About Toscanini


Located in Beaver Creek Village next to the ice rink, Toscanini combines Colorado ingredients with modern culinary interpretations of old world cuisines. With a geography that ranges from the Italian Alps to coastal Mediterranean, how people cook and eat makes for a broad minded cuisine, even more so with the blend of Northern Italian, Austrian, North African and Venetian traditions. The Toscanini culinary team delivers an artisan "craft" interpretation including scratch made pastas, gnocchi, gelato, hand crafted cheeses, house made sausage, prosciutto, pastrami, and terrines. Local farms, fisheries, dairies and ranchers supply momentum and amazingly fresh ingredients.

Located in the Plaza
Avon, CO 81620
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
2016 Summer Season (June 3rd - October 8th).
Happy Hour from 3-6pm in the bar, lounge, and patio.
Dinner from 5pm - close.

2016-2017 Winter Season (November 19th - April 8th).
Serving Daily 3pm - Close.
Apres from 3-5pm in the bar, lounge and patio.
Dinner from 5pm - close.


Cross Street:
Across from the ice rink

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 754-5590

Website:
http://www.toscaninibeavercreek.com/

Executive Chef:
Paul Wade

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Toscanini, Avon, CO
  • lasagna - Toscanini, Avon, CO
  • Hanger Steak Express Lunch - Toscanini, Avon, CO
  • tortellini - Toscanini, Avon, CO
  • Hanger Steak With Red Wine Reduction, Mushrooms, Fingerling Potatoes - Toscanini, Avon, CO
  • Trout With Saffron Potatoes & Crispy Kale - Toscanini, Avon, CO

Report a photo problem

lasagna - Toscanini, Avon, CO
Hanger Steak Express Lunch - Toscanini, Avon, CO
tortellini - Toscanini, Avon, CO
Hanger Steak With Red Wine Reduction, Mushrooms, Fingerling Potatoes - Toscanini, Avon, CO
Trout With Saffron Potatoes & Crispy Kale - Toscanini, Avon, CO

Toscanini Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Casual (3)
See All
Creative Cuisine (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Romantic (1)
People Watching (1)
Authentic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Cozy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
516 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Toscanini defines mediocrity and the eff ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Toscanini defines mediocrity and the effect of a closed market of limited options in Beaver Creek Village. I've eaten here many times over the years and it keeps going downhill. And stupidly I try it each year hoping it will improve.

Honestly, it needs a re-boot, a makeover, new mgmt, etc. The food is a strange mix of things that sound like they might be good but aren't and as other reviewers have noted, frequently dishes that say "shrimp" may only have 2 shrimps in them. The kitchen/service is really sloppy and untrained; for example 2 at our table got the exact same pasta and they had different or missing ingredients. That's just plain weird that serving 2 of the identical pastas whoever made them didn't make them the same. Likewise handing us (very) wet menus and making some kind of excuse that they "were just wiped down"...well then dry them don't hand soaking wet menus to customers. Forget getting your water glasses refilled, or pepper or Parmesan etc. Please note the servers are not bad people. In fact most of them are pretty nice but it's clear that they have had little or no training and that there's no "grown up" in the room making sure things are going smoothly.

Owned by the Beaver Creek Resort company, it would MASSIVELY benefit from having

A) A chef who knows how to cook Italian or whatever they call it.

B) Management that knows how to run a restaurant including service.

C) Add some straightforward dishes that they are less likely to screw up.

There are many great independent restaurants in the Vail Valley. They should replace the mgmt/chef and work with a real restaurant operator than perpetuating their version of a state-run Soviet or North Korean restaurant.

To the plus: great wine list.

To the minus:

Weird menu of overly complicated things they never do well.

Flavors are VERY weak. Dishes come out lukewarm and one scratches one head; did they say it was a lemon/garlic sauce? Huh? Where is the lemon garlic?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Not memorable food, not good value for m ...

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

Not memorable food, not good value for money, desserts were the only I can recommend... amazing service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Salad was 70% croutons in a small bowl f ...

 
·Dined on January 9, 2017

Salad was 70% croutons in a small bowl for over $10. Veal was good, but nothing special. Seafood pasta was average too. Tiramisu, which is my favorite dessert that I didn't think could be bad, was gummy and flat. I felt like it was a nice restaurant ran by amateur "pick-up game" chefs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

I hadn't finished my appetizer when the ...

 
·Dined on January 9, 2017

I hadn't finished my appetizer when the server brought out my main coarse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great food and great service. Nice atmo ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food and great service. Nice atmosphere. The best part was the service by Freddy. Delicious antipasti platter, and Freddy was most happy to explain all the items and even some history behind some. Definitely plan to eat here again on our next trip to Beaver Creek!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place. Good food

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great place. Good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easy to walk to while in Beaver Creek. F ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

Easy to walk to while in Beaver Creek.

Food is good, service is nice.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Mediocre food at best. Poor service. Obs ...

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

Mediocre food at best. Poor service. Obscene cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good food, service as their own manager ...

