About Top of the Mark

Number One Nob Hill
San Francisco, CA 94108
View Larger Map

For 70 years, the Top Of The Mark has been favored by both locals and travelers as the venue of choice, whether for an intimate rendezvous, a festive celebration or just plain fun. Located atop the InterContinental Mark Hopkins, the world-renowned sky lounge and restaurant affords a near-360 degree vista of San Francisco and the surrounding sights, including the Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, the East Bay Hills, downtown and Twin Peaks.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
KINDLY NOTE THAT WE DO NOT OFFER RESERVATIONS IN THE EVENINGS FOR TAPAS/COCKTAILS AND SEAT ALL OF OUR GUESTS BASED ON A FIRST COME FIRST SERVE BASIS.

Champagne Brunch: Sundays, 10am - 1pm

TAPAS: Daily 5pm-10pm
COCKTAILS:
Mon-Thu: 4:30pm-11:30pm
Fri & Sat: 4:30pm-12:30am
Sunday: 5pm-11:30pm

PLEASE NOTE, GUESTS UNDER 21 ARE NOT PERMITTED AFTER 10PM

Cross Street:
California & Mason Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 616-6940

Website:
http://www.topofthemark.com/

Entertainment:
Ricardo Scales, jazz pianist, Wednesdays 6:30pm-11:30pm
(cover of $5 beginning at 6:00pm)

Motown at the Mark, Thursdays, 7:30pm-11:30pm
(cover of $10 beginning at 6:30pm)

Best of the Bay: bands rotate, Fridays, 9:00pm-12:30am
(cover of $10 beginning at 8:30pm)

Best of the Bay: bands rotate, Saturdays, 9:00pm-12:30am
(cover of $15 beginning at 8:30pm)

*subject to change*

PLEASE NOTE: MINORS UNDER 21 NOT PERMITTED AFTER 10 P.M.

Catering:
For parties of 20-30 guests, please call 415-616-6940

For parties of 30 or more, please call 415-616-6959

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for Sunday Brunch. Hotel garage entrance is on California Street just east of Mason Street. Extremely limited street parking available.

Public Transit:
Powell Street Cable Car; California Street Cable Car

Executive Chef:
Nenad Stefanovic

Private Party Facilities:
For parties of 20-30 guests, please call Joanna at 415-616-6940 or e-mail at Joanna.Carrasco@ihg.com

For parties of 30 or more or full buyout inquiries, please call 415-616-6959.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining: x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Champagne
chocolatini
Marinated California Olives
Chopin Martini
Moet & Chandon Imperial Rose NV Champagne
Lonsdale Lemonade
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Martinis
Beef Brisket Sandwich
Dirty Chopin Martini
McCallan Single Malt Scotch
Chicken Lettuce Wraps
Coffee
Club Sandwich
Cream Of Mushroom Soup
Sparkling Wine
The "Real Grilled Cheese"
Bloody Mary
Chardonnay
Sunday Brunch
Fish Roe
Hanky Panky
Top Of The Mark Martini
The Carnivore Martini
Tri Color Tortilla Chips
Vanilla Creamsicle
Valhrona Chocolate Sea Salt, Walnut Dust, Brioche
Crema Caltalana, Compressed Rhubarb, Granny Smith Apple Chips, Cinnamon Cream
Nob Hill Slider Trio
Apple Pie Dessert
Mission Sandwich
Latte
Raspberry Pina Colada
Champagne Brunch
Wedge Salad
Egg Salad Sandwich
Bourbon Baked Apple Martini
Deviled Eggs
Lychee Martini
Dirty Gin Martini
Raspberry Martini
Kentucky Tea - Knob Creek Bourbon, Honey, Lemon Juice, Sprite
Purple Rain Martini
The Surfer Martini
Chocolate Covered Strawberries
green tea and mango tiramisu
Cake
Chocolate Cake
Mardi Gras
Ginger Rogers
Cosmopolitan
Salad
Easter Brunch Dessert Table
Easter Brunch
Caviar and blinis
Steamed Milk
Blueberry Cream Tart
Charcuterie platter
Rock Shrimp Tostada
Afternoon Tea Sandwhiches
Only In San Francisco
French 75
Bittersweet Valhrona Chocolate
“Turf” Flat Kobe Beef Slider Pork Belly Quesadilla Country Pate Toast Charcuterie
Chocolate Dipped Strawberry
S'mores Dessert
Dessert

