About Torchon Bistro

1921 W. Dimond Blvd
#106
Anchorage, AK 99515
View Larger Map

Torchon Bistro; featuring community forward faire; sourcing our proteins and produce locally, where and when possible. Bridging the ‘Farm to Fork’ experience in a casual fine dining setting. Satisfy your appetite and pique your curiosity with house-made Charcuterie, Steaks and Seafood with an upscale nuance. Local and Import Craft Beers and an Exquisite Selection of Wines from Around the World. Prix Fixe menus ran weekly and beer and wine events held monthly.Coming Soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
W Dimond Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 563-8888

Website:
http://www.torchonbistro.com/

Catering:
Please contact us for more information on catering options.

Executive Chef:
Chef Shana

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Torchon Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
11 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

fit for foodies (17)
neighborhood gem (15)
special occasion (14)
See All
romantic (12)
notable wine list (9)
great for brunch (9)
hot spot (4)
good for groups (4)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
181 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was wonderful and the server ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was wonderful and the server was great. We had the sampler and it was amazing to see what all the chef cures and smokes house. The cod and ribeye were both delicious as well!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for desert ... Only one large pa ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went for desert ... Only one large party of eight besides us... Asked about some allergens in one of the desserts /waiter went and checked... Went to place our order then he proceeds to tell us that they had run out of that dessert... That he had just checked on... Instead we got 2 brownies ... They were so hard you couldn't get your spoon into it... Had to break it a part with our hand ... Then it crumbled like a cookie ... The table ate one ... Not sure how?!? It was so hard and left the other ... (The waiter did take the one off the check which was appreciated) also had to ask 3 times for a coffee that was ordered prior to the desserts

Not a great experience for our 1st time in the resturant ...

Definitely doesn't make us want to go spend 40-50 dollars on a dinner plate.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Amazing, unique food and excellent servi ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Amazing, unique food and excellent service. This is the 4th or 5th time my husband and I have ate at Torchon. the lamb and fried chicken were awesome. The Taster appetizer is a adventure we try and enjoy each time we go to Torchon. This place specializes in meat dishes. We recommend sticking with meat as the seafood isn't as mouth watering. The banana cream pie for dessert is yummy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The lamb in the best that I have tasted ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The lamb in the best that I have tasted since my 41 years on this earth. The staff is the greatest people I have met. The chef has the greatest talent and precision in Anchorage. A must try for anyone in Anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food as always!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent food as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Overpriced for the quality of the food a ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Overpriced for the quality of the food and service provided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

My second visit. Had the Torchon Taster ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My second visit. Had the Torchon Taster to start. Commented on consistent flavor from my first visit. Come to fond out the chef was out of town at a function and the sous chef was in charge! Well done! Dinner was excellent just as my first visit. Course pace is good as you have time to enjoy each one. Not a huge selection of wines by the glass but well thought out for the menu. Gold Star! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Escape from Stress

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Torchon is the best relaxation therapy there is. Once you arrive the atmosphere invites you to relax and just breathe. The food is always amazing and staff is hands down the best ambassadors to service in Anchorage. Cheryl is amazing. You must have everything on this menu to enjoy Torchon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Torchon Bistro, an Anchorage Favorite

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

On first bite, we've found Torchon Bistro to be a unique and wonderful dining experience. We've had most every entree on the menu. I believe you'll find their Berkshire pork chop one of the best chops you'll ever have. The Torchon Sampler is truly fun and a great way to taste items you might think of avoiding. Don't.

They've got a fried chicken that's amazing. Crispy, crunchy outside and tasty moist inside. It too is one of our favorites.

