About Town

716 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

Town opened in March of 2006. Located in the heart of downtown San Carlos. Town features hand cut steaks & chops, the freshest seafood, local organic produce, hand crafted cocktails, and a wine list with a focus on California, Washington and Oregon wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:Monday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Monday-Friday - Mid-Day Menu: 2:30pm-5:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 10:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Bar: 11:30am-12:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 595-3003 ext. 7

Website:
http://www.townsc.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in the front of Town on Laurel Street. Also there is a large free public parking lot in the rear of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located walking distance from the San Carlos Cal Train Station

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Cheng

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town
Town

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

In the heart of downtown San Carlos, Town features hand cut steaks & chops, the freshest seafood, local organic produce, hand crafted cocktails, and a wine list with a focus on California, Washington and Oregon wines. Our private dining room is perfect for your personal or corporate gatherings.

Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Food
Peninsula
2 More
American
Peninsula
Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in San Carlos ›

special occasion (157)
neighborhood gem (150)
fit for foodies (144)
See All
hot spot (114)
great for lunch (113)
vibrant bar scene (112)
great for brunch (105)
good for groups (93)
great for outdoor dining (65)
romantic (62)
notable wine list (57)
kid-friendly (35)
late-night find (21)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
3180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and phenomenal service as ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food and phenomenal service as always! Jenny G was our server and she was outstanding! I always enjoy dining at Town.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Been eating here for years always switch ...

Dined 3 days ago

Been eating here for years always switch up on the menu and have always been pleasantly surprised or entirely satisfied. If you face the grill you can watch poetry in motion as the chef orchestrates a well oiled kitchen staff and gets orders out like a Gatling gun.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Town never disappoints! Service and foo ...

Dined 4 days ago

Town never disappoints! Service and food amazing as always

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived 10 mins before our 5pm reserv ...

Dined 4 days ago

We arrived 10 mins before our 5pm reservation and sat at the and ordered the sparkling pear martini. It was delicious and highly recommended. We were seated promptly to a table in front near the window. The restaurant up very quickly and the bar full well. Our service was fantastic. Corey provided recommendations and a free amuse potatoe croquet. Our server was very attentive and friendly. We ordered mini taco appetizers that were very tasty. I had asparagus risotto that was creamy and fresh. My husband ordered Bleu cheese fillet mignon, au gratin potatoes, and creamed spinach. Everything was delicious and prepared perfectly. We will definitely be back because there were so many things on the menu that we want to try.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had a first date there, and it was an ex ...

Dined 4 days ago

Had a first date there, and it was an excellent choice. Food was good and the noise level was tolerable. Excellent service and extremely inviting. Definitely will return!

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We went for a tasty brunch with a friend ...

Dined 4 days ago

We went for a tasty brunch with a friend visiting out of town. The food was delicious and very rich. Everyone enjoyed their meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Second visit here. Food is standard Ame ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Second visit here. Food is standard American. Prices are slightly above average. Ordered a soup and a burger. Wife ordered a salad. Burger and salad came, no soup. Waitress serving the dishes (not the waiter who took the order), fell all over herself apologizing. A hostess came, apologized and offered a free soup. Not once did the robot who took the order apologize for the screwup. For that, I have to downgrade the place. I can't understand why this place is so popular (it was over half filled by 11:45 am). Food is ok, nothing special. Nothing special on menu. Plenty of better restaurants on Laurel Street. But people flock to it.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We stepped out of our box and decided to ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

We stepped out of our box and decided to have the teriyaki flank steak,. Did not like it because we could not taste the beef it was like eating teriyaki. That being said, the mashed potatoes, onion rings salad was spot on. We also had a bottle of Silver Oak Cab Alexander Valley that was (surprisingly) also not that great it had a bite. We do love Town and we will be back for sure!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Another great meal at Town. Consistently ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Another great meal at Town. Consistently good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been here several times now and e ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been here several times now and enjoyed it each time. The food is great. We've gone to both brunch and dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our waitress was very nice and professio ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

our waitress was very nice and professional. Peter the bartender is always wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

So disappointed in the service. We sat f ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

So disappointed in the service. We sat for over 20 minutes before the wine we ordered when we sat down, arrived. That being said, the Teriyaki steak was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great California style steak house in ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

A great California style steak house in San Carlos. Love the place. My only issue is that the menu doesn't change often enough, so I've eaten almost everything on it. Otherwise, awesome place to get a great meal.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice lunch and variety of choices, ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Very nice lunch and variety of choices, the service was great!! I celebrated my birthday and dessert was given to us as a treat!! Delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We love this local restaurant gem and ev ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We love this local restaurant gem and every time we go are never disappointed. :) I also loved the wine pairing with my Prime Rib. Duck Horn Heritage is a fav!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Service was not what I expected for Town ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Service was not what I expected for Town. We waited too long to get service, drinks, food. Everyone else around us were equally waited on slowly. I received my order (simply a kale salad), but was served the wrong salad twice) and got my food well after my kids had eaten their food.

