About TOPPER'S Restaurant at The Wauwinet

120 Wauwinet Road
Nantucket, MA 02554
View Larger Map

TOPPER`S is able to offer an elegant dining experience in our cozy dining room. Restaurant guests who prefer a more casual experience are invited to enjoy dining on our awning-covered, heated deck. The lower patio is perfect for relaxing with a cocktail overlookiing TOPPER`S garden and the Head of the Harbor. The sunsets are stunning. These outdoor areas are ideal to fully appreciate the tranquility and the magnificent setting of the inn.
TOPPER’S is located at The Wauwinet, the only Relais & Châteaux property on Nantucket. Winner of the Wine Spectator Grand Award for many years, TOPPER’S is known for it`s culinay standards and service standards, on-site herb garden, and innovative use of the freshest local ingredients guarantee an unforgettable dining experience. Visitors without vehicles can take The Wauwinet Jitney from Federal Street in downtown Nantucket, or enjoy a complimentary boat ride on The Wauwinet Lady which launches from The White Elephant Hotel

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:8.00-10.30(We suggest for breakfast) Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 6:00pm - 9:30pm; Brunch: 11.30am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 228-8768

Website:
http://www.toppersrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of Space.

Public Transit:
Nantucket Town is nine miles from The Wauwinet. The inn provides complimentary jitney service 12 times daily from 9 AM to 11 PM. We pick up from the Information Bureau on Federal Street, we also pick up from the White Elephant Hotel from 6.00pm-8.00pm on the hour.

Executive Chef:
Kyle Zachary

Private Party Facilities:
Two semi-private dining rooms are available, The Sunroom and TOPPER'S. Please call for availability.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Manager: 5082288768x6501

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wauwinet Lady will start running daily from the White Elephant for lunch and dinner beginning June 27th.

Restaurant Photos

  • Halibut With Pepper-Sundried Tomato Coulis And Squid Ink Aioli Potatoes
  • Lobster Entree
  • Wauwinet-ini
  • Scallops
  • Bordeaux
  • Sturgeon
  • Foie
  • #pbj.
  • Egg
Halibut With Pepper-Sundried Tomato Coulis And Squid Ink Aioli Potatoes
Lobster Entree
Wauwinet-ini
Scallops
Bordeaux
Sturgeon
Foie
#pbj.
Egg

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 6:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

TOPPER'S Restaurant at The Wauwinet Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Service
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Ambiance
Cape Cod and the Islands
2 More
Contemporary American
Cape Cod and the Islands
Most Booked
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Restaurants in Nantucket ›

Scenic View (28)
Special Occasion (23)
Romantic (21)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Sort By:
Newest
254 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent and the service w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was very professional. Our server was the best , friendly and professional

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, but not worth the high pri ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Nice place, but not worth the high prices it charges. Service was slow, it took us 2.5 hours to complete our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Extremely elegant but over-priced. My hu ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Extremely elegant but over-priced. My husband and I went here for a special occasion and found Topper's was a tad too stiff and the food slightly underwhelming for the prices. Maybe we've been spoiled by so many restaurants that strike the perfect note of elegant but welcoming, and with truly "wow" food. For all of our dishes, from the appetizers to the desserts, they were all very good, but none of them made us say "this is outstanding." And with a dinner for two that comes in around a $300, you expect "wow." It also didn't help that we were in an unideal table location, but that's secondary.

Overall, you may go and have a wonderful experience, but you've been warned that it might just be okay, or very good food, but the prices don't reflect that.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely setting. Very good food - excell ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Lovely setting. Very good food - excellent service. You can't beat the sunset at Topper's - beautiful. We have had many anniversary dinners here over 36 years of marriage - Topper's never disappoints.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is truly one of finest restaurants ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This is truly one of finest restaurants in the world, and certainly the best in Nantucket. The ambiance, service and cuisine is remarkable and consistently great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Worst so-called "fine dining" experience ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Worst so-called "fine dining" experience ever. Appetizer of "sushi" salmon was four weak tasteless slices with such tiny dollops of horseradish sauce it could have not been there. The halibut was over cooked, tough and bland and whosever idea it was to "garnish" it with three boiled new potatoes and three miniature ears of corn should go back to cooking school as not even the local diner would want him/her. Finally, the pedestal table was unbalanced and tipped over in my lap, spilling my wine over my white pants and white jacket. The exorbitant prices are totally unjustifiable. There are a dozen other restaurants of fine dining in Nantucket that put this place to shame. Avoid at all costs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

My husband and I reserved a table for ou ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

My husband and I reserved a table for our wedding anniversary in August at Toppers, having had a wonderful dinner during a prior stay at the Wauwinet. We're not exactly sure why the evening went the way it did but, suffice it to say, it did not go well from the beginning. After ordering drinks, we received them 35 minutes afterword, ice melted. My husband was interested in a filet which Toppers does not offer. Then a strange discussion with the server ensued regarding how a filet mignon and tenderloin, a strip and sirloin all come from the same muscle, "...just a different cut." Well...we knew that wasn't the case having dined on meats worldwide

