Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Torc

TORC is a contemporary, high-energy American restaurant with global influences. A local gathering place to meet up with friends and catch up on news and events, TORC exudes a spirit of community.

1140 Main Street
Napa, CA 94599
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wed-Mon 5:00pm-9:30pm
*Closed Tuesdays*

Cross Street:
Pearl St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 252-3292

Website:
http://www.torcnapa.com/

Entertainment:
Open Kitchen

Parking Details:
Two public parking lots, one directly behind restaurant and one directly in front. There is various street spaces available around the block. There is no time limit on weekends and holidays. Parking is limited, and can take a while to find spots especially on weekends.

Executive Chef:
Sean O'Toole

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tara Newman & Shaya Bryant can be contacted at events@torcnapa.com

Private Dining

TORC is a contemporary, high-energy American restaurant with global influences. A local gathering place to meet up with friends and catch up on news and events, TORC exudes a spirit of community.

Torc Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (41)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Special Occasion (33)
Local Ingredients (31)
Notable Wine List (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Casual (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Romantic (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Seasonal (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Authentic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Healthy (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Business Meals (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Fun (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
People Watching (6)
Cozy (4)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
734 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Small menu but fresh and delicious. Great blending of flavors and textures. We had the fixed price three course menu beginning with a wonderful cold pea soup, red snapper for the main course and a light but sweet ending of rice pudding and an almond cake. Excellent service and friendly staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Skip the $58 grilled cheese with black truffle. Not worth the price. Service and atmosphere was on point though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The service on Father's Day was top notch. The hostess and our server were so friendly! The food is good size portions too so you can share :) Definitely recommend sitting upstairs-it's a little more quiet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Torc has become one of my favorite Napa Valley restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Creative menu, fresh ingredients, loved contemporary urban feel in Napa Valley, GREAT service!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Very disappointing. My husband and I came here because of the good reviews and had a horrible experience. I would not recommend to anyone. It took us about an hour to get an itty bitty little meal (I got the halibut and he got the short ribs) without being offered a drink menu or dessert. There are many other places to eat in Napa; I strongly advise going elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Elegant gem in Napa. Service was a standout, management was very professional and knowledgeable about cooking method. We ordered the special duck for 2 and it was outstanding in taste, with its fat made crispy.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We went here for happy hour and loved it so we came back for dinner, big disappointment. The food was way over priced and just fair tasting. The lobster risotto had way to much corn flavor it tasted like creamed corn. The lobster on top had great flavor though. The red snapper was just okay. The vegetable salad was mostly snap peas. We won't be coming back for dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

FANTASTIC TERRIFIC FABULOUS SERVICE INCREDIBLE MEAL

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Torc. The ambiance and food were wonderful. Our waitress was very personable, attentive, and very knowledgeable about the wine pairings, which made the evening delightful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Torc makes you feel like you're sitting in first class on a trip to Paris.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Napa. Food is always amazing--fresh, flavorful, substantial but not heavy, totally innovative. Impeccable service everytime. Wines are distinct and special. Ambience is beautiful and fun. The entire restaurant is obviously a labor of love between the husband/wife owners, who are world class talents.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Healthy, Organic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The meal was outstanding. Portion sizes were excellent. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Service was top notch and food really

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on June 6, 2017

Outstanding as always! very professional and friendly service

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great food and service. We will definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Very creative and tasty. Some online reviews comment on small portions, but 4 well nourished men were very satisfied with an appetizer and a main.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Delicious food in a cool, contemporary setting. We loved everything!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

TORC never disappoints... the everchanging menu, always surprises within a perfect seasonal flavor profile that tantalizes the palate and keeps you wanting more!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2017

