Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Top of the Mark

4.2
829 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Perfect For:
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
  • Great for Brunch

Similar Restaurants

About

Top of the Mark is situated right on the 19th floor of the Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel. Its sophisticated setting offers scenic panoramic views of the city's skyline. Guests can begin their dining experience at Top of the Mark with a shareable charcuterie board or bruschetta. White sturgeon caviar, pulled duck with a pomegranate reduction, kobe beef sliders or grilled octopus will please the appetite.

Top of the Mark features a dance floor and live entertainment throughout the week. It offers wine, cocktails and other beverages to pair with meals. This restaurant provides brunch on Sundays. It is an ideal setting for enjoying a meal with family, friends or colleagues.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, American, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
KINDLY NOTE THAT WE DO NOT OFFER RESERVATIONS IN THE EVENINGS FOR TAPAS/COCKTAILS AND SEAT ALL OF OUR GUESTS BASED ON A FIRST COME FIRST SERVE BASIS.

Champagne Brunch: Sundays, 10am - 1pm

TAPAS: Daily 5pm-10pm
COCKTAILS:
Mon-Thu: 4:30pm-11:30pm
Fri & Sat: 4:30pm-12:30am
Sunday: 5pm-11:30pm

PLEASE NOTE, GUESTS UNDER 21 ARE NOT PERMITTED AFTER 10PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(415) 616-6940
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Nenad Stefanovic
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
For parties of 20-30 guests, please call Joanna at 415-616-6940 or e-mail at Joanna.Carrasco@ihg.com

For parties of 30 or more or full buyout inquiries, please call 415-616-6959.
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
For parties of 20-30 guests, please call 415-616-6940

For parties of 30 or more, please call 415-616-6959
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
California & Mason Streets
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking is available for Sunday Brunch. Hotel garage entrance is on California Street just east of Mason Street. Extremely limited street parking available.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Powell Street Cable Car; California Street Cable Car
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Ricardo Scales, jazz pianist, Wednesdays 6:30pm-11:30pm
(cover of $5 beginning at 6:00pm)

Motown at the Mark, Thursdays, 7:30pm-11:30pm
(cover of $10 beginning at 6:30pm)

Best of the Bay: bands rotate, Fridays, 9:00pm-12:30am
(cover of $10 beginning at 8:30pm)

Best of the Bay: bands rotate, Saturdays, 9:00pm-12:30am
(cover of $15 beginning at 8:30pm)

*subject to change*

PLEASE NOTE: MINORS UNDER 21 NOT PERMITTED AFTER 10 P.M.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 829 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.2based on all time ratings
4.0
food
4.3
service
4.5
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on September 25, 2016

Been meaning to do the Sunday Champagne Brunch for years. Goddaughters visit to SF was the reason. What fun. Great views. Bottomless champagne. Endless food options. Professional, accommodating staff. Will do this again soon. Bring your appetite!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 25, 2016

From the moment we stepped off the elevator , and were led to our beautiful window view seats, we wer treated royally.
It was our dear friend's 90th birthday. The piano player not only played her song, he also came over to say hello!
Our waitress was lovely, attentive and funny!
The buffet was delicious and eclectic. Our friend was surprised with assorted dessert samplers and a candle topped cupcake.
At the next table was a lady celebrating her 91 st birthday-- we plan to meet again next year-- same time - same place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 25, 2016

Best Brunch I've ever had with amazing views. Pricey but worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 18, 2016

My husband and I love Top of the Mark and have Sunday brunches on special occasions there. We love fine dining, nice food, live music which is so rare in American restaurants. It's also a nice occasion to dress up.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 11, 2016

Great place to celebrate a special occasion. Sweeping views of the city from all parts of the restaurant. Really great, though pricey champagne brunch buffet - but the caviar station and raw bar make it feel worth it and special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 11, 2016

The Top of the Mark was the "top" restaurant we were lucky enough to get reservations for. We came for the Sunday Brunch. Everything was unbelievable. The food presentation was amazing. The food could not have been better! We travel with our high school friends at least once a year. This year was San Francisco, Carmel and Napa Valley. Top of the Mark was the best by far!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 4, 2016

First time having Sunday Brunch at "Top of the MarK." It exceeded my expectations. The food was fresh and the selection was wonderful. The view of the city was amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 4, 2016

The Top of the Mark has an excellent brunch and a fabulous view! The food was superb with lots of variety and superior quality. Views from the restaurant were phenomenal - gorgeous views over the city and bay.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 14, 2016