This visit was for brunch w 6 in the party. Everybody was very happy & satisfied w their meal. The Benedict's were excellent as were the Biscuits & Gravy. Tasty tasty tasty!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved everything - the decor, the amb ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We loved everything - the decor, the ambiance, the menu. The food was incredible, I had the rib eye steak, and my wife the rack of lamb. Both meals were fantastic, beautifully presented and the quality of each dish was really outstanding. Thank you - we had a wonderful evening and will be back for sure !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were greeted at the door and welcomed ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We were greeted at the door and welcomed inside. Their professional waiter was attentive, but not intrusive. Menu is diverse and intriguing. Grass-fed menu. We very much enjoyed our appetizers; oysters and cheeses. The entrees were delicious. Loved the mouth-watering black cod, which literally melted in your mouth! The vegetable entree was visually appealing and absolutely delicious. Wine list is spectacular. Relaxed atmosphere. They even have a separate wine bar in the front room with low-lighting for a relaxed feel. Don't forget dessert. Loved the apple-pear cobbler!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a pretty good experience. It is a ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

It was a pretty good experience. It is an ideal place for dates and other special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had the traditional Benedict and my husb ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Had the traditional Benedict and my husband had the pulled pork and a side of bacon. My son had the oatmeal. Everything was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Special time with the love of my life

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The service and environment is alwas special. The meal and wine is outstanding.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Torchon Bistro is great! Excellent service, ambiance, and awesome food! The food is always delicious, perfectly presented, and high quality. It's always a pleasure to dine at Torchon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of Alaska So Far

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I were spoiled to be from St. Louis. The food and atmosphere was never disappointing. Moving to Alaska was quite the change, but we are slowly finding the places we feel comfortable at. Torchon was definitely one of those places. The food was both beautiful and delicious. The service was perfectly friendly but not overbearing. I love this place, and we will be back for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waitress was AWESOME! She was very f ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Our waitress was AWESOME! She was very friendly and knew her wines! Thank you so much for an awesome food experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We liked everything we tried & loved the bright flavors. Candied rhubarb perfectly paired with smoky meat was a highlight.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Menu was different...food was very good

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Menu was different...food was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

First Time at Torchon

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Quite pleased with Torchon, and a bit saddened I haven't been here before. The food is delicious, the atmosphere quiet and appropriate for adults, and the wine list is great. Torchon keeps its menu fairly short, which gives them the chance to let every dish shine. We tried three starters, two entrees, and even asked the kitchen for a taste of something from a third entree. They were entirely accommodating. We will certainly be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Brunch is wonderful. The biscuits and gr ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Brunch is wonderful. The biscuits and gravy - AMAZING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was our 4th time at Torchon. Awesom ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

This was our 4th time at Torchon. Awesome food and service every time. A true gem in Anchorage. Always something new, always our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Party of 7 people. Food had great flavor ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Party of 7 people. Food had great flavor but the appetizers were ridiculously small. We order 3 appetizers and it wasn't enough for everyone to even taste everything. We have dined in many cities and I think they did a very nice job at being upscale, especially given the odd strip mall location. The entrees were tasty but, oddly, the chicken looked to be the best of the entrees. The variety is fun and if you just want to have wine and taste a few things, by all means, it's worth the experience. We had some large guys to feed so we probably wouldn't go again if they were very hungry. Service was top notch and nice wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Best Biscuits and Gravy

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Phenomenal job once again!! The Sunday brunch here is not to be missed. The biscuits and gravy are best I have ever tested and that is traveling world wide. Be sure to arrive early, as they do run out of this fantastic treat. The other items on the menu as just as good, but I have never had this combination as great as this before. A must try..

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with even better service

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

I was taken here by some friends for my birthday. We had never tried the place for dinner, only for brunch. Our server, Cheryl, gave us top notch service from start to finish. She was courteous, friendly, and made sure we were taken care of. Our meal was great and we'll be back again for the food but especially the service

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistantly great food

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

The Torchon Bistro has yet to disappoint. It has become one of our destination places to dine in Anchorage. Consistently excellent in quality, service, presentation, and preparation. The Torchon could easily find a home in San Francisco, it is that good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Terrific presentation and mouth-wateringly good!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Our first visit to this Anchorage gem. The food was perfectly presented and superbly cooked. I highly recommend the pork chop---its is devinely served with a spiced rhubarb glaze.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent and unique!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The pork platter appetizer was unique and delicious! Our server was excellent! And the ribeye from New Zealand was crazy good! We had a great valentines dinner, thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Actual portions without a lot of fillers

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had 5:30 reservations and did not get our food until 6:45, I completed my delicious pork chop then ordered the fried chicken because I was still hungry. Overall food was excellent and service was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We went to Torchon Bistro for an early V ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We went to Torchon Bistro for an early Valentine's dinner. Our waiter, Hymen, who greeted us at the door was very welcoming. We were pleased that he was out waiter for the evening. He was attentive but not pushy and made for a very nice experience.

