About Torc

1140 Main Street
Napa, CA 94599
View Larger Map

TORC is a contemporary, high-energy American restaurant with global influences. A local gathering place to meet up with friends and catch up on news and events, TORC exudes a spirit of community.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wed-Mon 5:00pm-9:30pm
*Closed Tuesdays*

Cross Street:
Pearl St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 252-3292

Website:
http://www.torcnapa.com/

Entertainment:
Open Kitchen

Parking Details:
Two public parking lots, one directly behind restaurant and one directly in front. There is various street spaces available around the block. There is no time limit on weekends and holidays. Parking is limited, and can take a while to find spots especially on weekends.

Executive Chef:
Sean O'Toole

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tara Newman & Shaya Bryant can be contacted at events@torcnapa.com

Private Dining

TORC is a contemporary, high-energy American restaurant with global influences. A local gathering place to meet up with friends and catch up on news and events, TORC exudes a spirit of community.

Torc Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Napa ›

Fit for Foodies (99)
Special Occasion (63)
Notable Wine List (53)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Hot Spot (39)
Good for Groups (38)
Romantic (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
509 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great restaurant with amazing service an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great restaurant with amazing service and unique/delicious food. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very pleasant restaurant in the competit ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very pleasant restaurant in the competitive downtown Napa scene. Food is creative, nicely presented, and very tasty. Service could not have been more friendly. Wine list could have had more local vintages.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Loved this restaurant. Food was delicio ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Loved this restaurant. Food was delicious - the rigatoni with truffles was just amazing. Fabulous wine and champagne list! Great birthday dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly and accommodating staff. T ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very friendly and accommodating staff. The food is well executed. The menu is very eclectic, highly recommend the tomato burrata salad featuring local tomatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

So perfect!! The food was incredible, se ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

So perfect!! The food was incredible, service was flawless and the restaurant had great energy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going up to Napa Valley for ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We have been going up to Napa Valley for years but have never made it to down town Napa. It is a very cute little town. The food and the service at Torq was fabulous. I had the lobster ristotto and it was fantastic. My husband is raving about the tongue he had. Usually tongue is sliced thin but this was a thick piece of meat he enjoyed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

our waiter (Gabriel) was awesome - very ...

vip
·Dined on August 22, 2016

our waiter (Gabriel) was awesome - very knowledgeable, friendly, and courteous. After prompting, he offered his recommendations on choices of food and wine, and was spot-on! Wonderful spot!! Besides Gabriel, the rest of the staff was very attentive from the reception to the busboy with quick refills on water without asking, as well as clearing extra dishes and glasses without being annoying or interrupting our conversation. Well done! Professional staff...gotta love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very hit and miss. Some strong dishes, s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very hit and miss. Some strong dishes, some spotty ones. Same with wine. Not good for Napa establishment.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I was a bit disappointed by our experien ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I was a bit disappointed by our experience here at Torc. From the reviews and menu choices, I was expecting to have a very memorable anniversary dinner with our friends. When our server was describing meal options and explained a special steak that came for the table and would be served cut up, I commented with "oh, we don't want that." My husband and I then proceeded to order the steak for two - which was served cut up!! At that point, I should have sent it back sine the waitress didn't say anything, but didn't want to delay our meal further as the cadence was very off and we waited quite some time between appetizers and dinner service. Additionally, the entrees were all very heavy and wintry for a late August meal. I would have expected more seasonal fresh ingredients and lighter sauces/accompaniments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Always consistent, great flavors, profes ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always consistent, great flavors, professional service.

The teams makes you feel like home.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived at the restaurant after a lon ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We arrived at the restaurant after a long day's travel from the east coast. Our waiter was attentive, knowledgable, and patient with our many questions. The wine list was extensive, and there was a large selection and price range for the by-the-glass selection, which was great since a glass was all we needed with the jet lag. I ordered the beet appetizer and ravioli with truffles., my wife had tuna appetizer and foi gras. The presentations of all dishes were creative and attractive. The flavors were surprising and beautifully matched. My only regret was that I was very tired and not very hungry.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Far exceeded my expectations. Food was ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Far exceeded my expectations. Food was great! Creative and delicious. And what a wine list! Interior design and ambiance excellent. Service very attentive. What more can I say?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Farm-to-table eclectic dinner last Satur ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Farm-to-table eclectic dinner last Saturday at TORC was such a treat! It exceeded my expectations from start to finish. Excellent food, fresh tasting & interesting combinations made it memorable. The service was attentive and friendly, esp. our waiter who was originally from Hawaii! They run a tight ship as they will quickly remove your napkins set aside if you step away to use the restroom then replace it with a brand new one! 4-star service in a casual, hip atmosphere with old-school R&B music playing in the background. This is what we ordered:

-Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras with seared freestone peaches/lemon verbena;

-Sauteed foraged mushrooms: king trumpet & hen of the woods;

-Spring greens with arctic snow nectarines, buttermilk blue cheese, walnuts;

-Paine farm squab, iacopi artichoke, white chanterelle mushroom, pea tendrils, salmis sauce.