Definitely the best brunch by-far in San Francisco now! and love that there is live piano music played.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 31, 2016

One of the classiest, most scenic view restaurants in San Francisco! The food is delicious too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 31, 2016

We (party of 3) attended the Sunday Brunch on July 31st and were very impressed with the staff, especially Jose, our waiter. He was great and made the occasion all the more special. The food was, as expected, exceptional, The view was very scenic as it was a clear day. We had been planning to have Sunday Brunch there for years and finally got around to it. It will certainly not be years before we return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 31, 2016

Michael was a wonderful waiter for Sunday brunch. We loved the food and atmosphere so much!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 24, 2016

The view is incredible and one of a kind. But the service is horrendous. I have been here 4x in the last 10 months - mainly friends visiting the city want to dine here for brunch. On all 4 occasions service has been poor. Just think, the servers are only pouring champagne, coffee, water, OJ and removing dirty plates. That's it. You get your own food.

If this place did not have the view, it would be empty. My main dissatisfaction is the lack of service:
-Refills on all beverages are not timely
-Sloppy service - servers spill coffee on the saucer when pouring and they do not bother to change the saucer or wipe it up.
-Servers are slow to remove dirty plates
-No crab crackers on the buffet or even when you ask. They answer from the server is - "Oh, all the crab is cracked already". And it is not.
-Eager to cash out your check if you are dining on the later seating, as the server wants to go home and forget about you.
-Obviously servers are old time union employees that run the show. Management does not run the show. Pretty sad.
You would think for $89 a head, the service would be much better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 24, 2016

The Sunday brunch is very pricey, but worth it!! It's strange that the city does not have many upscale Sunday buffet brunch spots. We actually WALKED uphill from Union Square to the Mark Hopkins--the last block was a killer--but it was worth it. The cold items--caviar, ikura, oysters, pate, etc. etc.--were wonderful, and the made to order waffles were "melt in the mouth." Our server, with over 40 years experience, was very attentive and hospitable.
We will make it a point to have Sunday brunch there again if we ever visit SF again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 24, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurant for brunch. We always request for the "weepers" section of the restaurant - the view is spectacular. Our recent visit to the Mark - service was exceptional. Food: that day they had lamb, prime rib and grilled pork in addition to their traditional breakfast plus many many more items such as caviar, oysters, crab, prawns.....
Dessert: Almond tea cake and bread pudding - delicious

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 17, 2016

Nice presentation of food. However, when a guest of mine used the elevator to go down to the main floor, the elevator would not allow them back up to the brunch. If you are going to lock out the elevator at a specific time, post that time clearly & inform your guests so they can plan accordingly. Also, tell your pianist to continue his playlist but SLOW DOWN THE TEMPO!!!! He
ruined most of the ambiance racing through what could have been lovely music. A five star hotel should know this. If you charge five star prices then provide five star service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 10, 2016

Not cheap, but for a special occasion it's definitely worth a splurge. We loved that there was no pressure to leave and we basically made a day out of the brunch. The seafood was insane.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 3, 2016

Best brunch in the city!
Unbeatable views!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 3, 2016

Top of the Mark offers a wonderful brunch with scenic views! Unfortunately the brunch price has risen a bit too much in the last few years so the overall value has diminished. It is still a very good place for those who wish to celebrate a very special occasion and are not price adverse.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 26, 2016

It is the very best brunch we have ever experienced. The food, service and ambiance were perfect. Can't wait to return. Our head water was especially courteous, friendly and professional. The view was spectacular. Thanks to everyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 19, 2016

The most amazing brunch with outstanding views and service ; excellent food choices; everything was fresh and plentiful... Our servers were so attentive and friendly - champagne was truly endless...this will definately become our go to place for Father's Day brunch!! Highly reccomended...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 19, 2016

Treated my husband for Father's Day brunch. (Our second year doing so). It seemed last year (2015) there were more food items to choose from, but I could be wrong. Even still, we had a fab time, table with a scenic view and great service! Will definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 19, 2016

This is the best buffet restaurant I have ever been to. Seafood was fresh , food was continually refilled, silverware replaced when needed. All the food on the menu was awesome, we had all kinds of choices from seafood to dumplings, breakfast basics, to soup. A great variety made with love, not just for looks. I walked out with a smile on my face knowing I got my money's worth.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2016

