra cycle to get correct), took too long. I'm generally not in a hurry, but this kind of restaurant just demands smoother operations - I never even figured out if we had an assigned waiter vs. the many people who confusingly stopped by over the course of the night.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food , great service!

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Great food , great service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Town is one of our favorite places for s ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Town is one of our favorite places for special events such as birthday and anniversary dinners... or meeting up with friends and family who are visiting from out of town. Appetizers and entrees have been consistently very good. Among our favorites are the crab salad sandwich, roast chicken, ribs, and hamburgers. Desserts are very good too but our favorite is the bread pudding Service is outstanding

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Service makes the difference

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

We had a great server and lunch was perfect... The restaurant was slow and the entrees took a bit more of what we had anticipated but because the service was so great we had a very good lunch,.

food5
ambience4
service5

The trio and town special was really goo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The trio and town special was really good for the brunch service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Town. My son and I went for Brun ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We love Town. My son and I went for Brunch. The meal is always excellent as is the service.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fancy dinner place

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Love this place for a fancy dinner. Not good for big groups but can accommodate up to 6 at a booth. Make sure you book early as seats fill fast! Steak portions are large.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Always SO good! Love the cocktails, soup ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Always SO good! Love the cocktails, soup, & steak! Can't go wrong.

food3
ambience3
service3

Food was not bad but main courses came w ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Food was not bad but main courses came when we were still eating the appetizer. It's a no no especially since we ordered a bottle of wine The crab sushi also was extremely soggy Mains ok. Pistachio crusted halibut and scallops with risotto We skipped dessert. Desserts looked too heavy Server forgot about us at the end and disappeared So should be between 2 and 3 stars

food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Nice Meal

Dined on May 11, 2016

The service and meal were outstanding. My bone in rib-eye steak was succulent to say the least. Also the deviled egg appetizer was to die for! Thanks for the excellent experience. Pete PS- As anticipated, a bit pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sal, our bartender, very efficient, frie ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Sal, our bartender, very efficient, friendly, and engaging. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

The service was excellent, from the mome ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The service was excellent, from the moment we walked in. The food was certainly good, but not to write home about. My issues concerned parking (nearly impossible) and the paucity of tables (I don't like booths.) As for ambience, it was a beautiful day, but inside the restaurant it felt dark and cramped. All of that being said, we had a delightful visit with long-lost friends.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best In San Carlos!

Dined on May 9, 2016

I Love this restaurant! The Food, The ambiance, the service is nonpariel!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff seated us right on time for ou ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The staff seated us right on time for our reservation on mothers day. Quick service and the food was top notch as always. And the bread pudding was the best as always.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience eating here!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Always a great experience eating here!

food5
ambience5
service5

Amy was awesome and very accommodating! ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Amy was awesome and very accommodating! We celebrated a birthday and the menu customization was a nice touch. Always appreciate the good customer service and good quality food!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Attentive service, great food, and a great night!

Dined on May 7, 2016

It was overall a very pleasant experience dining in Town last Friday night with my hubby and another couple. When I made the reservation on Opentable, I put a note for birthday celebration. What I did not expect is that we had a custom-made menu with Happy Birthday, and the date on the menu, and that we received two bread puddings (we had two bday girls) on the house. At first we thought that the food was on the pricey side ($40+ for prime rib and for bone-in rib eye), but then we realized that the price comes with two sides which are in generous portion. The appetizers we had were absolutely amazing: Seared scallops, New Orleans BBQ shrimp, and deviled eggs. All three are something I’d recommend, especially the New Orleans BBQ shrimp with its exceptional flavoring. The entrée I had- asparagus risotto was on the more bland side in terms of the flavor but the risotto was cooked perfectly. I loved my husband’s bone-in rib eye while the rest of the party thinks that the Prime rib was the spotlight of the night. I will definitely come back again for its HH and maybe try out some of the wines from its extensive wine menu.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TOWN what a gem

Dined on May 7, 2016

I couldn't say enough about Town and their service, food and bar! Keep up the good work. Just wish you were closer to where I live. But I will be happy to make the trek it is so good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Overpriced and not creative

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

I expected (or desired) more of a neighborhood gastropub. Instead, we got a fairly mediocre meal. Prime rib is decent but very pricey. Sides were basic potato and vegetable and dishes were not well composed. Service could have been improved as well

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

All round good experience. Great lunch s ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

All round good experience. Great lunch spot!

food5
ambience5
service5

Was seated on time even though it was a ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Was seated on time even though it was a super busy night. Everyone and the hostess table was very friendly and helpful. Food was great. My fav is the teriyaki steak after the miso Chilean sea bass. (I think the sea bass is seasonal..it always pops back up on the menu.) The wait staff is superb. This is my go to place near home. Actually it's my go to place. Period. I can't tell you how many times we have traveled for food to later think, "we should have gone to Town."

food5
ambience5
service5

Went to Town for lunch and everything ab ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Went to Town for lunch and everything about the restaurant was great (food, drinks, location and service).

food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite place! Drinks, food, and ser ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

My favorite place! Drinks, food, and service consistently excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints. My favorite since I f ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Never disappoints. My favorite since I first visited the area 6 years ago and I always recommend it to others.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a great lunch.

Dined on April 29, 2016

My Dad and I had a very nice lunch. We'll likely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finally! A classy place with good food!

Dined on April 28, 2016

So many times I find myself with high expectations at a nice steak house (or other finer establishment) and let down, NOT Town! Town's ambience and food was very enjoyable. I will definitely be back for dinner, the bar scene looked great as well! Thanks Town for making our date so great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

If you want a filet larger than 8 oz., call ahead!

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

We were told to call the day before if we want a specific filet size (they only have 8 oz. on their menu), which is very good to know. It's pricey, but very good quality. Three of us had filets, one of us had scallops, and we all were very happy. Good whole leaf caesar salads started our meal. We'll be back.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great neighborhood restaurant

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Great food and service. Fun bar scene. Always a great experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Consistently Excellent

Dined on April 23, 2016

Town delivers consistently excellent food, wine and service. Bar scene is vibrant and this is a lovely spot to find yourself in!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First timer but not Last Time

Dined on April 20, 2016

I met a Business Associate at Town which was a real find for me. I live in East Bay so don't get to San Carlos very often. But Now it will be my place on the Peninsula

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice for a date night and special occasi ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Nice for a date night and special occasion too

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

always love the menu!

Dined on April 19, 2016

Love that the staff is so consistent. Feels great when they remember you from a previous visit. Feels like home.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fav

Dined on April 18, 2016

When it comes to special occasions, Town's my favorite place. Food never disappoints, drinks are a kick, and the servers are great. On this occasion, we had the genuine pleasure of experiencing the service of Nathalie, who was warm, gracious, and professional. Couldn't have asked for a better dinner out!

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We dine here often and candidly I was disappointed

Dined on April 18, 2016

Love Town BUT this time was not fantastic. My steak while cooked to perfection was served on on a room temp plate. My baked potato was look warm and the all of the fixings/condiments did not meld together as you would expect. Our server was just that, not good or bad but certainly not the usual remarkable service we have become accustomed to there. I will be back, but hope that this is read by ownership/management. In my opinion this is a TOP 5 restaurant experience on the Peninsula.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.