About Toscanini

Located in the Plaza
Avon, CO 81620
View Larger Map


Located in Beaver Creek Village next to the ice rink, Toscanini combines Colorado ingredients with modern culinary interpretations of old world cuisines. With a geography that ranges from the Italian Alps to coastal Mediterranean, how people cook and eat makes for a broad minded cuisine, even more so with the blend of Northern Italian, Austrian, North African and Venetian traditions. The Toscanini culinary team delivers an artisan "craft" interpretation including scratch made pastas, gnocchi, gelato, hand crafted cheeses, house made sausage, prosciutto, pastrami, and terrines. Local farms, fisheries, dairies and ranchers supply momentum and amazingly fresh ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
2016 Summer Season (June 3rd - October 8th).
Happy Hour from 3-6pm in the bar, lounge, and patio.
Dinner from 5pm - close.

2016-2017 Winter Season (November 19th - April 8th).
Serving Daily 3pm - Close.
Apres from 3-5pm in the bar, lounge and patio.
Dinner from 5pm - close.


Cross Street:
Across from the ice rink

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 754-5590

Website:
http://www.toscaninibeavercreek.com/

Executive Chef:
Paul Wade

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Toscanini Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (10)
Casual (9)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Creative Cuisine (7)
Cozy (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Family Style (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Bar Seating (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Romantic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
541 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Apps were good. Entres below average es ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Apps were good. Entres below average especially considering how expensive they were.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Rude bartenders..... Canned clams in the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Rude bartenders.....

Canned clams in the pasta.....with 3 whole clams on top. YES, I can tell the difference.

Waited so long for our food they gave us a complimentary glass of wine ..... however my 16 year old asked for dessert in lieu of wine and they offered her ice cream.

Really? Let her pick her own dessert.

Food was average at best

Ordered bruschetta app and they brought ONE piece of bread ..... for $15 That's offensive

$40 for plain pasta with bolognese sauce!

OFFENSIVE!

Skip this place. Not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We have dined often at this restaurant b ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

We have dined often at this restaurant but erred this time in going a bit early for dinner. The after-ski crowd that goes to Happy Hour and right into an early dinner is also loaded with small children and overindulgent parents who don't rein them in well. We sat next to a large table that looed as if a grenade had gone off at it - the floor for several feet around and under the table was strewn with bits of food and tosse french fries. Felt sorry for the wait staff that had to drag out brooms and dustpans to prep for the next diners. The din can ge as incredible as the food. Hold off til about 7 or later and it quiets down to the point that you can carry on a conversation. The service here is superb and the Italian dishes on the menu are expertly prepared As a plus, from a window seat you can watch the skaters glide by on the adjacent rink. Even on a noisy night it is worth the visit!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic, People Watching, Family Style, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Good wine selections, great bar. Unfortu ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Good wine selections, great bar. Unfortunately, per the waiter we had, the pasta menu is "pretty limited" for vegetarians. Basically I asked if they could prepare one of the pasta dishes in a vegetarian way (just butter actually!) and the waiter told me "no, we can't do that." I was so shocked - he didn't even ask. Of the 6-7 pasta dishes and the full list of secondi, I could pick exactly one entree. so disappointing and kind of unacceptable for an italian restaurant. We had been there before and the waitstaff was super friendly and accommodating, but this kind of ruined our Valentine's day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Wow we loved our dining experience at To ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Wow we loved our dining experience at Toscanini ! Great service and wonderful food! Can't wait to come visit again !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service! The pizza was the be ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful service! The pizza was the best part!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lindo sitio, con excelente ubicación y c ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Lindo sitio, con excelente ubicación y con buen ambiente, el servicio muy bueno. La comida regular nada más.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great cocktails. Great, fun service. Fab ...

 
 (Dublin)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great cocktails. Great, fun service. Fabulous food. Lovely Tiramisu. A little expensive. Will return on. Etc trip to Beaver Creek

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Waiter rushed us Order came in wrong Nev ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Waiter rushed us

Order came in wrong

Never going back, even though I visit Beaver Creek 1-2 times/yr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Joe, our server, was so friendly and ver ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Joe, our server, was so friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu and specials. Food was delivered in a timely manner. Great Italian wine selection.

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was top notch, very attentive an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service was top notch, very attentive and fantastic attention to detail. Overall food was great, especially the lobster bisque, but the lamb shank was not as "fall off the bone" as I would have hoped.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and great good. Will d ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent service and great good. Will definitely go back!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our second dinner here in a week in Beav ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Our second dinner here in a week in Beaver Creek. Have been in the past years and have even taken friends here in 2014 and 2015. Short walk from our condo in BC and the food is always good. Try the Penne pasta!!

Tags: Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, pleasant atmosphere ... ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Delicious food, pleasant atmosphere ... Everything was good ...