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 12:00PM 12:30PM - 12:30PM 1:00PM - 1:00PM

Top of the Mark Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Ambiance
San Francisco
Great for Brunch
San Francisco
1 More
Scenic View
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Nob Hill ›

great for brunch (29)
scenic view (26)
special occasion (22)
See All
romantic (16)
fit for foodies (15)
good for groups (7)
hot spot (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for lunch (2)
notable wine list (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
772 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The most amazing brunch with outstanding ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The most amazing brunch with outstanding views and service ; excellent food choices; everything was fresh and plentiful... Our servers were so attentive and friendly - champagne was truly endless...this will definately become our go to place for Father's Day brunch!! Highly reccomended...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Treated my husband for Father's Day brun ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Treated my husband for Father's Day brunch. (Our second year doing so). It seemed last year (2015) there were more food items to choose from, but I could be wrong. Even still, we had a fab time, table with a scenic view and great service! Will definitely go again.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best buffet restaurant I hav ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This is the best buffet restaurant I have ever been to. Seafood was fresh , food was continually refilled, silverware replaced when needed. All the food on the menu was awesome, we had all kinds of choices from seafood to dumplings, breakfast basics, to soup. A great variety made with love, not just for looks. I walked out with a smile on my face knowing I got my money's worth.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great buffet, five kinds of caviar and b ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great buffet, five kinds of caviar and bottomless champagne sort of sets the tone. Lots of choices, everything is good, although this time the leg of lamb was a little gristly. Great views of San Francisco in all directions, and there are no bad tables as far as the view goes. A traditional last and first stop for Navy pilots in San Francisco, it's also on the cable car lines.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The view is fabulous!!! There is an exc ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The view is fabulous!!! There is an excellent variety of food if you eat meat and/or dairy. The people I went with were very pleased with the food. I'm vegan -- it is a very expensive meal with not much variety.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Went for brunch. Excellent and beautiful ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Went for brunch. Excellent and beautiful view. They have a buffet around $100 pp with unlimited champagne. Food was good although I'm not a fan of buffet style dining. Would recommend for a date, and also it looks that has a very nice view at nite. This is a classical style restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch fabulous as usual

Dined on June 5, 2016

We always plan our visits to San Francisco around being able to dine here for Sunday brunch. It is the best in the city all around. The food is always very good. The ambience and service are 5 star. Wouldn't miss it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

You need to be celebrating something ver ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

You need to be celebrating something very special because the per person cost with tax and tip for the Sunday brunch approaches $100!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food, great service and an amazing view

Dined on May 22, 2016

We love the Top of the Mark. this was our second time. It was a wedding anniversary and I noted that when I made the reservation. How nice that the host had a beautiful rose for my wife when we arrived and they prepared a special dessert honoring our anniversary. This was unexpected and very appreciated. The food here is amazing. The only place I have ever been to that has a caviar bar. Everything is delicious. The biggest issue is learning to pace yourself and eat a moderate amount. Portion control is up to the diner.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. Enjoyed our time there

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great place. Enjoyed our time there. BTW, parking is $20 all day with validation.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Beatiful view

Dined on April 24, 2016

The top of the mark has beautiful view but the food leaves a lot to be desired. The price is $89 per person and for that price you would expect more variation in the food. Service was cordial

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We couldn't have been happier.

Dined on March 13, 2016

What a wonderful Sunday Brunch. I can't believe I have lived in the SF Bay area all these years and have never had brunch there. Make sure you have reservations. We did and were seated immediately at a beautiful window seat. The champagne is an endless glass and for bottomless champagne, it was very good. We started off with the caviar bar. I think there was six different types. All were excellent. The next table has all sort of fresh sea food including mussels, shrimp and the like. We also had some of the best lox I have ever had. The cheeses were excellent. There is also the standard omelet bar which i passed up. I did have the poached salmon with fennel which was excellent. The assortment of main dishes was extensive. They also had Italian Lamb and prime Rib, both of which were excellent. There was a dessert bar also which was fantastic. Don't forget to try the "world famous Top of the Mark Bread Pudding" It really WAS deserving of that label. Finally, our server was Michael and he was just excellent. Attentive and friendly without being obtrusive. We had a wonderful time. I only wish we had left more time. 1.5 hours simply was not enough but we had tickets to the Symphony. my one word of advice is GO!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Gorgeous view of the city. Food is deli ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Gorgeous view of the city. Food is delicious. Lots of great variety: black caviar, oysters, mussels, etc. I would recommend for brunch. It's a bit expensive, but totally worth it. I would personal go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top of the Mark: A Once-in-a-Lifetime Experience

