About TOPPER'S Restaurant at The Wauwinet

120 Wauwinet Road
Nantucket, MA 02554
View Larger Map

TOPPER`S is able to offer an elegant dining experience in our cozy dining room. Restaurant guests who prefer a more casual experience are invited to enjoy dining on our awning-covered, heated deck. The lower patio is perfect for relaxing with a cocktail overlookiing TOPPER`S garden and the Head of the Harbor. The sunsets are stunning. These outdoor areas are ideal to fully appreciate the tranquility and the magnificent setting of the inn.
TOPPER’S is located at The Wauwinet, the only Relais & Châteaux property on Nantucket. Winner of the Wine Spectator Grand Award for many years, TOPPER’S is known for it`s culinay standards and service standards, on-site herb garden, and innovative use of the freshest local ingredients guarantee an unforgettable dining experience. Visitors without vehicles can take The Wauwinet Jitney from Federal Street in downtown Nantucket, or enjoy a complimentary boat ride on The Wauwinet Lady which launches from The White Elephant Hotel

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:8.00-10.30(We suggest for breakfast) Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 6:00pm - 9:30pm; Brunch: 11.30am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 228-8768

Website:
http://www.toppersrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of Space.

Public Transit:
Nantucket Town is nine miles from The Wauwinet. The inn provides complimentary jitney service 12 times daily from 9 AM to 11 PM. We pick up from the Information Bureau on Federal Street, we also pick up from the White Elephant Hotel from 6.00pm-8.00pm on the hour.

Executive Chef:
Kyle Zachary

Private Party Facilities:
Two semi-private dining rooms are available, The Sunroom and TOPPER'S. Please call for availability.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Manager: 5082288768x6501

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wauwinet Lady will start running daily from the White Elephant for lunch and dinner beginning June 27th.

Restaurant Photos

  • Halibut With Pepper-Sundried Tomato Coulis And Squid Ink Aioli Potatoes
  • Wauwinet-ini
  • Lobster Entree
  • Scallops
  • Bordeaux
  • #pbj.
  • Egg
  • Foie
  • Sturgeon
Halibut With Pepper-Sundried Tomato Coulis And Squid Ink Aioli Potatoes
Wauwinet-ini
Lobster Entree
Scallops
Bordeaux
#pbj.
Egg
Foie
Sturgeon

TOPPER'S Restaurant at The Wauwinet Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

scenic view (12)
special occasion (11)
fit for foodies (8)
See All
romantic (8)
notable wine list (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (4)
good for groups (2)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

For several years, we dine at Toppers an ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

For several years, we dine at Toppers and quite frequently. Overall, this was our best experience. The menu has more depth (not the same old), creativity and variety. The food was better prepared, presented well and tasty. The service was more engaging and personable. And as always, the ambiance was lovely. We will definitely let our friends know Toppers has "upped their game!"

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

We found the menu very limited with very ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

We found the menu very limited with very little that attracted are interest!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time my wife and I have celebrate ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Second time my wife and I have celebrated our anniversary there and we couldn't have asked for a better and more romantic dinner. The staff is so friendly and helpful, and food is amazing and the restaurant is gorgeous. In the middle of dinner, our waiter asked us if we wanted to go out and see the sunset over the ocean, the held the dinner up for us and let us go outside and view one of the most beautiful sunsets. It was truly a very special night and so happy we could share it with Toppers again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service, food, and setting. ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Outstanding service, food, and setting. It really could NOT have been any lovelier!!!! Would return and recommend as it was remarkable food and the outside tables were relaxing . We watched the sunset and even enjoyed the rabbits hopping in the gardens.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb in all respects. The staff even ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Superb in all respects. The staff even greeted me by name, despite the fact that I hadn't been to the restaurant in nearly a year. Very creative and beautiful presentations of the food, and the service could not have been better. We paid for all this -- one of the most expensive restaurants at which I have eaten -- but it was worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

dinner

Dined on June 9, 2016

We returned to Toppers for restaurant week because we'd had a great dinner/experience last summer. The noise level was deafening because of a rehearsal dinner in the next room which made it difficult to converse at our table. The appetizer which looked like a pizza (called flambe tarte) was way to much food and had we'd been told we'd have shared it with the whole table and tried other apps. Overall there was too much food....the "chef" offerings were a nice touch but added too much to the meal. The service was top notch and most people would think too much food to be a bonus...we'd like to have sampled more things.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once in a lifetime, I hope not