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food is spectacular! Friendly and knowle ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food is spectacular! Friendly and knowledgeable staff that take care of you very well. Will dine here again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food Great service

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Good food

Great service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time at Toscanini. The occasion ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Second time at Toscanini. The occasion this time was Deb's Birthday. The food and wine were spectacular , but what made the evening special was Matthew our server, who was the best! We will be back, it is now our favorite place in Beaver Creek.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, but not great. Was disap ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food was good, but not great. Was disappointed because previous experience was better.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Best food and amazing service as always. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Best food and amazing service as always. Come here every year for a week and eat here twice. Service is outstanding as well as the food.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our annual men's ski trip has been going ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Our annual men's ski trip has been going here for years. This year was a real disappointment. Our server was poor and at the end of the evening, one of our group's credit cards disappeared. The waiter deflected any responsibility and the manager (who was dressed in slacks and a shirt, no tie) was called over who did not offer much assistance other than, "we can't find the card, you'll just have to cancel it." After reluctantly agreeing to comp the bill, the waiter showed up with the card that was in his pocket. Rather than apologizing directly to the cardholder, he just told the manager and walked away. No apology from the manager either. Bottom line is that we have spent thousands of dollars at Toscanini over the years and felt we were treated poorly. Won't be returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Dana, Manager, is a gem as is his wonder ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Dana, Manager, is a gem as is his wonderful staff. Impeccable service, varied menu selection and the desserts are beyond delicious. Homemade Limoncello is the best! Our favorite restaurant in BC for many years that never fails us and, yes, we shall return!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, , Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always come here when in town repeat on ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Always come here when in town repeat on every trip. Th food is amazing and the service is great.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Toscanini. We go there every ti ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We love Toscanini. We go there every time we visit Beaver Creek. It food and wine list are great, and the service excellent. Loved the scallops with mushroom risotto!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Toscanini defines mediocrity and the eff ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Toscanini defines mediocrity and the effect of a closed market of limited options in Beaver Creek Village. I've eaten here many times over the years and it keeps going downhill. And stupidly I try it each year hoping it will improve.

Honestly, it needs a re-boot, a makeover, new mgmt, etc. The food is a strange mix of things that sound like they might be good but aren't and as other reviewers have noted, frequently dishes that say "shrimp" may only have 2 shrimps in them. The kitchen/service is really sloppy and untrained; for example 2 at our table got the exact same pasta and they had different or missing ingredients. That's just plain weird that serving 2 of the identical pastas whoever made them didn't make them the same. Likewise handing us (very) wet menus and making some kind of excuse that they "were just wiped down"...well then dry them don't hand soaking wet menus to customers. Forget getting your water glasses refilled, or pepper or Parmesan etc. Please note the servers are not bad people. In fact most of them are pretty nice but it's clear that they have had little or no training and that there's no "grown up" in the room making sure things are going smoothly.

Owned by the Beaver Creek Resort company, it would MASSIVELY benefit from having

A) A chef who knows how to cook Italian or whatever they call it.

B) Management that knows how to run a restaurant including service.

C) Add some straightforward dishes that they are less likely to screw up.

There are many great independent restaurants in the Vail Valley. They should replace the mgmt/chef and work with a real restaurant operator than perpetuating their version of a state-run Soviet or North Korean restaurant.

To the plus: great wine list.

To the minus:

Weird menu of overly complicated things they never do well.

Flavors are VERY weak. Dishes come out lukewarm and one scratches one head; did they say it was a lemon/garlic sauce? Huh? Where is the lemon garlic?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Not memorable food, not good value for m ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Not memorable food, not good value for money, desserts were the only I can recommend... amazing service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Salad was 70% croutons in a small bowl f ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Salad was 70% croutons in a small bowl for over $10. Veal was good, but nothing special. Seafood pasta was average too. Tiramisu, which is my favorite dessert that I didn't think could be bad, was gummy and flat. I felt like it was a nice restaurant ran by amateur "pick-up game" chefs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

I hadn't finished my appetizer when the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I hadn't finished my appetizer when the server brought out my main coarse.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great food and great service. Nice atmo ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food and great service. Nice atmosphere. The best part was the service by Freddy. Delicious antipasti platter, and Freddy was most happy to explain all the items and even some history behind some. Definitely plan to eat here again on our next trip to Beaver Creek!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place. Good food

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great place. Good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easy to walk to while in Beaver Creek. F ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Easy to walk to while in Beaver Creek.

Food is good, service is nice.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Mediocre food at best. Poor service. Obs ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Mediocre food at best. Poor service. Obscene cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good food, service as their own manager ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Good food, service as their own manager put it, is "for a lot of volume..."

Tags: Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good location, mediocre food. Good for ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Good location, mediocre food. Good for kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

Die Abfolge der Speisen war zu schnell. ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Die Abfolge der Speisen war zu schnell. Aperitif, Vorspeise und Hauptspeise standen gleichzeitig auf dem Tisch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

We dined there on New Years Eve and coul ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined there on New Years Eve and could not have been happier with our choice! The service was fantastic - our waiter was friendly and attentive. The food and wine were delicious and came in a timely fashion. I had the ravioli and my husband had the bistecca and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Next time we are in Beaver Creek we will definitely eat at Toscanini again - we highly recommend it!!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredibly average. We visited during t ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Incredibly average. We visited during the Christmas-New Year's holidays. I usually give some leeway because it is SO busy. However, the food was just incredibly average. So, therefore, very overpriced for what it was. None of us felt that our meal was memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Very good dining experience. Pastas wer ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very good dining experience. Pastas were cooked to perfection. We all enjoyed the lobster bisque and brie appetizer, which was a nightly special. Desserts were all very good. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food just okay, service was good. Just ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food just okay, service was good. Just average meal that was overpriced BC prices.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The worst ossobuco we are ever. They had ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The worst ossobuco we are ever. They had a lack of cooking.

And the price is so expensive. Vail has dozen of better Italian restaurants. Bad ideia went to Beaver Creek.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Everything was wonderful. Manager was v ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Manager was very helpful with a nice wine selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.