About Torc

1140 Main Street
Napa, CA 94599
View Larger Map

TORC is a contemporary, high-energy American restaurant with global influences. A local gathering place to meet up with friends and catch up on news and events, TORC exudes a spirit of community.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wed-Mon 5:00pm-9:30pm
*Closed Tuesdays*

Cross Street:
Pearl St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 252-3292

Website:
http://www.torcnapa.com/

Entertainment:
Open Kitchen

Parking Details:
Two public parking lots, one directly behind restaurant and one directly in front. There is various street spaces available around the block. There is no time limit on weekends and holidays. Parking is limited, and can take a while to find spots especially on weekends.

Executive Chef:
Sean O'Toole

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tara Newman & Shaya Bryant can be contacted at events@torcnapa.com

Private Dining

TORC is a contemporary, high-energy American restaurant with global influences. A local gathering place to meet up with friends and catch up on news and events, TORC exudes a spirit of community.

Torc Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Napa ›

Fit for Foodies (93)
Special Occasion (62)
Notable Wine List (49)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Romantic (34)
Hot Spot (34)
Good for Groups (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Local Ingredients (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Fun (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Casual (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Business Meals (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
People Watching (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Organic (3)
Private Room (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
539 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Hands down my favorite place to dine in ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Hands down my favorite place to dine in Napa. Delicious food, beautiful atmosphere, and exceptional service located in charming downtown made this my most memorable dining experience. We will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in Napa! The servers, the fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Best place in Napa! The servers, the food and vibe is well worth it!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As an owner and operator of multiple res ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

As an owner and operator of multiple restaurants in Colorado I appreciated the effort put forth and perfection of this establishment. The service was impeccable and the food was simply outstanding.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent but the restaurant i ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was excellent but the restaurant is very loud and expensive, worth the trip though

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We discovered Torc on our last trip to N ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

We discovered Torc on our last trip to Napa and loved it!

We almost missed it this time but a man who worked in JAM cellars told us it was still there we just missed.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was exceptional, personal yet no ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Service was exceptional, personal yet not over bearing. Food was well prepared and plated. Very good experience over all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had such a special dinner with my husb ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

I had such a special dinner with my husband celebrating our 3º wedding anniversary !

The food was incredible, delicious and unforgettable. I would recommend the place and the young brunet waiter was very kind with us (i don't remember her name)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I were really looking forwar ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

My wife and I were really looking forward to dinner at Torc. It is rated highly on OT and was recommended highly by our B&B host. Our waiter was outstanding and the overall service was excellent. The deviled eggs were as advertised. Where our dinner experience really suffered was the quality of the beef for our NY Strip for 2. We were given non-serrated knives that couldn't cut through. Also, the warm plates to keep the steak hot came out 10 minutes before the steak. Couple that with being directly under an air vent and within 3 minutes we were eating cold steak.

The restaurant has two gender neutral restrooms which didn't seem to be enough. They didn't have vents or air freshner. The lady that exited the restroom before me didn't have a pleasant look. Either because her stomach wasn't feeling well or she was embarrassed by the smell that was there before her and lingered as she left. That led to an awkward and unnecessary conversation when I returned to my table.

We had high hopes for this restaurant and unfortunately left disappointed. Be careful what you order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was great. The service was not ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The food was great. The service was not great. The host was rude. Halfway through our meal they pulled our server for a party and gave us another server. It was strange. We were celebrating a birthday and no one seemed to care. Outdoor patio is great but host never offered it to us.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Loved every sip and bite and enjoyed the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Loved every sip and bite and enjoyed the comfortable atmosphere all very much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome and the service exc ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The food was awesome and the service excellent. We love the restaurants in Yountville, but places like Torc will definitely put Napa on the culinary map. Fun atmosphere, great selection for all & top notch service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting for a few days in Napa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were visiting for a few days in Napa when we found Torc. We were impressed by the food and service and would definitely recommend

