Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Torc

TORC is a contemporary, high-energy American restaurant with global influences. A local gathering place to meet up with friends and catch up on news and events, TORC exudes a spirit of community.

1140 Main Street
Napa, CA 94599
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wed-Mon 5:00pm-9:30pm
*Closed Tuesdays*

Cross Street:
Pearl St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 252-3292

Website:
http://www.torcnapa.com/

Entertainment:
Open Kitchen

Parking Details:
Two public parking lots, one directly behind restaurant and one directly in front. There is various street spaces available around the block. There is no time limit on weekends and holidays. Parking is limited, and can take a while to find spots especially on weekends.

Executive Chef:
Sean O'Toole

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tara Newman & Shaya Bryant can be contacted at events@torcnapa.com

Private Dining

TORC is a contemporary, high-energy American restaurant with global influences. A local gathering place to meet up with friends and catch up on news and events, TORC exudes a spirit of community.

Torc Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (47)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Local Ingredients (36)
See All
Notable Wine List (35)
Good for a Date (33)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Special Occasion (25)
Bar Seating (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Fun (17)
Seasonal (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Business Meals (14)
Casual (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Romantic (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Authentic (10)
Cozy (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
People Watching (9)
Tapas (7)
Healthy (7)
Organic (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
838 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Really good service. Good food but portions are small for the price. Four of us at the table ordered their premier 65 day aged for four people it was delicious but no way did that Fill up four people and two of them were petite women.
Overall really good experience but they can do better on the portions considering the prices .

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great 3 course special. Best salmon I have had in unite some time. Tomatoe soup divine

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great food, great server, lovely people all around. Helpful in every way, would go back in a minute!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Torc is delicious and a great hang. Always good. Go there all the time. TORC.

Tags: Organic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 2, 2017

The food, selection and presentation was excellent. Our waiter was clueless in wine selection recommending an okay chardonnay that when delivered by the wine steward was steel aged, no oak. The same server was uninterested and other than being visible, was useless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2017

TORC came highly recommended by a Sonoma local resident. The happy hour prices are reasonable. The food was good, but not great.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 1, 2017

They made us feel very special as they surprised us with a dessert treat for our wedding anniversary. Everything was simply fabulous!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had a wonderful meal. Food and service were exceptional. Highly recommend the steak for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Delicious! And we were well taken care of. The best in Napa.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Music wayyyyyyy to loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Nice prix fixe midweek meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Delicious deviled eggs, short rib. It was my hubby's bday and they gave him a yummy dark chocolate scoop of ice cream to celebrate. It was Sunday so not super busy. I would image it gets loud when full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Everything perfect, food, service but for thre freezing air coming from the AC. If possible avoid the tables on the side of the room. I kept my napkin on my knees as a blanket the whole time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We have gone to Torc for dinner a few times. The preparation, presentation, and flavor of the dishes are outstanding. This last time I ordered the salmon with forbidden rice and my wife had a beautifully prepared halibut. We had a couple of delicious appetizers--eggplants and mushrooms. The desert, fig tart was outstanding with a great espresso. One thing about the service is that your dish does not stand on the kitchen counter for more than a few seconds before a server, any server, brings it to you hot! Great service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

I don't typically leave reviews, however the meal was exceptionally bad. We actually cut the meal short midway through after only 4 dishes. Service was even worse. A disappointment all around as we had high expectations for this place after reading many positive reviews. We heard similar from other folks staying at our hotel. Maybe it was just an off night?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food as always was excellent. Very creative. Although the venue is lovely, it is always freezing cold in certain places. Need work on air flow. Diners warned to bring warm wrap. Seriously, had a negative impact on meal as it was truly uncomfortable. Staff very pleasant and service good. We go here a lot