Dined on June 4, 2016

Dining at Toppers's has been on my bucket list for many years. I was pleased to take my daughter there for dinner and not having visited Nantucket in nearly 20 years. The food, the service, the wine were impeccable. This is what fine dining is all about.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best experience on Nantucket

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Best experience on Nantucket

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food, delightful staff, and ve ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Fantastic food, delightful staff, and very knowledgable sommelier!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Food, A Beautiful Setting

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

We dined twice at Toppers during our 4 day stay at the Wauwinit Inn. The dining room is nicely decorated and we really enjoyed sitting by a roaring fire after a stormy, cold May day and rough ferry crossing. The wait staff is knowledge and nicely attentive. Our first meal was more casual and items were ordered off the Toppers Grill menu: The beet salad is outstanding. The lobster roll is very good. The freshly baked cookie dessert is delicious. The second meal was ordered from their seasonal dining menu. The quinoa and fresh vegetable salad was lovely and fresh. The halibut was served with a lemon veloutte sauce - the combination was amazing. The seaweed butter basted lobster was rich and delicious. Servings were not overly sized. Just about right (well, maybe not for someone with a huge appetite). Again, we really enjoyed the staff at the restaurant and hotel. It is pricey, but I think a restaurant that would best be enjoyed by "foodies."

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was some of the best ever. T ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

The service was some of the best ever. The restaurant was very quiet but everyone was friendly.The food was perfect staff made suggestions and they were spot on. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone on Nantucket looking for a special evening.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the top five dining experiences in N.E.

vip
Dined on October 20, 2015

From the complimentary shuttle to the site, to the return trip; the evening at Topper's was a wonderful experience. We were welcomed upon arrival and given directions to both the lounge and the dining room. The service and choices in both locations exceeded expectations. The Chef's tasting menu was both delicious and quite extravagant while the wines created the perfect marriage. We enjoyed our visit so much that we returned the following day for lunch on the patio. There are great restaurants throughout New England, and Topper's is the pearl.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

A must if your in Nantucket

vip
Dined on October 16, 2015

Although it is far from the downtown area .. this is well worth the trip. I can assure you that you will not be disappointed in anyway (unless you really don't like fabulous food). And if you enjoy wines .. their list will blow you away. Enjoy!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Tip - Dress Code!

Dined on October 10, 2015

Although the restaurant only states that it requires "casual, dress clothing" - I am SO thankful my husband and I decided to dress up a bit. The overall dress code of the other patrons is pretty upscale. No long gowns, but certainly WAY ABOVE "casual". Make sure to dress the part and ENJOY! :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

New Chef Andy Hyde is exceptional

Dined on September 30, 2015

New Assistant Executive Chef Andy Hyde did an amazing tasting menu for us, his signature apple,fennel chowder with lobster is exceptional,Foie Gras was terrific, Short ribs/ filet was out of this world (I normally do not even eat beef) . The presentation was fabulous!I am biased since I know his food from Florida but having a well equipped kitchen made his food even better! We were just in Amsterdam dining at Bordeaux, a Michelin three star restaurant and I think Andy's food is better!!! His training with Thomas Keller and other top chefs paid off. The dessert chef was terrific, her signature chocolate dessert and chocolate cassis soufflé with sour cream ice cream are fantastic. My guests thought it was the best meal they have ever had and they are foodies since they have three homes (one in NYC) and ate at some of the best restaurants in the world.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

Birthday Lunch

Dined on September 28, 2015

The food and service was wonderful, the view can't be beat. It was the perfect location for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5

The wine list and the knowledge of the s ...

