About Torc

1140 Main Street
Napa, CA 94599
View Larger Map

TORC is a contemporary, high-energy American restaurant with global influences. A local gathering place to meet up with friends and catch up on news and events, TORC exudes a spirit of community.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wed-Mon 5:00pm-9:30pm
*Closed Tuesdays*

Cross Street:
Pearl St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 252-3292

Website:
http://www.torcnapa.com/

Entertainment:
Open Kitchen

Parking Details:
Two public parking lots, one directly behind restaurant and one directly in front. There is various street spaces available around the block. There is no time limit on weekends and holidays. Parking is limited, and can take a while to find spots especially on weekends.

Executive Chef:
Sean O'Toole

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tara Newman & Shaya Bryant can be contacted at events@torcnapa.com

Private Dining

TORC is a contemporary, high-energy American restaurant with global influences. A local gathering place to meet up with friends and catch up on news and events, TORC exudes a spirit of community.

Torc Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (40)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Notable Wine List (28)
Special Occasion (27)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Local Ingredients (20)
Romantic (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Open Kitchen (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Seasonal (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Fun (10)
Authentic (9)
Casual (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Business Meals (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Private Room (6)
Organic (5)
Cozy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
647 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The appetizers were very average, and al ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

The appetizers were very average, and also the cod. I'd expect more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Spectacular, the food and the service wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Spectacular, the food and the service was simply spectacular

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We appreciated the great service and won ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

We appreciated the great service and wonderful input from Gabriel for our dinner selection. We opted for the prefix dinner and wine pairing dinner as well as the appetizers pankora and jamon. Service was well orcastrated with the setting of each plate. Thanks for making our dinner experience memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow. What a killer place. If I was a loc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Wow. What a killer place. If I was a local, I'd eat here 3-4x a week. Top top notch :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Third time hear. Never disappoints

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Third time hear. Never disappoints

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Extremely busy Valentine's Day dinner. M ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

Extremely busy Valentine's Day dinner. Multiple choices for each course(and all looked good) and nice portions that had us full prior to dessert, but couldn't pass on the dessert options either. Service was excellent as was every food dish, and we never felt rushed. Well done by the entire operation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a memorable Valentine's Day dinne ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a memorable Valentine's Day dinner for my wife and me. Four wonderful courses elegantly presented.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambience but food very average.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice ambience but food very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food is consistently well-prepared. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food is consistently well-prepared. Not a large menu but there is a section of less-than-entree size dishes that we appreciated. The weekends are pretty full with the young, noisy crowd so we tend to favor weeknights. We appreciate their corkage policy: buy a bottle and bring a bottle for free corkage---very fair and almost unique in Napa Valley.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was good, but not as special as we ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was good, but not as special as we expected. We sat at a small table among a group of other people - very crowded and no privacy. It took a while for someone to greet us and take our order - the staff were very busy and always on the move. Very good at filling the water glasses, but felt like they didnt even acknowledge we were there. No personal attention - more like a well-oiled machine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Torc is becoming a favorite of ours in t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Torc is becoming a favorite of ours in the Napa Valley. The service and food never disappoint!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Simply wonderful!! My sister and I took ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Simply wonderful!! My sister and I took our mother for her 80th birthday for dinner! Everything was wonderful! I am a vegetarian and easily found things on the menu to accommodate me and my mom and sister had seafood dishes. All fantastic. 😃

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought the food and drinks were great ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I thought the food and drinks were great but the service just wasn't what I would expect from a restaurant of this stature. The waiter was inattentive and made a couple poor humored remarks about the guests sitting next to us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Very good service, good wine pairings w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very good service, good wine pairings with the courses

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Impeccable service and very knowledgable ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Impeccable service and very knowledgable, friendly staff. Food was amazing! Highly recommend.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing tuna tartare. Marco is the best! ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Amazing tuna tartare. Marco is the best!

They play great music and all the flavors of the food are dialed in just right

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was well presented, but faltered on ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food was well presented, but faltered on the important notches- fish was fishy, side dishes were over salted. The best dish was artichoke velouté. Everything else was truly disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was outstanding. No doubt it is ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food was outstanding. No doubt it is one of the better meals in Napa.

I think they were understaffed for a Wednesday night and our poor server was running all over the room. We were asked for our beverage order when we ordered food, but asked for an extra moment to make a decision. They never came back to ask for our order. After our first course, we waived someone down and ordered the wine.

They make their own gelato and sorbet in house which was very tasty. We asked if we could get one order with two different flavors. The serve said he would check and was unable to so we had to pay for two orders so we could try both flavors. We could tell the ice creams were pre-scooped and held in the freezer because there were large pieces of ice on the plate. After spending $100 on a half bottle of champagne it seemed petty to be charged for two ice creams and not be able to have half and half. Nonetheless it was a fantastic experience and would highly recommend it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service, very good food.

