About Torc

1140 Main Street
Napa, CA 94599
View Larger Map

TORC is a contemporary, high-energy American restaurant with global influences. A local gathering place to meet up with friends and catch up on news and events, TORC exudes a spirit of community.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wed-Mon 5:00pm-9:30pm
*Closed Tuesdays*

Cross Street:
Pearl St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 252-3292

Website:
http://www.torcnapa.com/

Entertainment:
Open Kitchen

Parking Details:
Two public parking lots, one directly behind restaurant and one directly in front. There is various street spaces available around the block. There is no time limit on weekends and holidays. Parking is limited, and can take a while to find spots especially on weekends.

Executive Chef:
Sean O'Toole

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tara Newman & Shaya Bryant can be contacted at events@torcnapa.com

Private Dining

TORC is a contemporary, high-energy American restaurant with global influences. A local gathering place to meet up with friends and catch up on news and events, TORC exudes a spirit of community.

Torc Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Napa ›

fit for foodies (107)
special occasion (71)
notable wine list (58)
See All
neighborhood gem (45)
hot spot (38)
good for groups (37)
romantic (37)
vibrant bar scene (26)
great for outdoor dining (11)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (1)
great for lunch (1)
scenic view (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
477 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

AMAZING!!!!! And very accomodating. Our ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

AMAZING!!!!! And very accomodating. Our group was VERY late to our reservation and they kept the kitchen open for us and served us with a smile on their face. I couldn't ask for a better restaurant for my best friends bachelorette party! Thank you Thank you Thank you for not sending us away. We WILL be back!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small portions, too expensive.... Need I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

Small portions, too expensive....

Need I say more?

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The music was great and the food absolut ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

The music was great and the food absolutely delicious. There were so many great choices we decided to come back so we can try them all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing. We had the tomato ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was amazing. We had the tomato salad, halibut and ling cod. Service was good but as stated in one of the previous reviews , the 2 top tables are pretty close. There is a small patio out back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spare rib and tomato salad were exceptio ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Spare rib and tomato salad were exceptional. Do note that the wine list is a bit daunting. Expect to pay a hefty price for a good bottle of wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Frequent visitor. Food absolutely beaut ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Frequent visitor. Food absolutely beautiful as always. Service usually up to the food but a bit off this time. Friendly but missed a few beats; just not up to usual. Music horrible. Gooey wall paper pap one minute then raucous metal the next. Why. Fix it. But I'll be back anyway.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Nice restaurant in downtown Napa. I woul ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Nice restaurant in downtown Napa. I would say probably great for bar and snacks. Food portions were great, presentations were great, but no flavors. Seemed like the chef or whomever taste the dishes was off. Halibut was way overcooked. With so many great Napa restaurants around, would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic meal. Place was hopping and h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Fantastic meal. Place was hopping and had a nice vibe. Service was outstanding. Loved the short ribs - incredibly tender and moist. The pasta dishes were also excellent. Would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Lobster Risotto I've ever had! I'l ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Best Lobster Risotto I've ever had! I'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Here's what we had: Deviled eggs: Glad ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Here's what we had:

Deviled eggs:

Glad we asked for the bacon on the side, it had 80% to 90% fat. Did the optional Australian black truffle shavings, for $19 the amount was shockingly small.

Tempura soft shell crab:

The crab was really nice and crispy, no breading. I usually am not crazy about soft shell crab, but this is good.

seared hudson valley FOIE GRAS, brentwood corn, chanterelle mushroom, anise hyssop, pain de mie:

I was almost speechless. So good…

house made RIGATONI, tomato conserva, basil, parmigiano-reggiano, perigord truffle:

The flavor was great. But, too bad the Rigatoni was overcooked. My least favorite dish.

whole roasted CHICKEN for 2, tenbrink farm beans, fennel pickle lily, bergamot:

We added the Australian black truffle again, this time a fair amount of truffle was shaved on top of the chicken. The chicken was very juicy and tasty.

The service was very attentive and friendly. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The wait staff was wonderful and the foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The wait staff was wonderful and the food was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have a place in Napa and eat out frequ ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I have a place in Napa and eat out frequently by myself. Always appreciate a restaurant that treats singles well. Torc is one of my favorites. The food is excellent, as is the service. They are very professional, but friendly and unpretentious. They also take good care of their regulars, which I appreciate. And an even better place to go with friends, as many of their dishes are made for sharing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Porchetta was great. Nice wine list and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Porchetta was great. Nice wine list and even had some beers from Russian River Brewing. Service was excellent. Whipped up some pasta for our seven year old - she had a great meal as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

On vacation in Napa, CA, and found this ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

On vacation in Napa, CA, and found this restaurant for our last night there. Food was very good. Great salads, appetizers, charcuteries and cheeseboards. NY Strip Steak for two was of good quality, but not great. Could have had a little less gristle for the $85.00 price. Service was great. Napa doesn't appear to be a great city for steaks. Great for wines and cheeses, but Steaks at several restaurants we tried were not near the standards we've seen at southern California steakhouses. I would recommend the poultry or fish dishes. They looked good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

1st night in Napa and a wonderful start ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

1st night in Napa and a wonderful start to a wonderful week. Short ribs were exceptional. No complaints about the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

To be honest, they need to put a lot mor ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

To be honest, they need to put a lot more efforts with their food, it does not match the value and standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

One of Napa's best dining spots. Delicio ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

One of Napa's best dining spots. Delicious creative food, attractive atmosphere, congenial service. Such an extensive wine list it takes awhile to get through it. A bit noisy but that's the only downside.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was on point the entire even ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service was on point the entire evening, which made the long wait for our entrees unexpected. The wait was worth it l, however, as the short ribs were a table favorite. We'd recommend paying the corkage fee rather than ordering cocktails or wine off of their list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food and good service. Tables for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food and good service. Tables for 2 are too close together which leads to lack of privacy during dinner conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Gabe is one of the best servers we've ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Gabe is one of the best servers we've had anywhere. The food was very good, but Gabe's timing and thoughtfulness about the menu made the meal outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food. The wait st ...