Dined on September 26, 2015

The wine list and the knowledge of the someliers are second to none. They will be able to tell you a story on virtually any of the thousands of wines on the list. Their selections can be pretty pricey but almost always worth the money. The food is good though not great. It is still the best spot on Nantucket due to its unique location even if you are not part of the jet set crowd from Manhattan.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic location with great view. Super ...

vip
Dined on September 25, 2015

Romantic location with great view. Super service with amazing food. Massive wine list.

food5
ambience5
service5

A truly exceptional dining experience.

Dined on September 13, 2015

The flavors and pairings from the pairings menu are spot on. The service is friendly and attentive. The atmosphere is superb from the deck overlooking the lawn to the sound and the horizon. Plan to dine at sunset and the surroundings elevate the experience. If you're a foodie you don't want to miss this.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Topper's is classy, even when it's raining

Dined on September 10, 2015

I started planning in mid-August to visit Nantucket after Labor Day, and the idea came to me for a no-holds-barred dining experience with my wife to make-up for taking the slow ferry and economizing a bit on the bed-and-breakfast accommodations. Topper's fit the bill, and the experience was everything I had hoped for, except that the gorgeous sunset in my minds' eye was overcome by a cold front and thunderstorms. So, we dined in the beautiful main dining room, rather than out on the deck which overlooks the head of Nantucket Harbor. The chef-recommended, six-course prix fixe arrangement provided a pleasant surprise with each new plate. They have many wines available by the half-bottle, so we were comfortably able to match Pouilly Fume with the seafood and later, Hermitage with the beef. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire evening, and certainly will plan on dining again at Topper's the next time we visit Nantucket.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

We thought the lunch menu was limiting - ...

vip
Dined on September 3, 2015

We thought the lunch menu was limiting - no great salads were offered -

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Simply outstanding food - best we've eve ...

Dined on August 26, 2015

Simply outstanding food - best we've ever had in Nantucket (which says a lot!) Highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food

Dined on August 23, 2015

Tasting menu was not to be missed. Butter poached lobster with squid ink sauce was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, as usual!

vip
Dined on August 23, 2015

Topper's is our annual "last night on Nantucket" family dinner spot. David was fantastic and took excellent care of us! We enjoyed the striped bass special, the buttermilk chicken sandwich and the steak frites, everything was delicious and perfectly presented! Thank you for another memorable meal!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1

Overrated

Dined on August 21, 2015

Good food & extensive wine list overshadowed by dysfunctional staff, half of whom were surly and half of whom had trouble understanding us & we them. Not likely to return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best on Nantucket

vip
Dined on August 20, 2015

Toppers is where I take my family last. The food the experience makes memories!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite restaurant on Nantucket. Great ...

vip
Dined on August 19, 2015

Favorite restaurant on Nantucket. Great cuisine, unparalleled wine list, and perfect service. Bar could mix cocktails a little more expertly and with more care.

food3
ambience4
service4

nice, very pricey restaurant

vip
Dined on August 13, 2015

We ate at Toppers on the recommendation of many people. We could not get on the boat over so we took the free shuttle from town with a delightful young driver. The view from the hotel is magnificent, especially when there is a gorgeous sunset. Unfortunately if you are not a hotel guest you are not allowed on the lawn in front of the ocean. nevertheless you can still enjoy the view. Based on my husband's meal of short ribs I would have given the food a 4 or 5. The bread and butter were also delicious! i ordered the pasta because it came with truffles, but I found it to be pretty tasteless and wished I had gotten the short ribs as well. The view is magnificent ant the service was good, but there are many other wonderful restaurants to be explored!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was outstanding! Can't wait to return ...

vip
Dined on August 10, 2015

It was outstanding! Can't wait to return!

food3
ambience5
service3

Great lunch experience.