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great service, very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy the food and music at To ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We always enjoy the food and music at Torc. Phil requested Torc for his birthday dinner. The food was delicious; the music was just enough blues; and the server gave excellent recommendations for what to order. We had a great time!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great, distinct though nuanced flavors a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great, distinct though nuanced flavors and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience at TORC was decidedly mix ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Our experience at TORC was decidedly mixed - the catchword, however, is "overpriced." My Lobster risotto was excellent, but the salad and dessert were underwhelming. Servers were friendly and well-coordinated, and we enjoyed the surroundings for the most part, but the music was quite intrusively loud, which seemed odd in a spot that seems to be going for a fine dining vibe. We're unlikely to return, and will tell others they can do as well for far less money in downtown Napa.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Everything is just great! Got a good tab ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Everything is just great! Got a good table. The dishes we had are all divine! From the deviled eggs, lobster risotto, lumache, to the champagne and the cheeses. We got a signed menu from the chef despite his busy schedule in the kitchen. And to too it all of... he came to meet us in person before we left the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all found the food quality has droppe ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We all found the food quality has dropped significantly. Flavors did not pop and nothing really wowed us in contrast too many prior visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We went there for my husband's birthday. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We went there for my husband's birthday. We are both vegetarians. Our server was AMAZING and walked through the menu to tell us all the veg options. They make everything fresh so they can accommodate all dietary restrictions. The wait staff was attentive. We got the following: pakora, deviled eggs, Brussels sprouts, risotto, ravioli and chocolate cake. It is a little on the pricey side and portions and not huge but I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was ok and the ambiance was fin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was ok and the ambiance was fine. However, for what it was, the prices were very high and the waiter was very pushy trying to sell us whatever was most expensive. This restaurant would be great if they lowered the prices a bit, but Napa has many many choices and this wasn't worth what they are charging. $34 for a little bowl of pasta? Bottles of wine up to $5000? If I'm gonna spend that kind of money on wine, it will certainly be at a more special restaurant that this. Get over yourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Went to Torc last Saturday, food was out ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went to Torc last Saturday, food was outstanding! The lobster risotto was outstanding as was the ling cod with the sage brown butter- melt in your mouth! Hubby had the veal sweet breads, portion was quite large for sweet breads. Handcrafted cocktails were also good and the service was great. We will be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Torc always delivers. I came with my mom ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Torc always delivers. I came with my mom and aunt who were visiting from out of town. We had a lot to eat throughout the day but stopped in for a quick bite. Our server was so sweet and very knowledgeable. As a vegetarian, I always find such great, fresh options at Torc. We had potatoes, Brussels sprouts, artichoke soup, and mushrooms and everything was made to order in the open kitchen. I've been here several times and always make it a point to stop while in Napa.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Healthy, Authentic, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We absolutely love every meal we experie ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We absolutely love every meal we experience at Torc. Always a win win place to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive but very good!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Expensive but very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Torc for New Year's Eve dinne ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to Torc for New Year's Eve dinner. It's a great restaurant and we were not disappointed with the food. The dinner was excellent--every single dish was creative, well-conceived and very tasty. We love the food at Torc but once again a bit disappointed with the service--waiter. The waiter kept us waiting to order a drink, we had to refill our wine glass throughout the evening, he kept us waiting to order an after dinner drink and to get the bill--he was very personable but seemed very distracted. The rest of the service staff were very attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Lovely New Year's Eve dinner! My boyfrie ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Lovely New Year's Eve dinner! My boyfriend and I went to celebrate the New Year and had fabulous service and incredibly delicious food. There were multiple courses and we picked mostly items we had never had before and greatly enjoyed it. It was pricy, but the quality of service and food made it worth every dollar.

We'll definitely be back for a date night dinner here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine here on Christmas eve, there wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We dine here on Christmas eve, there was a prefix dinner., 4 course for $125. Food was great except my rissoto was salty and french toast for dessert was nothing special. However, my husband enjoyed every bit of his food. Maybe I just picked the wrong food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We spotted the restaurant when driving b ...

vip
 (Amsterdam)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We spotted the restaurant when driving by during daytime, it caught my attention and interest. And when getting to the restaurant we were not disappointed.

We began with a cocktail which was really good. Shared a starter and then both of us enjoyed one of their "special" entrees served with fresh truffle.

I enjoyed my tagliatelle which was so thin and fresh, really lovely. Was it worth the $47 (or $49) because of the fresh truffle, perhaps not. But it was nice, don't get me wrong.

Service was good without being intrusive, which we appreciate.

Too bad that they did not have more local wines though. We would have enjoyed that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We started with the Iberico ham appetize ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We started with the Iberico ham appetizer and followed with the white truffle fettuccine as a main course. The food shone -- quality food that was enhanced by understated preparation rather than undone by excessive preparation. The service was at a similar level -- a sommelier who knew the menu as well as he knew the wine list and recommended thoughtful pairings. It all made for a memorable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and service. Very well ch ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Very well chosen wine list. Music was not to my liking but of more concern was the volume. If I am going to spend this much money on dinner, I would like to be able to hear my table guests and the server.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Third time to Blue Note. First time to T ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Third time to Blue Note. First time to Torc. What a GREAT discovery! Would go back again and again. Great cocktails, fantastic food, and superb service! Nice pricing to make this 5+ on my Napa dining list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, , Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife's pasta dish and sautéed mushroo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My wife's pasta dish and sautéed mushrooms on my sons shirt ribs were salty...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Unfortunately we were unable to use our ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Unfortunately we were unable to use our Open Table gift card as this restaurant wasn't listed as one of the choices in Napa. The manager even tried but to no avail. We were celebrating our anniversary but the seating was too close where you couldn't help but overhear conversations of nearby patrons. I wouldn't consider this a romantic spot but better for groups of friends. The meal was good but a bit spendy. We did enjoy a small complimentary sorbet courtesy of our waiter and the manager.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was great as was the service. T ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was great as was the service. The ambiance is lovely too.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.