-Akaushi beef short ribs, morel mushrooms & summer squash, garlic scapes;

-American red snapper, squash blossom, chanterelle mushroom, ratatouille jus

-French Semillion/Sauvignon Sauterne after dinner drink

-Chocolate Marquise dessert with salted caramel ice cream

(They even offer a 2003 Château d' Yquem Semillion! Wow!)

-20-yr. Tawny Port

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Torc was a fabulous experience! The lobs ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Torc was a fabulous experience!

The lobster risotto I had was one of

the best dishes I ever had in CA!

My husband had the soft shell crab. It was excellent although not as filling. The salads and vegetables were inventive and out of this world delicious!

Service was efficient and friendly and knowledgeable. The room was interesting and the crowd seemed a mix of local regulars and travelers .

The only down side was that we were in Napa and the wine list was full of European wines. We ended up with a fabulous CA choice but it was $100 a bottle.

We would go back!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Napa and my son recomme ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were visiting Napa and my son recommended TORC, never having been there himself, but he is a Chef and I trust his recommendation! Terrific evening for all of us, the food was amazing, service superb and I have already recommended it to my sister in law who will be in Napa this fall. Great experience.

One suggestion, I really wanted the chicken dish, but when I found out it takes an hour to prepare, I chose another entree. You might want to let the guests know when they make reservations that this is an option and possibly they can pre order it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredibly delicious! Beautiful place an ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Incredibly delicious! Beautiful place and excellent service. We absolutely loved it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Torc just keeps getting better every tim ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Torc just keeps getting better every time I visit! Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated right away even though we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were seated right away even though we were 15 minutes early for our reservation. Our server was excellent - very knowledgeable and friendly! The food was delicious across the board. The only item we didn't like very much was the peach sorbet as it wasn't very fruity - more subtle and creamy - so it wasn't what we expected. Our server took it off the bill even though we didn't ask her to. A great experience overall!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Be careful, your eyes may be bigger than ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Be careful, your eyes may be bigger than your stomach. It was hard to decide with such and interesting menu. The whole chicken was the highlight. It included a nice assortment of market vegetables and could feed 4 easily.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time here as locals, brought o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our first time here as locals, brought our friends here to try it together. Was spectacular- best meal in Napa in a long time! Short ribs were phenomenal, pasta very authentic, desserts exceptional!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This wasn't a bad place or experience bu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This wasn't a bad place or experience but massively overpriced for the caliber of food. Also, good luck finding a nice bottle of wine for under $100 (ironic, given the location in wine country). For perspective, a few days later my wife and I dined at Gary Danko in San Francisco at a cost of $555 and received much greater value than the $315 we spent at Torc (about 1/2 the cost would have been appropriate).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We were in Napa, it was getting late and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We were in Napa, it was getting late and we were hungry. Went on OpenTable and booked a reservation for three at 9:30PM Sunday night as it was the only available reservation. When we arrived at the restaurant the host told us the restaurant was closed. We told him it was 9:28 and we had a 9:30 reservation. He looked at his computer and said it was his mistake. If that is where it ended we would have been fine. But they made a point to tell us they were closing. We were seated and given menus. My girlfriend's daughter went to the bathroom while my girlfriend and I looked over the menu and wine list. Several people approached us to see if we needed any help. Under normal circumstances this would be considered service, but this night the intention was to move us out of the restaurant faster. We were reviewing the menu and wine list while several people asked us if we need help. We said we were waiting for our daughter and reviewing the menu and wine list. The manager came over and asked if we need help with the wine list. We said no but had a question with the menu. He answered the menu question, asked two more times if we had a question with the wine list and stood over us even after we said no. It go so frustrating we told the waitress that we knew they wanted us out of the restaurant quickly and felt very uncomfortable. We were so frustrated we decided against any wine or entrees and merely got appetizers to get out of there quickly. If any other restaurants were open at that time we would have just left, but it was late and we were tired and hungry. We ate as quickly as we could and told the waitress how uncomfortable we felt. She apologized and told us to take our time, but by this time the manager and other staff made it apparent we were not welcome. In full disclosure, they did provide us a free desert. But by this time we were so disgusted we just wanted to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Food very under seasoned and very pricey ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food very under seasoned and very pricey for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was so delicious and the servic ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food was so delicious and the service was just spot on. Very attentive staff. We got the short ribs and we loved it. The ricotta ravioli was nice but the truffles on top did not have a strong enough taste to me. The appetizers we had we very fresh and delicious. And good wine options.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Foodie find! Unique flavors, imaginatio ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Foodie find! Unique flavors, imagination from the chef is never ending!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite food,with attention to detail. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Exquisite food,with attention to detail.The mini veggie mix with my short ribs was worth the price of admission. All four of us were equally happy with our choices. Fun vibe,this place rocks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's simple. This place is amazing. One ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It's simple. This place is amazing. One of the most flexible, versatile and healthy menus you will find in or around the Bay Area. Staff that makes you feel like you belong. Great prices. Did I mention Torc is amazing?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the money we spent, we expected bett ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