The quality of the food, the interesting menu and the service was all top notch. We are happy to have such a fine restaurant conveniently located near our home.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fine dining in Anchorage

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Torchon Bistro is a real find-while the entrees are a bit spendy, they are truly wonderful-everyone in our party of four (with different entrees) agreed that the food and presentation were exceptional. Service also great, the waiter knew the menu well as well as the wines. We'll gladly go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and presentation!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Tried several things I never heard of before. Everything was delicious. The waitstaff was very knowledgeable about menu and wine selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I Can't Get Enough of this Restaurant

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

I can't believe it's taken me so long to review Torchon on Open Table because I love this place so much, and I think it's one of the very top restaurants in Alaska. Shana Whitlock is a whiz of a chef and runs a tight ship. Her food is creative and always tastes AMAZING, and I have tried almost all of it (with the exceptions of the entrees because I keep going back to the ribeye and the buttery black cod). And if I had my druthers (and a stomach with more capacity), I would eat all of the desserts each time I go there. Back when they had the prix fixe menu nights, I had the top meal of my life there and taste foods and flavors that I have yet to find since. She also has the most amazing servers; Jaime, Cheryl, David, and Erica always remember me and make my evenings there a treat. They are professional and know exactly what they are doing. They are also knowledgeable about the food and recommend spot-on wine pairings. In addition, they are a varied, nice, and interesting bunch of people to talk to, and I like that.

The ambiance at Torchon is so unexpected, considering that it's tucked away in an unassuming strip mall next to a Magic game parlor, but that's how Alaskans roll. I love the decor, the regularly updated art exhibits, the quiet atmosphere, and the comfy feel. It's my neighborhood food respite and treat, and I am so glad to have them here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Anchorage

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Anchorage has many good restaurants but not too many amazing...or really great restaurants. I would say this is one of the few I would call truly great! Everything served here tastes amazing. The best though, if the pork chop. Best one we've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Located in a nondescript shopping mall, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Located in a nondescript shopping mall, this does not look like much from the outside, but the interior is very nicely done, with much attention to detail. The wait staff was professional, knowledgeable, and very friendly. The menu was unique, with a nice mix of standard fare and some more unusual (but quite good based in my experience). Offerings. Very solid wine and beer list. Overall, an excellent place, suitable for special occasions or anytime. The chef here knows what she is doing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amazing!!!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

The food is amazing. We had the chops and wild boar. Our service was outstanding as well. Menu is reasonably priced. Order the Torchon Taster appetizer; great fun.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Attentive

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Our group of three was promptly greeted upon our arrival and seated immediately. The server "Erica" made us feel very comfortable and was very knowledgeable of the menu. One of our diners had a few ingredients which he was unable to consume. The chef had absolutely no problem accommodating his request(s). All was great! First time dining there for all three of us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Had a very pleasant experience dining at Torchon on our first time at the Bistro. I would recommend it for an occasional outing. Presentation was excellent, food very good, service excellent.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Meat!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Delicious fare. The wine flight was quite good, and the server did a good job explaining what was what. We had the tasting appetizer, with a sampling of multiple items. Not for the faint of heart, but surprisingly delicious. I had the lamb for an entree with the signature salad, and it was easily top 5 meals I've EVER eaten out. Hubby had the sirloin, and it was cooked perfectly. The sides complemented the meal nicely. I have heard the veggie platter is exquisite- maybe next time I'll try it. So even if you're not a carnivore, you have options.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

This was our first time at his restaurant and what a wonderful night. Atmosphere was wonderful, food was very good, we ordered the four course special. Can't wait to return and order from the regular menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.