Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi

About TOPPER'S Restaurant at The Wauwinet

TOPPER`S is able to offer an elegant dining experience in our cozy dining room. Restaurant guests who prefer a more casual experience are invited to enjoy dining on our awning-covered, heated deck. The lower patio is perfect for relaxing with a cocktail overlookiing TOPPER`S garden and the Head of the Harbor. The sunsets are stunning. These outdoor areas are ideal to fully appreciate the tranquility and the magnificent setting of the inn.
TOPPER’S is located at The Wauwinet, the only Relais & Châteaux property on Nantucket. Winner of the Wine Spectator Grand Award for many years, TOPPER’S is known for it`s culinay standards and service standards, on-site herb garden, and innovative use of the freshest local ingredients guarantee an unforgettable dining experience. Visitors without vehicles can take The Wauwinet Jitney from Federal Street in downtown Nantucket, or enjoy a complimentary boat ride on The Wauwinet Lady which launches from The White Elephant Hotel

120 Wauwinet Road
Nantucket, MA 02554
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:8.00-10.30(We suggest for breakfast) Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 6:00pm - 9:30pm; Brunch: 11.30am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 228-8768

Website:
http://www.toppersrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of Space.

Public Transit:
Nantucket Town is nine miles from The Wauwinet. The inn provides complimentary jitney service 12 times daily from 9 AM to 11 PM. We pick up from the Information Bureau on Federal Street, we also pick up from the White Elephant Hotel from 6.00pm-8.00pm on the hour.

Executive Chef:
Kyle Zachary

Private Party Facilities:
Two semi-private dining rooms are available, The Sunroom and TOPPER'S. Please call for availability.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Manager: (508) 228-8768 ext. 6501

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wauwinet Lady will start running daily from the White Elephant for lunch and dinner beginning June 27th.

TOPPER'S Restaurant at The Wauwinet Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

NotableWineList (10)
SpecialOccasions (9)
CreativeCuisine (9)
See All
ScenicView (9)
Anniversaries (7)
GoodForDates (7)
Waterfront (6)
OutdoorDining (6)
TastingMenu (6)
QuietConversation (6)
Romance (6)
Foodies (5)
Lunch (4)
WorthTheDrive (4)
LocalIngredients (4)
Cozy (3)
Birthdays (3)
Healthy (2)
Authentic (2)
SundayLunch (1)
HandcraftedCocktails (1)
PrePostTheatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Groups (1)
VegetarianOptions (1)
NeighborhoodGem (1)
Casual (1)
GlutenFree (1)
Sort By:
S
300 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a fantastic Father's Day brunch. Jerome, our server, was wonderful and he and Igor, the sommelier, truly made our experience delightful. We happened to also be seated at "The Chefs Table" and it was the perfect spot. Cheers!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Chef is in a league of his own .
Staff is genuine , attentive .
Dining room is elegant and inviting .

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Elegant and romantic setting, excellent waitstaff service combined with a truly outstanding gourmet menu perfectly prepared and served all combined to make for an unforgettable twentieth anniversary celebration...another repeat of our honeymoon experience at this same restaurant. Thank you Toppers!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Outstanding service. Chef's tasting menu & wine pairings were excellent & interesting. Worth the price.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This is the best restaurant for sunsets on the island. They have an amazing outdoor seating area and a wonderful place to sit on lawn chairs and watch the sunset. The food matches the amazing view with outstanding selections of seafood, steaks and pork. This is a cannot miss on the island and during prime summer season you can take a boat from the White Elephant to the restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great service, Haut Cuisine!
Each dish was a visual and gastronomical work of art.
Dining highlight of the year.
Thank you

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Beneath the elaboration it has to be said that the food we were served was rather bland. Verbally interesting, yes, well presented yes, but bland bland bland. And my duck breast had the consistency of rubber.