food4
ambience5
service5

Hard to get a reservation, but the food/ ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Hard to get a reservation, but the food/service/ambiance are excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the energy and vibe of TOWN. Food ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Loved the energy and vibe of TOWN. Food was great. Service was great. The one complaint we have though is the charge for water. REALLY???!!! I paid $24 for eggs benedict and you charge me 75 cents for water???!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed a night out with good friends. O ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Enjoyed a night out with good friends. Our dining experience was wonderful. Starting with our pre-cocktails, then dinner and dessert! Food was fabulous and the service was spot on! Will return soon! Great restaurant!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Town always delivers great staff great f ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Town always delivers great staff great food I recommend it to everybody.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Brunch is great!

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

The kids' options are fantastic for brunch, as long as you're OK with sweet brunch options (waffles, french toast, etc.) They are a far better value than the "adult" brunch options, as it turns out.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food & service. Very noisy. Could ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food & service. Very noisy. Could barely conduct a conversation. Probably didn't help being seated next to a large party.

food4
ambience3
service4

Good service. Noise became an issue as o ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Good service. Noise became an issue as our evening progressed.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

On the TOWN

Dined on June 10, 2016

We frequent Town about once a month and on special occasions. The food is stellar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

GREAT FOOD - COMFORTABLE PLACE

Dined on June 9, 2016

Food was great !!! Bread Pudding is a MUST TRY for dessert!!! Service was a little slow but think it is because they were slammed with customers. Be sure to make a reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was magnificent! Best service ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Our waiter was magnificent! Best service here and esp thanks to our waiter. :)

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious as usual. Our se ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

The food was delicious as usual. Our server JJ was fabulous. My friends were overjoyed with their personalized menus and the wonderful food and service.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasant dining experience.

Dined on June 7, 2016

Excellent restaurant, but would liked to have had French bread and butter available with our wine. Also would appreciate having your excellent baked potatoes with a lunch steak (we've only had them with dinner steaks). Otherwise, it's always a pleasure dining at Town.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic as always. Neighborhood gym. K ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Fantastic as always. Neighborhood gym. Keep up the good work.

food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food and amazing cocktails! ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Incredible food and amazing cocktails! The house made tequila soda is the best!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One word - YUM

Dined on June 4, 2016

I don't frequent this place as often as I'd like, but when I do visit, I always know I'm in for a treat. Over the years, they've served consistently fantastic food with consistently friendly service. Perfectly broiled scottish salmon - crispy on the outside, juicy and tender on the inside. Creamed spinach with bits of savory bacon. Beets with crumbled goat cheese. The bread pudding is hot and sweet and soooo satisfying. I'm a darn good cook but these people put magic in their food that keep me coming back for more. I love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Birthday lunch

Dined on June 3, 2016

My friend and I both ordered the tuna tataki salad. I thought there was way too much ginger in it. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive in the beginning, but we had to get her attention to ask for our check and then she never came back to take my credit card. I had to go inside and look for her but couldn't find her so ask the hostess to ring me up because we needed to get back to work.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Restaurant

Dined on June 3, 2016

Service was excellent! As well as the food! Made a Birthday very special with a personalized menu. Wonderful touch!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Decor was very handsome. Wait staff was ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Decor was very handsome. Wait staff was devine. Food was very good. We'll be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant in every way!

Dined on June 1, 2016

What can I say! The food is delicious, the service more than accommodating and the ambiance lovely. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect. Excellent service. Fabulous foo ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Perfect. Excellent service. Fabulous food. Wonderful drinks and wines. They were accommodating and took great care if every detail, even down to the leftovers. You can sit back, relax and enjoy your meal, with no rushing. Always perfect.

food5
ambience5
service3

The food & ambience was awesome!! It wa ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

The food & ambience was awesome!! It was our first time there and will definitely be back. The service could improve, however

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

birthday special

Dined on May 29, 2016

Wife's birthday. Waiter could not have been more helpful from the wine selection to the take-home containers. Restaurant handled a surprise gift from our grandchildren along with very special desserts very nicely. Oh, and the food was very good, as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

On a warm night, there is no place I'd r ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

On a warm night, there is no place I'd rather be than Town. The most lively place on the Peninsula & the food never disappoints. One of our absolute favorites.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

You can count on a Town to be excellent all the time. The food is creative and delicious. Service us friendly. Great wine and cocktails.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.