. My husband opted for the sirloin and found it tasteless and tough. I ordered the halibut which, if seasoned, would have been less bland. My husband's Bananas Foster (a misnomer, it's not flambéed) was awful. At the end of the dinner, when asked by the sommelier how our meal was, we began to describe what we thought, which clearly was not welcome. No constructive criticism for these folks. So all in all, not a good experience and one we will not recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Service was slow....food was not that go ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service was slow....food was not that good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Delightful food, lovely servers, superb ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Delightful food, lovely servers, superb wine. A special night on Nantucket!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was surprised by two aspects of our di ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I was surprised by two aspects of our dinner. The service was friendly but inconsistent. After taking our drink order, we waited quite a long time to be told about the specials and waited quite a bit more to order. Secondly, the entree portions, other than the halibut, were meager. On a positive note, the gazpacho was both delicious and served in a whimsical manner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

There certainly aren't many settings tha ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

There certainly aren't many settings that can top Toppers, on the west-facing shore of the bay, with a great sunset view (though it gets bright in the eyes of anyone facing that direction in the outdoor dining area until it's down). The staff was very helpful, and while our primary server was AWOL much of the night (our only negative comment about this) the rest of the staff filled in so seamlessly that if I wasn't paying attention I wouldn't have even realized it. The chef did a great job creating vegan options for us as well, and all the food was splendid.

We were unable to catch the water shuttle over because seating is very limited and we didn't now about it until it was too late, but they have a very nice shuttle van that goes back and forth from town every hour on the hour from downtown and returns every hour on the half hour from the resort.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Indoor dining room is too stuffy. While ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Indoor dining room is too stuffy. While it is the same restaurant as the outdoor dining there were two separate menus. There were 40% of the tables open in the outdoor area, but we were told that they could not seat us there...??????

Outdoor area looks amazing and the indoor dining is overly formal.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

The waiter was distracted. We came in fo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The waiter was distracted. We came in for a late reservation (9:00) and he didn't come to the table for the first 15 minutes. Then when we ordered drinks we gave up after another 10 minutes and flagged the sommelier who was great. He brought the drinks and apologized and took them off our bill. We did the tasting menu and wine pairing. The sommelier was great throughout and made up for the waiter. The food was fine but not worth all the hype. We also went to The Pearl in the town square which was a way better vibe and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The menu was unappealing. There were no ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The menu was unappealing. There were no appetizers which suited us except for oysters. The price was very high for an ordinary meal at best. We had a bottle of wine, 1-appetizer, 2 mains 1- cheese plate. The wine selections was outstanding. Cocktails on the lawn looking over the sea were fantastic although the service was very slow.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

We go annually to treat ourselves! It i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We go annually to treat ourselves! It is like we are king & queen for the night! Must arrive to see the sun set before dinner! No other place like it on island. Absolutely wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding as always! We go every year ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Outstanding as always! We go every year and love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Probably the most expensive restaurant I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Probably the most expensive restaurant I have eaten at in many years. All entrees $60.00 minimum. However the food was great, service superb and ambience perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a wonderful experience at Topper' ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Topper's. The food, service and atmosphere is Fantastic. I highly recommend it. It is a special place on Nantucket to experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booked for a special occasion (birthday) ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Booked for a special occasion (birthday). From server (nicholas) to sommelied (igor) - the service was top notch and way beyond the call of duty. We were treated as special guests and had a very memorable evening. Dining room is a bit old school but good for the occasion. The tasting menu was delicious and am especially enamored w the breads made in house (spiced breads) - everything was perfect. Not cheap but most definitely worth it as youll have a special evening. Show up before sunset to watch the sun go down on the lawn while u have a predinner cocktail. Congrats to the team!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic. Beautiful location. Fabulous ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Fantastic. Beautiful location. Fabulous food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am not sure that I can write anything ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I am not sure that I can write anything else that has not been said about this restaurant. It is a special restaurant in a special location. They have not let their location or reputation go to their heads. The service and food were excellent! Expensive? Yes. But don't we all deserve it once in a while?