It's a shame. Everything was fine with our evening apart from the food! Service/decor/ambience were terrific, but the food just did not match its surroundings.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My husband and I live on the island year round and we look forward to going to Topper's every year for our anniversary. The food is delicious and beautifully plated, the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable, and the view is spectacular. Our server, Marina, was very friendly and she was able to answer all of our questions about the menu. My husband and I both got the chef's choice (a 6 course prefix) along with a half dozen local oysters. This is, by far, the best meal on Nantucket. Eating here is always such an amazing dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Wonderful meal in a lovely setting. If on Nantucket will definitely return. PS it was Dine Nantucket week and we ate off special menu which was a super bargain!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food at Toppers is outstanding. I just wish they would have let me know when I made my reservation that the Dining Room was closed for a private event. As a result, we sat on the rather chilly patio at a wooden table with no linens except a napkins, no flowers, etc. It wasn't the ambience I was counting on for a $400 meal. The restaurant had just opened for the season and it was quite evident the staff was still getting up to speed. Back to the food - except for dessert (what WAS that green rubber on the Lime and the Coconut dessert?!?!) - the food was sublime. Highly recommend Toppers (when the dining room is open).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Table and wine service great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was wonderful. Always a favorite spot when on Nantucket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Received a very good wine recommendation. Every part of the meal was extra special with excitingly different tastes and textures. Chef pesented 2 surprise treats which is appreciated as well as yummy. Atmosphere was intimate but somehow open at the same time as we enjoyed having light conversation with other guests. Service was perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent food as always but understaffed during the last weekend of the season. Waited 20 minutes to get a bottle of wine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food was good, but for the price, nothing special. My dissatisfaction stems from the fact that the day we went they only had a limited menu, not their normal menu. It was towards the end of the season, and they were closing is a week or so, so they had gone to a limited menu. All that is fine and understandable. However, I only found out about it when I was given the menu at the restaurant and asked. No advance communication.

I fine this really unacceptable, particularly because after I made our reservation on Open Table, I received two e-mails from the restaurant telling me that I had to cancel by a certain point in time or I faced a cancellation fee! In neither of these direct communications from the restaurant did they care to inform me that it was the end of the season and there would be a limited menu.

I have been to this restaurant in the past and liked it. So we decided to go there for our anniversary. Had I known there would be a limited menu, I would have made other plans for our special occasion. When I found out while sitting at our table I had no other options.

Very disappointing from such an establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Celebrated our sons 12th bday. His finest dining experience to date.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Toppers porch is a lovely, cheery dining spot, even if it rains and one cannot walk out to view the water. We love to take house guests. The food is well flavored with wonderful options

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront, Casual, Notable Wine List, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Since there was a party inside the dining room, we were seated on the porch without a white tablecloth. The staff was lovely. I feel I should have been for-warned that my glass of chardonnay was $24. We had a wonderful meal. It was a special evening.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The service was terrible. The Sommelier was not interested in my merely $81 bottle of wine. He scowled at me and when I asked to have a decanter, he did not open the bottle in front of me and allow me to taste it. Instead, he walked away with the bottle, opening it as he walked. He came back with the entire bottle of wine decanted. He poured my taste from the decanted bottle. I do believe the wine was truly what I ordered but not for sure since I did not get the tasting directly from the opened bottle. The water glasses were never kept full. The food was average at best. For this price point and supposedly quality of restaurant, I would expect superior service. The check took way too long. We requested it twice and had to find the server to bring it. My husband and I were there with another couple both celebrating our 25th anniversaries. We have dined a lot and know good service and good food. This was not it! Do not waste your time, or money going there. We went to Martha's Vineyard the next day to Covington's, a restaurant half the price point. The waitress was phenomenal. Personal and attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We had an outstanding experience as always - the food, the service and the whole dining experience is wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 26, 2016

A special occasion luncheon. Great food, service and ambience. Best during nice weather to enjoy views of water. Prices are very high but worthy of special occasionally

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Too overpriced. Ambience was antiquated. Service was exceptional. Boat ride to restaurant from town was sublime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Pros:
1. Water taxi from the White Elephant -a must! I would do that every time! Service and experience on the boat was fantastic! They check you in for your reservation at the dock of the White Elephant. They serve cocktails during the 45 minute ride.
2. The view. Arrived 1/2 before sunset. We were able to postpone our reservation until after sunset. We sat outside on the comfortable lawn chairs, enjoyed the view and took some remarkable photos. The staff kindly took pictures of us and was attentive.
3. Our waiter was pleasant and attentive. We never felt rushed.
4. We were offered and accepted complimentary appetizer bites.
5. Free shuttle back to town.

Cons:
1. We chose the "fixe prix" option. Which we found out you get smaller portions than if you ordered the items separately. Our dinners were cold and puny. Large delicious looking steaks were flying by as we were seated just outside the kitchen. If you go, get the steak.
2. The shuttle was late do we were freezing outside waiting for it. It's first come first serve on the shuttle so you have to stick it out at the curb.
3. The price. So overpriced.