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

Good food, service as their own manager put it, is "for a lot of volume..."

Tags: Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good location, mediocre food. Good for ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Good location, mediocre food. Good for kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

Die Abfolge der Speisen war zu schnell. ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Die Abfolge der Speisen war zu schnell. Aperitif, Vorspeise und Hauptspeise standen gleichzeitig auf dem Tisch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

We dined there on New Years Eve and coul ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined there on New Years Eve and could not have been happier with our choice! The service was fantastic - our waiter was friendly and attentive. The food and wine were delicious and came in a timely fashion. I had the ravioli and my husband had the bistecca and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Next time we are in Beaver Creek we will definitely eat at Toscanini again - we highly recommend it!!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredibly average. We visited during t ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Incredibly average. We visited during the Christmas-New Year's holidays. I usually give some leeway because it is SO busy. However, the food was just incredibly average. So, therefore, very overpriced for what it was. None of us felt that our meal was memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Very good dining experience. Pastas wer ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very good dining experience. Pastas were cooked to perfection. We all enjoyed the lobster bisque and brie appetizer, which was a nightly special. Desserts were all very good. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The worst ossobuco we are ever. They had ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

The worst ossobuco we are ever. They had a lack of cooking.

And the price is so expensive. Vail has dozen of better Italian restaurants. Bad ideia went to Beaver Creek.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Everything was wonderful. Manager was v ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Manager was very helpful with a nice wine selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this experience!

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Love this experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant was destroyed by flooding and ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Restaurant was destroyed by flooding and no one had the common sense to notify the customers that they were not open for business. We had to arrive at the restaurant to find this out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Disappointed with the service of the sta ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Disappointed with the service of the staff. Guess they were new ??? Not sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

First time visit, manager was great in c ...

 
·Dined on December 13, 2016

First time visit, manager was great in clarifying menu issue that was dated on Open Table. Service was great and meals were both perfect! Highly recommend you visit this one in village next to ice rink. We will definitely return on our next visit to Beaver Creek.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wait staff were very personable and acco ...

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

Wait staff were very personable and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious, reasonably priced, friendly s ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Delicious, reasonably priced, friendly service. A winning combination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was great! we tasted the perfe ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

The staff was great! we tasted the perfect wine. It was my good friend's birthday and it was lively but not loud the food was great. The location is ideal on the ice rink at Beaver Creek.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Foods always good. Beautiful space on t ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Foods always good. Beautiful space on the mall at Beaver Creek.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great experience and good food. Have bee ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great experience and good food. Have been there many times and always consistent. Plan to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

table clothes would have been a plus ser ...

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

table clothes would have been a plus

service and food were outstanding

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Have eaten here before and had very good ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Have eaten here before and had very good meals. Unfortunately, this time the main course was not good at all. Had the veal picata but it was not even close. Extremely bland with no flavor whatsoever. At least the veal was tender. Pea bisque was very good as well as the ceaser salad. Would never order the veal picata again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the finest dinners we have had in ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

One of the finest dinners we have had in the Vail BeaverCreek area over the past 24 years. Our waiter, Mathew, was outstanding! Thanks you for a very memorable anniversary, we will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Beef Carpacio and Veal dish where ou ...

 
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The Beef Carpacio and Veal dish where outstanding. The service was great also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was marginal, seemed much better at ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was marginal, seemed much better at our last visit in December. Service was very slow and there were 3 empty tables--so obviously not crowded or busy. I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Very rude hostess and bartender. Walked ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Very rude hostess and bartender. Walked out and went to Golden Eagle where are business was welcomed and the food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very nice leisurely meal. The menu has p ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very nice leisurely meal. The menu has pasta, pizza, and entrees of lamb, seafood, beef and chicken. The wine we had was very complimentary to the meal. The meal ended with an apple bread pudding with house made cinnamon ice cream. We dined with a child and they were very helpful providing children's food and tolerance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food, drinks and service were all very g ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food, drinks and service were all very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Toscanini is now one of our favorites. W ...

 
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Toscanini is now one of our favorites. We dined there twice during our stay in Beaver Creek. The menu selections were outstanding and we enjoyed the Colorado trout and the veal dish. The wine selection was very good, the bread delicious and our waiters were very professional. Plan to return again next August.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made the reservation in the 1000 poin ...

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We made the reservation in the 1000 point time frame and did not receive the points.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience, great quality food, ...

 
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Amazing experience, great quality food, pasta and pizza. Wonderful friendly service..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely on par with fine Italian dini ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Absolutely on par with fine Italian dining anywhere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Great service!

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For an Italian rest in an exclusive area ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

For an Italian rest in an exclusive area it was very weak.

All of our pastas were too salty, I mean really too salty.

The appetizers were good but the main dish was unimpressive.

Sorry

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Wonderful ambiance. Prompt service. Dele ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Wonderful ambiance. Prompt service. Delectable food, in both presentation and taste.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.