About Torc

1140 Main Street
Napa, CA 94599
View Larger Map

TORC is a contemporary, high-energy American restaurant with global influences. A local gathering place to meet up with friends and catch up on news and events, TORC exudes a spirit of community.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wed-Mon 5:00pm-9:30pm
*Closed Tuesdays*

Cross Street:
Pearl St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 252-3292

Website:
http://www.torcnapa.com/

Entertainment:
Open Kitchen

Parking Details:
Two public parking lots, one directly behind restaurant and one directly in front. There is various street spaces available around the block. There is no time limit on weekends and holidays. Parking is limited, and can take a while to find spots especially on weekends.

Executive Chef:
Sean O'Toole

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tara Newman & Shaya Bryant can be contacted at events@torcnapa.com

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Torc will exclusively offer a 4 course menu with 4 choices per course for $125 per person with an optional wine pairing available. Pricing is before sales tax and 20% service charge. Credit card is required for all reservations. Any changes/cancellation within 48 hours incur $125 per person charge.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Torc will exclusively offer a 4 course menu with 3 choices per course for $145 per person with an optional wine pairing available. Pricing is before sales tax and 20% service charge. Credit card is required for all reservations. Any changes/cancellation within 48 hours incur $145 per person charge.

Private Dining

TORC is a contemporary, high-energy American restaurant with global influences. A local gathering place to meet up with friends and catch up on news and events, TORC exudes a spirit of community.

Torc Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Napa ›

Fit for Foodies (53)
Good for a Date (41)
Creative Cuisine (39)
See All
Notable Wine List (33)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Local Ingredients (29)
Modern Decor (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Fun (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Romantic (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Open Kitchen (12)
Casual (12)
Business Meals (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Seasonal (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Bar Seating (10)
People Watching (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Cozy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Organic (7)
Authentic (7)
Healthy (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Private Room (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
601 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were excited to try Torc. We arrived ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

We were excited to try Torc. We arrived early, andwere greeted & seated by a smiling hostess.

The open table app had rated it $$. Looking at the menu, this was not true for us. Chicken for 2 $52? The starters pricey, and not enough to share. Cocktails smallish and over $10. This is a trend I realize, but the value isn't there. After perusing the menu, we just decided to leave. I like the idea of truly gourmet food, but I feel the menu should also offer some value options.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Once again, Torc presented excellent mea ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Once again, Torc presented excellent meals along with excellent service. The owner even stopped by. The wine list was comprehensive and we tried a new Zin for us, Outpost, which was excellent. The short ribs and pork chops we're first rate. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Was better than we expected. The food an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Was better than we expected. The food and food choices were great and the service outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place in Napa!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great place in Napa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

All very tasty and wonderful. It was bee ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

All very tasty and wonderful. It was been a while to eat this kind of good food throughout the meal . Chicory salad was one of the best salad we had, 2 pasta( I forgot the name) dishes were excellent. black bass was very good. We will go back and highly recommend it to any foodie.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was great, our waiter did an amazin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was great, our waiter did an amazing job explaining the menu and pairing drinks with dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food, great atmosphere, impres ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fantastic food, great atmosphere, impressive wine selection and recommendations - and the service was nothing short of outstanding!!!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third meal at Torc (first tw ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

This was my third meal at Torc (first two I enjoyed) in quite some time. The salads were fine. The ravioli portion was very small leaving my guest hungry. My halibut was fine, although again a small portion, however the side was a mismash of peppers and disappointing. Overall small portions,mediocre food and over priced. Perhaps we just ordered the wrong dishes....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Okay, but slightly disappointing. Recei ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Okay, but slightly disappointing. Received very poor seating in a busy area with other options available. Service was rushed (two courses came at once) before we could correct. Food is above average, but not on top tier with other choices in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Wonderful! Attentive wait staff, melt i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wonderful! Attentive wait staff, melt in your mouth short ribs, uniquely delicious potato soup ( not your mothers purée)' and light and airy ricotta ravioli. Open kitchen was a performance in itself with the constant movement of the chefs. Next time in Napa this is a must.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a terrific time. Klarissa was ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a terrific time. Klarissa was our server and she was delightful. The wine list is amazing, and the food was perfect.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Chef O'Toole is very creative. All of t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Chef O'Toole is very creative. All of the ingredients he uses are fresh, local mostly, and the flavors he obtains from the unusual combinations is heavenly. Of course, he changes his menu with the seasons to use ingredients in their prime. We like to dine there whenever we go to Napa. It's excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Private Room, Healthy, Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Do think twice if you are looking at the ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Do think twice if you are looking at the short rib, it's the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looking for a quiet, romantic, candlelit ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Looking for a quiet, romantic, candlelit dinner for 2? This isn't the place for you. Looking for a fun, energetic upbeat location , yet still a great place to take a date or a spouse, or gather with friends, then there's no place better! Super friendly staff who make you feel welcomed the minute you walk in. Amazing food, great service, fun ambiance!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner. The menu was interesting, ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great dinner. The menu was interesting, the service was great. The wine list pretty good and not over priced. Squab was terrific. The halibut was delicious. We liked the vibe of the restaurant. Overall, a great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, good wine and a great atmosph ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Good food, good wine and a great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The service at Torc was the best I have ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The service at Torc was the best I have experienced in my 20 adult years of dining at fine restaurants. Truly exceptional! The food was some of the best I have had as well. The flavors were complex but not confusing. Perfect evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the creative menu and variety of d ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Loved the creative menu and variety of dishes offered. Beef tongue was delicious as an appetizer and main courses were great. Wine list is reasonable and priced well. Service was good even though our main server was also bar tending. Enjoyed the open kitchen concept as was fascinating to watch the food prep.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service! Only issue was s ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food and service! Only issue was showing up for reservation on time and being asked to wait at an overcrowded bar for our table- yet several empty tables were available. Caused a bit of a commotion and host did not handle well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I think they advertise available reserva ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I think they advertise available reservations to fill up seats at the bar. There were 4 couples who had the same experience and were told they could eat at the bar because no tables were available. We waited 30 minutes and were consistently told we were next to be seated but others came in off the street and got seated while we waited.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