For the money we spent, we expected better service and great food. The staff did not offer wine recommendations and the food lacks flavor. I will not return to Torc and do not recommended for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Receptionist recomendend we sit on the " ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Receptionist recomendend we sit on the "patio" instead of our previously arranged inside table. Brought us to their "patio" which is a slab of concrete looking at a parking lot. I didn't fee like switching so we stayed (wish I did though). My wife ordered the ravioli truffle which she loved. I ordered the veal which was the worst meal I ever had (and I had In-n-out that day).

I hate complaining but for a Saturday night in Napa you shouldn't mess up an expensive meal like that, and don't call your slab of concrete a Patio.

I guess my recommendation would be 1) order the ravioli 2) don't order the veal 3) DO NOT sit on the "patio"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Most of the food at Torc is outstanding. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Most of the food at Torc is outstanding. My hamachi appetizer and my husband's gazpacho were incredibly delicious, as was my lobster risotto. My husband's veal dish was a disappointment, however. The sweetbreads were wonderful, but the veal was very very dry.

Ambiance lovely, except music selection awful and overly loud - heavy metal screaming. They did turn it down for us. Wines there are wonderful, but overly pricey. By and large, I love this place and would recommend it -- the flaws listed, however, decreased my ranking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved this place Great service and won ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Loved this place Great service and wonderful food Outside dining is the way to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good restaurant. Great drinks, very ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Very good restaurant. Great drinks, very good food. Looks like they are still doing a shake down after a recent opening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

AMAZING!!!!! And very accomodating. Our ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

AMAZING!!!!! And very accomodating. Our group was VERY late to our reservation and they kept the kitchen open for us and served us with a smile on their face. I couldn't ask for a better restaurant for my best friends bachelorette party! Thank you Thank you Thank you for not sending us away. We WILL be back!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small portions, too expensive.... Need I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Small portions, too expensive....

Need I say more?

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The music was great and the food absolut ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The music was great and the food absolutely delicious. There were so many great choices we decided to come back so we can try them all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing. We had the tomato ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was amazing. We had the tomato salad, halibut and ling cod. Service was good but as stated in one of the previous reviews , the 2 top tables are pretty close. There is a small patio out back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spare rib and tomato salad were exceptio ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Spare rib and tomato salad were exceptional. Do note that the wine list is a bit daunting. Expect to pay a hefty price for a good bottle of wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Frequent visitor. Food absolutely beaut ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Frequent visitor. Food absolutely beautiful as always. Service usually up to the food but a bit off this time. Friendly but missed a few beats; just not up to usual. Music horrible. Gooey wall paper pap one minute then raucous metal the next. Why. Fix it. But I'll be back anyway.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Nice restaurant in downtown Napa. I woul ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Nice restaurant in downtown Napa. I would say probably great for bar and snacks. Food portions were great, presentations were great, but no flavors. Seemed like the chef or whomever taste the dishes was off. Halibut was way overcooked. With so many great Napa restaurants around, would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic meal. Place was hopping and h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Fantastic meal. Place was hopping and had a nice vibe. Service was outstanding. Loved the short ribs - incredibly tender and moist. The pasta dishes were also excellent. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.