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our first visit. We were pleasan ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was our first visit. We were pleasantly surprised at how delicious the food was and how nice was the atmosphere. Even though the outside seems uninviting, the inside of the restaurant is attractive with a great bar and ambiance. We had gazpacho, delicious deviled eggs, pasta with truffles, and fig and cardamom ice cream. All was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was our anniversary, we dined outside ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was our anniversary, we dined outside as the full moon was in view. Our dining experience was perfect. We were compelled to order from every part of the menu. Roasted Almonds, Hamachi, Steak dinner for two, foraged mushrooms and the Lobster risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a downtown Napa restaurant that ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is a downtown Napa restaurant that does not serve Napa wine. The wines by the glass are $33 and up for wines that I had never heard of and the one I picked, I couldn't drink. I will not spend $245 for a bottle of wine if I have never heard of it and this is what was offered to us as a suggestion. No thank you. Very few items for dinner. One is pork belly, no thank you. One is a whole chicken for two that takes over an hour. One is a rib eye steak for TWO only. The other two options were fish dishes and I do not care for fish. We ended up eating appetizers and going to another restaurant for dinner. We would not recommend this restaurant to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

Everything I have eaten at Torc is delic ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Everything I have eaten at Torc is delicious. Everything my table mates had was a feast for the eyes and the tongue--yep, we shared with each other! I wish I had eaten there all three nights I was in Napa this year. This is my second dinner there. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new favorite restaurant in Napa! Ther ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

My new favorite restaurant in Napa! There is not one negative thing I can say about my experience at Torc. The service, food, and ambiance exceeded my expectations. I've been telling everyone about this restaurant and cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This menu was quite innovative. Not your ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

This menu was quite innovative. Not your usual fare. Excellent!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Torc is a phenomenal restaurant. We just ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Torc is a phenomenal restaurant. We just moved to Napa from France and the foie gras is as good as what we enjoyed in Paris. The dishes are excellent and you can choose from so many options that are small, medium, and large plates -- so you always eat as much as you want and never too much or too little. I would bring any and all out of town visitors to this restaurant. Try the cabernet they offer by the glass -- it's divine.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the price and the size of food we re ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

For the price and the size of food we received it was not worth it. Also didn't have the best service in the world. They need to bulk up the plates to match the price they are charging

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Amazing food and great service. The hou ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Amazing food and great service. The house made Rigatoni with perigord truffle was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great dining experience. We happened t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

A great dining experience. We happened to arrive 45 minutes early and they managed to seat us right away on a Saturday night of a holiday weekend. The kitchen did not miss one trick. My halibut was not overcooked (it's amazing how many otherwise great restaurants can't cook fish correctly), the pasta dish was wonderful, the deviled eggs were exquisite. Dessert, too, was outstanding. Service was friendly and attentive without being overbearing. There's a kind of casual feeling that they balance with the fancy stuff quite well. We had a great time and will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our first time at Torc. Arrived for our ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our first time at Torc. Arrived for our 6pm reservation and our party of 6 was promptly seated upstairs which, at it turned out, was a bit more quiet and secluded from the noisy downstairs dining area and bar, a good thing. Our server was immediately at our table to go over the menu - although I would have preferred to have had a moment to look over the menu and wine list in an effort to decide what type of wine I would have liked to start with. We were provided with a separate list of "Wine Specials" by the glass - the majority of which cost around $25 - which was a bit of a sticker shock for a single pour. Our party ultimately decided on a bottle of red ($48) for the 4 people who wanted red plus 2 glasses of Chard for those who wanted white. We started with marinated olives, lobster risotto, gazpacho and tomato with mozzarella. The risotto was lovely although with more liquid than I would have liked. It was quite sweet given the sweet corn, but all of us agreed that it was very good. The gazpacho was also exceptionally good with many complex flavors. For entrees there were 2 orders of the ribeye for 2 in addition to an order of halibut and the trout. Everything was exceptional and the presentation simply lovely. But, the big disappointment was that the service - although very capable and attentive - seemed sterile. There was no "small talk" with any of us. No sense of "welcoming" us - it was all very precise and rote as if she wanted to get us served and on our way so that they could "turn" the table. It's unfortunate that what could have been an absolutely perfect evening, given the quality of the food and attentive service, was a disappointment simply due to something as simple as making guests feel welcomed.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Restaurant was very nice but not stuffy. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Restaurant was very nice but not stuffy. Good was delicious. The only issue was that the wine list didn't offer affordable options. All options were in range $60 being lowest up to $4000.