By far, one of the best restaurants in t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

By far, one of the best restaurants in the Napa Valley!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined with my spouse Thursday, Nov. 3rd ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Dined with my spouse Thursday, Nov. 3rd @7pm. Seating very close with other tables; very noisy and service below normal servicing standards. Shared Prime Rib stead for two and meat was very fat/grisly and extremely tough. Could not cut the meat successfully even with a steak knife! Wine was quite expensive even for a Napa city location restaurant. Dish served with condiments spread over the fat/grisly parts. Manager provide another meal. Also, the wait time for the replacement meal was excessive ( 25 mins + ).

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Torc never disappoints. Great food and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Torc never disappoints. Great food and a friendly/professional staff. Good place for locals and tourists. This is a place we never have to think twice about going for a good meal. It gets pretty packed on Friday and Saturday nights, so be sure to make a reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a most enjoyable dinner at Torc. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We had a most enjoyable dinner at Torc. We felt the price was very reasonable considering the quality of the food which was excellent. The service was top notich

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This meal really didn't live up to expec ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This meal really didn't live up to expectations. EVERYTHING needed salt -- and I'm not a 'salter' (I might salt something in a restaurant once every two or three years). The panzanella needed salt, the short ribs needed salt, the fish needed salt, yada yada. The waitstaff was OK - rather sluggish. The cocktails were fine. Very mediocre.

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Perfect night from the greeting when we ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Perfect night from the greeting when we first walked in to the very last bite . Everything was delicious, so fresh and tasty. Torc never disappoints. Service was top notch. Seasonal offerings were prepared to perfection. Can't wait to go back. Oh and the seasonal cocktails were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Marginal food, slow service, over air co ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Marginal food, slow service, over air conditioned on a cold and

Rainy night .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great cocktails, wine and the food is al ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great cocktails, wine and the food is always special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gabe was our server and he made the expe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Gabe was our server and he made the experience memorable. Great personality, thoughtful and efficient. Food was great! Enjoyed our entire dinning experience immensely. We will be back.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place does not disappoint!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This place does not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful as always! Thank You for the s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful as always! Thank You for the special truffle pasta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a dependable and well-prepared an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always a dependable and well-prepared and served dinner venue. Unquestionably one of the best dining experiences in theNapa Valley. Highest recommendation!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really wonderful. Each dish was deliciou ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Really wonderful. Each dish was delicious. We loved the shisito peppers, Jamon Iberico, and the risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic service and great food lead to ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Fantastic service and great food lead to a fantastic dinner w friends. I have been to Torc a handful of times and You can count on Torc for consistently great food. While a bit pricey, it is the best option in downtown Napa for Modern Cali cuisine. My one complaint from this visit is the wine list and truffles. The wine list is ridiculously expensive. Many Napa restaurants keep their prices low to promote buying off of the wine list and not bringing your own bottle in. We ended up buying by the glass and they lost a bottle purchase. Secondly, having truffles on the menu is great, but it seemed to dominate the menu. It felt like an upsell.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

THis place is consistently good. And the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

THis place is consistently good. And the service is truly out of this world and by far the best in Napa. The entire staff is nice, flexible, and accommodating. We wanted to change table and it was no problem. Two minutes and a smile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was AMAZING! Some of the best d ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was AMAZING! Some of the best dishes I've had in a while, and the cocktails were good too. The manager was very attentive, and we even got a sneak peak of Conan O'Brien (unplanned)! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was very good but tables for two we ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Food was very good but tables for two were ungodly close to each other

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

I LOVE Torc. The team is amazingly dedic ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

I LOVE Torc. The team is amazingly dedicated to making sure your night is enjoyable. The food is fresh and amazing. I come here once a week and won't stop til they cut me off. Thanks for always making it memorable!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our salad and appetizer, the lobster ris ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our salad and appetizer, the lobster risotto, was great. Unfortunately the "crispy" pork belly was anything but crispy...the skin was crisp, but the meat was a gelatinous goo of unrendered pork fat that was inedible. The service was great. Location was great. Just really disappointed in the main course, especially given the cost of downtown Napa restaurants. Would not recommend the pork at all!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was great and quick. Food was de ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Service was great and quick. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.