About TOPPER'S Restaurant at The Wauwinet

120 Wauwinet Road
Nantucket, MA 02554
View Larger Map

TOPPER`S is able to offer an elegant dining experience in our cozy dining room. Restaurant guests who prefer a more casual experience are invited to enjoy dining on our awning-covered, heated deck. The lower patio is perfect for relaxing with a cocktail overlookiing TOPPER`S garden and the Head of the Harbor. The sunsets are stunning. These outdoor areas are ideal to fully appreciate the tranquility and the magnificent setting of the inn.
TOPPER’S is located at The Wauwinet, the only Relais & Châteaux property on Nantucket. Winner of the Wine Spectator Grand Award for many years, TOPPER’S is known for it`s culinay standards and service standards, on-site herb garden, and innovative use of the freshest local ingredients guarantee an unforgettable dining experience. Visitors without vehicles can take The Wauwinet Jitney from Federal Street in downtown Nantucket, or enjoy a complimentary boat ride on The Wauwinet Lady which launches from The White Elephant Hotel

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:8.00-10.30(We suggest for breakfast) Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 6:00pm - 9:30pm; Brunch: 11.30am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 228-8768

Website:
http://www.toppersrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of Space.

Public Transit:
Nantucket Town is nine miles from The Wauwinet. The inn provides complimentary jitney service 12 times daily from 9 AM to 11 PM. We pick up from the Information Bureau on Federal Street, we also pick up from the White Elephant Hotel from 6.00pm-8.00pm on the hour.

Executive Chef:
Kyle Zachary

Private Party Facilities:
Two semi-private dining rooms are available, The Sunroom and TOPPER'S. Please call for availability.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Manager: 5082288768x6501

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wauwinet Lady will start running daily from the White Elephant for lunch and dinner beginning June 27th.

Restaurant Photos

  • Halibut With Pepper-Sundried Tomato Coulis And Squid Ink Aioli Potatoes
  • Wauwinet-ini
  • Lobster Entree
  • Scallops
  • Bordeaux
  • #pbj.
  • Egg
  • Foie
  • Sturgeon
Halibut With Pepper-Sundried Tomato Coulis And Squid Ink Aioli Potatoes
Wauwinet-ini
Lobster Entree
Scallops
Bordeaux
#pbj.
Egg
Foie
Sturgeon

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 6:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

TOPPER'S Restaurant at The Wauwinet Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Service
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Ambiance
Cape Cod and the Islands
2 More
Scenic View
Cape Cod and the Islands
Most Booked
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Restaurants in Nantucket ›

scenic view (22)
special occasion (21)
romantic (17)
See All
fit for foodies (15)
great for outdoor dining (15)
notable wine list (15)
great for lunch (8)
great for brunch (6)
good for groups (4)
hot spot (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
Sort By:
Newest
239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding as always! We go every year ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Outstanding as always! We go every year and love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Probably the most expensive restaurant I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Probably the most expensive restaurant I have eaten at in many years. All entrees $60.00 minimum. However the food was great, service superb and ambience perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a wonderful experience at Topper' ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Topper's. The food, service and atmosphere is Fantastic. I highly recommend it. It is a special place on Nantucket to experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booked for a special occasion (birthday) ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Booked for a special occasion (birthday). From server (nicholas) to sommelied (igor) - the service was top notch and way beyond the call of duty. We were treated as special guests and had a very memorable evening. Dining room is a bit old school but good for the occasion. The tasting menu was delicious and am especially enamored w the breads made in house (spiced breads) - everything was perfect. Not cheap but most definitely worth it as youll have a special evening. Show up before sunset to watch the sun go down on the lawn while u have a predinner cocktail. Congrats to the team!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic. Beautiful location. Fabulous ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Fantastic. Beautiful location. Fabulous food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am not sure that I can write anything ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I am not sure that I can write anything else that has not been said about this restaurant. It is a special restaurant in a special location. They have not let their location or reputation go to their heads. The service and food were excellent! Expensive? Yes. But don't we all deserve it once in a while?