Great buffet, five kinds of caviar and bottomless champagne sort of sets the tone. Lots of choices, everything is good, although this time the leg of lamb was a little gristly. Great views of San Francisco in all directions, and there are no bad tables as far as the view goes. A traditional last and first stop for Navy pilots in San Francisco, it's also on the cable car lines.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 12, 2016

The view is fabulous!!! There is an excellent variety of food if you eat meat and/or dairy. The people I went with were very pleased with the food. I'm vegan -- it is a very expensive meal with not much variety.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2016

Went for brunch. Excellent and beautiful view. They have a buffet around $100 pp with unlimited champagne. Food was good although I'm not a fan of buffet style dining. Would recommend for a date, and also it looks that has a very nice view at nite. This is a classical style restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2016

We always plan our visits to San Francisco around being able to dine here for Sunday brunch. It is the best in the city all around. The food is always very good. The ambience and service are 5 star. Wouldn't miss it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2016

You need to be celebrating something very special because the per person cost with tax and tip for the Sunday brunch approaches $100!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2016

Very good food and ambience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2016

We love the Top of the Mark. this was our second time. It was a wedding anniversary and I noted that when I made the reservation. How nice that the host had a beautiful rose for my wife when we arrived and they prepared a special dessert honoring our anniversary. This was unexpected and very appreciated.

The food here is amazing. The only place I have ever been to that has a caviar bar. Everything is delicious. The biggest issue is learning to pace yourself and eat a moderate amount. Portion control is up to the diner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2016

Great place. Enjoyed our time there. BTW, parking is $20 all day with validation.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 24, 2016

The top of the mark has beautiful view but the food leaves a lot to be desired. The price is $89 per person and for that price you would expect more variation in the food. Service was cordial

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2016

What a wonderful Sunday Brunch. I can't believe I have lived in the SF Bay area all these years and have never had brunch there. Make sure you have reservations. We did and were seated immediately at a beautiful window seat.

The champagne is an endless glass and for bottomless champagne, it was very good. We started off with the caviar bar. I think there was six different types. All were excellent.

The next table has all sort of fresh sea food including mussels, shrimp and the like. We also had some of the best lox I have ever had. The cheeses were excellent. There is also the standard omelet bar which i passed up.

I did have the poached salmon with fennel which was excellent. The assortment of main dishes was extensive. They also had Italian Lamb and prime Rib, both of which were excellent.

There was a dessert bar also which was fantastic. Don't forget to try the "world famous Top of the Mark Bread Pudding" It really WAS deserving of that label.

Finally, our server was Michael and he was just excellent. Attentive and friendly without being obtrusive.

We had a wonderful time. I only wish we had left more time. 1.5 hours simply was not enough but we had tickets to the Symphony.

my one word of advice is GO!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2016

Gorgeous view of the city.

Food is delicious. Lots of great variety: black caviar, oysters, mussels, etc. I would recommend for brunch. It's a bit expensive, but totally worth it.

I would personal go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2016

What great food, what a great view, what a great brunch and service. The champagne never stopped flowing -- not that one-glass-only routine. Even at $89 per person, it was a bargain!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 10, 2016

The view alone is worth every penny. The amazing buffet and flowing champagne is a bonus! The waffle bar is delish, as well as the prime rib, caviar, Chinatown dumplings and seafood platter. Make sure to save room for desserts too! Famous bread pudding - it is famous for a reason!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 13, 2015

I had a great table with a view of the Palace of Fine Arts, Golden Gate Bridge, Grace Cathedral, Alcatraz, and Russian Hill. My server was Michael, the maitre d' was Sebastian, and the pianist was Elias, who played a variety of holiday music from his iPad mini (sheet music library) and even some Duke Ellington tunes. I enjoyed the prime rib au jus, beef in puff pastry, oysters on the half shell, cracked crab, caviar station with blinis, Caesar salad, smoked salmon, honey cubes, asparagus, heirloom tomatoes with mozzarella Ciliegine, tuna tartare, beef tenderloin with sweetbreads, lobster ravioli, duck breast, and dim sum. For dessert, I enjoyed the Mark Hopkins bread pudding, bear claw, and French pastries (one with four raspberries and another one that was a mini apple pie). Yum!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2015

Service was outstanding. The variety of dishes made the experience doubly pleasant. The view was equally fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 15, 2015

Top of the Mark was amazing! I took my family out for Champagne Brunch, and it was worth every penny. The food is delicious (and there are plenty of oysters to go around), the view is ridiculous, and there's a pianist that chimes away and keeps the atmosphere calm and classy. Loved it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 15, 2015

Beautiful setting with delicious food

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
21