We would go again but not for dinner., just the water taxi and cocktails.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Food was very good, room setting was extremely nice, but the service was not up to par. Had to ask for items twice, and one main course was not as ordered. They overcharged me, and when asked about it, they offered to have me (not them) look at the menu. I declined, but later did so, and I was correct. They adjusted the bill. Fair service ruins good food IMO. I would not go back, but I feel confident that if people had good service to go with the good food, it would be a most enjoyable meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Toppers was a very beautiful place with the ocean right out the window. Enjoyed the setting very much. Thought the food wonderful with the exception of the lobster. It was not as tender as should have been. My companions loved their food. The wine list is extensive and they have a great list of half bottles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Toppers is the best restaurant on Nantucket! It's exceptional in every way.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Honestly, both my wife and I felt that this restaurant was a bit "over the top" in terms of pretentiousness even by Nantucket standards. And the food, although OK, was not "over the top" as far as we were concerned.

The Bananas Foster dessert was extremely disappointing... not anythging close to a traditional recipe at all. Three quarter-sized slices of banana, nothing heated or caramelized in any way and about $17 for that!

Sorry, but at least with our meal, Topper's was a swing and miss!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 30, 2016

This was a special dinner for our daughter's 29th birthday; it was a beautiful night and we arrived early and had champagne cocktails at the bar before dinner. The chef left a note for my daughter wishing her a wonderful birthday and also a special dessert. Everything was perfect except when it was time to order wine; my husband selected a bottle and the sommelier asked for my daughter's ID. She wasn't asked at the bar and she didn't have her bag with her....left it in the car and we explained that to the sommelier but he said she had to go get it and was very unfriendly about it. This totally put a damper on the evening....she did trek to the car( not close if you are with this place) and then was served her glass of white wine.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was mostly excellent, although I had the foie gras appetizer and found that the accompanying bread overpowered the delicate taste of the pate. It was some kind of spicy / gingerbread. I left it and selected a more neutral bread from the breadbasket

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Amazing view, great service, memorable night - but average food

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was very professional. Our server was the best , friendly and professional

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Nice place, but not worth the high prices it charges. Service was slow, it took us 2.5 hours to complete our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Extremely elegant but over-priced. My husband and I went here for a special occasion and found Topper's was a tad too stiff and the food slightly underwhelming for the prices. Maybe we've been spoiled by so many restaurants that strike the perfect note of elegant but welcoming, and with truly "wow" food. For all of our dishes, from the appetizers to the desserts, they were all very good, but none of them made us say "this is outstanding." And with a dinner for two that comes in around a $300, you expect "wow." It also didn't help that we were in an unideal table location, but that's secondary.

Overall, you may go and have a wonderful experience, but you've been warned that it might just be okay, or very good food, but the prices don't reflect that.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Lovely setting. Very good food - excellent service. You can't beat the sunset at Topper's - beautiful. We have had many anniversary dinners here over 36 years of marriage - Topper's never disappoints.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2016

This is truly one of finest restaurants in the world, and certainly the best in Nantucket. The ambiance, service and cuisine is remarkable and consistently great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Worst so-called "fine dining" experience ever. Appetizer of "sushi" salmon was four weak tasteless slices with such tiny dollops of horseradish sauce it could have not been there. The halibut was over cooked, tough and bland and whosever idea it was to "garnish" it with three boiled new potatoes and three miniature ears of corn should go back to cooking school as not even the local diner would want him/her. Finally, the pedestal table was unbalanced and tipped over in my lap, spilling my wine over my white pants and white jacket. The exorbitant prices are totally unjustifiable. There are a dozen other restaurants of fine dining in Nantucket that put this place to shame. Avoid at all costs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 16, 2016

My husband and I reserved a table for our wedding anniversary in August at Toppers, having had a wonderful dinner during a prior stay at the Wauwinet. We're not exactly sure why the evening went the way it did but, suffice it to say, it did not go well from the beginning. After ordering drinks, we received them 35 minutes afterword, ice melted. My husband was interested in a filet which Toppers does not offer. Then a strange discussion with the server ensued regarding how a filet mignon and tenderloin, a strip and sirloin all come from the same muscle, "...just a different cut." Well...we knew that wasn't the case having dined on meats worldwide
. My husband opted for the sirloin and found it tasteless and tough. I ordered the halibut which, if seasoned, would have been less bland. My husband's Bananas Foster (a misnomer, it's not flambéed) was awful. At the end of the dinner, when asked by the sommelier how our meal was, we began to describe what we thought, which clearly was not welcome. No constructive criticism for these folks. So all in all, not a good experience and one we will not recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service was slow....food was not that good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Delightful food, lovely servers, superb wine. A special night on Nantucket!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 11, 2016

I was surprised by two aspects of our dinner. The service was friendly but inconsistent. After taking our drink order, we waited quite a long time to be told about the specials and waited quite a bit more to order. Secondly, the entree portions, other than the halibut, were meager. On a positive note, the gazpacho was both delicious and served in a whimsical manner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.