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I had a wonderful time ce ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful time celebrating our anniversary at Toppers. The view of the ocean was terrific, as was the food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service excellent. Food delicious.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Service excellent. Food delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, delicious food, remar ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent service, delicious food, remarkable wine list, but VERY expensive. A plus is excellent choice of half-bottles and wines by the glass, but wine prices are also extremely high. Part of that is Nantucket, but be prepared. Quality similar to the other top restaurants in Nantucket, such as Dune and American Seasons, but ambiance at Topper's is more formal and elegant, which we enjoyed. A great experience of you're willing to pay for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was creative and surprising. Atmosp ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was creative and surprising. Atmosphere a bit to formal for my taste. Overall enjoyed the dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

If you are looking for a high end, top n ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

If you are looking for a high end, top notch option in Nantucket, this is the spot. As a bonus, one of the best locations on the island to take in a beautiful sunset

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the chef's tasting menu w/ wine p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We had the chef's tasting menu w/ wine pairings--a very special experience with many great, inventive choices by the chefs and sommeliers. Make sure you come in time to see the sunset.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were excited to make a reservation fo ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were excited to make a reservation for our family (including a 3 month old baby) at Toppers for our first stop on Nantucket. After several weeks of having made a reservation we received a phone message the day of the event but were unable to retrieve it due to spotty phone coverage. So I called to confirm the reservation oand was told we were all set for the dining room. When we arrived, an incredibly rude hostess told us we were unable to be seated inside because we had an infant who would ruin everyones dining experience. We were told we had to be seated on a windy cold deck with the baby which we did not reserve. She finally relented and allowed us to be seated after we objected but it cast a shadow over the evening. The food was good but not spectacular and the bill was very high. After speaking to another guest in the restaurant near us who was also rudely treated by the pretentious hostess we agreed that this was not a place we ever wanted to revisit !!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Fabulous prix fix dinner options. The w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Fabulous prix fix dinner options. The wine list had various options depending on your budget. The server and wait staff we well atuned of your need. Very pleasant experience with great food options. Will visit the establishment again- they also have a nice lunch and brunch menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For several years, we dine at Toppers an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

For several years, we dine at Toppers and quite frequently. Overall, this was our best experience. The menu has more depth (not the same old), creativity and variety. The food was better prepared, presented well and tasty. The service was more engaging and personable. And as always, the ambiance was lovely. We will definitely let our friends know Toppers has "upped their game!"

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We found the menu very limited with very ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We found the menu very limited with very little that attracted are interest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Second time my wife and I have celebrate ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Second time my wife and I have celebrated our anniversary there and we couldn't have asked for a better and more romantic dinner. The staff is so friendly and helpful, and food is amazing and the restaurant is gorgeous. In the middle of dinner, our waiter asked us if we wanted to go out and see the sunset over the ocean, the held the dinner up for us and let us go outside and view one of the most beautiful sunsets. It was truly a very special night and so happy we could share it with Toppers again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service, food, and setting. ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Outstanding service, food, and setting. It really could NOT have been any lovelier!!!! Would return and recommend as it was remarkable food and the outside tables were relaxing . We watched the sunset and even enjoyed the rabbits hopping in the gardens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb in all respects. The staff even ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Superb in all respects. The staff even greeted me by name, despite the fact that I hadn't been to the restaurant in nearly a year. Very creative and beautiful presentations of the food, and the service could not have been better. We paid for all this -- one of the most expensive restaurants at which I have eaten -- but it was worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We returned to Toppers for restaurant week because we'd had a great dinner/experience last summer. The noise level was deafening because of a rehearsal dinner in the next room which made it difficult to converse at our table.

The appetizer which looked like a pizza (called flambe tarte) was way to much food and had we'd been told we'd have shared it with the whole table and tried other apps. Overall there was too much food....the "chef" offerings were a nice touch but added too much to the meal.

The service was top notch and most people would think too much food to be a bonus...we'd like to have sampled more things.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Once in a lifetime, I hope not

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Dining at Toppers's has been on my bucket list for many years. I was pleased to take my daughter there for dinner and not having visited Nantucket in nearly 20 years. The food, the service, the wine were impeccable.

This is what fine dining is all about.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best experience on Nantucket

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Best experience on Nantucket

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food, delightful staff, and ve ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Fantastic food, delightful staff, and very knowledgable sommelier!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Food, A Beautiful Setting

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We dined twice at Toppers during our 4 day stay at the Wauwinit Inn. The dining room is nicely decorated and we really enjoyed sitting by a roaring fire after a stormy, cold May day and rough ferry crossing. The wait staff is knowledge and nicely attentive. Our first meal was more casual and items were ordered off the Toppers Grill menu: The beet salad is outstanding. The lobster roll is very good. The freshly baked cookie dessert is delicious. The second meal was ordered from their seasonal dining menu. The quinoa and fresh vegetable salad was lovely and fresh. The halibut was served with a lemon veloutte sauce - the combination was amazing. The seaweed butter basted lobster was rich and delicious. Servings were not overly sized. Just about right (well, maybe not for someone with a huge appetite). Again, we really enjoyed the staff at the restaurant and hotel. It is pricey, but I think a restaurant that would best be enjoyed by "foodies."

