Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi

About TOPPER'S Restaurant at The Wauwinet

TOPPER`S is able to offer an elegant dining experience in our cozy dining room. Restaurant guests who prefer a more casual experience are invited to enjoy dining on our awning-covered, heated deck. The lower patio is perfect for relaxing with a cocktail overlookiing TOPPER`S garden and the Head of the Harbor. The sunsets are stunning. These outdoor areas are ideal to fully appreciate the tranquility and the magnificent setting of the inn.
TOPPER’S is located at The Wauwinet, the only Relais & Châteaux property on Nantucket. Winner of the Wine Spectator Grand Award for many years, TOPPER’S is known for it`s culinay standards and service standards, on-site herb garden, and innovative use of the freshest local ingredients guarantee an unforgettable dining experience. Visitors without vehicles can take The Wauwinet Jitney from Federal Street in downtown Nantucket, or enjoy a complimentary boat ride on The Wauwinet Lady which launches from The White Elephant Hotel

120 Wauwinet Road
Nantucket, MA 02554
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:8.00-10.30(We suggest for breakfast) Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 6:00pm - 9:30pm; Brunch: 11.30am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 228-8768

Website:
http://www.toppersrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of Space.

Public Transit:
Nantucket Town is nine miles from The Wauwinet. The inn provides complimentary jitney service 12 times daily from 9 AM to 11 PM. We pick up from the Information Bureau on Federal Street, we also pick up from the White Elephant Hotel from 6.00pm-8.00pm on the hour.

Executive Chef:
Kyle Zachary

Private Party Facilities:
Two semi-private dining rooms are available, The Sunroom and TOPPER'S. Please call for availability.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Manager: (508) 228-8768 ext. 6501

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wauwinet Lady will start running daily from the White Elephant for lunch and dinner beginning June 27th.

TOPPER'S Restaurant at The Wauwinet Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Scenic View (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Waterfront (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Romantic (14)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Authentic (6)
Cozy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
325 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Annual end of season visit, underwhelmed by service and food this year. Even skipped dessert based on the lackluster options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

VERY DISAPPOINTING

We are residents who live nearby and went for a 130 PM lunch on a Friday because our son was visiting and wanted to go somewhere special. We had read about the high ratings the restaurant had received and we looked forward to this visit. The setting in a room off the patio and garden (it was raining) was lovely, the wine manager suggested a delightful wine, and the food was quite good. Unfortunately, the experience was ruined by absolutely awful service. Our server paid us little attention. There was no one watching the room and the secondary staff were poor, so the result was that empty cocktail glasses and first course dishes sat and sat. After the main course was finished no one appeared to remove the plates and inquire about further needs for 25 minutes. A complete turnoff when we expected a special experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We took the shuttle boat from Nantucket Harbor to Toppers, sharing a champagne toast onboard. Once at Toppers, we enjoyed a delicious dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Somewhat pretentious and over priced. Great wine list if you can afford it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We stayed in town in Nantucket and took the shuttle to Toppers. It would have been helpful if Toppers let us know about the shuttle, we found out from others. The night we were there, the mosquitoes were a menace. Glad to have eaten inside in the beautiful dining room. Our waiter was knowledgeable about the food; he was delightful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Topper's is a vacation tradition for our family and did not disappoint. Food and atmosphere were outstanding, and our waiter Alex was wonderful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Took long time to get our entree. Food was overcooked. Burger was well done instead of medium rare. Noiki was mushy instead of al dente. Very expensive and therefore disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Poor service for the money. Did not make you feel welcome. Very pretentious and boatload of dough to boot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Good food in an amazing setting! Always enjoyable. Pricy but it's Nantucket!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Toppers used to be a very high end, quality restaurant and one of the best on Nantucket. Sadly that is no longer the case. We were disappointed and felt they had really fallen off in many ways including food, service and prices were very high for what you get. Not good value at all. Sorry we can't recommend it at all. Hopefully they'll find a way to come back up since the setting is really beautiful.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Toppers is an experience. My husband and I went there once before...perhaps 17 or 18 years ago. The food is memorable and delicious and the service is spectacular. Worth the Uber ride out there and back from town.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We just checked into the hotel from a late ferry arrival and were exhausted from traveling all day. The food, view and waiter service were wonderful. My only issue was with the hostesses and seating. I booked on Open Table weeks before our arrival and requested outside seating. They said they reserved us inside despite the mostly open deck tables and when I asked for outside seating they said they were for reservations? Not only did I book about a month prior we were also hotel guests! They made a big deal about it with checking their list etc. Just left me with a bad feeling and ruined the experience. Maybe it was because I booked on OpenTable and not direct? But the food and waiter were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Good experience but a bit stuffy and quiet. We were unaware you had to reserve a seat outside but wish we would've been told. Waiter, David, was excellent and made great suggestions. Wish there was some music either live or through another medium.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Service folks nice but not practiced
For the price they should have top notch servers and presentation at greeting throughout the entire evening .
Driver to and from town great!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 20, 2017

FIRST AND FOREMOST THE VIEWS AT SUNSET ARE TRULY AWESOME. THE SERVICE AND FOOD WAS NOTHING SHORT OF ROYALTY. THE BARTENDER VERY FRIENDLY AND MAKES A GREAT BLUE CHEESE STUFFED OLIVE MARTINI!! OVERALL THE EVENING WAS A 10+

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Food was very good, but highly overpriced. You are obviously paying for their 'name'

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Overall excellent experience server was amazing food was delicious very satisfied

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Beautiful view from lawn. The food was not so great. Lobster pasta was mediocre and at $60 rather pricey. The lawn is a nice place for a drink, but with so many nice places in Nantucket Toppers is hardly worth the drive. Hostess was snippy, but Marina the waiter was wonderful. The lamb was OK, but my wife said it was about 3 bites worth. Our son liked the flake . Too many other great restaurants in Nantucket to waste your time or your effort. Our favorite was Dune with Cru a close second.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Wonderful brunch on quiet part of the island! Boat ride over set the mood for this brunch away from town. Excellent atmosphere to talk with family on vacation! Thanks to capt Rob for getting us back to town safely with great water time for us!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Please don't sit outside. The bugs are horrible - mosquitoes and fruit flies. The wait staff let our nice, and expensive, bottle wine open and fruit flies got in the wine!!

