Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Torc

TORC is a contemporary, high-energy American restaurant with global influences. A local gathering place to meet up with friends and catch up on news and events, TORC exudes a spirit of community.

1140 Main Street
Napa, CA 94599
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wed-Mon 5:00pm-9:30pm
*Closed Tuesdays*

Cross Street:
Pearl St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 252-3292

Website:
http://www.torcnapa.com/

Entertainment:
Open Kitchen

Parking Details:
Two public parking lots, one directly behind restaurant and one directly in front. There is various street spaces available around the block. There is no time limit on weekends and holidays. Parking is limited, and can take a while to find spots especially on weekends.

Executive Chef:
Sean O'Toole

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tara Newman & Shaya Bryant can be contacted at events@torcnapa.com

Private Dining

TORC is a contemporary, high-energy American restaurant with global influences. A local gathering place to meet up with friends and catch up on news and events, TORC exudes a spirit of community.

Torc Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (54)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Notable Wine List (37)
Special Occasion (36)
Local Ingredients (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Casual (24)
Hot Spot (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Tasting Menu (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Romantic (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Business Meals (14)
Seasonal (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Fun (13)
Authentic (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Healthy (9)
Cozy (7)
People Watching (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Modern Decor (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tapas (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
792 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

TORC just keeps delivering Napa's best combination of good food, fantastic service, and a great atmosphere. Patrick especially makes me want to come back, but overall the service level at this restaurant is way above the rest in Napa. From greeting to taking the order to checking in with you to holding the door when you leave. Excellent, thank you team TORC.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a nice night out while traveling on vacation. The food was good and the service was even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a terrific time - the food was inspired, including locally sourced ingredients prepped with a lot of care and thoughtfulness. The wine menu was terrific too. It was a great night!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was incredible, however put waitress was worse than terrible. The entire time we were there I felt like an inconvenience to her, even for the basics like ordering, getting out check, clearing our table. It's been a long time since I have had service this poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

Night before our wedding dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great and unique food! Great service.. abit pricey..but worth a look!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great spot in Downtown Napa. Short rib and lobster risotto were outstanding, as was the tomato soup and Mac and cheese appetizers. Good wine list (actual list not an iPad)with several local producers.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on August 6, 2017

FANTASTIC as always!!! Food is absolutely delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Torc brought it this evening. From table and wine service to plate execution and quality of food. Bravo. +++*

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Amazing. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Torc was an amazing gem of a restaurant in downtown Napa. It is located right next to Ben and Jerry's if you want an after-dinner dessert. We tried the Taste of Torc which was a 3 course tasting menu with appetizer, entree, and dessert. I'm used to tasting menus at other restaurants with 5+ courses and didn't think I would be full. Boy, was I wrong. Torc provided really amazing dishes with generous portions and I was full and satisfied after 3 courses. The rice pudding dessert was amazing and I would love to have more of that. The ingredients were all delicious and extremely fresh.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

we dine at Torc regularly and appreciate the quality of the food and the excellent service. Excellent location for dinner in downtown Napa !!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Organic, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Fabulously creative and delicious food, magnificent service and a friendly atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Our waitress, Nicole, was amazing she recommended the Paradigm Cabernet Sauvignon and some amazing food choices! We were super happy! Great restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Stopped here after traveling all day. Could not have been happier. The food is diverse and the wine selection excellent as is the case in most of Napa. The real experience here is the truffles, including an all truffle tasting menu that speaks volumes to decadence. A great menu of local and regional specialties. We ended up eating here twice during our week and were not disappointed either time. The pastas are creative, the crab dishes done very well, and service great. Outdoor patio is quiet and small, not a bar scene and the only bad thing was it is cold if you sit by the wall because the AC is directed straight down.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Beautiful building and tremendous service. Food was excellent too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Hit on all cylinders. A terrific experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was great at Torc. We had carnivores as well as vegetarians in our party and both groups thought the food was of excellent quality and made well. There were a couple large parties that our server was servicing so the service aspect was a little slow at times, but not annoyingly so. Overall it was a great experience.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Have been at Torc 3 times. Every dinner, every evening has been perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I had the soft shell crab.
My favorite!
We ate on the patio for the first time. We really enjoyed it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Dined at Torc many times, this was our most disappointing meal. Squash blossoms could have been any vegetable, fried to a crisp and tasteless. Salmon main was not properly cooked, also needed seasoning. A thoroughly mediocre meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We have always enjoyed this restaurant and have been going there since it opened. The food is always imaginative, great quality and we really like the room.
However... this last visit was not good. After being asked if we'd like to sit outside (on a very warm evening) we said we'd prefer inside. We were then warned that it would "get noisy" but since the restaurant was just half-filled we said we'd prefer to be inside and take our chances.
Everything was fine until a half hour later when the Pandora rock music was turned up 1000 decibels. For the remainder of the evening, we had to shout across the table to be heard and struggled to maintain conversation. When we asked the wait person if the volume could be lowered, we were told that it could not because the restaurant doesn't control the Pandora music programming. What nonsense!