 
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent service and food. The wait staff very knowledgeable of what goes into each plate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Torc is certainly one of the best restau ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Torc is certainly one of the best restaurants in the Napa Valley!! Period!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was cooked superbly, seasoning howe ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food was cooked superbly, seasoning however was a bit bland in my opinion as well as my date's. Service was friendly and attentive, not a long wait for table or food, and outdoor setting quite nice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have dined at Torc several times and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We have dined at Torc several times and always find very high quality well thought out and executed dishes. Love the pakora and lobster risotto. We believe that Torc deserves consideration for a Michelin Star. Really one can not have a better dining experience in downtown Napa Desserts are excellent too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great downtown restaurant, creative menu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great downtown restaurant, creative menu that has innovative dishes and the food is always high quality and tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dishes were fun and creative, using ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The dishes were fun and creative, using a variety of interesting ingredients. Solid preparation and the service was friendly and accomodatiing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

One of Napa's best. Soft shell crab is ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

One of Napa's best. Soft shell crab is back and goes great with the basmati rice. Short ribs are always over the top. Desserts are always worth the calories.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food at Torc was delicious. I had th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food at Torc was delicious. I had the scallops, and they were perfect. The server was also very friendly and attentive. If I ever return to Napa, I would certainly dine here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great overall experience; Torc was fabul ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great overall experience; Torc was fabulous.

The octopus appetizer was FANTASTIC, like no octopus I've ever had. We also had the excellent jambon iberico (similar to prosciutto but better!) as my colleague had just been to Spain and wanted to relive her experience.

My dinnermates all had the halibut entree, two are food snobs all the way and raved about it. Portions are not American huge, but were adequate considering the appetizers. I had the softshell crab appetizer as my entree, fresh and mild. Side dishes shared were the squash blossoms (which we all swore were pickled okra in a light batter) - interesting but I wouldn't order again because it just didn't seem like squash - and the wild mushrooms, which were REAL wild mushrooms, none of this portobello and shiitake business that many restaurants claim as wild. Torc had an interesting "Special Pours" wine list that I am not if sure they do all the time, that contained rare or expensive wines available by the glass, which of course is rare in and of itself.

Dessert will be for next time. I was eyeing a lemon parfait with berries!

The discount I give on their service is because with both rounds of drinks we ordered, there was issue. The first time, all but one drink arrived and we finally had to ask for the fourth because they clearly forgot about it. The second time was after we had ordered a second round. We waited several minutes. Another server delivered our entrees and we had to ask him to follow up on the drinks for us. It felt backwards getting our entrees before our drinks arrived, particularly since we had put in the order several minutes ago.

Ambiance: we dined alfresco on the back patio, which was great so my parents could hear (they are both 74 and hate noisy now). However the bummer is that the patio is adjacent to a large parking lot and we got the fumes from a stinky truck that idled close to us. The inside was packed and noisy, and I have to say, the wall art was super cool.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A quiet and understated gem in Napa! Tor ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A quiet and understated gem in Napa! Torc is set in an old stone building in downtown Napa. From greeting through the dessert, every team member and every bite was spot on! We will most certainly look forward to dining here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of finest dining experiences - excel ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

One of finest dining experiences - excellent presentation of food beyond great flavors and service. Asked for birthday celebrations and GOT IT!! 5 stars all the way.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was standard and the arrogan ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The service was standard and the arrogance of the crew was over the top. I will never go back to Torc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Favorite spot. Food and service were ama ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Favorite spot. Food and service were amazing. I had the Risotto. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food wasn't very good for the price ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The food wasn't very good for the price or the portion size. I was expecting something mouth watering. It's very nice inside and the service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Dependably good, and the attention to de ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Dependably good, and the attention to detail is obvious, plus the friendly prompt service very professional.

Wonderful wait staff, knowledgeable waitress, and the food dinner from start to finish was a joy.

The beef short ribs were without a doubt, the best we have ever eaten..

A sublime evening for us!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was great but the appetizers ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was great but the appetizers were ok but the entrees either were way too salty (the fried baby chicken) with a bland side of vegetables including fava beans that I am not sure anyone really wants to eat and the scallops were way too heavily seasoned and were inedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Service we a bit chilly but the food was ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service we a bit chilly but the food was exceptional. Started with the cold corn soup which would have been over the top if served warm. The flavors were muted because it was cold, but the quality was there. My husband had the seared foie gras which was perfectly done and worth the price. We both had short ribs for our main and they were fantastic. But, what stole the show was the side order of fresh peas. Yep, fresh peas. My husband did a double take when I ordered them, and couldn't believe how sophisticated peas could become. Order them if you're lucky enough to find them on the menu in season.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Lovely space with nice artwork. Excelle ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Lovely space with nice artwork.

Excellent service with menu that was laid out in a very nice way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a great experience. It was out la ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We had a great experience. It was out last night in Napa And truly had great food, service and Value. (Sorry forget the waiters name, but know he was originally from New York). He was awesome and friendly. We talked up hockey and had a lot of fun. I would definitely return during our next trip to Napa. 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.