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Good meal, good Napa flavors. Drinks were tasty as well. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a nice place in Downtown Napa.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Good in all aspects. Food was good but a little hot for me. No notice of heat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The place had nice, pleasant decor. However we were shivering the entire time as the air conditioning was blasting us. Everyone around us complained as well, but they wouldn't do anything about adjusting it. So that put a damper on the rest of the meal. The wine was fair. The food was pretty good. The pork belly was really yummy. However my dinner companion had the salmon and it was just fair. I would try it again if I had the opportunity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great dining experience with very creative dishes. I especially loved the "farm to table" concept and the menus which identified the various local farms and families that had provided the components of the dishes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was my fiancé's birthday and this place was just the right place to celebrate! Thanks for the great service Gabe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Everything from the food to the service to the cocktails were amazing! They made our anniversary celebration very special. If you are in Napa, Torc cannot be missed! Great happy hour at the bar as well

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Delicious- sweet potato pakora, lobster Risotto, short ribs, halibut, all.perfect.

Tags: Organic, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fun, Tapas, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great food, superlative Wine selection. Atmosphere is fab. Not inexpensive, but is highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

This is probably one of the best - if not THE BEST - restaurant in downtown Napa. The food is always so fresh, so tasty, so pretty on the plate and just plain YUMMY! We take our guests there every time they come to Napa. The menu changes with the season with some appetizer staples that we are glad NEVER change. The staff is very attentive, friendly and efficient. GO NOW!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Top notch food and service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

It is always a perfect eating experience at Torc!!!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fun, Spicy, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The service was wonderful, a very attentive wait staff. We ate outside in a handsome rear courtyard. The wine list was small but nice and reasonably priced. A big plus was that the restaurant offered some beautiful wines by the .375l. The only miss step was the hamachi crudo, it was extremely spicy hot that all you could taste was the chilly pepper. The management was quick replace the appetizer. We had the lobster risotto and the short rip which were very well prepared.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Excellent food and service. Never disappoints! Chef Sean does amazing things with a variety of cuisine. Not to miss when you are in the Napa Valley.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Made reservations at Torc to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary during our visit to Napa. We arrived and were seated right near the entrance at a table for 4 even though we were only 2. We immediately were not pleased with the ambience and location of our table but decided to give it a shot anyway. Unfortunately, the service was perhaps the worst we've ever experienced for this caliber of restaurant - our server was literally expressionless, did not smile, engage in conversation or make us feel welcome whatsoever. Food was mediocre for the price, we ordered the rib eye steak for 2 which took 40 minutes to prepare. It was not bad but not the best. Extremely disappointing experience and really took away from an occasion that was meant to be special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I love great food and restaurants. Torc did something that doesn't happen often: surprise me with its great food and creative dishes. Everything was just delicious and fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The restaurant temperature was very uncomfortable to properly enjoy a meal. The menu items were just OK, and our server was very inattentive. I would not recommend this restaurant; there are so many better options in the Napa area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Good food, good service, nice ambiance.
We will go back to Celadon. We ate brunch and will try lunch or dinner next!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very accommodating when we asked for a quite table and a modification to a menu item.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We celebrated two birthdays at Torc. There are many great restaurants in Napa and this one has a great location on main. The deviled eggs and Jamon Iberico were excellent appetizers. The squash blossoms were heavily breaded and we were unable to taste the squash. For our first course, we ordered the Hamachi Crudo which was not too my liking. The fish was fresh but the corn puree and popcorn overwhelmed the dish. It could have used more citrus to offset the puree. For our main courses, we ordered the pork belly, lobster risotto, and ravioli. All were very good. The portions are just right.

When the bill came our total came to $221.00 for 3 people. We asked the waitress to remove one glass of wine which was not to my mothers liking and she asked for a different wine after one sip which the waitress said would not be a problem. When the waitress returned with the bill the total was $235.00. The waitress stated that she removed the glass of wine but "updated" our bill with the corkage fee. Really? Did we offend her by asking her to remove the glass of wine? In my 46 years, this has never happened to me. Very strange and left a bad taste after a nice dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 1, 2017

My wife and I shared the New York steak for two and it was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Torch has a wonderful and quiet rear patio which makes it a delightful place to enjoy great food. Every dish were ordered was well plated and delicious

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This place never disappoints and always provides something new in Taste and presentation. We had the three-course fixed price menu with wine pairing for $64 per person. What a bargain! The service is impeccable And friendly.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Wasn't the best idea for a large group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.