As the evening wore on, we heard diners at the next table complaining about the racket - but to no avail. Apparently, management thinks loud music adds to the ambiance - but in fact it did the opposite. When we left, we ran into another couple we know who told us they had had the same experience when they last dined at Torc. What a shame! The food is so good - but who wants to go deaf as a result for dining there.

I hope the management at Torc understands that loud rock music and fine dining really do not mix. People come to a nice restaurant for the food, wine and the conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Ate on the patio - AMAZING! Would recommend to anyone visiting the Napa Valley area.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Soft shell crab was overwhelmed by the kimchi sauce that was on it. Short ribs were good. The music is ridiculous. Way too loud and of too many genre. It seemed as if they can't decide what mood they want to create.

Some of it was soothing enough to be played in a restaurant but most of it was obnoxious. This might be acceptable in a lively bar but not in the same room with a sit-down restaurant. Unfortunately, the beautiful stone walls don't help dampen the sound levels.
On a positive note, the service was impeccable; very attentive but not intrusive. Shout out to "Gabe" who is outstanding.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2017

excellent food selection great service from waitress

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was delicious. Price was very reasonable for the high quality. (But we didn't try the $175 all truffle dinner )

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Best meal we had in Napa! Beat out a couple of the Michelin restaurants we dined at. Chef O'Toole is top notch!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Overall not a very good dining experience. Waiter not very friendly. Forgot two separate parts of the order. Some of the dishes were very oily. Drinks were average.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

My wife's BD, our daughter and her BF joined us. We did the tasting menu and we were all surprised with the wonderful pairing foods and wine..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We love coming to this restaurant because the food is amazing and we dont have to drive up to Yountville. Always several dishes that we want to try when we return.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Organic, Casual, People Watching, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2017

First visit to a restaurant that I've been wanting to try for awhile. Love the stone building that Torc shares with a favorite restaurant of mine Coles Chop house.

Menu is small with decent selection. Snapper prepared well although my wife lobster risotto was under cooked and a bit slimy. Dessert menu was sparse with the exception of higher profit after dinner drinks.

All in all a nice dinner out , and may be back again as I'm told that the menu changes frequently.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Everything we ate here was delicious and the service was very good.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Everything was excellent, we loved our salad, apps and the new york for two was amazing. Great wines by the glass so we could try different wines with our courses. The staff is so professional but with the warmth of truly seasoned hospitality veterans. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Exceptional food and service. One of the best restaurants I've been to in downtown Napa.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Horrible music was blasting from the loudspeaker. Food was nothing special. Service was arrogant. Price was too high for what you got. Will not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Best wine list and food in Napa hands down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I visited a friend the next day and planning for a birthday celebration, I proudly recommended your place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

If you're in town, just go! You will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

A great place on Main Street in Napa. Very comfortable sophisticated restaurant. Food and presentation wonderful. Bring money. My husband had a green salad with the soft shell crab - excellent. I had the tomato soup, green salad and Mac n cheese - amazing. I really wanted the grilled cheese sandwich with black truffles but there is a point at which $59.00 is extravagant for a sandwich. Ordered the Black Forest cake - decadent and my husband enjoyed an amazing coffee crafted drink. Wonderful dinner - met very interesting people who were at the table next to us. Put this on your list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent service, great wine pairings and delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.