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was some of the best ever. T ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

The service was some of the best ever. The restaurant was very quiet but everyone was friendly.The food was perfect staff made suggestions and they were spot on. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone on Nantucket looking for a special evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the top five dining experiences in N.E.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on October 20, 2015

From the complimentary shuttle to the site, to the return trip; the evening at Topper's was a wonderful experience. We were welcomed upon arrival and given directions to both the lounge and the dining room. The service and choices in both locations exceeded expectations. The Chef's tasting menu was both delicious and quite extravagant while the wines created the perfect marriage. We enjoyed our visit so much that we returned the following day for lunch on the patio. There are great restaurants throughout New England, and Topper's is the pearl.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A must if your in Nantucket

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

Although it is far from the downtown area .. this is well worth the trip. I can assure you that you will not be disappointed in anyway (unless you really don't like fabulous food). And if you enjoy wines .. their list will blow you away. Enjoy!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Tip - Dress Code!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Although the restaurant only states that it requires "casual, dress clothing" - I am SO thankful my husband and I decided to dress up a bit. The overall dress code of the other patrons is pretty upscale. No long gowns, but certainly WAY ABOVE "casual". Make sure to dress the part and ENJOY! :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New Chef Andy Hyde is exceptional

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 30, 2015

New Assistant Executive Chef Andy Hyde did an amazing tasting menu for us, his signature apple,fennel chowder with lobster is exceptional,Foie Gras was terrific, Short ribs/ filet was out of this world (I normally do not even eat beef) . The presentation was fabulous!I am biased since I know his food from Florida but having a well equipped kitchen made his food even better! We were just in Amsterdam dining at Bordeaux, a Michelin three star restaurant and I think Andy's food is better!!! His training with Thomas Keller and other top chefs paid off. The dessert chef was terrific, her signature chocolate dessert and chocolate cassis soufflé with sour cream ice cream are fantastic.

My guests thought it was the best meal they have ever had and they are foodies since they have three homes (one in NYC) and ate at some of the best restaurants in the world.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Birthday Lunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 28, 2015

The food and service was wonderful, the view can't be beat. It was the perfect location for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The wine list and the knowledge of the s ...

 
·Dined on September 26, 2015

The wine list and the knowledge of the someliers are second to none. They will be able to tell you a story on virtually any of the thousands of wines on the list. Their selections can be pretty pricey but almost always worth the money. The food is good though not great. It is still the best spot on Nantucket due to its unique location even if you are not part of the jet set crowd from Manhattan.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Romantic location with great view. Super ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 25, 2015

Romantic location with great view. Super service with amazing food. Massive wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A truly exceptional dining experience.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

The flavors and pairings from the pairings menu are spot on. The service is friendly and attentive. The atmosphere is superb from the deck overlooking the lawn to the sound and the horizon. Plan to dine at sunset and the surroundings elevate the experience. If you're a foodie you don't want to miss this.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Topper's is classy, even when it's raining

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2015

I started planning in mid-August to visit Nantucket after Labor Day, and the idea came to me for a no-holds-barred dining experience with my wife to make-up for taking the slow ferry and economizing a bit on the bed-and-breakfast accommodations. Topper's fit the bill, and the experience was everything I had hoped for, except that the gorgeous sunset in my minds' eye was overcome by a cold front and thunderstorms. So, we dined in the beautiful main dining room, rather than out on the deck which overlooks the head of Nantucket Harbor.

The chef-recommended, six-course prix fixe arrangement provided a pleasant surprise with each new plate. They have many wines available by the half-bottle, so we were comfortably able to match Pouilly Fume with the seafood and later, Hermitage with the beef.

We thoroughly enjoyed the entire evening, and certainly will plan on dining again at Topper's the next time we visit Nantucket.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thought the lunch menu was limiting - ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2015

We thought the lunch menu was limiting - no great salads were offered -

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Simply outstanding food - best we've eve ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2015

Simply outstanding food - best we've ever had in Nantucket (which says a lot!) Highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

Tasting menu was not to be missed. Butter poached lobster with squid ink sauce was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent, as usual!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

Topper's is our annual "last night on Nantucket" family dinner spot. David was fantastic and took excellent care of us! We enjoyed the striped bass special, the buttermilk chicken sandwich and the steak frites, everything was delicious and perfectly presented! Thank you for another memorable meal!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overrated

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2015

Good food & extensive wine list overshadowed by dysfunctional staff, half of whom were surly and half of whom had trouble understanding us & we them. Not likely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Best on Nantucket

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

Toppers is where I take my family last. The food the experience makes memories!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.