Our waitress was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Many things that can be shared. Beef ch ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Many things that can be shared. Beef cheeks ravioli was a better beef option than the short rib. Tomato salad was Excellent! Very flavorful. All dessert options were tasty.

Tags: People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service and food were excellent! This is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service and food were excellent! This is my 2nd time dining and both experiences were great (from making the reservation all the way to our last night cap at the bar). The food was delicious and service was excellent all across the board with everyone we dealt with! Will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is seasonal and delicious. Ther ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The food is seasonal and delicious. There is always something different that's tastes wonderful. It's worth a drive. Wines are expensive but the cocktails are good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service. Beautiful décor. Food was ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great service. Beautiful décor. Food was excellent but pricey for portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is why you eat out; outstandi ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This place is why you eat out; outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant with amazing service an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great restaurant with amazing service and unique/delicious food. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very pleasant restaurant in the competit ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very pleasant restaurant in the competitive downtown Napa scene. Food is creative, nicely presented, and very tasty. Service could not have been more friendly. Wine list could have had more local vintages.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Loved this restaurant. Food was delicio ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Loved this restaurant. Food was delicious - the rigatoni with truffles was just amazing. Fabulous wine and champagne list! Great birthday dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly and accommodating staff. T ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very friendly and accommodating staff. The food is well executed. The menu is very eclectic, highly recommend the tomato burrata salad featuring local tomatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

So perfect!! The food was incredible, se ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

So perfect!! The food was incredible, service was flawless and the restaurant had great energy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going up to Napa Valley for ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We have been going up to Napa Valley for years but have never made it to down town Napa. It is a very cute little town. The food and the service at Torq was fabulous. I had the lobster ristotto and it was fantastic. My husband is raving about the tongue he had. Usually tongue is sliced thin but this was a thick piece of meat he enjoyed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

our waiter (Gabriel) was awesome - very ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

our waiter (Gabriel) was awesome - very knowledgeable, friendly, and courteous. After prompting, he offered his recommendations on choices of food and wine, and was spot-on! Wonderful spot!! Besides Gabriel, the rest of the staff was very attentive from the reception to the busboy with quick refills on water without asking, as well as clearing extra dishes and glasses without being annoying or interrupting our conversation. Well done! Professional staff...gotta love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very hit and miss. Some strong dishes, s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very hit and miss. Some strong dishes, some spotty ones. Same with wine. Not good for Napa establishment.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I was a bit disappointed by our experien ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I was a bit disappointed by our experience here at Torc. From the reviews and menu choices, I was expecting to have a very memorable anniversary dinner with our friends. When our server was describing meal options and explained a special steak that came for the table and would be served cut up, I commented with "oh, we don't want that." My husband and I then proceeded to order the steak for two - which was served cut up!! At that point, I should have sent it back sine the waitress didn't say anything, but didn't want to delay our meal further as the cadence was very off and we waited quite some time between appetizers and dinner service. Additionally, the entrees were all very heavy and wintry for a late August meal. I would have expected more seasonal fresh ingredients and lighter sauces/accompaniments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Always consistent, great flavors, profes ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always consistent, great flavors, professional service.

The teams makes you feel like home.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived at the restaurant after a lon ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We arrived at the restaurant after a long day's travel from the east coast. Our waiter was attentive, knowledgable, and patient with our many questions. The wine list was extensive, and there was a large selection and price range for the by-the-glass selection, which was great since a glass was all we needed with the jet lag. I ordered the beet appetizer and ravioli with truffles., my wife had tuna appetizer and foi gras. The presentations of all dishes were creative and attractive. The flavors were surprising and beautifully matched. My only regret was that I was very tired and not very hungry.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.