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I had a wonderful time ce ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful time celebrating our anniversary at Toppers. The view of the ocean was terrific, as was the food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service excellent. Food delicious.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Service excellent. Food delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, delicious food, remar ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent service, delicious food, remarkable wine list, but VERY expensive. A plus is excellent choice of half-bottles and wines by the glass, but wine prices are also extremely high. Part of that is Nantucket, but be prepared. Quality similar to the other top restaurants in Nantucket, such as Dune and American Seasons, but ambiance at Topper's is more formal and elegant, which we enjoyed. A great experience of you're willing to pay for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was creative and surprising. Atmosp ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was creative and surprising. Atmosphere a bit to formal for my taste. Overall enjoyed the dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

If you are looking for a high end, top n ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

If you are looking for a high end, top notch option in Nantucket, this is the spot. As a bonus, one of the best locations on the island to take in a beautiful sunset

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the chef's tasting menu w/ wine p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We had the chef's tasting menu w/ wine pairings--a very special experience with many great, inventive choices by the chefs and sommeliers. Make sure you come in time to see the sunset.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were excited to make a reservation fo ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were excited to make a reservation for our family (including a 3 month old baby) at Toppers for our first stop on Nantucket. After several weeks of having made a reservation we received a phone message the day of the event but were unable to retrieve it due to spotty phone coverage. So I called to confirm the reservation oand was told we were all set for the dining room. When we arrived, an incredibly rude hostess told us we were unable to be seated inside because we had an infant who would ruin everyones dining experience. We were told we had to be seated on a windy cold deck with the baby which we did not reserve. She finally relented and allowed us to be seated after we objected but it cast a shadow over the evening. The food was good but not spectacular and the bill was very high. After speaking to another guest in the restaurant near us who was also rudely treated by the pretentious hostess we agreed that this was not a place we ever wanted to revisit !!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Fabulous prix fix dinner options. The w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Fabulous prix fix dinner options. The wine list had various options depending on your budget. The server and wait staff we well atuned of your need. Very pleasant experience with great food options. Will visit the establishment again- they also have a nice lunch and brunch menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For several years, we dine at Toppers an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

For several years, we dine at Toppers and quite frequently. Overall, this was our best experience. The menu has more depth (not the same old), creativity and variety. The food was better prepared, presented well and tasty. The service was more engaging and personable. And as always, the ambiance was lovely. We will definitely let our friends know Toppers has "upped their game!"

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We found the menu very limited with very ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We found the menu very limited with very little that attracted are interest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Second time my wife and I have celebrate ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Second time my wife and I have celebrated our anniversary there and we couldn't have asked for a better and more romantic dinner. The staff is so friendly and helpful, and food is amazing and the restaurant is gorgeous. In the middle of dinner, our waiter asked us if we wanted to go out and see the sunset over the ocean, the held the dinner up for us and let us go outside and view one of the most beautiful sunsets. It was truly a very special night and so happy we could share it with Toppers again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service, food, and setting. ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Outstanding service, food, and setting. It really could NOT have been any lovelier!!!! Would return and recommend as it was remarkable food and the outside tables were relaxing . We watched the sunset and even enjoyed the rabbits hopping in the gardens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb in all respects. The staff even ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Superb in all respects. The staff even greeted me by name, despite the fact that I hadn't been to the restaurant in nearly a year. Very creative and beautiful presentations of the food, and the service could not have been better. We paid for all this -- one of the most expensive restaurants at which I have eaten -- but it was worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We returned to Toppers for restaurant week because we'd had a great dinner/experience last summer. The noise level was deafening because of a rehearsal dinner in the next room which made it difficult to converse at our table.

The appetizer which looked like a pizza (called flambe tarte) was way to much food and had we'd been told we'd have shared it with the whole table and tried other apps. Overall there was too much food....the "chef" offerings were a nice touch but added too much to the meal.

The service was top notch and most people would think too much food to be a bonus...we'd like to have sampled more things.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Once in a lifetime, I hope not

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Dining at Toppers's has been on my bucket list for many years. I was pleased to take my daughter there for dinner and not having visited Nantucket in nearly 20 years. The food, the service, the wine were impeccable.

This is what fine dining is all about.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best experience on Nantucket

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Best experience on Nantucket

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food, delightful staff, and ve ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Fantastic food, delightful staff, and very knowledgable sommelier!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Food, A Beautiful Setting

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We dined twice at Toppers during our 4 day stay at the Wauwinit Inn. The dining room is nicely decorated and we really enjoyed sitting by a roaring fire after a stormy, cold May day and rough ferry crossing. The wait staff is knowledge and nicely attentive. Our first meal was more casual and items were ordered off the Toppers Grill menu: The beet salad is outstanding. The lobster roll is very good. The freshly baked cookie dessert is delicious. The second meal was ordered from their seasonal dining menu. The quinoa and fresh vegetable salad was lovely and fresh. The halibut was served with a lemon veloutte sauce - the combination was amazing. The seaweed butter basted lobster was rich and delicious. Servings were not overly sized. Just about right (well, maybe not for someone with a huge appetite). Again, we really enjoyed the staff at the restaurant and hotel. It is pricey, but I think a restaurant that would best be enjoyed by "foodies."

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was some of the best ever. T ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

The service was some of the best ever. The restaurant was very quiet but everyone was friendly.The food was perfect staff made suggestions and they were spot on. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone on Nantucket looking for a special evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.