About Torc

1140 Main Street
Napa, CA 94599
View Larger Map

TORC is a contemporary, high-energy American restaurant with global influences. A local gathering place to meet up with friends and catch up on news and events, TORC exudes a spirit of community.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wed-Mon 5:00pm-9:30pm
*Closed Tuesdays*

Cross Street:
Pearl St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 252-3292

Website:
http://www.torcnapa.com/

Entertainment:
Open Kitchen

Parking Details:
Two public parking lots, one directly behind restaurant and one directly in front. There is various street spaces available around the block. There is no time limit on weekends and holidays. Parking is limited, and can take a while to find spots especially on weekends.

Executive Chef:
Sean O'Toole

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tara Newman & Shaya Bryant can be contacted at events@torcnapa.com

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Torc will exclusively offer a 5 course menu with 3 choices per course for $105 per person with an optional wine pairing available. Pricing is before sales tax and 20% service charge. Credit card is required for all reservations. Any changes/cancellation within 48 hours incur $105 per person charge.

Private Dining

TORC is a contemporary, high-energy American restaurant with global influences. A local gathering place to meet up with friends and catch up on news and events, TORC exudes a spirit of community.

Torc Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (37)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Notable Wine List (30)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Local Ingredients (22)
Modern Decor (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Romantic (16)
Fun (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Open Kitchen (13)
Seasonal (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Casual (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Authentic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Organic (7)
Business Meals (7)
Cozy (6)
People Watching (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Private Room (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Historic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
618 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Expensive but very good!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Expensive but very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Torc for New Year's Eve dinne ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to Torc for New Year's Eve dinner. It's a great restaurant and we were not disappointed with the food. The dinner was excellent--every single dish was creative, well-conceived and very tasty. We love the food at Torc but once again a bit disappointed with the service--waiter. The waiter kept us waiting to order a drink, we had to refill our wine glass throughout the evening, he kept us waiting to order an after dinner drink and to get the bill--he was very personable but seemed very distracted. The rest of the service staff were very attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Lovely New Year's Eve dinner! My boyfrie ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Lovely New Year's Eve dinner! My boyfriend and I went to celebrate the New Year and had fabulous service and incredibly delicious food. There were multiple courses and we picked mostly items we had never had before and greatly enjoyed it. It was pricy, but the quality of service and food made it worth every dollar.

We'll definitely be back for a date night dinner here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine here on Christmas eve, there wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We dine here on Christmas eve, there was a prefix dinner., 4 course for $125. Food was great except my rissoto was salty and french toast for dessert was nothing special. However, my husband enjoyed every bit of his food. Maybe I just picked the wrong food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We spotted the restaurant when driving b ...

vip
 (Amsterdam)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We spotted the restaurant when driving by during daytime, it caught my attention and interest. And when getting to the restaurant we were not disappointed.

We began with a cocktail which was really good. Shared a starter and then both of us enjoyed one of their "special" entrees served with fresh truffle.

I enjoyed my tagliatelle which was so thin and fresh, really lovely. Was it worth the $47 (or $49) because of the fresh truffle, perhaps not. But it was nice, don't get me wrong.

Service was good without being intrusive, which we appreciate.

Too bad that they did not have more local wines though. We would have enjoyed that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We started with the Iberico ham appetize ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We started with the Iberico ham appetizer and followed with the white truffle fettuccine as a main course. The food shone -- quality food that was enhanced by understated preparation rather than undone by excessive preparation. The service was at a similar level -- a sommelier who knew the menu as well as he knew the wine list and recommended thoughtful pairings. It all made for a memorable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and service. Very well ch ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Very well chosen wine list. Music was not to my liking but of more concern was the volume. If I am going to spend this much money on dinner, I would like to be able to hear my table guests and the server.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Third time to Blue Note. First time to T ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Third time to Blue Note. First time to Torc. What a GREAT discovery! Would go back again and again. Great cocktails, fantastic food, and superb service! Nice pricing to make this 5+ on my Napa dining list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, , Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife's pasta dish and sautéed mushroo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My wife's pasta dish and sautéed mushrooms on my sons shirt ribs were salty...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Unfortunately we were unable to use our ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Unfortunately we were unable to use our Open Table gift card as this restaurant wasn't listed as one of the choices in Napa. The manager even tried but to no avail. We were celebrating our anniversary but the seating was too close where you couldn't help but overhear conversations of nearby patrons. I wouldn't consider this a romantic spot but better for groups of friends. The meal was good but a bit spendy. We did enjoy a small complimentary sorbet courtesy of our waiter and the manager.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was great as was the service. T ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was great as was the service. The ambiance is lovely too.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious, and the atmosphere i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was delicious, and the atmosphere is cool but the staff attention was a bit much.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We always have a great dining experience ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We always have a great dining experience at Torc and heartily recommend it to friends who visit the valley.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Amazing food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had really wanted to like this restaur ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I had really wanted to like this restaurant. It's a lovely room but the food was mediocre at best and the prices were way too high in comparison. The hamichi crudo was probably the best dish we had. The striped bass was dry and flavorless. The side of mushrooms was bland. The lobster risotto wasn't anything to write home about either. The service was rushed, but friendly. Unfortunately, we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Amazing service, food and atmosphere C ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Amazing service, food and atmosphere Creative menu

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Casual, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Napa for the first time and Torc ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Went to Napa for the first time and Torc was recommended by the concierge of the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed the food and the service and can highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were excited to try Torc. We arrived ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We were excited to try Torc. We arrived early, andwere greeted & seated by a smiling hostess.