Dined on February 7, 2016

What great food, what a great view, what a great brunch and service. The champagne never stopped flowing -- not that one-glass-only routine. Even at $89 per person, it was a bargain!

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casual Opulence

Dined on January 10, 2016

The view alone is worth every penny. The amazing buffet and flowing champagne is a bonus! The waffle bar is delish, as well as the prime rib, caviar, Chinatown dumplings and seafood platter. Make sure to save room for desserts too! Famous bread pudding - it is famous for a reason!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Superior Holiday Champagne Sunday Brunch

vip
Dined on December 13, 2015

I had a great table with a view of the Palace of Fine Arts, Golden Gate Bridge, Grace Cathedral, Alcatraz, and Russian Hill. My server was Michael, the maitre d' was Sebastian, and the pianist was Elias, who played a variety of holiday music from his iPad mini (sheet music library) and even some Duke Ellington tunes. I enjoyed the prime rib au jus, beef in puff pastry, oysters on the half shell, cracked crab, caviar station with blinis, Caesar salad, smoked salmon, honey cubes, asparagus, heirloom tomatoes with mozzarella Ciliegine, tuna tartare, beef tenderloin with sweetbreads, lobster ravioli, duck breast, and dim sum. For dessert, I enjoyed the Mark Hopkins bread pudding, bear claw, and French pastries (one with four raspberries and another one that was a mini apple pie). Yum!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding. The variety of ...

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

Service was outstanding. The variety of dishes made the experience doubly pleasant. The view was equally fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch with a view!

Dined on November 15, 2015

Top of the Mark was amazing! I took my family out for Champagne Brunch, and it was worth every penny. The food is delicious (and there are plenty of oysters to go around), the view is ridiculous, and there's a pianist that chimes away and keeps the atmosphere calm and classy. Loved it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Sunday brunch overseeing beautif ...

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

Amazing Sunday brunch overseeing beautiful San Francisco skyline. The food was awesome! The various kinds of caviars and pistachio mousse were the best! Definitely worth every single penny.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best brunch I've ever been in my life!

vip
Dined on October 11, 2015

From the view to the seamless friendly service with an extrodinary attention to detail this was by far the best brunch and even one of my best dining experiences! I highly recommend this place for brunch caviar beef Wellington dim sum to all traditional things brunch with live piano player I was blown away!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4

Just not worth the massive cost. Food wa ...

vip
Dined on October 4, 2015

Just not worth the massive cost. Food was average at best and the piano was very loud. Excellent views but not to justify the huge mark up. Guess that is what they meant by top of the mark.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great champagne buffet brunch!

Dined on October 4, 2015

Celebrated our wedding anniversary. Pretty good selection of food. Price isn't too bad for the selection they offered and the view was priceless. Our waiter was very attentive and kept our champagne glasses full. Very romantic setting with gorgeous views of the city! We sat at the bar height tables because that had the best view. We would definitely come back here again but only special occasions because of the price.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

worried about attire

Dined on October 4, 2015

I went with a nice collar shirt, slacks, no tie. Guy behind me wore undershirt jeans and slippers, brilliant! I should have thought of that. They think I'm staying in hotel! Rockstar.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great view. Sunday's are the best for br ...