So disappointed in this very expensive experience:-(!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Excellent wine list. Creative chef who kept surprising us with complimentary small dishes throughout the meal. Great location with spectacular sunsets. Excellent service! I would recommend Toppers to anyone!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Great presentation of food and it was very good. We felt rushed - the food came out quickly and one plate after the next. We had a 6pm reservation and the place was hardly full - at that price point - it should have been a more relaxed pace.

Lastly, they did not make us aware there is a free boat from the town and an hourly shuttle from the visitors center - instead, we found out from locals. Toppers told us the boat was full and that we should take a cab. They then called us at 5pm (while on the shuttle ) and asked if we were showing up for the boat! However, they did make an exception and let us ride back.

With all that said - it was an excellent meal. P

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 2, 2017

One of the worst dining experiences of my time in Nantucket, only after Black-Eyed Susan's. Service was slow, unresponsive, and overall terrible. Possibly some of the worst fries I have ever had. The overpriced lobster roll was over salted in an attempt to mask its blandness. When we complained about the fries, the hostess responded by saying, "that's life" and encouraged to be thankful for the restaurant's A/C. Overall, an absurd experience that I will never repeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Lemon Ricotta Pancakes-yum! Great service! Scenic views of Coatue to town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Toppers' Waite staff and cuisine were excellent! I need gluten free dining, and they accommodated me superbly! We ordered via their ala carte menu since the 3 and 6 courses wound be too much. It is expensive, but you are treated like royalty. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a fantastic Father's Day brunch. Jerome, our server, was wonderful and he and Igor, the sommelier, truly made our experience delightful. We happened to also be seated at "The Chefs Table" and it was the perfect spot. Cheers!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Chef is in a league of his own .
Staff is genuine , attentive .
Dining room is elegant and inviting .

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Elegant and romantic setting, excellent waitstaff service combined with a truly outstanding gourmet menu perfectly prepared and served all combined to make for an unforgettable twentieth anniversary celebration...another repeat of our honeymoon experience at this same restaurant. Thank you Toppers!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Outstanding service. Chef's tasting menu & wine pairings were excellent & interesting. Worth the price.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This is the best restaurant for sunsets on the island. They have an amazing outdoor seating area and a wonderful place to sit on lawn chairs and watch the sunset. The food matches the amazing view with outstanding selections of seafood, steaks and pork. This is a cannot miss on the island and during prime summer season you can take a boat from the White Elephant to the restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great service, Haut Cuisine!
Each dish was a visual and gastronomical work of art.
Dining highlight of the year.
Thank you

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Beneath the elaboration it has to be said that the food we were served was rather bland. Verbally interesting, yes, well presented yes, but bland bland bland. And my duck breast had the consistency of rubber.

It's a shame. Everything was fine with our evening apart from the food! Service/decor/ambience were terrific, but the food just did not match its surroundings.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My husband and I live on the island year round and we look forward to going to Topper's every year for our anniversary. The food is delicious and beautifully plated, the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable, and the view is spectacular. Our server, Marina, was very friendly and she was able to answer all of our questions about the menu. My husband and I both got the chef's choice (a 6 course prefix) along with a half dozen local oysters. This is, by far, the best meal on Nantucket. Eating here is always such an amazing dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Wonderful meal in a lovely setting. If on Nantucket will definitely return. PS it was Dine Nantucket week and we ate off special menu which was a super bargain!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food at Toppers is outstanding. I just wish they would have let me know when I made my reservation that the Dining Room was closed for a private event. As a result, we sat on the rather chilly patio at a wooden table with no linens except a napkins, no flowers, etc. It wasn't the ambience I was counting on for a $400 meal. The restaurant had just opened for the season and it was quite evident the staff was still getting up to speed. Back to the food - except for dessert (what WAS that green rubber on the Lime and the Coconut dessert?!?!) - the food was sublime. Highly recommend Toppers (when the dining room is open).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Table and wine service great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was wonderful. Always a favorite spot when on Nantucket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Received a very good wine recommendation. Every part of the meal was extra special with excitingly different tastes and textures. Chef pesented 2 surprise treats which is appreciated as well as yummy. Atmosphere was intimate but somehow open at the same time as we enjoyed having light conversation with other guests. Service was perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent food as always but understaffed during the last weekend of the season. Waited 20 minutes to get a bottle of wine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food was good, but for the price, nothing special. My dissatisfaction stems from the fact that the day we went they only had a limited menu, not their normal menu. It was towards the end of the season, and they were closing is a week or so, so they had gone to a limited menu. All that is fine and understandable. However, I only found out about it when I was given the menu at the restaurant and asked. No advance communication.

I fine this really unacceptable, particularly because after I made our reservation on Open Table, I received two e-mails from the restaurant telling me that I had to cancel by a certain point in time or I faced a cancellation fee! In neither of these direct communications from the restaurant did they care to inform me that it was the end of the season and there would be a limited menu.

I have been to this restaurant in the past and liked it. So we decided to go there for our anniversary. Had I known there would be a limited menu, I would have made other plans for our special occasion. When I found out while sitting at our table I had no other options.

Very disappointing from such an establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.