The open table app had rated it $$. Looking at the menu, this was not true for us. Chicken for 2 $52? The starters pricey, and not enough to share. Cocktails smallish and over $10. This is a trend I realize, but the value isn't there. After perusing the menu, we just decided to leave. I like the idea of truly gourmet food, but I feel the menu should also offer some value options.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Once again, Torc presented excellent mea ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Once again, Torc presented excellent meals along with excellent service. The owner even stopped by. The wine list was comprehensive and we tried a new Zin for us, Outpost, which was excellent. The short ribs and pork chops we're first rate. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Was better than we expected. The food an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Was better than we expected. The food and food choices were great and the service outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place in Napa!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great place in Napa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

All very tasty and wonderful. It was bee ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

All very tasty and wonderful. It was been a while to eat this kind of good food throughout the meal . Chicory salad was one of the best salad we had, 2 pasta( I forgot the name) dishes were excellent. black bass was very good. We will go back and highly recommend it to any foodie.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was great, our waiter did an amazin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was great, our waiter did an amazing job explaining the menu and pairing drinks with dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food, great atmosphere, impres ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fantastic food, great atmosphere, impressive wine selection and recommendations - and the service was nothing short of outstanding!!!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third meal at Torc (first tw ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

This was my third meal at Torc (first two I enjoyed) in quite some time. The salads were fine. The ravioli portion was very small leaving my guest hungry. My halibut was fine, although again a small portion, however the side was a mismash of peppers and disappointing. Overall small portions,mediocre food and over priced. Perhaps we just ordered the wrong dishes....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Okay, but slightly disappointing. Recei ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Okay, but slightly disappointing. Received very poor seating in a busy area with other options available. Service was rushed (two courses came at once) before we could correct. Food is above average, but not on top tier with other choices in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Wonderful! Attentive wait staff, melt i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wonderful! Attentive wait staff, melt in your mouth short ribs, uniquely delicious potato soup ( not your mothers purée)' and light and airy ricotta ravioli. Open kitchen was a performance in itself with the constant movement of the chefs. Next time in Napa this is a must.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a terrific time. Klarissa was ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a terrific time. Klarissa was our server and she was delightful. The wine list is amazing, and the food was perfect.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Chef O'Toole is very creative. All of t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Chef O'Toole is very creative. All of the ingredients he uses are fresh, local mostly, and the flavors he obtains from the unusual combinations is heavenly. Of course, he changes his menu with the seasons to use ingredients in their prime. We like to dine there whenever we go to Napa. It's excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Private Room, Healthy, Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Do think twice if you are looking at the ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Do think twice if you are looking at the short rib, it's the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looking for a quiet, romantic, candlelit ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Looking for a quiet, romantic, candlelit dinner for 2? This isn't the place for you. Looking for a fun, energetic upbeat location , yet still a great place to take a date or a spouse, or gather with friends, then there's no place better! Super friendly staff who make you feel welcomed the minute you walk in. Amazing food, great service, fun ambiance!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner. The menu was interesting, ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great dinner. The menu was interesting, the service was great. The wine list pretty good and not over priced. Squab was terrific. The halibut was delicious. We liked the vibe of the restaurant. Overall, a great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, good wine and a great atmosph ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Good food, good wine and a great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The service at Torc was the best I have ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The service at Torc was the best I have experienced in my 20 adult years of dining at fine restaurants. Truly exceptional! The food was some of the best I have had as well. The flavors were complex but not confusing. Perfect evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the creative menu and variety of d ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Loved the creative menu and variety of dishes offered. Beef tongue was delicious as an appetizer and main courses were great. Wine list is reasonable and priced well. Service was good even though our main server was also bar tending. Enjoyed the open kitchen concept as was fascinating to watch the food prep.

Tags: , Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service! Only issue was s ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food and service! Only issue was showing up for reservation on time and being asked to wait at an overcrowded bar for our table- yet several empty tables were available. Caused a bit of a commotion and host did not handle well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I think they advertise available reserva ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I think they advertise available reservations to fill up seats at the bar. There were 4 couples who had the same experience and were told they could eat at the bar because no tables were available. We waited 30 minutes and were consistently told we were next to be seated but others came in off the street and got seated while we waited.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

By far, one of the best restaurants in t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

By far, one of the best restaurants in the Napa Valley!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined with my spouse Thursday, Nov. 3rd ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Dined with my spouse Thursday, Nov. 3rd @7pm. Seating very close with other tables; very noisy and service below normal servicing standards. Shared Prime Rib stead for two and meat was very fat/grisly and extremely tough. Could not cut the meat successfully even with a steak knife! Wine was quite expensive even for a Napa city location restaurant. Dish served with condiments spread over the fat/grisly parts. Manager provide another meal. Also, the wait time for the replacement meal was excessive ( 25 mins + ).

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Torc never disappoints. Great food and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Torc never disappoints. Great food and a friendly/professional staff. Good place for locals and tourists. This is a place we never have to think twice about going for a good meal. It gets pretty packed on Friday and Saturday nights, so be sure to make a reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.