vip
Dined on August 6, 2015

We took the Topper's courtesy boat from the White Elephant Hotel to Toppers and back- these were two great rides. About 50 minutes each way. Stunning views of Nantucket from the harbor. It really relaxes you and sets the tone for a great meal. We ate lunch on the deck overlooking the water. The food was good, but I think you go to Topper's for the overall experience. The long, relaxing boat ride to a quiet, scenic place is what makes it special.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful evening. The setting is perfec ...

vip
Dined on July 30, 2015

Beautiful evening. The setting is perfect. Food outstanding. Service exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

Toppers kinda let me down

vip
Dined on July 27, 2015

I went with four others and was looking forward to a nice evening at a fancy restaurant. We had a couple slip ups with dinner and drinks. The food was average for the price and cooked a little rare. Not sure I would recommend. ConsunerMarineSupply

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5

Toppers on Nantucket

Dined on July 22, 2015

Toppers is definitely a dining experience but maybe not for everyone. The service was excellent but this is a very expensive restaurant with small portions. You would think the dining room would take advantage of the beautiful location but there are no ocean views from the dining room which was disappointing. The service and staff were excellent. I would recommend lunch on the outside patio instead. If you want an excellent dinner with lovely harbor views visit Brant Point Grill instead at the White Elephant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was solid, the service indulgen ...

vip
Dined on July 20, 2015

The food was solid, the service indulgent, and the setting glorious. And you don't need to be rich to go for lunch. Don't leave Nantucket without it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Brunch

Dined on July 19, 2015

This brunch exceeded all expectations. The food was wonderfully prepared and plated. The combination of ingredients enhanced the flavors of each dish. Our party of four sampled a variety of starters, main dishes, and desserts. None disappointed. The brioche donut, grits, turkey hash, and pineapple upsidedown cake were four notable dishes that we couldn't get enough of. Outside dining area was scenic and enjoyable. I highly recommend Topper's. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Incredible food. Great view at sunset. S ...

vip
Dined on July 13, 2015

Incredible food. Great view at sunset. Special occasion spot for sure

food2
ambience3
service3

Great setting, wish the food was too

vip
Dined on July 11, 2015

Surprisingly this was not very good at all. Halibut was a blankd unseasoned slab with a bunch of other stuff on the plate that you had no idea how to put together. Other dishes had a similar vibe. There are so many other options on Nantucket that are much better.

food5
ambience5
service5

Good expensivefood

Dined on July 6, 2015

Presentation and food was very good! Portions small.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4

We thought we would take a boat ride and ...

Dined on July 5, 2015

We thought we would take a boat ride and sit outside. Neither were available. Good food and service, but not great for a vacation family meal.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3

Time to Look in the I

vip
Dined on July 2, 2015

We used to love Toppers. Been eating there since the early 90s, I would guess. In the old days it was great American fare, great steaks, delicious veal chops, great local fish with complex but simple beurre blanc sauces, vegetables I could recognize, a classic lobster saute' not one with flowers and strange veggies on it and some really classic and simple foie gras dishes and terrines. Somewhere along the way, you lost your soul. It's not about the chef and how weird he can get, it's about the food. I don't think it's that good any more and hasn't been the last few years. This is probably evident in the fact that you had the side dining room behind the french doors closed for lack of attendance on July 2nd, the peak of high season when a reservation just could not be had in town. People would happily take the drive but now it seems most of the diners were captive guests of the hotel. Your somelier was very good, though my carafe of wine got lost for a while sometime after the the bottle was decanted and the empty left at the table. Hmmm. The service was pedestrian. I am from New Orleans, we "dine" we don't just eat. The waiter kept coming to the table with his pencil and pad asking if we were ready to order maybe 5 times, even though I told him We would order after my wine was opened and served and I could settle in and enjoy the surroundings. Our food was interesting, but for me, not great. Bring back the old menu maybe - on Throwback Thursday, nostalgia night perhaps?

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.