BOOK IT, NOW! If you're reading this review, you're asking yourself, "Is this a place we would want to eat?" The answer is YES, YES, YES, YES! We have been to Napa Valley so many times and had so many amazing meals that I can't believe we've never discovered this place before. We stumbled on it through Open Table and for the two hour drive home we couldn't stop talking about the greatness of the whole experience. Gabe, our waiter, couldn't have been any better with the atmosphere he created, the recommendations he made, and the efficiency of the service. We started with Tempura Squash Blossoms with Black Garlic and Togarashi Shichimi. Appetites were awakened. We moved on to Maine Diver Scallops, English Peas 'a la françoise,' Nantes Carrots, with Cubeb Peppers AND Housemade Lumache, Oregon Bay Shrimp, Spring Garlic, with Meyer Lemon. For the stomach closers we enjoyed the Strawberry Thai Basil Bavarois with Strawberry Sorbet, as well as, Chocolate and Mint Ice Cream. We left fully satisfied, with every taste bud activated, but not too full,...just right. We're already talking about when we will drive up for the next culinary adventure. Would like to try the Lobster Ravioli, Shortribs, Maryland Blue Soft-shell crab and Alaskan Halibut. If you're still reading this, I'll remind you, if you want an incredible meal, say "Yes!" You won't regret it. How fun!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was delicious. Small bites are enough to share. Deviled eggs were creamy wirh arugula puree in the mix and sweet potato bites with yogurt dip were delicious. Homemade pasta dish cooked perfectly. Short ribs flavorful and tender. I would definitely recommend Torc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Simply Fabulous! A friend recommended Torc to us and raved about it - so we decided to give it a try. He was right! The whole dining experience was superb. We had the Chief's Choice with the wine paring, it was all that we had hoped for. Next time we are in Napa we will return to Torc!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent food in beautiful surroundings. Inside was a touch noisy for us so we chose to dine outside which was perfect.
The hamachi starter was excellent and the short rib mail course was delicious. The service from the person and the front to the wait staff was first class.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great service! Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Read about Torc and decided to give it a try. We were absolutely delighted. Our server was a gem, and every course we ordered was absolutely scrumptious. Brian even gently steered us from one dish to another - and we were very pleased that we heeded his advice. Recap of our meal included the deviled eggs (just get them, you'll understand), diver scallops and short rib; also a fabulous deconstructed Bahn Mi that I'm craving even now. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food was incredible. The braised short rib was the best (and I have had many).

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We had a very nice meal there. The service was friendly without being overly familiar. The food was also really good. It was some of the best we had during our trip to Napa.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Best dinner in Napa! We enjoyed our meals immensely. Great atmosphere and awesome service, would highly recommend it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were at Torc this past Saturday night for an 8:30 reservation. We got there a little early and were seated immediately, as they were not very busy. We were told to keep in mind that the steak dinner for two would take about 45 minutes. We ordered appetizers, and two separate entrees (no steak for two). Two tables away from us, the couple that was seated about 15 minutes after us ordered the steak dinner for two (medium well) and received their entree within 25 minutes. We did not receive our entrees until 9:45 pm. Our waiter apologized for the delay and promised the manager would be coming by and he would give us a free dessert; we told him we just wanted our check. Our waiter returned with a free dessert and promised my glass of wine was free. We never saw the manager. Or received an explanation as to how scallops and fish can take over an hour when a well done steak takes less than half that time.

There are too many great dining options in the Napa area to waste your time on this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed the service quite a lot. Our server was knowledgeable and had a sense of humor, and the team did a great job of delivering dishes as they were ready, always hot. Dish delivery was a bit slow, but not egregious. Food was very good, no missteps, though the flank steak was fattier than it should have been. Tasty though and cooked as requested.

We will continue to eat there. This was not our first time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Water never refilled until asked at the end of meal. Never asked about the taste of the food or wine pairing. Slow service and not very welcoming

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Probably the best meal we've had all year. Lamb terrine/ pate' was exquisite, scallops perfectly prepared, morels divine.
Service was attentive , ambiance energetic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Superb. Short ribs were amazing. Fantastic service. Decor Modern...great use of materials and space. Ambiance was energetic. Going back soon...Tip: Make a reservation...place filled up within 1 hour of opening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We were reminded that this is a delightful change for the Valley.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We loved Torc. A group of six of us were in Napa for the weekend and this was our third night out. We started with the deviled eggs which were delicious. Several at our table ordered the halibut. It was so fresh and delicately prepared; everyone thought it was outstanding. It paired great with the yummy coconut rice. Service was outstanding. Our only complaint was the music was pretty loud at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This was our second trip, and our waiter Gabe remembered us, gave us impeccable service, was fun and engaging without being intrusive. Other staff were extremely attentive to all details of our dining experience.
The sea bass which we normally would love, was not up to the normal standards, and staff removed it from our tab.
We would recommend Torc to our friends and associates

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Healthy, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very nice place with marvelous music! The suggestions were great from our server, the choice of wine just perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were able to get our favorite wine by Selene. We had their deviled eggs, they were good. My lobster Rosotto was very good. My husband had the scallops, tasty, but only three and no side...disappointed.
Sides are alacarte. Nice dessert selection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was terrific. Small but interesting menu, really well done. Best deviled eggs ever. Short ribs were killer too. Go.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Incredible food and service! Great value!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.