Dined on September 20, 2015

Great view. Sunday's are the best for brunch

food3
ambience4
service4

good once in a while

vip
Dined on September 13, 2015

we really wanted brunch for a special occasion. however, for $85/brunch, it was just ok. expected better food and more options. aside from the caviar and champaign, can get the other food anywhere. the view is great, the service is great, host was very accomdating. but again, $85/per person brunch is too much.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5

Brunch reminded me of a cruise ship buffet

Dined on September 13, 2015

Made reservations a few weeks ahead of time. My friend and I were seated right by the window overlooking Union Square. Beautiful morning. The staff were very welcoming and easy to chat with. They cared well for us. Live piano music was lovely, but just a bit too loud for our taste. Ok, the food...wow! Huge buffet, lots of variety. Omelet station, prime rib and leg of lamb. Salads, fresh fruit with cream, a range of savory dishes, and a lot of pastries and sweets. Even Bananas Foster! Good coffee, orange juice, and champagne. Plan to spend time lingering. We were given advice by someone in the hotel to pace ourselves. Apparently some take a break, walk around the block, have a smoke outside, then head back to the buffet. That's buffet commitment!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch with a view

Dined on September 6, 2015

We went here on a whim for lunch and were extremely pleased. I was impressed that the champagne was bottomless and included!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Top of the Mark

Dined on August 30, 2015

A perfect spot to view San Francisco! The Sunday brunch was amazing and plentiful!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Sunday Brunch

vip
Dined on August 16, 2015

I rode a cable car up California Street to the Mark Hopkins. I had a great table with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge, Palace of Fine Arts, Alcatraz, and Russian Hill from the 19th floor. My server was Jose. I enjoyed the caviar station with blinis, oysters on the half-shell, cracked crab, smoked salmon, stone fruit salad, Caesar salad, fresh fruit, prime rib au jus, dim sum, New York cheesecake, and the famous Mark Hopkins bread pudding. Yum!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service3

Astounding 360-degree views of San Francisco

Dined on August 2, 2015

The views are the true reason to go at least once to this restaurant high above San Francisco. The cocktail brunch was expensive (over $200 for two of us) and the food was only average, at best, but if you can go just for drinks and see the views, that would be an excellent option.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful!

vip
Dined on July 26, 2015

I laugh when locals call places 'touristy.' I think it's because they cannot afford to go there. The Top of the Mark is definitely pricey, but for good reason. This is the best view left in the city where you can see both bridges. The food is spectacular and the service wonderful. Our waiter, Jose, has been there for 40 years. We had a special Sunday brunch with our special niece. It will be an experience I will never forget.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Tradition

Dined on July 26, 2015

Having Brunch here is just out of this world, the views, wait staff are so friendly and attentive at the correct times. Let's talk about the gourmet food, there is so much, I haven't been able to try all of it as many times we have been there. The Great Spirits know I have tried, small portions of everything will soon fill you up. Love it!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5

Food ran out!

Dined on July 5, 2015

We have celebrated our anniversary for many years and have always given high marks! This year everything was excellent except for the food planning. Several items ran out early and we're not promptly (or ever) replenished. This is not acceptable for a high priced buffet of $85 per person! The food was still excellent and the service & view were outstanding! Hopefully this was just a one time error in planning (as there was an extremely large family group present.)

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4

Worth a one-time visit but overpriced

vip
Dined on May 24, 2015

This review is for the brunch, which is an all you can eat buffet, a problematic concept in itself. That said it would still be a good idea to bring the prices down a notch. The food is good, the view is great, and theoretically one can eat one's self into a stupor to get one's return on their investment, but even the views here don't justify the price .

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Brunch ever!

Dined on May 24, 2015

My date loves brunches, and she said this was the best she's ever had!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Top Brunch!!!

vip
Dined on May 3, 2015

Thank you to the staff of Top of the Mark and our server Robert for a fabulous brunch experience!! The food was top notch and the variety was above anything one could imagine!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

brunch from the top of the hill

vip
Dined on April 26, 2015

Brunch was good, many fabulous dishes to choose from. The VIEWS were AMAZING!!!!

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Our visit to the top of the Mark was the ...

Dined on April 19, 2015

Our visit to the top of the Mark was the on the last day as a capstone for our anniversary weekend and we found the food, service and ambience perfect for brunch. Wonderful views. I would recommend to do it at least once!

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the Brunch

Dined on April 19, 2015

We spent my significant other's birthday having brunch here. We loved the view, food and service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Such an experience. Don't miss the Sunday brunch!

Dined on March 22, 2015

What a treat! Be sure to go for the Sunday brunch. You'll be in heaven on top of San Francisco!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.